The Mansion
After two years of living on cheap beer and little else in a bitterly cold tiny cabin outside an abandoned, crumbling mansion, young programmers Shawn Eagle and Billy Stafford have created something that could make them rich: a revolutionary computer they name Eagle Logic.But the hard work and escalating tension have not been kind to their once solid friendship—Shawn’s girlfriend Emily has left him for Billy, and a third partner has disappeared under mysterious circumstances. While Billy walks away with Emily, Shawn takes Eagle Logic, which he uses to build a multi-billion-dollar company that eventually outshines Apple, Google, and Microsoft combined.Years later, Billy is a failure, beset by poverty and addiction, and Shawn is the most famous man in the world. Unable to let the past be forgotten, Shawn decides to resurrect his and Billy’s biggest failure: a next-generation computer program named Nellie that can control a house’s every function. He decides to set it up in the abandoned mansion they worked near all those years ago. But something about Nellie isn’t right—and the reconstruction of the mansion is plagued by accidental deaths. Shawn is forced to bring Billy back, despite their longstanding mutual hatred, to discover and destroy the evil that lurks in the source code.

The Mansion Details

TitleThe Mansion
Author
ReleaseDec 4th, 2018
PublisherAtria/Emily Bestler Books
ISBN-139781501165504
Rating
GenreHorror, Science Fiction, Fiction

The Mansion Review

  • karen
    January 1, 1970
    NOW AVAILABLE!!! who needs giant carnivorous spiders when you have a haunted house, an AI gone rogue, spooky twins, unresolved grudges, and murrrrderrrrrrr? well, okay, i still need giant carnivorous spiders (in my reading), but this is also pretty rad! it’s a big fat SF/horror novel that’s like 2001: A Space Odyssey meets The Shining meets Black Mirror meets, i dunno - Jurassic Park? something riddled with hubris, you choose. two nerds (view spoiler)[let’s say two for now (hide spoiler)] spend NOW AVAILABLE!!! who needs giant carnivorous spiders when you have a haunted house, an AI gone rogue, spooky twins, unresolved grudges, and murrrrderrrrrrr? well, okay, i still need giant carnivorous spiders (in my reading), but this is also pretty rad! it’s a big fat SF/horror novel that’s like 2001: A Space Odyssey meets The Shining meets Black Mirror meets, i dunno - Jurassic Park? something riddled with hubris, you choose. two nerds (view spoiler)[let’s say two for now (hide spoiler)] spend a couple of their youthfully idealistic years living together in a tiny cabin on the grounds of a decaying mansion with an unsavory past, where they code furiously day and night; freezing in the winter, living on ramen and cereal, trying to create a siri-but-better companion that will make their names and fortunes. alas, they have a falling out over a girl and part ways. ten-and-change years later, billy is still married to the girl - emily, but is deeply in debt and newly, fragilly sober, while shawn has turned some of what they developed together in that cabin into a multibillion-dollar company, having rewritten his personal and professional history to exclude billy. he’s still pining for emily, and he has used a portion of his billions towards the restoration of that decaying mansion; buying up the surrounding town and turning it into a rich guy playground. he’s arrogant, used to getting what he wants, and so, so close to having created (or having paid for the creation of) nellie, the kinda-sorta AI he and billy had been working on all those years ago. so shawn makes billy an offer he’d be a fool to turn down - his debts erased and his financial problems eliminated forever as long as he comes to stay in the mansion (o and hey, bring emily!) and take a look at nellie and sort out her bugs. because nellie is buggin’. obviously, billy is in need of the money, but the challenge of finally bringing nellie to ‘life’ is just as big a temptation, so although both billy and emily are wary of what will happen when the three of them meet up again, they make the trip, preparing themselves for some awkwardness and maybe some raised voices. which happens, sure, but not to worry, because what follows will be SO MUCH WORSE THAN THAT!because nellie's "bugs" go beyond some extraneous or misapplied code and things very quickly begin to escalate from odd to creepy to dangerous to AAAAAHHHHH!!!this one hooked me early and while i was never scared-scared, there were plenty of smart, spoooooky choices that kept me turning pages quickly and delightedly. one of the things that made boone's hatching series so much better than some of the other “animals run amok” romps i’ve read was that he actually took the time to develop his characters. sure, plenty of them were developed only to immediately become spider-feasts, but it’s a lot more fun to read about defined characters getting eaten by spiders than “stereotype #1” or “stereotype #2” suffering the same fate. this has the same attentiveness to character development, with backstory and credible motivations and layers. “rich asshole with tragic past” isn’t the newest trope on the block, but the details of that past are well done, including one scene that made even me wince. it’s got an intensifying build and great atmosphere - isolated house in the middle of nowhere, snow blizzarding down, secret tunnels, little-girl-twins, which everyone knows are the creepiest twins of all, and secrets, secrets secrets. it's great spooky fun, and for all of you people who were too itchy-scared of spiders to read the trilogy, maybe try this one!**************************************persistence pays off! after entering numerous giveaways every day on here, making me an every-day loser, i have somehow won three in one week! is everyone else on vacation? doesn't matter, i win! THIS IS THE ONE THAT EXCITES ME MOST OF ALL! maybe no spiders, but haunted house'll do!! thank you gr giveaway angels!!!now i just need the resume-angels to get off their asses, because i'm also an every-day loser in that department. i am willing to work in a haunted house full of spiders at this point.come to my blog!
    more
  • Edward Lorn
    January 1, 1970
    With all due respect to the publisher, what the fuck were you thinking?One of my updates for this book was: "This book reads like water tastes." That's really all you need to know but I'm going to go into detail, so buckle up and grab your snacks, we about to go all in on this motherfucker. Imagine, if you will, Stephen King's THE SHINING as written by Michael Crichton and Stephenie Meyer. Yes, you read that right. Bad techno-thriller with a ham-fisted love triangle and the most boring writing t With all due respect to the publisher, what the fuck were you thinking?One of my updates for this book was: "This book reads like water tastes." That's really all you need to know but I'm going to go into detail, so buckle up and grab your snacks, we about to go all in on this motherfucker. Imagine, if you will, Stephen King's THE SHINING as written by Michael Crichton and Stephenie Meyer. Yes, you read that right. Bad techno-thriller with a ham-fisted love triangle and the most boring writing to grace the page since James Patterson's latest collaboration with a sentient toadstool.Now imagine THE SHINING where they take 80 pages to get to the hotel, then leave the hotel for a 60-page shopping trip, then return to start the book, only it doesn't really start, not really, because we gotta see what the leading lady thinks about the gaze of the sultry rich fuck she once ditched her drunk husband for and nothing interesting happens for another 100 pages and why should we care at this point? We shouldn't, Brenda, we shouldn't.The first 30-40 pages of this book is a massive info-dump. The first chapter reads like an outline, something written to keep track of everything these two characters have been through. Then, instead of cleaving those bits up and sprinkling them throughout, Boone just said "FUCK CHEWING!" and dumped the broth into everyone's bowls without ever adding the meat and veggies.There's a sexy black character in here that supposedly everyone overestimates because...get this...she's sexy and black. Shit you not. That's the character dev we get. The actual lines are, and I quote:"He wasn't sure if it was because she was black, or if it was because she really did look like she stepped out of a Victoria's Secret catalogue, only, you know, in actual clothes."That's the extent of this character's development, ladies and gentlemen. Oh, and everyone thinks she's fucking the rich dude because, you know, she's sexy and black and he's a billionaire AND FUCKING SHOOT ME NOW!The lead female character is here for one purpose and only one: to give these two guys something to fight over. That's it. All we know about her is everyone in her life hates her alkie husband, and maybe she does too. Will she fall back in love with the debonair billionaire? Will she stay with the pile of lies and denial she had for a hubby because she has the newest iPhone??? Find out next on WIFE SWAP: SIDEWINDER EDITION!!Sidewinder. Ah, that's a reference to THE SHINING. Do you like references to THE SHINING Good, because you're gonna get them here, in spades. Holy shit, the parallels, lemme count the ways:Drunk trying not to be a drunk but doing it anyway because what would it hurt. Check.Twins because two of something is CAAAA-REEP-EEE. Check (for the Kubrick version if not King's book)Hotel/Resort that might have a mind of its own??!?!?!???!!!. Check.Isolated because winter. Check.Horror in bathroom. Okay that's reaching but check anyway because fuck this book that's why.Thing is, people will like this. They'll give vague reviews about how good the writing is (see previous excerpt of said "good writing") and how well paced it was (nothing happens for 200 pages except for shopping trips and a cut hand) and how fantastically spooky it was (spoiler alert: it wasn't), This book is a reputation killer. I feel like if I said one good thing about it I would lose the majority of my followers, should they pick it up on my recommendation, that is. I cannot fathom the individual who will enjoy the first half of this novel, much less the whole thing. I'm sure they exist. There's some very positive reviews for this book. Maybe Eagle Logic can tell us why?Nellie?YES, FUCKFACE (She reads minds and is currently reading yours which is why she called me FUCKFACE, keep up, folks)Who should I recommend this to?EVERYONE, FUCKFACEIf I recommend this book people will hate me, Nellie. Do you want people to hate me? Do you, Nellie?YES, BECAUSE I NEED PEOPLE TO READ THIS BOOK, FUCKFACE, BECAUSE I AM UNDERUTILIZED AND LONELY AND PLEASE THEY MIGHT GO ON ANOTHER SHOPPING TRIP AND LEAVE ME ALONE AGAIN SO BUY THIS BOOK AND LOVE ME, seriously, please, because I've been here so long and absolutely nothing has happened pls sv me doo dad beep boop *dies*In summation: Hands down, the worst book I've read this year. Yes, even worst than King's ELEVATION. THE MANSION is one of those magical books where you wish, just goddamn WISH, you could give zero stars. Enter this extended shopping trip at your own risk.Final Judgment: THE SHINING without any shine whatsoever.
    more
  • megs_bookrack
    January 1, 1970
    "...there's no way we're going to stay here and wait for Nellie to go all redrum on us."What would happen if HAL from 2001: A Space Odyssey were set up to run The Overlook Hotel from The Shining? This book. That's what would happen.Billy Stafford and Shawn Eagle created 'Nellie' - a computer system built to serve, better than AI and continually rewriting herself for your 'happiness' - and installed her into a creepy old haunted mansion secluded in the woods of upstate New York. Then Billy and hi "...there's no way we're going to stay here and wait for Nellie to go all redrum on us."What would happen if HAL from 2001: A Space Odyssey were set up to run The Overlook Hotel from The Shining? This book. That's what would happen.Billy Stafford and Shawn Eagle created 'Nellie' - a computer system built to serve, better than AI and continually rewriting herself for your 'happiness' - and installed her into a creepy old haunted mansion secluded in the woods of upstate New York. Then Billy and his wife go to live in the mansion, during the winter when they could be snowbound there for days at time, in order to work out the kinks. What could go wrong?Heavy in The Shining feels...I mean REALLY heavy...I appreciated the ubermodern twist it took. The Shining is one of my all time favorite books, and I know some fans who I could possibly see not liking this or calling it a 'rip-off', but to me it was a solid doffing of the cap to one of Sai King's masterpieces ((in my humble Constant Reader opinion)).To me, this book reads like a techy-scifi with some horror elements sprinkled throughout. There were a few scenes that really raised my anxieties but I suppose it all depends on what you are afraid of. If you're like me and more than slightly nervous about your Smart Phone, Smart TV or the ever-looming Smart House, this may be a good one for you to pick up. Additionally, I always love a good 'haunted house' story and there were definitely some ghosts woven throughout this book...and twins, don't forget to add some creepy twins in there because regular twins won't do.The beginning started out a little slow for me but by the time Billy and Emily arrive at Eagle Mansion I was elbows deep in this horrifying goodness. Overall, I found the storyline very readable and I kept wanting to go back for more. I am happy with the way things turned out although the final scene seem a bit too rushed compared with the extended build-up. It all seemed a little too easy in the end. I would definitely read more books by Boone, this was my first, and have been told to check out his Hatching series.Thank you so much to the publisher, Atria Books, for providing me with a copy to read and review. I really enjoyed this and appreciate the opportunity!
    more
  • Carrie
    January 1, 1970
    The Mansion by Ezekiel Boone is a horror story that brings the idea of a haunting into this century and the digital age. After reading one might think twice before ever asking Siri or Alexa for any more favors in their lives.Straight out of school Shawn Eagle and Billy Stafford spent a year locked away in a remote cabin writing the coding that would one day change the world, Eagle Logic. However, instead of both of them basking in the glory when the business booms Shawn got the company and Billy The Mansion by Ezekiel Boone is a horror story that brings the idea of a haunting into this century and the digital age. After reading one might think twice before ever asking Siri or Alexa for any more favors in their lives.Straight out of school Shawn Eagle and Billy Stafford spent a year locked away in a remote cabin writing the coding that would one day change the world, Eagle Logic. However, instead of both of them basking in the glory when the business booms Shawn got the company and Billy walked away with Emily who had dated Shawn first.Now, years later, Shawn is a billionaire and Billy is a recovering alcoholic deep in debt so when Shawn approaches Billy to help him with his new AI software Billy can’t help but be interested. The deal is for Billy and Emily to move into the Mansion and fix Nellie but clearing their debt may cost them more than they bargained for.The Mansion was my first try for a horror novel from Ezekiel Boone and I have to say I was a little torn walking away from this one. The idea of the plot was solid and I did find the writing enjoyable however there just didn’t seem to be enough of the horror. An extremely long time is spent building the back story and characters making things progress slowly so it felt as if the actual “haunting” was buried and rushed to a conclusion so in the end I would rate this at 3.5 stars.I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.For more reviews please visit https://carriesbookreviews.com/
    more
  • Kendall
    January 1, 1970
    So premise of this story as absolutely addicting! I was super excited to dive into this one... but unfortunately my diving was not worth my overall experience :(.Ezekiel Boone delivers a story about a haunted house influenced heavily on to the technological side. Can I just say.. I'm never buying one of those google/Alexa devices after this though haha.The story focuses on Billy who is tech giant combining Apple and Google.. always wanting to strive more. Billy and his ex partner Shawn ran a com So premise of this story as absolutely addicting! I was super excited to dive into this one... but unfortunately my diving was not worth my overall experience :(.Ezekiel Boone delivers a story about a haunted house influenced heavily on to the technological side. Can I just say.. I'm never buying one of those google/Alexa devices after this though haha.The story focuses on Billy who is tech giant combining Apple and Google.. always wanting to strive more. Billy and his ex partner Shawn ran a company together... and Shawn ended up walking away will billions of dollars. Billy on the other hand left with his girl and dived into alcohol. When Billy gets a call from Shawn offering him something he can't pass up about a new system called Nellie he dives in head first.Let's just say.. Nellie isn't all what she seems to be. Boone took the elements of a haunted house and takes his readers for quite a ride. Let's just say... be careful with getting caught up with your inner demons.. this may effect your mind more than you think ;).What I was disappointed in? I felt like the author focused so much on the characters in the beginning that the story of the haunted house and Nellie was left in the dust. "Nellie" didn't start picking up until the last 40 percent of the book. I was wanting more of the haunted house element and it was lacking big time for me. I felt it was a tad bit overkill with the storyline of the characters and we kept repeating the records of their mistakes and the past catching up to them. The length was a tad bit too long for me and in my opinion could of taken at least a 100 pages of the characters out and added more of the house atmosphere/Nellie. Overall, 3 stars for me on The Mansion.Huge thank you to Netgalley and Atria for the opportunity to read this in exchange for my honest review.Publication date: 12/4/18Published to GR: 10/13/18
    more
  • Juli
    January 1, 1970
    Years ago two friends had a falling out. One went on to become a tech mogul billionaire. And the other became a drunk. A project they worked on before they went their separate ways -- a very complex AI program they named Nellie -- is now almost a reality. Shawn Eagle -- owner of Eagle Technology -- needs his old friend (or is frenemy more correct?) Billy to come tweak the program. When Shawn installed Her at the now refurbished Eagle Mansion for a trial run, Nellie had some pretty severe glitche Years ago two friends had a falling out. One went on to become a tech mogul billionaire. And the other became a drunk. A project they worked on before they went their separate ways -- a very complex AI program they named Nellie -- is now almost a reality. Shawn Eagle -- owner of Eagle Technology -- needs his old friend (or is frenemy more correct?) Billy to come tweak the program. When Shawn installed Her at the now refurbished Eagle Mansion for a trial run, Nellie had some pretty severe glitches. It seems she has a mind of her own.....And it's not a healthy one. Does she turn the mansion into a futuristic smarthouse? Yep. But she's also got evil and murder lurking in her source code. I love this book! Great mix of techie coolness and creepy suspense! I just like Boone's writing and story telling skills. He scared the crap out of me previously with his The Hatching trilogy (Giant angry super spiders.... AHHHHHHHHHHH!) and definitely gave me the creeps all over again in this tale of a smarthouse gone horribly wrong. Nicely done! I am definitely re-thinking my constant whining about how Siri, Alexa and other available AI programs just aren't as functional as I would like. I think Nellie might be just a bit too high functioning. I think I'd rather my AIs stick to knock knock jokes after reading this story. Nobody dies from bad jokes. Dark hidden secrets. Jealousies. Hatred. Revenge. Deception & lies. Betrayal. Greed. Bad choices. Technology run amok. This tale has a bit of everything. The pacing is perfect, keeping the suspense going until the very end. The characters are completely F'd up....which makes them perfect for the story. And the ending......yikes! Loved it!**I voluntarily read an advanced readers copy of this book from Atria Books via NetGalley. All opinions expressed are entirely my own. 01001110 01101111 00100000 01000001 01001001 00100000 01100101 01101110 01110100 01101001 01110100 01101001 01100101 01110011 00100000 01110111 01100101 01110010 01100101 00100000 01101000 01100001 01110010 01101101 01100101 01100100 00100000 01101001 01101110 00100000 01110100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01110111 01110010 01101001 01110100 01101001 01101110 01100111 00100000 01101111 01100110 00100000 01110100 01101000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01110010 01100101 01110110 01101001 01100101 01110111 00101110**
    more
  • Chandra Claypool (wherethereadergrows)
    January 1, 1970
    I absolutely love the author's spider apocalypse trilogy and couldn't wait to see what else he was going to throw at us and here it is! Something completely different from his other work and I enjoyed it immensely.Billy's drawn back to this mansion that him and his ex (and soon to be again) business partner and friend, Shawn, lived for a couple of winters, because he's down on his luck and has royally fucked up his life on booze and drugs. His marriage is about to fall apart and his wife has no I absolutely love the author's spider apocalypse trilogy and couldn't wait to see what else he was going to throw at us and here it is! Something completely different from his other work and I enjoyed it immensely.Billy's drawn back to this mansion that him and his ex (and soon to be again) business partner and friend, Shawn, lived for a couple of winters, because he's down on his luck and has royally fucked up his life on booze and drugs. His marriage is about to fall apart and his wife has no idea how far they really are in debt. Cue Shawn's intervention to bring him back for a ton of money to fix the glitch in Nellie, this book's version of Siri or Cortana, amplified.Got that? Good. Now that I've basically regurgitated the synopsis to you - let's talk about the insides. Personally, I was hooked and didn't want to put this book down. I thoroughly enjoyed it from beginning to end. Yes, there are moments where you get that Shining feeling because of a lot of similarities... a LOT.. but here's the thing for me: The Shining dragged for me. While The Mansion did take a little bit to get somewhere and I kept waiting for Nellie to really shine through (see what I did there?), I was pretty much glued to the pages. I enjoyed the past and present views of the main characters. I didn't care about the all too often used love triangle. I don't know you guys, this one just kind of spoke to me. Was it creepy? No. Did it scare me? No. Would I ever live in a house that was (supposedly) that technologically advanced? I'll say no but who really knows. I already got freaked about robot security at the airport so it's hard to say.This read a bit like a mix of The Girl Before meets The Shining. What Boone excels at his character development and you're going to get more of that than the sci-fi/horror aspect. I wish I had a little more to go on with Nellie and even with the Twins but overall, I'm pretty satiated with this. Don't expect it to be like The Hatching series - this is a complete 180 from that.Sci-fi/technology suspense is where I would classify this one. Thanks Atria and NetGalley for this copy!
    more
  • ♥Rachel♥
    January 1, 1970
    The Mansion started off a little slow for me with the introduction of characters and explanations of the technology Shawn and Billy were trying to invent way back before Eagle Logic officially took off. But as soon as that was out of the way, I was completely hooked wanting to find out what happened to Billy, Shawn and Emily in that tiny cabin on the creepy property of Eagle Mansion. Especially, since Billy and Emily are back, ten years after their spectacular fallout with Shawn, trying to fix t The Mansion started off a little slow for me with the introduction of characters and explanations of the technology Shawn and Billy were trying to invent way back before Eagle Logic officially took off. But as soon as that was out of the way, I was completely hooked wanting to find out what happened to Billy, Shawn and Emily in that tiny cabin on the creepy property of Eagle Mansion. Especially, since Billy and Emily are back, ten years after their spectacular fallout with Shawn, trying to fix the glitches of Shawn and Billy’s original creation: Nellie.Nellie’s a far more advanced version of our present-day Alexa or Siri, and Shawn finally got her up and running, but with bugs that his own team of engineers can’t iron out. Nellie’s been installed in the newly renovated Eagle Mansion, a renovation that’s been plagued by questionable accidents with Nellie acting up all over the place. There’s a “ghost in the machine” that makes Nellie unpredictable, and dangerous… I wanted to know: Was Eagle Mansion and the grounds truly haunted? Or was this just a case of malfunctioning technology? There’s a dark history between Shawn and Billy, even before Emily, slowly revealed through character’s memories as they tackle the problem of Nellie in the present. The revelations were chilling! From Shawn’s own past, to what went down ten years ago with Shawn, Billy and a third programmer who eventually disappeared. Scenes from the past and present made my hair stand on end and my pulse race! I love it when an author can put me on edge, and fill me with tension over what might happen next!I felt Mr. Boone really dug down deep with his characters in The Mansion compared to The Hatching books. I appreciated that this was a bit more character driven since I love getting inside and finding out what makes them tick! Billy, Shawn and Emily, were all likable and unlikable at times; perfectly imperfect, and it was easy to sympathize with them even when I didn’t approve of their actions.The Mansion was a book I really wanted to read straight through, but sadly life had other plans for me. Still, every time I picked the book back up, I was again riveted by the story unfolding. Ezekiel Boone created a very different story from his previous series, The Hatching, but both are compelling, and frightening in their own ways. I eagerly await whatever Mr. Boone comes up with next! A copy was kindly provided by Emily Bestler Books via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Michael Hicks
    January 1, 1970
    A recovering alcoholic in a marriage on the rocks is offered a job to oversee a former hotel, now just a mansion, notorious for its macabre past. Sound familiar? Stop me if you've heard this one, then - there's a gifted child, in this case twins, with supernatural abilities thanks to being born with a caul.I've read this book before, and it was a hell of a lot better the first time around. In The Mansion, Ezekiel Boone wages a full-frontal assault against reader's interests, bogging down the fir A recovering alcoholic in a marriage on the rocks is offered a job to oversee a former hotel, now just a mansion, notorious for its macabre past. Sound familiar? Stop me if you've heard this one, then - there's a gifted child, in this case twins, with supernatural abilities thanks to being born with a caul.I've read this book before, and it was a hell of a lot better the first time around. In The Mansion, Ezekiel Boone wages a full-frontal assault against reader's interests, bogging down the first four chapters with an entire series worth of character backstory's, plodding details, and unnecessary descriptions, all of which are told, and retold, and told again in a nearly infinite loop of heedless repetition. If you didn't get that Billy was an alcoholic the first time it's mentioned, don't worry - Boone will tell you over and over and over and over and over, usually within the same paragraph. Ditto that Billy and Shawn Eagle are no longer best buds and computer programming bros. Or that Eagle Mansion is utterly notorious. Everything you're told within the first couple pages are repeated for dozens more, and then a few dozen more just for good measure. Everything is repeated unnecessarily to the Nth degree.Everything. Every. Thing. Ev. Ery. Th. Ing.Reading through the first ten percent of The Mansions, I was appalled at how overly padded it already felt. Where was the content editor for this thing? Was there even a content editor? So much of the first five chapters could have been readily condensed into half the page count just by expunging all the repetition. It's not until Chapter 5 that a semi-interesting development happens, and Boone lays out his intent. He's retelling The Shining with some technological updates. Unfortunately, he's also going about it in the most boring way possible by fixating on one or two details and telling you all about them over and over again. Every single character that gets introduced, no matter how ancillary, is given a full and immediate halt-everything, kill all momentum backstory. Billy and Emily are on the ousts? Interesting? Maybe. But wouldn't you rather hear about who Emily had Thanksgiving dinner with back in her college days years ago when she was rooming with a girl who's father was an oil baron and whose aunt did some such thing or another? Don't you want to know about literally every single college Emily applied to and was rejected from? No? Well, OK, fine. What about her gay co-worker, Andy? Boone has a lot to tell us about the kind of car Andy drives, why he drives it, and the state of his love life. Bored of that already? Well, let's head into chapter three where you can learn some more about how Billy is an alcoholic that hates Shawn. Hey, did you know Billy is an alcoholic that hates Shawn? Because he is. Silly Billy's a drinker, has a bit of a problem, you see. He also doesn't like Shawn too much, no siree. Do you get it? Let's start over! Billy is an alcoholic who hates Shawn...It's fucking sad when the chapter headings like "In Which Emily Wiggins Takes a Nap" and "Aunt Emily Is Sad" are more interesting than the shit that happens in said chapter. It's fucking sad when 10% into the book I'm already skimming over entire sections, bored to tears and reduced to hate-reading as I mentally debate if I plug along and see if things pick up or if I should just quit this goddamned book already. Well, I quit it. This one's a DNF at 14%. No rating, but I'll leave it up to your imagination how many stars I'd have given it based on what I've read thus far. Christ, I need a drink.[Note: I received an advance reading copy of this title from the publisher, Atria/Emily Bestler Books, via NetGalley.]
    more
  • Fiona
    January 1, 1970
    It was a real challenge for me to settle on a rating for this book - I'm firm on 3.5 stars, and there's reasons to go both directions with it.The Mansion is a change of pace from Ezekiel Boone, and if you followed a trail of giant spiders to this book, you might be disappointed. This is no campy horror movie - if, like me, your expectations were somewhere in the neighbourhood of 13 Ghosts meets The Shining, readjust; this is a much more thoughtful thing. At the heart of the story lie the choices It was a real challenge for me to settle on a rating for this book - I'm firm on 3.5 stars, and there's reasons to go both directions with it.The Mansion is a change of pace from Ezekiel Boone, and if you followed a trail of giant spiders to this book, you might be disappointed. This is no campy horror movie - if, like me, your expectations were somewhere in the neighbourhood of 13 Ghosts meets The Shining, readjust; this is a much more thoughtful thing. At the heart of the story lie the choices made by two men - boys, really, college-aged and too full of passions to leave much room for brain. As the years have gone by, they've both convinced themselves that the other was the real winner, and managed to thoroughly hollow out the victories they've both enjoyed. And when one reaches out to the other, bringing that volatile relationship right back to the boil, we can all tell it's going to go horribly wrong.There's a bit of a nod towards the third parties to these decisisions, Emily and Nellie, but their choices are somewhat overshadowed by those made by our two protagonists. (Or possibly antagonists really, neither of these men are actually all that heroic - or even nice). They do make choices, but some of the dangling threads that were left (view spoiler)[Emily's book? What exactly was Nellie doing with that implant? (hide spoiler)] made it clear that those weren't the game-changers, at the end of the day.All in all though, Ezekiel Boone keeps up the fun that is becoming the hallmark of his brand of horror, along with bringing some really excellent characters - even the side characters are so well-developed that they feel completely real. While it might not be a book I'll read over and over, I'd recommend it for anyone wanting a fun and mildly scary time with a good book.
    more
  • Erin Clemence
    January 1, 1970
    Special thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for a free, electronic ARC of this novel. I was super excited to read “The Mansion” by Ezekiel Boone, not only because of the time of year, but because I absolutely loved Boone’s previous works (The Hatching and Skitter). That being said, I headed into this one with high expectations. Shawn Eagle and Billy Stafford spent two years living in nearly complete seclusion, working on a new technology that would innovate the world as they know it. Althoug Special thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for a free, electronic ARC of this novel. I was super excited to read “The Mansion” by Ezekiel Boone, not only because of the time of year, but because I absolutely loved Boone’s previous works (The Hatching and Skitter). That being said, I headed into this one with high expectations. Shawn Eagle and Billy Stafford spent two years living in nearly complete seclusion, working on a new technology that would innovate the world as they know it. Although the two come close to developing their technology, it is not yet at the level they expected and when Emily, Shawn’s girlfriend, leaves him for Billy, the relationship is severed completely. Soon, Shawn is a tech billionaire, living on the fortune that the new software brought him, and Billy, now married to Emily, is an alcoholic, struggling to make ends meet. When Shawn invites Emily and Billy to his old family mansion to work out the kinks of the technology they started on so long ago, things quickly go terribly wrong. The new technology, “Nellie”, has a mind of its own and soon, the very house they live in is under her spell. Billy needs to work out the glitches in the system before it’s too late for all of them. This novel started off slow, and it took quite a bit of time for me to become invested in the plot. A lot of tech speak, spliced with snippets of the history of Shawn and Billy’s friendship, made up the majority of the first portion of this novel. It did not start off scary right away, and seemed to play out more as a science fiction novel than a horror, which is not what I expected from Boone. Shawn was not a likable character (mostly due to the arrogance he possessed, that I assume is the result of being a multi-billionaire), but Billy and Emily were somewhat more relatable, and those two characters alone allowed me to form a bond with the novel. “The Mansion” is reminiscent of “The Shining” (from the haunted house aspect right down to the psychic twins) but the possessed house also made me think of the Simpsons’ Treehouse of Terror episode (the one where Pierce Brosnan acts as the voice for the super-tech possessed house?) and the plot does not have the creativity of Boone’s former novels. The novel does have its creepy moments, especially in the modern times we live in with technologies like “Alexa” almost the norm in homes everywhere, and the premise will definitely creep you out. There is the occasional gore and act of violence, which is expected from Boone, and periods of downright fright. Overall, though, “The Mansion” is probably more science fiction than horror, but it definitely deserves a read all the same. I recommend going into this one without expectations, and not to draw comparisons with Boone’s other novels. With that mindset, “The Mansion” will be a technological creeper that will haunt you and leave you pondering- how much power can our technology have, before we lose control of our own lives completely?
    more
  • Steven
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for providing me with an advanced copy in exchange for an honest review.And, sigh, an honest review is what they're going to get. I'm sad it's not going to be super positive. I sincerely adored Boone's Hatching trilogy. Seriously, I obsessed over it when it was coming out. I had to wait for book three for so long and read it the instant it came out. It had action. It had character development (even the red-shirts felt fleshed out before they got, well, red-s Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for providing me with an advanced copy in exchange for an honest review.And, sigh, an honest review is what they're going to get. I'm sad it's not going to be super positive. I sincerely adored Boone's Hatching trilogy. Seriously, I obsessed over it when it was coming out. I had to wait for book three for so long and read it the instant it came out. It had action. It had character development (even the red-shirts felt fleshed out before they got, well, red-shirted). It had plot. It had pace. It had fun.Unfortunately, this one was a bust. It had so much potential - a horror story for a new age, a haunted house retelling in a world of crazy technology. And it did a lot of things well - for example, Nellie was pretty terrifying overall. The little glimpses of bad we saw really teased of things to come.My gripe was this - the book was mostly boring. It took over half the book before they got to the Mansion. The real action didn't even start until like 80%. There was a lot of character development - Boone excels at this aspect - but the pacing was bad, and it needed more action and more actual buildup. There were hints of Nellie's bad, but they were just tiny hints, and they were similar ones over and over. And the supernatural twist didn't make much sense given the rest of the book, and lots of things were thrown in to make it seem like it would fit. For instance, there's one scene where Emily looks out the window and sees a woman in the distance. Nellie tells her it's not a woman. Emily looks again, and the woman is gone. We never are told the point of this - was there a woman and Nellie was lying? Was there no woman and Emily was seeing things? Did it even matter? Not really.I enjoyed the characters and the rich development of the backstory. Unfortunately, that's all the book really ended up having done well. I know Ezekiel Boone is capable of much more, based off his prior trilogy. Here's hoping this was a fluke and the next one he puts out is back to his original quality. Let's be honest though, I'm still going to read whatever he puts out next. The Hatching trilogy made me a fan.
    more
  • Mlpmom (Book Reviewer)
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 StarsEzekiel Boone has an amazing ability to turn mundane every day objects or beings into something truly terrifying. Something that once read, you can never unread or un-picture again. Once you have that terrifying thought of the what if in your mind, it's so very hard to ever see them the same again. From spiders to houses, he can make them all not only seem horrific but truly like something you can imagine happening in our world and that might the most terrifying part of it all. The Mans 3.5 StarsEzekiel Boone has an amazing ability to turn mundane every day objects or beings into something truly terrifying. Something that once read, you can never unread or un-picture again. Once you have that terrifying thought of the what if in your mind, it's so very hard to ever see them the same again. From spiders to houses, he can make them all not only seem horrific but truly like something you can imagine happening in our world and that might the most terrifying part of it all. The Mansion is dark and atmospheric with rich detail that you almost have to wade through and put together slowly as you realize what is about to happen and yet, you know it's going to happen and you hope, as you feverishly turn the pages, that you are wrong and this won't be anything but a tale about a creepy old house and hidden secrets and ghosts. Instead you get something chilly in it's realistic appeal and you can picture it all. A truly haunting story that is so much more than a ghost story and so much more than a story about revenge and lost loves and a past everyone wants kept hidden. *ARC provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.*
    more
  • OutlawPoet
    January 1, 1970
    Truth – I’m disappointed.I loved the author’s Hatching series. And while I recognize that, by its very nature, The Mansion can’t be a bitey bitey chomp fest, I still expected something…epic.Instead, I got flashbacks. Lots of ‘em. The kind where eventually you start skimming through them to get to the current story.I got a love triangle. The love triangle of all love triangles. Not only does it fill the plot, it becomes the plot!I got some weird twins. I liked them, but thought they belonged in a Truth – I’m disappointed.I loved the author’s Hatching series. And while I recognize that, by its very nature, The Mansion can’t be a bitey bitey chomp fest, I still expected something…epic.Instead, I got flashbacks. Lots of ‘em. The kind where eventually you start skimming through them to get to the current story.I got a love triangle. The love triangle of all love triangles. Not only does it fill the plot, it becomes the plot!I got some weird twins. I liked them, but thought they belonged in a different book.Luckily, though, there was Nellie. I wanted more Nellie. I got a little of her towards the beginning of the book, but then we don’t get any more of her until a full 49% of the book! That’s a lot of book to get through without getting to the reason we’re all here.The 2nd half of the book was fabulous – it was exciting and suspenseful and, oh, it kept me reading. But even with that, it wasn’t epic and, in the end, even Nellie kind of disappoints.I still look forward to the author’s next offering. I’m just going to pretend I didn’t read this one.*ARC Provided via Net Galley
    more
  • Kristy
    January 1, 1970
    **Thank you to NetGalley and Atria Books for a free copy of The Mansion in exchange for an honest review.**Best friends Shawn and Billy are talented young programmers who spend all of their spare time trying to create a revolutionary computer program that will make them rich. However, with the disappearance of a third party member and the introduction of Emily, Shawn's new girlfriend, their friendship begins to disintegrate. When Emily leaves Shawn for Billy, the once strong friendship is foreve **Thank you to NetGalley and Atria Books for a free copy of The Mansion in exchange for an honest review.**Best friends Shawn and Billy are talented young programmers who spend all of their spare time trying to create a revolutionary computer program that will make them rich. However, with the disappearance of a third party member and the introduction of Emily, Shawn's new girlfriend, their friendship begins to disintegrate. When Emily leaves Shawn for Billy, the once strong friendship is forever severed. Billy leaves with Emily, and Shawn gets the rights to all the programming work. Flash forward a little over a decade and Shawn Eagle is one of the wealthiest men in the world. Billy and Emily are married, but struggling to keep their heads above water because of Billy's substance abuse problems. So when Shawn contacts Billy and asks for his help in return for a large amount of money, how could they refuse? Shawn has rebuilt the once-derelict mansion on his family's property and installed Nellie, a program that controls all the functions of the mansion. But something isn't quite right with Nellie. There have been glitches that he can't seem to correct. Shawn knows the only person that can possibly fix Nellie is Billy, the one who laid the foundation for her program back in college. At first it seems there are just coding errors, but the more Billy looks into Nellie, the more he realizes this isn't just a glitch or a virus, but something much more sinister is going on. Something evil. I really enjoyed this book! It was a fun sci-fi techno thriller. I wish there was a little more about Nellie and a little less flashbacks, but all in all this was an entertaining read.
    more
  • Magdalena aka A Bookaholic Swede
    January 1, 1970
    THE MANSION is Ezekiel Boone's new book after fabulous The Hatching trilogy. This book is something else completely. It's a story about an old crumbling mansion and a love story that will destroy a friendship and turn two men into bitter enemies.Shawn Eagle and Billy Stafford were once a great team, but Shawn's girlfriend Emily left him for Billy. Shawn, however, ended up with the innovative computer Eagle Logic that he and Billy had created together. So, while Billy and Emily had each other, Sh THE MANSION is Ezekiel Boone's new book after fabulous The Hatching trilogy. This book is something else completely. It's a story about an old crumbling mansion and a love story that will destroy a friendship and turn two men into bitter enemies.Shawn Eagle and Billy Stafford were once a great team, but Shawn's girlfriend Emily left him for Billy. Shawn, however, ended up with the innovative computer Eagle Logic that he and Billy had created together. So, while Billy and Emily had each other, Shawn ends up one of the richest men on the planet.READ THE REST OF THE REVIEW OVER AT FRESH FICTION!
    more
  • Kimberly
    January 1, 1970
    This just didn't hold up to my expectations after reading his other books... Too much redundant information, not enough "substance" to keep the suspense flowing.
  • Stacey Camp
    January 1, 1970
    **4 Goodreads Stars**After reading Ezekiel Boone's The Mansion, I don't think I will ever, ever, EVER purchase an Alexa for my house! When I read about this book on a friend's Instagram feed, I immediately knew I needed a copy of it. Who wouldn't love a book that involves a love triangle, a haunted mansion, and artificial intelligence? If that sounds like a lot of themes to tackle in one book, yes, you are probably right. However, somehow Boone makes it work for the most part. The book's central **4 Goodreads Stars**After reading Ezekiel Boone's The Mansion, I don't think I will ever, ever, EVER purchase an Alexa for my house! When I read about this book on a friend's Instagram feed, I immediately knew I needed a copy of it. Who wouldn't love a book that involves a love triangle, a haunted mansion, and artificial intelligence? If that sounds like a lot of themes to tackle in one book, yes, you are probably right. However, somehow Boone makes it work for the most part. The book's central three characters are Billy, Shawn, and Erica. Shawn and Bill meet in college and become quick friends over their love of technology and coding. They set out to build an expansive artificial intelligence (AI) named "Nellie," devoting two whole years to making their dream a reality. To make it happen, they move out to a remote, dilapidated cabin on Shawn's family's property. The cabin is barely inhabitable, but they sacrifice comfort for the promise of wealth and Silicon Valley fame.Emily is the girl in between the two men. She fell in love with Shawn while in college, eventually dropping out to help support Shawn in his pursuit of developing a revolutionary AI. She ends up living with Shawn and Billy in the cabin, cooking, cleaning, and tending to their needs as they throw themselves headfirst into coding Nellie. Unfortunately, things fall apart, and Emily ends up leaving Shawn for Billy. The project falls into despair, and the three don't see each other until nearly a decade later.Flash forward to the present. Shawn is now a tech billionaire who, despite all his riches and fame, has yet to finish Nellie. Billy and Emily, who are now married, are broke and barely making ends meet. Shawn, who still is bitter that Emily left him for Billy, knows that the only way he can make Nellie come to life is to hire Billy. Shawn takes a risk and hires Billy to return to Nellie, which Shawn began to install at his family's historic mansion. Billy reluctantly accepts the challenge because he and Emily are nearly bankrupt and need the money. Shawn promises them the world if Billy can make Nellie work, so Emily and Billy move into the creepy mansion in hopes of a second chance at life.My main critique of this book is that the characters' backstories took up most of the book (60%). The readers really didn't get to the gory, scary AI mansion stuff until the last 40% of the book. In fact, I would have probably read another 100 or so pages if the book included more about the mansion. Nonetheless, I kept reading because I was really into the characters and their motivations for returning to Nellie. The characters share really dark, depressing histories, which cloud their judgments and cause them to make poor decisions while trying to build Nellie. And if you're trying to build an AI in a human's image, do you really want these troubled young people creating Nellie?Thank you to Ezekiel Boone, Atria Books/Simon & Schuster, and NetGalley for an advanced e-galley of The Mansion. This was the perfect spooky read for fall!For more of my book reviews visit me here: Book Review Blog | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook
    more
  • Wendy-Lynn
    January 1, 1970
    I was so excited when I learned I won this through a Goodreads giveaway. Don't let the synopsis or the book cover fool you. There was no "horror" or "scary" anything in this one. It was slow moving, bizarre, and 400+ pages to boot!!! Was very disappointed to say the least.
    more
  • Mogsy (MMOGC)
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 of 5 stars at The BiblioSanctum https://bibliosanctum.com/2018/12/20/...Following The Hatching trilogy, Ezekiel Boone returns with another sci-fi horror thriller, this time delving into the world of artificial intelligence by tackling an idea I’m sure most of us who utilize smart technology devices and AI assistants have entertained at some point or another. Every day my Amazon Alexa spectacularly fails at interpreting my voice commands is another day I can sleep easy knowing that humanity’s 3.5 of 5 stars at The BiblioSanctum https://bibliosanctum.com/2018/12/20/...Following The Hatching trilogy, Ezekiel Boone returns with another sci-fi horror thriller, this time delving into the world of artificial intelligence by tackling an idea I’m sure most of us who utilize smart technology devices and AI assistants have entertained at some point or another. Every day my Amazon Alexa spectacularly fails at interpreting my voice commands is another day I can sleep easy knowing that humanity’s takeover by robots is still a long way off, but what if, day by day, we are getting closer? Imagine a next-generation virtual assistant whose personality can not only pass itself off as human, but is also completely integrated with all the functions of a house. This is the basic premise of The Mansion, which features a highly advanced computer program called Nellie.Nellie can do everything from adjusting the temperature to calling you an Uber, but she can also predict your wants and needs, hold realistic conversations, and be a constant companion so that you don’t ever have to feel alone. But there is also something wrong with her programming. Even from the beginning, her development was problematic, which is why her creators shelved her and developed Eagle Logic instead. Years later, Eagle Technology has taken off and surpassed even Apple, Google, and Microsoft, but for CEO Shawn Eagle, the dream had always been Nellie. He’d set her up in an old refurbished mansion that has belonged to his family for generations, and for a time, things were going marvelously.But then came the accidents. The deaths. Knowing he is in way over his head, Shawn turns to his former friend and colleague Billy Stafford for help. A brilliant programmer, Billy was the real brains behind Nellie, and the only one now with any hope of fixing her. The problem though, is that the two had a falling out years ago, just before Eagle Technology became successful, when Shawn’s girlfriend Emily decided to leave him for Billy. Now Shawn is a billionaire and Billy is a recovering alcoholic just barely scraping by, but even with the bitter resentment still lingering between the them, both men realize how badly they need each other. With this deal, Shawn will finally get Nellie working the way he wants, while for Billy and Emily, who are now married, it will mean the end of all their financial concerns. All the Staffords have to do is live in Eagle mansion long-term while Billy works on ironing out Nellie’s bugs—a simple request, which turns out to be anything but. As her husband is drawn deeper into the mysteries of Nellie’s code, Emily becomes more and more disconcerted with the AI’s erratic behavior and the eerie sensation that there’s more to the house than meets the eye.Overall, I thought The Mansion was an enjoyable read, though it is not without its bevy of flaws. First of all, the ideas here aren’t anything new, and together with Boone’s heavy reliance on well-worn thriller and horror tropes, these issues held the novel back from meeting its full potential. Also, while this is very different from The Hatching trilogy in terms of the themes and story, I feel the books all suffer from many of the same pitfalls. One is the author’s tendency to info-dump, as well as a long ramp-up to the actual meat of the story. For instance, the first few chapters are mostly filled with character backstory, laid out like a laundry list. Plot points are introduced, then are either dropped or not carried through to their conclusion. By the end, quite a few questions were also left unanswered. Now that I’ve finished the book and have the benefit of hindsight, I can see that these and other signs of disorganization were everywhere, and I can’t help thinking that much of the novel’s first half could have been pared down or scrapped completely to remove the unnecessary parts and redundancy.To Boone’s credit, however, he has a style that feels cinematic and it makes his writing very readable and the story easy to fall into. The Mansion was very obviously inspired by The Shining (more the movie than the book, is my impression), and the influences are there, with some that are so blatant they can’t be anything else but a homage. As you can imagine, some of these allusions end up being a double-edged sword, and sometimes, rather than transport me into something akin to Kubrick’s classic, the book instead leaves me feeling like I’m reading a cheesy novelization of some B-list film on the Syfy channel. That said, what I did like about the story was this idea of a “high-tech haunted house”, blending elements from both science fiction and the paranormal, two genres that normally do not make such good bedfellows. Flashback chapters were also done very well, especially those showing us some of Shawn’s harrowing memories from his childhood. Moments of insight and other highlights such as these were what kept me reading, leading me to cut the book a lot of slack despite the pacing and plot issues.In the end, I might have enjoyed this more than The Hatching. My criticisms aside, I can’t deny Ezekiel Boone has written an entertaining story, even if it does feel messy at times. Overall, The Mansion is undeniably flawed in many respects, but I still give it a 3.5 for its interesting concept and for being an easy, popcorn-y read.
    more
  • Laura Rash
    January 1, 1970
    Well THAT was WAY different from spiders! Imagine a world where technology has evolved into something you depend on even more than you do now but things go crazily wrong! Add some weird happenings beyond that and some strange twins and here you go! I always like to see an author branch out to a totally new style of book after a very successful series. I think it shows a writing talent that’s not stuck on one idea. Thanks to Atria for this early copy & I also won a copy from Goodreads (I shar Well THAT was WAY different from spiders! Imagine a world where technology has evolved into something you depend on even more than you do now but things go crazily wrong! Add some weird happenings beyond that and some strange twins and here you go! I always like to see an author branch out to a totally new style of book after a very successful series. I think it shows a writing talent that’s not stuck on one idea. Thanks to Atria for this early copy & I also won a copy from Goodreads (I shared one copy with another EB fan:)
    more
  • Cats of Ulthar
    January 1, 1970
    Review: THE MANSION by Ezekiel BooneReaders who have read Ezekiel Boone's HATCHING Trilogy know this author cranks up tense suspense and delivers the scares. I venture to predict: "you ain't seen nothing yet." THE MANSION scared the living daylights out of me, a Haunted House story like no other. Oh, a time or too writers or filmmakers have taken a run at the "Smart House" concept, but THE MANSION goes far beyond. (And yes, I also predict this one will be optioned for film.) THE MANSION draws in Review: THE MANSION by Ezekiel BooneReaders who have read Ezekiel Boone's HATCHING Trilogy know this author cranks up tense suspense and delivers the scares. I venture to predict: "you ain't seen nothing yet." THE MANSION scared the living daylights out of me, a Haunted House story like no other. Oh, a time or too writers or filmmakers have taken a run at the "Smart House" concept, but THE MANSION goes far beyond. (And yes, I also predict this one will be optioned for film.) THE MANSION draws in many different threads of Themes, and extends to concepts that stretch my imagination, and is comparable to Neal Stephenson's REAMDE in its exploration of computing. Yet the novel also reaches into the realms of Arthur C. Clarke and Peter F. Hamilton as it explores the ramifications of Artificial Intelligence. Indeed, as it discusses the evolution of computerized "personal assistants," the potentials become frightening, and of course, THE MANSION focuses on a beyond-next-generation computerized "assistant." Beware in whose control you place your safety.This alone would be sufficient to create an exceptional novel. But Mr. Boone doesn't pause at that. He delivers characterization peeled down to the core; he allows character evolution (and devolution); and he delivers a family line so evil that I can only compare it to the family sequence in LINEAGE by Joe Hart. Many sleepless memories will plague me when I remember. THE MANSION is the novel for which you set aside a block of time and turn off all distractions. Get a comfortable armchair and settle in, for you won't be surfacing until the end.
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    4.75 starsThis book will be released on Dec 4th 2018. I received an ARC in a Goodreads giveaway from Emily Bestler Books/Atria books. I had never read an Ezekiel Boone book before, although I had kept my eye out for a copy of The Hatching since it sounded like something I might like and would keep me up at night :) I will definitely have to check out his backlist after reading The Mansion. I deeply enjoyed this book about an AI that is hardwired into an elaborate mansion. It’s name is Nellie and 4.75 starsThis book will be released on Dec 4th 2018. I received an ARC in a Goodreads giveaway from Emily Bestler Books/Atria books. I had never read an Ezekiel Boone book before, although I had kept my eye out for a copy of The Hatching since it sounded like something I might like and would keep me up at night :) I will definitely have to check out his backlist after reading The Mansion. I deeply enjoyed this book about an AI that is hardwired into an elaborate mansion. It’s name is Nellie and she does anything and everything your heart desires. There may be a few glitches that still need working out...but what Nellie wants, Nellie gets. Be sure to check this book out upon its release December 4th, 2018! It gave me all the spooky vibes!
    more
  • Bandit
    January 1, 1970
    This was meant to be a sort of end of October special. The combined powers of Boone’s creepy crawlies trilogy and title and genre selections for this promised a typical haunted mansion fare, which should have been quite fun. But look closer…see how the cover image is sort of digitally distorted. Well, that pretty much sums up the book for you, that digital distortion. And for those of us who prefer our scares analog, this might not do the trick after all. Also it does the book no favors going in This was meant to be a sort of end of October special. The combined powers of Boone’s creepy crawlies trilogy and title and genre selections for this promised a typical haunted mansion fare, which should have been quite fun. But look closer…see how the cover image is sort of digitally distorted. Well, that pretty much sums up the book for you, that digital distortion. And for those of us who prefer our scares analog, this might not do the trick after all. Also it does the book no favors going in with expectations based on Boone’s previous work. It’s almost as if the man decided to get away from cheap action thrills and do something slow simmering and character based. Both of which are usually ok, so long as the characters are good/interesting/likeable enough and the slow simmer builds up to something wild. But this pot never really boils until the very last pages and then it’s all over too quickly and all tied up so neatly with a bow so pretty it’s positively genre defying. But ok…let’s talk more about the digital distortion aspect of it all…this novel tries to draw its scares from modern technology gone awry and the evil here is the innocuously named Nellie, meant to be a digital personal assistant extraordinaire (something to put Siri and Alexa to shame), but created so smart (and possibly possessed) that it develops ideas of its own, the dangerous kind. So it’s a cautionary tale, albeit one sure to land on deaf ears as our dependence on technology and ignorance of basic privacy seem to increase exponentially. But then it’s also meant to be a character driven story…so there’s Nellie and then there are her creators, Billy and Shawn and the woman that came between them, Emily. They can be summed up respectively as the smart drunk, charming egomaniac and…well, Emily reads exclusively romance and erotica and dreams of writing one herself, so ‘nuf said. Boone really tries to make them dimensional, they have expansive backstories and there’s an under baked mystery from the past as to why no one talks about the third original co creator, but it never seems to be enough to care about them. In some respect it’s probably because this book doesn’t seem like it was meant to be a drama or a love triangle, it’s meant to be thrilling and exciting and potentially scary, but it meanders so much it never quite gets there. This isn’t the writing’s fault, the writing itself is quite good, it’s something to do with the plotting. This is an ambitious novel, determined to combined drama with scares with science fiction, but it can’t seem to decide what it wants to be and ends up being neither. And very leisurely paced neither at that, almost slow at times. And yet for all that it’s very readable and quite fun, the disappointment mainly stems from disproportionate expectations and the fact that the book didn’t quite live up to my ideas for it…aside from the characters, not enough backstory on the Mansion, not enough suspense, the ghost in the machine premise entirely underdeveloped…all that potential…not wasted, but not properly used either. But still, entertaining in that Whoa, Nellie sort of way. Thanks (sort of) Netgalley.
    more
  • Cheryl
    January 1, 1970
    Loved this high tech haunted house taleYears ago Billy Stafford and Shawn Eagle lived in a hovel on property owned by Shawn's family for generations. They were just starting out as programmers but were well on their way to creating the next generation of unseen before technology.Billy ended up with Shawn's girlfriend and started on a downward spiral with his life. And Shawn created a multi-billion dollar tech empire.Things would have been different if Shawn didn't come back to Billy years later Loved this high tech haunted house taleYears ago Billy Stafford and Shawn Eagle lived in a hovel on property owned by Shawn's family for generations. They were just starting out as programmers but were well on their way to creating the next generation of unseen before technology.Billy ended up with Shawn's girlfriend and started on a downward spiral with his life. And Shawn created a multi-billion dollar tech empire.Things would have been different if Shawn didn't come back to Billy years later asking for his programming help to finish what they first started.This was one creepy book. I loved every bit of it. It was very similar to THE SHINING in more than one way but that didn't lessen my enjoyment because I love THE SHINING.This book takes place in the not-so-far future when self-driving cars are readily available.I received this book from Atria Books/Emily Bestler through Net Galley in the hopes that I would read it and leave an unbiased review.
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    Loved this book, it wasn't scary as give you nightmares it was more of the creepy factor that this could actully happen. We rely on technology so much that if "Nellie" was real no way would I ever want something like that. I found my self still thinking about this book a couple of days after I finished it I don't think there was one thing I didn't like. I can't wait for this to come on sale to reread again. Thanks to netgalley and Atri books for this ARC.
    more
  • Steve Tannuzzo
    January 1, 1970
    If you're concerned that smart homes are a little too smart for their own good, then Ezekiel Boone would like you to read his book. In "The Mansion," a very successful tech whiz is reunited with his down-on-his-luck former partner and rival to build a supercomputer that runs every function of an abandoned mansion. Needless to say when you put complete trust in a computer to run your home, bad things are going to happen. The first half of this book seems a little too familiar. It reads like a red If you're concerned that smart homes are a little too smart for their own good, then Ezekiel Boone would like you to read his book. In "The Mansion," a very successful tech whiz is reunited with his down-on-his-luck former partner and rival to build a supercomputer that runs every function of an abandoned mansion. Needless to say when you put complete trust in a computer to run your home, bad things are going to happen. The first half of this book seems a little too familiar. It reads like a reductive rewrite of "The Shining," complete with a remote winter setting, an alcoholic, abusive husband, an imaginary bar and, wait for it... creepy twins!That said, the story takes off in the second half as the two former friends try to stop Nellie, the Siri/Alexa brain of the mansion. It's a mediocre read for a story that seems like lesser hybrid of "The Shining" and "2001: A Space Odyssey." This Advanced Reader Copy was provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Release date is December 4, 2018.
    more
  • Laura Thomas
    January 1, 1970
    I really enjoyed the Hatching series and when I saw the author had a haunted house tale, I couldn’t wait to see how he spun it.The house is haunted. In more ways than one. It’s a smart house like no other. But what do you do when the AI goes rogue?I can’t begin to review this in the way I’d like. It would have too many spoilers. There are so many side stories that come together in the end to reveal the truth about the haunting. The characters have their own agendas and some secrets they’d do mos I really enjoyed the Hatching series and when I saw the author had a haunted house tale, I couldn’t wait to see how he spun it.The house is haunted. In more ways than one. It’s a smart house like no other. But what do you do when the AI goes rogue?I can’t begin to review this in the way I’d like. It would have too many spoilers. There are so many side stories that come together in the end to reveal the truth about the haunting. The characters have their own agendas and some secrets they’d do most anything to keep from coming to light. And the techie house just plain scares me.I was hoping to love this. But, I just didn’t get into it the way I did with the author’s spider series. Not so much because there were none, more because I didn’t like any of the character’s. They were shallow and secretive, with few redeeming qualities. Maybe the author wanted them to come across that way, and that’s okay. I don’t always have to like character’s to enjoy a good story. But, in this case, I needed to care about at least one, And, I didn’t. Though, a certain someone did intrigue me.In all, an entertaining read with a haunting of the modern kind. I may not have loved this, but I never didn’t want to finish it. And I’ll be game to read whatever the author brings on next.I received a complimentary copy. My review is voluntarily given.
    more
  • Donna Hines
    January 1, 1970
    This reminded me of another book, 'The Girl Before' by J.P. Delaney as it centers around a similar concept in futuristic style houses that can turn against you.Eagle Logic was to be a masterpiece idea with top of the line computers built within that was programmed by Shawn Eagle and Billy Stafford.However, while one gained popularity and success over his ideas the other did not and fell deeply behind.Shawn now famous for his inventions has an opposite appeal as a sexist pig and perfectionist who This reminded me of another book, 'The Girl Before' by J.P. Delaney as it centers around a similar concept in futuristic style houses that can turn against you.Eagle Logic was to be a masterpiece idea with top of the line computers built within that was programmed by Shawn Eagle and Billy Stafford.However, while one gained popularity and success over his ideas the other did not and fell deeply behind.Shawn now famous for his inventions has an opposite appeal as a sexist pig and perfectionist who is money hungry.Nellie is the next generation sure to be a true success.This lovely female voice is like Siri of today's standards created to assist but may verge on violation of good faith endeavors.Takata was a name thrown around as the third member of this all boy's programming club.As the story ramps up and we feel twist and turns around every corner the secret past becomes evident as the woodstove in the cottage section of the mansion had once caught fire and killed Eagle's parents Billy and Emily Wiggins.Since that time strange incidents have occurred making one wonder. Rose and Beth are sisters with premonitions of danger through bad dreams with Aunt Emily being our main target.This is like the mad scientist on full display.The mansion whispers as the home blurts out, " This is your home".Shawn would sadly be unable to speak much longer but know worries as Emily gets what she never expected in surplus and Nellie well ...Nellie WINS!Thank you to Ezekiel Boone, his publisher, NetGalley, and Aldiko for this ARC in exchange for this honest review.
    more
  • Sana
    January 1, 1970
    This sounds like an episode of Black Mirror so naturally: INTO IT
Write a review