The Lantern's Ember
Welcome to a world where nightmarish creatures reign supreme.Five hundred years ago, Jack made a deal with the devil. It’s difficult for him to remember much about his mortal days. So, he focuses on fulfilling his sentence as a Lantern—one of the watchmen who guard the portals to the Otherworld, a realm crawling with every nightmarish creature imaginable. Jack has spent centuries jumping from town to town, ensuring that nary a mortal—or not-so-mortal—soul slips past him. That is, until he meets beautiful Ember O’Dare. Seventeen, stubborn, and a natural-born witch, Ember feels a strong pull to the Otherworld. Undeterred by Jack’s warnings, she crosses into the forbidden plane with the help of a mysterious and debonair vampire—and the chase through a dazzling, dangerous world is on. Jack must do everything in his power to get Ember back where she belongs before both the earthly and unearthly worlds descend into chaos.

The Lantern's Ember Details

TitleThe Lantern's Ember
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 11th, 2018
PublisherDelacorte Press
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult Fantasy, Witches, Vampires, Magic, Science Fiction, Steampunk, Did Not Finish

The Lantern's Ember Review

  • Colleen Houck
    January 1, 1970
    I wrote this one so I'll leave it at that. ;)
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    Unfortunately this one wasn't what I had hoped it would be. The blurb promises a scary read, but this felt a little more like middle grade fiction than something on the YA spectrum. I think my lack of preparation for the book it turned out to be is an indication of the "right book, wrong reader" syndrome, and would highly recommend readers give this one a try for themselves rather than going by my word alone. Full review to come. *I received a review copy from the publisher via NetGalley.
    more
  • Candace Robinson
    January 1, 1970
    ARC received via publisher!
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    January 1, 1970
    Wow, I am in love with the cover. It is so haunting and lovely.
  • Jennymort ♔ The Dark Lordette ♔ House of Slytheread
    January 1, 1970
    *ARC received from Delacorte Press.***2.5 stars**Halloween-y, Witches, Vampires, Werewolves, Lanterns (aka headless horseman), witch power.I honestly love this cover but it is a little off putting compared to the actual story. The timeline for this is somewhere after the Salem witch trials but doesn’t focus much on her hometown. We learn more about the otherworld, which is far advanced compared to the human world in regards to technology due to the witch light that is basically otherworld’s elec *ARC received from Delacorte Press.***2.5 stars**Halloween-y, Witches, Vampires, Werewolves, Lanterns (aka headless horseman), witch power.I honestly love this cover but it is a little off putting compared to the actual story. The timeline for this is somewhere after the Salem witch trials but doesn’t focus much on her hometown. We learn more about the otherworld, which is far advanced compared to the human world in regards to technology due to the witch light that is basically otherworld’s electricity. So basically we have some steampunk going on here and I’m all for it. Characters:Ember – I’m still on the edge about her. She didn’t really seem to have a personality that clicked with me. It felt like her personality changed like a mood ring and wasn’t very consistent. I did like her in some parts but mostly I was meh about her. Finney – Adorable smol baby. Genius, nerdy, techy, special cinnamon roll. Dev – Vampire play boy. Devious little shit.Deila – Favorite character. Badass, pirate ship captain, with a freaking metal tooth. Y’all. I’d marry her. There needs to be a book just for her and I would read the fuck out of it.Jack – IDK how I feel about him really. I kind of see him as a protective overbearing brother to Ember and Finney. Out of this we got our most ever favorite trop - love-square. I mean honestly, she’s not that fucking amazing and beautiful and powerful and plain-but-doesn’t-know-it. I don’t want to spoil the love-trop.Jesus. Anyways ……. I feel as this book could have gone in a totally different direction instead of what happened. I mean where’s the scary shit? The spooky stuff? Can't you tell by how long it took me to read this book?
    more
  • Stacie (Shy Book Nerd)
    January 1, 1970
    This was a fun, adventurous Halloween-y type of book. At first I didn’t like the main character, Ember because she was so naive and would not listen to reason whatsoever. Her guardian, Jack told her not to go to the Otherworld because it is dangerous. Do you think she listened? NOPE! To make matters worse, she followed a complete stranger, (and a vampire at that), to go with him to the Otherworld. Did she not see any danger there?! Ugh she was infuriating in the beginning. Slowly, she grew on me This was a fun, adventurous Halloween-y type of book. At first I didn’t like the main character, Ember because she was so naive and would not listen to reason whatsoever. Her guardian, Jack told her not to go to the Otherworld because it is dangerous. Do you think she listened? NOPE! To make matters worse, she followed a complete stranger, (and a vampire at that), to go with him to the Otherworld. Did she not see any danger there?! Ugh she was infuriating in the beginning. Slowly, she grew on me and while I didn’t totally love her, she was at least brave enough to make things right. It had a steampunk feel to it and I really enjoyed that. I liked Ember’s best friend, Finney the most. He was a cute, nerdy scientist that had Ember’s best interests at heart. Overall, it was fun and lighthearted. I think I would have liked it more if I read it near Halloween time.
    more
  • Kaleena ★ Reader Voracious
    January 1, 1970
    The line between greatness and villainy is as thin as a garrote wire. Friends, I was really excited for The Lantern's Ember from the moment I saw this stunning cover and read the synopsis, and I was so excited to get an opportunity to read an advanced copy for review. While the book started strong and appeared to be full of spooky folklore, overall it unfortunately this book did not live up to my expectations as it quickly descended into drama, angst, and a predictable plot. While it is a fas The line between greatness and villainy is as thin as a garrote wire. Friends, I was really excited for The Lantern's Ember from the moment I saw this stunning cover and read the synopsis, and I was so excited to get an opportunity to read an advanced copy for review. While the book started strong and appeared to be full of spooky folklore, overall it unfortunately this book did not live up to my expectations as it quickly descended into drama, angst, and a predictable plot. While it is a fast read, I found the characters to be one-dimensional and mostly unlikable, lacking growth, and I was left wanting more about the characters and the world.The premise of this book is so interesting: the Otherworld is a realm where all those creatures that we thought were fictional live. Goblins, werewolves, vampires, and more are all real! The worldbuilding for tinkers and the technological advances that the Otherworld has made with the harnessing of witchlight was really interesting but I found that outside of the witchlight the worldbuilding was nonexistant. 'One doesn't choose to become a lantern. Most of us are tricked into it.' The synopsis led me to believe that Jack's past and his five hundred years of experience as a Lantern would play a bigger role than it did. I was drawn in by the idea of his role as a gatekeeper of the Otherworld, and quite frankly I am a sucker for stories that involve characters that have long lives... there is something so interesting about watching a character see cultural change and this is something that I think was definitely missing. Ember O'Dare is an orphaned witch that lives in a town near Jack's Crossroads. He's been watching her from afar ever since she was a young child, and while she hadn't seen him she always felt his presence and protection. I thought it was kind of cute how she kept trying to entice him to show himself to her, and their interactions throughout the book honestly are the only characters that I liked. I love strong female characters, but there is a fine line between strong and indignant and she gets herself into huge messes because she thinks she knows everything when she knows nothing. Like 90% of me reading this book was screaming at her being like "oh, I didn't know it was so dangerous" when she literally had been told repeatedly that it was dangerous. Ugh she frustrated me to no end. The third-person omniscient narrative style constantly shifts perspectives between the characters (often mid-page), and as a result I never really felt connected to any of the characters. I would have expected Ember and Jack to be the main characters, perhaps with dual-POV storytelling from their perspectives, but I found the narration a jumbled mess that was at times difficult to follow. The story may have been stronger with a more dedicated narrative perspective.While the book's blurb definitely is accurate, I feel that it was a bit misleading as so much of the actual narrative seemed to center around romantic feelings. There was kind of a love rectangle and it was kind of weird as none of the characters were really developed. While I am not a huge fan of the romance genre, I do not mind it as part of the story but it kind of grated my nerves - particularly Dev's character, who I found to be incredibly obsessive and possessive. (view spoiler)[After she essentially let him down his thoughts continued to spiral into 'what can I do to win her?' and it was gross. "The beast probably thought it was escorting the submersible home to nest. If only women were that easy, Nestor, Dev thought with a twitch of his lips. (hide spoiler)]All of the characters in this book were essentially the embodiment of a trope: Ember is "not like anyone else," Dev is the "Edward Cullen kind of obsessed love interest," Finney is the "guy in love with his best friend," and Jack is the "honorable love interest that wants what is best." The characters do not really act outside of their trope and are largely unchanged at the end of the book.I really enjoyed how folk legends such as the lost colony at Roanoke, the Headless Horseman, and the boogeyman were "explained" in this fictional world, and like I previously said I really loved the concept of the Otherworld! I just wish that more time had been dedicated to worldbuilding and that there was a clear narrative POV - I think that would have made this story a lot stronger. Honestly the "twist" at the end I picked up on at the beginning of the book so I was hardly surprised (except that it was meant to be a twist lol). The theme of life and what makes it worth living is there in the text, especially given that most of the characters are otherworlder's that have had long lives. It is most evident with Jack and his life as a lantern, one that he would not have chosen for himself. "Maybe the purpose of life is to experience those things, however fleeting. I'll never know now what my life might have been." Overall I found The Lantern's Ember to be an interesting story with a lot of promise but lacking in character development. Since I read an ARC it is possible that some additional editing happened and some of the issues I had could be addressed in the finished copy. I think if you go in expecting it to be an angsty romance with some steampunk & fantasy elements you will enjoy this book. Honestly it kind of reminds me a lot of Twilight, which I didn't like, so if you enjoy that kind of story this may be for you. This book is a standalone (which I really appreciate because they are so rare in YA fantasy) and truly wraps up everything at the end with a neat little bow (which seemed too perfect but honestly is the least of my issues here). Many thanks to the publisher for providing me an electronic advanced reader copy of this book via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review. Quotations taken from an uncorrected proof and may change upon final publication. Blog | Twitter | Pinterest
    more
  • Dania
    January 1, 1970
    DNFI am going to put this down. I just don't feel like it was the right book for me.
  • Breanna
    January 1, 1970
    THIS REVIEW & MORE → Paws and PaperbacksARC provided by the publisher through NetGalley.Disappointed would the be the best word to describe my reading experience. I wanted to love The Lantern’s Ember so much. Not only is that cover is absolutely stunning, but the synopsis was intriguing and promised all sorts of paranormal goodness. Sadly, the story and characters were lacking.I went into The Lantern’s Ember expecting a cool, spooky story similar to urban legends like Sleepy Hallow, full of THIS REVIEW & MORE → Paws and PaperbacksARC provided by the publisher through NetGalley.Disappointed would the be the best word to describe my reading experience. I wanted to love The Lantern’s Ember so much. Not only is that cover is absolutely stunning, but the synopsis was intriguing and promised all sorts of paranormal goodness. Sadly, the story and characters were lacking.I went into The Lantern’s Ember expecting a cool, spooky story similar to urban legends like Sleepy Hallow, full of paranormal creatures and magic. Instead, I got a strange steampunk version of Halloweentown. I actually would have been okay with that, but the writing was mediocre and the story seemed a bit juvenile for my tastes. Ember was the super special heroine that acted naively and never bothered to follow common sense, much less warnings given to her by other people. And yet despite her shortcomings, all three of the male characters happen to be in love with her. None of the characters felt fleshed out or had any kind of character growth as the story went on. The book is written in third person omniscient, which I think heavily contributed to the fact that the characters didn’t have much depth. The plot itself didn’t have much substance to it either; it was predictable, boring at times, and many of the conflicts were resolved a little too conveniently. I really wish I had enjoyed The Lantern’s Ember so much more than I had. The first couple of chapters had me falsely excited for an eerie story full of supernatural creatures. The combination of the characters, writing, and plot ultimately caused the story to fall flat for me.
    more
  • Dana Al-Basha دانة الباشا
    January 1, 1970
    [Monday, December 18, 2017] This seems so SO good! I'm in! Can't wait for the cover reveal![Wednesday, January 24, 2018] OMG! I'm super excited about this book! It will be released in September 11, 2018! 416 pages of adventure!
  • FictionNoChaser
    January 1, 1970
    Overall Rating: ★★Heroine: We need some character growth up in hereDude: We can’t take pumpkin carrying men seriously Creepiness: It’s no “Are You Afraid of the Dark”Plot: Halloweentown, Steampunk & Sleepy Hollow, Oh My! We received an advanced reader’s copy of Lantern’s Ember from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to the publisher and author! The Lantern’s Ember reeled us in from the moment we saw it on Netgalley; from the (gorgeous) cover and description we were excit Overall Rating: ★★Heroine: We need some character growth up in hereDude: We can’t take pumpkin carrying men seriously Creepiness: It’s no “Are You Afraid of the Dark”Plot: Halloweentown, Steampunk & Sleepy Hollow, Oh My! We received an advanced reader’s copy of Lantern’s Ember from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to the publisher and author! The Lantern’s Ember reeled us in from the moment we saw it on Netgalley; from the (gorgeous) cover and description we were excited for a spooky experience full of folklore and supernatural creatures come to life. The first few chapters were intriguing and we were loving the creepy Sleepy Hollow vibes. https://media.giphy.com/media/awj1tq7... Unfortunately, after the initial setup to the story, Lantern’s Ember devolves into a juvenile experience full of angst and unnecessary drama. The story is less spooky and more like Halloweentown High complete with insta-love and a love quadrangle. The plot was predictable and essentially a Frankenstein monster as the plot is basically haphazard themes and plots resurrected from steampunk and gothic novels and early American folklore then sewn together in a grotesque manner. The characters were shallow, lacked common sense and Houck did not allow for any character growth. The novel was hard to follow as character perspectives shifted suddenly with very little indication that suddenly you were reading about a completely new character. And instead of the supernatural intrigue we were promised, this book centered more on the fact that every single character falls in love with Ember. The ending to The Lantern’s Ember was the most frustrating part of this book. The ending was wrapped up like a fake Christmas present on display in a Macy’s window - too perfect to be real. It was disingenuous and too convenient to be enjoyable. I was left disappointed and frankly unimpressed at how the plot took a 180 degree turn and all the characters were just like “okay, everything’s good now!”
    more
  • Mlpmom (Book Reviewer)
    January 1, 1970
    RTC!
  • Sammm
    January 1, 1970
    Jan 16, 2018Oh dang! That is one LOVELY cover.---Nov 11, 2017Hmmmm.... yes, yes, I've heard how racist this author supposedly is, but since this book is based on a story by a White American author, is she capable of butchering it? Not ruling out reading it just yet. May change my shelf accordingly later.
    more
  • Nia •ShadesOfPaper•
    January 1, 1970
    You can find this review and others on my blog shades of paper “It comforted him to see his ember’s glow in the pumpkin’s expression. The light warmed him, giving him hope that somehow, somewhere, there was a spark of freedom waiting for him, even if it was at the end of a very long, weary road.” I was so excited to read this book because it seemed like the perfect spooky book for the fall season or Halloween, and the premise sounded super interesting, but I was so disappointed with the story You can find this review and others on my blog shades of paper “It comforted him to see his ember’s glow in the pumpkin’s expression. The light warmed him, giving him hope that somehow, somewhere, there was a spark of freedom waiting for him, even if it was at the end of a very long, weary road.” I was so excited to read this book because it seemed like the perfect spooky book for the fall season or Halloween, and the premise sounded super interesting, but I was so disappointed with the story and the character that I ended up being mad. There was hardly anything that I enjoyed about The Lantern’s Ember, and I was so sad about that.I found the story and the narrative so juvenile to be a young adult book. The characters were very naïve and childish, and overall the tone wasn’t what I hoped it would be. I was expecting a dark, eerie book, and there was nothing spooky about it whatsoever. It was a very lineal and plain story, and though I wanted to DNF it multiple times while reading it, because I wasn’t enjoying it, I wanted to do a review about it, so I kept reading The Lantern’s Ember with hopes that the ending would redeemed the book a bit for me, but that wasn’t the case.The story had a nice start. We learnt a bit what was going on and about the characters, but from then on it went downhill. It hardly had a plot and some things were super inconsistent, and I didn’t really understand the character’s behavior. It was fast paced and it took me not long to finish it, but it was one of those stories where the concept was super intriguing but the development wasn’t that great or remarkable. “Sometimes he’d point her in the right direction of various flora, and, in exchange, he accepted her offerings of fresh loaves of bread or small baskets filled with berries.” The characters weren’t my favorites. They were so simple and plain and like every other characters I’ve read in other previous books. Their interactions were super cringy sometimes, and their interactions and dynamics were a bit forced and rushed. There was a love triangle that basically came out of nowhere, and because I wasn’t the biggest fan of Jack or Ember, I didn’t particularly care about their relationship throughout the story.I feel the romance was quite insta lovey and unrealistic, and some of the things the characters did throughout the story didn’t relate to the characters’ personalities, and were a bit weird and odd to me. The ending was just so strange and had hardly anything to do with the rest of the story, and I hated it.As much as I didn’t like the characters, I was hoping to learn more about the Otherworld and magic and world systems in general, but they weren’t addressed in the book, which left me quite confused. It’s like the author threw us into this magical world and expected us to know what was going on, and I was hoping to see a much complex world, after the characters and the plot being so weak to me.Overall, I was super disappointed with this book. I had such high hopes and the synopsis sounded so unique and cool, but it ended up being such an unremarkable story, with very plain characters that had almost no evolution, and relationships that were cringy and juvenile.I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. This doesn’t change my opinion whatsoever. All thoughts are my own.
    more
  • Teri
    January 1, 1970
    This cover is stunning, and initially what drew me to this book, and the title is very clever.  Once I started reading, the world-building enchanted and intrigued me and, along with Ember, I enjoyed learning about the Otherworld, its rules, and the creatures inhabiting it.With his pumpkin and Headless Horseman comparison, Jack is my favorite character in this book, but I have to admit, Dev is one of the most charming vampires I've come across in a while.  Del, Finney, Frank (you can probably gue This cover is stunning, and initially what drew me to this book, and the title is very clever.  Once I started reading, the world-building enchanted and intrigued me and, along with Ember, I enjoyed learning about the Otherworld, its rules, and the creatures inhabiting it.With his pumpkin and Headless Horseman comparison, Jack is my favorite character in this book, but I have to admit, Dev is one of the most charming vampires I've come across in a while.  Del, Finney, Frank (you can probably guess what that's short for) - all are wonderful characters, but it took me a while to warm up to Ember - probably because of my frustration with her actions early in the book.While the world-building and characterization are strong points, the love square between Ember, Finney, Jack, and Dev grew a bit tiresome and took up a chunk of the book.  I also had to backtrack numerous times when the POV changed abruptly during paragraphs - which happens a lot.With the satisfying ending, I don't see the author doing a sequel, and there's no need for one.  It's nice to read a standalone in a genre with so many series.  This is a perfect read to curl up with on a chilly fall evening - even better if it's closer to Halloween.Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for the ARC.
    more
  • Jessica (a GREAT read)
    January 1, 1970
    Review to come September 3rd
  • Tiffany Heitz
    January 1, 1970
    Really enjoyed this book!!!
  • Literary Weaponry
    January 1, 1970
    (This review and others can be found at http://literaryweaponry.com)When I stumbled upon this book I must admit that I was pretty excited to get a chance to read it early. First of all, just look at that cover. That is a work of art. The black skull with gold scroll work is simply gorgeous and whatever artist put that together needs some kind of award. I’m in love with the cover art. Secondly, doesn’t that book description just pull you in? I feel like it is promising thrills and chills and I wa (This review and others can be found at http://literaryweaponry.com)When I stumbled upon this book I must admit that I was pretty excited to get a chance to read it early. First of all, just look at that cover. That is a work of art. The black skull with gold scroll work is simply gorgeous and whatever artist put that together needs some kind of award. I’m in love with the cover art. Secondly, doesn’t that book description just pull you in? I feel like it is promising thrills and chills and I was %100 on board for that.Unfortunately, that isn’t what I got.Let me start with the characters in general. None of them throughout the entirety of the book felt very well fleshed out. They are dumped into your lap like over eager puppies in want of your love and adoration. Ember, the lovely witch we are introduced to as our heroine, is the very same at the beginning of the story as she is at the end. She has no personal growth and is downright, utterly predictable. No matter what happened in the course of the book, and a lot does happen, she reacts exactly as expected in each instance and reacts exactly the same in every instance as well. I found her predictability as likable as rain on a day at the beach. That is to say, not at all.Then, there is our hero Jack. He I found slightly more likable but that may be for personal reasons. He is presented to you as the inspiration for the old Sleepy Hollow stories. I, for one, have always loved the spooky tale of Ichabod Crane and the Headless Horseman and to be handed Jack and told he was the Headless Horseman really had me excited. Now, outside of that, he seemed to just be a good boy out to save the damsel in distress. Jack had some interesting attributes that pulled my attention but, sadly, he really wasn’t anything to write home about either. Honestly, the most interesting character in this book was an actual pumpkin. No, I’m not kidding.The story itself was also a pitfall of predictability. Our characters get in trouble and get out of it with conveniently presented solutions that are very little trouble at all. A conversation with romantic undertones then occurs. Then they are once again in trouble and another convenient solution presents itself. This happens over and over and over again to the point of tedium. At no point was I ever convinced that anyone was at risk and that, quite frankly, is a bit dull.Lastly, and what bothered me the most, is that the support cast was, well, convenient. I know I have overused that word in this review but that is really this story in a nutshell. Oh no, something bad happens! Convenient solution. Oh no, there is an evil doer! Here is a convenient reason for them to no longer be evil. Oh no…you get the point. Everything was just so blasted convenient. Nothing felt spontaneous and the characters never seemed to be in actual peril.Now, while I wasn’t a huge fan of this book I can easily see that it would appeal to a certain audience. The supposed romance was a huge plot point and, while I got quickly irritated with it, others may find it romantic. It also had very steampunk undertones which is not something that has ever been up my alley but I know it has a huge fan base. So, if you like a simple romantic plot with a smidge of adventure and an overall steampunk vibe, this book is for you. If you are like me and you want a plot that isn’t so predictable and your romance to not be sickeningly sweet, steer clear.
    more
  • Nikita
    January 1, 1970
    Updated January 16, 2018:It has a cover!!!!!!It's beautifulUpdated November 9, 2017:Colleen Houck has a new book coming out in 2018!
  • Gillian
    January 1, 1970
    Okay hold up. Houck has another potential series coming out next year? I'm already a fan! 😊
  • Kaitlin Galvan (somehowimanageblog)
    January 1, 1970
    I received an e-ARC from Net Galley for my hones review. Actual review: 4.5 stars.     I've been a fan of Colleen Houck since I first read her Tiger's Curse Series years ago. She has a way with dialogue and lore that makes her stories really come to life. I was so excited when this book popped up as available to request on NetGalley because I haven't read her work is so long. I had no idea what to expect when I read the synopsis, but this book is so much better than the synopsis leads you to bel I received an e-ARC from Net Galley for my hones review. Actual review: 4.5 stars.     I've been a fan of Colleen Houck since I first read her Tiger's Curse Series years ago. She has a way with dialogue and lore that makes her stories really come to life. I was so excited when this book popped up as available to request on NetGalley because I haven't read her work is so long. I had no idea what to expect when I read the synopsis, but this book is so much better than the synopsis leads you to believe.       One of the things I absolutely loved were all the references to Halloween and other supernatural stories. They were innumerable and include: Sleepy Hollow, Frankenstein, The Loch Ness Monster, Roanoke, The Boogeyman, Dracula, a Will-o-the-wisp, the "origin" of Jack O Lantern and to top it all off, The origin of Halloween. There are more references than this, i'm certain, but these are all the ones I caught. This is a truly great Halloween read and I wish it came out in October!      As far as story development goes, this novel had me enthralled from the start. This story is told so uniquely that it was hard to put it down. I haven't read any story set in this time period about supernatural forces. It was refreshing since I'm used to reading high fantasy and I loved reading this sweeping adventure. Although set in an older time period, this novel clearly has some steampunk influences since there is some futuristic technology when they travel the Otherworld and I found myself enjoying it (although I swore I wouldn't). Another thing I enjoyed was her use of time period appropriate dialogue and vocabulary. It's unclear when exactly this story is set, but it's obviously hundreds of years ago. I really appreciated the way she stuck to the time period and even had to look some of the words up!      One of the most divisive plot points for me was the romance. There are 3 different men vying for Ember's attention in this novel and I have to say as someone who loves romance, it was a bit much. I really enjoyed the characterization of all 3 men but it seemed forced that she should have so many suitors, especially when she has a clear preference for one. This also raised issues for me about their attitude towards Ember but that's for the next paragraph.       In regards to strength of protagonist, I chose average. Don't get me wrong, I really enjoyed Ember. She was dynamic and has an insatiable curiosity. My problem is with how she lets the three men vying for her love push her around and dictate her life. I understand that maidens in this time period were more delicate, but she has such a fiery personality it seemed out of place. There were moments where she was quite a bad ass but the moments where she was coddled were greater in number.      One of the items that confused me was the constant POV switching. The plot wouldn't just switch from one character to another when the chapter changed, the POV changed within a paragraph! I got used to it after a bit but it was still jarring. I appreciated the perspectives of each situation we were able to see, however. I wish it had been done in a more organized fashion.      I really enjoyed this book. I don't think the synopsis does a good job of explaining the plot because it wasn't what I expected at all. Colleen does a great job of creating such a finely detailed world in such a short time in this standalone novel. This would be a great read for Halloween and has some surprises in store I'm sure you guys will love! 
    more
  • Jackie
    January 1, 1970
    Have you ever wanted to love a book so much that you make excuses and push yourself to keep reading even though it’s doing absolutely nothing to keep your attention?“The Lantern’s Ember” manages to intertwine urban legends, movie monsters and the Otherworld giving us the story of Jack, a once mortal man now bound to a pumpkin whose deal with the devil makes him the keeper of all things that go bump in the night and when his path crosses with the new witch in town he is determined to keep her out Have you ever wanted to love a book so much that you make excuses and push yourself to keep reading even though it’s doing absolutely nothing to keep your attention?“The Lantern’s Ember” manages to intertwine urban legends, movie monsters and the Otherworld giving us the story of Jack, a once mortal man now bound to a pumpkin whose deal with the devil makes him the keeper of all things that go bump in the night and when his path crosses with the new witch in town he is determined to keep her out of harms way by those creatures who would kill for a taste of what her magic could offer. I wanted to love this so much the cover is stunning and the premise checks all the boxes for things I enjoy but what it mastered as an idea it failed in the execution. I loved seeing the play on urban legends from Sleepy Hollow to Roanoke as well as the monsters in the Otherworld, however when you’re sold on the dark underbelly of a Halloweentown it’s very disappointing to find that it’s more like Mickey’s not so scary Halloween party. The characters lean heavily into a trope or stereotype depending on their species and it’s disappointing to see so many one note or otherwise flat versions of these monsters that could make this story so great. There’s a bit of steampunk in this which also has a lot of promise as an idea but I spent so much of this book waiting for it to actual go there and instead we stayed rather still despite fight scenes and high stakes situations and I’ve never been so sad! Give this book the Penny Dreadful type atmosphere that it deserves and it would easily be a 5 star. If you’re looking for creatures of the night that are no different from what you’ve seen hundreds of times in both tv and film this is for you but if you want something with more of a bite you’ll be just as disappointed as I am, but at least we have this cover. **special thanks to the publishers and netgalley for providing an arc in exchange for a fair and honest review!**
    more
  • Sasha Hibbs
    January 1, 1970
    *This ARC was given to me in exchange for an honest review* ~Thank you to the author and publisher. First .... that cover! Even without reading the blurb the cover is strong enough to stand on its own. Stunning! Secondly, what's inside was good, too! This will be right in time for a great Halloween read. I loved the fresh spin on what I thought would be a Sleepy Hollow retelling of sorts, and I guess it kinda is, but it's so much more than that. I loved the Steampunk theme, the Sleepy Hollow the *This ARC was given to me in exchange for an honest review* ~Thank you to the author and publisher. First .... that cover! Even without reading the blurb the cover is strong enough to stand on its own. Stunning! Secondly, what's inside was good, too! This will be right in time for a great Halloween read. I loved the fresh spin on what I thought would be a Sleepy Hollow retelling of sorts, and I guess it kinda is, but it's so much more than that. I loved the Steampunk theme, the Sleepy Hollow theme and historical facts (Salem Witch Trials) spun in a fictional way to coincide with this story. Well thought out! So, the author is clever ... the title really says it all but I'm not going to spoil the story any more than that. I loved all the characters (some more than others) and have to stay the ending was a complete surprise for me. I didn't not make that connection at all. I loved Finney, Jack, especially loved Dev, and while I liked Ember, I did struggle a bit with everyone fussing over her. I totally understood that she is a witch and that alone makes her special, but all the fawning and fighting over her (at one point there appeared to be 3 suitors) just didn't match up with her character. I loved all her talent and power and she never led anyone on, I guess it was the instant attraction for no apparent reason that perhaps made me raise an eyebrow. Other than that, the other characters were super fleshed out and you definitely have favorites. I LOVED the Otherworld! I adored the way the author detailed out a completely new realm. I envisioned myself there while I read about. Overall, The Lantern's Ember was fresh, original and left me wanting more. The author did wrap things up, but as I said earlier, you do fall in love with secondary characters, so this is a world I would love to revisit. Highly recommended!
    more
  • Shell Hunt
    January 1, 1970
    Release Date: Sept 11, 2018My question after finishing this book is can this book be saved by the ending? The Lantern's Ember is a book by an author with a stack of books on my "to read" list and that cover, guys, is perfect. This one is a Halloween story about a "lantern" named Jack who protects entrances to the Otherworld. He really likes this witch, Ember, she's totally gorgeous and he can't do the right thing by turning her in the the high witch and Lord of the Otherworld. Then comes this va Release Date: Sept 11, 2018My question after finishing this book is can this book be saved by the ending? The Lantern's Ember is a book by an author with a stack of books on my "to read" list and that cover, guys, is perfect. This one is a Halloween story about a "lantern" named Jack who protects entrances to the Otherworld. He really likes this witch, Ember, she's totally gorgeous and he can't do the right thing by turning her in the the high witch and Lord of the Otherworld. Then comes this vampire named Dev, he also super loves Ember, but takes her to the Otherworld cause he was hired to. Then there's the human, Finney, hired by Jack to help find Ember and surprise, surprise, he also loves Ember. Overdone triple romance triangle aside, sounds cool, right? Wrong, because nothing happens. The wander from place to place without any good reason. Dev wants to take her to the witch, but can't for some weird reason so they go to this inventor for some weird reason also? There are enough random plot holes in this book that I'm not even 100% sure how to describe the plot. The characters are troublesome as well. The male characters don't really have any qualities besides their undying love for Ember. I'm not joking. I couldn't tell you anything interesting about them besides their "race" and what they love most about this witch. The secondary characters are even more problematic. We meet a villain of sorts near the end of the book and he imprisons the witch for destruction of the worlds. Even though he imprisons them he says, "Hey, Ember. I know you are, like, the most powerful witch we have ever seen and I should totally keep you trapped here in your room forever; but you can totally use my lab to rebuild your weapons and potions. You won't kill me right? Cool." The ending (not epilogue) was actually good. I won't say amazing or fantastic, but it was good. I liked the way all the characters contributed to the ending in a way that solved the problems (and not random feeling). Oh, except Delia, cause she was trapped and no one really cares? All the relationship issues just melt away too, isn't that precious? Just like real life, you find out something about people and you just hug them. The more I write about this book, the more I am convinced that this book is not for me and it's not very good. A good ending doesn't save a less than mediocre book. There are some big rewrites needed to make the characters relatable, interesting, and active in this book.Such re-writes could also improve the plot and provide adequate explanations for the character's choices and direction. Read at your own risk.Thanks to Net Galley for a copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Taylor Fenner
    January 1, 1970
    To start off, I was really excited about this book when I first heard about it. The author described it as a retelling of the Legend of Sleepy Hollow (which I love!) but to be honest... I've read better reimaginings of The Legend of Sleepy Hollow. This book just kind of fell flat for me. It has a gorgeous cover, don't get me wrong, but the story inside is just kind of ... meh. I didn't care for our naive heroine, the fact that all of the male characters were in love with her, the steampunk theme To start off, I was really excited about this book when I first heard about it. The author described it as a retelling of the Legend of Sleepy Hollow (which I love!) but to be honest... I've read better reimaginings of The Legend of Sleepy Hollow. This book just kind of fell flat for me. It has a gorgeous cover, don't get me wrong, but the story inside is just kind of ... meh. I didn't care for our naive heroine, the fact that all of the male characters were in love with her, the steampunk themes, and I guess I was expecting something a little spookier. Overall, this book was not for me. Maybe it would appeal to somebody younger, I don't know. I really wanted to love this one but I just couldn't. I'm left feeling disappointed.
    more
  • Carly
    January 1, 1970
    Arc recieved from netgalley. You would think that book that involved witches, sleepy hollow, vampires, werewolves, ghosts, pirates and the boogeyman would be complicated and jam packed but colleen made it all work. I thought this would have to be 2 books but she made it all come together quickly at the end. It didnt seem rushed but i felt like after how well i liked the first 90% of the book that the ending didnt do it justice.I wouldnt say theres a love triangle but theres a chance that you mig Arc recieved from netgalley. You would think that book that involved witches, sleepy hollow, vampires, werewolves, ghosts, pirates and the boogeyman would be complicated and jam packed but colleen made it all work. I thought this would have to be 2 books but she made it all come together quickly at the end. It didnt seem rushed but i felt like after how well i liked the first 90% of the book that the ending didnt do it justice.I wouldnt say theres a love triangle but theres a chance that you might want her with another guy for awhile. If so it will be changed back fairly quickly.Overall i enjoyed this book. If you like her other books you will like thisIts angreat book to read around Halloween
    more
  • Eva
    January 1, 1970
    I haven't read any of the authors previous books. I also read very few YA books. I finished the galley and I have to say I enjoyed it. I really liked Jack. Totally made me think of Jack Frost from Rise of the Guardians meets the Headless Horseman from Sleepy Hollow. Did anybody else feel that way? I don't know. Maybe it is just me.I enjoyed the adventure. And my favorite part was that it was a stand alone story. It felt good to read a book all the way through and then have it actually to conclud I haven't read any of the authors previous books. I also read very few YA books. I finished the galley and I have to say I enjoyed it. I really liked Jack. Totally made me think of Jack Frost from Rise of the Guardians meets the Headless Horseman from Sleepy Hollow. Did anybody else feel that way? I don't know. Maybe it is just me.I enjoyed the adventure. And my favorite part was that it was a stand alone story. It felt good to read a book all the way through and then have it actually to conclude. I will be recommending this to a few of my friends once it comes out.
    more
  • Mikala
    January 1, 1970
    I received a free ARC of this book on Netgalley. This book was a fun read. It will definitely put you in the mood for Halloween. It’s very atmospheric. A little bit of steampunk with magic is in this book. Ember is a strong female character, that knows what she wants and is definitely stubborn. There was a twist at the end that I didn’t see coming! I loved the ending of this book. It was great. While reading this, you’ll see a lot of different nods to spooky legends and characters, like Sleepy H I received a free ARC of this book on Netgalley. This book was a fun read. It will definitely put you in the mood for Halloween. It’s very atmospheric. A little bit of steampunk with magic is in this book. Ember is a strong female character, that knows what she wants and is definitely stubborn. There was a twist at the end that I didn’t see coming! I loved the ending of this book. It was great. While reading this, you’ll see a lot of different nods to spooky legends and characters, like Sleepy Hollow and Frankenstein. This book is coming out at the perfect time of year.
    more
  • Jessica Strange
    January 1, 1970
    First things first, I LOVE the cover. It’s what drew me in. This one ended up being a very enjoyable read! It’s not scary, but the Halloween atmosphere makes up for it. It’s a little predictable, but it’s ok for me, as I enjoyed this book. I will definitely be buying the hardcover when this comes out, and plan to read this on Halloween! I recommend this one! Thank you Netgalley for the chance to review!
    more
  • Savannah Porter
    January 1, 1970
    *I received an ARC from Delacorte Press (via NetGalley) in exchange for an honest review.*As a big fan of Colleen Houck’s Tiger’s Curse series, I was excited to start this Halloween spin-off tale. I was surprised at the difference in style between the two (having not read the Reawakened series, I can only compare to Tiger’s Curse). For a quick summary of what this book is about, click here.First, Houck chose to write in third person omniscient (looking into the point of view of all main characte *I received an ARC from Delacorte Press (via NetGalley) in exchange for an honest review.*As a big fan of Colleen Houck’s Tiger’s Curse series, I was excited to start this Halloween spin-off tale. I was surprised at the difference in style between the two (having not read the Reawakened series, I can only compare to Tiger’s Curse). For a quick summary of what this book is about, click here.First, Houck chose to write in third person omniscient (looking into the point of view of all main characters). While it was interesting to get inside the heads of so many distinct characters like witches, lanterns, vampires, and humans, I felt I was missing the character depth I felt familiar with in Tiger’s Curse. Because of this, my connection to the main characters felt dry. Often, I asked myself, “This is interesting and all, but why should I care?” Additionally, so many characters were introduced at different parts of the novel that the omniscient view became disorienting. BUT, I thought the different “Halloween” characters were entertaining. Houck’s imagination created interesting characters based on folklore we all know: the boogeyman, jack o’ lanterns, witches, vampires, and Frankenstein’s monster. So I will give her that.Another thing I struggled with was the worlds in which The Lantern’s Ember takes place: the mortal world and the Otherworld. I never felt like I could fully settle into the setting. Although it was consistent, it felt too strange and unbelievable to me. This is probably because it combined folklore, a world of corsets and bustles, science, and technology. It was a bit overwhelming.As for the plot, Houck did well with making it feel like a fairytale retelling. However, I did lose interest before I reached the midpoint and didn’t regain it until 70% through the book. The middle section was, frankly, boring and missing some tension and character growth. Not to mention having random, long sections of exposition.This all being said, I’m giving it three stars despite of its faults because of creativity and a satisfying ending. Here’s a further breakdown:Writing Aesthetic/Style: 3Plot/Movement: 2Character Development: 2Overall: 3Would I recommend? Sure, especially to those who love fantasy, Halloween, and folklore.
    more
Write a review