The Giving Tree
"Once there was a tree...and she loved a little boy."So begins a story of unforgettable perception, beautifully written and illustrated by the gifted and versatile Shel Silverstein.Every day the boy would come to the tree to eat her apples, swing from her branches, or slide down her trunk...and the tree was happy. But as the boy grew older he began to want more from the tree, and the tree gave and gave and gave.This is a tender story, touched with sadness, aglow with consolation. Shel Silverstein has created a moving parable for readers of all ages that offers an affecting interpretation of the gift of giving and a serene acceptance of another's capacity to love in return.

The Giving Tree Details

TitleThe Giving Tree
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseOct 7th, 1964
PublisherHarperCollins Publishers
ISBN0060256656
ISBN-139780060256654
Number of pages64 pages
Rating
GenreChildrens, Classics, Picture Books, Fiction

The Giving Tree Review

  • David
    December 3, 2010
    HEY, KIDS AND SHEL SILVERSTEIN FANS! COME OVER HERE AND READ THIS!Okay, this some motherfuckin' fucked-up shit right here. The Giving Tree is the straight-up wack story of how this selfish little ass-faced prick kicks it with this full-on saintly tree. Ever'thin' fine for a while, y'all, with the lil' prick all gettin' up in there an' sayin' to the tree, "Yeah, you know you mah bitch," but then all of a sudden, this jumped-up prick go through puberty, get his chia on or some such shit, and so he HEY, KIDS AND SHEL SILVERSTEIN FANS! COME OVER HERE AND READ THIS!Okay, this some motherfuckin' fucked-up shit right here. The Giving Tree is the straight-up wack story of how this selfish little ass-faced prick kicks it with this full-on saintly tree. Ever'thin' fine for a while, y'all, with the lil' prick all gettin' up in there an' sayin' to the tree, "Yeah, you know you mah bitch," but then all of a sudden, this jumped-up prick go through puberty, get his chia on or some such shit, and so he's off screwin' the skank-ass bitches on the block all damn day and can't spare one motherfuckin' minute for this poor old tree who waitin' for him and lookin' all motherfuckin' sad an' droopy an' shit. So this little punk-ass bitch come up on the tree -- this is a motherfuckin' tree, hear? -- and ask her ['cuz she a sexy-ass lady-tree] fo' some g's. Well, the tree is all, like, "I ain't got no cash, bitch. What part o' me say ATM on it? Mmm-hmmm. I thought so..." And she shoulda held up there, but -- no -- this tree gets all fuckin' benevolent and be, like, "Well, I got mad apples you can go hustle on the streets." So this ass-faced prick just, like, boosts all these goddamn apples an' leaves this tree with, like, its weave all out an' shit. So next, after workin' the streets wit his crew, little bitch boy come back, lookin' all older an' jacked-up, and ask the motherfuckin' tree for a goddamn crib. So the tree like, "Hol' up. Do you even fuckin' see Coldwell Banker all up an' down in here? I think not." But then, being all kindly an' shit, the tree is, like, "But I got mad branches..." And what? She motherfuckin' takes it up back again fo' this fool. Later, another goddamn time, punk-ass bitch come back, lookin' all old an' saggy and wack now, and he like, "Bitch, what you got fo' me now?" "Awww, hell naw," tree says, but then she start gettin' all soft an' shit again an' say, "Why don' you cut down my trunk or some such shit and go 'head and whittle a pimped-out yacht, full-on Hamptons-style?" He, like, "Yeah, I thought so, bitch." And then -- guess the fuck what? -- little shriveled-up, played-out mack come on back wit his ass all hemorrhoided-up an' shit. He look straight-up nasty and old. Tree is, like, "I know you ain't come t'ask me. All's I got is a motherfuckin' stump, you ass-faced motherfucker. How you gon' come back at me like that?" This punk-ass bitch is all drooling and jacked-up and just wanna sit the hell down. What do the motherfuckin' tree do? She say, "Hell no! You motherfuckin' fucked-up fucker, get yo' motherfuckin' ass face out o' here fo' I cut you up good: give you some stank-ass mad tree fungus, motherfucker!" The motherfuckin' end, motherfuckers. Okay, so that's not really the way The Giving Tree ends, but maybe it's the way it should. Some time ago, my ex-girlfriend and, afterward, long-time co-dependent friend gave me The Giving Tree as part of my birthday gift. I loved it, but I hated it, too, because I felt so bad for the tree who is endlessly shat upon by this worthless "Boy"--as he is always known, regardless of age; I longed to console the tree and, maybe a little, to condemn this book as yet another emotionally-scarring "children's" entertainment in the manner of Old Yeller. Don't give me any shit about learning valuable lessons. The only lesson I learned was that human beings are nothing but steaming piles of corn-freckled feces, and that I wanted to found a not-for-profit shelter for unloved trees and rabid dogs and any other nonhuman thing, living or not, which was either unwanted or despised. Having said all this -- and although I don't approve of the treatment of the giving tree -- this book is very moving and very delicate. The delicacy is somewhat counteracted when the reader turns over the book and sees the author photograph of a thoroughly evil-looking Shel Silverstein. He looks like the sort of person who would burn down whole forests of rare giving trees just for kicks. Picture Othello just before he strangles Desdemona. If you -- and, yes, I'm talking to you personally -- are not moved by the plight of the tree after reading this book, then perhaps it's time to go an' check yo'self: are you the givin' tree or are you the motherfuckin' takin' tree? Or are you the sneak-out-in-the-middle-of-the-night-an'-steal-all-my-shit tree?
    more
  • Nathan
    January 8, 2008
    I know that many people have a sentimental love for this book, and I respect that -- you can't rationalize emotional connection. And generally, I like this author. But with this book, since it inspired no real emotional response in me, I am left with only the rational perspective, which in me was this: This book troubles me deeply, because it enshrines self-destructive and self-pitying martyrdom as the paragon of love for others. And I think there is already far too much of this in our society. I know that many people have a sentimental love for this book, and I respect that -- you can't rationalize emotional connection. And generally, I like this author. But with this book, since it inspired no real emotional response in me, I am left with only the rational perspective, which in me was this: This book troubles me deeply, because it enshrines self-destructive and self-pitying martyrdom as the paragon of love for others. And I think there is already far too much of this in our society. This book seems to say that if you really love someone else, you will damage yourself, cripple yourself, tear down your boundaries, destroy yourself for them. And further, it implies that those who are loved must by nature use and devour those who love them. An incredibly unhealthy model for love and relationships, especially for a child's book. I am a parent of two, and though many parents have offered up this book as representative of the true nature of parental love, I cannot agree. If I were to raise my children this way, I feel I would only be teaching them to take selfishly from those who love them, to use people up and always expect more -- and on the flip side, I would be teaching them that if they love someone then they have to give of themselves until it hurts, have to live without boundaries of any kind. Instead of raising my kids this way, I feel it's important to teach them to respect those who love them and care for them, to not take from others so much that it damages; I feel it's important to teach them that even in love we all must maintain our boundaries, our integrity. I feel it's important that my kids, and all kids really, understand that real, healthy love does not demand destruction or diminishment of anyone involved in it, that in fact real and healthy love ultimately heals and builds up those who participate in it. I suppose that this book may have been intended as an anti-lesson, an example of how NOT to behave -- but if so, then it was not made clear that this was the case, because most people who read this book seem to take it as an ideal example of love. Certainly it's possible to not take it so seriously; but when the underlying message and philosophy is so concentrated and heavy-handed, it's hard to avoid tasting it in every passage.It reminds me of that other beloved childhood book about love, where the young boy's mother is so obsessive about cuddling him and tucking him in at night that even as he gets older and older, she follows him around, sneaks into his college dorm, sneaks into his home as an adult, takes him from his bed with his wife still sleeping and reassures him (herself?) that he'll "always be my baby". *shudder*Overall: Sweet, but to the point of being cloying, and a disturbing message. =/
    more
  • Patrick
    September 28, 2014
    I recently read this book to my little boy. It's not the first time I've read it. It's probably not even the tenth time. But it's the first time I've read the book in a decade, and given the fact that my memory is like a cheese grater, I like to think I got a pretty fresh experience. The result is this: I honestly don't know how I feel about this book. Even if you haven't read the story, you probably know the gist of it. A tree loves a young boy and gives away pieces of itself to the boy to make I recently read this book to my little boy. It's not the first time I've read it. It's probably not even the tenth time. But it's the first time I've read the book in a decade, and given the fact that my memory is like a cheese grater, I like to think I got a pretty fresh experience. The result is this: I honestly don't know how I feel about this book. Even if you haven't read the story, you probably know the gist of it. A tree loves a young boy and gives away pieces of itself to the boy to make the boy happy. On one hand, this story can be taken as an open, honest exhortation toward selfless Agape-style love. Love which asks nothing. Love which gives everything. On the other hand, this story can be read as a horrifying condemnation of dysfunctional unrequited co-dependance. After reading the book, I honestly don't know which it is. On one hand, taking this book at face value is probably a fool's game. Silverstein was a twisted sarcastic bastard. He wrote lyrics for Dr. Hook. (Most notably "Freaking at the Freaker's Ball.") And back in my misspent youth, I discovered a poem of his in one of my Dad's Playboys. It was called "The Great Pot Smoke-Off." My point is, dude was part of the counterculture. He was full of mocking and meta. And as such, it seems odd that he would write something that looks like an endorsement of Christ-like selflessness and then was that. But on the other hand, when Silverstein was having fun with you, he usually didn't pussyfoot around. One of his earliest publications was "Uncle Shelby's ABZ book." Which *looks* like a kid's book, but is clearly not: Here's a piece from the page on Potty Training: "See the pottyThe potty is deepThe potty has water in the bottom. "Maybe someone will fall into the potty and drown. "Don't worry. As long as you keep wetting your pants, you will never drown in the potty."Not a lot of ambiguity here. His tongue is pretty clearly in his cheek.But when I read through The Giving Tree, I don't see the author winking at me from behind the scenes. The story seems to be straightforward. But here's the thing, even if the story *is* straightforward, I don't know how I feel about it. Is the boy selfish in the story? Absolutely. She's a little shit. Yet he doesn't get one bit of comeuppance. We kinda want him to, but that's not what happens. The boy doesn't seem to learn a lesson. And neither does the tree. That seems to imply there is no lesson to be learned here. Let's be clear. The tree is *happy* at the end of the book. There's no ambiguity about that. It's entirely possible that the tree has acted in it's own best interest. It's entirely possible that the tree, if you'll forgive the expression, is acting according to the Lethani.Even after thinking it over for a couple days, still I don't know how I feel about it. That's a rarity for me. For that reason, I'm giving this five stars. If you write a book that leaves me asking questions. If you write a book that people can have legitimate disagreements about. If you write a book that people can still wrangle over after fifty years… that's pretty clearly a five-star book.
    more
  • Sava Hecht
    November 28, 2007
    Co-dependent tree needs to set some fucking boundaries.
  • Mer
    April 20, 2007
    Scrolling down, it seems several reviewers resent this book's apparently heavy-handed message about selfishness/selflessness. I can totally understand why they find it upsetting or sappy. Overbearing, even. But I don't agree.Some fascinating theories have been put forth about The Giving Tree. It's deceptively simple on its surface, yes. But if this were truly just some hard and fast hippie dippy morality tale, would its two main characters (living natural tree, growing human boy) and their relat Scrolling down, it seems several reviewers resent this book's apparently heavy-handed message about selfishness/selflessness. I can totally understand why they find it upsetting or sappy. Overbearing, even. But I don't agree.Some fascinating theories have been put forth about The Giving Tree. It's deceptively simple on its surface, yes. But if this were truly just some hard and fast hippie dippy morality tale, would its two main characters (living natural tree, growing human boy) and their relationship have weathered such extensive interpretation over the years?Professor Timothy Jackson from Stanford University (found on Wiki):Is this a sad tale? Well, it is sad in the same way that life is sad. We are all needy, and, if we are lucky and any good, we grow old using others and getting used up... Our finitude is not something to be regretted or despised, however; it is what makes giving (and receiving) possible. The more you blame the boy, the more you have to fault human existence. The more you blame the tree, the more you have to fault the very idea of parenting. Should the tree's giving be contingent on the boy's gratitude? If it were, if fathers and mothers waited on reciprocity before caring for their young, then we would all be doomed.An admirable assessment from a theologian... although as a wee grub, my perception was different. My own folks, secular humanist scientists who taught me a "recycle, reduce, reuse" mantra at around age four, introduced me to The Giving Tree around the same time we started reading The Lorax. (Another seminal doozy!) Perhaps due to their influence on my early development, I came away from both books with a lot of very heavy, persistent questions concerning humanity's careless attitude towards ye olde Mother Earth. Without question, we're a species that generally takes and takes from the environment, thanklessly and thoughtlessly. Sadly this seems to be a trend that will continue until both we and the earth's resources are completely exhausted. (That is, unless we can all somehow convince ourselves AND our kids to turn it around.)Ever notice that throughout the course of the tale, the little boy just "wants" things from the tree? Only at the very end of his life does he actually "need" something from her... a place to rest for a moment, to be at peace. Anyhoo. Aspects of human behavior introduced to me in this book continue to flummox and obsess me in adulthood. Rereading it now only reinforces my lifelong desire to give something back to our weary but still beautiful mother earth, who seems to have no choice but to submit to our endless taking.Silverstein fable is empathetic and open-ended. At its core, it reflects humanity's short-sighted, often lifelong inability to distinguish want from need, but it does not damn us for it.
    more
  • Benjermin
    November 26, 2007
    Yes, the boy is a selfish bastard, who doesn't deserve the love and generosity he gets time and again. Anyone who read this book as a child is well aware of this fact.Nonetheless, I'm shocked to see how many disliked it. My only thought is that many readers allow their hatred for the boy to be confused with hatred for the book. Does the book condone the boy's behavior, or simply seek to tell a narrative? Does the quality of a book suffer when the moral quality of its characters flags?It is the j Yes, the boy is a selfish bastard, who doesn't deserve the love and generosity he gets time and again. Anyone who read this book as a child is well aware of this fact.Nonetheless, I'm shocked to see how many disliked it. My only thought is that many readers allow their hatred for the boy to be confused with hatred for the book. Does the book condone the boy's behavior, or simply seek to tell a narrative? Does the quality of a book suffer when the moral quality of its characters flags?It is the job of narrative to relate a story. It is the job of a classic to relate a timeless story, to which countless readers of any age can relate. So whence the hatred? Is it because so many readers have known people who have taken and taken with such unrelenting fervor that they then displace this hatred onto a book that merely tells a story so fundamental it can't help but arouse feelings in any human who reads it?Silverstein, in my opinion, reached his peak with this book, so simple, and so pure, and more timeless than any book I can think of (at the moment).
    more
  • Skylar Burris
    December 23, 2007
    I was drawn to this book again and again as a child, and I discovered that my three-year-old daughter also wanted me to read it to her repeatedly. The book has given rise to numerous interpretations, and I myself have viewed it differently over time. Some people have a negative, visceral reaction to the book because they believe they are required to see it as a positive and uplifting tale of giving, something they cannot manage to do. These days, we are accustomed to sanitized, upbeat children's I was drawn to this book again and again as a child, and I discovered that my three-year-old daughter also wanted me to read it to her repeatedly. The book has given rise to numerous interpretations, and I myself have viewed it differently over time. Some people have a negative, visceral reaction to the book because they believe they are required to see it as a positive and uplifting tale of giving, something they cannot manage to do. These days, we are accustomed to sanitized, upbeat children's tales, but great children's literature has not always spared children the horrors of the world, and it has not always clearly stated its morals; more often, the morals are implied and are absorbed emotionally through the reading. We must not forget that Shel Silverstein was a biting satirist (consider such poems as "Almost Perfect But Not Quite.") It's just like Shel Silverstein to take the guise of a gentle little children's story to skewer the faults of humanity. Yes, "The Giving Tree" is a very disturbing book, but perhaps it's disturbing because it's _meant_ to be.Many Christians (including myself initially) have thought of this as an allegory for Christ's sacrifice. I can certainly see why people think this is a Christian allegory: the tree, like Christ, gives itself entirely for the boy, even to the point of abject humiliation. If it is a Christian allegory, however, it is the disturbing tale of Christ's terrible, painful, continuous rejection by man, and _not_ the heart-warming tale of unconditional love and forgiveness many Christians take it to be. There is no repentance in "The Giving Tree," and therefore no real forgiveness. Some take it as a tale of unconditional parental love, but if it is, it is again a painful tale: a tale of the child who never, his entire life, truly learns to appreciate his parents. Environmentalist read it as a tale of man's selfish exploitation of nature. Feminists regard it as a story of man's subjugation and abuse of woman and woman's failure to stand up for herself (the tree is a "she"). The fact that the book can speak to so many people on so many different levels is, I think, evidence of its subtlety and irony. It really can work on more than one level, if you _want_ it to. But we err, I think, if we assume this is a "sweet" and positive tale. It is sad, but this is almost cathartic, because life, too, is sad. Few readers come to this book expecting the reality and complexity and vaguely drawn morals we get from the harsh Greek myths and the stark Bible stories and the creepy old fairy tales, which were the staples of past generations. Today we expect to encounter cleaned-up, upbeat, didactic stories where everyone learns his lesson: learns how to share or to tolerate or to be nice, a simplicity that is typical of so much children's literature today. But life does not always order itself according to neat storylines in which the bad guys suddenly become good by the third act. Children's literature such as "The Giving Tree" plays a valuable role by helping children (and even the parents who read it to their children) to wrestle with the ugly, beautiful, and complex truths of the world. It helps children to begin processing, very early on, the powerful and often disturbing visceral emotions these truths awake. ---Additional thought: Whenever we are doing a book purge at our house, my daughter tries to give this away, despite repeatedly asking me to read it to her when she was young. I insist on keeping it because the particular copy I have was given to me and signed inside by a childhood friend and because I love the book. When I asked her why she is always trying to give it away, she said, “Because I don’t like it.” She devours Shel Silverstein, and this is the only book to which she would give less than five stars (she gave it one). When I asked her why she doesn’t like it, she said, “Because the boy is so mean and it’s so sad.” And yet there was that part of her, in her younger years, that was fascinated with the sad reality it depicted, curious, and wanted to hear it again and again.
    more
  • Mischenko
    February 23, 2017
    Please visit our blog at www.twogalsandabook.com to see this and other reviews! The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein is a must read for children. It's a story that can bring tears to your eyes. Children can learn about the importance of caring, giving, and how we should treat others. This essential and childhood favorite still remains a part of our home library. 5*****
    more
  • TK421
    May 26, 2011
    So it is Christmas time, and my wife likes to have all of us—my wife and I, and our three years old twins—do a different event each night during Advent as a family. I like this practice; it is little things like this that keep our family strong. Tonight’s event was reading Christmas themed books.We decided to read THE GIVING TREE as well as three other Christmas books. Had I foreseen what was about to transpire I would have omitted THE GIVING TREE from my selection.Allow me to replay said event: So it is Christmas time, and my wife likes to have all of us—my wife and I, and our three years old twins—do a different event each night during Advent as a family. I like this practice; it is little things like this that keep our family strong. Tonight’s event was reading Christmas themed books.We decided to read THE GIVING TREE as well as three other Christmas books. Had I foreseen what was about to transpire I would have omitted THE GIVING TREE from my selection.Allow me to replay said event:The setting: Mommy and Daddy's bed.After a torturous time of getting my kids to brush their teeth, put on their pajamas, and convinced that they should only bring two stuffed animals apiece to bed, I began to read the books. The first book went well. The kids laughed. My wife and I smiled. The second book was just as good as the first book. More laughter. More smiles. Then it was time for THE GIVING TREE. Now I’ve read all of Shel Silverstein’s books. I find them quite enjoyable and zany and creative. THE GIVING TREE was no different. Or so I thought. You see, I never really paid much attention to the story. Well that’s not entirely true. I have always liked the message about giving when others are constantly taking. And Christmas time is a perfect time to share this message. But my son, Noah, interpreted the book differently. As I read the book I focused on how the little boy grows into a man and loses his innocence of giving, taking on a more selfish attitude. My son saw the boy growing older. When the tree gave everything but its stump to the boy as a man, I saw this as a generous message of charity. Noah saw it as the man killing the tree. But that’s not all.An excerpt of the night:Me: The End. That was a good story.Noah: I didn’t like it.Me: Why? The tree was very generous, and the man realized that he had only taken and never given back.Noah: (Staring blankly at me as if I had just finished reading him my bank statement.)Me: What didn’t you like about the story?Noah: The boy grows old and kills the tree and is now going to die.Me: (Inwardly: SSSSSHHHHHHHHIIIIIIIIIIITTTTTTTTTTTTT!!!!!!!!!! The death subject.)Me: No, honey. The tree gave its branches and trunk to the man—Noah: The boy killed the tree. And now the boy is old and is going to die.Me: No, buddy. The tree just changed. And the little boy lived a long life—Noah: And now he is going to die.Me: (FFFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUCCCCCCCCCKKKKKKKKKKKK!!!!!!!!!! Inwardly, of course.) So having no other way to combat my son’s determination to prove that the tree was murdered and that the little boy was now an old man and was going to die soon, I did what every father should do in this matter.Me: Ask Mommy what she thinks, buddy.
    more
  • Ahmad Sharabiani
    August 23, 2012
    The Giving Tree, Shel Silverstein عنوان: درخت بخشنده؛ نویسنده: شل سیلورستاین؛ مترجم: سیما مجیدزاده؛ مشهد، گل آفتاب، 1383 در 55 ص؛ شابک: 9645599326؛ چاپ هفتم 1388؛ چاپ دهم 1392، شابک: 9789645599322؛ موضوع: داستانهای خیال انگیز از نویسندگان امریکایی - قرن 20 ممترجم: هایده کروبی؛ تهران، انتشارات فنی ایران، 1385 ، در 36 ص؛ شابک: 9643891739؛ مترجم: مونا ماشی؛ تهران، ماشی، 1387 ، در یک جلد؛ شابک: 9786009060184؛ مترجم: کمال برزگر بفرویی؛ قم، فراکاما، 1390 ، در 52 ص؛ شابک:9786009241309؛ مترجم: امیرحسین The Giving Tree, Shel Silverstein عنوان: درخت بخشنده؛ نویسنده: شل سیلورستاین؛ مترجم: سیما مجیدزاده؛ مشهد، گل آفتاب، 1383 در 55 ص؛ شابک: 9645599326؛ چاپ هفتم 1388؛ چاپ دهم 1392، شابک: 9789645599322؛ موضوع: داستانهای خیال انگیز از نویسندگان امریکایی - قرن 20 ممترجم: هایده کروبی؛ تهران، انتشارات فنی ایران، 1385 ، در 36 ص؛ شابک: 9643891739؛ مترجم: مونا ماشی؛ تهران، ماشی، 1387 ، در یک جلد؛ شابک: 9786009060184؛ مترجم: کمال برزگر بفرویی؛ قم، فراکاما، 1390 ، در 52 ص؛ شابک:9786009241309؛ مترجم: امیرحسین مهدی زاده؛ تهران، نشر نو، آسیم، 1392 ، در 58 ص؛ شابک:9789647443784؛ مترجم: کمال مرادی؛ تهران، پلک، 1392 ، در 104 ص؛ شابک:9789642862290؛ مترجم: صفورا نراقی؛ تهران، البرز فر دانش، 1393 ، در 44 ص؛ شابک:9786002022622؛ مترجم: هرمز ریاحی؛ تهران، انتشارات خروس، 1391 ، در 58 ص؛ شابک:9786009453924؛ سیلور استاین شهرت خویش را به عنوان نویسنده ی ادبیات کودکان؛ مدیون همین کتاب است. داستانی درباره: یکی که میبخشد و دیگری که میستاند. داستان در مورد درختی ست که: سایه، میوه، شاخه و حتی کنده اش باعث شادی پسرکی میشود داستان درخت بخشنده و مهربانروزی روزگاری درختی بود ….؛ و پسر کوچولویی را دوست میداشت. پسرک هر روز میآمد برگهایش را جمع میکرد. از آنها تاج میساخت و شاه جنگل میشد. از تنه اش بالا میرفت. از شاخه هایش آویزان میشد و تاب میخورد و سیب میخورد. با هم قایم باشک بازی میکردند. پسرک هر وقت خسته میشد زیر سایه اش میخوابید. او درخت را خیلی دوست میداشت. خیلی زیاد. و در خت خوشحال بود. اما زمان میگذشت. پسرک بزرگ میشد. و درخت اغلب تنها بود. تا یک روز پسرک نزد درخت آمد. درخت گفت: «بیا پسر، ازتنه ام بالا بیا و با شاخه هایم تاب بخور، سیب بخور و در سایه ام بازی کن و خوشحال باش.»؛ پسرک گفت: «من دیگر بزرگ شده ام، بالا رفتن و بازی کردن کار من نیست. میخواهم چیزی بخرم و سرگرمی داشته باشم. من به پول احتیاج دارم. میتوانی کمی پول به من بدهی؟». درخت گفت: «متاسفم، من پولی ندارم». من تنها برگ و سیب دارم. سیبهایم را به شهر ببر بفروش. آن وقت پول خواهی داشت و خوشحال خواهی شد. پسرک از درخت بالا رفت. سیبها را چید و برداشت و رفت. درخت خوشحال شد. اما پسرک دیگر تا مدتها بازنگشت …؛ و درخت غمگین بود. تا یک روز پسرک برگشت. درخت از شادی تکان خورد. و گفت: «بیا پسر، از تنه ام بالا بیا با شاخه هایم تاب بخور و خوشحال باش». پسرک گفت: «آن قدر گرفتارم که فرصت بالا رفتن از درخت را ندارم، زن و بچه میخواهم و به خانه احتیاج دارم. میتوانی به من خانه بدهی؟»؛ درخت گفت: «من خانه ای ندارم. خانه ی من جنگل است. ولی تو میتوانی شاخه هایم را ببری. و برای خود خانه ای بسازی و خوشحال باشی». آن وقت پسرک شاخه هایش را برید و برد تا برای خود خانه ای بسازد. و درخت خوشحال بود. اما پسرک دیگر تا مدتها بازنگشت. و وقتی برگشت، درخت چنان خوشحال شد که زبانش بند آمد. با این حال به زحمت زمزمه کنان گفت: «بیا پسر، بیا و بازی کن». پسرک گفت: «دیگر آن قدر پیر و افسرده شده ام که نمیتوانم بازی کنم. قایقی میخوانم که مرا از اینجا ببرد به جایی دور میتوانی به من قایق بدهی؟». درخت گفت: «تنه ام را قطع کن و برای خود قایقی بساز. آن وقت میتوانی با قایقت از اینجا دور شوی. و خوشحال باشی». پسر تنه درخت را قطع کرد. قایقی ساخت و سوار بر آن از آنجا دور شد. و درخت خوشحال بود. پس از زمانی دراز پسرک بار دیگر بازگشت، خسته، تنها و غمگین. درخت پرسید: «چرا غمگینی؟ ای کاش میتوانستم کمکت کنم. اما دیگر نه سیب دارم، نه شاخه، حتی سایه هم ندارم برای پناه دادن به تو». پسر گفت: «خسته ام از این زندگی، بسیار خسته و تنهام. و فقط نیازمند با تو بودن هستم، آیا میتوانم کنارت بنشینم؟». درخت خوشحال شد و پسرک پیر کنار درخت نشست و در کنار هم زندگی کردند. و سالیان سال در غم و شادی ادامه زندگی دادند …؛ دوستان خوبم، آیا شرح داستان، چیزی به یاد ما نمیآورد؟ اکثر ما شبیه پسرک داستان هستیم و با والدین خود چنین رفتاری داریم. درخت همان والدین ماست، تا وقتی کوچکیم دوست داریم با آنها بازی کنیم. تنهایشان میگذاریم و دوباره زمانی به سویشان برمیگردیم که نیازمند هستیم و گرفتار، برای والدین خود وقت نمیگذاریم، آیا تا به حال به این فکر کرده ایم که پدر و مادر برای ما همه چیز را فراهم میکنند تا ما را شاد نگه دارند و با مهربانی چاره ای برای رفع مشکل ما پیدا میکنند و تنها چیزی که در عوض از ما میخواهند این است که تنهایشان نگذاریم. به والدین خود عشق بورزیم، فراموششان نکنیم. برایشان زمان اختصاص دهیم. همراهیشان کنیم. شادی آنها در دیدن ماست. هر انسانی میتواند هر زمان و به هر تعداد فرزند داشته باشد. ولی پدر و مادر تنها یک بار ….؛ ا. شربیانی
    more
  • Brian Yahn
    August 6, 2013
    The Giving Tree will rip your heart out in 621 words.We all know and love Shel Silverstein for his whimsical poems, but The Giving Tree is both one of the saddest and most hopeful stories ever told. Pure and utter genius, this one is.
  • Nilesh Kashyap
    March 11, 2012
    I try to steal books written for children, since I am no giving tree and I am not paying for what my child reads. But this book, each time I read this (at the bookshop itself), I thrust it back to the place from where I took it, angrily, if I may add. This book does not deserve to be stolen. What makes me angry:Each time I read this story, all I want to do is to insert my hand in bookcover, catch that falling fruit and saw the tree and take it home and make bat for my child a foot that my bed is I try to steal books written for children, since I am no giving tree and I am not paying for what my child reads. But this book, each time I read this (at the bookshop itself), I thrust it back to the place from where I took it, angrily, if I may add. This book does not deserve to be stolen. What makes me angry:Each time I read this story, all I want to do is to insert my hand in bookcover, catch that falling fruit and saw the tree and take it home and make bat for my child a foot that my bed is missing (currently balanced on bricks) and add an extra plank to my bed so that I can lay with my legs spread a little more. After being fully relaxed, then, yes then, I would eat that tasty fruit and thus making sure that miniature, cute-looking, never-happy piece-of-shit gets nothing.But seriously speaking (this does not mean, I was not serious before), the tree which reduced itself to a stump, repeatedly asked the boy to sit under her shade and play with her. But all that mattered to that boy were his needs, indeed the tree fulfilled all his needs by giving all she had and not once that boy was thankful to her.I don’t think this story signifies parent and child relationship. This boy, all he shared was his problems but what about those moments when he enjoyed his life. In reality, obviously we tell our problems to our parents, and they do eventually help us get rid of it. But it is also those moments of happiness that we share with them.Happiness gets double when shared (with the right person). Parents do grow along with the child unlike the tree which diminished itself to make child happy, but never ever saw him happy and smiling.This story is often read by parents to their child but what if it makes them feel miserable and guilty, thinking that their parents are like the ‘giving tree’ and they don’t give anything in return. How can anyone read this book to a child?I told the story to my mother and asked about her thoughts - First of all she recites a verse in Sanskrit and translates to me as:A tree never eats its own fruit and a river never drinks its own water. Further she explains it that they (tree, river and in general nature) exist not for themselves but for others.I think to myself that it is also we people (certainly not everyone), who are there to protect and conserve them as our token of mutual love. As I am writing this review a song plays faintly in my mind:Sweet dreams are made of these Who am I to disagree? Travel the world and the seven seas Everybody's looking for something Some of them want to use you Some of them want to get used by you Some of them want to abuse you Some of them want to be abused Sweet dreams are made of these Who am I to disagree? I am utterly confused what this story is about and what message Mr. Silverstein was trying to convey....but what i know for sure is that Marilyn Manson Rocks!
    more
  • Morgan
    April 6, 2009
    Horrific relationship between a selfish unappreciative child and an enabling self-sacrificing mother who has no purpose in life other than to give herself away. I keep expecting a missing page to show up where he pisses all over the tree stump at the end.I think this is offensive and despicable.It is a horrible lesson for children. I'd rather see more literature that honors and respects the sacrifices that parents make, rather than this book's actual focus: demonstrating the expectations that th Horrific relationship between a selfish unappreciative child and an enabling self-sacrificing mother who has no purpose in life other than to give herself away. I keep expecting a missing page to show up where he pisses all over the tree stump at the end.I think this is offensive and despicable.It is a horrible lesson for children. I'd rather see more literature that honors and respects the sacrifices that parents make, rather than this book's actual focus: demonstrating the expectations that this black hole of a child has.I feel that sacrifice, without a concept of self, gives less weight to the sacrifice.This could be rewritten with a hungry boy eagerly gnawing on the scraps that his mother is cutting off from her body.
    more
  • Merrin
    August 29, 2007
    Reading the other reviews on this book, I'm really surprised that there's such a level of hatred for this book. But then I thought everyone else in the world loved my fourth grade teacher too. We have to grow up sometime. I can't imagine not loving this book. I can imagine berating the attitude of the boy, of the tree, but I can't imagine not coming away from this book with a deeper understanding of human nature, of reciprocity, of a parent's love for a child and the nature of servanthood. Maybe Reading the other reviews on this book, I'm really surprised that there's such a level of hatred for this book. But then I thought everyone else in the world loved my fourth grade teacher too. We have to grow up sometime. I can't imagine not loving this book. I can imagine berating the attitude of the boy, of the tree, but I can't imagine not coming away from this book with a deeper understanding of human nature, of reciprocity, of a parent's love for a child and the nature of servanthood. Maybe too it's that I'm a Christian and can see a parallel between God and mankind. Maybe it's that I'm a daughter and can see the parallel between parent and child. Maybe it's that I'm environmentally aware and can see a parallel between the earth and humanity. There are so many layers to this book, so many different things to take from it. I've read other people say that the tree is wimpy, weak willed, allowing the boy to take everything he has without a word of protest. Can't you see that's the point? How much strength does it take to perfectly submit to someone else? To give everything of yourself to make them happy, to give them what they need. Would you fault your parents for not taking that Hawaiian cruise they wanted because you needed braces instead? I can see myself in the boy, can see the ways that I've taken from God, my parents, the earth, without a word of thanks, even a thought for what they have to give up for me. Does it make me angry? Sometimes. Does it make me sad? A lot of the time. Does it make me hate this book for pointing out the ways in which I fall short? Nope. I'm a big girl, I can take it.
    more
  • Afshar
    October 15, 2016
    من دلم می خواست می توانستم به تو چیزی بدهماما چیزی برایم باقی نمانده. من فقط یک کنده پیر...و کهنسالم. متاسفمممنون عموشلبی عزیزکه به یادم آوردی «مادر» چه وجود مقدسی استکه عظمت عشقش فراتر از درک ماستپسرک بزرگ شد و مرد شد و بعد پیرمرد، ولی هیچوقت از درخت سپاسگزاری نکردو با خودم فک می کنم که چقدر شبیه اش اویم؟
    more
  • Michael Finocchiaro
    July 18, 2016
    Shel Silverstein is truly one of the greatest American poets for kids. The Giving Tree is a wonderful story about friendship and ageing. No spoilers, but don't let your kids miss out on this absolutely gorgeous story!
  • Carol
    February 9, 2010
    My 5-year-old daughter had this read to her in preschool and burst into uncontrollable sobs at the end. "It's not fair! The tree is DEAD and the little boy was so mean to it!"Exactly, honey. This book reeks of the patriarchy. Keep it away from your kids--especially your daughters.
    more
  • Jeremy
    June 7, 2007
    The book is impossible to wrap my mind around. Part of me wishes it ended thusly: the tree suggests the boy chop her down to make a boat, he takes her advice, and the tree falls on him, killing them both. The moral being a quote I've heard attributed to Bill Cosby: If you spend your whole life trying to make other people happy, YOU'LL never be happy. The boy is punished for all but raping the one who cares more for him than anyone in the world, and the tree pays the ultimate price for a lifetime The book is impossible to wrap my mind around. Part of me wishes it ended thusly: the tree suggests the boy chop her down to make a boat, he takes her advice, and the tree falls on him, killing them both. The moral being a quote I've heard attributed to Bill Cosby: If you spend your whole life trying to make other people happy, YOU'LL never be happy. The boy is punished for all but raping the one who cares more for him than anyone in the world, and the tree pays the ultimate price for a lifetime of allowing herself to be a doormat, or, alternately, finally gets her revenge. Who knows what Silverstein was trying to get across with this alternately touching and troubling parable? An ex-girlfriend of mine gave this book to me as a present early in the relationship. What was SHE trying to get across? I can't give anything as tangibly mind-boggling as "The Giving Tree" an entirely negative review, and as always the art is cute and affecting. And who can say, maybe the guy just wanted to tell a little story about a nice tree? Foremost among Silverstein's many gifts (apart from the more obvious talents of humor and rhyming) were pathos and irreverence. In the case of "The Giving Tree", for this reader anyway, it's very difficult to determine which of those traits is rearing its head here. Bottom line: It's not a good present for your significant other.
    more
  • Kenny
    October 22, 2008
    “Once there was a tree, and she loved a little boy.” Shel Silverstein, The Giving Tree I recently reread Shel Silverstein's The Giving Tree. It was the first time in many years I have read it. I love this book; I always have, but reading it as an adult, over 30, was so different this time around. The warm fuzzies of past reads were missing. Now, it made me feel sad, and empty. This time around, I saw it not as a parable of generosity and love, but instead I saw it as a story of selfishness, gr “Once there was a tree, and she loved a little boy.” Shel Silverstein, The Giving Tree I recently reread Shel Silverstein's The Giving Tree. It was the first time in many years I have read it. I love this book; I always have, but reading it as an adult, over 30, was so different this time around. The warm fuzzies of past reads were missing. Now, it made me feel sad, and empty. This time around, I saw it not as a parable of generosity and love, but instead I saw it as a story of selfishness, greed and destruction. Perhaps I was influenced this time by events of my past, or by the events of mr trump's follies. Or, perhaps, I've become jaded by age ...The funny thing is, I still love The Giving Tree . It was powerful the first time around, and even more so this time. What can you say about a book that had a profound impact on you in your youth and again, years later but in a totally different way. The tree is selfless (me as an adult) and the boy becomes selfish (me in my youth) ~~ and let's not talk about the thing's I've (the boy) done for love. Yup, I can relate.
    more
  • Wendy Darling
    May 3, 2011
    "I am sorry," sighed the tree. I wish that I could give you something...but I have nothing left. I am just an old stump. I am sorry....""I don't need very much now," said the boy,"Just a quiet place to sit and rest. I am very tired.""Well," said the tree, straightening herself up as much as she could,"Well, an old stump is good for sitting and resting. Come, Boy, sit down. Sit down and rest."And the boy did.And the tree was happy.
    more
  • David
    March 14, 2009
    Sorry, Mr Silverstein. This kind of tripe is inexcusable. And exposing children to it? I'm no child psychologist, but what would be the point? I'd hazard a guess that Bernie Madoff read this book, and look how he turned out. In fact there's a whole generation of bwankers who took it as their bible. Thanks a bunch, Shelly boy.My real reaction to this piece of morally ambiguous reprehensible mawkishness is best expressed by the kind of interpretative dance that was Molly Shannon's forte (one sylla Sorry, Mr Silverstein. This kind of tripe is inexcusable. And exposing children to it? I'm no child psychologist, but what would be the point? I'd hazard a guess that Bernie Madoff read this book, and look how he turned out. In fact there's a whole generation of bwankers who took it as their bible. Thanks a bunch, Shelly boy.My real reaction to this piece of morally ambiguous reprehensible mawkishness is best expressed by the kind of interpretative dance that was Molly Shannon's forte (one syllable only, for crying out loud, people - PLEASE) on Saturday Night Live. But since this isn't a realistic goodreads option, I cede the reviewing platform to animated film genius, Amy Winfrey: The Muffin Tree Damned if I'm giving this book any stars at all.
    more
  • Kiki
    July 21, 2011
    I'm baffled by The Giving Tree. Completely baffled.When people talk about it, they never tell you just how twisted it really is. There's this vague whiff of patriarchy surrounding it, as well as the running theme of "parents aren't really people. Use them whenever you feel like it. They haven't got anything better to do than serve your whims and desires anyway".I get it, I do. When you have small children, they depend on you for pretty much everything, and you have to give, give, give. But if th I'm baffled by The Giving Tree. Completely baffled.When people talk about it, they never tell you just how twisted it really is. There's this vague whiff of patriarchy surrounding it, as well as the running theme of "parents aren't really people. Use them whenever you feel like it. They haven't got anything better to do than serve your whims and desires anyway".I get it, I do. When you have small children, they depend on you for pretty much everything, and you have to give, give, give. But if they're still taking advantage of you and asking you for the most random spontaneous shit like "I need a boat. I feel like sailing" when they have their own family, then there's something not quite right here. In fact, there's something very wrong with disappearing and leaving your parents broken and sad, then returning briefly to demand things from them. What a horrible, selfish dynamic. It kind of reminds me of my mother. My brother, who is a lot older than me, has exactly the same attitude toward her as the boy in the story, and I've seen how that has completely and utterly destroyed her. I read this story online and the comment at the end, written by the poster, stated that "this is how we all treat our parents". No. Sorry, no. I have never and will never treat my mother in this way. It's horrible and cruel and incredibly selfish. What a terrible lesson to teach children! That you should use and degrade those who love you and have provided for you! The story would have been at least bearable had the boy, in the end, planted some of the tree's seeds or something, and given something back, but no. He just takes and takes and takes. Look at Love You Forever - the mom comforts and loves the boy/man throughout his entire life, and she's always giving, but in the end, when she's dying, he switches their roles and takes it upon himself to look after her in her hour of need. Look, I'm not going to go into Love You Forever, because I've already written a review for it. But really, look at the message it sends compared to The Giving Tree. At least with the former I wasn't half-expecting the boy to, in the end, pee all over the mother as a last insult.Honestly, I could go on and on and on about this for hours, but I have better things to do. I think I've ruined enough Goodreads friendships as it is. For all those of you who love this book, I respect you. It's lovely to have these special childhood relics, like kid's books and songs. Hell, who doesn't love Raffi? What I'm saying is that I'm trashing this book, not those who love it. If you do, more power to you. I'm glad. I'm sure that if I read this book when I was a child, I'd probably be on the other side of the fence. Ergo, I am too old to be reading this book.How sad.
    more
  • Laura
    July 13, 2007
    Easily the most vile children's book ever written, for reasons eloquently stated by about a zillion other posters here. I remember my grandmother, whom I disliked (yeah, some kids don't like their grandparents, it's true) used to push this book on me as terribly DEEP and BEAUTIFUL and something I should really THINK ABOUT. And you wonder why I didn't like my grandmother? (My mother thought it was a piece of shit, too.) Anyway, it's a vomitous book, always has been, and I'm glad there are other p Easily the most vile children's book ever written, for reasons eloquently stated by about a zillion other posters here. I remember my grandmother, whom I disliked (yeah, some kids don't like their grandparents, it's true) used to push this book on me as terribly DEEP and BEAUTIFUL and something I should really THINK ABOUT. And you wonder why I didn't like my grandmother? (My mother thought it was a piece of shit, too.) Anyway, it's a vomitous book, always has been, and I'm glad there are other people who think that it is. When I was a kid, it was held up as the ne plus ultra of depth and beauty in children's literature. God help us if that's true, but luckily it isn't. If you want a proper story about self-sacrifice that won't make you want to go out and take a poleax to every tree within a five-mile radius, try THE FIRE CAT.
    more
  • Tadiana ✩Night Owl☽
    March 8, 2013
    Here's the book I really want to read:
  • Jon
    December 31, 2007
    My wife and I had a debate about this book:VONNIE: I’m not sure at what age a person discovers the joy of giving. Maybe, for me, it was that first Christmas when I had saved up enough of my allowance to actually buy something for my parents. I remember the anticipation of watching them unwrap the gift and then the big smiles that spread across their faces as they said “Vonnie, you shouldn’t have.” I think The Giving Tree is really a story about parenthood, and the lengths to which moms and dads My wife and I had a debate about this book:VONNIE: I’m not sure at what age a person discovers the joy of giving. Maybe, for me, it was that first Christmas when I had saved up enough of my allowance to actually buy something for my parents. I remember the anticipation of watching them unwrap the gift and then the big smiles that spread across their faces as they said “Vonnie, you shouldn’t have.” I think The Giving Tree is really a story about parenthood, and the lengths to which moms and dads will go for their children. Parents give endlessly. And it’s not until the children grow up and have children of their own that they can fully understand this level of love.JON: The Giving Tree is the quintessential tale of a dysfunctional relationship -- and one that’s couched, not un-purposefully, in gender stereotypes. The female tree is an enabler, constantly allowing the masculine boy to walk all over her. At first everything is beautiful -- they play together and enjoy each other’s company. But soon the male wants more. He needs money, he takes other lovers. Then, when he hits hard times, he comes back to dear old tree. “Take my branches,” she says, and he hacks off her limbs and the cycle begins anew. The story ends with a wizened old man returning to the once-beautiful tree he has desecrated through his boundless avarice. And then, most shocking of all, the pathetic stump that remains welcomes him back! A sad exploration of a relationship in which one gives and gives and gives, and all the other does is take.VONNIE REPLIES: Jon’s wrong. This is about selfless love. Deep down in my heart I know that I’d give everything to Jon. Even if it meant giving up my favorite clothes, my savings, my ability to dance and sing. Just so that Jon would be happy. Because in the end, his happiness is the root of mine.JON REPLIES: Now I’m ashamed of what I wrote before.
    more
  • K.D. Absolutely
    November 10, 2011
    Not sure what's the fuss about my friends either really liking or really hating this book. I find this just good. Good message. Good illustration. Good easy read. Nothing spectacular to go crazy about. Nothing sad to really cry a bucket of tears.The Giving Tree is a poignant story of friendship between the selfless apple tree and a boy. They used to enjoy each others' company when the boy was still little but when he grew up, his priorities changed and he had other needs. The tree tried to help Not sure what's the fuss about my friends either really liking or really hating this book. I find this just good. Good message. Good illustration. Good easy read. Nothing spectacular to go crazy about. Nothing sad to really cry a bucket of tears.The Giving Tree is a poignant story of friendship between the selfless apple tree and a boy. They used to enjoy each others' company when the boy was still little but when he grew up, his priorities changed and he had other needs. The tree tried to help the boy until she (the tree) did not have anything to give as she was reduced to a stump. At the time, the boy was already an old man and so, upon the invitation of the tree, he restfully sat down and the tree was again happy.I liked the story because, on the surface, it is about environmental protection. Trees give us life (oxygen, fruits, shelter and shade to protect us from sunlight). Trees hold water on the soil preventing soil erosion and floods. However, men have been cutting trees and destroying forests. Time will come that we will all be old and has nothing to rest on except decaying dead stumps.Digging deeper, this could be about the unconditional love that parents (tree) give to their children. Did either the tree or the old man (used to be the boy) regret about what happened in the end? No. Why? Because that's how life goes. Parents provide for their kids and do everything to make them happy and to help them fulfill their dreams. The boy went to the tree to ask for help on several occasions. The tree helped by giving her fruit, her leaves and branches, her trunk even if she was reduced to a stump in the end. She was still alive and she invited the old man (the boy) to sit on her and it made her and presumably him, happy. So, its a happy ending! Why did some of my friends cry reading this book? For all you know new sprouts will grow from the trunk and the tree will outlive the man and their will be another boy and another story and the book will have a second part. It's just that Shel Silverstein is already dead and he could not write a sequel for this book. I think readers interpret this too much when the whole point is that Silverstein just wanted this to be a children's book depicting the reality of life: that parents sacrifice themselves for their kids and that's because parents love their kids unconditionally and that's how normally life goes.
    more
  • Meredith
    June 9, 2007
    I have always loved this book, so I was surprised at how many reviewers hated it. As a child I wondered how the tree could give so much. Now that I am older, I know that parents/caregivers do give that much to their children/charges (if metaphorically). So are all parents saps? Certainly they do not literally give house and home, but the sacrifices we make for the ones we love have no quantifiable limit. This book isn't supposed to teach children the value of sharing so much as it shows that som I have always loved this book, so I was surprised at how many reviewers hated it. As a child I wondered how the tree could give so much. Now that I am older, I know that parents/caregivers do give that much to their children/charges (if metaphorically). So are all parents saps? Certainly they do not literally give house and home, but the sacrifices we make for the ones we love have no quantifiable limit. This book isn't supposed to teach children the value of sharing so much as it shows that sometimes love and sacrifice go hand in hand. I think it demonstrated beautifully the differences in age and understanding inherent in parent/child relationships. Is the tree a martyr? Maybe. I guess I'd have to read it again. But I think a book able to spark such heated emotion is definitely a book worth reading. It gains a permanent place on my bookshelf.
    more
  • Jan Bednarczuk
    September 1, 2007
    I can't stand this book. Someone gave it to my children as a gift, and I'm very close to hiding it or giving it away so that I don't have to read it to them at bedtime anymore. The selfish, uncaring boy who takes and takes and takes from the tree until the tree literally has nothing more to give, just makes me want to reach through the pages and throttle him. What's the message here? Is it "When someone loves you, it's okay to just take advantage of them endlessly because they will always be the I can't stand this book. Someone gave it to my children as a gift, and I'm very close to hiding it or giving it away so that I don't have to read it to them at bedtime anymore. The selfish, uncaring boy who takes and takes and takes from the tree until the tree literally has nothing more to give, just makes me want to reach through the pages and throttle him. What's the message here? Is it "When someone loves you, it's okay to just take advantage of them endlessly because they will always be there for you anyway"? Or perhaps "If you love someone, just give them everything you have and expect nothing in return, ever."I always want to cry for the lonely stump of a tree at the end. She was a good tree. She deserved more than the ungrateful brat who took away all of her apples and branches and trunk.
    more
  • Duchess Nicole
    May 8, 2013
    Good grief! These kids books are slaying me. This was another recommendation from a fellow Goodreads friend, and of course, one that my girls and I loved. I read until I started crying and then made my ten year old finish. It's a story that really parallels how a parent feels about their kids...how we sacrifice everything we have, everything we are just to see a smile on our kids' faces. There is nothing you won't do for your babies. And while that sentiment might go right over the kids' heads, Good grief! These kids books are slaying me. This was another recommendation from a fellow Goodreads friend, and of course, one that my girls and I loved. I read until I started crying and then made my ten year old finish. It's a story that really parallels how a parent feels about their kids...how we sacrifice everything we have, everything we are just to see a smile on our kids' faces. There is nothing you won't do for your babies. And while that sentiment might go right over the kids' heads, they'll understand it one day, when they have kids of their own.
    more
  • UniquelyMoi ~ BlithelyBookish
    September 26, 2008
    Simply one of the best books ever written. It's a story about growing up, life, love, and pulling your head out of your butt long enough to appreciate and respect what you already have, before it's too late. Though I might revise this review when I'm feeling less cynical, it truly is one of the greatest books of all time, and should be required reading for, or read to, all kindergarten bound children, then again when heading to high school and yet again before marriage. It's a story about selfle Simply one of the best books ever written. It's a story about growing up, life, love, and pulling your head out of your butt long enough to appreciate and respect what you already have, before it's too late. Though I might revise this review when I'm feeling less cynical, it truly is one of the greatest books of all time, and should be required reading for, or read to, all kindergarten bound children, then again when heading to high school and yet again before marriage. It's a story about selfless, unconditional love, the kind of love that lasts a lifetime, and stays with you forever.The truth is, it's written for kids, but I know many adults who would do well to learn, and follow, the lesson taught in this story.
    more
Write a review