An Anonymous Girl
Seeking women ages 18–32 to participate in a study on ethics and morality. Generous compensation. Anonymity guaranteed. When Jessica Farris signs up for a psychology study conducted by the mysterious Dr. Shields, she thinks all she’ll have to do is answer a few questions, collect her money, and leave. But as the questions grow more and more intense and invasive and the sessions become outings where Jess is told what to wear and how to act, she begins to feel as though Dr. Shields may know what she’s thinking…and what she’s hiding. As Jess’s paranoia grows, it becomes clear that she can no longer trust what in her life is real, and what is one of Dr. Shields’ manipulative experiments. Caught in a web of deceit and jealousy, Jess quickly learns that some obsessions can be deadly.

An Anonymous Girl Details

TitleAn Anonymous Girl
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 8th, 2019
PublisherSt. Martin's Press
ISBN-139781250133731
Rating
GenreThriller, Fiction, Mystery

An Anonymous Girl Review

  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    You're Invited: Seeking women aged 18-32 to participate in a study on ethics and morality conducted by a preeminent NYC psychiatrist. Generous compensation. Anonymity guaranteed. Call for more details. Ok, so you know how every year there are books that come out of the gate hyped up? I'm talking a full calendar year before publication, these books are already being shoved in our faces and by the time they come out we are underwhelmed and sick to our stomachs of seeing said book floating around s You're Invited: Seeking women aged 18-32 to participate in a study on ethics and morality conducted by a preeminent NYC psychiatrist. Generous compensation. Anonymity guaranteed. Call for more details. Ok, so you know how every year there are books that come out of the gate hyped up? I'm talking a full calendar year before publication, these books are already being shoved in our faces and by the time they come out we are underwhelmed and sick to our stomachs of seeing said book floating around social media to the point we scream and rip out our hair? Don't worry, this isn't one of those. That's not to say we won't see it floating around prominently for the next six months, simply that it is in fact worthy of every bit of hype it's already receiving. In all honesty, I was a bit nervous picking up the sophomore novel following readers' beloved The Wife Between Us, simply due to the high bar that was set with this author duo's debut. In my humble opinion, An Anonymous Girl was even better than TWBU, and I mean that as the highest compliment that I can give!We all have reasons for our actions. Even if we hide the reason from those who think they know us best. Even if the reasons are so deeply buried we can't recognize them ourselves.This is one you need to go into the plot blind folks. Where The Wife Between Us is known for that massive twist (you know the one I'm talking about), An Anonymous Girl slams you over and over again. It's not comprised of a single, WTF twist; this one hits you time and again with OMG-Oh-No-She-Didn't whiplash. Every time I thought I had this one figured out, it turns out I had misjudged and things kept changing. It was the type of complex, thrilling novel of suspense that I have't come across in quite awhile. It's getting harder as an avid reader of mysteries to find ones that I can't figure out immediately, and this one proved to me that there ARE still new tricks and writing techniques that can be used to fool readers while keeping them engaged with the characters. And talk about some wicked nasty characters... My favorite!I'm going to shut up now and let you decide if this is a book you're interested in, but just know that I enjoyed it so much that I'm contemplating re-reading it before publication date just to see if I can catch any of the clues that I missed the first go around; it was that good. I even bumped my initial 4 star rating up to a banging 5 because I can't stop thinking about this book. If you are able to get your hands on an early copy, don't put it off until publication date. If you are the type to pre-order, PRE-ORDER THIS BABY. Seriously, it's such a fun read with a sly and delicious cover; your bookshelf will thank you! Your family, your boss, and your to-do list however will not; they'll be sorely disappointed that you stayed up until the wee hours of the morning binging this juicy drama. Many thanks to the publisher for providing a copy for review.
    more
  • Deanna
    January 1, 1970
    My reviews can also be seen at: https://deesradreadsandreviews.wordpr...I really enjoyed Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen’s previous novel “The Wife Between Us”. So as soon as I saw the cover for this novel and read the synopsis, I knew I just had to read it. I devoured this novel in just a few hours, ignoring everything and everyone as I read. The book opens as twenty-eight-year-old makeup artist; Jessica Farris is heading to her last appointment of the day. She travels to her clients instead My reviews can also be seen at: https://deesradreadsandreviews.wordpr...I really enjoyed Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen’s previous novel “The Wife Between Us”. So as soon as I saw the cover for this novel and read the synopsis, I knew I just had to read it. I devoured this novel in just a few hours, ignoring everything and everyone as I read. The book opens as twenty-eight-year-old makeup artist; Jessica Farris is heading to her last appointment of the day. She travels to her clients instead of them coming to her. Even though she doesn’t always know who will answer the door, Jessica doesn’t fear strangers. She’s learned that “more harm can come from familiar faces”. Jessica enjoys what she does. Her appointment is with two young women who are going out to a club that evening. As she applies their makeup, she loses herself in her work, barely hearing the women chatting to each other. But then she overhears a voicemail message one of the women plays… “This is Ben Quick, Dr. Shields’s assistant. I’m confirming your appointments this weekend, for tomorrow and Sunday from eight to ten a.m. The location again is Hunter Hall, Room 214. I’ll meet you in the lobby and take you up.” Jessica doesn’t know that this message will change her life completely.A psych professor needs subjects for a study on morality and ethics. Applicants will be paid to answer questions. Jessica could really use the money. So when she hears that her client likely won’t be attending, she decides to go in her place…She’s accepted into the study and will be bound by a confidentiality agreement. Jessica is told there are no right or wrong answers, she just needs to be completely open and honest. The questions are personal and may trigger very emotional responses…. “Could you tell a lie without feeling guilt?” But Jessica surprises herself and the doctor when she doesn’t shy away from the questions. When the sessions are complete, the doctor asks if Jessica would consider expanding her participation in the study. It would mean more would be asked of her…. SIGNIFICANTLY MORE. It would also mean more money.Jessica really opens up to the doctor. She talks about the pressure she’s under and the secret she’s kept for so many years. “Guilt is always the heaviest thing I carry”. With Dr. Shields, she’s able to reveal things she’s never talked about before.But as the project expands, Jessica starts to wonder what the doctor is doing with all of the information collected. What will the doctor do with Jessica’s innermost thoughts? Her confessions? Her mistakes? Then the assignments take a strange and unexpected turn. Is she just being paranoid or is something sinister going on?“An Anonymous Girl” was a thought-provoking and phenomenal read. It pulled me in from the beginning and wouldn't let go. The chapters are a nice length and alternate between Jessica and the doctor's point of view.In my opinion, Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen knocked this one out of the park. This was a fascinating psychological suspense novel with a great storyline, excellent characters, and twists and turns that kept me flipping pages at a rapid pace.A wonderfully dark and suspenseful novel about love, anger, betrayal, morality, and obsession.I'd like to thank St. Martin’s books for giving me the opportunity to read this book in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • j e w e l s [Books Bejeweled]
    January 1, 1970
    FIVE STARS I don’t know their secret, but whatever it is (SUPREME TALENT), authors Pekkanen and Hendricks need to bottle up their magic Mojo and spread it like fairy dust over readers around the world. Their ingenious writing technique is guaranteed to pull you up by the bootstraps - out of any debilitating reading slump you may occasionally find yourself in. Believe the hype. It is real. The dynamic duo is currently hard at work on a sure-to-be third mega hit-- 🙏PRAISE YEEZUS!This is what you n FIVE STARS I don’t know their secret, but whatever it is (SUPREME TALENT), authors Pekkanen and Hendricks need to bottle up their magic Mojo and spread it like fairy dust over readers around the world. Their ingenious writing technique is guaranteed to pull you up by the bootstraps - out of any debilitating reading slump you may occasionally find yourself in. Believe the hype. It is real. The dynamic duo is currently hard at work on a sure-to-be third mega hit-- 🙏PRAISE YEEZUS!This is what you need in your life, people. Their blockbuster debut,The Wife Between Us, is a soon to be feature film and this currently unreleased An Anonymous Girl is already in development for a television series by the same people that slayed HBO's Sharp Objects. And as readers know, YOU MUST READ THE BOOK FIRST TO HAVE PROPER BRAGGING RIGHTS TO YOUR FAVORITE SCENES! So hop to it.Synopsis: When Jess signs up for the psychology study conducted by the mysterious Dr. Shields, she thinks all she’ll have to do is answer a few questions, collect her money, and leave. But as the questions grow more intense and invasive and the sessions become outings where Jess is told what to wear and how to act, she begins to feel as though Dr. Shields may know what she’s thinking…and what she’s hiding. As Jess’s paranoia grows, it becomes clear that she can no longer trust what in her life is real, and what is one of Dr. Shields’ manipulative experiments. Caught in a web of deceit and jealousy, Jess quickly learns that some obsessions can be deadly.Oh my gawwd, read the fine print before you innocently sign up for a paid research survey! Even if you really need the cash. Especially if you really need the cash.This book is I M P O S S I B L E to put down! You will be sneak reading it under your work desk and dining table, it is so freakin’ addictive! I swear I developed a physical need to figure out what was going on and solve this puzzling plot. There aren’t huge in your face twists, but subtle ones that lead you in different directions than you thought you were going in…an anagram of a story that is told in a refreshingly modern and streamlined way. Unreliable narrators, interesting and unlikable characters, and a realistically creepy story of obsession (without graphic violence)- these things I love. I know you will love it, too. It is set for release on January 8, 2019. Pre-order yourself a New Year’s gift!Thank you to my book fairy, Jordan, at St. Martin’s Publishing for my early copy. You guys are killing it over there! As always, all opinions are my own and you know I’m not afraid to write a negative review🔪.
    more
  • Holly B
    January 1, 1970
    Loved it! Devoured it! Devious to the max! I devoured this book in two days and didn't want to put it down! A riveting story of psychological suspense.  I was quickly questioning every move every character made. From beginning to end, I was all in! Yes!With a promise of anonymity and a fat paycheck, Jessica weasels her way into a study on morality and ethics. She was assigned the name of Subject 52 and presented with numerous questions.  I could feel her tension growing as the questions progres Loved it! Devoured it! Devious to the max! I devoured this book in two days and didn't want to put it down! A riveting story of psychological suspense.  I was quickly questioning every move every character made. From beginning to end, I was all in! Yes!With a promise of anonymity and a fat paycheck, Jessica weasels her way into a study on morality and ethics. She was assigned the name of Subject 52 and presented with numerous questions.  I could feel her tension growing as the questions progressed into the realm of what would you do?  I quickly got the feeling that this test was quite a  mind game! Dr. Shields may go done as one of the most perplexing doctor characters I've encountered.  What was her motivation for recruiting these women? Jessica wonders how the doctor seems to know her thoughts.I had some adrenaline surging moments as the tension amped-up and the plot unfolded. Everyone seems to have something to hide. The ending was just so perfect!Highly recommend this suspense filled mind game that pushes all the boundaries.Thanks to SMP for my Arc.  Review will post to my blog on 1/08/18
    more
  • Meredith
    January 1, 1970
    Completely unbelievable, yet totally enjoyable!A psychological study on morality turns into a game of cat and mouse. Who will come out on top? The subject of the study or the doctor who is playing much more than a game. That’s all I am going to say about the plot. It’s best to go into this blind.I didn’t love The Wife Between Us due to the number of twists and some other elements. I decided to go into An Anonymous Girl with an open mind. I knew this was going to be over-the-top, but I decided to Completely unbelievable, yet totally enjoyable!A psychological study on morality turns into a game of cat and mouse. Who will come out on top? The subject of the study or the doctor who is playing much more than a game. That’s all I am going to say about the plot. It’s best to go into this blind.I didn’t love The Wife Between Us due to the number of twists and some other elements. I decided to go into An Anonymous Girl with an open mind. I knew this was going to be over-the-top, but I decided to suspend my disbelief over the plot. Once I did, I had a lot of fun reading this. The narrative alternates between doctor and patient. I found the former to be cartoonish, but the latter was intriguing.This is a fast-paced, entertaining read that requires one to suspend disbelief. There might have been a few times where I was laughing out loud at moments that probably were not meant to be funny, but I found them so. With that being said, the plot is original and engaging. There were a few threads that felt incomplete and I was left with some questions. However, in spite of these moments, the entertainment factor won out in the end. I received an ARC of this book from St. Martin's Press and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    4 Stars.Completely Intriguing and Totally Unexpected! Jessica is a makeup artist in New York City. After hearing about a paid ethics and morality case study, Jessica jumps at the chance to participate even going so far as to take a spot from a client of hers, who canceled last minute. Is it a choice Jessica will live to regret? Jessica is Subject 52. As a part of the study, questions are posed at a computer terminal: “Could you tell a lie without feeling guilt?”; “Describe a time in your life wh 4 Stars.Completely Intriguing and Totally Unexpected! Jessica is a makeup artist in New York City. After hearing about a paid ethics and morality case study, Jessica jumps at the chance to participate even going so far as to take a spot from a client of hers, who canceled last minute. Is it a choice Jessica will live to regret? Jessica is Subject 52. As a part of the study, questions are posed at a computer terminal: “Could you tell a lie without feeling guilt?”; “Describe a time in your life when you cheated?” Her answer are such that little does she know, at the end of the two sessions, she is the only subject left. Her answers are intriguing and unsettling. Dr. Shields, who is in charge of the study sees something in Jessica and hopes that she will not fail in her role... her doing so would be less than ideal. For both of them.“An Anonymous Girl” is book that took me by complete surprise - the premise was a breath of fresh air - it was unexpected and honestly it made me feel, well, dirty, slimey and scared, if I’m telling you the whole truth and nothing but the truth (ha ha, get it, I mean this book is about morality and ethics, right?!). It gets under your skin and makes you wonder how you would answer the questions posed and makes you fearful, terrified even, when you realize what Dr. Shields has in mind for Subject 52 (and no, I’m not going there, in case you were hoping I’d give you a clue!). This is a fast-paced crazy novel whose twists and turns made for a heart stopping novel. I highly recommend it for mystery / suspense lovers. It’ll keep you on your toes for sure. This was another fabulous buddy read with Kaceey!Thank you to NetGalley, St. Martin’s Press, Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen for an ARC of this novel in exchange for an honest review. Published on NetGalley, Goodreads and Twitter.*Will be published on Amazon upon release.
    more
  • Larry H
    January 1, 1970
    I'm between 4 and 4.5 stars.The next time you consider signing up for a research study, you might want to think twice—and you will after reading this book!You're Invited: Seeking women aged 18 to 32 to participate in a study on ethics and morality conducted by a preeminent NYC psychiatrist. Generous compensation. Anonymity guaranteed. Call for more details.Jess is a makeup artist who came to New York dreaming of a career in the theater. She has a lot of secrets she's kept hidden, which has led h I'm between 4 and 4.5 stars.The next time you consider signing up for a research study, you might want to think twice—and you will after reading this book!You're Invited: Seeking women aged 18 to 32 to participate in a study on ethics and morality conducted by a preeminent NYC psychiatrist. Generous compensation. Anonymity guaranteed. Call for more details.Jess is a makeup artist who came to New York dreaming of a career in the theater. She has a lot of secrets she's kept hidden, which has led her to become totally self-reliant, although money is one of the biggest sources of anxiety she has to deal with. When she overhears a client thinking about not showing up for a research study she was supposed to participate in—and it pays $500—Jess decides there's nothing wrong with pretending to fill in for the young woman, since $500 would really help with this month's rent.Jess figures all she'll need to do is answer some questions, collect her money, and leave. She wasn't expecting the questions to be difficult, like Could you tell a lie without feeling guilt? Describe a time in your life when you cheated, or Have you ever deeply hurt someone you care about? But more than that, she wasn't expecting the psychiatrist conducting the study—whom she never met—to give feedback on her answers, and encourage her to be more honest and more in-depth.As the sessions continue, and the payoff increases, Jess can't help but wonder what the study really is all about. While she is utterly unsettled when the psychiatrist, whom she finds out is the renowned Dr. Lydia Shields, asks whether Jess would be willing to expand her participation in the study. But when Jess learns that the compensation would be significantly higher, there's no way she can turn Dr. Shields' request down.Expanding her participation in the study is definitely not what she expected. Dr. Shields starts to tell Jess where to go, how to dress, and whom to meet—and in some cases, that entails striking up a conversation with a specific man. Jess begins feeling uncomfortable, and wonders exactly what Dr. Shields wants to accomplish. More and more, she questions whether she can trust the doctor—and then Jess discovers a disturbing coincidence that she needs to hide from her, or the doctor could destroy her life. An Anonymous Girl is a pretty wild book, full of twists and turns. You wonder how you might react in the same situation, but at the same time I found myself shaking my head in disbelief at times that Jess could be so clueless. There were definitely some surprises thrown in, but ultimately I had my ideas about how the plot would unfold. I just kept hoping that things wouldn't go completely awry, and I was pleased they didn't.Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen, whose last book, The Wife Between Us , contained some shockers but didn't quite click for me, definitely kicked it up with An Anonymous Girl . I didn't love some of the characters (and I wondered whether some of this stuff could and does really happen) but the pacing of the book was terrific, and I was hooked from start to finish. I was also glad that the twists they threw in fit with the plot rather than just be included to confuse and shock.I know this book will be everywhere when it's released in January, because it's the type of book you can't put down, and it definitely will keep you wondering what comes next. Hendricks and Pekkanen mesh well together, and I can't wait for their next book.NetGalley and St. Martin's Press provided me an advance copy of the book in exchange for an unbiased review. Thanks for making this available! See all of my reviews at itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blogspot.com, or check out my list of the best books I read in 2017 at https://itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blogspot.com/2018/01/the-best-books-i-read-in-2017.html.
    more
  • Liz
    January 1, 1970
    Wow! Five big stars. For once, the hype and buzz are deserved. Remember the rules: Be open and truthful, and avoid pivoting away from any embarrassment or pain these questions provoke.This book grabbed me from the get go. A twenty eight year old woman sneaks herself into an ethics and morality study in order to earn some extra income. I was able to immediately put myself in her shoes. The initial questions had me wondering how I would answer. The chapters alternate between the woman and the doct Wow! Five big stars. For once, the hype and buzz are deserved. Remember the rules: Be open and truthful, and avoid pivoting away from any embarrassment or pain these questions provoke.This book grabbed me from the get go. A twenty eight year old woman sneaks herself into an ethics and morality study in order to earn some extra income. I was able to immediately put myself in her shoes. The initial questions had me wondering how I would answer. The chapters alternate between the woman and the doctor heading up the study. It quickly becomes a fast paced ride. Definitely entertaining. There are some real twists so that the tension keeps getting ratcheted up. It’s a hard book to put down. I can even see this being made into a movie. Don’t look for believability here. But that doesn’t mean there aren’t some interesting concepts being explored. Power. Trust. Jessica is such a well thought out character. Out of her depth, but a real fighter. No dummy, but she’s up against a master. I was entranced trying to figure out how she would extract herself from this game of cat and mouse. I would love to know how Hendricks and Pekkanen write together because the finished product is seamless. If you like dark psychological thrillers, this one’s for you!My thanks to netgalley and St. Martin’s Press for an advance copy of this book.
    more
  • Kaceey - Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    Ooh! So addictive! You will not be able to put this one down!Moral choices. No definitive right or wrong, a grey area that’s never that simple. Choices we make everyday. Choices that effect not only ourselves but everyone around us.Jessica is a struggling make-up artist in New York City. When a chance opportunity for quick cash falls in her lap she just can’t refuse! She fibs (just a little bit) to be included in a University psychology study. Simple enough - answer a few questions and receive s Ooh! So addictive! You will not be able to put this one down!Moral choices. No definitive right or wrong, a grey area that’s never that simple. Choices we make everyday. Choices that effect not only ourselves but everyone around us.Jessica is a struggling make-up artist in New York City. When a chance opportunity for quick cash falls in her lap she just can’t refuse! She fibs (just a little bit) to be included in a University psychology study. Simple enough - answer a few questions and receive some quick, easy cash! Can’t be easier than that. But come on, we all know everything in life comes with a price.Jessica is quickly in over her head and has no idea how to get herself away from the study or the psychiatrist who’s running this study.This was a gripping read that I basically read in only a few sittings. I developed my own theory on what was going on, only to discover I was completely out in left field!An entertaining thriller! I would recommend.A buddy read with Susanne!Thank you to NetGalley, St. Martin’s Press, Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen for an ARC to read in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Linda
    January 1, 1970
    It's more than a little treacherous to steer your ship with a broken moral compass. Navigating through the raging waters of life leaves many a shipwreck in the aftermath.Jessica Farris knows this first hand. She's a twenty-eight year old makeup artist still trying to find her niche in New York City. She struggles to pay the rent on her studio apartment and her bookings from BuzzBeauty are hit or miss. Finding extra money to send home to her parents and special needs sister is coming up short eac It's more than a little treacherous to steer your ship with a broken moral compass. Navigating through the raging waters of life leaves many a shipwreck in the aftermath.Jessica Farris knows this first hand. She's a twenty-eight year old makeup artist still trying to find her niche in New York City. She struggles to pay the rent on her studio apartment and her bookings from BuzzBeauty are hit or miss. Finding extra money to send home to her parents and special needs sister is coming up short each month.While at one of her beauty sessions, Jess overhears one of the girls regreting an early Saturday morning appointment with a university professor, Dr. Lydia Shields, who is running a volunteer lab on ethics and morality. The first pay-out is $500. A no brainer and Jess shows up in her place. Our girl is in the door. Alone in a room, Jess hovers over the computer screen answering questions about being untruthful in life. The questions begin simply and then escalate in intensity. Certain scenarios are set up and Jess must answer either honestly or how she assumes the good doctor expects.As the pay checks roll in, Jess sinks deeper and deeper into Dr. Shields' world. She is called upon to complete tasks outside of the lab. And here is where Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen excel. The motivating factors are laid out with the reader in mind. We ask ourselves just how far and how deep would we get involved here? What motivates us in our own lives to make the moral choices that we do? Is there ever a line drawn and set in concrete or is it a moveable barrier depending on odd circumstances? Is bartering an option?The main character of Jess is a winner with the writing reflecting her dilemmas in decision-making opportunities. Peeling back the layers of Dr. Shields and others will keep you glued to this storyline. I have to leave it here, folks. You've got to crack this one open for yourselves. I'm leaving you at the threshold of quite the intriguing read. I received a copy of An Anonymous Girl through NetGalley for an honest review. My thanks to St. Martin's Press and to Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen for the opportunity.
    more
  • Carol
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 Stars! "Not everyone is brave enough to face their demons." I really like an author who can spin a twisted tale and Greer/Pekkanen do it again in AN ANONYMOUS GIRL. 28 year old Jessica is a hardworking makeup artist who could use a few extra bucks to help her family back home....and pay her rent, so when she sees what seems to be an easy opportunity to make a fast $500 just by answering a few questions, she sneaks into a highly confidential morality and ethics survey that turns her life int 4.5 Stars! "Not everyone is brave enough to face their demons." I really like an author who can spin a twisted tale and Greer/Pekkanen do it again in AN ANONYMOUS GIRL. 28 year old Jessica is a hardworking makeup artist who could use a few extra bucks to help her family back home....and pay her rent, so when she sees what seems to be an easy opportunity to make a fast $500 just by answering a few questions, she sneaks into a highly confidential morality and ethics survey that turns her life into a dangerous game of truth or consequences. The dual narration is fast moving with a constant underlying sense of danger that bring out a myriad of secrets and lies. Many thanks to St. Martin's Press and NetGalley for the arc in exchange for an unbiased review.
    more
  • Amy
    January 1, 1970
    I really have no business reading books that aren’t even out until next year (I may be drowning in ARCs) but when a copy of An Anonymous Girl arrived in my mailbox I dropped everything else and started reading it immediately. Last fall when I read The Wife Between Us I was totally blown away and I haven’t really stopped raving about it ever since. As excited as I was about this book I had that apprehension that I tend to get before reading a highly anticipated book. I kept wondering if Hendricks I really have no business reading books that aren’t even out until next year (I may be drowning in ARCs) but when a copy of An Anonymous Girl arrived in my mailbox I dropped everything else and started reading it immediately. Last fall when I read The Wife Between Us I was totally blown away and I haven’t really stopped raving about it ever since. As excited as I was about this book I had that apprehension that I tend to get before reading a highly anticipated book. I kept wondering if Hendricks and Pekkanen could possibly top TWBU and if so, how? You guys, they can and they did!This one should come with a warning label: Do not start this unless you have enough time and commitment to read in one breathless sitting. That’s really the only way to read it, once you start and then have to stop (because life) you’ll be irritated and desperate to get back to it, so fair warning.I really don’t even want to get into the plot details at all, the blurb gives you the perfect amount of information and is intriguing enough on it’s own, but I will tell you why I loved this one just as much as Wife. For starters, it had that same addictive writing style that urges you to keep reading just a few more pages, that feeling you get when a really awesome book just grips you. You know how sometimes you’re so absorbed by a book that when something from the outside world interrupts you it takes you a few seconds to snap back to reality? This is that kind of book. Another thing that made this one fantastic is that instead of being a series of shocking twists and turns like Wife was it doesn’t solely depend on crazy revelations but instead is compromised of several smaller twists that still surprise you but almost catch you even more off guard because there’s a subtlety to them. It’s like a sneak attack, but in a very good way, an unexpected bonus that slaps you upside the head and makes you think, what in the hell is really going on here?My final thoughts? Pre order this bad boy and prepare to be consumed, you won’t regret it and Hendricks and Pekkanen prove they are a force to be reckoned with.An Anonymous Girl in three words: Obsessive, Riveting and Cunning.
    more
  • Elyse Walters
    January 1, 1970
    LONG....but NO SPOILERS......Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen are on their way to becoming co-author psychological thriller legends. They had a break-out sensation hit with “The Wife Between Us”, last year in 2017. “An Anonymous Girl”, will be released in January, 2019. Greer and Sarah are an exciting team. There is something very appealing about two skillful stunning women holding us captive - as awed spectators -waiting to see who we can trust - who to believe- who’s the stalker -and who’s t LONG....but NO SPOILERS......Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen are on their way to becoming co-author psychological thriller legends. They had a break-out sensation hit with “The Wife Between Us”, last year in 2017. “An Anonymous Girl”, will be released in January, 2019. Greer and Sarah are an exciting team. There is something very appealing about two skillful stunning women holding us captive - as awed spectators -waiting to see who we can trust - who to believe- who’s the stalker -and who’s the prey. In “The Wife Between Us”, we never knew the complete truth until the end. New secrets were revealed...and we were still wondering who was manipulating who up to the final chapter. In “An Anonymous Girl”, once again - if you are sure you know what’s happening in a scene, think again. There are many layers to peel back as we turn the pages. I purposely slowed down my reading. I had no interest to race through this book. I thoroughly enjoyed thinking about issues and questions presented. Like panning for gold.... when searching for INTELLIGENT- PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLERS .....( cream of the crops) ..... “An Anonymous Girl”, synonymous with Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen, and “The Wife Between Us”, ......these two books make the cut!!! ....... “An Anonymous Girl”............”Ethics and Morality” is a ‘hot topic’. It’s at least worthy of a few lifetime discussions. I found it exciting and refreshing to center a psychological suspense novel around a study of this inquiry. .....The first few chapters ARE SERIOUSLY PAGE TURNERS!!! We follow the set-up story between Dr. Shields, adjunct professor at NYU, psychiatrist, and Jessica Farris, 28 year old makeup artist. Jessica works for a company called ‘BeautyBuzz. She goes to clients homes and gives them a makeover for events like Proms, Bar Mitzvahs, birthdays, and anniversaries. ( she misses working in Theater). Jessica lives alone with her dog Leo. We get back story about Jessica’s parents and younger sister Becky. Becky is a few years younger than Jessica, but lives with her parents and requires special needs. Jessica becomes a paid participant in the study on Ethics and Morality. Right off the bat, Jessica lied her way into the study. Jessica- *Subject 52*, agreed to be bound by confidentiality. She wasn’t allowed to discuss what she was doing with ‘anybody’. While answering questions that pop up - one at a time - on a computer screen - we can imagine sitting in a private room - in a sterile setting ( in Jessica’s chair), wanting to shy away from feelings of vulnerability- but Jessica is asked to surrender to the process completely- answer the questions honestly- for the process to be successful. We sense Jessica wants to put her entire heart into the study. Even when uncomfortable- we sense she wants to please Dr. Sheild’s. Dr. Sheild’s notices. A trust begins to grow. The Rules are simple and clear. “Be truthful - avoid pivoting away from embarrassment or pain that the questions provoke”. Intimacy begins to grow between Jessica and Dr. Shields. Proper boundaries are questionable. The questions - themselves - in the study were intriguing: “Could you tell a lie without feeling guilt?”, “Describe a time in your life when you cheated?”......AND MANY MORE......Over weeks- Jessica will be digging deeper - going beyond the superficial....EVENTUALLY......The original study falls off an honorable grid. Dr. Shields prepares an unorthodox experiment. Jessica Farris, becomes a pawn for Dr. Shields own purposes. .....It wasn’t until about half way into this novel - or a little more- when I felt a genuine thriller edge elevate. I ENJOYED BOTH HALVES OF THIS NOVEL.....yet - we feel a change. As Jessica’s anxiety grows into anger —I started noticing more tension building in my own physical body.....( YET WITH GREAT RESPECT & DIGNITY FROM OUR AUTHORS- THERE ARE NO GRAPHIC DISTURBING SCENES).....I really love these women authors!!!! THEY ARE SETTING AN EXAMPLE OF WHAT I HOPE TO SEE MORE OF when writing novels in this genre. I started thinking about those one or two times when my entire life changed in less than 5 minutes. If we are honest - each of us have moments like this. Jessica did too. “Only six weeks ago, Jessica worried about how she would pay for her sister, Becky’s occupational therapy and hoping her makeup business with BeautyBuzz would align so she wouldn’t have to lug her makeup case too far. Her life was quiet, her problems ordinary. Then came an impulsive moment - all of 10 seconds that changed her life”. A simple innocent - cheating lie - changed the course of her life.Jessica isn’t the only person in this story who cheated - and lied .....But ‘who’ is most dangerous? ALL the characters are memorable- supporting ones too. You’ll meet many more. I haven’t SPOILED ANYTHING! Disasters and consequences - warnings — who’s in control - doubts - how do you know if you can really trust someone - the tone of a text message - are thoughts to chew on. “Every family generates it’s own particular dysfunction. Many people believe that once they cross the threshold into adulthood, legacy can be shed. But the maladjusted dynamics that have been imprinted upon us, often since childhood are tenacious”.
    more
  • Paromjit
    January 1, 1970
    Having really enjoyed reading The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen, their talent is confirmed here with this hugely intense, compelling and addictive An Anonymous Girl, which moves in a rather different direction. This is a story set in New York City, of deception, betrayal, obsession, jealousy, where we are given two different protagonists, the naive and vulnerable 28 year old Jessica Farris and the clinical and detached psychiatrist Dr Lydia Shields, an academic at NYU. Je Having really enjoyed reading The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen, their talent is confirmed here with this hugely intense, compelling and addictive An Anonymous Girl, which moves in a rather different direction. This is a story set in New York City, of deception, betrayal, obsession, jealousy, where we are given two different protagonists, the naive and vulnerable 28 year old Jessica Farris and the clinical and detached psychiatrist Dr Lydia Shields, an academic at NYU. Jessica is a freelance make up artist who visits her clients at home, she is struggling financially, not to mention she has a younger sister, Becky, with special needs that require financial support for the help she needs. When she sees the opportunity to get on to a research study that pays, she has no compunctions about lying her way on to it, despite the irony of the topic. It is seeking women between the ages of 18-32 to participate in a study on ethics and morality with anonymity guaranteed.Subject to a confidentiality agreement, Jessica, as subject 52, embarks on the study at Hunter Hall, answering demanding personal questions on a computer screen, guided to be truthful. After the sessions, Jessica is asked to get further involved for further lucrative financial rewards. Jessica trusts Dr Shields with her secrets and has no problem with continuing with the study. However, Jessica's new assignments are out of the classroom and venturing into strange and disturbing territory. Jessica's paranoia levels begin to rise as she finds herself in the hands of a controlling Lydia, who has a estranged husband, Thomas, and is operating from her own hidden agenda. The slow reveals in this twisted, character driven and fast paced story of secrets and lies are expertly done by the authors. This is a wonderfully thought provoking read, it will have you pondering over the moral and ethical dilemmas posed within it with its great character studies. This novel with its unreliable narrators is a salutary lesson for all of us in not blindingly trusting any professional, not everyone is worthy of trust. A brilliantly entertaining and creepy read from authors that are establishing themselves as must read storytellers. Many thanks to Panmacmillan for an ARC.
    more
  • Debbie
    January 1, 1970
    Jumping on the band wagon!Believe all the hype! What a fantastic psychological thriller! I would grab my pogo stick and hop to my heart’s content, but the band wagon is jam-packed and there’s no room for the thing. That’s okay; I’ll just have to hop in my head instead.How it starts. Bam! Juicy from page 1! (Hopping in my head already.) Jessica needs money so she joins a psychology study. Sounds innocent enough, right? She has to answer questions about morality, and they immediately get under her Jumping on the band wagon!Believe all the hype! What a fantastic psychological thriller! I would grab my pogo stick and hop to my heart’s content, but the band wagon is jam-packed and there’s no room for the thing. That’s okay; I’ll just have to hop in my head instead.How it starts. Bam! Juicy from page 1! (Hopping in my head already.) Jessica needs money so she joins a psychology study. Sounds innocent enough, right? She has to answer questions about morality, and they immediately get under her skin. She thinks seriously about every one. Hm… do I need to tell the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth—or should I lie like a rug? And how much should I reveal to these perfect strangers? Do I want to pour my heart out to a computer? It was easy to imagine how she felt—you go into this study to earn a few bucks, and pow, all the sudden you find yourself being asked all these personal questions. Squirmy time. Plus, sometimes the computer would comment on her answer—asking her to dig deeper, for example—which was just plain creepy. Was there a person behind that screen?I was a goner. Man, the questions, were they ever interesting! I wondered how I would answer them. I found myself galloping down memory lane, remembering tough moral dilemmas that I had conveniently forgotten about. Oops! I’d catch myself and return to the page. Wait a minute, I’m reading a book here. Must find out what happens next!Psychology fest: It’s soon clear that Jessica is being singled out. It’s at this point that the psychiatrist, Dr. Shields, enters the picture.I’m a sucker for books about psychiatrists. I can’t help it; they make my Psych-minor blood cells dance. Dr. Shields is a piece of work. She’s obsessive, manipulative, relentless, and oh so clever. She talks smart—very sophisticated and articulate—and she’s always steps ahead of Jessica and the reader. She is expert at messing with your head. She has some big plan, but good luck trying to figure out what it is. I loved how she talked psychology, analyzing everything in everybody’s head.Jessica is in over her head. Turns out Jessica has signed up for much more than just a survey. She gets in deeper and deeper. What keeps her going is the high pay. Dr. Shields makes her go on very strange and uncomfortable missions without explaining anything—these setups were so cool, I was on the edge of my seat trying to figure out what would happen next. Another person enters the picture and their agenda is suspect, too. So twisty and fun! It’s hard to tell if there’s a good guy in all this.What grabbed me? The cool questionnaire initially grabbed me, but soon the questionnaire is history and we enter into the highly charged dynamic between Jessica and Dr. Shields—which grabbed me even more. I’m right there with Jessica as she gets more and more wary and confused. My take on what was happening changed all the time, just like Jessica’s did. Her fear ratcheted up, and so did mine.5 stars for a thriller? Really?? I loved The Wife Between Us, so I knew I had to try the authors’ latest. But I was wary. Will this new book be as good as the first? Well, I’ll say it was even better. I’m stingy with my stars when it comes to thrillers because they often lack depth. I hardly ever dole out 5 stars, but seriously, this book deserves them.The language is sophisticated, the characters complex, the plot intricate, the pacing perfect. I think all these factors elevate the book above most thriller fare; I felt like I was reading literary fiction. Add suspense, which this story has in spades, and you have one hell of a book.Thanks to NetGalley for the advance copy.
    more
  • Theresa Alan
    January 1, 1970
    This novel gets a lot of points for originality. It starts with Jessica, a makeup artist who’s struggling financially, finding out about a psychology study about morality. Answer some questions and make five hundred bucks. What could go wrong?A whole lot, of course. The story gets creepier and more tense the deeper into the book you go. Is Dr. Shields dangerous or just strangely manipulative? How much can Jess trust the doctor and other people she encounters as the study moves from the laborator This novel gets a lot of points for originality. It starts with Jessica, a makeup artist who’s struggling financially, finding out about a psychology study about morality. Answer some questions and make five hundred bucks. What could go wrong?A whole lot, of course. The story gets creepier and more tense the deeper into the book you go. Is Dr. Shields dangerous or just strangely manipulative? How much can Jess trust the doctor and other people she encounters as the study moves from the laboratory in front of a computer into real-life tasks. At every turn Jess is asking herself what Dr. Shields’ real agenda is. Though portions of the book are told from the doctor’s perspective, we the readers aren’t sure if the doc is giving us the full story. That part bothered me—having one reliable narrator and one unreliable one. The tension gets particularly strong from the middle to the exciting conclusion. Thanks to NetGalley and St. Marten’s Press for the opportunity to review this book, which RELEASES JANAURY 8, 2019.For more reviews, please visit: http://www.theresaalan.net/blog
    more
  • Carol (Bookaria)
    January 1, 1970
    I picked up this novel because I enjoyed the authors’ previous book THE WIFE BETWEEN US. I became interested in reading AN ANONYMOUS GIRL as soon as I learned about it.What if you sign up to be part of a psychological study and you end up entangled in a lot more than you asked for? This is the premise of the book and let me tell you it does not disappoint.“One of them is lying. But who?”That is the question you’ll be asking yourself again and again as you read it. This is an addictive and suspen I picked up this novel because I enjoyed the authors’ previous book THE WIFE BETWEEN US. I became interested in reading AN ANONYMOUS GIRL as soon as I learned about it.What if you sign up to be part of a psychological study and you end up entangled in a lot more than you asked for? This is the premise of the book and let me tell you it does not disappoint.“One of them is lying. But who?”That is the question you’ll be asking yourself again and again as you read it. This is an addictive and suspenseful novel, the plot kept me turning the pages wanting to know more. The authors did a great job at building and maintaining intrigue throughout the novel, at every chapter you will be wondering which character should you trust.Overall, I enjoyed it and recommend it to readers of psychological thrillers, mysteries and contemporary fiction,.Received ARC from the publisher via Netgalley
    more
  • Michelle
    January 1, 1970
    I'll be honest and say that I was not all that impressed with The Wife Between Us. While I did race through the pages I also found it unnecessarily confusing and all of the twists took it over the top and I felt it bordered on ridiculous by the end. I'm glad to say that I did find An Anonymous Girl much more enjoyable.We have Jess, a struggling to get by make-up artist, pitted against the psychiatrist from Hell, Dr. Shields. Jess sneaks her way into a study that Dr. Shields is holding on ethics I'll be honest and say that I was not all that impressed with The Wife Between Us. While I did race through the pages I also found it unnecessarily confusing and all of the twists took it over the top and I felt it bordered on ridiculous by the end. I'm glad to say that I did find An Anonymous Girl much more enjoyable.We have Jess, a struggling to get by make-up artist, pitted against the psychiatrist from Hell, Dr. Shields. Jess sneaks her way into a study that Dr. Shields is holding on ethics and morality because she's desperate for the money that is being offered to the participants. I think we all know that ethics and morality are going to be tossed out of the window for this wicked ride. I'm not going to delve into the plot much further because TWISTS! Not to mention that there are already over a thousand reviews for this on Goodreads and this book doesn't even hit shelves until January. That is quite impressive. Clearly this author duo has drawn in a loyal fan base and it is for good reason. Their books have this addictive quality that just makes you want to flip the pages. Even with TWBU, I may not of loved it but, damn, I could not put it down either. Same here. It took until page 150 to really get my groove with this one but once I did there was no stopping me. There was so much round and round we go that I do think I missed *something* at the end though. (view spoiler)[Did Thomas kill April? (hide spoiler)]Thank you to NetGalley, St. Martin's Press, and BookishFirst for providing me with an ARC in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Michelle
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to St. Martin's Press for granting me my wish through NetGalley! I am one happy lady! :)
  • Norma * Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    Riveting, absolutely unputdownable & totally mind-blowing stuff!This was an absolutely fantastic psychological thriller novel that I devoured in less than 24 hrs. This books unique storyline immediately drew me in and had me on the edge of my seat for the entirety of reading this book. The pacing and short chapters made this an extremely fast read. AN ANONYMOUS GIRL by GREER HENDRICKS AND SARAH PEKKANEN is a compelling, thrilling, twisted, and rapid-paced read that was so darn entertaining a Riveting, absolutely unputdownable & totally mind-blowing stuff!This was an absolutely fantastic psychological thriller novel that I devoured in less than 24 hrs. This books unique storyline immediately drew me in and had me on the edge of my seat for the entirety of reading this book. The pacing and short chapters made this an extremely fast read. AN ANONYMOUS GIRL by GREER HENDRICKS AND SARAH PEKKANEN is a compelling, thrilling, twisted, and rapid-paced read that was so darn entertaining and exciting to read. The intensity level of this novel was so high that my thoughts and feelings never wavered once while reading this book. GREER HENDRICKS and SARAH PEKKANEN delivers quite the fascinating, intriguing, suspenseful and well-written read here with great characters, a unique premise and an extremely enthralling storyline. There was this deep suspenseful undertone to this novel that gets more exciting, intriguing and intense as the novel progressed. I absolutely loved the way that this story was told and thoroughly enjoyed both perspectives equally. The cat and mouse game between our main characters was probably one of the most unnerving that I have ever read which made it all the more exciting. Seeking women ages 18–32 to participate in a study on ethics and morality. Generous compensation. Anonymity guaranteed. The psychology study was one of the most clever, intriguing and entertaining hook that I have yet read and I applaud the authors for immediately absorbing me in this storyline and making this another all consuming read for me.Publishing Date: January 8, 2019Norma’s Stats:Cover: Eye-catching, intriguing, alluring, and ominous. Definitely a creepy feeling happening here with this cover which represents the storyline extremely well.Title: Appealing, suspenseful, intriguing and absolutely love how the title plays so fittingly into storyline. Writing/Prose: Well-written, engaging, captivating, and smart.Plot: Creative, thought-provoking, suspenseful, gripping, fast-paced, absorbing, enjoyable and extremely entertaining. I absolutely loved how thrilling this storyline was with all of its subtle twists and turns!Ending: Wow an absolutely perfect resolution that I was extremely satisfied with. Overall: A fascinating read that had me totally engrossed from start to finish! I absolutely loved being caught up in the web of deceit and had no clue how this one was all going to play out. Would highly recommend!Thank you so much to NetGalley, St. Martin’s Press and Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen for the opportunity to read an advanced copy of this book in exchange for a review!
    more
  • Victoria
    January 1, 1970
    A smartly written, compelling tale with a ferocious intensity that made for breathless page turning.I’m not your typical suspense reader, the twists and turns aren’t as important to me as the psychological aspects--why the characters do what they do--throw in some moral dilemmas and characters making questionable choices and you’ve got my attention. Every lifetime contains pivot points--sometimes flukes of destiny, sometimes seemingly preordained--that shape and eventually cement one’s path.And A smartly written, compelling tale with a ferocious intensity that made for breathless page turning.I’m not your typical suspense reader, the twists and turns aren’t as important to me as the psychological aspects--why the characters do what they do--throw in some moral dilemmas and characters making questionable choices and you’ve got my attention. Every lifetime contains pivot points--sometimes flukes of destiny, sometimes seemingly preordained--that shape and eventually cement one’s path.And let’s just say the titular ‘girl’ stepped onto one ominous path…and then just kept going, the path seemingly made more out of quicksand than cement. That’s it, that’s all I’m saying because I believe that you need to know less, not more. About any story, really, but ever more so when it comes to suspense.This dynamic duo happily bamboozled me on their first go around with The Wife Between Us and in this one they deliver another intelligently written novel filled with complex characters you wouldn’t turn your back on. As one of the characters notes, if you have to ask if you can trust someone, you already know the answer. Highly recommend.Thank you so much to St. Martin’s Press for this Goodreads Giveaway.
    more
  • Debra
    January 1, 1970
    You're Invited: Seeking women aged 18-32 to participate in a study on ethics and morality conducted by a preeminent NYC psychiatrist. Generous compensation. Anonymity guaranteed. Working as a makeup artist, Jessica (Jess) Farris, overhears her client’s message about a morality study complete with location and time. When her client says that it will be too early for her to attend, Jessica decides to go instead. She could use the extra money and figures how hard can it be to answer a few question You're Invited: Seeking women aged 18-32 to participate in a study on ethics and morality conducted by a preeminent NYC psychiatrist. Generous compensation. Anonymity guaranteed. Working as a makeup artist, Jessica (Jess) Farris, overhears her client’s message about a morality study complete with location and time. When her client says that it will be too early for her to attend, Jessica decides to go instead. She could use the extra money and figures how hard can it be to answer a few questions. How hard indeed!Jessica shows up the next day and is told that she is Subject 52. She is instructed that there are no right or wrong answers, the only requirement is that she is honest. Sounds simple, right? Answering questions on a computer. Easy - or is it? The questions are quite personal and often ask the respondent what she would do in certain situations. Jessica answers the questions and is soon asked if she would like to make more money. You see, Dr. Shields has been watching. She has been reading Jessica's responses. She has encouraged Jessica to dig deeper, to share more. Jessica has piqued Dr. Shield's interest. hmm.... Dr. Shields has also piqued Jessica's interest. hmm...Given the opportunity to meet Dr. Shields, Jessica is intrigued and highly motivated to make even more money. She soon learns that there will be no more computer Q&A sessions. She will be working closely with Dr. Shields. Dr. Shield's will have assignments for her. Jessica will be given instructions and asked to follow through on them. What is Dr. Shields looking for? What is the purpose of these assignments?This is one book that lives up to the hype. I will admit that in the beginning, I was skeptical. I read the first chapter and thought "Okay, what's the big deal?" and then I kept reading and quickly realized what the big deal was! As the book progresses the suspense grows and grows and grows (you get the picture). Like Jessica, I initially wondered what the purpose of the assignments was. What was Dr. Shields looking for? Soon the twists and turns started coming. Just when I thought I had things figured out, new twists and tiny revelations were thrown into the mix. As the study progresses, Jess begins to realize that maybe, just maybe she made the wrong decision. She begins to question things and begins to wonder just what she got herself into. After my initial skepticism, I was fully engaged in this book and found it hard to put down. After the first few chapters, things start to happen fast, and I was glued to my seat and turning the pages as fast as I could. I found the book to be riveting, suspenseful and fun. This was a very well thought out book. I loved how everything came together and even when I thought I knew everything, I found that there was still more to this story than I thought. Just like there was more to both Dr. Shields and Jess than I initially thought. This book has a great cat and mouse feel to it. This is the perfect book for fans of psychological thrillers and suspenseful mysteries.Thank you to St. Martin's press and NetGalley who provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All the thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    A compelling psychological suspense novel that draws you in with a survey on ethics and morality and keeps you on the edge of your seat as the survey turns into a dangerous experiment. SUMMARYWhen Jessica Farris, a striving make-up artist, signs up for a psychological study conducted by the mysterious Dr. Shields, she thinks all she’ll have to do is answer a few questions, collect her money and leave. But the questions are about morality and ethics and quickly become intense and invasive. “Could A compelling psychological suspense novel that draws you in with a survey on ethics and morality and keeps you on the edge of your seat as the survey turns into a dangerous experiment. SUMMARYWhen Jessica Farris, a striving make-up artist, signs up for a psychological study conducted by the mysterious Dr. Shields, she thinks all she’ll have to do is answer a few questions, collect her money and leave. But the questions are about morality and ethics and quickly become intense and invasive. “Could you tell a lie without feeling guilt?” is only the first of many she has been instructed to answer honestly. She does and then she is invited back for more. Jesse accepts because really needs the money to make ends meet. Eventually Jesse meets with Dr. Shields directly, and Jesse therapeutically shares some of her deepest secrets with her. Next their sessions become outings where Jesse is told what to wear and how to act. She begins to feel as though she may have told Dr. Shields to much. Dr. Shields seems knows exactly what she’s thinking and what she’s hiding. As Jessie‘s paranoia grows it becomes clear that she can no longer trust what is real and what is one of Dr. Shields experiments. Caught in the web of deceit and jealousy, Jesse quickly learns that some obsessions can be deadly. AN ANONYMOUS GIRL was written by the authors of the bestselling thriller The Wife Between Us, Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen. REVIEWThis book took my breath away. My heart was racing when I closed the back cover. It’ a perfect book to read in the winter while next to a warm fire and covered in a soft cuddly blanket. You are going to need the comfort, because it gets crazy. AN ANONYMOUS GIRL is a haunting tale, where Dr. Shields is always two plays ahead of Jesse in a game of chess. Jesse frustration and angst was palpable. You can’t help but cheer for her, and hope she wins. The story was skillful crafted and carefully plotted. It was totally enthralling and hard to put down. Chapters narration alternates between Jessica and Dr. Shields. point of view. The writing was superbly detailed with descriptions of settings, clothing, and dialog. The main characters were intriguing from the very first page. I loved Jess and her vulnerabilities, which is what propel this story and made it so good. It a dark and suspenseful story of love and betrayal, and ethics, morality and obsession. Put this on your 2019 reading list now. Thanks to Netgalley and St. Martin’s Press for an advance reading copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Publisher St. Martin’s PressPublished January 5, 2019Review www.bluestockingreviews.com
    more
  • Felicia
    January 1, 1970
    "Seeking women ages 18–32 to participate in a study on ethics and morality. Generous compensation. Anonymity guaranteed."The plot for this story is incredibly original and is what initially piqued my interest in this book. But that's where it ends for me. I already know that I'll be in the minority with my opinions as this book will no doubt appeal to the masses.Told in two points of view, that of Dr Shields, the alluring, manipulative therapist conducting a survey on ethics and morality, and Je "Seeking women ages 18–32 to participate in a study on ethics and morality. Generous compensation. Anonymity guaranteed."The plot for this story is incredibly original and is what initially piqued my interest in this book. But that's where it ends for me. I already know that I'll be in the minority with my opinions as this book will no doubt appeal to the masses.Told in two points of view, that of Dr Shields, the alluring, manipulative therapist conducting a survey on ethics and morality, and Jess, the unlucky participant that has drawn the attention of Dr Shields. Dr Shields finds Jess is most suitable for a personal agenda and begins the process of grooming and manipulating her. Its clear that the chapters narrated by Dr Shields are meant to have a creepy feel but the atmosphere falls flat. Jess is likeable enough, devastatingly flawed and a victim of her own secrets.I'm all for a slow burn but this book burns so slow it extinguished itself by the 40% mark and never really becomes engaging throughout. The synopsis for this book paints a picture of a story more psychologically frightening than is actually between the pages. The story is totally implausible, which I could forgive if only the narrative had been told in a more captivating way. There are no twists in this book, no gasping moments, no real sense of mystery. The ending is just blah and completely farfetched. I found the story to be pretty lackluster throughout.I would be remiss in not mentioning that clearly the authors are fans of fashion because nearly every scene includes a detailed description of what the characters are wearing down to the tiniest of details. These details lend nothing to the storyline and become laughable at points because of the absurdity of their inclusion in the book. I'm giving this one 2.5 ⭐ rounded up for plot originality and the fact that I was able to finish the book despite it's failings.I was provided an ARC of this book by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Katie
    January 1, 1970
    An Anonymous Girl is like a psychological thriller on steroids. I loved it. The hook is a unique – a woman with secrets in her past sneaks into a psychological study on ethics and morality. If you are craving a twisty psychological thriller, this is the book to read to get your fix. Multiple points of view? Check. Unreliable narrator? Check. Twists and turns? Check. Unputdownable? Check? Obsessive domestic relationships? Check. It even has an actual psychologist. This book does not even come out An Anonymous Girl is like a psychological thriller on steroids. I loved it. The hook is a unique – a woman with secrets in her past sneaks into a psychological study on ethics and morality. If you are craving a twisty psychological thriller, this is the book to read to get your fix. Multiple points of view? Check. Unreliable narrator? Check. Twists and turns? Check. Unputdownable? Check? Obsessive domestic relationships? Check. It even has an actual psychologist. This book does not even come out until January 2019 but I expect that it will be the talk of the town. I would like to thank NetGalley, St. Martin’s Press, and authors Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen for the early sneak peek of an electronic advanced review copy. Pre-order now because you will not want to miss this.
    more
  • Marialyce
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsLife can change on a dime. It can come in a phone call, a text, a word, or even an invitation. For Jessica Ferris, a young woman struggling to make ends meet as a free lance makeup artist, her change of life comes when she joins in on a study conducted by Dr Shields. Jessica had not been the intended study subject but had fallen into becoming a subject through a bit of deception on her part and the need for money.Dr Shields has it all. She is educated, beautiful, has a handsome husband, 4.5 starsLife can change on a dime. It can come in a phone call, a text, a word, or even an invitation. For Jessica Ferris, a young woman struggling to make ends meet as a free lance makeup artist, her change of life comes when she joins in on a study conducted by Dr Shields. Jessica had not been the intended study subject but had fallen into becoming a subject through a bit of deception on her part and the need for money.Dr Shields has it all. She is educated, beautiful, has a handsome husband, although he might be a philanderer, and yet there is something unnerving about her. Cool as a cucumber, she is a manipulator who entices Jessica to enter the study and become anything Dr Shields wants her to be. How to dress, who to see, where to go are all under the guise of a morality study. Little does Jess know that she is being trained to carry out the devious plans of Dr Shields that will consequently have disastrous results for Jessica. This was quite an unnerving thriller fraught with so many twists and turns that the reader didn't know who was a villain or who was a hero if even there was one. It built up the suspense preying on a person who was obviously out of her element. Would Jessica learn the game in time or would she succumb to the machinations of Dr Shields?I do heartily recommend this book to those of us who do like the working of a well written and performed psychological thriller. This one will keep the reader on their toes as they are taken along on a journey to control, compulsion, and manipulation. Have to say I did so enjoy the authors previous book, The Wife Between Us, as well! Keep em coming ladies!Thank you to Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen, St Martin's Press and Net Galley for a copy of this riveting novel. This book is due to be published on January 9, 2019My reviews can also be seen here: http://yayareadslotsofbooks.wordpress...
    more
  • megs_bookrack
    January 1, 1970
    Ummmm, this is going to be so good -ARC received and I am already rearranging my life to fit it in NOW!
  • leslie hamod
    January 1, 1970
    A book beyond description. Let me begin by thanking the authors and St. Martin's Press for allowing me to read and give an honest review. A psychological thriller of top notch quality. I read the book in approximately 18 hours and was hooked from the start. Well written, thoroughly believable plot and characters with so many faults and foibles that you must find that you empathize with their innermost thoughts. How much is revealed in a therapists office? Do we all have insecurities, guilt, a ne A book beyond description. Let me begin by thanking the authors and St. Martin's Press for allowing me to read and give an honest review. A psychological thriller of top notch quality. I read the book in approximately 18 hours and was hooked from the start. Well written, thoroughly believable plot and characters with so many faults and foibles that you must find that you empathize with their innermost thoughts. How much is revealed in a therapists office? Do we all have insecurities, guilt, a need for approval?In psychology, there is a term called transference in which the patient mistakes a therapist keeping secrets and giving reassurance is taken as love by the patient. The patient mistakenly thinks this love is reciprocated. It is actually quite common. When does the therapist cross the ethical bounds and begin to manipulate a patient? Using reassurance and subtle signals in both word and deed, to convince the patient to do as a therapist wants?We know there are both ethical and unethical therapists out there. Yet we willingly disclose our deepest secrets and fears. We become willing participants in our own undoing. The twists in this book will keep you guessing until the very last page of the epilogue. Easy to read and unforgettable, this book is worth the time. It leaves you guessing until you doubt your own ability to judge the moral compass of your own heart. At the publisher's request, I am unable to use direct quotations in my review. But I can tell you this, Anonymous is not your typical psychological thriller. It is writing outside the box. It is a MUST READ!
    more
  • Esil
    January 1, 1970
    4+ starsWhat would you do for money if your family’s wellbeing depended on it? Would you participate in a study about ethics, revealing the ethical boundaries you’re willing to cross? Would you get drawn in further, and do some real life role playing for the sake of the research? What if it slowly dawned on you that there was more to what was going on than a research study?These two authors sure know how to come up with clever, original, on the edge of your seat stories. I liked The Wife Between 4+ starsWhat would you do for money if your family’s wellbeing depended on it? Would you participate in a study about ethics, revealing the ethical boundaries you’re willing to cross? Would you get drawn in further, and do some real life role playing for the sake of the research? What if it slowly dawned on you that there was more to what was going on than a research study?These two authors sure know how to come up with clever, original, on the edge of your seat stories. I liked The Wife Between. An Anonymous Girl is just as good. There are a few good twists -- what’s up and down keeps shifting -- and the ending is very clever.Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for an advance copy.
    more
  • Dennis
    January 1, 1970
    The dynamic duo is back with their newest collaborative effort, An Anonymous Girl . After Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen's massively successful The Wife Between Us, it was only a matter of time before the duo released their second tale. An Anonymous Girl will be released early January 2019, and the hype is real, folks! Jessica Farris is a make up artist, doing freelance work for all different types of people in New York. After completing one of her assignments, Jessica gets wind of a psyc The dynamic duo is back with their newest collaborative effort, An Anonymous Girl . After Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen's massively successful The Wife Between Us, it was only a matter of time before the duo released their second tale. An Anonymous Girl will be released early January 2019, and the hype is real, folks! Jessica Farris is a make up artist, doing freelance work for all different types of people in New York. After completing one of her assignments, Jessica gets wind of a psychology study opportunity by NYU adjunct professor, Dr. Shields. The monetary offer is just too good to pass up—she's struggling paying the bills, while also supporting her family. The study offers subjects to continue working with Dr. Shields if the personality results are a match. As Jessica and Dr. Shields begin a deeper dive into the study, Jessica soon realizes that she's losing control over her own life in the process. Dr. Shields has effectively become an intricate part of Jess's life. As Jess's suspicion of Dr. Shields intensifies, Jess starts noticing that this study is more than just a research experiment.Before I start my critique of An Anonymous Girl , let me be honest and say that I did in fact compare this story to Hendricks and Pekkanen's The Wife Between Us—but you shouldn't. An Anonymous Girl is vastly different than the duo's predecessor, but still has the same foundation that the duo excels at. An Anonymous Girl is suspense-driven, more than any of their other works have ever had. The story starts at a slower pace than I was expecting, but this ultimately allows for the suspense to commence in a powerful fashion as the plot develops. There were points that I seriously was about to look over my shoulder! Ditch the twists, this story is fully focused on the characters without any decoys or tricks. I absolutely fell enamored with this story—just ask anyone on the subway! I had this book attached to my face on my morning and evening commute, and even picked it up while walking home! If people can text and walk, I surely can read An Anonymous Girl , am I right?! I was pleasantly surprised at the originality of An Anonymous Girl and I think you will too. Thank you St. Martin's Press for my advanced copy in exchange for an honest review. An Anonymous Girl will be released January 8, 2019.
    more
Write a review