Me for You
From the New York Times bestselling author of Good Grief comes a richly poignant and stirring story that asks: How soon is too soon to fall in love again?The last thing Rudy expected was to wake up one Saturday morning, a widow at fifty-four years old. Now, ten months after the untimely death of his beloved wife, he’s still not sure how to move on from the defining tragedy of his life—but his new job is helping. After being downsized from his finance position, Rudy turned to his first love: the piano. Some people might be embarrassed to work as the piano player at Nordstrom, but for Rudy, there’s joy in bringing a little music into the world. And it doesn’t hurt that Sasha, the Hungarian men’s watch clerk who is finally divorcing her no-good husband, finds time to join him at the bench every now and then. Just when Rudy and Sasha’s relationship begins to deepen, the police come to the store with an update about Rudy’s wife’s untimely death—a coworker has confessed to her murder—but Rudy’s actions are suspicious enough to warrant a second look at him, too. With Sasha’s husband suddenly reappearing, and Rudy’s daughter confronting her own marital problems, suddenly life becomes more complicated than Rudy and Sasha could have imagined. With Winston’s trademark humor and sweetness that will appeal to readers of Jennifer Weiner and Fredrik Backman but is uniquely her own, Lolly Winston delivers a heartfelt and realistic portrait of loss and grief, hope and forgiveness, and two imperfect people coming together to create a perfect love story.

Me for You Details

TitleMe for You
Author
ReleaseMar 12th, 2019
PublisherGallery Books
ISBN-139781501179129
Rating
GenreFiction, Romance

Me for You Review

  • Kathy McC
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to Gallery Books for the Advanced Reader Copy of this book.I enjoyed it, but I didn't love it. I didn't find it as engrossing as her first two novels. The patients are not that much different from you or me. They are people who stepped off a curb and got run over by life.""And then it was time to be alone for the first time in weeks. Then he felt his face droop, heard the depression scratching on the windows to get in."
    more
  • Kristen O'Daly
    January 1, 1970
    Oh how I truly wanted to love this book like I did Good Grief, but unfortunately it just fell completely flat - a pale imitation with a similar plot line. The characters did not resonate and the plot did not hold together. There were random chapters focusing on the deceased wife which had no coherence and a barely believable murder theme that came out of left field.
    more
  • Ellen
    January 1, 1970
    Rudy’s wife dies unexpectedly, plunging Rudy into grief and depression. As a part-time piano player in Nordstrom, Rudy befriends Sasha, a salesperson who has also suffered an unimaginable tragedy. As Sasha and Rudy begin a relationship, Rudy falls victim to his deep depression. An interesting story, with different characters and a hopeful story line. I liked it.
    more
  • Tracy
    January 1, 1970
    I am and will continue to be a huge Lolly Winston fan, but I have to say I was a bit disappointed in this one. Good Grief is one of my favorite books of all time, and it felt a little like Winston was trying to go back there and bring up all the same feelings, but not as successfully. It was still a sweet story, and I really liked the depiction of grief as being normal and okay. But for me, this was done so beautifully in Good Grief that such a similar story looking to evoke similar emotions was I am and will continue to be a huge Lolly Winston fan, but I have to say I was a bit disappointed in this one. Good Grief is one of my favorite books of all time, and it felt a little like Winston was trying to go back there and bring up all the same feelings, but not as successfully. It was still a sweet story, and I really liked the depiction of grief as being normal and okay. But for me, this was done so beautifully in Good Grief that such a similar story looking to evoke similar emotions wasn't going to measure up. I'm looking forward to seeing her writing go in a different direction.
    more
  • Kim Prine
    January 1, 1970
    I tried really hard to get interested in this book. I got 35% through and finally gave up. The story is a great one there just wasn’t anything there to keep me interested.
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    *Review is of an advanced copyLolly Winston's Good Grief was one of those books that took me by surprise. It was an unexpected pleasure; sad, funny, relatable. Therefore, I squealed in delight upon spying a third novel from the talented author. I didn't even bother to read the back cover, merely plucked it from the ARC shelf and raced home. At first, it seemed as though Me for You might simply be a retelling of Good Grief albeit this time with the roles reversed. However, although there are defi *Review is of an advanced copyLolly Winston's Good Grief was one of those books that took me by surprise. It was an unexpected pleasure; sad, funny, relatable. Therefore, I squealed in delight upon spying a third novel from the talented author. I didn't even bother to read the back cover, merely plucked it from the ARC shelf and raced home. At first, it seemed as though Me for You might simply be a retelling of Good Grief albeit this time with the roles reversed. However, although there are definite similarities between the two books, Me for You branches off in different ways and charmed me. (I was going to say charmed my socks off but that's never actually happened.) In Good Grief it was the protagonist I found most compelling where as in Me for You, as much as I liked the two main characters, it was their relationship that I appreciated. Others may scoff at the two novels likeness, but a good story is still a good story.One minor "flub" (keep in mind the copy I read is an advanced copy and may be subject to change.) At one point a character is said to be consuming a Pudding Pop. The novel is obviously contemporary. Jello, for some unknown reason, (NOT Bill Cosby, this was long before his fall from grace) discontinued the delicacy in the 1990's. (According to the always factual Wikapedia.) Thus, unless this family had a stash of Pops that were still edible, it would not be possible for character to enjoy one of the greatest snacks of all time. Of course, this has nothing to do with the plot but I am a stickler for details.
    more
  • kglibrarian
    January 1, 1970
    A touching story of a man who loses his wife suddenly while in his 50s. Rudy, who began working as a piano player at Nordstrom after being laid off from his financial job, struggles to handle his grief as he attempts to continue living his life. As he becomes close to his coworker, Sasha, who has experienced a tragedy of her own, Rudy begins to unravel and winds up in a place he never could have imagined. Winston’s writing is gentle and her attention to the small details of daily life give the n A touching story of a man who loses his wife suddenly while in his 50s. Rudy, who began working as a piano player at Nordstrom after being laid off from his financial job, struggles to handle his grief as he attempts to continue living his life. As he becomes close to his coworker, Sasha, who has experienced a tragedy of her own, Rudy begins to unravel and winds up in a place he never could have imagined. Winston’s writing is gentle and her attention to the small details of daily life give the novel a warm, welcoming tone.
    more
  • erica
    January 1, 1970
    This is a gentle story. Sad and yet hopeful. But it’s quiet with most of the plot taking place in the characters’ thoughts. I really enjoyed the book and found it very authentic. But I can see from other reviews that it isn’t for everyone. Thanks to NetGalley and the publishers for the arc.
    more
Write a review