The Spinner of Dreams
Inventive, empathetic, and strange in all the best ways, The Spinner of Dreams draws from the author’s own experiences to create a story that feels timeless and universal. As she did in her debut The Land of Yesterday, K. A. Reynolds thoughtfully explores mental health and crafts an adventure that fits right alongside middle grade classics like The Phantom Tollbooth.Annalise Meriwether—though kind, smart, and curious—is terribly lonely.Cursed at birth by the devious Fate Spinner, Annalise has always lived a solitary life with her loving parents. She does her best to ignore the cruel townsfolk of her desolate town—but the black mark on her hand won’t be ignored.Not when the monster living within it, which seems to have an agenda of its own, grows more unpredictable each day.There’s only one way for Annalise to rid herself of her curse: to enter the Labyrinth of Fate and Dreams and defeat the Fate Spinner. So despite her anxiety, Annalise sets out to undo the curse that’s defined her—and to show the world, and herself, exactly who she is inside. “With this haunting, wildly-imaginative, deeply-felt fairy tale, K.A. Reynolds proves to be a gifted dream spinner herself. A testament to the power of hope, determination, and of having a magical cat on your side.” (Anne Ursu, author of The Lost Girl) “A magnificent and fantastical journey expertly woven with magic, imagination, and hope. Reynolds gently draws the reader to a place where fragile dreams are realized, where broken hearts are made whole. Readers will be utterly captivated.” (J.C. Cervantes, New York Times bestselling author of The Storm Runner)"Utterly thrilling and achingly poignant, The Spinner of Dreams positively brims with magic, mystery, and poetry. This is the kind of book I needed when I was eleven years old: the type that proves that girls can fight their demons and win." (Hayley Chewins, author of The Turnaway Girls)"Adventurous readers of all ages will fall in love with this tale of hope, courage, and friendship. Readers who are looking for a nonromantic, quest-centric fantasy will appreciate the relationship that Annalise forges with Mister Edwards, a three-legged fox who guides and encourages Annalise as she follows her dream. VERDICT Highly recommended; a great title for middle grade book clubs and school and public libraries." --School Library Journal*Praise for The Land of Yesterday: “Told with riveting language, this is a poignant tale that will resonate with readers of all ages and leave them reeling from such an emotional, gorgeous story.” (Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of Aru Shah and the End of Time)“From its first words, The Land of Yesterday has the pure crystal ring of a classic, like The Little Prince or The Phantom Tollbooth—beautiful, unique, and shimmering with truth. It’s a balm for grief, and a bursting fantastical joy of a story.” (Laini Taylor, New York Times bestselling author of Strange the Dreamer Laini Taylor, New York Times bestselling author of Strange the Dreamer)“Richly imagined, creative, and entertaining.” (School Library Journal)

The Spinner of Dreams Details

TitleThe Spinner of Dreams
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 27th, 2019
PublisherHarperCollins
Rating
GenreChildrens, Middle Grade, Fantasy

The Spinner of Dreams Review

  • ✨Brithanie Faith✨
    January 1, 1970
    4/5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐ ARC provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.The Spinner Of Dreams by K. A. Reynolds follows Annalise Meriwether ; a young girl who was cursed at birth by the devious Fate Spinner. While she does her best to ignore the cruel townsfolk- her curse is growing more and more unpredictable each day, and there's only one way for her to rid herself of it; she must enter the Labyrinth of Fate and Dreams despite her anxiety and defeat the infamous Fate Spinner once and for 4/5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐ ARC provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.The Spinner Of Dreams by K. A. Reynolds follows Annalise Meriwether ; a young girl who was cursed at birth by the devious Fate Spinner. While she does her best to ignore the cruel townsfolk- her curse is growing more and more unpredictable each day, and there's only one way for her to rid herself of it; she must enter the Labyrinth of Fate and Dreams despite her anxiety and defeat the infamous Fate Spinner once and for all! This book honestly made me question why I don't read middle-grade more often! It can be hard for me as a 24 (going on 25) year old to connect with characters that are at least a decade younger than I am, but I really felt for Annalise as her anxiety and thought process seemed to be fairly similar to my own! I loved everything about this beautifully written novel! The magic practically flows off of the pages, and I'll likely not forget any of the wonderful characters I met following Annalise's journey!
    more
  • ʙᴇʟʟᴀ.: ☾**:.☆*.:。.
    January 1, 1970
    ARC provided by the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review (Thank you!)The Spinner Of Dreams follows Annalise Meriwether, a girl with a curse shunned by almost everyone in her town. She decides to fight against her curse and find the Fate Spinner.I loved the imagery the author created and I was so glad to see loving parents, in a healthy daughter- parents relationship. I absolutely loved all the characters and especially the cat and the fox.There were some parts that were perha ARC provided by the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review (Thank you!)The Spinner Of Dreams follows Annalise Meriwether, a girl with a curse shunned by almost everyone in her town. She decides to fight against her curse and find the Fate Spinner.I loved the imagery the author created and I was so glad to see loving parents, in a healthy daughter- parents relationship. I absolutely loved all the characters and especially the cat and the fox.There were some parts that were perhaps a bit too descriptive for a middle-grade, but there isn’t anything in this novel that I didn’t find lovely, I wish I had read this as a child because this story has so much potential to encourage children to be pro-active and resilient.Beautifully written, it is a lyrical story about unique friendships, hope, personal growth, and empowerment and it flawlessly portrays anxiety and depression in a very accurate mental health representation. Filled with symbolism and metaphors it offers us an important, meaningful message about finding your inner strength to go on and achieve your goals.Annaliese’s journey was wonderful, told in an eerie and whimsical tone and emotionally connecting the reader to her, creating empathy. The fantasy and mythology aspects were intricate and unique, the worldbuilding was very creative and I'm sure Alice in Wonderland fans will love this. I will certainly read the next book this author writes.Highly recommended for older children and adults, It was an amazing novel and I’ll definitely buy the hardback (look at that super pretty cover!).
    more
  • Asha - A Cat, A Book, And A Cup Of Tea
    January 1, 1970
    I was so pleased when KA Reynolds offered me the chance to read The Spinner of Dreams early, as it was one of my most anticipated MG reads of the year! As it turns out, it was even better than I’d dreamed...It’s been really difficult to write this review, because I am so head over heels in love with this book that I keep getting a bit incoherent in my gushing. This is a magical fantasy tale that reads like a mash up of classic childrens’ literature and traditional fairy tales – and it has amazin I was so pleased when KA Reynolds offered me the chance to read The Spinner of Dreams early, as it was one of my most anticipated MG reads of the year! As it turns out, it was even better than I’d dreamed...It’s been really difficult to write this review, because I am so head over heels in love with this book that I keep getting a bit incoherent in my gushing. This is a magical fantasy tale that reads like a mash up of classic childrens’ literature and traditional fairy tales – and it has amazing #ownvoices anxiety, PTSD, and panic disorder rep. It would be beautiful if it were just a tale of friendship through weird magical peril, but to have a main character who suffers intrusive thoughts and panic attacks is just incredible. Personally, I didn’t start having panic attacks until I was an adult, but if I had been a kid who had them, this book would have meant the world to me back then – and it does now.Annalise lives in a town where everyone hates her, because of her curse. She was cursed at birth by the Fate Spinner, the evil half of a pair of royal twins who rule over people’s lives, and now everything goes wrong for her and the people around her. Despite the fact that she hates her giant hand, with its strange birthmark, she hasn’t allowed this to make her miserable or cruel to others – instead, she is brave, optimistic, and kind. She has developed coping mechanisms which comfort her, and it was fab to see these included (her repetitive hair-stroking resonated with me, as I often plait small bits of my hair when I’m feeling anxious). I loved her interactions with her parents, who are also strong, kind, supportive, and loving – I think this is pretty unusual for fantasy! It’s nice to see nice families.One of Annalise’s companions on her journey is Muse the cat, who appears first as a shelter cat looking for a home, but is quickly revealed to be much more mystical than that! You know I think all books are better with cats, so when I found out that Annalise wanted a cat so badly, I was like ‘yep, I am all in for this character’. I loved Muse! He’s so fluffy and wise and wonderful, and I loved that he was a Siberian Forest Cat, which is a very similar breed to Tomte, who’s a Norwegian Forest Cat! Muse’s appearance at the shelter is the catalyst that makes Annalise decide that she will not tolerate her curse anymore, and from there, the story gets really magical. To be honest, I would happily just have read about her daily life, which goes to show how much I love the characters and setting! But once Annalise sets off to realise her dream of living curse-free, she ends up having to battle her way through the Labyrinth of Fate and Dreams…The Labyrinth is part Wonderland, part Fae realm, and all danger. The tone of the book from this point, and the bizarre and scary creatures that Annalise meets, reminded me a lot of Chris Wooding’s Poison, which was one of my absolute favourites as a kid. Both books look at the dark and dangerous side of magic, requiring their heroines to find inner strength to survive the machinations of other-worldly beings, and both sit just on the right side of terrifying. The Spinner of Dreams is not in any way derivative of Poison, but they share a sort of overall feeling, and will probably sit next to each other on my shelf, whispering spooky things to each other.I don’t want to spoil anything about what happens in the Labyrinth, because watching it unfold had me on the edge of my seat, but I think it’s safe to say that Annalise has to learn a lot about how to accept herself, the same way she accepts everyone else, before she can triumph. She gains the guidance of some excellent friends (there is a gay fox gentleman, guys – he’s wonderful!), and they help her to see that she can take control of her own life. This is exactly the kind of narrative I like – girls learning to accept that though they may be scared, they are powerful, and that it takes every facet of their being to become powerful. This is going to become a classic. I’ve already pre-ordered a hardback, and I’ll be recommending it for years to come (not just to middle grade readers – I think everyone should read it). It’s a hot candidate for best book of 2019 for me – and yes, I know it’s not even the end of January. Go pre-order it, please!Five out of five cats, obviously!
    more
  • Mila
    January 1, 1970
    The digital arc of this book was kindly provided by the publisher via Edelweiss+ website in exchange for an honest review.3,5 starsI am very bummed that I didn't enjoy it as much as other people seemed to because it had all the necessary components to be a favourite of mine: a cursed girl, prophecies, rival sisters, a talking cat and all sorts of other magical creatures. But it didn't work out that well, unfortunately. The writing especially wasn't my thing, it was overly descriptive and just fe The digital arc of this book was kindly provided by the publisher via Edelweiss+ website in exchange for an honest review.3,5 starsI am very bummed that I didn't enjoy it as much as other people seemed to because it had all the necessary components to be a favourite of mine: a cursed girl, prophecies, rival sisters, a talking cat and all sorts of other magical creatures. But it didn't work out that well, unfortunately. The writing especially wasn't my thing, it was overly descriptive and just felt like it was trying too hard to impress, same with the adventures Annalise had in the maze. I liked the message of the story and it had some very interesting chapters but it's not something I'd reread in the future.
    more
  • Stefanie
    January 1, 1970
    In a time when people are opening up & discussing mental health, K.A. Reynolds drops this beautiful gem into the world when we need it the most! Annalise’s quest to overcome her anxiety will comfort readers & help them find the courage to seek the light out of their own maze. I loved this book and highly recommend you to read it.
    more
  • Elliott
    January 1, 1970
    My childhood was often one of loneliness. I was shy, introverted, and deeply anxiety-ridden. So often, I turned to books, my imagination, exploring the woods behind my house, and, of course, to dreams. Since I never felt a sense of security at home or at school, I was always waiting for the worst to happen. To escape this, I would most often grab a book, head to the woods with my backpack containing a sketchbook and drawing pencils, and try to find some sense of peace and belonging. One day I gr My childhood was often one of loneliness. I was shy, introverted, and deeply anxiety-ridden. So often, I turned to books, my imagination, exploring the woods behind my house, and, of course, to dreams. Since I never felt a sense of security at home or at school, I was always waiting for the worst to happen. To escape this, I would most often grab a book, head to the woods with my backpack containing a sketchbook and drawing pencils, and try to find some sense of peace and belonging. One day I grabbed a book that would change my life: Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll.Despite the title’s Wonderland, the land that Alice entered by falling down the rabbit hole was not filled with only but wonder but chaos and confusion that were often not only befuddling to Alice but overwhelming. Yet Alice never, ever gave up. She continued on in her journey through a land where they were “all mad here.” Yet in the topsy-turvy world of Wonderland, I saw a glimpse of how I saw the world. Adults were confusing, contradictory, and, to my child’s mind, just plain crazy. I clung to Alice in Wonderland like a life raft. Alice would be my friend: just like Anne Shirley, Meg Murry, and the Little Prince would become my friends. I felt like I knew and understand these literary friends far better than I did the kids who were actually around me: in my neighborhood and at my school.As all great fairy tales begin, so too does the latest by K.A. Reynolds, “Once upon a time, before the War of Fates, the Mazelands had been ruled by powerful elves, twin brothers who controlled the fates and dreams of every being in all worlds: one ruled the Mazelands, the realm of fate; the other ruled the right, the realm of dreams.” Within this modern fairy tale, there also falls a curse: this one on a girl named Annalise Meriwether. Her left hand is twice as large as her right and bears the mark of a broken black heart (the Fate Spinner’s mark) which can spark fires. Annalise is blamed for the problems of the local town. Wanting to rid herself of the curse, she undertakes entering the labyrinth of Fate and Dreams to defeat the Fate Spinner.As a boy, I was drawn to Alice in Wonderland and then to fairy tales precisely because there was a darkness to them. Fairy tales do not hide that the world is filled with trouble, that one has to enter the forest, one has to face the monsters, and that, ultimately one can defeat them. Neil Gaiman, in a paraphrase of a quote by G.K. Chesterton, wrote, “Fairy tales are more than true: not because they tell us that dragons exist, but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten.” That is why we so desperately need them – why I needed them.In my lonely childhood, there were bullies, some had come disguised first as friends. Like Annalise, I was often an isolated child who dreamed of changing my fate. In my imagination, I was the hero that I read about in books or my friends were the ones I found on pages (from Anne Shirley to Meg Murry to the Little Prince). I escaped the difficulties of home life and school, by retreating into books and daydreaming. These books were life rafts for me. I clung to them and wished to have a kindred spirit like Anne with an “e.” She showed me that it was okay to be different, to be creative, to daydream, to see the world differently, and she taught me the power of story. As a boy. I wish I had had a character like Annalise Meriwether. I can picture me now running to the woods behind our house, to sit under my favorite tree, and read and re-read The Spinner of Dreams.What K. A. Reynolds has done is to create a character who shows how one can seek a new identity of healing and power over our own narratives. This book is a testament of not only surviving but of empowerment, resilience, and hope. By creating a character like Annalise who struggles with anxiety and PTSD, she has also given such a well-developed protagonist whose flaws are exactly what makes her so compelling because she is also kind, curious, brave, and imaginative.In one section of the book, a cat named Muse tells Annalise, “Dreams are very powerful things, Annalise. Know another’s dreams, know their heart.” One gets a real sense of the author’s heart in this masterful and powerful storytelling because it is filled with compassion, empathy, and the magical alchemy of beautiful prose whose images stay with the reader long after they have closed the book. Annalise is broken and wounded but from those very things comes her strength and her power as she reaches out to those who are hurting, those who are outsiders, and those who so often get overlooked.“Always listen to the poets,” Reynolds writes, “They are the secret keepers of dreams. And remember there is no dream without risk, no fear without courage.” When I read those words, I thought of all the poets I have ever read and loved, whose words were sustaining and nourishing to my own spirit during times of great difficulty. Poets like Rumi, Rimbaud, and Rilke. To that, I would add a new poet, Reynolds. What she has given us in The Spinner of Dreams is something rare and precious that brims with magic and imagination and emotion. There is a depth to Reynolds’ writing that is rare and captivating.By the time I had finished The Spinner of Dreams, I found tears were running down my cheeks. I knew that this would be a book my childhood self would have desperately loved to have read but I was grateful that my adult self was getting the opportunity to read it now. I hoped that every child who felt as I had (alone, scared, anxious, isolated) would see themselves in Annalise and find hope, courage, and the ability to continue to dare to dream and strive to change their own fates.
    more
  • Kristi Housman Confessions of a YA Reader
    January 1, 1970
    I think this is a great starting book for MG readers to get into heavier fantasy.  It was part fairytale, part adventure, part humanity, with some portal magic.  There were talking animals, curses, strange creatures, and challenges.  This book has a little bit of everything with beautiful writing.When Annalise was born, her whole town became cursed by the Fate Spinner.  Annalise had one hand that was larger than another with a broken black heart.  She had purple eyes and blackberry colored hair. I think this is a great starting book for MG readers to get into heavier fantasy.  It was part fairytale, part adventure, part humanity, with some portal magic.  There were talking animals, curses, strange creatures, and challenges.  This book has a little bit of everything with beautiful writing.When Annalise was born, her whole town became cursed by the Fate Spinner.  Annalise had one hand that was larger than another with a broken black heart.  She had purple eyes and blackberry colored hair.  She was a strange girl, but her family loved her.  Unfortunately, the cruelty of the people around her was terrible.  They blamed Annalise for everything.  They called her a monster.  She never had a friend.   Her mom found a hypoallergenic cat at the shelter (her dad is allergic) and the three went to see if they could adopt him.  The cat was afraid of people, but he approached Annalise after she spoke to him.  He came out of the cage and she saw that one of his paws was larger than the other.  It felt like fate until the cat ran away.  Looking into the cage, Annalise found a book.  Annalise felt that her hand was a monster.  It had a mind of it's own and destroyed things.  She finally had enough and decided to enter the Labyrinth to find the Spinner of Dreams.  Annalise wanted to control her own fate and wanted her life to be happy.  "Dreams are the one thing that must always be followed."Annalise quickly found out that she could talk to animals.  She made her first friend on a train, a black fox trying to get back to his husband.  She also met siblings who were nice to her.  But the labyrinth was full of challenges.  The Fate Spinner wanted Annalise to fail.  She tried to turn everyone against her.  Annalise finds things that help her along the way.  She has memories from the past and gets information from the old king and queen.  She is terrified, but kept finding her strength to go on."I think you're just the girl for the job.  The perfect candidate for greatness is often the one who feels least qualified."Annalise found out so much about herself on this adventure.  She realized that by making her hand out to be evil, she was making it worse.  Her big hand wasn't a curse and helped her once she started to accept it.  Annalise had to trust her heart and her instincts if she wanted to defeat the Fate Spinner and find her way to dreamland to have a dream granted."Always listen to the poets," Esh-Baal said.  "They are the secret keepers of dreams.  And remember there is no dream without risk, no fear without courage."  I really enjoyed the author's note and hope you read it, too.   I found it interesting that Annalise counts to four when stresses and she preferred right to left.  I've counted things when stressed for as long as I can remember.  For me, I prefer odd numbers.  I honestly don't know what it's from, but it's a way to calm myself and control something when things feel out of control.  I appreciate the author sharing her story and how she included some of it throughout the book.I gave this book 4 stars.  Thank you to the publisher and Edelweiss for my copy for review.  Quotes are taken from an arc and may change before final printing.
    more
  • Alexa
    January 1, 1970
    "cursed cinnamon roll girls w/anxiety & panic; gay gentleman foxes; magical cats; twin enchantresses of fate & dreams"uh, fuck yeah
  • Diane Magras
    January 1, 1970
    In a tale that conjures two worlds, twin sisters, and evil beyond our imagination, a girl seeks to remove a curse that has made her entire town abhor her. The forces of love and hate are equally strong, and white and black (like the crows of this tale). Like a folktale with threads of the modern world, this book will delight fans who swooned over Kelly Barnhill'S THE MOSTLY TRUE STORY OF JACK and Anne Ursu's BREADCRUMBS, early works matching this early work (a second book) of this vividly imagin In a tale that conjures two worlds, twin sisters, and evil beyond our imagination, a girl seeks to remove a curse that has made her entire town abhor her. The forces of love and hate are equally strong, and white and black (like the crows of this tale). Like a folktale with threads of the modern world, this book will delight fans who swooned over Kelly Barnhill'S THE MOSTLY TRUE STORY OF JACK and Anne Ursu's BREADCRUMBS, early works matching this early work (a second book) of this vividly imaginative author.
    more
  • Laurie
    January 1, 1970
    I don’t read a lot of fantasy, but I will excitedly read anything K.A. Reynolds writes! Like her debut, THE LAND OF YESTERDAY, THE SPINNER OF DREAMS is gorgeously written and brimming with compassion and insight. This is the story of Annalise Meriwether, who has been dealt an unbearably difficult fate and cruelly mistreated...and who is such a kind, fierce, awesome character in spite of (or, more accurately, because of) the hardships she has faced. It’s so satisfying to go along with her as she I don’t read a lot of fantasy, but I will excitedly read anything K.A. Reynolds writes! Like her debut, THE LAND OF YESTERDAY, THE SPINNER OF DREAMS is gorgeously written and brimming with compassion and insight. This is the story of Annalise Meriwether, who has been dealt an unbearably difficult fate and cruelly mistreated...and who is such a kind, fierce, awesome character in spite of (or, more accurately, because of) the hardships she has faced. It’s so satisfying to go along with her as she follow her dream to rid herself of the curse she’s lived with her whole life. Reynolds has a glorious imagination—the world and characters of this novel are unique and so vivid. As an adult who has some experience with managing anxiety, I really appreciated the depiction of a character dealing with anxiety, especially in a fantasy novel that’s a riveting, magical story *as well as* an authentic and #ownvoices exploration of mental health issues. I think this beautifully written, empowering, wildly creative novel is going to mean a whole lot to a whole lot of kids.
    more
  • Cristin
    January 1, 1970
    I had the privilege of reading an early draft of this book, and I adored it! Annalise is a cursed child, despised by the people in her town but deeply loved by her parents. Her mistreatment by her neighbors has left Annalise with deep anxiety and PTSD, but she remains kind-hearted, friendly, and optimistic. When her parents are taken by the Fate Spinner, Annalise embarks on an adventure in a richly-imagined fantasy world. This is a beautifully-written tale about friendship, courage, and finding I had the privilege of reading an early draft of this book, and I adored it! Annalise is a cursed child, despised by the people in her town but deeply loved by her parents. Her mistreatment by her neighbors has left Annalise with deep anxiety and PTSD, but she remains kind-hearted, friendly, and optimistic. When her parents are taken by the Fate Spinner, Annalise embarks on an adventure in a richly-imagined fantasy world. This is a beautifully-written tale about friendship, courage, and finding the strength to reach for your dreams.
    more
  • Michele Knott
    January 1, 1970
    Whoa. This book blew me away. I really wasn't sure what to expect, I had heard some positive things, even amazing things, but it really didn't prepare me for the awesomeness of everything - the story, the writing, the feels...Annalise was born with a curse that comes from the evil Fate Spinner. Her left hand is larger and has a large, black, broken heart on it and inside lies a curse. A curse that does not do nice things, does not play well with Annalise, and seems to have something growing insi Whoa. This book blew me away. I really wasn't sure what to expect, I had heard some positive things, even amazing things, but it really didn't prepare me for the awesomeness of everything - the story, the writing, the feels...Annalise was born with a curse that comes from the evil Fate Spinner. Her left hand is larger and has a large, black, broken heart on it and inside lies a curse. A curse that does not do nice things, does not play well with Annalise, and seems to have something growing inside, something that wants to be outside. With this curse, it seems her fate to live an unlucky life where bad things happen to those she loves and everyone around blames her for the bad things that happen. Annalise grows past the point of frustration and wants it gone. Despite her anxieties, despite her heavy feelings that weigh her down, she decides to face her fears and rid herself of the curse and be able to choose her own destiny. Annalise must enter the Mazelands and face the Fate Spinner all while hoping the Spinner of Dreams may help her realize her dreams and release her from her curse.A book about a noble quest and a girl who just wants peace, it's a story that had me interested from the beginning. However, it was the way Reynolds wove through the storyline the feelings of depression and anxiety that made me celebrate this book. I've read many realistic fiction stories that have characters dealing with depression and anxiety, but the way it was woven through this fantasy made me stand up and applaud. Her descriptions of the feelings of being weighed down as you deal with an unspeakable sadness hit me in my heart. I know those feelings and to see them described in such a way made me so grateful for this book. I know readers who deal with anxiety will also recognize themselves within Annalise. I loved how it was a part of the book - it is why the quest is taking place - but it does not take over the storyline. Also loved the secondary characters. Lots of representation.So well done.
    more
  • Lorie Barber
    January 1, 1970
    Wow. This book. It’s the second by Reynolds that I’ve had the pleasure of reading and I absolutely loved it. I loved it more after I read the author’s note. This fantasy centers around Annaliese Meriwether, who is cursed at birth and fights to realize her dream of ridding herself of the curse and following her own destiny. There is so much to talk about this book, and I’m trying to do so without spoilers. Annaliese is a singular character. Brave beyond measure, selfless, and resilient, she learn Wow. This book. It’s the second by Reynolds that I’ve had the pleasure of reading and I absolutely loved it. I loved it more after I read the author’s note. This fantasy centers around Annaliese Meriwether, who is cursed at birth and fights to realize her dream of ridding herself of the curse and following her own destiny. There is so much to talk about this book, and I’m trying to do so without spoilers. Annaliese is a singular character. Brave beyond measure, selfless, and resilient, she learns so much about herself and allows that knowledge to develop empathy for others. I read so few neuro-diverse characters with such STRENGTH (Out of My Mind’s Melody springs to mind) and Annaliese’s struggles made her triumphs that much more gratifying. I cheered HARD for her. Her quest is full of twists and turns, and so many allusions to poems & books color her adventure along the way. The twist at the end was a surprise to me, and I loved that Reynolds trusts the reader enough not to be obvious or heavy-handed with important elements. Perhaps what I loved most of all about this book is what it can do for kids who don’t believe in themselves. Those who have suffered from trauma, those who have worry-thoughts” scattering their minds, those whose anxieties take over. Annaliese shows them that they, too, can reach their dreams. In my view, as a teacher, nothing is more vital to kids that both self-worth and the knowledge that people believe in them. This book is a MUST for any middle-grade library.
    more
  • Kate Waggoner
    January 1, 1970
    @kidlitexchange #partnerThank you to the #kidlitexchange, the publisher @harpercollinsch, and the author @krisrey19 for the advance copy of The Spinner of Dreams which will hit shelves on August 27, 2019.Twin sisters and enchantresses rule this fantasy world. Kismet is the Spinner of Fate and she controls all that you are. Her sister, Reverie, the Spinner of Dreams, controls all that you can be. Eleven-years-ago, a baby named Annalise Meriwether was born and cursed by the Spinner of Fate. The ma @kidlitexchange #partnerThank you to the #kidlitexchange, the publisher @harpercollinsch, and the author @krisrey19 for the advance copy of The Spinner of Dreams which will hit shelves on August 27, 2019.Twin sisters and enchantresses rule this fantasy world. Kismet is the Spinner of Fate and she controls all that you are. Her sister, Reverie, the Spinner of Dreams, controls all that you can be. Eleven-years-ago, a baby named Annalise Meriwether was born and cursed by the Spinner of Fate. The marker of the Spinner of Fate, a broken heart, appeared on her oversized right hand. With her curse, a curse also befell her town. Though Annalise is kind smart, and curious, she is horribly lonely as the townspeople blame her for all the misfortunes that have fallen on their town since her birth. Annalise also views her cursed hand as a monster as it often has a mind of its own and sets things on fire. After years of torment, Annalise decides to chase her dream: to rule her own destiny and rid herself of her curse. To do this, Annalise must go into the Labyrinth of Fate and Dreams, defeat the monsters inside, and make it to the Land of Dreams. This book had a very Tim Burton-esque feel to it. It's a dark modern day fairy tale. I liked that the main character has anxiety and panic attacks, but is still strong and confident. Many MG readers deal with anxiety, but this often isn't reflected in the protagonists in books. The book covers themes related to overcoming obstacles, never giving up, following your dreams, not always believing what you see/hear, and believing in yourself. There are repeated images of crows, wolves, and the colors black, red, and gold. This book is a journey and a bit of a longer read.
    more
  • Katie Reilley
    January 1, 1970
    Many thanks to the author for sharing an ARC with our #bookexpedition group! This beautiful fantasy story is told through the eyes of Annalise Meriwether, cursed at birth by the Fate Spinner. She is loathed, bullied, and feared by everyone except her loving parents, with whom she lives a reclusive life. Because of her past, her days are full of panic, anxiety, and self-doubt, but she dreams of changing her destiny. To do so, she’ll have to enter the world of the Fate Spinner and complete a quest Many thanks to the author for sharing an ARC with our #bookexpedition group! This beautiful fantasy story is told through the eyes of Annalise Meriwether, cursed at birth by the Fate Spinner. She is loathed, bullied, and feared by everyone except her loving parents, with whom she lives a reclusive life. Because of her past, her days are full of panic, anxiety, and self-doubt, but she dreams of changing her destiny. To do so, she’ll have to enter the world of the Fate Spinner and complete a quest filled with obstacles, including her own doubts. Along the way, she’ll meet her share of monsters (both internal & external) as well as those who wish to help her. This was a book I could SEE as I was reading. The characters, setting, and scenes were real to me, and the twists were surprising. I think the fantasy elements will appeal to fans of the Harry Potter world. What I loved most though, was Annalise herself. Courageous and persistent, she is a character readers will love and root for. Finally, don’t miss the equally important author’s note at the end; it made Annalise’s journey so much more important to me. I’m looking forward to seeing the final art when it hits bookshelves and libraries in August 2019!
    more
  • Amanda (MetalPhantasmReads)
    January 1, 1970
    *I received an ARC of this book through the publisher and Edelweiss in exchange for a free and honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own*DNF @ 34%This book simply isn't my thing. It really has the feel of "Alice in Wonderland" and "The Phantom Tollbooth" which are books that I don't gel with at all. The beginning is very repetitive without moving the story along and I also just felt like the main character didn't really do anything; the magical creatures or something convenient arrives *I received an ARC of this book through the publisher and Edelweiss in exchange for a free and honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own*DNF @ 34%This book simply isn't my thing. It really has the feel of "Alice in Wonderland" and "The Phantom Tollbooth" which are books that I don't gel with at all. The beginning is very repetitive without moving the story along and I also just felt like the main character didn't really do anything; the magical creatures or something convenient arrives just in time to help her out, so she didn't do much herself. I do know that the own voices rep for the anxiety will resonate with many readers and help kids feel noticed and I do appreciate that. But after reading approximately 141 pages, the story really didn't pick up until the 25-30% mark. It was a very slow start. Also the whimsy part of it just didn't connect with me to keep my interest.
    more
  • Sonia Hartl
    January 1, 1970
    I was so incredibly lucky to read an early copy of the book, and my heart! It’s a fun and whimsical adventure full of exciting moments and triumphs full of lovely and immersive storytelling. But it’s also a deep and beautiful story about loving all the parts of yourself and to never stop believing you are worthy of your dreams. This book is going to resonate with so many kids. Kids who are hurt and lonely and looking outside themselves to fix what society tells them is broken. And it will show t I was so incredibly lucky to read an early copy of the book, and my heart! It’s a fun and whimsical adventure full of exciting moments and triumphs full of lovely and immersive storytelling. But it’s also a deep and beautiful story about loving all the parts of yourself and to never stop believing you are worthy of your dreams. This book is going to resonate with so many kids. Kids who are hurt and lonely and looking outside themselves to fix what society tells them is broken. And it will show them they are precious and loved for exactly who they are. I cried so much at the end of this. This book is going to bring so much light to those who need it most. And it serves as an important reminder that as long as there is hope, no dream is ever lost. Highly, highly recommended.
    more
  • Hayley Stone
    January 1, 1970
    In her second novel, K.A. Reynolds spins a deeply moving story about magic and anxiety, longing and fear, and the dreams that help us bridge the distance between where we are and where we would like to be. Annalise is a wonderful protagonist who readers can easily care and root for, while the world-building reminded me of some of my favorite folklore. This book would be a great way for parents to approach the topic of mental health with their children, specifically anxiety, which is addressed wi In her second novel, K.A. Reynolds spins a deeply moving story about magic and anxiety, longing and fear, and the dreams that help us bridge the distance between where we are and where we would like to be. Annalise is a wonderful protagonist who readers can easily care and root for, while the world-building reminded me of some of my favorite folklore. This book would be a great way for parents to approach the topic of mental health with their children, specifically anxiety, which is addressed with compassion and honesty in the story.If you enjoyed Reynolds' debut novel, THE LAND OF YESTERDAY, you're sure to enjoy this one, too.
    more
  • Karen McKenna
    January 1, 1970
    With an Alice-in-Wonderland feel, this fantasy takes Annalise to and through the Spinner of Fate's Labyrinth of Fate and Dreams so that she can rid herself of a curse and make her dreams come true. Many nightmares stand in the way of her dreams, however. With each twist and turn it can feel like fate might win, but Annalise doesn't give up her dream. I really liked this unique story full of messages of hope and perseverance. #LitReviewCrew
    more
  • Tahlia
    January 1, 1970
    Blog Post: https://museofnyxmares.wordpress.com/...*I was provided with an ARC of this book by the publisher, in exchange for my honest opinion.It’s been a good while since I’ve picked up a middle grade novel, as I always have this trepidation when approaching the genre. It’s often the case that some of them tend to be just too much for children to fully capture my attention, but sometimes there are those books that manage to capture the innocence of being a child, magic and enchantment, whilst Blog Post: https://museofnyxmares.wordpress.com/...*I was provided with an ARC of this book by the publisher, in exchange for my honest opinion.It’s been a good while since I’ve picked up a middle grade novel, as I always have this trepidation when approaching the genre. It’s often the case that some of them tend to be just too much for children to fully capture my attention, but sometimes there are those books that manage to capture the innocence of being a child, magic and enchantment, whilst also broaching more mature topics such as mental illness. The Spinner Of Dreams in my opinion, is one of the best and sadly, few that I’ve read, that tackles mental health issues in a child, in such a clear and honest way and I was blown away by it. It would be a dream to think that children aren’t experiencing such complex emotions, but the reality is, that many of them probably are and so this book is wonderfully important in giving them that representation, seeing what Annalise is going through and how she doesn’t and sometimes does, manage to cope.I could be wrong in my interpretation of this, but stories are meant to be interpreted, so I’ll share my thoughts anyway. Annalise has basically been cursed since her birth, with the physical representation in a cracked black heart in the palm of her enlarged big hand. It is known far and wide that Annalise was cursed by the Fate Spinner herself and everyone in her home town treats her with scorn and disgust. To me, this curse was a metaphor for how it feels to have a mental illness and how some may view theirs as a curse, plaguing their lives. Like Annalise’s curse, it is completely out of her control and yet, she often feels like it’s her fault, feels trapped and can’t separate herself from it. People fail to see past her label of being ‘cursed’, as some fail to see past someone’s mental health to the actual person. Like I said, I could be interpreting this wrong, but I thought that it was a great way to portray a mental illness. It was extremely powerful to see how Annalise learned to accept and see past her curse, as she began to accept more of the things she saw as short comings about herself. I loved that she actively decided that she wanted her life to change and so she took action, and she didn’t just become brave all of a sudden, with her difficulties disappearing. For every brave thing she did, we saw her mentally preparing herself beforehand, working through her problems, using coping strategies like counting in fours. It was beautiful to see her achieving things, but still experiencing symptoms of her mental illness, it’s a very necessary and important message.Now on to Annalise herself! Annalise was such a delightful main character and I enjoyed reading about her tremendously. She was just so sweet and good, but never naive, her heart was just so big. Despite being treated despicably by everyone in her home town, save for her lovely parents, Annalise still has a heart of gold and tries to show compassion to everyone. The most she does when people are vocal or even physical about how much they abhor her, is ignore them, or thanks to her intrusive thoughts, thinks that there is some truth to what’s being said. The first half of the book really was so sad, as she was treated very poorly and was almost enveloped in this darkness, even seeing herself as a burden to her parents. My heart really broke for Annalise and I just wanted to give her a big hug, she truly was such a selfless and pure character and so my heart was so full, watching her personal growth throughout and finally seeing her have people outside of her family value her, it meant the world to her and me.The idea of a labyrinth was also very interesting as Annalise ended up figuring herself out as she went through it. There were illusions and unpleasantries in every nook and cranny, so Annalise was tested the whole way through. There were lots of inventive aspects to the labyrinth and the novel as a whole. There were magical cats with top hats, enchanted mirrors, night wolves and a gay talking fox. This truly was a tale that was seeped in magic, which was also reflected in the fairytalelike, lyrical writing that was so raw in displaying Annalise’s struggles, but also hauntingly beautiful, especially in the story of how the Spinner of Dreams and the Fate Spinner came to be. The spinners’ origins story, alongside Annalise’s mental illness rep, was probably my favourite thing about this, because it was just so much like those darker fairytales. I was obviously rooting for Annalise throughout this, but I also couldn’t help but feel sorry for the Fate Spinner, since she’d essentially been cursed since birth, like Annalise, but her’s was for no one to love her. I mean it’s then unsurprising that she became what she did and I felt so bad for her, basically Annalise’s fear of everyone hating her because of her curse, was the Fate Spinner’s actual curse. I would love anything further on the Fate Spinner, like a prequel story or something, because for me, she was just like Annalise, burdened with a curse that they didn’t ask for. The Spinner Of Dreams was a wonderfully unique, touching and important middle grade adventure and I’d highly recommend it!
    more
  • Lauren
    January 1, 1970
    I was lucky enough to have been sent an eArc of this book. I don't usually read fantasy but was intrigued. I loved how relatable the MC was. If you're a fantasy lover you will adore this book!
  • Shari
    January 1, 1970
    The Spinner of Dreams is the second book by K.A.Reynolds, and proves once again her gift of weaving beautiful, dark fantasy (but not too dark for MG readers) with relatable emotional concerns, such as guilt, anxiety, fear, loneliness, betrayal, and grief. The description on the back says “The enchantment of Neil Gaiman meets the haunting wildness of Kelly Barnhill in this uniquely imaginative middle grade fantasy,” and I couldn’t have described it better myself. Like in so many beloved Madeleine The Spinner of Dreams is the second book by K.A.Reynolds, and proves once again her gift of weaving beautiful, dark fantasy (but not too dark for MG readers) with relatable emotional concerns, such as guilt, anxiety, fear, loneliness, betrayal, and grief. The description on the back says “The enchantment of Neil Gaiman meets the haunting wildness of Kelly Barnhill in this uniquely imaginative middle grade fantasy,” and I couldn’t have described it better myself. Like in so many beloved Madeleine L’Engle books, her characters must travel on quests through fantastical realms while also embarking on an intense emotional journey. However, in both The Land of Yesterday and The Spinner of Dreams, the heroine’s “real world” is just as fantastic as the worlds that they visit. Reynolds is gifted with a brilliant imagination and the words to share it with others. The worlds she creates are dreamlike, full of incredible imagery and symbolism. While The Land of Yesterday focused on a main character dealing with grief, The Spinner of Dreams centers on Annalise’s fears and anxiety - learning when to control them and when to embrace them as potential strengths. This book will be released August 27, so you have plenty of time to pre-order or request from your library! It is beautiful, haunting, magical, heart-wrenching, AND heartwarming.
    more
  • Holly Hughes
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to HarperCollins Canada for providing me with an advanced reader’s copy in exchange for an honest review. Never be sorry for showing the world who you are or who you wish to become. These struggles have brought you exactly where you need to be. The older I get, the more I continue to find Middle Grade books that I desperately wish had been around when I was younger, because they would have made an absolute world of difference for younger me. But since I can’t go back in time, I’ll simp Thank you to HarperCollins Canada for providing me with an advanced reader’s copy in exchange for an honest review. Never be sorry for showing the world who you are or who you wish to become. These struggles have brought you exactly where you need to be. The older I get, the more I continue to find Middle Grade books that I desperately wish had been around when I was younger, because they would have made an absolute world of difference for younger me. But since I can’t go back in time, I’ll simply be grateful that these books are here now. Not only for me to read, but to be able to pass on to so many kids that remind me of, well…me.The Spinner of Dreams is exactly this sort of book.It has everything I could ever want in a fantasy book, and then some. Reynolds’s endless imagination seeps off of every page. It’s in Annalise, with her blackberry hair and her large, cursed hand. It’s in the cats wearing top hats and monocles and (gay!) foxes who dream of opening candy shops. It’s in the train made of crows that ferries dreamers between our world and the Mazelands. It’s in every twist and turn and dead-end of the Labyrinth of Fate and Dreams.It’s in two sisters, blessed and cursed at birth, and the worlds they rule.To put it simply, this was a fantastical, amazing, magical world, and I devoured every little bit of it. Annalise was used to darkness…the darkness that grew in her mind, continually dragging her down. This sort of dark-gathering was poisonous. For once the dark thoughts began, they barreled through the channels of her brain, and there was very little she could do to stop them. I could probably continue on for days about how important the mental health representation in The Spinner of Dreams is. Annalise’s experiences with anxiety, depression, and panic attacks are honest, which is arguably the highest praise I can give. There’s no sugar-coating, no romanticizing; just reall, honest moments. Which is something I wish there was so much more of in children’s fiction, and especially fantasy. As a reader—now more than ever—I am so, so hungry for stories with characters like Annalise. Characters who are anxious to set off on their grand adventure, flooded with intrusive thoughts about all the terrible ways things could go wrong, all the worst-case scenarios. Characters whose minds and bodies and hands shake when called upon to slay the cockatrices and giant spiders, and it’s more than just “nerves.”Characters who, on the surface, may not be as ceaseless as their predecessors, but nevertheless persist.Characters who realize, as Reynolds poignantly states, that no matter what is stacked against them, what terrors they’ve experienced, how odd and lonely they feel, it is their unique differences that bestow the most powerful strengths upon them—not despite their trials and differences, but because of them.Characters, who are dreamers.There is such an empowering story to be found within these pages, and I hope so many dreamers have The Spinner of Dreams find it’s way into their hands and—more importantly—into their hearts.I also feel it’s impossible to talk about The Spinner of Dreams without remarking upon the beautiful illustrations that exist to accompany and elevate Reynolds’s words. While there are only placeholder pages for the full page interior illustrations in the ARC, the chapter headers are there, and they are utterly whimsical.All in all, I just cannot wait to hold a finished copy of The Spinner of Dreams in my hands and behold the wonder in all it’s glory. Which will be soon, since it releases on August 27th!
    more
  • Alexis
    January 1, 1970
    This is a less-than-traditional review for me. I felt so many things, and am still feeling them, that I feel like I need to write more of a story for you.Let me describe my experience reading this book for you. I received this book through my ARC-sharing crew, the Lit Review Crew. I signed up to read this book for a couple of reasons: I had heard many great things about her debut novel, The Land of Yesterday, I had seen this book on Twitter and heard it was amazing, and I loved the cover. When I This is a less-than-traditional review for me. I felt so many things, and am still feeling them, that I feel like I need to write more of a story for you.Let me describe my experience reading this book for you. I received this book through my ARC-sharing crew, the Lit Review Crew. I signed up to read this book for a couple of reasons: I had heard many great things about her debut novel, The Land of Yesterday, I had seen this book on Twitter and heard it was amazing, and I loved the cover. When I got the book in the mail, I was pretty excited, but I had other books that were “higher priority” because they would be published sooner than this one, so I put it on my shelf and dove into other reads. Then, finally, it was this book’s turn to be read.I stared at the cover. I looked so closely so I could see each detail. I want a poster of this cover for my classroom. I want the artist to draw me a picture. I loved this cover so very, very much. My students love books with eye-catching covers (I mean, who doesn’t?) and this book will definitely grab their attention.I opened the book and began flipping through the pages and was greeted by more gorgeous illustrations and these would continue as chapter headings and in other places throughout the story.Then, I began the story. I am such a fan of mythology and fantasy, so right away I knew this book would be enjoyable. It began with a folktale of two sisters, The Spinner of Dreams and the Spinner of Fate. One is loved by all of her people, the other hated. Then, the story moved to Annalise’s story and I was teleported to this whole new world.Now, I am not going to go into much detail here. I don’t want to spoil anything or ruin an experience for you. But, I will share my journal with you to look at if you wish. I included quotes and connections that I made. I could have written everything down as a quote because Reynolds’ writing is absolutely beautiful.Oh, and if you are looking for a review…it is 5 stars, obviously. This book is magical, full of adventure, and perfect for fans of Harry Potter, Hunger Games, The Trials of Morrigan Crow, and many other fantasy novels.
    more
  • M.L. Little
    January 1, 1970
    @kidlitexchange #partner: The Spinner of Dreams by @krisrey19 and @harperkid. Releases 8/27/19. ———————I haven’t read Alice in Wonderland since the approximate age of 9, but this book reminded me of Alice in Wonderland nonetheless. Annalise in Dreamland. For reasons initially unknown, 11-year-old Annalise was cursed by Fate at birth, bringing nothing but pain and shame to her wonderful, loving, gentle parents who still see only the best in her. Finally taking her fate into her own hands and desi @kidlitexchange #partner: The Spinner of Dreams by @krisrey19 and @harperkid. Releases 8/27/19. ———————I haven’t read Alice in Wonderland since the approximate age of 9, but this book reminded me of Alice in Wonderland nonetheless. Annalise in Dreamland. For reasons initially unknown, 11-year-old Annalise was cursed by Fate at birth, bringing nothing but pain and shame to her wonderful, loving, gentle parents who still see only the best in her. Finally taking her fate into her own hands and desiring to rid herself of her curse, Annalise sneaks out, boards an imaginatively mysterious train, meets a beautiful warm-hearted fox, and sets out to conquer the Labyrinth of Fate and Dreams and defeat the Fate Spinner once and for all.Two-thirds of the book takes place within the Labyrinth (the part that reminded me of a dark, twisted Wonderland) and the action was wonderful. I hardly saw anything coming. I kiiinda figured out Annalise’s connection to the Spinner of Dreams but the way it happened was nothing I ever would have guessed. It is exciting, it is tense, and it is, ultimately, beautiful. Let me talk about two things I loved. First, I loved that this was a world of unicorns, curses, fate, spirits...and also cars, television news, and animal shelters. I LOVE fantasy worlds that have classic fantasy elements mixed with all our modern conveniences, so this really made my day. Secondly, and far more importantly, I loved Annalise discovering that her curse, her difference that had made life so painful and difficult, was not a curse at all, but a gift. Her strength, her unique power. As someone not neurotypical myself, this was a beautiful reminder and meant a lot to me. We all have something that makes life hard, but it’s also what makes us who we are. We offer our unique gifts to the world because of it. You can pick up this wonderful fantasy in late August! Thank you @kidlitexchange, @harperkid and @krisrey19 for the review copy—all opinions are my own.
    more
  • Kathie
    January 1, 1970
    A huge thank you to the author for sending me an ARC of this book. Her previous middle grade novel, THE LAND OF YESTERDAY, was one of my favorite reads of 2018, so I was quite excited to get my hands on an early copy of THE SPINNER OF DREAMS. It was everything I had hoped it would be, and I cannot wait for it to make its way into the world in August 2019.Annalise Meriwether was cursed at birth by the Fate Spinner. She is a bullied, ridiculed, and feared by the people who live in her community, a A huge thank you to the author for sending me an ARC of this book. Her previous middle grade novel, THE LAND OF YESTERDAY, was one of my favorite reads of 2018, so I was quite excited to get my hands on an early copy of THE SPINNER OF DREAMS. It was everything I had hoped it would be, and I cannot wait for it to make its way into the world in August 2019.Annalise Meriwether was cursed at birth by the Fate Spinner. She is a bullied, ridiculed, and feared by the people who live in her community, and lives a reclusive life with her parents. Anxiety and panic are Annalise's constant companions, but she has a dream to be in charge of her own destiny. She must complete the Labyrinth of Fate and Dreams to have a chance to ask the Spinner of Dreams to grant her wish, but there are countless obstacles in her way. Annalise must fight the monsters both inside and outside of herself, and stay true to her heart despite all her doubts.What I loved most about this book is the way that a character with mental health challenges becomes a hero and finds her own power to change the world. So often, anxiety and panic are viewed in a negative light, but Annalise is able to use them to propel her toward her dream. She is resilient, courageous, and hopeful, and I love the message this sends to young people who grapple with similar issues. It's a book in which I saw myself many times, but I also saw what I could be, and felt inspired by Annaliese's strength. The fact that this book is written by an ownvoices author makes it especially important for young readers, and the author's note in the back illuminate some of the challenges with which she has had to deal. I think many readers will find comfort from her words, and knowing author has fought the monsters herself (I know I certainly did).I also love the world that the author has created; the quest, the imaginative details, unique characters and settings. It's an immersive fantasy that appeal to many readers who like the good vs. evil conflict, with a few very surprising twists. I so look forward to the day when this book will find it's way into the hands of young people to love it as much as I did.
    more
  • PJ Sheridan
    January 1, 1970
    I was fortunate to receive an ARC of this book and it has taken me a while to review it because I have. so. many. feelings. It's hard to put into words how magical and complex but also completely relatable this book is. It has the immediate familiarity of all the best fairy or folktales, while also being completely original, and that is an incredibly hard needle to thread.K.A. Reynolds weaves together a fantastical story full of vivid imagery and metaphors that readers of all ages can appreciate I was fortunate to receive an ARC of this book and it has taken me a while to review it because I have. so. many. feelings. It's hard to put into words how magical and complex but also completely relatable this book is. It has the immediate familiarity of all the best fairy or folktales, while also being completely original, and that is an incredibly hard needle to thread.K.A. Reynolds weaves together a fantastical story full of vivid imagery and metaphors that readers of all ages can appreciate. She never talks down to her young readers and that is of utmost importance in my opinion. She is right there with them. Right there with her main character, Annalise, on her quest to overcome her curse as she struggles and triumphs and sometimes fails in an imperfect and scary world. A world that seems stacked against her. The mythology of enchantresses of dreams and of fate set against one another create an epic backdrop, ripe for conflict both external and internal. This story doesn't shy away from the hard paradoxes of life but makes the reader feel that there is hope nonetheless. And that is a story that some readers desperately need. I am going to break my own rule for the first time ever and rate this book an easy 5 stars.
    more
  • Meg Williams- Librarian
    January 1, 1970
    What a fantastic and enchanting story! I was able to read this book early courtesy of an ARC sent by the author/publisher. I first saw this book a few months ago and I thought the cover was the most beautiful cover I have ever seen. I know you aren't supposed to judge books by their covers but how can you not think a beautiful and enthralling story lives behind that cover?? Annalise is one of my favorite main characters I have ever read. She is fierce and thoughtful and fair and she does all she What a fantastic and enchanting story! I was able to read this book early courtesy of an ARC sent by the author/publisher. I first saw this book a few months ago and I thought the cover was the most beautiful cover I have ever seen. I know you aren't supposed to judge books by their covers but how can you not think a beautiful and enthralling story lives behind that cover?? Annalise is one of my favorite main characters I have ever read. She is fierce and thoughtful and fair and she does all she can to protect her family, her town, and herself. I think all girls need a protagonist like Annalise. If you like fantasy, rival sisters, magic hands, talking/monocle wearing cats, friendship, labyrinths and dragons this is the book for you. It was all done in such a smooth and believable way, and I think that shows that the author has a proficiency for writing these kind of fantastic stories that are for middle grade readers. I know I would have loved this book as a young reader, and I can't wait to share it with the students at my library when it is released in August! I absolutely give this story 5/5 stars and I am honestly sorry it is over! Please read it!
    more
  • Deanna Holdsworth
    January 1, 1970
    When Annalise is born with one hand larger than the other with a black mark on the larger hand things begin to go badly for her town. The people in the town do not like her and believe she has brought bad fortune to them. She decides that she wants to follow her dream and not be limited by fate. She sets off to find the Spinner of Dreams through the Mazelands. Along the way she meets Muse, a cat that helps her by giving her the Book of Remembering. She also befriends a fox named Mister Edwards. When Annalise is born with one hand larger than the other with a black mark on the larger hand things begin to go badly for her town. The people in the town do not like her and believe she has brought bad fortune to them. She decides that she wants to follow her dream and not be limited by fate. She sets off to find the Spinner of Dreams through the Mazelands. Along the way she meets Muse, a cat that helps her by giving her the Book of Remembering. She also befriends a fox named Mister Edwards. Mister Edwards becomes her first real friend, even though their relationship has ups and downs as they face their fears and fight many monsters. Annalise learns that the black mark is not a curse and as she uses its power she is able to make her dream come true.
    more
  • Kimberly (kimberly_reads)
    January 1, 1970
    When the opportunity came (from the author, thank you so much!!) for me to read The Spinner of Dreams, I was absolutely thrilled to receive this story. As someone who struggles with anxiety (as the author does as well, making this an own voices story!), when I heard about this book, I was really interested to see how the book would play out. It’s safe to say I enjoyed the experience.Annalise as a character reminded me of myself in many ways, and I can not thank the author enough for being so hon When the opportunity came (from the author, thank you so much!!) for me to read The Spinner of Dreams, I was absolutely thrilled to receive this story. As someone who struggles with anxiety (as the author does as well, making this an own voices story!), when I heard about this book, I was really interested to see how the book would play out. It’s safe to say I enjoyed the experience.Annalise as a character reminded me of myself in many ways, and I can not thank the author enough for being so honest about how anxiety can feel. The fantasy elements were spectacularly well written (as Annalise goes on a journey to earn what is considered her absolute dream) and as I was reading, I was sucked into the whimsy of this book almost instantly.
    more
Write a review