The Vanderbeekers and the Hidden Garden
Return to Harlem's "wildly entertaining" family in this funny, heartwarming sequel. When catastrophe strikes their beloved upstairs neighbors, the Vanderbeeker children set out to build the best, most magical healing garden in Harlem—in spite of a locked fence, thistles and trash, and the conflicting plans of a wealthy real estate developer. While Isa is off at sleepaway orchestra camp, Jessie, Oliver, Hyacinth, and Laney are stuck at home in the brownstone with nothing to do but get on one another’s nerves. But when catastrophe strikes their beloved upstairs neighbor, their sleepy summer transforms in an instant as the Vanderbeeker children band together to do what they do best: make a plan. They will create the most magical healing garden in all of Harlem. In this companion to The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street, experience the warmth of a family and their community as they work together to bring a little more beauty and kindness to the world, one thwarted plan at a time.

The Vanderbeekers and the Hidden Garden Details

TitleThe Vanderbeekers and the Hidden Garden
Author
ReleaseSep 25th, 2018
PublisherHMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-139781328770028
Rating
GenreChildrens, Middle Grade, Realistic Fiction, Family, Fiction

The Vanderbeekers and the Hidden Garden Review

  • Lisa Vegan
    January 1, 1970
    I read an advance reading uncorrected proof copy with 326 pages. Thank you, Karina! The author asked me if I wanted a copy and offered to add my name to the list, and I received it from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. It’s been a long time since I’ve had the opportunity to read a book in advance of publication and I am grateful because I have such fun reading books early. I’ll probably reread the book when the hardcover edition is available, just in case changes have been made be I read an advance reading uncorrected proof copy with 326 pages. Thank you, Karina! The author asked me if I wanted a copy and offered to add my name to the list, and I received it from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. It’s been a long time since I’ve had the opportunity to read a book in advance of publication and I am grateful because I have such fun reading books early. I’ll probably reread the book when the hardcover edition is available, just in case changes have been made between now and then. This copy already has a good look to it though, with a real cover image and inside illustrations, section and chapter titles, etc. It could work as a standalone but I highly recommend reading the first book first. This one isn’t due out for a few months so there is plenty of time to read the first Vanderbeeker book before reading this second book.It took me less than a 24 hour period to read it. For just a bit it started very slowly for me, maybe because I already knew the characters and didn’t need as much set up, but I think it was mainly my mood and not the book, but I did like it more and more as it went on. At first I thought I wouldn’t like it as much as the first book but by the middle and definitely by the end I actually enjoyed it even a bit more than the first book.It’s a sort of modern “The Secret Garden” and I thoroughly enjoyed the references to many other books as well. I appreciate how even though they have normal sibling squabbles, these kids, even though they have a fairly wide age range, want to spend so much time doing things together. And I also love how they have other friends, both fellow kids and adults.I really missed Isa in this book. I do think the reason for her absence is realistic. I am glad we got to see her eventually, and the phone call with her helped, though for me the text message did not.These kids, siblings and their friends, and many of the adults too, are resourceful, industrious, creative, loveable, and endearing. They and this story are delightful. There is plenty of humor, and one time I did laugh out loud (view spoiler)[ (bunny in the hospital scene) (hide spoiler)] and other amusing scenes too. Even though as an adult I could easily guess how things would go, more than the target age readers I think, I still felt a lot of suspense, and was heartily rooting for these kids and their project. The food mentioned in this book, at least to my pre-vegan childhood self, and some of the food is vegan or seems close to it, and of course all of it could be veganized, was so appealing that I didn’t want to read the book feeling hungry. At one point, after daily action, there is a one week long gap of time and initially I found it jarring but it was the right decision for the story.The characters and relationships are interesting and have some complexity. This is also a great story about community. Ultimately, it’s a sweet but not overly sweet story. Another plus: This book can be enjoyed by both girls and boys.The illustrations are charming.I love the author’s bio part that says “One of her proudest achievements is raising two kids who can’t go anywhere without a book.”
    more
  • Kate Olson
    January 1, 1970
    🌟 ALL THE STARS 🌟 Thx to the author for this free review copy of her 9.25.18 sequel to THE VANDERBEEKERS OF 141st STREET ❤.These books are the unicorns of Kid Lit. They can appeal to ages 4 - 13 due to the style of writing and the ages of the characters and are perfectly described as Penderwickian. With the bonus of there being a brother! If you don’t know The Penderwicks, how about The Melendy family in the books by Elizabeth Enright? These stories evoke those exact same feelings..THE VANDERBEE 🌟 ALL THE STARS 🌟 Thx to the author for this free review copy of her 9.25.18 sequel to THE VANDERBEEKERS OF 141st STREET ❤️.These books are the unicorns of Kid Lit. They can appeal to ages 4 - 13 due to the style of writing and the ages of the characters and are perfectly described as Penderwickian. With the bonus of there being a brother! If you don’t know The Penderwicks, how about The Melendy family in the books by Elizabeth Enright? These stories evoke those exact same feelings..THE VANDERBEEKERS AND THE HIDDEN GARDEN has a fabulous summer/garden storyline with so many nods to The Secret Garden - loved that. A Harlem setting, a wonderful cast of secondary characters and our favorite NYC family ~ what more could we possibly want?.If you haven’t read book 1 yet, you have time before this one releases! These are must-buys for middle grade classrooms and libraries..This review copy is being passed on to the @kidlitexchange network for more reviews.
    more
  • Kelly
    January 1, 1970
    I love the Vanderbeekers and seeing them in this adventure -- one of heart and love and generosity but filled with choices made with little foresight -- was delightful. A fun family. Also, a lesson learned here: do not take your rabbit to the hospital to visit a patient.
    more
  • Kathie
    January 1, 1970
    Another wonderful story about the Vanderbeeker family!! If you haven't read the first book in this series, I suggest you do so right away, and pre-order this one IMMEDIATELY. In this book, the Vanderbeeker kids are creating a garden as a special surprise, except the location they've chosen is less than ideal. They have several challenges to overcome, but in usual Vanderbeeker fashion, they will face them creativity and love. An excellent follow-up to the first book, this is a 2018 middle grade m Another wonderful story about the Vanderbeeker family!! If you haven't read the first book in this series, I suggest you do so right away, and pre-order this one IMMEDIATELY. In this book, the Vanderbeeker kids are creating a garden as a special surprise, except the location they've chosen is less than ideal. They have several challenges to overcome, but in usual Vanderbeeker fashion, they will face them creativity and love. An excellent follow-up to the first book, this is a 2018 middle grade must-read.
    more
  • Laura Gardner
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to author @karinaisreadingandwriting and @hmhkids for the free book! All opinions are my own. I'll be sharing this with #kidlitexchange. 5/5 for this wonderful sequel, which comes out 9/26/18. Place it on your fall pre-order lists now!~*~*~*~*~*Swipe for the back!~*~*~*~*~*I was so happy to reunite with the Vanderbeeker children, Mrs. Josie, Mr. Jeet and Mr. Beiderman because my primary emotion when I finished the first book was deep regret that I read it too quickly! Karina Yan Glaser ha Thanks to author @karinaisreadingandwriting and @hmhkids for the free book! All opinions are my own. I'll be sharing this with #kidlitexchange. 5/5 for this wonderful sequel, which comes out 9/26/18. Place it on your fall pre-order lists now!~*~*~*~*~*Swipe for the back!~*~*~*~*~*I was so happy to reunite with the Vanderbeeker children, Mrs. Josie, Mr. Jeet and Mr. Beiderman because my primary emotion when I finished the first book was deep regret that I read it too quickly! Karina Yan Glaser has written another pitch perfect family novel that will make a wonderful read aloud. I would love to join the Vanderbeeker family...or at least be one of their friends or neighbors. Is that possible? I'm only half kidding. This is the childhood I wish to create for my children -- one full of adventure, independence, dirt and love. I loved this book and so will you! I recommend it for grades 2-8. The back of the book says grades 2 - 5, but I have plenty of Vanderbeeker fans in my middle school library.
    more
  • Laura (bbliophile)
    January 1, 1970
    This book was absolutely wonderful! I had the biggest smile on my face the entire time while reading it, and my heart feels like it's going to burst from happiness. This is one of the loveliest, most wonderful books I've ever read.
  • Monica Edinger
    January 1, 1970
    reviewed professionally.
  • Lorie Barber
    January 1, 1970
    When you read a book and it leaves an imprint on your heart, you can often be a bit concerned when a sequel is announced. For me, that concern is usually because I’m afraid that the “magic” of the first story won’t be able to be recreated, regardless of the talent and hard work of the author. I am so thrilled that this wasn’t the case with The Vanderbeekers and the Hidden Garden! I didn’t think it was possible for me to love this family more, but Karina Yan Glaser’s continued development of each When you read a book and it leaves an imprint on your heart, you can often be a bit concerned when a sequel is announced. For me, that concern is usually because I’m afraid that the “magic” of the first story won’t be able to be recreated, regardless of the talent and hard work of the author. I am so thrilled that this wasn’t the case with The Vanderbeekers and the Hidden Garden! I didn’t think it was possible for me to love this family more, but Karina Yan Glaser’s continued development of each Vanderbeeker, as well as their wealth of friends (old and new), did the trick. I love Jessie’s leadership, Oliver’s quiet reflectiveness, Hyacinth’s kindness, Laney’s sweet energy, and Mama & Papa’s thoughtful selflessness. As a twin, I missed Isa & Jessie’s repartee, but LOVED seeing Jessie come into her own as an individual. I also very much enjoyed the introduction of Herman and Orlando. And of course, The Beiderman. A uniquely original man with such a huge heart. This character-driven sequel deepened my love for the Vanderbeekers, and I am BEYOND excited to share their stories of love, sacrifice, and family with my students and loved ones. Will there be a number three?! ❤️
    more
  • Kimberly
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you @kidlitexchange for a review copy of this book. All opinions are my own. This highly anticipated sequel is set to hit shelves 9.25.18. I jumped at the chance to read it and catch up with my favorite little family who reside in the cutest brownstone in Harlem. The Vanderbeekers are back to helping their lovely neighbors who have definitely become part of their adorable family. The children are heartbroken when Mr. Jeet suffers another stroke and is placed in the hospital for several wee Thank you @kidlitexchange for a review copy of this book. All opinions are my own. This highly anticipated sequel is set to hit shelves 9.25.18. I jumped at the chance to read it and catch up with my favorite little family who reside in the cutest brownstone in Harlem. The Vanderbeekers are back to helping their lovely neighbors who have definitely become part of their adorable family. The children are heartbroken when Mr. Jeet suffers another stroke and is placed in the hospital for several weeks. Wanting to help out and ensure that their “adopted grandpa” has a special surprise waiting when he comes home, the Vanderbeekers set out to transform a nearby abandoned lot. They work together making new friends, combining unlikely resources and even uncover a special treasure as they slowly create the most charming community garden. I just adore this family. They are so real and full of various interests that they can use and encorporate throughout the story. I loved visiting with the neighbors we were introduced to in the first book. Mr. Beiderman once again made me laugh as well as shed a few tears. I will forever think of him when I see a can of Spam or run my fingers over a lavender bush. I enjoyed meeting a couple new characters as well this time. It was wonderful seeing a boy who loves to knit and yarn bomb various object. The Vanderbeekers were incredibly entertaining as they snuck around and became first time gardeners. I liked that they were independent, took action and even learned from a couple mistakes. Wait until you see what they transform this space into. I would love to visit it in a heartbeat. Oh and you will want to virtually squeeze Laney in this book. She is so darn cute. Her and Paginni pulled off on of my favorite scenes!!! This entire series is a must read and one that I will forever recommend. The stories are heartwarming, the characters are realistic and the setting is absolute perfection. I hope Glaser provides us with numerous more adventures of The Vanderbeekers.
    more
  • Patty
    January 1, 1970
    The Vanderbeekers And The Hidden GardenByKarina Yan GlaserWhat it's all about...This is the second book in the Family Vanderbeeker series. It’s not essential but I really would urge readers to read the first book first. I loved getting to know the Vanderbeekers...a biracial family living in a brownstone in Harlem. The books revolve around the antics of the five siblings and their relationships with friends and neighbors as well as each other. The Vanderbeekers are quirky, funny, sweet, and a tee The Vanderbeekers And The Hidden GardenByKarina Yan GlaserWhat it's all about...This is the second book in the Family Vanderbeeker series. It’s not essential but I really would urge readers to read the first book first. I loved getting to know the Vanderbeekers...a biracial family living in a brownstone in Harlem. The books revolve around the antics of the five siblings and their relationships with friends and neighbors as well as each other. The Vanderbeekers are quirky, funny, sweet, and a teensy bit presumptuous but in a good way. Money can sometimes be tight, their parents handle everything with reasonableness and a smile and as long as they have an abundance of cookies and a scarcity of quinoa...they are happy. They are also very helpful...perhaps overly so...at times. In this book they want to make a community garden for two very special friends. Why I wanted to read it...That’s simple...I read and loved the first one and was delighted to get the second one. What made me truly enjoy this book...Oliver...the only boy and a total book lover...the twins Isa...the violinist and Jessie the science person...Hyacinth the extreme knitter and Laney...the youngest and sweetest...these are my reasons for loving this book.Why you should read it, too...Readers who love unique and clever family stories will love this book! I received an advance reader’s copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley and Amazon. It was my choice to read it and review it.
    more
  • Dawn (The Reading Column)
    January 1, 1970
    Free copy provided by the publisher. | My favorite charming and heartfelt family from Harlem (and their adorable pets!) return in the sequel to The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street in this year’s middle-grade-must-read THE VANDERBEEKERS AND THE HIDDEN GARDEN. Every bit as delightful the children come together to surprise an ailing neighbor with a garden as only The Vanderbeekers know how – with creativity and big hearts.Yan Glaser blends the nostalgia of classics like Little House on the Prairie an Free copy provided by the publisher. | My favorite charming and heartfelt family from Harlem (and their adorable pets!) return in the sequel to The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street in this year’s middle-grade-must-read THE VANDERBEEKERS AND THE HIDDEN GARDEN. Every bit as delightful the children come together to surprise an ailing neighbor with a garden as only The Vanderbeekers know how – with creativity and big hearts.Yan Glaser blends the nostalgia of classics like Little House on the Prairie and Ramona & Beezus with modern day references to urban redevelopment and gentrification which completely resonates with me and my family of five living in the heart of a city undergoing this very thing!I would be remiss if I didn’t mention how perfectly the illustrations add to the book’s charm. Written for middle grade readers but easily loved by mature readers also. This is the quintessential read-aloud series!
    more
  • Casey Lyall
    January 1, 1970
    I'm just going to say it. I LOVE THE VANDERBEEKERS. This series keeps getting better. They're slice of life family stories that are perfect for curling up with and falling into. Funny, charming, and sweet, but grounded by real-life issues and emotions.I'm not going to pick favourites (Laney) because all of the Vanderbeekers are awesome. And they're definitely up to their usual shenanigans. In this sequel, kids are working on putting together a community garden and run into quite a few obstacles I'm just going to say it. I LOVE THE VANDERBEEKERS. This series keeps getting better. They're slice of life family stories that are perfect for curling up with and falling into. Funny, charming, and sweet, but grounded by real-life issues and emotions.I'm not going to pick favourites (Laney) because all of the Vanderbeekers are awesome. And they're definitely up to their usual shenanigans. In this sequel, kids are working on putting together a community garden and run into quite a few obstacles along the way - some more unpleasant than others. (No spoilers here!)You read this book and find yourself packing to move into the brownstone next door. Reading this sequel is fun and familiar - it's a new story that brings the same joy as book one. There might be some trouble in the neighbourhood, but you know in your heart that the Vanderbeekers will work it out in the end.Definitely pick this one up for your collection (along with the first one if you haven't already!)
    more
  • Edie
    January 1, 1970
    I loved the first book and this second, which stands alone, is equally charming. This time the children take on a project without Isa who is at music camp. They decide to build a garden as a surprise for their neighbor who has had a second stroke. There is guilt here, personal growth (on behalf of adults and children), team building and lots of charm. I love the sense of the city in these books and the life-style of a working class family.
    more
  • Cassie Thomas
    January 1, 1970
    The Vanderbeekers are easily one of my favorite fictional families. The way Karina writes really keeps you engaged and feels as if this family are your neighborhood friends. I love the subtle messages of friendship, family, compassion, and love all woven throughout the overall story. I am so excited their adventures are continuing.
    more
  • Jensen
    January 1, 1970
    I read this book aloud to my 8 and 12 year old and we all had a blast. We had enjoyed the first book about the Vanderbeekers and the second did not disappoint. Very similar in tone and dynamics to The Penderwicks, while also being their own unique family (and in a very distinct setting), I hope there will be more books to come about the Vanderbeekers!
    more
  • Ro
    January 1, 1970
    The Vanderbeekers have become my favorite book family! These five siblings, their parents, friends and neighbors build a community in New York’s Harlem that I would very much love to be a part of. Karina Yan Glaser writes a realistic fiction story that includes adventures, family and friendship dynamics that portray mistakes, regret, learning, growing and kindness readers can relate to. To add to this engaging tale the author weaves a tad of possible magic, a race against the clock and corporate The Vanderbeekers have become my favorite book family! These five siblings, their parents, friends and neighbors build a community in New York’s Harlem that I would very much love to be a part of. Karina Yan Glaser writes a realistic fiction story that includes adventures, family and friendship dynamics that portray mistakes, regret, learning, growing and kindness readers can relate to. To add to this engaging tale the author weaves a tad of possible magic, a race against the clock and corporate interests, secret keeping, knit bombing, all to make readers want to fly through the pages, fingers crossed, to find out if the outcome is what we hope for, obstacles not withstanding. On a personal reader note, as an only child, I have no experience with siblings, so what I know comes from friends’ experiences and books; I mostly don’t regret not having siblings based on what I read. I find it a breath of fresh air, that the Vanderbeeker siblings, with diverse personalities and passions, can actually get along, love each other, care for each other, apologize when needed, and be each others’ friends.
    more
  • Bear Allen
    January 1, 1970
    There is so much heart in these tales that it would’ve been understandable if The Hidden Garden didn’t stand up to its predecessor. But the author has yet again breathed incredible life into each of her characters as the Vanderbeekers and their neighbors embark on another adventure. These books are so warm and inviting... you feel like you yourself are living amongst the members of this tight knit Harlem community. These books will someday be classics read for the lovely escapism they provide an There is so much heart in these tales that it would’ve been understandable if The Hidden Garden didn’t stand up to its predecessor. But the author has yet again breathed incredible life into each of her characters as the Vanderbeekers and their neighbors embark on another adventure. These books are so warm and inviting... you feel like you yourself are living amongst the members of this tight knit Harlem community. These books will someday be classics read for the lovely escapism they provide and the nods to what a community can do if they come together under one purpose. I need more of the Vanderbeekers in my life!
    more
  • Susan
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to the author, @karinaisreadingandwriting, @kidlitexchange and @librarianmsg for the review copy of this book. All opinions are my own. I loved the first book in this series, and I was thrilled to have the opportunity to read the next one, which will be released in September. I’m so sorry you’ll need to wait four months to visit with the Vanderbeeker kids again, but I guarantee it’s worth the wait!Oh, I simply DID NOT want this book to end! From page one I was transported to a cozy bro Thank you to the author, @karinaisreadingandwriting, @kidlitexchange and @librarianmsg for the review copy of this book. All opinions are my own. I loved the first book in this series, and I was thrilled to have the opportunity to read the next one, which will be released in September. I’m so sorry you’ll need to wait four months to visit with the Vanderbeeker kids again, but I guarantee it’s worth the wait!Oh, I simply DID NOT want this book to end! From page one I was transported to a cozy brownstone in Harlem and entered the world of the Vanderbeeker’s. I felt the love and support all five kids have for one another, as well as the love they have for their neighbors who share their brownstone.The kids, along with their friends, display amazing teamwork, loyalty and resourcefulness as they join together to rescue a hidden garden for their adopted grandparents. I also like the fact that the realitity of a family with five children sharing a small brownstone was honestly portrayed. The family couldn’t love each other more, but they certainly didn’t always agree!This gets all the stars and deserves to be in every family’s library and on every library shelf. It’s a perfect family read aloud from ages 3 and up. It’s one of those special books that the entire family will adore! Librarians, be sure and preorder this one now (actually multiple copies!) so it will arrive shortly after school begins.Now, I just need to wait for the next Vanderbeeker family adventure! @karinaraisreadingandwriting, please write quickly!
    more
  • Stephanie
    January 1, 1970
    I’m reviewing The Vanderbeekers And The Hidden Garden by Karina Yan Glaser after receiving access to an advance copy in exchange for my honest review via www.netgalley.com. My opinions are my own. I read the first Vanderbeekers book after a glorious recommendation from someone whose opinion I valued. I had huge expectations that were completely validated and vaulted over. To say my expectations for this second Vanderbeekers adventure were high would be quite an understatement. That being said, i I’m reviewing The Vanderbeekers And The Hidden Garden by Karina Yan Glaser after receiving access to an advance copy in exchange for my honest review via www.netgalley.com. My opinions are my own. I read the first Vanderbeekers book after a glorious recommendation from someone whose opinion I valued. I had huge expectations that were completely validated and vaulted over. To say my expectations for this second Vanderbeekers adventure were high would be quite an understatement. That being said, if it’s possible to love two books most in the world I think that might sum up how I feel right now. In this second installment we find the youngest Vanderbeekers on a mission to bring cheer to their beloved neighbors, Miss Josie and Mr. Jeet, by secretly rehabilitating a vacant lot into a community garden. The strongest point of this book is the relationship the reader forms with these wonderful children and the adults in their lives. I feel like I know these kids! I finished the book with the overwhelming urge to donate to a Harlem community garden in hopes that it would bring a happy squeal from a real life Laney! Adding to the strength of the characters is the way the subplots weave throughout the central story. The garden quickly becomes a hub for stories of redemption, renewal, and friendship. Multiple opportunities for character education exist in the story without being too in-your-face. The biggest weaknesses of the story, how four kids and a few friends could manage to clear and plant a full garden in a couple weeks without their parents or the land owner catching on, is easily waved off by the sheer delight these characters bring to the story. You can’t help but root for these little optimists and their little world even if that world is a bit too good to be true. Additionally, as a classroom teacher I left this book buzzing with ideas about tie-ins such as a PBL unit on garden planning or a community history investigation to possibly uncover unknown or forgotten landmarks. The possibilities for a whole class or whole school book experience are great. I hope this isn’t the last we hear from the Vanderbeekers! Be sure to put this on your shelf for everyone from precocious second grade readers on up! I think the greatest appeal will be from grades 3-6.
    more
  • Laura Hill
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Children’s Book Group and NetGalley for an early review copy of The Vanderbeekers and the Hidden Garden by Karina Yan Glaser, which will publish September 25, 2018.  All thoughts are my own.Writing: 4 Plot: 5 Characters: 5I loved this young readers book. It is the second in the Vanderbeeker series and every bit as good as the first. It reminds me of some of my favorite series from childhood — the characters became my friends, and I couldn’t wait to go along Thank you to Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Children’s Book Group and NetGalley for an early review copy of The Vanderbeekers and the Hidden Garden by Karina Yan Glaser, which will publish September 25, 2018.  All thoughts are my own.Writing: 4 Plot: 5 Characters: 5I loved this young readers book. It is the second in the Vanderbeeker series and every bit as good as the first. It reminds me of some of my favorite series from childhood — the characters became my friends, and I couldn’t wait to go along on the next adventure.The five Vanderbeeker children live with their parents on the bottom two floors of a brownstone on 141st in Harlem. When Mr. Jeet, the above floor neighbor, has a debilitating stroke, they decide to create a hidden garden in the abandoned lot adjoining the church as surprise for his homecoming. This simple plot line gives rise to opportunities for a whole array of neighborhood kids to contribute while learning about caring, friendship, and the ability to create beauty from nothing.I love this book for many reasons. These people are regular people. They are neither rich nor poor. Taking place in Harlem, the cast is decidedly multicultural, and there are little hints as to different backgrounds — but that is not the point. Some kids obviously come from loving nuclear families, while others have absent parents, substitute parents, or bits of tragedy in their histories — but that isn’t the point either. These people come together as friends and neighbors; they care about each other and try to help each other out. The book unashamedly models good values and behavior, demonstrating friendship, caring, self sufficiency, and having the agency to make bad situations better. Five stars.If you like this review, please visit my blog: https://bibliobloggityboo.wordpress.com/ for more!
    more
  • Diane
    January 1, 1970
    “... seeds could grow even in the unlikeliest of circumstances.”**Seeds of friendship ... seeds of community ... seeds of love ... and, of course, seeds in their garden. The Vanderbeekers are back in another heart-warming adventure! When Mr. Jeet, their beloved neighbor, has a stroke and must go into the hospital, the Vanderbeekers decide to create a garden for him to return to. “Miss Josie never asks for anything, but she’s been hinting about that garden for years. And I know Mr. Jeet misses be “... seeds could grow even in the unlikeliest of circumstances.”**Seeds of friendship ... seeds of community ... seeds of love ... and, of course, seeds in their garden. The Vanderbeekers are back in another heart-warming adventure! When Mr. Jeet, their beloved neighbor, has a stroke and must go into the hospital, the Vanderbeekers decide to create a garden for him to return to. “Miss Josie never asks for anything, but she’s been hinting about that garden for years. And I know Mr. Jeet misses being outside and seeing his friends. It’s the perfect thing for us to have ready for him when he gets back from the hospital.” There’s a lot attached to the neighborhood church that, though it used to be where a preschool was, has become a patch of weeds and “was the one neglected area on the block.” It’s surrounded by a fence. It sounds like the perfect place for their garden. So, the Vanderbeekers go to talk to Triple J, the pastor of the church. And during that conversation, the Vanderbeekers are pretty sure Triple J gives them permission to turn the area into a garden, though he is a bit distracted by a phone conversation.And so their project begins. “Oliver felt buoyed by the new sense of purpose. They were going to make the best garden in Harlem, and everyone was going to love it!” But someone else is looking at that land, as well. Someone who wants to sell it for condominium space. Will their garden be destroyed after all their hard work? It seems likely, after all, how can children compete with land developers? “... maybe the world worked only if people gave all they could without measuring the worth of what they gave.” This is a wonderful story about family, love, friendship, and a community that cares for one another. You want neighbors like the Vanderbeekers. These kids see problems and try to solve them to make their community better. It will make an inspirational read aloud for students. **Quotes taken from an Advanced Readers Copy
    more
  • Laurie
    January 1, 1970
    Interest Level: 3-6What if someone you loved very much asked you to do something and then they got very sick? Would you do everything in your power to make it happen? That is exactly what has happened to the Vanderbeeker kids. While Isa is gone for three weeks at a music camp the other four Vanderbeeker kids see themselves having a completely boring summer. When tragedy strikes their beloved upstairs neighbors, Miss Josie and Mr. Jeet, the kids have to pull together to create a magical garden fo Interest Level: 3-6What if someone you loved very much asked you to do something and then they got very sick? Would you do everything in your power to make it happen? That is exactly what has happened to the Vanderbeeker kids. While Isa is gone for three weeks at a music camp the other four Vanderbeeker kids see themselves having a completely boring summer. When tragedy strikes their beloved upstairs neighbors, Miss Josie and Mr. Jeet, the kids have to pull together to create a magical garden for them to come home to. With the help of their friends they work very hard to turn a run-down, overgrown old patch of land into a garden paradise. Just when things start looking up their dreams get crushed by a land developer wanting to build fancy, new condominiums in the exact location of their garden. Will Mr. Jeet and Miss Josie make it back to see their masterpiece before it is bulldozed? This is a must read second installment to The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street. New friends, old friends, and family all pull together but will it be enough? Read this delightfully charming book about this amazing neighborhood in Harlem.I said in my review of book one that I would love to live in this neighborhood and have all of these people as neighbors. Book two only magnifies this. The Vanderbeekers have a magical community and you don't want to miss even one page of these books!!Follow me:Blog - Blazer Tales - https://blazertales.weebly.com/Facebook - Laurie’s Library Place - https://www.facebook.com/LauriesLibra...Instagram - laurieslibrary - https://www.instagram.com/laurieslibr...Twitter - https://twitter.com/lauriepurser27Goodreads - Laurie Purser - https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1...Pinterest - https://www.pinterest.com/auburngirl2...
    more
  • Jana
    January 1, 1970
    I had the opportunity to read a NetGalley digital ARC of this book and a copy of this book was also provided to my #BookRelays reading group on Twitter. This book is a follow-up to The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street, so fans of this family’s adventures are in for a treat.The book picks up a few months after where the first book left off. It is now summer break and the kids are out of school with time on their hands. Isa is away at music camp, leaving her twin sister, Jessica, alone in their share I had the opportunity to read a NetGalley digital ARC of this book and a copy of this book was also provided to my #BookRelays reading group on Twitter. This book is a follow-up to The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street, so fans of this family’s adventures are in for a treat.The book picks up a few months after where the first book left off. It is now summer break and the kids are out of school with time on their hands. Isa is away at music camp, leaving her twin sister, Jessica, alone in their shared bedroom. Oliver, Hyacinth, and Laney decide that they want to surprise their elderly upstairs neighbors with a special garden planted in an unused lot owned by their neighborhood church. Jeet is in the hospital after suffering a stroke and Miss Jessica now spends all of her time at his bedside.However, the church treasurer is trying to sell the lot to condominium developers while the pastor is away on a family emergency. The kids are desperate to finish the garden in time for Mr. Jeet and Miss Jessica to see it. They also would like to see if they can prevent the land from being sold.It’s nice that these kids get along so well with each other and seem to be good at working together to accomplish something important.I’m a little bit bothered that they’re doing this work without permission by breaking into the locked property. The parents in this book have no idea what’s going on because the mom is busy helping Miss Jessica at the hospital and the dad is busy with his building maintenance duties. The kids have good intentions, but I would rather see them work on this project with permission and maybe even some adult supervision.
    more
  • Cheriee Weichel
    January 1, 1970
    Here I am reading the sequel before I've even read the first in the series. I was going to wait for a library copy to arrive and finish it first, but decided to see if it would stand on it's own. I recieved my digital copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.I am charmed by the Vanderbeekers, a biracial family living in Harlem. The children, Oliver, Jesse, Hyacinth and Laney are stuck at home for the summer while Isa is away at orchestra camp. When Mr Jeet, their elderly Here I am reading the sequel before I've even read the first in the series. I was going to wait for a library copy to arrive and finish it first, but decided to see if it would stand on it's own. I recieved my digital copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.I am charmed by the Vanderbeekers, a biracial family living in Harlem. The children, Oliver, Jesse, Hyacinth and Laney are stuck at home for the summer while Isa is away at orchestra camp. When Mr Jeet, their elderly upstairs neighbour, has another stroke and ends up in the hospital, they come up with a plan to rejuvenate the church garden as a surprise. Triple J, the pastor, said he thought a garden would be a good idea, so they sort of have permission. Unfortunately, while he is away on a family emergency, nefarious plans are afoot. The Vanderbeekers are a delightful collection of quirky characters. There is an abundance of love all around them. I love the connection between generations. I love that although there is some tension between Oliver and Herman Huxley, a boy in the neighbourhood, this is resolved positively. I adore that both Hyacinth and Herman are knitters. Fans of the The Penderwicks are sure to enjoy this. My only quibble with the book is that Black Eyed Susan seeds are sown and bloom in less than 18 days. This scientific impossibly irked me because the story would have been satisfying enough had they only been shown to germinate: a far more plausible reality. Nonetheless, I'm still looking forward to reading the first in the series.
    more
  • Lauren
    January 1, 1970
    How I love the Vanderbeekers! It was such a joy to read this book.The Vanderbeeker family continues to be endearing as they face new challenges and adventures in this book. The author’s illustrations throughout the book are perfectly paired with the story. The Vanderbeekers face real problems. Their beloved elderly neighbor Mr. Jeet is hospitalized and they are unsure if he will get better. A project that they put a lot of time and heart into gets trampled and at times looks hopeless. There is H How I love the Vanderbeekers! It was such a joy to read this book.The Vanderbeeker family continues to be endearing as they face new challenges and adventures in this book. The author’s illustrations throughout the book are perfectly paired with the story. The Vanderbeekers face real problems. Their beloved elderly neighbor Mr. Jeet is hospitalized and they are unsure if he will get better. A project that they put a lot of time and heart into gets trampled and at times looks hopeless. There is Herman Huxley, the kid who hasn’t been nice to most of them but keeps showing up, and the siblings can’t agree on if he is someone they should give a chance or try to avoid. Journeying with these kids as they work through their problems is a joy, as the author makes the characters and their feelings very believable.I think what I love most about the Vanderbeekers is the returning theme of compassion. People don’t always act how we want them to, and the things that happen are sometimes very upsetting. The author finds a way to show kids the humanity of those around them, and we get the pleasure of watching the Vanderbeeker kids learn some important life lessons...all the while giving us some hilarious mayhem interspersed along the way.“Maybe, Oliver thought, maybe the world worked only if people gave all they could without measuring the worth of that they gave.”I loved the book! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
    more
  • Laura Mossa
    January 1, 1970
    After reading The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street, I fell in love with the entire family and couldn’t wait for an opportunity to return to Harlem for a follow up visit. Fortunately, my wait was short than expected because author Karina Yan Glaser graciously sent an ARC of The Vanderbeekers and the Hidden Garden to my #bookexcursion group. It is no surprise that the second book in the series is as heartwarming as the first!The Vanderbeekers’ upstairs neighbor and good friend Mr. Jeet suffers a stro After reading The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street, I fell in love with the entire family and couldn’t wait for an opportunity to return to Harlem for a follow up visit. Fortunately, my wait was short than expected because author Karina Yan Glaser graciously sent an ARC of The Vanderbeekers and the Hidden Garden to my #bookexcursion group. It is no surprise that the second book in the series is as heartwarming as the first!The Vanderbeekers’ upstairs neighbor and good friend Mr. Jeet suffers a stroke. As a result, he has to spend many weeks in the hospital recovering, and his wife Miss Josie won’t leave his side. Desperate to do something for Miss Josie and Mr. Jeet who met at a botanical garden, the Vanderbeeker children decide to fulfill Miss Josie’s request and transform the unused land next to her church into a community garden.Their task is not without its challenges. The children didn’t exactly get permission from the pastor or discuss their project with their parents. Between the four of them (Isa is at orchesta camp), they only have seventy-eight dollars and eighteen days to make their dream a reality. And to matters worse, there is a strong possibility that the land may be sold to a real land developer. But the Vanderbeekers are resilient both collectively and individually and aren’t going to let a few obstacles get in their way, right?While I love Cicero’s quote mentioned in the novel, “If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need.” I believe that the Vanderbeekers would add that being generous to others in your community is also essential to happiness. The Vanderbeekers gently remind me that acts of kindness are good for the heart and soul! Thank you Karina for sharing the beautiful family once again with #bookexcursion! The Vanderbeekers and the Hidden Garden releases on September 25, 2018, Anxiously anticipating Book 3!
    more
  • Jenni Frencham
    January 1, 1970
    Glaser, Karina. The Vanderbeekers and the Hidden Garden. HMH Books for Young Readers, 2018Four of the five siblings are at home for the summer, and they are about to tear each other's hair out when one of their neighbors is hospitalized and they decide to create a "secret garden" to help that neighbor recover upon their return home. Thus begins a summer of hijinx as they attempt to clean up a plot of land and acquire plants and tools on a very limited budget. This is an adorably clean read, perf Glaser, Karina. The Vanderbeekers and the Hidden Garden. HMH Books for Young Readers, 2018Four of the five siblings are at home for the summer, and they are about to tear each other's hair out when one of their neighbors is hospitalized and they decide to create a "secret garden" to help that neighbor recover upon their return home. Thus begins a summer of hijinx as they attempt to clean up a plot of land and acquire plants and tools on a very limited budget. This is an adorably clean read, perfect for a summer family road trip or a classroom read-aloud. The four featured siblings are quite distinct from each other, yet united in their desire to help their neighbor. The story definitely has a Disney-esque happy ending, but that doesn't detract from the satisfactory story. Highly recommended.Recommended for: middle gradeRed Flags: noneOverall Rating: 4/5 starsRead-Alikes: The Lotterys Plus One, The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher, The PenderwicksI received a complimentary copy of this book through Netgalley for the purpose of review.
    more
  • Ellie
    January 1, 1970
    I can’t get enough of the Vanderbeekers!What a wonderful novel following the the first book in the series, The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street! Which if you haven’t read I highly, highly recommend. This series has become an instant classic, and is sure to be loved by all ages. It gave me all the good feelings of family, and adventures.It kept me engaged the whole way through!In this novel the Vanderbeekers are on a mission to create the most beautiful garden, and surprise some very close family fr I can’t get enough of the Vanderbeekers!What a wonderful novel following the the first book in the series, The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street! Which if you haven’t read I highly, highly recommend. This series has become an instant classic, and is sure to be loved by all ages. It gave me all the good feelings of family, and adventures.It kept me engaged the whole way through!In this novel the Vanderbeekers are on a mission to create the most beautiful garden, and surprise some very close family friends.But it’s not as simple as it sounds, and soon they realize how many challenges they have to overcome in order to make their garden a reality.The story is touching, and sweet with amazing characters that you can’t help fall in love with and want to know more about.Follow the Vanderbeekers on their journey and meet some wonderful characters on the way.This novel is on sale on 9/25 but you don’t have to wait to read adventures with the Vanderbeeker siblings! Go out and get your copy of the first book TODAY!Preorder your copy today!
    more
  • Lisa K
    January 1, 1970
    Author Karina Yan Glaser has a winner in the Vanderbeeker family! I was excited to know this will be a series, so when I had chance to read an ARC of this follow up to The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street, I jumped on it!Oliver, Jess, Laney, Hyacinth, and Isa are just as caring and relatable in this book as they were in the first book. Most students will find one character with whom - or something in each character to which - they can relate! There are surprising discoveries, many challenges, and f Author Karina Yan Glaser has a winner in the Vanderbeeker family! I was excited to know this will be a series, so when I had chance to read an ARC of this follow up to The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street, I jumped on it!Oliver, Jess, Laney, Hyacinth, and Isa are just as caring and relatable in this book as they were in the first book. Most students will find one character with whom - or something in each character to which - they can relate! There are surprising discoveries, many challenges, and friendships forged, both old and new, as the Vanderbeeker children navigate the complexities of secretly transforming an abandoned lot into a community garden. I'm looking forward to the next Vanderbeeker adventure!
    more
  • Stephanie P
    January 1, 1970
    I read an advance copy of this book through NetGalley.I was so happy to return to reading about the lovable Vanderbeeker family! It was so sweet to see more of the new relationships that were formed in the first book and to see the new elements it brought to their tight knit community.It is so nice reading about a family who is loving and respectful to each other and wants to spend time together, but that also sometimes fights and makes mistakes.The ingenuity and hard work that the kids put in o I read an advance copy of this book through NetGalley.I was so happy to return to reading about the lovable Vanderbeeker family! It was so sweet to see more of the new relationships that were formed in the first book and to see the new elements it brought to their tight knit community.It is so nice reading about a family who is loving and respectful to each other and wants to spend time together, but that also sometimes fights and makes mistakes.The ingenuity and hard work that the kids put in of their own volition (while also making mistakes and having setbacks) as they sought to build a garden is inspiring and a great example to children reading the book.I wouldn’t say I loved this one quite as much as the first one–perhaps because it doesn’t have the same joy of being introduced to the family and neighborhood for the first time, or because I had to read this one more sporadically– but I still really enjoyed it! And it had me emotional at the end.I highly recommend this sweet series and I’m looking forward to reading more about the Vanderbeekers in future books.
    more
Write a review