Watching You
Melville Heights is one of the nicest neighbourhoods in Bristol, England; home to doctors and lawyers and old-money academics. It’s not the sort of place where people are brutally murdered in their own kitchens. But it is the sort of place where everyone has a secret. And everyone is watching you.As the headmaster credited with turning around the local school, Tom Fitzwilliam is beloved by one and all—including Joey Mullen, his new neighbor, who quickly develops an intense infatuation with this thoroughly charming yet unavailable man. Joey thinks her crush is a secret, but Tom’s teenaged son Freddie—a prodigy with aspirations of becoming a spy for MI5—excels in observing people and has witnessed Joey behaving strangely around his father.One of Tom’s students, Jenna Tripp, also lives on the same street, and she’s not convinced her teacher is as squeaky clean as he seems. For one thing, he has taken a particular liking to her best friend and fellow classmate, and Jenna’s mother—whose mental health has admittedly been deteriorating in recent years—is convinced that Mr. Fitzwilliam is stalking her.Meanwhile, twenty years earlier, a schoolgirl writes in her diary, charting her doomed obsession with a handsome young English teacher named Mr. Fitzwilliam…

Watching You Details

TitleWatching You
Author
ReleaseDec 26th, 2018
PublisherAtria Books
ISBN-139781501190070
Rating
GenreMystery, Thriller, Fiction, Mystery Thriller, Suspense

Watching You Review

  • Melissa
    January 1, 1970
    A clever play on perspective, taking things out of context and assumptions—something most of us are quick to make—collide in this compulsively readable watchable storyline.The central theme of being watched or being the watcher is what elevates this novel from what I consider typical suspense to something much creepier in feel. There’s a host of participants running rampant throughout, the mystery found in deciphering which of the watchers/watched are in fact driven by dark motives.Is it the hea A clever play on perspective, taking things out of context and assumptions—something most of us are quick to make—collide in this compulsively readable watchable storyline.The central theme of being watched or being the watcher is what elevates this novel from what I consider typical suspense to something much creepier in feel. There’s a host of participants running rampant throughout, the mystery found in deciphering which of the watchers/watched are in fact driven by dark motives.Is it the headmaster, Tom Fitzwilliam, a man that garners way too much attention?Or maybe it’s his young newlywed neighbor, a woman with a crush who tends to put herself in precarious situations.Is there some modicum of truth to the nonsense the crazy mother of one of Mr. Fitzwilliam’s students is constantly spewing outside of the painted houses of Melville Heights?And what about Freddie, Mr. Fitzwilliam’s teenage son—is it possible he’s guilty of more than just watching all of his neighbors and chronicling their every move? One thing I’ve come to expect from Lisa Jewell, an oddball cast; my thoughts and feelings for said characters typically running the gamut. This time, not so much. Instead, I wallowed in neutral territory where this nosey bunch was concerned—not particularly enamored or filled with disdain—finding them just interesting enough to keep me engaged.Naturally, as the majority of suspense novels tend to, Watching You starts off with a dead body. A lifeless corpse strewn across a kitchen floor, accompanied by one piece of pivotal evidence lying in a pool of blood. Something not easily explained away by the owner, yet in hindsight, maybe too obvious? For those readers that fancy themselves part-time literary sleuths, this is one sure to keep you guessing. Lisa Jewell—and just about the entire cast—put in quite a bit of work, the goal being to throw readers off the scent. Unfortunately, I figured things out earlier than I would have hoped to. Don't worry, the answer is not blatantly obvious and in no way did figuring things out hinder my experience. In fact, of the four Jewell novels I’ve read to-date, this is the one I struggled the most to set down for any length of time. Meaning, I had to force myself to put it aside to play pretend at being a functioning adult. Oh, and did I mention the short chapters? Creepy vibe + murder plot + short chapters = reading frenzy.*Thanks to Atria for providing a review copy in exchange for my honest thoughts.
    more
  • Debra
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsWatching you is a fabulous title for this book. I grew up in a community where neighbors kept an eye out for others. They also knew your business and you knew theirs - at least you thought you did! So, what happens when a new family moves into your quiet, safe neighborhood? What is their story? What are they up to? Tom Fitzwilliam is an educator who frequently moves his family from town to town as his job involves coming into troubled schools and "fixing" them. His wife, Nicola, is a fr 4.5 starsWatching you is a fabulous title for this book. I grew up in a community where neighbors kept an eye out for others. They also knew your business and you knew theirs - at least you thought you did! So, what happens when a new family moves into your quiet, safe neighborhood? What is their story? What are they up to? Tom Fitzwilliam is an educator who frequently moves his family from town to town as his job involves coming into troubled schools and "fixing" them. His wife, Nicola, is a frequent runner and his son, Freddie, enjoys taking pictures of his neighbors and "watching" them from his room. When they move into the tight community of Melville Heights, Bristol, all eyes are on them!Joey and her husband, Alfie, recently moved in with her brother, Jack and wife, Rebecca, who reside two doors down from the Fitzwilliam family. Joey quickly develops a crush on Tom Fitzwilliam. He has confidence and swagger which intrigues both men and women. Jenna, who lives in the neighborhood, is a student at Tom's school and she is not impressed with Tom Fitzwilliam at all. He is a little too friendly with her best friend, Bess, who also has a crush on Mr. Fitzwilliam. Complicating things for Jenna is the fact that her mother is also obsessed with Mr. Fitzwilliam. So, what is Tom Fitzwilliam's story? Could the rumors about him be true? Is he the victim of vicious rumors? What is it about him that makes him so appealing to others?This book starts strong and immediately drew me in. Someone has been murdered in the beginning and the reader does not know who or the motive behind the murder. I love when I get to put on my super sleuth hat and attempt to figure out what is going on in a book. Jewell did not disappoint. She provided interesting characters - some more likable than others and presents us with information and rumors which kept me guessing and turning the pages. This book is told through various POV's and through police transcripts. This really worked for me and I was determined to figure out just whodunit and why. I found this book to be well thought out and going back to the police transcripts - I found them to be a very nice touch. Adding them was very clever and I enjoyed the book even more due to them. I did figure out the ending, but it did not hamper my enjoyment of the book at all. There are a lot of characters in this book, but I found it was easy to keep track of them. Each has his/her own purpose in this book. I enjoyed how this book looked at obsession, attraction and how our personal thoughts/emotions/perceptions shape how we think, react, and the interpretations we make based upon what we see and hear. I was captivated by the story and enjoyed how the plot unfolded at a nice pace. I found this book to be a fast read, with its revelations, twists, turns and aha moments. Thank you to Atria Books and NetGalley who provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All the thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.
    more
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    I'm between 4-4.5 STARSMy love affair with the Lisa Jewell novel goes back years, and I actually have my UK blogger friends to thank for it. Before her books really took off in the US, I received copious recommendations from Facebook groups stating that Jewell's novels had become a staple in their reading repertoire, so I hastily headed over to Book Depository and searched through her blessed backlist. I believe my first of her books was The Girls in the Garden, but I've also enjoyed I Found You I'm between 4-4.5 STARSMy love affair with the Lisa Jewell novel goes back years, and I actually have my UK blogger friends to thank for it. Before her books really took off in the US, I received copious recommendations from Facebook groups stating that Jewell's novels had become a staple in their reading repertoire, so I hastily headed over to Book Depository and searched through her blessed backlist. I believe my first of her books was The Girls in the Garden, but I've also enjoyed I Found You, And Then She Was Gone, The Third Wife, etc... Well, you get the picture. To say that this latest book was my most anticipated 2018 release would be an understatement; I would say I'm relieved that it delivered, but there was never a doubt in my mind that I would enjoy Watching YouIn typical Jewell fashion, this book begins with a bang, and questions are immediately arisen in the readers mind. A large cast of seemingly unrelated characters doing seemingly unimportant things follows, but as expected, these individuals are drawn into a sinister web of lies, trauma, and murder. The chapters alternate between various POVs (mainly Joey, Freddie, and Jenna), interspersed with police transcripts of varying interviews for the murder described in the prologue. While the first 2/3 of the book is a slow burn, it is far from boring or dull; the tension slowly ramps up to the point where I had sparks coming from my finger tips turning the pages so fast in the final countdown (err. 100 pages that is). The letter written just prior to the epilogue was a truly wonderful touch; it answered many questions I had throughout and added an emotional touch that gave credibility to a certain character's actions. As always, Lisa Jewell has provided a satisfying character study into the darker side of human nature. There are lots of twists and turns, and some that are easier to spot than others, but it is such a satisfying read. Can I humbly recommend this as a post-Christmas/holiday purchase for my North American friends? It comes out on December 26th and would be THE best use of those gift cards that you know you'll be receiving. <3*Thank you Atria Books for providing a review copy.
    more
  • Dorie - Traveling Sister :)
    January 1, 1970
    I’m very selective when it comes to phychological thrillers, I need to not only feel some kind of thrill or overall tenseness in order to like them but I also want them to be well written. I am now definitely a Lisa Jewell fan, I think I would read anything she wrote. This is the fourth book of hers that I have read and she never disappoints.O.K. the cast of characters is quite large so you should set aside enough time that you can read a large part of the book at one time. I found if I tried to I’m very selective when it comes to phychological thrillers, I need to not only feel some kind of thrill or overall tenseness in order to like them but I also want them to be well written. I am now definitely a Lisa Jewell fan, I think I would read anything she wrote. This is the fourth book of hers that I have read and she never disappoints.O.K. the cast of characters is quite large so you should set aside enough time that you can read a large part of the book at one time. I found if I tried to pick it up for 15 or 20 minutes here and there I started to forget who was doing what. So you definitely need to pay attention! I am excited to say that I did not guess the outcome of this novel, which makes me want to do a happy dance!As described in the blurb, there is a set of estates called called Melville Heights and there is lots of watching going on between these houses. Tom Fitzwiiliam is the headmaster at the local school and just about everyone seems to love him. He is positive, sensitive, good natured, great with the kids and parents and even handsome, sound too good to be true? Maybe. His wife Nicola spends a lot of time trying to keep in shape by running and going to the gym and wearing the right clothes etc. after all I told you her husband was handsome, ha! Their son Freddie is quite a very different sort of boy, he goes to a private school and likes to spend a lot of time on his computer and using his new high powered, extra special binoculars to spy on his neighbors, well at the beginning he claims he was just writing about what was happening in his neighborhood. How much does he know about the crime?Two doors down live a well to do heart surgeon and his wife. He is a busy doctor who doesn’t spend a lot of time at home, his wife Rebecca doesn’t seem to mind, she spends most of her time working on the computer, her door is seldom open. We soon find out that she is pregnant and she doesn’t seem to be particularly happy about it.Into their lives comes Tom’s sister, Joey and her new husband Alfie, you all are going to love Alfie. They have just come back from living abroad and are happy when Tom invites them to stay with them as long as they want, they sure do take advantage of that, in a big way!!Jenna Tripp lives in the lower area of the Heights her mom has been known to think that there are spies everywhere and that they are watching her and Jenna and filming them. Her reasons are confusing, you will have to read for yourself.OK that should be enough to interest you. This is the second book this month that I have read which starts at the end of the story and is then written in reverse order telling us the characters thoughts and actions leading up to the day of the crime. The other book is “A Spark of Light” by Jodi Picoult, I wonder if this is a new trend? So there is your last clue, you will know at the beginning that a crime has been committed and you are given some clues but the rest is for you to try and unravel.I really enjoyed this book and recommend it to anyone who enjoys a well written, character driven thriller. This novel will be published in December 2018. I received an ARC of this novel from the publisher through Edelweiss.
    more
  • (Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas
    January 1, 1970
    4 You Have No Idea What's REALLY Going On Behind Closed Doors Stars!Welcome to Melville Heights - an idyllic, family based, wealthy neighborhood that is the kind of place everyone wishes they could live. Except for the fact that nothing is as it seems. Behind the picturesque closed doors of these painted beauty houses lies dark, ugly and sinister secrets. The kind of secrets that inevitably make it to the light of day through MURDER!The book opens with a murder scene. We know someone was killed 4 You Have No Idea What's REALLY Going On Behind Closed Doors Stars!Welcome to Melville Heights - an idyllic, family based, wealthy neighborhood that is the kind of place everyone wishes they could live. Except for the fact that nothing is as it seems. Behind the picturesque closed doors of these painted beauty houses lies dark, ugly and sinister secrets. The kind of secrets that inevitably make it to the light of day through MURDER!The book opens with a murder scene. We know someone was killed - now we have to figure out who and why. Jewell is skilled at diverting our attention and making us question everyone. As we begin to meet the inhabitants of this community we realize the killer could literally be anyone. There is so much going on here and nothing is quite what it seems from the outside looking in.Each home and family has so much going on beyond it's surface. There were many themes touched on within this book - obsession, attraction, abuse, trust, infidelity, marriage and parenting. Jewell is certainly a master craftsman at spinning her tale into an intricately layered web. While there were some things that I was able to figure out, there were others that left me absolutely gobsmacked! I loved how perspective played such a huge part in the storyline. Everyone seemed to be watching everyone else for one reason or another. Characters see things from their own vantage points, take things out of context and make assumptions based on their own beliefs. At times these collide with another character's view and sometimes things seem to perfectly align - causing us as reader's to form and reform our own beliefs as we read. I changed my mind so many times while reading, it felt like reader whiplash!This is only my second Lisa Jewell book and each one has been an amazing reading experience. I can say with certainty that I will be reading more from her and I look forward to seeing what else she comes up with in the future.Thank you Lisa Jewell, Atria Books & NetGalley for the opportunity to review an arc of this book
    more
  • Meredith
    January 1, 1970
    Watching You is a multi-genre character-driven mystery that plays on perspective. The story opens with a murder in the exclusive enclave in Melville, Bristol. The reader only knows that someone has been killed and a red boot tassle has been found at the scene of the crime.Tom Fitzwilliam is considered to be a superstar in the world of education. Brought in to fix a school on the brink of failure, Tom has charmed both the locals and the students. Women throw themselves at him and men want to be Watching You is a multi-genre character-driven mystery that plays on perspective. The story opens with a murder in the exclusive enclave in Melville, Bristol. The reader only knows that someone has been killed and a red boot tassle has been found at the scene of the crime.Tom Fitzwilliam is considered to be a superstar in the world of education. Brought in to fix a school on the brink of failure, Tom has charmed both the locals and the students. Women throw themselves at him and men want to be him. In spite of those who admire Tom, there are those who see right through his polished veneer. They wonder if he is too close to his students? They wonder if he cheats on his wife? His own son questions whether or not his father is a good man.Alternating POVs make up the narrative:Joey, a married woman infatuated with Tom, Jenna, a student at Tom’s school, and Freddie, Tom’s son. Police interviews with various witnesses and suspects are also woven in, as well as brief POV’s from the head detective. I didn’t love the characters--Joey was a bit whiny and Freddie was an oddball. I did like Jenna's character. While I don’t always enjoy multiple POV’s, in this case, they serve a purpose as they both cast doubt and exonerate Tom.Watching You is really about perspective. What one character might see, another does not. The narratives people build from watching one another lead to discovering truths but also to great inaccuracies.What I liked about Watching You was that with every narrative shift, my perspective on Tom changed. I made up my mind about him early on, which made this even more interesting to read once the truth was revealed. I did find the pacing a bit slow in the beginning and the narrative to be a bit disconnected, but everything came together eventually. As always, Lisa Jewell changes her style from book to book so I am never really sure what to expect, which is one of the things I enjoy about reading her novels. I figured out one of the twists, but it didn’t detract from my enjoyment. Overall, I enjoyed watching these characters watch each other!I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley and Atria Books in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Holly B
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 STARS I always feel like somebody's watching me... A picturesque street in a nice neighborhood in England. Painted pastel houses with cozy surroundings. Behind closed doors, someone is watching...Tom Fitzwilliam, the headmaster at a local school is a husband, a father, and a rather flirty guy who knows he has a way with the women.Joey Mullen and her husband Alfie, have just moved in with her brother so they can get their lives sorted.  Joey is going through a bit of a crisis in her marriage, 4.5 STARS I always feel like somebody's watching me... A picturesque street in a nice neighborhood in England. Painted pastel houses with cozy surroundings. Behind closed doors, someone is watching...Tom Fitzwilliam, the headmaster at a local school is a husband, a father, and a rather flirty guy who knows he has a way with the women.Joey Mullen and her husband Alfie, have just moved in with her brother so they can get their lives sorted.  Joey is going through a bit of a crisis in her marriage, when she meets Tom and is  suddenly and unexpectedly obsessed with him.   Timing is everything, if it hadn't been him, maybe it would have been someone else?When someone is found murdered, everyone has an opinion about who is responsible and past secrets are starting to come to light.One of my favorite parts of the story is the recorded police interviews that are dispersed throughout the book, giving clues to who is suspected and where the investigation is focusing.  I kept trying to figure out Tom and figure out if he was misunderstood or just another cagey predator.I was able to figure out the first twist, but that was due to the clever hints that Jewell laid out in the previous chapters. This was an intriguing character driven mystery that had me diagnosing all the characters at every turn.The last twist comes in the last paragraph and was quite a stunner!Thanks to NG for my copy to read/review. Review will post to my blog on Monday 11/19/18
    more
  • Norma * Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    Entrancing, irresistible and compelling!WATCHING YOU by LISA JEWELL is a clever, unputdownable, and suspenseful psychological thriller novel that immediately drew me in and had me totally engrossed and interested right from the very first page. The opening scene had me so intrigued in finding out who was murdered and why that I was racing through those pages as fast as I possibly could. We the readers aren’t privy to any of that information and that is definitely the strong point of this novel. Entrancing, irresistible and compelling!WATCHING YOU by LISA JEWELL is a clever, unputdownable, and suspenseful psychological thriller novel that immediately drew me in and had me totally engrossed and interested right from the very first page. The opening scene had me so intrigued in finding out who was murdered and why that I was racing through those pages as fast as I possibly could. We the readers aren’t privy to any of that information and that is definitely the strong point of this novel. The process is a slow-burn as we get to know all the characters and their motives. Plenty of questions started swirling around in my mind and where some of those questions are answered the motive behind those actions aren’t revealed to us until the end. LISA JEWELL delivers an intriguing, character-driven, well-written and plotted story here with interesting and engaging characters that was told in multiple points of view along with police transcripts intertwined into the storyline. The police transcripts were a favorite and such an effective way for us to get a firsthand look into the investigation and pick up on some of those clues. I absolutely loved that this book created so many questions and the subtle clues are perfectly interspersed in the storyline but piecing them all together was definitely making my head spin. So I decided that I was just going to read and let the story do the job for me. And, I am so glad that I did because what transpires in the end was absolutely stunning and so totally worth it! Publishing Date: December 26, 2018Norma’s Stats:Cover: Eye-catching, intriguing, and effective! Absolutely love everything about this cover and such a fantastic representation to storyline.Title: Intriguing, suspenseful, and an absolutely perfect representation to storyline.Writing/Prose: Well-written, engaging, absorbing, captivating, and skilled.Plot: Suspenseful, fascinating, engrossing, fast-paced, held my attention fully and extremely entertaining.Ending: A twist ending that wrapped up everything perfectly! Loved it!Overall: An irresistible, intense, surprising, suspenseful, and fabulous read! Would highly recommend!Thank you so much to NetGalley, Atria Books, and Lisa Jewell for the opportunity to read an advanced copy of this book.Review can also be found on our Two Sisters Lost in a Coulee Reading book blog:https://twosisterslostinacoulee.com/
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    4 Super Creepy Stars.Lisa Jewell’s latest novel gives a different meaning to the phrase “neighborhood watch association.” In the case of “Watching You” the motive however, is obsession. It’s unhealthy, it’s unwelcome and yes, it’s salacious and I couldn’t get enough. Joey and her husband Alfie are newlyweds who recently moved in with her brother Jack and his wife Rebecca. Joey has developed an unnatural interest in their neighbor, Tom Fitzsimmons, the Headmaster at School. Tom & his wife Nic 4 Super Creepy Stars.Lisa Jewell’s latest novel gives a different meaning to the phrase “neighborhood watch association.” In the case of “Watching You” the motive however, is obsession. It’s unhealthy, it’s unwelcome and yes, it’s salacious and I couldn’t get enough. Joey and her husband Alfie are newlyweds who recently moved in with her brother Jack and his wife Rebecca. Joey has developed an unnatural interest in their neighbor, Tom Fitzsimmons, the Headmaster at School. Tom & his wife Nicola’s teenage son, Freddie, takes photos of all the neighbors and the girls in school which he keeps for “informational purposes.” Jenna’s best friend Bess, has a mad crush on Tom. Jenna’s mum is fixated on Tom too.. but she has her reasons - and is convinced that he’s up to something. Could it be? Tom’s past sure seems a bit shady, but then he might just be a regular bloak, trying to eek out an existence, in a town full of people just like him.Everyone in the village sure appears to be infatuated with Tom! What is it about this guy? Sounds like a guy I need to meet! Baah! (JK!) Of course, I think we all know that obsession never turns out well! Not in psychological thrillers and certainly not real life. Lisa Jewell’s latest suspense “Watching You” made my stomach churn and made the hairs on the back of my neck stand on end. It was a super fast read that had me totally engrossed from the first to the very last page even though I guessed the ending. A must-read for mystery / suspense fans!This was a fabulous buddy read with Kaceey! We’ve now read several Lisa Jewell novels together and I can’t wait for our next one. Thank you to NetGalley, Atria Books and Lisa Jewell for an ARC of this novel in exchange for an honest review.Published on NetGalley, Goodreads and Twitter on 11.10.18.
    more
  • Berit☀️✨
    January 1, 1970
    A creepy compulsive character driven thriller that will make the hairs on the back of your neck stand up!This is my very first book by Lisa Jewell, I know, I know, shame on me! But before you start writing me hate male, LOL, this absolutely will not be my last! Miss Jewell won me over after the first chapter! Her exceptional character developMent made my heart sing! Add in a complicated twisty plot that sucked me in from the very first page and short chapters that kept me on my toes.... and all A creepy compulsive character driven thriller that will make the hairs on the back of your neck stand up!This is my very first book by Lisa Jewell, I know, I know, shame on me! But before you start writing me hate male, LOL, this absolutely will not be my last! Miss Jewell won me over after the first chapter! Her exceptional character developMent made my heart sing! Add in a complicated twisty plot that sucked me in from the very first page and short chapters that kept me on my toes.... and all I can say is YES! YES! YES!The book starts out with a dead body, somebody has been murdered... but who? And why? And by whom? The story is then told from multiple different perspectives leading up to the murder.... there is a lot of speculation about Tom Fitzwilliams the new head teacher... he appears to be a little too friendly with his students especially the female ones, and what happened 20 years ago? And why does he move around so much? What I thought was so brilliant about this story is we never get Tom’s perspective, but we get that of those around him, we learn about him and form our opinions of him through their eyes.... The three primary narrators in the story see Tom in very different ways... Joey the newlywed who has just moved in twohouses away from him is seriously infatuated almost borderline obsessed with him... Freddy, Tom’s son and a kind of lovable oddball is sometimes frightened and sometimes not by him... Jana the teenager down the street and a student at Tom’s school is very creeped out by him, convinced he is acting inappropriately towards her BFF.... we also get treated to the police transcripts of the investigation peppered in throughout the book, I thought this added an additional layer to the story.Throughout the story there is a lot of watching going on... Freddie is watching the entire neighborhood... let me just add in my opinion here, getting your teenage son high power binoculars, probably not a great idea, just saying...We also had Jenna’s mother convinced crazy shenanigans are going on, watching Tom... Jenna is watching and watching out for her BFF... Joey is watching the comings and goings of Tom and his wife... and so on, made me wonder what is going on in my own neighborhood?This book was really all about perception and assumption, my opinion of each and every character in this book change from beginning to end.... made you realize you never really get the entire picture.... a wonderful book about the darker side of what goes on behind closed doors...Absolutely recommend to anyone who enjoys an addictive dark twisted story with fantastically developed characters and a mystery that will keep you guessing!*** many thanks to Random House Cornerstone for my copy of this book ***
    more
  • Christina - Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    4, everyone is watching stars!!!Full review featured on my blog Recipe & a Read!Lisa Jewell’s Watching You starts out with an immediate hook – there’s a dead body laying on the floor and Detective Rose Pelham as she examines the crime scene to try to solve the mystery. Following this shocking first chapter, we fall right into the story, told mostly through one of three major POVs – Josephine “Joey” Mullen. Joey is speaking to her late mother at her grave, updating her on her life and the cho 4, everyone is watching stars!!!Full review featured on my blog Recipe & a Read!Lisa Jewell’s Watching You starts out with an immediate hook – there’s a dead body laying on the floor and Detective Rose Pelham as she examines the crime scene to try to solve the mystery. Following this shocking first chapter, we fall right into the story, told mostly through one of three major POVs – Josephine “Joey” Mullen. Joey is speaking to her late mother at her grave, updating her on her life and the choices she’s made. As the younger sister of an esteemed elder brother, she has always felt wayward, lesser and essentially – like a hot mess comparatively.At it’s heart, this book is much like the title – a story about interwoven lives and how in a neighborhood like Melville Heights, someone is always watching. Meet Tom Fitzwilliam: he’s a new hot shot teacher in town, cleaning up a troubled school and making the ladies swoon as he walks down the street. For some reason his charm, wit and fairly run-of-the-mill dad looks are making everyone – male and female alike weak at the knees. Everyone that is, except Jenna Tripps mother who knows Tom Fitzwilliam is up to no good. Jenna’s best friend Bess however, is another story and obsession is putting her feelings towards Mr. Fitzwilliam lightly.“He’s not old,” Bess replied. “He’s mature. Like wine. Like Cheese. I love him. I actually love him.”As the story progressed, for me I was struck with a little bit of Big Little Lies vibes along with this feeling a bit like the mystery / thriller version of one of those cheesy movies with too many celebrities. The original of course being Love Actually, eventually followed by lesser movies such as Valentines Day and the like. While this didn’t feel like there were too many characters, this was certainly a character driven psychological thriller. There are quite a few story lines going on here and it was a bit difficult for me to grasp at first. While the overall development of each character was done really well, I found their individuality to fall just short for me at a few points throughout this read.And then the word came to her, the elusive word she’d been chasing through her thoughts. The look that Mr. Fitzwilliam had given. It has been predatory.I’ve said it before and I’m sure I’ll say it again – I’m a pretty garbage detective for the most part but I did see the ending to this one coming from about the halfway mark. While I don’t think it necessarily detracted from my overall enjoyment of this read (because I gobbled this baby up in almost one sitting) I do wish there had been a few more surprises for the reader. However, that being said – this is definitely on the psychological side of thrillers and the shock value tends to be in the progression of the story instead of the “a-ha” moment at the end.Overall, I really enjoyed this quick, fun and fast-paced story. Jewell has an incredible story-telling skill and the ability to create really well rounded, character driven novels. This is only my second novel by her but I have a few more I’ve picked up in the past year that I’m excited to read. Her popularity is definitely earned!I completed this as a Traveling Sisters read and it was a real joy to read and discuss with others!
    more
  • Kaceey - Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    Ever have that feeling someone is watching you?Lisa Jewell has done it again. She’s given us the perfect thriller guaranteed to keep you guessing right to the end!Joey and her husband Alfie move in with her brother Jack and his wife Rebecca. It was intended to be temporary stay - just long enough for the newlyweds to get their feet under them.Down the street is the new headmaster Tom Fitzwilliam, specifically brought in to rescue the local school from looming disaster. Tom is charismatic, charmi Ever have that feeling someone is watching you?Lisa Jewell has done it again. She’s given us the perfect thriller guaranteed to keep you guessing right to the end!Joey and her husband Alfie move in with her brother Jack and his wife Rebecca. It was intended to be temporary stay - just long enough for the newlyweds to get their feet under them.Down the street is the new headmaster Tom Fitzwilliam, specifically brought in to rescue the local school from looming disaster. Tom is charismatic, charming, suave...well you get the picture! He makes all the ladies swoon. As well as some of the school girls too.Tom’s son Freddie is a self-proclaimed spy. He patiently watches, snapping photos of everyone on his block, all from the comfort of his second floor window. And make no mistake…no one escapes his eye! So exactly what does he see from his perch? Is he canvasing the neighborhood watching, searching for something specific?Paranoia is settling in as everyone on this block is keeping a wary eye on someone else. Maybe for good reason. Everyone also has something to hide. You feel the tension building and sense it’s all leading to a murder in this quaint neighborhood. But who is the murderer? More importantly, who’s the victim?Lisa Jewell has the perfect recipe to add just enough intrigue and red herrings to keep you glued to the pages trying to fit all the pieces of the puzzle together! Another fantastic thriller by this author and I cannot wait to read her next!A super thrilling buddy read with Susanne!☃️Thank you to NetGalley, Atria Books and Lisa Jewell for an ARC to read and review
    more
  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader
    January 1, 1970
    4 smart and suspenseful stars! And happy pub day! ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ Even though I own most of her backlist, this is the first Lisa Jewell book I’ve read, and Watching You was an ideal first read from the author!Melville Heights is a quaint neighborhood in Bristol, England. It consists of several colorfully-painted Victorian homes overlooking the city. Melville Heights reminded me of the Painted Ladies in San Francisco, and I immediately imagined that type of setting because it was described so well. Every 4 smart and suspenseful stars! And happy pub day! ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ Even though I own most of her backlist, this is the first Lisa Jewell book I’ve read, and Watching You was an ideal first read from the author!Melville Heights is a quaint neighborhood in Bristol, England. It consists of several colorfully-painted Victorian homes overlooking the city. Melville Heights reminded me of the Painted Ladies in San Francisco, and I immediately imagined that type of setting because it was described so well. Everyone in Melville Heights is carrying a burden…a secret that could rock worlds. But the best, creepiest part and how the book got its title? Everyone in Melville Heights is watching you and each other.There is an extraordinary cast of well-developed characters, such as Joey Mullen who lives with her husband, brother and sister-in-law, and has recently lost her mother. There’s also the charming, walks-on-water, Tom Fitzwilliam, the head teacher who champions school turnarounds and manages to easily attract women and teenage girls, yes those whom he is teaching, with his “dad bod.” Freddie, Tom’s teenage son, is quirky and has eyes on the whole city from his parents’ attic. As the book opens, a woman has been murdered in Melville Heights, but we don’t know who, why, or what happened? We hear from multiple characters as the timeline goes forward in time eventually landing on the fateful day of the murder in March, along with short narratives from the police interrogation interviews interspersed throughout. I loved that particular structure. It kept me guessing and led to a great handle on each of the characters. Overall, Watching You is a super eerie, well-written, suspenseful read. The short chapters, well-developed, complex characters, and interesting setting boosted my investment, and I devoured this delicious book in twenty-four hours. I’ll definitely be making time for Jewell’s backlist now! Thank you to Atria Books for the ARC. All opinions are my own. My reviews can also be found on my blog: www.jennifertarheelreader.com
    more
  • Liz
    January 1, 1970
    Given the number of mysteries I read, I’m always amazed to discover a popular author whose works have previously escaped me. But while I own an audiobook of her’s, I had yet to read or listen to anything by Lisa Jewell. So, it was a pleasant surprise to find out how much I enjoyed her upcoming book. Joey returns to Bristol after four years away in Spain. She’s recently married but already unsure of her decision. She and her husband have moved in with her brother and sister in law. She becomes ob Given the number of mysteries I read, I’m always amazed to discover a popular author whose works have previously escaped me. But while I own an audiobook of her’s, I had yet to read or listen to anything by Lisa Jewell. So, it was a pleasant surprise to find out how much I enjoyed her upcoming book. Joey returns to Bristol after four years away in Spain. She’s recently married but already unsure of her decision. She and her husband have moved in with her brother and sister in law. She becomes obsessed with an attractive older man that lives two doors down. There are so many moving parts to this book as it’s told from multiple viewpoints. It also incorporates police transcripts as a way to move the plot along. You’re really kept on your toes. Who has been murdered and why? And what a strange group of people. We’ve got stalkers and conspiracy nuts and that’s just the adults. Lots of teenage angst thrown in as well. Who is Tom Fitzwilliams really? Women want him and men want to be like him, as they say. He reminds me of the story of the blind men and the elephant. Everyone knows pieces of him but no one knows the entire person. As each tries to learn more about him, the story picks up its pace. This book really kept me in its thrall. Great ending which I didn’t see coming at all.My thanks to netgalley and Atria Books for an advance copy of this book.
    more
  • Lindsay - Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    4 stars! A tense, secretive and twisty story that had me guessing until the end. This is my third Lisa Jewell book and she continues to impress me. I love how addictive, fast paced and gripping her novels are. I just can’t seem to put them down once I start the first chapter. Her storylines are current, suspenseful and highly intriguing. There are several characters in this book, all are well developed with perfectly timed introductions, leaving no room for confusion. The plot largely focuses on 4 stars! A tense, secretive and twisty story that had me guessing until the end. This is my third Lisa Jewell book and she continues to impress me. I love how addictive, fast paced and gripping her novels are. I just can’t seem to put them down once I start the first chapter. Her storylines are current, suspenseful and highly intriguing. There are several characters in this book, all are well developed with perfectly timed introductions, leaving no room for confusion. The plot largely focuses on Josephine (Joey) Mullen who lives with her new husband in her brother and sister-in-laws’ house in a well-respected neighbourhood. They are trying to find steady jobs and get settled before finding a place of their own. We meet several of their neighbours, with chapters alternating between many of their perspectives. Each perspective brought a new layer of suspense and allure, each with a hint of secrecy that could possibly connect the intricate pieces of this puzzle together. The title says it all – “Watching You” – this applies to many scenarios throughout this fast paced and highly addictive novel.This was a Traveling Sister read that was a hit for everyone! I recommend getting your hands on a copy of this title along with any others you can find by this author. I look forward to reading more from her. To find this review, along with the other Traveling Sister reviews, please visit our blog at:https://twosisterslostinacoulee.com/2...Thank you to NetGalley, Atria and Lisa Jewell for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review!Watching You is available now!
    more
  • Kendall
    January 1, 1970
    This is the second book I've read by this author and I have to say I have become a huge fan of her! 4.5 watching stars!A cozy picture perfect neighborhood with bright colors that makes anyone want to live on this street. Behind closed doors... someone is watching and is watching always. Joey and her husband Alfie have recently moved in with her brother to help get their lives sorted. Joey I feel like is going through something as she stumbles across her neighbor Tom Fitzwilliam. Tom is the headm This is the second book I've read by this author and I have to say I have become a huge fan of her! 4.5 watching stars!A cozy picture perfect neighborhood with bright colors that makes anyone want to live on this street. Behind closed doors... someone is watching and is watching always. Joey and her husband Alfie have recently moved in with her brother to help get their lives sorted. Joey I feel like is going through something as she stumbles across her neighbor Tom Fitzwilliam. Tom is the headmaster of the local school and lives with his wife and son Freddie. Joey becomes OBSESSED with Tom... watching his every move and somehow trying to come up ways to run into him. Sadly, someone is found murdered in this cozy neighborhood. Who is to blame and why? Everyone is forming their own opinions and a darkness is hiding behind one of these homes. A darkness that NO ONE will expect.This book was fantastic. It was so addicting and kept me intrigued the entire story. Sometimes if there are too many characters... I tend to get confused. But Lisa Jewell did a very nice job painting each character and how in the end the stories were brilliantly interwoven with each of the characters.I spot the final twist and murderer but the author gives you small hints that are played out nicely. This only intrigued me more to find out if I was right! :)AND... that final final twist in the last page was just epic! :)I highly recommend this novel! Huge thank you to Atria and Netgalley who provided an arc in exchange for my honest thoughts.Publication date: 12/26/18Published to GR: 11/18/18
    more
  • Katie B
    January 1, 1970
    Really enjoyed this one and will definitely be checking out the author's other novels in the near future. The title, Watching You, is spot on not only because it is a theme within the book but also because the story goes back and forth between multiple characters, and as the reader you almost feel like you have your own pair of spyglasses as you watch everything unfold.In the Melville Heights neighborhood it seems like just about everyone has a secret. From the beginning you find out that someon Really enjoyed this one and will definitely be checking out the author's other novels in the near future. The title, Watching You, is spot on not only because it is a theme within the book but also because the story goes back and forth between multiple characters, and as the reader you almost feel like you have your own pair of spyglasses as you watch everything unfold.In the Melville Heights neighborhood it seems like just about everyone has a secret. From the beginning you find out that someone has been murdered although their identity is not revealed right away to the reader. The story will go back and forth between some of the people who live in the neighborhood as you see what led up to the murder as well as the present time in which police are interviewing potential suspects and witnesses. I think it was 4 characters the story regularly followed which I found fairly easy to manage without feeling confused.This is a mystery in which you probably will figure out some pieces of the puzzle but there is a few surprises along the way. I honestly didn't see it as a negative that you could kinda see the direction this story was going early on. This was still a page turner and I really enjoyed these characters and their messy lives. Would definitely recommend as long as you don't go in with the expectation everything about the story is meant to be one shocking twist after another. Thank you to BookishFirst and the publisher for sending me an advance copy! I was under no obligation to post a review and all views expressed are my honest opinion.
    more
  • Brenda - Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    Lisa Jewell does it again!! She nailed it with this one and satisfied the anticipation we had here with Watching You! She has written another well-layered story in her traditional way of layering those clues and reveals at just the right time but this time with a little bit of a different twist here to that. She maintained creating that suspense she is a master at but left that final reveal right up to the end. Now there were some clues there and normally I pick up on Jewell’s clues but this tim Lisa Jewell does it again!! She nailed it with this one and satisfied the anticipation we had here with Watching You! She has written another well-layered story in her traditional way of layering those clues and reveals at just the right time but this time with a little bit of a different twist here to that. She maintained creating that suspense she is a master at but left that final reveal right up to the end. Now there were some clues there and normally I pick up on Jewell’s clues but this time around I found they were hidden in the layers. When I read that reveal and what came after I was left jumping out of my chair yelling “Wow I didn’t see that coming”.Thank you to NetGalley, Atria Books and Lisa Jewell for a copy to read and review
    more
  • Diane S ☔
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 it seems as if everyone is watching someone else. Is the woman raising her teenage daughter crazy, or is her neighbor actually guilty of something? Is the new bride, with red tassels on her red boots happily married or is she watching snd yearning for the teacher who lives a few doors down? Is the young boy in the attic watching everyone just creepy or does he have another reason? From the beginning we know there has been a murder, but we don't know who nor why. As the story unravels, we are 3.5 it seems as if everyone is watching someone else. Is the woman raising her teenage daughter crazy, or is her neighbor actually guilty of something? Is the new bride, with red tassels on her red boots happily married or is she watching snd yearning for the teacher who lives a few doors down? Is the young boy in the attic watching everyone just creepy or does he have another reason? From the beginning we know there has been a murder, but we don't know who nor why. As the story unravels, we are privvy to more and more of the suspicions and secrets being harbired in this neighborhood. Rather unlikeable people for the most part.In fact for the first half of this book I felt that most keenly. Was tempted to put this aside, but as a sister read, plus I trust this author, I continued. She is in my handful of psychological thrillers writers that I will continue to read. Sure enough, certain things come to light, a few people let down their guard and just like that, she sold me, a few characters became not only likable but their action when seen under a new light, understandable. This is still a dark, twisty read, but also a good look at bullying and it's aftereffects. The damage is causes in the present and the future. So, a good message, seamlessly woven with a suspenseful read. Who is watching you?ARC from Edelweiss.
    more
  • Felicia
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 StarsAfter reading great praise for Lisa Jewell's books, and while having never read one myself, I was very excited to get my hands on this one. The story opens, like so many other thrillers, with a murder scene and what follows is everything leading up to that scene. Again, a tired premise for this genre but what's a reader to do? Next, we are introduced to a plethora of characters, and while I'm all for complicated plots with a lot of players, I found myself confused more often than not. I 3.5 StarsAfter reading great praise for Lisa Jewell's books, and while having never read one myself, I was very excited to get my hands on this one. The story opens, like so many other thrillers, with a murder scene and what follows is everything leading up to that scene. Again, a tired premise for this genre but what's a reader to do? Next, we are introduced to a plethora of characters, and while I'm all for complicated plots with a lot of players, I found myself confused more often than not. It took me well over half of the book to be able to start a chapter without thinking ..."hhhmmmmm...which one is this again?". For me, the characters lacked their own unique voice which is necessary to pull off this type of storyline.Now for the good stuff! I very much enjoyed the plot, I love how all of these characters in the neighborhood are linked together with invisible, twisty, tied-in-a-knot silly string. It's a slow build with just the exact amount of mystery to keep you turning the pages. I only had one "omg what is happening?" moment around the 85% mark and was never, at any time, sure of what was actually going on until it was revealed. Oh but alas... the author chose to end things with a futile and hurried attempt at wrapping up the story with an epilogue that went and ruined it for me. Overall it was a quick read with an intriguing plot, despite the slow crawling pace. Would I read another book by this author? Heck yeah I would.I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Nazanin
    January 1, 1970
    4 StarsTom Fitzwilliam is the headmaster of the local school. He is the charming man whom everyone loves him, admires him, has a crush on him, obsessed with him. Flirty guy… Freddie is his son and the one who is watching everyone in the neighborhood. He knows everything about everyone. He takes pictures... Creepy… There is Jenna, she lives with her mother who is mentally ill. She’s a student at Tom’s school. Her best friend has a crush on Tom. She, unlike others, doesn’t like Tom. Actually, she 4 StarsTom Fitzwilliam is the headmaster of the local school. He is the charming man whom everyone loves him, admires him, has a crush on him, obsessed with him. Flirty guy… Freddie is his son and the one who is watching everyone in the neighborhood. He knows everything about everyone. He takes pictures... Creepy… There is Jenna, she lives with her mother who is mentally ill. She’s a student at Tom’s school. Her best friend has a crush on Tom. She, unlike others, doesn’t like Tom. Actually, she has a good reason to believe that Tom is not the guy who everyone thinks he is, or at least she thinks she has a good reason! The nosy girl… And there is Joey who lives with his husband in her brother’s house and she is the one who is obsessed with Tom. And there is a body… a dead body in the blood…Meanwhile, twenty years earlier, a schoolgirl writes in her diary, charting her doomed obsession with a handsome young English teacher named Mr. Fitzwilliam…Well, I could guess right about the perp (without knowing the reason) but I couldn’t guess right about the body! I mean you know there is a body from the first page but I couldn’t guess who are they but I could guess who did it! I know, it’s crazy! I liked the story, sometimes it dragged a bit but still it was good (the very short chapters were in my favor). Told in multiple POV, 3rd person. It’s a standalone novel, slow-paced with well-developed characters, an easy read with a good story-line and a satisfying ending. It was my first read by this author and won’t be my last since I have another of her books! Overall, it was an enjoyable creepy read and hope you like it as well!
    more
  • James
    January 1, 1970
    I've read and enjoyed several Lisa Jewell novels in the last two years. When an opportunity to read Watching You surfaced last month, I requested the book via NetGalley and was awarded it overnight. I was super excited and planned it for my October schedule so I could have a little scary / psychological stuff to read as the temperature got chillier and the sun set earlier. Overall, I was pleased with the book and would recommend it, but there were a few things that needed some additional attenti I've read and enjoyed several Lisa Jewell novels in the last two years. When an opportunity to read Watching You surfaced last month, I requested the book via NetGalley and was awarded it overnight. I was super excited and planned it for my October schedule so I could have a little scary / psychological stuff to read as the temperature got chillier and the sun set earlier. Overall, I was pleased with the book and would recommend it, but there were a few things that needed some additional attention before the final version was released to readers.The story takes place in current times in an English village where several of the neighbors have a penchant for watching one another through binoculars, cameras, or even just between the separation of curtains in a window. There are ~20 important cast members' lives we read about and try to understand who's connected to who when they say things using generic names like "she" or "he" to keep us in suspense. There's a newlywed couple, a couple with a baby on the way, a couple fighting, a mother and daughter who act weird, young teen friends who are hooking up with boys they shouldn't be, a teen boy who is a bit peculiar at first (then we learn why)... all-in-all, it's a fine cast with lots of potential but no one was superb or lovable or hate-able (my new word of the day!). As we understand the connections and who's misbehaving, we begin to see how everything unravels until the big twist at about 90% in the book.Unfortunately, I thought it was too easy to guess. That doesn't mean it wasn't good, but I believe it could have used some more mystery, red herrings, and darker tones. Additionally, several characters were manipulated to create red herrings (which I'm totally cool with) but the end of their story and the root cause of why it happened wasn't really sewn back together. I don't believe it was purposeful either, just not enough focus on total symmetry across the entire novel. Because of this and a few characters who weren't as fleshed out as I thought they should be (Rebecca, mother of girl who took lots of photos, the group that met at the house), I couldn't give it 5 stars.The plot was strong, the characters were passionate. The dialog and descriptions were vivid and consistent. Rarely did I find myself tempted to skim/skip a few paragraphs. It was just missing something to make it really really pop. This is a genre I really love diving into, so it certainly met a lot of my go-to features but fell shy of where Jewell's books normally take me. It has a few difficult stories to handle (I'm okay with them, but others might be alarmed) such as child abuse, spouse abuse, possible rape, affairs, teacher/student relationships being crossed. It's almost as if the book wanted to cross a heavy line into being stark and scary, but it stopped too short to be a total dark psychological thriller and went too far to just say it gently handled these situations. We were in the middle and uncertain which way to gravitate on whether a character was black or white... several were muted grey in their tendencies and behaviors.For me, in a book, it wavered too much. It's probably very reminiscent of reality, but I wanted a bigger gut punch or a lighter hint at misbehavior. An example is the spouse abuse. One says "nothing is happening" and the other says "yes, we occasionally hurt one another" -- I'm paraphrasing. We never get a real answer, so I'm uncertain why it was left that way when it was (1) not critical to the plot and (2) made us waffle on how we were supposed to interpret what was going on. Given the actual people involved were critical to the murder that happened, I felt we needed something more transparent.That said, it's still a very strong book. I will keep reading more from Jewell. And if you can accept these things, and still enjoy a great story, you'll be fine with this one.
    more
  • Ova - Excuse My Reading
    January 1, 1970
    Full review hereThis book was best I've read from Lisa Jewell so far. OK, here and there, there might be a few exaggerated things in the story line, but overall it was so gripping and delivers everything you would expect from a mystery/thriller. Lisa Jewell's writing is always above average and in this book she's exceptional.Sometimes it makes me cringe when I am reading thrillers with sloppy writing, where characters constantly bit their lips, have pounding hearts, having goosebumps in a madden Full review hereThis book was best I've read from Lisa Jewell so far. OK, here and there, there might be a few exaggerated things in the story line, but overall it was so gripping and delivers everything you would expect from a mystery/thriller. Lisa Jewell's writing is always above average and in this book she's exceptional.Sometimes it makes me cringe when I am reading thrillers with sloppy writing, where characters constantly bit their lips, have pounding hearts, having goosebumps in a maddeningly repetitive way and this book has none of it. There aren't any unnecessary, cringing paragraphs but it's all tidy and good quality writing. The characters are solid and real. (maybe except the villain) Surprise ending is delivered nicely, tension didn't drop until the end for me. A 5 star in mystery/thriller category.I also think Jewell really writes her teenagers much better than her adults. The Girls and this book are my favourites from her and they both have groups of teens which are brilliantly portrayed. Thanks to NetGalley and publisher for the free copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Carrie
    January 1, 1970
    I have to admit that Watching You is only my second Lisa Jewell novel but with enjoying both of the ones I have read I do see why reviewers are usually raving about her stories. This is another great psychological thriller that is easy to become captivated by once you pick it up. The story is told from multiple points of view but still became easy to follow once getting started.The book begins with a short diary entry from a young girl in love with her teacher in 1996 before jumping ahead twenty I have to admit that Watching You is only my second Lisa Jewell novel but with enjoying both of the ones I have read I do see why reviewers are usually raving about her stories. This is another great psychological thriller that is easy to become captivated by once you pick it up. The story is told from multiple points of view but still became easy to follow once getting started.The book begins with a short diary entry from a young girl in love with her teacher in 1996 before jumping ahead twenty years with a prologue of a murder investigation. You may at this point think what in the world? Who’s murdered? What is going on? But then we get into the meat of the story which jumps back about two and a half months before the murder.What Lisa Jewell has then done is take us back to this neighborhood before the murder ever happened and slowly introduce all the cast of characters that each have their own secrets and lies to follow. At the center of the story is Tom Fitzwilliam who is a teacher who seems to have a sort of charismatic way of drawing in those around him. Then between the story building up to the murder date we have flashes of the investigation after the murder.I will admit it took a a few chapters to settle in and get used to the set up with this one but it was hard to put down once I found that groove. This is a bit of a slow build story but that pace complimented the amount of characters and situations happening to give the reader time to familiarize with it all and I didn’t find it to drag the book down the way a lot of slower paced reads are. By the time the ending of the book came around I had guessed this or that and the other but still ended up surprised at how it turned out so I definitely recommend checking this one out.I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.For more reviews please visit https://carriesbookreviews.com/
    more
  • Malia
    January 1, 1970
    Lisa Jewell was true to her usual form in Watching You, crafting a clever and compelling story with engaging, multi-faceted characters and a well-plotted mystery. I did guess at the ending early on, but not how it came to pass, so I was very happy to read on and wasn't bored. This is just one of those authors I will always reach for when she has a new book, because I just find her style so readable. Recommended! Find more reviews and bookish fun at http://www.princessandpen.comThanks to Netgalle Lisa Jewell was true to her usual form in Watching You, crafting a clever and compelling story with engaging, multi-faceted characters and a well-plotted mystery. I did guess at the ending early on, but not how it came to pass, so I was very happy to read on and wasn't bored. This is just one of those authors I will always reach for when she has a new book, because I just find her style so readable. Recommended! Find more reviews and bookish fun at http://www.princessandpen.comThanks to Netgalley for supplying me with a copy of Watching You in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Mackenzie - PhDiva Books
    January 1, 1970
    Intelligent, suspenseful, and shocking—my first experience reading the incredible Lisa Jewell blew my mind!!!There are times when an author is hyped up (for good reason), but I feel a small sense of disappointment when I finally join in on their work. Perhaps because I don’t have the history with the author, or because the book I came in on wasn’t their most ground-breaking work. NONE of that can be said about my first experience with Lisa Jewell. If anything, all of the amazing things I’ve hear Intelligent, suspenseful, and shocking—my first experience reading the incredible Lisa Jewell blew my mind!!!There are times when an author is hyped up (for good reason), but I feel a small sense of disappointment when I finally join in on their work. Perhaps because I don’t have the history with the author, or because the book I came in on wasn’t their most ground-breaking work. NONE of that can be said about my first experience with Lisa Jewell. If anything, all of the amazing things I’ve heard fellow readers say about Jewell pale in comparison with the journey I just took through Watching You! There’s not a moment of this book that I’d change. Outstanding!!!ReflectionFirst I want to talk about the narrative structure. We begin with a murder and see bits of evidence at the scene. Then we travel back a few months, to the moment Joey Mullen first arrives to Melville Heights, living in one of the storied painted houses she admired so much. From here, many characters begin to pick up the narrative. This isn’t a book just about Joey. In the same way a neighborhood has hidden threads connecting people, some by proximity, and others by something deeper, so does this novel. The way the stories picked up on one another, bringing pieces of information and perspectives in to make the final twists and turns stand out was truly a masterpiece.If there’s one thing we can all learn from this book, it is that someone is always watching. Those hidden moments that you think no one saw? The extra bottle of wine you pick up at the store, the lingering glance you give someone after they walk away, the item you drop into a neighbor’s bin—in a neighborhood like Melville Heights, even the most mundane occurrences are noted. So what happens when a murder occurs on the same block? Who will have a piece of the puzzle?I found Joey to be a stand-out character. She’s self-destructive. She describes her mind as a hurricane—as someone incapable of following their instincts. She understands what the bad decisions are, but she sees infinite possible moments and she seems to haphazardly push forward without organizing her thoughts. It would be easy to think Joey is unlikeable, given the nature of her storyline (attracted to another man). But I never felt Joey had bad intentions. Joey is someone who just doesn’t have herself together. She’s in a halfway stage between grown up and young adult, and she is finding her way. I’m so excited for readers to experience Joey’s story. There are too many great characters to talk about (this review would be 100 pages long), but I want to mention a few more standouts. The first is school girl Jenna Tripp. From an outside perspective, Jenna has it all. She’s beautiful, popular, and has a close group of best friends. Jenna’s life could seem easy. But Jenna has a mother with somewhat undiagnosed mental illness. Her mothers hovers on the line between ok and needing help. Jenna has so much on her plate, and I looked forward to her chapters. She’s a remarkable girl and character!And then I want to end with those enigmatic Fitzwilliams… The mother, who fades into the background, enamored by her perfect, magnetic husband, and a bit lost in life. The son, Freddie, who keeps watch over the neighborhood, documenting the small moments that may be the clue to the murder, while still struggling to find his way as an awkward teenager. And then Mr. Fitzwilliam—the center to the whole story. In a way, Mr. Fitzwilliam is the center to the neighborhood. He’s a man with a trail of admirers. And yet, he’s difficult to pindown. Is he a charming school head, or is he someone more sinister? You’ll have to read to find out!Thank you so much to Atria for my copy to review. I loved this book!
    more
  • Nicki
    January 1, 1970
    Omg,Lisa Jewell has totally blown me away again.Watching You is a mesmerizing,twist packed,gripping tale of secrets,obsessions,stalking,misconceptions,friendships and deception that hooks the reader in from the very first page right through to the jaw dropping final twistThe reader has to get to quite a large number of diverse characters as this enthralling thriller unfolds.But the story is largely voiced by Joey who is newly married to Alfie, they are both staying in one of the stunning houses Omg,Lisa Jewell has totally blown me away again.Watching You is a mesmerizing,twist packed,gripping tale of secrets,obsessions,stalking,misconceptions,friendships and deception that hooks the reader in from the very first page right through to the jaw dropping final twistThe reader has to get to quite a large number of diverse characters as this enthralling thriller unfolds.But the story is largely voiced by Joey who is newly married to Alfie, they are both staying in one of the stunning houses on Melville Heights with Joey`s brother Jack and his heavily pregnant wife Rebecca.Then there's Freddie Fitzwilliam who lives two doors away with his parents Tom and Nicola.And finally there is fourteen year old Jenna Tripp who lives down in lower Melville with her mum Francis.We know from the beginning of the story that a violent crime as been committed and scattered throughout the book are police interviews with some of the characters.The behaviour and actions of a couple of the characters at times gave me the creeps because they came across as sinister and inappropriate but as happens in real life,not everything is what it appears to be.Sometimes a person's actions can be misinterpreted and misconstrued,making that person appear creepy and unlikable.By the end of the story I had completely changed my mind about a couple of characters,my thoughts and misconceptions turning out to be totally wrong.No pages of this intricately plotted story comes across as unnecessary padding,The author's words flow from the page with ease drawing the reader into the world and lives of her vivid realistic characters.Worth far more than five stars and highly recommended to anyone who enjoys a seriously well written thriller that keeps you on the edge of your seat and definitely messes with your head,leaving you feeling very dizzy but not wanting the story to end.Many thanks to Penguin Random House UK / Cornerstone for a arc of this book via Netgalley in exchange for a honest review.
    more
  • Pauline
    January 1, 1970
    Watching You by Lisa Jewell is a story of schoolgirl crushes, creepy teenagers and adults who should behave better. I like Lisa Jewell books but this one was slow to start and I had to reread certain parts because there were are lot of characters to remember. I would like to thank NetGalley and Random House UK, Cornerstone for my e-copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jasmine from How Useful It Is
    January 1, 1970
    I started reading Watching You on 12/7/2018 and finished it on 12/9/2018. This book is a fantastic read! I was hooked right from the start and couldn't put down until chapters later. I actually read all of rainy Saturday and couldn't do much of anything else. I like the interesting set of characters. They each have a keen sense of observation and obsession. Freddie started out such a loner with his neighborhood watch. I'm surprised that he transformed later, changed into someone who is able to w I started reading Watching You on 12/7/2018 and finished it on 12/9/2018. This book is a fantastic read! I was hooked right from the start and couldn't put down until chapters later. I actually read all of rainy Saturday and couldn't do much of anything else. I like the interesting set of characters. They each have a keen sense of observation and obsession. Freddie started out such a loner with his neighborhood watch. I'm surprised that he transformed later, changed into someone who is able to work with another person to investigate a mystery and doing things that are outside of his comfort zone.
This book is told in the first person point of view following Josephine (Joey) Mullen, 26 as she speaks to her mother at her grave in Jan 2017. This book started out with a diary entry dated 1996 about falling in love to someone she shouldn't. Then the prologue follows Detective Rose as she examines a crime scene that occurred in the kitchen in March 24, 2017. This book is divided into four parts. The story has a timeline beginning January leading up to, with Joey's view being told in third person point of view about her crushing on Alfie, got him, and married him and now crushing on her brother's neighbor Tom Fitzwilliam, married with a son. The second point of view is Freddie Fitzwilliam, 15 as he watches down on the neighbors with his digital binoculars from his attic bedroom. The third view is Jenna Tripp, 16 who attends the school where Tom Fitzwilliam is a headmaster. There are recorded police interviews dated March 25, in between the timelines. The police are trying to determine who the killer is while readers wonder who is the victim.
Watching You is very well written and keeps me interested from the first page! The mystery points to any reasons, any victims, and any killers. I like that I couldn't guess who until the end. Each person's story is personal, honest, and sincere and it just makes me want to read on. The domestic abuse has a twist and it's a bit more than other domestic books I have read. I like the organization of this thriller. Those recorded interviews gives readers something to look forward to rather than just so much build up for the big reveal, the author spread out little sprinkles to hook readers on. This is my first read from this author and it won't be the last. I highly recommend everyone to read this book!
Pro: fast paced, page turner, secrets, suspense, obsession, prologue & epilogue
Con: none
I rate it 5 stars!***Disclaimer: Many thanks to Atria Books for the opportunity to read and review. Please be assured that my opinions are honest.xoxo,Jasmine at www.howusefulitis.wordpress.com for more details
    more
  • Kelly (and the Book Boar)
    January 1, 1970
    Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/ Are you a lover of the neighborhood voyeur type of story who constantly finds themselves being suckered into reading anything about “watching” or “watchers” but generally is left feeling very meh about the whole thing when finished reading – only to immediately repeat the process? If so, look no further . . . . Because this might be the book you've been waiting for. I’m as surprised as anyone to be giving this (or really ANY) mystery Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/ Are you a lover of the neighborhood voyeur type of story who constantly finds themselves being suckered into reading anything about “watching” or “watchers” but generally is left feeling very meh about the whole thing when finished reading – only to immediately repeat the process? If so, look no further . . . . Because this might be the book you've been waiting for. I’m as surprised as anyone to be giving this (or really ANY) mystery/thriller the full monty of starzzzzzz – especially after recently coming off of my own supermeh Lisa Jewell read (that everyone else loved). But all the Stars it shall receive.Watching You takes place in a quaint little place known as Melville Heights – and more particularly in a specific neighborhood featuring a row of boldly painted homes. Our story focuses primarily on three households. The Fitzwilliam house features Tom, the headmaster of the local school, his wife Nicola and their son Freddie. Joey and her husband Alfie actually live with her brother Jack and his wife Rebecca. Then there’s Jenna who is the same age as Freddie (but not his classmate, because although she attends Mr. Fitzwilliam’s school, Freddie attends private) who lives with her (literally) paranoid mother. All of these houses have one thing in common . . . . And that’s all you get. Dang did I eat this book up! I love a story where you know something superbadawful has happened, but you don’t know exactly what or to whom. I love it even more when I forget all about the “mystery” aspect because I’m so wrapped up in the individual character’s goings on. The closest thing I can think to compare this to is The Casual Vacancy (so if you hated that there’s a chance this one won’t work and you should pick one of Jewell’s eleventy other books to read instead), but the way the mystery becomes ancillary and how each character’s life intertwines with the others and how well developed they are all leaves that as the comparison that I’m going to make. I thought this was brilliant. ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank yoy, NetGalley!
    more
Write a review