The Iron Will of Genie Lo (The Epic Crush of Genie Lo #2)
The fate of the heavens is at stake in this hilarious and highly-anticipated sequel to the The Epic Crush of Genie Lo Genie Lo thought she was busy protecting the Bay Area from demons. But now, as a Heaven- appointed Guardian, even the well-being of demons is her responsibility—and their numbers are multiplying. Guanyin and Quentin are doing their best to help; but what they really need is for the Jade Emperor to get off his butt and deal with the crisis. While he’s AWOL, Genie nominates Guanyin to fill in his shoes, unaware that the role will go to the god who can defeat a mysterious threat to the supernatural order. Along with a few other contenders for the throne, including a former enemy, Genie and her friends embark on a Heavenly quest to an in-between world. But when faced with true danger, the group realizes that what will save the universe this time is sacrifice, not strength.

The Iron Will of Genie Lo (The Epic Crush of Genie Lo #2) Details

TitleThe Iron Will of Genie Lo (The Epic Crush of Genie Lo #2)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 21st, 2020
PublisherAmulet Books
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Mythology

The Iron Will of Genie Lo (The Epic Crush of Genie Lo #2) Review

  • Frank-Intergalactic Bookdragon
    January 1, 1970
    Update April 2019At long last, there is a cover, synopsis, and release date, I have waited well over a year for this. I don't like that the cover doesn't really matched book one but I figured they would change it so the prophecy has been fulfilled. Also the wait will be long and hard but I can survive! Prereview March 2018Librarian: *opens up library in the morning to find me sleeping in the YA section*screams*starts dialing 911*Me: shhhhh! I'm trying to sleepLibrarian: what are you doing Update April 2019At long last, there is a cover, synopsis, and release date, I have waited well over a year for this. I don't like that the cover doesn't really matched book one but I figured they would change it so the prophecy has been fulfilled. Also the wait will be long and hard but I can survive! Prereview March 2018Librarian: *opens up library in the morning to find me sleeping in the YA section*screams*starts dialing 911*Me: shhhhh! I'm trying to sleepLibrarian: what are you doing here?Me: waiting for The Iron Will of Genie Lo.Librarian: that doesn't even have a release date yet!Me: that's why I've moved in until it does come out.Librarian: but that could take months!Me: I know, hi roomie.
    more
  • CW (The Quiet Pond) ✨
    January 1, 1970
    THIS WAS PERFECT. PERFECT. January 2020 is going to be EPIC. The Epic Crush of Genie Lo was my favourite book in 2017 and I think... I think I love the sequel just as much. If not more. This was such an amazing sequel and I'm SO SAD THAT GENIE'S STORY HAS COME TO AN END BUT... I'm okay. You're going to be okay. Iron Will ends on such a hopeful note and is one of my favourite series endings ever -- because it just fit Genie's story and her journey so well.Full review to come closer to the release!
    more
  • julianna ➹
    January 1, 1970
    I CLAIM POSITION AS #1 FAN OF THIS BOOK ALREADY
  • Sana
    January 1, 1970
    Can't believe I got approved for this within an hour of requesting, truly unprecedented 😭-------------------THAT COVERRRR AND A NEARBY ALTERNATE DIMENSION? I'M SO FUCKING READY FOR THIS BOOK-------------------'...it will be about Genie’s development as a leader in the supernatural world. It’ll touch upon her realization that ugh, everyone from book one is sticking around in her life, and she’s got to adjust her long-term plans to deal with that. Also, there’s/>'...it Can't believe I got approved for this within an hour of requesting, truly unprecedented 😭-------------------THAT COVERRRR AND A NEARBY ALTERNATE DIMENSION? I'M SO FUCKING READY FOR THIS BOOK-------------------'...it will be about Genie’s development as a leader in the supernatural world. It’ll touch upon her realization that ugh, everyone from book one is sticking around in her life, and she’s got to adjust her long-term plans to deal with that. Also, there’s more Yunie.'AAAAAH, CAN'T WAIT. GIVE ME MORE FED UP GENIE AND HELL YEAH TO MORE YUNIE. FRIENDSHIP TIMES.Source
    more
  • Belinda (TheBookBuddies)
    January 1, 1970
    THERE ISNT EVEN A SUMMARY, BUT IM GONNA READ THE FUCK OUTTA THIS!!!
  • Artie
    January 1, 1970
    Update: THERE'S A COVER AND A SUMMARY
  • Hesione
    January 1, 1970
    i'm here i'm ready i'm WAITING HELLO?
  • Basia
    January 1, 1970
    After reading the first book I was really exited for the second. Unlike the first book which had a more clear, singular hero’s story arc, the second book has multiple overarching arcs that I wish were more flushed out. The first half and second half could have been two different stories. Things like Genie’s duty as Shoushen could have had more story to it. I’m pretty sure this is the last installment, but I would have liked to see more of the characters. Much like the first, I enjoyed this book After reading the first book I was really exited for the second. Unlike the first book which had a more clear, singular hero’s story arc, the second book has multiple overarching arcs that I wish were more flushed out. The first half and second half could have been two different stories. Things like Genie’s duty as Shoushen could have had more story to it. I’m pretty sure this is the last installment, but I would have liked to see more of the characters. Much like the first, I enjoyed this book for the characters (Genie!), the Chinese-American experiences, and the integration of mythology in modern day.
    more
  • mina reads™️
    January 1, 1970
    I CANT WAIT FOR JANUARY 2020 I NEED THISSS
  • Aimee ♥ | Aimee, Always
    January 1, 1970
    book 1: the epic crush of genie lo ★★★☆☆
  • michelle (magical reads)
    January 1, 1970
    4.25 starsThe Epic Crush of Genie Lo was one of my favorite releases of 2017, and I was eagerly awaiting the sequel. The Iron Will of Genie Lo was more introspective, compared to the action-packed pace of its predecessor, but I loved it.read more herefull review to come
    more
  • Aisha
    January 1, 1970
    APRIL 02 2019I'm sorry but this had to be made.
  • Erin Boyington
    January 1, 1970
    There are some characters who immediately endear themselves to me. Ever since I learned about him thanks to Gene Luen Yang's American Born Chinese, the Monkey King has been one of those. Which, duh, there's a reason that Journey to the West is one of the best-loved epics in the world. Genie Lo, on the other hand, is a fully modern character who turns out to be a near-perfect counterpoint to this iteration of Sun Wukong, aka Quentin.She's absurdly tall and stretchier than Mr. Fantastic. She's anx There are some characters who immediately endear themselves to me. Ever since I learned about him thanks to Gene Luen Yang's American Born Chinese, the Monkey King has been one of those. Which, duh, there's a reason that Journey to the West is one of the best-loved epics in the world. Genie Lo, on the other hand, is a fully modern character who turns out to be a near-perfect counterpoint to this iteration of Sun Wukong, aka Quentin.She's absurdly tall and stretchier than Mr. Fantastic. She's anxious about getting into and paying for a good college, her parents, and keeping demons from eating her karmically powerful best friend. And her go-to response for handling a crisis is to hit it very, very hard. Which may or may not work in her current situation, where Heavenly politics (there's celestial sexism!) and a looming threat of unknown origin pull her into a quest to save the universe.F.C. Yee's profile says he hopes to write more YA books in the future, and I share that wish. Very few authors can make me laugh aloud in quite the same way.Received a free copy from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Veronica
    January 1, 1970
    A DELIGHT. Did I love it as much as The Epic Crush of Genie Lo? No, not quite -- it's hard to hit that level of magic in a sequel, where you're trying to expand a universe instead of just introducing it. But Genie's voice is still pitch-perfect, her worries about college and her family oh-so-relatable, and her determination to cut through all the bullshit and promote the best candidate for the job refreshing. I didn't love the drama introduced by unsettling her relationship with Quentin, but I d A DELIGHT. Did I love it as much as The Epic Crush of Genie Lo? No, not quite -- it's hard to hit that level of magic in a sequel, where you're trying to expand a universe instead of just introducing it. But Genie's voice is still pitch-perfect, her worries about college and her family oh-so-relatable, and her determination to cut through all the bullshit and promote the best candidate for the job refreshing. I didn't love the drama introduced by unsettling her relationship with Quentin, but I do get that it's unrealistic for a magical weapon reincarnated into the body of a teenage girl to have smooth boyfriend sailing forever and ever! I just think she and Quentin are really cute. I'm bummed that there won't be any more books in this series, to be honest -- I would have loved to see the adult urban fantasy capers of Genie and Quentin! -- but I'm happy with where the story ended.
    more
  • Rebecca
    January 1, 1970
    I got a ARC ebook version of this book from Edelweiss. I LOVED the first book in this series so I jumped at the chance to read the sequel. But I was sadly kinda disappointed with it. There wasn't really any action until half way into the book, which for a sequel was surprising. Also, what I loved about the first book was the banter between Genie and Quentin. It literally made me laugh out loud on several occasions when I listened to it in my car. This one didn't really have that, Genie and Quent I got a ARC ebook version of this book from Edelweiss. I LOVED the first book in this series so I jumped at the chance to read the sequel. But I was sadly kinda disappointed with it. There wasn't really any action until half way into the book, which for a sequel was surprising. Also, what I loved about the first book was the banter between Genie and Quentin. It literally made me laugh out loud on several occasions when I listened to it in my car. This one didn't really have that, Genie and Quentin spent most of the book not talking because they were fighting. The book felt like it was lacking something.
    more
  • Billie
    January 1, 1970
    Absolutely worth the wait and, like all the best stories, it left me wanting more of this world and these characters. And, although Yee claims this is a duology, he kindly left space for more adventures with Genie and Quentin and Yunie and Guanyin, though such adventures would have to move from the realm of YA to adult Fantasy.
    more
  • Teresa
    January 1, 1970
    Can this pLeAaAAAAaAaaAsEeEeeEeeEee come out aNy fAsTeR------
  • Jude: The Epic Reader
    January 1, 1970
    A cover and a release date! Oh I am so excited!
  • Kirsten Seidel
    January 1, 1970
    A fun follow up to the Epic Crush of Genie Lo, and one I was eager to read! This did not disappoint - more of the fun banter from the first book, an awesome adventure/opponent, fast-paced action, and characters you care about!!
  • Abigail F
    January 1, 1970
    I am so excited that this finally has a release date!!!! The first book is seriously amazing. Can't wait to read the second!!!
  • Sophia (Bookwyrming Thoughts)
    January 1, 1970
    I FORGOT TO ADD THIS TO MY TBR.We will now remedy this situation IMMEDIATELY.
Write a review