Out of the Dark (Orphan X, #4)
When darkness closes in―he's your last, best hope. Evan Smoak returns in Gregg Hurwitz’s #1 international bestselling Orphan X series.Taken from a group home at age twelve, Evan Smoak was raised and trained as part of the Orphan Program, an off-the-books operation designed to create deniable intelligence assets―i.e. assassins. Evan was Orphan X. He broke with the Program, using everything he learned to disappear and reinvent himself as the Nowhere Man, a man who helps the truly desperate when no one else can. But now Evan's past in the Orphan Program is reaching out to him.Someone at the very highest level of government has been trying to eliminate every trace of the Orphan Program by killing all the remaining Orphans and their trainers. After Evan's mentor and the only father he ever knew was killed, he decided to strike back. His target is the man who started the program and who is now the most heavily guarded person in the world: the President of the United States.But President Bennett knows that Orphan X is after him and, using weapons of his own, he's decided to counter-attack. Bennett activates the one man who has the skills and experience to track down and take out Orphan X―the first recruit of the program, Orphan A.With Evan devoting all his skills, resources, and intelligence to find a way through the layers of security that surround the President, suddenly he also has to protect himself against the deadliest of opponents. It's Orphan vs. Orphan with the future of the country―even the world―on the line.

Out of the Dark (Orphan X, #4) Details

TitleOut of the Dark (Orphan X, #4)
Author
ReleaseJan 29th, 2019
PublisherMinotaur Books
ISBN-139781250120427
Rating
GenreFiction, Suspense, Thriller, Mystery

Out of the Dark (Orphan X, #4) Review

  • Cindy Burnett
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsOut of the Dark is the fourth book in the Orphan X series and my favorite since the first in the series. I loved the first book and its balance between the Orphan Program aspects of the story and Evan’s constant urge to atone for his past. Out of the Dark achieves the same balance, and both of his cases in this book are highly entertaining and race along to the fabulous and highly satisfying ending. I particularly enjoyed learning about the multitude of ways the U.S. president is protec 4.5 starsOut of the Dark is the fourth book in the Orphan X series and my favorite since the first in the series. I loved the first book and its balance between the Orphan Program aspects of the story and Evan’s constant urge to atone for his past. Out of the Dark achieves the same balance, and both of his cases in this book are highly entertaining and race along to the fabulous and highly satisfying ending. I particularly enjoyed learning about the multitude of ways the U.S. president is protected, from the outfitting of his limousine to the way his food is chosen, and the thousands of people who work daily to ensure that the person who holds that job is safe. Out of the Dark is a fun, highly-entertaining read, and I look forward to more Evan Smoak adventures.
    more
  • Dave
    January 1, 1970
    Out of the Dark is the fourth book in The Orphan X thriller series which features a Jason Bourne type invincible secret agent trained from childhood to be the perfect weapon. Orphan X left the fold, went out on his own, and pays it forward by helping people who call his special phone number. He has a sort of secret identity and a high tech condo like Bruce Wayne’s bat cave. He is also haunted by his past and by the efforts of some to erase all evidence that the Orphan program ever existed. He is Out of the Dark is the fourth book in The Orphan X thriller series which features a Jason Bourne type invincible secret agent trained from childhood to be the perfect weapon. Orphan X left the fold, went out on his own, and pays it forward by helping people who call his special phone number. He has a sort of secret identity and a high tech condo like Bruce Wayne’s bat cave. He is also haunted by his past and by the efforts of some to erase all evidence that the Orphan program ever existed. He is part of that evidence. This is a solid action packed thriller, just not quite the compelling read the other books in the series were. By about the midpoint, this reader was no longer invested in the outcome. It felt very much like a standard story line found in many thrillers. Many thanks to the publisher for providing a copy for review
    more
  • The Real Book Spy
    January 1, 1970
    It was always going to come to this. Evan Smoak, aka Orphan X (when he’s not going by the Nowhere Man), has spent years searching for the man who gave the order to have him terminated–after he broke from the off-the-books government program that made him a killer–hellbent on burning their operation to the ground.Likewise, those in charge of the Orphan Program have been looking for Evan, the only asset to ever walk away, in an effort to tie up the exceptionally lethal loose end.Over the years, Ev It was always going to come to this. Evan Smoak, aka Orphan X (when he’s not going by the Nowhere Man), has spent years searching for the man who gave the order to have him terminated–after he broke from the off-the-books government program that made him a killer–hellbent on burning their operation to the ground.Likewise, those in charge of the Orphan Program have been looking for Evan, the only asset to ever walk away, in an effort to tie up the exceptionally lethal loose end.Over the years, Evan’s decision to retire as a government assassin has cost him dearly. From being forced to live a nearly hermit-like lifestyle in his tricked-out penthouse, unable to form any real, normal relationships with others, to seeing the few people he does care about killed because of his past, Evan longs for revenge. Now, he finally knows who’s behind everything after unmasking Jonathan Bennett as the highest predator on the Orphan food chain, and Evan has vowed to kill him. There’s just one problem . . . Jonathan Bennett is the president of the United States of America. Decades before occupying the Oval Office, the horribly corrupt Bennett was the undersecretary of defense for policy at the Department of Defense. The Orphan Program was his brainchild, and he gave the mission orders, including an assignment in 1997 that proved to be especially problematic once his political career took off. In an attempt to erase any trace of that mission–and the Orphan Program as a whole–Bennett, who has strategically placed layers of insulation between himself and the operation, ordered the killings of anyone with direct knowledge, making Evan enemy number one. As if taking out the most heavily guarded man on the planet wasn’t hard enough, things become more difficult for Evan when . . .Read the rest of this review here: https://therealbookspy.com/2018/10/24...
    more
  • Janet Newport
    January 1, 1970
    Oh boy, do I ache all over.Thank you Netgalley and St Martin's Press for this arc. I loved it!. (Note for Judy D., previous reviewer -- this is not a kindle doc file but an E-pub file.... you'll need Adobe Digital reader installed on your computer to read and it's really not nice to rate a book you haven't read a one star).So I couldn't get all comfortable on a nice piece of upholstered furniture.... I had to read this on my computer instead of my kindle. Didn't matter, I love the Orphan X books Oh boy, do I ache all over.Thank you Netgalley and St Martin's Press for this arc. I loved it!. (Note for Judy D., previous reviewer -- this is not a kindle doc file but an E-pub file.... you'll need Adobe Digital reader installed on your computer to read and it's really not nice to rate a book you haven't read a one star).So I couldn't get all comfortable on a nice piece of upholstered furniture.... I had to read this on my computer instead of my kindle. Didn't matter, I love the Orphan X books and I couldn't wait until January to read it. This is the 4th book in the series and while it can be read as a stand-alone, the previous books introduce the recurring characters (several) and should be read so as to fully understand Evan's heart.The pacing and action were pretty much non-stop in this book as expected. There were also enough technical details (weaponry, computer hacking stuff, vodka distilled from fog) that I was able to continue breathing during the six hours it took me to read this. Were those details accurate?? Were they even plausible? I don't know and I didn't care. They were part of the story and the fun. The hide and seek/hunt and chase game was played on 2 different fronts in this book. One front was personal for Evan and it was interesting to watch the moral conflicts that one raised for him. His role in the other game was as his "No where Man" persona and had a bit more heart to it. But then his was fighting for Trevor instead of himself. It was also good to see Joey again and hope to see more of her in future books. The "Uncle Cousin" role she put Evan into was fun to imagine.I am NOT cancelling my kindle pre-order of Out of the Dark so that the next time I want to read this, I can be a lot more comfortable on a nice piece of upholstered furniture and I won't have to re-set the font on the screen every time another e-mail comes in.
    more
  • Dianne
    January 1, 1970
    I was invited to receive a complimentary ARC edition from Minotaur Books!Series: Orphan X - Book 4Publisher: Minotaur Books (January 29, 2019)Publication Date: January 29, 2019Genre: Vigilante Justice | SuspensePrint Length: 400 pagesAvailable from: Amazon | Barnes & NobleFor Reviews, Giveaways, Fabulous Book News, follow: http://tometender.blogspot.com
    more
  • Eric
    January 1, 1970
    Out of The Dark by Gregg Hurwitz is the fourth full-length novel involving Evan Smoak. Smoak is known as Orphan X and also The Nowhere Man.As a child, Smoak, an orphan, was selected by a secret organization for training to carry out secret government acts, including governmental assassinations. Smoak has created his dual role as The Nowhere Man to help innocent people facing dire circumstances with no one else to turn to as a way to atone for what he feels are his past sins. The fourth novel res Out of The Dark by Gregg Hurwitz is the fourth full-length novel involving Evan Smoak. Smoak is known as Orphan X and also The Nowhere Man.As a child, Smoak, an orphan, was selected by a secret organization for training to carry out secret government acts, including governmental assassinations. Smoak has created his dual role as The Nowhere Man to help innocent people facing dire circumstances with no one else to turn to as a way to atone for what he feels are his past sins. The fourth novel resumes immediately after the third and continues the story from that novel. Smoak also continues to provide his services as the Nowhere Man and continues his friendship with his single mother and son neighbors. It is difficult to discuss other plot details without revealing spoilers. All that really needs to be known is Hurwitz has created an excellent thriller series with well-crafted plotlines and characters. Highly recommended for those that enjoy Lee Child and Stephen Hunter novels.
    more
  • Judy Lesley
    January 1, 1970
    Many thanks to St. Martin's Press, Minotaur Books and NetGalley for an eGalley of this novel.Definitely 4.5 stars would be my rating if I could use half stars. In this fourth book in the Orphan X series Gregg Hurwitz brings back all the characters I want to keep up with as the series has progressed and added in some new people of interest. As the Nowhere Man, Evan Smoak encounters a *civilian* victim who plucked every emotional nerve I have. I kept wishing more attention had been given to Trevon Many thanks to St. Martin's Press, Minotaur Books and NetGalley for an eGalley of this novel.Definitely 4.5 stars would be my rating if I could use half stars. In this fourth book in the Orphan X series Gregg Hurwitz brings back all the characters I want to keep up with as the series has progressed and added in some new people of interest. As the Nowhere Man, Evan Smoak encounters a *civilian* victim who plucked every emotional nerve I have. I kept wishing more attention had been given to Trevon but think the main focus of the novel was so complex and had to be so action heavy that there just wasn't room for more of Trevon's situation. The show-down between Jonathan Bennett, President of the United States, and Evan Smoak, assassin Orphan X, has reached boiling point and Evan is in Washington D.C. to make preparations for his mission to eliminate the most well protected person in the world. This operation has all the hallmarks of a mission impossible.An informative element in this story is going back to Evan's first mission in 1997 when he was 19 years old. This provides another opportunity for readers to understand what effort went into the training of the Orphans and goes a long way to explain why Evan became so close to Jack. I know when I begin reading one of these types of novels that I will have to park my believability detector in the alley behind the house. No way could these things actually happen, but Wow! are they ever exciting to read when the author gets it right. Gregg Hurwitz gets it right with this series and book #4 is no letdown.
    more
  • Laura Rash
    January 1, 1970
    Another good solid read about Orphan X. I always enjoy these and this one was full of some one liners that had me chuckling. I’m always eager to see what will happen with Evan next. Thanks to Minotaur for this early copy:)
  • Wendy'sThoughts
    January 1, 1970
    July 28, 2018Gregg Hurwitz has left everyone wanting more...Wanting more rescues...More Insight...And more Risk Taking...By giving us more, hopefully We will find our way... Out of the Dark- January 2019 Orphan X (Evan Smoak, #1)https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...The Nowhere Man (Evan Smoak, #2)https://www.goodreads.com/review/show... Hellbent (Orphan X #3) https://www.goodreads.com/review/show... Out of the Dark (Orphan X #4)https://www.goodreads.com/review/show... A gifted copy was prov July 28, 2018Gregg Hurwitz has left everyone wanting more...Wanting more rescues...More Insight...And more Risk Taking...By giving us more, hopefully We will find our way... Out of the Dark- January 2019 Orphan X (Evan Smoak, #1)https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...The Nowhere Man (Evan Smoak, #2)https://www.goodreads.com/review/show... Hellbent (Orphan X #3) https://www.goodreads.com/review/show... Out of the Dark (Orphan X #4)https://www.goodreads.com/review/show... A gifted copy was provided by author/publisher for an honest review.For more Reviews, Free E-books and Giveaways
    more
  • Karen Kay
    January 1, 1970
    I received this from netgalley.com in exchange for a review. It's Orphan vs. Orphan with the future of the country—even the world—on the line.I love this series. GO GET 'em, X! The world can sleep safer knowing you have our backs.4☆
  • Jen
    January 1, 1970
    In Out of the Dark, Evan (Orphan X) is prepared to go after the head of the snake--Jonathan Bennett, the man who originated the Orphan Program and has since decided to eliminate all of the Orphans and their trainers to protect himself. The problem? Jonathan Bennett has risen to the highest, most powerful position in the country. Taking him down will not be easy.To be successful, Evan needs help and gets it from the most unexpected place, an old enemy turned ally. Candy will presumably appear in In Out of the Dark, Evan (Orphan X) is prepared to go after the head of the snake--Jonathan Bennett, the man who originated the Orphan Program and has since decided to eliminate all of the Orphans and their trainers to protect himself. The problem? Jonathan Bennett has risen to the highest, most powerful position in the country. Taking him down will not be easy.To be successful, Evan needs help and gets it from the most unexpected place, an old enemy turned ally. Candy will presumably appear in future books; she is a distinctive character with her own agenda. Also interesting is Joey's appearance at her school in Switzerland--not exactly where you would expect to find her fitting in as seamlessly as she does, but all Orphans have a chameleon-like ability. :)I look forward to the next book, which will hopefully go back to the original mainstay of Evan helping those who find themselves in precarious situations. The idea of each victim that "the Nowhere Man" helps giving his name to the next person in need of help allows a variety of settings, adventures, and characters. These are violent books that fit in the Thriller genre. Orphan X is not realistic, but the plots are intense and with the exception of The Nowhere Man, I've been engrossed in each book. My thanks to NetGalley for providing many hours of exciting plots and a variety of good and bad characters.
    more
  • Donna Hines
    January 1, 1970
    If mystery, intrigue, suspense and thrills are what you seek look no further because Out of The Dark brings it to you.Evan is the Orphan X (Black Op) whose on a mission.Once in the dark he's found and out for blood specifically ending the reign of President Jonathan Bennett his nemesis.He's now the Nowhere Man helping desperate people who have nowhere to turn. How this will end and where we go from here is part of the intrigue so grab yourself a copy and get crackin'Loved it .Thank you Gregg Hur If mystery, intrigue, suspense and thrills are what you seek look no further because Out of The Dark brings it to you.Evan is the Orphan X (Black Op) whose on a mission.Once in the dark he's found and out for blood specifically ending the reign of President Jonathan Bennett his nemesis.He's now the Nowhere Man helping desperate people who have nowhere to turn. How this will end and where we go from here is part of the intrigue so grab yourself a copy and get crackin'Loved it .Thank you Gregg Hurwitz, the publisher, Netgalley, and Aldiko for this ARC in exchange for this honest review.
    more
  • Marj Ward
    January 1, 1970
    This is the 4th book in the Evan Smoak series. Like the preceding three i loved this book. Evan was removed from a group home when he was 12 and was trained as an assassin. He is 34 now and is being hunted by the current President who has culpability in events in the past. Evan's purpose in this book is twofold. Kill the Presdent before he is killed and help a challenged young man whose family was wiped out by a drug lord. Lots of action, great characters. I await Book #5. Thanks to NetGalley, S This is the 4th book in the Evan Smoak series. Like the preceding three i loved this book. Evan was removed from a group home when he was 12 and was trained as an assassin. He is 34 now and is being hunted by the current President who has culpability in events in the past. Evan's purpose in this book is twofold. Kill the Presdent before he is killed and help a challenged young man whose family was wiped out by a drug lord. Lots of action, great characters. I await Book #5. Thanks to NetGalley, St. Martin's Press and the Author for allowing me to read and review this book.
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    Out of the Dark is the fourth of the Orphan X series, which stars retired secret agent Evan Smoak. Smoak was an orphan, adopted by a government operative as a part of a secretive "Orphan" program designed to raise orphaned kids into government superspies and assassins. Evan was adopted and mentored by his handler Jack and completed his assignments until he and Jack were burned by someone determined to corrupt the Orphan program. He then became the "Nowhere Man" - a shadowy figure who engages in Out of the Dark is the fourth of the Orphan X series, which stars retired secret agent Evan Smoak. Smoak was an orphan, adopted by a government operative as a part of a secretive "Orphan" program designed to raise orphaned kids into government superspies and assassins. Evan was adopted and mentored by his handler Jack and completed his assignments until he and Jack were burned by someone determined to corrupt the Orphan program. He then became the "Nowhere Man" - a shadowy figure who engages in vigilante operations to rescue those with no other options. Smoak is a combination of James Bond and Jason Bourne with a little twist of Batman thrown in for good measure. I've enjoyed all of Hurwitz's Orphan X novels and Out of the Dark was no exception. Smoak is a fascinating character with his own sense of morality and justice and Hurwitz keeps the storyline moving with plenty of action; there are also appearances from familiar faces from other books. Over the past several books, Smoak has been hunting those who were in charge of burning him and has taken out a number of operatives, now he's found who gave the order that turned his world upside down and he's out for revenge. The only problem - that person is Jonathan Bennett, the president. The story line picks up months after Smoak learns that it was Bennett who gave the order to burn him and he's been putting all of the planning into finding a way to exact revenge on him. Decades earlier, Bennett had conceptualized and carried out the implementation of the Orphan program. Eventually he ordered a mission that would have been problematic for him if it had come to light. To protect himself and his burgeoning political aspirations, Bennett ordered anyone with direct knowledge of that mission to be killed, but he and his operatives were never able to get to Smoak. Now Smoak is coming for him. This all becomes complicated by Smoak getting a Nowhere Man call for help from a young man whose entire family has been murdered and is desperate for Evan's assistance. Smoak knows he can't turn his back on someone who needs his help and has no other way out, so he takes on the boy's case while working to get to Bennett. The entire series has been leading up to this - an epic showdown between the least accessible man on the planet and the assassin who can get to anyone. Out of the Dark is an engaging page-turner which will keep readers up late trying to find out how it all ends. Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for the opportunity to obtain an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Timothy
    January 1, 1970
    When reading a series it is only natural that at some point the later volumes just don't match up to the first book in the series. Obviously, Gregg Hurwitz didn't get the message. Each entry in the Orpahn X series has been as good or better than the last and Out of the Dark is no exception. It is unputdownable and one of the main reasons why this series is the best going in thriller fiction today, bar none.We first met Evan Smoak in Orphan X where all of the groundwork of the series was laid out When reading a series it is only natural that at some point the later volumes just don't match up to the first book in the series. Obviously, Gregg Hurwitz didn't get the message. Each entry in the Orpahn X series has been as good or better than the last and Out of the Dark is no exception. It is unputdownable and one of the main reasons why this series is the best going in thriller fiction today, bar none.We first met Evan Smoak in Orphan X where all of the groundwork of the series was laid out. Part of a secret black ops program, orphans were "adopted" by the government and raised to be the ultimate weapon. In books 2 and 3, The Nowhere Man and Hellbent, introduced a story arc where the orphans were being targeted and killed for what they knew. But, Evan Smoak also dabels in helping those who cannot help themselves, the only payment he will accept for this help is that they need to pass on Evan's phone number to those who really need it. With both these storylines it creates a very rich look into Evan's life. With Out of the Dark, Evan realizes that if he and the other orphans are to have any semblance of peace, he must confront and kill a former Department of Defense official whose goal is to cover up a mission from 1997, Evan's first mission, which he remembers fully but cannot figure out its importance to this individual and why he is willing to kill to keep the secret. Unfortunately, this former DoD official is now the President of the United States and has the full security apparatus of the US to keep him safe. No spoilers here! Read this series! You will not be disappointed. Actually, you will becuase they end so damn quick, leaving you wisihng for the next Orphan X book.
    more
  • Lou Jacobs
    January 1, 1970
    The delightfully dangerous vigilante, Evan Smoak returns for his fourth outing. Not a superhero, but a kind-of Batman .... a highly skilled assassin who offers his services to those innocents who find themselves in impossible situations. Evan was trained as an assassin by the black ops program - The Orphans. As a 12 year-old boy, he was rescued out of a foster facility in the projects of East Baltimore .... only then to undergo a 7 year grueling training course creating an assassin of unparalle The delightfully dangerous vigilante, Evan Smoak returns for his fourth outing. Not a superhero, but a kind-of Batman .... a highly skilled assassin who offers his services to those innocents who find themselves in impossible situations. Evan was trained as an assassin by the black ops program - The Orphans. As a 12 year-old boy, he was rescued out of a foster facility in the projects of East Baltimore .... only then to undergo a 7 year grueling training course creating an assassin of unparalleled abilities. At 19 he was sent out on his first mission to eradicate a high-value target of the US government, but as a totally deniable asset .Fortunately due to the unique training provided by his mentor and "father" Jack Johns he retained his "humanity" and eventually fled the program. The originator of the program, Jonathan Bennett, has risen to highest seat of power ... and occupies the chair of the President of the United States. Evan Smoak has learned of the Presidents plans to eliminate any trace of the clandestine Orphan Program by killing all the the remaining Orphans. His motivation unknown but naturally unacceptable to the Nowhere Man. Evan must use all of his skills to initiate his own intricate and improbable plan to terminate Bennett ... the most highly protected individual in the whole world. Gregg Hurvitz supplies another barn burner thriller with a riveting and well plotted narrative with unexpected twists and deceptions of plot. Thanks to Netgalley and St. Martin's Press for supplying this Uncorrected advance reading copy of this roller coaster thriller in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Glady
    January 1, 1970
    I received a free ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review.Out of the Dark is the fourth novel in Gregg Hurwitz's Orphan X series. It is crucial for readers to have read the other books in this series for this novel to make any sense.Over the course of the series, readers have seen trained assassin Evan Smoak gradually gain compassion and humanity. He fights the good fight for helpless people but he does so using deadly and illegal means. His unique skill set and years of training p I received a free ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review.Out of the Dark is the fourth novel in Gregg Hurwitz's Orphan X series. It is crucial for readers to have read the other books in this series for this novel to make any sense.Over the course of the series, readers have seen trained assassin Evan Smoak gradually gain compassion and humanity. He fights the good fight for helpless people but he does so using deadly and illegal means. His unique skill set and years of training provide him a laser focus against his enemies. His biggest enemy to date is the current president of the United States who was the instigator of the original Orphan program. That program involved recruiting young orphans and training them to be killers in the service of the government. Now the president wants all the orphans, especially X, dead.Hurwitz balances the plot line of Smoak v. president with a plot of a young man, Trevon, whose entire family is murdered by a drug lord. Trevon's sister is still in danger. Only the Nowhere Man, Evan, can solve Trevon's dilemma. These plot lines show Evan's deadly determination as well as his humanity. Adding to Evan's emotional chaos is his burgeoning relationship with Mia, his neighbor, as well as his young ward from book 3.I've really enjoyed this series. #NetGalley #OutoftheDark #OrphanX
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    I look forward to the next book in this series each January, so I was beyond excited to receive an e-ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.This latest chapter of Ethan Smoak’s adventures did. It disappoint. It had all the action, all the excitement and all the relationships, I’ve come to expect in these books. The adrenaline kicks off right from the start and really hooks you, making you want to know “what’s next”. The main story focuses on Ethan’s efforts to get to the President/u I look forward to the next book in this series each January, so I was beyond excited to receive an e-ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.This latest chapter of Ethan Smoak’s adventures did. It disappoint. It had all the action, all the excitement and all the relationships, I’ve come to expect in these books. The adrenaline kicks off right from the start and really hooks you, making you want to know “what’s next”. The main story focuses on Ethan’s efforts to get to the President/understand why he’s being targeted and the secondary story focuses on the latest Nowhere Man case, which is very compelling. The C story moves Mia ana Ethan’s relationship a tiny bit forward and a large step back.This one feels like a closure to many plot points but leaves enough open and interesting that I hope to get to enjoy more of Ethan’s adventures in 2020!
    more
  • Maryellen
    January 1, 1970
    Evan Smoak is a deadly weapon, a former member of the Orphan program, he just wants to live a "normal" life in the shadows, quiet and unseen by any remnants from his past. But they just won't let it go. Someone at the summit of power is out to eliminate him and called in another ex-Orphan to find Evan. This time Evan has met his match and needs help from that very same violent past to flush out the enemy and survive. Once again, Gregg Hurwitz weaves a fast paced and thrilling tale of mayhem with Evan Smoak is a deadly weapon, a former member of the Orphan program, he just wants to live a "normal" life in the shadows, quiet and unseen by any remnants from his past. But they just won't let it go. Someone at the summit of power is out to eliminate him and called in another ex-Orphan to find Evan. This time Evan has met his match and needs help from that very same violent past to flush out the enemy and survive. Once again, Gregg Hurwitz weaves a fast paced and thrilling tale of mayhem with a main character that while flawed in his violence seeks redemption through his good acts and craves a life of normality like those around him. Out of the Dark is a well written, 4th volume addtion to the series.
    more
  • Noelle Tagliarini
    January 1, 1970
    Four and a half stars. The fourth book in the Orphan X series once again kept me up late and wanting to read more. I was a bit surprised by the ending as I know there is supposed to be 5 in the series and while I want to know what Evan Smoak is going to do next, I feel like there was a lack of a cliff hanger. Perhaps this is good for the person picking up this book as a stand alone, which it could be, however, without reading the first 3 prior, one doesn't have quite the appreciation for all tha Four and a half stars. The fourth book in the Orphan X series once again kept me up late and wanting to read more. I was a bit surprised by the ending as I know there is supposed to be 5 in the series and while I want to know what Evan Smoak is going to do next, I feel like there was a lack of a cliff hanger. Perhaps this is good for the person picking up this book as a stand alone, which it could be, however, without reading the first 3 prior, one doesn't have quite the appreciation for all that Evan has done and some of the character growth in this one. Hellbent had me not wanting to wait a year for the next one because of the suspense and this one left a few things open, but not to the point of dying to know what will happen in the last book. Otherwise, this book was fast-paced and suspenseful throughout and I loved the detail and research that must have gone into the extent of the President's protection detail.
    more
  • Dave
    January 1, 1970
    Out Of The Dark is the fourth installment of the riveting Orphan X series. The first three in the series are highly recommended. In fact, as I started Out Of The Dark I wondered if the previous three could be topped. I was not disappointed! Out Of The Dark is thrilling and thought provoking and I will proclaim it as one of the best books released in 2019. Evan Smoak (Orphan X) is a great character that has quickly become one of my favorites in the thriller genre. I hope to read many more books i Out Of The Dark is the fourth installment of the riveting Orphan X series. The first three in the series are highly recommended. In fact, as I started Out Of The Dark I wondered if the previous three could be topped. I was not disappointed! Out Of The Dark is thrilling and thought provoking and I will proclaim it as one of the best books released in 2019. Evan Smoak (Orphan X) is a great character that has quickly become one of my favorites in the thriller genre. I hope to read many more books in this series and by Gregg Hurwitz in the future. I'd like to thank the publisher and netgalley for an advanced copy for an honest review.
    more
  • Doug Yonce
    January 1, 1970
    One of my all-time favorite series. Evan Smoak, aka “The Nowhere Man, aka “Orphan X is such a multi-faceted character that I’m not sure if even three names is enough. Each name has an adventure in this installment of the series. The President of the United States, fellow ‘Orphans’, a mentally challenged young man, drug lords, Secret Service personnel, and an assistant district attorney/girlfriend all play important roles in this story in which Evan acts lik a Grandmaster Chess Player playing mul One of my all-time favorite series. Evan Smoak, aka “The Nowhere Man, aka “Orphan X is such a multi-faceted character that I’m not sure if even three names is enough. Each name has an adventure in this installment of the series. The President of the United States, fellow ‘Orphans’, a mentally challenged young man, drug lords, Secret Service personnel, and an assistant district attorney/girlfriend all play important roles in this story in which Evan acts lik a Grandmaster Chess Player playing multiple games with other masters. Non-stop action! I received an advanced digital copy through #NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kim McGee
    January 1, 1970
    This is Jason Bourne meets Jack Reacher - a fast-paced thriller chock full of dirty Washington politicians faced off against the secret orphan assassins they helped to create. Evan, known as Orphan X, is a smooth-talking nice guy with a big heart and a big gun who must stop the President before he wipes out all trace of his involvement with the secret program and all of the participants. There are an equal number of good guys vs. bad guys action plus some unlikely heroes. This, as in the other O This is Jason Bourne meets Jack Reacher - a fast-paced thriller chock full of dirty Washington politicians faced off against the secret orphan assassins they helped to create. Evan, known as Orphan X, is a smooth-talking nice guy with a big heart and a big gun who must stop the President before he wipes out all trace of his involvement with the secret program and all of the participants. There are an equal number of good guys vs. bad guys action plus some unlikely heroes. This, as in the other Orphan X novels, is a solid thriller that keeps you on the edge of your seat rooting for the good guys. My thanks to the publisher for the advance copy.
    more
  • Wdmoor
    January 1, 1970
    I had the wonderful good fortune to obtain an advanced reader's copy.Orphan X fans, you will not be disappointed. IMO this is Gregg Hurwitz's best book yet...the action in the last third of this book was insane. Great plot, great execution and great story with characters that are flawed but fascinating. First time Orphan X readers...this is a highly readable stand-alone book. Mr Hurwitz has the gift of being able to weave in the character's backstory without disrupting the flow of the narrative. I had the wonderful good fortune to obtain an advanced reader's copy.Orphan X fans, you will not be disappointed. IMO this is Gregg Hurwitz's best book yet...the action in the last third of this book was insane. Great plot, great execution and great story with characters that are flawed but fascinating. First time Orphan X readers...this is a highly readable stand-alone book. Mr Hurwitz has the gift of being able to weave in the character's backstory without disrupting the flow of the narrative. Highly recommended.
    more
  • Agnes Muscoreil
    January 1, 1970
    I was not sure about this book as I gad not read the first three in the series. It didn't matter, I was hooked from the beginning. Evan is Orphan X, one of many children raised by the government to be the perfect weapon. Only Evan broke off and spent his time helping those who really needed his special skills. But the government who trained him now wants him dead, to be sure he can never reveal the truth of where he got his training. This is a relentless story start to finush, in the Jason Bourn I was not sure about this book as I gad not read the first three in the series. It didn't matter, I was hooked from the beginning. Evan is Orphan X, one of many children raised by the government to be the perfect weapon. Only Evan broke off and spent his time helping those who really needed his special skills. But the government who trained him now wants him dead, to be sure he can never reveal the truth of where he got his training. This is a relentless story start to finush, in the Jason Bourne mode, heart stopping tension! Thank you to Netgalley for this thriller!
    more
  • Craig
    January 1, 1970
    i received this as an ARC This book continues the Evan Smoak series at a high level that I’ve come to enjoy. The reader comes to know a little more about Orphan X. His backstory has been exposed, piece by little piece, throughout the series. It’s just enough to bring to light more about the person that he is. This story has great action, good suspense without any lulls in the pacing. The detail is on point. This has become one of my favorite action series since Jason Bourne.
    more
  • Jenna
    January 1, 1970
    The Orphan X books get stronger with each installment and this novel was riveting. The action and manipulation within the tale are masterful and kept me my waiting for the other shoe to drop. The non-stop action was expected, but the touches of humor made it an even better read. The ongoing development of Evan Smoak rings true and is what pushes this novel and this series from good to great. Thank you to the publisher for the advance reader copy for review.
    more
  • KRISTIN LARGENT
    January 1, 1970
    I’ve really enjoyed this series and the latest installment did not disappoint. While a person new to the series could read this without the knowledge of past stories, I feel it’s worthwhile to read them in order. I’ve enjoyed watching the development of Evan’s character and the reappearance of colorful characters from the other books (particularly Candy and Joey). I look forward to the next installment!I received an ARC through a giveaway.
    more
  • Maranda
    January 1, 1970
    This is a thrilling adventure of Orphan X who is not a good guy exactly but helps out the good guys while trying to find his humanity. Great series and characters. Do not read out of order. "A copy of this book was provided by St. Martin's Press with no requirements for a review. Thoughts here are my honest opinion."
    more
  • Bob Box
    January 1, 1970
    The best book in the series and a superior thriller. Although I am a fan of the Orphan series this novel stepped it up a notch with a more compelling narrative. Terrific and suspenseful action. His attention to details is engrossing. Hurwitz is also a master at dealing with Orphan X's personal life and his past.
    more
Write a review