As Long as We Both Shall Live
What happens when you're really, truly done making your marriage work? You can't be married to someone without sometimes wanting to bash them over the head...As Long As We Both Shall Live is JoAnn Chaney's wicked, masterful examination of a marriage gone very wrong, a marriage with lots of secrets..."My wife! I think she's dead!" Matt frantically tells park rangers that he and his wife, Marie, were hiking when she fell off a cliff into the raging river below. They start a search, but they aren't hopeful: no one could have survived that fall. It was a tragic accident.But Matt's first wife also died in suspicious circumstances. And when the police pull a body out of the river, they have a lot more questions for Matt.Detectives Loren and Spengler want to know if Matt is a grieving, twice-unlucky husband or a cold-blooded murderer. They dig into the couple's lives to see what they can unearth. And they find that love's got teeth, it's got claws, and once it hitches you to a person, it's tough to rip yourself free.So what happens when you're done making it work?

As Long as We Both Shall Live Details

TitleAs Long as We Both Shall Live
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 15th, 2019
PublisherFlatiron Books
ISBN-139781250076397
Rating
GenreMystery, Thriller, Fiction, Mystery Thriller

As Long as We Both Shall Live Review

  • Debra
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars "So here's the thing: if you want to kill your wife, don't. Don't kill her, don't touch her. Ditch the bitch if you have to, get on with your life." What a fantastic, fun, twisted, entertaining read!One man. Two dead wives. How can that be? Matt and his wife, Marie, had gone away for a romantic weekend. They have been married for twenty-four years and have two daughters in college. Time away is precious and they have decided to go hiking. Some exercise, some fresh air, time alone, wha 4.5 stars "So here's the thing: if you want to kill your wife, don't. Don't kill her, don't touch her. Ditch the bitch if you have to, get on with your life." What a fantastic, fun, twisted, entertaining read!One man. Two dead wives. How can that be? Matt and his wife, Marie, had gone away for a romantic weekend. They have been married for twenty-four years and have two daughters in college. Time away is precious and they have decided to go hiking. Some exercise, some fresh air, time alone, what could be better? But then Marie disappears off the side of a cliff! As Matt summons help, a search party is gathered. Matt joins in the search for his wife, but as the search goes on, the local authorities begin to investigate the couple's lives, their relationship, and their marriage. They are shocked to learn that Matt was married before and his first wife died under questionable circumstances and that Matt was a suspect for some time. Hmm....now a second wife is missing and presumed dead.One of the officers investigating this case is also being investigated as well. Like other reviewers, I don't think his back story was necessary. I didn't really mind it but at the same time, I also don't think it added anything to the story. It seems that more than one person in this book has secrets and something to hide. So, I did a little happy dance about 56% though and thought "By George, I think I've got it!" and I was about 75% right! Yes, I am tooting my own horn as this is a twisty fun read full of secrets, deception, and lies. Nothing too overly shocking as it doesn't need to be. I was captivated by this wickedly fun married couple who could give the couple in the war of the roses a run for their money. There really is a thin line between love and hate! "It was so easy, she thought, to keep your hate to yourself. To let it simmer like acid in your stomach. You started to live on it after a while. It fed you, kept you going, until you started to get hungry for it, and it became an active craving. A diet of anger and hate could slim anyone's thighs." This book is told in alternating time lines and each chapter is headed with clever song titles/sayings and noting the year the action takes place. Chaney keeps readers on their toes, giving a little bit more info as the story progresses. She had me wanting more and more. With each little tidbit, she takes the reader closer to the truth. She lets the reader believe one thing and then quickly turns the table and has the reader believing something else. Detective Spengler points out in the book: There is HIS story, there is HER story and then there is the TRUTH! That about sums it up right there. Readers will yearn for the truth in this book because this married couple has secrets. Secrets can tear a marriage apart, but sometime secrets are the glue that hold it together.I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I was sucked in and found this to be a clever and incredibly fun page turner. Not the-edge-of-your-seat-with-nonstop-action page turner but an what-the-hell-is-this-person-going-to-do-next type of page turner. I really enjoy deceptively wicked characters. The ones who have you fooled - up until that second when they no longer have you fooled. I like to do a silent little chuckle and recall this quote "Oh, what a tangled web we weave, when first we practice to deceive!" by Sir Walter Scott. I said it before and I will say it again: What a fantastic, fun, twisted, entertaining read! There is mystery, suspense, witty passages, doubt, lies, betrayals, scheming, deception- all of which make for a captivating book which did not disappoint this reader.Thank you to Flat Iron books and NetGalley who provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All the thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Michelle
    January 1, 1970
    This book was so much fun! Matt and Marie have been married for 24 years. They have two lovely daughters that are away at college, money, and a beautiful home. What more could someone want? "There are two dilemmas that rattle the human soul. How do you hold on to someone that won't stay? And how do you get rid of someone who won't go?" ~ Danny DeVito, The War of the Roses Matt and Marie decide to take a weekend away in hopes of rekindling their marriage. While out hiking Marie decides to take a This book was so much fun! Matt and Marie have been married for 24 years. They have two lovely daughters that are away at college, money, and a beautiful home. What more could someone want? "There are two dilemmas that rattle the human soul. How do you hold on to someone that won't stay? And how do you get rid of someone who won't go?" ~ Danny DeVito, The War of the Roses Matt and Marie decide to take a weekend away in hopes of rekindling their marriage. While out hiking Marie decides to take a selfie at the cliffs edge only to lose her footing and she plummets to the raging river below. A tragic accident. Detectives Loren and Spengler think that Matt isn't being completely truthful with them and once they find out that Matt had been married before to a woman that also died in mysterious circumstances they no longer suspect he knows more, they know that he does, and they will stop at nothing to prove his guilt. Of course there is way more than meets the eye with this one. If you think you have it figured out then I assure you that you do not. JoAnn Chaney will keep you on your toes for sure! "Men kill their wives, women kill their husbands - you can't be tied to someone for any significant amount of time without at least considering knocking them over the skull with a baseball bat." Now I'll admit that we get a lot of backstory on Detective Loren about an incident that takes place twenty years prior. These chapters took me out of the story a bit but the reason for the backstory does become clear toward the end so it isn't all for naught. ~ Final Thoughts ~If you aren't married - rejoice! If you are - you will be side-eyeing your spouse throughout this entire book! Enjoy! 4 Entertaining stars! Thank you to NetGalley and Flatiron Books for providing me with a digital ARC in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Kendall
    January 1, 1970
    I knew I was in for a treat with JoAnn Chaney's opening paragraphs:"So here's the thing: if you want to kill your wife, don't. Don't kill her, don't touch her. Ditch the bitch if you have to, get on with your life."Man.. phew was this a ride! I think we've all be in a relationship and we've wanted to throw something at our partner's etc. Well.... I don't know about you but I CERTAINLY have! Chaney's writing is dark, complex, witty, and darkly funny with a mix of sassiness. I don't think I've eve I knew I was in for a treat with JoAnn Chaney's opening paragraphs:"So here's the thing: if you want to kill your wife, don't. Don't kill her, don't touch her. Ditch the bitch if you have to, get on with your life."Man.. phew was this a ride! I think we've all be in a relationship and we've wanted to throw something at our partner's etc. Well.... I don't know about you but I CERTAINLY have! Chaney's writing is dark, complex, witty, and darkly funny with a mix of sassiness. I don't think I've ever read a book that's marketed as a thriller that actually made me laugh. But, my friends Chaney will leave you on your toes.... with this deliciously giddy and evil thriller.The novel begins with two wives each decades apart the were married to the same man Matt. Each wife is about to have their ultimate fate at the hands of no other than their loving husband Matt. OR is he?! So... the book sets up a portrait that you think Matt has killed his wives.... how can he possibly get away with murdering not once but twice?! But, is this dark web of lies true... can it be that plainly obvious that the husband is the killer?The story alternates between 1995 and 2018 with dual perspectives of multiple characters which include Matt, his wife Marie, and Janice his other wife. Let me tell you this NOTHING is what it seems in this ride. Secrets, betrayals, and just enough of a twist that will leave you wanting more.My only tiny issue with this one... was the story had a sub plot that in my opinion wasn't necessary to the storyline. It was a tad confusing and threw me off a little bit.I think if you enjoy domestic thrillers and are a fan of secrets, lies, and deception than this is the perfect book for you.Thank you to Netgalley and Flatiron Books for the opportunity to read this in exchange for my honest thoughts.4 sassy stars!Published to GR: 10/7/18Publication date: 1/15/19
    more
  • Kelly (and the Book Boar)
    January 1, 1970
    Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/ Meet Matt and Marie. Married for over two decades, financially stable and parents of college-aged daughters, they look like they could be on a brochure advertising what a successful marriage should look like. There’s just one problem . . . . . Turns out it might be a case of the first time being so nice, Matt decided maybe he should do it twice as readers discover not only has Marie taken a fall off a cliff, but that wifey number one Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/ Meet Matt and Marie. Married for over two decades, financially stable and parents of college-aged daughters, they look like they could be on a brochure advertising what a successful marriage should look like. There’s just one problem . . . . . Turns out it might be a case of the first time being so nice, Matt decided maybe he should do it twice as readers discover not only has Marie taken a fall off a cliff, but that wifey number one died in a house fire that was intentionally set!Like so many other books . . . . . Things get TWISTY! Oh so twisty. I can’t really say much more because DUH the getting there is all the fun. (Such fun!!!!) I said in my 2018 wrap-up I thought 2019 would truly be the year of the domestic thriller for me and boy was I on the money with that statement. 4 Stars instead of 5 because (a) I get sick of the every man is a scumbag narrative rather than simply dealing with the one scumbag at hand – especially when the author decided to wait until ¾ of the way through the book before beating the horse to death with this message and (b) while the police were a necessary part of the story, the subplot of the one detective’s own history was 100% unnecessary. This book was good enough without additional bells and whistles. Still highly recommended as a perfect “beachy read” if you prefer the stabby side of life : )
    more
  • Katie B
    January 1, 1970
    While this book incorporates some of the more trendy type elements found in today's mysteries and thrillers, it actually manages to still feel a bit different than the rest. I wouldn't say I was in love with all aspects of the story, but overall I was pretty darn satisfied.Matt's first wife died under suspicious circumstances. Twenty some years later, he is hiking with his wife, Marie, and according to Matt, she falls off a cliff. While investigators search for her body, they have more than a fe While this book incorporates some of the more trendy type elements found in today's mysteries and thrillers, it actually manages to still feel a bit different than the rest. I wouldn't say I was in love with all aspects of the story, but overall I was pretty darn satisfied.Matt's first wife died under suspicious circumstances. Twenty some years later, he is hiking with his wife, Marie, and according to Matt, she falls off a cliff. While investigators search for her body, they have more than a few questions for Matt. Is he just really unlucky? Is he a murderer?This one was a pretty crazy ride. Yes, some of the twists and turns aren't exactly surprising. However, this is an example of a book in which predictability works in the reader's favor. I was way more interested in watching the story unfold the way I thought it might rather than wanting to be shocked. That's not to say everything in the book you can see coming a mile away, there were one or two times I felt like saying "well-played, JoAnn Chaney, well-played". I only have a few criticisms of the book. I didn't particularly care for Loren's backstory. I get why it was included, but I can't say I felt all that invested for most of it. I also thought some of the dialogue and writing was little over the top and felt like it was written just for shock value. It's not like I haven't heard most of it before, it's more of a case of in certain instances it was too much and didn't sound natural. Overall, I think think this book is worth taking a look at if you like mystery/thrillers. It's not perfect and it definitely fits in the dark and disturbing category, but I found it to be a pretty entertaining read!I won a free advance copy of this book in a giveaway but was under no obligation to post a review. All views expressed are my honest opinion.
    more
  • Jayme
    January 1, 1970
    Till Death do us part, For Better or Worse, As long as we both shall live.“My wife! I think she’s dead!” Matt frantically tells park rangers. His wife has apparently “slipped” while hiking, and has fallen into the treacherous waters below. But his first wife has also died under suspicious circumstances...Could Matt be twice unlucky in love?? This book sounded exactly like the kind of thriller that I would love, but there was SO MUCH wrong with this book that it’s hard to know where to begin with Till Death do us part, For Better or Worse, As long as we both shall live.“My wife! I think she’s dead!” Matt frantically tells park rangers. His wife has apparently “slipped” while hiking, and has fallen into the treacherous waters below. But his first wife has also died under suspicious circumstances...Could Matt be twice unlucky in love?? This book sounded exactly like the kind of thriller that I would love, but there was SO MUCH wrong with this book that it’s hard to know where to begin without giving spoilers, but this review will be “spoiler free”.1. The beginning is HARD to follow..flipping between the deaths of Matt’s first wife, Janice, and his second wife, Marie. The story does this for about 35% and when the story is finally finding its rhythm, the story shifts to what is supposed to be a subplot.2. The subplot, is that one of the detectives investigating the case, Ralph Loren, is also being investigated, and he may have felt that he was “above the law”. It seemed to me, that the book focused more on this, than on Marie’s murder, till the 82% .....Now we finally get back to the women. 3. The most well developed character was Detective Loren...perhaps the book should’ve been marketed as being about this VERY VULGAR detective, with the case about Matt’s two wives both dying suspiciously, the sub plot? (The case he is currently investigating, as he is being investigated himself? ) That is how the book reads, so perhaps the FAIL is in the synopsis and marketing?? 4. The relationships between Matt and Janice, and Matt and Marie, are not well developed and I expected them to be. And, despite the fact that they share two daughters, their daughters appear in the book, only briefly, sticking around just long enough to be interviewed, not long enough to worry with or grieve with their father? So the family dynamic is not even explored with them. 5. We learn everything in the last 20% with the author TELLING you , instead of SHOWING you, what happened, and quite frankly the book will now resemble ANOTHER psychological thriller...the ONE that is even alluded to as one that Marie has on her night stand, and is one that she has read and reread, many times....Unfortunately, this felt like it had bits and pieces of a lot of the psychological thrillers that I have read, therefore none of it felt fresh or original for a reader such as myself who reads a lot in this genre. Perhaps a reader who only reads psychological thrillers on occasion will find this book more satisfying.
    more
  • Dennis
    January 1, 1970
    After binge-reading As Long As You Both Shall Live , JoAnn Chaney, I'm excited to continue on this writing journey with you. Matt and his wife Marie decide to take a hiking trip in the woods in order to salvage their deteriorating marriage. As they are hiking, they decide to climb up a nearby cliff and check out the scenery. When Matt steps away for a bathroom break, he hears his wife scream. When Matt returns, his wife Marie is nowhere to be found. She must've jumped or tripped, he thought, so After binge-reading As Long As You Both Shall Live , JoAnn Chaney, I'm excited to continue on this writing journey with you. Matt and his wife Marie decide to take a hiking trip in the woods in order to salvage their deteriorating marriage. As they are hiking, they decide to climb up a nearby cliff and check out the scenery. When Matt steps away for a bathroom break, he hears his wife scream. When Matt returns, his wife Marie is nowhere to be found. She must've jumped or tripped, he thought, so he calls the police to report the accident, in hopes of finding her. The police are not as optimistic about finding Marie alive, but are also not convinced that this was indeed an accident in the first place. Matt's first wife died in 1995, under similar suspicious circumstances. Detectives Loren and Spengler are assigned to this case and have lots of questions for Matt. They are hesitant to pursue Matt, but also believe that this case is more disturbing than just foul play. The two must dive into Matt's past to really see what he's about. Is this man a full-fledged murderer, or just a guy who's had terrible luck? I know what you are all thinking right now. This sounds like a light domestic mystery with an obvious unreliable narrator—but, you are wrong! The mystery behind Marie's death is very intriguing, as was the mystery behind the death of Matt's first wife, Janice. The story really goes the extra mile that you wouldn't expect in a domestic thriller, and really dives into the lives of Matt, Marie, Janice, Loren, and Spengler. It's a lot more police procedural than I expected it to be, but the story is definitely gripping from the first chapter. The procedural aspect behind Loren and Spengler may not be as delicious as Matt's relationships with his wives, but the pay off is so much greater than I anticipated. I caught myself churning through the last section of the book in record speed. I ignored errands, chores, and my fiance, just to find out what exactly is going on! As Long As You Both Shall Live will be one of those polarizing books of 2019 that we will all have an opinion about, that's for sure. Some of you will love it, and some of you will hate it. It's one of those books that will not leave you unmotivated to discuss. #BookClub2019 I do think that this book could definitely evolve into a series, since Loren and Spengler are both fun, and multifaceted. Even Matt making future appearances would be fun! Thank you Flatiron Books for my advanced copy in exchange for an honest review. As Long As You Both Shall Live will be released January 15, 2019.
    more
  • JoAnn Chaney
    January 1, 1970
    It's one of the best books I've ever written. Wow. 🤣😂🤣
  • Darinda
    January 1, 1970
    Matt and his wife Marie may have some issues, but they've been together for over 20 years. When they go for a hike, and Marie goes over the cliff, Matt is the first suspect in her death. In questioning if Marie's death was an accident or something more sinister, the detectives discover Matt's first wife was murdered. Either Matt's a terribly unlucky guy, or he's hiding something.A twisty psychological thriller full of secrets. It seems everyone has something to hide. The main story of Matt and M Matt and his wife Marie may have some issues, but they've been together for over 20 years. When they go for a hike, and Marie goes over the cliff, Matt is the first suspect in her death. In questioning if Marie's death was an accident or something more sinister, the detectives discover Matt's first wife was murdered. Either Matt's a terribly unlucky guy, or he's hiding something.A twisty psychological thriller full of secrets. It seems everyone has something to hide. The main story of Matt and Marie is very engaging. In addition to their story, there is a subplot with an investigation into one of the police officers. This part of the book was not as interesting, and probably could have been left out.The mystery seemed fairly straightforward, but then it got more and more twisted. This is not an obvious story, and I love that it kept me guessing. A page-turner for sure. Dark, intriguing, and clever. A good read for fans of domestic thrillers.I received an eARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Frank Phillips
    January 1, 1970
    Random thoughts on this book:Man, this book was different than any other thriller I've read recently. OMG, the writing!!!I haven't read this kind of writing in a book in a long, long time. If ever. It was very much adult and almost vulgar at some times, but it totally worked. I found myself laughing out loud at some parts by how graphic and vulgar some parts were. The thing is, it's totally realistic, especially when it comes to how cops talk with each other (my sister is one, so I've seen this Random thoughts on this book:Man, this book was different than any other thriller I've read recently. OMG, the writing!!!I haven't read this kind of writing in a book in a long, long time. If ever. It was very much adult and almost vulgar at some times, but it totally worked. I found myself laughing out loud at some parts by how graphic and vulgar some parts were. The thing is, it's totally realistic, especially when it comes to how cops talk with each other (my sister is one, so I've seen this first hand!). The characters were all fairly unlikable and there was a mystery within a mystery. I knew pretty early on how this one would end, but I'm pretty sure that was the intention. The way it ended left me pretty satisfied. I can't give much more detail than this, because it would give something away, but it's a very solid read! I have Chaney's debut novel, and haven't read it, but understand it's based loosely off of the serial killer John Wayne Gacy, which intrigues me. I would recommend this to those that are able to tolerate some crass language, and humor added in to a murder mystery...pretty much anyone with a sense of humor. For some reason I also feel like Stephen King fans would enjoy this author. Pretty much anyone that enjoys a good police procedural, horror and graphic thrillers, this would be the book for you!
    more
  • Elizabeth
    January 1, 1970
    Tl;dr: The thriller that doesn't have the bells and whistles hype--but totally should as it's one of the best books of 2019. As Long As We Both Shall Live is a must read for fans of twisty and twisted psychological thrillers. And at the risk of sounding like every blurb/marketing copy that makes me roll my eyes: Think Gone Girl all grown up.Yeah, I know, but hear me out!As Long As We Both Shall Live is a bitter, biting, bracing read--a long hard pull at the rot that can fester not just within a Tl;dr: The thriller that doesn't have the bells and whistles hype--but totally should as it's one of the best books of 2019. As Long As We Both Shall Live is a must read for fans of twisty and twisted psychological thrillers. And at the risk of sounding like every blurb/marketing copy that makes me roll my eyes: Think Gone Girl all grown up.Yeah, I know, but hear me out!As Long As We Both Shall Live is a bitter, biting, bracing read--a long hard pull at the rot that can fester not just within a marriage, but within oneself. The summary goes like this--Matt's wife Marie has just died after falling off a cliff during a hike. Accidents happen, it's a tragedy, etc. Except Matt's first wife died in a fire. A fire only he escaped from.The detectives assigned to the case--bitter, more than a little unhinged Ralph (Ralphie) Loren (who has his own past of secrets) and relative newbie Marion Spengler--aren't so sure that Marie's fall was an accident.The thing is, the more they investigate, the more they realize there's more to Matt--and to devoted Marie--than meets the eye.Who wants someone dead? Who is willing to do whatever it takes to get out of Matt and Marie's marriage?And what did happen to Matt's first wife, Janice?This summary? Only a surface scratch. There's a lot more going on here than meets the eye.Now, I'm going to get into spoiler-light territory by talking about how I think As Long As We Both Shall Live is like Gone Girl--but all grown up.SPACEJustIn CaseOk. In Gone Girl, Amy and Nick weren't exactly characters you rooted for, right? But Amy did have an entire childhood of being not just the longed for and only child, she was dissected on the pages of her parents' books--you can see where she got her crazy from to some extent, you know?And Nick? Well, Nick had the capacity to love--once Amy, sort of Andi, then Amy in again (in an obsessive, terrified, and murder-y way)--and he had his mom and the memory of her, and, of course, Go--the rock who loved and supported him no matter what. Plus Boney was there to (eventually) be on Nick's side. As Long As We Both Shall Live tears all of that away. Matt has no family, lived off his first wife while he was getting a college degree and then is with Marie, who spends two plus decades raising their daughters, keeping the house, always running the whole day to day thing that's life. And Marie? No family either. And happy about her life? Not by a long shot. Not with any of it. Especially Matt.The kids? They aren't too broken up about Marie. But they're even less fond of Matt, not even staying with him when Marie is gone. They are and were long gone, checked out of it all as soon as they could.So, no family for Matt and Marie. Nothing and no one but each other for over twenty years. And those twenty plus years have bound them into one big nightmare of a couple. Who do they hate more? Each other or the world?And Loren and Spengler? Dealing with their own stuff and the case. No time--or inclination, more importantly--to find a connection with Matt. Or Marie. They are out to solve the case. Or one of them, at least. Matt and Marie aren't going to haunt them.So we have that twisted thing--that marriage--that Matt and Marie had. And it's an all consuming storm of hate and destruction and all they care about is leveling the other.This is Gone Girl stripped down to its raw livewire nub. There's no one to root for anywhere, no character to lean on, no past to partially explain away the destruction that two people can and will create for each other. Every secret exposes only more desire for annihilation between Matt and Marie. (Janice is a force of chaos too--and she has a long, long reach, claws sunk deep into Matt and Marie)In short, this is what Nick and Amy Dunne could be in twenty years--minus anyone or anything to make them softer. (Aside: there is a cool girl here (Riley) but let's just say she's not of lasting interest. She's there to play a role--for Marie, but for Matt too.)One of my fave quotes:"" I started noticing she was watching a lot of true crime on tv. And there was that book that came out a few years ago, when the wife fakes her death and frames her husband for murder? You know the one? She read that thing over and over. Kept it on her nightstand. I finally went a picked up my own copy and read it myself.""So your wife watches crime tv and reads some books, and that's how we know she's faking her death?" Loren looked incredulous. "Dude, I've been around the block more than a few times, and I've never heard anything quite as stupid as this.""And there we are.As Long As We Both Shall Live pays homage to Gone Girl even as it rips all the niceties of that book away. There's nothing but the cold, brutal, beating hard of love ripped open, ground down, and poured into a one-upshipman game of who can hurt who more to win.Last line: "Are we having fun yet?"Oh yeah, we are.
    more
  • Lisa-Books Smiles
    January 1, 1970
    As Long as We Both Shall Live will be going on my 2019 favorite shelf! The audiobook is fantastic! Everything I love in a good domestic suspense - dark humor and sprinkles of twists and turns throughout the entire novel. You must GO right now and get yourself an audiobook copy and enjoy the ride!
    more
  • Amy
    January 1, 1970
    It’s official, this book is the very first one that I’m adding to my best of 2019 shelf! Yes, I realize that we’re just days into a new year, however this was such an original, engaging read I’m confident about adding it so early!While I really loved the story itself, (I’m a sucker for a domestic suspense) what really made this one stand out for me was the authors style. There was something darkly humorous about the writing, black comedy at it’s finest that just reeled me in and never let go. Di It’s official, this book is the very first one that I’m adding to my best of 2019 shelf! Yes, I realize that we’re just days into a new year, however this was such an original, engaging read I’m confident about adding it so early!While I really loved the story itself, (I’m a sucker for a domestic suspense) what really made this one stand out for me was the authors style. There was something darkly humorous about the writing, black comedy at it’s finest that just reeled me in and never let go. Diving into Matt and Marie’s marriage was wickedly fun, they’re a unique couple to say the least and then there’s a heavy police procedural vibe as you also hear from two detectives working the case, Loren and Spengler. It was a nice balance and the whole book flowed really smoothly and just when you get settled in and think you know where things are going, you get knocked on the ass with some twists. I never would’ve worked out the end on my own which I love, highly recommended if you want something that reads fresh.As Long As We Both Shall Live in three words: Wicked, Addictive and Unpredictable.
    more
  • Emily
    January 1, 1970
    The synopsis of As Long As We Both Shall Live Sounds like something I would love - it seemed to be a twisty domestic thriller with untrustworthy characters. I don't know why the marketing team is trying so hard to present it in this genre. Although I was hooked at the beginning, this one ended up not working out for me. This book is much more focused on the procedural aspect than the synopsis let on. I very quickly lost interest after pages and pages of cop politics. I occasionally enjoy procedu The synopsis of As Long As We Both Shall Live Sounds like something I would love - it seemed to be a twisty domestic thriller with untrustworthy characters. I don't know why the marketing team is trying so hard to present it in this genre. Although I was hooked at the beginning, this one ended up not working out for me. This book is much more focused on the procedural aspect than the synopsis let on. I very quickly lost interest after pages and pages of cop politics. I occasionally enjoy procedurals, but they are definitely not my favorite. The back stories of the cops received a lot of attention, and I just didn't care. After a while, the chapters start alternating with something else going on in one of the cops' lives, which left me skimming a decent amount of the book. I feel like this book tried way too hard to have 500 twists, and many of them felt inspired by two other popular thrillers from recent years (not going to name them to avoid spoilers). This story would have been more effective if it was simplified even a little bit. I wasn't a fan of the ending, and everything that I had been waiting for was all smushed together. It felt rushed after everything else had dragged.
    more
  • Amitaf0208
    January 1, 1970
    4 twisty stars!!! definite Gone Girl vibes!
  • Kimberly Dawn
    January 1, 1970
    This book is a thrill ride from the beginning, and one I didn’t want to finish! I thoroughly loved both reading the written word and listening to the audiobook expertly narrated by Christina Delaine, in a spirited and lively audio performance that is a perfect fit for the book. The writing has energy and charge, with earthy dialogue between an unhappily married couple in which the disgust and contempt ring all too true. Joann Chaney plucks real life stories from the newspaper headlines and total This book is a thrill ride from the beginning, and one I didn’t want to finish! I thoroughly loved both reading the written word and listening to the audiobook expertly narrated by Christina Delaine, in a spirited and lively audio performance that is a perfect fit for the book. The writing has energy and charge, with earthy dialogue between an unhappily married couple in which the disgust and contempt ring all too true. Joann Chaney plucks real life stories from the newspaper headlines and totally runs with it, weaving a creatively mind blowing backstory, while maintaining a complex, thrilling murder investigation throughout. Smart, tough, no nonsense women abound, with sharp observations on marriage, on living and on working in a man’s world. The many nuances of long term marriage are explored, from the mundane to the deep, dark secrets that often lie hidden under picture perfect facades. Her characters are multifaceted and quirky. Wives for the most part didn’t embark upon marriage with ill intentions, but grew resentful over disrespectful behavior and hurtful, shameless indiscretions. One deputy in particular enjoys nothing more than dishing out raunchy, outrageous put downs, yet he proves to have a caring side also. Joann Chaney doesn’t shy away from a good laugh, has a firm grasp on the investigative process, long term marriage, and is determined that her characters be real, flaws and all.What more could I ask? It doesn’t get much better than this!
    more
  • Renee (itsbooktalk.com)
    January 1, 1970
    I'm between a 2.5-3 stars I really enjoyed the beginning of this book. The first sentence pulled me in and I had to know what was going on with a husband that would say that about his wife. WE soon meet Matt ,who's married to Janice, and we quickly learn they aren't happily married. Janice makes a discovery that leads them both in directions quite unexpected. Fast forward 20 years later and Matt is married to Marie who just happens to fall off a cliff while they are on a trip for their 20th wedd I'm between a 2.5-3 stars I really enjoyed the beginning of this book. The first sentence pulled me in and I had to know what was going on with a husband that would say that about his wife. WE soon meet Matt ,who's married to Janice, and we quickly learn they aren't happily married. Janice makes a discovery that leads them both in directions quite unexpected. Fast forward 20 years later and Matt is married to Marie who just happens to fall off a cliff while they are on a trip for their 20th wedding anniversary. Question is, is Matt killing his wives? If he is, will he get away with it? Enter the police and the story has a subplot involving one of the detectives, Loren, who's a real creep. I have to say, I wasn't interested in the backstory of Loren and whether he killed his partner 30 years ago. Going back and forth between the 2 storylines felt disorganized, almost as if I was reading 2 separate books tossed together to make one story. I also became less invested in caring about Matt and Marie as the story went on. It very much felt like the author was trying to write a story similar to Gone Girl. In the end, I found it pretty predictable
    more
  • Danielle (The Blonde Likes Books)
    January 1, 1970
    I was really excited about this one, but unfortunately it just didn’t work for me. It started off interestingly enough, but I hated absolutely every character, and really struggled with the plausibility of everything. I did see some of the twists coming, but some of them just seemed too outlandish and I struggled to suspend disbelief with this one.
    more
  • Brandy
    January 1, 1970
    It has been said that marriage is much like a deck of cards. In the beginning all you need is two hearts and a diamond. By the end, you wish you had a club and a spade. As Long As We Both Shall Live, is a devilish, devious, delicious read that makes you realize marriage can be murder. I mean, the author says it perfectly with, “You can’t be married to someone without sometimes wanting to kill them.....” Chaney gets 5+stars for this tale of martial terror.
    more
  • Chandra Claypool (wherethereadergrows)
    January 1, 1970
    "If you try to kill your wife without a plan, you will fail. There are plenty of assholes who do just that, men who decide to murder their significant other on the spur of the moment because they're angry or drunk or jealous or just plain tired of the nagging or they don't want to go through the hassle of a divorce, and they get caught. They always get caught."And with that beginning, I was hooked and found myself spiraling my way into this crazy read. Men are known to be aggressive, conniving a "If you try to kill your wife without a plan, you will fail. There are plenty of assholes who do just that, men who decide to murder their significant other on the spur of the moment because they're angry or drunk or jealous or just plain tired of the nagging or they don't want to go through the hassle of a divorce, and they get caught. They always get caught."And with that beginning, I was hooked and found myself spiraling my way into this crazy read. Men are known to be aggressive, conniving and manipulative at times. Cheating on their wives, making their wives feel they are going crazy and start questioning themselves. They think they're so clever.. but really, it's the women you don't want to piss off. Women are patient, calculating and when they have their minds set to something... well, you don't want to be on the bad side of their anger.When in a relationship for a long time, particularly a marriage, things can start to get dull, complacent. The cute things you loved at the beginning are now nothing more than tingles under the skin that get more and more irritating. But then there are moments where you remember why you married that person... why you fell in love with them. And those are the things you grasp onto... for better or worse, that's a marriage, no? Matt and Marie take a hiking trip - a romantic trip to try and flame the embers of their long dilapidated marriage. Next thing you know Marie has fallen off the side of a cliff. Matt's wife has died... again. This isn't his first marriage where his wife has died and he has been exonerated. But where does the truth begin when the lies start to fall apart around him?This book is all over the place but in a good way. I really enjoyed Spengler - and the advice her mom gives her "You squeeze all their balls now." Maybe I related to her because we're both 1/2 Korean and I understood the hassles she went through. I can only imagine how hard it is to be in the law enforcement field as a woman who doesn't get taken seriously enough. Her bite made me giggle on more than one occasion. I'm not sure if the background or side story within that field was really necessary but I also enjoyed it - along with the camaraderie between her and Loren.There's a lot going on within this story. I found myself going AHA at around page 180 thinking I knew what was going to happen and I was half right... which hell, I gave myself a pat on the back for. But nope - it went just a tiny bit in a different direction. Look, for avid thriller readers, this will be nothing too new. However, this is most definite binge worthy read. Short chapters, page turners and well, damn... I do love some crazy ass people so for me, pure love for this story. I also enjoyed the different headings for each section. Kept me singing in my head - like I need more noise there. ;)Thanks so much Flatiron for this book.
    more
  • Mindi
    January 1, 1970
    I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.As someone who has been married for a number of years, and actually experienced a divorce, this book is a really interesting reflection on the ups and downs of being married, and the complications and hurdles that every couple experiences in a partnership. Of course the complications are dialed up to 11 in this one, but other than the over-the-top characters and their insanely complex machinations, this book will hopefully I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.As someone who has been married for a number of years, and actually experienced a divorce, this book is a really interesting reflection on the ups and downs of being married, and the complications and hurdles that every couple experiences in a partnership. Of course the complications are dialed up to 11 in this one, but other than the over-the-top characters and their insanely complex machinations, this book will hopefully remind readers to appreciate their marriage and hopefully make them feel even closer to their spouses. There's complicated, and then there's just flat out crazy.Chaney chooses to explore the crazy side of marriage in As Long as We Both Shall Live. Matt Evans is visiting Rocky Mountain National Park with is wife Marie when she falls to her death off of a cliff. A frantic Matt runs to the park rangers to help them search for his wife in the river that flows beneath the cliff, but most likely she didn't survive the fall. After the search continues for a couple of days the police are brought into the investigation. They quickly learn that Matt was married to another woman in 1995, and that she died too under mysterious circumstances. Suddenly, everyone is wondering if Marie fell, or if Matt pushed her from that ledge.What follows is enough twists and turns to make your head spin. I kept trying to guess where Chaney was taking the story, but she was always one step ahead of me. Without giving anything away, I feel as if this book is an homage to a popular thriller from a few years ago. However, Chaney takes that concept and turns it on its head more than once. This is a fast-paced, well written thriller that will keep you guessing until the very end.
    more
  • Diana Iozzia (Bookworm Banter)
    January 1, 1970
    “As Long as We Both Shall Live”Written by Joann ChaneyReview by Diana IozziaI received a free copy of this book in exchange for reviewing purposes. I personally think I missed the mark when I read this book. This mystery / thriller book is best suited for fans of true crime news and media. I am one who very rarely enjoys watching and reading about these types of stories, so I felt that this book was not my type of thriller. I disliked the way that this story is told. We first read from before bo “As Long as We Both Shall Live”Written by Joann ChaneyReview by Diana IozziaI received a free copy of this book in exchange for reviewing purposes. I personally think I missed the mark when I read this book. This mystery / thriller book is best suited for fans of true crime news and media. I am one who very rarely enjoys watching and reading about these types of stories, so I felt that this book was not my type of thriller. I disliked the way that this story is told. We first read from before both Janice and Marie are presumed dead. I have to warn: this book is nothing like you think it will be. There are twists upon twists in a way that was not entirely pleasant. We also read in perspectives about the detectives. There are so many different aspects that I cannot tell, because this review is spoiler free. I might eventually plan to write a spoiler version of this review, but for now, you should be safe.Matt’s two wives have mysteriously disappeared and been assumed dead. First, twenty some years ago. We have the most recent disappearance as our catalyst. We follow Matt protest his interest, but we learn less than comforting secrets about him and the wives.My least favorite aspect of this book is the detective investigation. Detective Ralph Loren (ha ha, so funny) is the nastiest, most inappropriate and irritating cop I’ve read so far. His boys’ club narrative is full of filthy language and just stupid dialogue. In this day and age, why would it be entertaining to write or read a character like this? We do not love to hate him, we just hate him. I would have much preferred the story to be completely apart from the detectives, just focusing on Matt, Janice’s, and Marie’s perspective. About half way through, we are clued in on the secret. I do not think it’s a great secret, but it goes to show how many thrillers this book was ‘inspired’ by. I enjoy one of the characters that comes out of this revelation. We also choose to sympathize or feel completely apathetic, while also questioning our moral stance on certain topics. Would you make the same decisions as these characters if you were placed in this situation?In all, I did not enjoy this book. There were too many aspects I did not like. Too many twists led to an anticlimactic ending. I would read Joann Chaney’s writing again, but I would hope it would be different from this. She has a great writing style, but I believe she focuses on too little of what I like to read in a thriller. Some readers might enjoy this, but I just did not like it. I do not think it is a ‘bad book’, but it is certainly not my type. As I mentioned earlier, I recommend this to fans of true crime. I felt the stories were reminiscent of the case of Drew Peterson and possibly also Scott Peterson.I received a free copy of this book in exchange for reviewing purposes.
    more
  • Bridgett
    January 1, 1970
    And maybe that was love. The body’s chemical reaction to finding a person who irritates you less than everyone else. This book surprised me--in the best way possible. JoAnn Chaney is an incredibly talented writer. She's an expert in pulling you in, teasing you with little clues, revealing a small twist, pulling back again and letting you make your own assumptions, teasing a little more, revealing another small twist...and it was a total hoot! I was thoroughly entertained. I'll be honest, desp And maybe that was love. The body’s chemical reaction to finding a person who irritates you less than everyone else. This book surprised me--in the best way possible. JoAnn Chaney is an incredibly talented writer. She's an expert in pulling you in, teasing you with little clues, revealing a small twist, pulling back again and letting you make your own assumptions, teasing a little more, revealing another small twist...and it was a total hoot! I was thoroughly entertained. I'll be honest, despite being an avid reader of thrillers, I wasn't entirely sure how this book would end--and I enjoyed every single minute my nose was buried in As Long as We Both Shall Live: A Novel. Matt and Marie were both pretty deplorable characters, but I did find myself rooting for one over the other. (I won't tell who.) They were ruthless. Surprisingly, there were also a few twists which genuinely threw me for a loop. And I thoroughly enjoyed the song lyrics used to separate each section...it was quirky. I like quirky. I have to say, I didn't notice the excessive profanity other reviewers have mentioned. It seemed to me this book was pretty in-line, language-wise, with every other thriller/suspense novel I've read in the last few years. Let's be real, folks...serial killers, rapists, and other criminal varieties aren't going to speak as though they're sitting in a church pew. Incidentally, neither will cops. Giving a thriller or suspense novel a bad review because of profanity, is like giving a romance novel a bad review because the characters KISS! It's a pretty unrealistic expectation from a reader. Anyway. Moving on...This novel is anything but predictable. It's a super fun, fast-paced, easy read...and I recommend it to one and all. There are two dilemmas that rattle the human soul. How do you hold on to someone who won’t stay? And how do you get rid of someone who won’t go? —Danny DeVito, The War of the Roses
    more
  • Denise
    January 1, 1970
    Read this if you are in the mood for a seriously twisted, totally warped and fiendishly crazy book about the marriage from hell!"...that's how marriages were -- like a private room for two, where no one else could see inside."Matt and Marie have been married for over 20 years and they've definitely had their ups and downs. Now wealthy with two college-aged daughters living away from home, they find themselves face to face, alone with each other and returning to some old habits. Current status: t Read this if you are in the mood for a seriously twisted, totally warped and fiendishly crazy book about the marriage from hell!"...that's how marriages were -- like a private room for two, where no one else could see inside."Matt and Marie have been married for over 20 years and they've definitely had their ups and downs. Now wealthy with two college-aged daughters living away from home, they find themselves face to face, alone with each other and returning to some old habits. Current status: they both love -- and hate -- their spouse but what can be done since divorce is so expensive and out of the question. They've been working on their marriage for years, seen therapists, tried to make it together. So when the couple decides to go on a hiking trip to Estes Park they find some inspiration in the mountains. But! Tragedy strikes when Marie falls from a cliff into the roaring river beneath. Things go from bad to worse for Matt when he becomes the prime suspect as the police begin to think the fall was no accident. It seems that Matt has a history: his first wife died under some very suspicious circumstances. Detectives Spengler and Loren (a mismatched pairing if there ever was one) are investigating the death and come to some very surprising conclusions. NO SPOILERS. What a fun book that is chock-full of some of the most unlikeable and outlandish characters ever! I found it almost laugh-out-loud funny at times, especially with the aside observations. I liked the style of the narrative as it switched between the characters and the use of the second person point of view was masterfully handled. I really enjoyed this one more than I expected, thinking I'd had it with twisty psychological thrillers that seemed just like all the others, and I had a great sigh of satisfaction at the ending. So, suspend your disbelief and go along for this rocky ride without thinking too much about tedious little details or tiny things like realism! And don't let it put you off from the idea of marriage LOL, it's doubtful you'll find a soulmate in each other as this couple did. Thank you to NetGalley and Flatiron Books for the e-book ARC to read and review. It kept me thoroughly entertained!
    more
  • Jamie Canaves
    January 1, 1970
    A wicked page-turner sprinkled with dark humor that should be the hit thriller of 2019! You're going to want to be ahead of the hype. So preorder, be first on your library hold list, mark your calendar. I absolutely adore JoAnn Chaney’s wicked brain. Her writing is sharp, insightful, and darkly funny. And wow can she write a deliciously evil and giddy page-turner! The novel starts with two wives, decades apart, same husband. Each wife about to reach her fate at the hands of her husband. But how A wicked page-turner sprinkled with dark humor that should be the hit thriller of 2019! You're going to want to be ahead of the hype. So preorder, be first on your library hold list, mark your calendar. I absolutely adore JoAnn Chaney’s wicked brain. Her writing is sharp, insightful, and darkly funny. And wow can she write a deliciously evil and giddy page-turner! The novel starts with two wives, decades apart, same husband. Each wife about to reach her fate at the hands of her husband. But how can a spouse possibly get away with murder? Twice?! Enter the first detective who doesn’t believe the husband’s story and then decades later two more detectives who don’t believe the husband’s current story when they find out the first story. The book brilliantly gives you slices into each characters life and brain while not only giving you the two focal mysteries but one of the current detectives is accused of murdering a previous partner. I know! I am so excited for everyone to get to experience this ride of a book!!!!--from Book Riot's Unusual Suspects newsletter: https://link.bookriot.com/view/56a820...
    more
  • Rae
    January 1, 1970
    As Long As We Both Shall Live by JoAnn Chaney is an adventurous romp through the ups and downs of marriage with a dash of murder thrown in. When Matt claims that his wife, Marie, plunged to her death at Estes State Park, Matt is immediately pinned as a suspect. After all, his first wife also died under suspicious circumstances. All is not what it seems, however . . .This audiobook was so much fun to listen to! I really enjoyed the twists and turns in this novel, and let me tell you, it’s delight As Long As We Both Shall Live by JoAnn Chaney is an adventurous romp through the ups and downs of marriage with a dash of murder thrown in. When Matt claims that his wife, Marie, plunged to her death at Estes State Park, Matt is immediately pinned as a suspect. After all, his first wife also died under suspicious circumstances. All is not what it seems, however . . .This audiobook was so much fun to listen to! I really enjoyed the twists and turns in this novel, and let me tell you, it’s delightfully twisted! As Long As We Both Shall Live is well-written and fast-paced. It has a wonderful unputdownable quality. Once you crack this book open, get comfortable! You won’t want to put it down.The book jumps back and forth between present and past and delves into the minds of Matt, Marie, and the two detectives, Loren and Spengler. I appreciated the dynamic changes of perspective. These shifts helped shape the overall story and provided the full picture of Matt and Marie’s bizarre relationship.And can we talk about Matt and Marie’s bizarre relationship? They take “as long as we both shall live” literally. Very literally. They love each other. They hate each other. They can’t stay away from each other. Reading about their relationship had me cringing at times, imaging the stress of so much drama.I loved learning about Matt’s first wife and all the circumstances that led to her death. Again, the twists and turns were incredible!The build up to Marie’s fall was well done. At the beginning of the book you’re led to believe one thing, but by the middle of the story, you’re second guessing everything you know about the situation. I like having my assumptions challenged.While the overall story was excellent, the ending was a little abrupt for my taste. I’m not sure what I was expecting, but I think I needed more explanation about where everyone landed to feel warm and cozy about how the book wrapped up.The characters in the book were nicely written. While the characters themselves didn’t have a lot of depth, the situations and circumstances really shaped the characters. I enjoyed getting to know Matt and Marie throughout this story.If you enjoy reading books with lots of twists, consider picking up As Long As We Both Shall Live. I had a lot of fun reading this book!Thank you to MacMillan Audio for providing the audiobook version of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Cassie-Traveling Sister-
    January 1, 1970
    Ok any book that begins with the line “so here’s the thing, if you want to kill your wife, don’t , don’t kill her don’t touch her. Ditch the bitch if you have to get on with your life”. This was a twisted dark psychological thriller when you think you have figured everything out you really haven’t. The novel begins in 1995 Janice and Matt were married. One year later Janice would be dead. Matt has been cheating on Janice after less than a year of marriage. She decides to go to work late one day Ok any book that begins with the line “so here’s the thing, if you want to kill your wife, don’t , don’t kill her don’t touch her. Ditch the bitch if you have to get on with your life”. This was a twisted dark psychological thriller when you think you have figured everything out you really haven’t. The novel begins in 1995 Janice and Matt were married. One year later Janice would be dead. Matt has been cheating on Janice after less than a year of marriage. She decides to go to work late one day to catch matt in the act with another woman. She walks to door and a single gunshot is heard and the house ends up in flames and the firefighters find a woman’s dead body in the bed. Only surviver Matt. Fast forward to 2018 on trip to Estes Park Colorado. Matt and his now wife of 20years Marie are taking a hike for their anniversary. While Matt is “taking a leak” Marie is heard screaming “please don’t stop”!! Matt runs to find a park ranger and tells him Marie fell from a cliff! Now Matt joins the search party looking for Marie. Det Spangler and Det Loren are put on the case to investigate matt and his now two dead wives. The only issue is that detective Loren has a shady past he may have three possible murders from 30 years ago that can not be proven. Loren heads to Matt’s office and finds a map with an x where Marie fell. The insurance was upped on Marie. Evidence is piling up on matt. But when a body shows up in the river below where Marie fell and it’s not hers but a woman from Matt’s office he was having an affair with where is Marie’s body? How can matt have two dead wives is it just bad luck? Did he also murder his girlfriend? This book had everything for me and I could not believe the sudden twisted ending! Anyone who loves dark twisted novels with tons of dark psychological turns pick this book up on January 15 2019!
    more
  • Jamie
    January 1, 1970
    Talk about twisty, creepy goodness! When Matt's wife Marie falls from a cliff to her death on the couple's weekend getaway a horrific accident quickly becomes so much more. Immediately following the incident, police officers piece together that this is actually Matt's second wife to die under less than kosher circumstances! With the suspicion turned on Matt, he is thrust into the spotlight and threads begin to unravel. Is Matt really unlucky or is there more here than what meets the eye? Chaney Talk about twisty, creepy goodness! When Matt's wife Marie falls from a cliff to her death on the couple's weekend getaway a horrific accident quickly becomes so much more. Immediately following the incident, police officers piece together that this is actually Matt's second wife to die under less than kosher circumstances! With the suspicion turned on Matt, he is thrust into the spotlight and threads begin to unravel. Is Matt really unlucky or is there more here than what meets the eye? Chaney mastered the art of pacing and dropping the "twist hammer" in her second novel. I was genuinely shocked as the twists revealed themselves and finishing this book had me desperately wanting to run back and grab her first novel!I received an advanced copy. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Jackie
    January 1, 1970
    I won this book in a giveaway. A solid 3. It’s an easy read and an interesting idea. There were certain parts (a certain characters backstory that didn’t fit in with the flow of the book) that bothered me a bit. Additionally halfway through and it stopped holding me. But overall good idea, decent characters and an alright plot
    more
  • Donna
    January 1, 1970
    The first sentence in the book says, "If you try to kill your wife without a plan, you will fail." Oh, dear this doesn't bode well for the wife.After over 20 years of marriage, Matt and Marie spend a few days together by hiking in the Rocky Mountain National Forest in Colorado. One evening, Matt comes running down the mountain saying his wife fell off a cliff. Rangers begin a search and rescue. Detectives Marion Spengler and Ralph Loren question Matt. He swears it was an accident. Soon they disc The first sentence in the book says, "If you try to kill your wife without a plan, you will fail." Oh, dear this doesn't bode well for the wife.After over 20 years of marriage, Matt and Marie spend a few days together by hiking in the Rocky Mountain National Forest in Colorado. One evening, Matt comes running down the mountain saying his wife fell off a cliff. Rangers begin a search and rescue. Detectives Marion Spengler and Ralph Loren question Matt. He swears it was an accident. Soon they discover Matt's first wife Janice died in a suspicious fire. Someone else was sent to prison but the police have always had doubts. Did he get away with murder once and now he's done it again?For a second plot, Det. Loren's former partner disappeared thirty years ago and the body has just been found in an unmarked grave. The partner's wife and baby have never been found. One cop is sure Loren killed his partner but the rest of the brotherhood seem to be giving him a pass.The story goes back and forth in time between 1995 and 2018. At the halfway point of the book, I was rating it a 3. Then came a big twist and then another one. Nothing is what I thought it was. As the story came to a close, I gave a chuckle because the ending seemed so fitting.
    more
Write a review