The Wedding Guest (Alex Delaware, #34)
The electrifying new Alex Delaware thriller from global bestseller Jonathan Kellerman. First comes love...then comes murder.In the middle of a 'Saints and Sinners' themed wedding, a bridesmaid finds a young woman's corpse collapsed in the bathroom. None of the wedding guests claim to know the well-dressed victim but psychologist Alex Delaware and Detective Milo Sturgis aren't so convinced.

The Wedding Guest (Alex Delaware, #34) Details

TitleThe Wedding Guest (Alex Delaware, #34)
Author
ReleaseFeb 7th, 2019
PublisherCentury
ISBN-139781780899022
Rating
GenreMystery, Fiction, Thriller

The Wedding Guest (Alex Delaware, #34) Review

  • Kaceey - Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    It’s your wedding day and everyone is dressed to impress! The sky’s the limit. Even going so far as renting a swanky old burlesque bar for the high-end reception. Dress code for the evening? Dress hot!It’s all booze and big laughs until a girl is found dead in a hidden-away staff bathroom. One thing’s for certain…she certainly had the dress requirements. Hot little red dress complimented by spiked six inch heels.But who is she? No one claims to know her. Not the brides’ side nor the grooms. Who It’s your wedding day and everyone is dressed to impress! The sky’s the limit. Even going so far as renting a swanky old burlesque bar for the high-end reception. Dress code for the evening? Dress hot!It’s all booze and big laughs until a girl is found dead in a hidden-away staff bathroom. One thing’s for certain…she certainly had the dress requirements. Hot little red dress complimented by spiked six inch heels.But who is she? No one claims to know her. Not the brides’ side nor the grooms. Who was this wedding crasher? And more bothersome…how did she end up dead?Well here I go again down memory lane revisiting what could be my longest running series! This book is #34 in the series! Can you believe it? But not to worry or turn your back on it. You can easily pick this one up and read it on its own. The main characters remain as steady as ever. Alex Delaware is a child psychologist who also moonlights as a consultant to the Los Angeles police department. His long-time girlfriend Robin and their French bulldog Blanche also make their appearances.And of course, we can’t forget about Detective Milo Sturgis. Yup…still making waves wherever he goes. But I’m getting the feeling he’s growing on those around him...maybe?If you are a fan of the series don’t miss out!Thank you to NetGalley, Random House Publishing - Ballentine and Jonathan Kellerman for an ARC to read and review.
    more
  • Luffy
    January 1, 1970
    I chose this book on a whim, and I realised that either the previous 33 prequels were more of the same investigative fare, or the writer was a heck of a zeitgeist. Here was a case with murder that is a conundrum, but there was far less ritualistic nonsense than books by more popular authors.It was a pleasure to watch the cops following the threadbare thread and making painstaking progress. The guys on the side of the angels followed the evidence wherever it chanced to lead them.Altogether I was I chose this book on a whim, and I realised that either the previous 33 prequels were more of the same investigative fare, or the writer was a heck of a zeitgeist. Here was a case with murder that is a conundrum, but there was far less ritualistic nonsense than books by more popular authors.It was a pleasure to watch the cops following the threadbare thread and making painstaking progress. The guys on the side of the angels followed the evidence wherever it chanced to lead them.Altogether I was very pleasantly surprised. Literally speaking, I think Jonathan Kellerman could run rings around other authors. Kellerman not only pulled the rug from under you but also give you a better view from your point of vantage. Highly recommended.
    more
  • Diana
    January 1, 1970
    Full review postedChild Psychologist Alex Delaware and Lieutenant Milo Sturgis are crime solving once again. They are called to a homicide at a wedding with no witnesses, few clues, no suspects, not even the identity of the victim. Alex and Milo use their brilliant minds to track down every difficult lead and suspect they can find. Even when I thought I knew who dunnit, there is another twist, proving my suspicions wrong. I have been reading Alex Delaware novels for years, and it almost feel lik Full review postedChild Psychologist Alex Delaware and Lieutenant Milo Sturgis are crime solving once again. They are called to a homicide at a wedding with no witnesses, few clues, no suspects, not even the identity of the victim. Alex and Milo use their brilliant minds to track down every difficult lead and suspect they can find. Even when I thought I knew who dunnit, there is another twist, proving my suspicions wrong. I have been reading Alex Delaware novels for years, and it almost feel like coming home. Yes, it can be repetitive with the in depth descriptions of meals, clothing, and of course, the lovely LA traffic, but I really never lost interest. I did find the beginning a little confusing with all the names being discussed, but I settled down and was able to follow along. The last 20%, I could not put my kindle down, everything was happening so fast, I didn’t want to miss a thing. If you are up to a complex mystery, this is definitely the right story for you. I should mention that if you skipped a few books, you will not be lost at all. I haven’t read the last few, and I was just fine. I received an ARC of this book via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • D.M.
    January 1, 1970
    I don’t often read murder mystery but I really liked the title and the synopsis intrigued me. The wedding guest is a mystery. Nobody seems to know her. Our victim is found by one of the bridesmaids looking for the little girl's room.The victim is a young Female, who is unknown to the wedding party. Her cause of death is strangulation. The murder weapon was a thin wire of sorts. But who would want murder on a white wedding day? Everyone is a suspect. Someone must know something. The detectives ha I don’t often read murder mystery but I really liked the title and the synopsis intrigued me. The wedding guest is a mystery. Nobody seems to know her. Our victim is found by one of the bridesmaids looking for the little girl's room.The victim is a young Female, who is unknown to the wedding party. Her cause of death is strangulation. The murder weapon was a thin wire of sorts. But who would want murder on a white wedding day? Everyone is a suspect. Someone must know something. The detectives have to work the case with very little to go on. This is the first book I’ve read in the Alex Delaware series. It can easily be read as a stand-alone. Unfortunately, the story wasn’t for me. I found the pace a little slow.2 stars out of 5. Sorry. *I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. I truly hope this book finds the audience it needs. It just isn’t me.
    more
  • Sue
    January 1, 1970
    Another Alex Delaware/Milo Sturgis “affair” as the duo work to solve the murder of a young, well dressed woman found at a wedding reception. She wasn’t a relative, not a guest, but she was dead in a bathroom. As usual, Milo requests Alex’s assistance when he expects there may be emotional or psychological overlaying a case - and he guessed well with this one as Alex notices multiple possible issues during initial interviews of reception attendees. The case and search draw in several regulars fro Another Alex Delaware/Milo Sturgis “affair” as the duo work to solve the murder of a young, well dressed woman found at a wedding reception. She wasn’t a relative, not a guest, but she was dead in a bathroom. As usual, Milo requests Alex’s assistance when he expects there may be emotional or psychological overlaying a case - and he guessed well with this one as Alex notices multiple possible issues during initial interviews of reception attendees. The case and search draw in several regulars from Milo’s station and it is nice to have them back. There is also a new forensics character who appears interesting and hopefully will return.The case itself is interesting, if moving beyond what seems plausible. And here is where my major problem with this book arose. While the action is almost compulsively readable, where is the rest of Delaware’s life? Yes he spends his nights with Robin along with some occasional dinners, etc. and they both love their child substitute, Blanche. But what has happened to his work as a child psychologist and with the courts? It was mentioned one time in this book; he read over a report...that’s it for this renowned clinician. Apparently he is a house husband and part-time police consultant (un or minimally paid). In past novels, his clinical work was part of his identity.Oh well, I suppose it is one more step on the road toward “fantasy crime story.”3* for its usual highly readable style but also it’s further remove from the real world.A copy of this book was provided by the publisher through NetGalley in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    My thanks to Random House and Netgalley.It's been 10 years since I've read one of these books, and I'll admit that it's almost like a soap opera. Not too much has changed. I love Alex and Milo. As always, it's a good story. I tend to get wrapped up in these books, then towards the finish realize that it's just the same old, same old. Nothing wrong with that, but I do sort of wish that Mr. Kellerman, after all these years would have started a new series. Oh well! This is a book and series that I' My thanks to Random House and Netgalley.It's been 10 years since I've read one of these books, and I'll admit that it's almost like a soap opera. Not too much has changed. I love Alex and Milo. As always, it's a good story. I tend to get wrapped up in these books, then towards the finish realize that it's just the same old, same old. Nothing wrong with that, but I do sort of wish that Mr. Kellerman, after all these years would have started a new series. Oh well! This is a book and series that I'd recommend, but I believe I'm finally done.
    more
  • Lou
    January 1, 1970
    The Wedding Guest is the thirty-forth novel to feature Dr Alex Delaware, criminal psychologist/ criminologist and long-time LAPD consultant and also features Lieutenant Milo Sturgis. Whilst I enjoyed reading it, it certainly wasn't Kellerman's best to date. As always the part I find most interesting is the criminal profiling and Dr Alex's proving into a suspect of perpetrators mind, including their possible motives. Each book in the series can be read as standalones and work perfectly well as su The Wedding Guest is the thirty-forth novel to feature Dr Alex Delaware, criminal psychologist/ criminologist and long-time LAPD consultant and also features Lieutenant Milo Sturgis. Whilst I enjoyed reading it, it certainly wasn't Kellerman's best to date. As always the part I find most interesting is the criminal profiling and Dr Alex's proving into a suspect of perpetrators mind, including their possible motives. Each book in the series can be read as standalones and work perfectly well as such if you don't mind knowing the background of Dr Delaware and his colleagues.This engaging instalment is full of twists and turns, as well as lots of red herrings, but what I appreciated the most was Kellerman's ability to keep the killer hidden for the duration; I, unfortunately, usually find myself correctly identifying the criminal quite early on, but not here. This certainly isn't one of those fast-paced thrillers, as it is much more considered, realistic and intelligent than most, and the way the police piece together the information to create a compelling case against the killer seems authentic and likely similar to the way real cases come together. The dynamic between Alex and Milo is, as it's always been, friendly and professional.Many thanks to Century for an ARC.You can also find my reviews posted here on my blog.
    more
  • Monnie
    January 1, 1970
    Ah, what could be better than another get-together of two of my favorite characters - police consultant and psychologist Dr. Alex Delaware and his curmudgeonly but lovable cohort Milo Sturgis? In this one, their back-and-forths seemed more frequent and provided greater insights into their characters (and their relationship) than usual - for me, much appreciated. Besides that, Alex's long-time love and guitar-maker Robin landed a more featured role - still another plus.As the title suggests, this Ah, what could be better than another get-together of two of my favorite characters - police consultant and psychologist Dr. Alex Delaware and his curmudgeonly but lovable cohort Milo Sturgis? In this one, their back-and-forths seemed more frequent and provided greater insights into their characters (and their relationship) than usual - for me, much appreciated. Besides that, Alex's long-time love and guitar-maker Robin landed a more featured role - still another plus.As the title suggests, this one begins with a wedding guest who didn't appear on the invitation list - not even as a plus one - and who for sure didn't get a great reception. In fact, she turns up dead; murdered with a combination of injected knockout drug and wire garrote reminiscent of a guitar string. No one can come up with an identity, and Milo calls Alex for help with the case. Fairly early on, it is learned that the somewhat unconventional venue used to be a seedy bar known for its equally seedy pole dancers, thus expanding the search beyond the rich and not-so-rich who enjoyed wedding guest-list status.Despite their denials of anything connected to the victim, the families of the bride and groom - and the bride and groom themselves - remain on the suspect list (some very near the top). That in turn leads Alex and Milo down a number of aisles, most of which don't lead to blissful solutions. Finally, a previous case comes to light that rings bells in harmony, lifting the veil under which the real killer has been hiding.And that brings me to the part that bothered me just a tiny bit. I can't be specific without spoiling things, but the ending seemed somehow disjointed - as if the usual suspects just weren't cutting it and a new ending was needed to deliver a more effective punch. That said, I enjoyed the book as a whole as always - Alex is in absolutely zero danger of dropping off my Top 10 list of all-time favorite book heroes. Given that this is the 34th in the series (all of which I've read), that's gotta be some kind of record. My undying gratitude goes to the publisher, via NetGalley, for the opportunity to read and review an advance copy.
    more
  • Dave
    January 1, 1970
    Perhaps beginning a series on the Thirty-fourth book is not always the recommended place to start, but that’s what i did. Absent background and character history, one can certainly dig in.Kellerman offers us a murder mystery in modern day Los Angeles filled with vacuous empty-headed wanna-be stars and strippers and Calabasas doctors who can’t be bothered. It’s a city filled with traffic, plastic people, bubble headed fools, and the like. And into this city we get a wedding at a former strip club Perhaps beginning a series on the Thirty-fourth book is not always the recommended place to start, but that’s what i did. Absent background and character history, one can certainly dig in.Kellerman offers us a murder mystery in modern day Los Angeles filled with vacuous empty-headed wanna-be stars and strippers and Calabasas doctors who can’t be bothered. It’s a city filled with traffic, plastic people, bubble headed fools, and the like. And into this city we get a wedding at a former strip club and a body turns up spoiling that special day. Who is the corpse? That question haunts our investigators for much of the book. Ultimately, the book was an easy read, but not for me stylistically.
    more
  • Jeanne
    January 1, 1970
    Reading kellerman is like seeing an old friend after being away for awhile. We pick up where we left off in the reader’s relationship with Alex, Milo, Robin and others (even the Koi are doing well). Interesting as always, never guessing the correct ending and enjoying the journey. Although I don’t care for most author’s scenic descriptive writing, Kellerman has such a deft hand you know the atmosphere/location with a minimum of words with maximum impact. As a visual reader everything from charac Reading kellerman is like seeing an old friend after being away for awhile. We pick up where we left off in the reader’s relationship with Alex, Milo, Robin and others (even the Koi are doing well). Interesting as always, never guessing the correct ending and enjoying the journey. Although I don’t care for most author’s scenic descriptive writing, Kellerman has such a deft hand you know the atmosphere/location with a minimum of words with maximum impact. As a visual reader everything from characters to situations come alive
    more
  • Donna Davis
    January 1, 1970
    The wedding guest is dead, slumped on the toilet, strangled. Is she someone invited by the bride’s family, or the groom’s? Neither one. Total stranger…or so they say. The thirty-fourth book in the Alex Delaware series comes out tomorrow, February 5, 2019. I read it free and early thanks to Net Galley and Random House Ballantine. Kellerman is a child psychiatrist, and his knowledge and experience dealing with children and their families provides him with a rare ability to invent quirky but believ The wedding guest is dead, slumped on the toilet, strangled. Is she someone invited by the bride’s family, or the groom’s? Neither one. Total stranger…or so they say. The thirty-fourth book in the Alex Delaware series comes out tomorrow, February 5, 2019. I read it free and early thanks to Net Galley and Random House Ballantine. Kellerman is a child psychiatrist, and his knowledge and experience dealing with children and their families provides him with a rare ability to invent quirky but believable characters. Here we find a wedding reception unfolding in a seedy building that used to be a strip club, and this provides the world’s tackiest wedding theme. All the women—including the bride—are supposed to dress to look “hot.” The groom’s family, a more conservative, scholarly bunch, are less than delighted, but they bear it stoically, till someone finds a dead guest in the loo. The bride—already turned bridezilla--is just undone. How could someone ruin her big day like this? How thoughtless. They should have killed that woman somewhere else. Or maybe on a different day. This series never fails to please me. Once again, Detective Milo Sturgis gets the call; once again, his best pal Alex is tapped to analyze a young guest, and from there he becomes further involved in the case. There have been other books in the series that pushed this improbable situation too far, with Alex the doctor donning a Kevlar vest to go chase and apprehend bad guys with Milo. This time I find Alex’s involvement much more believable. On the one hand, he still does things that doctors advising cops never do, but limiting Alex’s participation to interviews held either in his office or at the police station wouldn’t make for good fiction. All we want is to believe. Kellerman helps us along by creating a strong friendship bond that makes Milo and Alex want to work together, and that’s coupled with Milo’s unpopularity among his colleagues due to the fact that he’s gay. Nobody else wants to get in the car and go places with Milo, and Alex does; and after all, the police do employ him, so it’s not like some random civilian is partnered with Milo. I thought this was finessed nicely this time around. Kellerman always writes strong dialogue that includes some very funny bits here and there, and the pages turn rapidly. It’s a lot of fun to read, and if I hadn’t been able to get the galley for this one, I’d have hunted it down later at the library rather than miss out. Highly recommended for fans of the genre.
    more
  • Jacqui
    January 1, 1970
    If you love psychologist Dr. Alex Delaware’s escapades into crime solving, Jonathan Kellerman's latest in the series, The Wedding Guest (Ballantine Books 2019) is in your sweet spot. Alex is called in by LAPD long-time friend, Detective Milo Sturgis, to help when a beautiful girl winds up dead at a wedding. No one knows her, nor did they invite her, though she’s dressed to kill (pun intended) for the wedding party called Saints and Sinner. Alex does what he usually does--logically pull threads-- If you love psychologist Dr. Alex Delaware’s escapades into crime solving, Jonathan Kellerman's latest in the series, The Wedding Guest (Ballantine Books 2019) is in your sweet spot. Alex is called in by LAPD long-time friend, Detective Milo Sturgis, to help when a beautiful girl winds up dead at a wedding. No one knows her, nor did they invite her, though she’s dressed to kill (pun intended) for the wedding party called Saints and Sinner. Alex does what he usually does--logically pull threads--which inevitably reveals the secrets he hopes will unravel the murder. Adding its own interest to the story is Alex's enigmatic girlfriend with the unusual job of repairing expensive stringed instrument and his ever-beloved dog Blanche who keeps everyone centered.  Spicing up the story are some of my favorite millennial words--bespoke, woke, and pop-up kitchen (yeah, that's not a typo).I’ve been an avid reader of this series for a decade. There have been a few missteps though I won't name names but with this one, Kellerman is back doing what he does best, focusing on the characteristics that make Alex Delaware a great leading man. He’s clever, smart, witty, and filled with those psychologic insights into the comments and actions of those involved and lead to answers."Her eyes made another sweep to the left. The fingers on her outthrust hip drummed. She saw me looking. Smiled and nodded, as if we were sharing a secret. I raised my eyebrows. She did the same. Shall we dance?"xx"Tall woman in her forties wearing a clingy black rayon robe over something beige and lacy. Red nose, bloodshot eyes, white-blond hair bunched up atop her head."xx"Calabasas, spilling into the Santa Monica Mountains on the western edge of the San Fernando Valley, used to be a low-key pocket of rustic, horsey serenity. That’s been altered by an influx of retired athletes and celebrities who’ve achieved fame for merely existing, along with the metastatic palaces they erect and businesses that cater to self-love and shallow notoriety."With a less talented writing pen, this could be dreary but Kellerman makes it fascinating.And since I’m currently exhausted by geopolitics, this was a wonderful change into good old fashioned reliable police work.
    more
  • Amy-GallivantingPages
    January 1, 1970
    ***3 Stars ***Expected Publication: Feb 5, 2019This is book #34 in the Alex Delaware series... and the first book I've read in the series. Probably not the smartest idea, however I don't think it hindered me much and read easily as a stand alone. I can say I wasn't really interested in Alex, a child psychologist who works part time as a consultant for the police, but his story wasn't a big focus of this read. The main story is a girl is found dead in the bathroom of a wedding by one of the bride ***3 Stars ***Expected Publication: Feb 5, 2019This is book #34 in the Alex Delaware series... and the first book I've read in the series. Probably not the smartest idea, however I don't think it hindered me much and read easily as a stand alone. I can say I wasn't really interested in Alex, a child psychologist who works part time as a consultant for the police, but his story wasn't a big focus of this read. The main story is a girl is found dead in the bathroom of a wedding by one of the bridesmaids. Upon questioning, no one seems to know who this girl is and/or why she was at the wedding. This storyline was quite complex so it made it difficult to figure out who the killer was which kept my interest. Overall it was a solid story and I would read more in this series. Special thanks to NetGalley and Random House Publishing for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Joan
    January 1, 1970
    I have never read any of Jonathan Kellerman’s previous novels but I really liked the blurb and, as it is the 34th book in the Alex Delaware series, I thought I was on to a winner. I surely didn’t have any problems getting into the novel and it read well as a standalone book.The setting of the crime is at the Saints and Sinners themed wedding party of an unfortunate young just-married couple. One of the bridesmaids stumbles upon a dead body in an upstairs toilet. The victim appears to be unknown I have never read any of Jonathan Kellerman’s previous novels but I really liked the blurb and, as it is the 34th book in the Alex Delaware series, I thought I was on to a winner. I surely didn’t have any problems getting into the novel and it read well as a standalone book.The setting of the crime is at the Saints and Sinners themed wedding party of an unfortunate young just-married couple. One of the bridesmaids stumbles upon a dead body in an upstairs toilet. The victim appears to be unknown to both the families of the bride and the groom and the once joyous wedding is thrown into chaos. The bride is distraught and is convinced it is a hate crime against her. Who is the young lady? Why is she at the wedding? Who put the wire around her throat? It’s the responsibility of top psychologist Alex Delaware and LAPD Lieutenant Milo Sturgis to pool their experience and knowledge to discover the identity of both murder victim and murderer. It’s not going to be easy and a trail of red herrings and blind alleyways stand between the two friends and the unveiling of the truth.I found the story both disappointing and very slow moving. I almost gave up reading the novel, but I kept expecting the pace to improve and so I kept turning the pages. One thing I can almost guarantee is that the identity of the perpetrator will elude your own predictions. I received a complimentary copy of this novel from Cornerstone Publishing through my membership of NetGalley. These are my own honest and well considered opinions. Unfortunately this book is not to my taste. 2*
    more
  • Donna Hines
    January 1, 1970
    The Party's Over!Sadly the last thing a bride and groom would hope to find on their wedding is turmoil but death?! WTH! Who is the young lady uncovered by the bridesmaid on the way to the bathroom and why was she found strangled?My word if you didn't invite her who did?Well beyond this mess there's a dynamic duo with Dr. Alex and Milo Sturgis that is remarkable so if they can't solve this crime nobody can.However, the uncoventional venue had a shady past with a few pole dancers and clientele so The Party's Over!Sadly the last thing a bride and groom would hope to find on their wedding is turmoil but death?! WTH! Who is the young lady uncovered by the bridesmaid on the way to the bathroom and why was she found strangled?My word if you didn't invite her who did?Well beyond this mess there's a dynamic duo with Dr. Alex and Milo Sturgis that is remarkable so if they can't solve this crime nobody can.However, the uncoventional venue had a shady past with a few pole dancers and clientele so we might want to start the search there.Needless to say it went downhill for me from that point with a mediocre middle and nothing left by the end.Perhaps you'll enjoy this one better than I so take the chance and enjoy.A few saints but plenty more sinners here.Thank you to Jonathan, the publisher, NetGalley, and Aldiko for this ARC in exchange for this honest review.
    more
  • Cheryl
    January 1, 1970
    Bridezilla and Corpse CoutureThis is one of the few series that I have followed all the way from the beginning. This is the 34th book in the series and it started with WHEN THE BOUGH BREAKS back in 1985 - 34 years ago and 34 books. I have appreciated author Kellerman's consistency in this L.A. world he's created with L.A. Police Lieutenant Milo Sturgis and consulting psychologist Dr. Alex Delaware. I like the friendship between the two unlikely men. I like Robin, Alex's partner, and their French Bridezilla and Corpse CoutureThis is one of the few series that I have followed all the way from the beginning. This is the 34th book in the series and it started with WHEN THE BOUGH BREAKS back in 1985 - 34 years ago and 34 books. I have appreciated author Kellerman's consistency in this L.A. world he's created with L.A. Police Lieutenant Milo Sturgis and consulting psychologist Dr. Alex Delaware. I like the friendship between the two unlikely men. I like Robin, Alex's partner, and their French Bulldog Blanche.In this installment, an unidentified woman is savagely murdered in the restroom at a skanky (my opinion) wedding reception that is taking place in a former strip joint.Milo and Alex are called in to investigate and this leads them from a country vet to a philanderer to a University - from low income shovels to penthouses. I enjoyed the mystery and, as always, I enjoyed the characters.I highly recommend this next in a long line of psychological thrillers from Kellerman.I received this book from Random House through Net Galley in the hopes that I would read it and leave an unbiased review.
    more
  • Shalini
    January 1, 1970
    This book gave me a serious case of nostalgia... I started reading Jonathan Kellerman from the very beginning, and this is his 34th book. So I have been reading his stories with Alex Delaware and Milo Sturgis all through my life. The Characters Alex Delaware was a child psychologist, and Milo Sturgis a gay detective in the 1980s where he had to face opposition and hate from all his colleagues. The author had courage to write stories with darker themes right from the very beginning, and a gay pol This book gave me a serious case of nostalgia... I started reading Jonathan Kellerman from the very beginning, and this is his 34th book. So I have been reading his stories with Alex Delaware and Milo Sturgis all through my life. The Characters Alex Delaware was a child psychologist, and Milo Sturgis a gay detective in the 1980s where he had to face opposition and hate from all his colleagues. The author had courage to write stories with darker themes right from the very beginning, and a gay police detective was practically unknown in those times. Hence his books fascinated me. And this book too had a murder mystery in the upstairs loo of a wedding reception, a converted bar. A woman in red was found garotted along with a cocktail of opioids injected into the base of the brain. And Milo and Alex get to what they do best... Pure investigation. This could be read as a standalone and it was just as interesting. Jonathan Kellerman stuck to his trademark theme - the dark human psyche. Alex Delaware provided the psychological insight to Milo's investigative deductions. The thing that niggled me was that the book appeared a bit disjointed in the grand reveal as it didn't go with the flow. I missed the pizzazz of the prose which used to be goose-bumpy. Overall, a good book for hard-core Jonathan Kellerman fans!!
    more
  • Joyce
    January 1, 1970
    4 starsLAPD Lieutenant Milo Sturgis and his good friend psychologist Alex Delaware are called to the scene of a murder in a seedy “party” venue. Once a strip bar, now the site is used for get-togethers such as wedding receptions, bar mitzvahs and the like. The victim is a young woman who was strangled to death. The problem is establishing her identity. No one at the reception claims to know her. Who was she and what was she doing there? There are 103 people there including the disc jockey and th 4 starsLAPD Lieutenant Milo Sturgis and his good friend psychologist Alex Delaware are called to the scene of a murder in a seedy “party” venue. Once a strip bar, now the site is used for get-togethers such as wedding receptions, bar mitzvahs and the like. The victim is a young woman who was strangled to death. The problem is establishing her identity. No one at the reception claims to know her. Who was she and what was she doing there? There are 103 people there including the disc jockey and the wait staff. Alex and Milo slowly make some connections through interviews with the family of the bride and groom and their acquaintances. And what a collection of oddballs they are. Following several leads, complete with apparent dead ends, they locate a photograph under the bed of another person. The dead woman’s name is Suzanne Kimberlee DaCosta. Finally! Now that they have a name, they are able to move a little more quickly on the case. Alex and Milo begin to make connections, and they lead to one place. In an exciting denouement, the killer is found. This story moves along fairly slowly, but is redeemed somewhat by Milo, Alex and Robin’s relationships. I like the way they all get along – and have for years. Jeez, how many years have I been reading this series? Since the very first one! I feel old (-er). The book is well written but the plotting is a little slow. Is the author getting tired of his characters? I have enjoyed all of the Alex Delaware/Milo Sturgis novels, and will continue to read them as long as Mr. Kellerman continues to write them. I want to thank NetGalley and Random House Publishing Group – Ballantine/Ballantine for forwarding to me a copy of this great book for me to read, enjoy and review.
    more
  • Dez Nemec
    January 1, 1970
    In the middle of a wedding at a former strip club with a Saints and Sinners theme, a woman is found strangled in an out-of-the-way bathroom. Not one person at the intimate gathering claims to know her. Looking closer, she wasn’t just strangled - she has a needle puncture behind her head. No purse or identification is found anywhere near the body. Dr. Alex Delaware is called to the scene by his best friend Lt. Milo Sturgis to help investigate the crime. And there are plenty of things to consider In the middle of a wedding at a former strip club with a Saints and Sinners theme, a woman is found strangled in an out-of-the-way bathroom. Not one person at the intimate gathering claims to know her. Looking closer, she wasn’t just strangled - she has a needle puncture behind her head. No purse or identification is found anywhere near the body. Dr. Alex Delaware is called to the scene by his best friend Lt. Milo Sturgis to help investigate the crime. And there are plenty of things to consider – the seedy location, the obnoxious bride, the all-too-pure groom’s side. But Milo and Alex are on the case and sooner or later, they will find the truth.This is the 34th time we have watched Milo and Alex join forces to decipher clues and find the perpetrator. While one or two have not made it to my shelf, suffice it to say that the majority have been in my hands at one point in time. Having recently read #33, I enjoyed seeing Alicia Bogomil, the bored security guard/former New Mexico police officer from the previous novel now has a new job in Milo’s division. And of course, Moe Reed and Sean Binchy are back running surveillance and following Milo’s instructions. My favorite character continues to be Blanche, Alex and Robin’s Frenchie.Anyway, there’s a lot going on in this one – and Kellerman takes us for several random left turns that I wasn’t quite expecting. I really wanted this to be Brearely “Baby” Burdette’s fault, even indirectly. The woman was insufferable, I don’t care that her wedding was ruined. But, was it her fault…? This was another solid Delaware novel. Keep them coming!Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for the opportunity to read this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Elaine Tomasso
    January 1, 1970
    I would like to thank Netgalley and Random House UK, Cornerstone for an advance copy of The Wedding Guest, thirty-forth novel to feature Dr Alex Delaware, psychology consultant to LAPD and Lieutenant Milo Sturgis.When a young woman is found murdered at a wedding reception Milo asks Alex to consult because, despite her designer dress and shoes, the woman wasn’t a guest and none of the other guests recognise her. With no ID identifying her becomes their main priority.I thoroughly enjoyed The Weddi I would like to thank Netgalley and Random House UK, Cornerstone for an advance copy of The Wedding Guest, thirty-forth novel to feature Dr Alex Delaware, psychology consultant to LAPD and Lieutenant Milo Sturgis.When a young woman is found murdered at a wedding reception Milo asks Alex to consult because, despite her designer dress and shoes, the woman wasn’t a guest and none of the other guests recognise her. With no ID identifying her becomes their main priority.I thoroughly enjoyed The Wedding Guest which is another absorbing thriller with a plot full of twists and red herrings. I have been reading this series from the start so the arch of the plot is no surprise, Milo focusing on the wrong suspect, but it didn’t spoil my reading pleasure in the slightest as, even knowing this, I couldn’t spot the perpetrator. I like the way Mr Kellerman builds his plot with Alex making connections between seemingly random events and building them, eventually, into a cohesive whole. The novel held my attention throughout and I found myself longing to get back to it when I had to put it down, desperate to know what would come next.After so many novels Alex and Milo are like old friends so it’s easy to slot back into their world. The novel is mostly Alex’s first person narrative but he’s such a cool, rational individual it can be hard to identify with him. Milo’s the man. He’s smart but somehow seems more human and alive so people like him. I always think of him as an exuberant puppy but that minimises the problems he’s encountered and conquered as an openly gay man in the macho world of LAPD.The Wedding Guest is a good read which I have no hesitation in recommending.
    more
  • Taryn
    January 1, 1970
    Milo is called into investigate the death of a young woman, she was found dead in a restroom at a wedding reception by one of the bridesmaids. Milo calls in Alex for his help hoping that he might see something no one else does. While questioning the guests no one recognizes the young woman, so what was she doing there and why was she murdered? No identification was found on her which makes Milo and Alex's job much harder. How can you find a killer if you don't even know who the victim is? The tw Milo is called into investigate the death of a young woman, she was found dead in a restroom at a wedding reception by one of the bridesmaids. Milo calls in Alex for his help hoping that he might see something no one else does. While questioning the guests no one recognizes the young woman, so what was she doing there and why was she murdered? No identification was found on her which makes Milo and Alex's job much harder. How can you find a killer if you don't even know who the victim is? The two delve further into the background of the guests in hopes of making a connection with the victim. When they finally come up with an identity for the victim they are able to start making those connections. Follow along as they question suspects, come across new clues, and hunt for a killer. Kellerman knows how to write an exciting read that will keep you on edge throughout. He weaves an intricate web throughout his work that always makes it hard for you to put the book down. I always look forward to each new book and wonder what type of killer will grace the pages. I don't always figure out who the killer is but it's always fun trying.
    more
  • Merryl Todd
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 starsThe Wedding Guest is number 34 in a very long running series and Jonathan Kellerman does not disappoint.Kellerman has consistently shown that you can have a successful series without overdeveloping the main characters or having them continually overthink everything with most of the action taking place in the mind of the main character such as Cornwell’s Scarpetta and unfortunately more recently MacDiarmid’s Hill & Jordan.A good blend of detective work and Delaware’s psychological in 3.5 starsThe Wedding Guest is number 34 in a very long running series and Jonathan Kellerman does not disappoint.Kellerman has consistently shown that you can have a successful series without overdeveloping the main characters or having them continually overthink everything with most of the action taking place in the mind of the main character such as Cornwell’s Scarpetta and unfortunately more recently MacDiarmid’s Hill & Jordan.A good blend of detective work and Delaware’s psychological insights into the mind and the motive of the killer. Of course there is the usual repetitive rounds of eating, interviewing witnesses, LA traffic jams and Delaware solving the case via Google but overall a good solid book from Kellerman.
    more
  • Elaine
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to NetGalley for a Kindle ARC of The Wedding Guest. I've been a fan of Alex Delaware for nearly twenty years now, so I was excited to receive an early copy.In the 34 installment (yes, the 34th book), Alex is called in to assist Milo in the strange case of a wedding crasher found dead at the reception. The ever reliable, loyal and steadfast Milo pounds the pavement and with Alex at his side, the Hardy Boys interview truculent wedding guests, disgruntled relatives and discover a weird link Thanks to NetGalley for a Kindle ARC of The Wedding Guest. I've been a fan of Alex Delaware for nearly twenty years now, so I was excited to receive an early copy.In the 34 installment (yes, the 34th book), Alex is called in to assist Milo in the strange case of a wedding crasher found dead at the reception. The ever reliable, loyal and steadfast Milo pounds the pavement and with Alex at his side, the Hardy Boys interview truculent wedding guests, disgruntled relatives and discover a weird link to a serial killer in Poland.I alway enjoy reading about Alex and Milo's adventures; they are a solid, dependable team and their banter and humor remain the same.Robin and Blanche are doing well, and constant driving is part of Alex's skillset as he and Milo travel to meet and track down witnesses and potential suspects.The mystery itself, as well as the intrigue and suspense is lacking. The victim's name is false and Milo spends a good deal of time verifying her identity. She is no one special except for the mother who mourns her and as a reader, I could not connect with her. Or anyone else.After a lot of footwork and phone calls, Alex and Milo finally track down their murderer; another nobody whose link to the victims is weak and insubstantial.I might be reading too many books about serial killers or mysteries in which the bad guy usually has a tie to the victim(s) but I found the villain's motives and behavior flimsy and his ties to the wedding victim and other individuals weak, at best.Oh, well, until next time, Alex and Milo.
    more
  • Anne
    January 1, 1970
    I'm a huge fan of Kellerman and have read all his novels. I adore Alex and Milo and their quirky friendship and, of course, incredible working relationship! This one revolves around a murder at a wedding reception and yet, who is the woman as she was not an invited guest! Lots of suspects, so many red herrings that now I just stop trying to figure it out along the way as Kellerman always has a surprise at the end! You can't be anxious to finish his books as I guarantee you won't figure out who t I'm a huge fan of Kellerman and have read all his novels. I adore Alex and Milo and their quirky friendship and, of course, incredible working relationship! This one revolves around a murder at a wedding reception and yet, who is the woman as she was not an invited guest! Lots of suspects, so many red herrings that now I just stop trying to figure it out along the way as Kellerman always has a surprise at the end! You can't be anxious to finish his books as I guarantee you won't figure out who the murderer is. So just go along for the ride as he's an awesome writer with incredible attention to detail!
    more
  • Samantha
    January 1, 1970
    Ugh, I don't know. I wanted to love this book. I adore Alex and Milo, especially when working together. It was just a giant miss. I checked at least 3 times that this wasn't a co authored book, it never gelled. I wasn't interested in the plot and even the dynamic between two of my favorite book characters felt off. Pass on this one.Thank you Netgalley for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • 3 no 7
    January 1, 1970
    “The Wedding Guest” by Jonathan Kellerman is number thirty-four in the Alex Delaware series, but that should not discourage new readers. Even though I have read several other novels by Kellerman, I somehow missed the Alex Delaware series; however, I had no trouble following along. The book is structured as Delaware’s first person narrative, so it took a little while to discern the last names and exact roles of the participants, but the narrative was clear, cool, rational, and easy to follow.The “The Wedding Guest” by Jonathan Kellerman is number thirty-four in the Alex Delaware series, but that should not discourage new readers. Even though I have read several other novels by Kellerman, I somehow missed the Alex Delaware series; however, I had no trouble following along. The book is structured as Delaware’s first person narrative, so it took a little while to discern the last names and exact roles of the participants, but the narrative was clear, cool, rational, and easy to follow.The book opens with a scene that is every woman’s nightmare. Bridesmaid Leanza is waiting in a very long line for the public bathroom at the wedding venue, a converted strip joint. Out of desperation, she runs upstairs to the bathroom near the wedding party’s dressing rooms. There she finds the unthinkable, a body.This was to have been the happiest day of her life for bride Brearely “Brears” Rapfogel and soon to be husband Garrett Burdette. “It’s terrible, worse than terrible, it’s it’s … tragic” LAPD consultant Dr. Alex, Delaware is called to the scene by Lieutenant Sturgis Milo. No one admits to knowing the victim, surprising since she was obviously dressed for the occasion in a designer gown and expertly coiffed black hair. “Hair falls that nicely, you’ve got a good cut.” The guests were mostly from the bride’s side, but were both the killer and the victim on the official guest list? Clues seem to be rare, but the CSI investigator finds what looks like a needle puncture.The plot is conversation driven and the dialogue is intelligent, plausible, and revealing. Readers get to know the various players through their conversational style and the little things that they let slip in the conversations. Readers investigate right with the team and learn where guests were, how they feel about what happened, and how they feel about everyone else and everything else. Pieces of the puzzle fall into place, gradually, but it is difficult to discern who is a victim and who is a co-conspirator, who is an innocent bystander and who is a murderous psychopath. When the final picture emerges, it is scary and frantic.Kellerman’s descriptions paint vibrant pictures of every participant:“Milo had on one of his fossilized gray suits , a white wash-’ n’-wear shirt, and a skinny brown tie. Respectable enough if you didn’t get too close.”“A small plain girl with dark eyes as animate as coffee beans and a husky, strangely flat voice that verged on electronically processed. She’d piled her ponytail into a careless top thatch. Errant brown hair frizzed like tungsten filament."And every location: “An empty box from a West Hollywood baker and the crumbs that went with it littered his desktop. Ditto for a grease-splotched take-out carton from a pizza joint near the station. A mug filled with cold coffee sat perilously close to the edge."“The Wedding Guest” can certainly be enjoyed as a stand-alone mystery with a perpetrator who will be a surprise. I received a review copy of “The Wedding Guest” from Jonathan Kellerman, Random House Ballantine Publishing, and NetGalley. The pace is slow but steady, and the main characters show companionship and a determination to solve the crime. Along the way, there is both humor and thoughtful analysis of the human behavior. It is appropriate for readers who have not read the previous thirty-three books, as well as fans of the series.
    more
  • Christine
    January 1, 1970
    Lt. Milo Sturgis calls on his psychologist friend Dr. Alex Delaware to consult on his latest case. At a wedding reception, one of the bridesmaids discovers the dead body of an uninvited wedding guest in an upstairs restroom. It's up to Sturgis and Delaware to find out the identity of the young woman and who would have killed her at what was supposed to be a joyous occasion.I think I've read all of the books in this long-running series. However, this book would be just as enjoyable for anyone who Lt. Milo Sturgis calls on his psychologist friend Dr. Alex Delaware to consult on his latest case. At a wedding reception, one of the bridesmaids discovers the dead body of an uninvited wedding guest in an upstairs restroom. It's up to Sturgis and Delaware to find out the identity of the young woman and who would have killed her at what was supposed to be a joyous occasion.I think I've read all of the books in this long-running series. However, this book would be just as enjoyable for anyone who is new to the series. Kellerman somehow keeps each new book in this series fresh and as soon as I finish one of his new books, I am already looking forward to the next one. "The Wedding Guest" is no exception. I got caught up in the story from the very beginning and I remained interested to see how everything would tie together. The motive was a little confusing until the end, but I like how things unfolded building to an action-packed, dramatic ending to a puzzling case.Milo and Alex are a dream team in solving murders. I like their friendship and how well they work together when investigating a case. I also liked how two of the side characters grew as the story progressed and I ended up liking a couple of characters that I was prepared to dislike. I enjoyed the book from the beginning to end and would rate it 4.5 stars.I received this book from NetGalley through the courtesy of Random House-Ballantine Books. The book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Amy
    January 1, 1970
    Ebook/ARC/Mystery: I have read and listened to numerous Alex Delaware books. I am biased to the audiobooks because John Rubenstein is an excellent narrator and I love the voice and sarcasm of Milo, Alex's police friend who always gets Alex involved in some kind of crazy case. I did read this one and I want to thank NetGalley for letting me have an advanced copy. This one was so unfulfilling. I was expecting a lot of family skullduggery, but it never happened. This book hasn't come out and I don' Ebook/ARC/Mystery: I have read and listened to numerous Alex Delaware books. I am biased to the audiobooks because John Rubenstein is an excellent narrator and I love the voice and sarcasm of Milo, Alex's police friend who always gets Alex involved in some kind of crazy case. I did read this one and I want to thank NetGalley for letting me have an advanced copy. This one was so unfulfilling. I was expecting a lot of family skullduggery, but it never happened. This book hasn't come out and I don't want to spoil anything, but there were too many unanswered questions at the end. I had really high hopes about the premise of a murder at a wedding where no one claims to know the victim, but yet, she's dressed in red. The only thing that saved it for me was that I had John Rubinstein's voice in my head while I was reading it and it was full of appearances by Milo. The ending just didn't do it for me. I wanted some sort of explanation. It was like reading an abridgement of a book and the editor took out the motive. While Alex had some insights on the killer, it was never tested.
    more
  • Agnes (BeaderBubbe)
    January 1, 1970
    I have always read Kellerman books so when Netgalley asked me to review his newest book for an honest opinion, I was looking forward to it. I love the stories with Alex and Milo and their cases of solving crimes, but this book had way too many adjectives.Describing a room they were investigating took way too long and lost my interest from time to time. But, the story in itself was intriguing. Why wouldnt it be? A wedding of all places, and a guest goes into the upstairs bathroom (downstairs had I have always read Kellerman books so when Netgalley asked me to review his newest book for an honest opinion, I was looking forward to it. I love the stories with Alex and Milo and their cases of solving crimes, but this book had way too many adjectives.Describing a room they were investigating took way too long and lost my interest from time to time. But, the story in itself was intriguing. Why wouldnt it be? A wedding of all places, and a guest goes into the upstairs bathroom (downstairs had too long a line) and finds a young girl sitting on the toilet apparently dead. Strangled. And so the case starts.The questioning starts, no one seems to know her and the more you get into the book the more you realize there is more to the story than meets the eye. I enjoyed this book and would recommend it when it comes out February 5, 2019.
    more
  • Bette Hansen
    January 1, 1970
    I found this to be a good mystery/thriller but jumping in mid series left a few holes in the story for me. While it would have been easier if I had read a few of the prior books it wasn't impossible to keep up with the story and characters. I wasn't a huge fan of the author's writing style but the storyline was intriguing. During a huge Hollywood type wedding a young woman is found dead in the restroom. None of the guest or wedding party seem to know her nor did any of them see anything suspicio I found this to be a good mystery/thriller but jumping in mid series left a few holes in the story for me. While it would have been easier if I had read a few of the prior books it wasn't impossible to keep up with the story and characters. I wasn't a huge fan of the author's writing style but the storyline was intriguing. During a huge Hollywood type wedding a young woman is found dead in the restroom. None of the guest or wedding party seem to know her nor did any of them see anything suspicious. Seems like Alex Delaware and Detective Milo Sturgis will have to solve this one without much to go on.A decent read that I would recommend to anyone who enjoys a good mystery.
    more
Write a review