The Proposal
The author of The Wedding Date serves up a novel about what happens when a public proposal doesn't turn into a happy ending, thanks to a woman who knows exactly how to make one on her own...When someone asks you to spend your life with him, it shouldn't come as a surprise--or happen in front of 45,000 people.When freelance writer Nikole Paterson goes to a Dodgers game with her actor boyfriend, his man bun, and his bros, the last thing she expects is a scoreboard proposal. Saying no isn't the hard part--they've only been dating for five months, and he can't even spell her name correctly. The hard part is having to face a stadium full of disappointed fans...At the game with his sister, Carlos Ibarra comes to Nik's rescue and rushes her away from a camera crew. He's even there for her when the video goes viral and Nik's social media blows up--in a bad way. Nik knows that in the wilds of LA, a handsome doctor like Carlos can't be looking for anything serious, so she embarks on an epic rebound with him, filled with food, fun, and fantastic sex. But when their glorified hookups start breaking the rules, one of them has to be smart enough to put on the brakes...

The Proposal Details

TitleThe Proposal
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseOct 30th, 2018
PublisherBerkley Books
ISBN-139780399587689
Rating
GenreRomance, Fiction, Contemporary, Adult, Contemporary Romance

The Proposal Review

  • Roxane
    January 1, 1970
    I really enjoyed Jasmine Guillory's debut novel, The Wedding Date, so I was really excited to get my hands on The Proposal which is an even stronger, more charming novel. Nik is at a Dodgers game with her boyfriend of five months, when he proposes to her on the Jumbotron, but it's all bad. He spells her name wrong. She turns him down. The thousands of people watching are judging her, and then the handsome doctor, Carlos Ibarra and his sister Angela, swoop in to save the day, hustling Nik out of I really enjoyed Jasmine Guillory's debut novel, The Wedding Date, so I was really excited to get my hands on The Proposal which is an even stronger, more charming novel. Nik is at a Dodgers game with her boyfriend of five months, when he proposes to her on the Jumbotron, but it's all bad. He spells her name wrong. She turns him down. The thousands of people watching are judging her, and then the handsome doctor, Carlos Ibarra and his sister Angela, swoop in to save the day, hustling Nik out of the stadium and into a bar where her friends are waiting to help her lick her wounds. This is such a warm, engaging romance novel, where we see Nik and Carlos start as friends and then become more than friends, and try to figure out if they can love and allow themselves to be loved, while dealing with all manner of baggage. There is so much to relate to and throughout the novel, there is a sharp feminist edge. Loved this one, and you will too.
    more
  • Melanie
    January 1, 1970
    ARC provided by Berkley in exchange for an honest review. “Deciding to spend your life together shouldn’t be a surprise” I loved The Wedding Date earlier this year, and when I found out that this was going to star one of the side characters I knew I couldn’t resist putting in an ARC request. This was a joy to read, from the first page to the last. Both of Jasmine’s books have been so intelligently, beautifully, and masterfully crafted. The Proposal is an ownvoices novel that follows a woman wh ARC provided by Berkley in exchange for an honest review. “Deciding to spend your life together shouldn’t be a surprise” I loved The Wedding Date earlier this year, and when I found out that this was going to star one of the side characters I knew I couldn’t resist putting in an ARC request. This was a joy to read, from the first page to the last. Both of Jasmine’s books have been so intelligently, beautifully, and masterfully crafted. The Proposal is an ownvoices novel that follows a woman who is completely blindsided by a marriage proposal at Dodger Stadium. Yet, before the camera crews come in to make a terrible situation even worse, she is saved by a stranger in the stands, and his sister. ➽ Nikole Paterson - Black, freelance journalist, and the woman who just got surprise proposed to after only five months of dating her partner. ➽ Carlos Ibarra - Latino, pediatrician, the stranger in the stands that we already were introduced to in The Wedding Date. And we get to see these two build a friendship, and maybe something more, after everything went down at Dodger Stadium. Neither one of them are at a point in their life where they are willing to start something new, but they have each other’s backs and prove that they are there for one another. Don’t get me wrong, I love Nik and Carlos with my whole heart, but Nik’s friends almost stole the show for me in this novel. Dana is an actress, black, and a lesbian, and has the freakin’ cutest f/f side romance ever. Like, please, I need a full-length novel right this second. And Courtney is a cupcake shop owner, Asian, and plus sized. And I think I had a smile from ear-to-ear every time she was on the page. Seriously, Nik, Dana, and Courtney are the definition of friendship goals and it was a joy to read. But probably my favorite thing in this book were the seamlessly woven important themes. There was also such a subtle, yet loud, message about how easy it is to not realize you are in an emotionally abusive relationship. And sometimes you don’t start to realize until you are completely secluded from your friends and family. Yet, it also shows that there always can be ways out, even if you have to wait a while, and that it is never too late once you realize when someone is being abusive.There was also such a beautiful discussion about how important it is to reclaim your safety after you have been violated or felt that it was threatened. Throughout this story, we see Nik take those steps, and it just meant a lot to me, personally. I also loved how she had friends helping along the way. The reason I did end up giving this four stars, and not five, was because I felt like Carlos acted a little questionably at the end. Trust me, it pains me to say, because I do love him so much. Yet, with the way he and Nik met, you would think that he would understand how she would react to a (quicker) repeat. I’m trying to be vague, but his actions just left me side-eyeing a little at the end, and just dampened my enjoyment overall. Yet, I still loved this book, and I think Jasmine Guillory is such an impressive author. I can’t wait to read any and everything she writes. The romance world just needs more books like The Proposal and The Wedding Date! I completely recommend this one! Blog | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Youtube | TwitchThe quote above was taken from an ARC and is subject to change upon publication.Content and trigger warnings for public humiliation, racist comments (always in a negative light and challenged), talk of past emotional abuse, brief assault (slap on the butt), talk of past loss of a loved one, brief mention of child abuse, brief mention of past miscarriage, and pregnancy complications. Buddy Read with Lilly, Stephanie, & Leigh! ❤❤ I also read this for Contemporary-a-thon!
    more
  • Christy
    January 1, 1970
    4 stars!!! I fell in love with Jasmine Guillory’s fresh and charming debut novel, The Wedding Date, so when I saw she had a new book coming out, I knew I had to read it. This author is not a one-hit wonder. I loved The Proposal just as much as at The Wedding Date. Carlos is an amazing man and I want to be besties with Nik and her girls! Nik is at a Dodger’s game with her casual boyfriend, Fisher. The very last thing she is expecting at this game is a proposal. I mean, who proposes to someone the 4 stars!!! I fell in love with Jasmine Guillory’s fresh and charming debut novel, The Wedding Date, so when I saw she had a new book coming out, I knew I had to read it. This author is not a one-hit wonder. I loved The Proposal just as much as at The Wedding Date. Carlos is an amazing man and I want to be besties with Nik and her girls! 

Nik is at a Dodger’s game with her casual boyfriend, Fisher. The very last thing she is expecting at this game is a proposal. I mean, who proposes to someone they’ve been dating for 5 months? And someone they’re not even serious about? Nik is befuddled and of course says no. Fisher storms out and it puts Nik in a position. Thankfully, Carlos and his sister, Angela help Nik out and get her out of there. Carlos likes Nik right away. There is something about her that draws him to her. Neither one of them are looking for a relationship, but they form this friendship, and that friendship turns into sex. As long as it’s just friends with benefits things will be fine. Nik can’t do a relationship now, and Carlos has too many family things on his plate. But when someone catches the feelings- things get a little tricky. If you’ve read The Wedding Date, you know Carlos is best friends with Drew. It was nice to get their little cameo in this book. I hope this series of stand-alones continues. I would love to get a book for either one of Jasmine’s friends. I loved both Dana and Courtney! 

Carlos was by far my favorite character in this book. He was such a stand-up guy. He wasn’t independent by a strong and independent woman. I love how devoted he was to his family, how he truly cares for people, and he cooks. Don’t we all want a man to cook for us? I just adored him! Nik was great, too. She has a big heart and is a great friend/woman. If you are a fan of friends to lovers books, The Proposal is one you need to check out. It’s sweet, heartwarming, steamy, and made me laugh out loud several times. I enjoyed this one lots!
    more
  • Whitney Atkinson
    January 1, 1970
    This book's saving grace was its superb representation: a black main character, latino love interest, black lesbian side character, and fat Korean side character.Otherwise, I wished I could love this book, but it just wasn't at all what I was hoping it to be. I'm mainly frustrated with this book because it wasn't pitched at ALL as a sequel or companion to Jasmine's first book, but literally half the book involves the two characters from her debut. I was really disappointed that I got 50% of the This book's saving grace was its superb representation: a black main character, latino love interest, black lesbian side character, and fat Korean side character.Otherwise, I wished I could love this book, but it just wasn't at all what I was hoping it to be. I'm mainly frustrated with this book because it wasn't pitched at ALL as a sequel or companion to Jasmine's first book, but literally half the book involves the two characters from her debut. I was really disappointed that I got 50% of the way into this before realizing that. It really should be marketed better as a companion novel, because I feel like I lost out on half of the storyline. My other major issue with this book is that the writing is just so basic. From clichés to a remarkable lack of originality in descriptions, I was just left wanting more with every page. The dialogue is corny a lot of the time, and the inner monologue alongside it felt very immature and stunted. Not just as a reader, but from an editorial standpoint, I think the writing needed tweaking (ie. the characters CONSTANTLY laugh at what the other says to the point where it's every other line; the speaker tags should be more varied.)Also, most of the sex scenes in this book are skipped over, and the two that exist are so short and bland. I was expecting a lot more from a book marketed as romance. I really wanted to read Jasmine's first book, but after those characters appeared in this book, it would be too weird to go back in time and see them when they're not together. If you liked Jasmine's first book then you'll probably enjoy this, but I'm just super let down that it was a sequel I didn't know about, and I wasn't a fan of the writing style.
    more
  • Chelsea (chelseadolling reads)
    January 1, 1970
    This was was a lot of fun! The writing left some things to be desired, but the Los Angeles setting and the characters (Carlos 😍🤤) made up for that and I'm not mad about it. I definitely enjoyed this one A LOT more than the Wedding Date and I recommend checking this one out when it publishes next month!I received an advance copy of this from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jessica
    January 1, 1970
    I received this book for free from the publisher (Berkley Books) in exchange for an honest review. Please note that I have not read The Wedding Date, so all the characters in this book were brand new to me. I also cannot speak to how this book compares with that book. It took me forever to read this book because I just started law school, but this was such a fun romance! First off, I loved the diversity! The main character is black. One of her friends is a plus sized Korean American. The other i I received this book for free from the publisher (Berkley Books) in exchange for an honest review. Please note that I have not read The Wedding Date, so all the characters in this book were brand new to me. I also cannot speak to how this book compares with that book. It took me forever to read this book because I just started law school, but this was such a fun romance! First off, I loved the diversity! The main character is black. One of her friends is a plus sized Korean American. The other is a black lesbian. The love interest is Latino. It was just so refreshing to see and read about, especially since the book takes place in Los Angeles which is so diverse. The premise of being proposed to at a baseball game (if only it wasn’t a Dodgers game- Go Giants!) and saying no was so creative and fun. I could picture this being turned into a great rom-com movie. I also loved the overall vibe of the book. It felt very LA. Like when I was reading it, I could totally tell that it was LA and I felt like I was there with the characters. The romance was really good as well. Nik and Carlos made a great couple. I loved their interactions, especially the ones with Carlos’s family. His family is the best. The ending for me fell a little flat which is why I gave this 4 stars. It ended quickly and I wished that it would have been fleshed out more. Overall, this was an enjoyable diverse romance!For more book reviews, be sure to check out my blog: https://oddandbookish.wordpress.com/
    more
  •  ⚔ Sh3lly - Grumpy Book Grrrl ⚔
    January 1, 1970
    ARC generously provided by Berkley Jove imprint. (Edit:Apparently the release date has changed from September 4, 2018 to October 30, 2018. Interesting.)Even though this book features a couple characters from The Wedding Date, it can easily be read as a stand-alone. This is not a sequel; it is a self-contained romance story between an independent, confident journalist, and an independent, confident doctor. Diversity is extremely well represented. What I liked about this:The heroine drinks alcohol ARC generously provided by Berkley Jove imprint. (Edit:Apparently the release date has changed from September 4, 2018 to October 30, 2018. Interesting.)Even though this book features a couple characters from The Wedding Date, it can easily be read as a stand-alone. This is not a sequel; it is a self-contained romance story between an independent, confident journalist, and an independent, confident doctor. Diversity is extremely well represented. What I liked about this:The heroine drinks alcohol and eats pizza and cupcakes. She doesn't berate herself for indulging, which you see a lot in "chick-lit" romance. This is a light, charming romance with little drama. If you enjoy contemporary romances with few complications and a hero that is not an alpha, you should enjoy this. I would say it's PG-13. The sex scenes are fade to black or more hinted at than detailed. Naked breasts are about as far as the details get from what I recall. I'm not a huge contemporary romance fan, but I think this author's books are solid. I am especially impressed with how she handles her heroines and diversity.
    more
  • Stacee
    January 1, 1970
    I had loved Carlos in The Wedding Date and was thrilled to see that he was getting his own story, so when I got The invite to read this one, I couldn’t wait to get to it. I love love loved Nik. She’s sarcastic and witty and smart af. Her friends Dana and Courtney were fun and I adored the scenes with the three of them together. Of course I was familiar with Carlos and he didn’t disappoint. He’s supportive and a complete marshmallow. I was so happy to see Alexa and Drew and I’m 1000% here for mor I had loved Carlos in The Wedding Date and was thrilled to see that he was getting his own story, so when I got The invite to read this one, I couldn’t wait to get to it. I love love loved Nik. She’s sarcastic and witty and smart af. Her friends Dana and Courtney were fun and I adored the scenes with the three of them together. Of course I was familiar with Carlos and he didn’t disappoint. He’s supportive and a complete marshmallow. I was so happy to see Alexa and Drew and I’m 1000% here for more scenes of all four of them. Plot wise, it was, in a word, comfortable, and I mean that in a good way. Nik and Carlos build a relationship out of friendship first and it works. It’s absolutely adorable and when the inevitable conflict happens, I was crushed. Thankfully, it didn’t last long and I loved the grand gesture. Overall, I loved this story more than the first one. It’s filled with women supporting women, has a cast of diverse characters, and loads of body positivity. My only complaint is that I wanted more at the end. **Huge thanks to Berkley Books for providing the arc free of charge**
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    The Proposal features two likable lead characters that meet under incredibly awkward but memorable circumstances. This new-found acquaintanceship leads to more opportunities to connect until a no-strings-attached romance blooms. Each have past and present circumstances that make this type of non-relationship ideal, and although the ending may be predictable, this romance trope is a winner for a reason: the journey to the last page is typically filled with plenty of sexy fun.The Proposal hits the The Proposal features two likable lead characters that meet under incredibly awkward but memorable circumstances. This new-found acquaintanceship leads to more opportunities to connect until a no-strings-attached romance blooms. Each have past and present circumstances that make this type of non-relationship ideal, and although the ending may be predictable, this romance trope is a winner for a reason: the journey to the last page is typically filled with plenty of sexy fun.The Proposal hits the mark with its characters. Jasmine Guillory uses her characters to showcase elements of feminism, diversity, inclusion, and the concept that love doesn't always have to feel like a trap. In my opinion, the writing is dialogue heavy and very easy to read (which may be a positive or negative based on reader preference), and there are appreciated nods to the importance of family and physical health. There's also lots of cupcakes and laughter-inducing rosé wine, but I liked that this book was not just about these two characters and their romance. We also get to meet family and besties and are privy to some great bonding moments.This was my first reading experience with this author and I liked it overall. The theme of female empowerment runs strong and Guillory writes a believably respectful hero that compliments our heroine well. Overall, a smile-worthy storyline that many readers will likely enjoy.Access to an advance reader's copy (ARC) of The Proposal was provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This generosity did not impact my honesty when rating/reviewing.Source: NetGalleyAuthor: Jasmine GuilloryPublisher: Berkley Publishing GroupGenres: Multicultural Interest, RomancePub Date: October 30, 2018
    more
  • Gabby
    January 1, 1970
    This was pretty disappointing. I completely agree with Whitney's review The only thing I really loved about this book was the diverse cast of characters. The female main character is a POC, there's a latino male love interest, and a korean side character, but that is all this book really has going for it.The writing is terrible, it reads like a bad fanfiction. There are so many cliches in this story and both of the characters were annoying me. Even their inner thoughts were immature and read mor This was pretty disappointing. I completely agree with Whitney's review The only thing I really loved about this book was the diverse cast of characters. The female main character is a POC, there's a latino male love interest, and a korean side character, but that is all this book really has going for it.The writing is terrible, it reads like a bad fanfiction. There are so many cliches in this story and both of the characters were annoying me. Even their inner thoughts were immature and read more like thirteen-year-olds than adults. I also don't like when romances are written in third person, it makes me feel so disconnected from what's happening. I feel like all the characters in this book are so dramatic and over-the-top and there were just too many cringe-y moments for me to enjoy this. I really wanted to like this, but this romance was so cheesy and forgettable. I need something more when I need a romance.
    more
  • Corina☞BookTwinsReviews
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 starsThis is my first book by Jasmine Guillory. I heard only great things about her first novel The Wedding Date and was delighted when I was able to pick up her latest book The Proposal.The Proposal was a quick and easy read.It was the perfect read for a day at the beach or sitting bundled up on the couch on a rainy day. The novel was sweet and fluffy, a cute little romance with a fun supporting cast. The heroine’s group of girlfriends were hilarious and reminded me of the girls of Sex in t 3.5 starsThis is my first book by Jasmine Guillory. I heard only great things about her first novel The Wedding Date and was delighted when I was able to pick up her latest book The Proposal.The Proposal was a quick and easy read.It was the perfect read for a day at the beach or sitting bundled up on the couch on a rainy day. The novel was sweet and fluffy, a cute little romance with a fun supporting cast. The heroine’s group of girlfriends were hilarious and reminded me of the girls of Sex in the City. Just a bunch of women having fun and supporting each other unconditionally.Both main characters, Nik and Carlos were easily likable, and genuinely good people. There wasn’t really anything wrong with either character I just didn’t connect with them on a deeper level. I needed a little more spice, fire and excitement throughout the book and between the couple.The chemistry between Nik and Carlos was one that took time to catch fire. It felt more like a friends to lovers kind of romance, which worked don’t take me wrong, it just wasn’t wowing. Both characters needed just a little more pep for me to be more deeply invested in their relationship.The story on its own felt very authentic.Especially the dialogues felt real, as if they were taken from real life conversations. Also, both characters struggled with real life issues, doubts and pouts of insecurity. Kudos to the author to give this book such an authentic feel.I believe that the author will go far. Her writing was fleshed out, the dialogues were plenty and she kept the plot flowing. I would recommend this book to anyone that is in search of a sweet and easy beach read.ARC generously provided in exchange for an honest review.✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ If you want to chat with me about books, find me on Instagram For more of my reviews:My Blog: Book Twins ReviewsFacebook Blog PageTwitterSubscribe to Blog
    more
  • Wendy'sThoughts
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 When Oh, So Bad Turns Into Oh, So Great Stars* * * * 1/2 Spoiler Free We have all been there...That situation where we wish the ground would open up and suck you in...only so that you would not be the center of attention and have everyone looking at you. There can be any number of reasons for that type of feeling...a small gathering of friends and something is said that causes an uproar...or your business power point is going along great and then that weird slide pops up making no sense... O 4.5 When Oh, So Bad Turns Into Oh, So Great Stars* * * * 1/2 Spoiler Free We have all been there...That situation where we wish the ground would open up and suck you in...only so that you would not be the center of attention and have everyone looking at you. There can be any number of reasons for that type of feeling...a small gathering of friends and something is said that causes an uproar...or your business power point is going along great and then that weird slide pops up making no sense... OrYou could be Nikole Paterson, award winning independent journalist, sitting at a Dodger game with her actor boyfriend of five months wishing this game were over so she could be home relaxing on her own. Instead she was pushed to celebrate his birthday with his "Bros" at the game. Nikole has been contemplating as to why she is even with him...and then she remembers she does like the sex...but that is about all. She is deep in her thoughts and scanning her phone when the boyfriend tugs on her arm yelling to look up. At first Nikole can't figure out what the deal is...then she sees someone is proposing to a Nicole on the JumboTron and immediately wonders why anyone would do that...Only to then see the boyfriend down on one knee Proposing to Her!!!IS HE NUTS??? Nikole tries to get him to be normal and settle down. She does not want to embarrass him in front of his friends and the world. Her mind is racing because he never even talked to her about these types of feelings and if he had, she would have shut it down. This is not going well and he will not listen to her polite comments... instead he starts to get upset and then storms off, leaving her there. Nikole cannot believe this is happening and as she sits there pretending she is fine...Carlos Ibarra and his sister have watched the entire thing from two rows above. They saw how she tried to be gracious and kind and not have it get out of control. They saw how the guy was an asshat and left her. Now Carlos is concerned. He is watching as Nikole is attempting to look ok and not frazzled. But when a camera crew starts to approach, Carlos tells his sister they are going to help her. They go to block the crew and pretend to be friends, whisking her away.As they get to the parking lot, Nikole turns to thank both of them and says she will get a ride from Uber or Lyft and not to worry about her. Carlos refuses and insists on driving her to the bar where her girlfriends are waiting. Once at the bar, Nikole insists they come in for a drink on her as a thank you. Nikole is thankful her friends are there. She has a solid set who are the world to her. Each of them know her well and they are like sisters. Nikole starts to re tell the story...how the guy even spelled her name wrong...on that everyone howled. Carols watched Nikole and thought what an amazing person she was. To have dealt with such an idiot and still be able to laugh with her pals. He liked the way the lights hit her curls and the sparkle of her eyes. He thought she was lovely but at the same time saw flicks of pain. Carlos knew it was time for them to leave when the conversation became a little personal and Nikole would need to just have her crew by her side. Saying goodbye, Carlos and Nikole felt as if they had made a little connection.When the ladies went to pay their bar and food bill, Nikole discovered Carlos had taken care of it. This gave her the excuse to send an email to thank him. And that was the beginning of something Oh So Great.This was a terrific read. It covered so much. It had a multi cultural relationship which was there but then not at all there...It nods to differences yet also just told the universal story of two people working through whether they could love, period. Nikole had issues about love... scared to death of it. Carlos thought he was in the same place but as time progressed, he got hit in the face with his feelings. I love when a guy can be so smitten. What also worked was that they became friends first, then venturing into more.And Boy Oh Boy...These two knew how to tear it up....Just Sayin' Yum YumThis was delightful and proved something terrible can happen... but because of that horrible thing...something wonderful can come out of it. I cannot wait to see what Jasmine Guillory comes up with next. The Wedding Datehttps://www.goodreads.com/review/show... The Proposalhttps://www.goodreads.com/review/show... ~~~~~ Before Reading ~~~~~ Just as Nikole Paterson was trying to figure out how much longer she was stuck at this Dodger game with her sort of boyfriend...He gets the Genius Idea of dropping on one knee and proposing while their faces were plastered all over the Jumbo-tron!Yup, he turned out to be one of those clueless guys...I mean, he Never acted during the 5 months of their dating he was even that into her...After Nik tries to let him down gently...he leaves her there in the stands alone...Carlos Ibarra sees this woman a few rows in front of him. When a camera crew starts to approach, Carlos and his sister decide to whisk her away. What starts as a good deed soon becomes something else...and both of them have to thank... The Proposal- September 4, 2018A gifted copy was provided by Berkley Publishing Group via NetGalley for an honest review.For more Reviews, Free E-books and Giveaways
    more
  • Katie B
    January 1, 1970
    This might not have been the perfect romance read I was looking for but there were a couple of things I did enjoy. First of all, I always appreciate when a book has a diverse cast of characters. I also really liked the premise of the book which involves a woman at a Dodgers game with her boyfriend and he surprises her with a wedding proposal with everyone in the stadium watching on the Jumbotron. It was very easy to relate to her feeling of horror as I would have hated it if my husband had propo This might not have been the perfect romance read I was looking for but there were a couple of things I did enjoy. First of all, I always appreciate when a book has a diverse cast of characters. I also really liked the premise of the book which involves a woman at a Dodgers game with her boyfriend and he surprises her with a wedding proposal with everyone in the stadium watching on the Jumbotron. It was very easy to relate to her feeling of horror as I would have hated it if my husband had proposed to me in such a public way. The rest of the story is a typical romance which I would have enjoyed much more if I felt more invested in the main characters. To me, in the romance genre in order to love a book you really have to root for the characters and feel their chemistry together. I just felt indifferent towards the characters. I'm not really sure why that is the case but it is what it is. I'm sure others will love this book though, especially since it features characters, including Carlos, who were featured in the author's previous book, The Wedding Date.Thank you to First to Read for the opportunity to read an advance digital copy! I was under no obligation to post a review and all views expressed are my honest opinion.
    more
  • Riley
    January 1, 1970
    3.5
  • Amy
    January 1, 1970
    This was such an adorable read, I really liked the idea of a woman who isn’t desperately waiting for her boyfriend to propose and Nik most definitely was not prepared to have to turn down her boyfriends proposal in front of the whole world. I can’t think of anything more awkward and embarrassing but it set the stage for a super entertaining and charming read that I breezed through.One of the strongest aspects to this was how incredibly diverse it was which is always so nice to see! It’s set in L This was such an adorable read, I really liked the idea of a woman who isn’t desperately waiting for her boyfriend to propose and Nik most definitely was not prepared to have to turn down her boyfriends proposal in front of the whole world. I can’t think of anything more awkward and embarrassing but it set the stage for a super entertaining and charming read that I breezed through.One of the strongest aspects to this was how incredibly diverse it was which is always so nice to see! It’s set in L. A. which is such a culturally diverse city so it makes so much sense to have such great representation, gotta give the author some props for that. The characters were all fun, relatable types from Nik and Carlos to her friends Dana and Courtney and his family, I really enjoyed all of them.This was a super sweet romance with a hint of the spicy stuff, nothing super graphic or over the top. It reminded me of sitting down with a bowl of popcorn and watching one of my favorite rom coms, it had that same charm and appeal and was just an all around good time.The Proposal in three words: Cute, Sweet and Charming.
    more
  • Anna Banana
    January 1, 1970
    The Proposal is such a sweet and cute read!When I first saw this book, I was in insta-love with the cover. I honestly didn't even care what the book was about, I just knew I had to read it because I was so in love with the cover. And thank goodness I was fortunate enough to receive an ARC of this book because it was SO GOOD. Nikole is a character that gives zero shits if you like her or not. She's kind of cold, especially when it comes to men and she's very upfront in general about not wasting The Proposal is such a sweet and cute read!When I first saw this book, I was in insta-love with the cover. I honestly didn't even care what the book was about, I just knew I had to read it because I was so in love with the cover. And thank goodness I was fortunate enough to receive an ARC of this book because it was SO GOOD. Nikole is a character that gives zero shits if you like her or not. She's kind of cold, especially when it comes to men and she's very upfront in general about not wasting her time on people she doesn't care about. I feel like Nikole is a character that people will either love or hate because she can be very stubborn and when she reacts to things sometimes, she can be harsh. Luckily for me, I loved her but even though I loved her she definitely frustrated me a time or two. But I really do love how much she strives to be confident in herself and how she struggles with letting people in because of stuff that's happened to her in the past. Her being cold and stand-offish with people really makes sense and I could understand where she was coming from. I also like that we got to see some character development not only with her but Carlos as well. They learn from their mistakes and they grow as characters which I really enjoy in books. Carlos is honestly the cutest hero ever. I loved him so much! He's definitely a carer, the one who wants to take care of everyone and protect everyone from harm. He's also someone who shies away from love and relationships but it's not because he's incapable or unwilling to love someone but rather the love he has for his family is his first priority and he won't let anything else get in the way of that. Honestly, the scenes with his family and reading and seeing how much he cares for his family made me so soft. I loved each relationship he had with them and seeing that dynamic on page was so great. I also loved his friendship with Drew and Alexa, two characters from the author's debut novel, that I haven't read yet, but definitely need to move up my TBR because they were awesome.I loved how Carlos and Nikole's relationship started off as friends and then slowly they begin feeling more for each other. This is a great case of friends-to-lovers, or more accurately friends into friends with benefits into holy crap I'm in love with you lovers. I loved seeing them spend time together and be vulnerable with each other in ways they'd never been with anyone else. It was also super amusing to me that they kept insisting that they just spent so much time with each other because they were "friends". However, this is also where I have my one complaint about the book. I feel like the transition from "friends who are hooking up and having a great time together" to "I want to spend the rest of my life with you" felt a little rushed. I loved seeing them during that time where they clearly had feelings for each other but hadn't realized it and were just enjoying each other's time but I thought that the "I love you" parts came out of left-field (look at me using baseball terminology LOL) and I didn't necessarily feel like they were there yet. Do I think they have feelings for each other? Definitely. But for some reason that didn't translate to love for me. At least not yet. Maybe because they haven't been together long enough? I'm honestly not sure however, I can say that despite feeling like that, I do feel like they will be together forever and I can see them having that HEA and being together long term.If all the things above haven't made you want to pick this book up yet, here's a list of some great things to love about this book: 🔹A hero who likes to cook🔹Diversity (both with POC characters and LGBT+ rep who come in all shapes and sizes)🔹Talks about important topics like death, abusive relationships (verbal, emotional abuse mostly), feminism, and so much more🔹Girl friendship scenes that are DA BOMB!Honestly I feel like I could go on and on about how cute and great this book was. I definitely recommend it to fans of Contemporary Romances and I can't wait to check out more from this author! *Received a copy in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!!
    more
  • FMABookReviews
    January 1, 1970
    ❝Why does it scare you so much for someone to say they love you?❞She shook her head.❝It doesn’t scare me! I just know from experience that that’s when everything gets bad, that’s all.❞NIKOLE (NIK) PATERSON is a freelance writer who was proposed to in the grandest scale, only, this wasn't romancing at its finest, it was a horrifyingly embarrassing moment that Nik wished she could get back.CARLOS IBARRA and his sister, Angela, were at that game and watched that proposal in all its glory on the big ❝Why does it scare you so much for someone to say they love you?❞She shook her head.❝It doesn’t scare me! I just know from experience that that’s when everything gets bad, that’s all.❞NIKOLE (NIK) PATERSON is a freelance writer who was proposed to in the grandest scale, only, this wasn't romancing at its finest, it was a horrifyingly embarrassing moment that Nik wished she could get back.CARLOS IBARRA and his sister, Angela, were at that game and watched that proposal in all its glory on the big screen at Dodger Stadium. A fixer at heart, Carlos knew he couldn't leave Nik to the vultures (cameramen) even though he had no idea who she was. Swooping into the rescue, the two accompany Nik out of an unbearable situation and provide her with an exit strategy.Intent on paying them back, Nik invites them to have some drinks at the bar where she is meeting her girlfriends. By the end of the night, drinks, stories, and laughter are shared. After Carlos and his sister leave, Nik's girlfriends are positive Carlos needs to be her rebound. He's funny, sexy, and obviously a good guy!Since the death of his father, Carlos has shouldered the responsibility of taking care of the women in his family. He doesn't have time for relationships, nor does he believe any woman would be willing to accept his need to drop everything to help out his family. So a "non-relationship" with Nik is perfect. He enjoys spending time with her, he admires her strength, her kindness and the fact that she doesn't take herself too seriously. A rebound guy? Yea, he can be that! Until he can't.Even though Nik loves the way Carlos takes care of her and everyone around him, she struggles to put aside the bad relationships she's been in. A rebound guy will be fun, he will be safe, and he won't break her heart. Until he does.I was thrilled when I found out that Jasmine Guillory was releasing another book. I LOVED "The Wedding Date". Jasmine's writing is captivating. She has me laughing with her sense of humor while leaving a lump in my throat with her thought-provoking dialogue."The Proposal" is a funny, heartwarming story about two people who are perfect for each other, but need to learn to believe in love!I was provided a review copy by the publisher. This did not influence my opinion of the book nor my review.
    more
  • Ashley
    January 1, 1970
    So mostly I'm just curious whether using rom-com movie titles as the titles of her books is intentional or not. I'm there either way.
  • Vicky Who Reads
    January 1, 1970
    4 starsI honestly ended up enjoying this a lot more than The Wedding Date! Both of these books do really well on the diversity scale, which I'm really thankful for (because apparently chicklit is super white?), but The Proposal just had much more enjoyable storytelling. I found The Wedding Date to almost feel repetitive? Like, it was just a lot of back and forth between the couple to make things happen and it almost dragged in that aspect. But The Proposal really remedied that issue and it had t 4 starsI honestly ended up enjoying this a lot more than The Wedding Date! Both of these books do really well on the diversity scale, which I'm really thankful for (because apparently chicklit is super white?), but The Proposal just had much more enjoyable storytelling. I found The Wedding Date to almost feel repetitive? Like, it was just a lot of back and forth between the couple to make things happen and it almost dragged in that aspect. But The Proposal really remedied that issue and it had this nice, arching storyline that I found enjoyable. The buildup was great and Nik and Carlos had this relationship that grew as the story wore on, but never descended into angsty, "oh my gosh did they really just do that how dumb are these people" territory. It was level-headed yet still romantic, and I felt the story build up to the climax, which was really nice. Plus, it was more fun in general. I mean, the plot was more quirky, and there was more food (oh my gosh the food) and character growth. Also, the sex scenes were considerably less present and less explicit. (More fade-outs.) And this is a plus, because in The Wedding Date, the sex scenes took up a lot more of the novel and faded into a sort of monotony that felt dull. With less sexy times, there was more page-time dedicated to the characters and their emotional romance and the more chicklit-y parts. The only thing I wanted improved was Nik's backstory. I felt like the backing to her aversion to the term "I love you" was weak and needed more background and justification. It just felt a little out of character because throughout the novel she's portrayed as level headed, but that one phrase makes her extremely superstitious? I just wanted more backing to that plot point, because it felt a little unrealistic. Both Nik and Carlos were fun protagonists, and there's of course cameos of Alexa and Drew in there, which was definitely cute. Overall, if you were looking to read a book like The Wedding Date, but with an improved execution, I totally recommend The Proposal! Debuts almost always have technical errors, but second books are where you really get to see whether you like an author or not, and Guillory has definitely improved since then. Thank you so much to First to Read and Penguin for providing me with a digital review copy in exchange for an honest review!Blog | Instagram | Twitter
    more
  • Elle's Book Blog
    January 1, 1970
    Release Date: October 30, 2018 Genre: Contemporary Romance Actual Rating: 4 starsA sweet and fun novel that is sure to be a hit with fans of the author! I felt myself relating to the characters and loving the banter and situations they found themselves in. Now I am ready to dive into the authors debut, which has been patiently sitting on my bookshelf waiting to be read. Full review to follow closer to release
    more
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    January 1, 1970
    A fun, lighthearted, summer romance read with a wonderfully diverse cast. The Cast:Nik our smart, confident, lovely black female lead. Carlos our sexy, funny, caring Latino male lead.Courtney, Nik’s adorable Asian bestie who gave up her successful, stable career to open up a cupcake shop.Dana, Nik’s beautiful black actress bestie, who also happens to be a lesbian.I adored the author's previous work so I went into this with pretty high hopes, and while I did not love this quite as much The Weddin A fun, lighthearted, summer romance read with a wonderfully diverse cast. The Cast:Nik our smart, confident, lovely black female lead. Carlos our sexy, funny, caring Latino male lead.Courtney, Nik’s adorable Asian bestie who gave up her successful, stable career to open up a cupcake shop.Dana, Nik’s beautiful black actress bestie, who also happens to be a lesbian.I adored the author's previous work so I went into this with pretty high hopes, and while I did not love this quite as much The Wedding Date is was still a fun, sexy and cute read. I received a free ARC via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Huge thank you to Little, Berkley Publishing.
    more
  • Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤
    January 1, 1970
    Yay ❤❤    
  • Marla
    January 1, 1970
    This is a fun romance. Lots of diverse characters, funny dialog, and the typical romance story. I thought the proposal was funny and whenever I see a proposal happening at a baseball game, in such a public place, I always wondered what would happen if the girl said no. This is not a heavy book. Not a deep book. It's a light romance that is a great read for the beach or if you just want to lose yourself in a story and not have to think too hard.
    more
  • Sheyla ✎
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you Berkley Romance and NetGalley for providing me with a complimentary copy of The Proposal in exchange for an honest review. Let me start by saying, I didn't read The Wedding Date (but I wanted too). The Proposal should be counted as a novel written within the same world. I will call it book #2. The couple from the first story is mentioned or appeared quite a few times through it.The Proposal begins with an embarrassing situation. Nikole Paterson is at the Dodgers game when her boyfrien Thank you Berkley Romance and NetGalley for providing me with a complimentary copy of The Proposal in exchange for an honest review. Let me start by saying, I didn't read The Wedding Date (but I wanted too). The Proposal should be counted as a novel written within the same world. I will call it book #2. The couple from the first story is mentioned or appeared quite a few times through it.The Proposal begins with an embarrassing situation. Nikole Paterson is at the Dodgers game when her boyfriend, a guy whom she has only dated five months, proposes to her using the scoreboard. To her dismay, everyone is watching her as she tells him no in the most subtle way. He storms out, leaving her behind. Carlos Ibarra and her sister are a few rows behind watching the events unfold. They decide to help Nikole by taking her away from the stadium and dropping her to meet her friends. When asked to join them, they agree. Carlos and Nikole share a spark and they will start communicating through texts and phone calls in the days to come. Nikole thinks that Carlos will be a nice rebound hookup since she doesn't want anything serious. Carlos feels the same way. Yet, the more time they are around each other, the more difficult this arrangement becomes. The Proposal is a fast and easy story. I liked that the author was inclusive of different races and body types but I had a hard time relating to Nikole. She said she was hurt before and that's why she didn't want to be in a relationship but we never get to experience her past. It's only mentioned. I would've liked to see more of what the other boyfriend did to make her skittish of relationships.Carlos was very likable and so was his family. He was devoted to them. He was a good friend too. The only time I didn't approve of him was when he felt rejected. He was quite mean then. Otherwise, he was a good guy. Cliffhanger: No3/5 FangsMrsLeif's Two Fangs About It | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram
    more
  • Sara
    January 1, 1970
    Many thanks to Berkley publishers who very kindly offered me a copy of this delicious treat of a novel that had all the charm, smarts, and heart of author Jasmine Guillory's first novel The Wedding Date and then some.Lovely freelance writer Nikole is twiddling her thumbs at a Dodgers game with her sort of boyfriend Fletcher and his posse of meathead friends when Fletcher calls her attention to the jumbotron where the message "Nichole will you marry me" is currently flashing. Mortified that the g Many thanks to Berkley publishers who very kindly offered me a copy of this delicious treat of a novel that had all the charm, smarts, and heart of author Jasmine Guillory's first novel The Wedding Date and then some.Lovely freelance writer Nikole is twiddling her thumbs at a Dodgers game with her sort of boyfriend Fletcher and his posse of meathead friends when Fletcher calls her attention to the jumbotron where the message "Nichole will you marry me" is currently flashing. Mortified that the guy she's only been dating a couple of months would do this to her without even once bringing up the topic beforehand Nik is rescued from a rapidly turning ugly crowd of baseball fans who think Fletcher's being dissed and reporters eager for the next big viral scoop by Carlos (who may look familiar to The Wedding Date readers) and his sister who employ the old "oh hey old friend I haven't seen in years!" tactic to get her out of the stadium in one piece. If that ain't a clever meet cute I don't know what is. Carlos squires a grateful Nik to a bar and her waiting besties who immediately elect him Nik's rebound! And while Nik takes a little more convincing Carlos's good looks, sense of humor, compassion, and smarts help her make up her mind pretty quick.But what starts as a low key, no labels situation that neither intend to take far starts looking suspiciously like a serious relationship before either one knows what hit them. I confess I am utterly charmed by Ms. Guillory's writing. Its smart and funny but never saccharine. I've got a low threshold for super witty dialogue that no actual person would ever utter but Guillory's characters just feel like real people. They say dumb things and get into ridiculous, goofy situations that feel real. She finds the hilarity and heart in regular human interaction and that kind of writing makes for characters you can completely commit to. I felt like Carlos and Nik were my friends and I felt bad for them and urged them to get their crap together and just make things work and laughed at them by turns just as if they were real. That's a wonderful way to feel when you're reading.If you read my The Wedding Date review you'll remember that one of my issues was a certain lack of fire in the more romantic scenes. Well I don't know what happened between that book and this one but that's not a problem that The Proposal suffers from AT ALL. Seriously if you're looking for a little hot and heavy passion in your romantic comedy reading Guillory's got you covered. Like put the book down for a minute and get a glass of ice water covered.The issues that the characters run into in their relationship felt much more honest too. Just as in her previous book we spend a great deal of time with Carlos and Nik just by themselves. We really know who they are and what got them to where they're at now in their personal lives. Their problems are normal and not 100% rational and that's fine, that's how people are in life. But the issues that arise for them as a couple feel like they build from a more believable place than the hero's of The Wedding Date. We get a much clearer sense of why both of them want what they want, what their hangups are and what needs to happen for them to be happy with each other.This book is full of humor and romance and all the things you want from a light romantic comedy but its tempered by real, smart characters with honest emotions and a level of intelligence that you don't always see in this type of book. Hence my brand new shelf the "thinking person's romance!"
    more
  • Madalyn (Novel Ink)
    January 1, 1970
    This was so cuuuute! I might have liked this even MORE than The Wedding Date??? I just really love Carlos. Full review coming soon!
  • Leyrechu
    January 1, 1970
    After reading The Wedding Date I cannot wait to pick this one up!
  • Grace {Rebel Mommy Book Blog}
    January 1, 1970
    4.5. Really enjoyed this one. Great premise and cast of characters. Need to read The Wedding Date now!
  • Lorilin
    January 1, 1970
    Nikole Paterson doesn't expect her boyfriend to propose to her at a Dodgers game after only six months of great-sex-but-nothing-more dating. But propose he does---and in front of millions of people who are all horrified when Nik turns him down. After her (now ex) boyfriend storms off in a rage, Nik is left alone at her seat, overwhelmed, embarrassed, and completely unprepared to handle the camera crew that shoves a camera in her face and starts asking questions.Luckily, a few rows back, Carlos I Nikole Paterson doesn't expect her boyfriend to propose to her at a Dodgers game after only six months of great-sex-but-nothing-more dating. But propose he does---and in front of millions of people who are all horrified when Nik turns him down. After her (now ex) boyfriend storms off in a rage, Nik is left alone at her seat, overwhelmed, embarrassed, and completely unprepared to handle the camera crew that shoves a camera in her face and starts asking questions.Luckily, a few rows back, Carlos Ibarra and his sister, Angela, decide to come to Nik's rescue, creating a diversion that allows them all to get out of the stadium. Nik is grateful for the help...and surprised to find herself drawn to Carlos. She's obviously not ready for a new relationship right after such an awkward and very public break up, but the two make plans to meet up anyway. Day drinks turns into...something more, and eventually Nik finds herself joyfully pouring herself into a rebound relationship with Carlos. But as things get more serious between them, Nik can't help but wonder if their fling could be something more. *   *   *   *   *Despite the unique and clever opening scene at the Dodgers game, The Proposal gets off to a slow start. The first 100 pages should have been edited way down. As it is, there is a lot of banter between Nik and her friends that I think I was supposed to find HILARIOUS! but just didn't. The story picks up, though, when Nik and Carlos's backstories are revealed and they become more well-developed, whole characters. Their first hook up feels a little forced, but, after that, the book becomes a lot more interesting.One thing The Proposal really has going for it is its diversity of characters. I read a lot of books, and it's common to see basically one ethnicity featured. But this book has a little bit of everything, and, as a California native, I can say it perfectly captures the feeling of living in that area.I still wish the book were about 100 pages shorter, but if you're looking for a light and youthful read, this one's worth checking out. Big thank to Berkley Books and Net Galley for the ARC!See more of my book reviews at www.BugBugBooks.com!
    more
  • Kelly
    January 1, 1970
    This one has less sexy scenes than The Wedding Date, but it's equally enjoyable in terms of characters, in the romance, and in the writing. Nik is a black woman and Carlos is a Latino man, and their chance encounter after a failed big proposal at the Dodgers game by Nik's then-boyfriend sets everything into motion. I believe that romance isn't just "brain candy," but what I'm discovering about my own reading is that romance is a fantastic slump breaker. It's predictable enough in terms of what t This one has less sexy scenes than The Wedding Date, but it's equally enjoyable in terms of characters, in the romance, and in the writing. Nik is a black woman and Carlos is a Latino man, and their chance encounter after a failed big proposal at the Dodgers game by Nik's then-boyfriend sets everything into motion. I believe that romance isn't just "brain candy," but what I'm discovering about my own reading is that romance is a fantastic slump breaker. It's predictable enough in terms of what the plot will do, there's a guaranteed HEA, and as someone who isn't especially romantically inclined, it makes me think about and experience emotions I tend to not in the every day.
    more
Write a review