Sweep of the Blade (Innkeeper Chronicles, #4)
Maud Demille was a daughter of Innkeepers. She knew that a simple life wasn't in the cards, but she never anticipated what Fate would throw at her.Once a wife to a powerful vampire knight, Maud and her daughter, Helen, had been exiled for the sins of her husband to the desolate planet of Karhari. Karhari killed her husband, and Maud had spent a year and a half avenging his debts. But now all the debts are paid. Rescued by her sister Dina, Maud had swore off all things vampire. Except she met Arland, the Marshal of House Krahr. One thing led to another and he asked for her hand in marriage. She declined.Try as she might, she can't just walk away from Arland. It doesn't help that being human is a lot harder for Maud than being a vampire.To sort it all out, she accepts his invitation to visit his home planet. House Krahr is a powerful vampire House, and Maud knows that a woman who turned down the proposal from its most beloved son wouldn't get a warm reception. But Maud Demille never shied from a fight and House Krahr may soon discover that there is more to this human woman than they ever thought possible.Published in as an online free serial before the book is compiled and self-published shortly after completion. Publish date has been pushed back to June 2019 as per blog.

Sweep of the Blade (Innkeeper Chronicles, #4) Details

TitleSweep of the Blade (Innkeeper Chronicles, #4)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 1st, 2019
Rating
GenreFantasy, Urban Fantasy, Romance, Science Fiction, Paranormal, Vampires

Sweep of the Blade (Innkeeper Chronicles, #4) Review

  • ✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans)
    January 1, 1970
    May 18, 2019: life sucks because the release date has been pushed back to June and stuff, but life isn't so very dramatically bad after all because there's a Maud snippet here and stuff!! Cows are happy and shaking their booties, and so should you!Actual rating: 4.5 starsDon't tell anyone, but I think there's a slight chance I might perhaps like Maud a lot more than I do Dina. Maybe. Also, Helen the Tiny Badass (HtTB™) may possibly be the coolest, most irresistibly ruthless fanged little kid in May 18, 2019: life sucks because the release date has been pushed back to June and stuff, but life isn't so very dramatically bad after all because there's a Maud snippet here and stuff!! Cows are happy and shaking their booties, and so should you!Actual rating: 4.5 starsDon't tell anyone, but I think there's a slight chance I might perhaps like Maud a lot more than I do Dina. Maybe. Also, Helen the Tiny Badass (HtTB™) may possibly be the coolest, most irresistibly ruthless fanged little kid in the history of coolest, most irresistibly ruthless fanged little kids. It is probably probable, yes. Don't ask.Okay, so this shoulda-been-novella-that-turned-out-to-be-full-length-novel-oh-happy-shrimp was Slightly Very Good (SVG™) and stuff. Granted, I like Arland better when he gets drunk on coffee and runs around orchards somewhat naked, but I guess you can't have everything. Besides, I got blood, violence and severed limbs, which is all that really matters in the end. I learned how to use forks in a most creatively homicidal way while reading this book, too, so I guess I can't complain and stuff. Oh, and also: “ripper cushions. Huge ripper cushions.” Need I say more? Didn't think so.Now patiently wait until the final, non-revoltingly PG-13 version of the book is released I shall. Let's just hope it doesn't take too long and stuff. I mean, should that be the case, I would have to put my waiting lettuce hat on, and it would kinda sorta ruin the nefarious tyrant image I've been working on for decades. A lettuce never looked so hot, methinks.➽ Full not-so-fascinating-and-probably-superiorly-crappy-non-review to come when the Slightly Very Good Book™ is published and stuff.· Book 1: Clean Sweep ★★★★· Book 2: Sweep in Peace ★★★★★· Book 3: One Fell Sweep ★★★★★⚠️ Bump Your Heart Out Warning: this review is going to get bumped repeatedly as new chapters are posted online. So if you are one of those freaks who convulse whenever they see the same review in their feed more than once, please feel free to unfriend and block me. I'm pretty sure we'll both be glad you did ⚠️ » December 1, 2018: it's epilogue time!!! Sob sob sob and stuff, the end is near here!» November 25, 2018: Chapter 17, part 4 is up! So wonderfully violent, so delightfully bloody, so scrumptiously beautiful. Most blissfully happy I am right now.» November 17, 2018: Chapter 17, part 3 is up! » November 10, 2018: Chapter 17, part 2 is up! » November 5, 2018: Chapter 17, part 1 is here! The Mostest Awesomest Authorlords (MAA™) wrote this instalment despite being sick as fish, that's how Mostest Awesomest they are!» October 19, 2018: Chapter 16, part 3 is up!» October 16, 2018: Chapter 16, parts 1 and 2 are up!Says Gordon: "We are gently reminding you that because of the nature of this story being posted on the internet, where minors can read it, we keep things PG-13 until the story is revised for publication."Oooooh, that means there will be hot stuff in this chapter when the book is published. I think some pre-emptively sweating is in order.» October 9, 2018: Chapter 15, part 4 is up!» September 28, 2018: Chapter 15, part 3 is up!» September 21, 2018: Chapter 15, part 2 is up!» September 15, 2018: Chapter 15, part 1 is up!» September 7, 2018: Chapter 14, parts 1 and 2 are up!» August 26, 2018: Chapter 13, part 3 is up!» August 16, 2018: Chapter 13, part 2 is up!» August 14, 2018: it's already time to read Chapter 13, part 1!» August 13, 2018: another instalment is up! Important appearance announcements incoming! Check the main site for updates!» August 10, 2018: Chapter 12, part 3 is up!» August 9, 2018: Chapter 12, part 2 is up!» July 27, 2018: Chapter 12, part 1 is up!» July 21, 2018: Chapter 11, part 3 is up!» July 14, 2018: Chapter 11, part 2 is up!» June 19, 2018: Chapter 11, part 1 is here!» June 19, 2018: Chapter 10, part 2 is here!» June 2, 2018: Chapter 10, part 1 is up!» May 29, 2018: GDPR Curse begone, Chapter 9, part 2 is here!» May 19, 2018: Chapter 9, part 1 is up!» May 14, 2018: Chapter 8, part 2 is up!Art by Disanthus.» May 5, 2018: Chapter 8, part 1 is here!!!!!» April 21, 2018: no Innkeeper until May...✉ A very private message to the Authorlords: if your plane's engine blow up, I'm unleashing the crustaceans on the airline company. Just so you know. » April 14, 2018: Chapter 7, part 2 is up!» April 7, 2018: Chapter 7, part 1 is up already! Woo hoo and stuff!» April 4, 2018: Chapter 6, part 3 is up! Who would have thought House Krahr had its very own Doolittle? Ain't no honey badger, though.Also: Maud and Little Helen are so bloody shrimping badass I could cry nefarious tears and stuff.» March 24, 2018: Chapter 6, parts 1 & 2 are up!» March 9, 2018: Chapter 5, part 2 is up! And it's all about ripper cushions!» March 3, 2018: Chapter 5, part 1 is up! And look at that most yummilicious art!» Feb. 24, 2018: Chapter 4, part 3 is up!» Feb. 20, 2018: Chapter 4, parts 1 and 2 are up!» Feb. 9, 2018: Chapter 3, part 3 is up!» Feb. 2, 2018: Chapter 3, part 2 is up!» January 30, 2018: Chapter 3, part 1 is up!» January 26, 2018: we have a title!! Yay and stuff!!» January 20, 2018: chapter 2, part 2 is up!» January 15, 2018: Okayyyyyy, so my first review for this book went poof in a wondrous blast of glorious nothingness, so here we go again! Yay and stuff!Soooo, let's recap a little here: this most scrumptious piece of serial entertaintment has been up and running since December 25, 2017. It's a novella about Maud and Little Miss Awrawrrawrawr (aka Helen) (view spoiler)[forget about the silly Amber alert business, Helen is safely stashed away in the Kindergarten wing of my High Security Harem (hide spoiler)] visiting Arland's planet. Fun times ahead. Especially if coffee is involved. Because we all know how much Arland enjoys running around naked drinking the stuff. The story so far (as of Jan. 15, 2018) :· Chapter 1, part 1· Chapter 1, part2· Chapter 2, part 1
    more
  • Aisling Zena
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars 2/12/18We have finally reached the end my friends. If you want to read this for free, in it's entirety, this is your chance now before it gets taken down to be edited and published.Enjoy! Many, many thanks and deep gratitude to the authors for all their work on Innkeeper and sharing it with us for free. Free online serial at: http://innkeeper.ilona-andrews.com/http://innkeeper.ilona-andrews.com/ca...Review updated on every chapter release, usually every week.Chapter 1 Part 127/12/17Bes 4.5 stars 2/12/18We have finally reached the end my friends. If you want to read this for free, in it's entirety, this is your chance now before it gets taken down to be edited and published.Enjoy! Many, many thanks and deep gratitude to the authors for all their work on Innkeeper and sharing it with us for free. Free online serial at: http://innkeeper.ilona-andrews.com/http://innkeeper.ilona-andrews.com/ca...Review updated on every chapter release, usually every week.Chapter 1 Part 127/12/17Best Christmas present ever! Many thanks to both authors for sharing this with us, especially during the holidays and while moving.Here we go again!Chapter 1 Part 25/1/18 “I never cared much for appearances,” he said. His eyes were soft and warm. Inviting.She needed to get her head examined. Poor Maud, she's gonna have her hands full with Arland.Chapter 2 Part 112/1/18Chapter 2 Part 220/1/18“It’s beautiful,” Maud said honestly.“It’s home,” he said.It could be your home, his glance added.Chapter 3 Part 130/1/18Chapter 3 Part 22/2/18Chapter 3 Part 310/2/18Chapter 4 Part 1 and 220/2/18Now, I'm going to be worried for Helen until the next chapter. Sigh.. Chapter 4 Part 324/2/18"Ha! The Universe provided a teachable moment. “No, my flower. That’s a lees. Remember how I told you about hiding your strength? The lees hide their strength. They look cute, but they are dangerous and very cunning.”Chapter 5 Part 13/3/18Chapter 5 Part 210/3/18Olasard, the Ripper of SoulsChapter 6 Part 1 and 224/3/18Lady Helen squared her tiny shoulders. “I’m here for repercussions.”Karat stopped by the rack of practice weapons.“We’re going to do this nice and easy,” she said under her breath. “You and I will spar, then we will drink some fruity drinks, and go back. Don’t worry.”They really didn’t think much of her. P.S. I've already re-read this chapter five times. Favourite one so far.Chapter 6 Part 34/4/18Chapter 7 Part 17/4/18"The little transparent sphere was barely a quarter of an inch across. On Earth it would’ve passed for a tiny glass marble or a stray bead.A high-storage datacore, likely encrypted to her. Someone left her a present.She picked it up, leaned forward, and blew on the mirror. Faint words appeared, written in glyphs of the Merchant Clans.With compliments from the Great Nuan Cee." Chapter 7 Part 214/4/18I don't usually use the authors images but you should definitely see Arland as the authors see him.http://innkeeper.ilona-andrews.com/20...21/4/18No new Innkeeper until May! http://www.ilona-andrews.com/no-innke...Chapter 8 Part 15/5/18And they're back!!Chapter 8 Part 215/5/18Chapter 9 Part 119/5/18Chapter 9 Part 230/5/18“So, I am a mongrel.”“On Earth, that’s a word people use when they don’t know what breed a dog is. You know who you are. You are Helen.”Maud sighed. “Because some people have rigid minds. They like everything to be clearly labeled. They have a box for everyone they meet. A box for vampires, a box for lees, a box for humans. When someone doesn’t fit into their boxes, they panic.”Chapter 10 Part 11/6/18Chapter 10 Part 29/6/18Chapter 11 Part 118/6/18“The Writ of Command, Part Seven.”He frowned. “Prohibition of fraternization between knights separated by more than three ranks? What does that have to do with anything?”Chapter 11 Part 213/7/18“It is a common misconception that the Lees love money above all else. That’s not exactly true. They love a bargain; they love getting a good deal. Getting more for less is the foundation of their society. Let me take something to them they will find irresistible.”Chapter 11 Part 320/7/18Man, I love Arland! Chapter 12 Part 128/7/18Chapter 12 Part 28/8/18Chapter 12 Part 39/8/18Chapter 12 Part 413/8/18Chapter 13 Part 113/8/18Ilemina! The image is direct from the authors site.http://innkeeper.ilona-andrews.com/20...Chapter 13 Part 216/8/18Chapter 13 Part 325/8/18“The lees pride themselves on balance”Chapter 14 Part 16/9/18Chapter 14 Part 27/9/18"It felt like an odd tea party. Here she was serving cosmic cookies and wine to a queen of enlightened predators and the head of a clan of ruthless assassins. Nothing much at stake except an interstellar alliance. Whee!"On a side note, I just want to say whoever went and complained and belittled these authors and their assistant for not writing an instalment (something they are not in any way obligated to do) at the time they were on tour, you are one cracked and entitled cookie. To put it very mildly. Chapter 15 Part 114/9/18Chapter 15 Part 220/9/18Chapter 15 Part 327/9/18Chapter 15 Part 48/10/18Chapter 16 Part 1 and 215/10/18Chapter 16 Part 319/10/18“If mommy gets flowers, can I have a kitty?”Arland looked abashed. “We don’t really have kitties. Would you settle for a rassa puppy or a goren puppy?”I wonder what a rassa or goren puppy look like? I can easily picture something like this. Whatever they are, it wont be earth like.Chapter 17 Part 15/11/18Chapter 17 Part 29/11/18"A muscle in Seveline’s face jerked. That’s right, precious. I’m coming for you."P.S. Many thanks and get well soon wishes to the Authorlords.Chapter 17 Part 316/11/18Chapter 17 Part 4 25/11/18Epilogue 2/12/18** P.S. This is the second time I'm publishing this as the first mysteriously disappeared and re-appeared with a different title(Unnamed instead of Untitled) and with it all my previous links and quotes have gone poof. I will try to get it all back as soon as I can.15/12/17Maud's (probable) cover and close up. Isn't it spectacular?:https://i0.wp.com/www.ilona-andrews.c...
    more
  • carol.
    January 1, 1970
    "Maud's novella" so far is a drippy, uninspiring romance with absolutely boring world-building. The first four installments consist of Maud approaching the planet where her non-fiance vampire is from, landing on the planet and overhearing a gossipy conversation between two women, and then flying with her boyfriend to someplace else. Vampires, in this book, stand in for conquistadors, royalty, billionaires or that other ruling house in their Texas series that I also didn't read the romance trope "Maud's novella" so far is a drippy, uninspiring romance with absolutely boring world-building. The first four installments consist of Maud approaching the planet where her non-fiance vampire is from, landing on the planet and overhearing a gossipy conversation between two women, and then flying with her boyfriend to someplace else. Vampires, in this book, stand in for conquistadors, royalty, billionaires or that other ruling house in their Texas series that I also didn't read the romance trope of powerful bad-ass family that has orphaned and poor woman both socially and economically unmatched. Clearly, the Andrews' moving and social media drama has taken a toll, because there's nothing of their normal character-building, humor, or world-building here. Not sure I'll continue, but since I get blog updates, it's possible I'll give it a few more installments.Update: 04/3/19: I read more. It still didn't work well. And Maud was one hell of a Mary Sue.Main Innkeeper page: http://innkeeper.ilona-andrews.com
    more
  • Tadiana ✩Night Owl☽
    January 1, 1970
    Ilona Andrews' latest installment of the Innkeeper series has been published in more-or-less weekly installments on their website, and just wrapped up! So you can read the whole thing now before they take it down, spruce it up and publish it in final form. http://innkeeper.ilona-andrews.com/ca... (Do it quickly because it'll probably disappear very soon.)With this installment in the series, the main character shifts to Maud (sister of Dina, the previous main character of this series). Arland, th Ilona Andrews' latest installment of the Innkeeper series has been published in more-or-less weekly installments on their website, and just wrapped up! So you can read the whole thing now before they take it down, spruce it up and publish it in final form. http://innkeeper.ilona-andrews.com/ca... (Do it quickly because it'll probably disappear very soon.)With this installment in the series, the main character shifts to Maud (sister of Dina, the previous main character of this series). Arland, the space vampire, has fallen head over heels for Maud and wants her to go to his planet, marry him, and live with him there and help him rule over their vampire clan, House Krahr. Maud is a widow who was previously married to another vampire, and it ended up being a horrible experience for her. Now she has a young half-vampire daughter, Helen, and really isn't keen on vampire society. But Arland is tremendously attractive and all, and a good guy in spite of being, you know, a vampire, so Maud agrees to visit Arland on his planet and see how things go. Of course she steps right into a mess: House Krahr is hosting a vampire wedding featuring a couple of other hostile clans who can't be trusted. Luckily Maud is not only a kickass warrior, able to hold her own with almost any vampire, but also a very intelligent, well-informed woman with a vast knowledge of galactic society generally and vampire society in particular.So the thing is, unless you're a major Ilona Andrews fan or love sci-fi romance, you may just want to wait to get the final version, even if it costs a few dollars, rather than reading it now for free. Or do like I did: read the free version but plan to get to the enhanced published version later. It's not bad for a freebie, and there are some really great scenes. Helen is delightful, Maud is fun as she figures everything out and shows those vampires her own chops, and Arland is satisfyingly tough and adoring of Maud.But the scenes are kind of pieced together right now in a way that the seams definitely show. Maud is fantastic but improbably accomplished and wonderful at Every. Single. Thing, except maybe relationship commitment. The vampires aren't at all bloodsuckers in the traditional sense. They're more like, well, Viking fighters or Samurai warriors who very occasionally take a bite out of their enemies. It's fun in a light, fantasy space opera romance kind of way, with lots of gory fighting to spice it up.Anyway, I think this work definitely still needs polishing up at this point, but I'm very hopeful it'll end up in a good place.
    more
  • Cathy (cathepsut)
    January 1, 1970
    “I do not comprehend this species.  How have they ever managed to achieve interstellar civilization without self-destructing?”Finally, after about one year of updates, the epilogue in December. And finally, finally the (view spoiler)[longingly awaited HEA, (hide spoiler)] with a little teaser for the next installment.I am a little underwhelmed. There was too much discussion about who does what to whom and why for my taste. And too many too detailed descriptions of endless, different settings. An “I do not comprehend this species.  How have they ever managed to achieve interstellar civilization without self-destructing?”Finally, after about one year of updates, the epilogue in December. And finally, finally the (view spoiler)[longingly awaited HEA, (hide spoiler)] with a little teaser for the next installment.I am a little underwhelmed. There was too much discussion about who does what to whom and why for my taste. And too many too detailed descriptions of endless, different settings. And Maud always being the clever one and explaining to the others how it all works got a little old as well. The action scenes were great though. Ilona Andrews knows how to write great sword fights and bloodshed in general.And I guess it is a tough one to keep a great narrative going in a weekly online serial with barely any editing. At the moment I feel no great need to pick up the edited, improved, mature version. But if the next story in the Innkeeper universe will show up on IAs website, I am game.PS: I am at a loss about attaching the appropriate genre label. Science Fiction it really isn‘t. Ok, there are space ships and some interstellar travel. But it‘s mostly flying through the great beyond, in vessels resembling castles, with gardens, trees etc. It‘s definitely not UF. Romantic, soft SF? Space Fantasy?Main chapter page: (probably won‘t be available online for much longer)http://innkeeper.ilona-andrews.com/ca...What’s Next for Innkeeper, from the authors’ blog: http://www.ilona-andrews.com/whats-ne...
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    1st read - throughout 2018 (as it was released as a serial)2nd read - January 2019 (when the serial was complete)Well that was bloody awesome! The whole story is now available to read online (http://innkeeper.ilona-andrews.com), it usually stays up for a couple of weeks or so before it's taken down, so if you want to try it while its free you should get to it ASAP. It'll then be taken offline, properly edited (with extra adult material added!) and then published & made available to purchase 1st read - throughout 2018 (as it was released as a serial)2nd read - January 2019 (when the serial was complete)Well that was bloody awesome! The whole story is now available to read online (http://innkeeper.ilona-andrews.com), it usually stays up for a couple of weeks or so before it's taken down, so if you want to try it while its free you should get to it ASAP. It'll then be taken offline, properly edited (with extra adult material added!) and then published & made available to purchase (usually as an ebook and in print).I always love reading the instalments as this is written but I'm planning to read the whole thing again from the beginning very soon in one big binge. Then of course I'll be buying the finished version to for the Maud & Arland sexy times LOL.______________Ilona and Gordon have started posting instalments of the latest Innkeeper story on their website: http://innkeeper.ilona-andrews.com This is going to be a novella about Maud and Helen travelling to Arland's home planet to meet his family and I can't wait, let the wonderful torture of waiting for each week's new instalment begin!!
    more
  • Marta Cox
    January 1, 1970
    This review is for the instalment version that the authors were magnanimous enough to post for free on their website. It will disappear when the updated version is published so please be aware of that if you wish to read the tamer more PG version. Now I said tamer but honestly these Vampires are vicious, vengeful and absolutely addictive ! I'm sure Arland would quickly reach for his blood mace at the suggestion he's anything but a brutal fighting force of nature but I'm referring to the lack of This review is for the instalment version that the authors were magnanimous enough to post for free on their website. It will disappear when the updated version is published so please be aware of that if you wish to read the tamer more PG version. Now I said tamer but honestly these Vampires are vicious, vengeful and absolutely addictive ! I'm sure Arland would quickly reach for his blood mace at the suggestion he's anything but a brutal fighting force of nature but I'm referring to the lack of erotic scenes although this couple sizzle even when dressed in full armour !Yes I said couple and it seems remiss to leave Maud out before now , so what can I tell you about this mother who would go to the ends of the galaxy for her daughter Helen and those she loves ? Now here's the truth and that is that I actually preferred Maud to her sister Dina ( Clean Sweep) and honestly I'm shocked at that myself. I loved the quiet, sweet and pragmatic Dina but Maud facing off against Arlands family and supposed allies was exciting, intense and hysterical because as a reader I just knew when she bit back at them it would be hard and boy she did not disappoint. Plus there's the wonderful addition of Helen who every reader will absolutely love to pieces. This might have some tidying up for publication but I'm sure it will be awesome and a must read for the fans. I'm so looking forward to the more 'adult' scenes as I'm pretty sure Arland is a male worth waiting for. This was a fabulous read and I hugely recommend it and I'm so grateful to the authors for gifting the fans with these sneak peaks.
    more
  • Angela
    January 1, 1970
    January 2019 - online serial version. I love this world. Can't wait for more. Review to come of final purchased edition, when available.
  • Maggie ☘ (Wonderland-Reader)
    January 1, 1970
    Ahhhh another cliffhanger! I want to know so much more. (view spoiler)[Especially about the missing parents and now Klaus. (hide spoiler)] Overall, I liked this one a lot, although was missing Dina and co. Helen and Maud and Arland are great. I'm curious to know who the next instalment will focus on: back on Dina as the first three books, or some completely new character..
    more
  • Lady Heather
    January 1, 1970
    The Epilogue has been posted and the story ended with an epic surprise!What a pleasure it was to read this book every week in Ilona Andrew's newsletter!
  • Wanda
    January 1, 1970
    Otubar reached over and plucked Helen from the bed. “Come with me, child. It’s time we tested you with other weapons.”“If you do well, I will give you cake,” Ilemina said.Helen’s eyes lit up. “What kind of cake?”“Delicious kind,” Otubar told her. And that’s what this little novella swollen-to-novel was—delicious cake with frothy icing! No nutritional value whatsoever. It was a fun little paranormal romance, getting Maud & Arland together with lots of blood and severed limbs along the way.Fro Otubar reached over and plucked Helen from the bed. “Come with me, child. It’s time we tested you with other weapons.”“If you do well, I will give you cake,” Ilemina said.Helen’s eyes lit up. “What kind of cake?”“Delicious kind,” Otubar told her. And that’s what this little novella swollen-to-novel was—delicious cake with frothy icing! No nutritional value whatsoever. It was a fun little paranormal romance, getting Maud & Arland together with lots of blood and severed limbs along the way.From the beginning of the Innkeeper series, I have been on Team Arland. Sean Evans was fine as a love interest for Dina, but I loved Arland immediately and I will read anything featuring him. There is no doubt in my mind that Maud is a better match for him than Dina was, so I was thrilled to travel with Maud and little Helen to his home planet and sort things out.Reading an ongoing, serialized work such as this one is less satisfying than being able to read a fully edited, printed version, but still entertaining. I had something to look forward to every Friday (besides the end of my work week). I will definitely be buying the print version (and not just to enjoy the R rated bits that the authors weren’t posting to the interwebs) to add to my Ilona Andrews collection, to be enjoyed repeatedly.
    more
  • RachelW (BamaGal)
    January 1, 1970
    Can’t believe it’s all over; but it’s been a wonderful ride. This has been a quality addition to an addictive series. And the bombshell dropped on the reader at the very end...the next serial can’t come quick enough!!http://innkeeper.ilona-andrews.com/20...I'm a little late to the party; but it's been fun catching up...
    more
  • Marianne
    January 1, 1970
    Not my favorite innkeeper novel, too bloody and gory. But hey, that's vampires for you. Still adore Arland, though. Interesting ending, will Klaus get his own novel next?As always:Thanks for this free serial to brighten up our weekends. Will read the finished product as well later on.3.75 stars.
    more
  • AvidReader
    January 1, 1970
    I confess, Maud wasn’t my favorite person when I read previous books. She came out as selfish. So imagine my surprise when I loved her and her story. She was strong, courageous, and a fantastic mother. Arland was her match in every way. And Little Helen, she was adorable!I’m happy both Maud and Arland found happiness with each other. Recommended.
    more
  • Megzy
    January 1, 1970
    4.5*
  • Liz (Quirky Cat)
    January 1, 1970
    I read Sweep of the Blade for free on Ilona Andrews’ website. When the edited version is released for purchase I’m going to reread it and will likely update my review then. Sweep of the Blade is the latest novel in the Innkeeper Chronicles. Technically it’s 3.5 in the series; mainly because this one does not follow Diana on her adventure. Instead, this whole book is from Maud’s perspective, which was a fun change of pace. Sweep of the Blade was intended to be a novella, but somehow the authorl I read Sweep of the Blade for free on Ilona Andrews’ website. When the edited version is released for purchase I’m going to reread it and will likely update my review then. Sweep of the Blade is the latest novel in the Innkeeper Chronicles. Technically it’s 3.5 in the series; mainly because this one does not follow Diana on her adventure. Instead, this whole book is from Maud’s perspective, which was a fun change of pace. Sweep of the Blade was intended to be a novella, but somehow the authorlords (as their fandom teasingly calls them) ended up with a full novel on their hands. I’m personally thrilled by this. For one thing, it meant I didn’t have to see the book end too quickly. And for another I prefer that the story take as long as needed, flowing organically. The whole novel released for free on a weekly bases. I think it’s probably still posted, but it’ll likely get taken down when Ilona and Andrew Gordon have time to start editing the massive beast they created. On the bright side, after that point, you can buy the novel from them. It’ll have extra parts that they’ve not comfortable including online as a bonus. Plus you get to support the authors. Win/win, right?(view spoiler)[ I honestly wasn’t sure how I felt at first, knowing that the newest Innkeeper novel wouldn’t be following Diana. I had grown pretty attached to her character, as well as the quest she was on. So I was conflicted about the switch. On the one hand, I liked Maud well enough and was curious about her story, and on the other I wanted the main plot to move forward. In the end, though, it wasn’t my call and I decided to just go with trusting the authors. And I’m so glad I did. I loved Maud’s story. It was brilliant to get to see more about her, and alongside that, we got to see more of Arland and the vampires. The vampire politics and plotting may very well have been some of my favorite scenes in this novel. I couldn’t have been happier reading about all the plots they were sorting through, and all the schemes Maud witnessed happening all around her. It was everything I expected for the vampires and more. The fight scenes in this novel were of epic proportions. Sometimes fights brought out because vampires are arrogant, stubborn, and prone to getting angry. Other times because something completely unpredictable occurred. And of course, there are the fights that were carefully plotted and anticipated. They all were wonderfully written. There were cameos I really didn’t expect but probably should have. I don’t think it’d be an Innkeeper novel without an appearance from Nuan Cee, for example. I was delighted to see him and his adorable (but fierce) family. I know some people have a tendency to skip .5s in a series, but in this case, I’d urge you to reconsider. Maud is an amazing and fun character. And while a lot of the plot may not have been relevant to Diana’s quest, I promise you that there’s enough there for it to be worth it. (hide spoiler)]For more reviews, check out Quirky Cat's Fat Stacks
    more
  • Aly is so frigging bored
    January 1, 1970
    2nd read: 19th May 2019They need to write faster, I know it's selfish but right now I don't care!1st read: 2018 I loved it!!!!!!!!That's all :D
  • Obsidian
    January 1, 1970
    Wonderful! The Innkeeper Chronicles books are becoming a favorite of mine. This free novella released on Ilona Andrew's website gave us a look at Dina's sister Maud. We heard some of which Maud had to endure in the last book, this one shows us though why she is so reluctant to give in to loving Arland and marrying another vampire again. The only reason why I gave this four stars though is that I thought the flow was a little lacking between chapters. I am prepared to raise this to five stars whe Wonderful! The Innkeeper Chronicles books are becoming a favorite of mine. This free novella released on Ilona Andrew's website gave us a look at Dina's sister Maud. We heard some of which Maud had to endure in the last book, this one shows us though why she is so reluctant to give in to loving Arland and marrying another vampire again. The only reason why I gave this four stars though is that I thought the flow was a little lacking between chapters. I am prepared to raise this to five stars when the full novella is released.After the events in the last book, Maud agrees to go with Arland to his House's planet. Maud is afraid to hope for anything more really after what happened to her and Helen when her husband cost them everything. If I were Maud, I would probably be bitter forever. I don't know if I would want to be courted by a vampire either. However, we get enough scenes between Maud and Arland to know she's fighting loving him. He is everything different than her late husband was (in a good way). I usually don't like to read romance books with a widow, but Maud's husband was an ass so good riddance to him. Helen gets enough scenes in this one to make her a favorite with readers I can see. Arland's mother and his mother's husband were a bit frightening, I did love how quickly Arland's mother came to view Maud as a wonderful asset to their house. And her love of Helen was great to see. I want so many stories with this family!I also loved how this book focuses more on vampire politics and we learn more about them in this one. We also get to see Maud finally get the acknowledgment of how worthy she is when it comes to Arland's family. I really do want a stand-alone book explaining the innkeepers, vampires, and other alien species our characters have met so far in these books.The writing was good, will not say much about that though. Reading this on the author website you will probably see some typos. I won't say anything about that in this review. The flow as I said wasn't great. I think it will get all smoothed out in the final version. I also love how these books incorporate pictures into the final version. I wish more books did that. The ending was top notch and we are left with a dun dun dun (in a good way) when Maud gets an unexpected visit.
    more
  • Ana
    January 1, 1970
    Two hour ago I realized this novella was available on the authors' website so I dropped everything and dived in. On the bright side, this book has a lot of Maud and Helen and their mother-daughter relationship made me feel all toasty inside. If only the romance were half as inspiring... Arland was really boring and their relationship had to much anxiety and not enough sexual tension and/or banter.
    more
  • Ursula
    January 1, 1970
    1.5 starsWell-written as always, but I'm afraid I did not mesh with Maud, Dina's sister, at all. Basically, she was a killing machine- tougher than a vampire. Really? I thought she was just a human, but what do I know? I am all for kick-arse heroines (I adore Nevada from Hidden Legacy- actually, I adore EVERYTHING about that series) but Maud's awesome sword fighting skillz were just a bit too unrealistic for me.Our pretty vampire Arland (aka Rapunzel- thank you, Sean) was kind of sweet but ineff 1.5 starsWell-written as always, but I'm afraid I did not mesh with Maud, Dina's sister, at all. Basically, she was a killing machine- tougher than a vampire. Really? I thought she was just a human, but what do I know? I am all for kick-arse heroines (I adore Nevada from Hidden Legacy- actually, I adore EVERYTHING about that series) but Maud's awesome sword fighting skillz were just a bit too unrealistic for me.Our pretty vampire Arland (aka Rapunzel- thank you, Sean) was kind of sweet but ineffectual. Unless he was killing people. His mama-issues were disturbing and mama's dominating, violent character explained a lot about Arland's wishy washy personality. FFS, she tries to kill Maud in a "practice" fight. Now, I LOVE a vampire who doesn't drink blood (ok, that's the only kind of vampire I can stomach, I admit it) but that doesn't mean he can't be wild and sexy and just a little bit scary. Arland was just beautiful and muscly and -sorry- a bit lame.Helen, Maud's 5 year old daughter, was portrayed as cute but lethal. I found her a little psycho and weird. Forever with the knife stabbing. Geez. She was more vampire than Arland- hell, Maud was more vampire than Arland!What delivered the coup de graçe for me, taking this one into less than 2 star territory, was the sheer number of brutal and bloody fights described in this book. Although I really enjoy action and battle scenes, I prefer to read more about relationship and character development than blood and guts spilling all over the swords and axes and giant maces. These two aspects were too unbalanced for me and I just ended up not caring enough about the MCs HEA.Nevada and Rogan 4EVA :)
    more
  • FV Angela
    January 1, 1970
    Love this series. And after that ending I’m super excited for whatever is coming next.
  • Anna (Bobs Her Hair)
    January 1, 1970
    Epilogue was posted yesterday. Love Maud, Helen, and Arland!!! I’m looking forward to the mass publication, which will have some revisions. I’m highly anticipating the next book!
  • Shannon
    January 1, 1970
    Maud and Arland’s novella has been a delight so far. It’s a free weekly serial, and there are 3 chapters released at this date. It’s a spin-off of the Innkeeper Chronicles, and the full novella will get published when it’s finished, with added character development, details, etc. The focus is on Maud (from Earth, an Innkeeper human) and her daughter, Helen (half vampire, half human), going to Arland’s vampire House planet. Maud gave Arland a solid maybe to his wedding proposal and she’s got a lo Maud and Arland’s novella has been a delight so far. It’s a free weekly serial, and there are 3 chapters released at this date. It’s a spin-off of the Innkeeper Chronicles, and the full novella will get published when it’s finished, with added character development, details, etc. The focus is on Maud (from Earth, an Innkeeper human) and her daughter, Helen (half vampire, half human), going to Arland’s vampire House planet. Maud gave Arland a solid maybe to his wedding proposal and she’s got a lot to prove to his House, especially his mother. Vampires are all about fighting - mentally and physically. Lots of clever dialogue and political machinations to explore. Maud and Helen are feisty! I normally wouldn’t review a novel/novella this early on, but I felt compelled since there’s only one rated written review front and center so far... one I happen to think is doing a disservice to this amazing author duo. I see rave reviews for this novella on Facebook and IA’s blog, and I personally like it a lot. 🙂
    more
  • İlkim
    January 1, 1970
    Mesela bununla uğraşana kadar, hani meselaaaa, serinin devamını yazsanız? Sitelerinden bölüm bölüm yayınlıyorlar ki sonunu beklemek zorunda kalacağım bir hikayeyi böyle okumak istemiyorum. Bekleyip bitmiş halini okuyacağım.---edit: Bitmiş halini neredeyse bir sene sonra okuyabildim, pes. Ve nasıl becermişler anlamadım ama bir önceki kitabın sonundaki bomba kısmı aynen yazmışlar, gerçekten insanı delirtirler başka bir şey diyemiyorum. Şimdi kim bilir kaç sene bu hikayenin devamını bekleriz :/
    more
  • Linda
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsMaud’s novella, currently being shared in snippets on Ilona Andrews’ website! One of my favorite author duos once again showing how awesome they are.Chapter 1, part 1: http://innkeeper.ilona-andrews.com/20...Chapter 1, part 2: http://innkeeper.ilona-andrews.com/20...
    more
  • Jujubee
    January 1, 1970
    Maud, Arland, and wee fierce Helen's journey unfolds online December 2017. "My" working title is "To Sweep the Stardust of the Galaxy"...my reading stats updated in comments....Finished online serial freebie 12/25/18 5* can not wait for the published title!
    more
  • Tina Bartz
    January 1, 1970
    I loved this serial! I can't wait until the finished product is released...will definitely buy this one!
  • MrsJoseph
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 stars rounded up to 4 starsThis was fun but I missed Dina. I'm not particularly attached to Maud...and I found it passing strange that she'd not reached out to her sister for help or discussion at all. She was surrounded by dangerous strangers...I also found it strange that she'd left Dina (AGAIN) in the first place, but anyways...This was fun. There was no...real suspense here. There's some pacing issues as well - but that goes with the serial aspect of it. Mostly, it's incredibly consumabl 3.5 stars rounded up to 4 starsThis was fun but I missed Dina. I'm not particularly attached to Maud...and I found it passing strange that she'd not reached out to her sister for help or discussion at all. She was surrounded by dangerous strangers...I also found it strange that she'd left Dina (AGAIN) in the first place, but anyways...This was fun. There was no...real suspense here. There's some pacing issues as well - but that goes with the serial aspect of it. Mostly, it's incredibly consumable. I ate it up. I also have to say that...this is yet another hard period in my life with the Andrews pushed out something that comforted me. I appreciate it. I found myself sitting in the hospital one Saturday and (yet again) got a notification they dropped a new Innkeeper installation. ❤💕💖
    more
  • Mariah
    January 1, 1970
    Okay. Confession time. Ever since Arland’s little declaration of love in the last Innkeeper book I’ve been sort of smitten.Maud quickly became my favorite Demille sister (sorry Dina) with her strength and valor, throw in Helen and I was done for.
    more
  • Merve Özcan
    January 1, 1970
    Üf, böyle son mu yazılır. Bir daha vallahi billahi bölüm bölüm okursam ağzıma acı biber sürsünler. 🙄
Write a review