One Day in December
A love story about what happens after you meet, or rather, don't meet the one.Laurie is pretty sure love at first sight doesn't exist anywhere but the movies. But then, through a misted-up bus window one snowy December day, she sees a man who she knows instantly is the one. Their eyes meet, there's a moment of pure magic...and then her bus drives away.Certain they're fated to find each other again, Laurie spends a year scanning every bus stop and cafe in London for him. But she doesn't find him, not when it matters anyway. Instead they "reunite" at a Christmas party, when her best friend Sarah giddily introduces her new boyfriend to Laurie. It's Jack, the man from the bus. It would be.What follows for Laurie, Sarah and Jack is ten years of friendship, heartbreak, missed opportunities, roads not taken, and destinies reconsidered. One Day in December is a joyous, heartwarming and immensely moving love story to escape into and a reminder that fate takes inexplicable turns along the route to happiness.

One Day in December Details

TitleOne Day in December
Author
ReleaseOct 16th, 2018
PublisherBroadway Books
ISBN-139780525574682
Rating
GenreRomance, Fiction, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Holiday, Christmas

One Day in December Review

  • Kendall
    January 1, 1970
    2018 has been an amazing year of talent for new releases and I can proudly say that this little beauty sits proudly on that shelf! Oh my goodness Josie Silver you have my heart with how beautifully your words and talent is expressed across these pages of One Day in December. This book was NOTHING that I expected. What a beautiful and powerful tale of love, loss, friendship, and how love can span across a lifetime. One beautiful wintery day Laurie is on the bus and she happens to look out her win 2018 has been an amazing year of talent for new releases and I can proudly say that this little beauty sits proudly on that shelf! Oh my goodness Josie Silver you have my heart with how beautifully your words and talent is expressed across these pages of One Day in December. This book was NOTHING that I expected. What a beautiful and powerful tale of love, loss, friendship, and how love can span across a lifetime. One beautiful wintery day Laurie is on the bus and she happens to look out her window to see heart stopper Jack. They both have an instant connection but Jack never got on the bus. A year goes by and Laurie has done nothing but look high and low for this mysterious bus lover. Until one day.. Laurie goes to a Christmas party with her best friend Sarah... who can't stop talking about this new boyfriend she has that she wants to marry. Well..... ladies and gents Laurie has found her bus boy Jack.. who is her best friends new boyfriend. YIKES. Let me tell you this is NOT a typical love triangle. Oh my gosh is this novel so much more then just a love story. I became so invested in these characters and gobbled this book up like a turkey dinner! Josie flawlessly interweaves the path and storyline of the three characters perfectly. "You tread lightly through life, but you leave deep footprints that are hard for other people to fill."You need this book in your life... pre order this one because it deserves a raw and rare spot on your bookshelf!!!4.5 stars!Huge thank you to Crown Publishing and Netgalley for the opportunity to read this arc in exchange for my honest review.Expected publication date: 10/16/18Review published to GR: 7/27/18
    more
  • Katie B
    January 1, 1970
    This was just such a good read for me. Right from the start I fell in love with the characters. Usually when I read novels in the romance genre I can find at least one or two things that I didn't like, but this book was pretty darn close to perfect. It is understandable though that this might not be the right fit for all readers as we all have stories that we connect with more than others.Laurie is on the bus when she looks out the window and instantly falls in love with a man standing outside. This was just such a good read for me. Right from the start I fell in love with the characters. Usually when I read novels in the romance genre I can find at least one or two things that I didn't like, but this book was pretty darn close to perfect. It is understandable though that this might not be the right fit for all readers as we all have stories that we connect with more than others.Laurie is on the bus when she looks out the window and instantly falls in love with a man standing outside. Their eyes meet and Laurie feels this intense connection. The bus moves on without him getting on the bus and she spends the next year with her eyes peeled hoping she will see him again. And she does. Her best friend and roommate, Sarah, brings him to the London flat they share and introduces the mystery man, Jack, as her new boyfriend. Uh oh.I love how the book didn't just take place over the course of a year or two, and instead followed the three characters over the course of a decade. They experience so many life changes, and deal with heartache, joy, pain, etc.. I immediately clicked with Laurie and Jack and enjoyed how the story went back and forth between their perspectives. Given the premise, you might assume this is just a typical love triangle story but the author made it feel like so much more than that. Highly recommend as I really felt an emotional connection to the characters and I hope others are able to experience that as well.Thank you to First to Read for the opportunity to read an advance digital copy! All views expressed are my honest opinion.
    more
  • Emer
    January 1, 1970
    Out now in eBook formatOne December day Laurie is sitting staring out the window of a London bus when suddenly her eyes meet a man that makes her believe in love at first sight. In those brief moments Laurie and this stranger share a connection so deep that she knows he's the one... But then the bus pulls off. And he's gone forever. Laurie tries to find him over the course of the next year to no avail. And then the following Christmas she meets him again. The only problem is he is her best frien Out now in eBook formatOne December day Laurie is sitting staring out the window of a London bus when suddenly her eyes meet a man that makes her believe in love at first sight. In those brief moments Laurie and this stranger share a connection so deep that she knows he's the one... But then the bus pulls off. And he's gone forever. Laurie tries to find him over the course of the next year to no avail. And then the following Christmas she meets him again. The only problem is he is her best friend Sarah's new boyfriend Jack and Sarah, is possibly even more in love with him than Laurie is. The book follows the lives of these three characters over the course of the next ten years as they all try to find out what falling in love versus staying in love with someone really means. This is definitely a book for fans of romantic comedy/dramedy type films as you will LOVE all the little nods to all your favourites (Love Actually, Four Weddings, Bridget Jones.... Basically anything with the fabulousness that is Hugh Grant! With a little Nora Ephron magic thrown in to the mix too!) It's an easy, comforting read that will provide the reader both with a lot of laughs and a lot of tear-filled moments. Fans of light romantic fiction will not be disappointed with this book as it ticks every box that a reader expects from this genre eg likeable female lead, great female friendship, dream guys, crazy in-laws, jealous exes... Etc etc. It's a whole lot of comfortably familiar fun. What is a nice little break up from traditional light romantic fiction is that this book also includes chapters from Jack's point of view and this really does help to illustrate the great divide between how men and women can view relationships and can interpret the same run of events so differently! This wasn't a perfect book for me though. I did feel as if the friendship aspect of the relationship between Laurie and Jack was merely stated to the reader rather than us ever truly seeing them build that history or "past" together. Very soon into the book they started referring to each other as old friends and it just slightly grated with me. I think one or two more more instances of them developing their early friendship would have helped me as a reader to truly see their connection. It was all well and good saying they had an instant spark that initial day they met but I just needed a little more page time with the trio of Laurie, Sarah and Jack to fully feel that Laurie and Jack were going to be best friends for life. I think this is best described as a book with a great story and some truly memorable scenes (Grease secret cinema, the radio phone call) rather than a book with memorable characters. Many of the supporting characters were described as little more than stereotypes with Oscar being a character that I felt was hugely underdeveloped and was only ever there as a plot device. The book, however, had a nice easy flow to it and it ambled along amiably to a very satisfying (if incredibly sign-posted!) ending but it did feature my absolute favourite scene from the book. So incredibly, ridiculously, over-the-top cliched and fabulously romantic and I unashamedly loved it!!!! It's up there with the ending to Sleepless in Seattle and Notting Hill (two of my fav rom-coms!).A book that would make for a lovely festive read because of how the month of December is frequently highlighted in the storyline, but also a book that can be read and enjoyed at any time of the year because the events of the plot are not just confined to one month of the year. Recommended to fans of rom-coms. three and a half stars*An e-copy of this book was kindly provided to me by the publisher, Penguin Books UK, via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.*--------It's the end of June. We are in the middle of a heat-wave here. And I've decided to finally read my Christmassy themed ARC....#standard *An e-copy of this book was kindly provided to me by the publisher, Penguin Books UK, via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.*
    more
  • abby
    January 1, 1970
    One day in December, Laurie and Jack have a not-meet cute that defines their lives for the next decade. She's on the double-decker bus, on her way home from working a dead end job; he's on the bench outside. Their eyes meet in a magical, instant connection and it's like a Hollywood romance-- cue the orchestra and the bright lights. But then it ends. She doesn't get off the bus. He doesn't get on. The bus drives away into the night, and this instalove couple are seemingly lost to each other forev One day in December, Laurie and Jack have a not-meet cute that defines their lives for the next decade. She's on the double-decker bus, on her way home from working a dead end job; he's on the bench outside. Their eyes meet in a magical, instant connection and it's like a Hollywood romance-- cue the orchestra and the bright lights. But then it ends. She doesn't get off the bus. He doesn't get on. The bus drives away into the night, and this instalove couple are seemingly lost to each other forever.But Laurie does find Jack... on the arms of her best friend, Sarah. What do you do when the man you fell in love with at first sight falls in love with someone else? You drink copious amounts of wine, repress your feelings, and get on with your life. For the next decade, it's a series of decisions and missed opportunities for Laurie and Jack.This book provides the sweet, lighthearted atmosphere you'd expect from this type of contemporary romance. I didn't hate it, but I had a real problem with the way neither Jack nor Laurie ever exercised any agency to actually be together. They go though life in a fog, pining for one another but not doing anything about it. They wait for other relationships to fizzle out and for other people to fail them. I know it's a popular "conflict" for romance writers to use, but I don't get characters who stay in tepid relationships out of obligation instead of just moving forward to be with their supposed soul mate. As someone who was once in that situation for real, I find it so irrational and contrived.After setting up the big reveal-- that Laurie's mystery bus lover turns out to be her best friend's new boyfriend-- the book becomes a bit of a slog. It could stand to lose about 100 pages. Even so, the ending seems to come abruptly. Laurie and Jack spend so much time building barriers and making excuses not to be with each other, it's a quick turn around in a matter of paragraphs. That said, the ending was fast paced and adorable.The biggest problem I had with this book is that I didn't care if Laurie and Jack got together. I wasn't even sure I *wanted* them to be together. The author tells us they are a perfect match, but I never saw it or felt it. Jack was kind of a jerk, to be honest, and I think Laurie was a much better fit with Oscar.I give this book 3.5 stars. The author had an interesting hook with the not-meet cute angle, but it wasn't executed as well as it could have been.
    more
  • Amanda
    January 1, 1970
    Haven’t encountered any of Josie Silver’s other books but was intrigued to read this, thank you to netgalley for a copy in exchange for a review. An emotional start, when Laurie and Jack first meet, it is so beautifully written, the intricate details make you visualise this scene as if you are watching it in a movie. At one point in the book, DON’T worry I won’t reveal when, I jumped up out of my seat, I was fully drawn into this book. I felt like I was actually beside these characters living th Haven’t encountered any of Josie Silver’s other books but was intrigued to read this, thank you to netgalley for a copy in exchange for a review. An emotional start, when Laurie and Jack first meet, it is so beautifully written, the intricate details make you visualise this scene as if you are watching it in a movie. At one point in the book, DON’T worry I won’t reveal when, I jumped up out of my seat, I was fully drawn into this book. I felt like I was actually beside these characters living this story for real! I’m not usually a fan of romantic novels but I devoured this book avidly like a child would sweets!!!Would you forsake happiness for your best friend? I liked both Sarah and Laurie so I couldn’t decide who I wanted to get the guy.Would definitely watch this if it was a movie, with tissues handy.Now I can breathe. Couldn’t put this book down. Ps, does the secret cinema exist? I want a Grease night too!!
    more
  • Ashley (5171MilesBooks)
    January 1, 1970
    See this full review and many more at: 5171 Miles Book Blog.Many thanks to Crown Publishing and Netgalley for the chance to read and review this novel!My Anglophile heart beats for British books every now and again, and I must admit to being drawn to this book by its stereotypical cute British cover. Once I read the blurb, I just had to have it. It sounds like the quintessential easy love story to get lost in for a few hours, similar to watching a ROM-COM like Notting Hill. Summer in Texas made See this full review and many more at: 5171 Miles Book Blog.Many thanks to Crown Publishing and Netgalley for the chance to read and review this novel!My Anglophile heart beats for British books every now and again, and I must admit to being drawn to this book by its stereotypical cute British cover. Once I read the blurb, I just had to have it. It sounds like the quintessential easy love story to get lost in for a few hours, similar to watching a ROM-COM like Notting Hill. Summer in Texas made me even more eager to read something set in December in London. If I can't be out of the heat physically, by God, I will be mentally. I was pleasantly surprised to get more than I expected from One Day in December by debut author Josie Silver.Give me a good slow-burn Romance, great setting, likable characters and I am SET! This book was everything I was hoping for and so much more. There were moments I laughed out loud, cried, and felt gut-wrenching pain along with the characters. I fully invested in this story and didn't want it to end. One of the most impressive things about this novel was the author's ability to span a decade in one book without leaving out details or making the story feel jumpy. There was never a disconnect between the reader and the characters, despite the many years covered, which is a rare feat in my experience. I truly felt the passage of time, the way the years quickly stack upon one another faster than we expect them to, and the melancholy of nostalgia.This book boils down to one thing: Timing. When the timing isn't right in life, my goodness, it can cause some of the most soul-crushing heartbreak. Every part of your soul yearns for something, yet fate (God or the universe, whatever you believe) prevents everything you hope for from meshing together. It creates an invisible barrier and no matter how much you push, pull, kick and fight for the thing you want most, you still can't have it. Ouch. When I began this story, I was worried this story was set up for an all-too-familiar trope, you know the one: guy meets girl, best friend steals guy, three-way Romance is in the works with lots of cheating, betrayed friendships, etc. etc. Thankfully, this book wasn't the same ol' thing I've read over and over again. It was a fresh look at the role fate plays and the unbreakable connections we develop to specific people in our lifetimes.I'm giving this beautiful story four stars though I could easily teeter towards five. I felt the story slow slightly at certain times and wished for a little more excitement during those moments. However, everything ended up working in the conclusion, with the ending completely exceeding my expectations. Lucky for everyone, One Day in December is releasing on October 16, so there's no waiting for a snowy day to read this sweet tale! If you'd rather, save it on the shelf to keep you warm and cozy for the Christmas holidays.
    more
  • Jayme
    January 1, 1970
    2008Reminiscent of the songs, “Downtown Train” by Rod Stewart or “You’re Beautiful “ by James Blunt, Laurie is on the top of a double decker bus in London, when she spots a guy at the bus stop below. Their eyes meet and she feels a connection, something like “love at first sight”.....But the bus pulls away without him getting on....She and her best friend Sarah, search for “bus boy” over the course of the next year, to no avail. Then Sarah brings home her new boyfriend, Jack, the guy she has alr 2008Reminiscent of the songs, “Downtown Train” by Rod Stewart or “You’re Beautiful “ by James Blunt, Laurie is on the top of a double decker bus in London, when she spots a guy at the bus stop below. Their eyes meet and she feels a connection, something like “love at first sight”.....But the bus pulls away without him getting on....She and her best friend Sarah, search for “bus boy” over the course of the next year, to no avail. Then Sarah brings home her new boyfriend, Jack, the guy she has already decided she would one day marry, and unbeknownst to her, she has fallen in love with the same guy that Laurie had spotted from the bus. Laurie chooses to NOT tell Sarah that Jack was the was the one she had been searching for...sacrificing her own happiness for Sarah’s. Each subsequent year, begins with Laurie’s New Year’s resolutions, and unfolds over several meaningful days in that year, from the viewpoints of both Laurie and Jack...Days of friendship, days of heartbreak, days of Hellos and days of Goodbyes-though sometimes I wondered what each character saw in each other..2018 Is it finally Laurie’s turn for a happy ending? Cue music........(Rod or James) And, pick this up on Oct. 16th to find out! 3.5 stars I don’t read a lot of romance but a review on Goodreads piqued my interest for this one, so I decided to request it for a “change of pace” from my usual thrillers. Despite being over 400 pages, it was a quick addictive read and would be a perfect Christmas gift, for the romance readers on your list! I would like to thank Netgalley, Crown Publishing and Josie Silver for the ARC I received in exchange for my candid review!
    more
  • The Hopeless Romantics Book Blog
    January 1, 1970
    Review: Surj "One Day in December" was my first read of 2018 (yes I know, I was fortunate enough to get a very early copy) and I can't thank this author enough because this genius piece of work saved me from the mother of all book funks. I'd become a little disheartened by the book world as a whole and found myself inching away from a place that had been a safe haven for a long time. Nothing grabbed my attention any more and if I was reading one book a month, it was a miracle. But new year, new Review: Surj "One Day in December" was my first read of 2018 (yes I know, I was fortunate enough to get a very early copy) and I can't thank this author enough because this genius piece of work saved me from the mother of all book funks. I'd become a little disheartened by the book world as a whole and found myself inching away from a place that had been a safe haven for a long time. Nothing grabbed my attention any more and if I was reading one book a month, it was a miracle. But new year, new start and I thought I'd give it one last shot and thank god I did because this book left my heart feeling so full and reminded me why I fell in love with romance reads in the first place. Christmas insults my eyeballs everywhere I look; I've been shopping for the last few hours and I'm at the point where I want to bludgeon Rudolph, bump of Mariah Carey and strangle the next person who pushes me with the nearest string of tinsel. In "One Day in December," Josie Silver gave us a book that was refreshingly different, captivating and addictive. I read it in one day because I just had to know how it all ended. Laurie and Jack's story touched me, it moved me, it affected me and it overwhelmed me, leaving me speechless by the time I'd turned the last page. It really was a masterpiece of the best kind. I'm lost. Lost in his words, and his arms, and in what might have been. Now although this was a love story, it wasn't a love story of the conventional kind (thank god!!!). But then who wants a simple, straight forward romance? Where's the fun in that? You want a book that will challenge your mind and emotions. You want to feel your heart beat so fast, it feels like it might jump right out of your chest. You want to feel those butterflies in your belly. You want to feel your cheeks wet from the tears you've cried. And yes, Laurie and Jack's story gave me all of those things so make sure you have a box of tissues at hand!!!! Despite the fairytale snowstorm out there, this isn't Narnia. This is London, real life, where hearts get kicked and bruised and broken, but somehow they still keep beating. "One Day in December" was a story about missed chances and maybe's. It was about love, loyalty and sacrifice. Can love conquer all? Is there such a thing as "the one?" Would you settle for anything less than 100%? But for me, one of the most important themes that ran through the core of this book was friendship, that special bond between the main characters. Their story spanned many years and thanks to the exquisite writing of this author, I was able to experience the journey through life these wonderful people went on. I laughed with them, celebrated their successes, loved with them and hurt for them. I'm so very tired of swimming. Most of the time I feel like the tide is going to pull me under, but here in Jack's arms I feel as if he just reached over the side of a life raft and hauled me to safety. This really is one of the best books I've read in a very long time. It's up there with my all time favourites and the bonus was, it was British in characters and setting and the author stayed true to that (so expect lots of wankers and twats!!!). "One Day in December" was breath taking, it was emotional, it was painful and it was beautiful. There were times I thought my heart would never survive it. And if I never read another book again, I'd die happy knowing this was the last one!!!! If I could give it more than ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️ I would. This one really does deserve all of the hearts. https://www.facebook.com/TheHopelessR...Blog: http://thehopelessromanticsbookblog.b...
    more
  • Jamie Rosenblit
    January 1, 1970
    A woman and a man spot each other through the window of a bus and they both feel a spark, but before either can act, the bus pulls away! Now, before you go thinking this is one of those missed connection-they spend the whole book missing each other, let me continue! Laurie tells her roommate Sarah about this, and they are constantly on the lookout for bus-boy. Now, much to Laurie's surprise, Christmas comes and Sarah brings home her new boyfriend, none other than bus-boy (Jack)! As you can imagi A woman and a man spot each other through the window of a bus and they both feel a spark, but before either can act, the bus pulls away! Now, before you go thinking this is one of those missed connection-they spend the whole book missing each other, let me continue! Laurie tells her roommate Sarah about this, and they are constantly on the lookout for bus-boy. Now, much to Laurie's surprise, Christmas comes and Sarah brings home her new boyfriend, none other than bus-boy (Jack)! As you can imagine, this is not just any love triangle, but things can get rather intense here. I was somewhat expecting this to be a bit of a Something Borrowed story, which is a favorite of mine, but it took a rather different path, which still ended up being amazing. My heart ached for these characters at times and I wanted to shake them and scream at other times but I can't say enough good things about this book! Thank you to Crown Publishing for an advance copy. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Amanda
    January 1, 1970
    Haven’t encountered any of Josie Silver’s other books but was intrigued to read this, thank you to netgalley for a copy in exchange for a review. An emotional start, when Laurie and Jack first meet, it is so beautifully written, the intricate details make you visualise this scene as if you are watching it in a movie. At one point in the book, DON’T worry I won’t reveal when, I jumped up out of my seat, I was fully drawn into this book. I felt like I was actually beside these characters living th Haven’t encountered any of Josie Silver’s other books but was intrigued to read this, thank you to netgalley for a copy in exchange for a review. An emotional start, when Laurie and Jack first meet, it is so beautifully written, the intricate details make you visualise this scene as if you are watching it in a movie. At one point in the book, DON’T worry I won’t reveal when, I jumped up out of my seat, I was fully drawn into this book. I felt like I was actually beside these characters living this story for real! I’m not usually a fan of romantic novels but I devoured this book avidly like a child would sweets!!!Would you forsake happiness for your best friend? I liked both Sarah and Laurie so I couldn’t decide who I wanted to get the guy.Would definitely watch this if it was a movie, with tissues handy.Now I can breathe. Couldn’t put this book down. Ps, does the secret cinema exist? I want a Grease night too!
    more
  • Gem ~ Bee
    January 1, 1970
    I've been completely honoured to receive an early copy of this novel to review, it releases in November 2018 but there's already such a buzz about it and that cover is stunning isn't it?! I'm blown away, no fluffing, this is one of the best books I've read; 2018 is already alight with fresh talent and captivating releases and this sits proudly in the wings to be crowned best romantic drama. The tale of Laurie, Jack and Sarah weaves across a decade of winters with a spellbinding narrative. I felt I've been completely honoured to receive an early copy of this novel to review, it releases in November 2018 but there's already such a buzz about it and that cover is stunning isn't it?! I'm blown away, no fluffing, this is one of the best books I've read; 2018 is already alight with fresh talent and captivating releases and this sits proudly in the wings to be crowned best romantic drama. The tale of Laurie, Jack and Sarah weaves across a decade of winters with a spellbinding narrative. I felt caught in the headlights by the powerful emotions of the chemistry, heartbreak and shock each section delivers. This is a story we have all lived; about friendships, love, growing up and finding your way.You know those classic films and books with infamous scenes that everyone identifies with: Notting Hill, Love Actually, The Notebook, Me Before You, P.S I Love You, The Holiday? Well, this book is a masterfully crafted tapestry of all of those moments of pure magic. However, this is not a whirlwind fantasy fairytale romance, it hurts! It is raw, it is anguished, it is captivating, and it is real.I'll be covering a more in-depth review nearer to release date on here and my blog but in a nutshell PRE-ORDER AND READ THIS BOOK!
    more
  • Jo-The Hopeless Romantics Book Blog
    January 1, 1970
    I've wanted to read this book ever since the beautiful cover first caught my eyes, and then I read the synopsis and I knew that "One Day in December" was a must read for Christmas. I had a feeling that this book was going to be the perfect holiday read and I was so right. This book is the only romance novel that you will need in your hands this festive season. "So, my only resolution this year? To work out how to fall out of love.".I have always had a love/hate relationship with love triangles. I've wanted to read this book ever since the beautiful cover first caught my eyes, and then I read the synopsis and I knew that "One Day in December" was a must read for Christmas. I had a feeling that this book was going to be the perfect holiday read and I was so right. This book is the only romance novel that you will need in your hands this festive season. "So, my only resolution this year? To work out how to fall out of love.".I have always had a love/hate relationship with love triangles. I usually find them incredibly frustrating, sending me so crazy that I want to throw my kindle at the wall, but at the same time I soon find myself becoming addicted to the passion and the love that jumps from the pages. I just can't help myself with them. This was what I was expecting when I first met Laurie and Jack, however I got it completely wrong. The story of Laurie, Jack and Sarah became a captivating tale of love, friendship and missed opportunities. I loved every minute of the journey that this book took me on. "You tread lightly through life, but you leave deep footprints that are hard for other people to fill.".I absolutely loved the characters in this book, especially Laurie and Sarah. They were both so lovable and their stories were easy to relate to. I quickly became invested in what was happening and loved the development of the characters. I truly had no clue what was going to happen between Laurie, Sarah and Jack but I didn't want anything bad to happen between the friends. My favourite thing about this story was Laurie and Sarah's friendship."I'm lost. Lost in his words, and in his arms, and in what might have been.". Because I was so involved in the story I felt all kinds of emotions throughout this novel. I smiled and laughed in places, Laurie did make me chuckle an awful lot. I also became sad and even cried during one particularly heartbreaking chapter. I really did feel like I was right there, part of the friendship and feeling the same emotions as the characters. I lived this story alongside Laurie, Sarah and Jack, so by the time I reached those final few chapters, I was more than ready for a HEA and I wasn't disappointed. I was given a swoon-worthy ending that belongs in a movie, in fact I can easily see this entire story played out on the big screen. It would make the perfect Christmas movie. "I hold him, and he holds me, and for the first time in years, there's nothing missing at all." .I loved everything about this book and it easily gets five stars from me!
    more
  • Rachel ⭐️ Kindle Friends Forever ⭐️
    January 1, 1970
    Five Stars are just not enough for this book !! I was hooked from the very first page to the last. I read this books months ago but the feelings it evoked from me are still very fresh in my mind. I'm an avid reader and very few books stick with me after reading however this was one of them. This books spans years and tells the story of how one fleeting connection can have a lasting impact of your life. I'm sure we have all maintained eye contact with someone and wondered for just a few moments i Five Stars are just not enough for this book !! I was hooked from the very first page to the last. I read this books months ago but the feelings it evoked from me are still very fresh in my mind. I'm an avid reader and very few books stick with me after reading however this was one of them. This books spans years and tells the story of how one fleeting connection can have a lasting impact of your life. I'm sure we have all maintained eye contact with someone and wondered for just a few moments if anything would come of it. Yes, I suppose that is the stuff of fiction but come on I read romance so I'm a believer of love or lust at first sight. The emotions was this book were plentiful ! One minute I wanted to cry then throw my Kindle it was so frustrating and angst filled. The next I wanted to laugh my socks off ! It certainly covers every feeling I relish when I read a book. What I absolutely adored about this book as it didn't feel rushed at all ! It was a story well written and the pace of the story made it feel real and authentic. It's ultimately about what happens when life gets in the way of what you want but can't have. I'm certainly not going to spoil it for you and tell you if there's a happy ever after but what I will say is read this book, preferably with a cup of tea, a box of tissues ! Also make sure you are not interrupted as once you pick up this you will not want to put it down! Ms Silver you have spoilt me and for that I have to say THANK YOU! x
    more
  • Mellie Antoinete
    January 1, 1970
    Well I devoured this on a long Thursday summer evening. Adulting is overrated! While this instantly ticks the 5 ⭐ box, I found that at the end of the day, I didn’t necessarily like any of the characters, but I strongly empathized with their choices. This is an applied lesson in timing is everything. We, as people, are as malleable as our experiences - we laugh when there is joy, we stay when we should go, we love whom we love. I have to give Josie Silver mad credit for writing what could be anyb Well I devoured this on a long Thursday summer evening. Adulting is overrated! While this instantly ticks the 5 ⭐️ box, I found that at the end of the day, I didn’t necessarily like any of the characters, but I strongly empathized with their choices. This is an applied lesson in timing is everything. We, as people, are as malleable as our experiences - we laugh when there is joy, we stay when we should go, we love whom we love. I have to give Josie Silver mad credit for writing what could be anybody’s story. I felt like Jack did the most evolving in this book. He lit up like a Christmas tree whenever Laurie was in the room. And when she wasn’t, he was kind of unlikeable! The friendship between Laurie and Sarah was enviable and the whole Christmas in July feel was glowing off the page. A definite pick and even a book I would definitely recommend for those wanting a little smile during the high heat of summer! Your person is out there waiting for you! All you have to do is get on the bus! 😊🎄❄️☃️A generous thank you to #netgalley and #broadwaybooks for an #earc of #onedayindecember!
    more
  • Julia
    January 1, 1970
    Ich habe ein schlechtes Gewissen. =/ aber nachdem das mit dem Betrügen aufkam habe ich das Interesse komplett verloren
  • Kelsey's Korner Blog
    January 1, 1970
    I’m not normally a one for Xmas reads. I’m also not normally a one for fluffy, feel good reads but oh my goodness I was certainly a one for One Day In December. The opening scenes pulled me in right from the very first page. I had vivid visions of the two main characters as the story played out in my head like a beautiful well directed movie. It well and truly hooked me. Reminiscent of Love Actually, with love, loss and laughter, this novel gave me all the feels as I continued to turn the pages. I’m not normally a one for Xmas reads. I’m also not normally a one for fluffy, feel good reads but oh my goodness I was certainly a one for One Day In December. The opening scenes pulled me in right from the very first page. I had vivid visions of the two main characters as the story played out in my head like a beautiful well directed movie. It well and truly hooked me. Reminiscent of Love Actually, with love, loss and laughter, this novel gave me all the feels as I continued to turn the pages. Josie Silver’s writing being perfectly executed throughout. At times quite breathtaking!For all that love the romance genre, this is a must read and for those of us who tend to go darker, pick this beauty up for a rainy day as I guarantee this will have you gripped and the sun will shine when you reach the last page.
    more
  • Jenny - TotallybookedBlog
    January 1, 1970
    ‘If anyone asks me if I’ve ever fallen in love at first sight, I shall say yes, for one glorious minute on 21 December 2008.’Sometimes we come across a story that immediately warms our hearts and makes us feel like we’ve come home. Like we’ve been waiting for that immediate greeting of a warm hug, of a book that stirs something in our soul that makes us want to roll amongst the pages as they consume us. Sound fanciful? Well it’s not, it’s where we avid readers love to be -to find ourselves- to s ‘If anyone asks me if I’ve ever fallen in love at first sight, I shall say yes, for one glorious minute on 21 December 2008.’Sometimes we come across a story that immediately warms our hearts and makes us feel like we’ve come home. Like we’ve been waiting for that immediate greeting of a warm hug, of a book that stirs something in our soul that makes us want to roll amongst the pages as they consume us. Sound fanciful? Well it’s not, it’s where we avid readers love to be -to find ourselves- to stay and feel part of something wonderful, something magical, something emotional and something heart-warming. Reading fiction that feels somewhat real, so much so we laugh, cry and experience every emotion. It’s a place we call book heaven and One Day in December is this book. “There comes a point where you have to make the choice to be happy, because being sad for too long is exhausting. And that one day, you’ll look back, and you’ll not be able to remember exactly what it was you loved about that person.” So quintessential British, so very romantic and dreamy. So heart-breaking, lost and persevering. So full of regrets, sacrifices but also hope and loyalty. So angsty and conflicting. So very funny and delicious. Every single character plays an intricate part of this story of life and love. A cast of people who all come across incredibly real in all their flaws and all their perfects. We experienced every step of this story as Josie Silver never just told, rather she showed us through masterful writing which ensured we felt the story with every breath we took as friendship and loyalties were tested in the pursuit of love and happiness.‘So my only resolution this year? To work out how to fall out of love.’The opening chapter reads like something out of a fairy-tale in all its wistful romance. The cockles of our hearts swooned and we could taste and feel the snowflakes, we saw the steamed up bus window and we felt the connection when Laurie and Jack first laid eyes upon each other. Fleeting yes, but a momentous and intense moment which was to reside deep within both for years to come. “I don’t know if I believe in all that destiny stuff, Lu, but I’ll always be glad you’re in my life.” He looks down into my eyes and his mouth is so close I can feel his breath on my lips. I ache.“Me too,” I whisper. “Even though being with you is hard on my heart sometimes.” One day in December is told in dual pov as we follow Laurie and Jack who are caught in the headlights of bad timing and consequences beyond their control. The path of true love rarely runs smoothly and often drama and heartbreak makes a visit for the occasion. Love interrupted by friendship, distance and inopportune situations beyond anyone’ control. Yet the heart still wants what it wants and will fight for it no matter what it has to go through and how long it takes.‘The truth is that I’ve walked around the edge of being in love with Jack for too many years. It’s made me realize something inevitable, something that’s been a long time coming: he and I would be better off without each other.’We absolutely adore our Christmas movies; you know the ones that we sit and watch again and again every year as part of tradition. The ones that make our hearts warm and happy, maybe cry a tear or two whilst we curl up on the couch under a blanket with a glass of wine in hand. Well, if ever there was a case to bring a new one into the Christmas movie -must watch- fold then One Night in December stands proudly at the forefront. Someone needs to make this happen and we will be there ready with bells on and tinsel in our hair. Be prepared for a compelling journey of love and friendship spanning years, it’ll make you laugh and cry in equal measure. It’ll break your heart -frustrate you even- yet it will fill you with so much love and beauty too. It’s a wondrous journey we urge you to take. Let Josie Silver mesmerize you as she did us, leaving us with a heart full of love and a tearful smile of pure happiness. “You tread lightly through life, but you leave deep footprints that are hard for other people to fill.” Available to purchase belowAmazon USAmazon UKCome visit and follow us at:✲ TotallyBookedBlog✲ TBB on Facebook✲ TBB on Instagram✲ TBB on Twitter✲ TBB on Pinterest
    more
  • Gitte TotallyBookedBlog
    January 1, 1970
    ‘If anyone asks me if I’ve ever fallen in love at first sight, I shall say yes, for one glorious minute on 21 December 2008.’Sometimes we come across a story that immediately warms our hearts and makes us feel like we’ve come home. Like we’ve been waiting for that immediate greeting of a warm hug, of a book that stirs something in our soul that makes us want to roll amongst the pages as they consume us. Sound fanciful? Well it’s not, it’s where we avid readers love to be -to find ourselves- to s ‘If anyone asks me if I’ve ever fallen in love at first sight, I shall say yes, for one glorious minute on 21 December 2008.’Sometimes we come across a story that immediately warms our hearts and makes us feel like we’ve come home. Like we’ve been waiting for that immediate greeting of a warm hug, of a book that stirs something in our soul that makes us want to roll amongst the pages as they consume us. Sound fanciful? Well it’s not, it’s where we avid readers love to be -to find ourselves- to stay and feel part of something wonderful, something magical, something emotional and something heart-warming. Reading fiction that feels somewhat real, so much so we laugh, cry and experience every emotion. It’s a place we call book heaven and One Day in December is this book. “There comes a point where you have to make the choice to be happy, because being sad for too long is exhausting. And that one day, you’ll look back, and you’ll not be able to remember exactly what it was you loved about that person.” So quintessential British, so very romantic and dreamy. So heart-breaking, lost and persevering. So full of regrets, sacrifices but also hope and loyalty. So angsty and conflicting. So very funny and delicious. Every single character plays an intricate part of this story of life and love. A cast of people who all come across incredibly real in all their flaws and all their perfects. We experienced every step of this story as Josie Silver never just told, rather she showed us through masterful writing which ensured we felt the story with every breath we took as friendship and loyalties were tested in the pursuit of love and happiness.‘So my only resolution this year? To work out how to fall out of love.’The opening chapter reads like something out of a fairy-tale in all its wistful romance. The cockles of our hearts swooned and we could taste and feel the snowflakes, we saw the steamed up bus window and we felt the connection when Laurie and Jack first laid eyes upon each other. Fleeting yes, but a momentous and intense moment which was to reside deep within both for years to come. “I don’t know if I believe in all that destiny stuff, Lu, but I’ll always be glad you’re in my life.” He looks down into my eyes and his mouth is so close I can feel his breath on my lips. I ache.“Me too,” I whisper. “Even though being with you is hard on my heart sometimes.” One day in December is told in dual pov as we follow Laurie and Jack who are caught in the headlights of bad timing and consequences beyond their control. The path of true love rarely runs smoothly and often drama and heartbreak makes a visit for the occasion. Love interrupted by friendship, distance and inopportune situations beyond anyone’ control. Yet the heart still wants what it wants and will fight for it no matter what it has to go through and how long it takes.‘The truth is that I’ve walked around the edge of being in love with Jack for too many years. It’s made me realize something inevitable, something that’s been a long time coming: he and I would be better off without each other.’We absolutely adore our Christmas movies; you know the ones that we sit and watch again and again every year as part of tradition. The ones that make our hearts warm and happy, maybe cry a tear or two whilst we curl up on the couch under a blanket with a glass of wine in hand. Well, if ever there was a case to bring a new one into the Christmas movie -must watch- fold then One Night in December stands proudly at the forefront. Someone needs to make this happen and we will be there ready with bells on and tinsel in our hair. Be prepared for a compelling journey of love and friendship spanning years, it’ll make you laugh and cry in equal measure. It’ll break your heart -frustrate you even- yet it will fill you with so much love and beauty too. It’s a wondrous journey we urge you to take. Let Josie Silver mesmerize you as she did us, leaving us with a heart full of love and a tearful smile of pure happiness. “You tread lightly through life, but you leave deep footprints that are hard for other people to fill.” Available to purchase belowAmazon USAmazon UKCome visit and follow us at:✲ TotallyBookedBlog✲ TBB on Facebook✲ TBB on Instagram✲ TBB on Twitter✲ TBB on Pinterest
    more
  • Kathy - Books & Munches
    January 1, 1970
    Romance in December? I'm a sucker for that! But... am I a sucker for One Day in December as well?Simply said: yes. This isn't going to be a long review because I believe this is one of those novels you should read yourselves in order to get the full experience.This story switches between two POV's - Laurie's and Jack's - which adds a whole lot to this story. It isn't your typical romance either since years and years pass by in the book. Honestly, this meant so much to me since you don't feel lik Romance in December? I'm a sucker for that! But... am I a sucker for One Day in December as well?Simply said: yes. This isn't going to be a long review because I believe this is one of those novels you should read yourselves in order to get the full experience.This story switches between two POV's - Laurie's and Jack's - which adds a whole lot to this story. It isn't your typical romance either since years and years pass by in the book. Honestly, this meant so much to me since you don't feel like everything's rushed. All our characters actually get fleshed out, they experience things, they struggle, they solve their problems, they find themselves in new, awkward and difficult situations. You get to see all that without feeling as if it's "too much in such a short period of time".Sure, I got frustrated by some things sometimes and yes, I felt like screaming at Laurie and Jack at other moments but.. all in all I'm so happy I got that invested in this story?! If there is one thing I didn't necessarily love about this novel, it's the ending. I thought it was a bit too cliche compared to the rest of it. I can hardly go into detail, but if you decide to pick up One Day in December, I do hope you share your thoughts on the ending with me!All in all I thoroughly enjoyed reading this story - I read it in no time too. I'd definitely recommend this to people looking for a romantic story with a unique vibe to it. Even more so for people who like a story line going over multiple years instead of a short period of time!4,5 / 5!Kathy
    more
  • KFForever
    January 1, 1970
    kfforever Reviewed by Sharon Thérèse at KindleFriendsForeverAlthough ‘One Day in December’ is a full-length standalone winterish love story I read in spring, and can assure you that it’s very readable at any time of the year! That being said, it’s not difficult for me to imagine myself snuggled up under my blanket, steaming hot cuppa nearby, Xmas lights twinkling while rereading this book. Ahh, and even better if your tribe leave you undisturbed. Why? You may ask. Well, not only did I do an all kfforever Reviewed by Sharon Thérèse at KindleFriendsForeverAlthough ‘One Day in December’ is a full-length standalone winterish love story I read in spring, and can assure you that it’s very readable at any time of the year! That being said, it’s not difficult for me to imagine myself snuggled up under my blanket, steaming hot cuppa nearby, Xmas lights twinkling while rereading this book. Ahh, and even better if your tribe leave you undisturbed. Why? You may ask. Well, not only did I do an all-nighter but also devoured every page from beginning to end without stopping. You see, the author’s narrative is as such that I yearned to discover if the two protagonists really had missed the boat. I couldn’t possibly have gone to sleep not knowing or done this with interruptions. So here I am, writing this review with an almighty sleep deficit I regret not one bit. I have to admit that the first couple of chapters had me wondering if there was going to be more dialogue, but as I sank deeper and deeper into the story, this desire somehow disappeared into the thin night air. And there is banter, and it’s extremely well-written. A fact which I have to reiterate because apart from the protagonists’ innermost thoughts which brought out all the feels, some of the light-hearted chit-chats helped counterbalance other heartbreaking moments Yes, get your man-sized hankies ready ladies, you’ll need them and ohh, earplugs for your partner isn't a bad idea, either! ‘You just have a way about you, Laurie. Being around you makes people feel good.’‘Do you really mean that?’‘Yes.’ ‘Of course I do…’ What occurred at the beginning of the story, I strongly believe in. Things happen in all our lives we can’t control, so whether it was Laurie’s fate or her destiny is for you to decide. I was gobsmacked. But not straight away. The story’s timespan is a long one so understandably while I was rooting for her happiness, never did I expect the outcome of such a fleeting moment held in limbo to have had such an impact later on. I found the pacing perfect since it gave me time to absorb every little detail, every nuance and it even got me thinking ahead...trying to silently encourage Laurie and Jack to persevere. When others have our love and respect, you don’t go out of your way to hurt them; the reverse, you protect them. This was brought home in the author’s storytelling. She wanted them to pursue righteousness, for them to have clear consciences, for them to be able to live with themselves. The trouble is what is right for one, might be wrong for another, meaning actions can often be interpreted incorrectly. Deflecting truths to save hurt obscures, changing the pattern of what could have been, too. ‘Perhaps one day I might even deserve to be happy.’ The story’s originality impressed me no end. Two friends tied together with heartstrings, who will do anything for each other, who know how the other thinks, stay sisters-in-arms until… It was on the cards; nonetheless, before getting to this part Ms. Silver had already put me through an emotional wringer, turning me into a nervous wreck. I felt as if this particular scenario where the fickle finger of fate was played out, slowed down to a snail’s pace but at the same time, was over in a flash leaving me devastated. I might add that this brilliant piece of writing was the result of a build up like none other. Consequently, I balled my eyes out while trying hard not to wake my better half. Of course, this couldn’t have happened without damn good character development and a strong plot. ‘Life can be really shit sometimes,’ ‘It’ll come good again. It always does.’‘You think so? It sounds so stupid but I just feel like I’m failing at everything…’ I loved all the characters’ backgrounds. It was like being given a unique look at how they all lived; their quirks, their traits, likes and dislikes and the humour...mustn’t forget that Brit wit, now can we? The men in the lives of Laurie and Sarah, so very different, both gorgeous and sensitive in their own ways. I loved how the author focused on family values, everyday issues and struggles and didn’t skim over any details. Nothing was left unturned, everything told was relevant consequently making ‘One Day in December’ one of the best love stories of the year. ‘Despite the fairy-tale snowstorm out there, this isn’t Narnia. This is London, real life, where hearts get kicked and bruised and broken, but somehow they still keep beating.’ Hmm...so we have a girl, a guy and another girl. We have the best of friends. Kinda looks like we could have a triangle on the go, doesn’t it? But is it really? Folks, there’s only one way to find out and that’s reading the book! I’m eternally grateful that I was given the opportunity to get to know Laurie, Jack, Sarah and Oscar. And you might ask yourselves if there’s a third wheel in this little group of four; again, read it...please! All are unforgettable characters who I liked in equal parts, all of them were a joy to get to know and I don’t doubt you’ll like them as much as me. ‘You’re beautiful and kind, and you make me laugh, and when you look at me like that with your summer hedgerow eyes . . . only a fucking saint wouldn’t kiss you.’ Interestingly, I realized there was no epilogue when I reached the end of the book that happens to be without a prologue. Obviously, I’d jumped into it head first taking little notice of this detail. But the ending...oh boy, it was so intense, I actually wondered right up to the last minute how it would pan out seeing as the author had left virtually no breathing space for either the reader or more important, her characters. I can’t tell you how much I enjoyed this story. I really can’t. Unfortunately, it’s not possible for me to award an infinite number of stars to a book that certainly deserves them. Therefore, I’ll give it five shiny ones. Bravo Ms Silver!
    more
  • Danielle Rotko
    January 1, 1970
    Sadly I didn’t love this one. I’m a sucker for a good romance, but this was too fluffy for me. If that’s the right word? I like a little more angst in my romances. A little more friction, if you will. I also really didn’t enjoy any of the characters. None of them intrigued me, even in the slightest bit, and I felt indifferent when it came to the outcome of the story. I wasn’t anxiously awaiting the moment that Jack and Laurie finally got together. Not at all actually. To be honest, I don’t even Sadly I didn’t love this one. I’m a sucker for a good romance, but this was too fluffy for me. If that’s the right word? I like a little more angst in my romances. A little more friction, if you will. I also really didn’t enjoy any of the characters. None of them intrigued me, even in the slightest bit, and I felt indifferent when it came to the outcome of the story. I wasn’t anxiously awaiting the moment that Jack and Laurie finally got together. Not at all actually. To be honest, I don’t even know that I wanted them together? Ugh. The more I write this review, the more I realize how uninvested I was in these characters. This story just didn’t do it for me, unfortunately.Thank you to Penguin Random House & First to Read for an ARC in exchange for an honest review!
    more
  • Meredith Schorr
    January 1, 1970
    I received a complimentary ARC of this book at the RWA Conference and am thrilled that I did. This might be my favorite book of 2018. I LOVED it. It was an epic romance spanning almost a decade. I laughed at parts, but I also cried buckets. I felt like I really worked for the delicious HEA. The characters were so likeable yet flawed. I haven't felt that much while reading a book in a long time. I'm still thinking about it a day later and am guessing it will stay with me for quite some time. One I received a complimentary ARC of this book at the RWA Conference and am thrilled that I did. This might be my favorite book of 2018. I LOVED it. It was an epic romance spanning almost a decade. I laughed at parts, but I also cried buckets. I felt like I really worked for the delicious HEA. The characters were so likeable yet flawed. I haven't felt that much while reading a book in a long time. I'm still thinking about it a day later and am guessing it will stay with me for quite some time. One Day in December was truly a beautiful book and I cannot wait to see what this author brings us next. I will be first in line!
    more
  • Christie«SHBBblogger»
    January 1, 1970
  • Steffi
    January 1, 1970
    3.5Laurie sitzt im Bus, Jack steht an einer Bushaltstelle. Ihre Blicke begegnen sich, aber dann fährt der Bus weiter und Jack ist nicht eingestiegen. Laurie kann Jack nicht vergessen und macht sich auf die Suche nach ihm.Die Geschichte hat definitiv Potential und ist auch unterhaltsam, jedoch fand ich die Art wie die Geschichte erzählt wird nicht komplett geeignet. Es gibt immer wieder große Zeitsprünge in den Perspektiven von Jack und Laurie, mal sind es nur ein paar Wochen, dann wieder einige 3.5Laurie sitzt im Bus, Jack steht an einer Bushaltstelle. Ihre Blicke begegnen sich, aber dann fährt der Bus weiter und Jack ist nicht eingestiegen. Laurie kann Jack nicht vergessen und macht sich auf die Suche nach ihm.Die Geschichte hat definitiv Potential und ist auch unterhaltsam, jedoch fand ich die Art wie die Geschichte erzählt wird nicht komplett geeignet. Es gibt immer wieder große Zeitsprünge in den Perspektiven von Jack und Laurie, mal sind es nur ein paar Wochen, dann wieder einige Monate. Für mich wurde es dadurch schwierig eine richtige Verbindung aufzubauen und richtig mit den Charakteren mitzufühlen. Es ist eine Distanz entstanden.Ebenso war der Inhalt teilweise ein wenig langgezogen und in den Abschnitten ist manchmal nicht viel interessantes passiert.Zum Ende hin konnte mich das Buch jedoch richtig berühren und ich hatte sogar einige Tränchen in den Augen.Der Schreibstil der Autorin ist flüssig und angenehm zu lesen.
    more
  • Theresa Smith Writes
    January 1, 1970
    This was such a delightful novel! Utterly perfect for a mid-week wind down. While romance/chick-lit is not my usual choice of genre, I do like it a lot when it’s British. I’m kind of like that with my rom-com movies too. It’s all in the humour, I find myself able to click better with British humour. And Josie Silver has a way with words too, an intimate style of telling her story that had me veering between laughter and tears – One Day in December really does have all the feels.‘Who was St Valen This was such a delightful novel! Utterly perfect for a mid-week wind down. While romance/chick-lit is not my usual choice of genre, I do like it a lot when it’s British. I’m kind of like that with my rom-com movies too. It’s all in the humour, I find myself able to click better with British humour. And Josie Silver has a way with words too, an intimate style of telling her story that had me veering between laughter and tears – One Day in December really does have all the feels.‘Who was St Valentine anyway and what made him such an expert on romance? I’m willing to bet his full name is St Smugbastard-three’s-crowd Valentine, and he probably lives on a candle-lit island where everything comes in pairs, even bouts of thrush.’Laurie is gorgeous, a character I was able to relate to on every level. In her early 20s when the novel opens, she’s still very much finding her way, actively looking for her dream job while keeping an eye out for her dream man. And then she sees him, love at first sight through a bus window, but he’s not quick enough at getting up and jumping onto the bus, so they miss each other. Until months later, when he turns up as her best friend’s new boyfriend. But don’t be mistaken in thinking that this is the beginning of a cliché love triangle – far from it. What unfolds is a story about friendship, loyalty, and missed opportunities. As Laurie and Jack get on with their lives, as friends, the next twelve years throw up many different paths, none of which see them on the same one at the same time. And the other big relationship within this novel, between Laurie and Sarah, her best friend, was awesome. They were a great pair, through the highs and the lows, and there’s nothing better than a solid book friendship anchoring a story in my opinion.‘I remember the day I first met Sarah, and the first time I saw Jack, and how very tangled and complicated our lives have become over the years. We are a triangle, but our sides have kept changing length. Nothing has ever quite been equal. Perhaps it’s time to learn how to stand on our own, rather than lean on each other.’One Day in December is a novel that wraps you up in a comforting embrace. In many ways it’s more life-lit than chick-lit, the sort of novel I can see myself getting really excited about if it ever made it up onto the big screen. And that ending…incredibly wonderful. A truly perfect way to finish such a gorgeous novel. I highly recommend One Day in December.Thanks is extended to Penguin UK via Netgalley for providing me with a copy of One Day In December for review.
    more
  • Rachel McMillan
    January 1, 1970
    This book is exceptionally well written, structured and executed. Unfortunately, I did not find it romantic. I did not appreciate how the two leads hurt other people on their path toward each other. I was hoping for a bit more of a sweet romance and realize that might have been my personal projection. Some of the decisions made by the two leads- while very human-made it hard for me to want to see them together or champion their inevitable romance. The supporting characters were far more appealin This book is exceptionally well written, structured and executed. Unfortunately, I did not find it romantic. I did not appreciate how the two leads hurt other people on their path toward each other. I was hoping for a bit more of a sweet romance and realize that might have been my personal projection. Some of the decisions made by the two leads- while very human-made it hard for me to want to see them together or champion their inevitable romance. The supporting characters were far more appealing and did not deserve the actions of the leads.
    more
  • Scarlet Wilson
    January 1, 1970
    Love, love loved this slow burn story. Read this while travelling and cried three times. The unrequited love, bad luck and timing issues make you just want to kidnap the main characters and send them off to an island together. This has got to be a movie, the ending is just perfect.
    more
  • Gina
    January 1, 1970
    I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of this from NetGallery for a honest review.I know we’re only in March, but is it too early to say that this my favourite book of 2018?The story starts just like a movie, Laurie is on the bus home from work after finishing her last shift at work before Christmas when it pulls up at the next stop. She looks out the window, and lock eyes with a man she knows instantly is the one. However, the bus pulls away before they have a chance to utter one word to each ot I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of this from NetGallery for a honest review.I know we’re only in March, but is it too early to say that this my favourite book of 2018?The story starts just like a movie, Laurie is on the bus home from work after finishing her last shift at work before Christmas when it pulls up at the next stop. She looks out the window, and lock eyes with a man she knows instantly is the one. However, the bus pulls away before they have a chance to utter one word to each other.A year of searching with no luck leaves Laurie defeated and heartbroken, until he walks into her life again, as her best friend Sarah’s boyfriend. Over the next decade, you follow Laurie as she navigates her complicated life, whilst trying to find her dream job, maintain her relationship with her best friend, and attempt to forget her feelings for the boy at the bus. However, how long can she possibly ignore fate?Josie Silver’s writing has captivated me and I have fell in love with this novel. I am a huge believer in love at first sight and soulmates and if you are too, then this book is perfect for you!I loved every single one of the main characters in this book. Laurie was perfect and so relatable. The fact she was from the West Midlands and so am I, made me love her so much more. Us people from the midlands have to stick together. I felt like I was feeling every emotion she was feeling in this book. Sarah is the perfect best friend. I find normally when a book centres around a friendship between to women, you find you are drawn to one more than the other. This wasn’t the case with this one. Sarah is fiery and passionate, but down to earth and fiercely loyal and protective of Laurie. I really enjoyed reading about their friendship.I loved how this book didn’t feel rushed (which would have been quite hard to do because it is set over ten years). Josie allowed time for each of the characters to develop and you felt like you were on their journey with them.Can I just add that this book is so British! The language used, places it’s set and tone of the novel is amazing and so much fun.Whilst I absolutely adored this book, it was also very challenging to read and I found myself questioning my morals at times. I wouldn’t always agree with the characters choices but I could definitely empathise them. You couldn’t help but fall in love with all of them and hope and pray they got their happy ever after, however it may be.This isn’t your conventional romantic novel, but I think that’s why I enjoyed it so much. It’s a story we probably all can relate to at some point in our lives. The story is more than just about love, it’s about friendships, growing up and figuring out where you fit in this big, scary world we live in.This book is heartbreakingly beautiful and if I could rate this book more than five out five stars, I most certainly would.
    more
  • Cassie
    January 1, 1970
    What an adorable book. The characters were all so realistic. The author didn’t pretend that her characters had no faults and this just made them all so much better. I laughed, a lot, and spent far too much time sniffling and scrabbling my hands around, feeling out for tissues, as I couldn’t bring myself to lift my eyes from the words. I just didn’t want the book to end. Even though I devoured this book in one sitting, I felt that I had come to know Laurie, Jack and Sarah and I although I wanted What an adorable book. The characters were all so realistic. The author didn’t pretend that her characters had no faults and this just made them all so much better. I laughed, a lot, and spent far too much time sniffling and scrabbling my hands around, feeling out for tissues, as I couldn’t bring myself to lift my eyes from the words. I just didn’t want the book to end. Even though I devoured this book in one sitting, I felt that I had come to know Laurie, Jack and Sarah and I although I wanted to know how it was all going to work out – I just didn’t want it to end. I even tweeted the author when I had finished to congratulate her – and that’s not me at all. I wish nothing but the best for her with this book. She really deserves this to be a huge success and I shall be singing its praises from the rooftops when we’re a little closer to the publication date.
    more
  • Cheryl
    January 1, 1970
    Oh how I loved this book, a beautiful story with wonderful characters. It made me laugh out loud but also reduced me to tears, I felt by the end that I knew Laurie, Jack and Sarah like friends and was reluctant to finish the book as I knew I would have to say goodbye to them. As I approached the end of the book I wondered if I might be disappointed with the ending, but I had no need to worry as it was possibly the most perfect ending to a book that I have read recently. I cannot wait for more fr Oh how I loved this book, a beautiful story with wonderful characters. It made me laugh out loud but also reduced me to tears, I felt by the end that I knew Laurie, Jack and Sarah like friends and was reluctant to finish the book as I knew I would have to say goodbye to them. As I approached the end of the book I wondered if I might be disappointed with the ending, but I had no need to worry as it was possibly the most perfect ending to a book that I have read recently. I cannot wait for more from this author.
    more
Write a review