Women Talking
One evening, eight Mennonite women climb into a hay loft to conduct a secret meeting. For the past two years, each of these women, and more than a hundred other girls in their colony, has been repeatedly violated in the night by demons coming to punish them for their sins. Now that the women have learned they were in fact drugged and attacked by a group of men from their own community, they are determined to protect themselves and their daughters from future harm.While the men of the colony are off in the city, attempting to raise enough money to bail out the rapists and bring them home, these women—all illiterate, without any knowledge of the world outside their community and unable even to speak the language of the country they live in—have very little time to make a choice: Should they stay in the only world they’ve ever known or should they dare to escape?Based on real events and told through the “minutes” of the women’s all-female symposium, Toews’s masterful novel uses wry, politically engaged humor to relate this tale of women claiming their own power to decide.

Women Talking Details

TitleWomen Talking
Author
ReleaseApr 2nd, 2019
PublisherBloomsbury Publishing
ISBN-139781635572582
Rating
GenreFiction, Feminism, Contemporary, Cultural, Canada, Literary Fiction

Women Talking Review

  • Emily May
    January 1, 1970
    I have done what the verse from Philippians instructed, which is to think about what is good, what is just, what is pure, and what is excellent. And I have arrived at an answer: pacifism. I don't understand all the starred reviews for this book.Perhaps Women Talking works better if you go into it expecting a religiophilosophical analysis, instead of a feminist novelization of a true story. There are some echoes of Plato in here, to be sure. Readers familiar with Socratic discussions will recogn I have done what the verse from Philippians instructed, which is to think about what is good, what is just, what is pure, and what is excellent. And I have arrived at an answer: pacifism. I don't understand all the starred reviews for this book.Perhaps Women Talking works better if you go into it expecting a religiophilosophical analysis, instead of a feminist novelization of a true story. There are some echoes of Plato in here, to be sure. Readers familiar with Socratic discussions will recognize the repetitive circles of conversation as the women discuss what is the best, and most moral, decision in the eyes of god.Pretty much everything that happens can be gathered from the title and description. I was intrigued and horrified to hear that this is based on a true story of a Mennonite colony in Bolivia. Over several years, hundreds of women and girls were drugged and raped in their beds by "ghosts" or "demons". These supernatural creatures were eventually discovered to be men of the colony. Bringing attention to this horrendous crime is arguably the book's strongest point. In this book, women talk. Yes, I'm being a little facetious, but it's an accurate description of almost the entire book. This isn't a problem in itself. It's just that these discussions among the Mennonite women about whether they should leave the colony or "stay and fight" are bloodless, unbelievably rational given the circumstances, and concerned almost solely with religion and analyzing what their religion wants them to do.They sit around, sharing cigarettes and drinking instant coffee, and weigh the pros and cons of leaving and argue about various interpretations of what their religion would ask of them. I've never heard sexual abuse approached in such a cold and emotionless way.I also don't understand why this supposedly feminist story was given to a male narrator. I've seen some others argue that it is because the book is framed as meeting minutes, which must be kept by August Epp because the women are illiterate. This might make sense in theory, but I have no idea why the author decided to use meeting minutes at all, when this book is written in a style unlike any meeting minutes I have ever seen in my life. It doesn't read like meeting minutes; it reads like a regular first-person narration from a man's point-of-view. An odd choice.I think this might be a book for readers who enjoy lengthy discussions about how to correctly apply religious doctrine.Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Youtube
    more
  • Lola
    January 1, 1970
    This is, without a single doubt, the most important book I have read all year.The women have three options they can choose from, but they can choose only one. 1. Do nothing.2. Stay and fight.3. Leave. But perhaps one is enough. Perhaps that one option can open multiple other possibilities. If the women arrive to a conclusion, that is.Already from the straight-forward title, you know 90% of what is happening in this book. Women are talking about their situations and trying to imagine a safer futu This is, without a single doubt, the most important book I have read all year.The women have three options they can choose from, but they can choose only one. 1. Do nothing.2. Stay and fight.3. Leave. But perhaps one is enough. Perhaps that one option can open multiple other possibilities. If the women arrive to a conclusion, that is.Already from the straight-forward title, you know 90% of what is happening in this book. Women are talking about their situations and trying to imagine a safer future for themselves and their children. This is a work of fiction, and yet Miriam Toews wrote this book as a reaction to real life events that have happened in a Mennonite colony in Bolivia. In this colony, women were raped in the night by ‘‘unwelcome visitors,’’ believed to be demons sent by the devil himself to punish the women for their sins. But the truth came out. It was the men who committed these acts. Men who raped women, teenage girls and even young children. The accused men were incarcerated, but in this version of the story, the Priest and the majority of the other men plan to bail them out without consideration for the women. And, in a patriarchal society, what can women—who have been oppressed all their lives by their fathers, their husbands and even their sons and whose thoughts don’t matter—do to stop these violent acts against them and start leading peaceful lives?That is what Greta, Agata, Mariche, Ona, Mejal, Salome, Autje and Neitje—the youngest in the group—are pondering. August Epp, the man who records these conversations also participates in the discussions at times. He is someone the women can trust. Everyone has a role to play and everyone’s voice is heard… for once. Even the youngest ones, Autje and Neitje, gain confidence and become involved in their own ways, despite being reluctant to participate in the beginning.I cannot imagine discouraging anyone from reading this incredible story. The format is original, yes, and the themes salient, of course, but it’s also utterly captivating. If you know me even a little, you know that I don’t give high ratings to ‘‘important books’’ whose important ideas were poorly developed. Otherwise I would have definitely given The Kiss Quotient five stars. But this, this is everything. Blog | Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Bloglovin’
    more
  • Diane S ☔
    January 1, 1970
    I had to stop And think for a little more than a day on what my rating of this would be, had to separate my feelinges so I could judge what Toews has accomplished by writing this book. Quite frankly, this book made me so angry for the women in this Mennonite enclosed colony in Bolivia. Between 2005 and 2009, over 100 women and children were drugged and raped by male members of their sect. The youngest was three, a great part of what made me so angry. These women were expected to forgive their ra I had to stop And think for a little more than a day on what my rating of this would be, had to separate my feelinges so I could judge what Toews has accomplished by writing this book. Quite frankly, this book made me so angry for the women in this Mennonite enclosed colony in Bolivia. Between 2005 and 2009, over 100 women and children were drugged and raped by male members of their sect. The youngest was three, a great part of what made me so angry. These women were expected to forgive their rapists and just carry on as if nothing had occurred. There is more to this, but that is all I'm saying about the men. Toews, from a Mennonite background, much like these women, decided to give them the voice they probably did not actually have. Or maybe they did, I don't know that. So a group of women get together, to decide whether they are going to leave the colony or stay. The only man present, August, trusted, has is own back story, a very interesting one. It is while they talk that we learn of their lives in the colony, where they are so little valued that they are not taught to read or write, not allowed to express their likes or dislikes, completely powerless. Another huge source of my anger. In a short amount of pages, Toews accomplishes much, provides insights, and shows the remarkable courage of these women. Quite a revelation and accomplishment both. Not a thrill a minute, there is some repetition as the women talk through their beliefs, their options and how their decisions will be accomplished. Yet, much is said, much is learned. Toews is an excellent author and one of my goals this year is to read the books by her that I have not yet read. This was Angela , esils and mine monthly read. We all agreed on this one.This is a link to an article I found on why Toews wrote this book. Quite informative.https://www.theguardian.com/books/201...ARC from Netgalley.
    more
  • Angela M
    January 1, 1970
    In the loft of a barn, the women of a Mennonite community in Bolivia meet to talk about what they should do, how they could move forward to protect themselves and their daughters from more of the vicious rapes they have endured as they were drugged in the middle of the night. I would have found this hard to imagine if not for this opening sentence of a note by the author before the book begins: “Between 2005 and 2009, in a remote Mennonite colony in Bolivia (named the Manitoba Colony, after the In the loft of a barn, the women of a Mennonite community in Bolivia meet to talk about what they should do, how they could move forward to protect themselves and their daughters from more of the vicious rapes they have endured as they were drugged in the middle of the night. I would have found this hard to imagine if not for this opening sentence of a note by the author before the book begins: “Between 2005 and 2009, in a remote Mennonite colony in Bolivia (named the Manitoba Colony, after the province in Canada from which the colonists had emigrated in the mid-1900’s), hundreds of girls and women would wake up in the morning feeling drowsy and in pain, their bodies bruised and bleeding, having been attacked in the night. The attacks were attributed to ghosts and demons. Some members of the community felt the women were being made to suffer by God or Satan as punishment for their sins; many accused the women of lying for attention or to cover up adultery; still others believed everything was the result of wild, female imagination.” (See the links to some news stories I have posted at the end.) That this novel is based on a true story makes this such a horrific and powerful story, as we listen to the women talk to each other about their options and to the only man left at the colony, August, a teacher who takes minutes for them since these women have never been allowed to read or write. The rest of the men have gone to bail out the rapists who were taken into police custody for their safety, the safety of the men not the women. Meanwhile these women struggle with what to do to keep their daughters safe. The discussions are difficult, philosophical, religious, practical and heartbreaking as they recount their experiences. Should they do nothing? Should they stay and fight? Should they leave? The middle of the book felt a little slow, but then I thought that these discussions seemed realistic; it was not an easy decision to make. While this was their story, I was moved by August’s connection to them. This is one of those books that was so impactful and definitely a powerful telling of the awful things that happened to many of the women in the real sect. I woke up thinking about these women, wanting to know what happened after the ending. Kudos to Miriam Toews for not forgetting these women. Thanks as always to Esil and Diane for our monthly read together. A terrific discussion! I received an advanced copy of this book from Bloomsbury through NetGalley. Articles on the events this was based on:http://content.time.com/time/world/ar...https://www.bbc.com/news/world-latin-...https://nationalpost.com/entertainmen...
    more
  • emma
    January 1, 1970
    the fact that this two hundred-page book took me 2 weeks to read is basically a review in and of itself.I really wanted to like this book, which is based on a true story so horrifying and unbelievable and real that it would be ridiculous if it were never fictionalized. but I just couldn't. for so many little, basically-me-being-nitpicky reasons (including the writing style and the structure and the fact that all the characters were introduced at once in a very similar fashion so that I could nev the fact that this two hundred-page book took me 2 weeks to read is basically a review in and of itself.I really wanted to like this book, which is based on a true story so horrifying and unbelievable and real that it would be ridiculous if it were never fictionalized. but I just couldn't. for so many little, basically-me-being-nitpicky reasons (including the writing style and the structure and the fact that all the characters were introduced at once in a very similar fashion so that I could never get a real grasp of who anybody was) but mainly for One Big Reason. and that reason is this:why the hell is a man telling this story?quick TW before we get into the synopsis: sexual assault, drugging, domestic violencethis is about a true event in the Mennonite colony of Manitoba, in Bolivia. for years, women were being knocked unconscious with animal tranquilizers and sexually assaulted during the night. this included young children.the book follows the Mennonite women's meetings to determine whether they should stay in the colony, or leave. this should be wrenching and gripping and gruesome and disturbing. and it is some of those things, sometimes.but the continual distraction (and detraction) from all of that for me was this: THIS STORY IS NARRATED BY A MAN. the women of Molotschna (the colony) are illiterate, so this story is constructed as the minutes of a meeting. which are written by a man. a man who continually interjects his stupid male gaze into the stupid narrative and reduced the whole thing. the power of these women's story was interrupted by a man who fancies himself in love with them, who must randomly consider his own masculinity, who cannot shut the f*ck up for one f*cking second about exposed ankles and uncovered hair and fashionably rolled socks.this is a FICTIONALIZED RETELLING. and I just cannot think of a reason why the author would have to make the choice to reduce the women's power over their own story in this way.bottom line: the fact that a book that is shorter than some of my school notebooks managed to get this far under my skin says it all.------------if this book was any more visually reminiscent of The Handmaid's Tale, it'd be called, like, The Maidservant's Fable(thanks to bloomsbury for the ARC)
    more
  • Elyse Walters
    January 1, 1970
    The women in this book have been dealt a hand of crappy cards. AND I MEAN *CRAPPY*!!!!!The women need to talk. With only 2 days free until the men in their community return - ( its their intension to bring back the lovely rapists who have been in jail to give them back their RAPING-LEADERSHIP... cuz they are such nice wholesome decent men)...Ha!!!!! So.....while the men are away..., the women will play ( with one man allowed to play too).....Eight women meet secretly- - ‘barn-style’ group-emerge The women in this book have been dealt a hand of crappy cards. AND I MEAN *CRAPPY*!!!!!The women need to talk. With only 2 days free until the men in their community return - ( its their intension to bring back the lovely rapists who have been in jail to give them back their RAPING-LEADERSHIP... cuz they are such nice wholesome decent men)...Ha!!!!! So.....while the men are away..., the women will play ( with one man allowed to play too).....Eight women meet secretly- - ‘barn-style’ group-emergency-chat gathering. What the f#~k solution can they agree upon that will protect them in the future? A couple of the women are pregnant already - ( greetings, daddy?), and several daughters were also RAPED!!!!! The word *violated* is just not BIG ENOUGH!!! The year was 2011 when the two-day ‘talk-a-thon’ took place. The RAPES took place in the years 2005-2006. Over 100 women were RAPED!!!! I wonder how many times I need to write the word RAPE - before the devastating REALITY syncs into every cell of our HEARING THIS? And what’s the plan to STOP IT?/!!!!!! NOTE... ( this might sound trite), when talking about RAPE...( not intended), but ...Geeeeee- we each know how hard it is to make changes in our OWN LIVES...We are FAMILIAR with our crappy problems - to change them FOR THE BETTER - is one of the hardest things a human being does FOR THEIR OWN BENEFIT. People resist change. Change creates upset.... it’s frightening. THINKING about change - talking about it - is a start - but even for THE MOST INDEPENDENT POWERHOUSE women today - who believes in civil rights - justice - their life working - has STRUGGLES CHANGING......their environment- diet- and habits... etc. Yet - these 8 women - whom have ONLY KNOWN this lifestyle - are expected to clap their hands over a solid solution???Good luck!These are RELIGIOUS women!!! Their thought reasoning is specific. God - (their faith) - is a strong force. They haven’t been raised to think freely.The women couldn’t read or write. ( of course). Welcome to their ‘religious ‘ community!!! (Wow- even in the year 2011) That type of ‘organized-religion’ is one I wouldn’t wish for my worse enemy. THIS IS NOT the 1600’s. Who knew that in the years 2000+, illiterate was desired.... in ANY community -religious or otherwise!!!!!!It’s Religious brainwash if the women felt ‘not reading’ was being faithful to their God. *August Ebb* - was the only man - also a part of the 2-day ‘talk-a-thon’. He was the ‘minutes-note-taking’-guy. The women trusted August to have their best interest at heart. However.....God- forbid - the eight women could trust their own voices ‘together’ without the need of a MAN for help. Yep... fitting!!! It’s the community the Mennonite women knew! Men were always granted more power than women...So why would this ‘women’s talking’ gathering be any different. See the problem about solution solving? “What if the rapists are released on bail and return to the colony and find that there are no girls and women here, and begin to use these boys, the 13 and 14-year-olds, as targets for their attack?One of the females ( Mejal) chimes in. “Surely we can’t be afraid of boys this age? Why couldn’t they join us?Ona ( another woman speaks): “August, you’re the boys teacher. What is your feeling about this? Do your boys at this age pose a threat to our girls and women? August must stop his transcribing in order to properly answer her question. “I’m simply not capable of containing my happiness and surprise at being asked a question by Ona, formulating my answer, communicating it in Low German, and translating it instantly in my mind to English—while almost simultaneously writing in English translation on paper”. August’s answer: Ha... teasing... don’t expect me to give you spoilers! However - his answer ‘is’ in two-parts. Yet....NO ANSWER is clear- cut- and dry when it comes to looking at religious beliefs - forgiveness - repenting - education -sinners - heaven - and hell. The women in the community talked & talked... discussing/arguing/laughing at times/ debated.... ultimately about how to take their lives back after these horrific RAPES!!!Based on a real-life event....Dystopian Fiction written in a unique format...(very visual to imagine)Miriam Toews took a god-awful terrifying- subject -made it personal -offering readers the possibility for our own added interactive discussions.Perfect book club pick! Thank You Bloomsbury Publishing, Netgalley, and Miriam Toews
    more
  • Felicia
    January 1, 1970
    I don't know how this book got published.A fictitious account of actual events, a dark and disturbing subject with a plethora of 4 and 5 star reviews. What could go wrong? Well, in the case of this book, everything.The entire book is spelled out in the description. Eight Mennonite women discover that themselves, along with 100+ other women and children in their community, have been drugged and raped by the community men over the course of two years. These eight women gather secretly to discuss w I don't know how this book got published.A fictitious account of actual events, a dark and disturbing subject with a plethora of 4 and 5 star reviews. What could go wrong? Well, in the case of this book, everything.The entire book is spelled out in the description. Eight Mennonite women discover that themselves, along with 100+ other women and children in their community, have been drugged and raped by the community men over the course of two years. These eight women gather secretly to discuss what they are going to do now that the truth has come to light. They have three choices: stay and do nothing, stay and fight or leave. What follows is that secret conversation as told by the meeting minutes taken by August Epp. Although he is a man, August is the only person they can trust that can read and write.The entire book is made up of one conversation, or I should say the minutes of one conversation. This leaves the style of the story less than savory. Long ramblings of what is, in my experience, not consistent with the usual format when taking minutes. August also includes his personal thoughts which is counterintuitive as well as distracting. The women have unusual names and all seem to be related in some way or another leaving it nearly impossible to decipher who is who for most of the story. The same three choices are pondered over and over with little progress towards a decision until the very end. I felt like I read the same conversation 100 times.Religion is prevalent in everything these women discuss as they try to figure out how to save themselves without falling out of God's grace. I would dare say that 3/4 of this story revolves around religion and that alone is enough to turn me off from this book. While the real life account of what happened to these women is compelling, the author ruined any chance for the reader to connect and become invested in their plight with an unbearable format and lackluster character development.Now for the positive: it is a very short book. If I had to choose an audience for this book it would be a Christian women's church book club. I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Debra
    January 1, 1970
    "In 2011, eight men belonging to the Manitoba Mennonite Colony were convicted of a series of sexual assaults committed from 2005 to 2009. Prior to the discovery, the rapes had been attributed to a ghost or demon. The victims were reported to be between the ages of 3 and 65. The offenders used a type of gas used by veterinarians to sedate animals during medical procedures. Despite long custodial sentences for the convicted men, an investigation in 2013 reported continuing cases of similar assault "In 2011, eight men belonging to the Manitoba Mennonite Colony were convicted of a series of sexual assaults committed from 2005 to 2009. Prior to the discovery, the rapes had been attributed to a ghost or demon. The victims were reported to be between the ages of 3 and 65. The offenders used a type of gas used by veterinarians to sedate animals during medical procedures. Despite long custodial sentences for the convicted men, an investigation in 2013 reported continuing cases of similar assaults."-WikipediaWomen Talking is based on the above-mentioned rapes. The women in this book are contemplating their choices on how to deal with assaults: 1. Do Nothing 2. Stay and Fight 3. LeaveThe Women secretly gather to discuss their choices and how to proceed. As none of them can read or write they ask a man, August, to take notes for them. As they share their feelings, thoughts, emotions, he writes them while also sharing bits of information himself to them. Naturally the women are angry, some are now pregnant as a result of the rapes, and some have daughters who have been attacked as well. Not only are they talking about what happened to them, they are talking about their religion, their faith, and the men in their community who are going to bail these men out. This is a very relevant book and it is frightening to think that this book is written about what really happened to a group of Mennonite Women. Attacks that happened in the night while the women were drugged. They wake up bruised, bleeding, sore, missing clothing, etc. There is a short book which mainly takes places as the women sit and talk. As I mentioned, they talk about their faith, the role of forgiveness, what to do with anger, etc. I appreciated how they talked together and voiced their thoughts on their choices. Although they may disagree at times and even feel anger, they work things out and keep discussing their choices as they have a small window of time in which to decide.So why three stars? Which, by the way, means I thought the book was good and I enjoyed it (in case you were wondering) At times, I felt the book dragged a little and I wanted to skim. Perhaps in the way this story was told, hindered my enjoyment a little. I think this book could have been told without the August's character. I think he was added to share some info and to show how Ona was showing him kindness by asking him to help. But for me personally, parts of his backstory got in the way. I wanted the entire book to be about the women and what happened to them. I encourage anyone interested in this book to pick it up and decide for yourself. Do you need to know some information about Mennonites to enjoy this book? I don't think so but it may help give some readers a general understanding on their history, their close knit communities and their faith. Overall, a good book that addresses horrific assaults and how women of faith came together to talk and make a decision together.I received a copy of this book from Bloomsbury Publishing and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. The thoughts and opinions in this review are my own.
    more
  • Esil
    January 1, 1970
    4+ starsWomen Talking is not perfect but it is very powerful and well worth reading. Miriam Toews announces at the beginning that the book is based on true events in Bolivia, where a number of Mennonite women were raped and abused by a group of men in their community. Women Talking imagines a two day conversation amongst the women as they decide whether to stay or leave their community. The book is very short, but there is so much to the narrative that it defies easy description or critique, but 4+ starsWomen Talking is not perfect but it is very powerful and well worth reading. Miriam Toews announces at the beginning that the book is based on true events in Bolivia, where a number of Mennonite women were raped and abused by a group of men in their community. Women Talking imagines a two day conversation amongst the women as they decide whether to stay or leave their community. The book is very short, but there is so much to the narrative that it defies easy description or critique, but here is a list of thoughts and reactions in no particular order:-The story is narrated by August, who sits in on the women’s conversation for the purpose of taking minutes because none of the women is able to read or write. August infuses much of his own history and his own thoughts into the narrative. His point of view and personality add a lot to the texture of the story.-The women’s conversation is varied in the way real women interact – they move seamlessly between painful recollections, philosophical debates, religious scripture, bickering, teasing and tenderness.-Through their conversation, we get a glimpse into the unusual and vulnerable lives these women have led – it’s hard to imagine living without knowing how to read, without knowing anything about the world beyond your small community and feeling that your community will not protect you from this type of aggression. It’s hard not to feel claustrophobic. -The end is beautiful.-I would have loved to know what happens to these women after they make their decision.-At times, I found it hard to keep track of the different women -- although Ona, who was August’s childhood friend, is a real standout.-Despite the difficult topic, there were a few delightful touches of humour.-At times, especially in the middle, the narrative felt repetitive. Mind you, many conversations involving a group of people trying to make a decision are repetitive…The bottom line is that, despite its flaws, Women Talking is well worth reading. It is rich and potent. I am especially grateful to have read this one as a buddy read with Angela and Diane.
    more
  • Liz
    January 1, 1970
    This book almost reads like a science fiction novel, like some distant cousin of A Handmaid's Tale, until you remember it is based on a true story. A sect of Mennonites live in a distant part of Bolivia, speaking their own language and rarely in contact with the outside world. When it's discovered that the women of the community were being drugged and raped by 8 of the men, the men are arrested and sent to prison in the city. While the rest of the men are away securing the release of the rapists This book almost reads like a science fiction novel, like some distant cousin of A Handmaid's Tale, until you remember it is based on a true story. A sect of Mennonites live in a distant part of Bolivia, speaking their own language and rarely in contact with the outside world. When it's discovered that the women of the community were being drugged and raped by 8 of the men, the men are arrested and sent to prison in the city. While the rest of the men are away securing the release of the rapists, eight of the women meet to determine whether to fight or leave the community. The women are illiterate but desire to have minutes taken of their meeting. So August, the school teacher and only remaining man in the colony, is tasked with keeping their minutes.The title is apt, because about the only thing that happens during this book is talking. It gets very bogged down, pretty quickly, as the women go back and forth, arguing their limited options. The arguments tend to be circular, as women change their positions repeatedly. I found it hard to relate to them as real people and it took me ages to be able to keep them straight in my head.Here's how you know you're really not enjoying a book - when you find yourself repeatedly looking at your TBR queue wanting desperately to get to your next book. There were some passages that moved me, but not enough to draw me into the book. I felt this book was all about unrealized potential.My thanks to netgalley and Bloomsbury Publishing for an advance copy of this book.
    more
  • Jenna
    January 1, 1970
    I don't really know how to review this book. I feel like if I try I will start crying - from sadness or rage. I wish we didn't live in a world where we need this book but oh my god how I needed to read this book. It broke my heart and made me feel like I wasn't alone in my anger. In the last year with so much finally coming to light and so much finally being talked about in more than whispers about rape, sexual harassment, the silencing of women and the gap that still (STILL) exists between men I don't really know how to review this book. I feel like if I try I will start crying - from sadness or rage. I wish we didn't live in a world where we need this book but oh my god how I needed to read this book. It broke my heart and made me feel like I wasn't alone in my anger. In the last year with so much finally coming to light and so much finally being talked about in more than whispers about rape, sexual harassment, the silencing of women and the gap that still (STILL) exists between men and women a day didn't go by when I didn't feel anger at some point or another. This book was like feeding that anger through a sieve - a sieve of beautiful, intelligent, human, flawed women just sitting and talking through the implications of such evil being done to them and how they can fight back or understand it or just move past in the hopes of finding a better life - and after reading these women talk it through, I felt like I had talked it through and came out (just as angry) but more hopeful, more composed, more peaceful on the other side.Damn this world for being one in which this book could be plausible but thank god for this world in which Toews wrote it. I can't imagine another book topping this one in 2018.
    more
  • Jenna
    January 1, 1970
    "We are not members, . . . we are commodities. . . . When our men have used us up so that we look sixty when we’re thirty and our wombs have literally dropped out of our bodies onto our spotless kitchen floors, finished, they turn to our daughters.” This book is aptly named. "Women Talking". A more comprehensive title would be "Women Talking and a Man Taking Notes". That's what happens in this book, women talk and a man jots it all down. Sound boring? Well, at times, yes... but mostly it isn't "We are not members, . . . we are commodities. . . . When our men have used us up so that we look sixty when we’re thirty and our wombs have literally dropped out of our bodies onto our spotless kitchen floors, finished, they turn to our daughters.” This book is aptly named. "Women Talking". A more comprehensive title would be "Women Talking and a Man Taking Notes". That's what happens in this book, women talk and a man jots it all down. Sound boring? Well, at times, yes... but mostly it isn't. Women Talking is based on a true story of a Mennonite colony in Bolivia in which, over a period of time, over 100 girls and women had woken up in the morning bruised and bloody. They thought they were being punished and demons were attacking them but eventually it came to light that 8 men were drugging them and then brutally raping them in the night whilst the others slept. In Women Talking, Miriam Toews imagines what the women's conversation might have been after learning the truth about their abusers. It is set over a couple of nights, and details their discussion. Some of the women want to leave the colony whilst others feel like it is their duty to stay and forgive the men. Others fear escape, the unknown, and wish to stay and fight. It is a testament to the courage and strength of women, and a story depicting the ingrained sense of duty and obedience that men place upon women and which they are sometimes imprisoned by. There isn't much action in this book, and yet it is strangely compelling. Listening in on the intense discussions of the women as they argued over what the best course of action should be keeps the reader engaged and hungry for more. I would find my mind wandering at times and then all of a sudden be engrossed again. For the most part, this book is skillfully written; it is philosophical at times, witty at others, and yet it is such a heartrending story, especially because this really did happen. It shows the many reasons women stay in abusive relationships, why some are able to leave and others stay. It is not because these women are weak but because they believe what the patriarchy says. They believe they are nothing without a man, that they deserve to be "punished", that their duty on earth is to serve men even when it comes at the expense of their own bodies and minds.There is not much action in this book so it's not for everyone. If you love quiet, introspective books though, this is a beautifully written and well thought-out missive to the strength of women.3.5 stars rounded up.For a BBC article of actual story, click here
    more
  • Ron Charles
    January 1, 1970
    The true crime at the center of Miriam Toews’s novel “Women Talking” is unspeakable.It sounds like something from the Middle Ages or a dystopia by Margaret Atwood. But, in fact, these horrors took place only a decade ago in the Manitoba Mennonite colony in Bolivia. For several years, more than 100 women and girls woke up in the morning bruised and sore, lying in their own blood. Strictly isolated in this patriarchal religious community, the women were told they must be imagining things or that e The true crime at the center of Miriam Toews’s novel “Women Talking” is unspeakable.It sounds like something from the Middle Ages or a dystopia by Margaret Atwood. But, in fact, these horrors took place only a decade ago in the Manitoba Mennonite colony in Bolivia. For several years, more than 100 women and girls woke up in the morning bruised and sore, lying in their own blood. Strictly isolated in this patriarchal religious community, the women were told they must be imagining things or that evil spirits were punishing them for their sins. But finally the truth came out: At least eight men had been using a veterinary sedative intended for cows to knock out whole families and then rape the women and girls — some as young as 3 years old.The Mennonites, a pacifist Christian denomination founded in the 1500s, have no formal legal system, and the most conservative colonies remain separate from modern society. The leaders of the Manitoba colony intended at first to handle this horrendous crime themselves, but the Bolivian government eventually became involved, and the rapists were sentenced to 25 years in prison.Toews brings an unusual perspective and a unique approach to her fictional treatment of this atrocity. A Canadian author, she was raised by Mennonites, an experience that informed her brilliant 2004 novel, “A Complicated Kindness.” Although she has long since left the church, she understands the contours of the Mennonites’ exceptionally private faith, and she also knows the ills that can fester in such hermetically sealed communities.But Toews has no interest in exploiting this crime for dramatic purposes. Crucially, “Women Talking” opens after the attacks have been exposed and outside auth. . . .To read the rest of this review, go to The Washington Post:https://www.washingtonpost.com/entert...
    more
  • Eric Anderson
    January 1, 1970
    In 2011, news broke worldwide about eight men belonging to a Mennonite Colony in Bolivia being convicted of a series of sexual assaults committed over several years. Over 130 girls and women had been knocked unconscious using an animal tranquilizer and raped by these men. The horror of these facts were amplified by the knowledge that these women were part of a tight knit isolated community and they were made to believe the attacks were the result of ghosts or demons punishing them for their sins In 2011, news broke worldwide about eight men belonging to a Mennonite Colony in Bolivia being convicted of a series of sexual assaults committed over several years. Over 130 girls and women had been knocked unconscious using an animal tranquilizer and raped by these men. The horror of these facts were amplified by the knowledge that these women were part of a tight knit isolated community and they were made to believe the attacks were the result of ghosts or demons punishing them for their sins. It’s difficult to imagine the challenges these women faced in such a perilous position, especially because this strictly religious and remote community was all they’d ever known. But Miriam Toews has written an “imagined response” to these incidents in a novel that records several women of three different generations secretly meeting in a hayloft to decide how they will proceed. The options are to do nothing, stay and fight or leave. They only have a couple nights to come to a consensus before the men return with the perpetrators who’ve been let out of jail on bail. It’s an urgent, impassioned conversation that considers issues of faith and the meaning of community/family. I found it so bracing how this novel asks what you’d do when the only world you’ve known has betrayed you so egregiously and robbed you of your humanity. Read my full review of Women Talking by Miriam Toews on LonesomeReader
    more
  • Vanessa
    January 1, 1970
    I often like to think how far Feminism has come but this book clearly shows we haven’t. Not even close. I’m suffering reading this, imagine how it is for the women in this town! These poor poor women. Based on factual events this is a fictional account and a very uniquely written book about a town full of Mennonite women somewhere in back town Bolivia discussing their recent spate of rape attacks (by their OWN husbands, sons, fathers!!) and what they should do about it. Under total patriarchal I often like to think how far Feminism has come but this book clearly shows we haven’t. Not even close. I’m suffering reading this, imagine how it is for the women in this town! These poor poor women. Based on factual events this is a fictional account and a very uniquely written book about a town full of Mennonite women somewhere in back town Bolivia discussing their recent spate of rape attacks (by their OWN husbands, sons, fathers!!) and what they should do about it. Under total patriarchal control deeply devout in their religion under total subjugation to their god and the men in town. These women gather together to talk...and plan. Not all of them as some choose to do nothing. The fact that these women are talking instead of murdering says everything about them. To debate whether to leave while weighing up the pros and cons for both arguments shows how much the women consider everything else above themselves. The show of solidarity and connection is something to behold. The self sacrificing and selflessness to consider the wellbeing of ALL the women makes for an emotional read. How they keep levelheaded with humour and all! while undergoing discussions is beyond me. The fact that this book is loosely based on real events is flabbergasting, to realise this book is based on events that occurred around the early 2000’s and not the 1900’s is even more disturbing! There is no possible way to leave this book not feeling ANGRY and a little bitter. Powerful words, powerful book.
    more
  • Jenny (Reading Envy)
    January 1, 1970
    Based on a real life event, Miriam Toews writes about how the women of a Mennonite community deal with the uncovering of ongoing sexual abuse at the hands of the men in their own community. Do they stay? Do they forgive? I love Toews and her novel All My Puny Sorrows was an amazing read - so much between the lines, deceptively simple, heartbreaking about sisters and mental illness. Yet in this scenario with a far more heightened situation I felt less invested in what was happening. Part of it is Based on a real life event, Miriam Toews writes about how the women of a Mennonite community deal with the uncovering of ongoing sexual abuse at the hands of the men in their own community. Do they stay? Do they forgive? I love Toews and her novel All My Puny Sorrows was an amazing read - so much between the lines, deceptively simple, heartbreaking about sisters and mental illness. Yet in this scenario with a far more heightened situation I felt less invested in what was happening. Part of it is the narrator, a male who is taking notes of the women talking since they are illiterate. It creates a barrier that I'm not sure the reader can completely overcome.And the entire novel is the women talking, not what happens after. The author has to navigate philosophical conversations between women who are illiterate and don't know anything beyond their community and the knowledge they have been allowed to obtain. Even their understanding of forgiveness, which is one of the core discussion points, comes from the very men that abused the women and children. When they realize this, it is almost enough to start a revolution. As a reader, I wanted to see the payoff, and I think I felt a little shortchanged. But she did something, as I observed myself holding my breath when a husband came home early.I received a copy from the publisher through Edelweiss. The book came out April 2, 2019.
    more
  • Jessica Woodbury
    January 1, 1970
    I started this book on faith after hearing so many people deeply loved it. I skipped it initially, the thought of a book about so much trauma was distasteful, it seemed like it would hurt too much. Then when I started it, for the first hour or so I wasn't exactly sure of what it was. It seemed almost absurd at first, a book that is just what its title says: women talking. A group of women in a room having a conversation. It seemed more like a play than a novel at times, and I wondered what the p I started this book on faith after hearing so many people deeply loved it. I skipped it initially, the thought of a book about so much trauma was distasteful, it seemed like it would hurt too much. Then when I started it, for the first hour or so I wasn't exactly sure of what it was. It seemed almost absurd at first, a book that is just what its title says: women talking. A group of women in a room having a conversation. It seemed more like a play than a novel at times, and I wondered what the purpose was. What was Toews trying to say through these women, women with such drastically different lives than the readers of the book.But over time something happened and this book slipped into my soul. I listened to the audio and found that I couldn't listen while doing chores or trying to be upbeat, I had to listen in times where I could let myself be still and think. By the end I still didn't know exactly what Toews was trying to say, but I knew that I'd been deeply affected and moved. That this would be the feminist work that would stick with me this year. Near the end I started to wonder how this book works so well. It is not trauma porn, we are not dragged through the details of what these women experienced. It is often philosophical, women asking very large questions that will shape their lives forever. It is not plot or character driven, really. The women are not interchangeable by any means, but we do not know much about most of them besides the few details we see that are relevant to the discussions. Decisions are made, but not much happens. And yet, I still feel that in this faraway story with these unique women there is something vital and important about all women.How does she do this, I wondered. How does she make me feel like somehow an examination of all of patriarchy is distilled in this novel? I think the Mennonite colony setting and the extreme nature of the patriarchy in their society actually ends up working in its favor. Toews is able to lay everything out in straight black and white, we do not have to muddle through the gray areas that make up so much of daily life. Here, when some men have committed violence against women and men in power will not protect the women from future violence, how can these women come to any other conclusion than that all men are capable of this violence and that none will protect them? And how can the reader blame them for the kind of conclusion that would have every single man (and most women) in our society up in arms? You do not have to believe in God to listen to their attempts to reconcile their safety with the religious laws they are required to practice, to figure out how to address conflicts between the two, without considering your own moral code, your own attempts to make sense of the nonsensical.Toews has set this book in an extreme patriarchy, and yet by removing all the arguments and assumptions we have encountered so often in our world that we do not even realize they exist, there is something cathartic upon hearing things in such stark terms. There is a sense of relief when you hear women discussing whether to do nothing, to stay and fight, or to go. The concept of removing one's self from patriarchy entirely is unfathomable, and yet it suddenly becomes possible through these women. I do not know why that brings me to tears, but it does. To undertake such a journey, into a world you do not know, but where you have the possibility of creating your own place free of violence, it is a dream few have ever dared.I suspect that many readers will not see this book as saying all that much, that the structure of it will make it feel dry to others. And the approach of having a man write the story of these women put me at arm's length initially. But for readers who want a truly impactful feminist work, I highly recommend approaching this book with your arms open, ready for what it will reveal to you.
    more
  • Ariadne
    January 1, 1970
    This book might be the perfect book club read for 2019. There is plenty to chew on and discuss within this slender volume. The bulk of the story is one long conversation that takes place over the course of two days - the women of an isolated Mennonite colony have been brutally sexually abused, and now they must decide whether to stay in the only home they have known or leave for the greater unknown world. The core of the story is rooted in the tension often found between religion and liberation, This book might be the perfect book club read for 2019. There is plenty to chew on and discuss within this slender volume. The bulk of the story is one long conversation that takes place over the course of two days - the women of an isolated Mennonite colony have been brutally sexually abused, and now they must decide whether to stay in the only home they have known or leave for the greater unknown world. The core of the story is rooted in the tension often found between religion and liberation, especially for women. A yearning for the ability to know more, be more, and even to be alone with one's thoughts, all at odds with what is perceived to be holy and proper. Ultimately it is a struggle between autonomy and community, safety and caregiving. The conversation is steeped in the spiritual as it explores the philosophical, and does not shy away from taking a hard look systemic issues of misogyny even though that word is never used. It was raw, wrenching, and throughly engrossing. I read it in two sittings.So why only three stars? This was a struggle that was difficult for me to connect to. These women are very concerned with the religious implications of their quandary. The role of forgiveness, by themselves and by God. Whether is is acceptable to go against the wishes of their husbands. What is holy, godly, and righteous. This is important to them. But I'm a very different person. If someone repeatedly raped my three year old daughter staying with them would not be a question for me. It would not be up for debate. And so it was a difficult "problem" for me to invest in. This book was like a train wreck for me - I couldn't look away, but I was entirely horrified. The other thing I bounced off of was Toews choice of narrator. I appreciated that she had a man keeping the record of the conversation, and that this man was a bit of an outsider himself. That was fine. I didn't like that he was romantically inclined toward one of the women. It cheapened the connection and the insights. I'd have preferred he care about them and their plight without being smitten. It might be nit-picky of me, but it really did bother me. Men are allowed to care about, and empathize with, women without being in love with them. It's a trope I'm tired of reading.Here's the thing: I think this will be a deeply compelling read for anyone who has struggled with the role of faith and religion in their life while attempting to be independent and free thinking. I, however, am a stranger to that struggle so it didn't hit me quite as close. If you want a book that contrasts religion with feminism this is a really interesting read. It dives into territory you don't often see explored, and it's fertile ground. This book is going to be a great read for many people. If you have zero investment in religious dogma, however, this one may miss the mark for you.
    more
  • Meike
    January 1, 1970
    "Women Talking" is based on a true incident: In the Manitoba Mennonite colony in Bolivia, many women and girls have repeatedly been knocked unconscious with a veterinary anesthetic in order to rape them - for several years, they have been gaslighted into thinking that evil spirits were punishing them for their sins, until the truth came out. Toews, wh0 has herself been raised as Mennonite, wanted to write a story honoring these women who were kept illiterate and dependent in a secluded patriarch "Women Talking" is based on a true incident: In the Manitoba Mennonite colony in Bolivia, many women and girls have repeatedly been knocked unconscious with a veterinary anesthetic in order to rape them - for several years, they have been gaslighted into thinking that evil spirits were punishing them for their sins, until the truth came out. Toews, wh0 has herself been raised as Mennonite, wanted to write a story honoring these women who were kept illiterate and dependent in a secluded patriarchial society, but found the strength to fight back and inform the state authorities about the crime they had suffered again and again, which resulted in 25 years in prison for the perpetrators. What makes Toews' book unusual is the narrative approach: We largely read an account of eight women of different ages who secretly meet after they discovered that they and the other women had been sedated and violated. As representatives of all all women in the colony, they are tasked to determine what should be done now: Should they stay and forgive the men, should they stay and fight, or should they leave, thus embarking on a journey into a world utterly unknown to them? Most of the book does just what the title says, it depicts women talking, debating both practical issues and reflecting the worldview with which they have lived all their lives and which now shapes the way they perceive the world and how they think and reason. The account we read is written down by August Epp who was raised in the colony, but whose parents had to leave and who, now a grown-up, decided to come back - what exactly happened to August and his parents is slowly revealed throughout the story and is thus one of the narrative strands employed to keep the reader's interest. As both an insider and an outsider who knows the world beyond the colony, the character of August also comments on the women and their arguments, thus guiding the reader through the conversations he records.Toews' idea to structure a book like that really appealed to me, but unfortunately, the dialogue is often lacking suspense and urgency - sometimes, the writing feels a bit stale. Some reviewers have related the dialogue in "Women Talking" to the Socratic method as portrayed by Platon, but I think that is pretty far-fetched. Rather, you could say that the women are slowly turning away from catechism, which is also dialogue-based, by moving away from learnt doctrine and replacing memorised answers with their own reasoning. Still, in order to write a really moving and powerful account, the written dialogue would have needed to be stronger and more engaging.Nevertheless, this book is an interesting experiment that draws attention to the lives of women in secluded patriarchal communities that are still in existence. I definitely want to read more books by Toews.
    more
  • Kathleen
    January 1, 1970
    WOMEN TALKING is the first book by Miriam Toews that I have read. The following quote is from the beginning of the book, before the story begins. "A Note On The NovelBetween 2005 and 2009, in a remote Mennonite colony in Bolivia named the Manitoba Colony...many girls and women would wake in the morning feeling drowsy and in pain, their bodies bruised and bleeding, having been attacked in the night. The attacks were attributed to ghosts and demons. Some members of the community felt the women wer WOMEN TALKING is the first book by Miriam Toews that I have read. The following quote is from the beginning of the book, before the story begins. "A Note On The NovelBetween 2005 and 2009, in a remote Mennonite colony in Bolivia named the Manitoba Colony...many girls and women would wake in the morning feeling drowsy and in pain, their bodies bruised and bleeding, having been attacked in the night. The attacks were attributed to ghosts and demons. Some members of the community felt the women were being made to suffer by God or Satan as punishment for their sins; many accused the women of lying for attention or to cover up adultery; still others believed everything was the result of wild female imagination.Eventually it was revealed that eight men from the colony had been using an animal anesthetic to knock their victims unconscious and rape them. In 2011, these men were convicted in a Bolivian court and received lengthy prison sentences. In 2013, while the convicted men were still in jail, it was reported that similar assaults and other sexual abuses were continuing to take place in the colony. WOMEN TALKING is both a reaction through fiction to these true-life events, and an act of female imagination. - MT" The women met in a hayloft and talked about what they should do to keep themselves and their children safe. They had three choices: 1: Do nothing. 2. Stay and fight 3. LeaveThey couldn't read or write and had a trusted teacher, August Epp, record what was said during the two days of discussion. "As if reading my [August Epp] thoughts, Agata now suggests that we think of what is good. She recites a verse from Philippians: Whatever is true, whatever is honourable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is pleasing, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence and if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things...and the peace of good be with you.""Agata continues: I had done what the verse from Philippians instructed, which is to think about what is good, what is just, what is pure, and what is excellent. And I have arrived at an answer: pacifism. Pacifism, Agata says, is good. Any violence is unjustifiable.""Ona quotes from Ecclesiastes: A time for love and a time for hate. A time for war and a time for peace."I wasn't sure how to rate this book, but after much thought and consideration I have given it 4 stars. ⭐️️⭐️️⭐️️⭐️️
    more
  • Krista
    January 1, 1970
    Earnest puts his head on her shoulder and she smooths his wild, white hair. He asks if the women are devils.No, says Agata, we are your friends.He asks if the women are plotting to burn down his barn.No, Ernie, says Agata, there's no plot, we're only women talking. As author Miriam Toews explains in a brief foreward, Women Talking is based on real events: Between 2005 and 2009, the women and girls in a Bolivian Mennonite colony were waking up in the morning, sore and bleeding, suffering the aft Earnest puts his head on her shoulder and she smooths his wild, white hair. He asks if the women are devils.No, says Agata, we are your friends.He asks if the women are plotting to burn down his barn.No, Ernie, says Agata, there's no plot, we're only women talking. As author Miriam Toews explains in a brief foreward, Women Talking is based on real events: Between 2005 and 2009, the women and girls in a Bolivian Mennonite colony were waking up in the morning, sore and bleeding, suffering the aftereffects of rape that they couldn't remember. After the women were repeatedly accused of lying, of consorting with demons, of receiving punishment straight from God Himself for their sins, it was eventually discovered that eight of the colony's men had been drugging the women with animal anesthetic and raping them as they lay unconscious. As Toews explains, “Women Talking is both a reaction through fiction to these true-life events, and an act of female imagination.” Raised a Mennonite herself, Toews has an insider's perspective on the environment in which these attacks occurred, and in our #MeToo moment, it feels imperative to add the voices of those women living in cloistered paternalistic societies; those women who have never been educated, granted individual rights, or asked for their consent about anything. Toews is such an interesting writer, and with an engaging format, glints of humour, and room for these women to discuss all sides of their situation, she has created a remarkably nuanced novel out of clearly evil events. Salome's youngest daughter, Miep, was violated by the men on two or possibly three different occasions, but Peters denied medical treatment for Miep, who is three years of age, on the grounds that the doctor would gossip about the colony and that the people would become aware of the attacks and the whole incident would be blown out of proportion. Not only have the women of the Molotschna Colony been suffering these physical attacks – and disbelieved when they complained about them – but Peters, their bishop, has decreed that the women must forgive their rapists or risk being barred from heaven themselves. As none of the women have been taught to read or write (and as the Plautdietsch that they speak has no written language), a committee of eight has asked a recently returned member (the son of excommunicated members, he is considered effeminate because of his learning and his reluctance to gut a pig; therefore no threat to the womenfolk) to transcribe the minutes of their meeting. This format allows for this man, August, to not only attempt to record every word spoken by the women, but also to add factual background to their statements, and to respectfully interject with information that the women might need about the outside world. For it is the unknown outside world that most concerns the women: After their rapists were arrested, the other men of Molotschna have gone to the city to secure their bail (the men are needed, after all, to work in the fields), and while they are gone, the women have two days to decide what their response will be to their return and Peters' insistence on forgiveness: Do nothing, stay and fight, or leave. The vast majority of the colony's women are in the “do nothing” camp (only eight of the hundred+ concerned have even shown up for the secret meeting), and those that do gather in a senile old man's hayloft have enough variance in their ideas about love and faith and obedience to provide a lively and thought-provoking debate. We are women without a voice, Ona states calmly. We are women out of time and place, without even the language of the country we reside in. We are Mennonites without a homeland. We have nothing to return to, and even the animals of Molotschna are safer in their homes than we women are. All we women have are our dreams – so of course we are dreamers. Uneducated doesn't mean unintelligent, and these women display deep thinking, deep feeling, and deep faith. They don't trust the repentance of their rapists, and have lost trust in Peters' ability to interpret the Bible that they are unable to read for themselves, but they know that it's “not all men” who commit these crimes, and even discuss the fact that it's the power structure of their community that raises boys to believe that they should have unfettered power over women; in a way, they are victims of that power structure, too. Through it all, these women are pious Mennonites and want for their actions to please their God – and the argument can be made that each of the three options (do nothing, stay and fight, or leave) is God's will – and although the debate can get contentious, and the disparity of their ages and temperaments makes for competing desires, the women are always willing to join hands in hymn and sweet harmony. It does seem strange that the narrator of Women Talking is actually a man (the women could have had their debate without anyone taking the minutes), but as their scribe, August doesn't steer the debate (only adding his asides in the transcription to make this a complete history); and as an ally who has been abroad, he gives the women information that might grant them perspective or to recognise local hypocrisy. As “an act of female imagination” in response to real-life events, Toews has given a big voice to a small community; there is an essentiality to this novel.
    more
  • Michelle
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsI first heard about Women Talking from Russell on Ink and Paper blog. It is a story about a group of Mennonite women who come together after they discover that their nightly attacks have been committed by men that they call family and friend. While the other men have gone to bail out the perpetrators, the women have short time to decide their futures. They have three options on the table: to stay and do nothing, to stay and fight or to leave. It is not an easy decision as they live far 4.5 starsI first heard about Women Talking from Russell on Ink and Paper blog. It is a story about a group of Mennonite women who come together after they discover that their nightly attacks have been committed by men that they call family and friend. While the other men have gone to bail out the perpetrators, the women have short time to decide their futures. They have three options on the table: to stay and do nothing, to stay and fight or to leave. It is not an easy decision as they live far removed from society. The women are illiterate and speak a language not known outside their community. To add to this their religion dictates that they must forgive and be forgiven in order to be accepted into heaven. These are not simple quandaries. With sparse prose and keen insight Toews explores their dilemma. Women Talking is a heart wrenching story yet a hopeful one as the oppressed come together to reclaim their power.Special thanks to NetGalley, Bloomsbury Publishing and Miriam Toews for early access to this book.
    more
  • Marjorie
    January 1, 1970
    This book is based on a real-life event, which makes it all the more shocking. Between 2005 and 2009, hundreds of girls and women were raped by eight men from the Mennonite colony they were all part of. The men used an animal anesthetic to knock out their victims and then raped them. At first, the women didn’t know they had been raped but only that they would wake up in the morning feeling exhausted with their bodies bloody and beaten. They were told that ghosts or demons had done it as punishme This book is based on a real-life event, which makes it all the more shocking. Between 2005 and 2009, hundreds of girls and women were raped by eight men from the Mennonite colony they were all part of. The men used an animal anesthetic to knock out their victims and then raped them. At first, the women didn’t know they had been raped but only that they would wake up in the morning feeling exhausted with their bodies bloody and beaten. They were told that ghosts or demons had done it as punishment for their sins or that they were lying or covering up adulterous affairs or that it was all in their imagination. Very young children were included in these rapes, as well as elderly women. Some of the women became pregnant. In 2011, the accused men were convicted. Even after the arrest of these eight men, the attacks still took place.In Ms. Toews’ book, eight of the raped women meet in a hayloft to discuss what they should do to prevent themselves and their daughters from further harm. Should they stay and fight or should they leave? They had a window of opportunity as the men were off trying to raise money for the accused men’s bail. These women were never told how to read or write and knew nothing about reading a map or where they could go. They were told if they could not forgive these men, they could not enter the Kingdom of Heaven. So they had a lot to discuss. If a women whose 3-year-old child had been raped couldn’t forgive in her heart, wasn’t it a worse sin to say she forgave the men even if she didn’t mean it? The women in this community were just commodities to these men and had no say in anything. In reading this book, it was hard to believe that this happened in 2005-2009 and wasn’t something occurring centuries ago.The author does such an excellent job of delving into the hearts and minds of these courageous women. I felt their fear and their heartache and their confusion as to what they should do to make their lives bearable. The suspense builds as the time for the men to return nears. In trying to decide what they should do, they have lengthy discussions about religion and faith. There were times they seemed to forget the urgency of their situation and lectured each other. There’s some humor in this book, despite its dark subject. It’s one of the most unique books I’ve ever read. Don’t expect much of a plot as the book is just what the title says it is – women talking. I think it was quite exceptional and destined to become a feminist classic. Not all readers will like the format of this book but the emotional depth of this story is just astounding.Most highly recommended.This book was given to me by the publisher in return for an honest review.
    more
  • jo
    January 1, 1970
    This is a daring thing to say, but I think this is Toews' best book to date. Which is says something! Review to come.REVIEWThis is one of the best books I have ever read. Its heart is so big, it covers the surface of the earth. Toews' contribution to the #metoo moment from inside a Mennonite community in Bolivia (this is a true story) is not only a tribute to the hundreds of women who were terrified and injured in this particular historical event, but also to all the women all over the world who This is a daring thing to say, but I think this is Toews' best book to date. Which is says something! Review to come.REVIEWThis is one of the best books I have ever read. Its heart is so big, it covers the surface of the earth. Toews' contribution to the #metoo moment from inside a Mennonite community in Bolivia (this is a true story) is not only a tribute to the hundreds of women who were terrified and injured in this particular historical event, but also to all the women all over the world who took their courage in their hands and TALKED: to each other, to the public. Women talked, and in talking allowed other women to talk, and THINGS CHANGED. So this is about the seismic power of women's talking. Women's talking -- to each other, for one -- creates community, creates culture, breaks bondage, reframes patriarchy. The women who talk in Toews' book do all of this and so much more: they connect, they love, they rage, they grieve, they comfort, they disclose, they respect, they are humble and strong, they are passionate and moderating. In the course of two days they create a bond with each other that transcends age and personal differences, even old grudges. There is no western culture in which men are allowed the same kind of passionate, liberating talk. Let's use it more, women. What Toews does here with language (the women are illiterate and also speak an old oral language that has no written version) is phenomenal. One can imagine literary devices that would not have necessitated the interposing of a man between the women and their words. How about an omniscient narrator? But no, that would have been cheating, would it not? So Toews presents this book as the minutes of the meeting the women convene to discuss their next move after the magnitude of the sexual violence has been ascertained. On the one hand, this makes the words of the book the words of a man, who not only transcribes but also translates. On the other hand, it recasts masculinity. This particular man is vilified by the community for his sensitivity, his "femininity." August, the minute-taker, a man, ends up playing an essential role in the salvation of the women, and, in the process, he is saved himself. Amazing book. Amazing literary achievement. I honestly cannot think of a better book in the whole history of books.
    more
  • Clif Hostetler
    January 1, 1970
    #MeToo on steroids! (#ChurchToo as well!) This novel is a reaction through fiction to actual events that happened between 2005 and 2009 in an isolated community of conservative Mennonites located in Bolivia. Mennonite women in the colony reported being raped in their sleep. The victims ranged in age from 3 to 65 and would sometimes wake up naked, their bodies bruised and bloody. At first they were told the attackers must be ghosts or demons, punishing women for their sins. In time, it was discov #MeToo on steroids! (#ChurchToo as well!) This novel is a reaction through fiction to actual events that happened between 2005 and 2009 in an isolated community of conservative Mennonites located in Bolivia. Mennonite women in the colony reported being raped in their sleep. The victims ranged in age from 3 to 65 and would sometimes wake up naked, their bodies bruised and bloody. At first they were told the attackers must be ghosts or demons, punishing women for their sins. In time, it was discovered that the perpetrators were men from the community, who would sedate women while they were sleeping with an anesthetic spray usually used for farm animals before assaulting them in their beds.This novel imagines eight women (and one scribe, a man) meeting in a hayloft to discuss how they will contend with the trauma of years-long sexual abuse. They are choosing between leaving or continuing to live in the colony, and if they stay do they fight or do nothing. They all agree that if they stay they will be jeopardizing their safety and that of their children.The violations against these women that have already occurred are so outrageous that it is apparent that it would be advisable for the women to leave. However, their predicament is complicated by the fact that they are illiterate (only men learn to read), they have no knowledge of the world outside their colony (they have no maps and couldn’t read them if they did), and they do not speak the language spoken in the world outside the colony (they speak Plautdietsch, Bolivia is Spanish speaking). Nevertheless their conversation seems to be leading toward their leaving as they begin taking real and active preparations.One complicating factor are the primary tenets of their religious faith which call of forgiveness and peacemaking. All that they believed about God and the Bible was told to them by men. Yet it is men within this patriarchal community that have assaulted them. What they are experiencing isn't so much a crisis of faith as it is a loss of faith the men who taught them God's will which requires women to be subservient to men.The book leads to a perplexing end with actions and additional background information that leaves the reader with unsettled feelings. In “A Note on the Novel” at the beginning of the book the author states the following:Women Talking is both a reaction through fiction to these true life events and an act of female imagination. Realism is not to be expected. Rather the point of the book was to provide through the imagination of a skilled writer a rendering of a conversation between women coming to terms with violations of their bodies at the hands of members of their own community. The author has imagined a multifaceted dialogue that perhaps can serve as an outline of typical internal anguish experienced by any woman in an abusive relationship who is deciding what to do about the tension between familial love, religious faith, and desire for safety. Some Links:Review from NPR:https://www.npr.org/2019/04/06/709530...Interview with Miriam Toews on NPR:https://www.npr.org/2019/03/31/707734...Reviews from the New York Times: (two different reviews)https://www.nytimes.com/2019/04/02/bo...https://www.nytimes.com/2019/04/10/bo...Twenty questions to Miriam Toews from the Times Literary Supplement:https://www.the-tls.co.uk/articles/pu...Article from the New Yorker Magazine about Miriam Toews:https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/20...Review from the Mennonite World Review:http://mennoworld.org/2019/04/01/colu...The following are four part article about the incident that this book is based on from canadianmennonite.org which is a publication intended for Canadian Mennonites. https://canadianmennonite.org/stories... <--Part 1https://canadianmennonite.org/stories... <--Part 2https://canadianmennonite.org/stories... <--Part 3https://canadianmennonite.org/stories... <--Part 4https://canadianmennonite.org/ghost2 <--Supplement to part 4The following are links to a blog written by a Canadian Mennonite who makes the point in Part 2 that Miriam Toews has "conflated two different groups of Mennonites into one." It is doubtful that people not familiar with differing shades of Mennonites would find it of interest:https://slklassen.com/2018/09/30/miri... <--Part 1https://slklassen.com/2018/09/30/miri... <--Part 2The above is probably ironic humor, not to be taken as serious criticism.25 Minute video titled "Ghost Rapes of Bolivia" (Part 1/2): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TSlc_...(Part 2/2): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eCwMx...Long essay from Buzz.Feed News about Miriam Toews, her previous books, and a review of "Women Talking."https://www.buzzfeednews.com/article/...
    more
  • Juli
    January 1, 1970
    As a former victim of domestic violence and sexual assault, this book was a rough, but powerful, read for me. The author states that the story is loosely based on truth. Over a period of four years, more than 100 women and children were sexually assaulted in a Mennonite community in Bolivia. The victims were drugged with animal anesthetic and assaulted, waking the next morning bruised, bleeding, and in pain. Victims were led to believe that demons were attacking them because they were sinful. Wh As a former victim of domestic violence and sexual assault, this book was a rough, but powerful, read for me. The author states that the story is loosely based on truth. Over a period of four years, more than 100 women and children were sexually assaulted in a Mennonite community in Bolivia. The victims were drugged with animal anesthetic and assaulted, waking the next morning bruised, bleeding, and in pain. Victims were led to believe that demons were attacking them because they were sinful. When the men responsible were arrested, the victims were accused of lying, expected to just forgive them and not seek justice, and assaults continued. Miriam Toews took her outrage over reports of the case and wrote this book. The story builds using notes from secret meetings of the women. They are illiterate, so a trusted man attends the meetings to record the discussions. I was immediately sucked into the story. Thinking about a community of women kept illiterate, isolated, and without any decision making powers was disturbing. The thought that this sort of thing still happens in the world made me realize how spoiled, unaware and blind I am because of the relatively easy life I live. I am college educated. I am not abused on a daily basis. I make my own decisions. I have money at my disposal. My husband does not control my life. I'm treated as an equal. I can only imagine how these women felt.... They had to meet in secret to decide to stay in the life they knew, or leave and try to start over again somehow. I felt so many emotions while reading this -- anger, fear, sadness. But it also made me realize how strong women are. When faced with an almost impossible situation, women will somehow find the strength to power through and go on. When faced with a horrific, abusive situation, these women met secretly to decide what to do. They supported each other and they did not falter. Bravery. Intelligence. Compassion. I loved the plot of this book. I kept reading because I truly wanted to know what happened to these characters. But, the story moves slowly. Maybe the plodding feel is because it's reported through meeting notes? Most of the story is told through conversations. It made things tedious at times. But, I do see why the author chose the format. It works with the characters and the situation. They couldn't just make a decision and act on it. They were powerless. Conversation, planning and secrecy were required. Slow, methodical planning. They had to think it through. Their choices were do nothing and let things continue.....stay and fight for safety in their community.....or leave and learn to survive in the world outside the community. Big choices. Coming from a religious sect, they had to rethink their entire belief structure. Heavy stuff. And not something that can be decided quickly. My emotional response to this story might be because I knew from the start it was based on truth. If I had been reading this story solely based on its own merits, I might have been more frustrated by its slow pace. I would have liked a lot less discussion of religious doctrine and a little more action, but the format (meeting notes) limited the exposition to conversations. The focus, at times, was on religion a bit too much, although I do recognize that the characters involved are part of a religious sect. I could see this book being great for discussion at a Christian women's group or book club. But the constant religious overtones put a damper on the story for me. It made me mad -- women subjugated, lied to, victimized, traumatized -- in a community that should have been safe had there not been extreme villainy and hypocrisy occurring. It took my attention off the subject of rape and abuse and turned it more towards my dislike of organized religion. All in all, a powerful story about women. A bit too much religion for me, personally. But, I still enjoyed it. I'm giving this book a solid 3 stars. **I voluntarily read an advanced readers copy of this book from Bloomsbury via NetGalley. All opinions expressed are entirely my own.**
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    i am a huge fan of miriam toews' writing. this novel was probably my most anticipated read for 2018. which means my expectations were sky-high, even with my effort to keep it all in check. for now, i am still mulling over my reaction and feelings about the book, but wanted to get something noted here. there are some very interesting storytelling choices made -- i always feel there is so much to learn from toews' style. the writing is excellent, though i found the large cast of characters a bit a i am a huge fan of miriam toews' writing. this novel was probably my most anticipated read for 2018. which means my expectations were sky-high, even with my effort to keep it all in check. for now, i am still mulling over my reaction and feelings about the book, but wanted to get something noted here. there are some very interesting storytelling choices made -- i always feel there is so much to learn from toews' style. the writing is excellent, though i found the large cast of characters a bit awkward to navigate at moments. the story is timely in this #MeToo era (it could be triggering for some readers). i think it is important that toews has written this book, and provides a front row seat to the (physical and emotional) harm, confusion, and lack of agency women experience and endure because of rape. the fact that women talking deals with organized and condoned attacks within a sequestered religious community magnifies the urgency and options (&/or lack of) available to the women as they attempt to determine their own fates with very limited resources and time.
    more
  • Jaclyn (sixminutesforme)
    January 1, 1970
    This “reaction through fiction” and “act of female imagination” to real-life mass rapes that took place between 2005-2009 in a Mennonite community in Bolivia absolutely blew me away!I know many readers have questioned the choice of a male-narrator to tell this story, though I think this is actually one of the strengths of the narrative for me. August is a minute taker of the meeting of the women, recording their meetings in the absence of them having the literacy skills to do so themselves. The This “reaction through fiction” and “act of female imagination” to real-life mass rapes that took place between 2005-2009 in a Mennonite community in Bolivia absolutely blew me away!I know many readers have questioned the choice of a male-narrator to tell this story, though I think this is actually one of the strengths of the narrative for me. August is a minute taker of the meeting of the women, recording their meetings in the absence of them having the literacy skills to do so themselves. The women are meeting to discuss the options available to them to respond to the continued rapes that the men in the community have committed against them. Their discussions are profound and quite literally the first time in their life that they have the ability to make their own decisions. As they weigh up the various options, we see the impact of the crimes committed against them, the legacy of that on their identity and perception of the community that they live in.Alongside this, I think August’s narrative is very full-circle and pertinent to the discussions the women are having - while many are quick to dismiss his role in the story, I think the intentional act of having a male narrator was a clever plot construct. Considering the discussions about community legacy and inherited trauma, his very role in the narrative is incredibly powerful!I absolutely adored Toews’ writing and want to devour her entire backlist immediately! What a talented writer and storyteller!
    more
  • Janelle • She Reads with Cats
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you so much Bloomsbury for my free copy!Miriam Toews’ WOMEN TALKING is a unique novel, none like any I have ever read. I was enraptured the entire time reading it and have not stopped thinking of it since. The style is so original as the entire book is a discussion that takes place over two days and the story is based on real events. The novel is quite bleak but the way it is told is remarkable. Toews’ writing is revelatory and exquisite - I literally could not put this book down. The stor Thank you so much Bloomsbury for my free copy!Miriam Toews’ WOMEN TALKING is a unique novel, none like any I have ever read. I was enraptured the entire time reading it and have not stopped thinking of it since. The style is so original as the entire book is a discussion that takes place over two days and the story is based on real events. The novel is quite bleak but the way it is told is remarkable. Toews’ writing is revelatory and exquisite - I literally could not put this book down. The story touches on topics of humanity, feminism, religion, and the reaction of fight or flight. Do nothing? Stay and fight? Or leave?I cannot stress enough how significant this book is and how important it is for everyone to read it. It’s simply brilliant.
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    Beautiful, heartbreaking, powerful, stunning. This book had it all. A heavy read but I enjoyed it immensely and I definitely recommend everyone read it when it comes out on August 21st.
Write a review