The Evidence Against You
DON'T MISS THE BRAND-NEW THRILLER FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF EVERYTHING BUT THE TRUTH AND ANYTHING YOU DO SAY It's the day her father will be released from jail. Izzy English has every reason to feel conflicted - he's the man who gave her a childhood filled with happy memories. But he has also just served seventeen years for the murder of her mother.Now, Izzy's father sends her a letter. He wants to talk, to defend himself against each piece of evidence from his trial. But should she give him the benefit of the doubt? Or is her father guilty as charged, and luring her into a trap?People can't get enough of Gillian McAllister's psychological thrillers . . . 'Perfection' Clare Mackintosh'Gripping and thought-provoking' B A Paris'I was totally swept up' Fiona Barton'Truly original' Paula Daly'Compulsive and unforgettable' Jane Corry'Ingenious' Louise Candlish'Brilliant' Claire Douglas

The Evidence Against You Details

TitleThe Evidence Against You
Author
ReleaseApr 18th, 2019
PublisherPenguin
ISBN-139781405934565
Rating
GenreThriller, Mystery, Fiction, Crime, Mystery Thriller

The Evidence Against You Review

  • Maureen
    January 1, 1970
    If I was allowed only one word to describe ‘The Evidence Against You’ it would have to be unputdownable!!Izzy English has had to live with the fact that her father was convicted of murdering her mother 18 years ago. Izzy was 17 years old at the time, and it’s still not something she’s come to terms with all these years later, preferring to push thoughts of this terrible event into the dark recesses of her mind. It was such a traumatic event that caused a fracture not only within her family, but If I was allowed only one word to describe ‘The Evidence Against You’ it would have to be unputdownable!!Izzy English has had to live with the fact that her father was convicted of murdering her mother 18 years ago. Izzy was 17 years old at the time, and it’s still not something she’s come to terms with all these years later, preferring to push thoughts of this terrible event into the dark recesses of her mind. It was such a traumatic event that caused a fracture not only within her family, but more to the point, within herself. It’s been particularly difficult for Izzy living on the Isle of Wight - it’s not a very big island and everywhere she goes, people know who she is - know what her father did. Now however, her father has been released on parole, and the past is about to haunt her every waking moment when he turns up at the restaurant that her mother Alexandra owned, and which Izzy now runs. He claims that he is innocent, but then isn’t that what all ex-cons say? Izzy finally realises that she has to seize the initiative and begin her own investigation into what really happened on that Halloween night 18 years ago!I’m deliberately not going to go into much detail here because I would love you readers out there to experience for yourself just what a clever, gripping read this is. Its not fast paced by any means, but as secrets from the past are slowly revealed, the tension is palpable at times! I also found the human element of it to be really quite moving. I know that psychological thrillers are very much in vogue today, and there’s no bigger fan than me, and while most of them are pretty good, one thing I know for sure - if Gillian McAllister has written it then you’re in for a cracking read! What a great start to 2019!*I was invited to read ‘The Evidence Against You’ by the publisher and have given an honest unbiased review in exchange *
    more
  • Paromjit
    January 1, 1970
    Gillian McAllister returns with another brilliant, complex and intense character driven psychological thriller set in the Isle of Wight, with a small community where everyone knows everyone. Gabriel has served 17 years in prison for the murder of his wife, Alexandra, and is being released on parole. The trial and case is done and dusted, the police had a rock solid conviction with the evidence presented. Isabelle, Gabe's daughter, is married to police analyst Nick, and took over her mother's res Gillian McAllister returns with another brilliant, complex and intense character driven psychological thriller set in the Isle of Wight, with a small community where everyone knows everyone. Gabriel has served 17 years in prison for the murder of his wife, Alexandra, and is being released on parole. The trial and case is done and dusted, the police had a rock solid conviction with the evidence presented. Isabelle, Gabe's daughter, is married to police analyst Nick, and took over her mother's restaurant, Alexandra, having few options available to her. Izzy used to be a talented ballet dancer, but had to let this go, but she has not been happy running the restaurant. She has buried the past trauma inside her, but she can no longer escape personal history, as Gabe gets in touch, claiming he is innocent, and that he never murdered Alex, that he can explain the evidence against him. Should she give her father a chance and listen, or is he taking her on a ride? An emotionally torn apart Izzy feels an inner need to know the truth in a narrative that goes back and forth in time.McAllister's real focus is the people, rather than the crime itself, of lives shattered into smithereens, trauma, of marriage, of family, of trust, of relationships, and secrets. She explores the very human feelings of doubt, pain, distraught emotions, conflict, mistrust and how memories of the same events can differ so substantially. Unsurprisingly, Gabe is not the same man he used to be before prison, he is bitter and resentful, the loss of his wife and daughter have helped to break him. Izzy herself has struggled to cope with life's challenges in the intervening years. This is a cracking read, with an understated narrative that slips into the lives of the characters with ease, where lives, careers, and futures have been derailed. There are twists and plenty of suspense as the truth is slowly revealed. A fabulous read that I recommend highly. Many thanks to Penguin Michael Joseph for an ARC.
    more
  • Louise Wilson
    January 1, 1970
    It's the day her father will be released from jail. Izzy English has every reason to feel conflicted - he's the man who gave her a childhood filled with happy memories. But he has also just served seventeen years for the murder of her mother. He has sent Izzy a letter, he wants to talk, to defend himself against each piece of evidence against him from his trial. But should she give him the benefit of the doubt?This is a riveting read. The parts that are written in the present day are told from I It's the day her father will be released from jail. Izzy English has every reason to feel conflicted - he's the man who gave her a childhood filled with happy memories. But he has also just served seventeen years for the murder of her mother. He has sent Izzy a letter, he wants to talk, to defend himself against each piece of evidence against him from his trial. But should she give him the benefit of the doubt?This is a riveting read. The parts that are written in the present day are told from Izzy's point of view. The chapters that are set in the past are told from the duel point of views of Izzy and Gabe (Izzy's father). Gabe quickly learned to be devious and manipulative while he was in prison. I found myself trying to work out if Gabe was telling the truth as the author gave us plenty of options to go on. The loose ends were all tied up bringing everything together. This is a really enjoyable read.I would like to thank NetGalley, Penguin UK - Michael Joseph and the author Gillian McAllister for my ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • NZLisaM
    January 1, 1970
    A solid twisty-turney mystery, that tugged my heartstrings!When Izzy English was a teenager her father was convicted of murdering her mother. Growing up, father and daughter had always shared a close bond, but the evidence against him was compelling, and she was left with no doubt that her father was guilty, and hasn't seen him in seventeen years as a result. Now, on the day of his release from prison, Izzy receives a note from him. ‘I want to tell you my side of it.’ But Izzy's not sure she wan A solid twisty-turney mystery, that tugged my heartstrings!When Izzy English was a teenager her father was convicted of murdering her mother. Growing up, father and daughter had always shared a close bond, but the evidence against him was compelling, and she was left with no doubt that her father was guilty, and hasn't seen him in seventeen years as a result. Now, on the day of his release from prison, Izzy receives a note from him. ‘I want to tell you my side of it.’ But Izzy's not sure she wants to hear it. What could he possibly have to share that she doesn't already know? And can she trust anything he says?Tense, tragic and troubling with a powerful emotional spark. I would keep the tissues on standby for some scenes. The start was a little slow and repetitive but once things got going the shocks and surprises never let up, and the last 60% was hard to put down. The story unfolds through Izzy’s eyes, with flashbacks to the prosecutor presenting an incriminating piece of evidence, with Izzy's father, Gabriel, then explaining his side of the story, followed by Izzy recalling her version of the same event. I thought this was a very clever and original way to convey how a little information is a dangerous things, and how easily words and actions can be taken out of context. Gillian McAllister has done it again. Enjoy! I certainly did.I'd like to thank Netgalley UK, Penguin UK – Michael Joseph, and Gillian McAllister for the e-ARC.Release Date: 18th April, 2019.
    more
  • Rebecca Carter
    January 1, 1970
    The Evidence Against You is a terrific must read if you enjoy nail biting thrillers. Like the best books in this genre do, they keep you thinking you know the twist, only to discover you've been wrong footed and the spot light of guilt pointed elsewhere. With the market so over saturated with thrillers, some brilliant and original, others a bit meh, Gillian McAllister has shown she is an author who can be relied upon to give you exactly what you want. A twisty, suspenseful, tense read full of un The Evidence Against You is a terrific must read if you enjoy nail biting thrillers. Like the best books in this genre do, they keep you thinking you know the twist, only to discover you've been wrong footed and the spot light of guilt pointed elsewhere. With the market so over saturated with thrillers, some brilliant and original, others a bit meh, Gillian McAllister has shown she is an author who can be relied upon to give you exactly what you want. A twisty, suspenseful, tense read full of uncertainty, that will have you second guessing and looking at each and every character suspiciously. Many thanks to NetGalley and Penguin U.K - Michael Joseph for the opportunity to read this ARC in return for an honest and unbiased review.
    more
  • Amanda
    January 1, 1970
    I have to say firstly that I was very excited and I feel very privileged to have a copy of this book from Gilliam McAllister as she is a very talented writer and I adore her books!!Izzy’s father Gabriel was sent to prison for killing her mother Alexandra when Izzy was 18, so not only did she lose her mother but also her father. Now he has been released from prison after 18 years and he wants her to talk to his best friend Paul as he says he was innocent of this heinous crime. At the time Izzy on I have to say firstly that I was very excited and I feel very privileged to have a copy of this book from Gilliam McAllister as she is a very talented writer and I adore her books!!Izzy’s father Gabriel was sent to prison for killing her mother Alexandra when Izzy was 18, so not only did she lose her mother but also her father. Now he has been released from prison after 18 years and he wants her to talk to his best friend Paul as he says he was innocent of this heinous crime. At the time Izzy only attended the court case on the day of her giving evidence and the sentencing, she had always thought her dad was guilty. But now there is a sliver of doubt and if she was to look into this, would it be like opening Pandora’s box?Izzy is running her mother’s restaurant on the Isle of Wight where everybody knows who she is and what her father did, so there is no escaping or moving on from this nightmare!!I was totally engrossed in this book and put my amateur detective hat on to work out who did kill Alexandra. Secrets are slowly revealed in a gripping and very clever way that keeps you turning the pages. A beautifully written book that explores a multitude of feelings, betrayal, conflict, doubt and pain and how people’s memories of the same event can be perceived differently!!A must read book that I highly recommend.Thank you to Netgalley for my copy in exchange for a review.
    more
  • Gary
    January 1, 1970
    I had previously read and enjoyed the Gillian McCallister novel 'Anything you do say' so was keen to read this one when given the opportunity. In truth it didn't have the initial pull of the first novel I read but it grew on me and by the end I couldn't put it down. Clever plot and good strong characters make this novel a very good read.Izzy English's father is released from jail after serving seventeen years for the murder of her mother. Her feelings are conflicted between the happiness she fee I had previously read and enjoyed the Gillian McCallister novel 'Anything you do say' so was keen to read this one when given the opportunity. In truth it didn't have the initial pull of the first novel I read but it grew on me and by the end I couldn't put it down. Clever plot and good strong characters make this novel a very good read.Izzy English's father is released from jail after serving seventeen years for the murder of her mother. Her feelings are conflicted between the happiness she feels to be seeing the man who shared so many happy memories and taking the life of her mother. Izzy's father sends her a letter requesting that they talk so that he can defend himself from a crime he swears he never committed. But can she believe him and give him the benefit of the doubt or is her father guilty as charged, and luring her into a trap?A very good psychological thriller. I would like to thank Net Galley and Penguin UK for supplying this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Liz Barnsley
    January 1, 1970
    Another utterly compelling and brilliantly plotted psychological thriller here from the pen of Gillian McAllister. Ever since her first book I’ve looked forward to the next with glee and The Evidence Against You doesn’t disappoint.Izzy has lived with the fact that her Father killed her Mother, it has affected the way she lives her life on many levels. Then he’s out – and insisting still that he is innocent. But innocence itself has many levels…I loved this because the characters are so very enga Another utterly compelling and brilliantly plotted psychological thriller here from the pen of Gillian McAllister. Ever since her first book I’ve looked forward to the next with glee and The Evidence Against You doesn’t disappoint.Izzy has lived with the fact that her Father killed her Mother, it has affected the way she lives her life on many levels. Then he’s out – and insisting still that he is innocent. But innocence itself has many levels…I loved this because the characters are so very engaging, you root for Izzy all the way, it is beautifully written and genuinely unpredictable, I had no idea if her Dad was indeed guilty or not guilty until the ultimate resolution- this makes for a highly satisfying and fascinating read.Psychological thrillers are far from dead and gone but they are best off in the hands of writers like Gillian McAllister and a few others who are writing at the top of their game and still managing to keep things surprising.As ever Highly Recommended. One to watch in an already fantastic looking April 2019.
    more
  • Adele Shea
    January 1, 1970
    I just love the concept of all of Gillian McAllister's books. Once I have finished one I am always itching for the next one.I found The Evidence Against You abit hard to get into at first but then it just clicked into place and I couldn't get enough.
    more
  • Lou
    January 1, 1970
    The Evidence Against You is talented crime writer Ms McAllister's most gripping thriller yet, told in a refreshing manner - we know about the crime committed and the person convicted, but when he continues to protest his innocence could he really have been subject to a miscarriage of justice? I very much enjoy the fact that the author knows how to craft a deliciously dark and twisted narrative but also raises some important ethical questions which will provide much food for thought. I read a lot The Evidence Against You is talented crime writer Ms McAllister's most gripping thriller yet, told in a refreshing manner - we know about the crime committed and the person convicted, but when he continues to protest his innocence could he really have been subject to a miscarriage of justice? I very much enjoy the fact that the author knows how to craft a deliciously dark and twisted narrative but also raises some important ethical questions which will provide much food for thought. I read a lot in this genre and can usually guess where things are heading but not here; this is highly unpredictable with shocks and surprises the whole way through.As always, this is a well thought out and constructed plot with superb characterisation and writing that draws you in from the very beginning. It flows nicely from page to page and becomes addictive and unpredictable pretty quickly. This is a fantastic, complex and intensely compelling psychological thriller which focuses on the catastrophic situation the characters find themselves in. Each character is broken as a result of the conviction and feelings of doubt, concern, family dynamics and the effects of the crime on both the family and the wider community are all explored. All in all, an enthralling tale that is packed with suspense with a twisty and original narrative.Many thanks to Michael Joseph for an ARC.
    more
  • BeverleyR
    January 1, 1970
    I found the concept of this story intriguing - Izzy's father was found guilty of her mother's murder and is now being released having completed his sentence, but was he innocent all the time? Izzy starts to doubt his guilt and together they try to uncover the truth. Unfortunately the story progresses very slowly and I had to struggle on at times to continue reading. I thought I knew what the eventual conclusion would be and who the murderer was but as with good plot lines the twists start to com I found the concept of this story intriguing - Izzy's father was found guilty of her mother's murder and is now being released having completed his sentence, but was he innocent all the time? Izzy starts to doubt his guilt and together they try to uncover the truth. Unfortunately the story progresses very slowly and I had to struggle on at times to continue reading. I thought I knew what the eventual conclusion would be and who the murderer was but as with good plot lines the twists start to come near the end, which is when the pace really picked up. The final twist - no spoilers from me! - was surprising, a little disappointing and sad. Worth persevering to read to the end though.
    more
  • Mike Sumner
    January 1, 1970
    My thanks to Michael Joseph Comms and NetGalley for this advance ARC of Gillian McAllister's The Evidence Against You.I have previously read Anything You Do Say by Gillian McAllister, one of my best reads - ever. So, would The Evidence live up to expectations? That's an unequivocal YES! A lengthy slow-burner, some 450 mesmerising pages that unfurl layer upon layer and draw you in like a moth to a flame.Izzy (Isabelle) English knows that her father is about to be released from prison on life paro My thanks to Michael Joseph Comms and NetGalley for this advance ARC of Gillian McAllister's The Evidence Against You.I have previously read Anything You Do Say by Gillian McAllister, one of my best reads - ever. So, would The Evidence live up to expectations? That's an unequivocal YES! A lengthy slow-burner, some 450 mesmerising pages that unfurl layer upon layer and draw you in like a moth to a flame.Izzy (Isabelle) English knows that her father is about to be released from prison on life parole. He has served seventeen years incarcerated, convicted of murdering his wife Alexandra - Izzy's mother, when Izzy was just seventeen. Izzy now runs what was her mother's restaurant - Alexandra's - on the Isle of Wight. Her husband Nick is a police analyst. "He might come looking for you" he says. The island natives know who Isabelle English is but still they patronise the restaurant where indeed her father turns up. "I did not kill your mother, Izzy". What seems important to Gabe is not so much the loss of liberty, but the loss of his wife and daughter. The evidence against him was compelling. Izzy had always thought him guilty but something shifts in her mind - the moment when she chooses to try and believe him.Did he? Didn't he? Does Izzy's husband Nick show empathy with her or does he try and undermine her thought processes at every turn? As another layer unfurls your mind will be pulled every which way. Doubts linger...There are several more characters here that play significant rôles in this intricate plot and that have an impact on the outcome. And the outcome? Totally unexpected that turns so much on its head...The Evidence Against You is beautifully crafted, superbly written and one of my Top Five reads of 2018.
    more
  • Nicki
    January 1, 1970
    Isabelle English's father Gabriel has been in prison for seventeen years after being tried and convicted for the murder of Izzy's mother Alexandra. Gabe has always claimed that he is innocent but according to Izzy's police analysis husband Nick, that's what all convinced criminals say and anyway,all the evidence pointed towards him being guilty.But now Gabe has been released on license and has sent Izzy a letter, he wants to talk, to defend himself against every piece of evidence from his trial. Isabelle English's father Gabriel has been in prison for seventeen years after being tried and convicted for the murder of Izzy's mother Alexandra. Gabe has always claimed that he is innocent but according to Izzy's police analysis husband Nick, that's what all convinced criminals say and anyway,all the evidence pointed towards him being guilty.But now Gabe has been released on license and has sent Izzy a letter, he wants to talk, to defend himself against every piece of evidence from his trial. Izzy is torn between loyalty to Nick and the father who gave her a childhood of happy memories.But should Izzy give her father the benefit of the doubt? Or is Gabe guilty as charged and luring Izzy into a trap?Throughout this riveting,thought provoking thriller,the chapters that are set in the present day are told from only Izzy's perspective but the chapters set in the past,before and after Alex's murder are told from the duel perspectives of Izzy and Gabe. It's amazing how two people can be present at the same event but their memories of that time be completely different, or is it just a case of,we construct our memories to suit the picture that we want to see. Like all of us, Izzy wanted to believe that her parents were a happy couple but were they? Was Gabe the violent,control freak that the police and prosecution made him out to be or was he just,like he insists a caring,loving husband who adored his wife? Izzy was a complex character who I felt a myriad of emotions for as the story unfolded. I admired her courage and determination to uncover the truth despite almost everyone around her,including her husband Nick insisting that Gabe was guilty. Her battles with her conscience as she was torn between the two men in her life were realistic and it was hard not to feel sympathy for her as she struggled with her conflicting emotions. Gabe was a charming,likeable character but was he a killer? after all, as all readers who enjoy a good psychological thriller know,many psychopaths can appear charming until they reveal their true character. The other secondary characters in this book were a mixed bag of vivid personalities,many of whom had hidden secrets but who killed Alex and why?Wow,I can't think of a better way to start a brand new year than with the brilliant new psychological thriller written by the exceedingly talented Gillian McAllister. The Evidence Against You is a intricately plotted,twisty,page turner. A gripping tale of manipulation,families,secrets,deception and relashionships. It keeps the reader guessing from the first page,right through to the bitter sweet,heart breaking conclusion. I love Gillian McAllister's books and The Evidence Against You was no exception. Absolutely brilliant and highly recommended by little old me.Many thanks to Penguin Random House Uk/Michael Joseph for early access to this compelling,page turner in exchange for a honest review
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    Gillian Mcallister has taken on an interesting challenge in her latest novel ‘The Evidence Against You’. Set on the Isle of Wight, we follow the story of Izzy, successful restaurateur and married to Nick, a police analyst, as she struggles to cope with the fact that her father, Gabriel, has been released from prison. His crime? Murdering her mother, Alexandra, twenty years ago.On the day of his release Gabriel turns up at her restaurant late at night and posts a letter through the door. And so b Gillian Mcallister has taken on an interesting challenge in her latest novel ‘The Evidence Against You’. Set on the Isle of Wight, we follow the story of Izzy, successful restaurateur and married to Nick, a police analyst, as she struggles to cope with the fact that her father, Gabriel, has been released from prison. His crime? Murdering her mother, Alexandra, twenty years ago.On the day of his release Gabriel turns up at her restaurant late at night and posts a letter through the door. And so begins the secret meetings between father and daughter as he tries to explain his innocence and puzzle out the real story with Izzy’s help. Mcallister’s portrayal of Gabriel at the beginning of the novel is clever and convincing. He is not a very attractive character even though, in parallel, we are also given Izzy’s flashbacks of a chilled-out, loving, supportive father. Having spent twenty years in prison he has learnt to be manipulative and devious and he is presented as often angry, bitter and depressed too. Initially it is difficult to work out whether or not he is primarily a con artist or a distraught parent. When the pragmatic Nick learns of Izzy’s meetings with her father, he is certain that the latter is playing a dangerous game.Slowly we learn of other possibilities for Alex’s murder. However, ultimately, the novel’s strength does not lie in the plot, the revelations and the conclusion. Rather, Mcallister is more interested in exploring what happens to the lives of all those who are changed forever through the taint of a family member’s crime. Relationships are ruined; trust disappears; priorities change; careers take different paths and people cannot live the lives they were meant to.Another novel from Gillian Mcallister which looks beyond the transgression that hooks the reader to universal concerns about relationships, responsibilities, parenting and partnerships. A thought-provoking read. Whilst she is an accomplished crime writer, ‘The Evidence’ in this novel suggests that maybe this is a step further towards the author writing a novel which does not need to use a crime to give the narrative purpose.My thanks to NetGalley and Penguin Random House UK for a copy of this novel in exchange for a fair review.
    more
  • Leonie Byrne
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to Netgalley, Gillian McAllister and Penguin Michael Joseph for my arc of The Evidence Against You. I received a copy of this ebook free, in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own. Synopsis: Izzy's father has just been released from prison, he's been serving life for the murder of Izzy's mother so she's sure she doesn't want anything to do with him. But when he turns up at her restaurant professing his innocence, part of her wants to believe him. Should she he Thank you to Netgalley, Gillian McAllister and Penguin Michael Joseph for my arc of The Evidence Against You. I received a copy of this ebook free, in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own. Synopsis: Izzy's father has just been released from prison, he's been serving life for the murder of Izzy's mother so she's sure she doesn't want anything to do with him. But when he turns up at her restaurant professing his innocence, part of her wants to believe him. Should she help him investigate and prove his innocence or should she beware the man who was found guilty of murdering her mother? This is the third book I've read by Gillian McAllister and I really liked the way the her books are written, the hidden agenda and the way not everything is as it first seems. This one was kind of like that but a lot slower paced than I've found with her previous books. I just didn't enjoy this one as much. I didn't feel like I couldn't put it down, and I wasn't excited to return to it. It took me much longer to read and I didn't really engage with any of the characters. Izzy in particular was very difficult to like or sympathise with. For example she was 17 when her mother was killed but speaks about it as if she was a small child, e.g she doesn't remember much about her mother, she wishes she had a parent to remind her to take gloves and an umbrella when it's raining outside when she goes on a ferry trip aged 18. These seemed just a tad ridiculous surely things like that are taught to you by your parents long before you're 17. Also she completely had no feelings about anything, she reopened her mums restaurant even though she hates it, hates cooking and hates running it, she wants her bedroom to be like a hotel room, why? This is made into a big thing but never really explained. To be honest the pace was just too slow. It didn't grab me, didn't keep me on the edge of my seat and I didn't feel there was any big mystery to be solved. I'd definitely read more from this author in future based on previous reads but this one just didn't do it for me.
    more
  • Eva
    January 1, 1970
    Review to follow on blog tour
  • Vikki Patis
    January 1, 1970
    Another enthralling thriller from one of my favourite authors. The Evidence Against You tells the story of Izzy English, and how her father was convicted of killing her mother, one October in 1998. 18 years later, Gabe is out, and he wants to prove his innocence to his daughter. As usual, McAllister manages to put just the right amount of doubt into the reader's mind. Reasonable doubt. Did he do it? Or is he innocent? Set on the Isle of Wight during the heatwave of 2018, I could visualise the st Another enthralling thriller from one of my favourite authors. The Evidence Against You tells the story of Izzy English, and how her father was convicted of killing her mother, one October in 1998. 18 years later, Gabe is out, and he wants to prove his innocence to his daughter. As usual, McAllister manages to put just the right amount of doubt into the reader's mind. Reasonable doubt. Did he do it? Or is he innocent? Set on the Isle of Wight during the heatwave of 2018, I could visualise the story so easily. McAllister has that rare talent where she paints a picture in your mind - the characters are real, the setting easily stepped into. The ending was so bittersweet, so cutting, and yet just right. This book gripped me from the very first page, and didn't let me come up for air.
    more
  • Tea Leaves and Reads
    January 1, 1970
    Reviewed originally on my blog - https://tealeavesandreads.wordpress.c... (Tea Leaves and Reads). Thanks to Penguin for an advanced copy of this book! Publication due April 2019.. available for pre-order today. It’s the day her father will be released from jail. Izzy English has every reason to feel conflicted – he’s the man who gave her a childhood filled with happy memories. But he has also just served seventeen years for the murder of her mother. I was so so excited when Penguin emailed me wi Reviewed originally on my blog - https://tealeavesandreads.wordpress.c... (Tea Leaves and Reads). Thanks to Penguin for an advanced copy of this book! Publication due April 2019.. available for pre-order today. It’s the day her father will be released from jail. Izzy English has every reason to feel conflicted – he’s the man who gave her a childhood filled with happy memories. But he has also just served seventeen years for the murder of her mother. I was so so excited when Penguin emailed me with an advanced copy of this book – I have really enjoyed discovering Gillian McAllister’s writing this year. I just about read this in three days – which is only because it’s Christmas and I have other commitments otherwise it would totally have been a day or less! I loved this book for so many reasons…Firstly, it’s set on the Isle of Wight. Finally. Someone has recognised the Isle of Wight for being book worthy! I know, there have been lots of books where the Isle of Wight has featured however it’s so often seen in a slightly negative light when really it should be celebrated. I love reading books about Nantucket and small Islands in the USA so I was ecstatic to find that McAllister had done her research and picked my favourite south coast haven. Secondly, it’s completely unpredictable. From the start. I expected to read about a difficult childhood, strained relationships, negative parenting… culminating in a murder… But that wasn’t it at all. It was refreshing to read something so open to taking whatever turn the author felt like taking next."It’s hard to be frightened when faced with a benign relic from her past, as familiar as a duvet cover not seen since the 1980s." From beginning to end as a reader, I was catapulted into the story within the book, my mind desperately working with the Izzy’s to figure out the truth. Usually in books such as this you get there or you have an idea or an inkling. However McAllister kept it low key – giving various options and suspicions but nothing concrete. I really liked that… surprises at the end which tied everything together neatly, no loose ends.Above all of that though, was the underlying message. A book about the catastrophic effect of being accused of a crime for which you are not guilty of. A book about the institutionalised nature of imprisonment and how, at the end of your sentence, guilty or not, you are a changed person. That and the loss of a family unit, a childhood scarred, was what touched me the most about this book.
    more
  • Megan Jones
    January 1, 1970
    It is the day her father will be released from jail. Izzy English has every reason to feel conflicted – he is the man who gave her a childhood full of happy memories, he has also just served seventeen years for the murder of her mother. Now, Izzy’s father sends her a letter. He wants to talk, to defend himself against each piece of evidence from the trial. Should she give him the benefit of the doubt? Or is her father guilty as charged, and luring her into a trap?I adore McAllister’s books and w It is the day her father will be released from jail. Izzy English has every reason to feel conflicted – he is the man who gave her a childhood full of happy memories, he has also just served seventeen years for the murder of her mother. Now, Izzy’s father sends her a letter. He wants to talk, to defend himself against each piece of evidence from the trial. Should she give him the benefit of the doubt? Or is her father guilty as charged, and luring her into a trap?I adore McAllister’s books and was thrilled when this landed in my hands. This is a slow burn of a thriller, there is not a ridiculously thrilling pace but rather a very intense, build-up of revelations and secrets. No I was not on the edge of my seat reading this but I was absolutely gripped by the book and desperate to get to the ending, this has a different pace but it so works. I love how McAllister always features strong women in her books and how she displays a new writing style with every book, this book has her go through each piece of evidence and show how it can be spun for the different sides, it is very clever and I loved how one sentence could flip everything on its head, yet again McAllister has written an engrossing read.Without giving anything away, McAllister focuses her attention on some details related to prison life and makes some very astute observations about the impacts it has, this ensured for powerful reading and left me thinking long after I had turned the final page. I was gripped and fascinated by this book in equal measures but I have to say I was in no way prepared for the ending. McAllister throws in surprises but also desperate sadness, I was left bereft by the ending and I was thrilled by this change in tact. Never has a psychological thriller left me feeling that way and I relished the freshness of this.Onto the characters and yet again McAllister has created a fascinating batch of characters. I found these interesting as I would not say I particularly liked the characters or got a really good sense of who they are. Nevertheless I was rooting for them all the way, especially Izzy, I only want good things for Izzy! ‘The Evidence Against You’ is another sublime, expertly crafted read from one of my favourite authors. Expect to feel surprising emotions in this different yet gripping read.Thank you to NetGalley and Penguin UK for an advance copy.
    more
  • Ceecee
    January 1, 1970
    What a cracking read! I couldn’t put it down. Izzy English’s mother Alex was murdered 18 years ago when she was 17 and her father Gabe was convicted and sentenced to life imprisonment but was paroled after 18 years. Did he really do it? That’s the premise of the book. I really liked the way the book started as if we are reading Izzy’s thoughts. She closed the book on her mother’s murder for self protection but on Gabe’s release she is forced to open it and let doubt in especially after he contac What a cracking read! I couldn’t put it down. Izzy English’s mother Alex was murdered 18 years ago when she was 17 and her father Gabe was convicted and sentenced to life imprisonment but was paroled after 18 years. Did he really do it? That’s the premise of the book. I really liked the way the book started as if we are reading Izzy’s thoughts. She closed the book on her mother’s murder for self protection but on Gabe’s release she is forced to open it and let doubt in especially after he contacts her. The novel clearly showed how hard her life had been since the notorious murder which took place on the Isle of Wight where all the locals knew of it and she could never be anonymous. I think many people would have left to the anonymity of the mainland but she had the guts to stay. The book goes back and forth between the time of the murder and the present day as Gabe told his side of the story and Izzy tried to get to the truth. She learned a lot about her mother that I’m sure she would have preferred not to know and I found myself rooting for Gabe but mostly for Izzy so that she can actually move forward in her life as she had just reacted since the murder rather than actually living the life she wanted. If Gabe did murder Alex then he left rather a lot of blooming obvious clues and he didn’t strike me as a stupid man! I loved the way the story batted backwards and forwards from Gabe to Izzy as they told their stories and gave their recollections; it was like a game of verbal tennis! I liked that as Izzy’s relationship with her father grew so her marriage to Nick declined. I couldn’t say I warmed to him - he was rather colourless and bland but I suppose he was safe. The story unfolded really skilfully and was well plotted; there were no ridiculous metaphorical rabbits out of hats, it was all very believable with tangible and logical evidence. The characters felt real and were well crafted. The story kept you tantalisingly guessing almost until the end and I think it would make an excellent TV mini series!
    more
  • Julie Lacey
    January 1, 1970
    Another fantastic book from Gillian McAllister. Izzy is contacted by her dad after he has been in prison for 18 years, accused of murdering her mum. Izzy is now running the restaurant her mum used to own so her dad knows where to find her. Her dad wants to talk and try and explain he is innocent, but Izzy is understandably a bit wary. Her husband tells her not to have anything to do with him but working as a police analyst, to him everything is black and white. For Izzy though the grey areas are Another fantastic book from Gillian McAllister. Izzy is contacted by her dad after he has been in prison for 18 years, accused of murdering her mum. Izzy is now running the restaurant her mum used to own so her dad knows where to find her. Her dad wants to talk and try and explain he is innocent, but Izzy is understandably a bit wary. Her husband tells her not to have anything to do with him but working as a police analyst, to him everything is black and white. For Izzy though the grey areas are starting to creep in and she wants to give her dad a chance. She meets with him several times and slowly the story unravels. I really felt for Izzy as one minute she thinks he’s innocent and then something else comes to light, which casts doubt on his version of events. This is a gripping mystery thriller which will have you desperate to know what really happened. Thanks to Penguin UK - Michael Joseph and NetGalley for the opportunity to read this book.
    more
  • Chanel Lindsay
    January 1, 1970
    I would firstly like to thank Netgalley and the publishers for allowing me the opportunity to read this book early in exchange for a honest review.Izzy's father is finally released from prison, seventeen years after he was convicted of murder. Izzy wants nothing to do with him. But then her father writes her a letter, begging her to believe he's innocent. Against her better judgement, Izzy is tempted to believe him. But how can she? Because the woman they say he killed was Izzy's mother.While Gi I would firstly like to thank Netgalley and the publishers for allowing me the opportunity to read this book early in exchange for a honest review.Izzy's father is finally released from prison, seventeen years after he was convicted of murder. Izzy wants nothing to do with him. But then her father writes her a letter, begging her to believe he's innocent. Against her better judgement, Izzy is tempted to believe him. But how can she? Because the woman they say he killed was Izzy's mother.While Gillian's second novel is still very much my favourite from her, I still very enjoyed this read. Tense and compelling right from the very start, the plot slowly unravels throughout, delivering a believeable and cleverly-written story. I was playing detective the whole way through trying to guess if her father was telling the truth or not, and this made the read a definite page-turner. I felt so much sympathy for Izzy and found myself wishing so badly for a happy ending! With chapters from both Izzy and her father's point of view, both the present and the past and a satisfying reveal, this book is certainly worth a read. Can't wait for this author's next!
    more
  • Irena
    January 1, 1970
    Review to come.
  • Sara
    January 1, 1970
    Another great book by Gillian McAllister. I did find the first half to be a bit slow and slightly repitive however once the second half kicked in there was a lot more going on with plenty of twists. The Evidence Against You is a clever story and makes you wonder, if all the evidence pointed towards a family member, who has always protested their innocence, could you bring yourself to hear them out? Overall this was an enjoyable read and I look forward to the next book by Gillian McAllister. Than Another great book by Gillian McAllister. I did find the first half to be a bit slow and slightly repitive however once the second half kicked in there was a lot more going on with plenty of twists. The Evidence Against You is a clever story and makes you wonder, if all the evidence pointed towards a family member, who has always protested their innocence, could you bring yourself to hear them out? Overall this was an enjoyable read and I look forward to the next book by Gillian McAllister. Thanks to Netgalley and the publishers for a copy of this ebook in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Sheri
    January 1, 1970
    Izzy’s childhood was, she thought, a happy one with parents who loved each other and her. At seventeen years old she had a lovely boyfriend and a promising future as a dancer; then her life was ripped apart when her mother, Alex, first disappeared, then was found murdered, and then Izzy’s father, Gabriel was convicted of the crime. Her dance career abandoned, Izzy has to take over the running of her mother’s restaurant, which isn’t a natural vocation for her.Eighteen years later, Gabriel is rele Izzy’s childhood was, she thought, a happy one with parents who loved each other and her. At seventeen years old she had a lovely boyfriend and a promising future as a dancer; then her life was ripped apart when her mother, Alex, first disappeared, then was found murdered, and then Izzy’s father, Gabriel was convicted of the crime. Her dance career abandoned, Izzy has to take over the running of her mother’s restaurant, which isn’t a natural vocation for her.Eighteen years later, Gabriel is released from prison and his top priority is to talk to Izzy and convince her of his innocence. Torn, Izzy (and indeed the reader) has no idea who or what to believe.The story kept me guessing throughout as we follow Izzy’s experiences in the present and Gabriel’s gradual account of what happened from his perspective.I really didn’t know whether Gabriel was innocent, as he claimed, or guilty, as all the evidence suggested. A lot of the time he seemed pretty guilty, but the evidence was largely circumstantial; could there possibly be an alternative explanation as he maintained?While there is a mystery to be unravelled a lot of this book deals with both Izzy’s reactions to the horrible situation she’s in, and the changes in the formerly rather free-spirited Gabriel after eighteen years of incarceration. He’s clearly not the same man he once was, and that too is hard for his daughter to deal with, let alone wrestling with whether or not he murdered her mother.While it was a very enjoyable read I found it at times a little less gripping than Gillian McAllister’s previous work and sometimes lost track of what evidence had been presented so far and what it might mean. (This is probably due to a lack of sufficient attention on my part, though.) At the end I found I was slightly hazy about why certain things had happened, though again this is likely my fault rather than the author’s.All in all though an excellent read from the always reliably intriguing and insightful Gillian McAllister.
    more
  • michelle
    January 1, 1970
    Gabriel English has been released from jail after 17 years. He was convicted of murdering his wife. His daughter Isabel (Izzy)not only lost her mother that day, but, her father too. Gabriel returns to the place in the Isle of Wight and to see is daughter Izzy. He wants to her to find out the truth and his innocence. But, can Izzy believe him or is it all a pack of lies?Izzy, after what happened to her mother, went to live with her grandparents. She wasn’t allowed to go to the funeral, and she ha Gabriel English has been released from jail after 17 years. He was convicted of murdering his wife. His daughter Isabel (Izzy)not only lost her mother that day, but, her father too. Gabriel returns to the place in the Isle of Wight and to see is daughter Izzy. He wants to her to find out the truth and his innocence. But, can Izzy believe him or is it all a pack of lies?Izzy, after what happened to her mother, went to live with her grandparents. She wasn’t allowed to go to the funeral, and she hasn’t seen her father since. She gave up Ballet dancing that she loved and went and worked in the family restaurant. Now married to a Police analyst. She decides to meet her father in secret because she knows that her husband Nick would disapprove. This was a slow burner for me, but beautifully written and a great plot. As the story went on, we learned about that fatal day and how it affected the family and friends especially Izzy and she changed her life because of it., because she thought she had to. I had to keep on reading to find out what really happened and who was the real killer.Thank you Penguin Michael Joseph and NetGalley for a copy of this book.
    more
  • Rebecca Phillips
    January 1, 1970
    Gillian McAllister - you've done it again.When I first read 'No Further Questions' last year, I very quickly named it my favourite read of 2018 and I got that exact same feeling with The Evidence Against You. Its going to take a lot to beat it. Izzy's father was convicted of murdering his wife, Izzy's mother Alex, 17 years ago. He has now been released and is protesting his innocence. Izzy decides to listen to his side and see if she can work out if he's telling the truth or not by looking into Gillian McAllister - you've done it again.When I first read 'No Further Questions' last year, I very quickly named it my favourite read of 2018 and I got that exact same feeling with The Evidence Against You. Its going to take a lot to beat it. Izzy's father was convicted of murdering his wife, Izzy's mother Alex, 17 years ago. He has now been released and is protesting his innocence. Izzy decides to listen to his side and see if she can work out if he's telling the truth or not by looking into evidence. I couldn't put it down and I kept saying to myself "just one more chapter" until I was up until 2am reading! I was chasing the end to see the conclusion and what an ending it was! I felt like I needed a breather afterwards. It's so well written. Izzy's father, Gabriel, telling his side of a situation then Izzy recalling the same moment from her point of view was done very well and I loved how it wasn't just all about her trying to find out the truth. It touches on her sadness of not having her mother around to do typical mother/daughter things and her sadness of seeing her father trying to integrate back into society after being incarcerated for almost 20 years. I cannot recommend this book enough and if you have never read a book by this author before, do it!
    more
  • peggy
    January 1, 1970
    OMG this author has done it again!!!!!!After reading her last two books Anything You Do Say and No Further Questions which I thoroughly enjoyed, both five star reads. I knew I was going to be in for a rollercoaster of a read. Izzy is the daughter of Alexandra and Gabe English, when Izzy was seventeen years old her mother went missing. Two days later her body is found and her father is convicted of her murder. Fast forward another seventeen years and her father has done his time and is released, OMG this author has done it again!!!!!!After reading her last two books Anything You Do Say and No Further Questions which I thoroughly enjoyed, both five star reads. I knew I was going to be in for a rollercoaster of a read. Izzy is the daughter of Alexandra and Gabe English, when Izzy was seventeen years old her mother went missing. Two days later her body is found and her father is convicted of her murder. Fast forward another seventeen years and her father has done his time and is released, he is still claiming that he is innocent so Izzy decides to do a bit of digging. This book is a bit of a slow burner but I was really glad I stuck with it. I read this book in one sitting, reading late into the night I HAD TO KNOW!!!!! The story is set in two time periods which reveals a lot of the back story and very slowly reveals what actually happened. Another gripping who dunnit, I was thoroughly entertained. Wonderful and compelling. A very happy reader, an easy five stars and so Highly Recommended. I would like to thank the author, Penguin U K and Michael Joseph and Netgalley for the ARC in return for giving an honest review.
    more
  • Melanie’s reads
    January 1, 1970
    OMG!!! I don’t think I have ever been so invested in a book. In the characters, in finding out the truth. Is he guilty? Is he innocent?The perfect setting of the Isle of Wight gave this an almost claustrophobic feel. Nice to recognise places I had the pleasure of visiting too which was an added bonus.I really felt for Izzy, her whole life completely destroyed in one night. Her trying to wrack her brains around memories from so long ago.The writing is so captivating you feel like you are sitting OMG!!! I don’t think I have ever been so invested in a book. In the characters, in finding out the truth. Is he guilty? Is he innocent?The perfect setting of the Isle of Wight gave this an almost claustrophobic feel. Nice to recognise places I had the pleasure of visiting too which was an added bonus.I really felt for Izzy, her whole life completely destroyed in one night. Her trying to wrack her brains around memories from so long ago.The writing is so captivating you feel like you are sitting in her mothers restaurant watching it all unfold and playing detective alongside her.Showing the flaws in not only people but marriages , parents, family and how we all crave normality and acceptance . This is a thriller with a real heart at its core.
    more
  • Ellen
    January 1, 1970
    Another fantastic five star read from one of my favourite authors. I always eagerly anticipate a new book from Gillian McAllister and couldn't wait to get stuck into The Evidence against you.Once again McAllister has written a powerful, character driven novel. I was totally invested in Izzy English and curious as to what had really happened on the night her mother was murdered. Her father (Gabe) has served seventeen years for her murder and on his release sends Izzy a letter. He wants to explain Another fantastic five star read from one of my favourite authors. I always eagerly anticipate a new book from Gillian McAllister and couldn't wait to get stuck into The Evidence against you.Once again McAllister has written a powerful, character driven novel. I was totally invested in Izzy English and curious as to what had really happened on the night her mother was murdered. Her father (Gabe) has served seventeen years for her murder and on his release sends Izzy a letter. He wants to explain the truth and defend his innocence. But isn't this what every guilty person says...they didn't do it?? Is Gabe telling the truth or does he have another agenda and is Izzy in danger?I was conflicted throughout the book and swung from thinking Gabe was indeed innocent or that he was a manipulative monster toying with Izzy's memories and twisting them to make his version of the truth fit. This is not just a story about justice but of a young woman whose dreams of being a ballet dancer were dashed along with any hope of having a "normal" family and of a man released from prison but not equipped emotionally with the means to survive in this new and different world. I'm excited to see what's next from this author.
    more
Write a review