Carols and Chaos
A lady's maid and a valet become entangled in a yuletide counterfeiting scheme in this romantic Christmas YA adventure.1817. The happy chaos of the Yuletide season has descended upon the country estate of Shackleford Park in full force, but lady's maid Kate Darby barely has the time to notice. Between her household duties, caring for her ailing mother, and saving up money to someday own a dress shop, her hands are quite full. Matt Harlow is also rather busy. He's performing double-duty, acting as valet for both of the Steeple brothers, two of the estate's holiday guests. Falling in love would be a disaster for either of them. But staving off their feelings for each other becomes the least of their problems when a devious counterfeiting scheme reaches the gates of Shackleford Park, and Kate and Matt are unwittingly swept up in the intrigue. Full of sweetness, charm, and holiday shenanigans, Carols and Chaos is perfect for fans of Jane Austen and Downton Abbey.

Carols and Chaos Details

TitleCarols and Chaos
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseOct 9th, 2018
PublisherSwoon Reads
ISBN-139781250174871
Rating
GenreHistorical, Historical Fiction, Young Adult, Romance, Holiday, Christmas

Carols and Chaos Review

  • mith
    January 1, 1970
    at this point, i think i'm just gonna be reading everything she comes out with \_(ツ)_/ at this point, i think i'm just gonna be reading everything she comes out with ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
  • Libby
    January 1, 1970
    Not exactly a sequel, this title follows the events in "Suitors & Sabotage", focusing on Matt and Kate, servants introduced in the previous book. While still a light, enjoyable romance for young teens, the below stairs viewpoint hints at darker subjects. However challenges are quickly smoothed over for a happy-ever-after ending. These hints left me wanting something more so I didn't find this as appealing as Anstey's other titles. Still well worth a couple hours on a long airplane flight.Rev Not exactly a sequel, this title follows the events in "Suitors & Sabotage", focusing on Matt and Kate, servants introduced in the previous book. While still a light, enjoyable romance for young teens, the below stairs viewpoint hints at darker subjects. However challenges are quickly smoothed over for a happy-ever-after ending. These hints left me wanting something more so I didn't find this as appealing as Anstey's other titles. Still well worth a couple hours on a long airplane flight.Review based on an ARC provided by the publisher through NetGalley.
    more
  • Sami
    January 1, 1970
    A sweet Christmas confection with filled with dashing valets, high-spirited ladies maids, and a frothy and fantastic romance. Fans of Anstey's work will love the cameos of beloved characters, the chemistry of the two leads, and the contagious giddiness of holiday romance.
    more
  • Cara
    January 1, 1970
    This was a very cute (light) historical mystery/romance.
  • Andréa
    January 1, 1970
    Note: I received a digital review copy from the publisher through NetGalley.
  • Carol R.
    January 1, 1970
    Historical fiction, mystery, and romance, all rolled up in one! Recommend for fans of Charles Dickens' English life and Jane Eyre fans.
  • Laura
    January 1, 1970
    OMG! What did we do to be blessed with TWO books from Cindy Anstey this year! *happy dance*
  • Elaine
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you net galley for an advance copy of this novel. I have read all of this authors previous works and was excited to read this work. It was a sweet Christmas time romance set in regency times with a twist of counterfeit coin mystery to be solved. Some of the characters were in a previous work so that was delightful to see them again. I wished there was a bit more to this story in terms of character love interest development as that seemed more like insta-like. I was somewhat disappointed ho Thank you net galley for an advance copy of this novel. I have read all of this authors previous works and was excited to read this work. It was a sweet Christmas time romance set in regency times with a twist of counterfeit coin mystery to be solved. Some of the characters were in a previous work so that was delightful to see them again. I wished there was a bit more to this story in terms of character love interest development as that seemed more like insta-like. I was somewhat disappointed howthe story ended as well as we don't get to see how Kate and Matt end up--hoping they get a clothing shop together. I appreciatedthis was a clean romance so very much. I will recommend this author and novel to others.
    more
Write a review