Book Love
Bookworms rejoice! These charming comics capture exactly what it feels like to be head-over-heels for hardcovers. And paperbacks! And ebooks! And bookstores! And libraries! Book Love is a gift book of comics tailor-made for tea-sipping, spine-sniffing, book-hoarding bibliophiles. Debbie Tung’s comics are humorous and instantly recognizable—making readers laugh while precisely conveying the thoughts and habits of book nerds. Book Love is the ideal gift to let a book lover know they’re understood and appreciated.  

Book Love Details

TitleBook Love
Author
ReleaseJan 1st, 2019
PublisherAndrews McMeel Publishing
ISBN-139781449494285
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Writing, Books About Books, Comics, Nonfiction

Book Love Review

  • Amalia Gavea
    January 1, 1970
    This lovely little treasure by Debbie Tung contains all those moments that make us readers such a wonderful, lively, thoughtful and sometimes excruciating (for the ones around us) beautifully obsessed bunch of people.For all those moments when we brought a book to the cinema...Once I did that. I knew I wasn't going to enjoy the film (I don't enjoy most films...) but I didn't want to ''break'' the fellowship. Truth is I managed to read quite a few pages under the light of the silver screen, mindi This lovely little treasure by Debbie Tung contains all those moments that make us readers such a wonderful, lively, thoughtful and sometimes excruciating (for the ones around us) beautifully obsessed bunch of people.For all those moments when we brought a book to the cinema...Once I did that. I knew I wasn't going to enjoy the film (I don't enjoy most films...) but I didn't want to ''break'' the fellowship. Truth is I managed to read quite a few pages under the light of the silver screen, minding my own business. And then I had a vicious headache that lasted three days...For all of us who never succeed in buying only ONE book...There was a single time when I entered a bookshop and bought a single, lonely book. Said bookshop was in a rural area and the selection was quite limited. I guess it doesn't count as an achievement...For all those lovely books that are currently resting on a TBR shelf, trying to lure us. On a daily basis.For the ordeal some of us have put ourselves into trying to find the perfect angle and light to take a splendid, artistic, quality photo of THAT book with THE gorgeous cover. Because coffee mugs, chocolates, and feet are... nope! There, I've said it. I hate them!For all the times we have embarrassed ourselves, torturing our necks, trying to take a peek of the book someone's reading while commuting.For viciously hating movie and TV tie-ins. Okay, that's highly subjective but I admit I can't stand them...For all the Bookworm Fears when the horror is real!For all the repercussions of getting obsessed with a book. When we want to shout it aloud to reach every person on this planet, getting sliiightly irritated (okay, A LOT irritated) when someone we love doesn't like it that much....For all those difficult days when books become our sole escape from a bleak reality. A shelter, a comfort, a source of warmth and security. A friend that provides knowledge, confidence, determination.This is a real gem for every book lover...Many thanks to Andrews McMeel Publishing and NetGalley for the ARC in exchange for an honest review.My reviews can also be found on https://theopinionatedreaderblog.word...
    more
  • Julie
    January 1, 1970
    Book Love by Debbie Tung is a 2019 Andrews McMeel Publishing publication. This adorable book is about me. This is me- well with a few slight exceptions. But, basically, if your life revolves around books- If you live them, breathe them, inhale them, hug them, collect them, share them, quote from them…. Etc, Etc. - This book is for you. This book isn’t a story, it doesn’t have a plot, per se. It is basically a special gift for book lovers, a celebration and homage to books and book nerds. The com Book Love by Debbie Tung is a 2019 Andrews McMeel Publishing publication. This adorable book is about me. This is me- well with a few slight exceptions. But, basically, if your life revolves around books- If you live them, breathe them, inhale them, hug them, collect them, share them, quote from them…. Etc, Etc. - This book is for you. This book isn’t a story, it doesn’t have a plot, per se. It is basically a special gift for book lovers, a celebration and homage to books and book nerds. The comic drawings are not overly dramatic, but the expressiveness is what jumps out at you. The passion, the defensiveness and protectiveness towards books and our obsession with them, and the familiar frustration with people who just don't 'get it', resonated with me one hundred percent. I laughed so hard at the dialogue because I’ve said or done these things- often. I have had variations of these arguments and conversations and have had the exact same reactions, thoughts and feelings, at one time or another. The only difference for me is that I've been known to hug my Kindle in the same way I hug a print copy book. This happens more and more often now that I really have come to depend on that large font size- but, I understood the sentiment, all the same. This book is short and sweet and so easy to relate to. You will see yourself in this book and appreciate the nod to book lovers, and may even experience a feeling of vindication, knowing that you are in good company. This book soothes my introverted soul in ways that may make my eyes leak just a little. What I can say for sure, is that Debbie Tung is my kind of people. I may not know her personally, but I think she may know me. 5 Amazing Book Nerd Stars!!!
    more
  • Angela M
    January 1, 1970
    Debbie Tung is a cartoonist and illustrator who shares her love of reading in this delightful collection of cartoons that would be a perfect gift for any book lover, including yourself. In page after page of drawings and dialogue, I got everything she depicts from not being able to resist a bookstore you walk by to times when you’d just rather stay home and read. She even gives advice on how to read more and shares some of her favorite books, some of which are mine too. I just have to share the Debbie Tung is a cartoonist and illustrator who shares her love of reading in this delightful collection of cartoons that would be a perfect gift for any book lover, including yourself. In page after page of drawings and dialogue, I got everything she depicts from not being able to resist a bookstore you walk by to times when you’d just rather stay home and read. She even gives advice on how to read more and shares some of her favorite books, some of which are mine too. I just have to share the bubble dialogue from two of my favorites. Girl: “Excuse me. I’d like to exchange this book you sent me for this one instead.”Guy(store clerk): “Oh, yours has an updated cover with the movie poster. But really, they’re the exact same books.”Girl: “No...No they’re not.” ***************************************Guy: “You finished reading your book ?”Girl: “Yeah.”Guy: “How was it ?”Girl: “It was really sad.”Guy: “Oh no. I guess you didn’t like it ?”Girl: “Are you kidding ? I LOVED IT !” ********************************This one wasn’t sad, but I LOVED IT ! I received an advanced copy of this book from Andrews McMeel Publishing through NetGalley.
    more
  • (Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas
    January 1, 1970
    A wonderful homage to BOOK LOVERS everywhere!What a treat this was for my bibliophile heart! It's not a book in the usual sense as there is not one story arc or developed plot. Rather it's a celebration of book lover scenarios. There is much here to warm your heart and find relatable. I found myself smiling at each illustration, thinking of the time when I had felt the same, did the same, etc. Each page in this unique book has a special way of making readers feel understood. Thank you Debbie Tun A wonderful homage to BOOK LOVERS everywhere!What a treat this was for my bibliophile heart! It's not a book in the usual sense as there is not one story arc or developed plot. Rather it's a celebration of book lover scenarios. There is much here to warm your heart and find relatable. I found myself smiling at each illustration, thinking of the time when I had felt the same, did the same, etc. Each page in this unique book has a special way of making readers feel understood. Thank you Debbie Tung for sharing this amazing celebration of what it means to be a book lover!Special thanks to Debbie Tung, Andrews McMeel Publishing and NetGalley for an arc of this book.
    more
  • Liz
    January 1, 1970
    I’ve never read a graphic book before. But how could I resist a book called Book Love? It’s perfect. Anyone that loves books will totally relate to it. It will make you smile, as each page is spot on. Because “every day is a good day for books.” And yes, this is meant for those that read print books. But those of us addicted to our kindles still find plenty to love. Plus, if you’re of a “certain age” you will well remember the years before we had our kindles and the love of entering a book store I’ve never read a graphic book before. But how could I resist a book called Book Love? It’s perfect. Anyone that loves books will totally relate to it. It will make you smile, as each page is spot on. Because “every day is a good day for books.” And yes, this is meant for those that read print books. But those of us addicted to our kindles still find plenty to love. Plus, if you’re of a “certain age” you will well remember the years before we had our kindles and the love of entering a book store of a second hand book sale or not having enough shelf space to deal with all the hundreds of books owned. My thanks to netgalley and Andrew McMeel Publishing for an advance copy of this book.
    more
  • *TUDOR^QUEEN*
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to Andrews McMeel Publishing who provided an advance reader copy via NetGalley. This is a book laid out in black and white comic book format depicting the many ways book lovers experience joy with their books. It's as simple as that! Each page has it's own example and message and if you're an avid reader you will relate. Some of the scenarios will cause you to laugh out loud in recognition and some will make your heart swell with joy, as you recognize all the ways in which you love you Thank you to Andrews McMeel Publishing who provided an advance reader copy via NetGalley. This is a book laid out in black and white comic book format depicting the many ways book lovers experience joy with their books. It's as simple as that! Each page has it's own example and message and if you're an avid reader you will relate. Some of the scenarios will cause you to laugh out loud in recognition and some will make your heart swell with joy, as you recognize all the ways in which you love your books. You like the feel of them, the cover art, you inhale that wonderful book smell, and when you walk into a library or book store you feel that euphoric thrill of expectation. I saw myself in so many of these pages! Carrying a book around with me at all times (now it's thousands on a kindle), curling up with a book and a hot beverage in a comfortable chair or bed, preferring to read a book rather than converse or interact with people. One concept I really identified with is the feeling of travelling in a limitless fashion all over the world through reading. Also, walking into a library and thinking of the millions of stories mined within the treasured binding of beloved books. When I was reading this, I would periodically laugh out loud and nod my head. It caught the attention of my husband, who never reads books. He asked me what I was laughing about and I told him it was a book that only book lovers would understand. As expected, he walked away in a disinterested fashion. In fact, when I write my reviews for arc's he can't understand why I'm doing it if I'm not getting paid for it monetarily. Then I tell him I AM getting paid for it...in the exchange of my pleasure for just reading the book. Well, he wouldn't understand...but, that's the point of this book, isn't it? If you're a book lover, you will see yourself in this book, and it will make you smile. I especially loved the full-page drawings, and imagined how nice one of them would look hanging on my wall. Thank you to my Goodreads friends Julie and Angela M for turning me on to this cute and special book.
    more
  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader
    January 1, 1970
    What to say about this book, other than it’s a must read for all book lovers! It would make the most thoughtful gift for any book lover. Book Love allows every book fan to feel validated and warmhearted about our beloved pastime. Beautifully done and this author gets it! Don’t miss the chance to read this one!
    more
  • ||Swaroop||
    January 1, 1970
    By living a reading life...I live many lives at once. If someone asks me the question - "tell us about yourself", I can now, simply and safely, give them a copy of Debbie Tung's Book Love :) :)Book Love is an interesting, delightful and informative book about the psychology of a person who likes (*read as loves) not just reading but also being with and around books.Seeing someone reading the same book as you...is like meeting your new best friend.It also felt good to know that there are others By living a reading life...I live many lives at once. If someone asks me the question - "tell us about yourself", I can now, simply and safely, give them a copy of Debbie Tung's Book Love :) :)Book Love is an interesting, delightful and informative book about the psychology of a person who likes (*read as loves) not just reading but also being with and around books.Seeing someone reading the same book as you...is like meeting your new best friend.It also felt good to know that there are others who "feel, behave and act" the same way as I do, in case of reading and the relationship with books. Books bring me pure joy...and makes me feel excited about life.
    more
  • Tucker
    January 1, 1970
    Debbie Tung’s charmingly illustrated “Book Love” will have book lovers thinking “how did she get in my head?” Her observations about the importance of and obsession with books was spot-on for me and I suspect it will be for lots of other readers! I wish the book had been published in December because it would have made a great Christmas gift for my bookish friends. But there are lots of birthdays coming up! Thank you to Andrews McMeel Publishing and NetGalley for providing an advance copy of thi Debbie Tung’s charmingly illustrated “Book Love” will have book lovers thinking “how did she get in my head?” Her observations about the importance of and obsession with books was spot-on for me and I suspect it will be for lots of other readers! I wish the book had been published in December because it would have made a great Christmas gift for my bookish friends. But there are lots of birthdays coming up! Thank you to Andrews McMeel Publishing and NetGalley for providing an advance copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Carol (Bookaria)
    January 1, 1970
    What a wonderful book for readers! I related to every single page!These are illustrations about the author’s love of books. It depicts anything from book recommendations (Harry Potter, Maus, Little Women, Persepolis, etc) to ways to arrange books (on my bookshelf is grouped by genre and then ordered by color).It also has suggestions on how to get out of a book slump, different types of libraries, book formats, and much more.It was an absolute delight to read and I had a smile on every page. High What a wonderful book for readers! I related to every single page!These are illustrations about the author’s love of books. It depicts anything from book recommendations (Harry Potter, Maus, Little Women, Persepolis, etc) to ways to arrange books (on my bookshelf is grouped by genre and then ordered by color).It also has suggestions on how to get out of a book slump, different types of libraries, book formats, and much more.It was an absolute delight to read and I had a smile on every page. Highly recommend it to all book lovers.Received ARC from the publisher via Netgalley
    more
  • Carol
    January 1, 1970
    OKAY....NOW this is the PERFECT book for us diehard book readers, lovers, addicts....and saviors of the written word! We should shelve this as non-fiction! OMGOSH....I laughed. So much of it I've experienced. So much All is absolutely true....AND those stars of love in our book-reader's eyes. Oh Yes! I LOVE....graphic novels and try to read several each year, (am picky) but this one by cartoonist and illustrator Debbie Tung is just the bees knees! DO NOT MISS IT! *So appreciate the ARC from A OKAY....NOW this is the PERFECT book for us diehard book readers, lovers, addicts....and saviors of the written word! We should shelve this as non-fiction! OMGOSH....I laughed. So much of it I've experienced. So much All is absolutely true....AND those stars of love in our book-reader's eyes. Oh Yes! I LOVE....graphic novels and try to read several each year, (am picky) but this one by cartoonist and illustrator Debbie Tung is just the bees knees! DO NOT MISS IT! *So appreciate the ARC from Andrews McMeel Publishing in exchange for review* (Was unable to download bc of my 3'rd world generation iPad so I bought it, but they were so helpful.)
    more
  • Bkwmlee
    January 1, 1970
    My Rating: 5 starsI absolutely loved this collection of comics about the joys of reading and being a book lover! Every single page resonated with me – as a bookworm, reading this was pure bliss! The illustrations were beautiful and the ones with dialogue were so spot-on to the point that I almost got a neck cramp from nodding my head so often, lol. This is a book that anyone who loves books absolutely has to read! With the holidays around the corner, this book would make a great gift for the boo My Rating: 5 starsI absolutely loved this collection of comics about the joys of reading and being a book lover! Every single page resonated with me – as a bookworm, reading this was pure bliss! The illustrations were beautiful and the ones with dialogue were so spot-on to the point that I almost got a neck cramp from nodding my head so often, lol. This is a book that anyone who loves books absolutely has to read! With the holidays around the corner, this book would make a great gift for the booklover in your life (the minute I finished reading this, I immediately went online and ordered a physical copy for myself).With all that said, it’s hard for me to pick a favorite comic from this book because I loved all of them alot, so I’m not going to torture myself. All I’m going to say is: READ THIS BOOK…you definitely won’t regret it!Received ARC from Andrews McMeel Publishing via NetGalley
    more
  • Carol
    January 1, 1970
    My sincere gratitude is extended to Andrews McMeel Publishing, Author, Debbie Tung, and Edelweiss for the privilege to read an ARC of Book Love to be published January 1, 2019. Any avid reader should find a sense of delight in Book Love. Many bibliophiles are introverts by nature. We seek out our tribe and hope for the commonality that is found in our passion for books. Our desire is for friends to understand how we can't find the cash for a new, fill in the blank, but can easily spend that non- My sincere gratitude is extended to Andrews McMeel Publishing, Author, Debbie Tung, and Edelweiss for the privilege to read an ARC of Book Love to be published January 1, 2019. Any avid reader should find a sense of delight in Book Love. Many bibliophiles are introverts by nature. We seek out our tribe and hope for the commonality that is found in our passion for books. Our desire is for friends to understand how we can't find the cash for a new, fill in the blank, but can easily spend that non-existent extra money on another book. For those of us whose life's breath is quickened by the rustle of pages turning, Book Love is for us. Debbie Tung deftly illustrates the perplexity of book mania, that we, the book collectors, can relate to easily. We shake our heads up and down in acceptance of the images and murmur sounds of contentment as we read. If I could draw just one example of my own excitement at the prospect of adding to my shelves it would be me with a book in my hands, lounging in a comfy chair, feet propped up with holes in my socks, warm, and contented with my friends, the books, surrounding me. As 2019 begins, Book Love is just the right book to start a new year of reading.
    more
  • Judy
    January 1, 1970
    I've never related to a comic/cartoon book so completely - ever. This would make a great gift for every nerdy book lover. As a book lover I related to nearly every scenario in the book. The illustrations are adorable too and they are all in black and white. Debbie Tung shows how book lovers can't pass a book store without drooling and buying something; would rather stay home and read than go to a party; would rather lose sleep and finish a book than go to sleep not knowing the ending; and so muc I've never related to a comic/cartoon book so completely - ever. This would make a great gift for every nerdy book lover. As a book lover I related to nearly every scenario in the book. The illustrations are adorable too and they are all in black and white. Debbie Tung shows how book lovers can't pass a book store without drooling and buying something; would rather stay home and read than go to a party; would rather lose sleep and finish a book than go to sleep not knowing the ending; and so much more. Lots of fun to read!Most of the pages hit home and I could see myself doing many of the things the booklover in the comic strip did. I think everyone who loves books would see themselves in the pages.Thanks to Debbie Tung and Andrews Mcmeel Publishing through Netgalley for an advance copy!
    more
  • Sam Quixote
    January 1, 1970
    Like me, Debbie Tung loves books and reading, as I’m sure you do too given that you’re reading a book review on a books site! Book Love collects Tung’s many strips on the subject and it’s an ok read. A lot of the full page cartoons read like greeting cards, which is a feature in a number of Andrews McMeel books. “By living a reading life… I live many lives at once” she says in one and “Every day is a good day for books” and she’s sitting reading in a book-shaped tent in another. Woah, what deep, Like me, Debbie Tung loves books and reading, as I’m sure you do too given that you’re reading a book review on a books site! Book Love collects Tung’s many strips on the subject and it’s an ok read. A lot of the full page cartoons read like greeting cards, which is a feature in a number of Andrews McMeel books. “By living a reading life… I live many lives at once” she says in one and “Every day is a good day for books” and she’s sitting reading in a book-shaped tent in another. Woah, what deep, original thoughts. And that’s another thing - she says the same vapid things over and over which makes for repetitive reading. The black and white art’s nothing special and I didn’t laugh at any of the, ahem, jokes? She likes to smell books, she points out when she sees a kid reading a book she read as a kid, she prioritises books over practically everything, she loves physical books as much as she enjoys reading them… har… har… But I also can’t dislike the book too much as I found myself identifying with most of the stuff she’s into. I tend to prefer a night in reading over going to a dinner party or socialising in general; I love book shopping too, particularly for secondhand books; I also wig out when I notice the title of the book in the story; and I fully agree to abandoning books you’re not enjoying reading - there are far, far too many books out there to try to stick it out with something like Anna Karenina just ‘cos habit! I’m also not a fan of publishers putting movie posters on books when they’re filmed (and I agree that most films do a piss-poor job of adapting the source material), and used to hate when there was sticker residue left on the covers after peeling them off. That was when I collected books, which is where Tung and I differ greatly. She’s really into the physicality of books whereas I moved past that a long time ago and prefer to read a book and then either return it to the library or donate it to charity - I don’t hoard the things anymore. And I actually prefer e-books as they’re easier to carry around, the devices I read on are lighter than the books and there’s never an issue with the lighting. Anyhoo. Book Love is a mildly amusing read that most anyone who reads will see something of themselves in, though there’s as much nodding in agreement at some of the observations as there is nodding off at the banality of the others. Sarah Andersen fans will probably love this.
    more
  • Cheri
    January 1, 1970
    !! NOW PUBLISHED !!Debbie Tung is a very gifted artist, illustrator / graphic artist from Birmingham, England whose exceptional gifts are shared in her book of comics, Book Love. This book is sure to appeal to those who love to read. Her illustrations are charming, without being too simplistic or ornate, appealing to all age groups.For many of us, reading is an essential part of our lives, like eating, sleeping, and Tung shows how well she understands and relates to those feelings in these wond !! NOW PUBLISHED !!Debbie Tung is a very gifted artist, illustrator / graphic artist from Birmingham, England whose exceptional gifts are shared in her book of comics, Book Love. This book is sure to appeal to those who love to read. Her illustrations are charming, without being too simplistic or ornate, appealing to all age groups.For many of us, reading is an essential part of our lives, like eating, sleeping, and Tung shows how well she understands and relates to those feelings in these wonderful little peeks into the life of another book lover. The way you feel pulled into a bookstore that you are walking past, the way a book calls to you when you are tending to real-life things, the way a book can make you feel seen. This conversation was one of my favourites:Him: Didn’t you finish reading that book a week ago?Her: Yeah, I did.Him: Then why are you still carrying it around?Her: Um… I don’t know.Her: I just feel like I’ve bonded with this book so much.Her: Now that it’s over, I’m finding it hard to let go.Who doesn’t love to feel understood? Highly recommend it to all book lovers.Pub Date: 1 JAN 2019Many thanks for the ARC provided by Andrews McMeel Publishing
    more
  • karen
    January 1, 1970
    NOW AVAILABLE!!!photobucket is being difficult so i haven't been able to upload/crop the pictures i took to illustrate my words, but this title is being archived on netgalley tomorrow, so i needed to get this part up, at least. hopefully pictures will get sorted soon. sorry i am so disappointing and disappointed.************************************************i fear that i am going to have my booklover card revoked for not loving this book enough. i’m not saying i didn’t like it - it’s a sweet l NOW AVAILABLE!!!photobucket is being difficult so i haven't been able to upload/crop the pictures i took to illustrate my words, but this title is being archived on netgalley tomorrow, so i needed to get this part up, at least. hopefully pictures will get sorted soon. sorry i am so disappointing and disappointed.************************************************i fear that i am going to have my booklover card revoked for not loving this book enough. i’m not saying i didn’t like it - it’s a sweet little book that is being marketed as a collection of “charming comics,” and that is entirely accurate. it’s page after page of booknerd bait, a (presumably) autobiographical celebration of all the feels that come from buying books, talking about books, reading books, rereading books, etc etc.it’s the perfect gift book for a bookfriend you know superficially - a well-intentioned “more than a greeting card” level gift, and actually - any of these panels would sell well on a greeting card, or shirt. book lovers be shopping. i’m coming across sniffier than i mean to. this is exactly what it’s meant to be, it just feels a little too familiar to me; all of the obvious low-hanging fruit of the booknerd tree. a lot of it feels like i’ve seen it before (and i have, via sara andersen’s work)while some of it feels like it is geared towards a younger, sweeter audience than me. it reminds me of all these cutesy little book pins - they are instantly appealing and make my heart smile with recognition, but what am i supposed to do with them, really? Seeing a room full of books/sends chills down my spine/ makes my head giddy with excitement/ just thinking about all the possibilitiesagreed, but the impact is fleeting at best. i’m not sure what i was expecting. when sara andersen does the same stuff (and i do mean the same stuff*)i am tickled. maybe i’m just more responsive to andersen’s wonky messy yelly art style, or the fact bookfeels are just one of her themes, so there’s more variety to her books. i meant to like this book more than i did, and i hope i can recover my lost booknerd cred. * oh, and obviously i’m not saying tung is in any way derivative of andersen - she’s a booknerd and these are booknerd universals/realities (although i don’t have the same book-huffing response as these two ladies. some books smell good, sure, but i have never felt this need. particularly the ‘gotta hide it’ attitude)come to my blog!
    more
  • Schizanthus
    January 1, 1970
    Book nerds rejoice! Debbie Tung doesn’t just understand us; she’s one of us! Debbie first drew scenes from my life in her debut Quiet Girl in a Noisy World: An Introvert's Story and now she’s gained access to the bookish part of me which, let’s face it, is pretty much all that’s left once you take away the introvert part.This is my second (but not final) read of this graphic novel and once again Debbie’s nailed it. Her illustrations perfectly capture the bliss of escaping into a book, the allu Book nerds rejoice! Debbie Tung doesn’t just understand us; she’s one of us! Debbie first drew scenes from my life in her debut Quiet Girl in a Noisy World: An Introvert's Story and now she’s gained access to the bookish part of me which, let’s face it, is pretty much all that’s left once you take away the introvert part.This is my second (but not final) read of this graphic novel and once again Debbie’s nailed it. Her illustrations perfectly capture the bliss of escaping into a book, the allure of a book sale, the horror of finishing a book and knowing you have to wait a whole year before you can dive into the sequel, and the special kind of magic you experience when your book order arrives. Debbie explores the bookish nightmare of a favourite book being massacred by its film, the horror of price sticker residue and the devastation you feel when someone ruins the end of the book you’re reading.Debbie talks about how we read, where we read, why we read, and I don’t think I’ve ever felt so understood. Every turn of the page resulted in validation of my bookish experiences. There was only one page I was glad I couldn’t relate to - when you have to choose between books because you’ve reached the maximum amount you can have on loan at any one time from the library. Thankfully my wonderful librarians consider the loan limit a suggestion, not a strict rule, where I’m involved; just one more reason why my library is the best in the world!I cannot get enough of this book and only wish it had been several hundred pages longer. I wonder what part of my life Debbie is going to tackle next… Whatever it is, I need to read it immediately!Thank you so much to NetGalley and Andrews McMeel Publishing for introducing me to Debbie with Quiet Girl and giving me the opportunity to remember why I need every book she ever publishes.
    more
  • PattyMacDotComma
    January 1, 1970
    4★"The book I'm reading is about a magical world of dragons and wizards! They go on adventures and explore unknown places! And then at the mansion in Hertfordshire, a wealthy man and Mr. Darcy...Oh, wait...that's a different story.""You're reading two books at the same time again, huh?"GUILTY! But it does make for some wonderfully imaginative what-ifs! This little book of simple drawings of a young woman wearing a hoodie, happiest with a book and a mug of tea (with teabag) at her side, is a deli 4★"The book I'm reading is about a magical world of dragons and wizards! They go on adventures and explore unknown places! And then at the mansion in Hertfordshire, a wealthy man and Mr. Darcy...Oh, wait...that's a different story.""You're reading two books at the same time again, huh?"GUILTY! But it does make for some wonderfully imaginative what-ifs! This little book of simple drawings of a young woman wearing a hoodie, happiest with a book and a mug of tea (with teabag) at her side, is a delight for booklovers.Some are funny, some are poignant, and some hit so close to home that you DO feel like shouting GUILTY! [Some are a bit repetitious, but really, who cares?"I'll share a few pages to give you an idea. It is being published in January 2019 and is currently a Read Now at NetGalley by Andrew McMeet Publishing for NetGalley reviewers (all of whom will relate to this charming little reader).These are all me (well, a lot younger). It will make a great gift for readers.
    more
  • destiny ♎ [howling libraries]
    January 1, 1970
    Debbie Tung has done it again, with another adorable collection of comics about life as an introverted bookworm. The biggest reason I recommend this collection is not only because the art is cute and simply sweet and the stories themselves are fun, but because I think so many book lovers will be able to relate to it!Whether it's taking a book to a party, staying up all night to finish your current read, or the undeniable pull of a bookstore no matter how many unread books you have at home, I thi Debbie Tung has done it again, with another adorable collection of comics about life as an introverted bookworm. The biggest reason I recommend this collection is not only because the art is cute and simply sweet and the stories themselves are fun, but because I think so many book lovers will be able to relate to it!Whether it's taking a book to a party, staying up all night to finish your current read, or the undeniable pull of a bookstore no matter how many unread books you have at home, I think every bookworm will find something to love about Book Love!Thank you so much to Andrews McMeel Publishing for providing me with this ARC in exchange for an honest review!
    more
  • Darinda
    January 1, 1970
    A graphic novel that encompasses what it’s like to love books. Depicted in comic style, a variety of bookish topics are covered – favorite books, book formats, bookstores, libraries, and more.I loved Quiet Girl in a Noisy World, so I was excited to see a new book by Debbie Tung. Even better, this one is all about books and the bibliophiles who love them.A delightful book. I could relate to so many of the scenarios shown. A perfect read for book lovers. Charming, amusing, and accurate.I received A graphic novel that encompasses what it’s like to love books. Depicted in comic style, a variety of bookish topics are covered – favorite books, book formats, bookstores, libraries, and more.I loved Quiet Girl in a Noisy World, so I was excited to see a new book by Debbie Tung. Even better, this one is all about books and the bibliophiles who love them.A delightful book. I could relate to so many of the scenarios shown. A perfect read for book lovers. Charming, amusing, and accurate.I received a free eARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Chad
    January 1, 1970
    Book Love is a collection any goodreads user will enjoy. I was amazed at how many times her comics echoed my life. Like when we travel:You don't know how many times my wife has yelled at me for bringing too many books on vacation. Or the disappointment of getting a new book and it's the stupid movie poster on the cover instead of the original.The strips can get a bit repetitive, especially having to do with her smelling books. But all in all, a very enjoyable read for any book lover. This would Book Love is a collection any goodreads user will enjoy. I was amazed at how many times her comics echoed my life. Like when we travel:You don't know how many times my wife has yelled at me for bringing too many books on vacation. Or the disappointment of getting a new book and it's the stupid movie poster on the cover instead of the original.The strips can get a bit repetitive, especially having to do with her smelling books. But all in all, a very enjoyable read for any book lover. This would make the perfect gift for those readers in your life.P.S. - From the amount of giggles coming out of the other room, my wife really enjoys it too.Received a review copy from Andrews McMeel Publishing and NetGalley. All thoughts are my own and in no way influenced by the aforementioned.
    more
  • Montzalee Wittmann
    January 1, 1970
    Book Love by Debbie Tung is a cute comic/ humor book I requested from NetGalley and the review is voluntary. This is a book any bookstore will relate to! I know I did! Every illustration is cute and fun with the clever message spoke of unspoken...readers know what is means! Lol! The author has thought of everything we bookstore go through and has cleverly out it to one and paper! I think I could relate to every one of those cartoons! Very witty and fun! This is for that bookaholic in your life!
    more
  • Kathleen
    January 1, 1970
    Special thanks to Debbie Tung, NetGalley and Andrews McMeel Publishing for a digital copy of BOOK LOVE in exchange for my unbiased review. Debbie Tung's talent shines brilliantly in her book of comics BOOK LOVE. The cartoons capture the readers' love of books in numerous scenarios. As an avid reader, I could easily identify with the illustrations on every page! This book would make an excellent gift for book lovers of all ages. 5 shining stars⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐***** This book is available on January 1, 2019. Special thanks to Debbie Tung, NetGalley and Andrews McMeel Publishing for a digital copy of BOOK LOVE in exchange for my unbiased review. Debbie Tung's talent shines brilliantly in her book of comics BOOK LOVE. The cartoons capture the readers' love of books in numerous scenarios. As an avid reader, I could easily identify with the illustrations on every page! This book would make an excellent gift for book lovers of all ages. 5 shining stars⭐️️⭐️️⭐️️⭐️️⭐️️***** This book is available on January 1, 2019.
    more
  • Katie
    January 1, 1970
    I was having a bad day and then I heard that this book of comics about books was available for review from NetGalley and downloaded it. Did I mention I am now having a great day? The comics were so relatable and any booklover should enjoy this. Yes, I have seen some of these as memes before. Do I care? No. I have found my people, my book people.
    more
  • Prashasti
    January 1, 1970
    I've been growing impatient ever since I've heard about the release of the second book and I feel so happy to finally read it, also in a single sitting!First and foremost, thanks a tonne to Netgalley for providing me an arc of this comic book in exchange for an honest review.Book Love is a beautiful comic strip comprising of charming illustrations by my favorite Debbie Tung.I felt like I was watching myself via Debbie and my life all along the pages, every single thing was so freaking relatable. I've been growing impatient ever since I've heard about the release of the second book and I feel so happy to finally read it, also in a single sitting!First and foremost, thanks a tonne to Netgalley for providing me an arc of this comic book in exchange for an honest review.Book Love is a beautiful comic strip comprising of charming illustrations by my favorite Debbie Tung.I felt like I was watching myself via Debbie and my life all along the pages, every single thing was so freaking relatable...whether it's getting anxious over a cliffhanger, disappointed to watch your fav book's movie adaption, hating a movie-tie-in cover on the book you've ordered, pre-ordering the book from your favourite author without even checking out what the story is about, discovering your favorite book and waiting to share it with everyone ( that's probably what I'm doing it right now! ), crying/laughing with the characters...God, the list is never ending, almost everything that involves an endless affair with books is shown perfectly!Finally found my fav book for this year...LOVED IT, eep!Also, if you're in a reading slump, you can just grab on this one and make yourself feel much much much better!This book is a treat for every book lover, a lot of endorphins will be released instantly after you finish reading it!RECOMMENDED TO ALL!!!
    more
  • ♥ Sandi ❣
    January 1, 1970
    5 stars Thanks to NetGalley and Andrews McMeel Publishing for allowing me to read and review this ARC. Publishes January 1, 2019. Welcome to a wonderful book lovers book, that can be read in one day. Appropriately titled "Book Love" Debbie Tung, an artist and cartoonist, melts the heart of any person who loves books and loves to read. On almost each page you can see yourself or a situation you have been in. Short in length. long in smiles, this is a book that should not be missed. Lighthearted, 5 stars Thanks to NetGalley and Andrews McMeel Publishing for allowing me to read and review this ARC. Publishes January 1, 2019. Welcome to a wonderful book lovers book, that can be read in one day. Appropriately titled "Book Love" Debbie Tung, an artist and cartoonist, melts the heart of any person who loves books and loves to read. On almost each page you can see yourself or a situation you have been in. Short in length. long in smiles, this is a book that should not be missed. Lighthearted, engaging, and full of what we love most - books!
    more
  • Divine
    January 1, 1970
    "Once a reader, always a reader." Every bibliophile should take the time to read this cute and totally relatable graphic novel! Book Love adeptly encapsulates the reader's complex and utterly nuanced affection for books. It's entertaining and light and soooo heartwarming. I feel like I'm more connected to the book community because of this. It kind of reminds me of Little Moments of Love because of its easy format! It's a quick read and definitely a favorite of mine this year.
    more
  • Beatrice ~ Confessions of a Pinay Bookaholic
    January 1, 1970
    ARC kindly provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.A perfect graphic novel for bookworms. It's a fun and relatable book. 98% of the comic strips described me as a book lover.I can't find any dull moments and the only con in this book was it gets redundant. Overall, it's a simple and joyful read.
    more
  • ❀⊱RoryReads⊰❀
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 Stars.Charming! These drawings could only have been done by a true book lover. The humor is gentle and the drawings depict emotions all book lovers will understand and connect with. I look forward to seeing more of Ms Tung's work.Thank you to NetGalley and the author for a copy of the book.
    more
Write a review