Once a King (A Clash of Kingdoms, #3)
Aodren: A lonely, young king, searching for a way to dismantle his father’s dark legacy.Lirra: A girl with the power to control the wind, torn between duty and following her dreamsFor twenty years, Channelers—women with a magical ability—have been persecuted in Malam by those without magic. Now King Aodren wants to end the bloody divide and unite his kingdom. But decades of hatred can’t be overcome by issuing decrees, and rumors of a deadly Channeler-made substance are only fueling people’s fears. Lirra has every reason to distrust Aodren. Yet when he asks for help to discover the truth behind the rumors, she can’t say no. With Lirra by his side, Aodren sees a way forward for his people. But can he rewrite the mistakes of the past before his enemies destroy the world he’s working so hard to rebuild?

Once a King (A Clash of Kingdoms, #3) Details

TitleOnce a King (A Clash of Kingdoms, #3)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseDec 4th, 2018
PublisherHMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-139781328949974
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult

Once a King (A Clash of Kingdoms, #3) Review

  • Cait • A Page with a View
    January 1, 1970
    This is everything I love about YA fantasy! The story takes place after the events of Ever the Hunted and Ever the Brave, but you don't necessarily need to have read those first. (Obviously it would make this book more fun because a lot of familiar faces are back... but you could still follow and enjoy this story on its own!)The book description's well done, so I won't add much to that. The story's told through the split POVs of Lirra and Aodren, both of whom have unique personalities that total This is everything I love about YA fantasy! The story takes place after the events of Ever the Hunted and Ever the Brave, but you don't necessarily need to have read those first. (Obviously it would make this book more fun because a lot of familiar faces are back... but you could still follow and enjoy this story on its own!)The book description's well done, so I won't add much to that. The story's told through the split POVs of Lirra and Aodren, both of whom have unique personalities that totally come through. The writing is strong and engaging, the world is vivid, and even the side characters felt like real, endearing people. The plot has everything I want to see in a YA fantasy book, but then goes so much further with a really lovely, timely message in Aodren's vision for his kingdom's future. This is a more optimistic story about a group working together towards a greater good (instead of focusing on their own self-serving vengeance, etc), so I totally recommend it!Thank you to the publisher for sending me an ARC.
    more
  • Brittney ~ Reverie and Ink
    January 1, 1970
    alksdfja;lsdkfja;sdkfj I AM SO READY I CAN'T DEAL.I'm still a mess of feels from Ever the Brave. I need this. I need it. My Blog ~ Instagram ~ Twitter ~ Etsy
  • Dianne
    January 1, 1970
    Together, two unlikely allies will try to bring in a new world of peace and trust while righting the wrongs of the past. As the young king, Aodren and a young channeler, Lirra struggle with their emotions, the political machinations of the kingdom and the people’s fear of magic in any form, they will uncover who is behind the black market version of a magical healing potion. But will they be in time to save its victims?Told in two POVs, Erin Summerill takes us into another world in ONCE A KING w Together, two unlikely allies will try to bring in a new world of peace and trust while righting the wrongs of the past. As the young king, Aodren and a young channeler, Lirra struggle with their emotions, the political machinations of the kingdom and the people’s fear of magic in any form, they will uncover who is behind the black market version of a magical healing potion. But will they be in time to save its victims?Told in two POVs, Erin Summerill takes us into another world in ONCE A KING where we can get lost in a story so well-told, we can forget this isn’t real. Wonderful characters, good, evil and misguided will take center stage in scenes that are vibrant and alive. The tentative friendship between Lirra and Aodren is so positive and so realistic, especially when their misunderstandings or misconceptions lead to personal enlightenment and trust.If you like characters that work against the odds for a brighter future and acceptance of all, this tale is sure to have you, hook, line and sinker! Definitely can be read as a standalone to this series, so newbies like me can sit back and never feel lost!I received a complimentary ARC edition from HMH Books for Young ReadersExpected publication: December 4th 2018 by HMH Books for Young ReadersSeries: A Clash of Kingdoms - Book 3Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers (December 4, 2018)Publication Date: December 4, 2018Genre: Fantasy YAPrint Length: 464 pagesAvailable from: Amazon | Barnes & NobleFor Reviews, Giveaways, Fabulous Book News, follow: http://tometender.blogspot.com
    more
  • Candace Robinson
    January 1, 1970
    ARC received via publisher!
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    January 1, 1970
    2/12/18Cover reveal and synopsis has been shared, my friends! Can't say I'm in love with it but it is reminiscent of the original duology. Although I do like the bit on the cover that says, "One secret can corrupt a realm" Also, my boy Aodren is in fact back! Along with Lirra, who I also liked from the original, so hopefully, this will be better than its predecessor. Sidenote: I feel an Aodren and Lirra pairing coming on, and I'm game. ---OMG, is my dear Aodren finally going to get a story all 2/12/18Cover reveal and synopsis has been shared, my friends! Can't say I'm in love with it but it is reminiscent of the original duology. Although I do like the bit on the cover that says, "One secret can corrupt a realm" Also, my boy Aodren is in fact back! Along with Lirra, who I also liked from the original, so hopefully, this will be better than its predecessor. Sidenote: I feel an Aodren and Lirra pairing coming on, and I'm game. ---OMG, is my dear Aodren finally going to get a story all his own? If so, then I am 100% in. He was the only character I fully enjoyed from the previous series.
    more
  • Luca
    January 1, 1970
    The nation of Malam has been divided for years as its people without magical abilities oppressed and harassed those who are magically gifted called Channelers. Now that there is a new king, the young King Aodren, the nation finds itself standing at a crossroads. King Aodren wants to reunite the people of his country, but cannot do so alone. His people, on the other hand, are still wary of one another. Luckily Aodren gets unexpected help from Lirra, a girl who has every reason to fear standing up The nation of Malam has been divided for years as its people without magical abilities oppressed and harassed those who are magically gifted called Channelers. Now that there is a new king, the young King Aodren, the nation finds itself standing at a crossroads. King Aodren wants to reunite the people of his country, but cannot do so alone. His people, on the other hand, are still wary of one another. Luckily Aodren gets unexpected help from Lirra, a girl who has every reason to fear standing up for Malam but does so anyway. Once a King is the third book in the A Clash of Kingdoms series. For some reason, this was something I overlooked and I read this book without having read the previous two books. It turned out that you can do that easily. Other than a few remarks from the characters to the events in the previous book this book tells a solid story of its own. The main characters Aodren and Lirra are well written and feel natural because they are not without flaws. The supporting characters, on the other hand, left me with some questions. I think this is mostly because I indeed did not read the previous two books, but I think that especially Orli could do with a fourth book. The story itself might be a bit cliché. I mean, revolution, an evil villain who tries to prevent the revolution, and a romance are the main themes. Also, it was halfway through the book when I was sure who the villain was going to be, and this indeed proved to be the case. Yet, it was worth reading and I even shed a few tears at the end. I received a digital review copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are entirely my own. My review is susceptible to changes in the final copy of this work. My rating for this book is 4 out of 5 stars. Highly admirable that the third book in a series does so well on its own!
    more
  • Joshee Kun (조수아)
    January 1, 1970
    Dear Aodren is getting his own novel? Sign me up. I'm still team Cohen though. ;)
  • Kathryn Purdie
    January 1, 1970
    I was so happy when I found out Erin Summerill would be writing another book in the same world as EVER THE HUNTED, and the read did not disappoint, even with my super high expectations. King Aodren was one of my favorite characters from EVER THE BRAVE, and I'm so happy he got his own story--and such an amazing one! I highly recommend this book!
    more
  • Sara Larson
    January 1, 1970
    I loved learning more about these characters and this world! Erin has done it again with another fantastic book!! I can't wait to see what she comes up with next!
  • Pintip Dunn
    January 1, 1970
    Prepare your heart for the swooniest king in all the lands! WIth poignant prose and intricate worldbuilding, ONCE A KING casts its spell from the very first pages. Fly - don't walk - to sweep up this soaring tale.
  • Melissa (The Reader & The Chef)
    January 1, 1970
    I ADORED this book. How can one not fall with King Aodren and Lirra? They are both such great characters that I helplessly fell in love with. I SHIP THEM ALL THE WAY, OKAY? As someone who never agreed to Aodren being with the other character from Ever the Brave, I am super glad Erin Summerill had other plans for Aodren. BUT NOW I NEED MORE. I need more of Lirra and Aodren, it cannot possibly be the end!!! And I *think* there might be more so YAYYYYY.To keep it short and sweet: READ ONCE A KING. I ADORED this book. How can one not fall with King Aodren and Lirra? They are both such great characters that I helplessly fell in love with. I SHIP THEM ALL THE WAY, OKAY? As someone who never agreed to Aodren being with the other character from Ever the Brave, I am super glad Erin Summerill had other plans for Aodren. BUT NOW I NEED MORE. I need more of Lirra and Aodren, it cannot possibly be the end!!! And I *think* there might be more so YAYYYYY.To keep it short and sweet: READ ONCE A KING. Don't pass up on this book, please! It's totally amazing and fun and swoony. I fangirled throughout the book and I know many will love it too. ♥♥♥Full review to come soon. I SWEAR.
    more
  • Stacie (Shy Book Nerd)
    January 1, 1970
    This was by far my favorite in the series. I know it’s technically a spin-off from the first two books, but it felt more like a final ending to the series. I think I also liked this a lot more because it was about my favorite character, Aodren. I loved him and I was glad to see him fight for his cause for peace. That and I liked that he had a love interest that wasn’t just one sided. He needs some love in his life, haha. Overall, I felt this was a good conclusion to the loose ends from the last This was by far my favorite in the series. I know it’s technically a spin-off from the first two books, but it felt more like a final ending to the series. I think I also liked this a lot more because it was about my favorite character, Aodren. I loved him and I was glad to see him fight for his cause for peace. That and I liked that he had a love interest that wasn’t just one sided. He needs some love in his life, haha. Overall, I felt this was a good conclusion to the loose ends from the last book, Ever the Brave. I also loved reading about my favorite characters Aodren and Leif again.
    more
  • Rae
    January 1, 1970
    Once a King by Erin Summerill leaves off where Ever the Brave left off. With King Aodren in control of the kingdom, he works to fight off the reputation his father left behind. Lirra, a channeler with the power to control the wind, finds her life entangled with King Aodren's. They must work together to forge a new path in a divided nation.Unfortunately I was woefully disappointed by this book. I really enjoyed Ever the Brave, but Once a King felt shallow and uninspired. I had a time engaging in Once a King by Erin Summerill leaves off where Ever the Brave left off. With King Aodren in control of the kingdom, he works to fight off the reputation his father left behind. Lirra, a channeler with the power to control the wind, finds her life entangled with King Aodren's. They must work together to forge a new path in a divided nation.Unfortunately I was woefully disappointed by this book. I really enjoyed Ever the Brave, but Once a King felt shallow and uninspired. I had a time engaging in the story, and I found myself clock-watching while reading it. The pacing was okay, but since the story felt so simple, I never got hooked.The story concept was interesting. I like the idea of channelers and the divided nation. Aodren had a lot to overcome to put to rest his father's legacy, and he puts a lot on the line to win the faith and loyalty of both sides.Lirra's role in the story and her job as an assistant to her father could have been developed further. It was an intriguing concept but lacked depth. I wanted to know more. I wanted more subterfuge, more mystery, more nefariousness. Her character could have been rich and interesting, but she came off as rather blah.The ending was fine. It was a typical fairytale ending. It wasn't a knockout ending, but it wasn't bad either. The characters in general were mediocre. I would label them as standard off-the-shelf characters. Nothing set them apart or made them unique. They were just kind of there.Now, if you've read the other two books in the trilogy, of course I'm going to recommend you read this one. I like closure, and I can't not read the last book in a trilogy if I've already read the first two. If you've never picked up this trilogy, my recommendation is on the fence. It's not bad, but there are other (more exciting!) young adult fantasy trilogies out there.Thank you to NetGalley for providing the Kindle version of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Shelley
    January 1, 1970
    *Source* Publisher*Genre* Young Adult, Fantasy*Rating* 3.5*Thoughts*Once A King, by author Erin Summerill, is the third installment in the authors Clash of Kingdoms series. For those who have not read Ever the Hunted, or Ever the Brave, this story actually takes place shortly after the end of the second book in the series. The story is told through the split narratives of Lirra Barrett and Malam King Aodren, both of whom have unique personalities that totally come through. The chemistry between *Source* Publisher*Genre* Young Adult, Fantasy*Rating* 3.5*Thoughts*Once A King, by author Erin Summerill, is the third installment in the authors Clash of Kingdoms series. For those who have not read Ever the Hunted, or Ever the Brave, this story actually takes place shortly after the end of the second book in the series. The story is told through the split narratives of Lirra Barrett and Malam King Aodren, both of whom have unique personalities that totally come through. The chemistry between Aodren and Lirra is electric. Readers will love their building tension and slow-burn romance.*Full Review @ Gizmos Review*https://gizmosreviews.blogspot.com/20...
    more
  • Nicole (FearYourEx)
    January 1, 1970
    4/5 Stars!I received Once a King as an e-galley from the publisher via NetGalley.I liked that the story of Once a King takes place so soon after the events of Ever the Hunted, yet does not include Britta. She is mentioned a couple times but isn't in the book. Which I think was a great idea to have her off on her own enjoying her happily ever after.At first I wasn't the biggest fan of Aodren but as the story progressed I started to like him more and more. I liked that even though he's a long he's 4/5 Stars!I received Once a King as an e-galley from the publisher via NetGalley.I liked that the story of Once a King takes place so soon after the events of Ever the Hunted, yet does not include Britta. She is mentioned a couple times but isn't in the book. Which I think was a great idea to have her off on her own enjoying her happily ever after.At first I wasn't the biggest fan of Aodren but as the story progressed I started to like him more and more. I liked that even though he's a long he's fighting his own battles. And working on fixing the chasm of division with the people in Malam.I think the best part of Erin's writing is how well she makes sure even the side characters are humanized and that we actually feel for them, even if they have tiny parts.I do highly recommend you read Ever the Brave and Ever the Hunted first, and I would recommend this book.
    more
  • fairylightsandbooks ( Aino )
    January 1, 1970
    I need it right now!!!
  • Samantha Brody
    January 1, 1970
    It may be that this just doesn’t work that well as a stand-alone (I didn’t read the first two books) but I struggled to keep track of the multiple kingdoms and I kept wishing the stakes were higher than they actually were? The romance was sweet though.**ARC was provided by publisher via NetGalley & did not affect the content of this review**
    more
  • Lea (drumsofautumn)
    January 1, 1970
    I can't believe I'm planning on doing this to myself..
  • Brie
    January 1, 1970
    I loved this book! Full review to comeUpdate: 12/5/18- FIVE STARS! You know those books where you enjoyed them so much and then a sequel or spin off comes out and you think to yourself "there's no way this can meet my expectations"? Well that was me when I heard that the Clash of Kingdoms series was getting another book. I was both excited and nervous to read it. I'm not going to lie, I basically begged for an early copy of the book. Like I said, I loved the first 2 and couldn't wait to read ONC I loved this book! Full review to comeUpdate: 12/5/18- FIVE STARS! You know those books where you enjoyed them so much and then a sequel or spin off comes out and you think to yourself "there's no way this can meet my expectations"? Well that was me when I heard that the Clash of Kingdoms series was getting another book. I was both excited and nervous to read it. I'm not going to lie, I basically begged for an early copy of the book. Like I said, I loved the first 2 and couldn't wait to read ONCE A KING. Nerves and all! The publishers were gracious enough to send and advance copy in exchange for an honest review. "If you want to bring about change, all you need to be is a voice. A voice loud enough to start a storm." Aodren was one of my favorite characters in the Ever the Hunted/Brave books and I was thrilled to find out he would be getting his own story. ONCE A KING picks up shortly after the ending of Ever the Brave. Still adjusting to his new leadership role as king of Malam, Aodren has a lot to learn. All the kingdoms gather for The Tournament of Champions, hostility rises when the kingdom is plagued by a dangerous and sometimes deadly drug, created from magic, known as Sanguine. A drug that is supposed to have extraordinary healing properties. Aodren, requests the help of Lirra, the archtraitors daughter and a Channeler, who may have valuable information. I found the tension, witty banter and relationship between the new king and Lirra to be quite entertaining. Lirra holds a grudge against King Aodren for the sins of his father, while Aodren is simply trying to right all the wrongs done to her and others like her. "There isn't one of us whose kingdom has a spotless history. My people's shame is merely more recent." ONCE A KING is a story in a medieval setting, full of magic, suspense, action and political intrigue. The book is written through dual POV's which I always thinks adds depth to a novel. The pages are filled with Erin's fantastical storytelling and beautiful prose. There was enough mystery to keep me turning page after page, desperate for more. Easily one of my favorite reads this year and it left me with a terrible book hangover. "Hate never listens to new laws"
    more
  • Janet Slipak
    January 1, 1970
    MY THOUGHTS:I received this book in exchange for my honest review.A kingdom afraid of magic. People at odds. Peace is greatly desired. Although this book is set in a world visited twice before by the reader, and the characters are the same as the first and second book, this book reads well and can be thought as a standalone.A perfect book for people who like a happy ending after main characters struggle through challenges and despair. The author has a great way of telling stories and a strong vo MY THOUGHTS:I received this book in exchange for my honest review.A kingdom afraid of magic. People at odds. Peace is greatly desired. Although this book is set in a world visited twice before by the reader, and the characters are the same as the first and second book, this book reads well and can be thought as a standalone.A perfect book for people who like a happy ending after main characters struggle through challenges and despair. The author has a great way of telling stories and a strong voice used from cover to cover.Excellent world-building and perfect character arc development–well fleshed out and solid in understanding their goals and growth. The premise is one that has been done before with a few tiny differences, but it’s effective in smooth transitioning from one plot element to another. World-building is really great and I enjoyed learning more about it. Overall, this is a character driven plot.
    more
  • Jessica
    January 1, 1970
    Nothing happens in this book.Nothing. Nothing kept me wanting to read more. Nothing exciting kept me on the edge of my seat. This book was literally paper with nothing on it.
  • Jessie Humphries
    January 1, 1970
    I love this series and I love this third book! It was really interesting to explore this world even more than we have done before. I highly recommend this fantasy.
  • Brianna
    January 1, 1970
    I NEED MORE INFORMATION
  • Yvonne Olson
    January 1, 1970
    I’m sure the book got better as it went, but I couldn’t get myself to open it up and read more of it. No matter how hard I tried or how many times I opened it, I could tread more than a page or two before closing it.
  • thebookiv
    January 1, 1970
    The first two installments of this series we're nothing remarkable, in my opinion. So Once a King was read pretty much as a standalone, with little to low expectations and it turned out to be a fantastic, fun and enjoyable read! Aodren is a young King trying to enact change. Lirra is well-versed in the art of espionage. These two have incredible chemistry, great dialogue, life matters of purpose, and a friendship that tumbles and crests as we cross our fingers and hope it turns into something mo The first two installments of this series we're nothing remarkable, in my opinion. So Once a King was read pretty much as a standalone, with little to low expectations and it turned out to be a fantastic, fun and enjoyable read! Aodren is a young King trying to enact change. Lirra is well-versed in the art of espionage. These two have incredible chemistry, great dialogue, life matters of purpose, and a friendship that tumbles and crests as we cross our fingers and hope it turns into something more. They are both surrounded by ample characters, all of which added enough texture to a fairly predictable story that could have depreciated easily into a less satisfying and unrewarding read. Summerill managed to keep it all light and tidy without seeming vapid or losing any of that lovely tension. I'm really happy I read this. I enjoyed the writer's style and the pacing was quick and painless.The past traumas are alluded to within the narrative so it's not really necessary to read the first two books in order to understand where the next installment of the series is going. I like that I'm not required to read what came before. This book feels like quality improvement, and in this regard is miles ahead of them. Quite pleased with this read!I would like to thank Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Children's Book Group and NetGalley for providing me with this ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kim Merrick
    January 1, 1970
    Once a King is the third book in the Clash of Kingdoms Series, but you do not have to read the first two books in order to read this one. This book takes place sometime after the time period of the first two books, and other than a few minor references to events in the first two books, it is pretty well set up to be read as a standalone book! However, I personally thought it was fun to have read the other books prior to this book because some well loved characters are back in this one and it’s f Once a King is the third book in the Clash of Kingdoms Series, but you do not have to read the first two books in order to read this one. This book takes place sometime after the time period of the first two books, and other than a few minor references to events in the first two books, it is pretty well set up to be read as a standalone book! However, I personally thought it was fun to have read the other books prior to this book because some well loved characters are back in this one and it’s fun to see where their stories go!This book has so much in it that I love about YA fantasy! The characters Aodren and Lirra are well written and feel very natural because they aren’t without flaws. These are both characters from the previous books and it was fun to learn more of their story! The story may have been a bit predictable at times, but it had a great romance and a mystery that kept you guessing about who the villain was until the very end! Overall, I would give this book a 4 out of 5 stars! Erin Summerill did some great world building and it was interesting to see how she was able to further develop some of the characters in a standalone third book!
    more
  • Audrey
    January 1, 1970
    Once a King was a truly incredible companion novel. This book is set after the events of Ever the Brave. While it’s possible to read this without having read the other books, you’ll get a better sense of all the characters involved if you have. I was really excited to get more from Aodren’s point of view because I’ve been cheering for him since Ever the Hunted. I loved the way we got to see the country of Malam trying to recover from years of fear and prejudice. This book was filled with the soc Once a King was a truly incredible companion novel. This book is set after the events of Ever the Brave. While it’s possible to read this without having read the other books, you’ll get a better sense of all the characters involved if you have. I was really excited to get more from Aodren’s point of view because I’ve been cheering for him since Ever the Hunted. I loved the way we got to see the country of Malam trying to recover from years of fear and prejudice. This book was filled with the social aftermath of hatred, and the setting and political climate was perfectly described. I loved this book as much as the others.4.5 ⭐️ for more in this in lovely world
    more
  • Leslie
    January 1, 1970
    Another book from my favorite YA author!!! I absolutely loved the previous books Erin Summerill - everything she writes is awesome! I have even given the first two books away as gifts to friends and family.
  • Elena Martinez
    January 1, 1970
    I am basically stupid excited for this to come!!
  • Cindy Mitchell *Kiss the Book*
    January 1, 1970
    Once a King (Clash of Kingdoms #3) by Erin Summerill, 448 pages. Houghton Mifflin, DECEMBER 2018. $18. Language: PG (19 swears, 0 ‘f’); Mature Content: G; Violence: PG (some blood)MS, HS – ESSENTIALAfter saving her friend Orli from the clutches of the evil regent of Malam and helping King Aodren gain control of his throne from said regent, Lirra is ready to go back to Shaerden and work with her father as an information gatherer, or spy. But her father is off on a highly sensitive assignment that Once a King (Clash of Kingdoms #3) by Erin Summerill, 448 pages. Houghton Mifflin, DECEMBER 2018. $18. Language: PG (19 swears, 0 ‘f’); Mature Content: G; Violence: PG (some blood)MS, HS – ESSENTIALAfter saving her friend Orli from the clutches of the evil regent of Malam and helping King Aodren gain control of his throne from said regent, Lirra is ready to go back to Shaerden and work with her father as an information gatherer, or spy. But her father is off on a highly sensitive assignment that involves Aodren, who is in Shaerden for the All Kingdom’s Summit, a once every five year’s meeting that involves shows of strength, displays of Channeler powers, and negotiations between kingdom’s. But there is danger in Shaerden – someone has a created a counterfeit Sanguine oil, an oil which normally heals. This oil makes the taker feel powerful for a time, but it then addicts and eventually kills them. Malam and Aodren will be blamed if the evil plot isn’t stopped and Lirra can’t stop herself from becoming involved – both with the problem and with Aodren.I think my summary skills escaped me in writing this review. Feel free to comment if you want to help me do a better job explaining. But really, once you make the mental switch to the new characters and scene, you will love this book as much as I did. Summerill’s writing keeps getting better; I hope she has many more tightly plotted and delightfully populated novels in her writing quiver. Cindy, Middle School Librarian https://kissthebook.blogspot.com/2018...
    more
Write a review