The Secrets We Carried (Butternut Lake, #6)
Readers who love Susan Wiggs and Susan Mallery will adore New York Times bestselling author Mary McNear newest novel. A young woman travels home to Butternut Lake, confronting her past and the tragedy she and her friends have silently carried with them for over a decade while also facing an unknown future.Butternut Lake is an idyllic place—but for one woman, her return to the lake town she once called home is bittersweet…Sometimes life changes in an instant.  Quinn LaPointe grew up on beautiful Butternut Lake, safe, secure, sure of her future. But after a high school tragedy, she left for college and never looked back. Becoming a successful writer in Chicago, she worked to keep out the dark memories of an accident that upended her life. But now, after ten years, she’s finally returned home. Butternut is the same, and yet everything is changed. Gabriel Shipp, once her very best friend, doesn’t want anything to do with her. The charming guy she remembers is now brooding and withdrawn. Tanner Lightman, the seductive brother of her late boyfriend, wants her to stick around. Annika Bergstrom, an old classmate who once hated Quinn, is now friendly. Everyone, it seems, has a secret.Determined to come to terms with the tragedy and rebuild old relationships, Quinn settles into Loon Bay Cabins, a rustic but cozy lakeside resort, where she begins writing down her memories of the year before the accident. Her journey though the past leads her to some surprising discoveries about the present. As secrets are revealed and a new love emerges, Quinn finds that understanding the past is the key to the future. 

The Secrets We Carried (Butternut Lake, #6) Details

TitleThe Secrets We Carried (Butternut Lake, #6)
Author
ReleaseSep 25th, 2018
PublisherWilliam Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN-139780062699275
Rating
GenreFiction, Romance

The Secrets We Carried (Butternut Lake, #6) Review

  • Tamara
    January 1, 1970
    Review to come soon.Quick thoughts:I've enjoyed some of Mary's other Butternut Lake books and thought this would be a great read, but it was just ok.Quinn returns home to Butternut Lake for a memorial type event for classmates who suffered a tragedy her senior year.In the ten years that followed that night, Quinn's carried a secret- but she's not the only one. This tragedy has touched and shaped lives of many people in Butternut Lake and for some people the secrets from that night have altered t Review to come soon.Quick thoughts:I've enjoyed some of Mary's other Butternut Lake books and thought this would be a great read, but it was just ok.Quinn returns home to Butternut Lake for a memorial type event for classmates who suffered a tragedy her senior year.In the ten years that followed that night, Quinn's carried a secret- but she's not the only one. This tragedy has touched and shaped lives of many people in Butternut Lake and for some people the secrets from that night have altered their life plans.I really thought this was going to be good, but Quinn spends a lot of time lamenting, wringing her hands over THE SECRET, how no one can know what happened that night with her Gabriel her BFF. In the end, I generally find that books that spend a lot of time with characters focusing on the SECRET that must never be revealed just usually wind up being ok books and the same happened here. More of a 2.5 star book for me (rounded up because Goodreads doesn't have half star ratings.
    more
  • Ann
    January 1, 1970
    This is book 6 in the Butternut Lake series and it’s always great to return. This can easily be read as a stand alone. The location is the tie for each book in the series not the people. This story is about a 10 year anniversary of a tragic accident that left 3 young men dead. Quinn is back trying to to figure out if she is responsible for the accident along with just about everyone else attending the The dedication ceremony. A heavy subject but well written. I received a copy of this arc in exc This is book 6 in the Butternut Lake series and it’s always great to return. This can easily be read as a stand alone. The location is the tie for each book in the series not the people. This story is about a 10 year anniversary of a tragic accident that left 3 young men dead. Quinn is back trying to to figure out if she is responsible for the accident along with just about everyone else attending the The dedication ceremony. A heavy subject but well written. I received a copy of this arc in exchange for a fair and honest review.
    more
  • Margaret
    January 1, 1970
    I think this book is great for someone who is looking for a light summer read, unfortunately that person is just not me. The story was okay, but I felt it went on too long in some places, and I really could not understand what Quinn was blaming herself for, even after it was explained (actually, especially after it was explained. Fortunately for Ms. McNear there are lots of people who will be into this kind of story and I wish her the best and hope they love it.
    more
  • Susan Walker
    January 1, 1970
    I have not read this Author before and really enjoyed this book. A great romance for everyone.
Write a review