Capturing the Devil (Stalking Jack the Ripper, #4)
In the shocking finale to the bestselling series that began with Stalking Jack the Ripper, Audrey Rose and Thomas are on the hunt for the depraved, elusive killer known as the White City Devil. A deadly game of cat-and-mouse has them fighting to stay one step ahead of the brilliant serial killer---or see their fateful romance cut short by unspeakable tragedy.Audrey Rose Wadsworth and Thomas Cresswell have landed in America, a bold, brash land unlike the genteel streets of London they knew. But like London, the city of Chicago hides its dark secrets well. When the two attend the spectacular World's Fair, they find the once-in-a-lifetime event tainted with reports of missing people and unsolved murders.Determined to help, Audrey Rose and Thomas begin their investigations, only to find themselves facing a serial killer unlike any they've heard of before. Identifying him is one thing, but capturing him---and getting dangerously lost in the infamous Murder Hotel he constructed as a terrifying torture device---is another.Will Audrey Rose and Thomas see their last mystery to the end---together and in love---or will their fortunes finally run out when their most depraved adversary makes one final, devastating kill?

Capturing the Devil (Stalking Jack the Ripper, #4) Details

TitleCapturing the Devil (Stalking Jack the Ripper, #4)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 10th, 2019
PublisherJIMMY Patterson
ISBN-139780316485548
Rating
GenreHistorical, Historical Fiction, Young Adult, Mystery

Capturing the Devil (Stalking Jack the Ripper, #4) Review

  • Kerri
    January 1, 1970
    9/10/19 UPDATE:good morning and welcome to the world, little book. the last five years of writing these stories and getting to know these characters have been the best, but now it’s time for me to say goodbye and send Thomas and Audrey Rose off.i absolutely adore this conclusion–it ends where it all began for me. what you thought you knew about a killer in Stalking Jack the Ripper might just be another mystery waiting to be solved. i hope you’ve loved the hints i’ve dropped along the way…Stalkin 9/10/19 UPDATE:good morning and welcome to the world, little book. the last five years of writing these stories and getting to know these characters have been the best, but now it’s time for me to say goodbye and send Thomas and Audrey Rose off.i absolutely adore this conclusion–it ends where it all began for me. what you thought you knew about a killer in Stalking Jack the Ripper might just be another mystery waiting to be solved. i hope you’ve loved the hints i’ve dropped along the way…Stalking Jack the Ripper intros the world and players.Hunting Prince Dracula finds them in a castle much like Holmes’ Murder Hotel.Escaping From Houdini was an emotional journey into Hell.And now Audrey Rose and Thomas are finally Capturing the Devil they’ve been hunting. Or, at least they’re trying to.as you join me in solving the final Stalking Jack the Ripper mystery, please remember one thing:Beyond life, beyond death, my love for thee is eternal, dear reader.thank you, thank you, thank you for going on another adventure with me.xoxo9/8/19 UPDATE:there are now TWO days left until pub!! which means there's only one day left to get your CTD pre-order prizes:US readers snag them here: https://bit.ly/2O07rcZINTL readers have an option here: https://bit.ly/2kvHd3XAHHHH SO CLOSE NOW!!!!9/4/19 UPDATEi did my first virtual book launch last night!! if you missed it, no worries! you can still watch it (and order signed books) for the next 30 days! i'll also pop in and answer and series/publishing questions in the comments.https://talkshop.live/stream/1999SIX DAYS LEFT, FRIENDS!!!!!! 8/26/19 UPDATEtoday is the last day to pre-order a personalized copy of CTD from Mysterious Galaxy bookstore (they do ship INTL!), so please snag yours if you were waiting for a personalized copy! xoxo https://www.mystgalaxy.com/Maniscalco...8/13/19 UPDATE:to celebrate the ONE MONTH mark until pub day (!!!), i released the official CAPTURING THE DEVIL book trailer on my social media and website! i hope you enjoy it!!! xoxo7/18/19 UPDATE:the PREORDER PRIZES have been announced!! details and FAQ here:https://kerrimaniscalco.com/2019/07/1...6/5/19 UPDATE:I currently have TWO chapter samplers up for grabs on my Instagram account! Contest ends on June 10th! (This will likely be the only giveaway I host due to limited supplies.)UPDATE: COVER REVEAL is scheduled for Monday! (4/29/19)I'm also releasing an ENTIRE CHAPTER. 11 am EST. xoxo***1/8/19 UPDATE:i've released the second quote from CAPTURING THE DEVIL on my IG, tumblr, and twitter. (Facebook and my website will follow.) it's the first Cresswell quote. hope you enjoy! xoxo***1/7/19 UPDATE: the official synopsis is here!!!! also??? the release date has been pushed up to September 10th!!!***i'm SO excited to share this final adventure with you!! its scheduled release date is 9/26/19 and there will be a cover reveal, full synopsis, and other fun announcements early in the New Year. for now, i'm finishing up this draft and enjoying every second of it. xoxo
    more
  • Grace (BURTSBOOKS)
    January 1, 1970
    Does this book have a title? NoDoes it have a synopsis? NoCover? NoHave I even finished the second book? NoAm I shaking with anticipation for this fourth instalment? HELL YES I AM
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    NOW AVAILABLE!Stalking Jack the Ripper: 🌟🌟Hunting Prince Dracula: 🌟🌟🌟Escaping from Houdini: 🌟🌟🌟🌟Becoming the Dark Prince: 🌟🌟🌟Capturing the Devil: 🌟🌟🌟🌟"Shall we see about solving another gruesome murder, my love?" -Thomas Cresswell, confirmed angelIf you hear sobbing around the world on September 10th, it's likely due to the fact that Capturing the Devil released and we're all having to say goodbye to Thomas Cresswell... I mean, the series. Yes, totally the series. It's no secret that I jumped on NOW AVAILABLE!Stalking Jack the Ripper: 🌟🌟Hunting Prince Dracula: 🌟🌟🌟Escaping from Houdini: 🌟🌟🌟🌟Becoming the Dark Prince: 🌟🌟🌟Capturing the Devil: 🌟🌟🌟🌟"Shall we see about solving another gruesome murder, my love?" -Thomas Cresswell, confirmed angelIf you hear sobbing around the world on September 10th, it's likely due to the fact that Capturing the Devil released and we're all having to say goodbye to Thomas Cresswell... I mean, the series. Yes, totally the series. It's no secret that I jumped onboard the Stalking Jack the Ripper series fashionably late, but I'm so glad that I decided to finally give these a try, and it was really nice to be able to binge them all back to back without waiting for years between releases. 🙃 My relationship with these books has been tumultuous, so you can be assured I'm not blowing smoke by recommending this installment, as I have been brutally honest about my feelings toward each book as I've read them. Minor spoilers in the remainder of the review for the previous books in the series.When I began Stalking Jack the Ripper, I was sorely disappointed due to the fact that the culprit is evident from the beginning of the book. Many, MANY fans encouraged me to keep going, and that the rest of the books were a huge improvement from the first, which they were right about. I found myself the oddball out in finding my favorite installment (and now possibly tied with this one) being Escaping from Houdini, maybe because I love books set on cruise ships, traveling carnivals, and over-the-top drama. Each book seems to give us a case that is pertinent to that installment, while also giving us some sort of twist pertaining to the overall arc of the series, and I love this!Going into Capturing the Devil, I had some ideas about how things would wrap up. Having read the author's notes in the afterward of each novel, I gleaned that she was writing these books based off of popular conspiracy theories sprinkled with historical facts, which makes for an engrossing read. IMO, there aren't enough engaging historical mysteries in the YA realm, and the author does a fine job of creating an oppressive, haunting atmosphere in each setting, so much so that the setting is a character itself. There was a nice little twist at the end; it will shock some and others might say "I knew it all along!" Either way, the beauty of this tale is that it isn't dependent on this twist, due to the fact that we have a hardcore heroine with the wickedest cane in the world, a tender romance that has been tested by time and trials, and a satisfying wrap-up to give everyone the fuzzies. This series is definitely one that you want to read in order, and even though I had a rocky beginning, I'm glad that I invested the time and energy into knowing these characters and solving the mysteries. *Many thanks to the publisher for providing my review copy!
    more
  • Rachel E. Carter
    January 1, 1970
    THEY JUST ANNOUNCED THERE WILL BE A FOURTH BOOK!!!!!!Me:..........CAN WE JUST HAVE A NEVER ENDING SERIES???
  • Tucker
    January 1, 1970
    ”I was born with the devil in me…And he has been with me ever since. Basically me throughout the entire book: I’m sure some people had the tiny nagging voice in the back of their head whispering What if the final book is awful? What if Kerri pulls a Veronica Roth on us? but not me! I have an unbeatable (and slightly unrealistic) faith in this woman to create a story that will satisfy. And I am happy to announce that it did! The fourth and final (NO! WHYYYY) book of my favorite series was ama ”I was born with the devil in me…And he has been with me ever since. Basically me throughout the entire book: I’m sure some people had the tiny nagging voice in the back of their head whispering What if the final book is awful? What if Kerri pulls a Veronica Roth on us? but not me! I have an unbeatable (and slightly unrealistic) faith in this woman to create a story that will satisfy. And I am happy to announce that it did! The fourth and final (NO! WHYYYY) book of my favorite series was amazing. The characters, plot, and audio were superb and I honestly could not have asked for more. This final book did an amazing job of wrapping up every plotline and loose end in one beautiful and spectacular bow. Even though I loved all the plotlines, I’ll discuss my favorite one first! Audrey Rose and Thomas! I have never shipped a couple so hard and guess what guys…. (view spoiler)[THEY HAD SEX! AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH (hide spoiler)] That scene had me beaming. I have never met two characters more perfect for each other. And then, of course, we have the mystery which, in my opinion, was just a tiny bit lacking. Objectively, it was a decent mystery but I felt like Kerri was trying too hard to shove it in there with the Audrey-Rose-&-Thomas’s-Wedding-Conundrum plotline which would have made a great book on its own. That said, she delivered on that classic thrill and adrenaline that we all know her for! Another thing I really wanted to note was Audrey Rose’s disability. In Escaping from Houdini, she gets stabbed in the leg.In the last few chapters of Escaping from Houdini and throughout the entirety of Capturing the Devil, Audrey Rose uses a cane and has a limp. I wanted to note this because not only is it a great rep but it’s also Own Voices as Kerri has an invisible disability. I thought it was super cool that she put a bit of herself inside the main character! Overall, this book was amazing, emotional and so hard to finish because I don’t want to say goodbye to these characters. Bottom Line:5 StarsAge Rating: [ R ]Content Screening (Spoilers) - Educational Value (2/5) - [How to properly handle cadavers, what to do for poisoning] ~ Positive Messages (3/5) [Feminism, love, strength] ~ Violence (4/5) - [Gore, murders, poisoning, concusion] ~ Sex (4/5) - [Two characters engage in passionate and mildly detailed sex multiple times] ~ Langauge (0/5) - [No langauge] ~ Drinking/Drugs (3/5) - [Poison, legal alcohol consumption, sedative drugs] Trigger and Content Warning - Loss of loved ones, poison, sedation, concussion, kidnapping, dead bodiesReps: [Lesbian, Disability*]Publication Date:Publisher:Genre: Mystery/Romance*Own voices--------------------------------BONUS SPOILER DISCUSSION! SPOILERS AHEAD![Credit: Tara Spruit Art]Okay, so the first spoiler-y thing I want to discuss is the sex scene between Thomas and Audrey Rose! For real, that scene made my day! After three f**king books, they finally did it and I could not have been happier. And then there’s Ms. Whitehall. That b*tch can burn in hell. And finally, the wedding between Audrey and Thomas. Even though it didn’t happen for real until the last page, I was so happy!**************[9/12/19] - Goodbye, ThomasGoodbye, Audrey RoseGoodbye, LizaGoodbye, Uncle JonathanGoodbye, MephistophelesGoodbye to the series that means so much to me that there are no words in the world to describe it. Goodbye, Stalking Jack the Ripper*************[9/10/2019] - [9/10/2019] - POP QUIZ! Anybody recognize this voice?*************HAPPY BOOK BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!*************The book trailer is out!!!!*************ONLY 71 MORE DAYS! *************YOU GUYS THOMAS IS GETTING HIS OWN NOVELLA. I HAVE OF COURSE PRE-ORDERED IT*************FRIENDS WHO ARE GOING TO BEA, I am willing to trade a limb for a (signed if possible) chapter sampler of this, which will be at BEA. If you get your hands on one and are willing to trade for it, message me. I am willing to trade it for just about anything!*************Okay, but what is Audrey Rose holding on the cover? Also, DO YA'LL SEE THE RING ON HER FINGER? AUUUUUUUUGHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!! ICaN'tEveN!!!!*************welp, apparently they're not doing ARCs for this one. now, i'm sad*************OMG! It's about the Murder Hotel!!! FSDHFJKHFJDSHFJSKDF*************OMG! WE HAVE A COVER! THIS IS NOT A DRILL! WE HAVE A COVER!!*************Cover reveal is in Monday!!!!!!! Eeekkk!! https://kerrimaniscalco.com/2019/04/2... *************I wish I could sum up the emotion I am feeling. I mean this is the last book in my favorite series. I am excited and heartbroken at the same time.| Goodreads | Blog | Twitch | Pinterest | Buy this book | Reddit
    more
  • Candace Robinson
    January 1, 1970
    This is the fourth and last installment in the Jack the Ripper series and I did a buddy read with the awesome Shannon @ Reads & Reels!The last book had me slightly on edge in certain parts due to the sort of love triangle thing going on, so I was hoping this one would be smooth sailing with my favorite duo, Thomas and Audrey! Thomas is probably one of my favorite male book characters ever, and he was his normal witty and awesome self here! I loved the banter between him and Audrey! At times, This is the fourth and last installment in the Jack the Ripper series and I did a buddy read with the awesome Shannon @ Reads & Reels!The last book had me slightly on edge in certain parts due to the sort of love triangle thing going on, so I was hoping this one would be smooth sailing with my favorite duo, Thomas and Audrey! Thomas is probably one of my favorite male book characters ever, and he was his normal witty and awesome self here! I loved the banter between him and Audrey! At times, I did get frustrated with Audrey but it's been like that this whole series, but I really do like her!There was some great mystery here and some neat reveals! My favorite part was the swoon, though! Oh, and there was some serious swoon! I also hated Thomas's father, and hate is probably a nice word about that gent!Kerri just has such wonderful writing and description that keep me captivated page by bloody page! And yes, there was plenty mention of blood! Overall, I adored this one so much and can't wait to read more books from Maniscalco!
    more
  • destiny ♡⚔♡ [howling libraries]
    January 1, 1970
    The third book isn’t even out yet and I’m already over here dying for book #4
  • Stacee
    January 1, 1970
    Welp. I officially don’t have words. This was an epic roller coaster of feels and I loved every single page of it.Full review to come.
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    January 1, 1970
    4/29/19Still don't love the cover model, but, from the second half alone, this is my favorite cover for the series ---I hope at the end, regardless of whoever they have to take down in this book, we get to see Audrey and Thomas as married. I love them both so much and I want to know they're going to be happily solving crimes together for the rest of their lives.
    more
  • Ashlee » Library In The Country
    January 1, 1970
    Such a wonderful and exciting ending for Audrey Rose and Thomas. I loved this conclusion and it really is just what the series needed.
  • Nadhira Satria
    January 1, 1970
    ok but like I need more than four booksupdate: THAT FUCKING COVER OH MY GOD
  • Nastassja
    January 1, 1970
    It is set in stone then: my affection toward this series is truly dead. In spite of being very enthusiastic about the whole business of writing a snarky review, part of me feels very sad because, in the beginning, Stalking Jack the Ripper, the first book in the series, was one of my favorites. But the magic is gone, and if I to pick up book one and book four and compare them, I'd see two absolutely different books in style and message. Maybe 'it's not you but me' situation, but I highly doubt it It is set in stone then: my affection toward this series is truly dead. In spite of being very enthusiastic about the whole business of writing a snarky review, part of me feels very sad because, in the beginning, Stalking Jack the Ripper, the first book in the series, was one of my favorites. But the magic is gone, and if I to pick up book one and book four and compare them, I'd see two absolutely different books in style and message. Maybe 'it's not you but me' situation, but I highly doubt it because a series that started from solving gruesome murders with witty and intelligent characters, turned into a quest of finding a husband. Here goes a short summary of Capturing the Devil CAPTURING A TITLED HUSBAND OR HOW RICH PEOPLE DON'T GIVE A SHIT ABOUT A SERIAL KILLER WHEN THEY HAVE A WEDDING TO PLAN. BEWARE THE SPOILERS!So Audrey Rose and Thomas love each other; they want to get engaged to consummate their undying love. But wait, it's not enough: they have to marry as soon as possible, in two weeks time, to be precise! Thomas is a lord, his father is a duke and his mother was a distant relative of Dracula (yes, that Dracula). What an excellent breed we've got here! Audrey Rose is such a feminist! She's ready to marry at 17 y.o.; moreover, she's ready to take his family name because - for a second - it's her choice, unlike her own family name that was given to her at birth without her consent. Poor child! Most young women of my station married at about twenty-one years, but my soul felt older, especially after the events on the RMS Etruria.So the upcoming nuptials are nearing, and our love-birds decide to consummate their progressive engagement with sex on the night before the wedding. Of course, the groom is such a glorious stud and he practices physically a lot... by moving cadavers. What a sport you've got here, lad! “How is it you’re so… defined?” I asked, running my hands over his surprisingly hard chest. “Do you take secret sword lessons I ought to know about? This”—I motioned to him—“makes no sense.” “Truthfully?” Thomas laughed, seeming to release a bit of his own nerves. “I pick up cadavers every day in the laboratory. All that body-hauling business keeps me quite fit and healthy.All cadaver-related fun aside, morning comes and our lovers are standing in the church, ready to tell their vows when the priest asks if anyone has objections to this union, and, oh horrors, a woman runs into the church and declares they can't marry because she is the one and only fiancee of Thomas's! *gasp*How exciting!Some tears later, we find out that Thomas's evil Duke of a father does not want his son to marry below station *how scandalous* and so he forged his son's signature on a paper that says he has to marry this another girl, who is, at least, a daughter of a marquise. And here Thomas can't hold it together anymore and threatens to forsake his title and inheritance to be with the woman he loves. But the Duke can't be duped so easily and so he threatens to marry Thomas's younger sister off to an old oaf *double gasp*And the most interesting part is characters have only known each other for short five months! FIVE MONTHS and they ready to marry and love each other eternally. How modern, how feminist, indeed!Mr. Thomas Cresswell—my insufferable yet most decidedly charming partner in crime solving—and I had danced around the subject of both courtship and marriage. I’d agreed to accept him, should he ask my father first, and hadn’t expected everything to unfold quite as quickly as it had. We’d known each other for just a few short months—five now—but it felt right. In all that delusional fever, nobody seemed to give a shit about the serial killer who opens up whores like tin cans. It seems I am the only one who cares about whores more than royal weddings. All of the above was happening for about 30-40% of the book, until, oh blessing, the characters seemed to finally remember about the killer! From that point on, things straightened up a little bit, and my interest piqued at the murder investigation. To my delight (not really), some scenes between our love-birds were good enough to remind me a little bit why I loved this series so much in the first place. But, overall, the whole murder business was distilled with an overabundance of romance that poured off the pages like a thickening syrop: too sticky to digest it without a cringe. Thomas Cresswell, who was one of the best male characters for me once upon a time, completely and irrevocably turned into a spinless sidekick of the heroine, who doesn't know what real feminism really means. But, of course, I still have to give it to the author: research for this book was amazing, and the setting was quite authentic, in my humble opinion. And I always liked Kerri Maniscalco's writing style, so in that area, I don't have any scores to settle. All in all, Capturing the Devil is a masked romance novel about capturing a husband who knows his way with cadavers. It was sexy at times (not the cadavers business), it was gruesome at times, it was decently written - but the magic is gone and I have nothing else to add except, "Rest in peace, my love."
    more
  • milou ☕️
    January 1, 1970
    “You fight. You fight for what you want. You do wallow or surrender. The lesson is not lying down and allowing yourself to be stabbed, child. It is pushing yourself up and battling back.” Her eyes flashed. “You fell down. So? Will you stay there, weeping over skinned knees? Or will you brush off your skirts, adjust your hair, and carry on? Do not your relinquish your grasp on hope. It’s one of the best weapons anyone possesses.” After their escapement from Houdini on board of the RMS Etruria “You fight. You fight for what you want. You do wallow or surrender. The lesson is not lying down and allowing yourself to be stabbed, child. It is pushing yourself up and battling back.” Her eyes flashed. “You fell down. So? Will you stay there, weeping over skinned knees? Or will you brush off your skirts, adjust your hair, and carry on? Do not your relinquish your grasp on hope. It’s one of the best weapons anyone possesses.” After their escapement from Houdini on board of the RMS Etruria, Audrey Rose and Thomas find themselves in America where a murderer like Jack the Ripper is taking the lives of women in New York. Bound to follow the murderer across America and into Chicago, they're about to face to face with the White City Devil. ─── ・ 。゚:☆. *.☽ .* :☆゚. ───In truth I do not know how I can properly rate this because this was one of my most highly anticipated releases of 2019 and since I was enamoured by the first three books in the Stalking Jack the Ripper series I was expecting to love this in the same manner. And to an extent I did. It was pretty much the second half of the book where my enthusiasm dwindled. The main thing that kept my interest and my heart pumping was obviously Audrey Rose and Thomas and to see them on American ground. Their relationship has changed profoundly during the short year that they’ve known each other because they are now betrothed. I didn’t wish to sound vain, but when I first saw myself standing there, dressed in a gown fit for a princess, with shoes designed by a handsome yet wickedly charming prince, I felt as I I’d stepped out of the pages of a fairy tale. It wasn’t the sort of short story that placed me in the role of a helpless maiden, however. This tale was one of triumph and sacrifice. Of redemption and love. Their relationship is faced with many challenges once their path cross with that of a murderer who is murdering woman in New York in a style that is similar to the way that Jack the Ripper butchered woman in the summer before. “If the world thinks we’re heading straight to Hell, we might as well enjoy the journey there. I’d rather dance with the devil than sing with angels. Wouldn’t you?” As Audrey and Thomas found themselves in Chicago, I’m going to put the rest of the review under a spoiler warning so that I can talk about part 2 of this book without ruining it for someone who is yet to read it. (view spoiler)[ Like I said earlier this was the part where I started to cringe as the story progressed. Not that I’m not curious about H. H. Holmes his crimes. Whenever Audrey, Thomas or her uncle suggested that the murderers that were occurring reminded them of those of Jack the Ripper I knew exactly where this story were heading and that was what I had been dreading since it was announced that the final book would involve H. H. Holmes. Sure enough, as I had predicted it became clear that Holmes and the Ripper were the same individual and that Holmes had been a passenger on the same ship that took Audrey and Thomas to United States. It was just so predictable and anticlimactic that it made me turn into a grumpy git and I wasn’t able to enjoy another page in this book. What annoyed me even more was how Audrey was the one who discovered who Henry truly was and actually went to visit him in his Murder Castle without any plan or backup. That was so unlike the Audrey Rose that I knew and incredibly careless and stupid since she has always thought everything through. “You, my dear, may be more of a villain than I am. I accept my horns; I know the blackness in my soul. I was born with the devil in me. But so were you, Miss Wadsworth.” Reading that quote from Holmes that was being altered like that was in fact the biggest cringe for me in Capturing the Devil, but there were a few more things that irked me to no end sadly enough. Another thing was that Audrey was also the one who captured Holmes. In real life Holmes wasn’t caught for his crimes until November 1894 for the murder of his friend Pitezel. Yet, in this book he is caught in February 1889 by Audrey Rose. The inaccuracies were just too much for me it didn’t make any sense. Maybe it’s just because Holmes is one of the serial killers who I’ve read and watched the most about, so I recognized all the little details.Another thing was that everything in this series was connected to Holmes. For he had been Jack the Ripper, had corrupted Audrey’s brother Nathaniel to be his puppet, and therefore blaming him for those murderers. I don’t know why Kerri thought that this plot was clever. To me the ending was disappointing and my heart has been aching for a few hours now since I finished this because I had put so much hope into this. (hide spoiler)]Despite the ending, this series is one that is particularly close to my heart. I’ve shed an awful lot of tears and cracked smiles while reading this series, and I will think back of it fondly. It was definitely upsetting to realize that I’m never going to read about another chapter in Thomas and Audrey’s life again, and it’s going to take some time to get used to. I want to thank Kerri for all the work that she put into this series.─── ・ 。゚:☆. *.☽ .* :☆゚. ───Books in the series: 1.) Stalking Jack the Ripper ★★★★2.) Hunting Prince Dracula ★★★★★3.) Escaping from Houdini ★★★★★3.5.) Becoming the Dark Prince ★★★★★↠ Genres: Historical Romance, Young Adult, Murder Mystery↠ Pov: First Person - Female↠ Type: Book 4 of the Stalking Jack The Ripper Series↠ Rating: 70% -Instagram | Youtube | Last.fm
    more
  • Jeann (Happy Indulgence)
    January 1, 1970
    YESSSSS I LOOOVVEEED this edition! What a wonderful, heartfelt and fitting conclusion to the series! After Escaping from Houdini, I was a bit hesitant going into this one but I'm happy to report that this one closely resembles the first two books - it's brutal, bloody, mysterious and there is SO much flirty banter and chemistry between Thomas and Audrey. My heart is just filled with so much emotion after reading this - it really does come full circle. Full review to come!
    more
  • TheYALibrarian
    January 1, 1970
    Rating 2 StarsWARNING: Once again do not read this or any or any of my other reviews of these books if you love this series. You won't like it.Anyhoo...Hark the herald angels sing! we FINALLY made it to the end of these shitty books!!! Aaaaaaand I hate myself for wasting 12 hours of my life and a credit on my audible account that I could have used on a much better audio book. In this new and final adventure of the dope #1 and dope #2 named Audrey Rose Wadsworth and Thomas Cresswell, we find them Rating 2 StarsWARNING: Once again do not read this or any or any of my other reviews of these books if you love this series. You won't like it.Anyhoo...Hark the herald angels sing! we FINALLY made it to the end of these shitty books!!! Aaaaaaand I hate myself for wasting 12 hours of my life and a credit on my audible account that I could have used on a much better audio book. In this new and final adventure of the dope #1 and dope #2 named Audrey Rose Wadsworth and Thomas Cresswell, we find them at Audrey's grandmother's estate. What they are doing at this lavish estate is getting ready for a birthday party while investigating corpses with a similar pattern to Jack the Rippers. Seems important right? But nah let's just keep basking in our wealth with fancy dresses and a feast fit for a king. Let's also have lots of scenes of kissing and usual Thomas Cresswell arrogant quips and Audrey's snarky responses. For surely, that never gets old and less annoying. Anyway Thomas has a lovely birthday then comes the time to ask Audrey's father for permission to wed her. Thomas get's the ok so they plan their wedding and it's extravagant. But then in the middle of the wedding it is stopped by a mysterious girl who says she is betrothed to Thomas. Audrey and Thomas are devastated since Thomas's father seems to have made no loophole for these two to go through when it comes to getting out of the betrothal. But more killings happen and more proof that Jack the Ripper is alive and well. Before Thomas can be shipped off to London to be wed to a stranger they find enough proof to escape to Chicago where Jack the Ripper might now be settling down to strike again. There they find that the carni Mephistopheles is doing another show before moving on to Paris. They meet one of the performer's Minnie who works at a pharmacy run by her mysterious husband. They meet said husband at their big castle like home. Another girl is dead and a history of many girls disappearing is uncovered. The police do not care about any of it nor do they believe Jack the Ripper is behind all of it. Thomas and Audrey's uncle are poisoned and Audrey finally makes the connection as to who Jack the Ripper is. She decides to face off with him alone while Thomas is still incapacitated. She enters his castle of horrors and is immediately captured by H.H. Holmes. Four days she is trapped in a room of corpses and bones. She finds a way out of the room and has a show down with Holmes. She barely makes it out alive but she does and Holmes is caught. Audrey's grandmother finds a loophole in the betrothal so Audrey and Thomas are now free to marry and now free of Jack.Phew where to even start with the rest of this review the saltiness is already palpable. I guess I will just continue on as I always do with the characters. And honestly, there is ZERO improvement or change in these characters. In fact, it seems to only get worse when it comes to dope #1. It's like someone took a sledgehammer to Audrey Rose's brain, making her lose some of her brain cells and overall sense of logic and common sense. She's supposed to be a brilliant scientist with also some great skills in deduction when it comes to investigations. But nope she was too busy getting all moony eyed over Thomas and new gowns and new shoes and lots of other unimportant things. She was so wrapped up in all this that she couldn't put the pieces together on where Jack was heading and who he is. Not until it was pretty much too late anyway. She also thought it was a spectacular idea to go in alone, without any backup, to confront Jack after knowing she was his target and what he has done to other women. Who the fuck does that?? An idiot is who. What also irked me was that after finding out her fiancee who never mentioned another women is betrothed to another, he doesn't get angry at him!!!!! She doesn't demand answers and when he comes to visit her she just cries instead of telling him to kindly fuck off. I think that explains enough on how much I loathe this character who had so much promise and never delivered.I'm honestly not going to go on much about dope #2 I don't have the energy for it. He is just another arrogant prick who is playing the part of "being progressive when it comes to a woman" when his actions have said otherwise. Just kindly go to hell Thomas Cresswell I've had enough of you and good fucking riddance. As for other characters most were not memorable but I did like Dasiana and Iliana (again listened to this on audio so I don't know how these names are properly spelled sorry) quite a bit. They were actually smart and cunning. I would have liked this series a lot more of these two were the main character. Than there was Audrey's grandmama. The woman was the shit I fucking loved her. She gave zero fucks and screwed over the marriage contract that Thomas's father had made. I wish there was more of her in this book I just adore grandmother or grandmotherly figures when they are done well and I have to give it to Maniscalco she did at least do something well.The plot in this book is something...and that's putting it lightly. Half of the book focuses on romance then the other half murder. From the description it sounds like this whole book should have been stuffed full of gore and the horrors of H.H. Holmes. But nope. There was also no mystery in who the killer was this time. We all know who the white city devil is. So it was obvious from the start who our killer is. Talk about killing the suspense or anything that could have made this book interesting. Bid disappointment. Bottom line...this book sucked ass. You could start a drinking game where you take a shot every time the detail of a piece of clothing is described, where Audrey marvels at Thomas whether it be his good looks or his supposive affinity of being able to investigate a murder scene with a calm, cool head, or the times they got all mushy with the "I love yous" and kissing and making love and whatnot *gags* . Needless to say, you would be face down on the floor by the end of this book. I'm so glad this is over and I can wash my hands of this mess. This shouldn't even get stars but I had to be nice since the last half of the book got good pacing wise and more into the murder and mayhem that I was here for. But again, can't recommend and good fucking riddance.
    more
  • Sharon
    January 1, 1970
    Final book, OK.Here are some of my thoughts • Audrey Rose and Thomas are finally on stable grounds w/ each other. I mean there are a lot of external conflicts but they are finally secured in their love for each other… which is great. They’re lovey-dovey. There is the ongoing theme of the Thomas respecting her wishes since Book 1 – and she doesn’t feel trapped by him anymore and truly trusts him. They’re REALLY cute in this book • But dang, tbh I’m STILL bitter about Book 3. Honestly, if that boo Final book, OK.Here are some of my thoughts • Audrey Rose and Thomas are finally on stable grounds w/ each other. I mean there are a lot of external conflicts but they are finally secured in their love for each other… which is great. They’re lovey-dovey. There is the ongoing theme of the Thomas respecting her wishes since Book 1 – and she doesn’t feel trapped by him anymore and truly trusts him. They’re REALLY cute in this book • But dang, tbh I’m STILL bitter about Book 3. Honestly, if that book didn’t happen, I’d probably still be in love with this series. I really fell in love with it by end of Book 2. However, now I feel conflicted b/c I still hate that Audrey Rose (view spoiler)[cheated on Thomas in Book 3 when they were engaged (hide spoiler)]• ----- WARNING: Spoilers on book 3 and 4 below -----• Also, I see you, Audrey Rose, backtracking the hell up. The “I never was choosing between him or you, Thomas. I always loved you. I always knew it was going to be you” talk. And OK fine, I do believe that she really does love Thomas the most even though she was confused at the time and didn’t know it at the time. And I do believe her thing w/ Mephistopheles was more fascination/infatuation/lust. But don’t try to act like you didn’t almost call off your engagement and leave Thomas for this guy. And only realized how much you loved him afterall when he was about to die. I do believe about what she said with her being more centered on the future/lifestyle Mephistopheles represented than the man himself – but she was downplaying what she almost did too much. She DID admit to hurting Thomas and being sorry for being confused in this book. I’m glad we got a better apology AND Thomas finally being angrier about it in this book. I guess the really annoying thing was Audrey mentioning 2 or 3 times that Mephistopheles manipulated her and putting some blame on him there. I can see Thomas doing that and he did, but Audrey Rose trying to say Mephistopheles “manipulated” her as if she was stupid enough for that is silly. Girl, stop playing – you went into that situation eyes wide-open and Mephistopheles didn’t just tricked you a kiss – you did it multiple times, craved it, contemplated a life with him, even knowing the type of guy he was. Also, it’s contradictory to put the blame on Mephistopheles’ “manipulating” her into the seduction, when the whole fucking theme and point of that storyline was that Audrey was CHOOSING her future, CHOOSING the man she wants to be with. While Mephistopheles did play tricks and was doing a betting thing w/ Audrey, she still holds more direct agency than not. So yeah, she did apologize for hurting Thomas… but she also didn’t 100% own up to the cheating so that’s irksome. ANOTHER annoying thing was one scene where she was trying to make herself so honest and transparent with Thomas. She said “I told you from the beginning my plan to get close to Mephistopheles,” contrasting herself with Thomas (view spoiler)[keeping secret on his father setting him up with this one girl to be engaged with her before he met Audrey Rose (hide spoiler)]. And I’m like uhhhh did you really though? Yes she did tell him her plan sorta about figuring out clues on her mystery by talking to Mephistopheles and maybe getting closer with him, but she made it sound like it was strictly business. Only til the end of the book when she has basically already cheated, she told him what she was ACTUALLY doing – which is cheating and being tempted and confused about Mephistopheles. And even by the end of the book, she didn’t really reveal to Thomas how many times she kissed Mephistopheles. Sooooo I thought it was annoying she tried to make it sound like she was being transparent about her confusion and what she was doing with Mephistopheles from the beginning – when no, she actually didn’t. • So yeah, I’m still bitter, but I’m putting 1) my lingering bitterness 2) Audrey Rose’s “manipulation” excuse/downplaying 3) Audrey Rose trying to make sound she was transparent from the beginning – when she wasn’t – aside. So point is – back in my 1st paragraph – they’re really freaking cute in this book, and it’s all I would’ve wanted – but it still felt blah to me considering her having cheated in book 3 and her trying to downplay her cheating and up-play her transparency in this book. If book 3 can just never happen that would’ve been greatly appreciated, but still, it did.• And onto the other stuff: This mystery – I’m kinda mad at myself. I had a passing though about the culprit being the culprit, and thought to myself that person seems like a suspect, seems fishy, I’ll put that person down as one of my guesses – but I forgot about my thought later on, and when it got revealed, and I’m like aw shit I forgot, should’ve seen that coming. (view spoiler)[I mean really, the name was there and everything. Should’ve known (hide spoiler)]• I love Liza – she’s such a funny and bold girl. Give her a novella/spinoff, I‘d be down. • Also, I love Audrey Rose’s grandma. She’s the real MVP here.• I also love how far Audrey Rose and Thomas have come with the mysteries-solving and adventures. It’s also sweet to see how Audrey Rose has become closer with her uncle and dad. They’re proud of her and just want her to be happy – that makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside.• Mephistopheles appearance in this book is… amusing. I think he’s a cool character despite the controversy of the whole situation of Book 3. It’s nice to see him be helpful in this book – and I guess get more closure with him, Audrey Rose, and Thomas.• Sir Isaac Mewton – love that name so much. • Audrey Rose and Thomas really were fucking cute in this book. *sigh*Soooo idk what to rate this. I’m giving it… 2.5. Love the concept, love seeing how Audrey Rose’s relationships have grown with family members and Thomas have grown over time. I find them super cute in this book, but I have to admit that their love is tarnished in my eyes still b/c of Book 3 and b/c of Audrey Rose’s downplaying her culpability in this book. I love the mystery aspect of the series and Audrey Rose thankfully was more assertive and productive than she was in Book 3. Overall, I feel conflicted and the sum of my feelings for this series is 2.5. I’ll still love to read more from this author b/c I love the creativity, the dark edge, and the feminism. I still applaud Maniscalco with the whole concept of this series. I love seeing these interpretations of famous mysteries/figures in history – and seeing how Audrey Rose, a feminist of her time, and Thomas, the sweetest guy ever tackle these mysteries. I kinda would’ve liked to see Thomas have a bigger part in solving the mystery in this one – but still, it’s cool. I find the concept of this series intriguing and it has been a fun ride.Things that you might want to know (WARNING: Spoilers below)Happy/satisfying ending? (view spoiler)[Yes (hide spoiler)]Love triangle? Cheating? Angst level? Other things to note? (view spoiler)[No love triangle and cheating in this one.We do find out that Thomas is engaged with someone else – but his father did it and Thomas wasn’t fully aware of it.Medium angst. (hide spoiler)]Humor? (view spoiler)[Humorous bantering but not a book of humor. (hide spoiler)]Tears-worthy? (view spoiler)[No (hide spoiler)]Favorite scenes? (view spoiler)[The very ending with the wedding. Finally. And seeing her uncle and Sir Isaac Mewton snuggled on his lap and he was a little tearful. And seeing the rest of the family like Liza, aunt, and dad be weepy and happy for them too. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Patty
    January 1, 1970
    14/12/2017: Kerri adds another book to this series! I CANT!!!!YAAAAASSSSS!!!!!I'm so happy that we'll get a fourth book!!!
  • linda ❃ (flourishreader)
    January 1, 1970
    update: 12/09/18capturing the devil. well, that's so different from what i expected this to be titled as. it's the ultimate villain guys. THE DEVILwhy call it 'fourth and final' book if i'm not okay with that?!
  • Lara
    January 1, 1970
    My review “The world needed to be better. And if it wasn’t possible for it to be better, we, its inhabitants, needed to do better.”And here I am, reading another finale of one of my favorite series. It’s been a long ride with these awesome and original detective historical fiction books, but I am sorry to tell you that the fourth installment leaves a bitter taste in my mouth. It sucks pretty much when you feel all meh about the finale because of it kind of ruins all the things I’ve loved from pr My review “The world needed to be better. And if it wasn’t possible for it to be better, we, its inhabitants, needed to do better.”And here I am, reading another finale of one of my favorite series. It’s been a long ride with these awesome and original detective historical fiction books, but I am sorry to tell you that the fourth installment leaves a bitter taste in my mouth. It sucks pretty much when you feel all meh about the finale because of it kind of ruins all the things I’ve loved from previous books, but here I am, and there’s nothing for me to do but treasure all the good memories and hope I’ll be at peace with the bad ones. So what happens after Audrey Rose gets of Eturia in New York? After injuring her leg badly on the fight on the Eturia, Audrey Rose is still struggling with everyday activities, especially walking, but everything is easier when you have the love of your life at your side. Thomas and Audrey Rose have gotten over all their disagreements and obstacles that stand in their way and now are happy and engaged – getting ready for their wedding in a fortnight. But their forensic work is far from over– another vicious killer, who might have something to do with Jack the Ripper, is on the loose and young women are disappearing all over the New York. It is time for Audrey Rose and Thomas to join their forensic skills and art of deduction to put an end to Jack the Ripper once and for all. This book could be separated into two general parts: the one that I loved and the one that I didn’t like. The two of them kind of outbalanced each other which left me with the sort of neutral regard towards everything that had happened. The part that I loved was the absolutely genius detective search, but the part that I absolutely despised was romance. Maniscalco took her time with this book, and that’s probably the thing that killed me. She put Audrey Rose’s search for a killer on hold for about the first half of the book and that’s what kind of ruined the mood – the anticipation for something to actually start happening. It took her long enough, but when the real thing started, it was absolutely brilliant. Maniscalco took her work from the previous books, gently wrapping it in a veil of mystery and well-known theories that brought a whole new insight of Audrey’s connections to the killer on the loose. Audrey Rose’s search for the killer turned into an obsession to prove her brother innocent, to the point where her work became too personal. The threats and letters only amplified mysteriousness and tension in the hunt for one of the most vicious killers in history – H.H. Holmes. And as I said before, getting to the good part of this book took a serious toll on my nerves. Romance straight-up sucked to the point I started being annoyed by the two characters I usually adored. Audrey Rose and Thomas have been together for a long time and have gone through a lot but there is a time when you have to let the romance rest without any additional drama and interfering. I have nothing about slow-burn or anything, but the two of them have gotten together two books ago, on from then on there has been like a million more obstacles, changes of hearts and dramatic interferences. For the first 20% of the book there was nothing but non-stop love proclamations that all sounded the same – okay I get it, you love each other but can we please move on now. And then *spoiler* the wedding is interrupted by some random chick and whole heartbreaking earthshaking drama emerges where everything looks hopeless. And they just put aside everything catch a murderer and their big problem is solved by the queen of England in two pages. *spoiler over* Sorry, but that was just too much dramatics and unnecessary waste of time for me. There could have been more clues about the murderer instead :/ “It is a sad truth that we do not live in a world where differences are accepted.”I’ve had such a beautiful experience reading these books, and I’m sorry beyond measures that my impression will be spoiled by the last one, but what can one do. No matter what, Audrey Rose and Thomas will always have a place in my heart reserved for their unconditional friendship and detective genius.Blog Tumblr
    more
  • Cory Marie
    January 1, 1970
    “Beyond life, beyond death; My love for thee is eternal.” That’s the title of the last chapter of this book, and it also perfectly describes how I feel about this series.There are several book series that I consider perfect. Stalking Jack the Ripper just got added to that list. And honestly, that’s saying a lot. Because I DO NOT like true crime, horror, or anything of the sort. So the fact that Kerri Maniscalco managed to capture, and so valiantly keep, my attention for 4 books that are focused “Beyond life, beyond death; My love for thee is eternal.” That’s the title of the last chapter of this book, and it also perfectly describes how I feel about this series.There are several book series that I consider perfect. Stalking Jack the Ripper just got added to that list. And honestly, that’s saying a lot. Because I DO NOT like true crime, horror, or anything of the sort. So the fact that Kerri Maniscalco managed to capture, and so valiantly keep, my attention for 4 books that are focused on those very things... well, it means that these books truly deserve the highest honor.
    more
  • Alice
    January 1, 1970
    "fourth and final instalment" i can't read suddenly i don't know
  • Faye*
    January 1, 1970
    Just realised it's only one more month to go until this comes out!
  • julia ♥
    January 1, 1970
    everything i wanted for this series and more. 💖 5/5.
  • Mandy White
    January 1, 1970
    A fantastic ending to a fantastic series Sad it over though. Audrey and Thomas have been through alot in 4 books and I loved it all. I enjoyed this installment but would have liked more of the killer/murders. There was alot of the love story which is OK but a bit too much for me. Loved that this one brings parts of all the other books into it.
    more
  • Rachel
    January 1, 1970
    This book is so historically inaccurate.And that's not its only problem. Where does one even start?(view spoiler)[For anyone who knows anything about the World's Columbian Exposition, or H. H. Holmes, knows who the murderer is and so this book doesn't hold the same sense of mystery as the others. Speaking of H. H. Holmes, he's barely in this book. He doesn't play a dominating factor until around page 300 and when he finally makes his grand appearance, it's underwhelming. This book doesn't explor This book is so historically inaccurate.And that's not its only problem. Where does one even start?(view spoiler)[For anyone who knows anything about the World's Columbian Exposition, or H. H. Holmes, knows who the murderer is and so this book doesn't hold the same sense of mystery as the others. Speaking of H. H. Holmes, he's barely in this book. He doesn't play a dominating factor until around page 300 and when he finally makes his grand appearance, it's underwhelming. This book doesn't explore his background or possible motivations for why he did what he did. (hide spoiler)](view spoiler)[ Also, I don't buy the H. H. Holmes was Jack the Ripper theory. I understand why it was done the way it was in this book, but the theory is at best unlikely and at worst ridiculous. For me personally, I simply couldn't suspend disbelief in order to enjoy it. The modus operandi are completely different. Jack the Ripper butchered women and left them lying in the street for anyone to find. H. H. Holmes didn't leave bodies lying around. He incinerated them, dissolved them in quicklime, or simply buried them. There's some debate as to what Jack the Ripper's motive was, but there's one thing it certainly wasn't: money. H. H. Holmes killed the women and then sold their bodies and even acquired at least one victim's property. If Holmes' motive was money, it makes no sense for him to be the Ripper, since the Ripper killed prostitutes, who didn't have any money or else they wouldn't have been prostitutes. (hide spoiler)]The year of the fair is moved from 1893 to 1889, which is mentioned in the author's note. In historical fiction, you are allowed to play around a bit with facts but this seems like something you wouldn't mess with. None of the events surrounding the fair are even happening at this point.Secondly, Audrey Rose's father warns her that if she marries Thomas, all her property will be under his control. (view spoiler)[ There's also a threat made by Thomas's father toward Daciana, saying that if Thomas doesn't agree to his demands, she will have to marry this old man and she will lose the house in Romania. (hide spoiler)] BUT, the Married Women's Property Act of 1884, passed by Parliament 5 years prior to the year with which this book is concerned, allowed women to own and control their own property, whether it was acquired before OR after they married. So the threat loses all meaning and weight behind it. There's also the issue of the police in New York investigating the death of the murdered prostitute. New York police were notoriously corrupt during this time. If you were poor, they wouldn't investigate your death unless they were paid to do so. Someone like a prostitute wouldn't have been given the time of day unless a reward was offered...and it wasn't.And then we have our protagonists.Audrey Rose and Thomas spend more time fawning/agonizing over each other than they do mystery-solving.Neither Audrey Rose nor Thomas Cresswell act or think like they belong in this time period. Their attitudes are too 21st century to realistically belong in a book set in the Victorian era. Now, 21st century attitudes are very different from those held in Victorian times and in historical fiction it's common to make your protagonists less small-minded and bigoted than the majority of those around them. But to make them feel like they belong in 2019 rather than 1889 is jarringly unrealistic.I don't think Maniscalco knows how to write male characters. Uncle Jonathan is wooden (and I swear he's the only character in this series that's at least somewhat sane, if extremely underdeveloped), Lord Wadsworth is a caricature, and Thomas seems to have only two settings: alternating between being unrealistically vulnerable and being a sex-crazed pervert who constantly spews innuendos. It's not charming. But I guess that's what you get when you have lust instead of love. I don't care what this book tries to convince us of, these characters lust after each other. (view spoiler)[ No self-respecting Victorian "gentleman" would jump into a bath fully clothed with a naked woman they are not yet married to. And speaking of marriage, these two had ONE more day to wait until their wedding and it was apparently too long because they just couldn't wait to consummate their "marriage" that hadn't even taken place. (hide spoiler)] None of this is really new, but it reached a whole new level of bad in this book.Using the trappings of a time period is a common thing in YA historical fiction apparently. The writer chooses what they like from a time period and leaves out what they don't. Pretty gowns, hansom cabs, and gaslights. But the characters don't act properly for the world and time in which they inhabit. It's the mere trappings.STOP IT.As someone who loves history, this is very irritating. It almost feels like YA writers seem to think we don't want substance or are too stupid to handle any sort of depth.I read this book because I had read all the previous ones. I actually thought the first one decent, but every book since has gotten progressively worse. I had hoped that this final book would return to some semblance of the first one, but alas.It was the worst of them all.
    more
  • Katie
    January 1, 1970
    I wanted to love this. This series has been one of my faves (to the point where a lot of people associate it with me) and I was just really disappointed. This book ended up being like 75% romance and the murder mystery was a side plot that barely seemed to exist except to break up the drama between Audrey Rose and Thomas. And the drama wasn't even good drama. It was all stuff that obviously was going to be resolved, and it was just so frustrating that this series that had such great mysteries en I wanted to love this. This series has been one of my faves (to the point where a lot of people associate it with me) and I was just really disappointed. This book ended up being like 75% romance and the murder mystery was a side plot that barely seemed to exist except to break up the drama between Audrey Rose and Thomas. And the drama wasn't even good drama. It was all stuff that obviously was going to be resolved, and it was just so frustrating that this series that had such great mysteries ended with the mystery barely being important to the story. I think the parts of the mystery we did see are some of the best parts and I wish there was more of a focus on those. I did enjoy getting to see Noah again, and I still really like the narrator of the audiobooks, but this book wasn't for me.I'm going to use a spoiler tag to point out some of the things I really, really disliked in this book:(view spoiler)[Besides the romance I listed above, the drama with it was so pointless. They are literally about to get married and then they can't cause somehow Thomas is already betrothed to someone else. Like wtf. I was seriously at the point where I was like, good they are getting married so we can get to the real plot, but nope. Additionally, how did they not know who Thomas's father is at this point? Like, it was a huge shock for them, but like, they are part of the London aristocracy, so shouldn't they know that? Like if they can gossip about him at a tea party in the first book, shouldn't they know who he is? I said that I like the mystery a lot in this book, and that is very true, but I did still have some issues with it. I hated that everything ended up being connected to the Ripper murders, and basically change Nathaniel's involvement in the murders - THREE BOOKS LATER. I might not know that much about HH Holmes, but like that just makes no sense honestly. Also, why did Audrey Rose think it was a smart idea to confront him by herself and to tell no one where she was going? Like, it's been pounded into our heads how smart she is, so why was she acting so dumb this book?I really truly love the feminist side we see in this book, but sometimes it felt too forced. Also, I wish I counted all the times Audrey Rose said she didn't want to be caged and she wanted to make her own choices in this book, especially since she really didn't even make that many choices for herself? I obviously have no issues with her wanting to marry Thomas, but she's literally 17 and she's like 'ok cool i'm going to go from my father to Thomas with no independence in between and marry below the normal age in society, and it's all great because Thomas lets me make my own choices.' Idk, it just grated on me because she talked about it so much, and it didn't really seem like she was making her own choices. Idk. Also, this literally happened:Thomas: i won't consummate my marriage and you could be my mistress, so we can still be together even if we aren't marriedAudrey Rose: i won't be your mistress because it will ruin my family-several chapters later-Audrey Rose, apparently forgetting everything she said about not being his mistress, continues to sleep with Thomas anyway (hide spoiler)]I'm sure there are other things that happened that I also was not happy with, but I am blanking on them now, and even just thinking about these things is making me so frustrated, so I'm going to stop here and try to pretend like this book never happened.
    more
  • Davina Herondale
    January 1, 1970
    "Beyond life, beyond death. My love for thee is eternal." the ONLY reason i'm giving this 4 stars is bc of a thing that's spoilery and I'm not about to spoil the finale of this incredible storyNon-spoilery: I loved this so much. Not just this book, but the entire over arching series. The story flows beautifully and its probably one of my favorite series because of this. (view spoiler)[ OK LISTEN!ok but seriously if you haven't read this yet don't read what i'm about to say bc it is majorly spoi "Beyond life, beyond death. My love for thee is eternal." the ONLY reason i'm giving this 4 stars is bc of a thing that's spoilery and I'm not about to spoil the finale of this incredible storyNon-spoilery: I loved this so much. Not just this book, but the entire over arching series. The story flows beautifully and its probably one of my favorite series because of this. (view spoiler)[ OK LISTEN!ok but seriously if you haven't read this yet don't read what i'm about to say bc it is majorly spoileryso, on MANY occasions, Audrey says she doesn't want to be Thomas' side chick (bc of the whole his dad betrothed him to that hoe bag) and like, ok. Alexa play Truth Hurts by Lizzo. My thing is that she says this, then continues to sleep with him. This just really irked me. It just seemed very out of character for her. ugh this is why i dropped a star on my rating. I liked seeing characters from previous books. That was fun. Noah is still a precious bean. Ayden is still a lil shit but I love him for it. (hide spoiler)]otherwise there were, like, 15 quotes that I fell in love with but I didn't mark them all so I gotta go back and put them here bc they're amazing. also I'm in love with Thomas Cresswell ok bye
    more
  • Callie (BeverageandBook)
    January 1, 1970
    “Beyond life, beyond death; My love for thee is eternal.”Guys, I have so much love for Thomas Cresswell this book. I love love love this conclusion. I thought it was an amazing wrap up and I’m crazy pick about endings. 4.5/5
  • Alexandra
    January 1, 1970
    WHAT AN ENDING! WOW!Review to come!
  • Morgan
    January 1, 1970
    At this point I think everyone is here for Thomas alone 😅I swear if Audrey doesn’t redeem herself after the last book, there is going to be problems...
Write a review