The Other Woman
A deliciously disturbing, compulsively readable debut domestic suspense--prepare to meet The Other Woman: there’s nothing she won’t do to keep you away from her son ...Emily thinks Adam’s perfect; the man she thought she’d never meet. But lurking in the shadows is a rival; a woman who shares a deep bond with the man she loves.Emily chose Adam, but she didn’t choose his mother Pammie. There’s nothing a mother wouldn’t do for her son, and now Emily is about to find out just how far Pammie will go to get what she wants: Emily gone forever.The Other Woman is an addictive, fast-paced psychological thriller about the destructive relationship between Emily, her boyfriend Adam, and his manipulative mother Pammie.

The Other Woman Details

TitleThe Other Woman
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 21st, 2018
PublisherMinotaur Books
ISBN-139781250191984
Rating
GenreThriller, Fiction, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Mystery Thriller

The Other Woman Review

  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    I actually finished this a couple of days ago, but I’ve been sitting here wondering what I can say other than WOW. This was completely unexpected in the best way possible. You’ll want to go in blind people, as it reads best knowing nothing ahead of time, but all I can say for now is you definitely want to add this to your reading list for 2018! 😱😱😱 Fans of twisty, tense, psychological suspense (see what I did there?!) will eat this one up! Absolutely floored that this is a debut! I’ll be sure to I actually finished this a couple of days ago, but I’ve been sitting here wondering what I can say other than WOW. This was completely unexpected in the best way possible. You’ll want to go in blind people, as it reads best knowing nothing ahead of time, but all I can say for now is you definitely want to add this to your reading list for 2018! 😱😱😱 Fans of twisty, tense, psychological suspense (see what I did there?!) will eat this one up! Absolutely floored that this is a debut! I’ll be sure to add a full review once arcs are sent out! *Thanks Minotaur books for the opportunity!
    more
  • Debra
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsHoly Crap!!! What did I just read!?! I DID not see that ending coming - not at all!!!Emily has finally met the perfect man. Adam is caring, attentive, and loving. After a heart-breaking betrayal and breakup and after a few years of dates that led nowhere, Emily has finally found the one. The only downside - he seems to be unnaturally close to his Mother, Pammie.His super closeness to his mother might be easy to overlook if Pammie was not quite so despicable and hell bent on ruining thei 4.5 starsHoly Crap!!! What did I just read!?! I DID not see that ending coming - not at all!!!Emily has finally met the perfect man. Adam is caring, attentive, and loving. After a heart-breaking betrayal and breakup and after a few years of dates that led nowhere, Emily has finally found the one. The only downside - he seems to be unnaturally close to his Mother, Pammie.His super closeness to his mother might be easy to overlook if Pammie was not quite so despicable and hell bent on ruining their relationship. It appears as if Pammie wants Emily gone from her son's life and is willing to lie, scheme, and manipulate to get what she wants. Adam is oblivious to his mother's antics. He defends his Mother and often blames Emily for the rift and distance between the two women.Holy Hell! Talk about a book with a shocking ending. As I stated, I did not see that one coming. I was SHOCKED and loved every second of it. I am so happy there were no spoilers out there. I love when a book can leave me sitting there with my mouth hanging open. That is exactly what this book did! The characters in this book are fantastic, some you will love to hate and there are some you will love. I love when an Author can pull of characters that readers love to hate. I think that is a gift and, in this book, made the book even more enjoyable. Talking about enjoyable, I enjoyed this book from beginning to end but that ending.... Read and find out! Other reviewers are recommending going into this book blind with only the brief synopsis to light your way. I agree with this approach.It is very safe to say that I will be eagerly reading more of this Author in the future!Thank you to St. Martin's Press-Minotaur books and NetGalley who provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All the thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.Read all my reviews at www.openbookpost.com
    more
  • Melisa
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars - Buddy read with Holly B! I would just like to state for the record that I officially read too many psychological thrillers and my inner detective will not go away - once again I had it figured out early on so I have to say, I can’t rate thrillers anymore based on the twist. I am unfortunately bound to figure it out😩 (someone please stump me!!). So based on this one, I have to say it was crazy well done (emphasis on the crazy!) in general. I love love loved to hate these characters - 4.5 stars - Buddy read with Holly B! I would just like to state for the record that I officially read too many psychological thrillers and my inner detective will not go away - once again I had it figured out early on so I have to say, I can’t rate thrillers anymore based on the twist. I am unfortunately bound to figure it out😩 (someone please stump me!!). So based on this one, I have to say it was crazy well done (emphasis on the crazy!) in general. I love love loved to hate these characters - they are nutty in the best way possible. They were truly driving Holly and myself bananas the whole read, and that is the best kind of character for me. If you can create a vivid response from me, whether positive or negative, then job well done!This one had lightning speed pacing which was FANTASTIC and kept the pages turning. The problem when this happens is that you only scratch the surface with character development, but I didn’t even care and it worked really well here. A super well done psychological thriller! Thank you to Netgalley, the publisher and the author for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Linda
    January 1, 1970
    Hand on the doorknob......Creaking hinges as a shaft of light appears revealing heavy cobwebs.And you.....you will be whispering hoarsely to Emily to slam that stinkin' door and book a flight to Poughkeepsie..... one way.You see, Emily has met someone. She's a hard working top consultant at Faulkner's in London. Her fellow associates are taking a break during a meeting at a local pub. Emily is parched and works her way over to the bar for a glass of wine. She finds herself bantering back and for Hand on the doorknob......Creaking hinges as a shaft of light appears revealing heavy cobwebs.And you.....you will be whispering hoarsely to Emily to slam that stinkin' door and book a flight to Poughkeepsie..... one way.You see, Emily has met someone. She's a hard working top consultant at Faulkner's in London. Her fellow associates are taking a break during a meeting at a local pub. Emily is parched and works her way over to the bar for a glass of wine. She finds herself bantering back and forth with a tall handsome man named Adam. The conversation flows easily and they exchange cards.Emily and Adam soon become an item. Before long, Adam brings Emily home to meet his mother. Dearest Pammie is like the sound of someone cracking their knuckles in your ear......non-stop and at a rapid rate. Pammie will set roadblocks left and right for Emily like buried landmines......all calculated precisely for Emily's dainty foot to set off. Ol' Pammie flies circles on a broom around her son, Adam. Emily will never be good enough for the likes of Adam......ever.Sandie Jones has set up the character of Pammie so wickedly that you will wince every time she enters the room. Truth be told, there will be times throughout the storyline when you will shake your head in dismay at the questionable persistence of our girl Emily. Like the popular movie, you'll shout: "GET OUT!" Frankly, she won't hear you.The Other Woman is the kind of read that flashes escapism......yours and not Emily's. It's a fun book that will bring you out of your doldrums and will keep you turning pages until the end. And the ending will crick your neck in a different direction like the expertise of a talented chiropractor. Quite the unexpected leap, Ms. Jones.I received a copy of The Other Woman through NetGalley for an honest review. My thanks to Minotaur Books and to Sandie Jones for the opportunity.
    more
  • j e w e l s [Books Bejeweled]
    January 1, 1970
    3 STARSI admit it, this book took me forever to finish! Never a good sign. The plot is fine, but the characters are so trite and stereotyped and I WAS SO BORED. You guys know I'm not a fan of the helpless, hand wringing "heroine" and yep, that's what we have in our girl, Emily. C'mon, Emily!! Wake up and smell the coffee! That family you are about to marry into? They are so SHADY! Run for the hills!There is a character you will love to hate in the form of future mother-in-law, Pammie. Pammie's p 3 STARSI admit it, this book took me forever to finish! Never a good sign. The plot is fine, but the characters are so trite and stereotyped and I WAS SO BORED. You guys know I'm not a fan of the helpless, hand wringing "heroine" and yep, that's what we have in our girl, Emily. C'mon, Emily!! Wake up and smell the coffee! That family you are about to marry into? They are so SHADY! Run for the hills!There is a character you will love to hate in the form of future mother-in-law, Pammie. Pammie's personality almost makes up for the lackluster story and I did enjoy her part very much.Seriously, I can't think of anything else to tell you about THE OTHER WOMAN. It reads like chick-lit NOT "an addictive, fast-paced psychological thriller" as in the description. The writing borders on a cheesy, Danielle Steele style. Grrrrrr. I'm getting grouchy just thinking about it, I better stop before I change it to 2 stars.Thank you, Netgalley, for allowing me to read and give my honest opinion. THE OTHER WOMAN is scheduled for publication in August 2018.
    more
  • Holly B
    January 1, 1970
    Buddy read w/ Melisa .... 4.5 STARSThis has a twisty plot and is an addictive page turner with a quirky cast of characters….Enter Pammie - Controlling mother like no other! A bit of advice to Emily (her soon to be daughter in law), pack your bags and RUN.Unfortunately, Emily is one of those friends who won’t listen to anyone because she knows best. She loves Adam with all her heart and won’t allow anyone to come between them (so she thinks anyway).Can I just say…the war is on and Pammie doesn’t Buddy read w/ Melisa .... 4.5 STARSThis has a twisty plot and is an addictive page turner with a quirky cast of characters….Enter Pammie - Controlling mother like no other! A bit of advice to Emily (her soon to be daughter in law), pack your bags and RUN.Unfortunately, Emily is one of those friends who won’t listen to anyone because she knows best. She loves Adam with all her heart and won’t allow anyone to come between them (so she thinks anyway).Can I just say…the war is on and Pammie doesn’t like to lose.Thanks to Minotaur for my advanced copy. Out on August 21, 2018 Review will post on blog on 5/22/18 https://dressedtoread.com/
    more
  • Katie B
    January 1, 1970
    This book was a fun, crazy, and at times maddening trip! Emily is dating Adam and things are going great until she meets his mother, Pammie. It seems like Pammie will stop at nothing to keep the two of them apart. I felt such anxiety when reading this one because it plays on one of my fears which is the mother in law from hell. I actually have a nice, normal mother in law but I guess knowing I was lucky and dodged a bullet there makes these type of stories just freak me out more than reading a n This book was a fun, crazy, and at times maddening trip! Emily is dating Adam and things are going great until she meets his mother, Pammie. It seems like Pammie will stop at nothing to keep the two of them apart. I felt such anxiety when reading this one because it plays on one of my fears which is the mother in law from hell. I actually have a nice, normal mother in law but I guess knowing I was lucky and dodged a bullet there makes these type of stories just freak me out more than reading a novel about a serial killer. But even though I felt on edge throughout the book it still was a fun type feeling you get when you can't wait to find out what happens next. I wouldn't say anything was really groundbreaking with the plot but it didn't matter because you feel so invested in the storyline and wanting everyone to catch on to Pammie. One criticism I have of the book is I don't think enough time was spent developing Adam and Emily's relationship so it was obvious why Emily wouldn't run for the hills after getting to know his mother. However, the pacing of the book is excellent so maybe going into so much detail would have hampered it as this makes a much better suspense read than one that drags on and on. This isn't a perfect read but it is so entertaining and will probably be one of the hits of the summer/fall so I definitely recommend checking it out!I was given a free ARC from BookishFirst but was not obligated to post a review. All views expressed are my honest opinion.
    more
  • Malia
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsI was worried this book would not live up to the hype, but am am happy I was wrong. The Other Woman is a clever page-turner and the ending delivered a twist I did not see coming! I did have trouble understanding why Emily stayed with Adam in light of all the trouble the relationship was causing, her (not spoiler, don't worry!), but other than that, I really enjoyed this book. I won't go too much into the plot, because I really don't want to reveal anything that would spoil it, all I wil 4.5 starsI was worried this book would not live up to the hype, but am am happy I was wrong. The Other Woman is a clever page-turner and the ending delivered a twist I did not see coming! I did have trouble understanding why Emily stayed with Adam in light of all the trouble the relationship was causing, her (not spoiler, don't worry!), but other than that, I really enjoyed this book. I won't go too much into the plot, because I really don't want to reveal anything that would spoil it, all I will say is that it held my rapt attention from start to finish. I am impressed it is the author's debut and look forward to her next one!Find more reviews and bookish fun at http://www.princessandpen.comThanks to Netgalley for supplying me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Carrie
    January 1, 1970
    The Other Woman by Sandie Jones is another of those books that make me crave popcorn once I pick them up and start reading. It’s the type of story that early on you get the entire general idea of what will happen but still fun to sit back and wait for the fireworks and enjoy the show along the way.Emily has come out of a relationship where she caught her boyfriend cheating with a good friend of hers so she’s a bit hesitant to get back in the game until she meets Adam. The more Emily gets to know The Other Woman by Sandie Jones is another of those books that make me crave popcorn once I pick them up and start reading. It’s the type of story that early on you get the entire general idea of what will happen but still fun to sit back and wait for the fireworks and enjoy the show along the way.Emily has come out of a relationship where she caught her boyfriend cheating with a good friend of hers so she’s a bit hesitant to get back in the game until she meets Adam. The more Emily gets to know Adam the more she thinks he’s absolutely perfect for her, that is until he brings her home to meet his mother.On the surface Emily’s first meeting with Pammie goes well but for Emily the doubts begin to creep in after that meeting. While Pammie appears to be friendly and welcoming little things she does or say seem to get the best of Emily but Emily is not willing to give up her love for Adam despite his mother.The story inside of The Other Woman is not a new one but it’s one that has managed to grab my attention time and time again. The good old ‘evil mother in law to be’ trope did manage to entertain me until the very end again this time and oh what an ending it was. Emily and Pammie made such an entertaining pair this go round that I flew right through the book and would certainly recommend this to those that enjoy a good old fashioned drama filled suspenseful ride.I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.For more review please visit https://carriesbookreviews.com/
    more
  • Gary
    January 1, 1970
    This is a very good debut novel by author Sandie Jones that makes me eagerly anticipate further books from this new thriller writer.Emily falls in love with Adam and there is no doubt in her mind that she has found her true love. But circumstances change when she encounters the other woman, Pammie. Pammie is Adam's mother and seems to be on a mission to keep them apart, but how far will she go to succeed. This psychological thriller is full of good characters and I found it compelling with its w This is a very good debut novel by author Sandie Jones that makes me eagerly anticipate further books from this new thriller writer.Emily falls in love with Adam and there is no doubt in her mind that she has found her true love. But circumstances change when she encounters the other woman, Pammie. Pammie is Adam's mother and seems to be on a mission to keep them apart, but how far will she go to succeed. This psychological thriller is full of good characters and I found it compelling with its well paced plot that kept me wanting to find out more. I would like to thank Net Galley and Pan for supplying a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Louise Wilson
    January 1, 1970
    Emily thinks Adam is perfect; the man she thought she would never meet. But lurking in the shadows is a rival; a woman sho shares a deep bond with the man she loves.They say love is blind and there has never been a truer saying to describe what's happening in this book. When Emily meets the other love in Adams life, his mother Pammie, she is not met with the most pleasant person. Pammie does everything she can to break them up. Even saying she has a terminal illness so that her son would cancel Emily thinks Adam is perfect; the man she thought she would never meet. But lurking in the shadows is a rival; a woman sho shares a deep bond with the man she loves.They say love is blind and there has never been a truer saying to describe what's happening in this book. When Emily meets the other love in Adams life, his mother Pammie, she is not met with the most pleasant person. Pammie does everything she can to break them up. Even saying she has a terminal illness so that her son would cancel the wedding.I know there must be women all over the world who have mother-in-laws from hell and Pammie fits easily into this category. The pace is medium set, a fast pace would not do this book any justice. The characters are all believable but I can't say much more than this as I would contain too many spoilers. There is a twist near the end that I did not see coming.I would like to thank NetGalley, Pan McMillan and the author Sandie Jones for my ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kendall
    January 1, 1970
    The Other Woman is a thrilling ride to the say the least that Sandie Jones takes us on!So.. have to be honest I really struggled with rating this one. Did this novel keep me on the edge of my toes and give me one hell of a ride?! Heck yes.. but on the other hand this is a plot that we have seen before. My mind kept going back and forth to The Girlfriend by Michelle Frances. This is a very similar plot line as this story but Sandie takes a slightly different right turn on this drive....I was full The Other Woman is a thrilling ride to the say the least that Sandie Jones takes us on!So.. have to be honest I really struggled with rating this one. Did this novel keep me on the edge of my toes and give me one hell of a ride?! Heck yes.. but on the other hand this is a plot that we have seen before. My mind kept going back and forth to The Girlfriend by Michelle Frances. This is a very similar plot line as this story but Sandie takes a slightly different right turn on this drive....I was fully engaged in this story but there was so many unanswered questions that I had in my mind upon finishing this. Some of it just didn't make sense to me? I sat on this over night and I just was slightly annoyed with my perturbing questions lol... which caused me to rate this one a tad lower.Let's meet Emily. She's a successful business woman who meets Adam at a bar one night. Adam and Emily's relationship takes off like a rocket. Emily soon is introduced to Adam's mother Pammie. Pammie is like nails on a chalkboard... until the death of you.. literally. Pammie to say the least has zero LOVE for Emily... setting traps at every moment she can in order for Emily to struggle with her relationship with Adam. But, what is truly going on behind doors between Adam and Emily? Is their relationship is as it seems? Why, does Pammie hate Emily so much?The Other Woman is a novel that will keep you turning those pages until the very end. Questions will keep haunting you until you can get your fingers on those answers my friends! I do have to say Sandie takes one hell of a unexpected turn with this ending that some of you will have your jaw fully glued to the floor.Overall, 3.5 stars on this one for me.Thank you so much to Netgalley and St. Martins/Minotaur books for the opportunity to read this in exchange for my honest review.Published to GR: 7/15/18Publication date: 8/21/18
    more
  • Selena
    January 1, 1970
    I received a free e-copy of The Other Woman by Sandie Jones from NetGalley for my honest review.This was a fantastic read. Very gripping, intense psychological thriller. It kept you guessing till the very end. This is a story of woman named Emily who falls in love whit a man named Adam. Adam's mother, Pammie, who doesn't want to share her son with anyone keeps trying to sabotage anything she can to make Emily's life a living hell. She is rude, evil and will stop at nothing to tear them apart. Ho I received a free e-copy of The Other Woman by Sandie Jones from NetGalley for my honest review.This was a fantastic read. Very gripping, intense psychological thriller. It kept you guessing till the very end. This is a story of woman named Emily who falls in love whit a man named Adam. Adam's mother, Pammie, who doesn't want to share her son with anyone keeps trying to sabotage anything she can to make Emily's life a living hell. She is rude, evil and will stop at nothing to tear them apart. How far will Pammie go to keep Emily out of Adam's life? What really happened to Rebecca, Adam's deceased ex-girlfriend? Such a great read.
    more
  • Mandy White
    January 1, 1970
    I could not put this book down! Absolute page turner - easily 5 stars from me.Emily meets Adam and falls had over heels in love with him. And then she meet Pammie - Adam's mother. This is when her life starts to spin out of control.A great story with a twist that you will not see coming. Thanks Pan MacMillan and Netgalley for an advanced copy of this book to read and enjoy in exchange for my honest views.
    more
  • Ova Incekaraoglu
    January 1, 1970
    A very resisted DNF. I really tried to finish this book but couldn't. Really didn't like it.The dialogue between Emily and Adam. It felt so fabricated. Also Emily acts like an idiot. I couldn't stand to read a book about Emily, dedicated to bag Adam, happy to shut up and take things as he pleases. The world is full of Emily's with low self esteem, it just hurts to read about them running after a man as it's life or death, as if this is normal! Sorry.There is no problem with structure. The plot i A very resisted DNF. I really tried to finish this book but couldn't. Really didn't like it.The dialogue between Emily and Adam. It felt so fabricated. Also Emily acts like an idiot. I couldn't stand to read a book about Emily, dedicated to bag Adam, happy to shut up and take things as he pleases. The world is full of Emily's with low self esteem, it just hurts to read about them running after a man as it's life or death, as if this is normal! Sorry.There is no problem with structure. The plot is also OK. I read a lot of thrillers and seen worse plots. But the style of writing, and all dialogue is so cliche and so 90's. My first annoyance started at the beginning, in the bar scene. Then the female protagonist, telling her friend something like 'IT is this new industry I don't know about'. Wow. We are in year 2018 not 1988- How could she be a recruiter and have NO idea an IT analyst does? Also her friends, one crazy(the fun type crazy, not the one you find vomiting on the coach ) but supportive house mate female, other being the most cliche gay man in literary history (asking the right questions, giving perfect advice, makes you think that he doesn't have a life on his own) made my alarm bell ring. But I still went on. But at some point it was all too irritating and I just left it - and I have a feeling I know what happens in the end.Also- the unknown, phenomenal ex, 'the other woman' named Rebecca. Really?
    more
  • Meredith B. (readingwithmere)
    January 1, 1970
    4 Stars!First, thank you to Minotaur Books for sending me an arc of this book.This book came highly recommended to read by my fellow bookstagrammers so I felt like I needed to dive right into this even though it doesn't come out until August.The book starts off with meeting Emily who doesn't know if she could find the perfect soulmate. Then enter Adam who she falls in love with pretty quickly and he falls in love with her just as fast. They seem to have it all: good jobs, good looks and good liv 4 Stars!First, thank you to Minotaur Books for sending me an arc of this book.This book came highly recommended to read by my fellow bookstagrammers so I felt like I needed to dive right into this even though it doesn't come out until August.The book starts off with meeting Emily who doesn't know if she could find the perfect soulmate. Then enter Adam who she falls in love with pretty quickly and he falls in love with her just as fast. They seem to have it all: good jobs, good looks and good lives. But what if the one thing standing in your way what is your soon-to-be mother-in-law?Emily's soon to be mother in law does everything in her power to make sure her and Adam are not going to get married. I literally mean anything and she will go to any length to make sure this wedding does not happen. However, Emily may think that only her mother-in-law is the issue and is turning the blind eye when it comes to possible other people who are causing trouble. So what happens to this perfect love story? You'll just have to read and find out. And yes, the ending got me. I was not expecting what happened to happen and hats off to the offer for writing in such a way that I didn't see what was coming.This book is full of lies, deceit, broken hearts, abuse and a lot of lessons about relationships. The only thing I can think of that was hard for me to get through in this book was the sheer oblivious attitude that Emily has towards her future husband and his mother. Regardless of if someone is your parents or you love them very much, abuse is abuse whether it be physical, mental or emotional. I know that this happens often in the world and I'm lucky to have not stayed in relationships that have had this happen but it just was a struggle for me personally to get through because I just wanted to shake her and say wake up you don't need to stay in this.Overall, I would say this is going to be a great thriller choice for readers. I really enjoyed the twist at the end. Like I said, I didn't see it coming in that's a key to a great thriller. I would definitely say pick this up if you are a thriller fan. It comes out August 21st!
    more
  • Amy
    January 1, 1970
    This book has been getting so much hype and as is always the case with buzzed about books I’m a little hesitant to see if they’ll live up to the hype for me. I can definitely see what all the fuss is about with this one, it’s highly compulsive, a little disturbing and an all around really fun and engaging read.The idea of a nightmare mother in law is nothing new but Jones manages to insert a fresh new twist on the premise, what if the other woman is your future mother in law? I don’t want to say This book has been getting so much hype and as is always the case with buzzed about books I’m a little hesitant to see if they’ll live up to the hype for me. I can definitely see what all the fuss is about with this one, it’s highly compulsive, a little disturbing and an all around really fun and engaging read.The idea of a nightmare mother in law is nothing new but Jones manages to insert a fresh new twist on the premise, what if the other woman is your future mother in law? I don’t want to say much more than that, because half of the fun of this one was not knowing what to expect. This one really messes with your mind, I had several theories that changed from chapter to chapter which always keeps me super engaged. I did figure out one of the main twists but I think that’s solely because I read thrillers so often. I wasn’t even upset by it, I was having way to much fun just losing myself in Pammie’s crazy world that I didn’t care!Go in as blind as possible to this one and pack it on vacation, it would be the perfect read for a long flight because once you start you absolutely will not want to put it down until you finish.The Other Woman in three words: Addictive, Wicked and Entertaining.
    more
  • Theresa Alan
    January 1, 1970
    For most of this novel, I thought of it as being a solid, stress-inducing book—in a good way. I like books that have a twist, unfortunately, the twist at the end of this one didn’t ring true to me.I liked Emily, and disliked Pammie so much, that I found this to be an absolute page turner, hoping that somehow things would work out for Emily.Emily meets handsome Adam at a bar during a conference. Sparks fly, and though they’ve only been dating a short time, when you know, you know. Right? Until he For most of this novel, I thought of it as being a solid, stress-inducing book—in a good way. I like books that have a twist, unfortunately, the twist at the end of this one didn’t ring true to me.I liked Emily, and disliked Pammie so much, that I found this to be an absolute page turner, hoping that somehow things would work out for Emily.Emily meets handsome Adam at a bar during a conference. Sparks fly, and though they’ve only been dating a short time, when you know, you know. Right? Until he introduces her to his mother Pammie, who, very subtly, tries to destroy Emily’s relationship with her son. Adam thinks that Emily is being petty when she tries to point out the ways his mom hurts her. He doesn’t see the secret machinations of his mother. That's all I can say so as not to ruin anything. Thanks so much to NetGalley for the opportunity to review this book.For more reviews, please visit: http://www.theresaalan.net/blog
    more
  • Jill Croce-McGill
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 Wildly Disturbing Stars!The Other Woman had me hooked right from the beginning. It's crazy, disturbing, twisted, and outrageously addictive - a definite page-turner for me. Emily and Adam start dating and appear to be madly "in love". Then enters the other woman, Pammie, Adam's mother. How far will Pammie go to get Emily out of Adam's life? Emily will soon find out! This is the type of book that if I say too much I will give it all away... in my opinion, it's better to read it with an open m 4.5 Wildly Disturbing Stars!The Other Woman had me hooked right from the beginning. It's crazy, disturbing, twisted, and outrageously addictive - a definite page-turner for me. Emily and Adam start dating and appear to be madly "in love". Then enters the other woman, Pammie, Adam's mother. How far will Pammie go to get Emily out of Adam's life? Emily will soon find out! This is the type of book that if I say too much I will give it all away... in my opinion, it's better to read it with an open mind. Kudos to Sandie Jones for introducing us to some wild and crazy characters - the kind that made me want to pull my hair out at times. Also, there were times I wanted to shout out, "what were you thinking", and maybe just add a facepalm moment just to put some sense back into them. When I have those emotions I definitely know I'm reading a well-written book! So get ready and buckle up for a crazy and twisted ride of your life! Highly recommend.Many thanks to NetGalley and Minotaur Books for providing me with an ARC.
    more
  • Shannon
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to Minotaur books for sending me a copy of The Other Woman by Sandie Jones. I flew through this one guys! Yep, read this gem just in one day. I loved it! Fast paced, short chapters and just down right addictive! I won’t write any spoilers but if I were you I’d go in this one as blind as possible! Enjoy! When Emily meets Adam it’s not long before they fall in love. They quickly move in together and things are going great! Adam feels it’s time to introduce Emily to his mother, Pammie. Let m Thanks to Minotaur books for sending me a copy of The Other Woman by Sandie Jones. I flew through this one guys! Yep, read this gem just in one day. I loved it! Fast paced, short chapters and just down right addictive! I won’t write any spoilers but if I were you I’d go in this one as blind as possible! Enjoy! When Emily meets Adam it’s not long before they fall in love. They quickly move in together and things are going great! Adam feels it’s time to introduce Emily to his mother, Pammie. Let me tell you, Dearest Pamela is going to make you want to scream “back off lady!!!” but she won’t. No, no she will not. No one will ever be good enough for her son, Adam, especially not Emily. Ooo the drastic lengths this lady will go to! I will say that I did think of the *twist* early on but easily forgot about it as the story continued. It certainly didn’t take anything away from my experience reading The Other Woman. I rate this 4 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ stars and highly recommend!!
    more
  • Liz Barnsley
    January 1, 1970
    This book was sinfully addictive I read it in one sitting. For fans of psychological thrillers this is likely to be a sure fire hit of the summer.Pammie is a star character. A total star character. The “mother in law” from hell indeed, plus the author twists and turns the narrative really well when it comes to the heart of the story, that of the eternal triangle between Mother, Son and the girl he chooses.I’ll be honest and say there are moments and actions by the characters in this where your s This book was sinfully addictive I read it in one sitting. For fans of psychological thrillers this is likely to be a sure fire hit of the summer.Pammie is a star character. A total star character. The “mother in law” from hell indeed, plus the author twists and turns the narrative really well when it comes to the heart of the story, that of the eternal triangle between Mother, Son and the girl he chooses.I’ll be honest and say there are moments and actions by the characters in this where your suspension of disbelief will be challenged but then they DO say love is blind – and that can apply to all love not just romantic love – a theme I felt was well explored here. I did occasionally want to slap Emily around the head with a wet fish and yell at her GET OUT GET OUT NOW which of course is the sign of how engaged and involved I was with this rather twisted love story.Because I read so many psychological thrillers what I look for these days is just one thing that surprises me. Not necessarily a twist or an unexpected ending but just that one thing I don’t see before it arrives. The Other Woman had several of these moments which elevated it plus the final resolution was extremely clever and thought provoking.The characters are highly compelling from Emily with her often bull headed determination, to Pammie with her subtle and not so subtle interference, to Adam the not so perfect perfect man AND all the rest (I had a particular fondness for Emily’s own mother) they will all get into your head and stick with you after you have finished reading.Overall really very good! Yes. One to watch later this year if you are a fan of the twisted narrative.Recommended.
    more
  • Dennis
    January 1, 1970
    Emily is a recruiter; one of the best in the business and out at a convention when she stumbles across Adam. Adam is gorgeous, successful, and very suave. Emily and Adam hit it off immediately and forge a relationship in record-breaking speed. Within months, the two are so intertwined in each other's lives and ready for the next step—meeting the family. When Emily meets Adam's family, she is quick to notice some similarities—Adam's younger brother is nearly identical to him—and some major differ Emily is a recruiter; one of the best in the business and out at a convention when she stumbles across Adam. Adam is gorgeous, successful, and very suave. Emily and Adam hit it off immediately and forge a relationship in record-breaking speed. Within months, the two are so intertwined in each other's lives and ready for the next step—meeting the family. When Emily meets Adam's family, she is quick to notice some similarities—Adam's younger brother is nearly identical to him—and some major differences—Adam's mother Pammie is not the sweet old lady that Adam characterizes. Immediately from the get-go, Emily feels that there's hostility from Adam's mother in regards to their relationship and with Emily, herself. As Emily and Adam's relationship progresses, Pammie's relationship with Emily continues to grow in hatred and hostility; why won't this woman leave her alone? Seriously, Pammie is the biggest hurdle, and nightmare, that Emily will ever have to deal with. Pammie is a foe that Emily isn't sure that she can take on. I really can't go deeper folks, I'm really sorry. The Other Woman is an amazing 5 star read for me, because it's so addicting! Go into this story blind because it's one of those books that you think you know what's going to happen, and then it completely deviates from there. I had no idea that The Other Woman is Sandie Jones's debut novel, because she writes like she's in the big leagues already. I can't wait to see what else she has up her sleeve.Thank you Minotaur Books for my advanced copy in exchange for an honest review. The Other Woman is out August 21st, 2018.
    more
  • Sandra ~ ♥ Cross My Heart ♥
    January 1, 1970
    I'm always excited to discover a debut novel that keeps me up at night, burning through pages to reach the end. The Other Woman certainly did that with an air of impending doom surrounding the heroine, Emily. I knew it was just a matter of time before everything hit the fan as this gripping story unfolded. Emily and Adam meet in a bar and are immediately in lust and soon after "in love". Emily has finally met her prince, and now she's meeting his perfect mother, Pammie - a woman who does no wron I'm always excited to discover a debut novel that keeps me up at night, burning through pages to reach the end. The Other Woman certainly did that with an air of impending doom surrounding the heroine, Emily. I knew it was just a matter of time before everything hit the fan as this gripping story unfolded. Emily and Adam meet in a bar and are immediately in lust and soon after "in love". Emily has finally met her prince, and now she's meeting his perfect mother, Pammie - a woman who does no wrong in his eyes. Emily is nervous, but ready . . . she thinks. It quickly becomes obvious that Pammie isn't ready to share Adam's affections with another woman. Her devious actions undermine Emily at every turn, even as she presents a sweeter than sugar persona to Adam and everyone else. When things take a malicious turn, the question becomes . . . Is Pammie dangerous? How far will she go to keep Emily and her son apart?The Other Woman is an intense, engaging, medium paced read told through Emily's point of view. Readers have a front row seat to what's happening to Emily both physically and mentally. She's a perfect spokesperson for the old saying "Love is Blind" and still, I was sympathetic to her plight. The author does a great job weaving the plot and enhancing it with a varied cast of support characters. I will say I suspected the main twist way too soon and while the delivery of the story had me flipping pages and freaking out early on, the ending left me feeling a bit disappointed and wanting something more. In spite of that, The Other Woman is a gripping debut thriller that I enjoyed reading. I'm looking forward to more from Jones. Avoid all spoilers and settle in with this Must Read!*3.5 rounded up to 4**Many thanks to Minotaur Books for an arc via Netgally.***Reviewed at Cross My Heart Reviews
    more
  • Stacey Camp
    January 1, 1970
    **4 Goodreads Stars** "She'd become a master of deception, subtly changing her demeanor, prowess, and even her voice, I'd noticed, when he was around." In Sandie Jones' The Other Woman, Emily thinks she has met the man of her dreams. Emily is wooed by Adam, a charming, hunky executive who buys her a drink at a hotel bar during a work conference. Emily, not one to usually be swept off her feet by a whirlwind romance, becomes surprisingly enamoured with Adam, who wines and dines his way into her l **4 Goodreads Stars** "She'd become a master of deception, subtly changing her demeanor, prowess, and even her voice, I'd noticed, when he was around." In Sandie Jones' The Other Woman, Emily thinks she has met the man of her dreams. Emily is wooed by Adam, a charming, hunky executive who buys her a drink at a hotel bar during a work conference. Emily, not one to usually be swept off her feet by a whirlwind romance, becomes surprisingly enamoured with Adam, who wines and dines his way into her life.Emily isn't someone who necessarily needs a man in her life; she's an independent, financially successful woman working in a high-powered executive placement agency. But with Adam things are different, and soon she finds herself engaged in what she believes is a passionate romance unlike any other she's experienced before. But then she meets Adam's mother. Adam's mother, Pammie, is domineering, controlling, and possessive of her two sons (James and Adam). Pammie makes impolite and downright rude comments about Emily's hair, weight, and relationship with Adam, often in private so that no one else sees the abuse taking place. When Emily confronts Adam about his mother's behavior, he looks at Emily with disbelief and dismisses her feelings. Emily starts to dig into Pammie's past, and she discovers that Adam's former fiance, Rebecca, died of an asthma attack while alone with Pammie at Adam and Rebecca's new house.  Was Pammie somehow responsible for Rebecca's death, or was it merely an accident? Or is someone else responsible, someone lurking in the background of the story? Is Emily in danger? What I liked about this book is the character development and the careful attention to the plot. The author has done a really good job fleshing out not only the lead characters (Emily, Adam, and Pammie), but also those on the sidelines, including Adam's brother, James, and Emily's mother and friends. I admit I saw some of the plot twist coming, but I could have also envisioned many other ways of finishing the book that would be satisfying because this thriller was so well crafted. I will warn readers that domestic violence is in this book in case it is a trigger. Thank you to the author, Sandie Jones, the publisher, St. Martin's Press, and NetGalley for an advanced review copy of the suspenseful The Other Woman. I greatly appreciated the opportunity to read this book! This book will be available for purchase on August 18, 2018 - the perfect summer sizzler!For more of my book reviews visit me here: Book Review Blog | Twitter | Instagram
    more
  • BIBLIOMANIAC MJ
    January 1, 1970
    Freaking brilliant!!!!!!!!The book description "deliciously disturbing" and "compulsive" most certainly hits the nail on the head on this one. This psychological domestic drama had me drooling, obsessively wanting to see how far this manipulative mother would go to keep Emily away from having a relationship with her son, being flabbergasted each time I discovered how far below the belt this mother was capable of going. And then...gasp...she'd go even lower still!!! I was thoroughly enjoying the Freaking brilliant!!!!!!!!The book description "deliciously disturbing" and "compulsive" most certainly hits the nail on the head on this one. This psychological domestic drama had me drooling, obsessively wanting to see how far this manipulative mother would go to keep Emily away from having a relationship with her son, being flabbergasted each time I discovered how far below the belt this mother was capable of going. And then...gasp...she'd go even lower still!!! I was thoroughly enjoying the roller coaster ride when, suddenly, a plot twist had my assumptions completely turned on its head! It had me gasping with dizziness at the story's change of direction, but at the same time had me clapping my hands in glee at how brilliantly clever the author was to turn things around 180 degrees, somehow making the book even more appealing, which is not always the case when plot directions change. I am in awe at the author's brilliance. Do yourself a huge favour and pick this one up for your next read or else you'll be losing out. This one ticked all the boxes for me and gave me so much more than I ever expected. So much so, I'd say this one tops my list of 2018 favourites so far.Many thanks to Netgalley, Pan MacMillan and the author Sandie Jones for an ARC in exchange for my honest opinion of this book. I will be eagerly looking forward to more of the same by this author.
    more
  • Jayme
    January 1, 1970
    Remember…when you choose to marry the man, you are also marrying the family. Emily is looking forward to meeting Adam’s mum, Pammie. But from the very first meeting, she has to wonder if Pammie was really looking forward to meeting her. As she retrieves tea, Pammie purposely leaves open her photo album, with a picture of Adam and another smiling woman staring up from the pages. The caption underneath the photo reads: Darling Rebecca-miss you every day.Who is Rebecca? What happened to her? Is she Remember…when you choose to marry the man, you are also marrying the family. Emily is looking forward to meeting Adam’s mum, Pammie. But from the very first meeting, she has to wonder if Pammie was really looking forward to meeting her. As she retrieves tea, Pammie purposely leaves open her photo album, with a picture of Adam and another smiling woman staring up from the pages. The caption underneath the photo reads: Darling Rebecca-miss you every day.Who is Rebecca? What happened to her? Is she the reason that Pammie is not embracing her son’s new girlfriend? Although I liked the premise, the first half of the book was very slow moving. It read more like chick lit than a psychological thriller. If I had not made a commitment to read and review, I probably would not have finished.Emily wrinkled her nose at least 5 times, eyes twinkled, brains whirred, people tutted...it was hard to get caught up in a story that did not sound authentic. Conversations in the story which made the characters giggle uncontrollably, did not even make me smile. I could not understand why or how Emily fell for Adam, or vice versa, as the characters seemed immature and their relationship based completely on sex. Perhaps if this book is marketed differently, it will find its correct audience. Readers who enjoy chick lit or perhaps domestic drama may enjoy this story. It does have a twist in the last 25% of the book, but that is the only section that perhaps weakly resembles a psychological thriller at all, and the explanation for all that happened was a hard sell for me. Clearly though, so far, I am in the minority, as the other reviewers have enjoyed this much more than I did. If you would like to find out why Pammie does not want her son to marry Emily, you can purchase this book on Aug. 21st.. Thank You to Netgalley, the publisher and author for this ARC in exchange for my candid review!
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 stars3.5 stars for The Other Woman. I finished this book a few days ago, but haven’t gotten around to writing my review. I honestly didn’t know how I wanted to rate this or what I wanted to say about it. There are things that I struggled with, but if I tell you what they are, I will give everything away. And like other reviewers mentioned, this book is best read if you know nothing about it. So, let’s start with the fact that I ripped through this book. It is a fast, addicting read and it is 3.5 stars3.5 stars for The Other Woman. I finished this book a few days ago, but haven’t gotten around to writing my review. I honestly didn’t know how I wanted to rate this or what I wanted to say about it. There are things that I struggled with, but if I tell you what they are, I will give everything away. And like other reviewers mentioned, this book is best read if you know nothing about it. So, let’s start with the fact that I ripped through this book. It is a fast, addicting read and it is a book to be devoured. I was hooked from the very beginning and knew that I wouldn’t stop until I finished. This book reminded me Michelle Francis’s The Girlfriend, only in the way that it is the same triangle (mother, son & girlfriend). Now, I have read a lot of psychological thrillers, so I kind of had this one figured out. Not all of it, but you know the saying “something stinks in suburbia”? Well, I knew that something wasn’t jiving and I had an inkling why. And this is where the things that I struggled with happened. But in order for me to voice my issues, I will ruin the whole reading experience. So I will just leave it with the fact that things didn’t fully sit well with me. I would be more than happy to discuss this in a private chat if you are so inclined. All of this is why I waffled so much on my rating. I read this book so fast and the writing was so good. I was hooked and I really enjoyed it. I highly recommend it to all psychological thriller fans. Ultimately, I decided 3.5 stars was just about right due to that I had some issues with the book and had started to figure it out. I highly recommend putting this on your reading list. This book is going to be a hit.
    more
  • Heather~ Nature.books.and.coffee
    January 1, 1970
    thank you to Minotaur books for this free ARC!! I loved it! I really related to Emily and I felt for her with her relationship with Pammie. oh my gosh, I became ANGRY for her lol...this book was a riot! All I can say is THAT ENDING!!! SUPERB!!! I highly suggest picking this book up when it comes out.
    more
  • Julie's Bookshelf
    January 1, 1970
    Sorry, just wasn't my thing. Reads too much like a chick book. The protagonist Em-i-ly was simply unbearable at her reasonings and being in her head made me want to scream.I can't say I will want to read more from this author.Thank you Netgalley for an advanced copy of this book, though.
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    Check out all of our reviews at https://reallyintothis.comHappy Reading, friends!THE OTHER WOMAN BY SANDIE JONES BOOK REVIEWThis is the exact type of book I need when I am chilling at the pool. The Other Woman by Sandie Jones is steamy, fast-paced & thrilling & I loved it!MEET PAMMIEEmily is living her life with glasses of wine, quiet nights at home & work. Then she meets Adam & falls down a rabbit hole of love. Things are going well, so she meets his mother, Pamela.Oh, Pammie. S Check out all of our reviews at https://reallyintothis.comHappy Reading, friends!THE OTHER WOMAN BY SANDIE JONES BOOK REVIEWThis is the exact type of book I need when I am chilling at the pool. The Other Woman by Sandie Jones is steamy, fast-paced & thrilling & I loved it!MEET PAMMIEEmily is living her life with glasses of wine, quiet nights at home & work. Then she meets Adam & falls down a rabbit hole of love. Things are going well, so she meets his mother, Pamela.Oh, Pammie. She’s a nasty bitch. We’ve all come across those people who smile while cutting you down & Pammie is the Queen! She pulls some crazy stunts & I ate it up with a spoon. What can I say, I love drama! And this is fun, crazy drama!SOMETHING IS UP WITH PAMMIEPammie is golden in Adam’s eyes, so Emily has to tread lightly. Pammie constantly spins all conversations in her favor & it’s obvious to me she’s got some sort of secret hidden. Like, what happened with Adam’s ex-girlfriend? What’s the deal with Adam’s brother? Why does Adam have to rush to his mother’s side at any moment? Is he really a doting son or does Pammie hold something over him? These are all the questions running through my head!THE VERDICTI am Really Into This book! The Other Woman is the first book from Sandie Jones & I need more of her writing in my life. Summer was made for books like The Other Woman. Grab this book, a beach towel & a pina colada & you’re bound to have fun!Special thanks to Sandie Jones, Minotaur Books & NetGalley for providing our free copy in exchange for an honest & fair review.
    more
Write a review