The Holiday Cottage by the Sea
The perfect place to fall in love this summer… Tori Graham is in need of a holiday. Trying to piece her heart back together after losing the love of her life, she escapes to Blossom Cottage, with its picturesque views of the sea. And plans to spend the summer in gorgeous Sandcastle Bay, where her best friend Melody Rosewood lives. Tori’s not expecting her summer by the beach to be eventful, until she meets handsome and mysterious Aidan Jackson… Aidan looks after the holiday cottage Tori is staying in. Healing from past hurts, he wants to avoid any further chance of heartache. But could this newcomer be the breath of fresh air he needs? Finding herself embracing life in the coastal community, Tori starts to fall in love with Sandcastle Bay and its welcoming cast of residents. But that’s not all she begins to fall for, as Tori is swept away by Aidan’s genuine heart and mischievous sense of humour. The attraction between them is undeniable, but will a simple holiday romance be enough? As Tori’s stay in Sandcastle Bay comes to an end she has a tough decision to make…. Has her heart found a new place to call home? A joyously romantic summer read that will make you laugh, cry and fall in love. If you enjoy reading Sarah Morgan, Jenny Oliver and Lucy Diamond this book is for you.

The Holiday Cottage by the Sea Details

TitleThe Holiday Cottage by the Sea
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseApr 12th, 2018
PublisherBookouture
Rating
GenreRomance, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Favorites, Contemporary Romance

Readers also enjoyed


The Holiday Cottage by the Sea Review

  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader
    January 1, 1970
    Four beachy stars to The Holiday Cottage by the Sea! 🏖 🏖 🏖 🏖 Sometimes you need an easy, fun read to escape the real world, and The Holiday Cottage by the Sea plopped onto my Kindle at just the right time. It turns out Tori Graham needs a vacation from real life, too! With a broken heart, she heads off to picturesque Sandcastle Bay for the summer. Tori meets Aidan/girl meets boy, and the rest is an endearing tale of love. The Holiday Cottage by the Sea is an absorbing read full of heart, along w Four beachy stars to The Holiday Cottage by the Sea! 🏖 🏖 🏖 🏖 Sometimes you need an easy, fun read to escape the real world, and The Holiday Cottage by the Sea plopped onto my Kindle at just the right time. It turns out Tori Graham needs a vacation from real life, too! With a broken heart, she heads off to picturesque Sandcastle Bay for the summer. Tori meets Aidan/girl meets boy, and the rest is an endearing tale of love. The Holiday Cottage by the Sea is an absorbing read full of heart, along with moments that will make you laugh and smile. Thank you to Holly Martin, Bookouture, and Netgalley for the ARC. The Holiday Cottage by the Sea is now available!
    more
  • Berit☀️✨
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 magical Stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟.5I want to go to Blossom Cottage on Sandcastle Bay... I want to pick berries, build a boat, and eat cake.... everything about this book was so magical and sweet....Tori was such a real and likable character.... I completely related to her struggle.... and so wanted her to find her happily ever after with Aiden.... but how does a relationship build off a conversation that you only want to keep things casual... nobody wants to get hurt... again.... in the land of the heart b 4.5 magical Stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟.5I want to go to Blossom Cottage on Sandcastle Bay... I want to pick berries, build a boat, and eat cake.... everything about this book was so magical and sweet....Tori was such a real and likable character.... I completely related to her struggle.... and so wanted her to find her happily ever after with Aiden.... but how does a relationship build off a conversation that you only want to keep things casual... nobody wants to get hurt... again.... in the land of the heart berry and with the approaching Love festival...perhaps love will find the way... and not only for these two.... Aidan has two brothers...Tori has two friends... there are 11 puppies... and an adorable dancing heart berry named Max.... oh and I cannot forget Aunt Agatha her predictions and the tattoo....So many magical moments in this lovely town by the sea.... there also were some pretty laugh out loud moments as well.... I really can’t say anything bad about this book.... it was just a nice breath of fresh air.... that made me want to pack my bags and head to Sandcastle Bay....Absolutely recommend to anyone in the mood for a fun romantic comedy with an amazing setting...*** thank you so much too Bookouture and Net Galley for a copy of this book ***
    more
  • Melisa
    January 1, 1970
    If you’re in a funk and need a little sunshine in your life, or need to be reminded that love can be beautiful, pick up a Holly Martin book. So super romantic, fun and cozy - it’s no secret here that I’m an Anglophile, and I am bound and determined to move to Seashell Cove where everything is idyllic. Really, though, at least a vacation there would be nice!There are likable characters and a lot of laugh out loud moments, but with a healthy dose of serious situations thrown in so that it’s not to If you’re in a funk and need a little sunshine in your life, or need to be reminded that love can be beautiful, pick up a Holly Martin book. So super romantic, fun and cozy - it’s no secret here that I’m an Anglophile, and I am bound and determined to move to Seashell Cove where everything is idyllic. Really, though, at least a vacation there would be nice!There are likable characters and a lot of laugh out loud moments, but with a healthy dose of serious situations thrown in so that it’s not too sweet. Just the right amount of sweetness to make for a satisfying read. There are also some very steamy scenes, so heads up whether that’s your thing or not!Thank you to Holly Martin and Bookcouture for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!
    more
  • Elle ✦ Pretty Little Books ✦
    January 1, 1970
    Release Date: April 12, 2018 Genre: Chick Lit Actual Rating: 4 starsHolly Martin always manages to put a smile on my face through her books. Sure, some of them follow the same pattern and the only difference is characters, but the places she takes me to makes it so that these similarities don't matter. Her stories are uplifting, light, funny, heartfelt, and utterly charming. Her characters are delightful, a breath of fresh air, and downright adorable. And the sparkle of romance? Well, it may Release Date: April 12, 2018 Genre: Chick Lit Actual Rating: 4 starsHolly Martin always manages to put a smile on my face through her books. Sure, some of them follow the same pattern and the only difference is characters, but the places she takes me to makes it so that these similarities don't matter. Her stories are uplifting, light, funny, heartfelt, and utterly charming. Her characters are delightful, a breath of fresh air, and downright adorable. And the sparkle of romance? Well, it may be fast, but is completely satisfying. If you are in the mood for a lighthearted chick lit novel, Holly Martin is a good "go to" author. Just like the other books I have read by her, this is a winner. So, what is The Holiday Cottage by the Sea about? Well, it's about a woman named Tori who needs a little break from bustling London. Setting out to Sandcastle Bay to visit old friends is exactly what she needs. After all, how can one simply go this long without being with their best of friends? Tori's idea is that she will only be in Sandcastle Bay for two weeks. But when an eccentric woman tells Tori the love of her life- her soul mate- is here int this place, Tori decides that it may be cool to have a little fun. I mean, surely this woman is wrong anyway! But what if... Enter Aidan Jackson. He's smart, ruggedly handsome, and as charming as they come. He's not looking for a relationship at all especially considering the heartbreak he felt when his fiance left him at the alter. But sometimes, when that one person walks into your life... Things change... Will Agitha's prediction of happily ever after come true? Or will Tori and Aiden simply have a little fun in the sun before she has to go back to London. You'll have to read to find out! The Holiday Cottage by the Sea is exactly what I wanted and needed in a novel. It's a sweet and fun read with lough out loud moments, as well as emotional ones. But what sets the book apart? Is the gorgeous setting that author incorporated into the story. I wish it were real because I would be on the first plane to Sandcastle Bay.
    more
  • Book Addict Shaun
    January 1, 1970
    It has been far too long since I have read a Holly Martin book and The Holiday Cottage by the Sea was just the book I needed to read right now. The thing I love most about Holly’s books is how magical they are and how easily swept up I get in them. She is probably one of the most inventive writers in this genre because her stories are always so unique whether it be in the characters she creates, the jobs they do, or the places they live. Just looking at her previously published books astounds me ‪It has been far too long since I have read a Holly Martin book and The Holiday Cottage by the Sea was just the book I needed to read right now. The thing I love most about Holly’s books is how magical they are and how easily swept up I get in them. She is probably one of the most inventive writers in this genre because her stories are always so unique whether it be in the characters she creates, the jobs they do, or the places they live. Just looking at her previously published books astounds me at how different they all are, her imagination is just incredible and she was born to write these wonderful tales. ‬‪The Holiday Cottage by the Sea takes place in the wonderful setting of Sandcastle Bay. Straight away I had visions of where I used to holiday in Wales when I was younger and this setting was so well-imagined and allowed for some beautiful storytelling to take place. Our main character Tori returns to Sandcastle Bay apprehensively as it was where the man she loved died and is where her best friend now lives raising his child. She takes a job picking heartberries and her arrival into the village is the typical Holly Martin hilarity filled scene that readers have come to expect from this very funny author. I love how she comes up with some of the most random and amusing situations for her characters to find themselves in. Tori is an instantly likeable character and I enjoyed every minute of watching her rediscover herself and move forward with her life in this story. There’s so many messages to be taken here about taking chances in love, following your heart and ensuring you do all that you can to make sure you live the happiest life that you can live. ‬‪Holly always writes the most mesmerising and amazing love stories (and my favourite will always and forever be One Hundred Proposals) but each and every book of hers that I have read has contained two characters who are so clearly meant for each other that I read her books desperate for them to finally get together. Tori arrives at her new home for the next fortnight to find it is owned by a handsome and mysterious stranger, Aidan Jackson, who yes, you will fall head over heels in love with too. He was a fantastic character again who was so well-drawn, believable and the story that unfolds between these two characters just made me feel all happy and gooey inside. And yes okay a little bit jealous also. Can I have an Aidan in my life please? There’s so many heartwarming scenes in this story, which is just what I have come to expect from Holly. ‬‪Holly Martin has long been one of my favourite authors and if I could only read one author’s books from this genre for the rest of my life then it would probably be Holly’s because of how magical they are, because of how unique they are, because of how amazing the love stories are and because she is just an inventive author who has this talent to make each and every book different and also memorable. If you showed me the cover of one of her books I could instantly tell you about the love story inside because I can remember them all. She’s a truly talented author and her many fans will not be disappointed with this story. If you are yet to read one of Holly Martin’s books (and if you are then where have you been?) I highly recommend that you read The Holiday Cottage by the Sea. This is a great place to start before devouring Holly’s back catalogue (especially the epic and unforgettable One Hundred Proposals). I can’t wait for the next book that she writes. ‬
    more
  • Rachel Gilbey
    January 1, 1970
    Utterly enchanted by this incredibly romantic story, set in a picturesque location, full of characters with really interesting jobs..... it can only have been written by one of the queens of rom coms - Holly Martin! I devoured this book and despite not being that keen on fruit, even I wanted to taste the heartberries that were being harvested by the end of the book. The banter between Aidan and Tori is hilarious and although you sort of know what the ending will be, I never mind when I am taken Utterly enchanted by this incredibly romantic story, set in a picturesque location, full of characters with really interesting jobs..... it can only have been written by one of the queens of rom coms - Holly Martin! I devoured this book and despite not being that keen on fruit, even I wanted to taste the heartberries that were being harvested by the end of the book. The banter between Aidan and Tori is hilarious and although you sort of know what the ending will be, I never mind when I am taken on such an enjoyable journey to reach that stage. Although what you wouldn't predict is the level of meddling Aidan's aunt Agatha enjoys! Agatha is utterly hilarious, and she gives Tori all manner of supplies for her first date with Aidan, that you wouldn't expect anyone to just happen to have in their handbag, let alone hand over in a pub to a relative stranger. I was laughing my head off at that scene, and then it got even better! Agatha also a hand in the henna that Tori has on her back, but even I couldn't believe what the design was. Again revealed in a classic scene that is incredibly amusing. I loved the names of the places in this book, Sandcastle Bay, Blossom Cottage, The Cherry on Top cafe, all which evoke a certain feel to them just from their names alone. So incredibly creative. I also loved Tori's two best friends and I am predicting each of their stories may get told in future books this year from Holly Martin. Oh and I haven't even mentioned the animals in this book, Beauty, Beast and Dobby which are nothing like their namesakes. Dobby is the first we are introduced to, and let's just say he is not typical of his species and is a great little character in his own right. Beast and his girlfriend Beauty make a lovely couple, and produce a mixture of funny moments and awww moments. From the first page this book captured my heart, and I read it in one sitting, completely absorbed by Holly Martin's excellent writing style and story telling. Once again I am astounded by all the small touches that make you really believe in the couple at the heart of the story. I would without a doubt highly recommend The Holiday Cottage by the Sea. Thank you to Bookouture and Netgalley for this copy which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.
    more
  • Elaine
    January 1, 1970
    This is the first book in a new romcom series by this talented author and, as usual for her books, I loved it. It is definitely one of those stories where I respectfully suggest you grab yourself a copy and read it yourself rather than reading my review of it! It is an emotive page turner story of loss, secrets, community, traditions, romance and new opportunities and I didn’t want to stop reading it till I had reached the end.The setting and community are brilliantly portrayed and developed, br This is the first book in a new romcom series by this talented author and, as usual for her books, I loved it. It is definitely one of those stories where I respectfully suggest you grab yourself a copy and read it yourself rather than reading my review of it! It is an emotive page turner story of loss, secrets, community, traditions, romance and new opportunities and I didn’t want to stop reading it till I had reached the end.The setting and community are brilliantly portrayed and developed, brought to life throughout the story. I really felt as though this is a place I could easily visit and go to meet the superb characters. Mind you, I’m not sure I’d like to meet the meddling matchmaker extraordinaire and future predictor Agatha, who is the aunt of the hero, Aidan, though it could prove to be a laugh!  Not all the characters are human. One of the funniest animal characters is Dobby, though Beast also has his moments… Even the place names are evocative - who could resist popping into The Cherry On Top Café or visiting Sandcastle Bay?There is plenty of drama throughout the story which takes readers through the whole gamut of emotions. The community events, the harvesting, ‘boat’ race and everything in the story made me feel like I was there, witnessing it all. The dilemmas faced by Tori and Aidan as their attraction pulls them together are brilliantly described, making it easy to relate to them both. I also particularly enjoyed five year old Elliot with his honesty accidentally revealing secrets! I really hope future stories in this series will involve Aidan’s brothers, Leo and James as well as Tori’s friends Isla and Melody. One thing is certain - I can’t wait to read them!I requested and was lucky enough to be given a copy of this novel, via NetGalley, with no obligation. This is my honest review of the book after choosing to read it.
    more
  • Kaisha (The Writing Garnet)
    January 1, 1970
    All reviews can be found on my blog at https://thewritinggarnet.wordpress.comWhat a smile inducing book this is!! Even some of the characters and houses have such pretty names - just take a look at 'Blossom Cottage' and 'Melody Rosewood'!Personally, I found the theme of the storyline to be a little bit predictable in terms of the various situations which several characters found themselves in, which meant that I wasn't overly surprised by the turn of events later on in the book. That said, Holly All reviews can be found on my blog at https://thewritinggarnet.wordpress.comWhat a smile inducing book this is!! Even some of the characters and houses have such pretty names - just take a look at 'Blossom Cottage' and 'Melody Rosewood'!Personally, I found the theme of the storyline to be a little bit predictable in terms of the various situations which several characters found themselves in, which meant that I wasn't overly surprised by the turn of events later on in the book. That said, Holly Martin has a unique way of telling a story and making her characters stand out and, thankfully, she didn't disappoint at all. Predictable maybe, but the laughs and the vibe of the novel were in a league of their own which for me, made 'The Holiday Cottage by the Sea', stand out above the rest.Isla's situation was incredibly heartwarming and I couldn't help but be touched at what she chose to do. It takes a bigger person to do what Isla did, but it was very clear that she made the right decision, even though it was probably one of the most emotional decisions she had ever made.Tori's entrance in Sandcastle Bay had me in hysterics! My first impression of her wasn't a great one, but boy oh boy did she manage to change my mind! I went from thinking she was a jumped up, highly guarded character, to a character who has such a large heart and would do anything for anyone else. Her personality wowed me as the storyline went on, making her one of my most favourite Holly Martin characters. Well......Dobby too, but I'm sure that goes without saying!!As for the dog names - I snorted!! Brilliant!!What I love most about the way that Holly Martin writes, is how she manages to create romantic and sexual vibes for her characters without coming across seedy and embarrassing. There are no 'panties' where this author is concerned! Not that I'm saying she goes commando, just to clarify! She just doesn't use the cringy word! I am not a romantic person by any means, but as I read the way in which this author described Tori's relationship, I found myself believing in the romantic elements of this novel one hundred percent. I shan't lie, several scenes got me a little bit hot under the collar, but it worked exceptionally well with the rest of the storyline.Even though I knew which route the storyline was going to take, it didn't put me off the book at all. I loved reading about such fun characters who made me laugh out loud more than once. Characters who made me feel as though I was catching up with a group of old friends after several years. Holly Martin captured the true essence of love and friendship with her story, thus making me extremely gutted when the book had to end.What do you do when you click with someone despite knowing that your time together is limited? You do what Holly Martin taught me in 'The Holiday Cottage by the Sea' - you follow your heart and you do not give up, even when the going gets tough!A truly hilarious read that is guaranteed to put a smile on your face, as well as giving you the urge to go berry picking in the middle of the night. Such a heart-warming read - I would be surprised if Elsa's frozen exterior didn't find itself melted after reading this! Simply delightful, the beast got his beauty - I loved this book!
    more
  • Nessa
    January 1, 1970
    Well Holly has done it yet again, she has provided us with another outstanding story which was wonderful, funny and so very heartfelt in places.  My heart has well and truly melted with this delightful story. Holly just has such a wonderful way with words that just makes her stories truly magical and come alive within your imagination. She also never fails to create such wonderful and entertaining characters within her stories. I love how the story was told from the perspective of two of the mai Well Holly has done it yet again, she has provided us with another outstanding story which was wonderful, funny and so very heartfelt in places.  My heart has well and truly melted with this delightful story. Holly just has such a wonderful way with words that just makes her stories truly magical and come alive within your imagination. She also never fails to create such wonderful and entertaining characters within her stories. I love how the story was told from the perspective of two of the main characters Tori and Aidan, as it just gives so much more to the story and it means that you really do get to know them inside out. I fell in love with the whole story and even developed a soft spot for Beast, if you want to know who or what Beast is, then you will just have to read the book. I also found Elliot to be completely adorable, and couldn't believe he was only 5 years old given the things that he came out with. I loved the characters of Leo, James, Isla and Melody and I truly hope that Holly's next books will revolve around them as I'd love to read their individual stories and get to know each of them a lot more.
    more
  • Steph Lawrence
    January 1, 1970
    Such a lovely, heartwarming book.The publisher’s description of ‘An utterly gorgeous feel good romantic comedy’ is spot on….truly gorgeous.This story has all you want and need in a modern romantic novel. A picture-perfect setting, a man and a woman. A dog and a turkey who thinks it’s a dog.I imagined I was there in the small English seaside town of Sandcastle Bay, and the views were fantastic in my head.Tori and Aidan are really drawn to each other. The feelings are there instantly but they try Such a lovely, heartwarming book.The publisher’s description of ‘An utterly gorgeous feel good romantic comedy’ is spot on….truly gorgeous.This story has all you want and need in a modern romantic novel. A picture-perfect setting, a man and a woman. A dog and a turkey who thinks it’s a dog.I imagined I was there in the small English seaside town of Sandcastle Bay, and the views were fantastic in my head.Tori and Aidan are really drawn to each other. The feelings are there instantly but they try to play it down to themselves and everyone else. I loved the ‘elbow’ conversations, they had me really chuckling.The legend of the heartberry fruit was lovely, and picking fruit by moonlight was a delight. Some of the locals believed the legend, and it was such fun making boats to race across the river to the island to claim the heartberry. The story isn’t just about Tori and Aidan, but also his brothers and her old friends and some of the villagers.I thoroughly recommend this book, a perfect light-hearted getaway.Thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for the review copy in which I give my honest opinion.Find my reviews at https://steflozbookblog.wordpress.com/
    more
  • Jeanie
    January 1, 1970
    FANDABBIEDOZIE Outstanding once again read in one sitting could not put this new book down just love Tori and what an amazing character she is Asian so not to bad himself can't wait for a follow up
  • Donna Maguire
    January 1, 1970
    https://donnasbookblog.wordpress.com/...I am a massive fan of this author's works, I haven't been disappointed yet and eagerly await the next release so I was delighted when I saw that this book was out now!!This is such a gorgeous book to read - I loved the cover, the story, the characters and the end - in fact there was nothing or about the book I did not enjoy!!Holly writes books set in the most delightful locations and I would love to visit them - another five star read - I loved it and it i https://donnasbookblog.wordpress.com/...I am a massive fan of this author's works, I haven't been disappointed yet and eagerly await the next release so I was delighted when I saw that this book was out now!!This is such a gorgeous book to read - I loved the cover, the story, the characters and the end - in fact there was nothing or about the book I did not enjoy!!Holly writes books set in the most delightful locations and I would love to visit them - another five star read - I loved it and it is very highly recommended!!
    more
  • Emma Crowley
    January 1, 1970
    Not since I read Holly Martin's Christmas Under a Cranberry Sky, a book I would call one of my all time favourite Christmas reads, have I been this excited about a book from this author. The Holiday Cottage by the Sea is the first in a planned trilogy, The Sandcastle Bay series, and from the moment I started to read just so many good vibes and feelings oozed from the page that I couldn't bare to leave it out of my hands. Don't get me wrong I enjoyed the Hope Island series which came between the Not since I read Holly Martin's Christmas Under a Cranberry Sky, a book I would call one of my all time favourite Christmas reads, have I been this excited about a book from this author. The Holiday Cottage by the Sea is the first in a planned trilogy, The Sandcastle Bay series, and from the moment I started to read just so many good vibes and feelings oozed from the page that I couldn't bare to leave it out of my hands. Don't get me wrong I enjoyed the Hope Island series which came between the aforementioned series but it didn't have me as hooked as I was in the story of Tori Graham as she arrives in Sandcastle Bay for a two week working holiday picking heart berries at Orchard Cove. There wasn't one fault I could find with this book and I just got this overwhelming sense that the author loved writing this book and wanted her readers to too. Everything was just perfect, from the cover, to the various characters, the locations and all the little minor details that sometimes I find unnecessary but here they all enhanced the story. Sandcastle Bay seemed like such an idyllic place where you could seek refuge even if every body would know your business considering how small it was. I wished it was a real place as I have done many times with some of Holly's previous settings.Tori needs the tension heaped upon her shoulders to ease away especially considering she has spent more or less a year and a half locked away in a stop motion animating studio working on a film. She has a deep passion for her job but now needs a rest and to reconnect with her friends. So when best friend Melody Rosewood suggests she come and visit Sandcastle Bay for a holiday how can Tori refuse? Melody had been her flatmate in London and ran a successful jewellery business but the needs of family called her back to her home town and since then the two friends haven't seen much of each other. I could already tell that Melody and her sister Isla would be the focus of the next two books in the series. Whilst I was loving Tori's story I was also reading into the subtle hints and teasers dropped in with regard to the two sisters and I am eager to see how their story lines will develop in the future.We do get to know both Melody and Isla and I think they are two very selfless people who when tragedy struck and they lost their beloved brother Matthew they stepped up to the plate. Isla is now the guardian of Elliott, Matthew's son, a tough task to take on but she would do anything in a heartbeat for her family. Melody is now Isla's support system but there are two men they have their eye on that could fulfil that role each sister has for each other at the moment. Elliott was such an innocent and provided so many laugh out loud moments in the story with his guilt free observations and quips. I felt for him having lost his dad at such a young age but he was in very good hands who wanted the best for him and his future.The humour and wit as mentioned above is what makes this book so special apart from the wonderful way the romance element of the story was written. From the moment Tori glimpses the dusky pink thatched cottages with the views of the sea the laughter kicks in as a flock of sheep block the road and she is then chased by Dobby the turkey all the way to the Cherry on Top Café overlooking Sunshine Beach. Here she meets the owner Emily Breakwater, whose family own the fruit farm where she will be working in exchange for accommodation at Blossom Cottage. I loved Beast the dog that 'came' with the cottage, such a lovely inclusion with his own little story line too that in fact helped unite others. Emily's brother Aidan Jackson runs the farm as his brothers Parker and Leo have other occupations within the town.Admittedly, there were a lot of introductions made in the first few chapters and normally I would find this too much too soon and would become confused making connections and keeping things straight in my head. In this case the opposite turned out to be true as I really just couldn't get enough of everything, I quickly built up a clear picture of Sandcastle Bay in my head and of the various residents and their little quirks. One thing Holly Martin sure has a knack for is having brilliant names for places in her books and also the occupations her characters have. Here she excelled herself especially when it came to the legend of the heart berry and the heart berry love festival. It was so ingenious and incredibly romantic. So what if some people thought it was a load of old rubbish where as others set so much store by it. Tori herself would have been forgiven for some slight optimism in relation to the legend that the man who first reached the island in the middle of the River Star on race day in his home made boat and received the first slice of heart berry cake would then profess his underlying love for a woman by giving her said cake. It brings luck to anyone who eats eat. It's all a bit of fun really but so romantic behind it all.Tori was a person who was exhausted both physically and emotionally when she reaches Sandcastle Bay and initially I thought it was down to having worked so hard in recent months. But as the story progresses and Tori settles in and reconnects with Melody and Isla and makes new friends too especially Aidan it's clear she has been deeply affected by the loss of Matthew. Guilt is eating her up and she declares to herself that love is no longer an option for her. I could understand where she was coming from as connections and reasons became apparent but I thought the situation was out of her hands and that she shouldn't be forever weighed down by things left unsaid.Fate had a different road in sight for Tori and I fervently hoped she could throw off the shackles she had surrounded herself with. Agatha, the aunt of Emily, Adrian, Leo and Parker was a stand out character and she thinks fate and her predictions are always correct. I thinks she even engineers things just to make her assumptions come true. She was such a brilliant character who came across as a bit batty but beneath it all she was very very clever. She had me in stitches countless times for her interference but it is all done with good intentions at the centre of her plotting. Her idea of the tattoo was inspiring but oh so mischievous.The overall outcome was clear to see right from the beginning but that doesn't matter at all. You know that the chemistry and banter shared between Tori and Aidan when they first meet is going to lead to something more and you want this to be the case. It doesn't matter in the slightest that this is the case because really it's more about the journey as to how they reach that point. How can they push things in their pasts aside and reform opinions they may have made with regard to love and relationships? Tori was beginning to suffocate in grief and guilt and sh e wouldn't give into this new feelings because she felt it was all wrong to do so. But this didn't sit well with me and I thought she should have felt able to go with what her heart was saying and not be lead by things in the past.Both Aidan and Tori had so much to give each other and I wanted to see happiness for them but god I loved seeing how they went about this. Aidan was just drop dead gorgeous but had a personality to match. Normally the male lead in books can be stand offish and never want to express opinions or feelings or just generally they beat around the bush too much and don't expressly say what they think directly to the girl. Here Aidan wanted to take a risk on love and was doing his best to work his magic and charm on Tori. I loved how they bonded at night time whilst picking the berries and when they did give into temptation it showed how Holly Martin can certainly write a steamy scene but it never ventures down the seedy route. Instead it felt real and genuine and had you rooting and saying at last. I thought the pair were so in tune with each other and were meant to be but still fear and doubt always nags away at Tori. Things aren't all smooth sailing though and as disaster needs to be averted in relation to the heart berry harvest it shows how a community can pull together and how people will always help the one they love in times of need.The Holiday Cottage by the Sea was a joy to read from start to finish. Tori and Aidan's story captured my heart and gave me all those warm, good feelings I want from a book featuring romance. The boy meets girl story has been told countless times before but Holly Martin provides such a refreshing, innovative, exciting voice to the time old theme and makes you believe and hope that true love is out there for everybody to find. This was a brilliant, dynamic story where I felt instantly at home and Sandcastle Bay provided a perfect package of a story in which you could readily loose yourself in its embrace for several hours. The Cottage on Sunshine Beach arrives in June and will follow Melody's story as she searches for the one thing missing in her life and I will certainly be there to journey with her as she seeks it.
    more
  • Agi
    January 1, 1970
    It's been too long since I've read Holly Martin's book and this is why I was that excited to start reading "The Holiday Cottage at the Sea", and really guys, I haven't realised how much I've missed Holly's gorgeous, warm writing and her hilarious characters. So whatever you do, you just have to find time for this brilliant novel - it made me smile so much and it made me feel better. Yes, with Holly's book you know where you're heading to and yes, I'd love Holly to surprise us with one huge unpre It's been too long since I've read Holly Martin's book and this is why I was that excited to start reading "The Holiday Cottage at the Sea", and really guys, I haven't realised how much I've missed Holly's gorgeous, warm writing and her hilarious characters. So whatever you do, you just have to find time for this brilliant novel - it made me smile so much and it made me feel better. Yes, with Holly's book you know where you're heading to and yes, I'd love Holly to surprise us with one huge unpredictable twist, but her books have so many other merits that even the mandatory happy ever after is not something that'll put me off reading her novels. This book captured me immediately and Holly Martin's storytelling is vivid, evocative and absorbing. I am always admiring the fact how easily she adds a word or two that immediately change the mood, this timing is perfect, and the dialogues were full of brilliant one - liners. She has a great hand for all kind of small touches that just make the story complete. It is also full of perfectly hilarious moments, so don't be surprised when you suddenly start laughing out loud or spilling whatever you have to drink in your hand all over the table - be warned, and it starts already at the beginning with Dobby the turkey. Ha - I have you intrigued there, right?The banter between the characters, especially Aidan and Tori, was brilliant - so effortless and so hilarious! The one thing that bothered me though was the length of their dialogues, they were all, the other characters as well, incredibly chatty, and often their statements took one page or even more, so eloquent they were, and sometimes I just wanted to tell them to finally get to the point. Sure, it's nice when you can so beautifully pass your thoughts and feelings, however it doesn't happen so often when you're speaking, right? Nevertheless, I immediately warmed to Tori, she was instantly likeable and believable, and I loved her passion to her job. I loved to accompany her on her journey to rediscover herself. Also Aidan, oh my *sigh* *going gooey*, so brilliantly drawn and believable, and he was so utterly perfect, yet not too wishy - washy or too meh. Agatha was very unforgettable character, guys, and often such characters annoy me awfully but she was just spot on, with her ideas and predictions. Also, Leo, James, Isla and Melody - they were all immediately likeable and realistic.Holly Martin can, no matter what, always brilliantly capture the chemistry between the main characters. It's always sparking, sizzling and vivid and I love this, because reading so many books you get all kinds of chemistry, and it doesn't always happen that it's so perfectly captured and visible. Yes, there came a moment that I wanted to bang Tori and Aiden's head together but still, it didn't mean that the chemistry was lost, oh no, it was there all the time and it was simply marvellous.So altogether, "The Holiday Cottage at the Sea" was sexy and incredibly romantic and of course, as usual, Holly Martin has set her story in the most beautiful place ever. This tale was full of sunshine, gorgeous places, characters to die for. It was a story about grief, sense of guilt, friendship, close community, romance, love and heartberries - yes, heartberries. A really wonderful book with many hidden messages about second chances and trust - highly recommended!Copy provided by the publisher in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Dawn
    January 1, 1970
    When I saw the cover of Holly Martin's latest novel I couldn't wait to get my hands on it. Winter has been so long, cold and wet this year my day was totally cheered up when I saw the beautiful jacket for The Holiday Cottage by the Sea. Every single book I've read of Holly's ends in disappointment, not because I didn't enjoy the book - quite the opposite, because I loved it and feel a bit bereft there are no more pages to turn.The book starts as it means to go on. With Tori abandoning her car am When I saw the cover of Holly Martin's latest novel I couldn't wait to get my hands on it. Winter has been so long, cold and wet this year my day was totally cheered up when I saw the beautiful jacket for The Holiday Cottage by the Sea. Every single book I've read of Holly's ends in disappointment, not because I didn't enjoy the book - quite the opposite, because I loved it and feel a bit bereft there are no more pages to turn.The book starts as it means to go on. With Tori abandoning her car amidst a lane full of sheep before being chased down the hill into the village cafe 'Cherry on the Top' by an over friendly turkey! I howled out loud as a big grin spread across my face. Tori Graham is on a long overdue break from her work as a film animator and is on her way to visit her best friends Melody and Isla in Sandcastle Bay. She's secured some free accommodation in exchange for a couple of weeks fruit picking - picking the famous 'Heartberry's'. This was a book that made me smile throughout, there are hilarious moments that made me laugh out loud. This happens all the time when reading a book by Holly Martin - she adds empathy and warmth to all her characters with comic timing that is just perfect. As ever a delicious book of sunshine, laughter, friends and more than a smattering of love thrown into the mix for good measure. Tori finds herself in the spotlight, everyone seems to know all about her and within the first hour of her arrival in Sandcastle Bay she is told she'll be marrying Aidan Jackson within the year - a person she hasn't even met yet, it was hilarious. I could just imagine how she felt arriving from London into a small village and having her life dissected before her very eyes by complete strangers. For reasons that later become apparent she is adamant that she is definitely not looking for love, men are off the cards!!The story is woven around a close community, three brothers Leo, Jamie and Aidan the three girls Tori, Melody and Isla and the famous 'Heartberry love festival. I just loved the story it was totally entrancing, I really don't know how Holly does it but she has once again draped her blanket of love and hearts over this warm, witty story. It is truly magical, I was swept up in the magic and excitement as love wrapped itself around each of them in different ways. Be prepared though, I also had to swallow a huge lump in my throat as I choked up with emotion at one point - Holly creates plots and people that could so very easily be real.I highly recommend this story, a book that will transport you straight into the heart of Sandcastle Bay.
    more
  • JG ~Jezabell Girl & Friends
    January 1, 1970
    Aidan has stolen my heart ❤Holly’s books are endearing, sentimental, witty, heartwarming and nostalgic, just what every romance reader is looking for!This story, as with all of Holly’s books, meanders around seaside village life on the south coast of England and goes about capturing the many colourful residents that reside there. These colourful locals include a local elderly self-proclaimed psychic, Agatha, whose her loveably quirky and beguiling ways will leave you in hoots; Dobby, a turkey wh Aidan has stolen my heart ❤️Holly’s books are endearing, sentimental, witty, heartwarming and nostalgic, just what every romance reader is looking for!This story, as with all of Holly’s books, meanders around seaside village life on the south coast of England and goes about capturing the many colourful residents that reside there. These colourful locals include a local elderly self-proclaimed psychic, Agatha, whose her loveably quirky and beguiling ways will leave you in hoots; Dobby, a turkey who thinks like a dog; and Beauty and Beast, two wild dogs living in the village and friends of Dobby’s and the locals. Add to the mix the obligatory helping of romance between two characters needing to learn to trust their hearts and you have the perfect combination for a summer romance. I knew from the outset that I would once again fall in love with the characters and Aidan stole my heart right from the very beginning. Aidan is one of three brothers, all of whom are single and unknowingly looking for love. Add in two sisters, and one best friend and you’ve got a series crying out to be read. Set in Sandcastle Bay, readers are once again treated to a story about a village with a predilection for romance. Tori is holidaying with her friend Melody and whilst she is in Sandcastle Bay she has agreed to work for her lodgings by picking the village’s Heartberry crop. Little does she know, is the man that Agatha predicts she will marry is none other than her landlord and boss, Aidan Jackson. Despite their less than conventional introduction, it is clear that the duo has instant chemistry and a shared sense of humour. The only problem is that both Aidan and Tori are not looking for love or a relationship, or are they? This was a highly entertaining story. My only minor niggle was that I felt that the usual helping of village sights and sounds was missing and this left me feeling slightly estranged from the storyline setting, something that doesn’t usually happen with Holly’s books. That said, I did get more character engagement and this has set the scene nicely for the next book in the series. This ebook was kindly provided by the author/publisher via Netgalley prior to release in return for an honest and unbiased review. We are proud to provide honest and unbiased reviews written from the heart. Email: [email protected]: http://jezabellgirlandfriends.com Facebook: http://facebook.com/jezabellgirlandfr... Twitter: http://twitter.com/Jezabell_girl Tumblr: https://www.tumblr.com/blog/jezabellg... Google+: http://google.com/+JezabellGirl Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/JezabellGirl Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jezabell_girl
    more
  • Kat Robson
    January 1, 1970
    Romance at its best...I did a little dance when i realised Holly had another book out and i couldnt be happier reading it. It so full of romance one could burst. The quirky characters are one not to be messed with.... Tori needs a rest and heads over to sandcastle bay to help be a fruit picker for the season. The quirky Aunt thinks shell be the next girl to fall in love with Aidan jackson, her nephew. But noone believes the crazy lady especially Aidan (the fruit farmer) and Tori, the animator. U Romance at its best...I did a little dance when i realised Holly had another book out and i couldnt be happier reading it. It so full of romance one could burst. The quirky characters are one not to be messed with.... Tori needs a rest and heads over to sandcastle bay to help be a fruit picker for the season. The quirky Aunt thinks shell be the next girl to fall in love with Aidan jackson, her nephew. But noone believes the crazy lady especially Aidan (the fruit farmer) and Tori, the animator. Upon getting settled in, Agatha gives tori a helping hand at what she believs maybe needed for a first date.... I laughed so hard at it i couldnt stop reading, this woman is crazy.... but in a fun way. Its not a proper date, its Aidian offering her a nice meal in thanks for helping out. Shes not a complete stranger because her best friend and everyone is related somehow so they arent completly strangers. There are quirky animals to boost the setting on sandcastle bay alone with Beauty and Beast, the stray dogs and they bring some drama along with some cute moments to make us all go weak at the knees. Theres also Dobby, if anyone can bring a mad Turkey into a story its Holly Martin, we also have a crazy fruit bat so its not without animals. Aidan is one s exy fruit farmer, Tori has certainly noticed him but shes not wanting a relationship and neither is Aidan as theyve both been hurt previously and dont want this.... but what you want and what you get are not the same. The sexual tension is eye watering and there one liners or flirting is funny..... "i want to lick him from his neck to his knees" "I'll give you 6.5 for your your elbows" oh it was sexual chemistry all right. They both relaised someone will get hurt as its only temporary. Theres a festival, a boat race all in need to win the slice of cake. Not any cake though, its a special slice of heartberrie cake that if eaten and given to the love of your life, you will be in love forever.... its existed and carries on as a tradition in the village. Tori has some fun but not withour her wondering what ifs, she cant make a relstionship without someone getting hurt..... its really is Holly Martin at her best. I loved it and i couldnt put it down.
    more
  • Katie
    January 1, 1970
    The Holiday Cottage by the Sea was a gorgeous, feel-good read that I completely fell in love with. Holly Martin was written a fabulous story with characters I genuinely liked and fell in love with also. I guarantee you will be cheered up immensely reading this book, I know I definitely was!I was captivated by the town, the animals and the fruit, I also loved the legend surrounding the heartberries. Sandcastle Bay sounds like the kind of place I'd love to visit and that's all down to Holly's bril The Holiday Cottage by the Sea was a gorgeous, feel-good read that I completely fell in love with. Holly Martin was written a fabulous story with characters I genuinely liked and fell in love with also. I guarantee you will be cheered up immensely reading this book, I know I definitely was!I was captivated by the town, the animals and the fruit, I also loved the legend surrounding the heartberries. Sandcastle Bay sounds like the kind of place I'd love to visit and that's all down to Holly's brilliant writing. She managed to bring the town to life and it seemed real whilst I was reading it. From the first page I loved Tori Graham, I loved her first introduction to most of the people in the town and of course Dobby. Tori has a different job which I loved learning about, it's always good when a character has a job differing from the usual in these books. The banter between Tori and Aiden is hilarious and really added a dynamic to their relationship. Aiden did totally steal my heart, do men like him exist? I really hope so! Of course, I have to mention Agatha, she is the Queen of meddling and had me in stitches with her antics. The animals held a special place in my heart, especially Beast. Tori's first introduction to Beast was also brilliant and again had me laughing away. Melody and Isla were brilliant characters, as well as the things they do in memory of their brother Matthew. I loved how Holly was able to have me laughing one minute, then the next I had tears in my eyes from the emotion. Holly has a fabulous way with words and I'm always sucked into her books. I can't wait to return to Sandcastle Bay in the future and hear more from the characters. If you're after a warm, funny, feel-good read this Spring then I highly recommend this book. If you haven't read anything by Holly yet, where have you been? And then start with this one, it's a brilliant introduction to Holly's gorgeous writing.
    more
  • Joanne D'Arcy
    January 1, 1970
    Tori has come down to Cornwall for a few weeks to take a break from her broken heart as well as her work.She has followed her friend Melody who now lives in Sandcastle Bay and has agreed to stay rent free in Blossom Cottage in return for some berry picking. Seems a fair exchange.What she did not bank on is being chased by a turkey that thinks it's a dog and encountering a quirky old lady who says she will marry Aidan Jackson within a year.Aidan Jackson is in fact the owner of the cottage and the Tori has come down to Cornwall for a few weeks to take a break from her broken heart as well as her work.She has followed her friend Melody who now lives in Sandcastle Bay and has agreed to stay rent free in Blossom Cottage in return for some berry picking. Seems a fair exchange.What she did not bank on is being chased by a turkey that thinks it's a dog and encountering a quirky old lady who says she will marry Aidan Jackson within a year.Aidan Jackson is in fact the owner of the cottage and the farm where the berries need picking. These are not any old sort of berries but heartberries - and they have to be picked at night, by the first full moon and candlelight and it all has to be done before the tide starts and in time for the festival which features of course heartberries and lots of romance!Tori doesn't know what she has let herself in for, but if it means she can spend more time with her friend Melody and her sister Isla, then it is worth it.Trouble is Tori starts to find that Sandcastle Bay and Aidan start getting under her skin and she realises that the bustling life she was living before was perhaps not living or loving at all.Resolutely trying to not get her heart broken again, Tori and Aidan come to some sort of an understanding, but it seems that the locals of the village and the heartberries have other ideas.If you want pure escapism, then Holly Martin is your go to author. I was transported to the beach, to the fields, to the cottage and even to Aidan's bedroom (saucy!) with such ease that I felt so reassured by the book that love is out there for everyone.The humour is subtle and the wonderful characters are easy to like and love and all I want to do when I read books like this, is to keep reading, to keep wanting to know more about them, to experience what they experience. Pure escapism reading at it's best.Clearly Holly Martin has set up this book to be another trilogy and I simply cannot wait until I can return to Tori, Aidan, Melody et al in the future.
    more
  • Jennifer Ritter
    January 1, 1970
    The Holiday Cottage by the Sea is the latest offering by Holly Martin. In this story, Tori Graham, London animator, has just completed eighteen months on her latest project and is taking a well earned trip to visit her dear lifelong friends Melody and Isla Rosewood. They have relocated to the small village of Sandcastle Bay on the southwest tip of the English Isle. Isla moved to the village almost a year ago when her brother, Matthew, was killed in an accident. Isla is godmother to his young son The Holiday Cottage by the Sea is the latest offering by Holly Martin. In this story, Tori Graham, London animator, has just completed eighteen months on her latest project and is taking a well earned trip to visit her dear lifelong friends Melody and Isla Rosewood. They have relocated to the small village of Sandcastle Bay on the southwest tip of the English Isle. Isla moved to the village almost a year ago when her brother, Matthew, was killed in an accident. Isla is godmother to his young son, Elliot, and felt keeping Elliot in his home would be the best thing for him. Melody moved from the apartment she shared with Tori soon after to join her sister.In order to secure her little cottage by the sea for several weeks, Tori will be helping the fruit farmer who owns the cottage to harvest the short lived heartberry. During the time she is there, the Heartberry Love Festival will be held with all of its lore and traditions.On her first afternoon in town she goes to the cafe owned by Emily Breakwater, the lady who had helped her with getting the cottage and made arrangements for her to pay through labor. She is the sister of the farm owner. While in her cafe, Tori meets up with her friends, but also makes the acquaintance of Aunt Agatha, Emily’s octogenarian great aunt. It seems Aunt Agatha makes a habit of matchmaking and upon first seeing Tori she makes her predictions, Tori will marry Aidan Jackson and they will have five children.Unfortunately, Tori has been hurt deeply in the past as has this unknown fellow, Aidan Jackson. When they meet, however, there are fireworks. Somehow, they click. Could Aunt Agatha be right?A delightful story with rich and endearing characters and a beautiful seaside setting, told with laugh out loud humor. As with all of Ms. Martin’s novels, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and do recommend it.
    more
  • Karen Whittard
    January 1, 1970
    I do a little happy dance every time Holly has a new book out. Why because her books always make me smile and leave me feeling happy. This book is simply no exception and I do not know how you keep churning out such warm and feel good reads. Tori’s life isn’t quite going to plan. She has lost the love of her life, and her life has taken an unexpected turn. Wanting to get her life back on track. Tori decides to take a holiday at Blossom cottage. Tori is excepting a lovely quite getaway by the sea I do a little happy dance every time Holly has a new book out. Why because her books always make me smile and leave me feeling happy. This book is simply no exception and I do not know how you keep churning out such warm and feel good reads. Tori’s life isn’t quite going to plan. She has lost the love of her life, and her life has taken an unexpected turn. Wanting to get her life back on track. Tori decides to take a holiday at Blossom cottage. Tori is excepting a lovely quite getaway by the sea with her best friend who lives just down the road. But as what always happens in romantic books. Things don’t go quite to plan. All thanks to gorgeous Aidan Jackson. Who looks after Blossom cottage. But Aidan had been hurt before and the last thing he is looking for is a love interest. But could Aiden and Tori be the medicine they both need? Tori can’t help but be swept away be the coastal community and the fabulous characters who live there. Tori is starting to think that she could make her great escape to Sandcastle bay and set down some roots there. Will Tori stay in Sandcastle Bay? And will Tori and Aidan get together? Well you will have to read it and find out. As always this is a massive hug in book form. I absolutely adored this book and Holly has weaved her magic once again. If you haven’t read anything by Holly before. I seriously suggest that you do and I cannot recommend this book as a starting point enough. You will simply fall in love with this book exactly as I have and you will not be able to put it down once you start reading it. I absolutely loved it. Fabulous work Holly. I envy everyone who is yet to discover how amazing this book is.
    more
  • Stacey
    January 1, 1970
    I couldn't give this book any less than 5 stars because I honestly could not have loved this book more! I think it's definitely one of my favourite Holly Martin novels to date! With every book I just feel that Holly's books are getting better and better and this one certainly didn't disappoint. I loved every single page and the story was just so sizzling and so gripping.The story follows main character Tori Graham, who has come to Sandcastle Bay for two reasons: to see her best friends, and to g I couldn't give this book any less than 5 stars because I honestly could not have loved this book more! I think it's definitely one of my favourite Holly Martin novels to date! With every book I just feel that Holly's books are getting better and better and this one certainly didn't disappoint. I loved every single page and the story was just so sizzling and so gripping.The story follows main character Tori Graham, who has come to Sandcastle Bay for two reasons: to see her best friends, and to get away. Tori works in animation but after a long stint working on a movie which involved her being inside for most of the time, she decides she needs to get some fresh air and applies to be a fruit picker at a farm. This isn't any usual farm however, as it grows a rather special fruit: the heartberry. This is what Tori learns she shall be picking, but with a slight twist, she needs to pick the fruit at night. The heartberry has a lot of history surrounding it, proclaiming that it is a romantic fruit, and those that eat it in a pie will be happy in love forever.Upon arriving in Sandcastle Bay (which is just a glorious sounding name!), Tori meets a 'crazy hold lady with green hair' that claims she shall marry a man named Aidan Jackson. Of course, Tori thinks this is craziness and doesn't believe a thing, until she meets the owner of the farm she is working at, the man himself: Aidan Jackson. Tori is attracted to him upon first sight, and from their first meeting the chemistry coming from them both is staggering!This is just such a sizzling and romantic novel, which I was absolutely hooked to from the very first page. Holly Martin has a gift of getting a reader hooked on a storyline, which then makes you never want to put the book down! This book is stunningly written (as is all of Holly's novels) and is all about letting go of past hurt and relationships, grief and of course, the beauty of love. Another brilliant novel by Holly Martin, and if you haven't already read one of her books, then I urge you to go and pick up a copy now!Thank you to the publisher for a chance to read this novel via Netgalley, which I have reviewed honestly.
    more
  • Megan
    January 1, 1970
    Sweetness, wit, charm with a side of hotness ... that's exactly what I've come to expect from a Holly Martin book and Tori and Aiden's story delivered that and more! The banter between these two kept me giggling. Their attraction was off the charts. The meddling townsfolk were endearing. The seaside village sounded breathtakingly beautiful. I fully immersed myself in this story and I absolutely fell in love with it. The only problem being that the book ended.It was a simply gorgeous tale, set in Sweetness, wit, charm with a side of hotness ... that's exactly what I've come to expect from a Holly Martin book and Tori and Aiden's story delivered that and more! The banter between these two kept me giggling. Their attraction was off the charts. The meddling townsfolk were endearing. The seaside village sounded breathtakingly beautiful. I fully immersed myself in this story and I absolutely fell in love with it. The only problem being that the book ended.It was a simply gorgeous tale, set in a wonderful coastal village filled with characters I cannot wait to read more about. Holly Martin you've done it again! 4.5 stars
    more
  • Vickie Richens
    January 1, 1970
    Loved this book as I have all Holly’s books, can’t wait to the next one
  • Amanda
    January 1, 1970
    I have read a fair few books written by Holly Martin and each one of them has affected me in a way. I don’t mean in a bad way but certain things from each of her books have stuck in my memory and will do for a long time to come. This book was no exception. I absolutely loved reading ‘The Holiday Cottage By The Sea’ but more about that in a bit.I took to Tori Graham from the start. She is one hard working woman, who is dedicated to her job in animation. She has just finished a huge work project a I have read a fair few books written by Holly Martin and each one of them has affected me in a way. I don’t mean in a bad way but certain things from each of her books have stuck in my memory and will do for a long time to come. This book was no exception. I absolutely loved reading ‘The Holiday Cottage By The Sea’ but more about that in a bit.I took to Tori Graham from the start. She is one hard working woman, who is dedicated to her job in animation. She has just finished a huge work project and she is in desperate need of some down time. At the same time she is missing her two best friends who have gone to live in Sandcastle Bay and she is mourning the loss of her secretish lost love, who sadly died. He was the brother of her best friend. Tori thinks that she just needs some R&R and to be fair I don’t blame her, as she has been working so very hard. Whilst she is staying in Sandcastle Bay, she has also agreed to do a fortnight’s worth of fruit picking in exchange for the cost of her accommodation. From the moment she sets off to drive to Sandcastle Bay, little things go wrong but there’s nothing too serious and in fact most of the mishaps are funny. I just loved the fact that she had to abandon her car because the sheep were out for the afternoon and the fact that Tori was chased by a psychotic sounding turkey, who thinks that he is a dog. An eccentric little old lady predicts that Tori is going to marry Aidan Jackson and tells her that her predications come true. Tori is given a lift by the dishy sounding Parker and it’s only after she has been mouthing off about Aidan, that the penny eventually drops that Parker is Aidan. From that moment on Tori and Aidan flirt like mad around each other but each insists that they are not looking for love and not looking for a relationship. Who are they trying to kid? Will Tori and Aidan have a relationship? Will Tori realise that her stay in Sandcastle Bay may just turn out to be more long term? Will Tori and her friends get the happy ever after ending that they deserve? Well for the answers to these questions and more you are just going to have to read the book for yourselves to find out as I am not going to tell you.I can honestly say that I fell in love with this book from the moment I saw the front cover, which was so bright and the cottage looked to be the sort of place that I would like to escape to every now and then. I eagerly opened the front cover and dived in and I was not to be disappointed. The author’s writing style is such that you can’t fail to be drawn into the story and I found myself really caring about the characters and what happened to them. From the moment I started reading, I was hooked on the story and I found that reading this book became a serious addiction. I just couldn’t put the book down as I was so desperate to know how the story ended. I even begrudged having to take my two dogs out for a walk, which didn’t go down well. Reading ‘The Holiday Cottage By The Sea’ did put me through the emotional wringer somewhat. I laughed, I wanted to cry at times, I wanted to hug certain characters, I wanted to slap certain characters across the face with a wet flip flop and occasionally I wanted to bang heads together. I really did develop a lump in my throat when Matthew’s son, Elliott asks his Aunt Isla, who is also his legal guardian, if he should put some sandwiches in his Daddy’s coffin just in case he is hungry later on. That really is something that a small child will say when they don’t fully understand how final death is.This is one of the books that really does fit its tagline and by that I mean that it is a fun, feel good, light hearted, funny romance novel that will whisk you away to Sandcastle Bay and will make you wish you lived there. I know I wanted to move to Sandcastle Bay but I had to remind myself that it was a fictional place. Boo. I absolutely loved reading this brilliant book and I would urge you to read the book for yourselves- you won’t regret it. I can’t wait for the sequel to ‘The Holiday Cottage By The Sea’ and fortunately I don’t have too long to wait because ‘The Cottage On Sunshine Beach’ is due for release on 22nd June 2018. Hurry up June. The score on the Ginger Book Geek board is a well deserved 5* out of 5*.
    more
  • Emma Star Crossed Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    This review was originally posted on Star Crossed Reviews I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Thank you to Bookouture for letting me be part of this tour. I am a HUGE fan of Holly's work not only her romance novels but also her YA Fantasy series. (If you haven't read that and you are a YA fan then I would HIGHLY recommend it). Anyway let's get back to Holiday Cottage by the Sea. I h This review was originally posted on Star Crossed Reviews I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Thank you to Bookouture for letting me be part of this tour. I am a HUGE fan of Holly's work not only her romance novels but also her YA Fantasy series. (If you haven't read that and you are a YA fan then I would HIGHLY recommend it). Anyway let's get back to Holiday Cottage by the Sea. I have so many thoughts running through my head about this book I don't know how to put them into coherent sentences so excuse me if I ramble today.Holly never fails to draw me into a new location. This books is the first of a new series set in Sandcastle Bay. At the moment we know there will be a second book but I have my suspicions there will be a third later this year. The location is a beautiful seaside town in the south west of England.Tori's best friend Melody moved to Sandcastle Bay almost a year ago and Tori has missed her dearly. When Tori decides to spend two weeks in Sandcastle Bay to catch up with her friend she doesn't expect her life to change so drastically. Tori is used to the fast paced life of living in London and Sandcastle Bay is a world away from that. I really liked Tori. She is fun, passionate and, like me, a bit of a worrier. She thinks about what she has said or done and how that has made other people feel. She also over thinks a lot of things. Tori's Dad left when she was quite young and she hasn't been in contact with him since. My parents split up when I was fairly young too but unlike Tori I still saw my Dad. I totally understood the way she felt about her Dad leaving. Her Dad leaving really affected her ability to trust people. For me Tori was a really easy character to identify with.Tori is staying at Blossom Cottage which is owned by Aidan Jackson....excuse me while I swoon! Wow Aidan (an to be fair the other 2 Jackson men) is one hot cookie. He's tall, rugged and handsome. But Aidan had is heart broken before and doesn't believe in love anymore. I think Aidan Jackson is my new favourite Holly-book boyfriend.We also have a whole host of other characters that I have to talk about. First lets talk abut Agatha. Well she is my favourite. She had me howling with laughter over her antics. I won't tell you what they are you need to read the book for that but honestly you will have tears of laughter.I've already mentioned Melody and then we also have Isla, Melody's older sister. Isla and Melody moved to Sandcastle Bay almost a year ago. I really liked them and I'm hoping to learn more about them as the series continues. I also want to mention Melody and Isla's nephew Elliot. He was another of my favourites. Elliot is 5 years old and like all 5 year olds he has no filter. Which is both hilarious and cover-your-eyes-I-can't-watch-this-bit-can-the-whole-world-swallow-me-up-please embarrassing for the adults.Finally I want to mention the animals in this book. We have Dobby, the Turkey that thinks he is a dog. He is so funny. The first time we meet Dobby is one of the best scenes in this book. We then have Beauty and Beast. Beauty, named because she is a rather ugly dog and Beast because well he's huge. I really loved these dogs and Beauty and the Beast is my favourite Disney film!Once again Holly had me feeling all the emotions. I was laughing, I was crying, I was angry, I was stressed and I was very very happy. I honestly cannot wait for the next book in this series. 
    more
  • Gaele
    January 1, 1970
    Tori has been lonely in London, throwing herself into her work as an animator after her best friend and roommate left. Melody went to Sandcastle Bay in Cornwall after her brother’s death, her sister Isla has guardianship of young Elliot, and Melody is there to help her out. But this leaves Tori out in the cold: she and Matthew had a ‘secret relationship’, that she had come to rely on, even as she can’t get past her fear of a relationship bringing anything but pain. But, missing her friends and d Tori has been lonely in London, throwing herself into her work as an animator after her best friend and roommate left. Melody went to Sandcastle Bay in Cornwall after her brother’s death, her sister Isla has guardianship of young Elliot, and Melody is there to help her out. But this leaves Tori out in the cold: she and Matthew had a ‘secret relationship’, that she had come to rely on, even as she can’t get past her fear of a relationship bringing anything but pain. But, missing her friends and desperately in need of a break, Tori has rented Blossom Cottage in return for helping with the fruit picking at Heartberry Farm: a combined getaway / vacation / reconnect with friends fortnight on the Cornwall coast. From the first moment to the last, Martin’s skill with characters and comical ‘toss you in the deep end’ situations have Tori rethinking her vacation: a traffic jam with immobile sheep, chased by a turkey, a strange old lady who is predicting her marriage and her lingering discomfort with the secret connection to Matthew that she never shared with his sisters. Oh – and did I mention Aidan – and her stuck for words elbow-fetish, her friends obvious crushes on two of the café owners brothers and the almost overwhelming tales of the Heartberry and its magical powers. What Holly Martin does so well is let a story develop – from being enveloped into the community gossip to being a target for the quirky Aunt Agatha’s ‘matchmaking’, the story is crazy wonderful – you can hear the conversations, feel how the magic of the place (and Aidan) are working their magic on Tori – everyone busily declaring their unavailability for a ‘relationship’ but that something between them is too great to ignore. When you add in her excitement in creating an advertising story for the farm, the crazy animals (Beast, Beauty and Dobby the Turkey who believes he’s a dog – and HUGS his owner) the story moves from one moment of laughs to the next. Add in little Elliot, and his penchant for questions that come at the worst times, and repeating words that he shouldn’t – the story feels plausible and leaves everyone smiling in all the best ways. “What do you think of Mr. Punch?” Isla said, kissing Elliots cheek. “He’s an asshole,” Elliot said, succinctly. Melody snorted that he had picked up that word from their conversation in the pub the other night. “Yes he is,” Isla said, proudly. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility. Review first appeared at I am, Indeed
    more
  • Maryline M's Bookshelf
    January 1, 1970
    M's Bookshelf - http://mssbookshelf.blogspot.comI am in love with Holly Martin's version of the world. I would move there in a heartbeat. Yet another cute, rustic English village full of wonderful people... and very gorgeous men.As always, the characters in this latest page-turner are incredibly easy to love. Holly knows how to get her readers invested almost immediately, and leave them wanting - needing - more until way past closing that final chapter. I kept thinking about these characters and M's Bookshelf - http://mssbookshelf.blogspot.comI am in love with Holly Martin's version of the world. I would move there in a heartbeat. Yet another cute, rustic English village full of wonderful people... and very gorgeous men.As always, the characters in this latest page-turner are incredibly easy to love. Holly knows how to get her readers invested almost immediately, and leave them wanting - needing - more until way past closing that final chapter. I kept thinking about these characters and the wonderful Sandcastle Bay, until I just gave up, dropped everything and continued reading. True to Holly Martin's writing, she pulls those heartstrings mercilessly. Avoid reading this book in public, where there's no hiding behind big sunglasses or blaming those tears on hay fever ;-) I laughed out loud and fell in love with yet another gorgeous book boyfriend. Warning though for the real men in our lives: Aiden (and his brothers) set the bar (way) high. Swoon alert! I loved Tori as the main (female) character. She has her doubts and reservations when it comes to romance, but she's confident and unapologetic about who she is. She is passionate about her job and hobbies, she is incredibly funny and a wonderfully loyal friend. The flirting between her and Aiden is hilarious from the start and their witty banter is as sexy as their physical chemistry. The interesting careers and quirky hobbies, the wonderful friendships and family bonds add extra colour and flavour to this already 'joyously romantic' read in this stunning setting.Absolutely loved everything about this book. Bring on the next one, Holly!
    more
  • Sharon
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to Netgalley, the author and the Publisher, Bookouture for this review copy, given in exchange for an honest review. Also thank you to Kim from Bookouture for organising the blog tour and finding me a space on what was always going to be a very popular tour!!Tori Graham arrives in Sandcastle Bay in the need of a holiday. As a busy animator and also tending a broken heart, she decides to visit her friends and also offer her services as a fruit picker, picking the village’s infamous Hear Thank you to Netgalley, the author and the Publisher, Bookouture for this review copy, given in exchange for an honest review. Also thank you to Kim from Bookouture for organising the blog tour and finding me a space on what was always going to be a very popular tour!!Tori Graham arrives in Sandcastle Bay in the need of a holiday. As a busy animator and also tending a broken heart, she decides to visit her friends and also offer her services as a fruit picker, picking the village’s infamous Heartberry. Her boss, and landlord is the devilishly handsome Aidan Jackson. When the local ‘fortune teller’ predicts that Tori and Aiden will end up married, Tori is adamant that she is not in Sandcastle Bay for any type of romance….whatsoever! As the weeks go on though, Sandcastle Bay isn’t the only thing that Tori falls in love with…..I absolutely love Holly Martin and was so excited when I heard about this new release. I defy anyone to not love one her books, they are all fabulous! This one was certainly no exception. The setting of the beautiful Sandcastle Bay was wonderful. I could literally feel the sun burning my skin as I was reading it! The descriptions of the Bay brought such vivid pictures to my mind as to what it was like. The characters were all so likeable – there is not one character in this book which you could not like. As usual the story is choc-a-bloc full of handsome single men and matching eligible women! You can see the pairings up of the couples as the book moves on, lining the series up nicely for the other characters stories as has been done in the previous series’ before.You might say stories like these are predictable and you know what the ending is before it gets there….but you know what, I really don’t care!! The whole fun of the story is not wondering ‘will they?’ because you know they will! It’s more to do with the up and downs of their relationship, the romance, the love and the laughs. There are some superbly funny moments in this book and there are some moments that tug at your heartstrings. The story moves so fast that I was taken on a rollercoaster of emotions that I just didn’t want to get off!! Some of the funniest moments involved the various animals of the village, Dobby was so funny and who could not love Beast!Holly’s writing is just absolute pure genius! I could not tear myself away from this book! Once I clapped eyes on the first word I was literally stuck to the story like glue! She is most definitely one of my favourite authors of this genre and I cannot wait until the next book!! How she can keep bringing out such amazing books one after the other after the other is beyond me!! Her books leave me feeling all warm and happy inside – there is no other way to describe it!I would 100% recommend this book! Unfortunately, Goodreads and Amazon say I have only 5 stars to play about with, which is a real shame as this book deserves a 10 star review!! If you buy any book this year, make it this one!!
    more
  • Gem ~ Bee
    January 1, 1970
    Look at the beautiful cover; bright, blossoming with an eye-catching font (& cows!)! I think Holly’s books always have some of the best covers.This beauty introduces the beginning of a new series based in Sandcastle, yet another picturesque seaside town full of mystical tradition surrounding the rare heartberries that are grown there. Our main character, Tori, turns up for a much needed break from the city to spend time with her best friend Melody, staying in Blossom cottage in exchange for Look at the beautiful cover; bright, blossoming with an eye-catching font (& cows!)! I think Holly’s books always have some of the best covers.This beauty introduces the beginning of a new series based in Sandcastle, yet another picturesque seaside town full of mystical tradition surrounding the rare heartberries that are grown there. Our main character, Tori, turns up for a much needed break from the city to spend time with her best friend Melody, staying in Blossom cottage in exchange for helping pick the berries. Holly Martin crafts such magical, imaginative settings for her books that always ooze “ideal place to visit” vibes that leave you wishing these were real places and real people.Tori inevitably gets more than she bargained for during the break; forced to face past secrets and hurt, and her issues regarding abandonment and relationships. The charming and adorable Aidan chips away at her self defences but they both have a lot to lose if things get serious. I found the way deep-rooted fears were explored during the story heartbreakingly honest and authentic. The chemistry and camaraderie between not just Tori and Aidan but the peripheral friends and community made this book uplifting and a joy to read.Amusing, heartfelt and engrossing, this book is another gem on Holly Martin’s crown of rom-com triumphs!Thank you to Netgalley and Bookoutre for a copy of this book to review in my honest, unbiased views.
    more
Write a review