Birthday
Boyhood meets The Sun Is Also a Star in this unconventional love story about two teens bonded for life when they are born on the same day at the same time by award-winning author Meredith Russo!Two kids, Morgan and Eric, are bonded for life after being born on the same day at the same time. We meet them once a year on their shared birthday as they grow and change: as Eric figures out who he is and how he fits into the world, and as Morgan makes the difficult choice to live as her true self. Over the years, they will drift apart, come together, fight, make up, and break up—and ultimately, realize how inextricably they are a part of each other.

Birthday Details

TitleBirthday
Author
ReleaseMay 21st, 2019
PublisherFlatiron Books
ISBN-139781250129833
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, LGBT, Romance, Fiction, GLBT, Queer, Teen, Young Adult Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, Health, Mental Health

Birthday Review

  • Larry H
    January 1, 1970
    Meredith Russo, this book absolutely blew me away.Eric and Morgan have known each other since birth. That's not hyperbole—they were born on the same day in the same hospital, and there was a snowstorm, so both families were snowed in. Their families were close, at least until Morgan's mother died of cancer. But the boys have been best friends their entire lives.As their 13th birthday approaches, Morgan knows things are changing. What Morgan knows more than anything is that he isn't whom he's sup Meredith Russo, this book absolutely blew me away.Eric and Morgan have known each other since birth. That's not hyperbole—they were born on the same day in the same hospital, and there was a snowstorm, so both families were snowed in. Their families were close, at least until Morgan's mother died of cancer. But the boys have been best friends their entire lives.As their 13th birthday approaches, Morgan knows things are changing. What Morgan knows more than anything is that he isn't whom he's supposed to be. He's a football coach's son in a small, rural Tennessee town, and he's trapped in the wrong body. More than that: he's a girl trapped in a boy's body, and he doesn't know what to do. When you realize a fundamental truth about yourself, you want to share it with those you care about. But how can he share this truth? He's already bullied in school, so that doesn't worry him, at least not as much as the reactions of those he loves. Can he withstand losing his father? Or worse, can he survive losing Eric?Eric knows that something is wrong with Morgan. Something is different. There's more of a distance between them. He knows the insults that his father and his brothers say about Morgan when he is not around, but he is not giving up on their lifelong friendship. Morgan is more important to him than perhaps anything else.Told in glimpses spanning six birthdays, Birthday is a powerfully poignant, eye-opening story about self-acceptance, family, friendship, love, and grief, and all of the obstacles that stand in the way of trying to come to terms with who we are and the life we deserve to live. I read this entire book in a few hours, and it will undoubtedly be one that sticks with me for long afterward.Meredith Russo's prose is so beautiful and evocative, and the emotions it generated made my heart hurt. I'll admit there were times that I found myself reading while trying to cover my eyes at the same time because I was so worried for these characters and what might happen to them, wondered how close to real life Russo might take the plot. This is one of those books that I'd love to see a sequel for because I already miss the characters and want to know where their 19th, 20th, and subsequent birthdays will find them.I've commented many times before that I am so happy that YA books today deal with so many important issues. Birthday never feels manipulative or sensationalized, it feels utterly authentic and it touched my heart. I hope this book finds its way into the hands of those who need it most, and those who can learn from the journeys taken by the characters.Flatiron Books provided me an advance copy of this book in exchange for an unbiased review. Thanks for making it available!The book will be published May 21, 2019. See all of my reviews at itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blogspot.com.Check out my list of the best books I read in 2018 at https://itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blogspot.com/2019/01/the-best-books-i-read-in-2018.html. You can follow me on Instagram at https://www.instagram.com/the.bookishworld.of.yrralh/.
    more
  • Lola
    January 1, 1970
    Three years ago, I read Meredith Russo’s debut – If I Was Your Girl – and I enjoyed it, but I could not have predicted it becoming a bestseller and award-winning novel, because although I found it sweet and meaningful, it was not a page-turner for me. Birthday is very different from her debut, so different that I feel a switch was made in the author’s mind or she wanted to tell a heart-breaking story instead of a mainly heart-blossoming one.There is a lot of love in this coming-of-age story—it i Three years ago, I read Meredith Russo’s debut – If I Was Your Girl – and I enjoyed it, but I could not have predicted it becoming a bestseller and award-winning novel, because although I found it sweet and meaningful, it was not a page-turner for me. Birthday is very different from her debut, so different that I feel a switch was made in the author’s mind or she wanted to tell a heart-breaking story instead of a mainly heart-blossoming one.There is a lot of love in this coming-of-age story—it is not hopeless—but there is also much destruction. It’s told from two alternative POVs: Morgan’s and Eric’s, who are best friends and ready to tackle everything in life together. But the older they get, and the more Morgan struggles with her identity, the more distance opens up between them. Until tragedy strikes and they need one another more than ever. It is divided into six different parts—six different birthdays, starting at thirteen and ending at eighteen. I found that particularly original, having never encountered such a story structure before, and it was interesting to observe how the two characters’ lives and interactions with one another and the people around them progressed from birthday to birthday. Morgan’s character ARC is particularly emotionally-taxing, because she doesn’t know how to tell Eric and her dad that she is transgender, which is eating at her constantly.I was very moved by this novel. In my opinion, Meredith Russo has outdone herself, and this time I actually expect (or strongly hope) that this story becomes a bestseller and wins many awards. It deserves it. Blog | Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Bloglovin’
    more
  • Gabby
    January 1, 1970
    Huge thanks to Flat Iron Books for the ARC!Holy crap, I loved this book. I loved it so much more than I thought it would. I finished it one one day and it’s been a while since I’ve done that. I just absolutely adored Morgan and Eric. The premise of this book is super vague so I’m going to try to keep this review as vague as possible - but wow. My fucking heart hurts and this book is so powerful and so important. I love the way this story is told, we get to follow these two characters every year Huge thanks to Flat Iron Books for the ARC!Holy crap, I loved this book. I loved it so much more than I thought it would. I finished it one one day and it’s been a while since I’ve done that. I just absolutely adored Morgan and Eric. The premise of this book is super vague so I’m going to try to keep this review as vague as possible - but wow. My fucking heart hurts and this book is so powerful and so important. I love the way this story is told, we get to follow these two characters every year on their birthday and only on their birthday for six years. It is such a great storytelling format and I think it works perfectly for this story! I felt so much for these characters and I cried at least five times during this story, especially at the end. 😭 I am such a sucker for the dead parent writing their child letters and this book had that and it made me feel ALL THE FEELS. I read If I Was Your Girl by this author a few years ago and I really enjoyed that book as well, but this one has become a new all time favorite. I’ll definitely be reading everything this author publishes in the future.This is one of the best YA books I’ve read in a while. It’s been a long time since a YA book has impacted me like this. I think the description of saying this book is Boyhood meets The Sun Is Also a Star is completely accurate, and I loved both of those stories as well.
    more
  • Lala BooksandLala
    January 1, 1970
    well that synopsis is vague af... #mustbuy
  • Camryn
    January 1, 1970
    I feel like crying. I couldn’t put this down because I fell in love with both Eric and Morgan. This broke my heart and twisted it and made me tear up. But it was also so triumphant. This is going to save lives.
  • Hollis
    January 1, 1970
    BIRTHDAY blew me away. "I don't think we have much choice in who we turn out to be, as much as we might want to."I honestly don't even know what to say. But my god. I was choking back the sobs by page thirty and that more or less was what I did throughout the rest of the book, too. And just thinking about the journey makes me want to cry.What do you do when you can't swim up, you can't swim down, and staying put will suffocate you?As always I went in with only a very very vague idea as to what t BIRTHDAY blew me away. "I don't think we have much choice in who we turn out to be, as much as we might want to."I honestly don't even know what to say. But my god. I was choking back the sobs by page thirty and that more or less was what I did throughout the rest of the book, too. And just thinking about the journey makes me want to cry.What do you do when you can't swim up, you can't swim down, and staying put will suffocate you?As always I went in with only a very very vague idea as to what to expect and as a result I was totally unprepared for.. everything. I loved the subject matter, I hurt from the agony of some of Morgan and Eric's experiences, their struggles, but their enduring connection, the evolution of it, was just so heartbreakingly beautiful. Equally lovely was the way in which the story was told. I've read a book or two like this before but never has it suited the story as well as it did for this one.I should have so much to say about this because I loved it so much but I'm honestly just at a loss and a puddle of feelings, so. Here's a great book with a terrible review to recommend it.4.75 "I don't know if anyone will love me the way that I really am" stars** I received an ARC from the publisher (thank you!) in exchange for an honest review. **
    more
  • Madalyn (Novel Ink)
    January 1, 1970
    I’m just sitting here crying??? This was so wonderful, and I think Morgan’s story (and Eric’s) will resonate with so many people. The format— Birthday is told through snapshots of the two main characters’ birthdays from age 13-18– was executed to perfection. The Southern small-town setting was all-too realistic. Birthday is a great reminder that coming out stories are still important and that there are so many coming out narratives that still need to be told. Content warnings: death of a parent I’m just sitting here crying??? This was so wonderful, and I think Morgan’s story (and Eric’s) will resonate with so many people. The format— Birthday is told through snapshots of the two main characters’ birthdays from age 13-18– was executed to perfection. The Southern small-town setting was all-too realistic. Birthday is a great reminder that coming out stories are still important and that there are so many coming out narratives that still need to be told. Content warnings: death of a parent (not on page); suicidal ideation; suicide attempt; alcoholism; homophobia (challenged); transphobia (challenged); parental abuse
    more
  • Jasmine from How Useful It Is
    January 1, 1970
    I started reading Birthday on 5/10/2019 and finished it on 5/11/2019. This book is a fantastic read! As soon as I read Morgan’s view I felt heartbroken for him because of his mom. Gosh, I cried so much reading this book! I also really like Eric too. Eric’s such a good person and a caring friend despite having those jerks for brothers and dad. Their struggles felt so real and the secrets they live with makes me ache for them. Both of the main characters are well liked. I love Morgan’s birthday le I started reading Birthday on 5/10/2019 and finished it on 5/11/2019. This book is a fantastic read! As soon as I read Morgan’s view I felt heartbroken for him because of his mom. Gosh, I cried so much reading this book! I also really like Eric too. Eric’s such a good person and a caring friend despite having those jerks for brothers and dad. Their struggles felt so real and the secrets they live with makes me ache for them. Both of the main characters are well liked. I love Morgan’s birthday letters from his mom. That is such a good idea to remember her by.This book is told in the first person point of view following Morgan and Eric. They have been best friends since birth and they have always celebrated their birthdays together. Both boys went through life doing what their dads wanted even though they felt unhappy with it. Eric wanted to play the guitar while Morgan struggled with who he is on the inside. This book is organized by their yearly birthdays, starting from 13 to 18. At each birthday, readers learned of their struggles, from feelings to friendships to family.Birthday is very well written and a heart-wrenching read! I’m actually surprised by Morgan’s dad toward the end and would have really love to have read their conversation when Morgan come clean to him about his secret. The self destruction was hard to read through as well as the bullying, but people do have their own opinions and they don’t like it when someone is different. I like Morgan’s worries about acceptance from the world when he decides to make a change so that he can feel comfortable with himself from inside to outside. This book is a couldn’t put down and I highly recommend everyone to read it.Pro: fast paced, page turner, friendship, family, couldn’t put down, identity strugglesCon: noneI rate it 5 stars!***Disclaimer: Many thanks to Flatiron Books for the opportunity to read and review. Please be assured that my opinions are honest.xoxo,Jasmine at www.howusefulitis.wordpress.com for more details
    more
  • Alexa
    January 1, 1970
    Buddy read with Jane & Madalyn!I must confess I was a little concerned to begin with that the format of Birthday (told in yearly snapshots on the date of the main character’s birthday) wouldn’t allow me enough time to truly feel for these characters and what they were going through. But dang, was I proven wrong. I still felt incredibly emotionally connected to Morgan and Eric’s stories, and this book is so difficult to read at times but will certainly be important and relatable for so many.C Buddy read with Jane & Madalyn!I must confess I was a little concerned to begin with that the format of Birthday (told in yearly snapshots on the date of the main character’s birthday) wouldn’t allow me enough time to truly feel for these characters and what they were going through. But dang, was I proven wrong. I still felt incredibly emotionally connected to Morgan and Eric’s stories, and this book is so difficult to read at times but will certainly be important and relatable for so many.Content warnings: homophobia, transphobia, parental abuse, parental death, alcoholism, suicide ideation and attempt
    more
  • Melanie (TBR and Beyond)
    January 1, 1970
    This description tells me all of nothing, but it's going to mine all the same!
  • Lea (drumsofautumn)
    January 1, 1970
    ♦ Video Review ♦Birthday is one of the most heartbreaking and simultaneously hopeful novels I have read in a long time. Meredith Russo had a perfect balance between creating a realistic novel with all the hard hitting, devastating truths of life while giving us an ending that is so full of hope and light that it still leaves you with a wonderful, warm feeling. “Maybe that's what life is about: suriving what you can't control and clinging to the good things the winds whip up.” While this nove ♦ Video Review ♦Birthday is one of the most heartbreaking and simultaneously hopeful novels I have read in a long time. Meredith Russo had a perfect balance between creating a realistic novel with all the hard hitting, devastating truths of life while giving us an ending that is so full of hope and light that it still leaves you with a wonderful, warm feeling. “Maybe that's what life is about: suriving what you can't control and clinging to the good things the winds whip up.” While this novel hugely deals with Morgan being transgender, at its core this is definitely a love story.Russo wrote this story in a way where it's very clear that Eric and Morgan fall in love with each other early on. Eric doesn't fall for Morgan all of a sudden because she tells him she's a girl or because she's taking hormones, the love has been there all along. It's just that as soon as Morgan comes out, it is like the puzzle pieces finally all fit together.The relationship between the two is so beautiful and definitely one of my favourites of this year so far. It was wonderful to see Eric always support Morgan, even before he understand or knows what's going on with her. It was also absolutely beautiful to see Eric use she/her pronouns immediately after Morgan comes out to him! “All I know is that I've never felt like this before, that under the things about her body she might not like, she is a girl, vibrating the same hue as any other. And she's more than any girl, any friend, any girlfriend. She's Morgan. My Morgan.” This book deals a lot with gender identity and presentation in a way that is so easy to comprehend, even for people who are not in any way involved in the queer community and don't know much about being trans. Sometimes I definitely had some issues with the way this book talked about gender, with things that seem typically female or typically male but at the same time I also always understood where the characters where coming from with their thoughts and feelings.There are tons of trigger and content warnings for this book and it is no way a book I would call fluffy. Again, the ending is wonderfully hopeful and leaves you with such a warm and fuzzy feeling but please be very cautious going into this book.Trigger and content warnings include transphobia, bullying including physical abuse, homophobia and the use of the f-slur several times, death of a parent (not on page but still dealt with heavily), cancer, parental abuse, depression, self-harm specifically in the form of hitting things and (not on page) overextensive physical workout, thinking being trans is a disease, alcohol abuse, suicide attempt and suicidal ideation.There's also a slight instant that reads like aro/acephobia because Morgan has issues figuring out her sexuality before she really understands she is trans and she thinks she's broken because she doesn't really wanna be with anyone. It makes a lot of sense in the context of the story and is DEFINITELY not meant to be aro- or acephobic but I wanted to warn people regardless! “Some girls are tall, some girls have broad shoulders, some girls have flat chests and I guess I never thought about it before, but if you're a girl, then some girls have whatever you have.” While Morgan's depression is obviously very tied to her gender identity, this is a novel that describes how depression feels so very well. I think that many people will relate to Morgan's mental illness and for me it was one of the best descriptions of depression I have seen in any YA novel.I also thought this book showed a really interesting issue that many queer people will have experienced or felt before and I've never really seen expressed in a book. There's this feeling of being scared to come out because even though you know the person will accept and love you, you've seen them act shitty towards other queer people or seen them laugh or make a joke about queer people and it just forever makes you scared. Even when you've come out to them and they have accepted you, this moment stands out to you forever and you will always question how accepting that person truly is.But we don't only see Morgan struggle. While her storyline is obviously a big theme in this book, Eric's homelife is much more complicated than it seems at first. While he comes from a wealthy family and has a seemingly great life, we realize quickly that it's not all fine and dandy.Both Eric's brother and dad are just plain assholes and behave terribly towards him and Morgan. I loved how the storyline diverged eventually though, where his dad just stays terrible and we realize that there are some people who don't want to and will never change but we also have the case of his brother, who comes around later in life.This perfectly portrays the balance between devastating and hopeful that I love about this novel. “It was kind of hard to be around them, at first. To watch them ignore the ways their bodies and voices betrayed them. But every month I see a little bit more of the beauty in these people like me. It feels like I'm on the cusp of something, a chrysalis just on the verge of cracking.” The one thing that was a little bit strange for me is that I don't really understand when this novel is set. Let's say if Morgan and Eric turn 18 this year, this novel starts in 2014, on their thirteenth birthday. But there are things referenced that honestly weren't a thing anymore in 2014, especially for teens, like CDs and DVD rental services that send you DVDs in the mail. Also Morgan's mother recorded video messages for Morgan's birthday and they're still taped on a VHS camcorder? This was just so strange to me and easily could've been avoided by just clearly saying which year it was. Without knowing, I was honestly just constantly thrown off.Also Morgan becomes a vlogger at the end of the book and while one of your videos CAN reach one million views even if you only have 5k subscribers, it is highly unlikely and certainly doesn't happen EVERY Sunday with such a small subscriber count. This easily could've been researched and changed.Overall I absolutely loved this book with all its ups and downs and flaws. It it so emotional and a beautiful love story with some truly devastating hits. If you can handle the content, I think this is a must-read!♦ Booktube Channel ♦ Twitter ♦ Instagram ♦I received an ARC through Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review!
    more
  • Bailey
    January 1, 1970
    This is a difficult book for me to review. Not because I have mixed feelings, but because there is so much I loved that I only hope I can do it justice. Birthday is the story of two best friends, born on the same day, in the same hospital. On the night they were born a freak snowstorm struck the area and stranded their families together. From then their fates were sealed: friends for life. Their story is told in snippets, starting on their 13th birthday and continuing until they turn 18.By 13, M This is a difficult book for me to review. Not because I have mixed feelings, but because there is so much I loved that I only hope I can do it justice. Birthday is the story of two best friends, born on the same day, in the same hospital. On the night they were born a freak snowstorm struck the area and stranded their families together. From then their fates were sealed: friends for life. Their story is told in snippets, starting on their 13th birthday and continuing until they turn 18.By 13, Morgan has realized that something is wrong. Between the loss of her Mom, a struggling with a distant relationship with her father, and being the subject of her rural town's torment, Morgan can't imagine losing her best friend. She'll play it safe, even if it means hiding here true self from the person she cares about most.When my copy of Birthday arrived I picked it up with the intent of skimming the first few pages to get an idea of Meredith Russo's style. I read a page, and then a couple more, and then all of a sudden I was 100 pages in. Without exaggeration, this is easily the best YA book I have ever read, and certainly one of my favorites of this year. This own voices story is equal parts powerful, uplifting, and heartbreaking. I have so much appreciation for the way Morgan, a trans girl, is represented in this book and I cannot wait to pick up Meredith Russo's books in the future. Going off initial impressions I don't think I would've picked this for myself, but I couldn't be more thrilled that I did. Even if you're on the fence, give Birthday a try. Let it surprise you in all the best ways.Content warnings: (view spoiler)[parental death, homophobia, transphobia, alcohol abuse, suicidal actions, violence (hide spoiler)]I received my copy of Birthday from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Chelsea
    January 1, 1970
    tw: transphobia, homophobia, attempted suicideThis is a lovely, important #ownvoices story. 3 1/2 starsA love story centering around Eric and Morgan throughout their birthdays on multiple years, I thought the exploration of sexuality and gender identity was on point. I loved Morgan's journey to coming out as trans, learning to love herself and see herself as deserving of love.The story unfortunately did fall a bit flat for me in terms of the characterization and story structure, and the writing tw: transphobia, homophobia, attempted suicideThis is a lovely, important #ownvoices story. 3 1/2 starsA love story centering around Eric and Morgan throughout their birthdays on multiple years, I thought the exploration of sexuality and gender identity was on point. I loved Morgan's journey to coming out as trans, learning to love herself and see herself as deserving of love.The story unfortunately did fall a bit flat for me in terms of the characterization and story structure, and the writing only worked for me in parts. Not bad by any means, but I definitely found If I Was Your Girl to be a stronger novel. Not a new favorite for me, but I would recommend it overall!
    more
  • megs_bookrack
    January 1, 1970
    Preorder placed.Two weeks left...
  • Amber Loyacano
    January 1, 1970
    As with If I Was Your Girl, Meredith Russo has created a beautiful story of transgender representation. I appreciate how acceptance is always a focus of Russo’s stories and while her characters struggle there is always hope and there is always love.
    more
  • Michelle
    January 1, 1970
    Review can be found on my blog here: https://booksonthebookshelf.wordpress.......Thank you to the publisher for gifting me an ARC of this book.….I absolutely loved this book and the story that evolved. I enjoyed reading about the two main characters, Morgan and Eric. Born on the same day at the same hospital, and their lives crossed paths that one fateful day due to a snow storm that left their families trapped in the hospital until the storm passed. They were destined to meet and become the bes Review can be found on my blog here: https://booksonthebookshelf.wordpress.......Thank you to the publisher for gifting me an ARC of this book.….I absolutely loved this book and the story that evolved. I enjoyed reading about the two main characters, Morgan and Eric. Born on the same day at the same hospital, and their lives crossed paths that one fateful day due to a snow storm that left their families trapped in the hospital until the storm passed. They were destined to meet and become the best of friends.Both characters were very interesting and likable, and I found it quite interesting to read about their character development throughout the book as they grew from young pre-teens into adulthood. It was interesting to read things through their own eyes and experiences and get a glimpse into their deepest thoughts and feelings. Each chapter alternates from Eric’s and Morgan’s point of view and I loved this style of writing. We got to see things through the eyes of both main characters and it was fabulous.I also enjoyed how the novel was written in sections according to their birthday each year – 16th birthday, 17th birthday, etc. It allowed the reader to see their personal growth as the story progressed and how they grew as young adults year after year. I thought it was special how they always seemed to celebrate their birthdays together each year.Birthday is a heartwarming story that will leave you feeling happy and will tug on your heartstrings. I loved this story and felt so immersed in it, that I was unable to put it down until I came to the very end.
    more
  • Gigi H
    January 1, 1970
    Omg. This book totally crushed me and took me by surprise actually. The description was pretty vague, so I wasn't sure if it would be a good fit or not. But I ended up loving it more than I thought I would! I'm gonna tell him I'm supposed to be a girl, that I can't stand being a boy anymore, that I feel like I'm dying a little bit more everyday. Morgan's rollercoaster of emotions was so raw and real! I really enjoyed the alternating POV'S between Eric & Morgan. I thought it was genius that Omg. This book totally crushed me and took me by surprise actually. The description was pretty vague, so I wasn't sure if it would be a good fit or not. But I ended up loving it more than I thought I would! I'm gonna tell him I'm supposed to be a girl, that I can't stand being a boy anymore, that I feel like I'm dying a little bit more everyday. Morgan's rollercoaster of emotions was so raw and real! I really enjoyed the alternating POV'S between Eric & Morgan. I thought it was genius that Meredith Russo chose to write the story on the birthday of these two characters between the ages of 13-18.A very well written book that I highly recommend. 👏Thank you Raincoast Books & Flatiron Books for my ARC
    more
  • Jessica
    January 1, 1970
    All my reviews can be found at: http://jessicasreadingroom.com~~~~This review will post on my site on May 16, 2019.~~~~Morgan and Eric are born on the same day in the same hospital during a freak September snowstorm, thus beginning their bond for life. Birthday is told from both Morgan and Eric’s point of view every year on their birthday from ages 13-18. Neither boy has had an easy life for various reasons, and Birthday shows both Morgan and Eric coming into who they will become, with Morgan co All my reviews can be found at: http://jessicasreadingroom.com~~~~This review will post on my site on May 16, 2019.~~~~Morgan and Eric are born on the same day in the same hospital during a freak September snowstorm, thus beginning their bond for life. Birthday is told from both Morgan and Eric’s point of view every year on their birthday from ages 13-18. Neither boy has had an easy life for various reasons, and Birthday shows both Morgan and Eric coming into who they will become, with Morgan coming to terms in finding her true self. You can’t help but adore and root for both Morgan and Eric as they discover who they are. They face various individual challenges, including living in small town Tennessee where the only way you may get to leave is through a football scholarship and Morgan’s dad is the high school football coach. Everything about Birthday including Morgan’s anguish and Eric’s confusion felt real. The characters are so well written, yet Birthday is a very easy and quick read.Meredith Russo brings these characters to life in a way she knows as she is transgender. As with reading If I Was Your Girl, I felt Russo put herself in the character of Morgan. Some of Morgan’s emotions must have been hers as she went through her transition. Thank you for bringing these stories to the page. They are important stories that those who are transgender may need and will help those of us who are not transgender understand what it is like.There are some tough scenes in Birthday including a suicide attempt but the ending is a good one. There are touching moments throughout dealing with Morgan’s mom. I actually finished reading Birthday on Mother’s Day and that was perfect timing on my part! I would love to read continuing stories for Morgan and Eric.I feel I can’t give the book a good enough review, this book is that important and powerful. Give Birthday a chance and read it on May 21st. Many thanks to the publisher Flatiron Books for sending me an arc copy.
    more
  • Forever Young Adult
    January 1, 1970
    Graded By: Mandy W.Cover Story: Meaningful Big FacesBFF Charm: Let Me Love You x 2Swoonworthy Scale: 11Talky Talk: She Says, He Says On Their BirthdayBonus Factors: The Tami Taylor Award for Amazing Motherhood, Unglamorous Depiction of a Small TownFactors: Football, Unintentional MisgenderingRelationship Status: TAKE MY WHOLE HEARTRead the full book report here.
    more
  • Kylie Hart
    January 1, 1970
    I loved the first 200+ pages, but ages 17 & 18 went by soon fast compared to the rest of the book. I did not like the hateful aspects of this book, and it does not feel as productive to me for this topic. Especially in year 17, and the dad barges in, the running away part just felt not as realistic to me.
    more
  • Exillior
    January 1, 1970
    Content warning tags for this book: homophobia, transphobia, violence, abusive parent, bereavement, depression, self-harm, alcoholism, suicide attempt.I took two stars off because there were no content warnings. Nowhere. Not on the book, not on the reviews I saw (goodreads and twitter), not in the marketing that I saw, all of which focused on how this is an unconventional but powerful love story. The thing is, content warnings do matter. Especially since this is an #ownvoices story with a transg Content warning tags for this book: homophobia, transphobia, violence, abusive parent, bereavement, depression, self-harm, alcoholism, suicide attempt.I took two stars off because there were no content warnings. Nowhere. Not on the book, not on the reviews I saw (goodreads and twitter), not in the marketing that I saw, all of which focused on how this is an unconventional but powerful love story. The thing is, content warnings do matter. Especially since this is an #ownvoices story with a transgender mc, and especially since it's branded as a love story, many trans people looking for an authentic love story will come to it, and deserve to be aware of the many triggering topics explored in depth here. I'm not asking for everything to be rose-tinted. Especially since life isn't rose-tinted for so many LGBT people. But content warning tags help us prepare, help us decide when and where we will read a story. I wouldn't have read it while in the midst of PMS/PMDD, which already makes me feel suicidal. I thought I could do with a happy, affirming love story that will help take my mind off the intolerance, bigotry, hatred and darkness I am surrounded by, but it was 185 pages of exactly the latter. The last 20 pages couldn't change that. I feel that especially since this is an #ownvoices story, we should have received more consideration than we actually did.
    more
  • Mari Johnston
    January 1, 1970
    This review and many others can also be found at Musings of a (Book) Girl.As soon as I saw that Meredith Russo had a new book coming out I knew I had to read it. I will admit that when I saw the format was telling the story in snapshots from the two character’s birthdays I was incredibly nervous. I’ve tried to read books before that are set on only one day a year and it hasn’t worked for me. It’s a great concept but I never feel that I’m able to get to know the characters enough and that there’s This review and many others can also be found at Musings of a (Book) Girl.As soon as I saw that Meredith Russo had a new book coming out I knew I had to read it. I will admit that when I saw the format was telling the story in snapshots from the two character’s birthdays I was incredibly nervous. I’ve tried to read books before that are set on only one day a year and it hasn’t worked for me. It’s a great concept but I never feel that I’m able to get to know the characters enough and that there’s not a consistent plot. Thankfully all of my fears were wrong when it came to Birthday.Meredith Russo’s writing style is absolutely superb. Her words flow together to weave an intricate and compelling story so well. This isn’t a long book, but I was still surprised at the fact it only took me about three hours to read. We follow Eric and Morgan on each of their birthdays from the time they are thirteen through their eighteenth birthday; I loved that within these yearly sections it was broke down ever further into their own POVs that switched back and forth several times.Eric and Morgan were relatable in many ways. I enjoyed being able to get inside their heads and see their thoughts and how they processed their emotions. By the end, both of them had grown so much, not only as individuals but also their relationship with each other. Eric and Morgan have an incredibly close friendship, but never once did I have a hard time telling them apart. Each has their own unique set of characteristics and the way they handle life.Birthday is going to make such a huge impact on lives. This own voices queer novel made me feel a lot of emotions and I really feel that it’s going to help many in the trans community. Meredith Russo is a vital voice that so many need, and I’m thankful that she is sharing pieces of herself with us. A lot of us need queer stories that end in total acceptance of who the characters are, and I’m so glad to say that this is one of them.TL;DR: A hugely important ownvoices queer novel that is going to impact so many in a positive way. Meredith Russo’s words flow together to weave an intricate and compelling story that is quick to read.A digital ARC was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jen Petro-Roy
    January 1, 1970
    Heartbreakingly good.
  • Jessa Franco
    January 1, 1970
    I read this in one sitting, crying over the pain and the beauty. I can’t recommend this book enough. Thank you, Baker & Taylor for the ARC and for keeping me up past midnight on a Thursday.
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    Where do I even begin? I saw mention of this book somewhere (GoodReads? Buzzfeed Books?) and was intrigued by the cover and blurb, so I knew I had to read it- ASAP. Naturally impatient, I found that Flatiron Books was providing ARCs to some readers and was lucky enough to get my greedy hands on one. From there, I tumbled in head-first.Prior to this book, I was in a bit of a reading slump. By the fourth chapter of sorts (it goes back and forth between the two main characters), I was hooked and ab Where do I even begin? I saw mention of this book somewhere (GoodReads? Buzzfeed Books?) and was intrigued by the cover and blurb, so I knew I had to read it- ASAP. Naturally impatient, I found that Flatiron Books was providing ARCs to some readers and was lucky enough to get my greedy hands on one. From there, I tumbled in head-first.Prior to this book, I was in a bit of a reading slump. By the fourth chapter of sorts (it goes back and forth between the two main characters), I was hooked and absolutely couldn’t put it down. The complex emotions of dealing with living in a small town, being unable to express or experience true self, and being a teenager are universal; however, Morgan’s feelings and reality are felt more acutely. These two main characters were really something. Proving yourself, living up to parental and societal expectations, loss of a parent, unconditional love, gender expression, and so many other elements were covered with care in this YA book. Truth be told, I am verklempt after flying through the pages. I’m left lying on my bed writing this review and thinking, “Now what?”The story was beautiful, so skillfully and intentionally told. My experience is far removed from that of a teen living in a small middle of nowhere town in Tennessee, but Russo transplanted me to that place and time. I devoured every word, every page, and I’m left deeply moved. Relatable and important, this book has the potential to make the world a better place. How? By effortlessly allowing the reader to live in Morgan’s shoes for 18 years, how could they possibly allow or support the (currently legal) discrimination, hateful policies, and ignorance that exist? Five shining stars. I want to hug the author (and characters).
    more
  • Michele
    January 1, 1970
    Finished this YA contemporary from Meredith Russo last night as a buddy read with my friend, Grey. It was told in six sections on the 13 - 18 birthdays of Eric and Morgan. It's about love, friendship, family, change, grief and becoming your true self; and the often painful process to get there. It was a beautiful, heartbreaking and important read.
    more
  • Victoria | The Contented Reader
    January 1, 1970
    *4.5
  • Victoria Robinson
    January 1, 1970
    This is a solid 6/5 stars
  • Karyn Silverman
    January 1, 1970
    Nearly perfect, even the sappy happy ending.
  • Catie
    January 1, 1970
    An incredibly powerful story about identity and love. The format of telling their story in snapshots each year on their birthday is so effective at capturing the struggles of being a teenager, LGBT or otherwise. This book ripped out my heart and pieced it back together again. I can't remember the last time I read a book in one sitting!
    more
Write a review