The Hunting Party
Everyone's invited...everyone's a suspect...For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?

The Hunting Party Details

TitleThe Hunting Party
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 24th, 2019
PublisherHarperCollins UK, HarperFiction
Rating
GenreMystery, Thriller, Fiction, Mystery Thriller, Crime

The Hunting Party Review

  • Paromjit
    January 1, 1970
    This is a hugely enjoyable modern version of a classic golden age crime novel, a psychological thriller with the Christie like tropes of a country house, only here we have a remote and desolate exclusive hunting lodge situated next to a loch in the bleak and forbidding wintry landscapes of the Scottish Highlands. There is a group of thirty something longstanding close friends from Oxford University, who for the last decade have always gathered together over the New Year period. It begins with Ne This is a hugely enjoyable modern version of a classic golden age crime novel, a psychological thriller with the Christie like tropes of a country house, only here we have a remote and desolate exclusive hunting lodge situated next to a loch in the bleak and forbidding wintry landscapes of the Scottish Highlands. There is a group of thirty something longstanding close friends from Oxford University, who for the last decade have always gathered together over the New Year period. It begins with New Year's Day 2019, when gamekeeper, Doug and lodge manager, Heather, discover a missing guest on the estate, it is inescapably clear that it is no accident and that a murder has been committed. Heavy and blustery snowstorms have cut the area off, and the police are unable to respond. Without revealing who the victim is until near the end, the narrative goes back and forth over the days since the group arrive, revealing that below the surface of the jollity and apparent closeness of the friends, lurk dark murky secrets, questions about the supposed friendships between them, and exposure of the deep fissures that lay hidden from view. Emma, a relative newbie to the group, and girlfriend of Mark, has organised the hunting lodge for the gathering in her desperate efforts to fit in and be accepted into this long established group of privileged and entitled individuals. The beautiful, attention grabbing, and popular Miranda, with her good looking husband, Julien, are the enviable golden couple. Samira and Giles are the couple with a 6 month daughter, Priya, that curtails their previous ability to be the total party animals they used to be. Nick is gay, and has been in a long term relationship with his partner, American Bo, a man that has recovered from a history of drug addition. The reserved Katie, a high powered London lawyer, is the single one, with a history of being the closest friend of the glamorous Miranda since schooldays, but her career has meant that recently they have seen little of each other. Amidst the partying, binge drinking and drugs, secrets begin to emerge, lives unravel and the killer's identity slowly comes to be revealed.Lucy Foley writes a chilling atmospheric crime mystery, laden with an air of menace, set in the most beautiful of locations, but which carrys its own dangers with freezing conditions and snow blizzards. As well as the Oxford group, there is the unexpected addition of two Icelanders at the lodge, Ingvar and Gudrun. Heather has past trauma that triggered the move to work in the most loneliest of places, and Doug, an ex-marine, still suffers from PTSD, leading him to seek the isolation of the estate as he cannot bear to be amongst other people. Foley provides us with a diverse cast of characters as suspects trapped on the estate, with many in the Oxford group not being particularly likeable human beings. This is a fabulously entertaining and riveting murder mystery that I am sure will appeal to many crime aficionados! Many thanks to HarperCollins for an ARC.
    more
  • Melissa ♥ Dog/Wolf Lover ♥ Martin
    January 1, 1970
    A New Year's Reunion In The Remote Scottish Wilderness . . . •The beautiful one•The golden couple •The volatile one•The new parents •The quiet one •The city boy•The outsiderOne of these friends is a murderer. And one won't make it out alive. JOIN THE PARTY NOW. (That was on the back of the ARC and it sums it up nicely) *I won this in a Goodreads Giveaway. These people are supposed to be friends but I think they all lost that along the way. I didn't like a particular person in the group, although A New Year's Reunion In The Remote Scottish Wilderness . . . •The beautiful one•The golden couple •The volatile one•The new parents •The quiet one •The city boy•The outsiderOne of these friends is a murderer. And one won't make it out alive. JOIN THE PARTY NOW. (That was on the back of the ARC and it sums it up nicely) *I won this in a Goodreads Giveaway. These people are supposed to be friends but I think they all lost that along the way. I didn't like a particular person in the group, although there were a couple that were okay. It seemed most of them had different secrets. <--- what else is new I liked the idea of being on a getaway to Scotland but not with a bunch of nuts, but real friends. And of course, no hunting involved. These crazies get snowed in and one dies..... who did it? I know but I'm not telling! =)The story goes back and forth from a few days when they get there to January after the murder. They were supposed to be having New Year's together. What a way to ring in the new year!! I thought the book was okay and the location helped. I'm sure plenty of people will love it though. Happy Reading! Mel 🖤🐶🐺🐾
    more
  • Tammy
    January 1, 1970
    The set-up is one we all recognize: a group of friends get together at an isolated location for a reunion and someone winds up dead. There is a killer on the loose. (Gasp) As you get to know the characters, from the ‘it” girl to the successful “mouse” and everyone in between, just about anyone could be the killer or the corpse. Add to this mix, a brooding caretaker with a violent past and we’re off to the races. Speaking of “it” girls, I predict this will be one of the “it” books of the season. The set-up is one we all recognize: a group of friends get together at an isolated location for a reunion and someone winds up dead. There is a killer on the loose. (Gasp) As you get to know the characters, from the ‘it” girl to the successful “mouse” and everyone in between, just about anyone could be the killer or the corpse. Add to this mix, a brooding caretaker with a violent past and we’re off to the races. Speaking of “it” girls, I predict this will be one of the “it” books of the season. Flat out fun!
    more
  • megs_bookrack
    January 1, 1970
    This sounds AHH-mazing and I should receive my copy next month, if all goes according to my sinister plan...'Locked Room' Mystery/Thrillers are my jam!
  • Umut Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    I was very excited for this book as it sounded just my cup of tea. Old friends from school meet up in a remote location in Scotland to celebrate New Year's Eve, but one goes missing from the party. And one of them is the murderer. Classic whodunit.Sounded really intriguing, and you expect a lot of tension, biting nails, racing heart...but unfortunately it just didn't deliver. First of all, the book is too slow, lots of blabber about the food, the environment, the conversations. It could be a lot I was very excited for this book as it sounded just my cup of tea. Old friends from school meet up in a remote location in Scotland to celebrate New Year's Eve, but one goes missing from the party. And one of them is the murderer. Classic whodunit.Sounded really intriguing, and you expect a lot of tension, biting nails, racing heart...but unfortunately it just didn't deliver. First of all, the book is too slow, lots of blabber about the food, the environment, the conversations. It could be a lot shorter. Second, none of the characters were likeable. I mean, it's OK to have unlikeable/unreliable characters, but all 13 of them not to care for is a bit too much. I wanted to root for at least one, to keep going.You don't know who's murdered and who did it until the very end of the book, and it consists only like 5% of it. And, there's really not a structural tension building until that point.The intrigue in the beginning is the best bit really when we know someone was missing and murdered. Then we start alternating between past and present to see who it was. The story is told from multiple perspectives. But, the excitement really went down immediately after this, and I found myself waiting and waiting to get more information, which didn't really happen. It was quite predictable by the way. But, I'm really not convinced about the motives of the person and the way it happened.So, all in all, it didn't hit the spot with me. Thanks a lot to Harper Collins for providing a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Darinda
    January 1, 1970
    A group of old university friends take a trip to celebrate New Year's together. They travel to a remote estate in the Scottish Highlands. Within a few days, tensions have risen, secrets are revealed, and someone dies.The character list for this novel is fairly long, with eleven guests plus a baby staying at the estate and three employees working there. The employees are Heather, Doug, and Iain. The university friends are Miranda, Katie, Julien, Mark, Nick, and Samira. Miranda and Julien are now A group of old university friends take a trip to celebrate New Year's together. They travel to a remote estate in the Scottish Highlands. Within a few days, tensions have risen, secrets are revealed, and someone dies.The character list for this novel is fairly long, with eleven guests plus a baby staying at the estate and three employees working there. The employees are Heather, Doug, and Iain. The university friends are Miranda, Katie, Julien, Mark, Nick, and Samira. Miranda and Julien are now married. Katie is single and traveling alone. Mark is married to Emma. Nick is dating Bo. Samira is married to Giles, and they have a baby, Priya. In addition to this friend group traveling together, an Icelandic couple, Ingvar and Kristin, are also staying at the estate.With so many characters, it is not surprising that multiple points of view are used in this novel. The viewpoints are Heather, Doug, Miranda, Katie, and Emma. The switching POVs are seamless, and are easily distinguished from one another. The story is told over a three day period, using a flashback approach. The stories open with the "Now" where a body is discovered. Then the events of the preceding days are told, flipping between what happened in the preceding days to the events in the "Now" timeline. This novel has a lot happening, but I found it easy to follow and never got confused with the who and when of the story.As for the plot, it's an intriguing mystery. While a dead body is found right off the bat, the identity of the deceased is not known until near the end of the story. So, not only was I trying to guess who the killer was, but also who the victim was.I enjoy this type of mystery. A group of people in an isolated location. A murder. Secret and lies. Dysfunctional friendships and drama. Such an entertaining read. Highly recommended.I received a free ARC of this book via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • NZLisaM
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 Rounded Up.Nine guests, and one baby, friends since their university days ten years previously, arrive at a Lodge in the Scottish Highlands, for a fun-filled, relaxing New Years Getaway.Emma and Mark (Boyfriend and Girlfriend. Emma organised the trip)Miranda and Julien (Married)Nick and Bo (Married)Samira and Giles, and baby, Priya (Married)Katie (their single friend)But are these friends really as close as they appear? And what happens to their friendship’s when all their secrets come to li 3.5 Rounded Up.Nine guests, and one baby, friends since their university days ten years previously, arrive at a Lodge in the Scottish Highlands, for a fun-filled, relaxing New Years Getaway.Emma and Mark (Boyfriend and Girlfriend. Emma organised the trip)Miranda and Julien (Married)Nick and Bo (Married)Samira and Giles, and baby, Priya (Married)Katie (their single friend)But are these friends really as close as they appear? And what happens to their friendship’s when all their secrets come to light? By the 2nd of January one of them will be dead because of it.The setting was perfect – as breathtaking as it was isolating and foreboding. Most of the characterisations were all excellent, relatable, interesting to read about, and their behaviour rang true. Others had me puzzling over why their characters were even included, as they didn’t seem to serve any significant purpose? Chapters moved between Now (2nd January, 2019) when a body is discovered in the snow (the victim’s identity remains under wraps until the final act which I thought was brilliant), and Then the guests arriving at the lodge (30th December, 2018 – 1st January, 2019), with multiple viewpoints. Unfortunately I felt there were just too many plot elements, a couple of which were unnecessary, never fully explored nor explained, and added little to the story. Also, there was a lot of telling rather than showing when relating past events, causing some sections to be rather long-winded. I really think further flashbacks to the event in question would’ve been better. It’s a shame because overall the writing and dialogue were exceptional. I particularly loved how the author related characters actions, expressions, and emotions to hunting and animals. The final reveal while not that surprising was well-executed, action-packed, horrifying, and emotionally impacting when it’s revealed who the victim is. The last two chapters really wrapped everything up nicely as well. Not the 5 star read I was expecting it to be, but still definitely worth checking out, and I would happily read another book by Lucy Foley.
    more
  • Amitaf0208
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars! I love the premise of this book - a group of close friends stormed in over new years holidays in a hunting lodge. And of course, there is an murder! It was very enjoyable and so entertaining that i read this over the weekend instead of catching up on TV! Loved it!
    more
  • Shannon
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to William Morrow for gifting me a copy of The Hunting Party via Edelweiss. Oh my god I loved this so much! I am a huge fan of multiple POVs and this one comes with FIVE!! To me, it just makes the story move quicker and I love reading the different perspectives! It took a few chapters to understand who was who but once I got it down I was good.A group of college friends continue their tradition by celebrating the New Year together. They all travel to a remote cabin estate far out from the Thanks to William Morrow for gifting me a copy of The Hunting Party via Edelweiss. Oh my god I loved this so much! I am a huge fan of multiple POVs and this one comes with FIVE!! To me, it just makes the story move quicker and I love reading the different perspectives! It took a few chapters to understand who was who but once I got it down I was good.A group of college friends continue their tradition by celebrating the New Year together. They all travel to a remote cabin estate far out from the city. Everything is all fun in games until one of the friends goes missing and then the body is found. It doesn’t help that a huge snow storm has come through and they can’t leave the property or even get help.I enjoyed this so much! It was so entertaining. While reading the story you don’t know exactly who has died until the end nor who did it. It worked so well for me!Drama, lies, secrets, murder oooo yasss please. 5 ⭐️
    more
  • Liz Barnsley
    January 1, 1970
    loved this.Properly atmospheric, the chilly, claustrophobic yet open setting cleverly sets the scene for a wonderfully old school murder mystery, with a stellar cast of characters for the reader to get their teeth into and either love or loathe.Descriptively this is beautifully written the aforementioned setting coming to vivid and gorgeous life, enter into this wild landscape a group of friends whose history and random hidden jealousies rise to the surface, ultimately leading to murder…Definite loved this.Properly atmospheric, the chilly, claustrophobic yet open setting cleverly sets the scene for a wonderfully old school murder mystery, with a stellar cast of characters for the reader to get their teeth into and either love or loathe.Descriptively this is beautifully written the aforementioned setting coming to vivid and gorgeous life, enter into this wild landscape a group of friends whose history and random hidden jealousies rise to the surface, ultimately leading to murder…Definite hints of Christie, but with a rhyme and rythym all of its own, The Hunting Party is a dream of a read, absorbing, intelligent and full of the vagaries of human nature. Twisty as you like, unexpectedly sometimes, Lucy Foley manages the group dynamic with aplomb, keeping you immersed and involved all the way.A proper bit of storytelling, eliciting differing emotional reactions and having the benefit of being eminently unpredictable, The Hunting Party is definitely one to watch in 2019.Highly recommended.
    more
  • Nadia
    January 1, 1970
    Thirteen people, 1 dead body3.5 stars for the thriller debut The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley.A group of friends who met at Oxford a decade ago decides to celebrate NYE in a remote location in the Scottish Highlands. Due to the heavy snow they find themselves cut off from civilisation. We quickly learn that the friendship bond between some of them is not as strong as it seemed and actually there is a degree of animosity and resentment among them as old wounds and grudges from their past resurface Thirteen people, 1 dead body3.5 stars for the thriller debut The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley.A group of friends who met at Oxford a decade ago decides to celebrate NYE in a remote location in the Scottish Highlands. Due to the heavy snow they find themselves cut off from civilisation. We quickly learn that the friendship bond between some of them is not as strong as it seemed and actually there is a degree of animosity and resentment among them as old wounds and grudges from their past resurface. I started to wonder why would anyone want to do an annual trip with people they didn't like? "But that's the thing about old friends, isn't it? Sometimes they don't even realise that they no longer have anything in common. That maybe they don't even like each other any more."Initially, it took me some time to get into this and get a grip on who was who, but once I got there, I enjoyed the book. Each chapter is told from a different POV - Emma, Katie, Miranda, Heather and Doug with the timeline jumping from 'Before the murder' and 'After'. It is not clear who has been murdered and who the murderer is until relatively late in the story which is not a bad thing. I thought I knew where the book was going and who the culprit was, but I was completely wrong. I did not see the twist coming at all.The synopsis mentions Agatha Christie. I love Christie's books dearly and would like to clarify that apart from the obvious setting resemblence to The Mousetrap: A Play, this is quite a different type of novel. Still a good one, just different.Many thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for my ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Roman Clodia
    January 1, 1970
    Like a modern take on an Agatha Christie plot: a party in a remote location cut off by snow, a group of friends with hidden tensions and stresses, sinister co-guests and troubled staff... all ending in murder. With red herrings galore and a cast of unlikable characters, this is all about the twists and revelations. Compulsively entertaining: 4 deliciously trashy stars!Thanks to the publisher for an ARC via NetGalley.
    more
  • ♥ Kayleigh Kehoe ⚜ (Awkword Reviews)✍
    January 1, 1970
    This is basically about a group of fictional friends who have no redeemable qualities and are unbearably nasty to each other on "holiday" in a lodge that is cut off from the rest of civilisation for a few days after it snows heavily. During this inaccessible time, one of the group gets murdered, and everyone is a suspect. And I wish that all of them was killed and the murderer lived happily ever after. That's how despicable they were. Regardless of the high stakes, I found the prose very flat an This is basically about a group of fictional friends who have no redeemable qualities and are unbearably nasty to each other on "holiday" in a lodge that is cut off from the rest of civilisation for a few days after it snows heavily. During this inaccessible time, one of the group gets murdered, and everyone is a suspect. And I wish that all of them was killed and the murderer lived happily ever after. That's how despicable they were. Regardless of the high stakes, I found the prose very flat and disengaging. I couldn't wait until I had found out who the killer was and moved on. The most effective method the author used to dispel tension was that at the beginning, we are told one of the guests was missing, and then found dead. Then the narrative went on to alternate between the present day and the past; the hunt to find the killer in the present, and using the past as a countdown to the present, where the murderer has their big reveal. This is one of those books that sounds better than it ends up being. I'm not saying nobody will enjoy it, obviously, but it was underwhelming for me. Maybe if the characters were nicer and worth saving I would have rooted for them a bit more, but as it was I wasn't particularly fussed whether any of them lived, died, or turned out to be the murderer. Thank you to the publisher and Net Galley for a copy of this ARC in exchange for an honest review.--------------------------------------- wordpress ♡ tumblr ♡ bookstagram ♡ twitter ♡---------------------------------------
    more
  • Julie Parks
    January 1, 1970
    What an amazing book! And new author to follow.All that eeriness and build up. Especially as various characters supposedly spot something somewhere...or was it really there, or only in their imagination. It couldn't really, could it?And then that looming snowstorm, that we know it's coming as the story is told in time lapse. Soon the body will be snowed in, and nobody gets in or out (not even the police), and you're forced sitting there in the same Lodge with the possible killer!Lucy Foley is do What an amazing book! And new author to follow.All that eeriness and build up. Especially as various characters supposedly spot something somewhere...or was it really there, or only in their imagination. It couldn't really, could it?And then that looming snowstorm, that we know it's coming as the story is told in time lapse. Soon the body will be snowed in, and nobody gets in or out (not even the police), and you're forced sitting there in the same Lodge with the possible killer!Lucy Foley is doing an excellent job throwing the possible blame around between various characters. Mind you, you don't even know who's dead for most of the book.Told from three guest perspectives and two hosts, the story tangles and twists like a stubborn candle that flickers but refuses to give out its last breath.In my opinion, the best parts were in their Oxford pasts, and not in the current tension.The ending felt a teeny tiny bit rushed and a few red flags provided earlier weren't really addressed, like maybe that mysterious note written, left behind, and supposedly lost somewhere in that Estate. And the thing about the two Icelanders (fantastic characters, by the way. Reading this book coincided with my husband's offering to visit Iceland...you can only guess, my reaction lol)My favorite was Miranda, but really it should've been Emma.I think we all know at least one Miranda either from childhood playgroup, school or even office. The overbearing and controlling everyone's-my-project princess who's forever the thinnest, shiniest and smartest know-it-all. The seductress and Miss Perfection. The one that looks better in that leather pencil skirt, and wearing your lipstick. Well, she ended up having a surprising plot twist, believe me. Nothing was perfect under all that glamour.The second favorite was Emma. The lovely, forever kept-together academic girl. The one who's supposedly calm and poised never gets upset or irritated. She's not as pretty, but she's trying hard with her make-up, copying Miranda somewhat even. And she's a great chef and works like a glue between all the friends who go way back and shouldn't need her to break up their fights. Right?Well...as the end approaches, out comes Emma's well-kept story, making her a much more interesting character than you, and everyone else in that Estate, ever thought. Stay tuned! Wait until you see what she's really been hiding. Try and guess, but you might still miss it!These aren't the only main players in this murder plot. Not at all. Just my personal favorites. Much like other reviewers have pointed out, the growing romantic tension between Doug and Heather is equally tow curling, unraveling the ghosts they've been quietly hiding in those secluded cabin closets. After all, why would two young and good-looking people want to live out alone in all that wilderness?!Hmmm...the plot thickens. The tension grows.Bet you're checking off the days until the publishing date!Thank you HarperCollins so much for the chance to read this Arc in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • C.L. Taylor
    January 1, 1970
    I absolutely flew through this, finishing it within three days (which, given I have a terrible concentration span, is increasingly rare). A group of university friends, and various interlopers, decide to spend New Years Eve in an isolated lodge in the Scottish Highlands and one of them ends up dead. The Hunting Party is a first rate murder mystery with a cast of well crafted characters, secret upon secret and a healthy dose of deceit. You won't look at your old friends in the same way when you r I absolutely flew through this, finishing it within three days (which, given I have a terrible concentration span, is increasingly rare). A group of university friends, and various interlopers, decide to spend New Years Eve in an isolated lodge in the Scottish Highlands and one of them ends up dead. The Hunting Party is a first rate murder mystery with a cast of well crafted characters, secret upon secret and a healthy dose of deceit. You won't look at your old friends in the same way when you read this book. I hugely enjoyed it. Guaranteed to be a huge hit.
    more
  • Susan
    January 1, 1970
    This novel has much of an old-fashioned, country house, mystery, about it, but brought deliciously up to date. For country house, read a remote, Scottish Lodge, surrounded by luxury cabins. For the members of a house party, read a group of rich, successful friends, and their partners, who meet up every New Year and get together to relive their years at Oxford. In the best tradition, the group get snowed in and to add to the unease, there is a murderer, The Highland Ripper, whose violent crimes a This novel has much of an old-fashioned, country house, mystery, about it, but brought deliciously up to date. For country house, read a remote, Scottish Lodge, surrounded by luxury cabins. For the members of a house party, read a group of rich, successful friends, and their partners, who meet up every New Year and get together to relive their years at Oxford. In the best tradition, the group get snowed in and to add to the unease, there is a murderer, The Highland Ripper, whose violent crimes are on the news.Miranda is the Golden Girl of the group; although her beauty and charisma has not led to the successful career the others have. She does, though, have Julian, rich and handsome, and a life most would envy. Her best friend is the quiet, secretive Katie. There is also the loud, rather aggressive Mark, and his girlfriend, Emma, who longs to belong to the inner circle. Nick and Bo and Giles and Samira, plus baby, Priya, make up the group. There is also Heather, who helps run the Lodge with the taciturn gamekeeper, Doug and an odd-job man, Iain. Just about everyone in this group have secrets and, as the group get snowed in, and tensions rise, you just know it will lead to murder… With the exception of Doug, who is a great character, most of the storyline is told from the point of view of the female characters, which worked really well. This is a very well thought out novel, which highlights the issues that so many people face now. The issues of how friendships change, as you grow up – and apart – from people. There is jealousy – of wanting to belong, of wishing to have children, to wanting career success, to wanting the great romance, of wanting others to envy a lifestyle that looks all enviable glitter and wealth, but may not be as great as it appears. Overall, a great read and very enjoyable – perfect for a cold, winter’s evening. I received a copy of this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, for review.
    more
  • Anni
    January 1, 1970
    ‘that’s the thing about old friends, isn’t it? Sometimes they don’t even realise that they no longer have anything in common. That maybe they don’t even like each other any more’.This murder mystery has many of the usual hallmarks of the Golden Age of crime novels: a country estate retreat in an isolated location and a gathering of old friends trapped by circumstances (snow in this case), each with guilty secrets to hide, whilst knowing the killer is among them. However, by a nifty variation of ‘that’s the thing about old friends, isn’t it? Sometimes they don’t even realise that they no longer have anything in common. That maybe they don’t even like each other any more’.This murder mystery has many of the usual hallmarks of the Golden Age of crime novels: a country estate retreat in an isolated location and a gathering of old friends trapped by circumstances (snow in this case), each with guilty secrets to hide, whilst knowing the killer is among them. However, by a nifty variation of the genre, we are not only made unaware of the perpetrator but are also kept in the dark as to the identity of the victim, complicating the mystery even more.Foley keeps us guessing by relating the history of the guests and staff at the Hunting Lodge, each with a personality or background that could make them either victim or killer. It is this nuanced exposition of their relationships that skilfully misdirects the reader’s suspicion until the end and kept me turning the pages of this excellent debut.
    more
  • Allyn Nichols
    January 1, 1970
    Dull.... The characters are so much alike each other you're hard pushed to tell them apart ( even though each chapter is named after one of them). One of the most beautiful places on the planet described in such a way that strips it all down to almost nothing but grim, cold and eyeball deep in snow. The prose are almost headache inducing, rushing by at a thousand miles an hour and much of it to no consequence at all. Maybe it's just not my cup of tea however I've read plenty of books in a simila Dull.... The characters are so much alike each other you're hard pushed to tell them apart ( even though each chapter is named after one of them). One of the most beautiful places on the planet described in such a way that strips it all down to almost nothing but grim, cold and eyeball deep in snow. The prose are almost headache inducing, rushing by at a thousand miles an hour and much of it to no consequence at all. Maybe it's just not my cup of tea however I've read plenty of books in a similar vein that didn't make me feel as though I was front and center at an eight hour insurance convention. Each to their own though..... You may well love it. I certainly didn't.
    more
  • Empress Reece (Hooked on Books)
    January 1, 1970
    This book is about a group of friends that went to Oxford together. They all get together every New Year's Eve to hang out and reminisce about old times. This year they meet up at a Scottish hunting lodge but their vacation getaway goes awry when all their old wounds and new ones finally start to surface...Everyone in this group was suppose to be a grown adult but they all acted like they were still in high school. I literally felt like I was 15 again. It was just too much drama for me and not e This book is about a group of friends that went to Oxford together. They all get together every New Year's Eve to hang out and reminisce about old times. This year they meet up at a Scottish hunting lodge but their vacation getaway goes awry when all their old wounds and new ones finally start to surface...Everyone in this group was suppose to be a grown adult but they all acted like they were still in high school. I literally felt like I was 15 again. It was just too much drama for me and not enough suspense or surprise to make it actually interesting. And Katie's "secret" was so predictable I figured it out right from the beginning.Unless you have some secret desire to relive a drama filled week of high school, I would find something else to read. *Read for 2018 AMMP Bairn Bingo - Tiger
    more
  • Elizabeth of Silver's Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    FULL REVIEW WILL BE ON FEBRUARY 13."An annual reunion of friends at a new location with the added beauty and terror of a huge snowstorm that cuts everyone off from the rest of the world is where THE HUNTING PARTY begins and where we meet the characters.We are taken from the festivities to Doug, the gamekeeper, finding a body and showing Heather where he found it. When Heather sees the body, she knows it wasn't an accident.Waiting to find out which one of the friends was the victim and who the ki FULL REVIEW WILL BE ON FEBRUARY 13."An annual reunion of friends at a new location with the added beauty and terror of a huge snowstorm that cuts everyone off from the rest of the world is where THE HUNTING PARTY begins and where we meet the characters.We are taken from the festivities to Doug, the gamekeeper, finding a body and showing Heather where he found it. When Heather sees the body, she knows it wasn't an accident.Waiting to find out which one of the friends was the victim and who the killer was kept the tension high. The identity was not made known until the very end. The mystery was a well-kept secret.Ms. Foley's writing is very descriptive and beautiful. I could see every detail of the landscape and feel the emotions of each character. If you can describe writing as lush, that is how beautiful the sentences flowed and created a picture.If you enjoy a mystery, antics of characters, learning that the characters really didn't show their true colors, and waiting for the “ball to drop,” THE HUNTING PARTY will be a book you will want to read. The story line was perfectly carried out and nothing was revealed until the very end. 4/5This book was given to me as an ARC by the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review."
    more
  • Rae
    January 1, 1970
    Log fires, whisky, brooding mountains, a snowbound hunting lodge, university friends, loaded guns – what could possibly go wrong? I loved Lucy Foley’s psychological thriller, The Hunting Party, set over Hogmanay in the Scottish Highlands. Marketed as a modern day Agatha Christie, Foley introduces the reader to a sizeable cast of characters, eleven guests and three members of staff, which she handles well. Just like Christie, the claustrophobia grows, as secrets are revealed and hidden jealousies Log fires, whisky, brooding mountains, a snowbound hunting lodge, university friends, loaded guns – what could possibly go wrong? I loved Lucy Foley’s psychological thriller, The Hunting Party, set over Hogmanay in the Scottish Highlands. Marketed as a modern day Agatha Christie, Foley introduces the reader to a sizeable cast of characters, eleven guests and three members of staff, which she handles well. Just like Christie, the claustrophobia grows, as secrets are revealed and hidden jealousies exposed. Atmospheric and twisty, it’s perfect for curling up with, whilst enjoying your favourite dram.
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 starsAn engaging murder mystery set in the Scottish Highlands at New Years Eve.A group of old friends get together every year to celebrate but this year goes massively wrong and somebody ends up dead!It's a multiple POV story told mainly by the girls but also Doug the gamekeeper who is not part of the friendship group.I wasn't convinced by the friendships (although to be fair part of the story is their realisation that they have all grown apart) and the characters were superficial and awful! 3.5 starsAn engaging murder mystery set in the Scottish Highlands at New Years Eve.A group of old friends get together every year to celebrate but this year goes massively wrong and somebody ends up dead!It's a multiple POV story told mainly by the girls but also Doug the gamekeeper who is not part of the friendship group.I wasn't convinced by the friendships (although to be fair part of the story is their realisation that they have all grown apart) and the characters were superficial and awful! I don't mind unlikeable characters but I prefer a bit more depth. We don't get to learn anything about the boys at all so it was difficult to get a good take on their relationships.I did enjoy the story though and would recommend it for a light read.
    more
  • Joanne Robertson
    January 1, 1970
    This book!!! As soon as I finished it I messaged a friend to say “You have GOT to order this book NOW!” Isn’t it wonderful when you read a book and know exactly who to recommend it to! If you love character driven, Agatha Christie-esque mysteries set in atmospheric, eerie locations then The Hunting Party is going to knock your socks off. It reminded me in a way of Ruth Wares debut “In A Dark Dark Wood” but with champagne and drugs! You really must put aside a few hours to read this book because This book!!! As soon as I finished it I messaged a friend to say “You have GOT to order this book NOW!” Isn’t it wonderful when you read a book and know exactly who to recommend it to! If you love character driven, Agatha Christie-esque mysteries set in atmospheric, eerie locations then The Hunting Party is going to knock your socks off. It reminded me in a way of Ruth Wares debut “In A Dark Dark Wood” but with champagne and drugs! You really must put aside a few hours to read this book because once you join The Hunting Party you won’t be leaving until after the kill!As with all the best psychological thrillers, there is a slow build up whilst we are introduced to this rather unappealing and self absorbed group of university friends as they make their way to Scotland to celebrate New Year together. When you throw together a bunch of the most unlikeable characters then sparks are guaranteed to fly and that’s even before they find “the body”. It did take me a while to establish who was who and their connections to each other (Mark and Nick I got confused with to begin with but that’s probably just me!) but once they were settled into their isolated cabins at the lodge where they were staying, it was much easier to recognise the different personalities. Miranda was a particularly unlikeable member of the group and I found her attitude towards her oldest friends completely baffling!Told in multiple POVs and different timelines it isn’t until quite near the end that we find out who has been murdered, why and by whom. But I have to say that the twists and turns really did pull me in so many different directions that, although I thought I knew what was happening and why, I was much further off the mark than I usually am! So that’s another reason why I absolutely loved this book! It’s a fascinating look at how the toxic relationships we make can’t be easily escaped as they have become a habit that’s much too hard to break. But the breakup here when it comes is VERY extreme indeed!If you’re after a gripping, character based and darkly atmospheric storyline then The Hunting Party is a must for your TBR pile. This one is going to be HUGE!Highly recommended by me!
    more
  • Katerina
    January 1, 1970
    "Кто не спрятался" здорового человека, то есть детектив про заснеженный курорт без пиздостраданий. Вкратце, это в меру занимательная история про то, как богатенькие университетские друзья собрались на Новый год поохотиться в отдаленных шотландских угодьях, и один из них умер не от скуки. Типажи и нарратив - примерно как в романах Мориарти, то есть почти до самого конца не известно, кто вообще умер и что случилось "на барбекю", в общем, вполне развлекательно, хоть местами явно натянуто на глобус.
    more
  • Bookread2day
    January 1, 1970
    This is my book of the end of the 2018 year!! If you haven't read it I honestly recommend it as its a page turner full of suspense and everyone's a suspect. At the Loch Corrin Estate, thick snow is falling rapidly, when a guest goes missing. In the poor visibility the police aren't going to make it, to search for the missing guest as the police have climbers stuck on Ben Nevis and another situation near Fort William. With all guests trapped in the heavy snow, all signs are now pointing to its no This is my book of the end of the 2018 year!! If you haven't read it I honestly recommend it as its a page turner full of suspense and everyone's a suspect. At the Loch Corrin Estate, thick snow is falling rapidly, when a guest goes missing. In the poor visibility the police aren't going to make it, to search for the missing guest as the police have climbers stuck on Ben Nevis and another situation near Fort William. With all guests trapped in the heavy snow, all signs are now pointing to its not just a case of a guest gone missing, no it's not accident but significant signs are pointing at a murder within friends. Yes I do highly recommend this book to be on your to read or buy list.
    more
  • Becca
    January 1, 1970
    A group of Oxford alumni and their respective partners have kept in touch for years post-graduation, and decide to go on an extravagant New Year trip to a far flung area of Scotland. Settling in a lodge and it’s surrounding cabins for a couple of nights. A lot of alcohol, some drugs and a bit of deer hunting and their idyllic lives, and friendships begin to unravel in their webs of deceit. Who dies, and more importantly, who did it?I throughly enjoyed this book. It’s been a while since I felt th A group of Oxford alumni and their respective partners have kept in touch for years post-graduation, and decide to go on an extravagant New Year trip to a far flung area of Scotland. Settling in a lodge and it’s surrounding cabins for a couple of nights. A lot of alcohol, some drugs and a bit of deer hunting and their idyllic lives, and friendships begin to unravel in their webs of deceit. Who dies, and more importantly, who did it?I throughly enjoyed this book. It’s been a while since I felt this compelled to read a book this quickly. Once I had gotten a grasp of the characters I was gripped and with each secret I just wanted to know more!The book is written from varying perspectives: Miranda, Emma & Katie (three of the alumni) and Heather & Doug (two of the lodge’s workers) I am used to reading books with varying chapter perspectives but on this particular book I found it was a little confusing to remember who was who. I really enjoyed the web and interconnections and I didn’t second guess any of the twists and turns which is a fantastic change. Although the idea is not wholly original, being reminiscent of And Then There Were None and The Secret History, don’t let this put you off. It is executed in a completely original way and I thoroughly enjoyed it.Thank you to NetGalley and HarperCollins for providing me with an advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Aoife
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 starsI received a free digital copy of this book from the publishers/author via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.When a group of old Oxford friends get together for their yearly new Year’s Eve bash, one person ends up dead. Rewind two days, and it’s clear there’s a lot of cracks in the group and people don’t like each other as much as they pretend. But who is the killer, and who is the victim?The Hunting Party was a great debut thriller, and it honestly made me excited for other bo 3.5 starsI received a free digital copy of this book from the publishers/author via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.When a group of old Oxford friends get together for their yearly new Year’s Eve bash, one person ends up dead. Rewind two days, and it’s clear there’s a lot of cracks in the group and people don’t like each other as much as they pretend. But who is the killer, and who is the victim?The Hunting Party was a great debut thriller, and it honestly made me excited for other books Lucy Foley will write as she has great potential for brilliant, gripping books.I really liked this book, and the intrigue of figuring out the dynamic of the group of people. Honestly, they were all bunch of d***heads but reading their antics was kind of like watching wild animals, it was hard to pull my attention away from the crazy antics. There were a lot of names thrown out in the beginning chapters of this book and it took me a while to figure out who was who, and I also kept forgetting whose POV I was following (Katie, Emma, Miranda or Heather) as sometimes they sounded a bit similar and one would just run into another and I’d have to flip back to remind myself who I was reading.
    more
  • Rachel Sargeant
    January 1, 1970
    A group of thirty-something Oxford graduates check into a remote hunting lodge in the Scottish Highlands to bring in the New Year. Of course, snow cuts them off from the outside world. Of course, old grudges surface and secrets are blown apart. Of course, one guest disappears. Of course, I loved it.The action takes place between 30 Dec 2018 and 2 Jan 2019, and flips between events leading up to a guest's death on New Year's Day and the aftermath on 2 Jan. I got a particular thrill out of startin A group of thirty-something Oxford graduates check into a remote hunting lodge in the Scottish Highlands to bring in the New Year. Of course, snow cuts them off from the outside world. Of course, old grudges surface and secrets are blown apart. Of course, one guest disappears. Of course, I loved it.The action takes place between 30 Dec 2018 and 2 Jan 2019, and flips between events leading up to a guest's death on New Year's Day and the aftermath on 2 Jan. I got a particular thrill out of starting to read it on 30 Dec 2018, but liked it so much that I whizzed through it and finished two days ahead of the 2 Jan end date.I loved all the characters and the various narrators. I did guess the villain of the piece at the outset but loved being proved right.This is a fantastic read for the festive season and beyond.
    more
  • Roz
    January 1, 1970
    2.5 starsIncredibly predictable.
  • Susan Hampson
    January 1, 1970
    Some things are done because they have always been done and well the yearly get together of Oxford University besties was one of those things. Some of the group had been accepted at Oxford on the ‘it is who you know rather than what you know’, sort of right of passage, while the others were a quite gifted bunch. The group had hired cabins at an exclusive Lodge in Scottish Highlands, as a Hunting Party for New Year celebrations, with the understanding that they would be the only ones there, along Some things are done because they have always been done and well the yearly get together of Oxford University besties was one of those things. Some of the group had been accepted at Oxford on the ‘it is who you know rather than what you know’, sort of right of passage, while the others were a quite gifted bunch. The group had hired cabins at an exclusive Lodge in Scottish Highlands, as a Hunting Party for New Year celebrations, with the understanding that they would be the only ones there, along with the Employees Doug, Iain and Heather but another couple from Iceland, had also booked in. This still made the group feel invaded, even in the fifty thousand acres they were in.The weather was pretty bleak and the news of a Jack the Ripper kind of bloke on the loose in the area was flying round the news stations. When a body is discovered by Doug, the story drops back in time to when the group first arrives. The now thirty somethings are partying again like freshmen, with a lot of booze, a few drugs, a lot of nostalgia and a little the hunting of deer. The story is told through the different characters and the hierarchy soon falls into place where people slot in.It seems that everyone has secrets, including the employees and this is the perfect hideout if you want to stay out of the limelight. Once this very brittle house of cards begins to crumble it goes big style with after shocks that are just as jaw dropping. I loved getting to know these often spineless, unlikable characters as they did make for excellent entertainment. A brilliant whodunit style book that sits up there with the best of them. Loved it!I wish to thank NetGalley for an e-copy of this book which I have truthfully reviewed.
    more
Write a review