My Favorite Half-Night Stand
By the New York Times bestselling author who “hilariously depicts modern dating” (Us Weekly), My Favorite Half-Night Stand is a laugh-out-loud romp through online dating and its many, many fails.Millie Morris has always been one of the guys. A UC Santa Barbara professor, she’s a female-serial-killer expert who’s quick with a deflection joke and terrible at getting personal. And she, just like her four best guy friends and fellow professors, is perma-single.So when a routine university function turns into a black tie gala, Mille and her circle make a pact that they’ll join an online dating service to find plus-ones for the event. There’s only one hitch: after making the pact, Millie and one of the guys, Reid Campbell, secretly spend the sexiest half-night of their lives together, but mutually decide the friendship would be better off strictly platonic.But online dating isn’t for the faint of heart. While the guys are inundated with quality matches and potential dates, Millie’s first profile attempt garners nothing but dick pics and creepers. Enter “Catherine”—Millie’s fictional profile persona, in whose make-believe shoes she can be more vulnerable than she’s ever been in person. Soon “Catherine” and Reid strike up a digital pen-pal-ship...but Millie can’t resist temptation in real life, either. Soon, Millie will have to face her worst fear—intimacy—or risk losing her best friend, forever.Perfect for fans of Roxanne and She’s the Man, Christina Lauren’s latest romantic comedy is full of mistaken identities, hijinks, and a classic love story with a modern twist. Funny and fresh, you’ll want to swipe right on My Favorite Half-Night Stand.

My Favorite Half-Night Stand Details

TitleMy Favorite Half-Night Stand
Author
ReleaseDec 4th, 2018
PublisherGallery Books
ISBN-139781501197406
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary, Contemporary Romance, Adult

My Favorite Half-Night Stand Review

  • Melissa
    January 1, 1970
    Sometimes, the thing we want is right in front of us and we’re the last ones to see it. The writing duo notorious for their unique and fun approach is back with yet another zany twist on the dating scene. This time, through the voices of emotional mutant Millie and her best guy friend Reid, Christina Lauren explores the woes of dating in its most modern form—apps. Having zero experience myself with the pitfalls involved with online dating, My Favorite Night Stand gave this wifey—of almost thirt Sometimes, the thing we want is right in front of us and we’re the last ones to see it. The writing duo notorious for their unique and fun approach is back with yet another zany twist on the dating scene. This time, through the voices of emotional mutant Millie and her best guy friend Reid, Christina Lauren explores the woes of dating in its most modern form—apps. Having zero experience myself with the pitfalls involved with online dating, My Favorite Night Stand gave this wifey—of almost thirteen years—a tiny peek at what color the grass really is on the other side of a long-term, committed relationship. With an overarching rom-com feel to the pages, an enviable friend group—one this reader hopes will extend from standalone to full-blown series (pretty please, C&L?!)—and the friends to lovers scenario, it’s a wonder this lasted on my nightstand longer than a half-night. Believe me, it was only because there was actual adulting I had to get done that this wasn’t a true binge session. The best descriptor for this collection of words—adjective, thirteen letters, 5 syllables: U-N-P-U-T-D-O-W-N-A-B-L-E. Millie, lucky enough to win her ex’s friends in their breakup, rounds out the quintet perfectly. Like her four platonic guy friends and university colleagues—Reid, Ed, Chris and Alex—Millie is a workaholic, driven by her passion. It would probably be more accurate to call her interest in female serial killers an obsession and something best kept to herself on a first date. Although, her curiosities have landed her a criminology professorship and a book deal, so there’s that. The infamous keynote speaker booked for the upcoming Dean’s banquet prompts the friends, who usually go stag, to find dates. The best course of action they figure, creating profiles on a dating app. Initially, sort of shallow and a tad silly, Millie takes each of their write-ups and transforms them into something deep and honest. Surprising, considering her own profile is much less forthcoming. An emotional mutant in all aspects of life, Millie doesn’t do feelings or really share much of herself at all, even with her closest friends. Interestingly enough, and in defiance of most stereotypes, Reid is the complete opposite—ready and willing to share his truth. The reality check from the guys regarding her self-constructed walls, provokes Millie to create a second profile—different name and an artsy profile pic, accompanied by a much more honest write-up. And wouldn’t you know, the app matches her secondary profile with the perfect specimen of a man, otherwise known as her bestie, Reid. At this point, they’ve shared a few incredibly mind-blowing and unexpected trysts between the sheets—ahem, earning favorite half-night stand status—but still pursued dating other people. All in good fun, Millie throws out some subtle hints via direct message with her new match, figuring Reid will be tipped off. Nope—cue the catfishing scenario, which is equal parts you want Millie to fess up and Reid better figure things out already. You would think that three letter typo would have spelled over for the scenario, but in hindsight, what fun would that be?For those readers having experienced Christina Lauren’s storytelling, this is everything you’ve come to expect—a vibrant dynamic, loveable characters (main and secondary, per usual) and plenty of comedic relief. The writing duo adds yet another couple with undeniable chemistry to the plethora they’ve already gifted to the contemporary romance genre. For new readers, good luck picking a favorite. *wink**THANK YOU to Gallery for providing a review copy in exchange for my honest thoughts.
    more
  • Cristina | CristiinaReads
    January 1, 1970
    IT'S LIVE! ➳EXCLUSIVE Excerpt now up on my blog (click here) and also a PAPERBACK GIVEAWAY up on my page | Make sure to enter now and read the EXCLUSIVE EXCERPT! ➳Friends wanting much more, letting temptation and attraction get to them in the best of ways making you want more of Reid and Millie's undeniable friendship and charisma... ➳When Christina Lauren writes a new novel, there is no denying it that I will be hoping to get to read it as soon as possible. Sexy, witty, charismatic, and fun, t IT'S LIVE! ➳EXCLUSIVE Excerpt now up on my blog (click here) and also a PAPERBACK GIVEAWAY up on my page | Make sure to enter now and read the EXCLUSIVE EXCERPT! ➳Friends wanting much more, letting temptation and attraction get to them in the best of ways making you want more of Reid and Millie's undeniable friendship and charisma... ➳When Christina Lauren writes a new novel, there is no denying it that I will be hoping to get to read it as soon as possible. Sexy, witty, charismatic, and fun, that is what CLo has to bring in every single one of their novels. This one is no exception of course because everything about Millie and the boy gang is one thrilling ride that I want to be a part of. All individuals whom have been best friends for a long time, and are now professors at the same college dealing with college professor issues that are indeed a hoot to read about. After one drunken night, Reid and Millie learn that their physical attraction is one that cannot be diminished or taken away from since they are just meant to be with each other. Viewing each other as only friends, Reid and Millie slowly learn to realize that there is no way of diminishing their attraction towards each other.➳After going through different online dating profiles, Millie is stuck in a pickle when she encounters herself with a match towards Reid with a fake username that she created just for fun. As she goes along with it, she soon realizes that Reid truly does like her fake "person". Millie needs to find the honest truth as to how to continue with this fake friendship and her real friendship with Reid, in which she wishes it were more.➳This review is being kept short and sweet because this is a novel that is MEANT to be read and thoroughly enjoy to the fullest. Every twist and turn, every emotional aspect of it, every reaction towards an action is simply meant to be read because Christina Lauren will never stop disappointing their readers with their marvelous romance novels. I am indeed keeping my fingers crossed that we get more romances of the other characters that were mentioned in this novel, since I am missing how much into different series CLo has written in the past. Thank you to Gallery Books and Kristin for providing me a copy of this beauty. Everyone will enjoy and devour this witty romance!➳ARC kindly provided by Gallery Books, in exchange for an honest review...➳Follow Me On:Blog ♕ Instagram ♕ Facebook ♕ Twitter
    more
  • Meredith
    January 1, 1970
    *HAPPINESS*Emotionally compelling friends-to-lovers romance filled with snark, humor, and lots of love. Millie, a university professor whose specialization is female serial killers, is emotionally available. She is good at keeping people at bay by only sharing what’s on the surface. She is close friends with a group of guys: Reid, Ed, and Chris. Although these men are her closest friends, they don’t know much about her. Millie is closest to Reid and after a drunken night, they have sex. They dec *HAPPINESS*Emotionally compelling friends-to-lovers romance filled with snark, humor, and lots of love. Millie, a university professor whose specialization is female serial killers, is emotionally available. She is good at keeping people at bay by only sharing what’s on the surface. She is close friends with a group of guys: Reid, Ed, and Chris. Although these men are her closest friends, they don’t know much about her. Millie is closest to Reid and after a drunken night, they have sex. They decide they are better off friends and try their best to go back to “normal.” Except they both have feelings for one another and don’t know how to navigate a romance without putting their friendship at risk.Needing dates for a commencement ball, the four friends try a dating app. Reid is matched with his ideal girl, except that Reid doesn’t know the girl who has caught his attention is his best friend, Millie as Millie made an account using her middle name, Catherine. This, of course, leads to some drama and pain, but also lots of laughter and love.I really felt for MIllie’s character. Christina Lauren does a great job of building her walls and then gradually taking them down. Her intelligence shines through in her witty remarks and banter. Once she lets her emotions out and the reader gets to know the real Millie, it’s hard not to root for her. Millie and Reid have great chemistry and their characters complement one another.I liked the style of My Favorite Half-Night Stand. The narrative is told from Millie and Reid’s POV’s, along with some group text chats and dating app messages. Not only did I get a feel for the dynamics of Millie and Reid’s relationship, I also got to see how the group worked as friends. I really enjoyed their energy and loved the ways they played off of each other.The plot is a bit predictable, but the quirky loveable characters and the writing make up for it! I was surprised I got so invested in these two! This is an easy, light read that left me feeling happy! I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley and Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Larry H
    January 1, 1970
    It's crazy...less than a year ago, I had never heard of Christina Lauren or read any of their books. Last November I read Autoboyography and fell madly in love with it (see my review). Earlier this year I read Love and Other Words (see my review), just to see if my infatuation with them was a fluke. (Spoiler alert: it wasn't.)About two weeks ago I read their latest book, Josh and Hazel's Guide to Not Dating (see my review), and had visions of pacing myself until December, when their newest book It's crazy...less than a year ago, I had never heard of Christina Lauren or read any of their books. Last November I read Autoboyography and fell madly in love with it (see my review). Earlier this year I read Love and Other Words (see my review), just to see if my infatuation with them was a fluke. (Spoiler alert: it wasn't.)About two weeks ago I read their latest book, Josh and Hazel's Guide to Not Dating (see my review), and had visions of pacing myself until December, when their newest book was due to be released. But when I saw My Favorite Half-Night Stand available on NetGalley, you bet I pounced, and I was thrilled to be approved nearly instantaneously. And wouldn't you know it? Once again, the duo has struck gold, capturing my heart with another book...and I guess lengthening my wait for the next one. Damn.The only woman in her group of best friends, Millie Morris is truly one of the guys. She and all of her friends are super-smart professors; her specialty just happens to be serial killers—female serial killers, in fact. Millie can drink her guy friends under the table, throw multiple double entendres into a sentence without blinking, and is more than happy to play video games and stuff her face alongside her friends any night of the week.Of all of her guy friends, Millie is probably closest to neuroscientist Reid Campbell. They've always had that half-flirty, half-brother-and-sister thing down pat, and they both feel happiest in each other's company. So it's almost no surprise when a night of celebratory drinking ends up with the two of them in bed, enjoying a few hot rounds of sex before agreeing they're better off keeping their relationship platonic—and keeping their wild half-night stand a secret from the rest of the guys.When a university event becomes a black-tie gala, all five of them are determined to find dates. Millie and the guys agree to try an online dating site, but as is typical with their friendship, Millie winds up creating all of her friends' profiles, yet draws a blank when she goes to write her own. Opening up has never been easy for her, so while her friends start to find potential matches, she mostly hears from creeps sending dick pics or inquiring about her bra size.After getting ribbed by the guys for her failure, she decides to create a second profile, yet for this one she calls herself "Catherine." The very act of creating a fictional persona is freeing for Millie, she can suddenly be more playful, more emotionally open, more honest than she can be in real life. When she and Reid "match" online, she tries to provide enough clues so he will realize it's her, but at the same time, she encourages their online conversations until they grow deeper.The more Millie (as Catherine) corresponds with Reid, the more interested he becomes, yet at the same time, Reid is trying to figure out what Millie wants from their real-life relationship. But for some reason, Millie can't open up and be vulnerable with Reid the way she can as Catherine. She wants Reid for real but she can't give him everything he wants, yet she knows there's only a matter of time before her dishonesty destroys their friendship for good."Does it matter if you do the wrong thing for the right reason?"My Favorite Half-Night Stand is a fun, sexy, emotional, thought-provoking look at male-female friendships and how hard it can be to allow yourself to be totally vulnerable with someone you care about. I loved the way Lauren twisted the gender roles in this book, yet the characters' actions and emotions seemed totally true to who they are. I was totally invested in this story from start to finish, and I wished I could hang out with this group of friends, because they seemed like a lot of fun!As with most of the other books of theirs I've read so far, there's nothing particularly surprising or earth-shattering in this book, but I loved it all the same. I wanted to know what was going to happen to these characters. I wanted to root for them and sometimes I wanted to shake some sense into them. There are some big issues at play here, as well as some genuinely loving friendships and some hot sex to boot.The more I read of Lauren's books, the more I love them. They're just tremendously enjoyable reads that hit all of my emotions but don't manipulate them too badly. Pick one up and hopefully you'll become a fan, too! (Oh, and please don't make me wait too long for your next book!)NetGalley and Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books provided me an advance copy of the book in exchange for an unbiased review. Thanks for making this available! See all of my reviews at itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blogspot.com, or check out my list of the best books I read in 2017 at https://itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blogspot.com/2018/01/the-best-books-i-read-in-2017.html.
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    5 Sweet, Sassy and Quirky Stars for this Uber Funny Rom Com by Christina Lauren!What happens when “meet” your best friend on a dating site and he doesn’t actually know it’s you and you fall for each other? Can your relationship ever become the “real thing?”Millie is in her late thirties and is an Associate Professor at UC Santa Barbara. Her four best guy friends, Reid, Ed, Alex and Chris also work at the University and they are all single. Their relationship is the bomb. They hang out several ti 5 Sweet, Sassy and Quirky Stars for this Uber Funny Rom Com by Christina Lauren!What happens when “meet” your best friend on a dating site and he doesn’t actually know it’s you and you fall for each other? Can your relationship ever become the “real thing?”Millie is in her late thirties and is an Associate Professor at UC Santa Barbara. Her four best guy friends, Reid, Ed, Alex and Chris also work at the University and they are all single. Their relationship is the bomb. They hang out several times a week, play board games, make dinner together and text back and forth constantly. Their messages are hysterical. Out of all of them, Millie is closest to Reid. They are two peas in a pod, besties. Fun, flirty and fabulous. After a drunken night of playing monopoly - the two hook up - it’s just that all of a sudden she can’t help but notice how hot he is, his arms, his shoulders and yeah, his washboard stomach. How could she not have noticed this before? Reid has always thought Millie was beautiful, the idea of getting with her has just never occurred to him, not until she gave him that look however.. Once it happens, they know it can’t happen again and somehow, just like that, everything goes back to normal. When an upcoming Gala is scheduled where Obama is going to be the guest speaker, all of them decide to go on an online dating website to find dates. Millie, being the sarcastic, funny and witty one, writes their profiles. Since her real profile isn’t as successful as the rest, she creates a fake one for herself and wouldn’t you know it, Reid takes the bait!Of course, complications ensue! How fun! “My Favorite Half Night Stand” is an endearing, comical, lovable romantic comedy. Millie is an adorable, brilliant, cheeky and sarcastic gal who steals your heart and Reid is honest and refreshing and is an all around good guy! I loved every single character, including the guys who were the ultimate best friends. This rom com was realistic and I loved that - it was not overly sappy or schmoopy and I never once had to cover my eyes (LOL)! This is a novel that I highly recommend! I have now read two Christina Lauren books (“Josh and Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating” being the first), and I can’t wait to read more - as they are light, fun and are all around great reads!Thank you to all of my GR friends who have provided such fabulous reviews for this and who recommend reads like this all of the time, one in particular: Melissa, you rock my friend!This was a buddy read with Kaceey! We had such a great time reading this! We laughed a lot and we basically tore through it on a Sunday afternoon - it was a fabulous end to a weekend! Thanks for an awesome read Kaceey, I’m so happy that you are starting to branch out! :)Thank you to NetGalley, Gallery, Threshold Pocket Books and Christina Lauren for an ARC of this novel in exchange for an honest review. Published on NetGalley, Goodreads, Twitter and Instagram on 11.14.18.
    more
  • Melanie
    January 1, 1970
    ARC provided by the publisher via Gallery Books in exchange for an honest review. “I wonder whether I’m single not because I haven’t met the right person yet, but because I’m not the right person yet.” Okay, at this point I know I sound like a broken record, but Christina Lauren is such a hit or miss author for me. And I honestly feel like their releases alternate between me loving and me feeling “meh” about. Sadly, My Favorite Half-Night Stand ended up being a story that was very “meh” to me. ARC provided by the publisher via Gallery Books in exchange for an honest review. “I wonder whether I’m single not because I haven’t met the right person yet, but because I’m not the right person yet.” Okay, at this point I know I sound like a broken record, but Christina Lauren is such a hit or miss author for me. And I honestly feel like their releases alternate between me loving and me feeling “meh” about. Sadly, My Favorite Half-Night Stand ended up being a story that was very “meh” to me. It wasn’t believable, I was never really invested, and never in a million years would I want to date the main character. So, the basic premise of this book is that there is a close-knit group of friends who all work sort of together. But they constantly hang out outside of the workplace, and they really are their own little found family. Oh, and they are all supposed to be super smart and super unlucky with dating. Yeah, it gave me Big Bang Theory vibes which is never a good sign. But anyways, they all need dates to this big event (which doesn’t even happen in the book, by the way) so they all download a dating app. And this book does have a lot of multimedia, because we get to see these friends text and be in group chats with one another. But I will say, these people aren’t that much older than me, and really have a hard time understand basic internet lingo when they talk to each other. Real talk, my grandma memes better than these thirty-year-olds. But anyway, I should tell you all about the group of friends. “…no matter how objectively pretty she is, Millie Morris has always been off-limits. But mostly I think she’s been off-limits because she’s never shown any particular interest in any of us.” Basically, Millie helps all four dudes with their dating profiles. Including Reid, the guy who she considers her best friend, but who she slept with at the very beginning of this book. And basically, the guys don’t think that Millie’s profile is up to snuff, even though she literally wrote theirs for them. So, she makes another one, that’s more edgy and sexy or whatever, and she gets matched with Reid. And sends him something that she feels like will make it obvious that it is her, you know, instead of just telling him, and she basically catfishes him for the entirety of the book. And yikes, it was not enjoyable to read. Millie’s actions are read apologetically because she has had a hard home-life growing up, and has essentially run away from it. She doesn’t talk to the guys about her past, or what is going on back home, but she feels like she can be open and honest with Reid while pretending to be this other woman. Which in and of itself is gross, but then later in the book, she actually reads what he has written to her aloud to other people. It is so gross, and I honestly disliked Millie throughout this entire book. Therefore, it was really hard for me to root for this relationship, because Reid deserved a hell of a lot better. Overall, this just wasn’t for me. Which is actually funny, because Reid and I have similar jobs, which I was so damn hyped about when I first started this one. Sadly, that was the only thing I ended up being hyped about. And I’m so bitter that we didn’t get to see Obama in this, after this party announcement that was the reason the entire book premise started! Also, catfishing is never cool, but especially to your best friend and someone you’re having sex with. I will say that most of my friends who have also received ARCs of this one, have really loved it. So, maybe take this review with a grain of salt, but I just really didn’t like it. But I hope if you pick it up that you will enjoy it more than me! Happy reading! Blog | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Youtube | Twitch The quotes above were taken from an ARC and are subject to change upon publication.Content and trigger warnings for catfishing, loss of a loved one in the past, talk of cancer, diagnosis of Parkinson’s disease, and some questionable comments about people’s physical appearance.
    more
  • Kaceey - Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    If you’re looking for a light, funny and engaging read, then look no further!This book reads like a favorite chick-flick. (I hope there’s a movie in the making!). I spent half my time envisioning every scene, trying to cast the characters! (Renee Zellweger, Amy Adams or Anna Kendrick?) Ha! Maybe I missed my calling and should have been a casting director!Who says friends of the opposite sex can’t stay “just friends?”So what happens if maybe there’s moment of weakness? Just a slip one night...or If you’re looking for a light, funny and engaging read, then look no further!This book reads like a favorite chick-flick. (I hope there’s a movie in the making!). I spent half my time envisioning every scene, trying to cast the characters! (Renee Zellweger, Amy Adams or Anna Kendrick?) Ha! Maybe I missed my calling and should have been a casting director!Who says friends of the opposite sex can’t stay “just friends?”So what happens if maybe there’s moment of weakness? Just a slip one night...or should I say a half night? Can you go back to being just friends?The laugh-out-loud antics are plentiful as Millie, and her group of academic friends dip their toes into the dating world through an online dating app.What if everything you’ve been looking for is right there in front of you? Would you even recognize it? Would you take the chance and risk it all?This was such a fun and refreshing read. It may be billed as a romance but don’t let that turn you away. It‘s just an all-around feel good book guaranteed to leave you with a smile on your face and maybe a tear in your eye. So grab your popcorn and settle in! I heartily recommend.This was a super fun buddy read with Susanne that left both of us smiling ear to ear and looking for our next Rom-Com read!Thank you to NetGalley, Gallery,Threshold,Pocket Books and Christina Lauren for an ARC to read in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    Have you ever stumbled upon an author who is so dependable that you can reach for their books when you're needing a certain "something" in your reading? Well, obviously Christina Lauren is a writing duo, but you get the drift... Recently, I'd hit a bit of a snag in my reading; they weren't bad books per se, but after giving a 3 star rating to 5 books in a row (plus one book I simply couldn't finish) I was beginning to worry that something was wrong with me. Turns out, I'd just hit a bump in the Have you ever stumbled upon an author who is so dependable that you can reach for their books when you're needing a certain "something" in your reading? Well, obviously Christina Lauren is a writing duo, but you get the drift... Recently, I'd hit a bit of a snag in my reading; they weren't bad books per se, but after giving a 3 star rating to 5 books in a row (plus one book I simply couldn't finish) I was beginning to worry that something was wrong with me. Turns out, I'd just hit a bump in the road, because a contemporary romance from CL still gives me a fit of giggles with a side of gushy romance that hits you right in the feels. Reading the synopsis for My Favorite Half-Night Stand, you can probably guess that this is a friends-to-lovers romance, and you'd also probably guess that its fairly predictable. You would be right on both counts, but please do not let the fact that you have already guessed the outcome hinder you from giving this a try. MFHNS is one of those books that you pick up due to its predictability, the kind that brings comfort and stability in a scary, unpredictable world. It's no surprise that I chose to pick this up during midterm election week; while congressmen and women were duking it out on tv, I was able to escape for a bit into this fun, bubbly tale and ease some of my anxiety back into a reasonably contained compartment. I cannot emphasize how perfect a time it was to read this!The format followed traditional CL narrative, meaning we had alternating POV chapters from our main characters, Millie and Reid. As someone who is completely unfamiliar with the world of online dating, it was fun to get a peek behind the terrifying and, mostly hilarious, curtain of meeting romantic interests via the internet. Each character even had their own avatar included in the portions featuring online chats, so it was fun to see if the images of each person matched what was included in the book. If you're looking for a fun, flirty, feel good novel (with a few touching father/daughter moments thrown in as well), you should definitely add My Favorite Half-Night Stand to your winter TBR. This would be the perfect book to read around the holidays; its cozy nature pairs well with a roaring fire, a cup of hot chocolate, and a pair of fluffy socks. *I received a copy for review via the publisher.
    more
  • Norma * Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    Hilarious, short and sweet!I don’t know whatever I was thinking in taking so long to read a book by Christina Lauren. I will definitely be filling up my TBR with more books from this highly entertaining writing duo. I absolutely adored MY FAVORITE HALF-NIGHT STAND by CHRISTINA LAUREN and the snarky humour had me literally laughing-out-loud! Not too many romantic comedy books will actually bring out that type of reaction from me but this one definitely made me chuckle out loud. I pretty much had Hilarious, short and sweet!I don’t know whatever I was thinking in taking so long to read a book by Christina Lauren. I will definitely be filling up my TBR with more books from this highly entertaining writing duo. I absolutely adored MY FAVORITE HALF-NIGHT STAND by CHRISTINA LAUREN and the snarky humour had me literally laughing-out-loud! Not too many romantic comedy books will actually bring out that type of reaction from me but this one definitely made me chuckle out loud. I pretty much had that loving contented feeling throughout this whole book putting a huge smile on my face. CHRISTINA LAUREN delivers a well-written, fun, light and enjoyable read here that totally sucked me right into the storyline with its premise of online dating. I was so emotionally invested and had so much fun with these characters and their love story which kept me highly entertained swiping those pages at lightning speed to reach the conclusion. This classic love story was such a welcoming and refreshing change that I didn’t even care if it was somewhat predictable or not. I just wanted to read and fall in love with every aspect of this storyline right along with the characters which I most definitely did. Publishing Date: December 4, 2018 Norma’s Stats:Cover: That bright, fun, intriguing, and welcoming cover definitely caught my eye and is an extremely fitting representation to storyline. Title: Intriguing and fits the storyline extremely well.Writing/Prose: Well-written, engaging, sharp, amusing and absorbing. Plot: Engrossing, interesting, compulsive, witty, comical, fast-paced, and entertaining.Ending: A swoon-worthy ending that left me feeling completely satisfied and extremely happy. Overall: Would highly recommend to anyone that is looking for a feel-good, humorous, quick and easy read that is pure enjoyment!Thank you so much to Simon & Schuster Canada for the opportunity to read an advance reading copy of this novel. It was a perfect and fun escape!Review can also be found on our Two Sisters Lost in a Coulee Reading book blog:https://twosisterslostinacoulee.com/
    more
  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader
    January 1, 1970
    5 perfect stars! Who knew I could love a romance novel this much! ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ I’m not the typical romance reader, but I have to say, some of the trademarks of the genre are present in this book in spades and made for the most rewarding reading experience. Millie is a young professor at UC Santa Barbara, and her group of friends are all male professors. They have a wonderful social life together, but each is single and looking for a date to an upcoming event at the university, so they decide to try 5 perfect stars! Who knew I could love a romance novel this much! ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ I’m not the typical romance reader, but I have to say, some of the trademarks of the genre are present in this book in spades and made for the most rewarding reading experience. Millie is a young professor at UC Santa Barbara, and her group of friends are all male professors. They have a wonderful social life together, but each is single and looking for a date to an upcoming event at the university, so they decide to try their hands at online dating. They create accounts with the same dating app and keep each other updated on their matches and the foibles of online dating. Things are going as planned; however, Millie and Reid, one of the guy friends, spend the night together, and not only plan to keep it a secret from the rest of the group, they also promise to keep their friendship strictly platonic from then on. There’s much more to the story, but just know Millie, under a pseudonym, and Reid end up matching on the app and practically fall for each other through their messages. Will the pair end up together, will they stay friends, or will their friendship fall apart?Christina Lauren is a dynamic writing duo. They write silly banter amongst the friends that made me laugh and smile, and their characters are charmers. I loved each of them for different reasons, and as one of my good friends said, I’d love to see a follow-up for this friend group. There’s more story to tell here! Millie is guarded, and it is understandable due to a tremendous loss in her life. Will she ever be able to let herself go and open up? Reid has a sensitive side that I found really alluring, and with that comes some hurt when he feels manipulated by the group. Will he be able to forgive? So many great dynamics, so much true friendship, so much love. If you are like me, and not the typical romance reader, don’t be thrown by the genre or the title. My Favorite Half-Night Stand is a stunning, witty story about friendship and letting yourself go to fall in love. Thanks to Gallery Books for the complimentary ARC. All opinions are my own. My reviews can also be found on my blog: www.jennifertarheelreader.com
    more
  • Christy
    January 1, 1970
    4 stars!! Christina Lauren are go to authors for me when I want to a fun and entertaining reading experience. They wrote my favorite book of the year (Josh & Hazel) so when this landed on my kindle, I jumped right in. Though this didn’t hit the same love buttons as J&H, I still really loved it and had loads of fun while reading! Millie Morris is a professor who is fascinated by female serial killers. She hasn’t been in a relationship in a while, but she has 4 best friends who are all me 4 stars!! Christina Lauren are go to authors for me when I want to a fun and entertaining reading experience. They wrote my favorite book of the year (Josh & Hazel) so when this landed on my kindle, I jumped right in. Though this didn’t hit the same love buttons as J&H, I still really loved it and had loads of fun while reading! 

Millie Morris is a professor who is fascinated by female serial killers. She hasn’t been in a relationship in a while, but she has 4 best friends who are all men. When something for work comes up and they all need dates, online dating gets brought up. Oh the shenanigans that this brings! “There’s an entire language involved in these sorts of things.” “We have six degrees between the four of us.” Reid looks back down to his lunch. “I think we can keep up.” Chris leans in toward Ed. “What kind of language?” “Why do I already know this is going to be like teaching my mom to use the DVR?”“At some point, if we kept going the way we were going, we’d all be seventy and doing crosswords together in Chris’s backyard.” “I mean, that doesn’t sound completely terrible,” I say. 
I laughed out loud through so much of this! All of Millie’s friends have something about them that make them endearing. She’s close to them all, but there is Reid who is just a little more special. Millie and Reid have a connection and attraction, but the thought of ruining their friendship makes them pause. So they continue with the online dating. Things get complicated from there. I’ll let you figure out the little twists on your own, but I was glued to this one! Millie is a fun character, and I loved all the boys. Seriously, there wasn’t anyone I didn’t love in this book. My Favorite Half-Night Stand is charming, fun, sexy, witty and lovable. If you are a fan of rom-coms, pick this one up. And for the love of all things holy, if you haven’t read Josh and Hazel’s Guide to not Dating drop everything and read it now!
    more
  • Debra
    January 1, 1970
    My favorite thing about this book is the quirky, witty, likable and intelligent characters!Millie Morris is just one of the guys. She is a UC Santa Barbra professor who hangs with her group of male professor friends: Reid (her best friend), Ed, Alex and Chris. She is funny, intelligent yet emotionally guarded and doesn't like to reveal too much about herself. When their university decides to host a black-tie event, the group of friends decide that they need to find dates and begin by signing up My favorite thing about this book is the quirky, witty, likable and intelligent characters!Millie Morris is just one of the guys. She is a UC Santa Barbra professor who hangs with her group of male professor friends: Reid (her best friend), Ed, Alex and Chris. She is funny, intelligent yet emotionally guarded and doesn't like to reveal too much about herself. When their university decides to host a black-tie event, the group of friends decide that they need to find dates and begin by signing up to an online dating site. The guys in the group need help with their profiles which Millie happily writes for them. The profiles she writes for them are hits with the guys, she has captured their personalities and included their areas of interest. During all of this, Millie and Reid share a night (ahem * a half night) of passion but decide to stay friends and not become romantically involved. When Millie does her own limited and non-personal profile, the men in her group declare that it sucks and after receiving some dick pics, she decides to create another secret profile using her middle name where she will share and divulge information about herself. Things become interesting when the computer matches “Catherine” (Millie’s secret profile) and Reid! oops as in a big OOPS. Drama, angst, longing and secrets take center stage. The characters live in the modern digital age, so it was fun to read not only their chats, but the online dating messages as well. The group of friends is cohesive and have a lot of fun together. I enjoyed their chats and found them to be clever and showcased each character sense of humor and intellect. The book is also told through Millie and Reid's POV which helps the reader get to know each character even more, but we also root for them. When I wasn't rooting for them, I was wishing I could shake each of them! The writing duo of Christina Lauren have the gift of creating fun, witty and interesting characters that are instantly likable and ones we want to root for. There is angst, there is love, there is laughter and there are revelations.I found this book to be a fun fast read. It was no surprise how the book ended, but gosh, was it fun watching the characters get there. This book did not disappoint and succeeded in not only entertaining me but causing me to want to binge read the rest of these Authors books! Another HUGE plus for me was that the ending did not feel rushed. My biggest complaint with any books in the romance genre is the rushed endings. The ending in this book felt natural and not rushed in any way. The pacing was spot on!Thank you to Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books and NetGalley who provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. The thoughts and opinions in this review are my own.
    more
  • Patty Belongs To Kellan~Jesse~Lautner~Miller~Jack~Racer~Rafe~Liam~Prince Nicholas~Hayes~Simon~Gianluca & Archer
    January 1, 1970
    *****4.5 STARS*****{ARC Generously Provided by Author}Postsex, I feel like a well-used glove, a warm blanket, a body pillow. Soft and warm and sated. But inside, somewhere deeper, I’m a knot of angst. I want Millie. I think I’m falling in love with her. And she just does not see me that way at all.I honestly can’t get enough of Christina Lauren’s writing. They are one of the greatest collaborative duos in the romance genre today. I fell in love with this super funny, sexy and heartbreakingly ang *****4.5 STARS*****{ARC Generously Provided by Author}Postsex, I feel like a well-used glove, a warm blanket, a body pillow. Soft and warm and sated. But inside, somewhere deeper, I’m a knot of angst. I want Millie. I think I’m falling in love with her. And she just does not see me that way at all.I honestly can’t get enough of Christina Lauren’s writing. They are one of the greatest collaborative duos in the romance genre today. I fell in love with this super funny, sexy and heartbreakingly angsty ”friends-to-lovers” story. The supporting characters are terrific and endearing in their own super quirky ways. I’m not going to deny that it was Reid who stole my heart from the beginning. He comes in at a very close second behind Will Sumner from ”Beautiful Player”. Reid and Millie’s story felt a little reminiscent of Will and Hanna’s.”MY FAVORITE HALF-NIGHT STAND” is about two besties who have the greatest friendship but underneath the layers there exists a deeply rooted attraction. Neither seems to be self-aware enough to figure out what is developing right in front of their very eyes. The two decide to join an online dating service with three of their other friends, in hopes of landing a date for an upcoming gala event for work. But somehow during the attempt of finding love online, Reid and Millie end up having one passionate night of steamy sex together. The two chalk it up to a one time deal because they’re not willing to risk the friendship, but then there’s an added twist, when Millie creates a ”fake” account on the dating site and Reid ends up being a 98% match with her.They end up carrying on with an online connection via emails but Millie never reveals her true identity to Reid. Her online “self” is not necessarily a lie. It’s the only time she is REAL with Reid. She lets him in on all her fears and sorrows. Things she never lets anyone see in her everyday life. Life has been hard on her from early childhood and her only coping mechanism was to bury her feelings and to keep silent. Reid is torn because he is becoming aware that he’s falling for Millie, but she’s emotionally closed off, and he knows there’s no chance for their relationship to survive if she is unable to trust him and let him in all the way. Then there’s "Catherine", whom he’s never met in person yet he feels a true connection to, but somehow it feels like he’s being unfaithful to Millie.Millie struggles with her feelings for Reid. There were many times, I wanted to shake the two of them. For two highly intelligent people, they were beyond dense. That is what made this story so painfully angsty. You keep hoping that they’ll wake up and fight for what’s been right in front of them for so long and then it gets so incredibly painful when things blow up and you know that it’s coming because…how could it not??!!Here are my overall ratings:Hero: 5Heroine: 4Plot: 5Angst: 5Steam: 4Chemistry Between Hero & Heroine: 5MY FAVORITE HALF-NIGHT STAND releases on December 4th! This is a terrific ”friends-to-lovers” romance! One that should not be missed!!kindle: https://amzn.to/2xQg3Y7B&N: http://bit.ly/2QqS75WiBook: https://apple.co/2Qj5dBWTarget: http://bit.ly/2QkJlGsKobo: http://bit.ly/2QjOf6zGoogle Play: http://bit.ly/2QmNM3uThe Ripped Bodice: http://bit.ly/2Qj5HIg
    more
  • Berit☀️✨
    January 1, 1970
    BOOM!Christina Lauren did it again!!!I’ve read three books from this writing duo this year, and all three got a huge five stars from me! Christina Lauren has a way of creating the most wonderful and lovable characters that you just cannot get enough of... layer that with humor and exceptional dialogue/banter and then top it off with romance, and how can anyone resist? Seriously, I see most of my thriller loving I don’t read romance friends giving this book 5 stars! I think Christina Lauren is go BOOM!Christina Lauren did it again!!!I’ve read three books from this writing duo this year, and all three got a huge five stars from me! Christina Lauren has a way of creating the most wonderful and lovable characters that you just cannot get enough of... layer that with humor and exceptional dialogue/banter and then top it off with romance, and how can anyone resist? Seriously, I see most of my thriller loving I don’t read romance friends giving this book 5 stars! I think Christina Lauren is going to turn everyone into a romance reader... they really have a gift for creating a story that almost everyone can relate to, a story that makes you feel good and puts a big smile on your face!This is a delightful friends to lovers romance, my favorite trope! Millie is the only girl in a close group of friends, all professors at UCSB.... they all work hard, play hard, and party hard, but none of them have been terribly successful in the relationship department.... with an impending event where they need to take a date the group decides to signed up for an online dating site.... millie is close to all the guys but she is closest of all to Reid... so what’s going to happen after they have one night of friends with benefits, one half night stand? To top that off after their indiscretion “Catherine” Millie’s alter ego on the dating site is a 98% match with Reid.... so can best friends become lovers?Or maybe the better question is can Milly open herself up enough to be loved?Love Milly I loved her sass and her sarcasm and her quiet strength... but in a rare turn of events I related to Reid more than Millie... he was emotional an open and really wanted someone to share themselves completely with him, I could see why Millie would drive him a bit crazy, because she would drive me crazy too! The rest of the gang Kris, Ed, and Alex were all fantastic characters and I am hoping that this is not the last time we see these characters, I would love a HEA in each of their futures! And my review would not be complete if I did not give a shout out to Reid’s fantastic parents! Wow there were just so many amazing characters in this book and so much going on, I just absolutely loved it! Please do yourself a favor and read this!Absolutely recommend to anyone with a heartbeat!💗*** many thanks to Gallery for my copy of this most amazing book ***
    more
  • Carol (Bookaria)
    January 1, 1970
    This was a light-hearted rom-com. Millie and her four male colleagues (and friends) need to find dates for a work event, so they sign up to a dating website. When Millie creates a profile under a different name and and uses a mysterious photo, she gets matched with her best friend Reid.When Millie and Reid start communicating through the dating website they click immediately and have the best conversations but Reid has no idea he’s been chatting with Millie.Outside the website, they’re attracted This was a light-hearted rom-com. Millie and her four male colleagues (and friends) need to find dates for a work event, so they sign up to a dating website. When Millie creates a profile under a different name and and uses a mysterious photo, she gets matched with her best friend Reid.When Millie and Reid start communicating through the dating website they click immediately and have the best conversations but Reid has no idea he’s been chatting with Millie.Outside the website, they’re attracted to each other but factors are preventing these two from throwing themselves into a relationship.I liked the humorous dialogue in the book, there’s some back and forth banter that’s entertaining. My favorite sections were the group texts, excellent dynamic. This book would make a great, fun, movie adaptation.Overall, I enjoyed it and recommend it to readers of romantic and contemporary fiction.Received ARC from the publisher via Netgalley* I read this book with the Traveling Sisters. Our discussions made my experience more enriching and interesting*
    more
  • Melisa
    January 1, 1970
    A very very high 4 stars! Have you ever read a book that makes you want to go and read every single last book from that author? This is my second Christina Lauren book, and I feel a binge coming on – these authors can do no wrong in my book!They have a way of writing characters that I want to be friends with – so quirky and cool and funny.  Just sign me up already!It’s another friends to lovers theme here, but with a twist – a group a friends has to find a date for an event and decide to try a d A very very high 4 stars! Have you ever read a book that makes you want to go and read every single last book from that author? This is my second Christina Lauren book, and I feel a binge coming on – these authors can do no wrong in my book!They have a way of writing characters that I want to be friends with – so quirky and cool and funny.  Just sign me up already!It’s another friends to lovers theme here, but with a twist – a group a friends has to find a date for an event and decide to try a dating app. And what ensues is part hilarity and part romance and we waste no time in getting into the nitty gritty of the story.There is sexiness and laughter, and you will run a gamut of emotions while reading this. So much goodness here!This was a @6bookbesties read and we had a great discussion. Tell me, do you think men and women can ever be just friends?Thank you to Gallery books for my advance copy. This book is available today!Be sure to check out reviews from my besties Mackenzie, Holly, Jennifer, Kendall and Berit.
    more
  • Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤
    January 1, 1970
    Live https://amzn.to/2Ee8v7g❤5 STARS ❤Omg this story is everything, it was emotional and intense .I loved every minute of it and I just wish I had more!I felt so connected to these characters and especially to Millie and I felt like I was a part of the story.Millie,Reid,Ed,Chris and Alex have an amazing relationship. The story line was fun and interesting.I laughed so much with their chat about the dating app, and their profiles!Like I said the concept of the dating app was brilliant!Millie is a Live https://amzn.to/2Ee8v7g❤5 STARS ❤Omg this story is everything, it was emotional and intense .I loved every minute of it and I just wish I had more!I felt so connected to these characters and especially to Millie and I felt like I was a part of the story.Millie,Reid,Ed,Chris and Alex have an amazing relationship. The story line was fun and interesting.I laughed so much with their chat about the dating app, and their profiles!Like I said the concept of the dating app was brilliant!Millie is an interesting heroine, some may be frustrate with her behavior but for some reason I relate with her and I find myself feeling the same as her. Reid is sweet,sexy and smart!All of them have different and original personalities.My Favorite Half-Night Stand is my new favorite book!It was captivating,quick,sweet,funny and steamy.Christina Lauren impressed me for one more time!     
    more
  • Whitney Atkinson
    January 1, 1970
    E-ARC provided by Simon & Schuster for an honest review.Coming out of Josh & Hazel's Guide to Not Dating, one of my favorite books of the year, I was convinced Christina Lauren could do no wrong. So this book was a healthy slap in the face. I really, really, really was not a fan. In fact, I think it's the first Christina Lauren book I've encountered where I didn't like the main character, and I hoped she wouldn't end up together with the love interest. This started out so promising. I LO E-ARC provided by Simon & Schuster for an honest review.Coming out of Josh & Hazel's Guide to Not Dating, one of my favorite books of the year, I was convinced Christina Lauren could do no wrong. So this book was a healthy slap in the face. I really, really, really was not a fan. In fact, I think it's the first Christina Lauren book I've encountered where I didn't like the main character, and I hoped she wouldn't end up together with the love interest. This started out so promising. I LOVED the best friends to lovers trope in the beginning. I would give this book 5 stars for the first 10 percent if it were a novella on its own. But I was quickly disappointed.I usually applaud Christina Lauren novels for having characters that are so communicative, but this was the opposite. I hate how Millie misled Reid and tried to catfish him rather than being open and honest about her feelings. This is probably my personal preference, but it’s annoying and unrelatable to me when main characters don’t like opening up about themselves, so all the drama that occurred because of that felt very preventable and exhausting. I really hated Millie for misleading Reid and causing so much drama in their friend group and making Reid look like an idiot rather than simply being honest. It was frustratingly immature, especially because Millie is 30 years old with a doctorate degree and yet couldn't even communicate the littlest details of her life.And that's another thing: this book is definitely not written for someone my age (early 20s). I wouldn’t recommend this if you’re a millennial or younger. It’s about older people with careers trying to navigate online dating apps, and it’s just SO cringy. I’m usually down for how “modern” Christina Lauren romances are, but this one is just downright embarrassing because the characters are writing bios for dating profiles to try and make themselves seem appealing and dateable, but the ones they agree on are so cringy. If I were reading those profiles, I would definitely pass on all of them. I’m sad because usually Christina Lauren books are funny and just the right about of pop culture references, but this one was just… bad. Often. And beside the tech part of the story, a lot of the dialogue was uncharacteristically cheesy in this. Again, I usually like when Christina Lauren pokes at modern references, but more often than not, I feel like they were used clunkily in this story, probably because the characters themselves were weirdly awkward. For example, at one point Reid said something like, "You should download this app" and Millie's immediate response was "I know, you mansplainer!!" and I get she was poking fun at that word and how it's come into popularity recently but it was so forced and gimmicky. And I felt like this, often.This particular comment didn’t take away from my rating of the book but still was something I got stuck on a time or two—the cast of 5 main characters in this book was diverse racially, but every single one of those people was heterosexual and looking for a partner of the opposite sex. A bit heteronormative.So I don't know if it's because Christina Lauren is publishing two books in 6 months, but this one was so much weaker than Josh & Hazel. I skim read a lot of the confrontation and drama scenes because I was so over Millie being non-confrontational and lying because she was afraid of her feelings. By the end, I understood why she behaved that way, but I much prefer seeing characters who are open and communicative instead of slogging through 200 pages of conflict that is completely preventable if characters just opened their mouths and were honest.
    more
  • Jenny••Steamy Reads Blog••
    January 1, 1970
    I adore this author duo, love reading the stories they create flawlessly. So of course I couldn’t wait to read this new release by them. If you love best friends to lovers stories this is one you don’t want to miss. Reid and Millie have been friends for a few years, inseparable, the best of friends. So their group of friends decide with an upcoming campus gala, they all need to bring a plus 1 date. This is a stretch for most of the group, when most of them don’t date, don’t get out because they I adore this author duo, love reading the stories they create flawlessly. So of course I couldn’t wait to read this new release by them. If you love best friends to lovers stories this is one you don’t want to miss. Reid and Millie have been friends for a few years, inseparable, the best of friends. So their group of friends decide with an upcoming campus gala, they all need to bring a plus 1 date. This is a stretch for most of the group, when most of them don’t date, don’t get out because they are always working, or always with each other. So what better way to find someone than signing up for a dating website. Sparks of jealously are quickly ignited and lines are crossed. How hard would it be to just be honest??Hard. When you have closed your feelings off, when you haven’t talked about your past, your problems, your fears, you name it, it’s hard. And with the threat of sharing your best friend with another woman, what steps will Millie do to stop it. Millie finds herself lying and betraying her best friend, getting herself deeper and deeper into lies. What will it cost her? And what will she lose when she admits her wrong doing but at the same time finally admits her deep love for her best friend?So my big PRO for this book, is the growth of these characters, reading about how they both change and realize the mistakes they make and change things to prevent it from ever happening again.My big CON, gimme more. Gimme more to Reid & Millie ❤️
    more
  • Mackenzie - PhDiva Books
    January 1, 1970
    If a book could just be refreshing for mind and soul, this would be it. My Favorite Half-Night Stand by writing duo Christina Lauren is funny, light-hearted, filled with loveable characters, and charming. Though I (unlike our protagonist Millie) am more of a girl’s girl than a tomboy, I ended up really embracing her ragtag group of guy friends by the end. And Millie herself I felt a bit of kindred spirit with! Add that to a truly fun love story filled with witty repartee and a few sophomoric boy If a book could just be refreshing for mind and soul, this would be it. My Favorite Half-Night Stand by writing duo Christina Lauren is funny, light-hearted, filled with loveable characters, and charming. Though I (unlike our protagonist Millie) am more of a girl’s girl than a tomboy, I ended up really embracing her ragtag group of guy friends by the end. And Millie herself I felt a bit of kindred spirit with! Add that to a truly fun love story filled with witty repartee and a few sophomoric boy jokes, and you have a recipe for a book that will just make you feel happy!See my full review on PhDiva.blog!Well let’s get it out of the way—I was destined to love this book by nature of them all being Ph.D. “nerds” working at a university. My PhDiva heart was thrilled with this setting! Whenever Millie would talk about making her book deadlines—that was too real for me. And then having her favorite spots on campus? Been there, Millie!Millie is a truly wonderful character. She is closed off—a bit of damage from her mother dying young and her father encouraging her to keep it positive when telling her sick mother about her day. After awhile, Millie learns to just keep the negative things pushed down. Now as an adult, Millie hasn’t really unlearned this tendency, and it is creating problems. She doesn’t connect as well with others as she’d like. To be Millie’s friends, you have to accept that there will always be a wall up. Millie’s growth as a character in this book was one of my favorite things about it!And then Reid… Oh Reid. My opinion on Reid changed multiple times through this book! Sometimes I couldn’t stand him, and other times I loved him so much that I wanted to dive into the pages and hug him! I don’t want to spoil anything by saying why my opinions kept changing, but I’ll say I ended firmly in the “TeamReid" camp, so he is ultimately a great character.And those steamy sex-scenes! Yowsa do these two have chemistry!!! And the genuine love—well that makes it even better, doesn’t it?Thank you to Gallery Books for our copies to review.
    more
  • destiny ♎ [howling libraries]
    January 1, 1970
    Millie Morris, a professor at UC Santa Barbara, has accepted her perma-single status and place as "one of the guys", but things get shaken up a bit when a drunken celebration ends in a "half-night stand" between herself and her colleague/best friend in the world, the handsome and charming Reid Campbell. Despite sharing a great night together, the two of them decide to stay friends, and even more, to create online dating profiles! When Millie can't find a way to be honest with her own name and p Millie Morris, a professor at UC Santa Barbara, has accepted her perma-single status and place as "one of the guys", but things get shaken up a bit when a drunken celebration ends in a "half-night stand" between herself and her colleague/best friend in the world, the handsome and charming Reid Campbell. Despite sharing a great night together, the two of them decide to stay friends, and even more, to create online dating profiles! When Millie can't find a way to be honest with her own name and picture, she creates a fake profile, but has no idea how to respond when Reid unknowingly "matches" with her and begins to fall for both the real Millie and the fake account. I am such a sucker for the friends-to-lovers trope it’s not even funny, so when I heard that the writer duo Christina Lauren was putting out this story about best-friends/colleagues turned friends-with-benefits turned lovers? I was all over it! This is only the second Christina Lauren title I’d read, the first being Autoboyography, which I enjoyed, but had high hopes that I—like many of my friends—would like their adult novels even more. “Our half-night stand?” he asks, and his smile is an adorable concoction of self-deprecating and sweet. I shake my head. Must resist the cute nerd. Luckily, my suspicions were right, because I was obsessed with this read and could not put it down once while reading it. It was one of those things where I started it right before bed one night, planning to read “just a few chapters”, and the next thing I knew, it was 5am and I was finished it. That’s when you know a book sucked you in, right? I don’t think I’ve ever been normal. Me? I was obsessed with serial killers. First of all, the writing in this is absolutely fantastic. I find that a lot of adult contemporary authors are great at writing emotions and feelings, but not amazing at the actual verbiage; that’s not an issue with this duo at all. Millie and Reid both felt like these wonderfully complex, three-dimensional characters. Also, can we talk for a second about how freaking awesome it is that Millie’s main character arc (besides her closed-off nature) is an obsession with female serial killers? Hello, can we be friends? “I only have one emotion, and it’s hunger.” Another thing Christina Lauren has going for them is that they are just so damn good at making me smile, because the story is so cute and charming and fun. If I wasn’t cheesing over the cuteness, I was cringing out of my skin from secondhand embarrassment (in a good way, if that makes sense) because some of the interactions are so perfectly awkward. Trying to be cool about banging your best friend is a lot harder than I would have anticipated. Of course, there’s also the steam factor, and while Half-Night isn’t what I would consider the most sexual adult contemporary read, it definitely has a healthy dose of steamy scenes and they’re really well written—I don’t recall ever grimacing at any phrases or thinking that anything felt corny or unrealistic, which is a pretty common issue I have with sex scenes from lesser authors.Honestly, I don’t have a single complaint about this book—great writing, fun characters, cute story, and perfect pacing.All in all, My Favorite Half-Night Stand is such a delightful and heart-warming read. Whether you like your romance stories sexy, funny, or just sweet, there’s a little bit of something for everyone here. I’d happily recommend this story to anyone who’s a fan of adult contemporary romances, but I also think it would be a great introduction to the adult contemporary genre if you’re someone who’s more accustomed to YA contemporary and is looking to branch out into an older age range!All quotes come from an advance copy and may not match the final release. Thank you so much to Gallery Books for providing me with this ARC in exchange for an honest review!
    more
  • Kendall
    January 1, 1970
    Happy pub day to this fantastic read!!!Oh my gosh.... I have officially become addicted to these authors! My Favorite Half- Night Stand was sassy, sweet, funny, and just the right amount of romance. I loved this!! I can see why so many fans are googo gaga over these duo writers! Loved the premise behind this story! You "meet" your best friend on a dating site and he doesn't it's you until you both have fallen for one another? Can their relationship ever truly become real? I especially had fun wi Happy pub day to this fantastic read!!!Oh my gosh.... I have officially become addicted to these authors! My Favorite Half- Night Stand was sassy, sweet, funny, and just the right amount of romance. I loved this!! I can see why so many fans are googo gaga over these duo writers! Loved the premise behind this story! You "meet" your best friend on a dating site and he doesn't it's you until you both have fallen for one another? Can their relationship ever truly become real? I especially had fun with this one... because I'm very familiar with online dating. I met my fiance off of it but man haha hearing some of the profile "duds".. I was thinking that happened to me!!! lol.I absolutely loved all the characters... especially Millie. Millie is a professor and hangs around her best group of guy friends Alex, Chris, Reid, and Ed. They all love to goof around, drink, party, and just be their foursome. The problem is that they've all been stuck in this rut of not dating so they all decide to take on online dating. But of course, one night Millie had too much to drink and ended up having a "half night stand" with Reid. They both are wondering what have we done? Can we still be friends with this mix haha? Things become a bit complicated when the online dating rounds begin with all four of them trying to find a date to this black-tie event for their university. Yikes ;). I absolutely loved this one! I couldn't get enough of the feels and was sad to see it end. Thank you to Melissa for pushing me towards experiencing these authors! I feel a binge coming on for all their previous books :).5 sassy stars for this one!Huge thank you to Netgalley and Gallery, Threshold Pocket Books for this arc in exchange for my honest review.Publication date: 12/4/18Published to GR: 11/15/18
    more
  • Cheri
    January 1, 1970
    This is the first book I’ve read by the author duo of Christina Hobbs and Lauren Billings, whose pen name is Christina Lauren. They have fourteen New York Times bestselling novels, and I can see why. This is written in such an easy-breezy style, toss in a little bit of love story with a few twists, and a young woman whose heart has a hard time opening up to being vulnerable. When she was eleven Millie and her younger sister Elly were told by their mother that she was sick. From that moment on, i This is the first book I’ve read by the author duo of Christina Hobbs and Lauren Billings, whose pen name is Christina Lauren. They have fourteen New York Times bestselling novels, and I can see why. This is written in such an easy-breezy style, toss in a little bit of love story with a few twists, and a young woman whose heart has a hard time opening up to being vulnerable. When she was eleven Millie and her younger sister Elly were told by their mother that she was sick. From that moment on, it seemed as if her world changed, her view of her place in the world changed, and it became imperative not to bother her with their worries, but to ”give her something else to think about.” ”So we didn’t. We told her that everything was great at school. We told her we were happy, that we loved her, that we didn’t need anything. And I kept the things I really wanted to tell her tucked away for when she was better.” ”My quieter truths weren’t bursting to get out of me: I was fine keeping them inside.” Now Millie is a professor, as are all of her friends. Her closest group of friends consists of only men, Reid, Ed, Chris and Alex, and of those it is Reid that she is closest to. Millie’s specialty is in criminology, specifically serial killers – even more specifically: female serial killers. Reid is a neuroscientist, which may not be Millie’s area of focus, but it doesn’t mean they can’t enjoy a drink or two or three together now and then. Usually with their whole group together, but then inevitably there is also time alone. Especially one night when Millie might have had slightly too much to drink and Reid drives her home. The flirty banter that began earlier that evening between Millie and Reid seems like an invitation, a challenge to see if, perhaps, there is something more to their friendship to investigate. A somewhat steamy half-night stand ensues, followed by the internal questioning of what-have-we-done? Not that they regret it, but it is probably best not to share what happened on this night. And then there is news that the university event is going to be black tie, and they all realize they need to find dates. Eventually online dating becomes the option they decide to try, and things begin to get complicated. This was sweet and fun, a little predictable, but overall a nice, light romantic comedy. Pub Date: 04 December 2018Many thanks for the ARC provided by Gallery Books - Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books
    more
  • Astrid - The Bookish Sweet Tooth
    January 1, 1970
    This was my first Christina Lauren book and these two authors made it straight to the top of my auto-read list. Everything and everyone in this story was lovable that the book felt almost a little too short which is by no means the authors' fault and only my love and enthusiasm for this wonderful friends-to-lovers novel.Millie loves her job and her small circle of four friends who consists only of the XY-chromosome variety and are all scientists. One of them is Reid, her best friend, and their r This was my first Christina Lauren book and these two authors made it straight to the top of my auto-read list. Everything and everyone in this story was lovable that the book felt almost a little too short which is by no means the authors' fault and only my love and enthusiasm for this wonderful friends-to-lovers novel.Millie loves her job and her small circle of four friends who consists only of the XY-chromosome variety and are all scientists. One of them is Reid, her best friend, and their relationship is truly amazing. The ease with which they treat one another almost could have fooled me into thinking that they are really solely platonic. But while they have a beautiful friendship, Millie keeps Reid and everyone else at arms length, so far that Reid wonders at some point if she has the emotional capacity to feel deep emotions.But one night Millie is a little tipsy and feels a little frisky so she makes her move and they end up spending, you guessed it, half a night. Apparently the underlying attraction they've felt for one another has been brewing and neither of them has acknowledged it. So how do you go back to friendship when the night you had with your best friend rocked your world? How do you keep the awkwardness out? Trying to be cool about banging your best friend is a lot harder than I would have anticipated. When the five friends need to attend a black tie function for work and don't have dates they have the glorious idea to register for an online dating platform. Millie signs up with a name none of her friends are aware of and finds herself being a 98% match with Reid. They start messaging each other, with Reid being none the wiser that he's talking to his best friend. For so long Millie has kept everything she feels inside: about her sick dad, the way she's dropped the ball with her sister. For the first time Millie can be herself, but she does it on the sly and as we all know...secrets always have a way of coming out at some point.Often times emotionally closed off characters come across a little distant, maybe even cold. Not Mllie - she has a warmth about her that I found enchanting. She is wicked smart and has a kickass sense of humor, she just bottles up her feelings. The way she explained them totally resonated with me and I think this is what made this book so special to me. I saw myself in a lot of things Millie said and did. Her loneliness, not being able to say the things that moved her...in her mind she voices things many of us aren't able to admit. I’m lonely. I’m lonely because I don’t tell people what I need or what I want, and then get hurt when they don’t figure it out on their own. Reid is dreamy and so so swoon-worthy. Ahhh he has this charming, humorous and intelligent way about him I love. There is also an innate kindness that makes him stand out. And don't get me started on his nerdiness. I LOVE a hot nerd. I adored Millie and Reid's friendship. It was easy, sweet, and strong enough to overcome mistakes made on both sides. The way he smiles up at me is the same way he always looks at me: like there is nowhere else he’d rather be. There’s no awkwardness or tentative touches. It’s just us. Their circle of friends is a hoot, totally quirky, endearing and nerdy and when they interact you can feel the love they have for each other. You can also feel a sort of reverence they all have for Millie.The graphic format of the friends' online chats is extremely well done - so hats off to whoever decided to make the book look interactive and alive!MY FAVORITE HALF-NIGHT STAND is a beautiful and enchanting study of characters and online dating with surprising depth and a little angst towards the end. I had such a ball reading about the friends' antics and Reid and Millie's path to love in this modern and crisp writing style. So as always, when I find a new author to love, I'm desperate to catch up on their other books. If you love a cute, delightful friends-to-lovers story that will have you swoon and make you think then grab this. You're welcome. “I love you, too.” He punctuates each small phrase with a kiss lower on my throat. “All of you. The silly, the quiet, the argumentative, the sarcastic, and even this side.” He kisses my shoulder. “The softer side.”
    more
  • Holly B
    January 1, 1970
    This was my first Christina Lauren book and it was definitely a witty, amusing page-turner.The story revolves around a circle of best friends with some major flirting going on between two of them and a question of whether honesty is the best policy.Millie Morris is the only female in the group that includes four platonic guys- Reid, Chris, Alex and Stephen. They are all looking for dates for a work event and come up with a group plan to sign up with an online dating service.I really enjoyed th This was my first Christina Lauren book and it was definitely a witty, amusing page-turner.The story revolves around a circle of best friends with some major flirting going on between two of them and a question of whether honesty is the best policy.Millie Morris is the only female in the group that includes four platonic guys- Reid, Chris, Alex and Stephen. They are all looking for dates for a work event and come up with a group plan to sign up with an online dating service.I really enjoyed the format with the avatars of the friends text messaging each other and the alternating point of views.  I was curious about the fake dating profile that one of the friends created and whether it would ultimately blow-up in their face or open doors to what could be their  happily ever after , but I won't tell. ( shhhh  its part of the story).If your looking for a fun romp of a story, check it out!
    more
  • Corina☞BookTwinsReviews
    January 1, 1970
    One of the things that Christina Lauren excels at is writing characters that are utterly adorable, likable and so easy to connect with. I would have given anything to be part of this group of friends. They had so much fun playing boardgames, meeting for lunches, going out for a drink or celebrating intimate birthdays. Since they were such a tight knit group, they also decided to go online dating to get themselves a date for an upcoming event - which ended in all kinds of emotional turmoil.It was One of the things that Christina Lauren excels at is writing characters that are utterly adorable, likable and so easy to connect with. I would have given anything to be part of this group of friends. They had so much fun playing boardgames, meeting for lunches, going out for a drink or celebrating intimate birthdays. Since they were such a tight knit group, they also decided to go online dating to get themselves a date for an upcoming event - which ended in all kinds of emotional turmoil.It was entertaining to see the differences between Millie's take on dating and the guys. And of course it didn't take long until 'Catherine', Millie's secret persona, complicated everything. I understood where Millie was coming from. !I also commiserated with her on why she was the way she was. lI just could have told her from the very beginning that lies never end well, and much of the heartache she went through could have been prevented. (That's were my pragmatic and logical side comes into context.)I also must mention that CL has a knack for writing incredibly charming and swoon worthy heroes. Reid, as well as Josh in JAHGOND, were characters I would have loved to call my own. I'm impressed and awed by how dreamy all of CL's heroes are, because Reid was all kinds of awesome!My Favorite Half-Night Stand was a wonderful friends to lovers novel with lots of laughter, witty and smart dialogues and a cast that I would have loved to know in RL. So, if you love the friends to lovers trope, and you love to laugh - grab this book asap!! And any lover of CL won't regret picking up My Favorite Half-Night Stand. I'm already looking forward to the next book.ARC generously provided in exchange for an honest review.✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ If you want to chat with me about books, find me on Instagram For more of my reviews:My Blog: Book Twins ReviewsFacebook Blog PageTwitterSubscribe to Blog
    more
  • Babydimps (Suzy)
    January 1, 1970
    4 fun stars! I must say, I was expecting a sort of cheesy rom-com going into this book. My Favorite Half Night Stand was definitely a rom-com, but far from cheesy. It was super fun and cute! I love books about friendships. What I wouldn’t give to have a group of friends like Millie, Reid, Chris, Alex and Ed to hangout with on the regular! Don’t get me wrong...I love my friends, but there’s just something about this fivesome that makes you kinda envious. This is my first Christina Lauren book. I 4 fun stars! I must say, I was expecting a sort of cheesy rom-com going into this book. My Favorite Half Night Stand was definitely a rom-com, but far from cheesy. It was super fun and cute! I love books about friendships. What I wouldn’t give to have a group of friends like Millie, Reid, Chris, Alex and Ed to hangout with on the regular! Don’t get me wrong...I love my friends, but there’s just something about this fivesome that makes you kinda envious. This is my first Christina Lauren book. I love the fact that these two best friends combined their first names into one name to create a writing duo. I definitely look forward to reading more from them. My Favorite Half Night Stand was enjoyable from the first page to the last. I laughed out loud quite a few times. Predictable? Of course! What rom-com isn’t? That didn’t take away from any of the fun I had reading it. It was a quick, easy read that was a nice break from my usual thrillers - especially during this time of year. I think it would make a great movie too! A Traveling Sisters group read. 😊Thank you to NetGalley, Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books and Christina Lauren for the ARC in exchange for my review.
    more
  • Heather K (dentist in my spare time)
    January 1, 1970
    I'm going to be honest here: My expectations of My Favorite Half-Night Stand were not super high going into the story. I hated Beautiful Bastard, a book that most readers love, and haven't read Christina Lauren since. And, to make matters worse, contemporary romances are my least favorite subclass of romance, and get my consistently lowest ratings. As a result, I was shocked at how much I enjoyed My Favorite Half-Night Stand .The book was funny, like really funny. I was highlighting and laughing I'm going to be honest here: My expectations of My Favorite Half-Night Stand were not super high going into the story. I hated Beautiful Bastard, a book that most readers love, and haven't read Christina Lauren since. And, to make matters worse, contemporary romances are my least favorite subclass of romance, and get my consistently lowest ratings. As a result, I was shocked at how much I enjoyed My Favorite Half-Night Stand .The book was funny, like really funny. I was highlighting and laughing out loud for so much of the story- just funny, witty banter that put a smile on my face. I wasn't expecting that. I usually feel wishy-washy about friends-to-lovers. I don't like when the emotional bond is already there prior to the story's start, but in this case, it really worked. I related to both MCs and I loved the duel POV. My Favorite Half-Night Stand was just simply a really, really good read. It made me happy, and I believed in the main couple, and, for me, that's what reading romance is all about. *Copy provided in exchange for an honest review*goodreads|instagram|twitter|blog
    more
  • Zoe
    January 1, 1970
    Amusing, smart, and adorably romantic!My Favorite Half-Night Stand is an engaging, witty, friends-to-more romance that features the spunky, intelligent Millie whose finding it harder and harder to keep her attraction for her best friend a secret, and the charming and honest Reid who may finally realize everything he’s ever wanted or needed is standing right in front of him.The writing is whimsical and crisp and uses a delightful mix of text messages, group chats, snappy dialogue, and first-perso Amusing, smart, and adorably romantic!My Favorite Half-Night Stand is an engaging, witty, friends-to-more romance that features the spunky, intelligent Millie whose finding it harder and harder to keep her attraction for her best friend a secret, and the charming and honest Reid who may finally realize everything he’s ever wanted or needed is standing right in front of him.The writing is whimsical and crisp and uses a delightful mix of text messages, group chats, snappy dialogue, and first-person narration from dual points of view. The characterization is spot on with an incredible cast of characters who are quirky, charismatic, and genuine. And the plot is an irresistible blend of shameless flirting, friendship, family, light drama, tricky situations, spirited shenanigans, awkward moments, steamy romance, and the hilarious ups and downs of online dating.I’ve always been a fan of Christina Lauren novels, and My Favorite Half-Night Stand has just become my new favourite. It’s outrageously funny, deliciously swoon-worthy and without a doubt one of the best rom-coms I’ve had the pleasure to read this year.Thank you to Simon & Schuster Canada for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Chris C - A Midlife Wife
    January 1, 1970
    Sigh... always so damn good. They just know how to write a love story. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~I absolutely love the humor of Christina Lauren. They have amazing way of creating characters that are fun and so real to life that you wish you were part of the group. This new release is a perfect example of how a friends to lovers book should be written.The story is a lot of fun. Millie is the only girl in the group and the guys tend to treat her like a guy. Except for one. Sparks are flying soon; they just Sigh... always so damn good. They just know how to write a love story. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~I absolutely love the humor of Christina Lauren. They have amazing way of creating characters that are fun and so real to life that you wish you were part of the group. This new release is a perfect example of how a friends to lovers book should be written.The story is a lot of fun. Millie is the only girl in the group and the guys tend to treat her like a guy. Except for one. Sparks are flying soon; they just can’t help themselves.Then the brilliant idea came about post on a dating app so each had a date to go to a banquet. Millie’s intro was a little plain. So she created a secondary profile and who should she be connected with but her man she is crushing on.As the story wove in and out of the friends, secret relationships, and almost lies, the authors kept me heavily attached to the story with their inventive situations, sexy hook ups, and heartbreaking lessons to learn. My heart took a beating on this one.I never tire of the amazing stories by Christina Lauren. They are completely unique in the industry; bringing us delightful contemporary romance that not only celebrate friendships and love, but they tend to teach us a lesson or two.My Favorite Half-Night Stand is a little emotional and a lot addictive. The story is definitely one I think you will fall in love with. I know I did.* copy received for review considerationfull review - https://amidlifewife.com/my-favorite-...
    more
Write a review