Under My Skin
Named one of the most anticipated and top thrillers of fall 2018 by BookBub, Bookish and CrimeReadsFrom New York Times bestselling author and master of suspense Lisa Unger comes an addictive psychological thriller about a woman on the hunt for her husband's killer What if the nightmares are actually memories?It's been a year since Poppy's husband, Jack, was brutally murdered during his morning run through Manhattan's Riverside Park. In the immediate aftermath, Poppy spiraled into an oblivion of grief, disappearing for several days only to turn up ragged and confused wearing a tight red dress she didn't recognize. What happened to Poppy during those lost days? And more importantly, what happened to Jack?The case was never solved, and Poppy has finally begun to move on. But those lost days have never stopped haunting her. Poppy starts having nightmares and blackouts--there are periods of time she can't remember, and she's unable to tell the difference between what is real and what she's imagining. When she begins to sense that someone is following her, Poppy is plunged into a game of cat and mouse, determined to unravel the mystery around her husband's death. But can she handle the truth about what really happened?

Under My Skin Details

TitleUnder My Skin
Author
ReleaseOct 1st, 2018
PublisherPark Row
Rating
GenreThriller, Mystery, Fiction, Suspense, Mystery Thriller

Under My Skin Review

  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    I'm a huge Lisa Unger fan, but this one just wasn't my favorite of her novels to date. I found myself a little confused in the first half; I had to go back to sections and double check what I had read which became tedious. It's quite possible I'm over the psychological thrillers that have a dream sequence plot, and that's on me. Not a bad read, but left me feeling underwhelmed in comparison to all the other novels by Unger that I've read. Full review to come closer to pub date.*I received a revi I'm a huge Lisa Unger fan, but this one just wasn't my favorite of her novels to date. I found myself a little confused in the first half; I had to go back to sections and double check what I had read which became tedious. It's quite possible I'm over the psychological thrillers that have a dream sequence plot, and that's on me. Not a bad read, but left me feeling underwhelmed in comparison to all the other novels by Unger that I've read. Full review to come closer to pub date.*I received a review copy via the publisher.
    more
  • Debra
    January 1, 1970
    "I wonder if anyone notices that I am a ghost in my life."Poppy's husband, Jack, was murdered one year ago during his morning run in the park. After his funeral, Poppy disappeared. Her best friend and Mother were concerned and even more worried when Poppy showed up wearing a red dress, confused and with no memory as to where she was during those missing three days. Hospitalized with a "nervous breakdown", Poppy recovers but still does not have any memory of those lost days. "What is read and wha "I wonder if anyone notices that I am a ghost in my life."Poppy's husband, Jack, was murdered one year ago during his morning run in the park. After his funeral, Poppy disappeared. Her best friend and Mother were concerned and even more worried when Poppy showed up wearing a red dress, confused and with no memory as to where she was during those missing three days. Hospitalized with a "nervous breakdown", Poppy recovers but still does not have any memory of those lost days. "What is read and what isn't real?"This book was all over the place. It has a dizzying effect. When I first began reading, I was confused and had a hard time keeping track of what was happening. I scratched my head, wondering how this book got positive reviews. Initially this book is a mess. Timelines jumped around, things I thought happened, didn't happen....and then I got it. Poppy is having a hard time with her reality. She doesn’t know what is real, what as a dream, a past memory. She is confused and having trouble making sense of what is happening in her life. How many of us know what it feels like to question your reality? Is what just happed real? Was it a hallucination? A False memory, a dream? Did I have that conversation last night, or six months ago? Did I have that conversation at all? Lisa Unger did an amazingly brilliant job of having the reader feel what the female protagonist is feeling - confusion.Wow! Is all I can say! What I initially thought was a mess turned into something brilliant. AS Poppy searches for the truth, Unger will have the reader (and Poppy) questioning what is real and what isn’t. This isn’t a straight murder mystery/thriller but a wild ride in search of the truth through one woman’s reality.Very well done and thought out. Unger pulled this one off so smoothly. I was just as lost and confused as Poppy. I wasn’t clear as to what was happening and questioned my theories the entire book. Very well played, Unger! Although I wasn’t quite sure what was real and what wasn’t, I could not put this book down. I was eager to learn the truth about Jack’s murder and Poppy’s missing days.Thank you to Harlequin -Hanover Square Press and NetGalley who provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. The thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.Read more of my reviews at www.openbookpost.com
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    4 Stars.A Crazy Compelling Psychological Thriller!Poppy lost her husband Jack a year ago now - when he was murdered in what the police say was a random event, though they don’t have any answers as to what happened to him. Poppy, can’t let go of what she lost that fateful night and unfortunately she can’t remember a thing about what happened immediately thereafter, as she disappeared for a few days and everything is still a blur.Now her dreams consume her, she sees images and doesn’t know if they 4 Stars.A Crazy Compelling Psychological Thriller!Poppy lost her husband Jack a year ago now - when he was murdered in what the police say was a random event, though they don’t have any answers as to what happened to him. Poppy, can’t let go of what she lost that fateful night and unfortunately she can’t remember a thing about what happened immediately thereafter, as she disappeared for a few days and everything is still a blur.Now her dreams consume her, she sees images and doesn’t know if they are real or imagined. Of course, it could be all of the pills she’s popping and the alcohol she’s consuming. Then there’s the fact that she’s being followed by a hooded man, and then there’s Jack, who she starts seeing everywhere. Poppy is terrified, yet determined to figure out what happened to her husband before something bad ends up happening to her too. Can Poppy take control and tame the demons around her? Time will tell, as it always does. “Under My Skin” by Lisa Unger is one heck of a page turner. Twisty, turny and all around crazy, it was unputdownable! This was a buddy read with Kaceey. We sure had a wild time trying to figure this one out!Thank you to NetGalley, Harlequin - Hanover Square Press - Park Row and Lisa Unger for a complimentary copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.Published on NetGalley, Goodreads and Twitter on 9.7.18.
    more
  • Holly B
    January 1, 1970
    I have enjoyed a few of Lisa Unger's novels and I was really looking forward to this one. This one is about Poppy, who is searching for her husband's killer.It has been a year since her husband was murdered while on his morning jog, and Poppy is struggling to make sense of it. She is determined to get answers. As she dreams/has nightmares she can't seem to reconcile if they are actually "memories" of events that could be helpful in solving his murder. She is also downing sleeping pills that blu I have enjoyed a few of Lisa Unger's novels and I was really looking forward to this one. This one is about Poppy, who is searching for her husband's killer.It has been a year since her husband was murdered while on his morning jog, and Poppy is struggling to make sense of it. She is determined to get answers. As she dreams/has nightmares she can't seem to reconcile if they are actually "memories" of events that could be helpful in solving his murder. She is also downing sleeping pills that blur her sense of what is real. I thought Poppy was quite an unreliable narrator and her life was a jigsaw puzzle that she couldn't seem to put together. There is some suspense and a few mysterious characters that kept me guessing and wondering what was real. I enjoyed the writing, but the story line became a bit tiresome for me.This was a quick read for me with enough suspense to keep me turning pages to find out what exactly was "real". Thanks to Harlequin and NG for the Arc. Publishes Oct. 2, 2018
    more
  • Jenny
    January 1, 1970
    It has been explained thoroughly. All options have been explored and dismissed. The outcome is inevitable. Yet when this anticipated death arrives, we are stunned and shaken.If prior warning of deaths arrival stuns us, imagine the effect of a sudden violent murder can be to the loving wife of the victim.Poppy Lang, the heroine of Under My Skin, waved goodby to her husband, Jack, as he sets off on an early morning jog through Riverside Park. Hours later Detective Grayson is asking her questions b It has been explained thoroughly. All options have been explored and dismissed. The outcome is inevitable. Yet when this anticipated death arrives, we are stunned and shaken.If prior warning of deaths arrival stuns us, imagine the effect of a sudden violent murder can be to the loving wife of the victim.Poppy Lang, the heroine of Under My Skin, waved goodby to her husband, Jack, as he sets off on an early morning jog through Riverside Park. Hours later Detective Grayson is asking her questions but all Poppy can do is try to understand: Jack is dead. Jack was savagely beaten to death on his run. Her Mother is there. Her friend Layla provides support. There is a funeral. It is all too much and not enough. Poppy disappears. Four days later she wakes up in a hospital with no memory of these days.Now a year later, Poppy is struggling with her life. Dr. Nash, her psychiatrist, listens, asks pointed questions, and provides prescription meds. Layla is warm and loving. Her home is always open to Poppy as is her supply of pills. But Polly is sinking. Her dreams are violent and disturbing. Someone is following her or is it her delusions?A break! As Poppy struggles her dreams become more vivid as some images appear and reappear. What does this mean? Are they real or is Poppy unstable?Slowly pieces begin to come together. Fleeting images become grounded, clues are uncovered and secrets come to life. Finding Jacks killer and restoring Poppy's mental stability is a painful and dangerous journey.Lisa Unger, the author of this engrossing read, skillfully weaves twists that range from subtile to gut wrenching into a story of love, friendship, death and healingI received an advance copy of this book from Netgalley. #Netgalley #UnderMySkin
    more
  • Mackey
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 maze like stars! Lisa Unger has created a maze that both captivated and surprised me with her latest thriller, Under My Skin.Poppy, a talented and successful media specialist and photographer, is recovering from the murder of her husband in a what appeared to be a "random act of violence." After his murder, which never was solved, she had a breakdown and was hospitalized. All that she remembers of that time is the day of the murder and waking up in the hospital. Her best friend found her in 4.5 maze like stars! Lisa Unger has created a maze that both captivated and surprised me with her latest thriller, Under My Skin.Poppy, a talented and successful media specialist and photographer, is recovering from the murder of her husband in a what appeared to be a "random act of violence." After his murder, which never was solved, she had a breakdown and was hospitalized. All that she remembers of that time is the day of the murder and waking up in the hospital. Her best friend found her in a red party dress, very shaken and disheveled. That was nearly a year ago. Now Poppy is beginning to have disturbing dreams, flashbacks and, perhaps, hallucinations. She is taking sleeping pills, anxiety medication and mixing it with alcohol. Her life is a wreck and who is to say that what she is seeing or experiencing isn't the product of her pills and alcohol? These are the questions that hang over the entire book. To say that Poppy is an unreliable narrator is a complete understatement. As readers, we are left to decide what is real and what might be a figment of Poppy's imagination. With the help of a detective who barely believes her and Noah, who may or may not be her stalker, Poppy attempts to unravel her past and, hopefully, uncover clues about her husband's murder. What she discovers may not be what she wants to find. Under My Skin has every element of a true psychological thriller: unreliable narrator, psychological trauma, never-ending mind games and a lot of action. What Unger does well is delving deeper into the personalities of her characters. We know what they are thinking, how they feel, the relationships that they have with the characters in the book and how those relationships make or made them as a person. Poppy's relationships, ultimately, will be the deciding factor in the climactic and surprising ending.I immensely enjoyed reading Under My Skin, finished it in less that a day and loved every minute of it. It is a labyrinth that has you running circles and second guessing what you - and Poppy - thought was real.  It also features quite a bit of Carl Jung's dream theories and, for me, that was like icing on the cake. I'm a huge Jung fan! If you like real psychological thrillers, suspense or murder mysteries, then this is a book for you. Thank you @Edelweiss, @LisaUnger and @ParkRowBooks for my copy of #UnderMySkin, publish date October 2, 2018.  
    more
  • Selene
    January 1, 1970
    Genre: Mystery/ThrillerPOV/s: First-person, singularTriggers? No.Tone: Defeated HEA? (view spoiler)[Yes. (hide spoiler)]Poppy Lang’s life is in disarray two days after her husband’s funeral. She has a nervous breakdown and can’t recall where she was or what she was doing after Jack was laid to rest. These unaccounted hours are what this story is centered around.This story picks up a year after Jack’s death. Poppy has completed a short stint in a psychiatric facility, has returned to the agency s Genre: Mystery/ThrillerPOV/s: First-person, singularTriggers? No.Tone: Defeated HEA? (view spoiler)[Yes. (hide spoiler)]Poppy Lang’s life is in disarray two days after her husband’s funeral. She has a nervous breakdown and can’t recall where she was or what she was doing after Jack was laid to rest. These unaccounted hours are what this story is centered around.This story picks up a year after Jack’s death. Poppy has completed a short stint in a psychiatric facility, has returned to the agency she and Jack created, and she is finally wading out of a deep mental swamp of despair. But Jack’s unsolved murder leaves Poppy in an emotional limbo and she’s haunted by her memories of him.A year—for most people it’s a heartbeat, days rushing into weeks into months that pass in a blur. For the grieving, it’s an eternity, life aborted, days dark and slogging.Poppy acknowledges that her marriage wasn’t perfect and that she was always in love with her husband.A marriage is a mosaic, comprised of pieces—some broken and jagged, some shiny, some dull, some golden. The pieces don’t matter as much as the whole picture of your life together.Along the way, Poppy’s friends and even her subconscious seem to hint that her repressed memories are a kindness, that there’s only agony laced with the truth of what she can’t remember. “Poppy,” Jack says. He stands, wearing his running clothes that are smeared with mud and blood. The side of his head is mashed, unnatural. “Don’t do this. Keep looking for answers and you’re going to find things you won’t like. Take the advice everyone keeps giving you and let me go. I’m gone. Long gone.”This book is divided into two parts. The first forty percent was a bit lackluster and it took extra effort to keep reading on. Part one was repetitive as Poppy drifted from one flashback to another and had difficulty distinguishing reality from hallucinations and nightmares. (view spoiler)[Part two immediately began with some clarity from Poppy’s perspective, but the final answers about Jack’s death weren’t revealed until the last few pages of this book. (hide spoiler)]Issues?All of the secrecy, ominous bits, and obvious withholding of information from the fragile Poppy should’ve spurred me on to read this story more quickly. Oddly enough, this book was too easy to put down and didn’t grip me as strongly. Also, every time Poppy thought she was inching closer to truths about her old life with Jack, she’d self sabotage and derail by pill popping. Part of her wanted her memories back. The other part of her was very content to live in the peaceful woods of denial. ▣ The writing was solid but this story didn’t rock me, shake me, or deliver the thrill I was after. This story is perfect for the reader looking for a psychological suspense novel with a character-driven approach and featuring an unreliable narrator. For me, finding out the why behind Jack’s death was anticlimactic. *NetGalley ARC kindly provided by HARLEQUIN - Hanover Square Press in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Monica
    January 1, 1970
    Really fantastic!! I've read Lisa Unger before and she never disappoints!! The characters in this book feel so real and believable. I felt their struggles and frustrations. The ending was a complete surprise, as all good mysteries should be. I highly recommend this book for all psychological thriller book lovers! Special thanks to NegGalley for the advanced reader's copy in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Selena
    January 1, 1970
    I received a free e-copy of Under My Skin by Lisa Unger from Net Galley for my review. An exciting and twisty psychological thriller that will keep you reading and wanting more.
  • Pauline
    January 1, 1970
    Under my Skin by Lisa Unger is a psychological thriller about Poppy who's husband Jack is murdered one morning while he is out running.Poppy is determined to find out who the killer is and why this has happened. Unfortunately she is having nightmares and is taking a lot of pills. She thinks someone is stalking her and she is having blackouts and losing time. I found this book really confusing and this affected my enjoyment of the book.I would like to thank NetGalley and HQ for my e-copy in excha Under my Skin by Lisa Unger is a psychological thriller about Poppy who's husband Jack is murdered one morning while he is out running.Poppy is determined to find out who the killer is and why this has happened. Unfortunately she is having nightmares and is taking a lot of pills. She thinks someone is stalking her and she is having blackouts and losing time. I found this book really confusing and this affected my enjoyment of the book.I would like to thank NetGalley and HQ for my e-copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Dennis
    January 1, 1970
    Under My Skin is my first read by Lisa Unger, and I'm hesitant to pick up any other of her works, even though I heard that her writing is fabulous. Under My Skin is written beautifully, but falls under the trap of going around in circles until the climax of the story. By that point in time, do I really even care? Poppy's husband Jack was murdered during his run in the Upper West Side last year, and there's been absolutely no leads on who could've committed this terrible crime. After his fune Under My Skin is my first read by Lisa Unger, and I'm hesitant to pick up any other of her works, even though I heard that her writing is fabulous. Under My Skin is written beautifully, but falls under the trap of going around in circles until the climax of the story. By that point in time, do I really even care? Poppy's husband Jack was murdered during his run in the Upper West Side last year, and there's been absolutely no leads on who could've committed this terrible crime. After his funeral, Poppy blacked out imperative moments following the arrangements, but has visions and vivid dreams about the moments that she can't remember in her lucid state. Her dreams are getting the best of her, but her psychiatrist Dr. Nash believes that it's completely normal during the grieving process. As Poppy is being weaned off her sleeping medication, she starts noticing that she's being followed, but is unsure if it's the adverse side effects of her medication. Now that her physical state is getting back to normal, Poppy starts remembering things in her dreams that just don't add up. What if the nightmares are actually memories?I was not a fan of Under My Skin , and I feel really bad for saying so. I think the main reasons why this story didn't work for me is that it follows too many dream sequences. I enjoyed it in Sometimes I Lie and Behind Her Eyes, but it's different this time around. Poppy's thought process literally switches gear mid paragraph into her dreaming state, without any provocation. You reeeeallllllyyyyy need to pay attention in order to follow along, which can get annoying after your halfway through the story. Losing a loved one is always tough, but Poppy's obsession with staying in the past, what Jack's life was all about, what Jack would do, etc., began to get on my nerves. I think that the story's central theme of heartache and grief really missed the mark in Under My Skin . Call me a coldhearted bitch from hell all you want, but it just kept me from enjoying the story.
    more
  • Kendall
    January 1, 1970
    So, I've heard nothing but fantastic things about Lisa Unger. I was ecstatic to get my hands on an early arc of Lisa's newest book.I found myself a tad bit confused in the beginning and had to check couple of times that the characters matched up etc. This became a tad annoying for me and tad tedious. It's a high probability that I may just be a little over psychological thrillers?? haha Poppy's husband was murdered to a random event as the police have told her. Poppy can't let go of her husband. So, I've heard nothing but fantastic things about Lisa Unger. I was ecstatic to get my hands on an early arc of Lisa's newest book.I found myself a tad bit confused in the beginning and had to check couple of times that the characters matched up etc. This became a tad annoying for me and tad tedious. It's a high probability that I may just be a little over psychological thrillers?? haha Poppy's husband was murdered to a random event as the police have told her. Poppy can't let go of her husband. Unfortunately, Poppy blacked out right after the death of her husband and can't remember anything. Poppy soon starts having very vivid dreams... where she can't figure out if they're real or dreams. Of course.. Poppy starts being followed by a hooded man.... who is this mysterious man? Can Poppy pull herself together and figure out what happened to her husband? This definitely was a twisty thriller that leaves you on the edge of your seat. Overall, I enjoyed but just didn't have that slam of a spark I was looking for in my thrillers. Poppy got on my nerves a tad bit as well.. with her doing some crazy ass stuff! Huge thank you to Netgalley and Harlequin/Park Row for the opportunity to read this in exchange for my honest thoughts.3 stars rounded up! Published to GR: 9/9/18Publication date: 10/2/18
    more
  • Judy
    January 1, 1970
    Lisa Unger is a new favorite author for me. This is the third book I've read by her and all of them have been really good! Poppy was a good character who was dealing with the fact that her husband was murdered and the case hasn't been solved. Poppy had a breakdown and had to get help from a counsellor as well as medication to help her sleep which she is mixing with pills her friend Layla gave her and alcohol. Poppy thinks someone is following her, but she doesn't know what is real and what is im Lisa Unger is a new favorite author for me. This is the third book I've read by her and all of them have been really good! Poppy was a good character who was dealing with the fact that her husband was murdered and the case hasn't been solved. Poppy had a breakdown and had to get help from a counsellor as well as medication to help her sleep which she is mixing with pills her friend Layla gave her and alcohol. Poppy thinks someone is following her, but she doesn't know what is real and what is imagined. The suspense builds throughout the novel as things keep happening and Poppy tries to get off the pills and get a handle on what is really happening. A couple of the twists really surprised me. A good psychological thriller.Thanks to Lisa Unger and HARLEQUIN - Hanover Square Press through Netgalley for an advance copy.
    more
  • JuJu (Julie)
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 ⭐‘s. Haunting suspense with a touch of paranormal! Poppy narrates the story, alternating between past, present, dreams and memories—sometimes unexpectedly. At times I wasn’t sure which of these I was reading, and felt as confused as Poppy! I would have given it a higher rating if some of the transitions were easier to follow. However, when I wasn’t confused, I was totally enthralled by Lisa’s storytelling.Poppy tells us about her husband’s unsolved murder and the guilt she feels. She keeps r 3.5 ⭐️‘s. Haunting suspense with a touch of paranormal! Poppy narrates the story, alternating between past, present, dreams and memories—sometimes unexpectedly. At times I wasn’t sure which of these I was reading, and felt as confused as Poppy! I would have given it a higher rating if some of the transitions were easier to follow. However, when I wasn’t confused, I was totally enthralled by Lisa’s storytelling.Poppy tells us about her husband’s unsolved murder and the guilt she feels. She keeps reliving that day—thinking about all the “what ifs”. She can’t let go of Jack. She sees him in her dreams and when she’s awake. She’s still running the business they started together, but she’s never bothered unpacking his belongings after moving into the new apartment. The boxes, with his name on them, are just another reminder of everything she’s lost. Her best friend—Layla—helped her setup a profile on a dating site and she’s starting to date again...well she wouldn’t exactly call it dating like sleeping around. Her life is a mess...the blackouts and time she can’t account for. There are so many missing pieces—lost days after her breakdown. The vivid dreams that feel like memories—she wakes up confused, in the bathroom of a club, wearing a red dress. Is it real or imagined? She’s not sure what’s happening to her—daydreams, flashbacks or hallucinations—but she keeps seeing Jack, a mystery woman and a hooded stranger following her.Her nightmares are getting worse. She’s self-medicating with more than just her prescribed sleeping pills...mixing it all with alcohol. She knows it’s getting out of hand, but she longs for dreamless sleep and escape. She’s a wreck and no longer recognizes the woman staring back at her in the mirror. Thank you NetGalley and Park Row for this ARC, in exchange for my honest review! #UnderMySkin #NetGalley
    more
  • Alafair Burke
    January 1, 1970
    How do we know the difference between memories and nightmares? Under My Skin is a twisty, captivating psychological thriller that explores the lingering toll of grief and the enduring power of love and loyalty. This is Lisa Unger at the top of her game.
    more
  • Sherri Thacker
    January 1, 1970
    Under My Skin is about a woman who has lost her husband in a horrific crime one early morning while he was jogging. The story goes back and forth between the real time and her dreams but she can’t figure out what was real, what was a dream. I found myself getting confused many times during this book but I wanted to find out if they found the killer(s). I enjoyed this book and will look for more books written by Lisa Unger. Thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for giving me the opportunity to re Under My Skin is about a woman who has lost her husband in a horrific crime one early morning while he was jogging. The story goes back and forth between the real time and her dreams but she can’t figure out what was real, what was a dream. I found myself getting confused many times during this book but I wanted to find out if they found the killer(s). I enjoyed this book and will look for more books written by Lisa Unger. Thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for giving me the opportunity to read this book for my honest review. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Kim
    January 1, 1970
    This is a story about Poppy and her journey after her husband Jack is brutally beaten to death while out for an early morning run. A run that they usually do together,except that morning, Poppy was ill and opted to stay in bed. Think how guilty you would feel that you weren't there with Jack. That maybe your extra presence could have prevented it. Is that what is going on with Poppy? We are taken for a wild ride inside Poppy's head a year after the murder of Jack. Her entire life has unraveled. This is a story about Poppy and her journey after her husband Jack is brutally beaten to death while out for an early morning run. A run that they usually do together,except that morning, Poppy was ill and opted to stay in bed. Think how guilty you would feel that you weren't there with Jack. That maybe your extra presence could have prevented it. Is that what is going on with Poppy? We are taken for a wild ride inside Poppy's head a year after the murder of Jack. Her entire life has unraveled. She literally can't tell what is a dream and what is reality. So much so, that she has started to take pictures of herself with others to prove to herself later that these things really occurred. She is desperately trying to find out the truth of what happened the day she lost Jack forever. Made even more difficult by the fact that she feels like she is literally losing her mind. The killer is still on the loose and there are no leads. She is searching for the truth but is spiraling out of control by self medicating with pills and alcohol to escape. Thank goodness she has her BFF since 8th grade, Layla and her husband Mac who take her in and care for her. This book had a very interesting premise. It was suggested that Poppy is suffering from a condition called hypnagogia. Which I am a nurse and I have never even heard of this. I looked it up and it states it can be brought on by anxiety, insomnia, stress, drug and alcohol use. Looks like we have the poster child for this condition with Poppy. So Unger really put a very unique story line out there and researched it well. Even though this was a very interesting concept, I had trouble keeping track of what was going on. I know this was done on purpose so that we could experience what Poppy was. Even so, it became a bit difficult to truly be lost in the story when you were struggling to follow along. I still did in fact enjoy reading this ARC and this is where I am going to struggle to rate it because I feel it is not quite a 4 but not a 3 star. So that leaves 3.5 stars from me. Thank you so much to Lisa Unger, Harlequin and NetGalley for the ARC.
    more
  • Darinda
    January 1, 1970
    Poppy is grieving the loss of her husband. It has been a year since he was murdered, and the case has not been solved. Soon after her husband's death, Poppy disappeared from her family and friends for a few days. She never told them where she was or what she was doing, and, in fact, Poppy has blocked those days from her memory. Now that Poppy is attempting to move on, she wants to remember those days, and feels that if only she could regain her memories, she could discover what happened to her h Poppy is grieving the loss of her husband. It has been a year since he was murdered, and the case has not been solved. Soon after her husband's death, Poppy disappeared from her family and friends for a few days. She never told them where she was or what she was doing, and, in fact, Poppy has blocked those days from her memory. Now that Poppy is attempting to move on, she wants to remember those days, and feels that if only she could regain her memories, she could discover what happened to her husband.Poppy is a mess of a character. She is, understandably, devastated with the loss of her husband. She self-medicates and drinks too much to deal with her depression. The mixing of pills and alcohol causes Poppy to suffer from blackouts. She thinks that someone is following her, but she's not sure who or why. Since she's not the most stable person, it's hard to believe if she's really in danger. When Poppy is seems to be onto something that may lead to answers, she self-destructs. It's frustrating, but gripping. The story is told from Poppy's viewpoint, which is confusing and chaotic. An engaging and unpredictable psychological thriller. Dark, suspenseful, and twisty. I received a free eARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Rheama
    January 1, 1970
    Dreams and pictures, pictures and dreams.Jack and Poppy are successful photographers, living a “picture perfect” life in New York. Until one cold morning when Jack unknowingly jogs to his death, the victim of a random act of city violence. Poppy is left to pick up the pieces of their life together, but she’s a haunted woman. More and more often, she simply breaks from reality. Are her visions real or dreams? Hallucinations or memories? Chemical induced phantoms or genuine ghosts? How can you sol Dreams and pictures, pictures and dreams.Jack and Poppy are successful photographers, living a “picture perfect” life in New York. Until one cold morning when Jack unknowingly jogs to his death, the victim of a random act of city violence. Poppy is left to pick up the pieces of their life together, but she’s a haunted woman. More and more often, she simply breaks from reality. Are her visions real or dreams? Hallucinations or memories? Chemical induced phantoms or genuine ghosts? How can you solve a murder if you can’t tell what’s real? Well. You can always take a picture to prove it’s all in your head. Or not.The mystery itself is intriguing, but this piece of suspense stands out from a hundred others because of Lisa Unger’s keen insight and poetic writing style. “The photos I thumbed through this morning - the night we met outside the gallery, a picture he snapped while I was reading, lounging on our bed after making love - that was a woman I’m sure existed only for him, with him. Our faces, our body language, the changing light of a room, every second is different than the one before or after. The photographer chooses one among the infinite. It’s both a lie, a trick of light, and an irrefutable truth.” Sprinkled through the book are variations of that one terrible morning when Jack never came home - each scene similar but changed enough that Jack escapes fate each time. This is Poppy’s deepest wish expressed in recurring dreams. It’s a beautiful and heartbreaking piece of the plot. Lisa Unger is a bit of a genius, I think. I’ve become a fan. I’d like to read the rest of her work.(P.S. As much as I love this book, I wish some of the characters hadn’t been filthy rich. Wealthy folks doing wealthy folk thangs? Can’t relate.) Thank you to the author, publisher, and Net Galley for providing a copy of this book in exchange for a fair review. My thoughts on this book can also be found on my blog, Cheap Thrill Book Reviews.
    more
  • Wendi Lee
    January 1, 1970
    *4.5 stars*Another stunning book by Lisa Unger! A year has gone by, but Poppy is still reeling from the unsolved murder of her husband, Jack. It doesn’t help that she lost time shortly after his funeral, or that her reality is being peppered with hallucinations of places she’s certain she’s never been, and people she’s never met. What happened to Jack? And is someone stalking Poppy, or is she slowly losing her mind?I loved this thriller. You feel unsteady the whole time you read, the scenes beau *4.5 stars*Another stunning book by Lisa Unger! A year has gone by, but Poppy is still reeling from the unsolved murder of her husband, Jack. It doesn’t help that she lost time shortly after his funeral, or that her reality is being peppered with hallucinations of places she’s certain she’s never been, and people she’s never met. What happened to Jack? And is someone stalking Poppy, or is she slowly losing her mind?I loved this thriller. You feel unsteady the whole time you read, the scenes beautiful and macabre, the whole novel very dream-like. Poppy was a wholly sympathetic character, and I loved how the mystery of what happened to Jack (and Poppy’s lost few days) unraveled. There’s a cameo of a beloved character from the Hollows series, and some of the characters from another Unger book have a strong role here as well. Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for an arc.
    more
  • Helen Power
    January 1, 1970
    This was a good one! I recommend this book to those who are looking for a character-driven psychological thriller that is well-written and engaging. There are just enough plot twists and turns to keep the story interesting until its last pages. Full review coming soon.
    more
  • Liz Barnsley
    January 1, 1970
    Clever, involving and very addictive psychological drama here from Lisa Unger who is one of my favourite writers in this genre. Highly recommended.
  • Roma Sharma
    January 1, 1970
    The books is written in 2 parts. Part one is slow, confusing and repetitive. It’s confusing and hard to figure out what is real and what is a dream. Part 2 is better and the who and the why of the murder is revealed almost at the end. It’s guessable but I still didn’t guess it right. Poppy is an unreliable narrator. She’s the epitome of being unreliable actually! I don’t understand her character well. It’s hard to imagine that she continues to consume pills and alcohol despite knowing that the o The books is written in 2 parts. Part one is slow, confusing and repetitive. It’s confusing and hard to figure out what is real and what is a dream. Part 2 is better and the who and the why of the murder is revealed almost at the end. It’s guessable but I still didn’t guess it right. Poppy is an unreliable narrator. She’s the epitome of being unreliable actually! I don’t understand her character well. It’s hard to imagine that she continues to consume pills and alcohol despite knowing that the only way she can solve her husband’s murder is by keeping a clear head. The actual story is extremely interesting but it’s not been treated well. The writing ends up confusing the reader and there were many places where I had to stop and re-read! Given the stark difference in the plot between part 1 and 2, I think a rating of 3 is a good indicator of the book overall. **Thank you to Netgalley and Harlequin for providing me with a advance reader copy of the book in exchange for an unbiased review.**
    more
  • Cindy
    January 1, 1970
    I'm a big fan of Lisa Unger and normally her books keep me reading late into the night. This one, however, took me longer to read. I wasn't immediately grabbed into the story line.The first half we meet Poppy, whose husband was murdered. She has spent a year basically having a nervous breakdown. She is seeing things including her dead bloodied husband, a person following her. She doesn't know if these are dreams or for real. She is taking meds with alcohol. Sometimes during the first half of the I'm a big fan of Lisa Unger and normally her books keep me reading late into the night. This one, however, took me longer to read. I wasn't immediately grabbed into the story line.The first half we meet Poppy, whose husband was murdered. She has spent a year basically having a nervous breakdown. She is seeing things including her dead bloodied husband, a person following her. She doesn't know if these are dreams or for real. She is taking meds with alcohol. Sometimes during the first half of the book I was so confused as to what I was reading, I seriously thought I was drinking and taking drugs along with Poppy!But the second half was much clearer so evidently I really wasn't on the drugs and drinking while reading! Which was good to know. LOL After that, I enjoyed the book much more, enough to give 4 stars. Lots of surprises in the second half and Lisa, I still love your books! 💜* I was provided an ARC to read from the publisher and NetGalley. It was my decision to read and review this book..
    more
  • Laura Rash
    January 1, 1970
    Some might be confused about the sequences in this story as they slip from dreamlike fatigue, questionable memories and medically induced fogs but it makes for a unique way of story telling. I really enjoyed this one and the ending was exciting and left me content.
    more
  • Sheri Morell
    January 1, 1970
    I was pulled into this book from page 1 and didn't want to put it down. The Main character, Poppy, was a very complex character. Poppy's husband Jack is murdered and Poppy has a breakdown where she loses memory of several days. Poppy is trying to find answers about why Jack was murdered and what happened to her during her breakdown. I was intrigued from the start and did not want to put the book down. Although I had my suspicions the ending was very unexpected. I highly recommend this book. I ha I was pulled into this book from page 1 and didn't want to put it down. The Main character, Poppy, was a very complex character. Poppy's husband Jack is murdered and Poppy has a breakdown where she loses memory of several days. Poppy is trying to find answers about why Jack was murdered and what happened to her during her breakdown. I was intrigued from the start and did not want to put the book down. Although I had my suspicions the ending was very unexpected. I highly recommend this book. I have loved all of Lisa's book so far and this one did not disappoint. Thank you to Lisa, her publisher, NetGalley, for this amazing ARC in exchange for this honest review
    more
  • Marj Ward
    January 1, 1970
    I love this Author's writing and have read all her books. I was totally immersed in this story from the beginning. Poppy suffers a breakdown after the funeral of her husband who was murdered while on his morning run. No one was arrested or charged. Poppy loses a few days of her life and is not sure if she is dreaming or remembering pieces of what happened. Her best friend was keeping a huge secret from her. To say the ending had me gasping out loud is an understatement. Thanks to NetGalley, Harl I love this Author's writing and have read all her books. I was totally immersed in this story from the beginning. Poppy suffers a breakdown after the funeral of her husband who was murdered while on his morning run. No one was arrested or charged. Poppy loses a few days of her life and is not sure if she is dreaming or remembering pieces of what happened. Her best friend was keeping a huge secret from her. To say the ending had me gasping out loud is an understatement. Thanks to NetGalley, Harlequin and the Author for allowing me to read and review this book.
    more
  • Cristina Trowbridge
    January 1, 1970
    After Poppy’s husband is violently killed while out on a jog she where was supposed to have joined him, her entire life spirals into an emotional breakdown, leaving her with gaps in her memory and a paranoia that she is being followed. A year later, Poppy is still struggling to put her life back together, while piecing together dreams, memories, and even possible clues to prove her husband’s death wasn’t due to a random robbery, but rather from something much more sinister. Although I found part After Poppy’s husband is violently killed while out on a jog she where was supposed to have joined him, her entire life spirals into an emotional breakdown, leaving her with gaps in her memory and a paranoia that she is being followed. A year later, Poppy is still struggling to put her life back together, while piecing together dreams, memories, and even possible clues to prove her husband’s death wasn’t due to a random robbery, but rather from something much more sinister. Although I found parts of the storyline not always adding up (either the book was too smart and I was under-caffeinated, or there were some holes), I still had trouble putting it down. And even when the ending fully wrapped up, I still had a few questions. 3 ½ starsSpecial Note: Thank you to Netgalley and the publishers of this book for allowing me to read an advanced copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review!
    more
  • Anne
    January 1, 1970
    To say that I'm a fan of Lisa Unger would be an understatement; I've read everything she's written and loved all of it. To say I consumed this book would be a lie; IT literally consumed ME! I was breathless the entire time I was reading. Who knows which are nightmares and which are memories? Certainly not Poppy whose husband, Jack was murdered a year ago and there have been no leads. Poppy is devastated and can't move on with her life, even "losing" some days immediately following his death. Fri To say that I'm a fan of Lisa Unger would be an understatement; I've read everything she's written and loved all of it. To say I consumed this book would be a lie; IT literally consumed ME! I was breathless the entire time I was reading. Who knows which are nightmares and which are memories? Certainly not Poppy whose husband, Jack was murdered a year ago and there have been no leads. Poppy is devastated and can't move on with her life, even "losing" some days immediately following his death. Friends and family are there to help as well as a therapist and police detective, but Poppy is sleep-deprived and attempts to self-medicate with pills and alcohol. But there are way more secrets and lies to uncover and we are thrown into a whirlwind of questions with no answers...until Poppy can "awaken" and take control of her own life. Like all of Unger's books, this one has many beautiful and dark layers that must be peeled away before the truth can emerge. Plan on staying up all night for this one!
    more
  • Tamara
    January 1, 1970
    Review to come later.Quick thoughts:I was really excited about this book from the description, but for a good bit of the first of the book- it was easy to get jumbled up with Poppy. I found myself re-reading sections to make sure if I understood where her dream world ended...The last 20%-ish of the book was really good- as Poppy begins to put the pieces together, but I was almost emotionally fatigued from trying to keep up with her in first part of book.
    more
Write a review