The Inbetween Days
From the author of Something Like Happy comes an uplifting and emotionally compelling novel about a woman in a coma fighting for a second chance at life, love and happiness.Rosie Cooke is “in between.” In between consciousness and oblivion. Life and death. And though some say that when you’re near death your entire life flashes before your eyes, Rosie can’t remember anything at all—not even how she ended up in a coma. At least not at first.Then something strange starts to happen. Rosie finds herself revisiting scattered moments from her past: a beach vacation, a play rehearsal, the day her brother was born. But why these memories? And what do they mean?As each piece of the puzzle comes into focus, Rosie struggles to face the picture of her life that forms. But with every look backward comes a glimpse of what might be: A relationship with her sister. The opportunity to pursue her passion. A second chance at love. And Rosie just might discover that she has much to live for.With bighearted emotion and comic sensibility, The Inbetween Days is a life-affirming novel about the little choices that determine our fate and our ever-enduring hope for the future.

The Inbetween Days Details

TitleThe Inbetween Days
Author
ReleaseJan 22nd, 2019
PublisherGraydon House
ISBN-139781525830471
Rating
GenreFiction, Contemporary, Womens Fiction

The Inbetween Days Review

  • Julie
    January 1, 1970
    Guest review for Harlequin Junkie. Pub date 2019https://www.harlequinjunkie.com
  • Kendall
    January 1, 1970
    The Inbetween Days by Eva Woods was beautiful, brilliant, and uplifting! How can I describe this book? It truly makes you appreciate being alive and what life has to offer each and everyone of us. Eva Wood writes an emotional story that hits close to your heart with words that flow ever so beautifully across these pages. I was intrigued and pulled in by page one. The art to her words that create such beautiful imagery as you read each and every page. The storyline is absolutely heart-breaking. M The Inbetween Days by Eva Woods was beautiful, brilliant, and uplifting! How can I describe this book? It truly makes you appreciate being alive and what life has to offer each and everyone of us. Eva Wood writes an emotional story that hits close to your heart with words that flow ever so beautifully across these pages. I was intrigued and pulled in by page one. The art to her words that create such beautiful imagery as you read each and every page. The storyline is absolutely heart-breaking. My goodness did I feel for Rosie. Being hit by a bus and diving deep into a coma. But, having to make decisions due to being in the "gray area" to see if she can come alive again. Eva has such a way with the complexity of her characters in this novel. She explores her character's past and present, unwinds each and every secret, and the complexities of how humans think and tick. I could not get enough of this beautiful and emotional storyline! This came at the right time in my life. It made me thankful for my life a little bit more and I hugged my fiance a little bit tighter <3.Huge thank you to Harlequin Graydon and Netgalley for the arc in exchange for my honest review.4.5 beautiful stars! Publication date: 1/22/19Published to GR: 12/2/18
    more
  • Rebecca McNutt
    January 1, 1970
    I received a copy of this book in a Goodreads giveaway.The Inbetween Days is like a much deeper and better version of If I Stay, and right from Page 1 it makes it clear that the story's going to be good. Eva Woods has a talent for not only writing from the point-of-view of one character, so everything around Rosie comes to life. Background fixtures like an office worker up in his skyscraper and Dot, a kind ghostly woman who drifts in for a visit, get their moments whereas in other books they mig I received a copy of this book in a Goodreads giveaway.The Inbetween Days is like a much deeper and better version of If I Stay, and right from Page 1 it makes it clear that the story's going to be good. Eva Woods has a talent for not only writing from the point-of-view of one character, so everything around Rosie comes to life. Background fixtures like an office worker up in his skyscraper and Dot, a kind ghostly woman who drifts in for a visit, get their moments whereas in other books they might not even be mentioned. This isn't a depressing book, either - though I added it to my Goodreads shelves "death" and "afterlife", the story isn't really a death story. It's more about a second shot at life and the possibility of redemption, as well as how our decisions affect the people around us even when we don't realize it.This omnipresent book shows the inner emotions, conflicts and experiences of multiple characters, making for a journey that doesn't just end with Rosie. Rosie's sister, Daisy, is just as much an important character as Rosie is, thinking back to her own childhood and life decisions and fearing the worst with Rosie in a coma. It soon becomes clear that there's a lot not being said, and to overcome it and find a purpose to keep on living, Rosie has to put the pieces of the puzzle together and try to understand. I liked that The Inbetween Days isn't some hokey story and that it has the depth and variety to appeal to any type of reader. Sometimes the book is very fast-paced, though. This is especially true when Rosie is in the hospital and various scenes are being described - everything jumps from one thing to the next with no rhyme or reason to it, and I'm not sure if this was intended to show how out-of-it Rosie is, how hectic the hospital environment is or what, but it was rather confusing. Nevertheless, I really liked the book all the same. Especially the sweet tea cafe scene, which I won't post spoilers for but it really shows the difference that simple acts of kindness can make in a person's life, because you never know what a person's day has been like unless you reach out to offer some help or understanding.The Inbetween Days is set to be released roughly a month from now, so keep an eye out for it! :)
    more
  • Amy
    January 1, 1970
    Haven’t we all wondered, “what if?” at some point in our lives? What if I had said something different, what if I had done something else, what would my life be like today? Would it be the same or would these decisions (both big and small) have altered the course of my life? At it’s core The Inbetween Days explores these types of questions, but it’s so much more than that, it goes much deeper.I read Something Like Happy well over a year ago and it was a book that really resonated with me, the ki Haven’t we all wondered, “what if?” at some point in our lives? What if I had said something different, what if I had done something else, what would my life be like today? Would it be the same or would these decisions (both big and small) have altered the course of my life? At it’s core The Inbetween Days explores these types of questions, but it’s so much more than that, it goes much deeper.I read Something Like Happy well over a year ago and it was a book that really resonated with me, the kind that stays with you. As much as I was looking forward to reading this one, I did have a nagging thought thinking that maybe this one wouldn’t effect me in such a profound way. I was wrong. Do you have any authors that seem to just speak to your soul? Their writing touches you on a level that is not the norm and leaves a mark on your heart? I know it sounds incredibly cheesy but Woods is that author for me. She inspires me and makes me evaluate my own life and always makes me want to do better, to be better and to just live my life to the absolute fullest.Rosie is in a coma right when you’re first introduced to her and I remember thinking, hmm wonder how much I’ll hear from her POV, but it’s a lot, you’re basically privy to her inner monologue as she struggles to remember even the most basic things about her life. The structure of this was fantastic, when Rosie starts to remember things you’re hurtled straight into the memory with her and things are all over the place, she may first remember something from two years ago and then when she was five, but it’s quickly apparent that these memories are all relevant in some manner. You also hear from her sister, Daisy and she’s just as important to the story as Rosie is. I just adored both of them, I felt an instant bond with the two of them and was anxious to see what would happen in their lives.I could probably ramble about this one forever but I’ll spare you, I’m going to leave you with a portion of my review for Something Like Happy that is how I feel about this one as well. This one made me grateful and humbled me, which seems like part of some overarching themes in Woods books.If I’m ever feeling down or throwing myself a pity party I’ll pick this book up again, it’s exactly what I need to read to quit feeling sorry for myself and embrace the life that I was given. It really gave me a new, fresh perspective and inspired me to celebrate the little things and to be truly grateful for all that I have. Happiness is a choice and though it may not always be an easy choice, it’s definitely a state of mind. The Inbetween Days in three words: Inspiring, Evocative and Humbling.
    more
  • Olivia (The Candid Cover)
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 StarsThe Inbetween Days by Eva Woods is a heartfelt story of love and redemption. The dual timelines and alternating points of view make the book interesting. Rosie, the main character is very relatable and the theme of family is strong in this contemporary novel.Full Review on The Candid Cover
    more
  • Sherri Thacker
    January 1, 1970
    This is my 2nd book by Eva Woods. Her book Something like Happy I gave it 5 stars. So I was excited to started on this one. This book was great! I could not put it down! Another 5 star book!! I’ve read a couple of books similar to this where someone is in a coma and she/he hears everything people are saying around her or him but the doctors don’t know if she/he can or not. It always has me thinking if this really does happen. Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for giving me this book for my h This is my 2nd book by Eva Woods. Her book Something like Happy I gave it 5 stars. So I was excited to started on this one. This book was great! I could not put it down! Another 5 star book!! I’ve read a couple of books similar to this where someone is in a coma and she/he hears everything people are saying around her or him but the doctors don’t know if she/he can or not. It always has me thinking if this really does happen. Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for giving me this book for my honest review. Due out for publication in January 2019.
    more
  • ʚϊɞ Shelley ʚϊɞ
    January 1, 1970
    She just floated in the gray, the halfway, the in-between. Let me start with the writing style. Eva Woods managed to create this lyrical tone in the book that made the words flow off the page. She created deep emotion in a short time and created a story that hits close to home, regardless of who you are or the experiences you have had.The story itself was absolutely breathtaking. To have to go through what Rosie does is heart wrenching. The decisions she has to make and the things she has to se She just floated in the gray, the halfway, the in-between. Let me start with the writing style. Eva Woods managed to create this lyrical tone in the book that made the words flow off the page. She created deep emotion in a short time and created a story that hits close to home, regardless of who you are or the experiences you have had.The story itself was absolutely breathtaking. To have to go through what Rosie does is heart wrenching. The decisions she has to make and the things she has to see are so vivid, that you feel like you are right there in her position. Eva Woods is a master at writing complex and emotional stories about families. With The Inbetween Days she delves into her characters' pasts and their present, unravels the secrets they keep, even from those they most love. She explores the complexities of human nature, the questions we women often ask ourselves. Can we live with our most difficult choices? What really is love? The answers are not easy.A powerful novel, intense, and moving. You can't help but find yourself taking note of the people and things that make your life worth living, after this experience.Thank you NetGalley, HARLEQUIN - Graydon House Books and Eva Woods for the opportunity to read this book in exchange for an impartial review; all opinions are my own.#TheInbetweenDays #NetGalleyAll my reviews can be read here: https://shelleyann01.blogspot.com
    more
  • Diane
    January 1, 1970
    The Inbetween Days by author Eva Woods is BRILLIANT! It is one of the most thought-provoking books I have read this year. The character of Rosie is in a coma after being hit by a big red bus. Did she fall in front of the oncoming bus, or did she intentionally walk into the path? Those are a couple of the questions you will have as you read The Inbetween Days. Rosie can hear the words which are being spoken over her hospital bed, but she is not able to wake up or move. She hears the doctors tell The Inbetween Days by author Eva Woods is BRILLIANT! It is one of the most thought-provoking books I have read this year. The character of Rosie is in a coma after being hit by a big red bus. Did she fall in front of the oncoming bus, or did she intentionally walk into the path? Those are a couple of the questions you will have as you read The Inbetween Days. Rosie can hear the words which are being spoken over her hospital bed, but she is not able to wake up or move. She hears the doctors tell her family that she has three days to wake up or give a sign that she has brain activity. Rosie is visited within her thoughts by people from her past as she relives some of the most painful memories of her life. It seems to Rosie that she has made so many bad choices and reacted in unloving ways to her family and friends, does she really want to wake up?This story is about family, loss, heartache, and love. Love which is found and then later lost, or maybe just unappreciated, depending on who the family member happens to be at the time. There are so many very good and wise revelations in this book as we take a journey with Rosie while she scrambles to either wake up or give up. Publication Date January 22, 2019Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for the opportunity to read and review this book.
    more
  • Out of the Bex
    January 1, 1970
    Not bad, not great. Somewhere inbetween. In 2017 I chose Eva Woods precious work, SOMETHING LIKE HAPPY, as one of my picks for best contemporary books of the year. Naturally, I was eager to give her latest a try.Woods has a unique voice that is startlingly uplifting, relatable, and humorous in the face of unfortunate circumstances. She has a way of making you laugh while you cry. That’s a gift.That same shining voice graced the pages of THE INBETWEEN DAYS, but the story itself lacked some of her Not bad, not great. Somewhere inbetween. In 2017 I chose Eva Woods precious work, SOMETHING LIKE HAPPY, as one of my picks for best contemporary books of the year. Naturally, I was eager to give her latest a try.Woods has a unique voice that is startlingly uplifting, relatable, and humorous in the face of unfortunate circumstances. She has a way of making you laugh while you cry. That’s a gift.That same shining voice graced the pages of THE INBETWEEN DAYS, but the story itself lacked some of her other talents.This book has one major problem in that it’s very structure forces it to be repetitive. We alternate chapters between Daisy and coma-induced Rosie. Rosie’s chapters are always the same structure from start to finish. She makes a joke, sees a guide to take her to a memory, and then visits the memory. Over and over again. After a while, even the jokes aren’t that funny anymore because the pacing and tone are just too identical to the previous chapter. Perhaps if the book had been structured differently it could have avoided this. As it stands though, it gets pretty tiresome.There is a secondary element to this book that is almost like a mystery in composition. Daisy is trying to piece together the moments leading up to her sister’s accident and figure out why it happened. This was a great idea in theory since if it was done well it would serve to propel the story forward. However, the mystery aspect could have been much stronger.Lastly, I was disappointed that the characters in this book were not as engaging as her previous contemporary work. This really surprised me. In her previous work she can make you understand and empathize with a character in a matter of paragraphs. I’m not sure what was missing but the effect just wasn’t there.THE BOTTOM LINEAll in all, this book was fine. I don’t necessarily recommend it, but it also wasn’t that bad either. It seemed to me that all the parts I needed more of were too short and all the parts I wanted less of were too long. If you’re reading Eva Woods I would strongly suggest her previous work, SOMETHING LIKE HAPPY instead.
    more
  • Wendi Lee
    January 1, 1970
    I’m a sucker for sister stories, so I was excited to receive an ARC of The Inbetween Days. Rosie and Daisy are barely speaking to each other when Rosie is involved in a tragic bus accident, and ends up in a coma. Daisy becomes terrified that Rosie tried to take her own life, and mourns their strained relationship. Rosie, on the other hand, embarks on a Christmas Carolesque review of her life. Both sisters are compelling characters, and I was definitely curious to see where Rosie’s memories took I’m a sucker for sister stories, so I was excited to receive an ARC of The Inbetween Days. Rosie and Daisy are barely speaking to each other when Rosie is involved in a tragic bus accident, and ends up in a coma. Daisy becomes terrified that Rosie tried to take her own life, and mourns their strained relationship. Rosie, on the other hand, embarks on a Christmas Carolesque review of her life. Both sisters are compelling characters, and I was definitely curious to see where Rosie’s memories took her. But their relationship never seemed strong enough to hang this novel on, even via flashbacks of their childhood. Rosie is a creative wild child, and Daisy the one trying to win her parents’ approval and do everything “right.” Sometimes opposites make for a dynamic friendship, but in this case, all I felt was wistfulness, mostly on Daisy’s part, that she hadn’t tried harder to know her sister. There is a defining moment in Rosie’s life that I thought should have been more front and center. It seems so important to her entire family, but was treated with kid gloves throughout, almost as if the characters themselves might break from the heartbreaking memories. I liked the message of second chances and redemption, and the idea that a life not seen as outwardly successful can change so many other people’s lives for the better. Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for an arc.
    more
  • Christina Claypool
    January 1, 1970
    Page turner. I couldn't put it down. I was almost instantly hooked and fascinated by the main character, Rosie, and began rooting for her from the beginning. This is rather unusual, as It is often difficult for me to connect to contemporary fiction, because I write inspirational fiction myself. That said, this novel was a bit outside of the genre I am used to reading or writing, which normally is either inspirational or faith-based. Of course, my personal spiritual beliefs about the afterlife di Page turner. I couldn't put it down. I was almost instantly hooked and fascinated by the main character, Rosie, and began rooting for her from the beginning. This is rather unusual, as It is often difficult for me to connect to contemporary fiction, because I write inspirational fiction myself. That said, this novel was a bit outside of the genre I am used to reading or writing, which normally is either inspirational or faith-based. Of course, my personal spiritual beliefs about the afterlife differ from the secular tone of the book, but that in no way diminishes it as a powerful study of the internal lives of the main characters. This author is a talented wordsmith, and very insightful about the struggles most folks hide. Still, the page-turning, dramatic plot wasn't over-the-top, but was quite believable in an unpredictable sort-of-way, and even cathartic and inspiring in how the characters came to resolution through some of their problems. I do not want to spoil the story, and that makes it challenging to write a review. Let it suffice to say, I have very little time to read novels, but I am very grateful I took the time to read this one. It was just what I needed to get through an icy snowstorm here in the Midwest. I received an uncorrected proof of this book through a Goodreads giveaway. I was not required to write a positive review, but I truly have only positive things to say about this novel.
    more
  • Tanja ~ T's Book ~ KT Book Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    *ARC provided by Carina Press | HQN Books | Graydon House Follow us on KT Book ReviewsTwitterFacebookPinteresttumblrYouTubeBook BabblersInstagram
  • Guylou
    January 1, 1970
    QOTD: Do you believe in destiny? Please tell me why you do or you don't?My Review:Thank you @harlequinbooks and @goodreads for this advanced copy of The Inbetween Days by Eva Woods.Rosie is in a coma after being hit by a double-decker in London. She is conscious but can't remember anything about her life prior to the accident. While in her hospital bed, she is visited by different people; some alive and some dead. They are trying to help her remember her life and come out of the coma. She has th QOTD: Do you believe in destiny? Please tell me why you do or you don't?My Review:Thank you @harlequinbooks and @goodreads for this advanced copy of The Inbetween Days by Eva Woods.Rosie is in a coma after being hit by a double-decker in London. She is conscious but can't remember anything about her life prior to the accident. While in her hospital bed, she is visited by different people; some alive and some dead. They are trying to help her remember her life and come out of the coma. She has three days to figure out who she is, what she has done and why she is there. Will it be enough? Will she want to remember or will the memories be too much for her?This has a bit of a Christmas Carol feel. The main character is visited by people from her past who transport her to specific events in her life. Some events are happy, but most are not. This is a fast and light read. This book will be available at your favourite bookstore on January 22nd, 2019.Follow me on Blogger @http://guylous.blogspot.com or on Instagram @twodogsandabook to see my latest book reviews.#bookstagram #bookstagrammer #book #books #booklover #bookish #bookreview #bookdragon #bookaholic #reading #readersofinstagram #instaread #ilovebooks #bookaddicted #bookishcanadians #theinbetweendays #evawoods #fiction
    more
  • Christine Moore
    January 1, 1970
    I rarely talk to my husband about books. He doesn't read and just doesn't get my love for books. This book was on my mind so much I had to tell him about it. I loved this book! Rosie was hit by a bus. Was it accident or did she mean to walk in front of it? As Rosie lays in a coma, people from her past visit her and relive some of her memories with her. Rosie's life has been hard. As she relives her memories, she needs to decide if she will wake up. I loved Rosie and her sister Daisy. The charact I rarely talk to my husband about books. He doesn't read and just doesn't get my love for books. This book was on my mind so much I had to tell him about it. I loved this book! Rosie was hit by a bus. Was it accident or did she mean to walk in front of it? As Rosie lays in a coma, people from her past visit her and relive some of her memories with her. Rosie's life has been hard. As she relives her memories, she needs to decide if she will wake up. I loved Rosie and her sister Daisy. The characters are so real with flaws and love. This is an amazing story of love, family, and second chances. I received an advanced readers copy from NetGalley and HARLEQUIN - Graydon House Books (U.S. & Canada). All opinions are my own.
    more
  • M.
    January 1, 1970
    It was a good read.
  • Michelle Kidwell
    January 1, 1970
    The Inbetween Daysby Eva WoodsHARLEQUIN - Graydon House Books (U.S. & Canada)Graydon HouseWomen's FictionPub Date 22 Jan 2019I am reviewing a copy of The Inbetwwen Days through Graydon House and Netgalley:Rosie Cooke is in between consciousness and death. Some say that when you’re near death your life flashes before your eyes but Rosie remembers nothing at first not even how she ended up in a coma, not at first anyway.Before long some strange starts happening, Rosie starts visiting moments f The Inbetween Daysby Eva WoodsHARLEQUIN - Graydon House Books (U.S. & Canada)Graydon HouseWomen's FictionPub Date 22 Jan 2019I am reviewing a copy of The Inbetwwen Days through Graydon House and Netgalley:Rosie Cooke is in between consciousness and death. Some say that when you’re near death your life flashes before your eyes but Rosie remembers nothing at first not even how she ended up in a coma, not at first anyway.Before long some strange starts happening, Rosie starts visiting moments from her past, a vacation at the beach, a play rehearsal, even the day her brother was born. What she doesnt understand is why these memories, and what do they mean?As the memories come together and each piece of the puzzle comes into focus Rosie struggles to face the picture her life forms. With every look backward she comes to the realization of what life might be. A relationship with her sister. The opportunity to pursue her passion . A second chance at love, the opportunity to pursue her passion. Rosie May just discover she has more to live for than she realized.I give The Inbetween Days five out of five stars!Happy Reading!
    more
  • Booksandchinooks (Laurie)
    January 1, 1970
    I loved this book! I was engaged in this story from the beginning until the end. Rosie has been hit by a bus - literally and is in a coma. What is so frustrating for her is she can hear what is going on around her. Occasionally she can see a tiny bit but as hard as she tries she can’t fully wake up or move to show she’s aware of everything. As she lies there she is visited in her dreams by people she has known who have died and learns things that make her want to be a better person if only she c I loved this book! I was engaged in this story from the beginning until the end. Rosie has been hit by a bus - literally and is in a coma. What is so frustrating for her is she can hear what is going on around her. Occasionally she can see a tiny bit but as hard as she tries she can’t fully wake up or move to show she’s aware of everything. As she lies there she is visited in her dreams by people she has known who have died and learns things that make her want to be a better person if only she could wake up. While she is in between consciousness and death she sees snippets of events that she has lived through. Many of these show mistakes or misunderstandings that have shaped how she has been living. It really brought into focus regrets and things she would now do differently if given the chance. There are many characters that we meet in the book and they all have their own stories and it is interesting to see how they have impacted Rosie. I found myself flying through this book to see what would happen. Thank you to Harlequin and Graydon House for this free book for review. A 5 star read for me.
    more
  • Gloria Bernal
    January 1, 1970
    Publication date: Jan 22, 2019Graydon House Publishing Happy release day to Eva Woods. I found this work entertaining and thought-provoking, eliciting a kaleidoscope of emotions. This novel transpires over a period of 3 critical days. Rosie Cooke has been hit by a bus. She now lies in a coma and the doctors fear that if she doesn't awaken within a period of 3 days her chances of coming back without serious consequences are few, if at all. The question is, was it an accident or was she trying to Publication date: Jan 22, 2019Graydon House Publishing Happy release day to Eva Woods. I found this work entertaining and thought-provoking, eliciting a kaleidoscope of emotions. This novel transpires over a period of 3 critical days. Rosie Cooke has been hit by a bus. She now lies in a coma and the doctors fear that if she doesn't awaken within a period of 3 days her chances of coming back without serious consequences are few, if at all. The question is, was it an accident or was she trying to end her life? No one knows, not even Rosie, who can hear almost all of the time, but is unable to move or speak. She doesn't remember, at first anyway, not even her name or what happened. Her younger sister Daisy is determined to find the truth. Did they all fail Rosie... or did Rosie fail Rosie? This shows how human we all are, in good and bad situations, and how familial relationships GET to a complex stage.  I enjoyed getting acquainted with Rosie’s family. The characters are well developed. I’m a sucker for sister stories, and love stories, as in true life they can be complex. We get that here and more. While Rosie is in this “in-between” stage of life and oblivion, she is "taken" to times in her past that she can view, like a movie... when she was a child, a daughter, a sister, lover or friend. As slowly Rosie's past is revealed, we can see why certain incidents in her life influenced her actions. She herself is able to see that if she had handled things differently, a totally different outcome would have transpired. The novel will have your emotions in overdrive. Anxiety, fear, hope and sadness... yet it is not depressing. It is engaging, at times humorous and hopeful, written with entertaining and believable dialogue. Rosie herself will frustrate the reader, you will see how often she was her own worse enemy, but you will find her relatable, likable and you can't help rooting for her to WAKE UP!  I loved it and give it a strong 4-star rating. Now I want to read Something Like Happy. Woods has a new fan. My free e-ARC was provided for review by the publisher and NetGalley. Thank you.
    more
  • Leslie M.
    January 1, 1970
    I’ve never read anything by this author in the past, but the blurb sounded interesting. Sadly, the story didn’t grab me as much as the blurb did.Rosie is in a coma after being hit by a bus. The question is whether it was an accident or intentional. Unfortunately, Rosie is unable to answer that question. She can hear others talking, and even see people some of whom are no longer alive and remind her of her past, painful memories. Will they cause her to wake up?The story has themes of love, family I’ve never read anything by this author in the past, but the blurb sounded interesting. Sadly, the story didn’t grab me as much as the blurb did.Rosie is in a coma after being hit by a bus. The question is whether it was an accident or intentional. Unfortunately, Rosie is unable to answer that question. She can hear others talking, and even see people some of whom are no longer alive and remind her of her past, painful memories. Will they cause her to wake up?The story has themes of love, family, and loss. While some parts of the book are thought-provoking, I found it hard to stay engaged. I really wanted to feel a connection with the character, but, sadly, I didn’t.Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy from NetGalley, but I wasn’t required to leave a positive review.
    more
  • Heidi
    January 1, 1970
    Clever premise for a novel and one that motivates readers to self-reflect about what truly matters and the fragile human condition. I also appreciated the modern twist on a character's opportunity to revisit one's past and examine the details, choices and outcomes of all the moments that shape who we are and how we live our lives. Brilliant characterization, poignant introspection and overall a moving story that I won't soon forget. Many thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for a complimentary Clever premise for a novel and one that motivates readers to self-reflect about what truly matters and the fragile human condition. I also appreciated the modern twist on a character's opportunity to revisit one's past and examine the details, choices and outcomes of all the moments that shape who we are and how we live our lives. Brilliant characterization, poignant introspection and overall a moving story that I won't soon forget. Many thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for a complimentary advance copy. All opinions stated here are my own.
    more
  • Denise
    January 1, 1970
    The Inbetween Days is a novel about a woman in a coma fighting for answers and second chances. Rosie is stuck in between consciousness and memories. After being hit by a bus, Rosie struggles to make sense of her past, her memories, and what her future will be. Unsure what to make of the memories that come flooding in, Rosie must decide whether to fight for her life or to let go of what is lost. Highly recommended. *I received an advanced reader's copy of this book in exchange for my honest revie The Inbetween Days is a novel about a woman in a coma fighting for answers and second chances. Rosie is stuck in between consciousness and memories. After being hit by a bus, Rosie struggles to make sense of her past, her memories, and what her future will be. Unsure what to make of the memories that come flooding in, Rosie must decide whether to fight for her life or to let go of what is lost. Highly recommended. *I received an advanced reader's copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Tamara Morning
    January 1, 1970
    Title: The Inbetween DaysAuthor: Eva WoodsGenre: FictionRating: 4 out of 5Rosie Cook wakes up in a hospital, having been hit by a bus, but no one knows she’s awake. Everyone thinks she’s in a coma, on the verge of death. Rosie can’t remember anything: who she is, what her life is like, or how she got hit by a bus. She just knows she wants to live.Then Rosie starts remembering things: a fight with her sister, a walk on a beach, the day her brother was born. But why these memories? And what do the Title: The Inbetween DaysAuthor: Eva WoodsGenre: FictionRating: 4 out of 5Rosie Cook wakes up in a hospital, having been hit by a bus, but no one knows she’s awake. Everyone thinks she’s in a coma, on the verge of death. Rosie can’t remember anything: who she is, what her life is like, or how she got hit by a bus. She just knows she wants to live.Then Rosie starts remembering things: a fight with her sister, a walk on a beach, the day her brother was born. But why these memories? And what do they mean? Rosie has trouble facing what the memories reveal about who she was before she woke up, but if she doesn’t make sense of them and figure out who she really is and what she wants, she may never get the chance to try.The Inbetween Days is touted as emotional and comic, but I wouldn’t really say it’s a comic novel. There are some funny moments, and every page is full of emotion, but it’s not a humorous book. Rosie wasn’t a very happy person—or a nice one—and her memories are not usually happy ones. However, the story follows Rosie’s change from a person she can’t stand, to one filled with hope and promise, and this is truly an excellent read, although Rosie’s sister, Daisy was the one I really related to.(Galley provided by Graydon House/Harlequin in exchange for an honest review.)More reviews at Tomorrow is Another Day
    more
  • Marta Ratliff
    January 1, 1970
    I loved the In between days! I have never read Eva Woods before. Now I will be looking forward to many more from her! I do not want to spoil this book for anyone. This book shows that no matter how much we think our life is a failure, that in reality along the way we are making a difference in someone else's life. For anyone that needs to be reminded how good life is, this is the book for you. A feel good ending! Reminds me a little of A Christmas Carol.
    more
  • Sheila Samuelson
    January 1, 1970
    I won this book on Goodreads back in November but this book didn't hit store shelves til Jan 22nd 2019. This was my 1st book to read by Eva Woods, I love the setting it was like A Christmas Story theme minus Christmas in it. It was about 2 sisters 1 of whom got run over by a bus when she was 15 years old. I cryed through many parts of this book but still loved it. I will definitely read more books by Eva :)
    more
  • Tracey
    January 1, 1970
    "None of us can exist without each other".This book was part "A Christmas Carol", part "It's a Wonderful Life". Another reminder that life is short, too short to be unhappy. And all paths cross for a reason, sometimes we never know that reason or are even aware it made an impact on someone. So remember, use your time with people wisely. If you love someone, tell them. If you're sorry for something you said or did, apologize. It's all so simple, isn't it?
    more
  • Carol Rennie
    January 1, 1970
    This is the first book I have read from this author, and I loved it. Thank you so much for the ARC through Goodreads.This is a story about love, family, forgiveness, choices that are made and the impact of how our own actions affect each others lives - family, loved ones, friends and even strangers.
    more
  • Paula Pugh
    January 1, 1970
    I am still in awe of this novel. It is beyond a moving, emotional journey that your heart foes on as you travel through the memories of a young woman in a coma. Reading of the mess that she saw of her life, of the pain she inflicted on others and of how her very existence and mistakes caused such ramifications for others is amazing to the senses.This is truly a not to miss novel.
    more
  • Kathy
    January 1, 1970
    The Inbetween Days by Eva Woods is a poignant yet ultimately uplifting novel of healing.The Cooke family rushes to the hospital after learning Rosie has been struck by a bus and is now in a coma. Sister Daisy and mum Alison are wracked with guilt since they have not spoken to Rosie since she caused a scene at Daisy's engagement party. Rosie has been estranged from her father, Mike, but he never hesitates to stay by his daughter's bedside.The doctors have informed her family the next three days a The Inbetween Days by Eva Woods is a poignant yet ultimately uplifting novel of healing.The Cooke family rushes to the hospital after learning Rosie has been struck by a bus and is now in a coma. Sister Daisy and mum Alison are wracked with guilt since they have not spoken to Rosie since she caused a scene at Daisy's engagement party. Rosie has been estranged from her father, Mike, but he never hesitates to stay by his daughter's bedside.The doctors have informed her family the next three days are critical for Rosie's future.  As Daisy searches for the truth about the circumstances of her sister's accident, Rosie revisits painful yet pivotal moments in her life. She is guided by a cast of ghostly people who urge her to work out the meaning of these memories so she can wake up from her coma before the three day recovery window closes. Will Daisy gain a deeper understanding of her own life as she gains a better understanding of her sister's? Can Rosie figure out why she is seeing a seemingly random selection of memories from her past?Rosie is aware of what is going on around her as she frantically tries to force herself to wake up from her coma.  When her first "visitor" escorts her back to her past, she does not understand the why she is returning to these painful memories. With each subsequent trip down memory lane, Rosie grows more and more distraught as she sees what a mess she has made of her friendships and relationships with loved ones.  Fully realizing her ghostly guides are figments of her imagination, Rosie nonetheless begins to understand what she stands to lose if she does not emerge from her coma at the end of the three crucial days in her recovery.The Cooke family  has been unhappy for a good number of years but they all deal with their issues in different ways. Rosie speaks her mind and this has lead to a breakdown in her relationships with her mother, sister and father. Her personal and professional lives are a bit of a muddle and Daisy is greatly saddened  by what she finds as she tries to make sense of what happened the day of the accident.  As Daisy uncovers the somewhat sad truth about Rosie, she begins to rethink her own decisions.  But will Daisy find the courage to take the steps she needs to find happiness? And will she find the courage to confront her parents about their role in their family's dysfunction?The Inbetween Days is an emotional and thought-provoking novel that is quite captivating. Rosie is an extremely sympathetic character and readers will root for her as she traverses her unhappy past in hopes of discerning why she made so many disastrous choices.  Daisy is desperate to understand her sister and in doing so, she must face the truth about her own choices.  Eva Woods will keep readers on the edge of their seats as she brings this riveting novel to a heartfelt and gratifying conclusion.  I absolutely loved and highly recommend this deeply affecting story.
    more
  • Ruth
    January 1, 1970
    Is her life worth fighting for? Rosie is in a coma and visiting her memories and trying to decide. Goodreads has a giveaway going on now (1/1/19); I think you'd enjoy it if you won it. My review will be published 1/21/19 at https://rannthisthat.blogspot.com/201...
    more
  • Aida Alberto
    January 1, 1970
    I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley and all opinions are my own.A beautifully written story that will stay with you long after the last page. Absolutely pick up this winner of a book and prepare to loose yourself in the story. Happy reading! #TheInbetweenDays #NetGalley
    more
Write a review