King of Scars (Nikolai Duology, #1)
Nikolai Lantsov has always had a gift for the impossible. No one knows what he endured in his country’s bloody civil war—and he intends to keep it that way. Now, as enemies gather at his weakened borders, the young king must find a way to refill Ravka’s coffers, forge new alliances, and stop a rising threat to the once-great Grisha Army.Yet with every day a dark magic within him grows stronger, threatening to destroy all he has built. With the help of a young monk and a legendary Grisha Squaller, Nikolai will journey to the places in Ravka where the deepest magic survives to vanquish the terrible legacy inside him. He will risk everything to save his country and himself. But some secrets aren’t meant to stay buried—and some wounds aren’t meant to heal.

King of Scars (Nikolai Duology, #1) Details

TitleKing of Scars (Nikolai Duology, #1)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 29th, 2019
PublisherImprint
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult

Readers also enjoyed


King of Scars (Nikolai Duology, #1) Review

  • Cait • A Page with a View
    January 1, 1970
    NIKOLAI LANTSOV IS GETTING HIS SERIES.Dreams do come true, kids.
  • Brittney ~ Reverie and Ink
    January 1, 1970
    WE HAVE A COVER!!!!AHHHHHH!! It's so gorgeous I can't even function... I HAVE BEEN ASKING FOR THIS SINCE 2015. YOU GUYS. NIKOLAI IS GETTING A SERIES.THIS IS NOT A DRILL.For those who haven't seen the news or the trailer... click below:THE ANNOUNECEMENTNiko has always been my all time favorite character and I literally cannot. My Blog ~ Instagram ~ Twitter ~ Etsy
    more
  • Em
    January 1, 1970
    I'm so glad Leigh Bardugo is aware of her own mortality and is churning out a new series every year, like, yes queen!! make use of the book publishing industry available now to add to your legacy!!(I don’t know how I’m just seeing the cover but I’m sure the inside is just as golden as the outside)
    more
  • Natalie Monroe
    January 1, 1970
    ALL MY WISHES HAVE COME TRUE. MY FACE HAS CLEARED. MY CROPS ARE THRIVING. NIKOLAI HAS HIS OWN SERIES.P.S. Kaz Brekker has to make a cameo, right?P.P.S. I think there's a large chance Nina and Inej will show, the Suli girl diving in to save the day on her schooner, or maybe even Jesper and Wylan since Jesper needs a Grisha teacher. BUT I NEED DIRTYHANDS, OKAY? YOU DON'T EVEN KNOW IT'S LIKE A PHYSICAL ACHE.
    more
  • Kai
    January 1, 1970
    I WANT TO MAKE LOVE TO THIS COVER--------OMFG. Nikolai Lantsov is back.
  • ✨ jamieson ✨
    January 1, 1970
    this cover looks extra af and I wouldn't expect any less of my drama king Nikolaialso like, I have no proof but I feel like there is SOME GOOD POTENTIAL HERE for zoya/nina to become canon and oh my god if hayley kiyoko is listening I'll give u anything to make it happen lesbian jesus----NIKOLAI LANTSOV DUOLOGYYYYYYUNFOLLOW ME RIGHT NOW THIS IS GONNA BE THE ONLY THING I TALK ABOUT FOR A YEAR. I'VE WANTED THIS FOR SO LONG. FUCK
    more
  • Virginia Ronan ♥ Herondale ♥
    January 1, 1970
    Update: What. A. Beautiful. Cover!!! I love it! <333 And I soo need this book in my shelf! XDI just saw the trailer to this book and I want to read it NOW!!!!! Pleaseeeee!!!! Gimme, gimme, gimme!!!! *dies*http://ew.com/books/2017/09/26/leigh-...
  • destiny ☠ howling libraries
    January 1, 1970
    update april 30 2018I'M SORRY BUT DO YOU GUYS SEE THIS FUCKING COVER?!"Nikolai journeys to the places in Ravka where the deepest magic survives, in order to vanquish the terrible legacy inside him" - I already want to cry? 😭😭😭 RIP me, please make sure my headstone says "here lies Destiny, who always knew beautiful books would be the end of her"---I would just like to say that waiting for this series was far less painful before I continued the Grisha trilogy and met Nikolai 😭😭😭
    more
  • Alienor ✘ French Frowner ✘
    January 1, 1970
    Mal, opening his vacant eyes : Isn't it awesome that - OH, SHUT UP, FINALLY THAT'S NOT ABOUT YOUUUUUUUUUU*throws confetti*Note : Kaz, Nina, Zoya & literally anyone else accepted (bonus points if you're (view spoiler)[supposed to be dead, NO I'LL NEVER GIVE UP OKAY (hide spoiler)]ALINA : I - NOT YOU EITHER
    more
  • Melanie
    January 1, 1970
    [May 5th, 2018][April 30th, 2018] Holy moly, Leigh just said on IG that at YALLWEST they are going to reveal which SoC character gets a PoV in this book... and why am I crying? Ahhhh! So excited! The amount of hype I have for this book is truly unreal! 💛[April 30th, 2018] Friends, I don't know if I *love* this cover to be honest. But it doesn't even matter, because I'd give my life for Nikolai Lantsov.[March 29th, 2018] After crying on snapchat with Julie this morning (forever a mood) I remember [May 5th, 2018][April 30th, 2018] Holy moly, Leigh just said on IG that at YALLWEST they are going to reveal which SoC character gets a PoV in this book... and why am I crying? Ahhhh! So excited! The amount of hype I have for this book is truly unreal! 💛[April 30th, 2018] Friends, I don't know if I *love* this cover to be honest. But it doesn't even matter, because I'd give my life for Nikolai Lantsov.[March 29th, 2018] After crying on snapchat with Julie this morning (forever a mood) I remembered how this book is everything I've ever wanted in all of literature. [September 26th, 2017] Who knew that Christmas was falling on September 26th this year? “But once I started writing my privateer prince who has a gift for invention and no talent at all for keeping his mouth shut, I didn’t want to stop” Entertainment Weekly 1.) Shadow and Bone ★★★★★2.) Siege and Storm ★★★3.) Ruin and Rising ★★1.) Six of Crows ★★★★2.) Crooked Kingdom ★★★★★*.) The Language of Thorns ★★★★★Blog | Twitter | Tumblr | Instagram | Youtube | Twitch
    more
  • Warda
    January 1, 1970
    Well, all hail Nina! 😍-------------------------------------NIKOLAI GETTIN THE ROYALTY TREATMENT WITH THIS COVER OH ME GOODNESS! 😍😍Also:“All of those magical touches may not mean much to readers now, but they will when we travel back to Ravka with Nikolai — and some other familiar faces from Shadow and Bone and Six of Crows. I’m not saying who just yet, but I hope readers are as excited as I am to take the journey.”I just peed a little.---------------------------------------THIS IS HAPPENING OH M Well, all hail Nina! 😍-------------------------------------NIKOLAI GETTIN THE ROYALTY TREATMENT WITH THIS COVER OH ME GOODNESS! 😍😍Also:“All of those magical touches may not mean much to readers now, but they will when we travel back to Ravka with Nikolai — and some other familiar faces from Shadow and Bone and Six of Crows. I’m not saying who just yet, but I hope readers are as excited as I am to take the journey.”I just peed a little.---------------------------------------THIS IS HAPPENING OH MY GOODNESS!!
    more
  • emma
    January 1, 1970
    me: yeah nikolai is ok i guess but the grisha books are garbàgeleigh bardugo: *announces nikolai duology*me instantly:
  • Katerina
    January 1, 1970
    So, it seems that Nikolai is getting his own series.I'm not freaking out, you're freaking outI'm totally freaking out
  • Beth
    January 1, 1970
    Are we all seeing this?!NIKOLAI... ALL FOR NIKOLAI! The gods have listened and we have a series for him, I don't know if I should laugh, cry, scream?!I'M TOO HAPPY RIGHT NOW!Plz no Mal thanks xoxo————-KING OF SCARS, what?! I’m intrigued!--------30.04.2018WE HAVE A COVERRRRR!Nikolai deserves the world, be kind to him!--------
    more
  • Elise (TheBookishActress)
    January 1, 1970
    can I just establish, here and now, that I think the Grisha series isn't amazing, but Zoya and Nikolai are both icons, and Genya and David and Tamar and Tolya will all show up, and Nina is going to actually get a fucking girlfriend, and I am so excited. I want this immediately help April 28, 2018 they're going to reveal which SoC character gets a point of view in this book at YallWest and not to be weird, but it's definitely going to be Nina. and if my girlfriend doesn't tell me exactly who it i can I just establish, here and now, that I think the Grisha series isn't amazing, but Zoya and Nikolai are both icons, and Genya and David and Tamar and Tolya will all show up, and Nina is going to actually get a fucking girlfriend, and I am so excited. I want this immediately help April 28, 2018 they're going to reveal which SoC character gets a point of view in this book at YallWest and not to be weird, but it's definitely going to be Nina. and if my girlfriend doesn't tell me exactly who it is as SOON as it's announced, I will fight them
    more
  • joanna ☽
    January 1, 1970
    [update 6 may 2018] I TOLD YOU ALL AND I WAS RIGHT. LEIGH CONFIRMED IT’S NINA’S POV https://instagram.com/p/BiauvCdgp7G/————-i didn’t know it was physically possible to want to marry a book cover but here we arereasons why this will be great:— it’s written by the queen herself, leigh bardugo, master of wearing black floaty robes and creating characters that make me cry and question my existence— NIKOLAI LANTSOV NIKOLAI LANTSOV NIKOLAI LANTSOV NIKOLAI-— the six of crows gang are going to be in it [update 6 may 2018] I TOLD YOU ALL AND I WAS RIGHT. LEIGH CONFIRMED IT’S NINA’S POV https://instagram.com/p/BiauvCdgp7G/————-i didn’t know it was physically possible to want to marry a book cover but here we arereasons why this will be great:— it’s written by the queen herself, leigh bardugo, master of wearing black floaty robes and creating characters that make me cry and question my existence— NIKOLAI LANTSOV NIKOLAI LANTSOV NIKOLAI LANTSOV NIKOLAI-— the six of crows gang are going to be in it (namely, one of them gets a POV, and i bet it's nina because leigh said she gets a new love interest this time)— MORE ZOYA AND GENYA AND MY BABES— did i mention NIKOLAI LANTSOV— the grishaverse is subjectively one of the best fantasy worlds in today’s YA lit and i love it to pieces— we get closure from crooked kingdom and all those questions that made me go “but what about ____?!?!?! i need answers!” — i bet there’s going to be badassery and humour and all that good jazz — would you kill me if i mentioned nikolai lantsov again— IS THE “YOUNG MONK” FROM THE SYNOPSIS MISHA??? — nikolai— *review cut off because reviewer was punched in the face for repeating his name too many times*reasons why this won’t be great:— ha YOU THOUGHTyou are all invited to my funeral. i died on 30 april 2018 after seeing that we have to wait until february 2019 for this story. please wear matching shades of black and maybe sunglasses, because my funeral’s gotta be cool.▌Instagram ▌Tumblr ▌Wordpress Blog (Starburnt Reads) ▌
    more
  • ⚔ Silvia ⚓
    January 1, 1970
    HI HELLO HAS EVERYONE SEEN THAT COVER THO______I'VE BEEN WAITING FOR THIS MOMENT SINCE I FINISHED THE GRISHA TRILOGYAND NOW IT'S REALIT'LL BE OUT IN WINTER 2019AND I'VE NEVER BEEN HAPPIER
  • Etnik
    January 1, 1970
    Why is this cover telling me "You can't sit with us" ?
  • Fables&Wren
    January 1, 1970
    LOOK AT THE COVER LOOK LOOK LOOK LOOOOOOOOOOOOK!I wanted to share this last night but Leigh made us at the event not post on social media 😭 ! THIS IS THE BEST THING TO HAPPEN TO THE BOOK COMMUNITY EVER.
  • Mary ~Ravager of Tomes~
    January 1, 1970
    *stares at the cover**looks in the mirror**points at self*You'd better fucking love this book, dammit.
  • Candace Robinson
    January 1, 1970
    Also, I came to the conclusion that the cover is sort of like a game of I Spy, searching around for stuff! 😂😂😂My baby’s book cover is here, and it’s glorious! 🙌🏻🙌🏻How did I just find out about this? My sweet baby Nikolai is getting his own book which I have been needing!!
    more
  • Dannii Elle
    January 1, 1970
    GET THE FUCK BACK IN MY LIFE NIKOLAI LANSTOV!
  • Grace (BURTSBOOKS)
    January 1, 1970
    Is this book going to be considered YA or????? Cause Nikolai isn't really a teen but is ya classified by the age of the main character or the contents of the novel??? I have no clue. I feel like I should know this......
  • Rose
    January 1, 1970
    i think this might be my favorite book cover.. of all time..
  • Nikki Poulos
    January 1, 1970
    14. July 2018I JUST READ THE FIRST CHAPTER EXERPT OMG I'm s h o o k e t h29. June. 2018I JUST FINISHED THE TRILOGY FOR THE FIRST TIME AND MY BOO NIKOLAI ILY IM SO HYPE FOR THIS BOOK
  • rin (lorenzo)
    January 1, 1970
    LOOOK!!!!!!!!!!! THE COVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SO GOLD!!!!!!!!!!!! SO BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I NEED THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!im going to die for nikolai either way he's still the best thing that happened to tgtalso leigh pls bi/pan nikolai leigh PLSi mean im 100% sure it's nina so yeah buuuuuoooooiiiii~~~~~~~~~~~~~i just saw an update that leigh apparently has finished the first draft and gODDDD I NEED THIS IN MY LIFE RIGHT NOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW~ LOOOK!!!!!!!!!!! THE COVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SO GOLD!!!!!!!!!!!! SO BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I NEED THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!im going to die for nikolai either way he's still the best thing that happened to tgtalso leigh pls bi/pan nikolai leigh PLSi mean im 100% sure it's nina so yeah buuuuuoooooiiiii~~~~~~~~~~~~~i just saw an update that leigh apparently has finished the first draft and gODDDD I NEED THIS IN MY LIFE RIGHT NOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW~~~~the only thing between me and this book,,,,,, time,,,,,,, why is time a thing~~~~the BEST grisha trilogy character gets his own book? my favorite BABY GETS HIS OWN BOOK???? A DUOLOGY??????SIGN ME TF UP MY BODY IS READY TAKE ALL MY MONEY LEIGH ps. give me six of crows' characters cameo pps. i hope there's no alina or mal bye
    more
  • Lily ☁️ {semi hiatus}
    January 1, 1970
    THIS COVER IS SO BEAUTIFUL, I COULD CRY. And I just might.Why is 2019 so far away??Blog ¦ Bloglovin’ ¦ Tumblr ¦ Instagram
  • Alex ✰ Comets and Comments ✰
    January 1, 1970
    King Of Scars ★ Most Anticipated 2019Expected publication: 2019 “I took a breath. “Your highness—”“Nikolai,” he corrected. “But I’ve also been known to answer to ‘sweetheart’ or ‘handsome.” ― Siege and Storm Here's why Goodreads is blowing up on this beautiful day...- Nikolai Lantsov is getting his own duology. - Everything you thought was important in life is now a far second. - Because Nikolai Lantsov is getting his own duology. - The queen of words is back in her kingdom. You better expect h King Of Scars ★ Most Anticipated 2019Expected publication: 2019 “I took a breath. “Your highness—”“Nikolai,” he corrected. “But I’ve also been known to answer to ‘sweetheart’ or ‘handsome.” ― Siege and Storm Here's why Goodreads is blowing up on this beautiful day...- Nikolai Lantsov is getting his own duology. - Everything you thought was important in life is now a far second. - Because Nikolai Lantsov is getting his own duology. - The queen of words is back in her kingdom. You better expect her people to go batshit crazy. - Nikolai Lantsov.
    more
  • Kainat 《HUFFLEPUFF & PROUD》
    January 1, 1970
    I don't even know who Nikolai is since I never read past the first book, but I'm excited. P.S so can we get a Darkling book now? 😭💔
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    January 1, 1970
    4/30/18COVER REVEAL!!!Wow, this is certainly not the kind of cover I was expecting. It feels like a major shift in tone, and if certainly different from the dark feel of the book trailer. But I let try to guess what the publishers are trying to say.Nikolai Lantsov is...24K GOLD!!! But all joking aside this cover is much different than what I imagined. It's not a bad cover overall, I mean the little details are amazing. It's just not what I pictured. But hey, I'm not mad at it. ---OMG...NIKOLAI 4/30/18COVER REVEAL!!!Wow, this is certainly not the kind of cover I was expecting. It feels like a major shift in tone, and if certainly different from the dark feel of the book trailer. But I let try to guess what the publishers are trying to say.Nikolai Lantsov is...24K GOLD!!! But all joking aside this cover is much different than what I imagined. It's not a bad cover overall, I mean the little details are amazing. It's just not what I pictured. But hey, I'm not mad at it. ---OMG...NIKOLAI LANTSOV IS GETTING HIS OWN DUOLOGY! We shall finally get to spend some quality time with this unsung hero. My unspoken prayers have been answered! Only downside, scheduled for 2019 release... Lol, but all jokes aside, I will patiently wait for Leigh to grace us with what I am certain will be a fabulous new edition to the wonderful Grisha Verse.Though, I wonder where this book will fit into the Grisha timeline. Like, will it take place before or after the events of Six of Crows? And if it takes place after, will we get some delicious cameos?Will Nikolai finally get his own love interest? ----Finally watched the book trailer for this video and OMG it might be the best book trailer ever!
    more
Write a review