A River of Royal Blood (A River of Royal Blood, #1)
An enthralling debut perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone set in a North African-inspired fantasy world where two sisters must fight to the death to win the crown. Sixteen-year-old Eva is a princess, born with the magick of marrow and blood--a dark and terrible magick that hasn't been seen for generations in the vibrant but fractured country of Myre. Its last known practitioner was Queen Raina, who toppled the native khimaer royalty and massacred thousands, including her own sister, eight generations ago, thus beginning the Rival Heir tradition. Living in Raina's long and dark shadow, Eva must now face her older sister, Isa, in a battle to the death if she hopes to ascend to the Ivory Throne--because in the Queendom of Myre only the strongest, most ruthless rulers survive.When Eva is attacked by an assassin just weeks before the battle with her sister, she discovers there is more to the attempt on her life than meets the eye--and it isn't just her sister who wants to see her dead. As tensions escalate, Eva is forced to turn to a fey instructor of mythic proportions and a mysterious and handsome khimaer prince for help in growing her magick into something to fear. Because despite the love she still has for her sister, Eva will have to choose: Isa's death or her own.A River of Royal Blood is an enthralling debut set in a lush North African inspired fantasy world that subtly but powerfully challenges our notions of power, history, and identity.

A River of Royal Blood (A River of Royal Blood, #1) Details

TitleA River of Royal Blood (A River of Royal Blood, #1)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseOct 29th, 2019
PublisherPutnam
ISBN-139780525518587
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Young Adult Fantasy

A River of Royal Blood (A River of Royal Blood, #1) Review

  • Elise (TheBookishActress)
    January 1, 1970
    this will be a super dark, morally ambiguous, duel to the death, correct
  • Laura Silverman
    January 1, 1970
    EPICALLY GOOD. Y'all don't even know.But you want to know.So preorder the second you have a chance.
  • Rachel Strolle
    January 1, 1970
    HELL YEAH
  • Vanshika Prusty
    January 1, 1970
    This is going to be epic. Y’all aren’t ready for it
  • Janani(ஜனனி)
    January 1, 1970
    THE COVER SLAYED ME INTO SHREDS.
  • helena
    January 1, 1970
    release date: october 29th
  • Frank
    January 1, 1970
    Prereview March 2019Ah yes, and here we see publishers begin slapping "perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone" onto any African inspired YA fantasy.On a side note, I personally neither love nor hate the cover, it's okay. Looks like most YA fantasy nowadays.
    more
  • ♔ Dark Lordette Jennymort ♔
    January 1, 1970
    **Update 05/10/2019**why the hell is this not out yet and how do i get my hands on an arc?!
  • Sami
    January 1, 1970
    Joy shows massive talent in her stellar worldbuilding and tricky premise. l loved the complex system of magic and rich history of the kingdoms. My only complaint is how much I hated Eva's mother and sister. Truly, they were so awful that I was ready for Eva to end them all. Luckily, Eva is much more level-headed than me and in true heroine style, grows as a person over the course of the book.
    more
  • mghrebia
    January 1, 1970
    ok looks interesting but i have to say i'm curious why this book is being marketed as north african. nothing about it looks north african. not the names, or character, clothes on the cover or anything. it doesn't appear to be own voices so i'm extremely skeptical.
    more
  • Chloe
    January 1, 1970
    *Spoiler free*Just from the title alone, I wanted to read this book. It sounds dark and a dark royal story sounds amazing. Then it just sounds better from the synopsis. I've recently fallen in love with sister stories and this one sounded complicated and bloody. There's also a Queendom, terrible magick, and handsome princes.I'm not sure how I feel about this one overall. I didn't love it, but I liked it well enough. I almost put it down, but I decided to push through since there were a few thing *Spoiler free*Just from the title alone, I wanted to read this book. It sounds dark and a dark royal story sounds amazing. Then it just sounds better from the synopsis. I've recently fallen in love with sister stories and this one sounded complicated and bloody. There's also a Queendom, terrible magick, and handsome princes.I'm not sure how I feel about this one overall. I didn't love it, but I liked it well enough. I almost put it down, but I decided to push through since there were a few things that were interesting. The writing was a huge thing that kept me going. It moved forward so easily and made everything more vibrant.There is a lot of information dump throughout the book. I usually don't mind, but I felt like it sort of interrupted the flow of the book and more information about the world was explained unevenly throughout the book. It probably served the plot well, but I just thought they way it was executed could have been better.Despite this, I really enjoyed the world. It was such a unique feel to it. The magic and political system is different from anything I've read. I really enjoyed both of them. They're dark and bloody. I liked how the current rulers of the Queendom were flawed and it reflected on to how the kingdom is run. Most books don't take this route and I liked seeing how things could be better in this world through Eva and the changes she wanted to make. The magic was really cool and I liked how I got to learn more about at the same time as Eva!I also really liked Eva. She's really well rounded and I liked her character. She feels things so deeply. There is such a range of emotions she goes through throughout the book and how they flowed was done really well. It felt realistic and natural.I didn't connect to this book a whole lot emotionally. A lot of the scenes that has strong emotions running through them fell flat for me. Stakes didn't feel as high as they were and I just couldn't feel the tension in some of them. When something dramatic happened, I would almost miss it because I couldn't quite connect to the feelings the scene was trying to provoke.Pacing and the development of some relational aspects were also a bit off for me. Things seemed to jump around and some things the book was going for didn't really hit the mark personally for me.There was also a lot less of the sister relationship than I thought there was going to be. I don't think this is necessarily a bad thing, I just wasn't expecting it. I think if Eva and Isa had interacted more, I would have been able to connect to the emotional turmoil Eva was feeling more strongly.Despite the issues I had with this book, I really enjoyed the overall story and I'm looking forward to where it goes in the next book. I think it has a lot of potential. I can't wait to see where the romance goes, how the magic develops, and the path that Eva decides to take. There's still so many secrets in this world and I can't wait to find them out.
    more
  • Alyssa
    January 1, 1970
    4.25-4.5 stars. RTC. A huge thank you to the publisher and Edelweiss for an e-galley in exchange for an honest review.
  • booksneedcaffeinetoo
    January 1, 1970
    THIS IS ONE OF THE PRETTIEST BOOK COVERS I HAVE EVER SEEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!the powerthe energythat eye contactG O R G E O U S
  • Artie
    January 1, 1970
    1. what's going on w/ those super fake and awkward poses2. I like the fact that there r black girls on the cover but did they have to make magic girl really light skinned and white passing? I mean light skinned black ppl are valid but this is apparently set in a North African inspired world and i'm pretty sure North Africans aren't this light. idk cause i'm light skinned Chinese but if you're black you can tell me your thoughts in the comments.
    more
  • Fifi
    January 1, 1970
    WOW WOW WOW THIS SOUNDS SO COOL the title alone made me want to read this instantly. You bet your ass I’m bookmarking this one!
  • Yara
    January 1, 1970
    This was a really enjoyable read. I really liked the MC Eva and the fae mage Baccha who helps her learn to use her magic. The author does a nice job of transporting the reader to this mythical African inspired magical world. Looking forward to the next book in the series.
    more
Write a review