The Perfect Alibi (Robin Lockwood #2)
A young woman accuses a prominent local college athlete of rape. Convicted with the help of undisputable DNA evidence, the athlete swears his innocence and threatens both his lawyer and his accuser as he's sent to prison. Not long after, there's another rape and the DNA test shows that the same person committed both rapes—which is seemingly impossible since the man convicted of the first rape was in prison at the time of the second one. Now, the convicted athlete, joined by a new lawyer, is granted a new trial and bail. Shortly thereafter, his original lawyer disappears and his law partner is murdered.Robin Lockwood is a young lawyer with a prestigious small law firm and a former MMA fighter who helped pay for Yale Law School with her bouts. She is representing the victim of the first rape for her civil lawsuit against her rapist, who is now convinced the rapist is stalking her and trying to intimidate her. At the same time, another client is up on a murder charge—one that should be dismissed as self-defense—but the D.A. trying the case is determined to bring it to trial. Now she has to mastermind two impossible cases, trying to find the hidden truth that links the two of them.

The Perfect Alibi (Robin Lockwood #2) Details

TitleThe Perfect Alibi (Robin Lockwood #2)
Author
ReleaseMar 5th, 2019
PublisherMinotaur Books
ISBN-139781250117526
Rating
GenreMystery, Fiction, Thriller, Legal Thriller

The Perfect Alibi (Robin Lockwood #2) Review

  • Kaceey
    January 1, 1970
    3.75*I have been a long time fan of Phillip Margolin. I believe I have read every book he has released! I am always guaranteed for a great light legal thriller that will keep me guessing. He has done it again! Robin Lockwood is a partner in a law firm in Oregon. She is able to handle all kinds of cases, from death row trials to civil law suits and everything in between. And in the course of this book you will see it all! The only issue I had with this book was a it felt like it somewhat lacked f 3.75*I have been a long time fan of Phillip Margolin. I believe I have read every book he has released! I am always guaranteed for a great light legal thriller that will keep me guessing. He has done it again! Robin Lockwood is a partner in a law firm in Oregon. She is able to handle all kinds of cases, from death row trials to civil law suits and everything in between. And in the course of this book you will see it all! The only issue I had with this book was a it felt like it somewhat lacked focus. There are so many characters and story-lines that I found myself re-reading pages just to keep everything straight!With so many moving parts that you will need to stay on your toes to keep up!That said, Philip Margolin continues to deliver fabulous legal thrillers that I always look forward to ever year! I’m now patiently waiting for his next...A buddy read with Susanne!❄️Thank you to NetGalley, St. Martin’s Press and Phillip Margolin for an ARC to read and review.
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    2.65 Stars* (rounded up)When a young college student accuses a football player named Blaine of rape, the DNA test is irrefutable and he is imprisoned. A rising attorney named Robin Lockwood, who is a former MMA Star is hired to represent the young woman in the civil suit. When another girl is then raped by someone who has the exact same DNA as Blaine everything is questioned as Blaine does not have an identical twin and Blaine was imprisoned while the second girl was raped. What is going on? Mea 2.65 Stars* (rounded up)When a young college student accuses a football player named Blaine of rape, the DNA test is irrefutable and he is imprisoned. A rising attorney named Robin Lockwood, who is a former MMA Star is hired to represent the young woman in the civil suit. When another girl is then raped by someone who has the exact same DNA as Blaine everything is questioned as Blaine does not have an identical twin and Blaine was imprisoned while the second girl was raped. What is going on? Meanwhile, several attorneys are being murdered. Why? Are these deaths related? This is where things got complicated. Very complicated. Though Robin Lockwood should let the police handle it, she can’t help but investigate and boy is she good at it. The complicated storylines in “The Perfect Alibi” was just one of the problems for me with this mystery suspense by Phillip Margolin. As some of you know, I work in the legal field and know a good amount about the law - I discovered the big reveal to be completely implausible and not even remotely feasible, if the author had done his homework he would know that too. That being said, aside from the parts of this novel that were overly complicated, it was well written and the characters were fantastic. I loved Robin Lockwood - she saved the day. This was a buddy read with Kaceey! Thank you to NetGalley, Minotaur Books - St. Martins Press and Phillip Margolin for an ARC of this novel in exchange for an arc of this novel in exchange for an honest review.Published on NetGalley and Goodreads on 2.10.19.
    more
  • Jenny
    January 1, 1970
    A rich,good looking college football player is accused of the rape of a poor, young girl. Despite his parents wealth, he is convicted and sent to jail. This time justice prevails. But wait, a few weeks later, another girl is raped and the now incarcerated man’s DNA is found on the girl. How can that happen? How can someone be in two places at once, especially when one of the places is jail?To complicate matters further, the young rape suspect with the help of a new lawyer is granted bail and a n A rich,good looking college football player is accused of the rape of a poor, young girl. Despite his parents wealth, he is convicted and sent to jail. This time justice prevails. But wait, a few weeks later, another girl is raped and the now incarcerated man’s DNA is found on the girl. How can that happen? How can someone be in two places at once, especially when one of the places is jail?To complicate matters further, the young rape suspect with the help of a new lawyer is granted bail and a new trial. While out on bail, his first attorney goes missing and his well-liked partner is found murdered in his office. If you’re curious to see where this ride takes you, then Phillip Margolin’s new book, The Perfect Alibi, is the perfect book for you. On top of all the murder, mystery and mayhem is the story of young defense attorney, Robin Lockwood, a former MMA fighter that also happens to be a Yale law grad as well. She represents the young woman in the civil case against the alleged rapist which should keep her busy but then she is assigned a court appointed capital murder trial with a District Attorney hell bent on winning this case at all costs. The Perfect Alibi is full of more twists than turns and Lockwood will have to use both her book and street smarts to solve these mysteries while being stalked.Lots of characters and a great crime mystery from one of the best writers out there today. Stay focused and allow yourself an early start in the day because you won’t want to put it down until you are finished.I received an advanced copy of this book from NetGalley. #NetGalley #ThePerfectAlibi
    more
  • Tim
    January 1, 1970
    It's a good thing this cloddish, plodding, sodding dirt of a story is short. Otherwise, it would not have been worth the effort to get through. 2 of 10 stars
  • Matt
    January 1, 1970
    Philip Margolin brings Robin Lockwood back for another legal thriller set in Oregon. Lockwood, a former MMA star, is ready to do battle when she is approached by a young woman who confides that she’s been raped. Robin explains that she cannot prosecute a criminal case, but is willing to help with any civil matter that might be needed. Listening to her client, Robin learns that a football player, Blaine Hastings, turned a booze-fuelled lustful encounter into something violent that led to a sexual Philip Margolin brings Robin Lockwood back for another legal thriller set in Oregon. Lockwood, a former MMA star, is ready to do battle when she is approached by a young woman who confides that she’s been raped. Robin explains that she cannot prosecute a criminal case, but is willing to help with any civil matter that might be needed. Listening to her client, Robin learns that a football player, Blaine Hastings, turned a booze-fuelled lustful encounter into something violent that led to a sexual assault. Hastings has a much different tale, though he cannot explain the semen left in and around the victim. At trial, Hastings is less than happy with his legal representation and is sent away. However, things take a definite turn when another woman is raped, identifying a different man, but Hastings' DNA is left inside her. As Hastings was incarcerated at the time, he could not have committed the crime, but what’s happened? Robin is baffled and unsure how to help her client, but the local authorities are sure there is some scientific explanation. Hastings is released on bail but soon disappears, just as his lawyer's legal partner is slain. Robin is hired to defend the man accused of the murder, though no one believes that he could be involved. Working both mind-blowing cases, Robin watches as the D.A. lands himself in some hot water and turns the local legal community on its head. With time running out and answers scarce, Robin will have to act to get answers, while still keeping an eye out for Blaine Hastings, who's sure to have a bone to pick with her. A well-crafted novel with layered sub-plots that all link together, Margolin shows why he is the master of his genre. Perfect for fans of legal thrillers full of twists and those whose search for justice is unending.I usually enjoy Phillip Margolin and his novels, which mix the law with dramatic developments throughout. This was no exception, as the story twisted and turned from one part to the next. Robin Lockwood remains a wonderful protagonist, able to tear down anything put before her, be it a charging body or legal argument. Her attentiveness shows that she has the makings of a sensational legal mind and she surrounds herself with those who are able to help her excel. Juggling a seemingly impossible workload, Lockwood finds enough time to locate her fair share of trouble. Others in the book prove quite effective at advancing the plot and creating a niche for themselves. As Margolin creates a smaller story within each part, there are characters who shine in parts of the book, backing off in other domains. The story was strong and its scientific element did not drown out the effectiveness of the legal arguments. The reader is in for a treat, offered nuances of many aspects of the law, jammed into this mid-length novel. With fresh ideas and ever evolving themes (as well as a cameo by one of Margolin's long-time stars), this is another book worthy of its fair share of praise. A mix of chapter lengths serves a great purpose while always leaving the reader to wonder what awaits. Perfect for a single-day reading, should time permit.Kudos, Mr. Margolin, on another success. I am pleased to have discovered your work and cannot wait to see what else you have in store!Love/hate the review? An ever-growing collection of others appears at: http://pecheyponderings.wordpress.com/A Book for All Seasons, a different sort of Book Challenge: https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/...
    more
  • Carrie
    January 1, 1970
    The Perfect Alibi by Phillip Margolin is the second book of the legal thriller Robin Lockwood series. In the first book of the series readers were introduced to Robin who was just beginning as an assistant to a legendary attorney and now she is back tackling her own cases.In this second installment of the series Robin meets with a young girl who is looking to bring about a case on her rapist. She and a friend had attended a party and while flirting on thing led to another and then the young man The Perfect Alibi by Phillip Margolin is the second book of the legal thriller Robin Lockwood series. In the first book of the series readers were introduced to Robin who was just beginning as an assistant to a legendary attorney and now she is back tackling her own cases.In this second installment of the series Robin meets with a young girl who is looking to bring about a case on her rapist. She and a friend had attended a party and while flirting on thing led to another and then the young man would not stop as she struggled and fought.As Robin dives into her first case she finds another on her desk that also needs her attention. But as the defendant in the first is in prison another attack happens which may show his innocence but as Robin digs further she begins to untangle clues that may link both cases.The Perfect Alibi was another great addition to this series from Phillip Margolin. The series is rather fast paced as it follows along from the beginning of a case, the investigation and court room appearances all of which keep the pages turning as the twists and turns come. Will definitely be looking forward to more to come in this thrilling legal series.I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.For more reviews please visit https://carriesbookreviews.com/
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    The Perfect Alibi is a robust and suspenseful legal mystery with a dynamic female protagonist. SUMMARYA young woman accuses a prominent local college athlete of rape. Convicted with the help of DNA evidence the athlete swears he is innocent and threaten both his lawyer and his accuser as he is sent to prison. Then there is another rape and the DNA shows the same person committed both rapes. An impossibility since the man convicted of the first rape was in prison at the time of the second one. No The Perfect Alibi is a robust and suspenseful legal mystery with a dynamic female protagonist. SUMMARYA young woman accuses a prominent local college athlete of rape. Convicted with the help of DNA evidence the athlete swears he is innocent and threaten both his lawyer and his accuser as he is sent to prison. Then there is another rape and the DNA shows the same person committed both rapes. An impossibility since the man convicted of the first rape was in prison at the time of the second one. Now the convicted athlete joined by a new lawyer, is granted a new trial and bail. Shortly thereafter, his original lawyer disappears and the lawyer’s partner is murdered. Robin Lockwood is a young lawyer with a small law firm hired to represent the first rape victim in a civil lawsuit against the rapist. The victim is convinced the rapist is stalking her and trying to intimidate her. At the same time another of Lockwood’s client’s is in jail on a murder charge, that he claims is self defense, but the D. A. is determined to bring the case to trial. Lockwood now has to mastermind two impossible cases, trying to find the hidden truths between each of them.REVIEWThere is so much going on in THE PERFECT ALIBI it may make your head spin. I’m not sure anyone really has the perfect alibi in this one. There are so many attorneys, victims and bad guys, it’s hard to keep them all straight. But it’s worth the read. Robin Lockwood’s character as the protagonist was captivating. She is a smart, strong, and confident woman attorney, who can take care of herself. She had me when she easily took down a twenty-something up-and-coming mixed martial arts fighter who she sparred with at her boxing ring. THE PERFECT ALIBI is suspenseful and skillfully crafted. The robust story contains multiple rapes, assaults, threats, lies, infidelity, drug deals and at least three murders. Not sure how much more you can fit into one book, but it all comes together in the end. Best selling author Phillip Margolin practiced criminal defense law from 1972 until 1996, when he became a full time author of legal thrillers. He has since written over 25 novels. Thanks to Netgalley, Phillip Margolin and Minotaur for an advance reading copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Publisher Minotaur Published March 5, 2018Review www.bluestockingreviews.com
    more
  • Kelsie
    January 1, 1970
    The Perfect Alibi by Phillip Margolin is the second book in his Robin Lockwood series. Though this novel is part of a series with the same the primary character, it reads as a standalone. Robin Lockwood, former MMA fighter, is now a partner in the law firm, Barrister, Berman & Lockwood. She’s currently litigating two important cases that are causing her to question herself and her chosen career. Robin also involves herself in a case possibly related to one of hers that’s being handled by ano The Perfect Alibi by Phillip Margolin is the second book in his Robin Lockwood series. Though this novel is part of a series with the same the primary character, it reads as a standalone. Robin Lockwood, former MMA fighter, is now a partner in the law firm, Barrister, Berman & Lockwood. She’s currently litigating two important cases that are causing her to question herself and her chosen career. Robin also involves herself in a case possibly related to one of hers that’s being handled by another lawyer, so she has a full plate. This is only the second book that I’ve read by bestselling author, Phillip Margolin, but I’m impressed. Robin is a well-developed female protagonist. The plot is intricate with perfectly timed twists. This is an expertly conceived legal thriller. The only downside may be the abundance of characters, but this didn’t affect my reading or understanding of the story. The Perfect Alibi is an excellent legal thriller and I rate it 5 out of 5 stars. This is the perfect book for those looking for a smart read. My thanks to St. Martin’s Press/Minotaur Books and NetGalley for the opportunity to read an advance copy of this book. However, the opinions expressed in this review are 100% mine and mine alone.
    more
  • Jean
    January 1, 1970
    I have enjoyed reading Phillip Margolin’s books. In particular I enjoyed the Amanda Jaffe series. I think the Jaffe series has ended. This is the second book that features Robin Lockwood. She was in “The Third Victim”. Maybe this is a new series.The book is well written. The book takes place in Oregon. A woman was raped. This book is about the civil lawsuit. The plot twists and turns. The suspense builds throughout the story. The characters are interesting as is the DNA science. I enjoyed the ap I have enjoyed reading Phillip Margolin’s books. In particular I enjoyed the Amanda Jaffe series. I think the Jaffe series has ended. This is the second book that features Robin Lockwood. She was in “The Third Victim”. Maybe this is a new series.The book is well written. The book takes place in Oregon. A woman was raped. This book is about the civil lawsuit. The plot twists and turns. The suspense builds throughout the story. The characters are interesting as is the DNA science. I enjoyed the appearance of Amanda Jaffe toward the end of the book.I read this as an audiobook downloaded from Audible. The book is seven hours six minutes. Therese Plummer does an excellent job narrating the book. Plummer is an actress, voice-over artist and an award-winning audiobook narrator. I enjoyed listening to her voice.
    more
  • Judy
    January 1, 1970
    Phillip Margolin always writes great mysteries/thrillers - you can count on it. This is a complex one with several legal cases to follow and some suspense. Robin Lockwood is a great character as the defense attorney - she's just interesting. A good bit of this story involves ethics and morals. The cases followed in this book are an interesting rape case, a murder of an Oregon legal partner, the murder of an assistant district attorney, the murders of a stroke victim and his wife, the murder of a Phillip Margolin always writes great mysteries/thrillers - you can count on it. This is a complex one with several legal cases to follow and some suspense. Robin Lockwood is a great character as the defense attorney - she's just interesting. A good bit of this story involves ethics and morals. The cases followed in this book are an interesting rape case, a murder of an Oregon legal partner, the murder of an assistant district attorney, the murders of a stroke victim and his wife, the murder of a New York attorney - there's a lot going on. This book may not be Margolin's best, but it is definitely an enjoyable read.Thanks to Phillip Margolin and St. Martin's Press through Netgalley for an advance copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Magdalena aka A Bookaholic Swede
    January 1, 1970
    An up-and-coming local college athlete is accused and sent to prison for rape, with DNA evidence to prove it. However, soon after another rape occurs, and the same DNA is found. How can this be? No person, unless they are identical twins, can have the same DNA. And, the man in question is an only child. Now he's granted a new trial and is released on bail. Robin Lockwood is representing the young woman that accused the athlete of rape. Now, Robin has to protect her client who thinks she's being An up-and-coming local college athlete is accused and sent to prison for rape, with DNA evidence to prove it. However, soon after another rape occurs, and the same DNA is found. How can this be? No person, unless they are identical twins, can have the same DNA. And, the man in question is an only child. Now he's granted a new trial and is released on bail. Robin Lockwood is representing the young woman that accused the athlete of rape. Now, Robin has to protect her client who thinks she's being stalked by the newly released rapist...READ THE REST OF THE REVIEW OVER AT FRESH FICTION!
    more
  • Kristy K
    January 1, 1970
    2.5 StarsLots of murder, lies, and misdirection takes place in The Perfect Alibi and it will keep readers guessing as to who did what. There are multiple cases and crimes committed throughout this book and there are times I felt it was a bit too much, but it does come together at the end. Our main players, Rex Kellerman, Doug Anderson, and Robin Lockwood connect these cases and seemingly random tangential subplots. While the rape case may be the catalyst for bringing these three attorneys togeth 2.5 StarsLots of murder, lies, and misdirection takes place in The Perfect Alibi and it will keep readers guessing as to who did what. There are multiple cases and crimes committed throughout this book and there are times I felt it was a bit too much, but it does come together at the end. Our main players, Rex Kellerman, Doug Anderson, and Robin Lockwood connect these cases and seemingly random tangential subplots. While the rape case may be the catalyst for bringing these three attorneys together, it takes a backseat to the other events happening. For as much as I didn’t like the writing (or execution), the plot kept pulling me along and I needed to know how it would all end. I cringed or rolled my eyes at lot of the dialogue and inner thoughts of our characters. They at times appeared to be slight caricatures of the parts they were playing. For me it read almost like a cozy mystery but maybe a tad darker as the rapes and murders aren’t really detailed but do have some specifics. I thought the two rape cases would be the focal point and so was thrown a little when that wasn’t the case. While I found the plot compelling, I felt the execution needed some work.
    more
  • Bridgett
    January 1, 1970
    An interesting, if somewhat unfocused, read. This is my first Phillip Margolin novel, and for about the first 25%, I was pleasantly surprised. The story was interesting and really kept my attention. After that, things became a little disjointed. There were just so many story lines. It felt like an octopus, with Robin Lockwood, the main protagonist, being the brain...and 8 separate tentacles (or plot lines) radiating outward. It was a lot. Even worse, I figured everything out VERY early on...des An interesting, if somewhat unfocused, read. This is my first Phillip Margolin novel, and for about the first 25%, I was pleasantly surprised. The story was interesting and really kept my attention. After that, things became a little disjointed. There were just so many story lines. It felt like an octopus, with Robin Lockwood, the main protagonist, being the brain...and 8 separate tentacles (or plot lines) radiating outward. It was a lot. Even worse, I figured everything out VERY early on...despite all the plots, the twists weren't really twists at all. I will say everything was tied up nicely at the conclusion, and all the stories played well off the others, but it just felt a little too convoluted. I didn't realize, at first, that this was the sophomore offering in a series, but this could very much be a standalone effort. The only other thing I can say about this book, and part of the reason it didn't get a better ranking...the dialogue isn't great. It's terribly stilted and awkward. Some authors excel at dialogue, others don't. This is clearly an area upon which Mr. Margolin could improve. Having said that, I'd likely pick up another of his novels. I feel he has great crime writing potential, but I do hope he realizes that often times, less is more.2.5 stars**As always, thanks to NetGalley and Minotaur Books for the advanced reader's copy in exchange for my honest review. It's greatly appreciated.Publication date: March 5, 2019Review posted on Goodreads: March 2, 2019
    more
  • Vicki Willis
    January 1, 1970
    A legal thriller from Phillip Margolin, who I have enjoyed reading for many years. This one was the second book in the series about Robin Lockwood. I initially didn't know that and have not read The Third Victim. This book read just fine as a stand alone. I did not have trouble following the story or characters. I did think there were a lot of characters and because they were all involved in the law, it took a bit to get them all sorted out. The sides of the legal table seemed fluid in this one. A legal thriller from Phillip Margolin, who I have enjoyed reading for many years. This one was the second book in the series about Robin Lockwood. I initially didn't know that and have not read The Third Victim. This book read just fine as a stand alone. I did not have trouble following the story or characters. I did think there were a lot of characters and because they were all involved in the law, it took a bit to get them all sorted out. The sides of the legal table seemed fluid in this one. The plot was gripping and I read the book very quickly. His style is easy to read. The mystery was complex and I didn't have it all figured out until it was spelled out for me. Robin Lockwood is an likable character and the cast of people around her are diverse and engaging. I am definitely going to read the first book in this series. I would recommend this book to someone looking for a light, quick read in the thriller genre.
    more
  • PinkAmy loves books, cats and naps
    January 1, 1970
    ***Thanks to NetGalley for providing me a complimentary copy of THE PERFECT ALIBI by Phillip Margolin in exchange for my honest review.***When a college football star’s DNA is found inside the body of the young woman he’s accused of raping, conviction is a slam dunk. His response is to threaten the lives of his lawyer, the victim and the judge. The victim hires Robin to represent her in a civil case. Then the same DNA is found inside another rape victim, while the perp sits in jail. Next people ***Thanks to NetGalley for providing me a complimentary copy of THE PERFECT ALIBI by Phillip Margolin in exchange for my honest review.***When a college football star’s DNA is found inside the body of the young woman he’s accused of raping, conviction is a slam dunk. His response is to threaten the lives of his lawyer, the victim and the judge. The victim hires Robin to represent her in a civil case. Then the same DNA is found inside another rape victim, while the perp sits in jail. Next people start dying.THE PERFECT ALIBI is my first Phillip Margolin novel. Filled with twists, turns and intrigue, I was curious to how the subplots may or may not connect. At times I had trouble keeping Robin’s different cases, suspects, police and attorneys separate. I had to stop to think who attached to what case.Detectives and DNA lab experts explained that only identical twins have the same DNA, although as a TV procedural veteran, I’ve seen at least two episodes on CSI and Law&Order: SVU where identical DNA was found in unrelated people when one had donated bone marrow to another. (I’m easily distracted by details).The multiple payoffs in THE PERFECT ALIBI make this a must read mystery.
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    This is the first Phillip Margolin bok I've read, and probably the last. Flat characters, wooden dialogue, and uninspired prose. The plot did engage me enough to keep reading, but I wouldn't recommend this.*I received a free ARC of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Donna
    January 1, 1970
    I love this author. He is really among my favorites in this genre. My sister turned me on to him many years ago (Thanks Cathy). I'm always excited when he releases his next novel. I love the MC in this. Robin is unique with her flaws and her perfection. Her characteristics are vivid and wonderfully developed. I also liked all of the subplots. It did have a lot of characters, but the audio narrator did a fabulous job at keeping everyone separate. So yay for that. I liked this one, but it wasn't m I love this author. He is really among my favorites in this genre. My sister turned me on to him many years ago (Thanks Cathy). I'm always excited when he releases his next novel. I love the MC in this. Robin is unique with her flaws and her perfection. Her characteristics are vivid and wonderfully developed. I also liked all of the subplots. It did have a lot of characters, but the audio narrator did a fabulous job at keeping everyone separate. So yay for that. I liked this one, but it wasn't my favorite. Some of this felt a little overwrought. And there were simple answers to some of the issues, but they were overlooked. So 3 stars.
    more
  • Cassie-Traveling Sister-
    January 1, 1970
    The perfect Alibi by Phillip Margolin is the second book of the Robin Lockwood series. I was not aware of that when l received an advanced copy by the publisher. When a college student accuses football player Blaine of rape and his DNA was found he’s put in prison. Robin Lockwood is hired to represent the young woman in the civil suit against Blaine. When another woman is raped and the DNA matches Blaine things become confusing since Blaine is imprisoned and he doesn’t have an identical brother The perfect Alibi by Phillip Margolin is the second book of the Robin Lockwood series. I was not aware of that when l received an advanced copy by the publisher. When a college student accuses football player Blaine of rape and his DNA was found he’s put in prison. Robin Lockwood is hired to represent the young woman in the civil suit against Blaine. When another woman is raped and the DNA matches Blaine things become confusing since Blaine is imprisoned and he doesn’t have an identical brother and he can’t be in two places at once so what exactly is going on. The other case in in this book is several attorneys are being murdered and how does this related to Blaine’s case? Robin takes it upon herself to investigate on her own. The perfect alibi has so many twists and turns and constantly has you feeling like you need to check behind you! I loved that Robin was once an MMA fighter and is now a Yale graduated lawyer! She is the perfect strong woman who isn’t afraid to defend her self and stick up for herself! There were lots of characters and a great crime mystery, it holds your attention and flows perfectly! I am looking forward to reading more fromthis author! This book will be available March 5th 2019!
    more
  • Gloria ~ mzglorybe
    January 1, 1970
    Publication date: 3/5/193.75 stars - rubbing elbows with 4 starse-ARC copy provided by St. Martin’s Press vía NetGalleyThis was my first read from author Margolin. I'm late to the party, obviously, as he has boocoodles of books out there. This was crafted cleverly. He keeps you guessing as to how and what actually happened here. Young defense attorney Robin Lockwood is a tough cookie, literally. She is an accomplished MMA cage fighter and can defend herself quite nicely, thank you very much, as Publication date: 3/5/193.75 stars - rubbing elbows with 4 starse-ARC copy provided by St. Martin’s Press vía NetGalleyThis was my first read from author Margolin. I'm late to the party, obviously, as he has boocoodles of books out there. This was crafted cleverly. He keeps you guessing as to how and what actually happened here. Young defense attorney Robin Lockwood is a tough cookie, literally. She is an accomplished MMA cage fighter and can defend herself quite nicely, thank you very much, as well as her clients. She's the kind of lawyer anyone would want in their corner, when needed. I was impressed with her strength of character and sensitivity to a rape victim whose case she decides to take on. I found the DNA facts fascinating in relationship to rape cases. This novel goes off however, in other directions as other cases are brought in. I for one did not find them distracting, they seem to flow along without being intrusive to the focal point of the novel and the loose ends are brought to a satisfactory conclusion. I enjoyed it very much and look forward to reading more of Margolin's works. I thank St. Martins Press and Net Galley for the review copy. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Jennifer Rico
    January 1, 1970
    This book was enjoyable, but the characters were a bit complicated to keep track of, and to keep each storyline going. Its definitely worth the read, but you should only read when you have a lot of time to focus on the book.
  • Melissa
    January 1, 1970
    2.5 starsI hadn't read a Phillip Margolin book in a while and the description of this one intrigued me, so I picked it up. What I liked: I love the Portland setting, although it doesn't really make as strong an appearance in this one as in previous books by him. I still like the familiar locale. I liked Robin quite a bit and admired her tenacity and smarts. She's the type of lawyer I'd want in my corner if something went wrong. The overall mysteries in the book were decent and kept my interest t 2.5 starsI hadn't read a Phillip Margolin book in a while and the description of this one intrigued me, so I picked it up. What I liked: I love the Portland setting, although it doesn't really make as strong an appearance in this one as in previous books by him. I still like the familiar locale. I liked Robin quite a bit and admired her tenacity and smarts. She's the type of lawyer I'd want in my corner if something went wrong. The overall mysteries in the book were decent and kept my interest throughout.What I didn't: The first main thing I disliked intensely was the slang used to describe some of the main situations. I can't really describe without giving total spoilers, but suffice it to say no attorney worth their salt would use slang terminology for sexual situations when talking with colleagues and in professional situations. Also, I thought some of the cases here were too convoluted to follow and I had a difficult time figuring out which attorneys/police officers were talking about which cases because many of the players overlapped cases. This was a decent read, but nothing amazing.I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book, all opinions are my own.
    more
  • Donna
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 stars. Bet you don't know too many lawyers who used to be MMA fighters. Well, Robin Lockwood is one.Client Randi Stark wants to sue a star college football player Blaine Hastings for rape. As soon as he is tried and goes to prison on his conviction, Robin files the civil suit. However, another rape victim soon comes forward and the DNA shows to be Blaine's. Whoops, he's in prison.Robin also defends a man who is accused of killing an off-duty police officer. Although not Robin's case, there i 3.5 stars. Bet you don't know too many lawyers who used to be MMA fighters. Well, Robin Lockwood is one.Client Randi Stark wants to sue a star college football player Blaine Hastings for rape. As soon as he is tried and goes to prison on his conviction, Robin files the civil suit. However, another rape victim soon comes forward and the DNA shows to be Blaine's. Whoops, he's in prison.Robin also defends a man who is accused of killing an off-duty police officer. Although not Robin's case, there is another one Voss V. Norcross Pharmaceuticals which plays into the story.Lots of characters and storylines. I didn't get to see as much of Robin's fighting skills except for in the gym but overall a good legal thriller.
    more
  • Jerry B
    January 1, 1970
    We have read lawyer-turned-author Margolin’s entire booklist, with invariably 3- or 4-star ratings – setting an expectation for reasonable if not overly thrilling adventure. We quite enjoyed his just prior novel (“The Third Victim”) introducing Portland-based defense attorney Robin Lockwood – and now this latest is a second to feature her firm taking on often difficult cases involving herein murder and rape.We smelled a bit of a rat when the early-on rape case turns out open and shut, paving the We have read lawyer-turned-author Margolin’s entire booklist, with invariably 3- or 4-star ratings – setting an expectation for reasonable if not overly thrilling adventure. We quite enjoyed his just prior novel (“The Third Victim”) introducing Portland-based defense attorney Robin Lockwood – and now this latest is a second to feature her firm taking on often difficult cases involving herein murder and rape.We smelled a bit of a rat when the early-on rape case turns out open and shut, paving the way for Robin’s civil suit. Meanwhile, she defends a man who killed a cop, arguing self-defense; along with the case of a lawyer killing his beloved partner with seemingly zero motive to discover. When some more deaths occur both in Oregon and in NYC, with a remote connection between them, the plot thickens as several parties pursue the solutions. In the end, some rather unique justice prevails in several of the matters brought to light.As we mentioned last time, a likable leading lady, a twisty plot, and short chapters that heightened suspense all led to another entertaining outing. Well done.
    more
  • Donna Lewis
    January 1, 1970
    The most interesting thing about this book is the frightening fact that the difference between a guilty verdict and a not-guilty verdict is so slight that any number of things can change the outcome. This is why so many innocent people are on death row, and guilty people escape punishment all too often. The legal system, while flawed, is still the best in the world and worth striving to improve. The book is interesting, and it’s nice to read about the northwest and my favorite - New York City.
    more
  • Kim
    January 1, 1970
    **I recvd this book from netgalley in exchange for my honest review**I wanted to like this book more than I did, mostly because the blurb intrigued me, a rich guy rapes a girl and ends up in jail, only to have his DNA show up in a rape while he's in there.. sounded good, something that maybe could lead to me not predicting the outcome, what I got though, was this was actually a sort of mini case in a bunch of other cases. A lawyer with several cases and a few of them overlap. It was intriguing e **I recvd this book from netgalley in exchange for my honest review**I wanted to like this book more than I did, mostly because the blurb intrigued me, a rich guy rapes a girl and ends up in jail, only to have his DNA show up in a rape while he's in there.. sounded good, something that maybe could lead to me not predicting the outcome, what I got though, was this was actually a sort of mini case in a bunch of other cases. A lawyer with several cases and a few of them overlap. It was intriguing enough to keep me reading, some parts I felt like there were too many threads, too much going on, it felt fractured and scattered. I didn't feel it was cohesive while I was reading it. It all came together and everything was resolved beautifully at the end, but I wasn't anchored while reading it. I like the flow to flow, and the reason I requested this book wasn't that prominent of a storyline. I think the blurb in the back should have stated something differently. This was basically a book about a lawyer in an up and coming law firm with multiple different cases on her desk, some intersecting, with a pretty nice twist at the end that was somewhat surprising.
    more
  • Sharon Sample
    January 1, 1970
    Am I missing something? Why are other NetGalley readers giving this book 3 to 5 stars and writing positive reviews? The first third of the book held my attention, but then it turns into a mess. Brief chapters, mostly written in short pieces of dialogue, are told from different points of view which results in a jerky narrative that is impossible to follow. Finally, I do not understand why "St Martin's Press," which in my previous reading experiences publishes readable books, is printing this junk Am I missing something? Why are other NetGalley readers giving this book 3 to 5 stars and writing positive reviews? The first third of the book held my attention, but then it turns into a mess. Brief chapters, mostly written in short pieces of dialogue, are told from different points of view which results in a jerky narrative that is impossible to follow. Finally, I do not understand why "St Martin's Press," which in my previous reading experiences publishes readable books, is printing this junk. #NetGalley
    more
  • Michelle
    January 1, 1970
    This book was all over the place. The characters were dry and flat, the writing about rape was just...careless. The legal information made no sense and was distracting. It felt like a book written from 1985. Thanks NetGalley for the advance copy.
  • Becky Baldridge
    January 1, 1970
    The Perfect Alibi has a great protagonist in Robin Lockwood. She's interesting, tough, and doesn't settle for the easy answer. We start with a rape case that seems pretty cut and dried, but things aren't always exactly as they seem, and given the length of the book, I did expect things to go off the rails. What I didn't expect was for this story to take so many different paths. We have conspiracies, murders, rape, and misconduct all happening in rapid-fire succession and with the number of chara The Perfect Alibi has a great protagonist in Robin Lockwood. She's interesting, tough, and doesn't settle for the easy answer. We start with a rape case that seems pretty cut and dried, but things aren't always exactly as they seem, and given the length of the book, I did expect things to go off the rails. What I didn't expect was for this story to take so many different paths. We have conspiracies, murders, rape, and misconduct all happening in rapid-fire succession and with the number of characters introduced, it all becomes convoluted. Some things do tie in together, but a lot of it is closer to degrees of separation than anything tied together - A guy goes to prison for rape, his lawyer may or may not be tied to a murder, the DA isn't the most ethical and might have reasons to want the lawyer out of the picture, then we have a mysterious bad guy lurking around for completely unrelated reasons. That's just the tip of the iceberg in this one, and the only thing that everything seems to have in common is that Robin is involved with most of it in one way or another. The author does tie everything up in the end, but the middle goes down so many avenues that it's all just more distracting than anything else. The book had the potential to be a great story with the twist in the rape case and a less than likable guy behind bars for the crime, one who may or may not be guilty. As it stands, there is just too much going on and much of it is way over the top. This one could certainly have done with a bit of the less is more adage. The saving grace of the story for me is Robin. I did enjoy reading how she figured things out, and I liked her self-assurance and willingness to go the extra mile.
    more
  • Ben
    January 1, 1970
    “ The Perfect Alibi” by Phillip Margolin is a very entertaining legal thriller. The author spins a tale with two different threads at at first seem divergent but do become entwined to give the reader an interesting puzzle to solve. Not just a who done it, but why, is the puzzle. At the beginning of the novel, attorney Robin Lockwood meets with a potential new client, Randi Stark. She has accused Blaine Hastings, son of a wealthy man, college football standout and possible pro draft pick , of rap “ The Perfect Alibi” by Phillip Margolin is a very entertaining legal thriller. The author spins a tale with two different threads at at first seem divergent but do become entwined to give the reader an interesting puzzle to solve. Not just a who done it, but why, is the puzzle. At the beginning of the novel, attorney Robin Lockwood meets with a potential new client, Randi Stark. She has accused Blaine Hastings, son of a wealthy man, college football standout and possible pro draft pick , of raping her in at a frat house party. It seems like a case of “ he said, she said” , but Randi is sincere and has witnesses. Robin signs on as counsel in the civil suit for potentially huge damages. The criminal case against Blaine is defended by David Armstrong, of another firm, but a guilty verdict results. In a rage after the verdict , Hastings threatens everyone, Armstrong, Kellerman the DA, and Randi. A few weeks later, Armstrong’s law partner is murdered and evidence points to Armstrong, who hires Robin to defend him. Why would he kill his best friend and the man who helped him get started? If he didn’t , who did? Could Hastings have gotten the wrong man. Was it someone else for an unknaown reason? What has one case have to do with the other? Anything? I can tell you honestly that I was not sure of the outcome of the story until a big plot reveal late in the story pointed the way. I thought “ The Perfect Alibi” was quite a well-written puzzler, that Agatha Christie, who is referred to in the book, would be proud of. Good detecting, an interesting legal conflict and a bit of romance, made for a good book.Content note: nothing to offend or annoy.Recommended to all.
    more
  • Tom Tischler
    January 1, 1970
    A young woman accuses a prominent local college athlete of rape. He is convicted withthe help of overwhelming DNA evidence and he threatens both his lawyer and his accuser as he's off to prison. Shortly thereafter there is another rape and DNA evidence shows that both rapeswere committed by the same person which is impossible since one of them was in jail. Theathlete is granted a new trial and released from prison. Shortly thereafter his originallawyer disappears and his law partner is murdered. A young woman accuses a prominent local college athlete of rape. He is convicted withthe help of overwhelming DNA evidence and he threatens both his lawyer and his accuser as he's off to prison. Shortly thereafter there is another rape and DNA evidence shows that both rapeswere committed by the same person which is impossible since one of them was in jail. Theathlete is granted a new trial and released from prison. Shortly thereafter his originallawyer disappears and his law partner is murdered. Robin Lockwood with a small law firm is hired to represent the victim of the first rape who is now convinced that the rapist is stalking her. At the same time another client is up on a murder charge that should be dismissed as self defense but the DA trying the case is is determined to bring it to trial. NowRobin has to mastermind two impossible cases trying to find the hidden truth that links thetwo of them This is book 2 in the Robin Lockwood series. With all of the characters and the twists and turns it's a little hard to follow but the story isn't bad and I gave it a 3.5.
    more
Write a review