Ghosts of the Shadow Market
The Shadow Market is a meeting point for faeries, werewolves, warlocks and vampires. There the Downworlders buy and sell magical objects, make dark bargains, and whisper secrets they do not want the Nephilim to know. Through two centuries, however, there has been a frequent visitor to the Shadow Market from the City of Bones, the very heart of the Shadowhunters. As a Silent Brother, Brother Zachariah is sworn keeper of the laws and lore of the Nephilim. But once he was a Shadowhunter called Jem Carstairs, and his love, then and always, is the warlock Tessa Gray.Follow Brother Zachariah and see, against the backdrop of the Shadow Market’s dark dealings and festive celebrations, Anna Lightwood’s first romance, Matthew Fairchild’s great sin and Tessa Gray plunged into a world war. Valentine Morgenstern buys a soul at the Market and a young Jace Wayland’s soul finds safe harbor. In the Market is hidden a lost heir and a beloved ghost, and no one can save you once you have traded away your heart. Not even Brother Zachariah...Ghosts of the Shadow Market will be co-written with Maureen Johnson, Robin Wasserman, Sarah Rees Brennan and Pulitzer finalist Kelly Link and will initially be available digitally.The first eight stories will be published as e-books from around March 2018 monthly, with the final two available in a print bind-up of all the stories, to be published in 2019.

Ghosts of the Shadow Market Details

TitleGhosts of the Shadow Market
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 4th, 2019
PublisherWalker Books
ISBN-139781406385373
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult

Ghosts of the Shadow Market Review

  • Emma Giordano
    January 1, 1970
    Check out my individual novella reviews here:Son of the Dawn 4 StarsCast Long Shadows 4.5 StarsEvery Exquisite Things 5 StarsLearn About Loss 3 StarsA Deeper Love 3 StarsThe Wicked Ones 5 StarsThe Land I Lost 5 StarsThrough Blood, Through Fire 4.5 StarsThe Lost World 4.5 StarsForever Fallen 4 StarsAverage rating for entire novella bind up - 4 StarsI received a copy of this book from Simon & Schuster. I had no obligation to read or review this book and all opinions are my own.
    more
  • Melanie
    January 1, 1970
    ARC provided by Simon & Schuster in exchange for an honest review.Ghost of the Shadow Market is truly my favorite anthology set in the Shadowhunter universe, so far. Each story is so different, so unique, and really transcends all time periods, all generations, and all of my expectations. I loved this, friends. And this bind-up is all about Brother Zachariah, former Silent brother, and all the different shadow markets through the ages and through our world. And, again, you get to see glimpse ARC provided by Simon & Schuster in exchange for an honest review.Ghost of the Shadow Market is truly my favorite anthology set in the Shadowhunter universe, so far. Each story is so different, so unique, and really transcends all time periods, all generations, and all of my expectations. I loved this, friends. And this bind-up is all about Brother Zachariah, former Silent brother, and all the different shadow markets through the ages and through our world. And, again, you get to see glimpses of all the different generations of Shadowhunters in all of the different time periods. I read the first eight stories in 2018, but I just finished off the last two since the collection is now out in the world! And I truly recommend this anthology to any and every Shadowhunter fan. I am going to break down each short story with my thoughts, opinions, and individual star rating! I would highly recommend that you are caught up with Queen of Air and Darkness and everything previously published, before reading this anthology and before reading this review! Spoilers ahead! Please use caution! ➽ Son of the Dawn - ★★★★ “Every world contains other worlds within it.” It is official, The New York City Shadow Market is the coolest one we’ve seen so far? Abandoned theater? Ahhh, the aesthetics. But this story takes place in 2000, and I will be honest with you all, I sure in the hell wasn’t expecting a story about how Jace came to join the Lightwood family. Damn, my emotions are all over the place, because seeing Raphael alone makes me weep. Also, I think it was really smart for Cassie Clare to show us a “good” side of Robert Lightwood, especially after finishing Lord of Shadows. Also, all that talk of parabatai bonds? Lord, help us all. But I think my sappy self cried hardest over two initials. Okay, I know this brief review is all over the place, but this was such an unexpected treat and I was smiling while reading this entire story. From Izzy watching Alec discover who he is, to me crying even more over Max, to Jace being Jace even at a young age, to Lily Chen actually making me laugh out loud, to me screaming at seeing Raphael confirming that he is ace, I love all of this. And even just seeing Raphael come to Brother Zachariah for help and to go on what ends up being such a meaningful adventure, that really impacts all their lives eventually, it was just amazing. I really loved this short story and I think it was such an amazing glimpse at the past, that really makes you appreciate the future so much more.➽ Cast Long Shadows - ★★ “Old sins cast long shadows.” Okay, I’m still hyped for The Last Hours though, but I think it is mostly for James Herondale, even though Matthew Fairchild is such a little sweetheart. I loved seeing him interact with Brother Zachariah, and loving him just because so many of his loved ones love him. I love that feeling, and I think that’s something in life that I experience a lot that books rarely depict. But in this short story takes place in London 1901, and we get to see Matthew dealing with something that’s really bothering him, while willing to do anything to find out the truth. Oh, and Alastair Carstairs is such a little jerk, but I know Cassie is going to give him a homelife (and a father, I think) that is going to make us feel a lot of empathy toward him. But why the hell is Sophie (my queen, still) and Gideon’s kid friends with him? Yet, I love seeing Henry’s disability rep, I love seeing Charlotte say fuck your misogyny to the Clave, and I just love seeing all these glimpses at old friendships that we already love, but also all the new glimpses at what is to come. And seeing Jem, Will, and Tessa living their lives after Clockwork Princess will never not equal parts break my heart and heal my soul. And yeah, I’m still crying over that staff. Lord, help me. ➽ Every Exquisite Thing - ★★★★ “Foolish people say so many things. But we know who we are…” Anna Lightwood deserves the entire galaxy and all the stars within it, please spread the word. Like, the child of Cecily and Gabriel is a true blessing to the Shadowhunter universe. And the end of this made me happier than any other Shadowhunter short story I’ve ever read. In short, this story is love letter to nonbinary people, and we get to follow Anna embracing being a genderfluid lesbian. Even though everyone knows that queer people existed all throughout history, this story highlights how it was harder to come out back in the 1900s. But seeing Anna live their best life was everything and it warmed my heart so very much. And, again, Cassie Clare is just being more and more inclusive and she impresses me so very much. And there is f/gq romance in this story, too! But the heart of this story is identity and being the person you are on the inside on the outside, too. Okay, I’m done gushing; this story we also get to see Anna and Matthew explore the London nightlife and meet a woman named Leopolda in a club and bring to ask a few questions. And soon, them and Brother Zachariah are trying to figure out what she's up to. And I think that we are soon going to get a lot more background story on Tessa, and I cannot wait for The Last Hours, friends. It is going to be so amazing, and now Anna is going to make me even more excited!➽ Learn about Loss - ★★★★ “I want you to give them both a span of time. Both of them in a time and place where they can be young and happy and together.” Current mood: Forever weeping over the masterpiece that is the end of this short story. You all, Will and Jem will always be best friend goals, and honestly are the definition of platonic unconditional pure love. (I mean, I won’t go into my polyamorous wants because Cassie Clare didn’t bless us!) But friends, this story just has a lot in it that I really appreciated. And I loved this dark carnival Shadow Market. This story is set in 1936 Tennessee, during the end of the Great Depression, and not only do we follow Brother Zachariah, but also the soon-to-be Iron Sister, Emilia, who easily stole my heart. And Sister Emilia’s promise? Goosebumps. Perfection. Also, I think these stories are really going to make an impact for QoAaD.➽ A Deeper Love - ★★★ “…those two twin souls, the only souls she had ever loved.” Friends, I was not expecting a WWII story set in London that starred Tessa Gray and Catarina Loss working as nurses. But oh my gosh, it was so beautifully and hauntingly unexpected. And there is still a Shadow Market that they bargain at, but even the paranormal war is impacted (both positively and negatively) by war. And Brother Zachariah just happens to be at the Shadow Market, where bombs are dropping from the sky, while he gets into his own altercation with a fae who thinks he is meddling in affairs that do not involve him. And I believe the point of this story was that we get to see that weapon poison that Julian and Emma deal with in Lady Midnight. I also cried for probably a third of this just because Brother Zachariah and Tessa both dealing with loss, while healing and living with love, just guts me every time. It’s so pure, and so hopefully, and just gives me all the feelings under the sun. The power of love is something so strong, and this story just left me in awe, honestly.➽ The Wicked Ones - ★★★ “They’d both given a piece of their hearts to a Herondale. And they both loved someone they could not have.” Oh, boy. So, this story is set in 1989 Paris, where we meet a young girl named Céline and get to see the uprising of Valentine. Céline has constantly run away from her abusive home, and the parents that torture her and call it love. And when she was eight years old, she ran away and felt safe and at home for the very first time – at the Paris Shadow Market. But in this story we see her almost ten years later, and she is desperately trying to feel welcome with Valentine and his elite crew. And she is also realizing she is completely and utterly in love with Stephen Herondale. But while this is going on, Brother Zachariah is in search of a lost necklace and a lost child. This story really dives deep into how manipulative people can gaslight to get what they want, and will always try to isolate people and convince them that what they are doing is in their best interest. It is always really interesting to see the rise and fall of Valentine Morgenstern, but this story just made me feel really sad for Amatis and for another child who has yet to be born.➽ The Land I Lost - ★★★★★ “Your voice is the music I love best in all the world.” First and foremost, it is very obvious that Lily Chen is not straight, but Cassie Clare confirmed on Tumblr that she is pan! The blessings. The actual blessings. Also, hello, my new favorite character. Lily is half Japanese and half Chinese, and was made a vampire under the saddest of circumstances. And her love for Raphael Santiago warms my black heart like nothing else in the entire Shadowhunter world. And even though I could go on forever about my love for her, this story is more about her and Alec going to the Buenos Aires Institute together because Jem and Tessa are in need of help, and someone requested Alec personally. This story is actually pretty dark, so content and trigger warnings for abandonment, captivity, sex trafficking, sex slavery, and war themes. Nothing is graphic, but it is very much talked about, so please use caution. But Alec soon finds out that the Buenos Aires Institute is being heavily influenced by Horace Dearborn, and they are allowing children whose parents were killed in the Dark War to be orphans living on the street, just because they are Downworlders. Alec then comes across a Shadowhunter child who they are also unwilling to help, and the other Downworlders are too scared to bring in, therefore he must take action. You all, this novella was heartbreaking and heartwarming. Seeing Magnus and Alec be such good fathers to Max, and then adopting their second child, Rafe, it is something I don’t even have words for. And they are allowing their children to be whatever they want to be, Warlock or Shadowhunter, and will never stop giving them unconditional love. Even just seeing glimpses of Jace and Izzy being an uncle and an aunt had me smiling so big! It is a joy to read, pure joy. But we learn so much during this longer addition to the anthology, too. All the information we got of/from Mother Hawthorn? Damn.➽ Through Blood, Through Fire - ★★★★ “But we bear so much that seems unthinkable. The only truly unbearable burden is living without love.” Okay, I won’t lie, even though I have loved watching Brother Zachariah go on this quest of finding the lost Herondale, I feel like it is my least favorite aspect of this anthology. And even though this short story gave us major insight on Rosemary and Jack, it wasn’t a big surprise after reading The Wicked Ones. But then, once the story catches up to the events at the end of Lady Midnight, and Tessa drops the REAL information of this story. You all, my jaw dropped. And my eyes? The tears won’t stop coming after that last paragraph. Wow, the blessings. The happiness. The everything. Queen of Air and Darkness can’t come soon enough. ➽ Ghosts of Old Loves - ★★★★ “A boy, a Carpathian lynx, and a ghost.” This story starts out with Ty in Scholomance, but we get to see it through the eyes of Livvy. Yeah, my heart is officially breaking, too. We also get to meet Irene, a new animal companion that I already love. And we get to see a little glimpse into Idris and how Zara and Manuel are holding down their bigoted fort. Livvy is learning to do so much with her ghost form, and I know she is only just beginning to discover her powers, while also being bound to Ty. I am also incredibly excited for Ty to write some letters. ➽ Forever Fallen - ★★★★★ “Memories were like love: wound and cure, both at once.” Daddy Jem is best Jem. Oh my word, I am not even exaggerating when I say that I cried through this entire short story. Perfection, pure perfection, to the very powerful last line. This story is set in 2013, and we get to see two very different families in juxtaposition with one another. One being Jem, Tessa, Kit, and baby Mina! The other being Ash, Thule Jace (AKA: Janus), and wishfully hoping that Clary will soon join them. The story switches points of view, back and forth, but both storylines are completely captivating and immersive. We see Kit realize that Jem and Tessa love him more than anything, while finally feeling found and safe. We see Janus is willing to do anything to have Clary’s love, and he will probably wreak havoc in the three years leading up to The Wicked Powers to attempt to claim it. Also seeing Lily react to Thule Raphael’s actions, and seeing Thule Raphael’s reaction to what happened to Thule Lily, it just broke me in the best way possible. This story was the perfect concluding story for this anthology, and I don’t know how I’m going to be able to wait for what is to come next.I gave Ghosts of the Shadow Market 4 stars overall, because out of a possible 50 stars (5 stars possible for each of the 10 stories) this collection accumulated 38 stars (76%)! Blog | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Youtube | Twitch
    more
  • Melissa ♥ Dog/Wolf Lover ♥ Martin
    January 1, 1970
    BLOODY FREAKING HELL!! JEM JEM JEM. I love him so much!!! Damn it!! This was so good!! AND, it mentioned JEM being in Chattanooga, where I live, and standing in one of the places I have stood many times!! Sigh.......Mel 🖤🐶🐺🐾My little Amazon sentence review: https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/review/1...
    more
  • Virginia Ronan ♥ Herondale ♥
    January 1, 1970
    Update:OMG!!! Since when do we have that gorgeous cover?!!How is it possible I missed this?! Soo awesome! <333More of Jem!!!!???? Sign me up!!!!
  • Lilith Knight
    January 1, 1970
    I'm a simple woman, I see 'Jem Carstairs', I read the book.
  • Ashley Nuckles
    January 1, 1970
    Marking this as one book even though I read the stories individually as ebooks. But OMG. THIS WAS SO MUCH BETTER THAN I THOUGHT IT WAS GOING TO BE. I’m SO glad I took someone’s advice and read this before QOAAD because i definitely would’ve been spoiled for something BIG if I went back and read this later. And also now I know the backstory. But like JEM. AND TESSA. AND JEM. AND TESSA. My heart is HAPPY
    more
  • Ab Varela
    January 1, 1970
    09/27/2017MORE SHORT TALES ABOUT THE SHADOWHUNTERS AND DOWNWORLDERS???? YES, PLEASE.SHUT UP AND TAKE MY MONEY.03/12/2019WHY ARE PEOPLE RATING THIS BOOK IF IT HAS NOT COME OUT YET??? Wait til it's released to rate it! If you want to rate the novellas we have so far you should rate them INDIVIDUALLY!
    more
  • Nikki Poulos
    January 1, 1970
    4. June 2019 I really went to B&N at 9 am to get Ghosts of the Shadow Market and THEY DIDN'T HAVE IT IN PHYSICAL COPIES???? so i went to target and they didn't even have them on the floor yet and so the sales lady went to the back and was like 'thats the only copy we have in stock lolz'..GUYS THIS HAS BEEN AN ADVENTURE~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~I JUST FOUND OUT THAT THIS IS IN JEM'S POV IM SO HAPPY
    more
  • Ria
    January 1, 1970
    ''We will kill all the demins.'' : Shadowhunter Chronicles, a summary.⚫ Cast Of Long Shadows: uugghhh rude. ⚫ Every Exquisite Thing: Anna marry me. I will protect you (ง'-')ง. Also women in suits 💕💕⚫ Learn About Loss: -5/5 apparently it wasn’t about Catarina Loss and I’m mad about it. Cassie I thought we were bffs. Can’t believe you tricked me… haven’t read it yet tho…⚫ A Deeper Love: I think I read this but I can’t remember.⚫ The Wicked Ones: F.U.N.- Spongebob Squarepants *said sarcastically*⚫ ''We will kill all the demins.'' : Shadowhunter Chronicles, a summary.⚫ Cast Of Long Shadows: uugghhh rude. ⚫ Every Exquisite Thing: Anna marry me. I will protect you (ง'̀-'́)ง. Also women in suits 💕💕⚫ Learn About Loss: -5/5 apparently it wasn’t about Catarina Loss and I’m mad about it. Cassie I thought we were bffs. Can’t believe you tricked me… haven’t read it yet tho…⚫ A Deeper Love: I think I read this but I can’t remember.⚫ The Wicked Ones: F.U.N.- Spongebob Squarepants *said sarcastically*⚫ Son Of The Dawn: THE LIGHTWOODS *Jace obviously included* ARE SO SMAAALLL. PROTECT THEM!!!!!!⚫ The Land I Lost: 10/5. Rafe is my new son. “What is that cool man doing with you?” AN ICON. WE STAN!!!⚫ Through Blood, Through Fire: ⚫ The Lost World: Magnus reminded me that I need to see Detective Pikachu WHICH IS STILL NOT OUT HERE IN GREECE AND I’M SUFFERING. Tiny me was like the BIGGEST Pikachu stan.⚫ Forever Fallen: ''I heard the Consul is a big loser.'' IF ANYONE TOUCHES BAT!MAX I WILL FIGHT THEM… I hate the name J*anus*. I’m too immature for it. 3/5 just for that name. Also leave queen Lily the fuck alone. Please and thank you.….sooo I haven’t gotten a psychical copy of it because I’m dumb and bought Boy Erased *i'll buy it when i get paid*. we are gonna pretend like I read all the stories. I mean we all know I will give it 5 stars so does it matter? Jem we all love you… I need to stop buying shit just ‘cause daddy Bane is in them.
    more
  • Shirley ♡
    January 1, 1970
    This book made me so emotional. I love Jem Carstairs with my soul and seeing him happy makes me the happiest person ever. He deserves all the happiness in the world and I’m so glad he’s getting it after all he went through. “Will, my Will. You would be so proud” I wish Will could see how happy his man is. 😭😭 “Jem got up and went over to Tessa. He knelt down in front of her and laid his head against her belly. “Hello there, Wilhelmina Yiqiang Ke Carstairs. Little Mina. You are welcome, little M This book made me so emotional. I love Jem Carstairs with my soul and seeing him happy makes me the happiest person ever. He deserves all the happiness in the world and I’m so glad he’s getting it after all he went through. “Will, my Will. You would be so proud” I wish Will could see how happy his man is. 😭😭 “Jem got up and went over to Tessa. He knelt down in front of her and laid his head against her belly. “Hello there, Wilhelmina Yiqiang Ke Carstairs. Little Mina. You are welcome, little Mina, my heart. We are waiting for you in joy and hope and love.”“Jem went inside to his wife and his baby and his boy, to his long-awaited home.” I love him so so so so so so much. 🖤
    more
  • Azrah
    January 1, 1970
    Pre-Release Updates 01 Nov, 2018COVER REVEAL AND RELEASE DATE Y'ALL!!!13 Oct, 2017JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESS Pre-Release Updates 01 Nov, 2018COVER REVEAL AND RELEASE DATE Y'ALL!!!13 Oct, 2017JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA. JEM AND TESSA.
    more
  • scarlett hayes
    January 1, 1970
    OMG YESSS I NEED THIS NOW
  • Alexa
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars, though I’m a bit tempted to round up because TALK ABOUT GIVING ME THE FEELS. I did a lot of giggling, but also a lot of crying reading these stories. And I am both impressed and terrified at the set-ups for the the upcoming books!
  • ~vatana~
    January 1, 1970
    "Follow Brother Zachariah--" I'll follow him anywhere.
  • ⋆ lils ⋆
    January 1, 1970
    i’ve been lowkey dying out here for some shadowhunters content ever since chain of gold was pushed back to 2020 and let me tell ya i’m so happy this came out today
  • yalin
    January 1, 1970
    a book with jem as mc ???MY LONGEST YEAH BOI EVER
  • - ̗̀ jess ̖́-
    January 1, 1970
    four months until i can get my ty blackthorn fix
  • Cory Marie
    January 1, 1970
    Cassandra Clare, you fucking tease. “Wicked Powers” would be the last two words of this book.
  • Taylor of Elfhame ❦
    January 1, 1970
    November 20 2018 Through Blood, Through Fire: 4/5 stars.~ This was altogether a beautiful story, as all stories about Jem and Tessa are. It also wrapped up quite a bit of info about Kit, which I always am interested in. I’m altogether as excited for QoAaD as I could possibly be. I look forward to this compilation’s official release so I can finish up those final two stories still on their way. October 14 2018The Land I Lost: 5/5 stars~ This is without question my favorite novella of the bunch, a November 20 2018 Through Blood, Through Fire: 4/5 stars.~ This was altogether a beautiful story, as all stories about Jem and Tessa are. It also wrapped up quite a bit of info about Kit, which I always am interested in. I’m altogether as excited for QoAaD as I could possibly be. I look forward to this compilation’s official release so I can finish up those final two stories still on their way. October 14 2018The Land I Lost: 5/5 stars~ This is without question my favorite novella of the bunch, and there’s only one left to potentially top it- which I doubt. We finally got to meet Rafael properly and I just love this adorable little bug so so much. His and Alec’s dynamic and just everything to do with it was the most charming thing. I love how much Alec has grown as a character and continues to grow in so many ways. I’m so proud of him, he’s the absolute best father. This story also gave us more insight into Lily’s character, who I’ve liked for a long time. Her grief over Raphael is so raw. There was also a huge bomb-drop about a certain TDA character that I adore, and I’m still shook. I’m somehow even more nervous for QoAaD now. Cassie is such a brilliant storyteller. September 24 2018The Wicked Ones: 5/5 stars~ Having waited for Celine’s story for so long I can say I was not disappointed. Also, the more we know about Jem’s Herondale search, the better. I just love backstories. August 23 2018A Deeper Love: 4/5 stars~ My sweet Jem and Tessa, they’ve been through so much July 10 2018Learn About Loss: 4/5 stars~ Jem and Will,, my eyes are leaking June 12 2018Every Exquisite Thing: 5/5 stars ~ This made me smile so much. Anna Lightwood aka legend May 9 2018Cast Long Shadows: 4.5/5 stars ~ I guess I didn’t need my heart anyway. My poor baby Matthew April 10 2018.Son of the Dawn: 4/5 stars ~ Aw my tiny angsty Jace
    more
  • Callie (BeverageandBook)
    January 1, 1970
    6/23/19 - THE LAST LINE WOULD BE THAT. 12/4/18 - OMG THE REVEALS. I couldn’t have asked for a better storyline for a certain someone. It’s going to be SO EPIC. *CRYING TEARS OF JOY*
  • N (they/them)
    January 1, 1970
    Synopsis for Forever Fallen (the last story in this anthology: (QoAaD spoilers) (view spoiler)["Meanwhile, in the peaceful countryside of England, Kit Herondale struggles to adjust to a new life and a new family, and to forget Ty." (hide spoiler)]gpigrhiogteihot I'm NOT OKAY~~~~so in the synopsis in Cassie's newsletter it mentions Jem and Tessa and Jace Wayland and Valentine and I'M JUST SO EXCITED THIS CAN'T COME OUT SOON ENOUGH!!! And I'm always up for JEM AND TESSA AND TESSA AND JEM AND JEM A Synopsis for Forever Fallen (the last story in this anthology: (QoAaD spoilers) (view spoiler)["Meanwhile, in the peaceful countryside of England, Kit Herondale struggles to adjust to a new life and a new family, and to forget Ty." (hide spoiler)]gpigrhiogteihot I'm NOT OKAY~~~~so in the synopsis in Cassie's newsletter it mentions Jem and Tessa and Jace Wayland and Valentine and I'M JUST SO EXCITED THIS CAN'T COME OUT SOON ENOUGH!!! And I'm always up for JEM AND TESSA AND TESSA AND JEM AND JEM AND JEM AND TESSA AND AAAAAAHHHH!!!
    more
  • Grüffeline
    January 1, 1970
    Anyone who says women are weak is afraid they're too strong. 4.2 starsI'm kinda disappointed that I couldn't rate this full five stars... Let's see why:Cast Long Shadows🌟🌟After this story (which took me two hours to get through) I was pretty convinced, I had encountered a book that I'd hate. Or at least not care about. I couldn't see a point to the story, it felt to me like there was nothing happening. I bet there must have been but all I could see was the list of who's related to whom it wha Anyone who says women are weak is afraid they're too strong. 4.2 starsI'm kinda disappointed that I couldn't rate this full five stars... Let's see why:Cast Long Shadows🌟🌟After this story (which took me two hours to get through) I was pretty convinced, I had encountered a book that I'd hate. Or at least not care about. I couldn't see a point to the story, it felt to me like there was nothing happening. I bet there must have been but all I could see was the list of who's related to whom it what way. The only reason for the second star is the appearance of Will and Jem. Every Exquisite Thing🌟🌟🌟🌟 and half a 🌟This story deserves this rating for Anna alone. That fierce character of a kid stole my heart. End of story.Learn About Loss🌟🌟🌟🌟Jem is so precious and I loved to learn more about him, Emilia was okay but I loved the wish she made for him. A Deeper Love🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟By the Angel, Jem and Tessa are everything! I loved the dark setting and it was great to meet Catarina again.The Wicked Ones🌟🌟🌟🌟 and half a 🌟Again, Jem and Tessa are awesome. It was awesome to learn more about Jace's and Kit's parents (but I gotta tell ya, Celine was not what I pictured).Son Of The Dawn🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟Little Izzy and Alec! Need I say more? Yes, I do. The little version of Jace broke my heart but it was great to read more about this time in their lives. It was also really hard to read about Jem in this story, to watch him struggle... The Land I Lost🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟This story was everything. It was exactly what I wanted from Red Scrolls of Magic. Malec family tales with my heart bursting from all the love that hides between the lines. Yep, I'm still swooning over this.Through Blood, Through Fire🌟🌟🌟 and half a 🌟Hard to judge this one... I loved the part with Tessa and Jem. But the scene with the change felt dragged out and I have to admit that I found Rosemary's pov kinda boring. But it was nice to see this side of the story. The Lost World🌟🌟🌟🌟Again, it felt like there wasn't much happening here. Aside from the new pet and Livvy settling in a little more. Which was great because I love the Blackthorns and Ty is great. But I think I've gotten so used to the duo that is Kit and Ty that Ty on his own... it just felt like there's something missing.Forever Fallen🌟🌟🌟🌟 and half a 🌟This is me, swooning about the husband and father that is Jem. The Janus pov was really interesting but also a bit disturbing. I'm really looking forward to read more about him.All in all, this was another amazing trip to the Shadowhunter's universe and I can't wait for more!
    more
  • Lauren Elise
    January 1, 1970
    Pre-Reading Updates 19/1/2018: JEM CARSTAIRS JEM CARSTAIRS JEM CARSTAIRSSS
  • Kayleigh
    January 1, 1970
    5 stars (reread).“Every world contains worlds within it. People wander through all the worlds they can find, searching for their homes.”1. Son of the Dawn — 5/5 stars.“Despair was never stronger than the thought of them. He could not betray them by giving up. They are Will and Tessa, and you were Ke Jian Ming. You were Jem.”This wasn't a full book, so no full review, but I will say this: Son of the Dawn was absolutely wonderful. We got to see Jace, Izzy, and Alec when they were little, and how J 5 stars (reread).“Every world contains worlds within it. People wander through all the worlds they can find, searching for their homes.”1. Son of the Dawn — 5/5 stars.“Despair was never stronger than the thought of them. He could not betray them by giving up. They are Will and Tessa, and you were Ke Jian Ming. You were Jem.”This wasn't a full book, so no full review, but I will say this: Son of the Dawn was absolutely wonderful. We got to see Jace, Izzy, and Alec when they were little, and how Jace came to stay with them, and most importantly, we got to see Jem again. The Infernal Devices and The Mortal Instruments will always have such a special place in my heart—especially The Infernal Devices. This little book absolutely broke my heart, but I loved every second of it. Ghosts of the Shadow Market is far from over, but this novella just reminded me that I'm really not ready to say goodbye to James Carstairs again.2. Cast Long Shadows — 5/5 stars.“How far?” asked Jem. Will smiled. ”Need you ask? I will go with you as far as I possibly may.”For such a short book, Cast Long Shadows was truly heartbreaking. I know that's what Cassie loves to do, but damn. As always, it was wonderful to read from Jem's point of view, and I adored the friendship between Matthew and James. I'm super excited to meet Anna Lightwood when Every Exquisite Thing comes out next month!3. Every Exquisite Thing — 5/5 stars.“Anna stood there for a moment, Ariadne in her arms, unsure of what to do. There was something in Ariadne’s gaze, in the way she was looking at Anna, as if mesmerized. How did she ask? How did this happen with someone like Ariadne?”I will be trash for every book Cassandra Clare writes until the end of time and Every Exquisite Thing is proof for why that's a fantastic idea. Anna Lightwood is such a wonderful girl and Cecily and Gabriel are excellent parents. I did love them a lot in TID, but this story just made me love them even more. Not going to lie, though: these books wouldn't be nearly as great as they are if Jem wasn't involved. Just to give credit where it's due.4. Learn About Loss — 5/5 stars.“I believe one day he will have his hours with Tessa Gray even if he does not dare to hope for it. But his parabatai, Will Herondale, is old and frail and drawing near the end of his life. I want you to give them both a span of time. Both of them in a time and place where they can be young and happy and together.”I don't have much to say about Learn About Loss besides what I've said about all the other novellas: this broke my heart and put it back together again. I love Jem, Will, and Tessa so much, and I'm glad these tiny books are giving me the chance to see them in a different light than The Infernal Devices. However, I miss them more than ever, so I'm probably going to have to read that trilogy again very soon.5. A Deeper Love — 5/5 stars.“If she lived until the sun died, there would never be any other for her besides Will and Jem, those two twin souls, the only souls she had ever loved.”Not that I'm at all surprised, but Cassandra Clare has done it again. A Deeper Love broke my heart, stomped on it a few times, and then put it back together again. Jem, Will, and Tessa are the only love triangle I will ever care about, as I love all of them with my entire being and I absolutely adore the love they all have for each other. I do wish these were full sized books, as fifty pages just wasn't enough. I had a great time reading it, though, even if it did make me ugly cry a couple times. Also, I'll end this review with this little note from the actual love of my life, James Carstairs:“My Tessa,There will be no separation between us. Where you are, I am. Where we are, Will is.Whatever else I may be, I remain always,Your Jem.“6. The Wicked Ones — 5/5 stars.“I sometimes think there is nothing more painful than love denied. To love someone you cannot have, to stand beside your heart’s desire and be unable to take them in your arms. A love that cannot be requited. I can think of nothing more painful than that.”The Wicked Ones follows Celine Montclaire, who goes to the Shadow Market to escape. Celine would go anywhere in the world to escape the suffering she experiences at the hands of her own family. However, she didn't expect to meet Valentine Morgenstern there, and she really didn't expect him to promise her the freedom she craves and the heart of the man she secretly loves. This isn't without a cost, of course, and Valentine requires one serious condition—because, after all, nothing at the Shadow Market comes for free.My main thought through this entire novella: James Carstairs deserves so much better than this. Which, to be fair, was my main thought through The Infernal Devices trilogy, as well as City of Heavenly Fire. Because there's nothing more Cassandra Clare loves than making me and Jem suffer, apparently. In all seriousness, as much as it hurts me, I love seeing the development Jem goes through as a Silent Brother, which we don't get to see much of in her other books. I can rest easy knowing what comes of Jem's life after The Mortal Instruments ends, because after reading about what he goes through in these novellas, and how he loses himself little by little, he deserves to have his happy ending. It was also really lovely getting to know Jace's mom, Celine. My heart broke for this poor woman, but I did love reading about her and getting to know her story a little better. I love seeing the connections to what'll happen later in The Mortal Instruments, and Cassandra Clare does a wonderful job at connecting all of her stories together. It was also super interesting to see just how evil and manipulative Valentine really was, even this early on. Valentine has been one of my favorite villains for a very long time, so it was interesting to see his role here.“They’d both given a piece of their hearts to a Herondale. And they both loved someone they could not have.”In order to stay on brand, we all know I have to mention Jem and Tessa, because wow, this one hurt. I mean, it all hurts, but Cassie really went in on the parallels between their points of view. Jem's love for Tessa (and Will, of course. It's always Will, isn't it?), is what keeps him going, and it's such a lovely thing. At this point, Jem believes he'll always be a Silent Brother, so it's heart breaking to see him constantly having to come to terms with the fact that he won't be able to be with the woman he loves. It's a beautiful thing to see that no matter who he turns into, no matter who being a Silent Brother turns him into, he will always be hers. I'm in a lot of pain right now and I don't know how to properly express that. Let my children (who are much older than I am) be happy, please.So far, I have loved all of the novellas Cassie has put out, and The Wicked Ones is no different. I do wish they were longer, though, because I can never have enough of Jem and this world. Not to be incredibly dramatic, but I need full length books of Jem's point of view as much as I need to breathe. So.“Brother Zachariah’s love was a pale imitation of the real, raw, human thing.”7. The Land I Lost — 5/5 stars.“Uncle Jace says we will kill all the demins,” he reported with joy. “All the demins!”“Well, have you considered that your uncle Jace is a hurtful person?” said the demon. “Always rudely stabbing everyone, and sarcastic.”Max scowled. “Love Uncle Jace. Hate demins.” I love learning about the different Institutes around the world, and the Buenos Aires one in The Land I Lost is no different. On top of that, the characters in this book are literally all fantastic. I adore Lily Chen, and my heart was constantly breaking for her in this novella. I loved, loved seeing Alec and Magnus as parents to Max, as well as adopting their second son, Rafe. And don't even get me started on Uncle Jace and Aunt Izzy. It was so damn sweet and I loved every minute of it. 8. Through Blood, Through Fire — 5/5 stars."I turned away from you once, but please help me now. I thought I could do this on my own, but the Riders are closing in. If you will not come for me, come for my boy. I thought I could buy his life with my suffering. I thought if I left him, he would be safe. He is not. Please come. I beg you. Save me. Save my child."All I have to say about Through Blood, Through Fire is this: I love James Carstairs and Tessa Gray with my entire fucking heart. Thanks.9. Ghosts of Old Love — 5/5 stars.“A boy, a Carpathian lynx, and a ghost.”To be completely honest, I spent a lot of this novella crying. So, there's that. Livvy, my sweet, sweet girl. As much as it hurt, I loved seeing her learn and grow as a ghost (as odd as that sounds), and doing so while she's bound to Ty. Which also hurt, honestly. This entire story just really hurt.10. Forever Fallen — 5/5 stars.“Memories were like love: wound and cure, both at once.”This was easily one of my top favorites in the entire book. You think I cried like a little bitch during Ghosts of Old Love? Well, that was nothing compared to how much I cried during this one. We followed two families in this, but of course, my main focus is going to be on Jem, Tessa, Kit, and Mina, which absolutely destroyed me. Seeing Jem become a dad and just be so content and happy is everything, and God, I love that boy more than words. And I loved seeing Kit finally realize he has a home with Jem and Tessa, and that they love him, and he loves them, too. This was such a good ending. Thank you, Cassie Clare, for this wonderful book. It genuinely made my entire 2018 and 2019.“They’d both given a piece of their hearts to a Herondale. And they both loved someone they could not have.”
    more
  • giulia
    January 1, 1970
    “I said that to somebody once,” said Jem. “A long time ago. He did train with me. And now I’ll train you.”Kit hesitated, then said, “Will?” and Jem nodded. “Do you . . .” Kit bit his lip. “Do you still think about him a lot?”“I loved him better than I love myself,” said Jem. “I still do. I think about him every day.” i have mixed feelings about this one, I truly loved some of them (especially when jem talks about will and tessa and his love for them can’t help myself i truly love them) but oth “I said that to somebody once,” said Jem. “A long time ago. He did train with me. And now I’ll train you.”Kit hesitated, then said, “Will?” and Jem nodded. “Do you . . .” Kit bit his lip. “Do you still think about him a lot?”“I loved him better than I love myself,” said Jem. “I still do. I think about him every day.” i have mixed feelings about this one, I truly loved some of them (especially when jem talks about will and tessa and his love for them can’t help myself i truly love them) but others were really bland i rolled my eyes multiple times. i truly loved the ty and livvy story and the small kitty moments we had they love each other so much can they just talk? ugh. i honestly can’t wait for them in twp. (I wish we had some kierarktina in it, but guess i’ll have to wait)
    more
  • Beatrice in Bookland
    January 1, 1970
    "Every world contains worlds within it. People wander through all the worlds they can find, searching for their homes."• Cast long shadows - 3.5/5• Every exquisite thing - 3/5• Learn about loss - 2.5/5• A deeper love - 4.5/5• The wicked ones - 4/5• Son of the dawn - 5/5• The land I lost - 4/5• Through blood, through fire - 3/5• The lost world - 4.5/5• Forever fallen 5/5
    more
  • Joleen (starlightbooktales)
    January 1, 1970
    AHHHHHHH
  • julia ♥
    January 1, 1970
    I have waited so long for my Jessa family endgame and I finally got it. 5/5, my heart is whole. Full review to come when I'm more coherent and not continuously rereading the last two stories.
  • Dessa Mae
    January 1, 1970
    JEM JEM JEM JEM JEM JEM JEMJEM JEM JEM JEM JEM JEM JEM
  • Chloe
    January 1, 1970
    me: you know, I don't think I'm really into the Shadow World anymore ...CC: but look, an anthology of tales where each story includes Jemme: JUST TAKE MY MONEY AND GIVE ME THIS BOOK NOW!
Write a review