The Summer Getaway
Ashley Moon is all set for a dream holiday with her daughter in the glittering French Riviera. But nothing can prepare her for the shock of discovering who’s staying in the villa next door… Ashley Moon got much more than a suntan on her first ever foreign holiday; one whirlwind romance and nine months later she had a daughter,Molly. Too heart-broken and proud to ever contact the father, Ashley made a decision to go it alone and raise her daughter herself. Fifteen hard and lonely years later, she finally has the chance to take Molly on her first ever holiday; a gorgeous, all-expenses paid trip to the charming French resort of St Raphael. It is the perfect setting for a week of quality time together; they plan to cycle through the sun-drenched vineyards, lounge by the glistening pool and practice their French on friendly locals. And just when Ashley thought things couldn’t get any better, comes the news of a handsome new occupant to the villa next door. But fate has other plans for Ashley. One look in to her neighbour’s dark hazel eyes is all it takes to give her the shock of her life. Standing in front of her is Haydon, Molly’s long lost father and the holiday fling she thought she’d never see again. As the temperature on the Cote D’Azure steadily rises and Ashley and Haydon begin spend more and more time together, will Ashley find the courage to tell him who she is – and more importantly, who Molly is? A wonderfully heart-warming story of first love and second chances for fans of Jenny Oliver and Lucy Diamond. What readers are saying about Tilly Tennant: ‘‘I just want to say how fantastic this book is … If you’ve not read any books by this author, why the heck not?! Do it now… you won’t regret it! I just love love loved it.’ StefLoz Book Reviews, 5 stars ‘I loved every minute of it... I was glued to my Kindle for a few days that's for sure!... really brilliant... will leave you hooked even after a few pages.’ The Cosiest Corner, 5 stars ‘An absolute pleasure to read! ... Had me hooked right through to the last page! … A delightful story full of love, laughter and tears… Highly recommended!!’ Stardust Book Reviews, 5 stars ‘Wow absolutely wow... truly wonderful... you just fall into and lose yourself right from the very first page. Could not put it down. I loved everything about it.‘ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars ‘I adored this wonderful heart-warming story that captured my soul and left me glued to my ereader and I didn't want the story to end. Alas, I'm now bereft and missing my dose of feel-good from Harper and her friends at Silver Hill Farm.’ Kraftireader, 5 stars ‘You immediately feel right at home ... The descriptions of where Harper lives sound absolutely beautiful and immediately make you want to leave everything and go live there! '... just keeps you guessing ... I’m looking forward to her next already.’ Broadbean’s Books

The Summer Getaway Details

TitleThe Summer Getaway
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2018
PublisherBookouture
Rating
GenreContemporary

The Summer Getaway Review

  • Berit☀️✨
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 Second Chance Stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟.5Magnifique! Loved this second chance love story set in the beautiful south of France... another book that allowed me to go on vacation without needing to pack a bag or board a plane.... A lovely story filled with French food, French villas, French family, and French kissing 💋16 years ago Ashley found herself pregnant after A fling on a holiday to Ibiza... all she knows about the baby daddy is his name and the fact that he gave her the wrong phone number... now 16 ye 4.5 Second Chance Stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟.5Magnifique! Loved this second chance love story set in the beautiful south of France... another book that allowed me to go on vacation without needing to pack a bag or board a plane.... A lovely story filled with French food, French villas, French family, and French kissing 💋16 years ago Ashley found herself pregnant after A fling on a holiday to Ibiza... all she knows about the baby daddy is his name and the fact that he gave her the wrong phone number... now 16 years later Ashley finds out that the handsome Englishman vacationing next-door is Haydon AKA baby daddy... now this is extremely coincidental and highly improbable, but hey it’s fiction, right? Loved getting to know both Ashley and Haydon they were both real relatable characters and fierce parents...So... what do you do when you find yourself vacationing next to an old fling who is also the father of your daughter? Oh and I forgot to mention he does not know this..... Panic! And then you read this book to find out what not to do 😂 well Ashley probably did not handle this as well as she could have,but.... who am I to judge? I’ve never been in this situation.... and Ashley’s mom really did not help the situation she was a bit hostile and a bit pushy....This was a very sweet love story... with a beautiful setting and charming characters that left me with a smile on my face and craving a croissant... absolutely recommend when you’re in the mood for a second chance love story that will sweep you away to the south of France!*** many thanks too Bookouture for my copy of this most delightful book ***
    more
  • Whispering Stories
    January 1, 1970
    Book Reviewed by Stacey on www.whisperingstories.comSixteen-years-ago Ashley Moon had a one night stand whilst on a girls holiday in Ibiza. The guy left early to catch his flight home leaving just his phone number, which turned out to be bogus. All Ashley knew of this lad was that he was called Haydon, oh and that he was the father to her daughter Molly who was the result of that one night stand.Present day and single mum Ashley has been persuaded by her Mum and Step-Father Maurice to travel wit Book Reviewed by Stacey on www.whisperingstories.comSixteen-years-ago Ashley Moon had a one night stand whilst on a girls holiday in Ibiza. The guy left early to catch his flight home leaving just his phone number, which turned out to be bogus. All Ashley knew of this lad was that he was called Haydon, oh and that he was the father to her daughter Molly who was the result of that one night stand.Present day and single mum Ashley has been persuaded by her Mum and Step-Father Maurice to travel with them to the South of France to a little place called Saint-Raphael, for one of Maurice’s relatives 100th birthday.Haydon is now a successful music teacher and divorced father to Elle aged fourteen. Ella’s Mum and Step-Father are planning on moving to live in London and Haydon is not happy. After being offered the chance of a cheap holiday from one of the parents of a boy he tutors, Haydon decides to take his daughter and have some father-daughter time in the South of France.After sixteen years apart Ashley and Haydon end up holidaying in villas next-door to each other. But will Ashley have the heart to tell Haydon who she really is and more importantly that Molly is his daughter?I have read a lot of Tilly Tennant’s books so when I heard she had another book out I jumped at the chance to read it. Her books have always had great settings to them and this was no different. Saint-Raphael sounds like a gorgeous part of the world. Old style villas surrounded by wildflowers and wall to wall blue sky above.For me, the first half of the book was where the magic happened. Getting to know the characters and enjoying spending time with them individually. Once they met it became a waiting game to see how long it would be before Ashley told Haydon that Molly was his daughter. If I’m perfectly honest I feel that this was strung out a little bit. I could feel myself tensing up every time Ashley had the chance but never took it.The characters were all unique and far from perfect, whilst they were a joy to spend my time with they were also quite annoying at times. Ashley moaned too much and was so pig-headed. Haydon thought the sun shone out of his daughter’s back-side and everything was always someone else’s fault and don’t get me started on Ashley’s mother.That’s the beauty of books though, getting emotionally involved with them. Yes, the characters were annoying at times, but so are people in everyday life, which to me showed how realistic Tilly Tennant has written her plot.This is a lovely summery read that would be perfect to settle down on your sun-lounger with and enjoy spending your time in the most glorious place.
    more
  • Rachel Gilbey
    January 1, 1970
    Even when I wasn't reading this, thes story was playing on my mind - I just had to know what would happen next. This was such a fabulous story, incredibly summery and at the heart of it was the will she or won't she reveal to Haydon some important life changing information. For Ashley and Haydon had a one night stand in Ibiza 16 years ago, and lost contact and then Ashley realised she was pregnant. Fast forward to the present day and Ashley and daughter Molly got to St. Raphael for a weeks holid Even when I wasn't reading this, thes story was playing on my mind - I just had to know what would happen next. This was such a fabulous story, incredibly summery and at the heart of it was the will she or won't she reveal to Haydon some important life changing information. For Ashley and Haydon had a one night stand in Ibiza 16 years ago, and lost contact and then Ashley realised she was pregnant. Fast forward to the present day and Ashley and daughter Molly got to St. Raphael for a weeks holiday and a great aunts 100th Birthday party . It just so happen that on the same week Haydon and his daughter Ellie agree to a week away in the same resort, and in the neighbouring villa. What are the odds, of them being in the same place at the same time, recognising each other and having children that are getting on together. This is fabulous as various people work out the connection and others stay completely ignorant, and in amongst this there is a week in France including a big French family to get to know, a delicious sounding market, and some wonderful days involving the beach. This really was a perfect book to read during this summers heatwave or anywhere else that is hot - from its stunning cover, to all of the contents this a joy to read and is Tilly Tennant back to her best. Thank you to Netgalley and Bookouture for this copy which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.
    more
  • Melissa Rose
    January 1, 1970
    I feel guilty rating this particular novel a three because, in the past, I have been blown away by anything that Tilly Tennant writes; she has a magical way of creating a beautiful book that is full of loveable and realistic characters and scenarios.However, as a Tilly Tennant fan, I have to admit that The Summer Getaway wasn't my most favourite book by the author.That isn't to say that I didn't enjoy the story; the book itself was well-written, and descriptions of Southern France were gorgeous. I feel guilty rating this particular novel a three because, in the past, I have been blown away by anything that Tilly Tennant writes; she has a magical way of creating a beautiful book that is full of loveable and realistic characters and scenarios.However, as a Tilly Tennant fan, I have to admit that The Summer Getaway wasn't my most favourite book by the author.That isn't to say that I didn't enjoy the story; the book itself was well-written, and descriptions of Southern France were gorgeous.But alas, the trouble was that I found a few of the main characters to be distinctly unlikeable. Ashley spent way too much time waffling on how to tell Haydon her secret, and Ashley's Mum spent much of the novel bitching to Ashley while giving Haydon cruel looks. As a reader, it got to be frustrating at times.Overall while this wasn’t the top of my list of favourite Tilly Tennant books, I still enjoyed the reading experience. It is entirely possible that I stayed up until 4 am to finish the novel in one sitting. I was satisfied with the ending.I would likely recommend this novel to other fans of the chick-lit genre.
    more
  • Alison
    January 1, 1970
    DNF at 74%.I tried really hard to finish this book but frankly I found all of the characters to be unsympathetic, verging on dis-likeable.Sixteen years ago Ashley Moon went on a summer holiday to Ibiza she would never forget, a one-night stand with a boy called Haydon (no surname) left her pregnant with a bogus phone number. For the first time in forever she and her daughter Molly are going abroad on holiday - to France to celebrate Ashley's step-father's mother's 100th birthday (I hope that mad DNF at 74%.I tried really hard to finish this book but frankly I found all of the characters to be unsympathetic, verging on dis-likeable.Sixteen years ago Ashley Moon went on a summer holiday to Ibiza she would never forget, a one-night stand with a boy called Haydon (no surname) left her pregnant with a bogus phone number. For the first time in forever she and her daughter Molly are going abroad on holiday - to France to celebrate Ashley's step-father's mother's 100th birthday (I hope that made sense).Haydon is a music teacher and divorced with a fourteen year old daughter called Ella. His ex-wife and her new boyfriend are thinking of moving down to London and taking Ella with them so Haydon decides to take advantage of a late offer from a pupil's father and rent a villa in France for a week's holiday with Ella.Imagine Haydon and Ashley's surprise when they discover that after sixteen years of no contact they are staying next door to each other in France.So, here I am, 74% of the way through the book, six days into Ashley's holiday and she STILL hasn't told Haydon that Molly is his daughter. Nevertheless the four of them, plus various wider family members, have managed to spend several days together. Ashley has to be one of the most infuriating characters I have ever read. She hasn't seen this guy in sixteen years. They had a one-night stand. She gets jealous if she sees him with another woman. She thinks she can't trust him. So she won't tell him he has a daughter. Her own mother can't understand what is taking so long. Haydon on the other hand is one of those parents who thinks that others need to tip-toe around their precious baby. His daughter gets upset and he thinks it's the fault of the other children instead of the natural outcome when there are two fifteen year olds and a younger child. Goodness only knows why he likes Ashley, she's wetter than a cold weekend in Seattle.The book was too slow, do we really need 245 pages of Ashley faffing about before she tells Haydon he has another daughter? I suppose realistically I wanted the novel to be about what happens AFTER she breaks the news not this will-she, won't-she wobbling. Maybe I'm too old, I identify more with Ashley's exasperated mother than I do with her?It's a pity because I've read Tilly Tennant books in the past and really enjoyed them.I received a free copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in return for an honest review.Bumped for release.
    more
  • Sharon
    January 1, 1970
    Fifteen years ago, Ashley Moon had a holiday romance resulting in her daughter Molly.  Despite trying to contact the father on the number he gave her, Ashley decided to go it alone.  It’s been hard for them both, financially and emotionally, and Ashley’s mum, Sue, invites them to join her and her husband on a holiday to the French Riviera to visit her husband’s family.  It’s the perfect setting for a bit of mother-daughter time, until Ashley bumps into neighbouring holiday makers, Haydon and his Fifteen years ago, Ashley Moon had a holiday romance resulting in her daughter Molly.  Despite trying to contact the father on the number he gave her, Ashley decided to go it alone.  It’s been hard for them both, financially and emotionally, and Ashley’s mum, Sue, invites them to join her and her husband on a holiday to the French Riviera to visit her husband’s family.  It’s the perfect setting for a bit of mother-daughter time, until Ashley bumps into neighbouring holiday makers, Haydon and his daughter, Ella.  Haydon has the same dark eyes as Molly and this sends shockwaves through Ashley.  As they spend more time together, will Ashley ever tell Haydon who Molly really is?I loved the last few books by this author and was pleased to see that this one looked just as delightful.  The setting of the South of France was beautiful and I was already lapping up the sun’s rays in my imagination as I started to read!I loved Ashley’s character!  She’s had it difficult bringing Molly up on her own, but she’s worked hard and has just about kept their heads above water.  I really felt for Ashley when Molly has been accepted at Music College, something which Ashley couldn’t afford to send her to, as like Ashley we all want the best for our children even though sometimes circumstances don’t allow it.   When Ashley sees Haydon, they obviously both recognise each other despite it being 15 years since they last saw each other.  Haydon’s character is equally lovable.  He’s the doting father to his daughter Ella but he has also had it difficult in his past relationship and is now facing more challenges as his ex-wife wants to move away and take Ella with her.   When the two families begin to spend time together I just wanted to Ashley to pluck up the courage and tell him!!  Whilst all the other characters were great, I did find Ashley’s mum a little bit overbearing at times!  She obviously meant well, but perhaps she should have taken a step back and let Ashley deal with the situation.I really enjoyed the theme and storyline of this book!  It travelled along at a pace that was neither too fast nor too slow, but was just right for taking in everything this book gave you – family, love, sadness and laughter!  Despite the tension between Ashley and Haydon, it was still an easy, light-hearted read full of fun and sun!  All in all, it was an adorable read which will be perfect for a lazy summer’s day!
    more
  • Lisa Houston
    January 1, 1970
    The book started off so well and I was really enjoying it. Ashley a single mum to Molly takes a well deserved family holiday to France. When she comes across an old flame. Big secrets that dragged on to long. The more it dragged out the more bored I became. It did go back to its best in the last few pages. Which is a shame as it had the makings of a lovely summer read.
    more
  • Nicola Clough
    January 1, 1970
    I have always loved Tilly's books and this one is her best by far totally hooked from the first page and so heartwarming and romantic and absolutely brilliant read with beautiful countryside and you think you are there in the French Rivera. Great characters and the story plot is amazing and an easy read that you just can't put down. Ashley went on holiday years ago as a teenager and met a man she fell in love with one night but when she woke he had gone leaving a telephone number that wasn't his I have always loved Tilly's books and this one is her best by far totally hooked from the first page and so heartwarming and romantic and absolutely brilliant read with beautiful countryside and you think you are there in the French Rivera. Great characters and the story plot is amazing and an easy read that you just can't put down. Ashley went on holiday years ago as a teenager and met a man she fell in love with one night but when she woke he had gone leaving a telephone number that wasn't his and when she later discovered she was pregnant so went it alone as she didn't know where he was or even his name and her child Molly was brought up by her and she was always upset she never found him. Molly is now sixteen and her grandmother manages to get Ashley and Molly to go away with the to family on the French Rivera and it's to give them a break from work and enjoy the countryside. On her week away she bumps into the neighbour who is on holiday with his daughter and it happens to be Molly's father Haydon who she had never forgotten but never thought she would see again. They both fall for each other again but can Ashley tell him the truth about her daughter and that he's the father or not and can they tell the children what is going on or does someone get there first how will everyone react and can they be happy or not. A fantastic read from the first page worth far more than give stars.
    more
  • Sherry
    January 1, 1970
    ***I received an e-copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to the author, publisher and NetGalley.***2.5 starsThere were things I loved about The Summer Getaway, by Tilly Tennant, and things that frustrated me.Ashley and Haydon met on holiday in Ibiza, falling hard and fast for each other after only a single night together. But as life would have it, nothing is ever simple. Ashley finds herself pregnant with no way to contact Haydon. Fast-forward sixteen years, and the pair ***I received an e-copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to the author, publisher and NetGalley.***2.5 starsThere were things I loved about The Summer Getaway, by Tilly Tennant, and things that frustrated me.Ashley and Haydon met on holiday in Ibiza, falling hard and fast for each other after only a single night together. But as life would have it, nothing is ever simple. Ashley finds herself pregnant with no way to contact Haydon. Fast-forward sixteen years, and the pair cross paths on holiday again, each with a daughter in tow. Ashley struggles with her feelings for Haydon and about whether to tell him who Molly is and how to go about it. Throw in her meddling mother, an entire French step-family that know nothing about Ashley’s past and 1 ex-wife. What could go wrong? Or should I say, what could go right?What did I love about this story? I fell for both Haydon and Ashley. Ashley raised her daughter all on her own and never once complained about the struggles. It’s impossible not to admire that. She loves her mum and step-dad. I loved how straightforward Haydon was about his feelings once the initial awkwardness has been navigated. I loved how both of them loved their daughters. I adored Maurice, Ashley’s step-dad. He had this gentle, ultra-sensitive and loving manner about him. You could just tell he wanted nothing but the best for Ashley. Also, Molly and Bastien were adorable.What about this story frustrated me? It was plain from the beginning that Ashley needed to tell Haydon about Molly. I didn’t expect her to tell him straight away; seeing him was enough of a shock that I doubt anyone would have just blurted it out. I even understood her hurt feelings about Audrey and gave her a pass that night. It was after that night that I realized her waiting too long to tell Haydon was going to be the bulk of the plot. It just seemed so, so wrong to wait. She was playing with other people’s lives. The excuse became a frustrating, cliched plot device. I didn’t love Ashley’s mum. She was pushy and judgmental and she said some terribly insensitive things to her daughter. Ashley was a grown woman, so it was irritating to see her mum treat her like a child.In terms of writing, the pace was a bit off for me. There was a delightful sense of fate and inevitability but boy did it seem dragged out. There was also too much description for me. I felt as though I spent too much time inside the characters’ thoughts. Both MCs went through the ins and outs and ups and downs of every single what-if in their heads. It just made everything feel muddled and often repetitive.And one last thing…(view spoiler)[The couple’s reunion felt rather anticlimactic. Haydon was confused and shut down and then you turn the page and they’re together. I wish Tennant had written the scene differently. I wanted our MCs to talk. I wanted their what-ifs here. I wanted reassurance that they’d figure it out somehow, or that they at least wanted to. Technically we got this in an after-the-fact way, but I would have liked to have the conversation, to see our couple work at finding a way together. The way it was written left me feeling rather disappointed. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Els
    January 1, 1970
    When you see that cover, don't you feel like putting on your bathing suit and diving into that inviting blue water? I certainly do. It also makes me want to pack my bags and book my own summer getaway.When you are young you set out to have some fun and when, one night, you think with your heart in stead of your mind, life can change forever. But faith (or was it coincidence, because it does exist) can give a helping hand and when you thought you knew the direction your future was headed in, you When you see that cover, don't you feel like putting on your bathing suit and diving into that inviting blue water? I certainly do. It also makes me want to pack my bags and book my own summer getaway.When you are young you set out to have some fun and when, one night, you think with your heart in stead of your mind, life can change forever. But faith (or was it coincidence, because it does exist) can give a helping hand and when you thought you knew the direction your future was headed in, you have another think coming ...I felt in France and I could smell the smells, see the colours and hear the sounds as if I were there as well. It was a fluently written story and I loved the little jokes. It had everything I want in a book that fits this genre. I understood the struggles Haydon and Ashley were dealing with and although Sue was sometimes harsh, I understood her too. After all, parents want only what's best for their children and occasionally you have to leave the sugarcoating behind.Thank you, Tilly Tennant, Bookouture and Netgalleybforbookreview.wordpress.com
    more
  • Sally Coles
    January 1, 1970
    Ashley had a holiday romance in Ibiza and came home with more than she bargained for when Molly arrived 9 months later. Not contacting the father she raises her daughter on her own and so when she takes her daughter to the South of France on holiday 15 years later imagine her shock when she finds that the man in the next villa is Haydon Molly's father! What a dilemma should she tell him exactly who Molly is?Another lovely book by this author, as always a heartwarming book woth lovely characters Ashley had a holiday romance in Ibiza and came home with more than she bargained for when Molly arrived 9 months later. Not contacting the father she raises her daughter on her own and so when she takes her daughter to the South of France on holiday 15 years later imagine her shock when she finds that the man in the next villa is Haydon Molly's father! What a dilemma should she tell him exactly who Molly is?Another lovely book by this author, as always a heartwarming book woth lovely characters that you think of friends by the time you have finished
    more
  • Steph Lawrence
    January 1, 1970
    Another fantastic book. It gave me goosebumps.Ashley's in shock when she recognises Haydon, and after all these years they are staying in neighbouring properties in the South of France.It’s very coincidental, but who cares, it makes for a great story!The characters were really likeable and all had good depth. I was interested in their lives and what was going on.Ashley was trying to find the right moment to talk to Haydon but it never was the right moment. Someone was always there, ears flapping Another fantastic book. It gave me goosebumps.Ashley's in shock when she recognises Haydon, and after all these years they are staying in neighbouring properties in the South of France.It’s very coincidental, but who cares, it makes for a great story!The characters were really likeable and all had good depth. I was interested in their lives and what was going on.Ashley was trying to find the right moment to talk to Haydon but it never was the right moment. Someone was always there, ears flapping.Ashley’s Mum was pushy and drove me a bit batty. And she was to blame for a lot of the times that Ashley didn’t get round to asking ‘that question’. I liked Maurice, Ashley’s step-dad. He knew straight away didn’t he!!I loved the French side of the family, the villa sounded gorgeous and I imagined the grounds and the surrounding area.The town and harbour descriptions drew me in, and I found I wanted a croissant from the market.The day came of Great Aunt’s party. The preparations, food and ambiance.When Haydon and Molly played cello and violin together I absolutely loved it, and they didn’t know they were father and daughter.If you’ve not read any books by this author, why the heck not?! Do it now, read this one. Or read one from the ‘From Italy with Love’ series, or the ‘Honeybourne’ series…you won’t regret it!Beautifully written, set in the South of France. Another place this author has made me want to visit.I just loved it. Thank you Tilly Tennant xThanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for the review copy, in which I give my honest opinion.
    more
  • Gaele
    January 1, 1970
    Ashley and her daughter Molly have had an us against the world mentality since Molly was born. While Ashley’s mother and stepfather are close by, Ashley has made it a point of pride to do all she can to provide for her daughter, especially since Molly doesn’t know her father, and Ashley had no way to reach him after an ill-advised romp in Ibiza, a dodgy phone number and more action than conversation meant they never reconnected. But, Maurice’s great Aunt Violet is turning 100 years of age, and t Ashley and her daughter Molly have had an us against the world mentality since Molly was born. While Ashley’s mother and stepfather are close by, Ashley has made it a point of pride to do all she can to provide for her daughter, especially since Molly doesn’t know her father, and Ashley had no way to reach him after an ill-advised romp in Ibiza, a dodgy phone number and more action than conversation meant they never reconnected. But, Maurice’s great Aunt Violet is turning 100 years of age, and the whole family is gathering for a week of celebration, sunshine and bonhomie. Since Ashley’s mother and stepfather are going, and the weather in York is perfectly grey without a hint of sunshine, and Ashley can get the time off from her work at the care home, it is decided that she and Molly will go to France with her mother and stepfather for a week. Haydon and his daughter Ella are off for a solid week of Daddy-Daughter time in the south of France, at a house let that one of his cello student’s father lets to tourists: an unexpected cancellation means that Haydon gets some unexpected and concentrated time with Ella, time that he may not have much of considering she’s getting older, and her mother and step-father are planning to move to London, hours from his home. They’re just soaking up the scenery, eating the food and having fun in the market when he spots someone who looks familiar. But, she has a girl with her, one that looks to be close to Ella’s age, and really, she moved to quickly to be sure. But coincidence and a bored teen means that Ella and Haydon are face to face with Molly and Ashley, with the added bonus of a very Parisian teenaged boy down for the party – the kids have plenty of distraction. Which only leaves Ashley with a conundrum. She likes the Haydon she’s coming to know, but what if this is merely the “charming” man and not the real man who left her with a dodgy telephone number and a baby on the way. Oh – and we can’t forget that he doesn’t know about Molly, or she about him, or Ella about any of it. Tilly Tennant took us through their reunion, one that was near it’s end before truth was shared. Ashley was more than a bit difficult and judgy, her mother was far too pushy, and Haydon was, more often than not, a bubbling mass of insecurities where women were concerned. What made up for the whole ‘unsettled” vibe from him was his honest intention to do the right thing and consider everyone else. I’m not a fan of ‘secret baby’ tropes at all, and while the ‘reveal’ to Haydon kept delaying, it was obviously on a collision course to coming out in the worst possible way, at the worst time. And it did. Spectacularly. But, not shying from the shock, difficulty or time needed to process all of this information, Tennant allows those ugly and often understandably unreasonable moments to unravel, all helping to heal and provide new territory and options for this newly found relationship to grow and build. While perhaps not my favorite of her books, mostly due to the ‘you know this will happen’ set up, the characters and the situations felt real and plausible, even if I wanted to alternate strangling Ashley, her mother, or Haydon frequently. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility. Review first appeared at I am, Indeed
    more
  • Kaisha (The Writing Garnet)
    January 1, 1970
    All reviews can be found on my blog at https://thewritinggarnet.wordpress.comMaybe it's just me, but the vibe of 'The Summer Getaway' felt a bit different to Tilly Tennant's usual style, and no I don't mean that in a bad way! I have read, and enjoyed, a lot of the authors previous novels and whilst I do enjoy the romance involved in them, I did really enjoy the change of direction where 'The Summer Getaway' was concerned. For me, the storyline was very deep and given that the theme of fatherhood All reviews can be found on my blog at https://thewritinggarnet.wordpress.comMaybe it's just me, but the vibe of 'The Summer Getaway' felt a bit different to Tilly Tennant's usual style, and no I don't mean that in a bad way! I have read, and enjoyed, a lot of the authors previous novels and whilst I do enjoy the romance involved in them, I did really enjoy the change of direction where 'The Summer Getaway' was concerned. For me, the storyline was very deep and given that the theme of fatherhood was quite prominent throughout, I couldn't help but get a little emotional due to my own situation. Ashley is such a wonderful character to have at the core of the book, as she unknowingly became the backbone of the entire storyline which I loved. Single mums rock!Tilly Tennant has highlighted just how turbulent relationships can be in families, extremely well. I mean, a lot of readers will be able to relate to at least one of the characters, that's for sure! Whether they will be able to relate to the characters to find themselves on the receiving end of the family hardship, or whether they relate to one of the characters who stick their nose where it isn't wanted, I have no idea. Curious, but unsure!Whilst I did throughly enjoy reading 'The Summer Getaway', I did feel as though the storyline ended rather abruptly as we had been on a journey with some very colourful characters, looking into our crystal balls regarding their futures, and then all of a sudden it stopped. I know, I know, I'm greedy when it comes to Tilly Tennant's writing, but surely that is a good thing that I didn't want it to end? Maybe there is scope for some of the characters to return in another book later down the line? My fingers are crossed as I really would love to see how everything plays out for Ashley and Haydon, and of course the girls.Every time I read a Tilly Tennant novel, my insides get a massive hug and thankfully, 'The Summer Getaway' was no different, hugging me from the inside out and giving me the feel-good, heartfelt vibe that Tilly Tennant is known for. This is the perfect escapism for any time of the year, not just Summer. 
    more
  • Emma Star Crossed Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    This review was originally posted on Star Crossed Reviews I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Thank you to Bookouture for my copy of this book. I am a huge fan of Tilly's writing so I knew I would read this book before I even read the blurb.Ashley was an easy character to like. She has worked hard to bring up her daughter and loves her dearly. She is a fierce mamma bear and would do This review was originally posted on Star Crossed Reviews I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Thank you to Bookouture for my copy of this book. I am a huge fan of Tilly's writing so I knew I would read this book before I even read the blurb.Ashley was an easy character to like. She has worked hard to bring up her daughter and loves her dearly. She is a fierce mamma bear and would do anything to protect her. I can see why she was struggling so much with the decision to tell Hayden the truth. For her whole life it had just been Molly and her mum, bringing a third person into the mix was always going to change things but she needed to know it was a good change and not a bad one.I fell hard and fast for Hayden. There was something about him that I was instantly drawn to. Then the way he was with his daughter just solidified that. He clearly just wants to be a good dad and do right by her. I've always loved Tilly's writing. This book had so many laugh out loud moments. I spent a lot of time giggling on my sofa with this book. Tilly does a wonderful job describing the French Riviera and it made me want to jump in the car and drive there right now. it sounded beautiful and I could honestly do with a week in the sun right now.
    more
  • Donna Maguire
    January 1, 1970
    https://donnasbookblog.wordpress.com/...I simply adore this author’s books and as soon as I see that she has a new release, I eagerly await it arriving on my Kindle!This book is written brilliantly, the flow is spot on and I loved the story! The characters in the book are genuine, very likeable and easy to relate too – and that makes it a very enjoyable story. I loved the setting and well, if I am honest I loved pretty much all of it from the front cover to the last page!This one was a complete https://donnasbookblog.wordpress.com/...I simply adore this author’s books and as soon as I see that she has a new release, I eagerly await it arriving on my Kindle!This book is written brilliantly, the flow is spot on and I loved the story! The characters in the book are genuine, very likeable and easy to relate too – and that makes it a very enjoyable story. I loved the setting and well, if I am honest I loved pretty much all of it from the front cover to the last page!This one was a complete treat to read and definitely THE perfect summer read – 5 stars from me, very highly recommended- make sure you grab a copy now- it is SO worth it!!
    more
  • Stephaniereads
    January 1, 1970
    An easy summer read that will get you booking your our French holiday. It was nice to read a book where a single mum does get her happy ending. I enjoyed getting to know the characters although I found Sue a bit annoying and she should had left Ashley deal with it her own way. The setting of the book was lovely.This is the second book I have read by this author and I will be reading the next one soon. I received an ARC copy of this book from Bookouture Press via Netgalley in return for an honest An easy summer read that will get you booking your our French holiday. It was nice to read a book where a single mum does get her happy ending. I enjoyed getting to know the characters although I found Sue a bit annoying and she should had left Ashley deal with it her own way. The setting of the book was lovely.This is the second book I have read by this author and I will be reading the next one soon. I received an ARC copy of this book from Bookouture Press via Netgalley in return for an honest and fair review.
    more
  • Marija
    January 1, 1970
    Brilliant summer read. I had to read it in one sitting just because I wanted to see how the story will develop and see if there will be HEA. More on my blog https://heyjustreadit.wordpress.com/2...
  • Renee Cummings
    January 1, 1970
    This was my first book by Tilly. I thought it was well written and easy to get into. I liked that I could relate the the characters. It was a good story with a happy ending. I definitely would recommend this book to fellow readers.
  • Frenchorchidea
    January 1, 1970
    I was saving this book for my own summer getaway because I am never disappointed by a book from Tilly Tennant. I know that in advance that I will enjoy my time with the book. And I was right! I read this book during my vacation and I absolutely loved it! I devoured it! In this book we travel to the French Riviera in Saint Raphael. Lovely settings for a very nice story full of suspense as soon as Ashley bump into Haydon, the man with who she had a summer romance when she was 18 and who made her p I was saving this book for my own summer getaway because I am never disappointed by a book from Tilly Tennant. I know that in advance that I will enjoy my time with the book. And I was right! I read this book during my vacation and I absolutely loved it! I devoured it! In this book we travel to the French Riviera in Saint Raphael. Lovely settings for a very nice story full of suspense as soon as Ashley bump into Haydon, the man with who she had a summer romance when she was 18 and who made her pregnant but then who disappeared from her life without knowing that Ashley was pregnant. This story is full of tension and I was totally hooked. I recommend this book!
    more
  • Simona
    January 1, 1970
    *Book provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*Ashley got pregnant at 18 on her first holiday without her parents. She only knows his name: Haydon. He left her a phone number, but it didn't work. Now, 17 years later, she has a 16-year-old daughter called Molly. They go on holiday to France. Haydon has a daughter as well. Ella is 14 years-old. He is not with her mum anymore and only see Ella on weekends. Janine (his ex) has a new partner now and he plans to move the family to Lo *Book provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*Ashley got pregnant at 18 on her first holiday without her parents. She only knows his name: Haydon. He left her a phone number, but it didn't work. Now, 17 years later, she has a 16-year-old daughter called Molly. They go on holiday to France. Haydon has a daughter as well. Ella is 14 years-old. He is not with her mum anymore and only see Ella on weekends. Janine (his ex) has a new partner now and he plans to move the family to London, much to Hayden's distaste of course. He gets to go on holiday with Ella alone though and all the circumstances come together and they go to the same place as Ashley and Molly.Their paths cross of course and Ella and Molly start to build a friendship. Old feelings come up for Ashley and Hayden as well. It's not simple though, because he meets Audrey as well, there is the unsolved mystery of the phone number and he doesn't know about Molly (yet).They all spend a lot of time together, the teenagers have things going on and so do the adults. Hayden and Ashely had great chemistry, I really adored their scenes. It took a really long time, until things got resolved, Ashely's mum got in between as well, so there was a lot of drama. That kept the storyline alive and exciting. Certain things seemed a bit too obvious to me and some of their reactions weren't authentic in my eyes.They story is wonderful, it's set in a beautiful location and Tilly Tennant created this great plot around a fantastic idea. The book had a fab flow and her descriptive writing about the setting is on point. Tilly Tennant's writing is fresh, lively and vivid. 4.5/5
    more
  • Stephanie
    January 1, 1970
    I received a copy of this book from #Net gallery. Loved this quick, light read, perfect for a summer weekend. I related to Ashley and her struggles and celebrations of being a single mom. All of the characters were likable and realistic in their portrayal of modern families, without the storyline being heavy.
    more
  • Emma Crowley
    January 1, 1970
    The Summer Getaway as mentioned in the title of Tilly Tennant's new book proves to be anything other than relaxing and calming for our main female character Ashley Moon. She certainly gets a lot more than she bargained for when she first accepts the offer from her step father of a week away in France to cerebrate his aunt's one hundredth birthday. The cover suggests this story may well be another one of those fun, girly, holiday, romance reads that are to be found on bookshelves in shops at this The Summer Getaway as mentioned in the title of Tilly Tennant's new book proves to be anything other than relaxing and calming for our main female character Ashley Moon. She certainly gets a lot more than she bargained for when she first accepts the offer from her step father of a week away in France to cerebrate his aunt's one hundredth birthday. The cover suggests this story may well be another one of those fun, girly, holiday, romance reads that are to be found on bookshelves in shops at this time of year but that's not the case and there is a far more pressing issue at hand. What happens if on your first foreign holiday you leave with a lot more than you arrived with and your life is changed forever?If she had known all that was in store would she have taken up the opportunity? The Summer Getaway is told from two perspectives that of Ashley and that of Haydon and that's one thing that was good about this book. Rarely do we get to hear from the male viewpoint so here it was a refreshing change and to be honest it was vitally needed otherwise the story would have become very one sided.Each chapter moves between Ashley and Haydon and it soon becomes apparent that the stars are aligning after a 16 year gap for things to finally come out in the open. The truth needs to be told given the situation the characters find themselves in. But can Ashley finally built the courage to pour out her deepest secret? For Ashley that one drunken night spent with Haydon in Ibiza resulted in the focus of her life, her daughter Molly. The only problem is that was the only time she met Haydon as the number he gave her to hopefully contact him was incorrect. Ashley has done her best to raise Molly single handedly accepting when really needed the help of her mother Sue and stepdad Maurice. She feels under constant pressure to give Molly everything although the funds needed for her entrance into a prestigious music school just aren't there.Ashley for me throughout the entire book was a very stubborn character, for the most part she wanted to do things her own way and that's the same when she unexpectedly meets Haydon once again. From the outset, given they all only had a week away, she should have told Haydon about Molly and not allowed in my opinion such a tangled mess to develop. Others may criticise her mother for always nagging her and constantly putting pressure on her and berating her for so many missed opportunities to tell Haydon the truth, I didn't feel like this at all. I thought Sue was right to keep getting on at her daughter and I don't think she was looking at it from the financial point of view rather looking upon it as a chance for Molly to connect with the father she never knew. Plus I don't think it was fair to on Haydon to be in such close proximity to his daughter not knowing they were related. Ashley proved to be a frustrating character and for once I think I liked the male character far more. Even Maurice was preferable to some of the female characters. He was warm, wise, kind and loving and not in a seedy way. I think he had genuine affection for Ashley and Molly and wanted the best possible outcome for them in order to guarantee happiness in the future.Haydon is divorced from his wife Janine who is now moving on with Kevin. When the father of one of his music students asks would he like to stay in his villa in France he jumps at the chance to take away his daughter Ella viewing it as an opportunity to further strengthen their bond given the changes that are on the horizon with Janine and Kevin. Coincidentally the villa they are staying in is right next to the home of Violette - Maurice's aunt. So sooner rather than later it was obvious Ashley and Haydon would meet once again. I'm glad their meeting wasn't delayed or drawn out but what was, was Ashley building up the courage to tell Haydon the truth. This formed the basis of the story with the author providing so many opportunities for Ashley to blurt out the truth only for things to get in the way. It got to the point where I myself wanted to be a character in the book so I could stride in and say excuse me there is something Ashley needs to tell you. At this stage to be honest it became a bit repetitive, just when you think Ashley is on the brink of finally getting things out there something trivial occurs and she bottles it. I wanted to shake her and almost give her a slap to bring her back to reality to just get on with things. Given the connection between the pair had been re-established fate was saying the time was now.On the other hand one could say how could Haydon not have noticed the obvious and joined the dots regarding ages etc? But I think he was so caught up in keeping Ella happy and as he was worried about his future with her that his clarity was clouded. The little sub plot with stall holder Audrey was perhaps the weakest element of the book, it didn't need to be here at all and was very implausible that someone could really develop feelings for someone having met them for a few minutes and knowing they were going to be around for a week. I know it was put in place as a distraction for Haydon and for him to wrestle with his feelings once he saw Ashley again but the book would have been fine without its inclusion.As the week progresses there were plenty of tense situations when the truth was just there ready to pop out but the author held off and as we reached the celebration of Violette's birthday that's when things kicked off. These were the best scenes of the book and given so much time had been given to the setting up of the entire plot I wanted more of the birthday to feature. I thought the first half of the book was too long and dragged out and I would have preferred more focus on all that came in the end allowing for perhaps a little bit more of a fall out and allowing each character to really express how they felt about the situation. It all just happened to quick as I do think acceptance and understanding takes time.Overall The Summer Getaway was a nice, easy read that had such beautiful descriptions of its setting that did make you feel as if you were there on holiday observing all the trials and tribulations and between Ashley and Haydon. The reader does know very much from the beginning what the outcome be and it was enjoyable to journey with them as they reach that point of disclosure and deal with the resulting fallout in order to move on in the future. This wasn't my favourite read from Tilly Tennant but it is ideal if you have a few hours to sit and enjoy the sun as this book will keep you entertained.
    more
  • Robin Taylor
    January 1, 1970
    As Ashley Moon prepares for a dream holiday with her daughter in the French Riviera, she never would have expected the shock of her life. When Ashley was eighteen, she was on holiday and had a whirlwind romance that, nine months later, left her with her beautiful daughter Molly. It is now seventeen years later and the last man she ever expected to see again at the villa next door is none other than Molly's father, Haydon. Meanwhile, Ashley's daughter Molly and Haydon's daughter Ella become fast As Ashley Moon prepares for a dream holiday with her daughter in the French Riviera, she never would have expected the shock of her life. When Ashley was eighteen, she was on holiday and had a whirlwind romance that, nine months later, left her with her beautiful daughter Molly. It is now seventeen years later and the last man she ever expected to see again at the villa next door is none other than Molly's father, Haydon. Meanwhile, Ashley's daughter Molly and Haydon's daughter Ella become fast friends during the getaway week. This brings Ashley and Haydon together quite regularly, and, although they clearly remember their shared past, Haydon has no idea that Molly is his daughter, and Ashley struggles to find a way to let him know the truth.Although I was eager for Ashley to tell Haydon the truth, the Summer Getaway is certainly a heartwarming story that had me smiling. Second-chance romances are one of my favorite type to read and this one did not disappoint. The story does an excellent job of focusing well on the relationships between Ashley and Molly as well as Haydon and Ella. I also enjoyed the other characters in this book. The story was very engaging, making this a quick and delightful read and offered a satisfying conclusion. I look forward to reading more of Tilly Tennant in the future. Many thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC to review in exchange for my honest opinion.Date of publication: July 11, 2018
    more
  • Kerry
    January 1, 1970
    The Summer Getaway is such a heart-warming story, with the loveliest of character's, some of whom have not always had it easy.Ashley and her teenage daughter, Molly, have only ever had each other as Molly has never known her dad. The result of a holiday romance, with the handsome Haydon, when Ashley was just 18, a simple misunderstanding kept them from finding each other when they returned home. Ashley has always assumed he wrote the wrong number on purpose and he had always assumed she must hav The Summer Getaway is such a heart-warming story, with the loveliest of character's, some of whom have not always had it easy.Ashley and her teenage daughter, Molly, have only ever had each other as Molly has never known her dad. The result of a holiday romance, with the handsome Haydon, when Ashley was just 18, a simple misunderstanding kept them from finding each other when they returned home. Ashley has always assumed he wrote the wrong number on purpose and he had always assumed she must have wanted nothing more to do with him. Who would have thought an invite to a relatives 100th Birthday would bring them face to face once again!I warmed to Ashley instantly. I have to admit that I pictured her as looking like the author and I couldn't imagine her as looking any different throughout the whole story. I think she and Haydon, who I imagine to be very easy on the eye and naturally likeable, make a very cute couple and I was praying that they could re-ignite the spark they obviously felt all those years ago. It was never going to be straight forward though, with teenagers (and well meaning, but meddling mothers) involved!I did find myself wanting to shake Ashley at times, but I could totally sympathise with the sensitivity of the situation, but I can't believe Haydon didn't twig sooner.It was evident that they had both been hurt in the past and almost didn't dare believe that they could have a happy ending together, but the chemistry between them is undeniable. Set in France in what sounds like the most beautiful town, The Summer Getaway is a fabulous read which is perfect for this glorious weather we have been having. If you're going on your holiday's take a copy of this with you. It's just so lovely. Tilly Tennant has a way of drawing you in to her stories from the very first page and I always love the character's. I was totally immersed in Ashley's story and I hope she gets the happily ever after she deserves. Many thanks to the author and Bookouture for my ARC and for the opportunity to be a part of this fabulous blog tour! :-)https://chataboutbooks.wordpress.com/...
    more
  • Eve
    January 1, 1970
    Ashley got pregnant with Molly young on holiday and now grown up Molly is a talented musician wanting to go to a prestigious college.Haydon is a cellist with his daughter Ella whom may be moving away to be with her mum and new stepdad full time As they seem set on moving away.As Ashley heads to the South of France for her stepdads aunt's birthday celebration, she passes by Haydon at a market only he spots her but doesn't realise at first. Then later They find out they're neighbours at their sepe Ashley got pregnant with Molly young on holiday and now grown up Molly is a talented musician wanting to go to a prestigious college.Haydon is a cellist with his daughter Ella whom may be moving away to be with her mum and new stepdad full time As they seem set on moving away.As Ashley heads to the South of France for her stepdads aunt's birthday celebration, she passes by Haydon at a market only he spots her but doesn't realise at first. Then later They find out they're neighbours at their seperate villas!As their daughter's become friends Ashley's mum lays on the pressure to come clean to Haydon about who her granddaughter truly is, his daughter too!Only as chances slip by and Haydon and Ashley rekindle their old fling, she frets about how he will understand and more importantly, how the girls take the news as well...Get whisked away on a summer holiday filled with celebrations, sports and activities as well as a shocking romance sizzling once again! Full of happiness, fun and plenty of tension throughout you won't want to put this down. Each character is unique and combined they all have a great time as they join up in France.Many thanks to the publishers for allowing me to review this book for them!
    more
  • Julissa
    January 1, 1970
    The Summer Getaway follows Ashley and Haydon who had a summer romance 16 years ago on Ashley's first foreign holiday. Ashley gets pregnant after their one night stand; and since she can't reach Haydon to tell him, she ends up raising their daughter Molly, alone. Haydon is now divorced with a daughter of his own. And as fate would have it they both end up vacationing across from each other in France, where they are bound to run into each other. I absolutely loved the the setting, It definitely ma The Summer Getaway follows Ashley and Haydon who had a summer romance 16 years ago on Ashley's first foreign holiday. Ashley gets pregnant after their one night stand; and since she can't reach Haydon to tell him, she ends up raising their daughter Molly, alone. Haydon is now divorced with a daughter of his own. And as fate would have it they both end up vacationing across from each other in France, where they are bound to run into each other. I absolutely loved the the setting, It definitely made me want to vacation in the south of France. St. Raphael sounds so enchanting, the author described it all really good. I also enjoyed the family bonds throughout the book, it made the characters relatable. Spoilers ahead:The issue I had with this book was that it dragged. I felt that it was wrong for Ashley to wait so long to tell Haydon that Molly was his daughter. The majority of the book was basically her trying to tell him and then it not happening. I started to get frustrated with the way Ashley was acting. There was a point where she decided she wasn't going to tell him because she saw him with another woman, this just plainly upset me. Overall it was a good read, I rate it 3.5 stars.
    more
  • Kate Mclaughlin
    January 1, 1970
    This was an easy book to read, it didn’t take a lot to see where the story was going, but then sometimes this is exactly the kind of book I like to read.This book encapsulates three of the main bonds in life, family, friends, and love. Just as in reality these bonds are tested as we follow two separate groups holidaying in France. The past always has a way of catching up with us and for Ashley and Haydon it impacts those around them. The author has managed to capture the complexities of relation This was an easy book to read, it didn’t take a lot to see where the story was going, but then sometimes this is exactly the kind of book I like to read.This book encapsulates three of the main bonds in life, family, friends, and love. Just as in reality these bonds are tested as we follow two separate groups holidaying in France. The past always has a way of catching up with us and for Ashley and Haydon it impacts those around them. The author has managed to capture the complexities of relationships, in particular, for me, those of broken marriages, this is only a small part of the story but unusually for me, it struck a chord. The actions and voices of secondary characters, such as the mother and ex-wife play such a huge part and bring a depth to the plot I’ve not seen in contemporary fiction novel for some time.I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommend for anyone to pick up to while away a summers afternoon, with a glass of something sparkling in their other hand.
    more
  • Jennifer Lynch
    January 1, 1970
    I have a few of Tilly Tennant's books previously and really enjoyed them so I was eager to start The Summer Getaway.The main characters are Ashley and Haydon who spent a night together on holiday in their teens but then lost touch. Ashley fell pregnant but with no way to contact Haydon, raised Molly on her own. Hayden went on to marry then divorce with a daughter of his own, Ella. The couple are reunited while on holiday and Ashley struggles to tell Haydon that he has another daughter. Honestly, I have a few of Tilly Tennant's books previously and really enjoyed them so I was eager to start The Summer Getaway.The main characters are Ashley and Haydon who spent a night together on holiday in their teens but then lost touch. Ashley fell pregnant but with no way to contact Haydon, raised Molly on her own. Hayden went on to marry then divorce with a daughter of his own, Ella. The couple are reunited while on holiday and Ashley struggles to tell Haydon that he has another daughter. Honestly, I found this book a bit dull. The characters are irritating and I had no sympathy for Ashley who constantly moans, drags her heels and gets irrationally jealous when Haydon goes on a date with another woman. The only character more annoying than Ashley is her awful mother. Hayden is a blithering non-entity and it's a surprise any woman would be interested in him. Overall, this book was a disappointment.Thank you to Netgalley for providing me with a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Diane
    January 1, 1970
    The Summer Getaway by author Tilly Tennant is a summer holiday romance. Ashley Moon was on holiday sixteen years ago when on one drunken night she fell deliriously in love with a stranger. She knew his first name and he gave her his phone number, but when she tried to call Haydon the number was not really his phone number. Their one night together gifted Ashley with a baby girl she named Molly. Ashley and Molly have a chance to go on holiday to the French resort of St Raphael with her mother Sue The Summer Getaway by author Tilly Tennant is a summer holiday romance. Ashley Moon was on holiday sixteen years ago when on one drunken night she fell deliriously in love with a stranger. She knew his first name and he gave her his phone number, but when she tried to call Haydon the number was not really his phone number. Their one night together gifted Ashley with a baby girl she named Molly. Ashley and Molly have a chance to go on holiday to the French resort of St Raphael with her mother Sue and her step-father Morris. During the course of the week, Ashley sees her teenage love, Haydon who is on holiday at the villa next door!I won't post spoilers, but Ashley feels the need to be honest with Haydon about Molly, but the story is one of missed opportunities and awkward meetings between the two of them. Ashley's mother Sue made me so angry at the way she nagged Ashley about Haydon :) A sweet summer story of heartache, love, and new beginnings!Publication date July 11, 2018Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for the opportunity to read and review this book.
    more
Write a review