The Silent Girls (Detective Anna Gwynne #1)
‘Ambulance and police. Something’s happened. I don’t know what. But my little girl.’ A sob choked off the sentence… ‘It’s my daughter.’When a young girl disappears from the edge of the local forest, the Gloucestershire police are convinced she’s been taken by the same killer who stabbed to death beautiful, young Emily Risman eighteen years ago. They’re desperate to finally have the evidence to put him away. To save another girl before it’s too late.Only Detective Anna Gwynne thinks he isn’t the real killer.Anna can’t find proof and as time is running out, she realises she needs to get inside the killer’s twisted mind. And she knows just who to ask. Hector Shaw, in prison for killing the six men who caused his own daughter’s death.Can Anna get what she needs from Hector before another life is lost, or could he lead her down a path that puts her own life in grave danger?An absolutely page-turning thriller that will have you hooked. If you love Val McDermid, Angela Marsons and M.J. Arlidge, you won’t be able to put down The Silent Girls.

The Silent Girls (Detective Anna Gwynne #1) Details

TitleThe Silent Girls (Detective Anna Gwynne #1)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 19th, 2018
PublisherBookouture
Rating
GenreThriller, Mystery

The Silent Girls (Detective Anna Gwynne #1) Review

  • Carrie
    January 1, 1970
    The Silent Girls by Dylan Young is the first book in the Detective Anna Gwynne police procedural series introducing Anna as an upcoming detective charged with finding a killer. The book stars with a gripping scene where a father goes to check his teen daughter who had been having a sleepover in their barn only to find her friend drugged and a lot of blood with his daughter missing.Detective Anna Gwynne and her team are tasked with the case which they believe may be linked to another killing year The Silent Girls by Dylan Young is the first book in the Detective Anna Gwynne police procedural series introducing Anna as an upcoming detective charged with finding a killer. The book stars with a gripping scene where a father goes to check his teen daughter who had been having a sleepover in their barn only to find her friend drugged and a lot of blood with his daughter missing.Detective Anna Gwynne and her team are tasked with the case which they believe may be linked to another killing years prior. When Anna’s boss and mentor gets ill she is put in charge of the team and the investigation. Anna also finds herself looking for help from another serial killer when she makes an unexpected connection with him.The genre of police procedurals is one that is really a hit or miss for me, sometimes I absolutely love them and other times they aren’t quite as gripping as I would like them to be. With The Silent Girls it unfortunately fell into the latter category even after starting off with what was an extremely compelling beginning. What I find that slows down the pace and gives me a bit of a disconnect is usually the style in which previous cases and/or evidence is given in a book. In this case it felt a bit dry like I was actually reading police files myself.Also, there is a scene at the end of this book that I didn’t quite like in how it’s done. Without giving any spoilers though this was just a personal preference in feeling that was something a bit overdone and didn’t fit this character in my mind. The final wrap up of the perpetrator though in the story was one that I don’t think too many will see coming so that was good. For me though when finished I thought this one to be an OK read but would hope the next could be a bit more intense.I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.For more reviews please visit https://carriesbookreviews.wordpress....
    more
  • Mandy White
    January 1, 1970
    The first in a new police series featuring Detective Anna Gwynne, the Silent Girls is a great read. When a young girl is found murdered in a stable in a similar manner to an 18 year old murder, Anna is on the trail to find the real killer. Her gut tells her that the wrong man was accused 18 years ago but struggles to get her colleagues to believe her. I read this book in less than 24 hours, I was hooked and needed to keep reading. I received an advance copy of this book from Bookature via Netgal The first in a new police series featuring Detective Anna Gwynne, the Silent Girls is a great read. When a young girl is found murdered in a stable in a similar manner to an 18 year old murder, Anna is on the trail to find the real killer. Her gut tells her that the wrong man was accused 18 years ago but struggles to get her colleagues to believe her. I read this book in less than 24 hours, I was hooked and needed to keep reading. I received an advance copy of this book from Bookature via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Louise Wilson
    January 1, 1970
    A young girl disappears from the edge of the local forest and the Gloucestershire police are convinced she's been taken by the same killer who stabbed to death Emily Risman eighteen years ago. They are desperate to have evidence to put him away. Only Detective Anna Gwynne thinks he isn't the real killer. Anna can't find proof and time is running out.This is a creepy and gritty police procedural. There are lots of suspects to keep you guessing but it's not a predictable read. The pace is set quit A young girl disappears from the edge of the local forest and the Gloucestershire police are convinced she's been taken by the same killer who stabbed to death Emily Risman eighteen years ago. They are desperate to have evidence to put him away. Only Detective Anna Gwynne thinks he isn't the real killer. Anna can't find proof and time is running out.This is a creepy and gritty police procedural. There are lots of suspects to keep you guessing but it's not a predictable read. The pace is set quite fast, it's full of twists and I'm looking forward to the next book in this new Detective Anna Gwynne series.I would like to thank NetGalley, Bookouture and the author Dylan Young for my ARC In exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Zannie (darktwistybooks)
    January 1, 1970
    The Silent Girls by Dylan Young is the first book in the Anna Gwynne series. What a great start!17-year-old Nia has a sleepover in her family's stable for her birthday one evening. Her father goes to check on her and finds her friend drugged and barely conscious and his daughter missing.Soon, Nia is found dead, in a shallow grave, with her arm reaching out and stab wounds all over her body. Strikingly similar to Emily's body found eighteen years earlier.And as luck would have it, Emily's killer The Silent Girls by Dylan Young is the first book in the Anna Gwynne series. What a great start!17-year-old Nia has a sleepover in her family's stable for her birthday one evening. Her father goes to check on her and finds her friend drugged and barely conscious and his daughter missing.Soon, Nia is found dead, in a shallow grave, with her arm reaching out and stab wounds all over her body. Strikingly similar to Emily's body found eighteen years earlier.And as luck would have it, Emily's killer has just gone free from prison. The case seems pretty open and shut. But niggling questions are hanging in the air as to whether an innocent man may have done time for a crime he didn't commit.The Silent Girls drew me in right away, and Dylan Young wrote a good story! The characters were likable, and the story was intriguing.Seeing someone possibly wrongly accused of murder is a sad affair. The storyline veered off onto three different tracks. First, the current investigation, second, the prior investigation/possible wrongful imprisonment, and third, seeking help from a killer who knows the minds of killers.I was most intrigued by the investigation into the wrongful imprisonment, but the entire book was very engaging. I'm looking forward to more Dylan Young books, including Anna Gwynne #2. 4-Stars.I was very fortunate to be able to take part in the Publication Day Blast for The Silent Girls by Dylan Young.  Please be sure to check out the other blogs listed below!  Thank you to Bookouture and Dylan Young for an advanced copy of The Silent Girls.  My review is unbiased and solely my own.
    more
  • Clare
    January 1, 1970
    With thanks to Netgalley and Bookoutre for this ARC in exchange for an open and honest review.When I read the prologue for The Silent Girls I was instantly drawn into the story. Chris Hopkins woke up one snowy morning and went to his nearby stable to check on his 16 year old daughter Nia and her best friend Beckie. Nia was horse mad and wanted spend the night in their stables. When Chris went to the stables there was evidence of a disturbance. He was shocked to discover Nia missing and her best With thanks to Netgalley and Bookoutre for this ARC in exchange for an open and honest review.When I read the prologue for The Silent Girls I was instantly drawn into the story. Chris Hopkins woke up one snowy morning and went to his nearby stable to check on his 16 year old daughter Nia and her best friend Beckie. Nia was horse mad and wanted spend the night in their stables. When Chris went to the stables there was evidence of a disturbance. He was shocked to discover Nia missing and her best friend unconscious, apparently drugged. Meanwhile Sergeant Anna Gwynne and her boss DCI Shipwright went to prison to interview killer Hector Shaw. Shaw's DNA and another person's had been found after checking the forensics on the rape of a fifteen year old girl. Shaw denied he was a rapist but would say nothing further.Meanwhile Seventeen years earlier Neville Cooper was convicted of murdering Emily Riseman. The police were accused of withholding evidence and of forcing a confession. After an appeal the court decided that the conviction was unsafe, Hector was immediately released and due for retrial. When Nia is found dead, poor Neville is chief suspect again when it turns out he works for Nia's father. When DCI Shipwright had a heart attack Anna was made acting DI, the first job for her team was to re examine the Emily Riseman case. Hector tells Anna he knows who killed Emily Riseman and Nia and leads her to the killer. The Silent Girls is definitely worth a big five stars from me. The book was fast paced, and I was shocked when the killer was revealed. I really like Anna, but we only got a snapshot of her personal life. Her ex partner is in prison so I suspect there may be more revelations to follow. I hope that storyline is developed in the next book.Hector Shaw was an interesting character. A respectable family man, and highly qualified IT person who became a murderer to avenge his daughter's suicide. I look forward to read about his motives for assisting Anna. I can't wait for book 2.
    more
  • Yvonne (It's All About Books)
    January 1, 1970
    Finished reading: January 17th 2018 "Even in the twenty-first century, warm-blooded animals all knew that things hunted in the dark." *** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Bookouture in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! *** (view spoiler)[I'll admit it: I was sold as soon as I saw both the cover and the mention of a serial killer involved. I have a weak spot for serial killer thrillers, so I have been looking forward to pick up The Silent Girls ever since. Finished reading: January 17th 2018 "Even in the twenty-first century, warm-blooded animals all knew that things hunted in the dark." *** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Bookouture in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! *** (view spoiler)[I'll admit it: I was sold as soon as I saw both the cover and the mention of a serial killer involved. I have a weak spot for serial killer thrillers, so I have been looking forward to pick up The Silent Girls ever since. And there is no doubt that this first book of a new detective series is a very promising start to what hopefully will be yet another favorite detective series on my list. First of all, I really liked the refreshing cold case angle. Detective Anna Gwynne is in a way another typical strong female main character, BUT her INTJ (Intuitive Introvert who prioritised Thinking and Judgement) adds a little something to the mix and the fact that she investigates cold cases is refreshing. The writing style in The Silent Girls is engaging and draws you right in; I was hooked right from the very first chapter. Both cases Anna Gwynne has to deal with have their creepy killer factor and it is interesting to see past and present collide and the secrets and lies slowly unravel. There are a lot of plot twists involved and the pace never slows down... You won't find a boring minute as you try to figure out along with Anna Gwynne what is really going on. Also, the whole Shaw subplot shows a lot of promise for the future. If you are looking for a new and refreshing detective series to follow, you should go meet Anna Gwynne!When a young girl disappears near the local forest, the police are convinced she has been taken by the same killer who murdered young Emily Risman eighteen years ago. They had their man behind bars, but he was released after having spent seventeen years in prison, his conviction having ruled unsafe. The police is desperate to find the evidence to put him away once and for all, but is he really the killer they are looking for? Cold case investigator detective Anna Gwynne suspects otherwise... But will she find proof before it's too late?There is no doubt that The Silent Girls is a very promising start of a new detective series that will be on my radar from now on. From a flowing, engaging writing style, interesting plot, refreshing cold case angle to great characters and a healthy dose of suspense and creepy suspects; The Silent Girls has it all. I can definitely recommend this new series to fans of the genre. Detective Anna Gwynne is one to keep an eye on. (hide spoiler)] P.S. Find more of my reviews here.
    more
  • Book Addict Shaun
    January 1, 1970
    As I say at pretty much the start of every new series, I love the start a new series and meeting a new main character and The Silent Girls (or Come Out to Play as it was called when I downloaded it) sounded fantastic. Unfortunately it took me a while to get into, the writing was clunky and the story was a little all over the place until things settled down a little bit. I also don’t like long chapters and felt that they could have been broken up better. Also, what’s with the title change? It jus As I say at pretty much the start of every new series, I love the start a new series and meeting a new main character and The Silent Girls (or Come Out to Play as it was called when I downloaded it) sounded fantastic. Unfortunately it took me a while to get into, the writing was clunky and the story was a little all over the place until things settled down a little bit. I also don’t like long chapters and felt that they could have been broken up better. Also, what’s with the title change? It just means yet another book with ‘girl’ in the title cluttering up the chart. We really need some more imaginative and different titles if publishers don’t want their books to be criticised simply for a title and Come Out to Play was much better. There’s so many books like this with girl(s) in the title that it’s something that really annoys me.The opening of the book where a father discovers his daughter has been kidnapped (we will just put to one side why the hell he and his wife let two young girls sleep alone in a barn...) I felt was strong and did set the scene for the book. I enjoyed the task force that Anna Gwynne was a part of and I became endeared to her character quite quickly and that of her boss who falls ill, leaving Anna to head up the case. She’s an intriguing character and I felt she coped well with a lot of the adversity that she faced throughout. Especially with a neighbouring police force who carried out their investigation with some extremely questionable tactics and which were quite shocking. Oftentimes in crime fiction we see characters who just want a result, not really caring if the person is actually guilty or not and there’s a few of those characters here. Unfortunately when we first meet one of the characters connected with a case from the past, one that has similarities to one in the present, I immediately had them down as the killer and I turned out to be right. I kind of lost interest from that point onwards. There’s little to no tension in this book throughout, the mystery element falls flat on its face and there’s just not enough done to make all of the characters people who could be viable suspects. Even when it turned out this character couldn’t possibly be the killer (in the eyes of an incredibly dim and naive police force that is), I still knew that it would turn out to be this person. I don’t mind working out who the killer is before it’s revealed, but only when that reveal is good. Here it wasn’t at all. Also why does every single detective novel recently seem to find the main detective fighting for their life in the closing chapters only to be heroically saved at the last minute? It all just becomes so predictable and boring when it’s happening with almost every other detective book that’s written. The saving grace here comes from the plot line with Hector Shaw who is in prison and is visited by Anna because he may have information about the case, and about a body that he buried many years ago. The scenes with this character were quite chilling and he was a hugely intriguing character who creeped me out and became one of the standout characters in the book. That said, there was so much more that could have been explored with this character and everything was just a little tame. I guess I found myself thinking back to the likes of Chris Carter’s An Evil Mind or similar books where an officer is taunted by somebody behind bars but in a more effective and chilling way than it was done here. For me The Silent Girls is a book of missed opportunities. Characterisation is strong in terms of Anna and Hector and they are two characters I would love to read about again, but the storyline for me just fell flat and left me disappointed overall.
    more
  • Eva
    January 1, 1970
    Eighteen years ago, a young girl was found murdered on the edge of the Forest of Dean. Neville Cooper was arrested and has spent all this time in prison. But now he's been released, pending a retrial. Detective Anna Gwynne and her team are tasked to investigate this cold case but then another murder happens. Coincidence or not? The local police force is convinced Cooper is the killer and determined to prove they're right but Anna thinks they're looking at the wrong person.The Silent Girls pulled Eighteen years ago, a young girl was found murdered on the edge of the Forest of Dean. Neville Cooper was arrested and has spent all this time in prison. But now he's been released, pending a retrial. Detective Anna Gwynne and her team are tasked to investigate this cold case but then another murder happens. Coincidence or not? The local police force is convinced Cooper is the killer and determined to prove they're right but Anna thinks they're looking at the wrong person.The Silent Girls pulled me in from the start and just wouldn't let go. This is an incredibly gripping page-turner with a cast of truly fabulous characters. Especially Hector Shaw, who's in prison for killing the men who caused his own daughter's death. Like a true psychopath, he plays games with Anna and he's one of those characters that just gets right under your skin, making it crawl, maybe even make you feel a little dirty and in need of a long shower. And yet, utterly fascinating and I do so hope there's more from Hector in the next instalments.I must say I love the whole concept of cold cases. Investigating a cold case is so different from a current one. Laboratories used back in the day may not be around anymore and who even knows where all the paperwork is. Original detectives may have retired or passed away as is the same for any witnesses. What possible clues could there be at a crime scene that has changed so much over the years? And who even remembers where they were or what they were doing some twenty odd years ago? But science has made progress in leaps and bounds with DNA testing, for example, being much more accurate and reliable.The investigation itself is a thrill a minute and I found the book really hard to put down. Incredibly compelling, it had me hooked and the ultimate conclusion left me reeling. I didn't see that coming at all! This is a fantastic start to a new series and I can't wait for the next book!
    more
  • Kaycee Bowick (Off_The_Press)
    January 1, 1970
    **This novel was originally titled Come Out to Play, hence the photo of my advanced digital copy. The prologue of this novel begins with Chris Hopkins going out to his horse stable to check on Nia, his 16-year-old daughter, and her best friend Beckie. It was Nia's 16th birthday and she had wanted to have a sleepover in the horse stable. Being that it was right in their backyard, a father would presume that this would be a safe, fun little get-together, but Chris was in for an earth shattering s **This novel was originally titled Come Out to Play, hence the photo of my advanced digital copy. The prologue of this novel begins with Chris Hopkins going out to his horse stable to check on Nia, his 16-year-old daughter, and her best friend Beckie. It was Nia's 16th birthday and she had wanted to have a sleepover in the horse stable. Being that it was right in their backyard, a father would presume that this would be a safe, fun little get-together, but Chris was in for an earth shattering surprise. Beckie is obviously drugged, out of her mind with delusions, the stable looks ransacked, and Nia is no where to be found. And the worst part--there is blood on the stable floor, on Nia's sleeping bag. As Christ stumbles through the motions of every parent's most chilling, worst nightmare, the Gloucestershire police department are called in.***Running alongside this plot line, is the sub-plot of Hector Shaw. Hector is a convicted murdered with quite the interesting psychological profile. Seargeant Anna Gwynn and DCI Shipwright, who are working on cold cases, visit his prison to interview him about some newly discovered DNA evidence. At a former crime scene, Shaw's DNA, along with the DNA of an unknown individual, were found and Gwynn and Shipwright want Shaw to tell them where her body is. Only Shaw isn't much for giving up information that doesn't benefit him--and he's hoping to play a game... **The Gloucestershire police department has made a connection between Nia's murder and a previous case--the rape and murder of 18 year old Emily Riseman. Because you see... the man they originally convicted of Emily's murder, Neville Cooper, was just recently acquitted and released due to controversial evidence and questionable police procedures. When Anna Gwynn takes the lead investigative position, due to Shipwright's falling health, she is faced with the challenge of seeing past the blurred lines that the Gloucestershire police department have surrounded Emily Riseman's case with and trying to determine the true murderer. But once she starts to unravel the thread of this mess of a case-- what dangers await her at its center?I really enjoyed this novel!  The opening epilogue, where Chris discovers that his daughter is missing is so chilling and will shake any parent to their core. It was a fantastic opening that sucks the reader right into the story line. There are many likable characters, many unlikable characters, and several that are downright sketchy. I had several theories as to where the novel was going and I almost had it.. I just had a few things a little backwards. And the story line of Hector Shaw that was running alongside this investigation is very significant. I love when authors of crime novels can take two separate story lines and merge them in the end. He comes into play in a very important fashion and I do believe that we will be seeing more of Shawn in future novels. One good thing to know... Some of the chapters are from the point of view of the killer. Now, in my opinion it is very difficult to pull this off, as unless you are a genuine psychopath or you have extensively studied the psychology of them, then it's tough to really mimic their thoughts and opinions. There were a few little sentences that I kind of squinted my eyes--they didn't feel very genuine, BUT overall, I was impressed with this point of view change. Having chapters from the POV of a killer can also be difficult to pull off because there is often a fine line that you have you walk with disclosing information of a crime, especially when it involves minors. There was one moment that I thought for sure that Young was about to let his killer narrate the description of the rape of a minor and I know for a fact that I would have sat the book down at that point and walked away. There are some things that I don't want to let my mind wander too close to and, having a little girl myself, I could not stomach to read that.. Thankfully, Young handled this as respectfully as he could, leaving out sensitive information and I was very glad for that. So while there is a trigger warning for attempted rape, sexual assault, and mention of a rape, there is no actual descriptors of a rape. Overall, I really loved this book! I look forward to the next installment!  Thank you to Bookouture, Dylan Young, & NetGalley for my advanced digital copy in exchange for an honest review! Off The Press Reads: Blog ♦ Instagram ♦ Bloglovin'
    more
  • Donna Maguire
    January 1, 1970
    https://donnasbookblog.wordpress.com/...This is book one in the Detective Anna Gwynne Series and I have to say that I really enjoyed Anna's character - there are a lot of books of this genre with strong female leads and Anna really held her own for me.The plot was well thought through and I loved the introduction of Hector to the story - it gave the story a really good angle and was definitely a big part of what made the story so enjoyable. I thought that the plot was great and I was gripped fro https://donnasbookblog.wordpress.com/...This is book one in the Detective Anna Gwynne Series and I have to say that I really enjoyed Anna's character - there are a lot of books of this genre with strong female leads and Anna really held her own for me.The plot was well thought through and I loved the introduction of Hector to the story - it gave the story a really good angle and was definitely a big part of what made the story so enjoyable. I thought that the plot was great and I was gripped from the first chapter right through to the end - definitely looking forward to reading more in the series - a solid four stars from me for this one - an excellent start to the series!!
    more
  • Philomena Callan Cheekypee
    January 1, 1970
    This is book one in the Detective Anna Gwynne Series. It’s my first read by this author and I really enjoyed it. When Chris Hopkins went to his stable to check on his daughter and her friend he finds his daughter Nia missing and her friend unconscious. The police believe she’s been taken by the same man who killed Emily Risman eighteen years ago. When Detective Anna Gwynne takes charge of the case she doesn’t believe he’s the killer and tries to find the real killer. I thought this was a well wr This is book one in the Detective Anna Gwynne Series. It’s my first read by this author and I really enjoyed it. When Chris Hopkins went to his stable to check on his daughter and her friend he finds his daughter Nia missing and her friend unconscious. The police believe she’s been taken by the same man who killed Emily Risman eighteen years ago. When Detective Anna Gwynne takes charge of the case she doesn’t believe he’s the killer and tries to find the real killer. I thought this was a well written fast paced read. I’d have loved to read more about Detective Anna’s personal life so hopefully we get that in book two. If you like police procedure reads then I definitely recommend you read this one.
    more
  • Yellagirlgc
    January 1, 1970
    Serial killer vs DI Anna Gwynne. Her team is looking into a cold case rape & murder. Her brilliant mind id determined to put the pieces together. It took a minute but I really warmed up to Anna. If I was wrongfully convicted I'd want her on my case that's for sure.
    more
  • Els
    January 1, 1970
    When I read the blurb I thought I was in for a good read. Although I can't say it was a bad book, there was something disturbing me.I thought the story was confusing at times and I did not really like the writing style. The story was sometimes all over the place. The book started really well. I liked the fact there was a team working on cold cases and I think Anna's team was a well oiled machine. Some parts of the story were a bit boring and I would not call it a page turner. But, in all honesty When I read the blurb I thought I was in for a good read. Although I can't say it was a bad book, there was something disturbing me.I thought the story was confusing at times and I did not really like the writing style. The story was sometimes all over the place. The book started really well. I liked the fact there was a team working on cold cases and I think Anna's team was a well oiled machine. Some parts of the story were a bit boring and I would not call it a page turner. But, in all honesty, I have to admit that I was pleasantly surprised by the twists the author had up his sleeve. I did not see them coming and that makes the time spend reading the book worthwhile. Thank you, Netgalley and bookouture.
    more
  • Noelle
    January 1, 1970
    Ooooooh Eeeeeee, I just love me a serial killer thriller and The Silent Girls did not disappoint!We are with the Avon & Somerset Police in this story where loss, wrongful conviction, anger, manipulation, mind games, righting past wrongs and justice are just a few of the themes we come across in this novel.Hells bells! What a fantastic opening! This book delivers the ever important #killerhook and some awesome description that had me sucked in from the get go! For me, this was a fast-paced re Ooooooh Eeeeeee, I just love me a serial killer thriller and The Silent Girls did not disappoint!We are with the Avon & Somerset Police in this story where loss, wrongful conviction, anger, manipulation, mind games, righting past wrongs and justice are just a few of the themes we come across in this novel.Hells bells! What a fantastic opening! This book delivers the ever important #killerhook and some awesome description that had me sucked in from the get go! For me, this was a fast-paced read and I absolutely LOVED the attention to detail and authenticity that jumped out from the pages. From the setting, to the characters and the storyline, this book just ticked ALL the boxes for what I love in a good serial killer thriller! I definitely got the Silence of the Lambs vibe from this story but not in the sense that this book was trying to duplicate that – rather in the psychology behind the story – and that TOTALLY worked for me. I also LOVED the fact that this was a cold-case police team. The reality is, a lot of murders go unsolved and teams like this are rarely written about – so YAY!! Quid Pro Quo, Mr Young….how the hell did you manage to capture the essence of one of my favourite books without making it feel like a copycat! Absolutely brilliant!If you follow my reviews, you will know that characters are what draw me to a story. They need to be believable, get me invested in them and drive the story. Check, check and CHECK! DS Anna Gwynne (who later becomes Acting DI in the story) describes herself as cool and calculating – interesting description and definitely spot on! She is thought of as the Ice Queen by others (this happens to be my nickname ..hmmmm…), an introvert, confident, very independent, objective and good at analysing situations. OH MY GOD I LOVE HER! There is definitely so much more to this character and I can’t wait to find out all about her in the next book.Hector Shaw – eeeeeeeek! A Hannibal Lector type character who is creepy as hell from the moment the reader meets him. For me, when a baddie can repel you but leave you wanting to know more – you have struck gold and that is EXACTLY what this character does. I certainly hope we have not seen the last of Shaw either! He feeds off Anna Gwynne and this is so bloody fascinating – as this experience is not uncommon in the criminal justice system – I know, I worked in it for 17 years! Manipulative, cunning, with spine-chilling qualities that oddly had me hoping that there was more from this guy…yes, I am a weirdo!DC Jason Holder – awww…a bit wet behind the ears, but there was something very likeable about this guy and he is another character who I hope to see more from in the coming series. I felt we just got a wee teaser/taster of what he is all about. I suspect he will teach Anna just as much as she will teach him!Enter the #baddie – The Woodsman….ooooooh…..another sinister and blood-curling character. Here come the nightmares! I had a list of suspects, (I like to play detective as I read) and although I did eventually work it out – I still had not had the motive pinned down and thought this was ingeniously conveyed as the pieces of the puzzle were put together.Would I recommend this book? Does a bear sh*t in the woods?! HELL YEAH, I would! If you enjoy books that combine psychology, menacing baddies, perplexing plot-lines and a great narrative – definitely pick up The Silent Girls as it won’t disappoint!
    more
  • Eva
    January 1, 1970
    This is a dark thriller with a well-developed plot. Until the end it was unclear who would be the killer.Great story!I also loved the (creepy) dynamics between DI Anna Gwynne and Hector Shaw; a whole life sentence prisoner at Witmarsh. He`s a bit like Hannibal Lector in the Silence Of The Lambs, but without the quid pro quo. Also he sees Anna more as a `daughter`... So I wouldn`t say they`ve a `healthy friendship`...I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest rev This is a dark thriller with a well-developed plot. Until the end it was unclear who would be the killer.Great story!I also loved the (creepy) dynamics between DI Anna Gwynne and Hector Shaw; a whole life sentence prisoner at Witmarsh. He`s a bit like Hannibal Lector in the Silence Of The Lambs, but without the quid pro quo. Also he sees Anna more as a `daughter`... So I wouldn`t say they`ve a `healthy friendship`...I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • lexlooksatbooks
    January 1, 1970
    *** This Review is also live on my blog! ***Thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for the opportunity to read this ARC in return for an honest and unbiased review.This is the first book in the Detective Anna Gwynne series which is a new crime and police procedural series. This started off with a fantastic epilogue of a father who goes out to check on his daughter after she's had a sleepover out in the barn and then finds she's gone. If the rest of the book had continued in a similar manner to th *** This Review is also live on my blog! ***Thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for the opportunity to read this ARC in return for an honest and unbiased review.This is the first book in the Detective Anna Gwynne series which is a new crime and police procedural series. This started off with a fantastic epilogue of a father who goes out to check on his daughter after she's had a sleepover out in the barn and then finds she's gone. If the rest of the book had continued in a similar manner to the epilogue then it would have easily been a five-star read, however I felt like the rest of the book just fell a bit flat.After the epilogue, there was a good few chapters before we found out what the epilogue was even linked to which was confusing because there was barely any reference to activities in the epilogue and in fact, Detective Gwynne and her team are working on another case which is unrelated to the epilogue. Detective Gwynne herself is part of a small team which mainly looks in to solving cold cases and they've had a great track record up to date which is why they get given the case of the Woodsman to look back into. Neville Cooper was originally arrested and sentenced as the Woodsman killer however he was recently released due to problems with evidence when another girl is killed and it is up to Detective Gwynne to look into the case and figure out if Neville Cooper is the actual killer or if it's someone else.I loved the idea of the cold case team which Anna was a part of, and I actually liked the way that this was set up with the recent release of the sentenced killer due to evidence issues. It really highlighted the old way things were done in the police way, way back when to get a result and dealt with it well I think. However I felt like the writing style was just strange and it didn't gel together like it should have. I didn't really feel connected to Anna as a character and some of the more personal scenes and character development that was put, it just seemed very random and forced and like it didn't belong – like the random night at home was described and then a strange encounter with Anna's sister and Mum which shows that Anna's mum dislikes her being in the police but that's really all we get. I just feel it was missing something and it just felt withdrawn.There was also the inclusion of the Hector Shaw case – it just seemed very random and again chucked in there as another plot point when it really didn't need to be and I feel it just added more to the story that made it confusing and just stiff because there was so much going on with so many different characters and plots. I understand that he did help with the Woodsman case but that could have always been substituted for another means of helping the case.I think I will be picking up book 2 in this series as I did find the Hector Shaw plotline interesting – he was a respected family man who's daughter killed herself due to things that occurred online and he started killing to avenge his daughter's death. I also think it will be interesting to see how Hector and Anna's relationship progresses and see what else he somehow manages to show her.
    more
  • Elaine Tomasso
    January 1, 1970
    I would like to thank Netgalley and Bookouture for an advance copy of The Silent Girls, the first novel in a new series of police procedurals featuring acting DI Anna Gwynne of the Southwest Regional Major Crimes Review Task Force.17 years ago Neville Cooper was convicted of the murder of teenager Emily Risman and now less than a year after his conviction was overturned another teenager with links to Cooper has gone missing. Anna and the team are asked to re-investigate the Emily Risman murder w I would like to thank Netgalley and Bookouture for an advance copy of The Silent Girls, the first novel in a new series of police procedurals featuring acting DI Anna Gwynne of the Southwest Regional Major Crimes Review Task Force.17 years ago Neville Cooper was convicted of the murder of teenager Emily Risman and now less than a year after his conviction was overturned another teenager with links to Cooper has gone missing. Anna and the team are asked to re-investigate the Emily Risman murder with a watching brief on the new case to establish the identity of the killer nicknamed The Woodsman. In a separate investigation Anna has been interviewing convicted serial murderer, Hector Shaw. Scarily he takes a liking to her and provides unexpected help in the Risman case.I thoroughly enjoyed The Silent Girls which was originally titled Come Out to Play. It is an excellent police procedural with a bit of everything in it - police corruption, psychopathic and manipulative serial killer (and that's just Hector Shaw), a likeable protagonist and a great plot which unfolds at a steady pace with a gradual build up of evidence and discoveries. Surprisingly I found The Woodsman and his motivations the least convincing part of the novel.Anna is an interesting character. She is introverted, uninterested in socialising although she has learned to do so to make her job easier and is fiercely analytical. She is smart, intuitive and dedicated to the truth. She inspires loyalty in her team and admiration from her superiors. I like her relentless approach and loved her altercations with some of the older guard of detectives which demonstrate that the old ways aren't always best. Hector Shaw casts a long shadow over the novel and I think Mr Young has his character just right with the veiled malevolence and violence vying with his need to manipulate. It is a scary mixture of Hannibal Lecter and Ted Bundy who actually consulted with serial killer task forces. I'm looking forward to meeting both characters again.The Silent Girls is a great read which I devoured in one sitting and have no hesitation in recommending.
    more
  • Julie Lacey
    January 1, 1970
    A great start to a new series with Detective Anna Gwynne. Anna is asked to look into a murder from the past as the person charged has just been released from prison and acquitted. Another girl has been murdered and it is the same circumstances as the first victim so everyone assumes Cooper was not innocent after all, and has struck again. Anna’s investigations take her into the path of Harris who is invesigating the recent murder and he doesn’t want Anna interfering in his case. She ignores him A great start to a new series with Detective Anna Gwynne. Anna is asked to look into a murder from the past as the person charged has just been released from prison and acquitted. Another girl has been murdered and it is the same circumstances as the first victim so everyone assumes Cooper was not innocent after all, and has struck again. Anna’s investigations take her into the path of Harris who is invesigating the recent murder and he doesn’t want Anna interfering in his case. She ignores him and continues with her investigation as she knows there’s something Harris is missing and is determined to find the killer. Anna also visits Hector Shaw in prison about another case but he soon gets under her skin about the recent murder and says he can help. I really liked Anna and loved the way she pursued the killer even though it gets more and more dangerous for her. This is definitely a series I will follow and I’m looking forward to the next book. Thanks to NetGalley and Bookouture for giving me the opportunity to to read this book.
    more
  • Eve K
    January 1, 1970
    3.5*The Silent Girls follows Detective Inspector Anna Gwynne on her journey to apprehending the serial killer known to the media as The Woodsman. Set around the Forest of Dean and Bristol, it entails a murder that happened 20 years ago, pinned on a developmentally-challenged youth, Neville Cooper, who served 17 years in prison for it until he was released due to police corruption at the time of his trial. Immediately after his release, another teen is murdered in an identical fashion and evidenc 3.5*The Silent Girls follows Detective Inspector Anna Gwynne on her journey to apprehending the serial killer known to the media as The Woodsman. Set around the Forest of Dean and Bristol, it entails a murder that happened 20 years ago, pinned on a developmentally-challenged youth, Neville Cooper, who served 17 years in prison for it until he was released due to police corruption at the time of his trial. Immediately after his release, another teen is murdered in an identical fashion and evidence is uncovered pointing again, to Cooper. Is Cooper a double murderer or is there more to the case than meets the eye?What I liked:The characters were almost all relatable or to some degree, sympathetic. I thought all of the main characters were well fleshed out and their descriptions, personalities and motives were realistic, interesting and likeable.Shaw was particularly interesting to me and I'm glad he'll likely make an appearance in the second Detective Anna Gwynne book. His story line was a welcome distraction and also a fascinating addition to the main plot and I hope it's delved into deeper later in the series.Anna stared at the horses. Inquisitive faces above powerful bodies. What violent secrets were trapped behind those dark eyes?She found a foothold on that treacherous slope of shock she'd been sliding down...I enjoyed the prose. Along with the fast-moving, direct and witty dialogue and action, there were some almost poetic lines that gave the writing a little flair without going OTT for a crime thriller."Do I detect a certain thawing of Arctic ice?" Holder said when Harris finally left. "You've got a bloody sensitive thermometer if you have," muttered Anna.Suddenly the enormity of the task threatened to overwhelm her. Rainsford, at Shipwright's behest, was taking a big punt on her to deliver. And here she was, staring at a blank wall, trying to look through it and see the threads of the case reaching out into the street and the city and the past.The pacing was good. Even though I found some description slightly drawn out, I could understand its importance regarding the strong world-building. Maybe I was a bit impatient with it, being from Bristol and already familiar with a lot of the scenery described.What I Didn't Like:Although I enjoyed The Silent Girls and found it a quick, gripping read, I can't score it more than 3.5* for the following reasons.Because of certain tricks of the thriller-writing trade, I knew who the killer was immediately upon his introduction. The more the author tried to present ensuing events in one way, the more obvious the killer's real motives became. I can't give full marks to a book that I knew the outcome of only 20-30% in. Secondly, I found it disappointing that certain characters, including Anna Gwynne who was supposed to be an esteemed, intelligent police officer, were dumbed down and did silly, reckless things, just so the plot could happen. E.g(view spoiler)[Anna Gwynne knows via the murderer's M.O that he stalks females, waits until they're in a vulnerable position, alone and unable to call for help, and then attacks. She also knows that her face has been in the news connected to the reinvestigation of a cold-case perpetrated by the murderer. But for some reason, she doesn't consider her own safety and still goes out jogging in the sparsely populated woods in the dark without protection. - WHY? For no other reason than to further the plot.After the inevitable happens... ...She felt a sharp, bright stinging in her upper thigh and fell away from the impact, dropping the phone, her hand brushing at a point on her leg... - ...seeing the dart, watching as her hand struck it... - ...pulling it out and letting it fall... - ...the bicycle was on its side off the path, the cyclist on foot, moving towards her purposefully, tearing the helmet off his head... - Slack's voice from the phone on the floor, tinny but urgent. "Ma'am? Inspector Gwynne?" She turned and ran, up off the path, --- SIGH. This police officer is jogging in the middle of the woods, whilst on the phone to one of her colleagues. She gets a drugged dart shot at her by a man on a bike, a good distance away from her on the path she's on. It makes her fall and drop her phone. Instead of picking the phone back up, telling her colleague quickly what's happened and where she is, as she runs, so she can get back-up there asap, she LEAVES THE FUCKING PHONE and runs off further into the woods, where the drug will inevitably stop her and she'll be a lamb to the slaughter. I do NOT buy this ridiculousness. (hide spoiler)]Anna Gwynne didn't seem very intelligent to me. She pointed out the obvious and allowed the investigation to carry her rather than leading it. She took ages to see what was right in front of her and then congratulated herself when she finally stumbled upon what was very obvious to the reader. Furthermore, to make Anna seem intelligent, a few of her co-workers had to struggle to keep up with her, which made them come across as complete dunces.When I'm told a character is gifted and well above her peers, I like to see it demonstrated. There's an entire chapter that should have been scrapped because it didn't go anywhere. The killer is shown scoping out his next victim and gives a lengthy description of her and her boyfriend. Then he mulls over his plans, leaving the reader to think that story line would continue. It didn't. After the chapter finished, there was no mention of the intended victim again and no hint that there ever would be."There is only one killer and he's next door with his liberal-minded, bleeding heart solicitor.""Harris? Married, two kids in their early teens. He's a warden in his local church..." - "Yes, well, I thought as much. There's an air of arrogance about him, constantly claiming the moral high ground." --- I'm getting bored of antagonists always being right-wing religious people who don't like liberals. Really fucking bored.Over all, The Silent Girls was a good start to the series and I found it far easier and more enjoyable to read than a few of the top-rated so-called thrillers of the moment. I look forward to the second instalment.
    more
  • Robyn
    January 1, 1970
    Those who know me know that I have always been infatuated with anything to do with serial killers. I was the girl with my nose in a serial killer book whether it was fiction or nonfiction. I wanted to get into the mind of a serial killer to find out what made him or her tick. What was their motivation for killing? I knew that after reading the blurb for THE SILENT GIRLS I just had to sink my teeth into it! Another book with a serial killer….wait …what? There are two serial killers?! Double score Those who know me know that I have always been infatuated with anything to do with serial killers. I was the girl with my nose in a serial killer book whether it was fiction or nonfiction. I wanted to get into the mind of a serial killer to find out what made him or her tick. What was their motivation for killing? I knew that after reading the blurb for THE SILENT GIRLS I just had to sink my teeth into it! Another book with a serial killer….wait …what? There are two serial killers?! Double score for me!Detective Sergeant Anna Gwynne of the The Southwest Major Crimes Review Task Force is following up on a cold case from seventeen years ago. Emily Risman was taken and murdered and her killer was dubbed “The Woodsman.” Neville Cooper was convicted of the crime and spent seventeen long years in prison until new evidence presented itself which lead to Cooper being released from prison. Now, a new girl has been taken under eerily similar circumstances and Cooper is back in the cross hairs of the local task force. Can Anna solve the case of the first murder that occurred so many years ago and what ties if any are there to the new case of the missing girl? Is Cooper really guilty on all counts?Anna Gwynne also has something else to worry about. She has captured the attention of another serial killer behind bars, Hector Shaw. Hector dangles bits and pieces of information her way in a sort of cat and mouse game. His tidbits of information really gets the ball rolling in Anna’s mind as she tries to come to terms with solving her cold case and linking the old case and the new case together.I can’t express how much I really loved this book. Dylan Young really took great care in making each of his characters seem real and relatable right down to the secondary characters. Anne Gwynne was definitely the stand out character for me. If you are familiar with the Kay Scarpetta series by Patrica Cornwell, then you will really love Anna Gwynne. She reminds me so much of Kay Scarpetta in demeaner and class. Gwynne is ambitious, smart, and working her way up in her department. Nothing stands in her way. She doesn’t let others, especially men in the field, intimidate her. She stands her ground and she is great at what she does. Dylan Young outdid himself as Gwynne is a phenomenal character.The suspense really has you guessing who the serial killer really is and I was pretty shocked at the outcome when I was leaning towards a whole other scenario. Speaking of serial killers, Hector Shaw was creepy as far as creepy can get. Although he is a serial killer in every sense, you can sometimes find something slightly redeeming in what he has done and how he landed in prison. If you have ever watched or read about Hannibal Lectar (Silence of the Lambs….oh come on EVERYONE has seen the movie!)) then you will really find yourself liking Hector Shaw as he takes a particular interest in Gwynne and becomes sort of a mentor to her along the way. I really hope to see more of Hector Shaw as the series progresses. He was so awesome!THE SILENT GIRLS is a fantastic start to a new series full of vivid characters and a meaty plot that you will want to sink your teeth into. I am so happy to have immersed myself in right at the beginning and I can’t wait for the next installment to the series. I need more!
    more
  • Rosa
    January 1, 1970
    I got this book from Net Galley in trade for an honest review. Thank you Bookouture for the opportunity to review this book.This review is also posted in my blog : The silent girls“Does it take a killer to catch a killer?”Apparently, it does. I love this book so much that I’m willing to give it a 5 star.The story and plotThere’s a killer on the loose and DI Anna Gwynne is on pursuit. A young girl is missing and somehow it is related to a similar crime 18 years ago. But is it really the same perp I got this book from Net Galley in trade for an honest review. Thank you Bookouture for the opportunity to review this book.This review is also posted in my blog : The silent girls“Does it take a killer to catch a killer?”Apparently, it does. I love this book so much that I’m willing to give it a 5 star.The story and plotThere’s a killer on the loose and DI Anna Gwynne is on pursuit. A young girl is missing and somehow it is related to a similar crime 18 years ago. But is it really the same perpetrator or a copycat? While the previous convict is being released based on a mistrial, the job is getting harder. Because all the signs of the murder is pointing to the freed convict. So many questions and it takes a word from another convict to open the Pandora box.The story is interesting from the beginning. Things begin to unravel pretty fast with each chapter. Anna and her partner have to investigate their cold case that linked to the new case. But not until an interview with Hector Shaw, an inmate who still got some paid dues to reveal the burial site of his last victim that things started to get clear. Things begin to change pretty quick since the middle of the book. Some new evidence is starting to come up. This is the moment when I can’t wait to quickly end my day and settle down to read the rest of the story. There’s a lot of a twist in the plot. Some things or characters that seemed good at first apparently change course in the end. You have to really follow the story to connect the dots.The end is quite unpredictable. I try to guess the perpetrator, but I got it completely wrong. There are some false signs being thrown all over the place to mislead the reader, but that’s the fun of it. The charactersI like the character Anna Gwynne. She’s strong, introvert but very driven in her work. A bit of a love story might be nice, but I think it won’t suit the character. For now, I like the way Anna is pictured in the book.Hector Shaw character doesn’t look pretty important at first. But as the story goes, this proves to be a very important character. His interest in Anna is quite intriguing, since he just says that Anna reminds him of his daughter. Their relationship reminds me a bit of the movie Silence of the lambs.All in all, I like how Dylan Young waved the relationship between each character. There are 2 sides : good and bad. And the bad are also on the good side. So, yes, it’s confusing at first. But in the end, not all the bad guys are too bad after all. And the good guys are not too good too. So it’s even.I’m for sure to be waiting for the 2nd book on the DI Anna Gwynne series and review it here.Recommend this book to those who like fast pacing story, a lot of surprises especially with the characters, a lot of twist in the plot and an unexpected ending.
    more
  • Emma Star Crossed Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    This review was originally posted on Star Crossed Reviews I received this book for free For A Blog Tour in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Ambulance and police. Something’s happened. I don’t know what. But my little girl.’ A sob choked off the sentence… ‘It’s my daughter.’When a young girl disappears from the edge of the local forest, the Gloucestershire police are convinced she’s been taken by the same killer who stabbed to This review was originally posted on Star Crossed Reviews I received this book for free For A Blog Tour in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Ambulance and police. Something’s happened. I don’t know what. But my little girl.’ A sob choked off the sentence… ‘It’s my daughter.’When a young girl disappears from the edge of the local forest, the Gloucestershire police are convinced she’s been taken by the same killer who stabbed to death beautiful, young Emily Risman eighteen years ago. They’re desperate to finally have the evidence to put him away. To save another girl before it’s too late.Only Detective Anna Gwynne thinks he isn’t the real killer.Anna can’t find proof and as time is running out, she realises she needs to get inside the killer’s twisted mind. And she knows just who to ask. Hector Shaw, in prison for killing the six men who caused his own daughter’s death.Can Anna get what she needs from Hector before another life is lost, or could he lead her down a path that puts her own life in grave danger?An absolutely page-turning thriller that will have you hooked. If you love Val McDermid, Angela Marsons and M.J. Arlidge, you won’t be able to put down The Silent Girls.Thank you to Bookouture for letting me take part in this tour. If you are a regular reader of my blog you will know that I mainly read books with a HEA. I am a lover of love! But I also watch a lot of crime based TV shows.  It started with CSI in my mid to late teens progressing to the NCIS', the Criminal Minds and my recent addiction Chicago PD. So with that in mind I decided it was time to start diversifying my reading genres. This is the second crime book I have read and I loved it.This book follows Detective Anna  Gwynne as she hunts for the killer of Emily Risman, Anna comes up against many issues both within the the force and from the public.  Anna was fascinating to me. I have seen other characters with her abilities and intellect before but it still never fails to amaze me. Her reluctance to socialise really is part and parcel with her intellect but also her past experiences. I hope we learn more about this as the series progresses. I felt  that Anna's sister Kate was her saving grace and was my favourite side character.  When I read the blurb I didn't see the relevance of Hector Shaw and why Anna needed him. As I read the story Hector's involvement became more apparent and it was a part of the story I really enjoyed. I hope that Hector returns in the other books in this series. I can see he will be a very interesting character and will have a lot of stories to tell. This book was brilliantly terrifying. It will keep you hooked and is in no way predictable. It will keep you guessing right until the very end.
    more
  • Denise
    January 1, 1970
    "Remember, we are all capable of acts of terrifying destruction when the tenuous constraints of consciousnesss snap and the primal impulses ooze and stain the world."Once upon a time, in 1998, 18-year-old pregnant Emily Risman was killed in the Forest of Dean. In present day, 16-year-old Nia Hopkins is kidnapped from her parents' barn and later found dead. Is this the same killer? And if so, is the convicted and recently released Neville Cooper back to his old, evil ways? Recently promoted Inspe "Remember, we are all capable of acts of terrifying destruction when the tenuous constraints of consciousnesss snap and the primal impulses ooze and stain the world."Once upon a time, in 1998, 18-year-old pregnant Emily Risman was killed in the Forest of Dean. In present day, 16-year-old Nia Hopkins is kidnapped from her parents' barn and later found dead. Is this the same killer? And if so, is the convicted and recently released Neville Cooper back to his old, evil ways? Recently promoted Inspector Anna Gwynne is leading the investigation for the Southwest Major Crimes Review task force -- examining the Woodsman killings following his release. In addition, there is a wave of serial rapes. Are these connected? Anna and her team are liaising with police on the current Nia Hopkins case. But those detectives are convinced that it is Neville Cooper resuming his murder spree.This is a police procedural more than a suspense thriller and it plods along as various aspects of the investigation are undertaken. Anna visits a prisoner who provides some interesting clues -- Hector Shaw -- in jail for the murders of those he suspected of murdering his daughter. Does he really have information Anna can use in her own case or is he just wanting her attention? Lots of questions in this complex case and Anna must use all her skills as she pits herself against the murderer and others involved on the police side.I did enjoy this novel but found some irritations that seem to be recurrent themes in other books in this genre. First of all, why does the main character always have such a crappy relationship with her mother and a father adoration? Secondly, why does it always come down to the criminal engaging the detective in a personal one-on-one near death encounter? The other theme in this story was that much was made of the fact that Anna tested as INTJ on the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator. This means she is supposedly an expert at thinking and judgement as well as being an intuitive introvert. It's not a BIG DEAL -- I had to laugh as I, too, test that way. It doesn't make her anything special even though the book says that only 4 in every 500 women test as INTJ. Really? I guess I'm a BIG DEAL too -- wish I'd known!! Despite all these little things that always get me in a narrative, I went along with the revelations and was unsurprised by the conclusion as it was the only thing that made sense.If this is the start of a new series, put me down for #2 because I want to see what is in store for Anna in her next outing. Thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for this e-book ARC to read and review.
    more
  • Donna ~ The Romance Cover
    January 1, 1970
    The Silent Girls (Detective Anna Gwynne #1) by Dylan Young4 stars!!! “Even in the twenty-first century, warm-blooded animals all knew that things hunted in the dark.” So, I am back to my crime thrillers with The Silent Girls and a new to me author in the form of Dylan Young. The writing was very accomplished and I could appreciate the amount of research that must have been done to bring this book to fruition. Sometimes though with this type of read the author can become too bogged down in poli The Silent Girls (Detective Anna Gwynne #1) by Dylan Young4 stars!!! “Even in the twenty-first century, warm-blooded animals all knew that things hunted in the dark.” So, I am back to my crime thrillers with The Silent Girls and a new to me author in the form of Dylan Young. The writing was very accomplished and I could appreciate the amount of research that must have been done to bring this book to fruition. Sometimes though with this type of read the author can become too bogged down in police procedures and politics and I did feel a little of this while reading this book, but this was a minor niggle because as far as the plot was concerned, I was all in.I loved Anna Gwynne, our detective in this book, however, I would have loved to have had more background on her to bring this character fully to life, but the little snippets we did get I appreciated. I am hoping that more of her background will be given as the series progresses.Dylan Young was extremely clever in crafting the plot of The Silent Girls. I read quite a lot of crime books now, but I watch crime programmes all the time so am fairly-well versed and usually quite astute when it comes to picking out the perpetrator. However, this one had me completely stumped and off base until the author wanted to make it obvious. “Remember, we are all capable of acts of terrifying destruction when the tenuous constraints of consciousness snap and the primal impulses ooze and stain the world.” This story involved the re-investigation of a cold case from nineteen years earlier and a current case of a missing girl and I thought it was extremely clever how the author compared old procedures and styles of policing against current technology and police practices. Old school gut instincts and necessity to just nail someone against todays trying to prove without a shadow of a doubt while utilising current technologies. I found this read extremely compelling, one I didn’t want to put down and one that had my brain running a mile a minute trying to piece together all the snippets of information and clues. With many twists and turns, this plot unravelled perfectly, fast paced, action packed and utterly compelling.www.theromancecover.com
    more
  • Diane Hogg
    January 1, 1970
    The Silent Girls is the first in the series surrounding Detective Anna Gwynne by the fantastic author Dylan Young. Dylan opens with a crime which will have you gasping at the reality of how probable this violation of another human being could occur. The intense darkness drags you deeper into the depths of perpetual hell giving you a sense of bewilderment and a tangible feeling of suspense.Two crimes, is there a historical connection, Detective Anna Gwynne is investigating both with the aid of an The Silent Girls is the first in the series surrounding Detective Anna Gwynne by the fantastic author Dylan Young. Dylan opens with a crime which will have you gasping at the reality of how probable this violation of another human being could occur. The intense darkness drags you deeper into the depths of perpetual hell giving you a sense of bewilderment and a tangible feeling of suspense.Two crimes, is there a historical connection, Detective Anna Gwynne is investigating both with the aid of an unlikely source, a serial killer Hector Shaw, who has a predilection for Gwynne. Can Gwynne save another girl before its too late, fingers point to the convicted killer of Emily Risman, but Anna believes there is more to the investigation and that the serial killer is still at large.Hector Shaw a convicted serial killer draws Anna in but what are his intensions, does he really know who is responsible, Anna has to traverse the mind of a serial killer and hope that she is not leading herself into danger. There are so many suspects, I couldn’t believe how Dylan managed to lead me a merry dance. I mentally pointed my finger, eradiating suspects but with twists I didn’t see coming I always seemed to come full circle, doubting my powers of deduction. For all my speculations Dylan bamboozled me and he won out, bravo, a definite sign of spanking good thriller.A fantastic 5*police thriller in which I thoroughly loved, delving deep into the dark mind of a serial killer, chilling my very soul. The Silent Girls drips with intense and insatiable criminal desire, pulling you deeper into the darkest of minds.Thank you to Dylan Young, Bookouture and Noelle for allowing me to read and review an advanced readers copy of The Silent Girls and to be part of the #BlogBlast on publication day.
    more
  • Rachel
    January 1, 1970
    The opening to this story certainly grabbed my attention and I was intrigued as to where things would go from there. I liked the introduction to Anna's character she came across as slightly complex and it was interesting to see her character develop as the story moved along. This book moves at a steady pace with a good mix of showing the current investigation along with the past one meaning you become fully invested in discovering the truth. I have a soft spot for cold case stories so The Silent The opening to this story certainly grabbed my attention and I was intrigued as to where things would go from there. I liked the introduction to Anna's character she came across as slightly complex and it was interesting to see her character develop as the story moved along. This book moves at a steady pace with a good mix of showing the current investigation along with the past one meaning you become fully invested in discovering the truth. I have a soft spot for cold case stories so The Silent Girls really appealed to me. It must be frustrating for the detectives as they try to look back and hopefully pick up some new information or hope that they will finally get a hit with DNA results. With a few surprises and a plenty of suspects to choose from I was kept on my toes as to who was behind everything. The addition of Hector Shaw to the story really gave an extra depth and it was so interesting to see Anna and Hector's interactions. There were also some pretty chilling moments especially the parts of the story shown through the eyes of the killer. The Silent Girls is a solid start to a new series and I'm looking forward to seeing what will happen next. Dark, chilling and very twisty!Four stars from me!With thanks to Noelle at Bookouture for my copy. This is my honest and unbiased opinion.
    more
  • Maggie
    January 1, 1970
    When Neville Cooper's conviction is overturned for the rape & murder of Amy Risman, Detective Anna Gwynne, member of a cold case task force, sets out investigate the murder. When another young girl is abducted & found buried in the same way as Amy the local force is convinced that Neville Cooper is to blame. Amy thinks that seems a tad too convenient!Through another investigation Anna comes in contact with prison inmate Hector Shaw. He takes a liking to Anna (not something she finds flat When Neville Cooper's conviction is overturned for the rape & murder of Amy Risman, Detective Anna Gwynne, member of a cold case task force, sets out investigate the murder. When another young girl is abducted & found buried in the same way as Amy the local force is convinced that Neville Cooper is to blame. Amy thinks that seems a tad too convenient!Through another investigation Anna comes in contact with prison inmate Hector Shaw. He takes a liking to Anna (not something she finds flattering!) However he does provide useful insight into the case.The case leads up many unexpected paths before it is all resolved.Anna is an interesting character, introverted, fiercely intelligent and dedicated to doing the right things. I look forward to meeting her again.This was a good start to a series. Thanks to Netgalley & the publisher for letting me read & review this gripping book.
    more
  • February For Weird Fiction The Haunted Reading Room
    January 1, 1970
    Review: THE SILENT GIRLS by Dylan YoungI don't think I've ever met a British police procedural I didn't love. THE SILENT GIRLS is certainly no exception. Fast-paced and suspenseful, this mystery is also character-driven, including but not limited to, the female protagonist, Detective Sergeant Anna Gwynne, and the villain-killer adopting the appellation "The Woodsman." The novel also expertly sounds themes of criminal justice, including railroading of suspects in order to close a case, possible c Review: THE SILENT GIRLS by Dylan YoungI don't think I've ever met a British police procedural I didn't love. THE SILENT GIRLS is certainly no exception. Fast-paced and suspenseful, this mystery is also character-driven, including but not limited to, the female protagonist, Detective Sergeant Anna Gwynne, and the villain-killer adopting the appellation "The Woodsman." The novel also expertly sounds themes of criminal justice, including railroading of suspects in order to close a case, possible corruption in law enforcement, and the dangers of closed-mindedness (in which the truth cannot be discovered because one believes the truth is already known).THE SILENT GIRLS is engrossing, and I anticipate reading more from this author.
    more
  • Patricia Romero
    January 1, 1970
    Anna and her partner are working a cold case when another girl goes missing. Did the wrong man get convicted the first time and now that he is out, is he being framed again or is he the Woodsman?Anna is not only finding few answers, but the detectives who put a man away for the crime for 17 years has now been acquitted and the police may have a few rotten apples in their midst. There was a real Silence of the Lambs feel to this one. With another serial killer in prison refusing to speak to anyon Anna and her partner are working a cold case when another girl goes missing. Did the wrong man get convicted the first time and now that he is out, is he being framed again or is he the Woodsman?Anna is not only finding few answers, but the detectives who put a man away for the crime for 17 years has now been acquitted and the police may have a few rotten apples in their midst. There was a real Silence of the Lambs feel to this one. With another serial killer in prison refusing to speak to anyone but Anna. He helps but on his terms and Anna must live with those to see justice done in this case.Hector Shaw set out to find out the reason behind his daughter's death and once he did, he became a vigilante of sorts. And this guy is seriously a manipulative sociopath!The story is the first in a series and I can tell you that I read it all in one sitting because I had to see how it ended. And no, did not see that coming until the very end!Well Done!Netgalley/bookouture  Release January 19.2018
    more
  • Jenea Whittington
    January 1, 1970
    The Silent Girls thrilling tale of a serial killer and the detective who is on a quest to find the truth. This was previously titled, Come Out to Play, but I do like this title a lot more. It seems to fit the story as a whole quite well. This was one those books that I found my immersed in, and didn’t want to put it down.The story opens with a young girl going missing, it bares the similarities to a previous crime that took place 18 years ago. Neville Cooper AKA The Woodsman, who is the man who The Silent Girls thrilling tale of a serial killer and the detective who is on a quest to find the truth. This was previously titled, Come Out to Play, but I do like this title a lot more. It seems to fit the story as a whole quite well. This was one those books that I found my immersed in, and didn’t want to put it down.The story opens with a young girl going missing, it bares the similarities to a previous crime that took place 18 years ago. Neville Cooper AKA The Woodsman, who is the man who was convicted of the murder all those years ago has recently had his conviction overturned and is out of prison. The police are quick to judgement that he has killed this girl as well. But there is a new task force that reviews old cases, with a detective that believes that Cooper is not behind this specific murder. Detective Anna Gwynne has her work cut out for her, because the town and the police believe they have the right man. Will she be able to find who is really behind this horrible crime and without putting herself in danger before he strikes again?This has a pretty wide cast of characters, you have the townspeople, the families of the murdered girls, and the suspects family members, and of course many law enforcement officers involved. Some of the officers were questionable and were strictly by the book. But Anna Gwynne is one that will do what she needs to do to uncover the truth. She was smart and an excellent investigator, she follows her instincts, even if they take her to an unlikely source for help on the case. Hector Shaw is a convicted serial killer, but he was full of information, some that would help in the case and some that was just to get under Anna’s skins. I didn’t quite understand the connection that Anna and Hector had, and at first I was a little leery of it all, I did come to understand why she went to him though. But wow, Hector was one manipulative man! With so many characters, it is hard to go over all of them, but each one played their part very well. The questionable ones too.As all the pieces start in place, with multiple suspects and truths being discovered, the suspense builds keeping me on my toes. And then I found myself trying to figure out who the Woodsman really was, was I wrong all along? It all leads up to a fairly intense and gritty ending. It was a satisfying conclusion, and I am curious to see where Young will take Detective Ann Gwynne next in Blood Runs Cold.The Silent Girls was a suspenseful and eerie ride, and a fantastic start to the series. I can’t wait for the next book!!
    more
Write a review