The Last Time I Lied
Two Truths and a Lie. The girls played it all the time in their tiny cabin at Camp Nightingale. Vivian, Natalie, Allison, and first-time camper Emma Davis, the youngest of the group. The games ended when Emma sleepily watched the others sneak out of the cabin in the dead of night. The last she--or anyone--saw of them was Vivian closing the cabin door behind her, hushing Emma with a finger pressed to her lips.Now a rising star in the New York art scene, Emma turns her past into paintings--massive canvases filled with dark leaves and gnarled branches that cover ghostly shapes in white dresses. The paintings catch the attention of Francesca Harris-White, the socialite and wealthy owner of Camp Nightingale. When Francesca implores her to return to the newly reopened camp as a painting instructor, Emma sees an opportunity to try to find out what really happened to her friends.Yet it's immediately clear that all is not right at Camp Nightingale. Already haunted by memories from fifteen years ago, Emma discovers a security camera pointed directly at her cabin, mounting mistrust from Francesca and, most disturbing of all, cryptic clues Vivian left behind about the camp's twisted origins. As she digs deeper, Emma finds herself sorting through lies from the past while facing threats from both man and nature in the present.And the closer she gets to the truth about Camp Nightingale, the more she realizes it may come at a deadly price.

The Last Time I Lied Details

TitleThe Last Time I Lied
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 3rd, 2018
PublisherDutton
Rating
GenreThriller, Mystery, Fiction, Mystery Thriller, Horror

The Last Time I Lied Review

  • j e w e l s [Books Bejeweled]
    January 1, 1970
    FIVE STARSI’m trying my best to contain my excitement and review Riley Sager’s new book in a professional manner.YIPPEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!See that? I only used one exclamation point. I want at least 300 more! It is a spanking good, cracker jack of a novel that I could not stop reading for two days.THE LAST TIME I LIED is a brilliant and campy (pun intended) mystery for all you grown up fans of Nancy Drew or the Hardy Boys.It will be the 2018 summer-beach-novel-must-read! This is a nostalgic and t FIVE STARSI’m trying my best to contain my excitement and review Riley Sager’s new book in a professional manner.YIPPEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!See that? I only used one exclamation point. I want at least 300 more! It is a spanking good, cracker jack of a novel that I could not stop reading for two days.THE LAST TIME I LIED is a brilliant and campy (pun intended) mystery for all you grown up fans of Nancy Drew or the Hardy Boys.It will be the 2018 summer-beach-novel-must-read! This is a nostalgic and twisted look back at your own summer camp memories. It’s terrific fun!I'm crazy about Sager’s deceptively easy writing style. He breezes right through the telling of the story, all the while creating mood, atmosphere and the fun kind of dread you get in the pit of your stomach while watching a horror flick. The pages suck you in and Sager holds your hand as he walks you through the creepy story that began 15 years ago at Camp Nightingale. Three out of four girls disappeared from the Dogwood cabin and that fourth girl? She suffered a nervous breakdown in the months following the disappearance of her friends. In a way, she is the SOLE SURVIVOR, and if you loved Final Girls you know what that means. Yes, Emma is a Final Girl and she is a sympathetic and very unreliable narrator. Emma has a chance to return to the camp fifteen years later, and of course, in Riley Sager’s world, she goes back to teach art at the camp. Oh, and to solve the old mystery while confronting her many demons. Please don’t bother to read the overly long and convoluted book jacket synopsis. It almost scared me away. So many names that are meaningless until you read the story. If you liked FINAL GIRLS, you will love THE LAST TIME I LIED. It is also delicious reading for fans of The Chalk Man or Good Me, Bad Me.THE LAST TIME I LIED is not going to be published until July 2018, I'm sorry to say. However---it is sooooooo worth the wait! It’s a completely different story from FINAL GIRLS, but the same brilliant author supervising the fun.Many thanks to Dutton Publishers and Edelweiss for giving me the opportunity to read and review this book. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Melisa - Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    BREAKING NEWS!: The Last Time I Lied has been picked up by Amazon Studios to be developed into a series. https://www.amazonbookreview.com/post... Two truths and a lie:1. This book rocked. 2. Riley Sager is a thriller writing phenom. 3. I hate reading. Pretty sure you’ve got me figured out. Disclaimer : I get really really ridiculously excited about good thrillers now and tend to use an excess of exclamation points, so this is just a preemptive “please excuse my flabbergabbling.”This is a true th BREAKING NEWS!: The Last Time I Lied has been picked up by Amazon Studios to be developed into a series. https://www.amazonbookreview.com/post... Two truths and a lie:1. This book rocked. 2. Riley Sager is a thriller writing phenom. 3. I hate reading. Pretty sure you’ve got me figured out. Disclaimer : I get really really ridiculously excited about good thrillers now and tend to use an excess of exclamation points, so this is just a preemptive “please excuse my flabbergabbling.”This is a true thriller in the sense of the word - it’s thrilling with understated suspense and it will creep you out in the best way possible. So compulsively readable and intriguing, I could not put this one down until I knew how it ended. Oh the twists and the turns and the theories that I had, that were all wrong by the way! It’s also super cinematic - I could totally see this one being turned into a film. Riley Sager has weaved an intoxicating tale of girls gone missing at a sleep away camp. There is a huge cast of characters, none of which you will trust, and a highly unreliable narrator. I loved how every flashback chapter was an answer to the question the previous chapter put forward. Everything was connected. You had all the pieces but no answers and had to figure it all out with the main character. The best kind of stories are the ones that can scare you silly without any violence. And that is exactly what you will find here. There is one teensy tiny detail of the conclusion that I have a question about and I need to discuss further. Riley Sager, shoot me an email so we can discuss!4.5 super creepy stars!Thank you to Dutton Books for my review copy! This was a buddy read with the Traveling Sisters - Berit, Brenda, Holly B, Mackenzie and Marialyce. Loved that you were all as equally enthusiastic about this one as I was!
    more
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    This is how it begins.I'll admit, I wasn't as intoxicated with Final Girls last year as the general public seemed to be, but I was in tune enough to realize that Riley Sager has some serious talent in his writing repertoire. His stories are darkly compulsive, and I've come to find that his growth in the psychological thriller field is enormous between his first book (good) and his second one (great). This is EXACTLY what I like to see in an author's pattern of book releases, and I honestly could This is how it begins.I'll admit, I wasn't as intoxicated with Final Girls last year as the general public seemed to be, but I was in tune enough to realize that Riley Sager has some serious talent in his writing repertoire. His stories are darkly compulsive, and I've come to find that his growth in the psychological thriller field is enormous between his first book (good) and his second one (great). This is EXACTLY what I like to see in an author's pattern of book releases, and I honestly couldn't be more excited for where his next work takes us.You see the fine grains of the pine plank wall, smell the traces of campfire smoke in your hair, and know exactly where you are. Camp Nightingale.I would say the format of storytelling is similar to Final Girls, and both books are dark psychological thrillers, but the similarities end there. Where the previous novel was more of a slasher thriller with a YA vibe, this one was a more grown up, complex psychological thriller that was driven by the multiple mysteries at hand. While I can't put my finger on exactly what it is that I liked more about The Last Time I Lied, I think it had something to do with the timing of reading it, plus the fact that this one felt far less formulaic and engaged my brain power as a reader, rather than just expecting me to sit back and be entertained alone. So much water. So much land. So many places to disappear.It's tricky to go into details without spoiling any of the book, but it's definitely one that will grasp your attention from the prologue. The story is told alternating between flashbacks during Emma's first stay at Camp Nightingale and present day, which is 15 years in the future. What looks like a straightforward investigation into the disappearance of Emma's three friends from the past turns into a hella good suspenseful romp into so many different directions that I had to re-read one of the reveal sections FOUR TIMES before I could move forward because- Sager fooled me! As an avid suspense aficionado, it's a feeling that I don't get often these days and cherish when the opportunity comes along. You think of all these things and begin to scream.I'm still torn on how I feel about a few aspects of the ending, but overall I was very pleased with each facet of this one. It was entertaining, engaging, and had that "unputdownable" factor we have all come to crave from our latest read. If you've been eagerly anticipating this one as much as I have over the past year, I hope you're as satisfied with the pay off as I was. At a time that I've been almost ready to give up on psychological thrillers, I am so thrilled to have consumed this one and for it redeeming the genre in my eyes and persuading me to ride the suspense train a little bit longer. * I received a review copy from the publisher.
    more
  • (Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas
    January 1, 1970
    The Last Time I Lied has been picked up by Amazon Studios to be adapted into a limited series!!! First a Final Girls movie & now this! Yay, I can't wait!!!!! You can read all about it here --> https://www.amazonbookreview.com/post... 5 Stars for Riley Sager’s campy summer mystery - The Last Time I Lied I was uneasy the entire time I read this book. Part of that was my own excited expectations/anticipation of the book but the other part was Sager’s writing. He knows how to create The Last Time I Lied has been picked up by Amazon Studios to be adapted into a limited series!!! First a Final Girls movie & now this! Yay, I can't wait!!!!! You can read all about it here --> https://www.amazonbookreview.com/post... 5 Stars for Riley Sager’s campy summer mystery - The Last Time I Lied I was uneasy the entire time I read this book. Part of that was my own excited expectations/anticipation of the book but the other part was Sager’s writing. He knows how to create an elusive mood that leaves you full of dread, yet wanting more. You’re reading, turning page after page, just waiting for “that something” to happen. You know it’s coming. You’re creeped out and suspicious of everyone. You can’t put the book down because you simply have to know where its all going. That’s my reading experience with this book in a nutshell and I loved every minute of it. Sager masterfully spun a tale that is told in two different times - the present & past (told via flashback from 15 years ago). It all began at Camp Nightingale 15 years prior when three girls disappear from Dogwood cabin. Emma, the youngest of the four girls rooming in the cabin was the only one left. She is deeply affected by the disappearance of her friends and is haunted by the girls throughout her life. Emma is unable to come to terms with the terrible tragedy because they never fully learned what happened to the girls that fateful summer night. Flash forward 15 years and Camp Nightingale is once again opening its doors to campers. Emma has been invited to teach art at the camp for the summer and of course she accepts. It’s her chance to finally solve the mystery and hopefully put the events of that summer behind her. Emma is a wonderfully sympathetic yet unreliable narrator. Can her memories be trusted when she herself admits to having had a nervous breakdown in the months after her first camp experience? There were so many secrets that it was nearly impossible to figure out what was true and what wasn’t. There were so many well crafted layers to this mystery! I literally suspected everyone, trusted no one & still had it all wrong in the end. I LOVE when I don’t see "it" coming. It was all there, the crumbs had been woven into the story but with Emma being such an unreliable narrator you simply don’t know what to think or who to believe. The book had me riveted from beginning to end. I too was on a search for the truth with Emma amidst all the secrets, lies & guilt. I definitely recommend this read to fellow mystery fans and hope it will keep you second guessing just as it did me! Thank you to NetGalley, Dutton, Penguin Books, and Riley Sager for an advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Debra
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsWhile reading my second book by Sager, I can't help but think that he is an 80's horror movie fan or at least grew up in the 80's watching these flicks. His other book, "Final Girls" read like an 80's horror film to me (which I loved!) and while reading The Last Time I Lied, I felt as if I was at Camp Crystal Lake....oops...I meant at Camp Nightingale. And no, there is no killer in a hockey mask chasing camp counselors through the woods here, but it does have a camp in the middle of the 4.5 starsWhile reading my second book by Sager, I can't help but think that he is an 80's horror movie fan or at least grew up in the 80's watching these flicks. His other book, "Final Girls" read like an 80's horror film to me (which I loved!) and while reading The Last Time I Lied, I felt as if I was at Camp Crystal Lake....oops...I meant at Camp Nightingale. And no, there is no killer in a hockey mask chasing camp counselors through the woods here, but it does have a camp in the middle of the woods, where campers tell each other rumors about the camp’s dark history. Is there any truth to these rumors or are the girls just trying to scare each other?When Emma was thirteen years old her parents sent her to "camp rich bitch" a.k.a. Camp Nightingale. Since she arrived late, she is placed in a cabin called Dogwood with three older teens: Vivian, Allison, and Natalie. One-night Emma wakes to see the trio sneaking out and is told she is to0 young to go with them. The three teens are never seen again. Fifteen years later, Emma is an artist who cannot stop drawing the images of the missing girls in her artwork. She is still haunted by that summer and the events which led up to the disappearance of the missing teens. When the camp owner, Francesca Harris-White, invites her to return to the camp for its re-opening, Emma is torn but eventually agrees to teach art lessons at the camp. Emma hopes this will help her move on and come to terms with the events of that summer and the disappearance of her bunk mates.From the start, things don't seem to be going according to plan. Emma is back in the cabin she shared with the missing girls fifteen years ago. This is only the beginning. Searching for the truth, she stumbles upon some clues left behind by one of the girls. Someone must not have warned her to "be careful what you wish/look for” What happens when what you've been searching for, comes looking for you? Will finding the truth set her free or make things worse? Can you ever go back again? YES, she does go back ...but you know what I mean. A lot of characters have secrets in this book - I loved this! The cabin mates loved to play "two truths and a lie". I felt as if I were playing that game right along with them, trying to decipher what was real, what was a lie, who is lying (if anyone), who is being deceptive, who is reliable, etc. This was a fun and creepy (yes things can be fun and creepy at the same time!) jaunt through the woods! Ahhh, I could hear the twigs breaking underfoot, see the ripples in the lake and hear the birds chirping. What I couldn't do was find those missing "mean girls." I dare you..no wait..I triple dog dare you to try and figure this book out! If you do, then you are a better super sleuth that I am! I pinkie promise you that this book delivers on a few twist and turns.There are a lot of characters in this book, but I never found this to be confusing. I found it easy to keep track of everyone. Some of the characters are likable, some not so much, some are mean, some seem too syrupy sweet, some will seem deceptive and some you may not trust. I love how he draw them to stir the plot and keep the reader guessing.At first this book did seem a little slow to me, mainly because I wanted to be instantly grabbed by this book as I was Final Girls. But I found as I kept reading, I became hooked. Going back and forth in time, looking for clues, I was invested in learning what happened. I felt for characters and was suspicious of them, and then a character would do something or say something and then I suspected them. Thus, I was intrigued and HAD to know whodunit! The woods, cabin and lake were the perfect back drop for this riveting book about missing girls, the search for the truth, the pains of growing up, and the guilt of lies.I received a copy of this book from Dutton Publishing and Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.See more of my reviews at www.openbookpost.com
    more
  • Mackenzie - Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    Riley Sager somehow surpasses the amazing hype surrounding his first novel, Final Girls, with an absolutely compulsively-good psychological thriller full or secrets, lies, and shocking truths that you won’t be able to put down! I have to say, I have read some outstanding books already in 2018, but this is by far the best psychological thriller for me this year! I was captivated by this book! I have a list of quotes and notes several pages long that I pulled while reading. Since I reached the sho Riley Sager somehow surpasses the amazing hype surrounding his first novel, Final Girls, with an absolutely compulsively-good psychological thriller full or secrets, lies, and shocking truths that you won’t be able to put down! I have to say, I have read some outstanding books already in 2018, but this is by far the best psychological thriller for me this year! I was captivated by this book! I have a list of quotes and notes several pages long that I pulled while reading. Since I reached the shocking ending (seriously! What an ending!!!), I have been going back to those quotes and notes and finding even more clues and meaning in them. We read this as a Traveling Sister read, and the discussion has been so engaging and wonderful. We each are finding clues that give us a new theory about aspects of the book. I wish I could share, but you should go in and experience this one as it is written! You will find your own path through the mysterious web of truth and lies, and I think this one will keep you guessing!About the BookEmma Davis was 13 years old when she first attended Camp Nightingale—a summer sleepaway camp for the upper-class girls of the northeastern states. Emma is late—her mother didn’t mention that she would be away all summer until the first day of camp—and so she is placed into a tiny cabin with popular senior campers Vivian, Natalie, and Allison. Emma immediately bonds with the beautiful, enigmatic Vivian. Vivian feels like the older sister Emma always wanted. The girls quickly engage Emma in their favorite game, two truths and a lie. The point of the game is to trick others into believing your lie. And then one night, Emma watches the girls sneak out of the cabin. By the next morning, they’ve disappeared for good, and Emma is left wondering if she could have stopped them. Two truths… At 28, Emma is a successful painter with a gallery full of her Forest series—paintings inspired by the forest at Camp Nightingale and her lingering questions around that summer. Not a day goes by that Emma doesn’t think about the three missing girls, particularly Vivian. And then Franny, the wealthy owner of Camp Nightingale, approaches Emma with an offer—return to Camp Nightingale’s grand re-opening. Emma thinks this may be her opportunity to finally process what happened to her friends and move on for good. But all is not as it seems once she arrives at Camp Nightingale. And a lie… But Emma has secrets she has never revealed to anyone. About that summer. About the girls. Emma may know more about what happened than she admits. Though Emma tries to live a life of truths, she can’t seem to escape her lies that summer. And it seems that someone out there knows what Emma lied about, and is trying to make Emma pay. Can Emma find the truth before her lies catch up to her?ReflectionI cannot put into words how wonderful this book is! It has layers upon layers of secrets, lies, and mystery that I continue to peel back, even after finishing. Small moments that seemed innocuous at first reading take on so much meaning as I discovered more about the events at Camp Nightingale. The characters are all slightly unsettling in a good way. You’re never totally sure that anyone is telling the full truth. But as Vivian says, lying is how you win the game.One of my absolute favorite things about this book was the mysterious setting of Camp Nightingale. Sager uses the setting as a character in and of itself. He says at one point, “Like most old structures, there's a heaviness to the Lodge, a somberness. I think of all the years it's witnessed. All those seasons and storms and secrets...” The description of a place as having a memory; of knowing all of the secrets, and it creating a personality to the building that may not exist if things had been different. Emma reflects at one point that she was getting reacquainted with the lake, only to then state that actually, it felt like the lake was getting reacquainted with her. And then at other times several characters mention the forest as inviting them in, and the pull it has for those at the camp. The setting of the book completely came alive through Sager’s wonderful writing. It became a force within the story that held the clues to the mystery, if only Emma could be brave enough to ask.And finally, THAT ENDING! I can’t say much more because I refuse to spoil even a second of this wonderful ending, but boy-oh-boy was I paging back and forward, processing what I just read. I can’t wait for readers to discover this book for themselves! The entire book is a masterpiece, and one I already am planning to read again. And like all of the best books, I already know that each time I read it, I’ll get a bit more out of it. Thank you so much to Dutton, Penguin Books, and Riley Sager for an advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Meredith
    January 1, 1970
    “Sometimes a lie is more than just a lie. Sometimes it’s the only way to win.” Picture this: Sleepaway camp. 4 girls share a cabin until the day 3 disappear never to be found. One 13-year-old girl is left to tell their story. But her stories are built around lies.15 years later, the same girl returns to the camp to teach art and assist the owner’s new charitable endeavor. She is assigned to the same cabin that the girls disappeared from. Once again, 3 girls go missing. Something is amiss at Cam “Sometimes a lie is more than just a lie. Sometimes it’s the only way to win.” Picture this: Sleepaway camp. 4 girls share a cabin until the day 3 disappear never to be found. One 13-year-old girl is left to tell their story. But her stories are built around lies.15 years later, the same girl returns to the camp to teach art and assist the owner’s new charitable endeavor. She is assigned to the same cabin that the girls disappeared from. Once again, 3 girls go missing. Something is amiss at Camp Nightingale.The Last Time I Lied is a tension-packed, atmospheric thriller! Sager brings Camp Nightingale to life: from the eerie camp grounds, to the mysterious lake, to the campfire smoke, to the angst of the teenage campers, I was transported. This element of the novel felt so real and made this book for me! While things start off a little slow, I was interested enough in the mystery to keep on reading. Bits and pieces are gradually revealed, dark twists and turns occur, culminating in an over-the-top ending. While this element would normally have taken me out of a book, in this instance, it had me smiling (in a good way)! Overall, The Last Time I Lied was a fun, suspenseful read that left me wanting more!I received a copy of this book from Edelweiss+ and Dutton, Penguin Books in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Berit☀️✨Traveling Sister✨
    January 1, 1970
    6 Strikingly Stupendous Stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟Yes six, seis, sexe,sechs,sei.... and I’m sure whatever language you choose to read this book in the result will be the same... it was just that fabulous!Two truths and a lie...1 I never gush over books!2 this was the best book I’ve read so far this year!!!3 Riley Sager is being added to my list of authors who I will autobuy/request.I’m sure you figured it out... I am the queen of gushing! And this is a book that makes me want to shout from the rooftops! From 6 Strikingly Stupendous Stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟Yes six, seis, sexe,sechs,sei.... and I’m sure whatever language you choose to read this book in the result will be the same... it was just that fabulous!Two truths and a lie...1 I never gush over books!2 this was the best book I’ve read so far this year!!!3 Riley Sager is being added to my list of authors who I will autobuy/request.I’m sure you figured it out... I am the queen of gushing! And this is a book that makes me want to shout from the rooftops! From first page to last this book had me captivated... this is going to sound odd but I felt as though I was in a forest of browns and greens every time I pick this book up.... it was so atmospheric and descriptive that I felt as though I was there at camp with these girls... The forest, the lake, the tension was all drawn so well by Sager... I could smell the trees, feel the water, and I was on the edge of my seat throughout this entire book!Emma is a “final girl“ how appropriate is that? when she was at camp 15 years ago she was the only girl from her cabin to not disappear ... my only complaint of Sager’s previous book was I would have liked the psychology of these “final girls” to have been explored more in depth , so... what a treat this book was! Emma now a well respected artist paints these girls in all her paintings... she sees Vivian everywhere... and she cannot let go of the fact that she had something to do with their disappearance... that is all I am saying about the plot, I do not want to ruin this gem of a book for you...I am just so jealous of all of you who have not read this yet, what a treat you have in front of you! A campy book that will grab onto you and will not let go... a book filled with twists, Twists, and more twists, and just when you think you’ve got it all figured out..... an ending you will not see coming!Emphatically recommend this book, especially if you are a fan of the psychological thriller genre! If you liked “Final Girls you will love “The Last Time I Lied” and that is no lie!*** many thanks to Penguin Dutton for my copy of this book ***
    more
  • Norma * Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    Holy Shooty Balls this was a good one! 😝 I absolutely LOVED this book!THE LAST TIME I LIED by RILEY SAGER was an absolutely fantastic, compulsive, thrilling, and tension filled psychological thriller that had me totally engaged and racing through those pages as fast as I could to see how this story was going to end. I was totally blown away with that absolutely shocking and surprise ending! I did another whoop at books end. RILEY SAGER delivers an extremely detailed, twisty, atmospheric and well Holy Shooty Balls this was a good one! 😝 I absolutely LOVED this book!THE LAST TIME I LIED by RILEY SAGER was an absolutely fantastic, compulsive, thrilling, and tension filled psychological thriller that had me totally engaged and racing through those pages as fast as I could to see how this story was going to end. I was totally blown away with that absolutely shocking and surprise ending! I did another whoop at books end. RILEY SAGER delivers an extremely detailed, twisty, atmospheric and well-written story here. I absolutely love his writing style and the way that he set the mood was pretty much perfect for a creepy and thrilling reading experience for me. I had that uneasy and apprehensive feeling throughout most of this novel which I am always seeking from my thrillers. This one definitely delivered! This novel was so gripping and intriguing and in my opinion had the perfect setting. The creepy woods, cabin, and the eerie lake with the camp setting was so good. The camp setting had me reminiscing about my summer camp memories when I was younger. I couldn’t help thinking Nancy Drew or The Hardy Boys while I was reading this one too. Also, another fun aspect of this novel was the game “two truths and a lie” that the girls played at Camp Nightingale in their cabin. I’m not going to lie - I absolutely loved this book! Would highly recommend!Expected Publishing Date: July 10, 2018Thank you so much to Edelweiss, Dutton Publishing, and Riley Sager for the opportunity to read an advanced copy of this book.Review written and posted on our themed book blog Two Sisters Lost In A Coulee Reading.https://twosisterslostinacoulee.comCoulee: a term applied rather loosely to different landforms, all of which refer to a kind of valley.
    more
  • Mary Beth *Traveling Sister*
    January 1, 1970
    Five Solid Shiny Stars Emma Davis goes away to summer camp at Camp Nightingale. She shares a cabin with three other girls, Vivian, Natalie, and Alison. She learns how to play a game, Two Truths And A Lie. They play it All the time. All three girls disappear without a trace in the woods at night time. Fifteen years later the camp reopens and Emma returns as a painting instructor and finds an opportunity to try to find out what really happened to her friends, that has haunted her. Emma is assigned Five Solid Shiny Stars Emma Davis goes away to summer camp at Camp Nightingale. She shares a cabin with three other girls, Vivian, Natalie, and Alison. She learns how to play a game, Two Truths And A Lie. They play it All the time. All three girls disappear without a trace in the woods at night time. Fifteen years later the camp reopens and Emma returns as a painting instructor and finds an opportunity to try to find out what really happened to her friends, that has haunted her. Emma is assigned to the same cabin she slept in as a teenager. She finds a security camera pointing directly at her cabin. She also finds the word liar in red paint on the front door. The closer she gets to the truth about Camp Nightingale, the more she realizes it may come at a deadly price.This book was a big surprise. Now I want to read Final Girls. This was a creepy spooky read. This book goes back and forth from the past and present. It goes back 15 years ago, when Emma was a teenager to the present. This is my favorite psychological thriller for this year. This book was done so well. It was a little dark but it wasn't graphic. It is a thriller with a little bit of horror. It is a phenomenal mystery. There are lots of twists and turns that will keep you on the edge of your seat. It kept me guessing and guessing, and the ending just shocked me. I hooked straight from the beginning to the very end. The characters were done so well and I loved the writing style. I highly recommend it.This was a Traveling Sister read and it was a great discussion which made this a great reading experience.I want to thank Edelweiss, Dutton, and Riley Sager for the copy of this book in exchange for a honest review.
    more
  • Holly B
    January 1, 1970
    Have you ever played Two Truths and A Lie? It is a game the girls at Camp Nightingale played in their cabin. Emma Davis was the youngest girl in the cabin and a first time camper. Her three bunk mates sneak out one night leaving her alone. Something goes wrong and they never return. Who knew summer camp could be such a dangerous place. This scenario brought back summer camp memories of sleeping in bunk beds and sitting around campfires telling ghost stories. Fun, right? Well, maybe not at this Have you ever played Two Truths and A Lie? It is a game the girls at Camp Nightingale played in their cabin. Emma Davis was the youngest girl in the cabin and a first time camper. Her three bunk mates sneak out one night leaving her alone. Something goes wrong and they never return. Who knew summer camp could be such a dangerous place. This scenario brought back summer camp memories of sleeping in bunk beds and sitting around campfires telling ghost stories. Fun, right? Well, maybe not at this camp. The woods and algae laden lake were a perfect setting for this twisty thriller.Fast forward fifteen years, and Emma is still haunted by her memories. She is invited back, but does she  dare? This thriller will have your imagination soaring and produce some anxiety as some dirty little secrets come out!Traveling sister group read was very enjoyable!Thanks to EW for my ARC. July 10,2018 expected publication
    more
  • Carol (Bookaria)
    January 1, 1970
    What a book! What a story! I loved it!This is the second book I’ve read from author Riley Sager and he delivered again. His previous book, Final Girls, was also an excellent thriller and I recommend you read it if you haven’t done so yet.On this novel, we follow Emma Davis who fifteen years earlier had attended Camp Nightingale as a teenager and shared a cabin with other three girls who disappeared and were never found. She is now a painter but her life is disrupted when the owner of the camp in What a book! What a story! I loved it!This is the second book I’ve read from author Riley Sager and he delivered again. His previous book, Final Girls, was also an excellent thriller and I recommend you read it if you haven’t done so yet.On this novel, we follow Emma Davis who fifteen years earlier had attended Camp Nightingale as a teenager and shared a cabin with other three girls who disappeared and were never found. She is now a painter but her life is disrupted when the owner of the camp invites her to return to Camp Nightingale as an instructor. Emma decides to go back and find out what happened to her friends fifteen years ago.This novel was excellent, it has elements of mystery, thriller, and well-developed characters. I was completely captivated by the story, the author did an excellent job with the imagery and is a masterful storyteller. Camp Nightingale, Dogwood, Lake Midnight and its visitors will stay with me for a long time.The novel alternates between the present and the past and is narrated from Emma’s point of view. I absolutely LOVED it and recommend it to readers of contemporary fiction, thrillers, and mysteries.I received and ARC from the publisher via Edelweiss Plus* I read this book with the Traveling Sisters. Our discussions made my experience more enriching and interesting*
    more
  • Shannon
    January 1, 1970
    I flew through The Last Time I Lie by Riley Sager!! I loved this one! I read his previous book, Final Girls, and I enjoyed that one too. The Last Time I Lied was just so good omg. The mystery, the characters, the setting were all fantastic! This story is told in present day and 15 years ago. Fifteen years ago, Emma attended The Nightingale, a camp for young girls. The camp was run by a woman named Franny. Franny owned the camp/land and it has been in the family for many years. Emma loved Nightin I flew through The Last Time I Lie by Riley Sager!! I loved this one! I read his previous book, Final Girls, and I enjoyed that one too. The Last Time I Lied was just so good omg. The mystery, the characters, the setting were all fantastic! This story is told in present day and 15 years ago. Fifteen years ago, Emma attended The Nightingale, a camp for young girls. The camp was run by a woman named Franny. Franny owned the camp/land and it has been in the family for many years. Emma loved Nightingale camp. She loved her cabin-mates, Vivian, Natalie and Alison. The girls were a bit older than Emma but they took her under their wing and showed her around. Emma was having the time of her life until one morning she woke up to an empty cabin. Where did the girls go? Fifteen years later and the girls are still missing. Emma still thinks about Vivian, Natalie and Alison after all this time. She even fits them into pictures she paints. Now, a known artist living in NYC she is showing off paintings in a gallery. On the night of a showing she sees Franny. Emma hasn’t seen her in fifteen years and after what happened at the camp she isn’t sure Franny will be happy to see her. But, Franny ends up buying one of the pieces and asks Emma to lunch the next day. Emma learns that Franny wants to open the camp back up for summer and she wants Emma to be there to teach art. She is uncertain about going back to a place that caused so many problems but she decides maybe she’ll finally find answers about the missing girls. Ugh, guys. Read this book when it comes out in JULY. It was so damn good. At one point, I think around 69% my mouth literally dropped. I was like ohhh my god. Well played, Mr. Sager, well played. I did NOT see it coming. Highly recommended!! 5 Stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ from yours truly! Thank you to Dutton books & Edelweiss for a copy for an honest review.
    more
  • Carrie
    January 1, 1970
    The Last Time I Lied by Riley Sager is set in a location that will remind readers of tons of campy horror movies, a summer camp for young teens, Camp Nightingale. From the opening pages I had that distinct feeling of wanting to scream out to the main character "What are you thinking??? Don't go back there!!"You see Emma Davis had attended Camp Nightingale fifteen years before and the unthinkable happened during her summer at camp, her three bunk mates disappeared never to be found again. During The Last Time I Lied by Riley Sager is set in a location that will remind readers of tons of campy horror movies, a summer camp for young teens, Camp Nightingale. From the opening pages I had that distinct feeling of wanting to scream out to the main character "What are you thinking??? Don't go back there!!"You see Emma Davis had attended Camp Nightingale fifteen years before and the unthinkable happened during her summer at camp, her three bunk mates disappeared never to be found again. During the last fifteen years Emma has struggled to cope with the girls going missing somewhat blaming herself for what happened.Now the camp is reopening and the owner has invited Emma back to come work with the next generation of campers. At first Emma is hesitant to return but when she thinks about it this will be the perfect opportunity for her to look into the disappearance of her friends all those years ago and get some closure on what had happened.What a thrilling ride this one was! The story is told by switching past and present to blend in beautifully letting readers get to know what happened then as Emma investigates now. As the book goes on lines are blurred and the intensity goes up a notch giving readers two mysteries to solve and boy oh boy did the twists come to keep on on their toes. This was my first book by Mr. Sager but it certainly won't be the last.I received an advance copy from the publisher via Edelweiss.For more reviews please visit https://carriesbookreviews.com/
    more
  • Brenda - Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    Creepy good, Creepy spooky, Creepy wow!Norma and I were lost in a coulee reading The Last time I Lied with eight of our Traveling Sisters. We all ended up in the same coulee wiping the sweat off our foreheads after that fast-paced story left us sprinting right to that shocking good ending. After a nice cool drink to cool us down we shared our thoughts on that ending and there was a lot to talk about. The Last Time I Lied had all the elements to make this a spooky, creepy good read. We all loved Creepy good, Creepy spooky, Creepy wow!Norma and I were lost in a coulee reading The Last time I Lied with eight of our Traveling Sisters. We all ended up in the same coulee wiping the sweat off our foreheads after that fast-paced story left us sprinting right to that shocking good ending. After a nice cool drink to cool us down we shared our thoughts on that ending and there was a lot to talk about. The Last Time I Lied had all the elements to make this a spooky, creepy good read. We all loved the camp setting, eerie lake, game of truth and lies and the mystery of three girls that go missing in the night. We loved the atmosphere of the camp setting and Riley Sager does a great job setting the feel with the descriptive writing making the camp setting come alive in our heads. At times it felt like a movie playing out in our minds. Riley Sager does a good job layering those secrets and lies and creating those twists and turns at just the right time. He took us down a path a twisty path, leaving those clues along the way that some of us pick up on. In the end, the story skillfully comes together leaving us sharing our excitement over this one with each other. Every time someone finished the excitement started all over it again. Almost like a party in a coulee. We highly recommend. Thank you so much to Edelweiss, Dutton Publishing, and Riley Sager for the opportunity to read an and review an advanced copy of this bookThis is Traveling Sisters GR Reading Group Review and it can be found posted on our themed book blog Two Sisters Lost In A Coulee Reading.https://twosisterslostinacoulee.comCoulee: a term applied rather loosely to different landforms, all of which refer to a kind of valley. Coulee references are symbolic to our reading experience
    more
  • Meredith B. (readingwithmere)
    January 1, 1970
    5 Thrilling Stars!Let's Play Two Truths and a Lie.I never went to summer camp and after reading this book I'll probably never be able to look at summer camp the same. I absolutely LOVED this story.Fifteen years ago something devastating happens. Three girls vanished from a summer camp (for rich kids I might add) and no one was able to find out what happened to them. Emma was only 13 at the time but she befriended this older girls (they were 16) and she couldn't believe her friends were gone. Peo 5 Thrilling Stars!Let's Play Two Truths and a Lie.I never went to summer camp and after reading this book I'll probably never be able to look at summer camp the same. I absolutely LOVED this story.Fifteen years ago something devastating happens. Three girls vanished from a summer camp (for rich kids I might add) and no one was able to find out what happened to them. Emma was only 13 at the time but she befriended this older girls (they were 16) and she couldn't believe her friends were gone. People blame Emma. Emma blames Theo. Emma is haunted for Fifteen years until she's called back by the owner of the camp to come work there for a summer. They're reopening again to see if they can get the stigma out of their name.Tensions are high, people are gossiping and everyone wants to know what happened. Emma starts hallucinating thinking she sees the lost girls until one night the girls she is an instructor for at the camp disappear. Could this really be happening AGAIN? What did Emma do to these girls? Or did she do anything? WOW this book takes you on a crazy ride. This twisted and turned all over the place and the author did an amazing job at taking you in another direction when you thought you had it all figured out. I love a book that continues to keep me guessing and this was one of those books. This book isn't short but it read so fast and that is something that attracts me to a thriller.The book brought up two questions for me: Is revenge worth it? Is lying worth it? I think a lot of people seek revenge when they feel betrayed in some way or another but I think the consequences can outweigh the benefits of this most of the time. Lying can also be tricky, especially when you get stuck in a lie. It can ultimately hurt AND save the ones you love most but sometimes that happens at the same time...If you're a thriller lover - pick this one up. You won't be disappointed!Thank you to Dutton books for my advanced copy of this book!
    more
  • Katie B
    January 1, 1970
    By the time I finished this book I was really pleased at how much I enjoyed it. While I liked the author's previous book, Final Girls, I can admit it did have some flaws preventing it from being that perfect read. This book however pretty much checked off all of the important qualities I look for in a good thriller/mystery. A summer camp setting always creeps me out in books and movies, and I mean that in a good way. I loved the pacing of the back and forth timelines as it never felt like the st By the time I finished this book I was really pleased at how much I enjoyed it. While I liked the author's previous book, Final Girls, I can admit it did have some flaws preventing it from being that perfect read. This book however pretty much checked off all of the important qualities I look for in a good thriller/mystery. A summer camp setting always creeps me out in books and movies, and I mean that in a good way. I loved the pacing of the back and forth timelines as it never felt like the story was dragging on and on and it was fun learning more about what happened fifteen years ago and how it related to the present day story. I really liked the main character and the rest of the people at camp made for an interesting list of suspects. The story is complex enough in which I think it would be difficult to predict everything that happens but if you are like me you'll be happy if you figure out one piece of the puzzle. All in all, I had a really fun time reading this book!I recommend this book especially if you liked Final Girls as I think this one is even better. A good summer read!Thank you to First to Read for the opportunity to read an advance digital copy! I was under no obligation to post a review and all views expressed are my honest opinion.
    more
  • Rose
    January 1, 1970
    5 billion stars over Lake Midnight. We've got a winner here, folks, and I'm the first to snatch it from my library! #Blessed. I've poured myself a fat glass of Cabernet just to get over the chilliest of chills upon finishing The Last Time I Lied."You're too young for this, Em."Emma Davis stayed at Camp Nightingale 15 summers ago, when three of her friends disappeared without a trace. The camp has been shut down ever since, but now, its owner has decided to give it one more shot. Emma is poised t 5 billion stars over Lake Midnight. We've got a winner here, folks, and I'm the first to snatch it from my library! #Blessed. I've poured myself a fat glass of Cabernet just to get over the chilliest of chills upon finishing The Last Time I Lied."You're too young for this, Em."Emma Davis stayed at Camp Nightingale 15 summers ago, when three of her friends disappeared without a trace. The camp has been shut down ever since, but now, its owner has decided to give it one more shot. Emma is poised to return as an instructor, but is she ready? Memories, lies, and the girls themselves have haunted her ever since. She paints them. She dreams them. She even sees them in her day-to-day..."I don't think about it. I obsess."...which makes her a *drum-roll please* UNRELIABLE NARRATOR! Often, thriller writers hinge too much on flawed MCs to drive interest, and it gets in the way of other critical details like setting, mood, and dialogue. The great thing about Riley Sager is that he doesn't assume any one thing is enough to carry his books. He doesn't just want you to flip the pages; he wants you to immerse yourself. As I did in my last review, I'll open to a random page and find something pertinent. 104 this time. "It turns out to be a fox slinking toward the forest. Something is in its mouth - an unknown creature, now dead. All I can make out is blood-slicked fur. The fox pauses in the flashlight's glare, its body coiled, eyes glowing greenish white..."This is just one of hundreds of examples of suspense-building moments in this book. The key? It plays to all the senses: touch, sight, the taste and smell of death, and the almost unnatural silence of nature. I think that's why The Last Time I Lied was such a slam-dunk: it gripped in every possible way and did not let go. Sager does a spectacular job of ensuring that you don't just want to see how it ends; you'll have a fulfilling experience the whole way there.Plot-wise, this might be the most surprised I've ever been upon finishing a suspense novel. There were red herrings, of course, but not so many that I got annoyed. I'm normally not a fan of even the mere suggestion of a ghost story, and I get weary of the suspicious rich guy trope, but this was a phenomenal exception. The ends were almost perfectly tied up, and I got an actual gut punch in the last few pages, when the final twist is revealed. I'd suggest this for anyone who's found themselves in a rut with dime-a-dozen thrillers lately or who avoids them altogether."No girls appear, alive or dead. There's no trace of them. It's as if they had never existed at all. Like they were a figment of the camp's imagination. A mass hallucination." Kinda makes you want to go back to summer camp, amirite?
    more
  • Tucker
    January 1, 1970
    For many teenagers spending time at summer camp is an idyllic and memorable time - making new friends, escaping from their parents, having adventures, and trying on different personas.But for four teenagers at Camp Nightingale, camp is a devastating and tragic experience. Emma Davis is still haunted and obsessed by what happened 15 years ago. When she is invited back to Camp Nightingale as a painting instructor she is determined to bring closure to her shattering experience. But the truth of wha For many teenagers spending time at summer camp is an idyllic and memorable time - making new friends, escaping from their parents, having adventures, and trying on different personas.But for four teenagers at Camp Nightingale, camp is a devastating and tragic experience. Emma Davis is still haunted and obsessed by what happened 15 years ago. When she is invited back to Camp Nightingale as a painting instructor she is determined to bring closure to her shattering experience. But the truth of what really happened that summer is elusive and her memories of that time are confused by the things her cabin mates told her. Emma doesn’t know who and what she can believe in an environment where the favorite game in her cabin was two truths and a lie. What is true, what is a lie, and what is hiding behind those lies?The book was a good thriller but it was a slow starter for me and the frequent switching between past and present story lines was a little jarring and confusing. I think some of the characters could have been more developed and there were parts of the novel that seemed extraneous. But those issues soon took a back seat to this harrowing thrill ride of a book.
    more
  • Paromjit
    January 1, 1970
    After the great The Final Girls, Riley Sager returns with this horror fest of a psychological thriller with the re-occurring themes of the damaged, guilt ridden, and haunted woman, the sole survivor of a shattering set of events where 3 girls on a rich girls summer camp disappear from their Dogwood cabin to never be heard of again. 13 year old Emma Davis is a newbie camper, placed with older teen girls, Vivian, Natalie, and Allison, getting close to them, especially Vivian who looks out for her, After the great The Final Girls, Riley Sager returns with this horror fest of a psychological thriller with the re-occurring themes of the damaged, guilt ridden, and haunted woman, the sole survivor of a shattering set of events where 3 girls on a rich girls summer camp disappear from their Dogwood cabin to never be heard of again. 13 year old Emma Davis is a newbie camper, placed with older teen girls, Vivian, Natalie, and Allison, getting close to them, especially Vivian who looks out for her, playing games such as Two Truths and a Lie. One night, the older girls leave their cabin with Emma deemed to be too young to join them so left behind. The failure of the girls to reappear traumatises Emma, resulting in a breakdown, and forcing Camp Nightingale to close. Fifteen years later in New York, Emma is an artist, with her paintings obsessively reflecting the unresolved trauma from her past. The novel goes back and forth in time as the wealthy socialite and owner of the newly re-opened Camp Nightingale, Francesca 'Franny' Harris-White, offers Emma the position of painting instructor there. Initially Emma is uncertain, but her ambivalence dissolves in the face of her need to lay old ghosts to rest.On returning to the camp, Emma finds she has been placed back in Dogwood Cabin, and weirdly the only camera on site is pointing at her cabin. Amidst a slew of disturbing and unsettling factors, an uneasy Emma reacquaints herself with the characters she had met before and gets to know the newcomers. The Adirondack forests and Lake Midnight provide a breathtaking scenic location but add an unwavering sense of creepiness and menace, making excellent use of this established trope of horror. Emma follows mysterious clues about the strange history of the camp and the myths and legends associated with it. Emma takes the 3 younger girls on the camp under her wing. What lies behind the ostensibly benign invitation from the odd Franny for Emma to return? Emma herself proves herself to be an unreliable narrator, can her memories of the past be trusted? Is she as innocent as she first appears? Sager writes a brilliantly plotted and twisted character driven story, chilling, scary, and absolutely compelling. I found it drenched with atmosphere, full of tension and suspense, and utterly gripping, demonstrating that the author has a real talent in this genre of fiction. Highly recommended! Many thanks to Random House Ebury for an ARC
    more
  • Jenny
    January 1, 1970
    “There are things we don’t want to happen but we have to accept, things we don’t want to learn, and people we don’t want to live without but have to let go.”Riley Sager's new book, The Last Time Lied, takes this quote to heart.In this suspense filled thriller, Sager spins a tale of three girls from one tent who disappear one night at a summer sleep away camp fifteen years ago. The lone remaining camper in that tent, Emma, was only thirteen at the time and finds herself tormented by that horrific “There are things we don’t want to happen but we have to accept, things we don’t want to learn, and people we don’t want to live without but have to let go.”Riley Sager's new book, The Last Time Lied, takes this quote to heart.In this suspense filled thriller, Sager spins a tale of three girls from one tent who disappear one night at a summer sleep away camp fifteen years ago. The lone remaining camper in that tent, Emma, was only thirteen at the time and finds herself tormented by that horrific event.Years later, Emma, uses that event though to build a budding successful career as a painter. All of her paintings are her “vision” of the “the three girls” from Camp Nightingale.Emma, now twenty-eight, is invited back to the reopening of Camp Nightingale as a paint instructor by the camps family.Will Emma discover what happened over fifteen years ago to her missing bunk mates?As Emma tries to uncover the truth from the past, she unravels more mysteries from the present. Will Emma learn the truth before it’s too late?Riley Sager hits a homerun with “The Last Time I Lied.”It hits all of the marks of a great thriller and it’s one that is worth staying up late for. Must read!!I received an advance copy of this book from Netgalley. This did not effect my review of this book. #netgalley #TheLastTimeILied
    more
  • KAS
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars I am a real novice when it comes to psychological thrillers, as it is not my usual genre of choice. But, all the 5 star reviews totally piqued my interest and needed to see for myself what all the hub-bub is about.In a very concise nutshell, three teenage girls vanished from a summer camp fifteen years ago. Their bunk mate, Emma Davis, reported them missing. Still obsessed over their disappearance and plagued with guilt, Emma returns to the scene of the crime. She is on a mission to 4.5 stars I am a real novice when it comes to psychological thrillers, as it is not my usual genre of choice. But, all the 5 star reviews totally piqued my interest and needed to see for myself what all the hub-bub is about.In a very concise nutshell, three teenage girls vanished from a summer camp fifteen years ago. Their bunk mate, Emma Davis, reported them missing. Still obsessed over their disappearance and plagued with guilt, Emma returns to the scene of the crime. She is on a mission to find their bodies, because she knows their disappearance was all her fault.So here was my experience...First off, I was duly impressed with this author’s writing abilities. Secondly, as I am sure we all do, I selected my “who done it” character early on, and hoping I was smarter than the average bear, would proved to be right. WRONG!!Tying the flashbacks of “Fifteen Years Ago” to the present was hair-raising. I loved the creepy, deja vu eeriness which induced gulps to form in my throat. I was given no choice but to be pulled deeper and deeper into the haunting past.The terrific twists and turns kept me on the edge and wondering if they were truths or lies.Yeppers!! I was “psychologically” thrilled to have read this one due to my local library fulfilling my purchase request. The waitlist is long behind me, if that gives you any indication on this book’s popularity.
    more
  • Tammy
    January 1, 1970
    Fifteen years after the disappearance of the girls from an exclusive summer camp, a successful painter has a problem. Plagued by guilt and by the knowledge of the lies she told, the painter is unable to paint anything other than impressions of the missing girls. So, of course, she returns to the scene of the disappearances. This book has some nice moody moments but veers off into the outlandish with an ending that is highly improbable. And, I’m not lying.
    more
  • Hannah
    January 1, 1970
    I had a lot of fun reading this, and fun was really what I needed. I read around 250 pages in one sitting (something I rarely do); I also went to bed way too late because I just needed to know how this one ends. But, this book really does not hold up to scrutiny and there were a couple of things that did not work for me.When Emma was 13-years old and spending her summer at a camp for rich kids, her three roommates disappear. Now, 15 years later, Emma is a painter who has been painting and then p I had a lot of fun reading this, and fun was really what I needed. I read around 250 pages in one sitting (something I rarely do); I also went to bed way too late because I just needed to know how this one ends. But, this book really does not hold up to scrutiny and there were a couple of things that did not work for me.When Emma was 13-years old and spending her summer at a camp for rich kids, her three roommates disappear. Now, 15 years later, Emma is a painter who has been painting and then painting over her friends for years, when she is invited back to the newly re-opened camp. Hoping for closure she accepts the invitation, but things might not be as idyllic as they seem.I highly enjoyed the dual time lines (this is something I often adore) and thought Riley Sager brilliantly used this to develop his story. I did however grow increasingly annoyed at the way Emma withholds information from the reader. This is difficult to achieve in first person narration and here it did not work for me. Another thing that annoyed me about the narrative voice is the way in which people, especially women are described. Emma is 28 and talks about herself and other women in the story as both old and spent, which, you know, grated. Especially when contrasted to the way the only significant male figure in the story is described: because obviously he just got hotter. While I understand why Emma might project her self-loathing onto her looks, I don’t buy that she would think this way about other women. Speaking of self-loathing – I also thought Emma’s guilt was maybe a bit over the top because, I mean, she was 13 when everything happened. The way people kept holding her behaviour as a kid over her head did feel a bit unneccessary.In general I thought some the characterization worked a lot better in the past than in the present. I thought Emma’s relationship to Vivian (one of the girls who disappeared in the past) was done excedingly well. I had a very similar friendship as a teenager: my best friend was both the best and the worst person possible for me. When she wanted, spending time with her felt radiant, she was funny and brilliant and unbelievably charismatic (I used to half-joke that I have never met a boy who didn’t fall in love with her – something that wasn’t as funny when she set her eyes on somebody I quite fancied – this happened more than once), we had so much fun. But, and here she is similar to Vivian, she could also be cold and uncaring. Riley Sager captured this part of (some) teenage friendships so unbelievably well that in contrast the weird mirroring with the girls in the present really did not work for me at all.The book was well-written in a way that I just flew through. I could picture the camp perfectly and got a great sense of place and mood. I also enjoyed the mystery side to the story, for the most part. I did think that a couple of developments were a bit too convenient but overall, I did enjoyed my time with the book.I received an arc of this book courtesy of NetGalley and Ebury Publishing in exchange for an honest review.You can find this review and other thoughts on books on my blog.
    more
  • Marialyce
    January 1, 1970
    My reviews can be found on my blog: https://yayareadslotsofbooks.wordpres...Want to play a game? It's called truths and a lie. It's easy to play. I will start. I will tell two truths and one lie and you need to determine which is the lie. Are you ready to play? This should be fun won't it?Let's join Vivian, Alison, Natalie and the new player Emma at summer camp. They are masters at the game and as Emma watches one night, the three girls leave their cabin never to be seen again. Now let's fast fo My reviews can be found on my blog: https://yayareadslotsofbooks.wordpres...Want to play a game? It's called truths and a lie. It's easy to play. I will start. I will tell two truths and one lie and you need to determine which is the lie. Are you ready to play? This should be fun won't it?Let's join Vivian, Alison, Natalie and the new player Emma at summer camp. They are masters at the game and as Emma watches one night, the three girls leave their cabin never to be seen again. Now let's fast forward fifteen years. The girls vanished that night so long ago, and now Emma has turned into an up and coming artist in the New York art scene. Emma paints scenes of the forest, scenes where she conceals the missing girls. Scenes are always of the forest, hidden mysterious and dangerous. It has become an obsession with her and one that might just be solved and conquered when she receives an invitation to teach art at the newly reopened camp where the three girls disappeared on the night so long ago.Camp Nightingale, run by the wealthy Franny and her two adopted sons will again bring girls into that environment. It is a chance for Emma to find out what happened. It is a chance for Emma to chase away those demons which have plagued her these fifteen years. And yet, it is a place where those phantoms and ghosts of long ago exist if only in Emma's mind. Oh yes, there are clues. Clues left behind by Vivian. Clues and discoveries that offer terror, deception, and maybe even a repeat of the lost girls of years ago. Will Emma find those lost girls? Will she come to a reckoning of the lies that were told. Will the game again rear its ugly head and make for a possibly deadly outcome?Mr Sager has written a wonderfully layered thriller that had a plethora of twists and turns. He wove a story as deep as the forest and as twisted as the branches of the trees that lived there. Still want to play that game?Thanks you to Riley Sager, Dutton Publishing, and Edelweiss for a copy of this book. "Lies and secrets… They eat away what is good and leave only destruction behind." (Cassandra Clare) Truly, in this story, any goodness is overwhelmingly overshadowed by the lies and deceptions. Come now let's play a game! Reading this book with The Traveling Sisters group was a exciting way to see the game played through the eyes of another.
    more
  • bran (brandonthebookaddict)
    January 1, 1970
    Oh. my. GOOOSH. FULL REVIEW TO COME SOON I PROMISE LMAO.
  • Mackey St
    January 1, 1970
    A non-stop thrill ride from start to finish! The Last Time I Lied is the second Sager thriller that has had me on the edge of my seat, turning pages through the night unable to stop reading. While the first, Final Girls, was a bit campy and reminded me a bit of a 1980s horror movie - which I still loved - The Last Time I Lied is far meatier, the plot deeper and the characters much more defined. In this tale, we find Emma Davis, another lone survivor of a tragedy in which the three other girls i A non-stop thrill ride from start to finish! The Last Time I Lied is the second Sager thriller that has had me on the edge of my seat, turning pages through the night unable to stop reading. While the first, Final Girls, was a bit campy and reminded me a bit of a 1980s horror movie - which I still loved - The Last Time I Lied is far meatier, the plot deeper and the characters much more defined. In this tale, we find Emma Davis, another lone survivor of a tragedy in which the three other girls in her summer camp cabin disappeared without a trace. Fifteen years later, Emma is haunted by their disappearance and the lies that she told that summer - half truths, omissions and actual falsehoods. Now Emma is being invited back to the re-opening of the camp, this time as a teacher and counselor. In order to put the past to rest, she agrees to go to the camp, but the secrets that are buried there do not want to be put to rest - not until the truth is told. Sager is a master thrill writer whose words come to vivid life off of the page. There are times when it appears as though the dialogue will veer onto the cheesy side, but with one stroke of a pen, it stays on track and the reader is, once again, heading into the unknown and unforeseeable. I admit that rarely am I fooled by a suspense novel, but the ending of The Last Time I Lied left me flabbergasted. It was not a ridiculous twist just for the sake of a twist, but it was something that I had not seen coming - and should have! That made the ending even better! I can safely recommend this one to all who love suspense, thrillers or a fun summer read. I know that Sager's books, definitely, will be on my "go-to" reading list in the future. You can find The Last Time I Lied in your bookstores and libraries on July 3, 2018.
    more
  • Kristy
    January 1, 1970
    Fifteen years ago at Camp Nightingale, three of Emma's fellow campers disappeared, never to be found again. Ever since then, Emma has felt guilt about the incident and her actions that night. She idolized the three girls, especially beautiful Vivian, the leader of the pack, who bossed around Emma and the other two campers, Allison and Natalie. Since then, Emma--now a painter--has been painting huge canvases of landscapes, where she (secretly) paints the girls within each scene. She holds a succe Fifteen years ago at Camp Nightingale, three of Emma's fellow campers disappeared, never to be found again. Ever since then, Emma has felt guilt about the incident and her actions that night. She idolized the three girls, especially beautiful Vivian, the leader of the pack, who bossed around Emma and the other two campers, Allison and Natalie. Since then, Emma--now a painter--has been painting huge canvases of landscapes, where she (secretly) paints the girls within each scene. She holds a successful show of her works, but now she's stuck, unable to paint anything else but "the girls," as she calls them. So when the owner of Camp Nightingale, Francesca Harris-White, turns up at Emma's show and tells her she's reopening the camp and she wants Emma to come back as an painting instructor, Emma agrees. Perhaps this will give her the closure she has always lacked and a chance to move on, to begin painting something else. But once back at the Camp--in the same cabin where her friends disappeared--Emma feels watched. Strange things begin happening and Emma starts to wonder more and more about what really happened fifteen years ago. Well, this was just a fun thriller and a completely engaging read. I'm so glad I gave it a chance, as--unlike most of the reading population, I actually wasn't a huge fan of Sager's FINAL GIRLS and I wasn't entirely sure I was going to read this one. But it was definitely worth the read! This is a quick read and really enjoyable. Sager populates the novel with a bunch of mysterious pieces that begin to add up across the story--clues, if you will--but you are left constantly wondering as you read. I personally was guessing up until the end, which I really liked. I am always a fan of a thriller that isn't utterly predictable. The novel is told from Emma's perspective, but flips between the present and the past (fifteen years ago, when the three girls went missing initially). This turns out to be an amazingly effective and compelling storytelling format: I read the entire book in about 24 hours and the first half in one setting. You can't quite pinpoint what draws you in, but you find yourself compulsively turning the pages. Emma is a wonderful unreliable narrator. I enjoyed that she wasn't the requisite annoying unreliable narrator that we seem to see so often: she's tough, engaging, and just happens to be fairly untrustworthy at times to boot. Just when you start to get a bit frustrated and ready to truly know what Emma lied about, Sager spills the beans and the saga continues, with more crazy reveals. The scene setting in this one is great; while I've never actually been to camp, Sager sets the stage so perfectly: you can just picture everything. The entire novel has this wonderful layer of creepy and mysterious on top of it all. So much of it seems foreboding, which adds to the suspense. And, as many have mentioned, there is a great twist to the ending, which I personally liked. Overall, I really enjoyed this thriller. It's foreboding, quite readable, and features a main character who draws you in. Between not enjoying FINAL GIRLS and then seeing so much hype for this one, I was ready to be disappointed, but THE LAST TIME I LIED proved me wrong: it was a really engaging and suspenseful read. 4+ stars. I received a copy of this novel from the publisher and Netgalley in return for an unbiased review (thank you!). Blog ~ Twitter ~ Facebook ~ Google+ ~ Instagram
    more
  • Heather 'Bookables'
    January 1, 1970
    3 1/2Final Girls was one of my favorites reads of last year so I was highly anticipating, The Last Time I Lied! I loved the setting of this book and now it was about a disappearance that happened years ago in a camp. It was all so creepy. While I didn’t love this as much as Final Girls it was still enjoyable. The ending I did not seem coming but I found the overall mystery to be lacking.I would say if you like Thrillers I would recommend this. I loved the writing and the setting but overall I ju 3 1/2Final Girls was one of my favorites reads of last year so I was highly anticipating, The Last Time I Lied! I loved the setting of this book and now it was about a disappearance that happened years ago in a camp. It was all so creepy. While I didn’t love this as much as Final Girls it was still enjoyable. The ending I did not seem coming but I found the overall mystery to be lacking.I would say if you like Thrillers I would recommend this. I loved the writing and the setting but overall I just liked his first novel, Final Girls better.
    more
  • Laura
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars It feels like a bad dream. The kind you dread the most when you close your eyes at night. Only this nightmare has come true. Wow! Riley Sager has officially impressed me with this one. I had overwhelmingly high expectations for his first book Final Girls which ended up letting me down. This was enough to make me forget about that, although I can still appreciate that his debut pays homage to my beloved genre of slasher films. His second novel is an excellent thriller that still manag 4.5 stars It feels like a bad dream. The kind you dread the most when you close your eyes at night. Only this nightmare has come true. Wow! Riley Sager has officially impressed me with this one. I had overwhelmingly high expectations for his first book Final Girls which ended up letting me down. This was enough to make me forget about that, although I can still appreciate that his debut pays homage to my beloved genre of slasher films. His second novel is an excellent thriller that still manages to pay homage to horror films by way of the setting. Think Camp Crystal Lake.Emma went to an all-girls camp at Camp Nightingale in the middle of the Adirondacks when she was 13 years old. One night, her three bunkmates left only to never return. Emma has been haunted for the last 15 years. Now, she is a painter stuck painting the same damn thing over and over again: those three girls hidden beneath the forest. This is the very reason why she accepts when told Camp Nightingale is opening again for the first time since that summer and Franny (owner of the camp) would love for Emma to return as painting instructor. Emma actually just wants to know what really happened to those three girls so many years ago. And maybe it will help her move on. But the past clings to the present. All those mistakes and humiliations following us as we march inevitably forward. There’s no ignoring them. The novel is told with two different timelines throughout. The majority of the time is spent in present day, but there are "fifteen years ago" chapters sprinkled throughout. A few of the other instructors were also present that same summer Emma attended camp making it so there are more than a few familiar faces in both timelines. Not to mention Franny, her assistant Lottie, and her two sons Chet & Theo. Theo just happens to be the boy Emma crushed on that summer. There's a lot to be unpacked, but once the story gets going, it is near impossible to put down. Filled with twists that managed to shock me, I'm already wondering: when is the next Sager novel coming out?There is a creepy, chilling atmosphere throughout. The descriptions will throw you right into the forest and even summer camp for yourself. And the way Emma is written as a teenager and her complex friendship with Vivian is done so well. I remember feeling the way Emma felt just wanting to fit in and be liked. And I remember the intensity and toxicity of certain friendships at that age when you so desperately want certain people to like you. Not to mention, the manipulation and selfish tendencies. One thing is for sure: Sager sure as hell can write a teenage girl. I could not get enough! Yes, boys can break your heart and betray you, but not in the same stinging way girls can. Overall, this one has a strong mystery, plenty of suspense, great characters, and excellent writing. Highly recommended!
    more
Write a review