The Night Olivia Fell
In the vein of Big Little Lies and Reconstructing Amelia comes an emotionally charged domestic suspense novel about a mother unraveling the truth behind how her daughter became brain dead. And pregnant.A search for the truth. A lifetime of lies.In the small hours of the morning, Abi Knight is startled awake by the phone call no mother ever wants to get: her teenage daughter Olivia has fallen off a bridge. Not only is Olivia brain dead, she’s pregnant and must remain on life support to keep her baby alive. And then Abi sees the angry bruises circling Olivia’s wrists.When the police unexpectedly rule Olivia’s fall an accident, Abi decides to find out what really happened that night. Heartbroken and grieving, she unravels the threads of her daughter’s life. Was Olivia’s fall an accident? Or something far more sinister?Christina McDonald weaves a suspenseful and heartwrenching tale of hidden relationships, devastating lies, and the power of a mother’s love. With flashbacks of Olivia’s own resolve to uncover family secrets, this taut and emotional novel asks: how well do you know your children? And how well do they know you?

The Night Olivia Fell Details

TitleThe Night Olivia Fell
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseFeb 5th, 2019
PublisherGallery Books
ISBN-139781501184000
Rating
GenreMystery, Thriller, Fiction, Mystery Thriller, Suspense, Adult Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Novels, Psychological Thriller

The Night Olivia Fell Review

  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader
    January 1, 1970
    5 “Trust Me, you absolutely cannot miss reading this book” stars to The Night Olivia Fell! ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ I read The Night Olivia Fell with a group of blogger friends, and we unanimously loved it! An emotional read perfect for groups, The Night Olivia Fell is definitely a book you will to discuss with friends!My Thoughts: The Night Olivia Fells opens with a scene of which no one wants to relate. Abi Knight receives a phone call that her teen daughter has been in a tragic accident and is in the hospit 5 “Trust Me, you absolutely cannot miss reading this book” stars to The Night Olivia Fell! ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ I read The Night Olivia Fell with a group of blogger friends, and we unanimously loved it! An emotional read perfect for groups, The Night Olivia Fell is definitely a book you will to discuss with friends!My Thoughts: The Night Olivia Fells opens with a scene of which no one wants to relate. Abi Knight receives a phone call that her teen daughter has been in a tragic accident and is in the hospital. Upon arriving, she learns that her daughter is not only brain dead, but also pregnant. From there, the narrative shifts between Abi’s narrative, mostly in the present day with some flashbacks, and Olivia’s narrative in the months leading up to her fall, until the two narratives merge in a masterful way. Abi believes from the start that Olivia’s fall is no accident. She sees bruises on her wrists, and she quickly learns no one is taking her seriously, including the police. Once the police finally do begin to investigate, the case never seems to be their priority, and Abi decides to take matters into her own hands. What happened to Olivia that fateful night, and how will this tragic story end?There are so many things I loved about The Night Olivia Fell, and the biggest is how grounded it is in reality with authentic emotions, relationship dynamics, and characters. And those characters…wow! Not one is simply good or bad; they are a nice mix of complexity that keeps you guessing, especially when it comes to pointing the finger at who might have harmed Olivia. The author kept a wide net cast when looking for the suspect. I would develop a theory, and then pan to the next potential perp as the story went along and red herrings were dangled. The Night Olivia Fell is so much more than the typical suspense story. While it has all the paramount trademarks, including secrets, lies, and formidable tension, it is in a league of its own with its intensely relatable characterization and raw emotion. You will love Abi and Olivia, and you will most definitely want to wrap your arms around each of them together, as you read their story and accept their individual fates as mother and daughter. I read this book as a group with Berit, Holly, Melisa, Mack, and Kendall, and this was the best kind of story to read together. We shared in the tension, the love for these characters, and the guessing game at just who was guilty at the center of it all. Thank you to the author, Christina McDonald, for the complimentary physical copy. All opinions are my own. My reviews can also be found on my blog: www.jennifertarheelreader.com
    more
  • Deanna
    January 1, 1970
    My reviews can also be seen at: https://deesradreadsandreviews.wordpr..." The Night Olivia Fell " had an intense beginning that pulled me right in. I had to keep reading. I HAD to find out what happened...Abi Knight is a devoted single mother to teenage daughter, Olivia. Abi and her daughter have a great relationship. One word Abi would give to describe Olivia is…sensible. Olivia does well in school, she doesn’t drink or party, and she does what she’s asked. But Abi admits that lately, Olivia ha My reviews can also be seen at: https://deesradreadsandreviews.wordpr..." The Night Olivia Fell " had an intense beginning that pulled me right in. I had to keep reading. I HAD to find out what happened...Abi Knight is a devoted single mother to teenage daughter, Olivia. Abi and her daughter have a great relationship. One word Abi would give to describe Olivia is…sensible. Olivia does well in school, she doesn’t drink or party, and she does what she’s asked. But Abi admits that lately, Olivia has been different, very moody and distracted.Then one night the phone rings and Abi is suddenly living her worst nightmare.“This is Portage Point hospital. It’s about your daughter, Olivia. I’m afraid there’s been an accident”. Abi drives to the hospital …hoping and praying that Olivia will be alright. “ Please, please be okay.” But then she sees the pity in the doctor’s eyes. He explains that Olivia has permanent and irreversible brain damage. Life support is keeping her body alive. Abi tells the doctor that Olivia spoke about donating her organs. But the doctor tells Abi that they can’t turn off life support due to Olivia’s condition. Abi is confused…what condition?We then hear from Olivia. We learn about her life and the time leading up to the night she fell. Olivia had been feeling like her mother was controlling her life. She also felt like her mother was keeping things from her.On a school visit to the University of Washington, Olivia sees someone who stops her in her tracks…. And she knows instantly that her life will never be the same Abi had only wanted the best for her daughter. It appears Olivia had a life her mother knew nothing about. But what was Olivia doing up on that bridge in the middle of the night? Was it an accident or was it something else entirely?“Whether you help me or not, I’m going to find out what happened to my daughter.” Abi wants to prove to the police that it wasn’t an accident. But how will she do that? And could she be putting herself in danger by trying to find out exactly what happened?This story is told from both Olivia and Abi’s point of view which I really liked. The relationship between mother and daughter was moving and believable. As a single mother with a daughter close in age to Olivia, I could relate to some of the things they were dealing with. I thought all of the characters were very well-developed. The book was engaging and easy to follow, and I read it in just a couple of sittings.“The Night Olivia Fell” was a well written and addictive domestic suspense novel. I’m excited to read more from Christina McDonald.I'd like to thank Gallery Books for a copy of this novel. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Berit☀️✨
    January 1, 1970
    5 BIG Beautiful Stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟wOWZA! This book took me on quite the emotional journey! As a mother I couldn’t help but completely empathize with Abi(The mother in this story)... I cried with her... I raged with her... I hoped with her... my mama bear was out throughout this book, I needed answers and I needed them now! Imagining my own daughter in the hospital bed brain-dead and pregnant, quite honestly made me a little sick and stressed... this is a credit to the beautiful and engrossing writing i 5 BIG Beautiful Stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟wOWZA! This book took me on quite the emotional journey! As a mother I couldn’t help but completely empathize with Abi(The mother in this story)... I cried with her... I raged with her... I hoped with her... my mama bear was out throughout this book, I needed answers and I needed them now! Imagining my own daughter in the hospital bed brain-dead and pregnant, quite honestly made me a little sick and stressed... this is a credit to the beautiful and engrossing writing in this book, I was completely immersed and committed.... The fact that this is Christina McDonald’s debut is simply.... impressive!Abi gets that phone call in the middle of the night that all parents fear... her daughter is in the hospital, she has fallen off a bridge...Abi’s mothers intuition tells her this was not an accident and this is reinforced by the bruises around her daughter’s wrist.... The police don’t appear to be doing much of anything to find out who pushed Olivia off that bridge.... but Abi is determined and will stop at nothing to find out who hurt her little girl...Told from both Abi and Olivia‘s perspectives... we get the events leading up to this tragedy from Olivia‘s eyes... as well as watching Abi’s heart wrenching journey... not only to accept that she has lost her daughter, but also to figure out how this could have happened.... this was such an impactful way to tell the story because the more I got to know Olivia the more my heart broke right along with Abi’s.... also Christina McDonnell did a fabulous job with getting into the mind of both a 17-year-old and her mother.... I saw a lot of myself in both of these characters...This was an emotional domestic suspense... as the book progressed I was suspicious of almost everyone at some point... I also found myself questioning both Olivia and Abbi’s actions... I kept thinking if only.... then... but isn’t that what life is all about? every choice we make has an impact on our lives.... had Abby told Olivia who her father was, then maybe? Had Olivia told her mother who she had fallen in love with, then perhaps? So many questions and no good answers and as we all know hindsight is always 20/20...This is a book that left me with tears in my eyes and hope in my heart! I absolutely recommend for anyone who enjoys A beautiful story about the love between mothers and daughters with a huge dose of suspense thrown in....*** many thanks to Christina McDonald and Gallery for my copy of this book the book releases in February 2019 ***
    more
  • Meredith
    January 1, 1970
    Huh?! Did I read the same book as everyone else? I am not going to go into great detail critiquing what didn’t work for me, but I will say I couldn’t look past the following: predictable plot, stilted dialogue, cliched characters, juvenile writing, and plot holes abound. I grew sick of constantly being told what happened vs. being able to see what happened. I bumped up my rating for the ending--the emotion shined through and felt more natural than the rest of the book. I think I am the only pe Huh?! Did I read the same book as everyone else? I am not going to go into great detail critiquing what didn’t work for me, but I will say I couldn’t look past the following: predictable plot, stilted dialogue, cliched characters, juvenile writing, and plot holes abound. I grew sick of constantly being told what happened vs. being able to see what happened. I bumped up my rating for the ending--the emotion shined through and felt more natural than the rest of the book. I think I am the only person who didn’t love this book, so feel to ignore my review and enjoy for yourself. I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley and Gallery Books in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kendall
    January 1, 1970
    I can wholeheartedly (even though half my heart is gone after reading this)... say that The Night Olivia Fell deserves 5 shining stars. This has a spot on my shining bookshelf for life!!! <3 <3 <3 <3. OH my goodness... where do I even start with this? Firstly, I don't think I have EVER read a debut like this. The amount of talent that Christina McDonald has is mind-blowing. I truly was blown out of the water with how beautiful, poetic, and dark this novel is. This... can sometimes be I can wholeheartedly (even though half my heart is gone after reading this)... say that The Night Olivia Fell deserves 5 shining stars. This has a spot on my shining bookshelf for life!!! <3 <3 <3 <3. OH my goodness... where do I even start with this? Firstly, I don't think I have EVER read a debut like this. The amount of talent that Christina McDonald has is mind-blowing. I truly was blown out of the water with how beautiful, poetic, and dark this novel is. This... can sometimes be a very hard thing for authors to do.... keep your readers on edge with a thriller and managing to get some tears out?! THAT is talent my friends no, ands, ifs, or buts about that statement ;). It's funny because as we all know I am a huge mystery and thriller fan... and I know everyone keeps seeing my 3 star reviews... and I have to tell you it takes A LOT for me to give my entire 5 stars. THIS IS IT. It's everything... just stop right now and get your hands on this. (PSTTT Netgalley... click away)If you're expecting me to go into the plot with my review... I won't because going into this book blind will make the experience so much more worthwhile. Trust me on this <3. I had the honor of reading this alongside my book besties and wow what an experience to have these amazing ladies join me :). I will leave you with this... inspiring, addicting, and uplifting. "Whenever, whatever. I'm here forever." I cannot thank Christina McDonald, Netgalley, and Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books enough for the opportunity to read this in exchange for my honest thoughts.Expected publication date: 2/5/19Published to GR: 8/29/18.
    more
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    I'm between 3-3.5 STARS on this one.The Night Olivia Fell was another highly anticipated mystery on my list of 2019 releases. Come on, look at that chilling cover! I've found myself becoming more drawn to these lighter dramas that feature mother-daughter relationships; while my children are generally younger than the girls portrayed in these types of stories, I still find myself daydreaming about what life will be like when I, in fact, have teenage daughters myself. This book features one of tho I'm between 3-3.5 STARS on this one.The Night Olivia Fell was another highly anticipated mystery on my list of 2019 releases. Come on, look at that chilling cover! I've found myself becoming more drawn to these lighter dramas that feature mother-daughter relationships; while my children are generally younger than the girls portrayed in these types of stories, I still find myself daydreaming about what life will be like when I, in fact, have teenage daughters myself. This book features one of those worst case scenarios where, you'd think as a mother of girls I would want to pass up, but surprisingly reading it helps me work through my anxieties by facing them head on. Abi is a single parent, sacrificing everything and working to the bloody nubs to provide for her daughter. When she gets the dreaded call that Olivia's body has been found after falling off of the town bridge, she's justifiably devastated. When it's made clear that Olivia will never recover from her comatose state and Abi decides its time to pull the plug, the doctors drop a bombshell-Olivia is pregnant. They would like to keep her on life support until the baby is viable to survive without its mother, which gives Abi plenty of time to look into her own investigation of what really happened to her daughter. While the mystery surrounding who murdered Olivia felt obvious from early on, I noticed there were a few portions involving related plot twists that captured my interest, and the writing and emotions inserted into the story were so well done. As a mother of two daughters, I can only imagine what Abi went through in this story. If you're looking for a lighter mystery that is more character driven, and one that will make you feel every emotion on the spectrum of feels, definitely pick this one up.*Many thanks to the publisher for providing my review copy.
    more
  • Melisa
    January 1, 1970
    This is a stunning, beautifully written debut by a talented author, Christina McDonald. I read this one with my @6bookbesties and we all had rave reviews. One night, Olivia is found unconscious after having fallen off a bridge. She is brain dead and pregnant and her mother, Abi, tries to understand what happened that night through her devastation. Told in alternating perspectives, we have flashbacks from Olivia (which are stylistically different and very accurately portrayed) and chapters from A This is a stunning, beautifully written debut by a talented author, Christina McDonald. I read this one with my @6bookbesties and we all had rave reviews. One night, Olivia is found unconscious after having fallen off a bridge. She is brain dead and pregnant and her mother, Abi, tries to understand what happened that night through her devastation. Told in alternating perspectives, we have flashbacks from Olivia (which are stylistically different and very accurately portrayed) and chapters from Abi who is on a mission to discover the truth. As a thriller, this one is full of subtle red herrings which will steer you in a hundred different directions. I had my eye on a certain culprit the entire time (I was wrong!) but truly suspected every character at one point or another. As a mother, I could so relate to the feelings of worry and protectiveness, and my heart broke for the character of Abi. The extreme emotional pain she was experiencing throughout this story was very evident in the writing and even brought a few members of our group to tears. To imagine what Abi was feeling, all the while trying to figure out what happened to her poor daughter - it was an experience in empathy to the max. This is an intricately woven story, full of love and heartache. Highly recommend. A huge thank you to Christina McDonald, Gallery Books, and Carly Watters who provided us with an early copy. This book will be available early 2019.
    more
  • KAS
    January 1, 1970
      I rolled over and peered at my alarm clock. The red lights blinked 4:48 a.m. Nobody called at this time of night with good news. ”Hello?” ”Hello, is this Abagail Knight?” The voice —a man’s—was low and tight, coiled like a viper about to strike. ”Yes.” ”This is Portage Point Hospital. It’s about your daughter, Olivia. I’m afraid there’s been an accident.” And so the mystery and intrigue begins ... A mother’s worst nightmare becomes her reality and she sets out for the hard fought truth.Questio   I rolled over and peered at my alarm clock. The red lights blinked 4:48 a.m. Nobody called at this time of night with good news. ”Hello?” ”Hello, is this Abagail Knight?” The voice —a man’s—was low and tight, coiled like a viper about to strike. ”Yes.” ”This is Portage Point Hospital. It’s about your daughter, Olivia. I’m afraid there’s been an accident.” And so the mystery and intrigue begins ... A mother’s worst nightmare becomes her reality and she sets out for the hard fought truth.Questions, lies and secrets are paramount in this storyline. Questions, lies and secrets are responsible for the strained relationship between Abagail, a single mom, and her seventeen year old daughter, Olivia.  ...I’d worried for so long that all the lies I kept hidden on the dark side of my heart would one day be washed into the open. These lies, my past, kept me always on guard. I read this book in nearly one sitting. It was just so compelling, so unique, so irresistible. The dual POV narration between mother and daughter were icing on the cake.What a phenomenal debut novel. I will definitely be on the lookout for Christina McDonald’s next release.*Thank you Net Galley for a complimentary copy in exchange for my honest review.*
    more
  • Holly B
    January 1, 1970
    Emotional and suspensefulI am so thrilled to have found this author, Christina McDonald. I found her writing to have such an addictive quality. She has created some memorable characters that brought depth and raw emotion to the story. It was both heart-breaking and tender.Abi is a single mom who puts her teenage daughter Olivia first, above all other priorities. She has spent her life protecting Olivia, but she wasn’t there the night Olivia fell from a bridge (and she is a helicopter mom). Olivi Emotional and suspensefulI am so thrilled to have found this author, Christina McDonald. I found her writing to have such an addictive quality. She has created some memorable characters that brought depth and raw emotion to the story. It was both heart-breaking and tender.Abi is a single mom who puts her teenage daughter Olivia first, above all other priorities. She has spent her life protecting Olivia, but she wasn’t there the night Olivia fell from a bridge (and she is a helicopter mom). Olivia is now on life-support, she is pregnant, and she has bruises. Abi has a mother’s intuition and isn’t buying the police report that the fall was ” an accident“. Why aren’t the police investigating? She is committed to do whatever it takes to learn the truth.The story flows nicely with cleverly placed hints to how the mystery ultimately unfolds. I was totally invested and wanted to know how it would end. I changed my mind several times about “what really happened” and ohhhh that ending! I can’t say anything else!A loving mom searching for answers, a toxic relationship, and a search for truth make this one an emotional page-turner. Thanks to the author and publisher for my Arc to read/review. All opinions are my own. Publish date is Feb.5,2019
    more
  • Linda
    January 1, 1970
    Sometimes when things are falling apart, the jagged pieces drift together and fuse into a newer, unexpected version of life.Christina McDonald has taken those broken pieces of a family's tragedy and created quite the telling. This one is heavily imbued with real, believable characters who find themselves leaning into the wind of unbearable loss. McDonald, adeptly, makes us turn our own heads and question what our reactions would be if we faced similar circumstances. The dreaded phone calls almos Sometimes when things are falling apart, the jagged pieces drift together and fuse into a newer, unexpected version of life.Christina McDonald has taken those broken pieces of a family's tragedy and created quite the telling. This one is heavily imbued with real, believable characters who find themselves leaning into the wind of unbearable loss. McDonald, adeptly, makes us turn our own heads and question what our reactions would be if we faced similar circumstances. The dreaded phone calls almost always come in the middle of the night. Abi Knight has just been informed by the hospital that her sixteen year old daughter, Olivia, has fallen from a bridge and is in critical condition. By the time that Abi and her sister, Sarah, arrive at the hospital, the news becomes even more dire. Olivia's scans show no brain activity. But there is another victim on the edge of life....... Olivia is pregnant. While reeling from the onslaught of such bone-shaking news, Abi takes a stand to do all that she can to find who did this to her daughter. Olivia will remain on life-support in an effort to keep the baby alive until delivery can occur at the safest moment. The police report gives all indication that this was merely an accident. But Abi is far from convinced.McDonald shifts the story between alternating chapters voiced by Abi and Olivia. She keeps the tension in high gear as the calendar reverts to the past months leading to the bridge incident. We will find out a good deal of Abi's past as well and how it impacts Olivia's. Everyone will become a suspect in your mind. Certain characters will whiz you off. McDonald does a fine job of engaging her readers because this is an emotional read with so much at stake in the mix of things. Let's face it......we'll all be reaching for the next offering by Christina McDonald. It's that good.I received a copy of The Night Olivia Fell through NetGalley for an honest review. My thanks to Gallery Books and to Christina McDonald for the opportunity.
    more
  • Mackenzie - PhDiva Books
    January 1, 1970
    Heart-wrenching, emotional, beautiful, suspenseful, thought-provoking, and uplifting—this is a book that is filled with love in many forms, and that I won’t soon forget! When I read a book and I start to fall for the characters, I know that it will quickly become a favorite of mine. This book made me think about the impact of a single moment in time, and the ripple effect on the lives of those surrounding a young woman. It made me think about the chain of events that lead up to and away from a t Heart-wrenching, emotional, beautiful, suspenseful, thought-provoking, and uplifting—this is a book that is filled with love in many forms, and that I won’t soon forget! When I read a book and I start to fall for the characters, I know that it will quickly become a favorite of mine. This book made me think about the impact of a single moment in time, and the ripple effect on the lives of those surrounding a young woman. It made me think about the chain of events that lead up to and away from a tragedy, and how we go about getting answers and finding a way to move forward when the worst happens. It is a story about the love of a mother, and the unrelenting pursuit of justice for her daughter.About the BookEarly one morning, Abi Knight is awoken with the worst news a mother can hear—there’s been an accident and her daughter Olivia is in the hospital in critical condition. By the time Abi arrives, she receives the news that Olivia has fallen off of a bridge and won’t ever wake up again. There has been irreversible damage to her brain.Devastated, Abi wonders how to say goodbye to her only daughter and best friend. But there’s a catch—the doctors can’t pull life support from Olivia by law, because Olivia is pregnant. Shocked, Abi wonders how Olivia’s life got to this point with her being unaware. What happened that night? And how long has Olivia been pregnant? Did she know? Why didn’t she tell Abi, who was herself a teenage mother?As Abi becomes determined to find the answers she seeks, the carefully constructed life she has created for herself and her daughter begins to unravel. A lie she told comes back to haunt her, and the secrets of Olivia’s life begin to surface. But despite all of the lies, Abi is certain Olivia’s death was not an accident. Her bracelet is missing, and there are bruises around her wrist. A string of text messages and digital clues may hold the answer to Olivia’s final hours.What really happened the night Olivia fell?ReflectionWhat an incredible debut novel by Christina McDonald this is! I want to first speak on her writing—it is incredibly filled with detail that makes the scenes and emotions leap right off the page. For instance, as Abi rushes to the hospital early one rainy morning, reeling from the call from the doctor about Olivia, McDonald describes the sensory details of that trip. The wet leaf caught on the windshield, being moved around by the wiper blades before finally tearing. The squeal of tires and grip of the steering wheel as she tries to balance her panic with arriving safely. The sharp contrast between the bright lights and the dark hours of the morning, glistening on the damp pavement. The shakiness in her legs. Her writing is like this throughout the book, contrasting the inner monologue of the characters with the detail of their surroundings. You can easily picture this book as a film, watching it play out before your eyes.And the story itself is one that will leave you thinking about these characters long after you finish. It is charged with emotion, taut with tension, softened by the love of a mother and her grief. The horror I felt for Abi, hearing updates on the health of her grandchild while knowing that the birth of the baby would mean the death of her daughter—it almost overwhelmed me imagining what that would feel like. How can she be happy about her grandchild when she knows it will mean she has to let Olivia go? Abi was a character that I completely fell for. She is aware of her own shortcomings, tries to do what is best, and stumbles along the way. Abi felt like someone I could know in real life. Someone I may have passed on the street one time, wondering what demons haunted her eyes.We also hear some of the story from Olivia’s perspective, in the months leading up to the accident. I loved the way these chapters were written—almost like a young adult novel. They had the voice of a teenage girl. McDonald captured the worry and impulsivity of a seventeen year old perfectly. These chapters were so important, because without them Olivia would only exist for us through the eyes and heart of her mother Abi. But Olivia herself is full of life and hope and teenage heart ache. It would be easy to have Olivia sainted through the eyes of Abi, but instead we see her—as imperfect and full of love as she is. With a life filled with potential, taken from her before her time.I read this book with the 5 of my book besties!!! We absolutely loved it. See my full review here!
    more
  • Elyse Walters
    January 1, 1970
    “What do you do when you know something and nobody will listen? When you need answers and nobody will provide them? When you can’t trust anybody to help you?”A rage was surging through Abi’s body. Her daughter Olivia was brain dead - and pregnant. Abi doesn’t believe it was an accident that Olivia fell from the bridge - but getting the detectives - Samson and McNally to listen to what she has to say - take her seriously- is like pulling teeth. Whether they help her or not - Abi is going to find “What do you do when you know something and nobody will listen? When you need answers and nobody will provide them? When you can’t trust anybody to help you?”A rage was surging through Abi’s body. Her daughter Olivia was brain dead - and pregnant. Abi doesn’t believe it was an accident that Olivia fell from the bridge - but getting the detectives - Samson and McNally to listen to what she has to say - take her seriously- is like pulling teeth. Whether they help her or not - Abi is going to find out what happened to her daughter. Go Mom!As the story unfolds - we learn about Olivia’s world. We not only learn about her friends - guys & girls - ( of course suspecting any one of them as to who might have pushed Olivia off that bridge), but we learn what’s driving Olivia into a recent frenzy.She spends a ridiculous amount of time googling a girl named Kendall. There’s a reason.....one she hasn’t shared with her mother - in spite of the fact that they’ve had a pretty close relationship. We also are privy to Olivia’s thoughts - feelings - observations - and assessments towards others - often projecting how her friends and/or mom would think, feel, react, in any given situation. Olivia was a smart cookie - she knew where to draw the line with each of her friends and mom. Olivia anticipated her mother’s worries - and therefore was extra responsible in texting her mother - staying ahead of her mother’s concern’s....giving her comfort-security .....( weather true or false)....when she was away from home. Even straight A students - like Olivia and not into drugs - can become agitated and down right angry. Olivia was tired of being lied to..... which she knew her mother and friends both were doing. But WHY? Abigail Knight - Abi- is focused on the investigation, yet we get backstory on her life too. She’s the most complex character in this novel. She was an overprotective mother. Insecure with who she was. Her own mother committed suicide when she was a teenager. Her childhood obviously affected the way she was with Olivia. We do witness Abi’s growth and strength over time. Through the tragedy - from when Olivia fell - Abi discovers she didn’t know everything about her daughter. It was an ‘a-ha’ surprising revelation to her. Personally - I’m puzzled when parents think they ‘do’ know everything about their teenager. No matter how close a mother/daughter relationship might be - they are both independent of one another. This was a plausible enjoyable domestic thriller. Good - not over-the-top mind blowing gripping - rather it was a tender-heart - mystery thriller through the soul of a mother who loves her daughter.....and vice versa. 3.6 stars Thank You Netgalley, Gallery Books, and Christina McDonald
    more
  • Marialyce
    January 1, 1970
    Imagine getting the horrible news that your daughter has taken an awful fall from a bridge, is in the hospital and is declared brain dead? Now imagine that you also find out that this same daughter, who you have raised as a single parent is pregnant? This is the premise of the story The Night Olivia Fell.As a parent, this is your worst nightmare. How did this happen? How could a beloved daughter be brain dead and who is the father of the child she is carrying? Abi Knight is living that nightmare Imagine getting the horrible news that your daughter has taken an awful fall from a bridge, is in the hospital and is declared brain dead? Now imagine that you also find out that this same daughter, who you have raised as a single parent is pregnant? This is the premise of the story The Night Olivia Fell.As a parent, this is your worst nightmare. How did this happen? How could a beloved daughter be brain dead and who is the father of the child she is carrying? Abi Knight is living that nightmare. She has received the phone call every parent dreads. Her daughter, the person she has loved and cared for, has now to rely on machines to keep her alive. The machines cannot be turned off as Olivia being pregnant, must be kept on life support in an effort to keep the child she carries alive. Abi, is distraught. Her overwhelming desire is to ferret out exactly what happened to Olivia. How and why did she fall? Who is the father of her unborn grandchild, and as Abi digs further into this heart breaking dilemma, many characters play a role in Abi's search for truth. Abi's old boyfriend, a very successful politician running for office, has mysteriously reappeared as well as her sister, Sarah, who constantly lends support to a grieving mother. The police are involved, but there seems to be some kind of reluctance to investigate this tragedy. Told in alternating voices, we learn of Abi and discover her life, her fears and her ultimate love for her child. Olivia's story is one of deception, sadness, loneliness, and love. This is a story of parental love, it is the story of secrets that drive a life into despair and yet also hope, love, and eventual peace. We, as mothers, could be Abi. We all feel her pain, her loss, and her desperate need for closure. Olivia's voice is one that we can well understand, one where her youth and naivete is on display, one where she is searching for that illusive someone, her father, and her place in the world. She wants to belong, to fit, to feel a part of something her mother can't quite deliver to her. She questions her parentage and while she stumbles onto truth, she places herself in the line of danger. Christina MacDonald weaves a wonderful story of the length ones goes to in their attempt to protect their child. This novice author is able to tap into mother love and the power that lies, deception and dishonesty can play. Although the story for me did drag a bit in the middle, the beginning and the ending made this one of those "unputdownable" reads.Thank you to Christina MacDonald, Gallery Books, and NetGalley for a copy of this emotional and loving story. This book is due to be published on February 5, 2019. My reviews can also be seen here: http://yayareadslotsofbooks.wordpress...
    more
  •  Li'l Owl
    January 1, 1970
    A mother's heart-wrenching search for the truth. Breathtaking and unputdownable! The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald is one of the best books I've ever read! Beautifully written, the hope and anticipation of what the outcome would be was nearly unbearable and as heart-wrenching as it was, I could not put it down! I started this book when I had little time so I only got 20% read until the final day when I could just sit and soak up the remaining pages all in one go. Wild horses couldn't h A mother's heart-wrenching search for the truth. Breathtaking and unputdownable! The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald is one of the best books I've ever read! Beautifully written, the hope and anticipation of what the outcome would be was nearly unbearable and as heart-wrenching as it was, I could not put it down! I started this book when I had little time so I only got 20% read until the final day when I could just sit and soak up the remaining pages all in one go. Wild horses couldn't have pulled me away! The characters are perfectly scripted, capturing the age group they represented, both adults and teenagers. The storyline is completely unique to anything I've read, deeply emotional, heart-wrenching, and believable. Olivia's mother is as relentless as any mother would be which was both beautiful and courageous in her search for the truth of what happened to her daughter on that fateful night, despite everyone trying to convince her that the fall was a tragic accident and nothing more. I loved everthing about this story, from the lovely and telling cover, the radiant and graceful description of the seasons, the characters, and to the exquisite beauty of the range of emotions this novel provoked in me. I'll say now that it's a rare occurance for me to be driven to so many tears that it took quite some time for me to get through the final pages.This is one book I will be purchasing when the final copy is released in February 2019 and it will be remembered as a favorite book for both 2018 and 2019. I will, without a doubt, read it again! I recommend that you grab your favorite drink, snack, and a box of Kleenex, lock yourself away so you can enjoy the story from beginning to end! With thanks to NetGalley, Christina McDonald, and Gallery Books for this advanced uncorrected digital proof for me to read and review.
    more
  • Jenny
    January 1, 1970
    I normally take a couple of days when I finish a book to digest it and think about what I want to say but here I am just minutes after finishing The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald writing my review as fast as I can realizing that there is no need dwelling on this book because it was so riveting, raw and real. My gut feeling and the emotional reaction to this book are telling everyone out there that this is good, really good. It feeds ask of your emotions and curiosity, leaving you fulfi I normally take a couple of days when I finish a book to digest it and think about what I want to say but here I am just minutes after finishing The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald writing my review as fast as I can realizing that there is no need dwelling on this book because it was so riveting, raw and real. My gut feeling and the emotional reaction to this book are telling everyone out there that this is good, really good. It feeds ask of your emotions and curiosity, leaving you fulfilled and yet sad that like all good books, it ended.The story starts out with a mothers worst nightmare as Abi Knight gets a call from the hospital that her 17 year old daughter, Olivia, has fallen off a bridge. Single mom, Abi, races to the hospital and rushes to see her daughter, knowing that Olivia will be fine, she just needs to see her and Abi will make it alright. But she can't. After the doctor gives her the most gut-wrenching and tragic news possible, Olivia is brain dead, the doctor then drops the bombshell that Olivia is pregnant and will be kept alive due to state law until the baby can be born. What? How can my beautiful virgin daughter be pregnant is what goes through Abi's "thousand thoughts a minute" mind? How did she fall off the bridge and not survive since Olivia was a champion high school swimmer? What was Olivia doing out so late when she always came home on time? As Abi deals with the grief of losing her daughter when the baby comes, she seeks answers to all of her immediate questions and as the story unfolds, there are more and more questions that will be asked and ultimately answered about that night and the months before Olivia's fateful fall. The characters in this story are realistic and believable although not all are likable. While no one is perfect, a mother's love is. Read this book and you will feel the gamut of emotions. So curl up in your favorite chair with the beverage of your choosing for a great read. Just make sure to have tissues handy. Christina McDonald's book was one of the first books I've read this year and other books will have a tough act to follow. Thank you to Netgalley and Galley Books for an advance copy of this book. #NetGalley #TheNightOliviaFell
    more
  • j e w e l s [Books Bejeweled]
    January 1, 1970
    FOUR STARSThis is an emotional story told from two perspectives: Abi, the mom and Olivia, her teenage daughter. Right from the beginning, the book jolts you awake with Abi receiving a phone call in the middle of the night. Of course, it is not good. Her daughter, Olivia, has been rushed to a hospital after having fallen from a bridge. Whaaat happened? Now, Olivia is in a coma and can't answer the millions of questions Abi has for her. There is some suspense building and a bit of a twist during t FOUR STARSThis is an emotional story told from two perspectives: Abi, the mom and Olivia, her teenage daughter. Right from the beginning, the book jolts you awake with Abi receiving a phone call in the middle of the night. Of course, it is not good. Her daughter, Olivia, has been rushed to a hospital after having fallen from a bridge. Whaaat happened? Now, Olivia is in a coma and can't answer the millions of questions Abi has for her. There is some suspense building and a bit of a twist during the novel as we slowly find out what happened to Olivia that fateful night. I would categorize this book as more of a general fiction genre, a little out of my favorite wheel house, but I did enjoy reading this one very much. The characters are well drawn-- extremely relatable and sympathetic.I've seen THE NIGHT OLIVIA FELL compared frequently to the fabulous RECONSTRUCTING AMELIA, but, for me, this one is lacking the dark intensity. Many thanks to Netgalley and the author for my early copy! All opinions are wholly mine.
    more
  • Christine
    January 1, 1970
    4 starsI would call this one a domestic drama or domestic mystery novel with a healthy dose of YA. Though not categorized in either of of my top two genres, I requested it from Net Galley based on all the great reviews. It was the right move.The Night Olivia Fell is an impressive debut adult novel by author Christina McDonald. Olivia has died (not a spoiler—it’s in the blurb). Was it an accident as the police quickly rule or was there something more sinister at play? It’s up to Abi, Olivia’s pro 4 starsI would call this one a domestic drama or domestic mystery novel with a healthy dose of YA. Though not categorized in either of of my top two genres, I requested it from Net Galley based on all the great reviews. It was the right move.The Night Olivia Fell is an impressive debut adult novel by author Christina McDonald. Olivia has died (not a spoiler—it’s in the blurb). Was it an accident as the police quickly rule or was there something more sinister at play? It’s up to Abi, Olivia’s protective, introverted mother to determine what happened, as the police do not seem interested in the case.The story is told from the alternating perspectives of Olivia in the months leading up to her death and Abi in present time. The novel features an excellent twisty plot filled with intrigue and emotion. As the story unfolded I became more and more immersed. I have not often used the word “beautiful” to describe a mystery novel, but it is befitting in this case. We see how far a mother will go to protect her child, attain justice for what happens, and how to let go. Watching Abi evolve was almost as compelling as the mystery itself. The penultimate chapter and the touching epilogue brought tears to my eyes. The author leaves us feeling inspired and hopeful. In the crowded field of domestic drama stories, I believe this is one worth seeking out. Highly recommended for everyone.Many thanks to Net Galley, Gallery Books, and Ms. Christina McDonald for an advanced copy of the book. Opinions are mine alone and are not biased in any way.
    more
  • Christine
    January 1, 1970
    😭Excellent...emotionally spent!I loooved The Night Olivia Fell! This book was so well written, excellent storyline, amazing characters who you really felt for. I experienced so many emotions while reading this book and found myself reading through tears on several occasions. I was emotionally spent upon completion to say the least BUT I loved it. I want another novel to update be on Abi, Olivia’s mother, in a few more years, I want her to be doing well. Abi wakes to learn her only child, Olivia 😭Excellent...emotionally spent!I loooved The Night Olivia Fell! This book was so well written, excellent storyline, amazing characters who you really felt for. I experienced so many emotions while reading this book and found myself reading through tears on several occasions. I was emotionally spent upon completion to say the least BUT I loved it. I want another novel to update be on Abi, Olivia’s mother, in a few more years, I want her to be doing well. Abi wakes to learn her only child, Olivia has fallen off a bridge and is now brain dead…and the doctors will be keeping her on life-support because she is PREGNANT!!! Abi, is told by police, her daughter’s fall was an accident but Abi sees signs pointing to Olivia being pushed, there are bruises on Olivia’s arms that look like fingerprints. The Night Olivia Fell is told in past in present, from Olivia’s perspective and Abi’s present journey discovering who were daughter was and who would have wanted to harm her beloved daughter. Christina McDonald’s debut novel is a 5-star read for me without question. I highly recommend taking this emotional roller coaster ride with a box of tissues. ***BIG thank you to Netgalley and Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books for my advanced copy of The Night Olivia Fell in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Shannon
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to Gallery for gifting me a copy of The Night Olivia Fell! This story was one quick and emotional read! I finished within a day because I had to know! The Night Olivia Fell opens up with my biggest fear. Abi receives a phone call in the middle of the night from a hospital saying that her daughter, Olivia, has been in an accident. Once she arrives at the hospital she learns Olivia is not only brain dead but also pregnant. The story shifts between the present with Abi and what happened with Thanks to Gallery for gifting me a copy of The Night Olivia Fell! This story was one quick and emotional read! I finished within a day because I had to know! The Night Olivia Fell opens up with my biggest fear. Abi receives a phone call in the middle of the night from a hospital saying that her daughter, Olivia, has been in an accident. Once she arrives at the hospital she learns Olivia is not only brain dead but also pregnant. The story shifts between the present with Abi and what happened with Olivia before. The police believe it was just a tragic accident but Abi doesn’t think so. She’s determined to find out what happened to her daughter.Secrets, lies, betrayal ooo wow 4 ⭐️!
    more
  • Amy
    January 1, 1970
    Are you guys ready for another must read recommendation from me?! Don’t worry about your gigantic TBR, this isn’t out until February so you still have some time and it was so damn good that I think you’ll thank me for urging you to read it.This is told in two timelines and from both Abi’s POV as well as Olivia’s. Abi’s chapters are after Olivia fell and Olivia’s are six months before the accident. Right from the start this one tugged on my heart strings, immediately seeing Abi get the nightmaris Are you guys ready for another must read recommendation from me?! Don’t worry about your gigantic TBR, this isn’t out until February so you still have some time and it was so damn good that I think you’ll thank me for urging you to read it.This is told in two timelines and from both Abi’s POV as well as Olivia’s. Abi’s chapters are after Olivia fell and Olivia’s are six months before the accident. Right from the start this one tugged on my heart strings, immediately seeing Abi get the nightmarish news that her daughter is as good as dead and then going back to when she was a happy, carefree teenager damn near broke my heart in two. Seeing the events that led up to Olivia’s tragedy juxtaposed with knowing the inevitable outcome was really clever and awful all at once.This was definitely an emotional read and McDonald did an incredible job of making me feel the characters emotions, especially Abi, as a mom I couldn’t even fathom her pain and heartache. Besides such an evocative journey, this had some really tricky moments and was not easy for for me to put down or figure out what would happen next. Super impressive debut by an author to watch, the comparison to Reconstructing Amelia was spot on so if you’re a fan of that one do not miss this!The Night Olivia Fell in three words: Emotionally-charged, Gripping and Authentic.
    more
  • marilyn
    January 1, 1970
    Abi Knight has to live a mother's worst nightmare. Her 16 year old daughter Olivia fell from a bridge after being assaulted and is now braindead. Olivia is also pregnant, something Abi hadn't known until Olivia's doctor informed her at the hospital. Her daughter will now be kept on life support until the baby dies or can be delivered. Abi puts all her energy and effort into discovering who was with Olivia that fateful night.For a girl who didn't have any enemies, Abi thought, it turns out there Abi Knight has to live a mother's worst nightmare. Her 16 year old daughter Olivia fell from a bridge after being assaulted and is now braindead. Olivia is also pregnant, something Abi hadn't known until Olivia's doctor informed her at the hospital. Her daughter will now be kept on life support until the baby dies or can be delivered. Abi puts all her energy and effort into discovering who was with Olivia that fateful night.For a girl who didn't have any enemies, Abi thought, it turns out there were at least five people who might have motives to want Olivia out of their lives or dead. For months Olivia hadn't been herself, which Abi became more aware of as she thinks back over the events of those months. So much had been going on in Olivia's life that Abi wasn't aware of and Abi comes to learn just how much Olivia hated and resented the control that Abi exerted over her life. Control that Abi considered protecting and nurturing Olivia, but Olivia considered overbearing and repressive. As the book introduces us to each of the people who might want to harm Olivia, we also meet people who may not have wanted to harm her but still were instrumental in keeping the truth from coming out of what really happened that night. Abi is a mom driven to find out the truth no matter how much it hurts because she'll never get her daughter back. With so many people in the book who might have a motive, I wasn't positive who was responsible for her injuries. Olivia did put herself in harm's way many times, and we read some chapters from her point of view. Knowing her fate and reading her chapters, as they are happening, makes it hard to handle that we can't just stop her from taking the risks that she takes. I have never been a mother but I can see the frustration a parent would feel, wanting to protect their children and being helpless to do so. Thank you to Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books, and NetGalley for this ARC.
    more
  • Mary Kubica
    January 1, 1970
    Christina McDonald has crafted an emotionally-charged mystery that will leave readers equally gut-wretched and gripped. The Night Olivia Fell welcomes a talented new addition to the world of domestic suspense.
  • Stephanie
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsImagine being sound asleep when the jarring sound of the phone ringing awakens you and a voice tells you your teenage child has been badly hurt and you need to rush to the hospital as soon as you can. Yet, how can that be? It's impossible, clearly a mistake, your mind tells you because you know your child is safely asleep right down the hall! You rush to check only to discover their bedroom empty...and your world quickly falls to pieces. As a mother with teenage sons and a soon to be pr 4.5 starsImagine being sound asleep when the jarring sound of the phone ringing awakens you and a voice tells you your teenage child has been badly hurt and you need to rush to the hospital as soon as you can. Yet, how can that be? It's impossible, clearly a mistake, your mind tells you because you know your child is safely asleep right down the hall! You rush to check only to discover their bedroom empty...and your world quickly falls to pieces. As a mother with teenage sons and a soon to be pre-teen daughter, this is absolutely one of my most vivid nightmares come to life, a worst-case scenario that made me completely empathize with Abi, one of the main characters in The Night Olivia Fell, who in the opening scenes of this engrossing and emotionally spell-binding domestic suspense novels gets a middle of the night phone call just like I described telling her that her daughter Olivia has been badly injured. It's a phone call that will forever change her life because once she gets to the hospital she finds out that Olivia is more than injured, she's brain dead after falling off a bridge. Nothing can be done to save her. Abi is destroyed by the news since Olivia was her world, but there's more to come--the daughter she thought she knew everything about is pregnant and must be kept on life-support until the pregnancy is viable.The story is told through alternative narratives. We hear from Abi in the present day who doesn't believe Olivia fell off the bridge after seeing a circle of bruises on her daughter's wrist. She doesn't care that the police have ruled her daughter's fall an accident or that they are reluctant to the point of almost refusing to investigate because she's on a hunt to discover what happened to her daughter by herself! In flashbacks from months back leading right up to the moment she ended up on the bridge, we hear from Olivia, who was a teenage girl full of life, dreams, love, and hope for her future as she was getting ready for college and a bright future. I loved getting to know Olivia through her sections because she was such a sweet, bright, realistically portrayed teenager, but it just made it harder emotionally as I continued to read knowing her fate.Christina McDonald was excellent in portraying Abi's pain at the loss of her daughter, and I cried as I felt it along with her. I think one of the saddest moments in the book was when Abi breaks down after her sister Sarah talks about how much closer it is until the baby is born and Abi has to tell her that's the day Olivia dies! How can she be happy about her grandchild being born when it means the death of her daughter...I wept and wept at that part. Abi is a character that will stay with me for a long, long time. This character-driven novel unfolds perfectly. It's emotional, tragic, and sinister domestic suspense at its best, and I'm extremely impressed that this is McDonald's debut! Although the mystery involving Olivia was one I figured out fairly early, there are plenty of twists and red herrings along the way that will make you look at every character once or twice with suspicion! And there were other sinister things going on that tied in with the mystery that made me go "oh, now that I didn't expect"!! The Night Olivia Fell is a highly emotional read that is perfect for those who like a lighter suspense novel although it's filled with tension and drama. It's an addictive read that you won't be able to put down until you finish it! I can say with 100% certainty that I'll be watching closely for McDonald's next book! I highly recommend you pick this one up--it releases in February 2019!** A huge thank you to Christina McDonald, NetGalley and Gallery Books for an ARC copy to read in exchange for my fair and honest review. **
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    A gripping and suspenseful story of a mother’s fight for the truth of her daughter’s fall from the bridge. SUMMARYAbi Knight is startled awake by the ringing of the phone in the early hours of the morning. It’s a call no mother ever wants to get. Her daughter, Olivia, is at the hospital. There has been an accident. She had fallen off a bridge and was found on the embankment. The seventeen-year-old senior is not only brain dead, but she is also pregnant and must remain on life support to keep her A gripping and suspenseful story of a mother’s fight for the truth of her daughter’s fall from the bridge. SUMMARYAbi Knight is startled awake by the ringing of the phone in the early hours of the morning. It’s a call no mother ever wants to get. Her daughter, Olivia, is at the hospital. There has been an accident. She had fallen off a bridge and was found on the embankment. The seventeen-year-old senior is not only brain dead, but she is also pregnant and must remain on life support to keep her baby alive. The police are not investigating the fall despite the angry bruises circling Olivia wrists. Abi is livid by the lack of action and is determine to find out what happened on the bridge. REVIEWTHE NIGHT OLIVIA FELL is a cleverly-layered story of Abi and Olivia. It explores mother daughter conflicts and effortlessly blends issues from the past with the present. Chapters easily alternate between Abi and Olivia. Chapters told from Olivia’s view point share the months leading up to the accident, and her struggles with friendships, boyfriends and finding the truth behind her absent father. Chapters told from Abi’s view focus on her own past as well as her quest for answers to Olivia’s accident. It an emotionally intense story with a perfect cast of characters. My favorite part was Abi’s nonstop fight to find the truth about Olivia’s last days, Author Christina McDonald grabs her reader from the start and does not let go in this fabulous debut novel. Thanks to Netgalley, Gallery Books, and Christina McDonald for an advanced reading copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Publisher Gallery BooksPublished February 5, 2019Review www.bluestockingreviews.com
    more
  • Judy Collins
    January 1, 1970
    #BookGiveawayContest!!! #THENIGHTOLIVIAFELL @Christinamac79 #AmHosting Enter Here For a chance to WIN an "autographed" signed by the author paperback copy. US only. Contest Jan 1-Jan 15, 2019. Book coming Feb 5, 2019 and my Q&A with the Author! 💕"Whenever, whatever. I'm here forever."💕 A suspense thriller with HEART. A profoundly moving mother/daughter love story. The "Most talked" about DEBUT of 2019! Emotionally charged and sharply written with suspenseful twists and turns, Christina Mc #BookGiveawayContest!!! #THENIGHTOLIVIAFELL @Christinamac79 #AmHosting Enter Here For a chance to WIN an "autographed" signed by the author paperback copy. US only. Contest Jan 1-Jan 15, 2019. Book coming Feb 5, 2019 and my Q&A with the Author! 💕"Whenever, whatever. I'm here forever."💕 A suspense thriller with HEART. A profoundly moving mother/daughter love story. The "Most talked" about DEBUT of 2019! Emotionally charged and sharply written with suspenseful twists and turns, Christina McDonald’s debut THE NIGHT OLIVIA FELL is a winner out-of-the-gate! A complex, heart-wrenching tale, resonates Jodi Picoult, Diane Chamberlain, Karen White, Heather Gudenkauf, and Sally Hepworth caliber, with a story-line that could be ripped from today's headlines. Dark family secrets are unraveled! 5 Stars ++This intense domestic suspense will grab you by the heart from the first page to the last. Prime for book-to-movie adaptation (we can only hope) while we anxiously await the next book from this newfound talented author. "How far will a mother go to find the truth and justice for her daughter?" They said it was an accident. Her mother knows they’re lying. But the truth comes with a price… Set in the fictional town of Portage Point, Washington, we meet Abi Knight— a single mom who works hard and guards her daughter like a mother hen. Possessive at times, she wants to keep her teenage daughter, Olivia safe and offer her the best. She and her daughter are incredibly close. However, what lies stand between mother and daughter recently? Each seems to be hiding their own family secrets. When Abi receives the phone call (every parent dreads), that her teenage daughter Olivia has been injured, she is scared and upset. There has been an accident. A suspicious fall from a bridge. Furthermore, Olivia is now brain dead and must remain on life support because her daughter is pregnant. She has suffered permanent and irreversible brain damage. Pregnant? How could this be? How could a mother with a close relationship with her daughter not know she was pregnant. She would be a grandmother. Who is the father? With all the shock of Olivia’s fall from a bridge, she also discovers this may not have been an accident. There will be a police investigation. Due to the bruises on her wrists, it appears there was a struggle. Could someone intentionally pushed her to her death? What was the motive? Is there something more sinister at play? She was found at the bottom of an embankment near the ZigZag Bridge. Who would want to do her daughter harm?The author slowly unravels the past of Abi and why she is so protective. We also hear from Olivia and the events leading up to the fall. Abi: “The thought came fast, an ugly surprise. I set my teeth against it. I’d worried for so long that all the lies I kept hidden on the dark side of my heart would one day be washed into the open. These lies, my past, kept me always on guard.” Olivia had always been a natural child sunny and sweet, an easy teenager. She was not a party girl. She was a straight-A student. However, lately the events leading up to the accident, thinking back, she had seemed distracted, temperamental, and irritable. Olivia: “A dark horror slid into my heart. I’d always trusted my mom. Trusted everything she said, obeyed everything she told me to do. I’d never thought twice about questioning her. But now I felt that trust disappearing like evaporating mist. If she could lie to me about something fundamental as this, what else had she kept from me?" Abi knew Olivia had questions about her real father. However, it was too risky to come clean with this information. Little does Abi know, Olivia has discovered things on her own about her father. Things which could prove very dangerous. Abi searches desperately for clues. Could it be the father of the baby or someone from Abi’s past who has harmed her daughter? Did Olivia know too much? Who wants to guard their secret? The silver charm bracelet Olivia always wore was gone. In its place was a string of black and purple bruises. My initial thoughts after reading: What makes this novel DYNAMITE is the powerful human and emotional, psychological mother/daughter side which will bring tears to your eyes. Stunning and beautifully written and does not read like a debut novel.  The setting is very atmospheric! You can almost hear the feet on the bridge. On a personal note, I LOVE the Puget Sound area setting and have many fond memories I will cherish for years to come.  I have visited many times and one of my favorite cities. From the charming bed and breakfast inns in Seattle, Pike Place markets to the romantic and quaint cottages by the sea in Puget Sound plus the historic area of Snohomish, WA with its great antique shops. (attended a beautiful farm wedding there recently).  I have no words and am stunned. Christina: You are one talented lady, and when this hits the shelves it will be a New York Times bestseller, I have no doubt.  In the meantime readers, get this gem on your pre-order list. Bloggers, a must ARC #Netgalley request! It hits all cylinders and everything I love in a good book. Very excited to tell everyone about this newfound author!Written with compassion and lyrical prose, an acutely observed family drama of the devastating lies, secrets, and truths of a mother and daughter relationship—combined with bone-chilling mystery suspense. A heart-rendering and compelling tale of motherhood and loss, of grief and hope, and resilience. I loved this book! I enjoyed the balance between mystery and heart. Emotional and moving. In today’s world, with all the violence and unrest, it is nice to add a bit of heart and soul which keeps readers coming back for more. The best-laid plans and the extreme risks people take to save those they genuinely care about may not always prove to be the best. For fans of Lisa Jewell, Heather Gudenkauf, Sally Hepworth, Karen White, Jodi Picoult, and Diane Chamberlain (some of my favorites)! Highly recommend. My Top Books of 2019 list and Feb Top Books List. Cannot wait to see what is coming next! A special thank you to #GalleryBooks and #NetGalley for an advanced reading copy of #TheNightOliviaFell Stay tuned for my Q&A Interview with Author Christina McDonald, Coming Feb. 5, 2019! Learn the inspiration the book, and more about the author. #JDCMustReadBooks
    more
  • Babydimps (Suzy)
    January 1, 1970
    Holy freakin’ cow! This is a debut?! UNBELIEVABLE! 5 stars! Easily! ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Any book that makes me ugly cry deserves nothing less! The Night Olivia Fell has everything I look for in a mystery/thriller. It sucked me in from page 1 and I couldn’t put it down. Abi gets a call in the middle of the night that her daughter, Olivia, has has a terrible accident. Or was it? As a mother myself, I could totally relate to Abi’s character. Her protectiveness, her constant worrying, her skepticism regarding the Holy freakin’ cow! This is a debut?! UNBELIEVABLE! 5 stars! Easily! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️Any book that makes me ugly cry deserves nothing less! The Night Olivia Fell has everything I look for in a mystery/thriller. It sucked me in from page 1 and I couldn’t put it down. Abi gets a call in the middle of the night that her daughter, Olivia, has has a terrible accident. Or was it? As a mother myself, I could totally relate to Abi’s character. Her protectiveness, her constant worrying, her skepticism regarding the “accident” and her fight for justice for Olivia - it took me on an emotional roller coaster! My review could never do any justice for this fantastic book! Just read it. ASAP! Thank you to NetGalley, Christina McDonald and Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books for the opportunity to read this in exchange for my review.
    more
  • Chris C - A Midlife Wife
    January 1, 1970
    OMG my heart is broken and I cannot stop crying. What a story! ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~I have to say that I don’t think I’ve ever cried as much while reading a story as I have in this one. To say this novel is an emotional ride is an understatement. If you have a child, this would have to be a nightmare.The author did an amazing job building the story. Strong, believable characters, each with amazing personalities, just stepped out of pages. They are the kids next-door. They are your child’s be OMG my heart is broken and I cannot stop crying. What a story! ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~I have to say that I don’t think I’ve ever cried as much while reading a story as I have in this one. To say this novel is an emotional ride is an understatement. If you have a child, this would have to be a nightmare.The author did an amazing job building the story. Strong, believable characters, each with amazing personalities, just stepped out of pages. They are the kids next-door. They are your child’s best friends. How could any of them have anything to do with the accident?But one thing the story brings to the forefront is that while we think we know our child, do we really know what’s going on behind the scenes? And what do we have hidden from them that could back and haunt you?I cried for the emotional ups and downs this parent had to go through. I cried because the police didn’t do enough. I cried for the lost opportunity of this young child and the life she left behind. I cried for the broken hearts but also for the new life that had begun and the future for all involved.The ending was amazing, and quite simply, it was a perfect way to end the story. While inside we are gutted, we are left with a bit of hope and happiness for the future, like spring anew.I was scared to read this book because I have a young adult son. But in the end I’m so glad that I did because The Night Olivia Fell is a remarkable story written in such a way that you will never, ever forget it.Impactful, engrossing, and written with emotion and deep passion. Definitely make time in your day before reading this one because once you start you simply cannot put it down.5 flipping stars!*Copy received for review considerationfull review - https://amidlifewife.com/the-night-ol...
    more
  • Heather Gudenkauf
    January 1, 1970
    A stunning thriller that instantly grabbed me by the throat and wouldn’t let go until the final poignant sentence. McDonald artfully brings to the page the emotionally fraught, complex relationship between mother and daughter in this atmospheric, absorbing page-turner. The Night Olivia Fell cracked my heart into a million pieces and then slowly pieced it back together again.
    more
  • Dennis
    January 1, 1970
    3.5/5 starsOlivia Knight is found dead after falling off a bridge in their local town. Her mother, Abigail (Abi) is a single parent, working hard to save up enough money to help her daughter with upcoming college tuition payments. Abi is called in the middle of the night after her daughter is found and arrives to the emergency room at the town's hospital. Medical examiners rule that Olivia is in a comatose state, but she has encountered enough brain damage to never be able to make a recovery. Be 3.5/5 starsOlivia Knight is found dead after falling off a bridge in their local town. Her mother, Abigail (Abi) is a single parent, working hard to save up enough money to help her daughter with upcoming college tuition payments. Abi is called in the middle of the night after her daughter is found and arrives to the emergency room at the town's hospital. Medical examiners rule that Olivia is in a comatose state, but she has encountered enough brain damage to never be able to make a recovery. Before her mother pulls the plug on her daughter's life, Abi is told that her daughter is pregnant and they plan to keep Olivia alive until the baby is viable without it's mother. Shocked and in disbelief, Abi doesn't recall her daughter living promiscuously, nor does she recall her daughter breaking curfew. Olivia would've told her mother if she was pregnant—they had that type of mother-daughter relationship! Olivia's life is now in fact a mystery to Abi, but now she wants to find out who's responsible for her daughter's death.The police rule Olivia's death as an accident and are hesitant to continue searching for any culprits in her death. Abi can not accept the fact that this was a suicide or an accident—someone must have pushed her off intentionally! With no support from the local authorities, Abi must investigate her daughter's death on her own terms. The Night Olivia Fell reminded me so much of Ruth Ware's In a Dark, Dark Wood, so if you enjoyed the pacing and mystery behind that novel, I highly recommend picking this story up. It's a light mystery at it's core, so it's perfect for those who get frightened easily—perfect for a relaxing night with a glass of wine and pajamas (which is exactly what I did last night when I was wrapping up this story ;) ). The main mystery in The Night Olivia Fell isn't too difficult to figure out, but there's ultimately other sinister motives at hand that I was completely shocked about. You'll think you know everything about what's happening in this book, but McDonald will keep you guessing.
    more
  • Elizabeth
    January 1, 1970
    The Night Olivia Fell is a fast, easy read with a gorgeous cover. It is also utterly predictable.It does have a really interesting premise: Abi's seventeen year old daughter, Olivia, is pronounced brain dead upon arrival after a late night mysterious fall from a bridge. Abi, whose entire life revolves around Olivia, is shattered by this--and then, just after she's told of her daughter's death, she finds out that Olivia is pregnant. So...what happened to Olivia? Immediately, Abi realizes that wha The Night Olivia Fell is a fast, easy read with a gorgeous cover. It is also utterly predictable.It does have a really interesting premise: Abi's seventeen year old daughter, Olivia, is pronounced brain dead upon arrival after a late night mysterious fall from a bridge. Abi, whose entire life revolves around Olivia, is shattered by this--and then, just after she's told of her daughter's death, she finds out that Olivia is pregnant. So...what happened to Olivia? Immediately, Abi realizes that what happened to Olivia was no accident, and then it becomes a question of who made Olivia fall? And why?The cast/suspects are predictable; the male characters are all handsome helpers or possible/probable monsters. Female characters fare little better: the adult women are all devoted mothers or you know, not devoted mothers, the teen ones all have Issues. Everything is very, very urgent and supposed to be tension filled, but the plot is sadly as predictable as the characters, right down to the final "showdown" and misty-eyed epilogue.Olivia is the most interesting character in the book--the problems she wrestles with are a little more nuanced and the dilemmas she faces, while overlaid with the frantic edge of "This is Drama!!" work because Olivia is a seventeen year old dealing with all the drama that leads to her supposed fall.Having said all this, I do think that Christina McDonald has promise-the plot might be obvious, but it isn't ridiculous, and with more balanced characters this would have been a much more compelling read.
    more
Write a review