Bloodwitch (The Witchlands, #3)
Fans of Susan Dennard's New York Times bestselling Witchlands series have fallen in love with the Bloodwitch Aeduan. And now, finally, comes his story.High in a snowy mountain range, a monastery that holds more than just faith clings to the side of a cliff. Below, thwarted by a lake, a bloodthirsty horde of raiders await the coming of winter and the frozen path to destroy the sanctuary and its secrets.The Bloodwitch Aeduan has teamed up with the Threadwitch Iseult and the magical girl Owl to stop the destruction. But to do so, he must confront his own father, and his past.

Bloodwitch (The Witchlands, #3) Details

TitleBloodwitch (The Witchlands, #3)
Author
ReleaseFeb 12th, 2019
PublisherTor Teen
ISBN-139780765379320
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult

Bloodwitch (The Witchlands, #3) Review

  • Samantha
    January 1, 1970
    4.5? 4.75? I haven’t decided yet but.. my emotions.Edit: who am I kidding it’s 5 stars
  • Circe
    January 1, 1970
    EDIT 2.0 - 09/21/18WE HAVE A COVER, AGAIN, REPEATING, WE HAVE A COVERCAN WE JUST THANK SUSAN FOR THIS? I MEAN ADEUAN LOOKS GORGEOUSI CAN'T WAIT TO READ ADEUAN AND ISEULT, I SHIP THEM SO MUCH!!SERIOUSLY, FEBRUARY 12TH JUST COME ALREADYEDIT 8/30/17So... I was watching and now the date release is 20192019...Dear Susan:2019----BLOODWITCHI mean... BLOODWITCHThis means AEDUAN AND AEDUAN WITH ISUELT I REALLY NEED THIS BOOK, I CAN'T WAIT TO 2019 Dear Susan:
    more
  • Nastassja
    January 1, 1970
    She stole his breath now, and he had no breath to spare. Bloodwitch stole my breath, stabbed me in the heart, and left me bleeding and waiting for the next instalment. And I don't really mind, because it's the best kind of pain.First of all, I must say that Susan Dennard upped her game in Bloodwitch. With every book in the series, she becomes a more superior master of words and aims straight for the readers' hearts. She feels blood and she strikes. Just like her Bloodwitch.It's not a secret t She stole his breath now, and he had no breath to spare. Bloodwitch stole my breath, stabbed me in the heart, and left me bleeding and waiting for the next instalment. And I don't really mind, because it's the best kind of pain.First of all, I must say that Susan Dennard upped her game in Bloodwitch. With every book in the series, she becomes a more superior master of words and aims straight for the readers' hearts. She feels blood and she strikes. Just like her Bloodwitch.It's not a secret that Aeduan became my number one favourite character from the moment I laid my eyes on him in book 1. Damn, such kind of chemistry is rare for me, because I usually require proof of worthiness from my book boyfriends, but with Aeduan I was ready to jump any cliff from the start. But I would give up my claim on Aeduan if only to see him and Iseult interact. Do you want to stab me in the heart? Go ahead. Do you want to throw me off the cliff? Go ahead. It's true love's power if you ask my sadistic beating heart. From the day she had stabbed Aeduan in the heart, that heart had become hers—and she would not let this be his end. But what Aeduan and Iseult throw our way in Bloodwitch is PURE FIRE AND ICE COMBINED. It is similar to ice being so cold it burns like fire. I will stop babbling and will simply call it one of the best relationship developments ever! I will go down with that ship no matter what! I was so eager to learn Aeduan's story, and I knew it was going to be sad, but I have never imagined how sad and how devastating it would be.But there was no reason. There never had been. He was just a child, trapped in the wreckage of war. He had not done this, he had not caused this. Yet he had lost his life to it all the same. He was a Bloodwitch no longer. He was a monk no longer. He was man, just a man. It would have to be enough.But a great deal of solace for me was the fact that Aeduan was walking around shirtless, a lot.Instead, she simply watched as the seconds ground past and internally chanted, Stasis. A futile refrain really, for once Aeduan had straightened fully and set to removing his shirt, it became too frustrating for Iseult to endure.Oh Boy, how frustrating it was when he was putting his shirt back on! *dreamy sigh*Coming back to the plot and characters, I see what Susan Dennard did here. First, we have a slow start, focusing more on shirtless Aeduan, but after a while, we jump straight into chaos: all of the characters at once find themselves in a tight knot. Susan Dennard jumps from POV to POV, finishing every chapter on the highest peak of tension, catching her readers in a situation where they don't know how to handle that continuous culmination. And then, of course, we end up in multiple huge cliffhangers (view spoiler)[Merik is trapped, Aeduan lost Iseult, Iseult met Safi, Vivi and her city are under attack and so on. (hide spoiler)]My mind is blown away with multiple directions this series is taking, and I can't wait to jump in and follow the threads!My only complaint is that sometimes it feels like years passed in the story but in the books' time it has only been three or four weeks. How?! I don't know how I feel about the fact that there's going to be 2 more books. I guess that book 4 is necessary and going to concentrate on Iseult, but a lot of stuff may happen in two more books i.e. someone important might die. I hope not, otherwise, I'll go to war with Ms Dennard. For now, though, I believe Susan Dennard will complete with flying colours what she has initiated so brilliantly.
    more
  • Simona Stoica
    January 1, 1970
    UPDATE: WE HAVE A COVER. I REPEAT. WE HAVE A COVER.UPDATE: 2019? ARE YOU KIDDING ME? I NEED THIS BOOK NOW. BLOODWITCH. AEDUAN. AEDUAN AND ISEULT. I NEED ANSWERS.
  • Beatrice in Bookland
    January 1, 1970
    "Te varuje.I trust you as if my soul were yours.”0.5. Sightwitch ★★★☆☆1. Truthwitch ★★★★★2. Windwitch ★★★★★Just read the quote. I get teary eyed everytime I think about that scene so that should be enough to convince you to read Bloodwitch :))))
    more
  • Katerina
    January 1, 1970
    2019? 2019???? 2019??????? THAT's how long I'll have to wait for Merik and Safi to reunite??
  • Alexandra Elend Wolf
    January 1, 1970
    "He was born a monster, he will die a monster, and monsters do not get to have Friends." Emotional and darker than ever before Bloodwitch is a worth it sequeal to this wonderfully complicated and increseasingly twisted world. Bloodwitch centers its story, as the title suggests, in my precious Aeduan. And boy did I appreciate that. We get several flashbacks and fill-ins in the story of the best Bloodwitch, while also seeing his progress in his mission to get Owl back to her family. Of co "He was born a monster, he will die a monster, and monsters do not get to have Friends." Emotional and darker than ever before Bloodwitch is a worth it sequeal to this wonderfully complicated and increseasingly twisted world. Bloodwitch centers its story, as the title suggests, in my precious Aeduan. And boy did I appreciate that. We get several flashbacks and fill-ins in the story of the best Bloodwitch, while also seeing his progress in his mission to get Owl back to her family. Of course, we also get several POVs from different characters that keep the story moving and entertaining at all times as well that further the tidbits and clues to put together the puzzle of what's going on. "Oak and grass to honor the winds,Limestone and cypress for water,Beech and granite, gifts from the earth,Cedar and sandstone for fire,Birch trees and snowfall, the birthplace of Aether,While deep in the heart, where no sunlight reaches,The Giant called Sleeper awakes." The world building, specifically its history, grows exponentially as we go deeper and deeper into the story and see more sides of the coin.I must say though, that if you want to fully appreciate the intricacies of the history behind everything you should read Sightwitch because even though you will most likely understand what is going on just by reading this one you'll get a special insight by reading it.I most certainly did. And it broke my heart in a million little pieces, in the best possible way.the fact that I wasn't even looking for that revelation, and then it just hit me and left me breathless, because, yeah, that's exactly what it did. A moment that name didn't mean anything and then the next one it meant everything and clicked in my brain. I just can't get over it. “You see a strong woman and deem her evil. You see a quiet woman… Oh wait; you do not see them at all.” Then there's also the matter of all the incredibly strong, cunning, brave and witty women that just overflows through this series. I love the insight into Vaness' character and Vivia's development and growth. Well done.Both characters won my heart last book with their complicated and realistic performances and Bloodwitch just furthers that. Vivia and Serafin's relationship made sad, angry and proud all in rapid succession. One moment I would be sad and then angry and by the end, I was mostly proud of my girl. Iseault and Safi are pretty much the same, to be honest aside from the fact that they are growing more confident in their powers and understanding them better. Accepting them too. "Jana had been strong--stronger than Serafin. Stronger than anyone realized, for she had lived with shadows every day and stilled ruled, still guided, still loved." That ending was satisfactory though. I honestly thought that Dennard was gonna postpone that reunion more just for the sake of postponing it, yet, she didn't, which I appreciate a lot. It was cute and put a smile in my face, but it also frustrated me. After all, now we have another two characters separated and that have to make their way to each other, actually, we have TWO pairs of characters that need to do that, or was it three? I think three. Anyway, I hope she makes them get together faster than the last pair. Please, I can't deal with all the waiting much longer. "She had never needed a crown, because she had something far, far more powerful." I just can't wait to read the next installment. I need to have my very strong suspicions regarding Aeduan's parentage answered -even though I'm almost completely sure I'm right- and properly explained, because I don't understand.The fate of Merik is another thing that I need to get answered. ASAP.I liked that the book is much darker than the previous two. I got chills at times and was moderately creep out -I don't get scared easily through books. I don't know why- and I can just hope it will get darker and darker. "The one who’d carried him, when no one else could. The one who’d shown him that only he could save himself." _____________My brain is a turmoil of emotions right now. So much happened and I'm so happy and so sad at the same time right now. Like, I could burst out laughing or cry my eyes out at any second and I still can't decide which one I want to do more. So bittersweet. That plot twist though! And I'm so glad I read Sightwitch before I read this. Good decisions people.Full review to come. _____________After all the re-reads I can finally embark in this one, the end goal, the prize. I'm curious about how the story will continue, and, what is a better way to find out than by reading?So here I go!_____________Holy Heck! Yes! I'm so hyped for this one. Best of all? The book comes out on my birthday! Can't wait it's gonna be awesome.
    more
  • Taylor
    January 1, 1970
    I would die a thousand fiery deaths for this book aND OH MY GOD AEDUAN AND ISEULT ARE MY LIFERTC when I'm revived from this emotional vacuum I've fallen into
  • Mayim de Vries
    January 1, 1970
    *crying* I don’t think I care for this series anymore. Am I no longer YA? Has adulting finally caught up with me? *enters the gawping maw of self-doubt and existential crises*The whole Witchlands series has been my guilty pleasure. No surprise then that this book has been one of the most anticipated releases in 2019. As I enjoyed the whole series immensely, maybe even more than I should, the prospect of an instalment with Aeduan at the story’s focal point made me nearly giddy because of the anti *crying* I don’t think I care for this series anymore. Am I no longer YA? Has adulting finally caught up with me? *enters the gawping maw of self-doubt and existential crises*The whole Witchlands series has been my guilty pleasure. No surprise then that this book has been one of the most anticipated releases in 2019. As I enjoyed the whole series immensely, maybe even more than I should, the prospect of an instalment with Aeduan at the story’s focal point made me nearly giddy because of the anticipated climax in his slow-burn from enemies to lovers romance (seriously, a better trope has never been invented and I am ready to prove my point in a duel at dawn). And yet, instead of having a dusk-till-dawn, one-sitting read, I struggled to finish the Bloodwitch without falling asleep or getting annoyed at what is happening there (and what is missing).From chapter to chapter, my impression that the author has lost her focus only solidified: ✑ Recap! Bloodwitch reminded me why I do not normally read series that are not finished and cannot be read at one go. I read the other book ages ago that is, when it was released - and, for the love of the Void, I could not connect the dots. A simple this is what has happened, this is where we are, these are the people involved, here we go, belt up would have made a lot of difference. As it was, until the very end, I was stumbling around, trying to remember who, when and under what tree. Not to mention the grand reason for the whole gig. ✑ Close up! Oh, grant you, there are separate sentences providing the explanation for individual characters or scenes, but the overall picture is cloudy and there is no simple birds eye view. Perhaps the author herself does not have one. But even a book great when it comes to detail, must have the ability to guide the readers from the detailed to the general arc of the story. This is missing in Bloodwitch. ✑ Move on! Repetitiveness is not richness. Whereas characters are in different places are doing different things, it all feels like the same thing was being repeated with a slight variance. In terms of where the story is going, the Bloodwitch contributed with a precious little. At this pace, the series will reach 10 books with no problem whatsoever. ✑ Count down! Speaking of people - I didn’t care for half of those not only present in the tale but also increasingly, given their own POVs. Surely, the cast has been growing exponentially already in the previous book but now, I really have had a feeling that Merrik, Esme, and (especially) Vivia are just like advertisements breaking the show, the unpleasant interruptions one must endure. ✑ Hello! To the point that Safi and Iseult became extras in their own story. The story that without them was neither properly initiated nor near close completion. ✑ No swoon (or rather: swoon is me!) I was waiting for the romance. Gove me the romance and I can overlook many things sighing and blushing like there was no tomorrow. The romance just was not there. Nowhere. I mean not only in case of the two people I have been rooting for, but also in case of the other romantic subplots that were about as real as bitcoins. ✑ Nothing! So then faced with an overall emptiness of any feelings, to write this review I returned to my notes and I discovered that I have a grand total seven of them, totally random facts or pieces of information that I either thought important or was confused with and didn’t want to lose it. Not a single scene that would give me thrills. Not a single sentence that I thought would have the potential to inspire me. Not even anything, I’d put on a cover to entice the readers.The sad conclusion is that The Witchands went terribly predictable at the end of book 2 and now the story is saturated by things that sell to the brim at the expense of everything that accounted for its initial charm. The first book was just fun to read. The second was a pure guilty pleasure. Bloodwitch brings The Falling Kingdoms to mind and this does not bode well for the next one. In fact, I am considering abandoning the Witchlands altogether. Also in the series: 1. Truthwitch ★★★★☆2. Windwitch ★★★★☆2,5 Sightwitch ★★☆☆☆
    more
  • Bil
    January 1, 1970
    We have an official title! https://twitter.com/stdennard/status/...
  • Sabrina
    January 1, 1970
    A book about Aeduan:This book is going to be badass, I can tell by the cover.Just 4 months away. We’re getting there!
  • Azrah
    January 1, 1970
    I AM DEAD INSIDE. Review to come._____My reviews for:TruthwitchWindwitchSightwitch
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    January 1, 1970
    10/31/18Alright, finally finished the second book and all I can say is I hope, like the synopsis, this book is mostly about Aeduan and Iseult because I love them.---9/30/18Wait, the release date was pushed back again!? UghJanuary 8th —> February 12th - 9/21/18Okay, so everyone on here probably knows by now I generally don’t like cover models, but you know what? I like this cover. I don’t know what it is but this just somehow works for me. I still need to finish the second book, but I already 10/31/18Alright, finally finished the second book and all I can say is I hope, like the synopsis, this book is mostly about Aeduan and Iseult because I love them.---9/30/18Wait, the release date was pushed back again!? UghJanuary 8th —> February 12th - 9/21/18Okay, so everyone on here probably knows by now I generally don’t like cover models, but you know what? I like this cover. I don’t know what it is but this just somehow works for me. I still need to finish the second book, but I already knew from the first book that Aeduan would be one of my favorite characters along with Iseult. So maybe that’s why? Lol
    more
  • Jade Ratley
    January 1, 1970
    I love this series SO MUCH. This book was everything I needed and my heart is so full. I loved all of the characters, as usual, all of the plots and how they weave together. The writing is entrancing. The world is so captivating. The political intrigue has me hooked and on the edge of my seat at every turn. I love it. So much.
    more
  • Jeann (Happy Indulgence)
    January 1, 1970
    Trigger warning: animal death (page 283), violence (child & mother) It's been so long since I've read Truthwitch and Windwitch that it dampened my enjoyment of this book, because I couldn't remember anything that I had happened. I'm glad I read Sightwitch though because seeing Ryber in this book was awesome, even though her involvement was limited.Loved hearing more from Aeduan's perspective and finding out about his past, he's definitely a complex character. I also loved seeing what had hap Trigger warning: animal death (page 283), violence (child & mother) It's been so long since I've read Truthwitch and Windwitch that it dampened my enjoyment of this book, because I couldn't remember anything that I had happened. I'm glad I read Sightwitch though because seeing Ryber in this book was awesome, even though her involvement was limited.Loved hearing more from Aeduan's perspective and finding out about his past, he's definitely a complex character. I also loved seeing what had happened to Safi and Iseult and following their journey. There is definitely a lot happening here, from the world building, to the truthwitchery and the threads that Iseult sees, and the magic system as well. The depth of the world here really astounds me every time I pick it up. I also loved seeing more development with Vivia and how she struggles with her position of power.I received a review copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Henni Ro
    January 1, 1970
    Edit: Jan 10th 2017:Susan Dennnard's Twitter status announcing the title of Book 3TITLE: BLOODWITCHBook: Aeduan'sme: dead [I am already loving this book, Aeduan is my favourite character, but I don't want to wait another year for this ... aaaghhh]
  • Shanna Hughes
    January 1, 1970
    SPOILER-FREE!Bloodwitch isn’t a good book. It’s phenomenal. It’s fast-paced yet balanced, full of action while never forgetting emotion, and just an amazing adventure all around.For a while now, I’ve been looking for a fantasy book that would sweep me off my feet. A story I could get lost in. A book I didn’t want to put down. I found all of this in Bloodwitch. I find that many series lose their spark as they progress. This one does the exact opposite. In Truthwitch, we got to know Safi and Iseul SPOILER-FREE!Bloodwitch isn’t a good book. It’s phenomenal. It’s fast-paced yet balanced, full of action while never forgetting emotion, and just an amazing adventure all around.For a while now, I’ve been looking for a fantasy book that would sweep me off my feet. A story I could get lost in. A book I didn’t want to put down. I found all of this in Bloodwitch. I find that many series lose their spark as they progress. This one does the exact opposite. In Truthwitch, we got to know Safi and Iseult, and their amazing friendship. Windwitch gave us the opportunity to explore The Witchlands further. But Bloodwitch… it dives deeper into every aspect we’ve seen so far. The plot. The worldbuilding. The characters. The action. The detail. Everything. And it doesn’t disappoint.Another thing to note is Dennard’s constant growth. It’s evident not just in the way this story is set up, but in the way the story is told. From the clever switching of point-of-views without ever breaking up the story to the writing itself, it’s clear Dennard keeps developing herself and makes an effort to do so. Just when I thought her books couldn’t get better, I open a new one and it proves me wrong. In a very good way, of course.Bloodwitch is the fourth instalment in this series, and it has gone above and beyond my expectations. It gave me the opportunity to get to know characters on a new level and join them on their journey as they discover new truths about themselves, the people around them and world they live in. The plot thickens, while some other storylines fall together and click. Some relationships crumble, while others find each other. Bloodwitch is without a doubt worth picking up, and you’d better fasten your seatbelt. You’re in for an adventure.
    more
  • Travis
    January 1, 1970
    Wow was this ever a "bloody" great sequel. Bloodwitch was well worth the wait and then some. Susan has created such a magnificent and complex world and it felt so great to be back with my children. Bloodwitch picks up 2 weeks after the events of Windwitch. The story remains the same and there is really nothing more I can say without spoiling the rest of the books. The politics of the book are still as strong as ever and I believe even more so in this installment. The great thing so far about the Wow was this ever a "bloody" great sequel. Bloodwitch was well worth the wait and then some. Susan has created such a magnificent and complex world and it felt so great to be back with my children. Bloodwitch picks up 2 weeks after the events of Windwitch. The story remains the same and there is really nothing more I can say without spoiling the rest of the books. The politics of the book are still as strong as ever and I believe even more so in this installment. The great thing so far about the Witchlands series is how character and plot driven this series is. Every character has a great arc that fuels not only their story but the actual plot as well. Susan does a really good job at this by focusing each book on all the characters but highlighting one character overall. In this case, the character Adeuan. Adeuan has a terrific arc throughout this book and he is one of my favorite characters in general. I truly loved where this book went and am even more excited to see where this series will go to next.The world building is of course very complex and rich. Also being three books in, I feel like we have just scratched the surface. I yearn for more knowledge and exploration with every book and Susan delivers. The magic system is mystical and wondrous as it ever was. I love learning and hearing about new witch powers. Susan likes to sneak in new witch powers and I just sit here and eat it all up.I truly loved where this book went and am even more excited to see where this series will go to next.
    more
  • ❄️Nani❄️
    January 1, 1970
    My discontent with this book has nothing to do with the actual book itself, rather, well, let’s just say that really shouldn’t have read it at this moment in time. This was supposed to be one of my most anticipated releases of the year and I’ve already forgotten everything.
    more
  • Clephiro (The Book Coven)
    January 1, 1970
    Bloodwitch is the stunning new installment in Susan Dennard's NEW YORK TIMES bestselling Witchlands series. While admittedly, the first two and a half books in the series have been solid reads, Susan Dennard pulled out all the stops in her newest book.Picking up where Windwitch left off, Bloodwitch follows the ensemble cast introduced in the series with a focus on Aeduan. Characters in this book get significant and well-deserved character development, especially one of my new favourites, Vivia. Bloodwitch is the stunning new installment in Susan Dennard's NEW YORK TIMES bestselling Witchlands series. While admittedly, the first two and a half books in the series have been solid reads, Susan Dennard pulled out all the stops in her newest book.Picking up where Windwitch left off, Bloodwitch follows the ensemble cast introduced in the series with a focus on Aeduan. Characters in this book get significant and well-deserved character development, especially one of my new favourites, Vivia. One of the best parts of this series is how interesting and well-defined all the characters are. At the heart of this, of course, is Safi and Iseult's friendship. There are just not enough books with female friendships depicted in positive ways that the Witchlands series is a breath of fresh air.Unlike many books that alternate between multiple POVs, Bloodwtich manages to balance the viewpoints in a way that I did not skip entire chapters to go back to the views of certain characters because I enjoyed all the perspectives.Bloodwitch is the third book in a series, so you probably have some familiarity with the world and Susan Dennard's writing. If you've read some of the previous books, know that the writing in this book is even tighter and better developed. You can tell the author has improved tremendously as a writer, and as a result, the book was an absolute treat to read.
    more
  • Bright Star
    January 1, 1970
    "Te varuje," she told him. "Te varuje."CAN I HAVE THE SEQUEL NOW?!
  • Sol ~ TheBookishKing
    January 1, 1970
    DNF @ 33.3%So yeah I and fantasy just aren't clicking right now - we can't be friends so this is going On Hold for a long while until my fantasy slump is over.
  • Lou
    January 1, 1970
    Bloodwitch, the third book in the Witchlands series, is the best of the series so far and one of Dennard's most stunning novels to date. It has a little something for every fantasy fan, and it's crystal clear exactly how talented the author is. Her glorious worldbuilding can rival anyone's, her characters flawed, real and unforgettable had my heart from the very beginning, and the plot is captivating and adventurous. There are so many twists and turns in the plot that I almost thought I was read Bloodwitch, the third book in the Witchlands series, is the best of the series so far and one of Dennard's most stunning novels to date. It has a little something for every fantasy fan, and it's crystal clear exactly how talented the author is. Her glorious worldbuilding can rival anyone's, her characters flawed, real and unforgettable had my heart from the very beginning, and the plot is captivating and adventurous. There are so many twists and turns in the plot that I almost thought I was reading a thriller; it was virtually impossible to predict where the story would take us so there were many surprises throughout. Each character has their own agenda and is assembling their pieces awaiting the time when the chess game will truly begin. The personal growth each character has gone through is evident and continues in Bloodwitch. The whole book feels deftly plotted with multiple storylines complementing one another. I love the strong female characters and the complexity and depth of their development. This is one of the most anticipated fantasy novels of 2019, and it certainly didn't disappoint. I hope there's not too long to wait for the next instalment to be published. With fast pace and gripping drama, this book is a must-read for all fantasy fans.Many thanks to Tor for an ARC.
    more
  • Wanderlust_WL
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 Stars! I just love Aeduan and Iseult so much ahhh. RTC
  • Danielle (Life of a Literary Nerd)
    January 1, 1970
    2.5 StarsIf I’m being honest, I feel like this series all kinda blends together and not a lot has happened. Yes the characters are in different places physically, but I feel like they’re still all the same (except for Merrik) and I don’t really feel like I know them. Or maybe I’m just not connecting with the characters, so I’m not invested even if there was a plot. I don’t know. I was excited to read Bloodwitch, because I did enjoy Windwitch more than Truthwitch and I desperately want to fall in 2.5 StarsIf I’m being honest, I feel like this series all kinda blends together and not a lot has happened. Yes the characters are in different places physically, but I feel like they’re still all the same (except for Merrik) and I don’t really feel like I know them. Or maybe I’m just not connecting with the characters, so I’m not invested even if there was a plot. I don’t know. I was excited to read Bloodwitch, because I did enjoy Windwitch more than Truthwitch and I desperately want to fall in love with this series, but I just don’t think it’s happening. Bloodwitch allows the Voidwitch Aeduan to take the lead as the characters continue to fight for their survival in this epic fantasy series. Things I Liked I really loved the prologue of the story. Getting to see young Aeduan and learning a bit about his background was great. It was the most sympathetic he’s been and really let me feel for him. He was suddenly a person, not just this figure we’re told is fearsome and tragic. I thought Safi exploring the bounds and abilities of her magic was great. I loved seeing her working and being so active. She wasn’t just and impulsive person. And the idea of being able to make different kinds of witchery stones is super cool. Things I Didn’t Like I feel like there’s this recurring problem I have with this series where I only like one storyline in the book and the others drag or I actively dislike them. I don’t like the Weaverwitch storyline at all, so there was large sections of this book that I did not enjoy. I don’t really care about Owl so the first half of Iseult and Aeduan’s story lines was incredibly boring for me. And like I mentioned above, Safi’s storyline was my favorite. I just don't have the desire to read when I picked the book up. I was excited to get to Safi's chapters, but where I got to Merrik, Esme, Owl, or Vivia is was just too easy for me to put the book down and do something else. While I loved how the setting was established in book one - the different types of Witchery, the Origin Wells, the Truce and a tense political history between Empires - I don’t feel like the world has expanded since the beginning. Yes we’re learning a bit more each book, but it doesn’t feel cohesive or like it’s paining this bigger picture. It’s just bits of information we’re given, but I still feel like I’m missing so much. And even though a different character is the focus for the different books, they’re still mostly a mystery. I maybe learned 2 things about Aeduan in this story that wasn’t already established. I’m just not getting the development - plot or character wise- that I want from this series so it constantly feels like we’re ending up the same place we start. I think that the side characters are stealing the show for me because I am intrigued by the Hell-Bards, Vaness is strong, capable, and a badass, and Leopold is just a fun POV to read from. I just don’t know where I stand with this series. I want to love it so much, but I constantly feel let down or apathetic and it sucks. Bloodwitch was another solid entry that I’m sure many fans will love, but I’m still waiting for the spark.I received a copy of the book from Tor Teen in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Hayley
    January 1, 1970
    This was everything I wanted and more.The last 30 pages were BURSTING with the amount of twists that I’m still in shock and denial at what has happened.Dennard knows how to write angst and female friendships PERFECTLY.How in the MOTHER-LOVING HELL am I supposed to wait until 2020 FOR THE NEXT BOOK?!?!?!?!RTC when or if my brain cell can process this book into words.
    more
  • Scrill
    January 1, 1970
    September 21, 2018OH MY GOSH. I JUST SAW THE SNEAK PEEK OF THE COVER AND I AM COMPLETELY FLOORED, AHHHHHH ITS SOOO BEAUTIFUL!!!! I CAN'T WAIT FOR THIS!Well there you have it. It's only 8/30/2107 and I have to create my 2019 to read shelf because the release date on this got pushed back. WHHHHYYY.
    more
  • Alyssa
    January 1, 1970
    Keep 'em coming, Dennard.
  • Raquel Flockhart
    January 1, 1970
    “Te varuje. I trust you as if my soul were yours.” I was really excited about this book. Aeduan is one of my favourite characters in the series and if I had liked Windwitch, a book especially focused on my least favourite character, I was sure that I would love Bloodwitch. And I enjoyed this third book but not as much as I was expecting to.First of all, you should read Sightwitch before reading Bloodwitch because if not, you’ll be missing a lot of information regarding the doorways and the Twel “Te varuje. I trust you as if my soul were yours.” I was really excited about this book. Aeduan is one of my favourite characters in the series and if I had liked Windwitch, a book especially focused on my least favourite character, I was sure that I would love Bloodwitch. And I enjoyed this third book but not as much as I was expecting to.First of all, you should read Sightwitch before reading Bloodwitch because if not, you’ll be missing a lot of information regarding the doorways and the Twelve Paladins. It’s in this book where we get to see some of the threads that tie up the first two books in The Witchlands with Ryber and Eridysi’s novella. We get to visit cities previously mentioned in the series as Azmir (Marstok’s capital) and Poznin for the first time, and also other important places like the Carawan Monastery. I always say that Susan Dennard has created an intricate world and a complex plot, and this book is just the proof.Now, this is Aeduan’s book, so why did I feel other characters had more importance in this book than him? I was expecting more chapters from his POV (and more scenes of him with Iseult, my other favourite character in The Witchlands). I think that’s one of the main reasons why I didn’t love this book as much as Windwitch. The other reason are the dynamics between the characters. One of my favourite aspects from the second book were the dynamics between the characters that were in the same place: Aeduan and Iseult, Safi and the Hell-Bards. I was expecting to read more of those characters together, but it didn’t happen as much as I wanted.Also, I still don’t get why each of these books takes places in two or three days. I personally think that it would be better if it happened in a longer period of time. At least that way, the plot wouldn’t feel too rushed. Because there is too much action in this book and there is a character development that would make more sense if it had happened in more than a couple of days.And speaking of characters, I’ve liked all of them in this series from the very first book, except from Merik. So I was surprised when I ended up invested in his emotional journey in Bloodwitch. That being said, I still ship Safi with Caden and I’ll go down with that ship. But we all know what’s the real angsty, enemies-to-lovers and slow burn romance in this series: Iseult and Aeduan. These two give me all the feels and can’t wait to see how their dynamic will progress in the following books. And Safi and Vivian are as wonderful in this book as always.Also, I really enjoyed the last two chapters, especially the banter between certain two characters and a very awaited reunion. And knowing which characters are together by the end of this book, I really have high hopes for the next one, especially because it’s going to be Iseult’s book.Overall, I enjoyed this third book and how it ties up some of the threads and plots, but it wasn’t the epic sequel I was expecting it to be. “Lady Fate’s knife had fallen, and it was time to see how sharp its edge might be.” P.S.: English isn’t my native language, so I apologise if you see any mistakes.
    more
  • Tara ☽
    January 1, 1970
    This just arrived at my house and I wanna read it so bad but I'm also currently reading 5 other books. This is the biggest, most difficult test of my self control I have ever faced.
Write a review