Captain Underpants and the Big, Bad Battle of the Bionic Booger Boy, Part 1 (Captain Underpants, #6)
The sixth "epic novel" in Dav Pilkey's hugely popular series explains the awful truth about Captain Underpants (he is really the school principal), details "the night of the nasty nostril nuggets," offers up "the unnecessarily disgusting chapter," and even explains how "you can't have your cape and Edith, too." George and Harold are "C" students (and bad spellers), but they are very good at "saving the entire planet from the nasty forces of unrelenting evil" and also at ketchup-toilet pranks. Unfortunately, they can't save Melvin Sneedly from getting paddled by his bionic hamster. But, frankly, they wouldn't want to, because besides being the school brainiac, Melvin is also a tattletale. When his robot-making hobby backfires horribly, Melvin transforms himself into the Bionic Booger Boy instead of a bionic superboy. Can Captain Underpants save everyone from this "greenish, glistening behemoth?"

Captain Underpants and the Big, Bad Battle of the Bionic Booger Boy, Part 1 (Captain Underpants, #6) Details

TitleCaptain Underpants and the Big, Bad Battle of the Bionic Booger Boy, Part 1 (Captain Underpants, #6)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 1st, 2003
PublisherScholastic Paperbacks
ISBN0439376106
ISBN-139780439376105
Number of pages176 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Humor, Childrens

Readers also enjoyed


Captain Underpants and the Big, Bad Battle of the Bionic Booger Boy, Part 1 (Captain Underpants, #6) Review

  • Ben
    December 26, 2015
    I wish this was real!
  • Michele Lee
    June 14, 2011
    We bought this book. The last Pilkey book we read was the disgustingly over-the-top Super Diaper Baby. Now back to the core series we found the gross out factor is destined to remain high. In this book Harold and George, our heroes, teach their classmates a prank called "Squishies" which will have parents checking the toilet before sitting down for weeks. Their classmate Melvin Sneedly tries to show off an invention that combines two things (like a bionic robot and a hamster). Despite being sma We bought this book. The last Pilkey book we read was the disgustingly over-the-top Super Diaper Baby. Now back to the core series we found the gross out factor is destined to remain high. In this book Harold and George, our heroes, teach their classmates a prank called "Squishies" which will have parents checking the toilet before sitting down for weeks. Their classmate Melvin Sneedly tries to show off an invention that combines two things (like a bionic robot and a hamster). Despite being smart Melvin is not a good kid and he reacts badly to his classmates being less interested in watching him yell at his hamster than trying out a prank. Probably not the best of moves, Harold and George turn Melvin into a spoiled brat monster in one of their comics which pushes Melvin to show everyone how much cooler he is than George and Harold by turning himself into a bionic robot. Too bad Melvin has allergies and sneezes right before the combining. Surprisingly Melvin, unlike the rest of Harold and George's victims, doesn't turn evil until he's assaulted by a tissue man on a school field trip. Then George, Harold and Captain Underpants have to defeat their grossest bad guy yet, and all during cold and flu season. Despite what parents think, kids adore this series. It has the right combination of gross, funny and meat to it. And it does redeem itself by showing that you don't have to get straight As or always be right to be the good guy. It also pokes fun at itself and combines a subtle use of language with the subject matter which helps push middle grade reader boundaries. I'd be surprised if libraries don't already have this series, but parents looking for books to encourage their kids to read for pleasure outside of school should definitely try this series. It's funny, gross, sometimes a little bit scary, but all in a safe way. Contains: Gross jokes and illustrations Recommended for: 9-12 yrs
    more
  • Erin
    July 5, 2010
    I was pleasantly surprised. Judging by the covers of these books, I wrote them off as overly juvenile, badly written, stupid wastes of time with irritating titles. Instead, I found a surprisingly smart story that reminded me a little of Calvin and Hobbes and a little of Dennis the Mennis, with a lot of gross humor. As far as I'm concerned, I won't rush out and read every one, but I also wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to the right reader.This particular 'episode' of Captain Underpants had su I was pleasantly surprised. Judging by the covers of these books, I wrote them off as overly juvenile, badly written, stupid wastes of time with irritating titles. Instead, I found a surprisingly smart story that reminded me a little of Calvin and Hobbes and a little of Dennis the Mennis, with a lot of gross humor. As far as I'm concerned, I won't rush out and read every one, but I also wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to the right reader.This particular 'episode' of Captain Underpants had such choice elements as the "Wedgie Wiggle" and the "Big-Butt Boogie" dance steps. So I would definitely go with a reader who has a big, silly sense of humor. I can see how wonderful these books might be in order to get some enjoyment flowing with the reading - even if you're trying to be serious, who can help but laugh at a time machine made out of a purple porta potty, or a superhero who gets overly excited and accidentally leaves two old ladies (who he had been trying to help cross the street) up a tree when he gets distracted by a request to save a cat. A great activity with this book would be to have kids create their own comic like the characters do.Hopelessly filled with crass humor.
    more
  • Jeff
    February 9, 2015
    The story is about Time Changing machine George and Harold were 2 students that could save the entire world. They both made several experiments and show them to their classmates. Captain Underpants the school principal , he can change himself to a Captain Underpants. Then at last George, Harold and Captain Underpants saved the world from the monster.
    more
  • Zack Mays
    February 5, 2015
    The book was great because of all the jokes and funny people
  • Isobel
    February 7, 2016
    I like the original one better.
  • MyACPL Athens County Public Libraries
    April 13, 2015
    from James:There is a reason these books are among the most challenged and banned every year: because they're that good. While this one is not quite up to the standards of other titles in the Captain Underpants series, it does rate high on the disusto-meter: there's even a chapter called "The Unnecessarily Disgusting Chapter." I can't fight the urge to give you a sample passage: "When Melvin sat down, generous helpings of yellowish, pudding-like goo slowly dribbled down the chair, collecting int from James:There is a reason these books are among the most challenged and banned every year: because they're that good. While this one is not quite up to the standards of other titles in the Captain Underpants series, it does rate high on the disusto-meter: there's even a chapter called "The Unnecessarily Disgusting Chapter." I can't fight the urge to give you a sample passage: "When Melvin sat down, generous helpings of yellowish, pudding-like goo slowly dribbled down the chair, collecting into creamy, gelatinous puddles beneath him. The puddles themselves were slightly transparent and speckled with thick, shimmering nose hairs and dark red chunks of coagulated blood...."If you've read other Pilkey books, you'll find this one satisfying, but if you're a novice, I recommend starting with an earlier title, perhaps Captain Underpants and the Perilous Plot of Professor Poopypants. It may very well be the funniest book I've ever read. My 7 year old agrees.
    more
  • Santhosh
    February 8, 2015
    Melvin was insulted so he turned him self into a bionic booger boy. George and Harold were in big trouble because their nerd friend who turned into a bionic booger boy wanted to take revenge. Melvin was so angry at them because George and Harold did crazy stuff with him. He was so he was bursting in anger. Melvin hates tissues and because of is, somehow, he grew bigger and bigger until he was dinosaur-sized. Captain Underpants was swallowed by the Melvin so Sulu was their only hero left. Sulu ha Melvin was insulted so he turned him self into a bionic booger boy. George and Harold were in big trouble because their nerd friend who turned into a bionic booger boy wanted to take revenge. Melvin was so angry at them because George and Harold did crazy stuff with him. He was so he was bursting in anger. Melvin hates tissues and because of is, somehow, he grew bigger and bigger until he was dinosaur-sized. Captain Underpants was swallowed by the Melvin so Sulu was their only hero left. Sulu had powers because he was combined by his old master (Melvin) using a Combine-O-Tron( Melvin's invention). Sulu fought the monster and saved the day. captain Underpants and Melvin are back to normal but the bionic booger boy wasn't destroyed, even though Melvin wasn't controlling it, it was alive. It now turned into a bionic booger robots. Now they were chasing our heroes!!! Hope you can enjoy the disgusting pictures and jokes yet makes by the writer, Dav Pilkey. enjoy reading.
    more
  • Dolly
    February 16, 2012
    This is another hilarious book in the Captain Underpants series by Dav Pilkey. Our girls really like these books and insist on reading them independently (so I don't have the excuse that I read the book with them, but I enjoyed reading it, too!) The humor is quite juvenile and the storyline is very predictable, but we all really liked it. Our girls especially like the Flip-O-Rama pages and often argue over who gets to read the book first. All in all, I find these stories to be very entertaining This is another hilarious book in the Captain Underpants series by Dav Pilkey. Our girls really like these books and insist on reading them independently (so I don't have the excuse that I read the book with them, but I enjoyed reading it, too!) The humor is quite juvenile and the storyline is very predictable, but we all really liked it. Our girls especially like the Flip-O-Rama pages and often argue over who gets to read the book first. All in all, I find these stories to be very entertaining and perfect for getting reluctant readers to learn to love books. We will certainly move on to the next story very soon.
    more
  • Julie Johnson
    March 5, 2011
    My 6 year old son and I have read this and other Captain Underpants books and I just have to say, speaking about all of the books, that my son thinks they are hysterically funny. They not only inspire him to be excited about reading and books but also to write: he has made his own 'Captain Underpants' comics, using cues from the books, copying both words and pictures. That kind of excitement about learning, reading, writing, that intrinsic push to create and copy, makes these books invaluable an My 6 year old son and I have read this and other Captain Underpants books and I just have to say, speaking about all of the books, that my son thinks they are hysterically funny. They not only inspire him to be excited about reading and books but also to write: he has made his own 'Captain Underpants' comics, using cues from the books, copying both words and pictures. That kind of excitement about learning, reading, writing, that intrinsic push to create and copy, makes these books invaluable and worth every 5 star I've given. them.I have to say, I chuckle too. The scene with the prune juice & the robot is especially funny.Love this book and love the series.
    more
  • Yumi Learner
    April 30, 2015
    My Thirteenth Book in English This YearA couple of days ago, I finished my thirteenth book, Captain Underpants and the Big, Bad Battle of the Bionic Booger Boy, Part 1: The Night of the Nasty Nostril Nuggets, in English this year. I bought this book at a church sale only for 25 cents in America. When I saw the book to my American friend, she said that all boys love the book series. While I was reading, I figured out why American boys love the book series. The contents relates to boogers, poops o My Thirteenth Book in English This YearA couple of days ago, I finished my thirteenth book, Captain Underpants and the Big, Bad Battle of the Bionic Booger Boy, Part 1: The Night of the Nasty Nostril Nuggets, in English this year. I bought this book at a church sale only for 25 cents in America. When I saw the book to my American friend, she said that all boys love the book series. While I was reading, I figured out why American boys love the book series. The contents relates to boogers, poops or whatever little boys like. Even though this book is very immature, I enjoyed reading it. I want to read the book series from the first one soon.
    more
  • Jenn
    April 22, 2011
    This book definitely lacks literary merit, and it used language that I needed to change when reading it to my seven-year-old (i.e. "heck"). It also used improper grammar.That being said, my son enjoyed it, laughing out loud many times. I didn't "hate" reading it, but it was difficult to give time to such fluff.
    more
  • Gideon
    January 21, 2012
    this is part 1 of bugers and stuff like that and I bet you are asking about part2 well thar is a part 2 in the seres.
  • Geovanni
    October 28, 2008
    this book is about a boy named jorge betanzos and his brother berto henares they both are smart and they make pranks.
  • Donna
    March 1, 2017
    Rating by my 7-year-old son who says 5 stars isn't enough.
  • Chris
    March 5, 2017
    It was quite funny but (am I crazy here or) did I detect a lot of anti-intellectualism and bullying in this story?
  • John Gentry
    September 25, 2016
    you know, I can really tell why a fourth grade me likes this book and the sequel. lots of gross humor, pseudo comic bookness combines with a joke that no one is sure how long will still be funny. nowadays though I give it a solid three stars....I've read better books of its type.
    more
  • Tiffany
    February 28, 2012
    In this particular book of the series of Captain Underpants, George and Harold are faced with a fellow classmate named Melvin. Melvin is sick and tired of being constantly picked on by everyone he goes to school with and is sick of everyone bowing down to George and Harold. So, Melvin plans his revenge by using his greatest weapon, his brain.I would have to consider this text to be both science fiction and modern fantasy. Certain aspects of the text are possible, such as the fact that Melvin cre In this particular book of the series of Captain Underpants, George and Harold are faced with a fellow classmate named Melvin. Melvin is sick and tired of being constantly picked on by everyone he goes to school with and is sick of everyone bowing down to George and Harold. So, Melvin plans his revenge by using his greatest weapon, his brain.I would have to consider this text to be both science fiction and modern fantasy. Certain aspects of the text are possible, such as the fact that Melvin creates robots and does science experiements. However, most of the text could never happen. There are not really such things as superheroes, so a person named Captain Underpants could not happen. However, for the age group this is for, I believe the children reading could suspend the disbelief because the characters are the age it is targeted for. They like to play make believe and pretend people are super villians and superhereos. The theme of the book is definitely relateable in a real world as that of a fantasy world. It has values such as not picking on other kids and the dangers of seeking revenge. I would have to say the author does not maintain a sense of logic and order within the created world, but that is part of the fun of it. The idea is silly, but that makes it an engaging read.I loved reading Captain Underpants. For this particular novel of the series, I was very amused and slightly grossed out. I enjoyed how the text acted like you were in the book and got you to interact with the pages. That struck me the most. When I was a younger child, I would always play around with my cousins and we would pretend there were superhereos and super villians to fight. So, that was relateable to me. I think this would be fun for students in my classroom to read. Graphic novels are definitely a different style of book. It incorporates art and writing. So, if I would want to have a lesson about writing, I could make it more interesting for students by having them add pictures. They can do this "comic" style of writing for any type of project, especially "About Me" sort of projects.
    more
  • Brian Cubbage
    March 19, 2016
    I have actually read the first eleven of the Captain Underpants books with my son, who loves them. I have read many of them with him more than once. I am letting my review of this book stand in as a review of the whole series, since I think this one is probably the best of the lot. There is a lot in the Captain Underpants books to groan about as a grownup--the gross-out humor, the one-sided adults, and (in the later books) the sometimes cringeworthy social commentary. What I have learned to appr I have actually read the first eleven of the Captain Underpants books with my son, who loves them. I have read many of them with him more than once. I am letting my review of this book stand in as a review of the whole series, since I think this one is probably the best of the lot. There is a lot in the Captain Underpants books to groan about as a grownup--the gross-out humor, the one-sided adults, and (in the later books) the sometimes cringeworthy social commentary. What I have learned to appreciate is that these books are aimed at boys who otherwise might avoid books entirely. They identify with George and Harold, misfit trouble-making fourth graders who are plenty smart but don't fit in, except with each other. They capture what it feels like to be young and to have a best friend. The character of Captain Underpants is intriguing, too, once you think about it. Mr. Krupp, chief meanie at the mean Jerome Horwitz Elementary School in Piqua, Ohio, has a secret life as Captain Underpants, a ridiculously optimistic, gallant superhero who always has a huge grin on his face and sallies forth wearing nothing but his underwear and curtains saying "Tra-la-laaaa!!!" I think it's somehow appealing to kids to imagine that they might be able to coax out the cheerful, silly protectors lying dormant within the staid grownups in their lives. This sixth book in the series is, I think, the best one. The stories are always ridiculous, but this one keeps it within some less convoluted bounds. The plot is well-wrought, the social commentary is on point, and it doesn't involve time travel. All in all, a fitting installment for the Waistband Warrior and pals.
    more
  • Maria Ritchey
    February 21, 2015
    "Captain Underpants and the Big, Bad Battle of the Bionic Booger Boy, Part 1: The Night of the Nasty Nostril Nuggets" is one of many books featuring Dav Pilkey's iconic character, Captain Underpants. This story is told from the perspective of two young boys, George and Harold. These young and mischievous narrators describe class pranks involving ketchup packets and toilet seats, provide a brief history of Captain Underpants in comic book form, and experiment with robotic hamsters. However, the p "Captain Underpants and the Big, Bad Battle of the Bionic Booger Boy, Part 1: The Night of the Nasty Nostril Nuggets" is one of many books featuring Dav Pilkey's iconic character, Captain Underpants. This story is told from the perspective of two young boys, George and Harold. These young and mischievous narrators describe class pranks involving ketchup packets and toilet seats, provide a brief history of Captain Underpants in comic book form, and experiment with robotic hamsters. However, the plot focuses on Melvin Sneedly, a boy who after being humiliated by George and Harold attempts to make himself a robotic man but accidentally turns himself into the Bionic Booger Boy. The story continues as George, Harold, and Captain Underpants try to defeat the Bionic Booger Boy. This book is a lower level chapter book, excellent for fourth, fifth and perhaps some middle school students who may be struggling to read at grade level. It is a simple read with lots of pictures, but the content would be interesting and funny for a wide audience of readers, especially young boys. I love the combination of different writing styles within this book because they alternation and variety will keep students engaged. Pilkey alternates between standard narration and brief sections written as a comic book. I think this is an excellent book for students who may believe that they don't like reading. Books in the series could be a gateway to further reading for many young students.
    more
  • Alejandro
    March 16, 2010
    The book that I choose is Captain Underpants and the Big, Bad Battle of the Bionic Booger Boy Part 1: The night of the Nasty Nostril Nuggets. The author of this book is Dav Pilkey. The genre is fiction. I choose this book because is funny, is about action, and it has flip-o-rama. There are 5 main characters: George and Harold, Melvin, Mr. Krupp and Captain Underpants. George and Harold are very creative and like to do comic books in there tree house, Melvin is a silly and nerd boy that thinks he The book that I choose is Captain Underpants and the Big, Bad Battle of the Bionic Booger Boy Part 1: ¨The night of the Nasty Nostril Nuggets¨. The author of this book is Dav Pilkey. The genre is fiction. I choose this book because is funny, is about action, and it has flip-o-rama. There are 5 main characters: George and Harold, Melvin, Mr. Krupp and Captain Underpants. George and Harold are very creative and like to do comic books in there tree house, Melvin is a silly and nerd boy that thinks he is super intelligent, Mr. Krupp is the principal of the school and he is a angry person that always punish George and Harold, and finally is Captain Underpants, Captain Underpants is Mr. Krupp, that George and Harold convert him with a magic ring so he can save the world. The setting of the story is Georges and Harold’s school. The main plot events are when Melvin converts himself to a Bionic Booger Boy, and then George and Harold convert Mr. Krupp to Captain Underpants so he can save the world from the Bionic Booger Boy. The theme of this book is to never give up. I liked this book because I like action flip-o-rama and to laugh and Captain Underpants is about that. I would recommend this book to a friend because is something that boys like to read.
    more
  • Alex G
    March 18, 2010
    The book that I choose is Captain Underpants and the Big, Bad Battle of the Bionic Booger Boy Part 1: The night of the Nasty Nostril Nuggets. The author of this book is Dav Pilkey. The genre is fiction. I choose this book because is funny, is about action, and it has flip-o-rama. There are 5 main characters: George and Harold, Melvin, Mr. Krupp and Captain Underpants. George and Harold are very creative and like to do comic books in there tree house, Melvin is a silly and nerd boy that thinks he The book that I choose is Captain Underpants and the Big, Bad Battle of the Bionic Booger Boy Part 1: ¨The night of the Nasty Nostril Nuggets¨. The author of this book is Dav Pilkey. The genre is fiction. I choose this book because is funny, is about action, and it has flip-o-rama. There are 5 main characters: George and Harold, Melvin, Mr. Krupp and Captain Underpants. George and Harold are very creative and like to do comic books in there tree house, Melvin is a silly and nerd boy that thinks he is super intelligent, Mr. Krupp is the principal of the school and he is a angry person that always punish George and Harold, and finally is Captain Underpants, Captain Underpants is Mr. Krupp, that George and Harold convert him with a magic ring so he can save the world. The setting of the story is Georges and Harold’s school. The main plot events are when Melvin converts himself to a Bionic Booger Boy, and then George and Harold convert Mr. Krupp to Captain Underpants so he can save the world from the Bionic Booger Boy. The theme of this book is to never give up. I liked this book because I like action flip-o-rama and to laugh and Captain Underpants is about that. I would recommend this book to a friend because is something that boys like to read.
    more
  • Jessie Doster
    February 22, 2012
    Captain Underpants and the Big, Bad Battle of the Bionic Booger Boy is the seventh novel in the Captain Underpants series written by Dav Pilkey. This is one of the many novels where Captain Underpants encounters a problem and at the end of the day remains a hero. This book taps into the minds of kids and provides good, solid fun. The combination of silly characters and a light story line makes for a good read for young children. The text is big, bold, and cartoon like and is surrounded by pictur Captain Underpants and the Big, Bad Battle of the Bionic Booger Boy is the seventh novel in the Captain Underpants series written by Dav Pilkey. This is one of the many novels where Captain Underpants encounters a problem and at the end of the day remains a hero. This book taps into the minds of kids and provides good, solid fun. The combination of silly characters and a light story line makes for a good read for young children. The text is big, bold, and cartoon like and is surrounded by pictures either above or below the text. Some of the story is written as a comic book, and the author doesn’t do a good job of guiding the eye of the reader. The comic book pages are cluttered and it’s hard for the reader to decide which strip is to be read next. Some of the vocabulary in the book is too difficult for a young reader. The potty talk and potty humor may not be appropriate for some children and parents should be advised before a child reads this story. Although this book didn’t leave me wanting more books in the series, overall, this is a good book for children who enjoy adventure super hero stories and don’t struggle with vocabulary.
    more
  • Tim
    March 30, 2010
    I've heard of Captain Underpants for a number of years, and interestingly never read one till my girl friend, who is doing some tutoring on reading, got this for her student. Well, I HAD to read it, just to see what all the fuss was about. Seems it was worth the wait! Two elementary school pals, George and Harold, somehow turn the always-angry Mr. Krupp, the school Principal, into crime-fighting Captain Underpants by ...well, I'll let you read that stuff. In this adventure, the class nasty, Melv I've heard of Captain Underpants for a number of years, and interestingly never read one till my girl friend, who is doing some tutoring on reading, got this for her student. Well, I HAD to read it, just to see what all the fuss was about. Seems it was worth the wait! Two elementary school pals, George and Harold, somehow turn the always-angry Mr. Krupp, the school Principal, into crime-fighting Captain Underpants by ...well, I'll let you read that stuff. In this adventure, the class nasty, Melvin Sneedly, accidentally turns himself into a massive SNOT-monster by...well, I'll let you read that part. Many descriptions of colloidal bodily fluids and disgusting sequelae thereof make for hilarious reading (I've been told my mental age is about twelve - I think they gave me too much credit). I greatly enjoyed this literary tome and can't wait for more. If your grade-schooler is resistant to reading, just give 'im (or her) one of these!
    more
  • C.M. Albert
    January 2, 2013
    Okay, now that we're onto our 6th Underpants book, I'm starting to get a little selective and I need some new humor, while still appreciating all the Captain U standards & classics. But I guess I'm more of a poop girl than a booger one (never thought those words would cross a review of mine!). But seriously, I have a line. And I just get a little queased at reading about a bionic booger boy who is a "snot-spewing", "mucus-coated", "boogery behmoth." Case in point: "As the huge booger chunks Okay, now that we're onto our 6th Underpants book, I'm starting to get a little selective and I need some new humor, while still appreciating all the Captain U standards & classics. But I guess I'm more of a poop girl than a booger one (never thought those words would cross a review of mine!). But seriously, I have a line. And I just get a little queased at reading about a bionic booger boy who is a "snot-spewing", "mucus-coated", "boogery behmoth." Case in point: "As the huge booger chunks oozed closer and closer, they began sprouting strange looking metallic eyeballs and huge, menacing robotic limbs." You can guess which part of that sentence makes me physically ill (booger chunks, anyone?). But I still gotta love an author who can title a chapter, "You Can't Have Your Cape and Edith, too." Seriously, despite the boogery topic this go around, it's still a fun read and reliable, silly humor this age group (and its parents!) love.
    more
  • Sam Cooper
    April 17, 2014
    Captain underpants and the big, bad battle of the bionic booger boy, part 1: the night of the nasty nostril nuggest is the first of the two part would be conclusion of the excellent captain underpants series. I say would be, because every couple years Dac Pilkey decides he’s not finished with the captain underpants series. Having not read some the newer sequels it is unfair for me to comment on the validity of the newer books. The first part of this adventure describes the class brainiac, Melvin Captain underpants and the big, bad battle of the bionic booger boy, part 1: the night of the nasty nostril nuggest is the first of the two part would be conclusion of the excellent captain underpants series. I say would be, because every couple years Dac Pilkey decides he’s not finished with the captain underpants series. Having not read some the newer sequels it is unfair for me to comment on the validity of the newer books. The first part of this adventure describes the class brainiac, Melvin sneedly, builds a fantastic invention called the “combine-o-tron 2000”. This machine is cabable of combining two different objects into one. Melvin ultimately decides to use the machine on himself so he can take his revenge on Harold and George. However one ill fated sneeze causes Melvin to turn into the bionic booger boy. However this story is just getting started, and would be finished in part 2.
    more
  • Nicola Mansfield
    November 27, 2013
    I'll start off by saying this was my least favourite of all the Captain Underpants books so far. I just didn't find it funny and actually felt sorry for the recurring character who goes a little crazy and turns into the bad guy in this episode. I don't have much to say. Kid's will probably go along for the ride easily enough. What I did like was that Ms. Ribble did indeed keep her new personality as happened in the last book and that when reading these books in order we do find development, both I'll start off by saying this was my least favourite of all the Captain Underpants books so far. I just didn't find it funny and actually felt sorry for the recurring character who goes a little crazy and turns into the bad guy in this episode. I don't have much to say. Kid's will probably go along for the ride easily enough. What I did like was that Ms. Ribble did indeed keep her new personality as happened in the last book and that when reading these books in order we do find development, both in plot and characterization. Happily, things turn out for our hapless villain but just as everything is all sorted out there is a big backfire and we are presented with a cliff-hanger ending that starts off the first two-parter in this series. A good time for the author to introduce something new.
    more
  • Melissa Namba
    December 5, 2015
    Plot wise, this was not as bad as I had anticipated. I have to be honest in saying that I just assumed Underpants equaled super crappy. I read this for my nephews and I think that it is definitely a goofy book, with a little gross out humor, but it was not as awful as anticipated. From a teaching standpoint, I do not like the comic sections because of the deliberately misspelled word, which is bad for kids learning how to read. However, I think that this will engage a group of kids who may not o Plot wise, this was not as bad as I had anticipated. I have to be honest in saying that I just assumed Underpants equaled super crappy. I read this for my nephews and I think that it is definitely a goofy book, with a little gross out humor, but it was not as awful as anticipated. From a teaching standpoint, I do not like the comic sections because of the deliberately misspelled word, which is bad for kids learning how to read. However, I think that this will engage a group of kids who may not otherwise read. This is part 1 of a pair. It deals with the nerdy mortal enemy morphing himself into a booger monster and what entails as they try to solve the problem.
    more
  • Nichlas Freeman
    May 7, 2012
    captain underpants and the big bad battle of the bionic booger boy part 1 is about how Harold Hutchins and Goerge Beard make fun of a all tattle telling 4th grade nerd named Melvin Sneedly. melvin finds out about people making fun of him because harold and georege and harold made fun of him in a home made comic book and everybody was reading it while laughing and pointing at him. Tbhen he snatched a comic from from a kindergartner that was looking at a comic. then melvin left to go readthe comic captain underpants and the big bad battle of the bionic booger boy part 1 is about how Harold Hutchins and Goerge Beard make fun of a all tattle telling 4th grade nerd named Melvin Sneedly. melvin finds out about people making fun of him because harold and georege and harold made fun of him in a home made comic book and everybody was reading it while laughing and pointing at him. Tbhen he snatched a comic from from a kindergartner that was looking at a comic. then melvin left to go readthe comic in peace but one of harold and georges inventions fired on melvin then thats when melvin wanted to get revenge on george and harold.
    more
  • Linda Appelbaum
    October 12, 2015
    In observance of banned book month, our book club chose to read a once-banned book and I chose this one. I think the author is hilariously inventive. -I thought the book very funny with great art work that would capture a child's imagination. I can see how a few uptight, mean spirited, narrow minded people might thing banning this ot ANY book, I see it more as an opportunity to have adult to child conversation about behavior, making right choices, etc. Of course, parents should always monitor wh In observance of banned book month, our book club chose to read a once-banned book and I chose this one. I think the author is hilariously inventive. -I thought the book very funny with great art work that would capture a child's imagination. I can see how a few uptight, mean spirited, narrow minded people might thing banning this ot ANY book, I see it more as an opportunity to have adult to child conversation about behavior, making right choices, etc. Of course, parents should always monitor what their child reads, this book is for kids in about 4th grade range and probably wouldn't be appropriate for say a 5 yr. old.
    more
Write a review