What If It's Us
Arthur is only in New York for the summer, but if Broadway has taught him anything, it’s that the universe can deliver a showstopping romance when you least expect it.Ben thinks the universe needs to mind its business. If the universe had his back, he wouldn’t be on his way to the post office carrying a box of his ex-boyfriend’s things.But when Arthur and Ben meet-cute at the post office, what exactly does the universe have in store for them?Maybe nothing. After all, they get separated.Maybe everything. After all, they get reunited.But what if they can’t quite nail a first date . . . or a second first date . . . or a third?What if Arthur tries too hard to make it work . . . and Ben doesn’t try hard enough?What if life really isn’t like a Broadway play?But what if it is?

What If It's Us Details

TitleWhat If It's Us
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseOct 9th, 2018
PublisherHarperTeen
ISBN-139780062795250
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Lgbt, Romance

What If It's Us Review

  • Kai
    January 1, 1970
    Adam and Becky co-writing a book? I can smell the gay from miles away. And I can’t wait!
  • Em (RunawayWithDreamthieves)
    January 1, 1970
    never in literature history have the gays won so hard until this collab
  • Adam Silvera
    January 1, 1970
    sounds gay, can't wait
  • Emma Giordano
    January 1, 1970
    I really loved this book! I have been waiting for this book since the moment it was announced and it truly did not disappoint!CW: cheating, homophobia, racism, panic attacksI of course enjoyed the writing style of this novel. Adam and Becky were able to perfectly co-author this contemporary, making Arthur and Ben’s individual personalities present, whether they were writing their respective character’s chapters or writing the other’s in their own scenes. I feel their two styles blended together I really loved this book! I have been waiting for this book since the moment it was announced and it truly did not disappoint!CW: cheating, homophobia, racism, panic attacksI of course enjoyed the writing style of this novel. Adam and Becky were able to perfectly co-author this contemporary, making Arthur and Ben’s individual personalities present, whether they were writing their respective character’s chapters or writing the other’s in their own scenes. I feel their two styles blended together perfectly, creating a cohesive story full of fluffy romance and detrimental heart break *insert evil laugh here*. It is heartwarming, humorous, awkward, and inspiring. I virtually had to force myself to put it down when necessary and could not wait to pick it up again. If you are a lover of Adam and/or Becky’s work, you won’t want to miss their debut project together.I really loved the romance between Arthur and Ben. Not only does it feature a gay romance, but Arthur is Jewish and has ADHD while Ben is also Puerto Rican. I truly loved the set up of their story – not only the charm having a “missed connection” to find each other later, but also the hilarity of their terrible, terrible dates! It’s a fantastic twist on a typical meet-cute. In that respect, they have a very unique love story that I feel is absolutely worth reading. I also loved the fact that I was able to get annoyed/angry with both main characters so frequently. I LOVE characters who’s reactions make me mad while also enabling me to see their viewpoint and fully understand their reactions. Arthur and Ben are both complex, layered characters. They are easy to love, yet remain flawed; exactly as I feel realistic characters should be, and their love story is the same.My one main critique of the story is it felt a bit predictable. There were only two significant events throughout the entire story that I had not anticipated beforehand – One being the ending which on the plus side, was EXTREMELY surprising and closed out the story in the most satisfying way possible. (A lot of y’all probably won’t like it but if you can set aside a personal opinion for the sake of a fantastic literary ending, I think you’d really appreciate the value of it.) I just wish it had pushed the boundaries of what is to be expected of a typical young adult contemporary romance a little more. I can’t say much of my other critique without spoilers, but I would have liked one of the more intense moments of the story to be more impactful. I attended Epic Reads Day with Adam and Becky where on their panel, they discussed a scene they disagreed over regarding a character’s response to a certain plot point and how that dictated the storyline. I have a strong feeling this is the moment I was underwhelmed by and while I completely understand their reasoning for the decision based on that conversation and how it played out in text, I was left wishing for more.Overall, I really loved my time reading What If It’s Us. If you are someone who is excited for this story, I don’t feel you will be disappointed. I would definitely recommend to all my lovers of diverse contemporary romance!This book was sent to me unsolicited and for free by Harper Collins. I had no obligation to review this book and all opinions are my own.
    more
  • Melanie
    January 1, 1970
    ARC provided by HarperTeen in exchange for an honest review. “I believe in love at first sight. Fate, the universe, all of it. But not how you’re thinking. I don’t mean it in the our souls were split and you’re my other half forever and ever sort of way. I just think you’re meant to meet some people. I think the universe nudges them into your path.” My dear friend, Jules, dubbed this a “queer, modern day, Sleepless in Seattle, set in New York” and she was so damn correct. Friends, I loved this ARC provided by HarperTeen in exchange for an honest review. “I believe in love at first sight. Fate, the universe, all of it. But not how you’re thinking. I don’t mean it in the our souls were split and you’re my other half forever and ever sort of way. I just think you’re meant to meet some people. I think the universe nudges them into your path.” My dear friend, Jules, dubbed this a “queer, modern day, Sleepless in Seattle, set in New York” and she was so damn correct. Friends, I loved this book. It was seamlessly and so very beautifully written. The characters felt so real, that I’m still convinced that they have to be real people, walking the streets of New York while you read this review. And the romance? Lord, this was the sweetest, but most realistic, romance I’ve read in years. ➽ Arthur - White, gay, 16 (but a 17th birthday does happen), and just visiting New York for the summer, because he was able to land a very good intern position. ➽ Ben - Puerto Rican, gay, 17, and trying to mend his broken heart, because he and his ex just broke up, and now he is forced to see him every single day in summer school. And these two boys met by chance, in a post office one July day, and it changes their lives. Yet, the constant question of this book is if that meeting, given to them by the universe or some higher-power, was meant to bring them together or to keep them apart. “I guess that’s any relationship. You start with nothing and maybe end with everything.” I very much related to Ben, who is constantly self-conscious about his white-passing looks. That is, until he and his privilege get completely checked. This was such a minor side story in this book, but it meant the freakin’ world to me. Both, him feeling not as much in touch with his culture when he is away from his family, and when he realizes that a lot of privilege comes from being white-passing. “Not looking the part of Puerto Rican messed me up. I know I get some privilege points from looking white, but Puerto Ricans don’t come in one shade.” Also, this book wonderfully touches upon how Arthur has ADHD, and how he lives a better life because of Adderall (which I know isn’t for everyone, but it still made me really happy to see). He and his family are also Jewish, and that is always as at the forefront of this story, too. And it is beautifully mingled with Ben’s very catholic family. “We’re not old-school Catholics who live by the Bible and conveniently ignore all the verses that contradict the hate coming out of their mouths. We’re the kind of Catholics who think people shouldn’t go to hell for being nonhetero, and that was before I even came out.” This is just such a beautiful story about these two boys coming together, by fate, while trying to discover who they are and who they want to be. Life, and the world we live in, is such a vast thing, and seeing these teenage boys try to understand it with each other, knowing they only have a summer together, is something so awe-inspiring that I don’t even have words for it. Other important juxtapositions are in this book, too. Like, Ben’s family isn’t the most wealthy, but they get by, where Arthur’s parents are able to spend the entire summer in New York. Arthur also has plans of going to a very good school, where Ben is just trying to stay afloat in high school. But Ben’s parents are very much in love and happy, where Arthur’s parents just have a different way of showing each other love. Seriously, this book has so much good in its’ four-hundred pages! Plus, this book displays some beautiful friendships, too. Ben’s best friend, Dylan, was so amazing in this book. Like, I feel like I keep saying the world “realistic” but it’s honestly the perfect fit. And Dylan lives with extreme anxiety and a heart condition. I also was living for Arthur's best friends, Jess and Ethan, and all their facetime calls. I ended up loving this entire friend group! And, of course, I ended up completely head over heels for both Ben and Arthur. And this book also just feels authentically “teen” I guess I’m trying to say? I mean, I’m not a teenager, so I guess I’ll say that this book feels authentically “twenties” or something along those lines. But from the Hamilton, Harry Potter, The Sims, Dear Evan Hansen (which I haven’t seen, listened, or read, but I probably should because of the title of this book), and so many other references, this just feels authentically 2018. “How lucky we are to be alive right now, right?” “Oh my god, you’re speaking Hamilton—I’m just so into you. I’m helpless.” Overall, I loved this book entirely. I bet it makes my “best of 2018” list, come December 31st. Also, I can’t believe this book was written by two different authors, because it was seriously seamless perfection. This was one of the best and most realistic romances I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading. And even though I didn’t entirely love the epilogue at first, now I actually think it’s one of the best epilogues I’ve ever read. The perfect amount of not enough, and enough. I mean, that’s the beauty of this book being magically and expertly crafted. Seriously, friends, please read this masterpiece; it’s so very heartwarming and I think this is the happiest I’ve been while reading a book all of 2018.Blog | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Youtube | Twitch The quotes above were taken from an ARC and are subject to change upon publication.Trigger and content warnings for one homophobic scene that is very quickly done and completely challenged (Chapter 20) and a very serious panic attack.Buddy read with Julianna at Paper Blots & Jules at JA Ironside! ❤
    more
  • ✨ jamieson ✨
    January 1, 1970
    you: Avengers: Infinity War is the crossover event of the yearme: an intellectual and contemporary YA fan: knows the real crossover event of the year Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli dropping What If It’s Us “I believe in love at first sight. Fate, the universe, all of it. But not how you’re thinking. I don’t mean it in the our souls were split and you’re my other half forever and ever sort of way. I just think you’re meant to meet some people. I think the universe nudges them into your path.” you: Avengers: Infinity War is the crossover event of the yearme: an intellectual and contemporary YA fan: knows the real crossover event of the year Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli dropping What If It’s Us “I believe in love at first sight. Fate, the universe, all of it. But not how you’re thinking. I don’t mean it in the our souls were split and you’re my other half forever and ever sort of way. I just think you’re meant to meet some people. I think the universe nudges them into your path.” IT'S HERE. The much anticipated release from best friend writing duo Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, finally droppe. The Gay agenda is thriving, 20GayTeen is unstoppable. This book has been on my radar ever since it got announced and I’ve been yelling with glee about this collab forever. So when an ARC of this hot little book fell into my hot little hands let me tell you, I was close to tears. I adore both Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera and have read all of their books, so this was pretty much my dream team up.In many ways this book has all the hallmarks of a Albertalli/Silvera team up you’d except. We follow Arthur and Ben, who meet at a post office in New York. Ben is mailing back his ex boyfriends things when he runs into Arthur and the two instantly hit it off, but things go wrong and they don’t get each others number. From there we follow the two as they attempt to find each other through next level internet sleuthing and then go on a series of bad dates. Along the way there’s all the fluff and ridiculous yet unputdownable drama you’d expect from an Albertalli book and all the complicated relationships between friends, parents and ex-boyfriends, as well as discussions around identity, you’d expect from a Silvera book.Both Ben and Arthur are gay, and Ben is also Puerto-Rican. This is OwnVoices for Adam Silvera. Arthur is Jewish and that is ownvoices for Becky Albertalli. As usual, I loved the nuance of the discussion around identity that Silvera embeds into his writing. I really liked that this wasn’t a coming out story and both kids were out to their parents and friends. It was really nice to have a kind of “post coming out” queer story. I also really liked that Ben had already had a boyfriend because I just really enjoy stories where one or both characters have already dated people, for some reason. When I'm out in the hallway, I text Arthur back. Everything is good. Dylan is very Dylan. I take a deep breath. I really want to see you. Can I meet you somewhere?My phone buzzes.Yeah, I'll meet you in the waiting area in ten seconds. Don't be late.What.I look up.There he is. My favourite thing about this book was it’s maturity. Even though it’s a YA contemporary romance and it’s still corny as heck in some parts, a lot of this book takes it’s time to dissect romance tropes and interrogate how these tropes can’t be played out in real life, because real life is so goddamn messy. Ben has an ex-boyfriend he may or may not be over, and he regrets messing up the friendship group because of their breakup. Arthur can’t help but feel jealous of Arthur’s experience and brings unrealistic expectations into the relationship. The grand expectations of a New York romance you get from Hollywood and Broadway are brutally torn down here, and I really enjoyed it. Real life romance is messy and that is showcased here, but at the same time it kept enough fluff and cuteness that I didn’t feel sad reading this.The friendship dynamics were also done so well here. Both Ben and Arthur have a friendship group that is going through some turmoil. Ben’s group has been torn apart by intra-group dating and Arthur feels distant from his friends since he moved to New York, and he’s sure one of them doesn’t accept him coming out as gay. I really liked how the friendship complications were done here. Friends are just as complicated as relationships and I thought it was so realistic to portray the groups this way. Ben’s issues with his group falling apart because some friends are now exes resonated with me a lot and the idea that the saddest thing about a relationship falling apart is also losing that friendship was something I related to a lot. I also have to give a special shoutout to Dylan, Ben’s best friend, whomst I LOVED. He was hilarious and added the comic relief to some parts of the book and I literally adored him. Please write his story next Silvertalli. Character wise, I really enjoyed the character development here. Both the main boys have lots of flaws that keep them from connecting properly. Ben is really proud and doesn’t let anyone in. He struggles to be vulnerable and portrays this cool exterior so no one can really hurt him. Arthur is over-eager and jealous and decides things in his head without letting other people share their perspectives. Throughout the book you really see how they change and develop, and how the relationship improves them both as individuals. Although it’s not as subtle as some of the best character work I’ve seen, especially from Silvera, I thought it was still really well done. The contrast between the boys in the prologue and epilogue was really stark and I loved that.In saying that, lets talk about that ending. I personally loved it but I know it’s going to be divisive. I think the reason I loved it is because it really drives home the maturity of this book and the focus on modern romances. I don’t want to say much and spoil it, but I’ll just say I think it was really cathartic and realistic, and actually made me happier then anything else would have.But there were a few negatives I spotted out that kept me from really enjoying this. First off, it’s so hard to tell the perspectives apart at the beginning. I found it so confusing, knowing which character was Ben and which was Arthur. I admit this may be totally my fault, but when the cover came out I thought the tall one was Arthur and the shorter was Ben, and when it was the other way around it threw my mind on a total loop.I also think there was a real over saturation of pop culture references here. I love a good reference in a book, but there was so much and so much I didn’t understand too. I get this was supposed to be about New York and New York culture but I just felt so overwhelmed by it all. I haven’t seen Hamilton or Dear Even Hanson and that is fine, but I don’t think it should prevent me from understanding whole paragraphs of dialogue. I do think the references were good in that it really situated this in the present and realistically people do talk about things they like a lot, but it was just so overwhelming at points.While I really liked this, I think I was maybe expecting something just a little bit more from these authors. Overall it was really cute and a page turner, but it wasn’t groundbreaking. But I appreciate how this wasn’t that formulaic and it’s not the typical YA romance you’d expect. I definitely enjoyed reading it, and I think lots of people are going to really love it. The characters were really well written, and the focus on friendship groups here earned a big tick from me. Though, I will say the character development is maybe not as great as I’ve seen Adam Silvera do before. This was a pretty ambitious task to take on, but Adam and Becky wrote such a cohesive book where their writing styles meshed so well, and I really hope they collab again in the future because I’d love to read it.What If It’s Us is going to please so many people, I know it. It’s cute and dramatic, but also realistic and grounded in the exploration of two deeply flawed characters who are trying their best to make it work with that they have.ALSO, WE'RE GETTING A MOVIE AND I AM ABSOLUTELY SCREAMING
    more
  • Warda
    January 1, 1970
    “Hollywood will make a movie about you two. And a Netflix spin-off about your gay children.” Okay, no. I’m not accepting that ending. Just nope. Otherwise, Becky and Adam pretty much created magic with this book. The word (or has it become a term now?) ‘cinnamon rolls’ gets thrown around quite often for your cutesy kinda characters and while granted, a lot of them exist, I think Ben and Arthur take the damn cake. They were a match made in New York. This was just everything a romance novel shoul “Hollywood will make a movie about you two. And a Netflix spin-off about your gay children.” Okay, no. I’m not accepting that ending. Just nope. Otherwise, Becky and Adam pretty much created magic with this book. The word (or has it become a term now?) ‘cinnamon rolls’ gets thrown around quite often for your cutesy kinda characters and while granted, a lot of them exist, I think Ben and Arthur take the damn cake. They were a match made in New York. This was just everything a romance novel should be and Becky and Adam captured the initial stages of crushing on someone so well, the online stalking (jeezus, I related to that!), the first few dates, the awkwardness because you’re not sure where this is going to go but then it beautifully settling into this rhythm you knew was there but hadn’t reached yet. Ben and Arthur made my heart swell with happiness. AND THIS IS EXACTLY WHY I AM NOT ACCEPTING THAT ENDING, OKAY? I don’t care for fuckin realism, GIVE ME MY DAMN CHEESE GODDAMNIT! I needed (flawed) perfection throughout, because these two deserve the ultimate best. They became so real. I wanted to squish-hug them! Still do.Aside from those two cinnamon rolls, we have their families who were just beautifully accepting of their sexuality and supportive of their lives. Plenty of cheesy parental jokes thrown around. Just overall great parents! Their friends who were incredible, especially Dylan. I can’t WAIT for you guys to read the shit my guy comes out with. I adored him and his bromance with Ben was the best thing to read! Themes that were touched upon included money problems, homophobia, and race.There’s fandoms, Hamilton, Dear Evan Hansen, plentyyyy of Harry Potter references (Samantha has said it: Richard Harris was THE Dumbledore!), and the most important aspect of all, sweet ol’ gay romance. This was just a beautiful story! I couldn’t stop smiling half the time and I hope Becky and Adam collaborate again! THANK YOU, Simon and Schuster Children’s UK for sending me an arc. It’s been a privilege.——————————————————Pre-reading feels!YOU GUYS!I JUST RECEIVED AN ARC FOR THIS!😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭
    more
  • Elise (TheBookishActress)
    January 1, 1970
    “I guess that’s every relationship. You start with nothing and maybe end with everything.” One of the unexpected sweetest books I’ve read all year about failing at perfection, but finding something close anyway. What If It's Us follows two characters on a summer in New York forming a very-imperfect and very-cute relationship.✔Ben - Written by Adam Silvera. Puerto Rican and gay. Way too relatable. Thinks about prices more due to being from a low-income family. Just went through a breakup wher “I guess that’s every relationship. You start with nothing and maybe end with everything.” One of the unexpected sweetest books I’ve read all year about failing at perfection, but finding something close anyway. What If It's Us follows two characters on a summer in New York forming a very-imperfect and very-cute relationship.✔Ben - Written by Adam Silvera. Puerto Rican and gay. Way too relatable. Thinks about prices more due to being from a low-income family. Just went through a breakup where he was the dumper but also feels like he was the one who cared more. Basically the epitome of thinking fate is fake and wanting to believe in love but also not really believing in love. His dynamic with Dylan, Hudson, and Harriet was so great, and his family dynamic is so sweet. ✔Arthur - Written by Becky Albertalli. Jewish, gay, and has ADHD. Did not enjoy as much at first and then he grew on me. His paranoia over his guy best friend, Ethan, being subtly homophobic was way too real; I loved his relationship with him and Jessie, and with his parents, and most importantly, with two interns at his parent's workplace. I felt his complex around everyone finding him too enthusiastic so hard; I feel like my persona on this website is the most enthused version of myself and I love her, but trust me, I am not as much like this with the general population in real life. I feel like all of Goodreads has been waiting for this all year - a collab between two of our most popular authors!! This is the fourth book for both of these authors, and having read all of Adam’s previous work (and most of Becky’s) I was of course hyped. But I was also concerned. I love Becky’s sweet books, but they often have a certain lack of plot structure. And I love Adam’s sad books, but they often get caught up in the sad of it all. Most of all, I worried that the two halfs of the book would not blend.That was not the case. Actually, I think this book was the best of both worlds, and it is perfect. Becky’s tone falls closest to her cute but realistically flawed Leah on the Offbeat and Adam’s closest to my absolute favorite book of his, They Both Die at the End. I feel like Becky is generally a much more fun writer, while Adam has a bit more of that quality factor; here, I felt like their different stiles both got those good qualities. I never once found myself thinking about Becky writing one chapter and Adam the next. And I think their collab lends this book a unique tone; both of these characters are flawed, their relationship is flawed, and things aren’t ever perfect, but things don’t always suck, either. I absolutely adored the balance between realism and subversion of typical romantic tropes - their first date is awkward, their first kiss is not magical - and dramatic romantic gestures - a two-sided search through New York, a romantic last-date scavenger hunt, and THE DOUBLE CHOCOLATE COOKIE. Can I just emphasize that even with the nice rom-com tropes, it reads very realistic? The characters do struggle with jealousy, and with miscommunications, but it always read as fairly real to me. The three-part structure of this book is excellent on this front as well - each one has a different “goal” for the characters that then lends itself to a now-what question. It feels like a really good representation of the tumult of life. I feel like the pop culture references in this will be somewhat polarizing - I thought they were cute. Like, yeah, I think saying they went a little overboard is fair, not all of them completely rang true, and I think I once had the thought that not even theater kids think about the line "not throwing my shot" this much, but on the whole I was quite pleased by the dialogue and banter of this. And I have now seen several reviews saying this was meant exclusively to appeal to "booktubers," which, I'm sorry, are booktubers the only people who like Harry Potter.........? ? [No spoilers here, but if you really want to know nothing, skip this.]And last but not least, fuck you ALL for making me think I would be mad about the epilogue of this. May I just state right now and forever: the epilogue is absolutely fantastic. I heard “realistic” and I was expecting “tragic” as in they lose touch and I cry for years. That was not what I got. The epilogue is so strange because it’s not a typical happy ending, but it made me happier than almost anything else I’ve read this year. This went from a rounded up 3 1/2 to a solid five exclusively because I adored the epilogue so. much. It’s absolutely what will keep this book stuck in my head in six months; the perfect acknowledgment that not everything always ends perfectly, but sometimes you can find something even better.TW: racism, homophobia, panic attacks, past cheating. ✨Arc received from the publisher via Edelweiss for an honest review. [ releases: 9 October 2018.]Blog | Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Youtube
    more
  • destiny ♎ [howling libraries]
    January 1, 1970
    When Becky and Adam announced that they were teaming up to write a story, I was so excited. At the time, I’d only read one book each of theirs. While I found Becky’s writing lacking, I enjoyed her characters and loved what I’d read of Adam’s work, so it was easy to buy into the hype. As its release date grew nearer, I attempted to read two other works by Becky (both failures) and read another book of Adam’s (a massive disappointment), but I still held out hope that their teamwork would be exactl When Becky and Adam announced that they were teaming up to write a story, I was so excited. At the time, I’d only read one book each of theirs. While I found Becky’s writing lacking, I enjoyed her characters and loved what I’d read of Adam’s work, so it was easy to buy into the hype. As its release date grew nearer, I attempted to read two other works by Becky (both failures) and read another book of Adam’s (a massive disappointment), but I still held out hope that their teamwork would be exactly what I wanted in a cute rom-com contemporary. I just think you’re meant to meet some people. I think the universe nudges them into your path. Even on random Monday afternoons in July. Even at the post office. Unfortunately, most of my worst fears for What if it’s Us came true. While the characters have their cute moments, there’s no real plot besides the romance, and worse still, the romance falls short due to a COMPLETE lack of chemistry. The initial meet-cute in the first chapter was sweet and fun, but it immediately went downhill once any semblance of a real relationship began to form. “Infinite do-overs.” “I like that,” he says. “It sounds like us.” As you can gather from the synopsis, there’s space between their meeting and their reunion, in which Arthur is brought to the point of slightly stalker-like tendencies in his obsession to find “Box-Boy”. There are some secondhand embarrassment moments and a bit of development into their respective friendships, but beyond that, it felt like a placeholder. Given how long the book is for a YA contemporary, you’d think that timeframe would have involved some legitimate drama, but it’s mostly just a lot of repetitive moments with Arthur pining over Ben, while Ben pines over his breakup. I barely know him. I guess that’s any relationship. You start with nothing and maybe end with everything. Once they reunite, the painful absence of chemistry between them is like a train wreck. I thought at one point that the whole synopsis was one big “gotcha!” and they were about to go their separate ways and find their real love interests. Ben spends most of this part of the story treating Arthur like crap. I hated Ben’s perspective chapters for most of the book, because the way he views Arthur is terrible! He’s constantly reflecting on how Arthur is too short, or talks too much, and there’s the fact that there is an entire chapter dedicated to Ben whining internally about how bad Arthur is at arcade games—when Arthur never even wanted to go to the arcade, and Ben only dragged him there because it was somewhere Ben used to go with his ex.(I’m getting pissed off writing this review because it’s reminding me of how much I can’t stand Ben’s character. I think I just accidentally lowered my own rating another star.) All I can think about are all the things I want to know about him. They do eventually reach a cutesy point, but it’s too late, it never feels authentic, and then the ending? I have never raged so hard at the ending of a fluffy contemporary book. I was LIVID over this ending. If you’re going to try this hard to convince me that these two kids need to be together, you had finish on a higher note than this garbage. I’m right for him and he’s right for me and that feels beyond right—the universe knew it was love before we did. On a less rant-y note, there are elements that I enjoyed. Dylan—Ben’s best friend—is hilarious and incredibly awkward. I loved the moments with him and his love interest, Samantha, and I loved the fact that he felt like a fleshed-out character who was going through his own issues and growing pains. On Arthur’s side, I thoroughly enjoyed every single scene with his father, who felt like a total homage to Simon’s dad in Simon vs., as he’s super supportive and well-meaning, and really wants to get hands-on and involved in helping Arthur find a boyfriend (that Craigslist scene killed me). I don’t like that the same world that brought us together is also scaring him. I also have to mention the representation: Arthur is gay and Jewish, and has ADHD, while Ben is gay and Puerto Rican. There’s not much time spent on Arthur’s family being Jewish, but we do get to spend a little time reflecting on how Ben feels about being Puerto Rican, the pride he takes in his heritage, and how painful it is to have your culture erased because you’re white-passing. There’s also a moment where the boys have to face off against a homophobic father on the train, which is painful, but necessary, as it shows Arthur that there are bigots everywhere—not just in the south, where he’s from. People like me should come with a mute button. Overall, What if it’s Us is not a total disaster—and I think with my low rating, at 2.5 stars, I’ll be in the minority here. A lot of people love both Becky and Adam way more than I do, and those people will have a field day with this book. There are also endless references to Harry Potter and Hamilton and Dear Evan Hansen, so if you’re into any (or all) of those fandoms, you’ll enjoy the in-jokes and trivia for sure (though I felt like it reached the point of oversaturation at times).Sadly, the story overall just didn’t work for me. I feel like I wasted hours of my life that I’ll never get back, and it is with a heavy heart that I confess: I’m probably retiring from reading anything by either of these authors. I appreciate the representation they offer to the world, and I know their stories mean a lot to so many readers, but there are too many queer YA contemporary authors in the world who do a better job.All quotes come from an advance copy and may not match the final release. Thank you so much to HarperTeen for providing me with this ARC in exchange for an honest review!You can find this review and more on my blog, or you can follow me on twitter, bookstagram, or facebook!
    more
  • merthur trash
    January 1, 1970
    I still can’t believe I got an ARC for this! 😱🤩. I LOVED IT. ❤Is so good! Funny, interesting, cute, realistic (too much in my mind, but oh well, life) and with friendships/families/relationship goal.The writing, I’m in love with it. Is so beautiful and the story? YESSS. This book really shows that sometimes everything happens for a reason and maybe not in the circumstances or way that we expected, but still it happens and it might not end the way we want but afterwards, we find out it was for th I still can’t believe I got an ARC for this! 😱🤩. I LOVED IT. ❤️Is so good! Funny, interesting, cute, realistic (too much in my mind, but oh well, life) and with friendships/families/relationship goal.The writing, I’m in love with it. Is so beautiful and the story? YESSS. This book really shows that sometimes everything happens for a reason and maybe not in the circumstances or way that we expected, but still it happens and it might not end the way we want but afterwards, we find out it was for the best and you would want it to change. =>Arthur, I love him. His personality is so great and how he doesn’t full around and just goes with it is really refreshing and I highlight every chapter of his POV, it was just so, so awesome.=>Ben, I love him too, he’s such a great character and the development that he has in the course of this book was just amazing and I really like how his vision about the universe change and why.=>Dylan, IS THE BEST BEST FRIEND EVER. Every time he appeared I was so happy. He’s a rain of sunshine. His support and love for Ben are just so heartwarming. I love him. =>The parents were so supportive, loving, respectful and just GOALS, and I adore them.Okay, I love everyone in this book. Is just that good. And I really didn’t expect anything less. I had very high expectations and all of them were achieved. This was a light-warming read, that I will definitely reread at some point this year. This is definitely in the “Best reads of 2018” and I could be happier. I would love it if there were a possibility of a sequel in the future.And a book with Dylan POV or short story, really anything, I’ll take it. Thanks, *lol.——————————————————————————— Thank you Edelweiss and the publisher for an ARC of this book.
    more
  • C.G. Drews
    January 1, 1970
    2nd Read | Oct 2018Honestly this book is so adorable and makes me laugh so much and then makes me directly attempt to throw myself into the void. Which is a skill. I acknowledge this skill. I admit that firstly (1) I said "ooh I'll review this later!" and forgot everything about it of ever, so I needed to reread, and (2) I still have thoroughly dissatisfied feelings about the ending.It's like, I'm just going to find some fanfic that fixes the epilogue?? good idea I should say so.So first of: ack 2nd Read | Oct 2018Honestly this book is so adorable and makes me laugh so much and then makes me directly attempt to throw myself into the void. Which is a skill. I acknowledge this skill. I admit that firstly (1) I said "ooh I'll review this later!" and forgot everything about it of ever, so I needed to reread, and (2) I still have thoroughly dissatisfied feelings about the ending.It's like, I'm just going to find some fanfic that fixes the epilogue?? good idea I should say so.So first of: acknowledgement that THIS IS A DREAM COLLAB TEAM.I also liked reading their bio in the finished copy that said they were collabing on this like right after their debuts sold!!!! They are so amazing!! I love both authors a lot and Simon Vs (Albertalli's) and History Is All You Left Me (Silvera's) are two of my all-time favourite books afjdkslad. Their signature styles and quirks were STRONG here and I loved it.It's a story that is hugely character-centric, aka liiiiiving for this. I totally felt caught up in Ben/Arthur's lives SO FAST. And I think they wobble so gracefully on that delicate line of both being little asshats and having tremendous growth. mY HEART. ☆ARTHUR: The actual most hyper kid ever with zero chill. I mean, seriously, he can't shut up, he is on speed 10000 at all times, he's freaking hilarious. I love !! Arthur!! (UntIL tHE enD but shh). It was frustrating how he was so so jealous of Ben and so easily jumped down his throat though. But the kid is 16. When I was 16 I was immature and deluded and jealous and also had never eaten a churro. So I think Arthur could be grit-your-teeth-frustrating, but he was so sweet and energetic and adorable. I have a weakness for characters with no chill.☆ BEN: He is the softest introvert™ and just the fact that he loves living in his head, playing Sims and writing fantasy novels, afjdksald it just makes me really connect to him. I absolutely think it was too early for him to get into a relationship after 2 weeks-post break up with Hudson but ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ the universe decreed apparently. But seriously Ben stole my heart and I adore him.THESE TWO. Seriously the characters were incredible and just leapt off the page. With the most hysterical banter?! I was busting out laughing.Plus I did really like the secondary characters!! Dylan reminded me of someone who faceplanted out of a John Green novel. And tbh the themes of "friendship breakups" were explored in such detail here. I think that's so important. Like ok there is plenty of romance (it is 80% romance) but how many of us have been teens and experienced a really horrible friendship breakup?! Because I sure have and I still think about it 7 years later so 😭I wish more books would explore this.I do think this is a Quiet YA story. And I did like that about it. The world is about BEN and ARTHUR and their universes collide, but the entire universe doesn't change. Just them. And I appreciate that! I know it's very very romantic, but it was adorakable. And it wasn't a "perfect" romance which made me ship it harder.Omg but I do have to blurt spoilers...(view spoiler)[Just because:(a) am doubtful as to if Arthur and Ben were even that compatible?? Like when your start is so rocky and all your dates fail, tbh because they didn't KNOW each other at all, maybe they were a good fit. I mean they WERE SO CUTE TOGETHER don't get me wrong. But saghagoh sigh.(b) I don't understand how Arthur was so jealous over Ben even looking at Hudson, but we turn around and the epilogue is Arthur is kissing boys, choosing colleges far from Ben, making no effort but to chat. And Ben is wAITING FOR HIM. YOU JUST BROKE MEEEEE.(c) and even with the reread, my interpretation of the ending is that they decide to be friends. That's it. They didn't slam any doors shut. But zero effort to reconnect IS a door. Ok. Don't fite me. Because I'm too busy crying and can't see to fite. Leave me be. I don't think they ever got back together so it's a massive massive investment of shipping them to have nada. (hide spoiler)]Do I like it?! It is soft and sweet and entirely captivatingly written = SO YES I DO LIKE IT. Maybe the ending leaves me annoyed, but the rest makes up for it. Like the writing just draws you in and the characters utterly steal hearts. I can't even. This book has so little chill I love that."Jesus, Arthur. You realise I spend nintey-nine percent of my time writing about wizards and playing, The Sims, right?""I know.""You just have no filter, do you?""None."When I'm out in the hallway, I text Arthur back. Everything is good. Dylan is very Dylan. I take a deep breath. I really want to see you. Can I meet you somewhere?My phone buzzes.Yeah, I'll meet you in the waiting area in ten seconds. Don't be late.What.I look up.There he is.ffssss I ship it dammit*:・゚✧*:・゚✧1st Read | May 2018It's waaay too early for a review (I'M SORRY BUT I COULDN'T NOT READ IT THO) so I'm just going to smush some really small thoughts together and then come back and review it properly in October!☆ this book is SUPER CUTE☆ like think of cute --> and then double it☆ there are easter eggs to Becky and Adam's other books and I diED I love that so much☆ honestly it's SO Becky and SO Adam omg☆ it's gaaaaay☆ I actually laughed out loud so much my dog got offended☆ it sadly didn't feel very dimensional or complex tho☆ and...um...unfortunately I really hated the ending ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ (not in a "feels damaged" way...in a "I'm annoyed and wish the epilogue didn't exist" way lol lol forgive me☆ I still enjoyed myself a lot ahhhh
    more
  • Claudia Ramírez
    January 1, 1970
    It’s really a 3,5 tho.---- ACLARANDO:Todo el libro fue súper ligero y bonito y me hizo sonreír bastante, sólo le vi dos problemas:1- El "climax" fue algo ¿ridículo? Una exageración, muchísimo drama sacado de proporciones. O sea, creo que los personajes reaccionaron muy mal a algo que se pudo haber arreglado rápido. EN FIN.2- No me gustó nada el final. Lo entiendo y tal vez yo hubiera hecho lo mismo, pero no me gustó.TODO LO DEMÁS FUE BELLO. Sí leería otra cosa de estos dos autores juntos (y sepa It’s really a 3,5 tho.---- ACLARANDO:Todo el libro fue súper ligero y bonito y me hizo sonreír bastante, sólo le vi dos problemas:1- El "climax" fue algo ¿ridículo? Una exageración, muchísimo drama sacado de proporciones. O sea, creo que los personajes reaccionaron muy mal a algo que se pudo haber arreglado rápido. EN FIN.2- No me gustó nada el final. Lo entiendo y tal vez yo hubiera hecho lo mismo, pero no me gustó.TODO LO DEMÁS FUE BELLO. Sí leería otra cosa de estos dos autores juntos (y separados).
    more
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 STARS rounded to 4Review to come once the group reading has concluded.So excited to announce that this is our #ScaredSuspenseBookClub pick for the month of November! If you would like to join in our discussions on Instagram, dates will be November 12th and 19th.
    more
  • Larry H
    January 1, 1970
    I got up super early this morning to download Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera's new book, What If It's Us, and I have officially devoured it. All it took was reading during lunch, at every red light on the way home from work, at the chiropractor, and then after dinner this evening. One book written by two of my favorite YA authors equals ALL. THE. FEELS."I believe in love at first sight. Fate, the universe, all of it. But not how you're thinking. I don't mean it in the our souls were split an I got up super early this morning to download Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera's new book, What If It's Us, and I have officially devoured it. All it took was reading during lunch, at every red light on the way home from work, at the chiropractor, and then after dinner this evening. One book written by two of my favorite YA authors equals ALL. THE. FEELS."I believe in love at first sight. Fate, the universe, all of it. But not how you're thinking. I don't mean it in the our souls were split and you're my other half forever and ever sort of way. I just think you're meant to meet some people. I think the universe nudges them into your path."Arthur is in New York for the summer before his senior year of high school, working as an intern at a branch of his mother's law firm. For a boy from a small town in Georgia, New York is everything he dreamed it would be—although he hasn't made any friends save the two summer associates who serve as his supervisors, and he hasn't met any boys.Then one day, en route to pick up a coffee order for the law firm, he spots a cute boy carrying a box to the post office. He does the supremely non-Arthur thing and strikes up a conversation. Despite the fact that the boy is mailing a box of things back to his ex-boyfriend, the two definitely have a meet-cute, but then they are separated before they can get each other's phone numbers.While Arthur believes the universe is trying to tell him something about this boy, Ben doesn't believe in signs from the universe. He'll be the first to admit that this cute boy intrigues him, although he can't figure out how to find him. But eventually they are reunited, and tentatively embark on a roller coaster of a relationship, even knowing that Arthur will be returning home to Georgia at the end of the summer.Are two people destined to be together? If so, can they weather the storm of jealousy, meddling best friends, parental drama, tardiness, miscommunication, and fears of inadequacy? Is it worth trying—and trying again—if you know you have a finite amount of time to be together?What If It's Us is an absolutely lovable, poignant, adorable book about two boys trying to listen to the universe—and fight it—in their quest to be together. It's a book about friendship, family, jealousy, and finding yourself, and having the confidence to realize you're worth being fought for. And it's a book about trying to make a relationship work in one crazy world.Albertalli and Silvera have written some of my favorite YA books over the last several years, so I had so much anticipation for this book. I'm so happy to say that this book was as good as I was hoping it would be—it didn't depress me like so many of Silvera's books but it made me feel the full range of emotions that both authors have made me feel previously.You know what will happen in this book for the most part (I was briefly off course with one plot thread, but pleased my thoughts didn't come to fruition) and you want to take this ride anyway. And hopefully, in the end, you're glad you did. I know I am, despite being sad it's over now!!See all of my reviews at itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blogspot.com, or check out my list of the best books I read in 2017 at https://itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blogspot.com/2018/01/the-best-books-i-read-in-2017.html.
    more
  • shady boots | #WatchPOSE
    January 1, 1970
    --4.5 stars--Massive thank you to Edelweiss and Harper Collins for sending me this ARC.Can I just express how ecstatic I am at the state YA is headed this year? I've jokingly said that "20gayteen is in full swing and I am here for it" a lot, but in all seriousness, how amazing is it that YA is finally, FINALLY becoming more and more diverse with not only POC representation, but LGBTQ+ storylines being at the forefront. That's a big deal, people. It seems like only a few years ago YA was still, f --4.5 stars--Massive thank you to Edelweiss and Harper Collins for sending me this ARC.Can I just express how ecstatic I am at the state YA is headed this year? I've jokingly said that "20gayteen is in full swing and I am here for it" a lot, but in all seriousness, how amazing is it that YA is finally, FINALLY becoming more and more diverse with not only POC representation, but LGBTQ+ storylines being at the forefront. That's a big deal, people. It seems like only a few years ago YA was still, for the most part, over-saturated with heteronormativity, so I'm glad that times are changing. Books like this one are part of the reason why I started getting back into reading this year.I think I speak for most of us when I say that this is a book that has been long-awaited; a gay YA novel told in that charming, traditional rom-com feel, set in New York City to boot. I was just so swept up in it immediately because it is an insanely adorable story. Arthur and Ben are such lovable characters in their own right, and their voices never blended due to how distinct they were from each other. Most of that is because of how different Becky Albertalli's and Adam Silvera's respective writing styles are. Albertalli's is more on the energetic and humorous side; I had so many laugh out loud moments in this book during Arthur's perspective. Silvera's writing is noticeably more laidback and understated by comparison. Both of their writing styles complimented each of the characters extremely well, gave them strong personalities unique from each other.The romance moved a little bit fast, I have to admit. I wouldn't say it was insta-love, no. Insta-love generally means romances that don't form naturally, they're just shoved in our faces from the get-go even though the characters clearly have a very contrived and forced connection. Arthur and Ben's romance was quite believable, I would say, so it didn't feel like insta-love to me. I would've liked if there was more time for them to truly connect, but I guess the fast pace was due to Arthur only staying in New York for the summer, so it's not like there's no reason for it.I have mixed feelings about the ending, though. Without spoiling any specific things, I appreciated the realism of it, but then I can't deny that I wanted extra cheese. This entire book was cheesy, but in a good way, and I wanted that to last up until the ending cause I like cheese once in a while, especially if's gay cheese. But still, I totally understood what the authors were going for with its open-endedness.This was simply a joy to read, though, honestly. Just such a fun summer romance set in the big city, very clearly inspired by classic rom-coms. I hope someday it gets adapted to the big screen as a mainstream Hollywood release, that would just be the homosexual cherry on top of this beautiful rainbow cake.Side note: Arthur in this book is a musical theater nerd and pure Hamiltrash, and like Ben, I'd never seen or heard the Hamilton soundtrack before. I guess I held back because I was bitter I would never get to actually see it live, but since this book has Hamilton written all over it, with a dash of Dear Evan Hansen, I think I'll finally cave and join bandwagon!
    more
  • Kaylin (The Re-Read Queen)
    January 1, 1970
    Are they aware this is going to break GR when it comes out
  • Alex ✰ Comets and Comments ✰
    January 1, 1970
    What If It's Us ★ Most Anticipated 2018 Expected publication: October 2nd 2018 UPDATE: WHEN BECKY ALBERTALLI ACKNOWLEDGES YOUR FAN EDIT I am so certain this book is going to save 2018. I am so happy, I can't even think straight... (see what I did just then? see it?) taste. the. rainbow. bitch
    more
  • Hamad
    January 1, 1970
    This review and other reviews can be found @ ThebookprescriptionActual Rating: 4.25 starsI don’t know if we’re a love story or a story about love. But I know whatever we are that it’s great because we kept jumping the hoops in the first place.🌟 This book is marshmallow and unicorns, this book is so cute! This is legitimately my favorite LGBT book till this point. I read 2 books by Adam and 1 book by Becky and enjoyed all of them but I had notes here and there, this was like the ultimate collab, This review and other reviews can be found @ ThebookprescriptionActual Rating: 4.25 starsI don’t know if we’re a love story or a story about love. But I know whatever we are that it’s great because we kept jumping the hoops in the first place.🌟 This book is marshmallow and unicorns, this book is so cute! This is legitimately my favorite LGBT book till this point. I read 2 books by Adam and 1 book by Becky and enjoyed all of them but I had notes here and there, this was like the ultimate collab, they just complete each other <3.🌟 To be honest, few pages into this and we have an insta-love scene that irked me, and then the characters explain themselves and I am convinced! And what is even better is that they don’t meet up until the end of the first third of the book! So the authors did not rush things, they made it as realistic as possible.🌟 If I want to describe this book in short, I can say that it is an LGBT Heaven! I even learned some useful terminology in that regard! I have been following Adam on social media for a while and I could easily tell what he wrote (I know he loves to play Mario on Wii) & what were his ideas, they both tried to make this as relevant as possible with many funny, modern & relatable references! Happy Hudson loves boners but can never overcome flaccidity.🌟 And I assure you by the end of this book you will be a better stalker! I mean the first part of the book had so many ideas for stalking that we all do in secret but they were chill with the whole topic, don’t get me wrong; this is not creepy stalking, this is more like real-life-crush-facebook-or-instagram stalking!🌟 I feel like it is hard to talk about this without spoiling the good parts, but this is certainly the ultimate LGBT read of the year, and it is so gripping and easy to read that I didn’t even know when the whole thing finished. So, be sure to grab a copy when this is released!ARC provided by the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Christy
    January 1, 1970
    4 stars! Becky Albertalli + Adam Silvera = a must read for me! What If It’s Us was a highly anticipated book for me and it didn’t disappoint. It had so much of Albertalli’s sweetness and fun, and the feels (though tamed down) you know and love from Silvera. It’s a heartwarming and beautifully written read. Ben and Arthur have the most adorable meet-cute ever. A post office in NYC. A hot dog tie. A box of stuff to be mailed to an ex. They really hit it off, but what are the chances of them ever m 4 stars! Becky Albertalli + Adam Silvera = a must read for me! What If It’s Us was a highly anticipated book for me and it didn’t disappoint. It had so much of Albertalli’s sweetness and fun, and the feels (though tamed down) you know and love from Silvera. It’s a heartwarming and beautifully written read. Ben and Arthur have the most adorable meet-cute ever. A post office in NYC. A hot dog tie. A box of stuff to be mailed to an ex. They really hit it off, but what are the chances of them ever meeting again or finding each other in a city as big as New York? Well, if the universe has anything to say about it….Ben and Arthur together melted my heart. Arthur was cute and funny, but Ben… sigh. I freaking loved Ben. He was the best part of this book for me. And his friend Dylan! Their friendship was everything. Honestly, this book had so many epic characters and relationships. I loved all of the characters. I also loved the pop culture references. I feel like this is a book you can read in 10 years and be like YES. I remember all of those things! I listened to the audio book and the narrators did a fantastic job. I felt like I was in NYC with Ben and Arthur. The only thing I didn’t truly love about this story was the ending. It wasn’t a bad ending, I am just not always a fan of open endings. I wanted more. The ending wasn’t bad by any means, it just wasn’t what I wanted. If you’re looking for a beautiful coming of age YA romance about two boys finding love and finding themselves this is the perfect book for you. It’s a bit emotional, but overall it’s such a feel good read that will have you smiling all the way through. “I believe in love at first sight. Fate, the universe, all of it. But not how you’re thinking. I don’t mean it in the our souls were split and you’re my other half forever and ever sort of way. I just think you’re meant to meet some people. I think the universe nudges them into your path.”
    more
  • April (Aprilius Maximus)
    January 1, 1970
    Yikes, okay, here we go.This book had so much potential!! And even though I only gave it 2 stars, I still think it has some quality stuff, like- lots of diversity- sex positive and CONSENT!!- DYLAN (omg Dylan was the real MVP of this book let's be real)- aaaaand to be honest that's about itHere's what I had issues with:- For the first 200 pages, i literally couldn't tell Ben and Arthur apart. Their voices sounded exactly the same to me- This book is SO slow and apart from the romance, has hardly Yikes, okay, here we go.This book had so much potential!! And even though I only gave it 2 stars, I still think it has some quality stuff, like- lots of diversity- sex positive and CONSENT!!- DYLAN (omg Dylan was the real MVP of this book let's be real)- aaaaand to be honest that's about itHere's what I had issues with:- For the first 200 pages, i literally couldn't tell Ben and Arthur apart. Their voices sounded exactly the same to me- This book is SO slow and apart from the romance, has hardly any plot whatsoever- Ben and Arthur had ZERO chemistry for the majority of the book and then all of a sudden they were like a married couple?- The petty, stupid things that kept getting them into arguments with each other (it was such high school drama and i'm an old lady who is not about that life anymore)- kinda cringey writing if i'm being totally honest (again, maybe this is because i'm a grandma)- the ending was ... i don't even know? underwhelming? - parents conveniently disappeared a lot of the timeThere's probably other things but it's late at night and am v tired, but yeah, super sad I didn't love it :(
    more
  • Cassandra {semi-hiatus}
    January 1, 1970
    *An ARC was provided by Edelweiss and the publisher in exchange for an honest review* "I pictured New York like West Side Story plus In the Heights plus Avenue Q- but really, it's just construction and traffic and iPhones and humidity." My expectations were higher than most of New York’s skyline but somehow, Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli still managed to wow me.This was precious, deliciously awkward, and refreshingly realistic. I absolutely loved this with every fiber of my being. I mean, th *An ARC was provided by Edelweiss and the publisher in exchange for an honest review* "I pictured New York like West Side Story plus In the Heights plus Avenue Q- but really, it's just construction and traffic and iPhones and humidity." My expectations were higher than most of New York’s skyline but somehow, Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli still managed to wow me.This was precious, deliciously awkward, and refreshingly realistic. I absolutely loved this with every fiber of my being. I mean, there was just so much to love.1: Arthur and Ben as individuals. Arthur is the boy from Georgia who is getting to spend a summer as a much coveted NYC intern at his mother's law firm. Ben is the local from Alphabet City who is stuck spending his summer in school. Both were such amazing characters that I found myself unable to yell at them, even when they made poor choices.2: Arthur and Ben as a couple. Let's be real; I love a good old romance, especially when it's as pure and tender as this one. Arthur and Ben had the candy cane sweetness of a TV couple, but the struggles and awkward fumbles of a real one. Heavy emphasis on awkward. These two mastered that element of new relationships.3: The parents. Lots of YA novels seem to forget that teenagers have parents. This one didn't. I loved the close knit relationships between Ben and Mr. and Mrs. Alejo, the relationships between Arthur and his parents, and the ways those relationships grew and shifted throughout the book. 4: Ben and the Puerto Rico rep. FINALLY. A main man who is Puerto Rican and proud. As a Puerto Rican, this was one of my favorite parts of the book. Seeing my family's culture represented in the limelight and acknowledging the fact that not all people from Latin roots are darker. Some of us appear whiter in hue, but bring out the coquito, and we're all the same. :) Also: thank you Adam and Becky for providing a Latinx character who doesn't speak Spanish. Not all of us had parents who had time to teach us.5: Dylan. I'm not going to go into details because I want everyone who reads this to get to experience the amazingness of Ben's best friend Dylan completely blind. Just know: best. friend. GOALS.I would continue this rant of love for What If It's Us, but I could go on for hours and I need to shut myself down. So I will conclude with this: with a Dear Evan Hansen reference as a title, NYC as this book's playground, and characters who represent all the best traits of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera as writers, why haven't you preordered this yet? "Why shouldn't I want to be with someone who makes me feel worthy? Someone who wants to be with me for the long run?"
    more
  • Ashley Nuckles
    January 1, 1970
    The story was a bit slow going, but like I said on Twitter by the end I was basically trash for it and kept reading deep into the late hours of the night. SO. FRICKEN. CUTE. I have nothing else to say. Read this wonderful book, please and thank you.
  • Jasmine from How Useful It Is
    January 1, 1970
    I started reading What If It’s Us on 8/30/18 and finished it on 9/3/18. The most amazing love story to read ever! The humor is contagious. I love the two main characters: Arthur and Ben. I like Ben’s friend Dylan, he’s extra hilarious! I like Namrata, she always has something wild to say. Arthur and his dad has the best father-son relationship. Ben and his family are great too! I love how sweet and innocent Arthur is especially how excited he gets for his first date, first kiss, first boyfriend, I started reading What If It’s Us on 8/30/18 and finished it on 9/3/18. The most amazing love story to read ever! The humor is contagious. I love the two main characters: Arthur and Ben. I like Ben’s friend Dylan, he’s extra hilarious! I like Namrata, she always has something wild to say. Arthur and his dad has the best father-son relationship. Ben and his family are great too! I love how sweet and innocent Arthur is especially how excited he gets for his first date, first kiss, first boyfriend, first everything.This book is told in the first person point of view following Arthur Seuss, 16, who has never been kissed and who believes in love at first sight. He’s currently living in New York for the summer with his parents. He already came out to his best friends Jessie and Ethan. He’s walking on the street of New York when he happens to meet a good looking guy carrying a box. They strike up a conversation about what the universe has in store for them when a band came by and the box guy got away. Arthur didn’t even know his name! The second point of view is Ben, 17. Ben is starting over after a messy breakup. He went out to deliver a box of his ex’s things but couldn’t complete the transaction. Ben is not over his ex and he’s not sure if he wants to move on. He thinks the guy he bumped into at the entrance of the post office was cute, but he only knows the first name. As he search up Arthur on Instagram, he believes the universe just doesn’t want him to be happy because the search is impossible with just a first name.What If It’s Us is becoming my all time favorite read! I love Ben’s fight with Dylan about best friends. Ben’s a sweetheart as well especially when he offers to carry Arthur’s bag for him. I just love every page of every chapter in this book!! The story is freaking sweet and cute and it only gets sweeter and cuter! What I love about romance books is crushing hard for someone and this book has it, above and beyond. I love following the two main characters’ thought process. I can feel their happiness and heartache for each other bleed off the pages as I read and I just don’t want the story to end! I like the references to Harry Potter and musicals. (I’m so Ben when comes to Hamilton. I’m googling it as I read). This book is the most fantastic and realistic read ever and everyone must read it!Pro: fast paced, page turner, humor, easy going, diversity, love and lost, first date, first kiss, first love, couldn’t put down, book cover, best friendsCon: noneI rate it 5 stars!***Disclaimer: Many thanks to the authors Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, publisher HarperTeen, and Edelweiss for the opportunity to read and review. Please be assured that my opinions are honest.xoxo, Jasmine at www.howusefulitis.wordpress.com for more details
    more
  • Grace (BURTSBOOKS)
    January 1, 1970
    I DON'T LIKE BECKY ALBERTALLI'S WRITING IN THE SLIGHTEST BUT YOU ALREADY KNOW I PRE-ORDERED THE SHIT OUT THIS COVERLESS MASTERPIECE BECAUSE ADAM SILVERA OWNS MY ASS AND I WOULD READ HIS GROCERY LISTS IF HE LET MEalso, the title is giving me Dear Evan Hansen vibes so how could I resistUPDATE: THE COVER HAS BEEN REVEALED AND I AM SOMEHOW EVEN MORE HYPE THAN BEFORE
    more
  • may ➹
    January 1, 1970
    me: I will not make a Netgalley or Edelweiss account until school is outthis book: is on Edelweissme: scREW SCHOOL SCREW EVERYTHING WHERE DO I SIGN UP
  • Emma
    January 1, 1970
    somewhere between 4 and 5 stars??? i don’t even know right now I have so many feelings, time to go blast “only us” and cry in my room------------------ I JUST FOUND OUT THE TITLE IS A DEAR EVAN HANSEN REFERENCE ASKDFJKADHSJ
  • Brianna
    January 1, 1970
    You guys. This book was everything we ever wanted it to be and so much more.First of all, the two authors of this are absolute legends and I’m still in complete awe that they actually wrote a book together. Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera have written some of the most impactful books I’ve ever read, and the fact that they actually did a collab is everything. You can truly feel that this story came from the both of them.Anyway, we start off this book with two teenagers named Arthur and Ben who You guys. This book was everything we ever wanted it to be and so much more.First of all, the two authors of this are absolute legends and I’m still in complete awe that they actually wrote a book together. Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera have written some of the most impactful books I’ve ever read, and the fact that they actually did a collab is everything. You can truly feel that this story came from the both of them.Anyway, we start off this book with two teenagers named Arthur and Ben who meet by chance at a post office in New York City. A POST OFFICE. IN NEW YORK CITY. Tell me this is not already the greatest meet-cute you've ever heard. But, epic beginnings don’t always mean the rest will be easy, right? First, Arthur and Ben get separated without exchanging contact information. Then, even after they are reunited, it turns out that their story still might not go as smoothly as they hoped it would. They end up trying time and time again to make their first dates perfect and to make their story as legendary as their beginning, but life and love aren't always that simple.Honestly, I became so invested in Arthur and Ben's journey and their efforts to try and make it work. It was hard to see them struggle, but it was still incredibly well written and one of the most realistic portrayals of a new relationship that I’ve ever read. This wasn’t insta-love, and neither of these characters were perfect, but that was what I loved about it. Their relationship felt like it could happen in real life. And I shipped it so hard.I don’t know think this story could’ve possibly been any cuter. I couldn’t stop smiling, and I just love this plot, and I love Arthur & Ben, and I love these authors. I love everything. Seriously, I cannot wait for you guys to read this.
    more
  • Camile Souza (This Chamber of Books)
    January 1, 1970
    I'm kind of on the fence with this one.This book was a real roller coaster for me. Both the story and my feelings about it.I thought part one was entertainment, and it had its moments, then part two pissed me off and stressed me out, while part three was mostly nice (although I feel like it went on for a little longer that it needed to).RTCBlog | Twitter | Instagram
    more
  • Nina
    January 1, 1970
    *** 2.5 STARS *** I was so, so, so excited for "What If It's Us" but unfortunately, it just wasn't as good as any of Becky Albertalli's or Adam Silvera's other books. There are quite a few things that bothered me about this novel. First of all, Ben and Arthur meet at the post office at around page 20 but then don't meet again for pretty much another 150 pages. I really don't know why that had to take so long because the time between their meetings was incredibly boring. Furthermore, once they me *** 2.5 STARS *** I was so, so, so excited for "What If It's Us" but unfortunately, it just wasn't as good as any of Becky Albertalli's or Adam Silvera's other books. There are quite a few things that bothered me about this novel. First of all, Ben and Arthur meet at the post office at around page 20 but then don't meet again for pretty much another 150 pages. I really don't know why that had to take so long because the time between their meetings was incredibly boring. Furthermore, once they met again, they had like zero chemistry. Their first dates were just so awkward and cringey that I'd even been thinking about just not finishing the novel at all. However, suddenly they went from having no chemistry to fitting together perfectly and even though that wasn't exactly realistic, it definitely made the story a whole lot better and it finally started being as cute as all their other books. So the second half of "What If It's Us" was definitely a lot better and I finally began to enjoy the book. However, even though they were happy with each other, they were sometimes still fighting about things that were so pointless and stupid which I feel like was just unnecessary and only there to create drama the book didn't even need. Also, there was just an overload of pop culture references in this novel which started getting on my nerves after some time. Nevertheless, I still decided to give this book 2.5 stars. There are many things I disliked about this book but like I said, I definitely enjoyed the second half a lot more than the first half - even though the ending left a lot to be desired - and I also really loved Dylan - Ben's best friend and by far the best character in the novel - who made me laugh a lot. ----------------------------------------------OMG THIS COVER IS SO CUTE! I LOVE IT 😍😍😍
    more
  • chloe ✨
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars*Content warnings: homophobia, racismLike many, this was one of my most anticipated releases of the year, and I am SO glad it did not disappoint! I absolutely adored it. By page 30 I had smiled 12048297 times. We follow the two perspectives of Arthur and Ben, and I love them both so much! As expected from Becky & Adam, this novel has a lot of diversity. Arthur is gay, Jewish and has ADHD, and Ben is gay and Puerto Rican. Reading about how their story plays out was utterly heartwar 4.5 stars*Content warnings: homophobia, racismLike many, this was one of my most anticipated releases of the year, and I am SO glad it did not disappoint! I absolutely adored it. By page 30 I had smiled 12048297 times. We follow the two perspectives of Arthur and Ben, and I love them both so much! As expected from Becky & Adam, this novel has a lot of diversity. Arthur is gay, Jewish and has ADHD, and Ben is gay and Puerto Rican. Reading about how their story plays out was utterly heartwarming and hilarious. While reading this, I kept thinking how well this would translate into film and it's confirmed WE ARE GETTING A MOVIE ADAPTATION & I COULD NOT BE MORE EXCITED! The amount of pop culture references (e.g. Harry Potter, Hamilton, Dear Evan Hanson) in this novel made my heart happy. And while this story overall has the vibe of a fluffly, cutesy contemporary, I loved how it also explored important topics like racism and homophobia. I also really loved the ending!This comes out on 9 October, so not long to go now!Thank you so much to Simon & Schuster Australia for providing me with a copy!
    more
Write a review