The Patriot Bride (Daughters of the Mayflower #4)
Faith Jackson and Matthew Weber are both working covertly to aid the Patriot cause. But will they be willing to sacrifice all for their fledgling country?A brand new series for fans of all things related to history, romance, adventure, faith, and family trees.Spies Work Together for the Patriot Cause Faith Jackson is a wealthy widow, friend of George Washington, and staunch supporter of the Patriot cause. Matthew Weber is friends with both Ben Franklin and his son William, who increasingly differ in their political views; and Matthew finds himself privy to information on both sides of the conflict. When a message needs to get to a spy among the Loyalists, Faith bravely steps up and in turn meets Matthew Weber. Suddenly she believes she could love again. But someone else has his eye on the Faith she portrays in elite social circles. What will Matthew and Faith have to sacrifice for the sake of their fledgling country? Join the adventure as the Daughters of the Mayflower series continues with The Patriot Bride by Kimberley Woodhouse. More in the Daughters of the Mayflower series:The Mayflower Bride by Kimberley Woodhouse – set 1620 Atlantic Ocean (February 2018)The Pirate Bride by Kathleen Y’Barbo – set 1725 New Orleans (April 2018)The Captured Bride by Michelle Griep – set 1760 during the French and Indian War (June 2018)The Patriot Bride by Kimberley Woodhouse – set 1774 Philadelphia (August 2018)?The Cumberland Bride by Shannon McNear – set 1794 on the Wilderness Road (October 2018)The Liberty Bride by MaryLu Tyndall – set 1814 Baltimore (December 2018)

The Patriot Bride (Daughters of the Mayflower #4) Details

TitleThe Patriot Bride (Daughters of the Mayflower #4)
Author
ReleaseAug 1st, 2018
PublisherBarbour Books
ISBN-139781683226062
Rating
GenreHistorical, Historical Fiction, Christian Fiction, Romance, Fiction, Historical Romance

The Patriot Bride (Daughters of the Mayflower #4) Review

  • Rachael
    January 1, 1970
    I really enjoyed the history packed into this read. George Washington and Benjamin Franklin making their appearances really helps to pull one into the scene and times of this novel.It’s really a light read which is always enjoyable to find after reading heavy, deep, or confusing reads. The romance was present but not overdone, which I prefer in my historical Fiction reads.I have always enjoyed this author, and this book is no exception. This book may not be one hundred percent historically accur I really enjoyed the history packed into this read. George Washington and Benjamin Franklin making their appearances really helps to pull one into the scene and times of this novel.It’s really a light read which is always enjoyable to find after reading heavy, deep, or confusing reads. The romance was present but not overdone, which I prefer in my historical Fiction reads.I have always enjoyed this author, and this book is no exception. This book may not be one hundred percent historically accurate, but it opens the imagination...and made for a very enjoyable story. The characters are well done, the plot believable, and the book overall recommended. I’m really enjoying this series!Received this book from the publisher. All opinions are my own.He prayed that she hadn’t given upon her commitment...or on him.Webber better keep you safe. That’s God’s job, George. You taught me that.I think we should start memorizing more scripture, ladies. To help us through the tough times ahead and to keep our minds trained.I believe the good Lord above has given us instructions as to how we should live. And I don’t believe being idle and waiting to be served is one of those instructions.Seems pretty simple to me. The earth is God’s, and he is the King of Glory. Out of the mouths of children. Simple and yet true.
    more
  • Missy
    January 1, 1970
    The Patriot Bride was the story of Faith Jackson and Matthew Weber, both spies for the Patriot cause with a lot on the line. Faith Jackson grew up with her best friend, and later custodian, George Washington. Matthew Weber followed Benjamin Franklin, his mentor. The two come together when the cause arises for secret messages to be passed; however, Matthew has the advantage of being a spy for both the Patriots and the British through his friendship with William Franklin. Through their meetings Fa The Patriot Bride was the story of Faith Jackson and Matthew Weber, both spies for the Patriot cause with a lot on the line. Faith Jackson grew up with her best friend, and later custodian, George Washington. Matthew Weber followed Benjamin Franklin, his mentor. The two come together when the cause arises for secret messages to be passed; however, Matthew has the advantage of being a spy for both the Patriots and the British through his friendship with William Franklin. Through their meetings Faith and Matthew begin to develop feelings for each other. Though Faith does not come without other suitors because of her status and wealth, namely Anthony Jamison, a personal friend to the King, who will stop at nothing to make Faith his wife. Through determination and their love, Faith and Matthew defy the odds dealt them and find happiness in the end.I loved this 4th book of The Mayflower Brides. It kept a good reading pace and the characters were so good, even the secondary characters of George Washington and Ben Franklin. The suspense of their being caught as spies and what might happen to them kept my interest throughout the book. If you are a reader of The Mayflower Brides this is a must read.
    more
  • Monique
    January 1, 1970
    This is the fourth book in the Mayflower series, which follows the descendants of one couple that met on the Mayflower boat and the stories are centered around important American history. This concept is so interesting because every book in this series features a different author. This time it was by Kimberley Woodhouse, and we follow Faith Jackson and Matthew Weber in the beginning of the American independence. Matthew is a Patriot spy in the middle of the Loyalists, and his only line to the ca This is the fourth book in the Mayflower series, which follows the descendants of one couple that met on the Mayflower boat and the stories are centered around important American history. This concept is so interesting because every book in this series features a different author. This time it was by Kimberley Woodhouse, and we follow Faith Jackson and Matthew Weber in the beginning of the American independence. Matthew is a Patriot spy in the middle of the Loyalists, and his only line to the cause is Faith, who acts as a messenger. Both are at great risk but they find they want to prolong those dangerous meetings... they also have friends in high places: Faith is George Washington’s ward and Matthew’s friend is no other than Ben Franklin. Overall it was quite an enjoyable read. What I really liked in this book is actually the friendships. Faith is quite active in a women’s group and when trouble comes, she discusses it in the group and asks for help. I know this seems normal, but usually heroine’s want to solve everything themselves, and I think it’s healthy to show it this way. I love how Faith wants to help everyone, and she is quite creative and funny with her solutions. Not as creative as Ben I have to admit lol. Both main characters have strong faith, which shines through their struggles. We have a slow burn romance, which felt sometimes a bit stilted, especially the dialogue. And the villain is just not very villainous... I know he’s supposed to be shrewd and evil but instead he is just whiny and plain dumb. His arc ended weird too in my opinion. That really took away something from the reading experience, since the villain can make or break a story. For me, there also wasn’t enough conflict to keep it interesting. But the banter, the friendships and the staff, and most of the romance made up for that flaw. Long story short: I did like this book and I’m happy to continue with book 5! I received a copy from Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Susan
    January 1, 1970
    I really enjoyed this book! Another fabulous story in the Daughters of the Mayflower series. Each book, written by different authors, can be read as a stand-alone.The Patriot Bride is an absorbing tale of romance and intrigue at one of the pivotal moments in our nation's history. Woodhouse demonstrates an exemplary knowledge of the historical details of the time, from the major details surrounding the early days of the Revolutionary War to the minor details of a women's wardrobe. This book is be I really enjoyed this book! Another fabulous story in the Daughters of the Mayflower series. Each book, written by different authors, can be read as a stand-alone.The Patriot Bride is an absorbing tale of romance and intrigue at one of the pivotal moments in our nation's history. Woodhouse demonstrates an exemplary knowledge of the historical details of the time, from the major details surrounding the early days of the Revolutionary War to the minor details of a women's wardrobe. This book is beautifully written, with the perfect mixture of intrigue and romance and a spirited heroine that held my attention to the last page. I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book from the author/publisher. I was not required to write a review. All opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • Becky
    January 1, 1970
    This was truly an enjoyable book detailing the immense amount of subterfuge and danger the Patriots and even the Tories, I think, encountered as they fought for what they held dear. I loved how Faith Lytton Jackson is set up as a friend of George Washington, so we get to see much of this early American hero. I also enjoyed seeing insights into Ben Franklin and the rift in his family, imagining the hardship this would cause as many families were likewise torn asunder.Faith is indeed a very brave, This was truly an enjoyable book detailing the immense amount of subterfuge and danger the Patriots and even the Tories, I think, encountered as they fought for what they held dear. I loved how Faith Lytton Jackson is set up as a friend of George Washington, so we get to see much of this early American hero. I also enjoyed seeing insights into Ben Franklin and the rift in his family, imagining the hardship this would cause as many families were likewise torn asunder.Faith is indeed a very brave, very strong female protagonist. She has to be, to survive so much heartache and also to be the community leader that she is. It is no wonder that she volunteers for such a dangerous job. Sometimes strong women attract the wrong kind of attention. How I laughed at her encounters with Anthony Jameson and how full of himself he was! And how I hoped that things would work out with Matthew, but Faith has already lost so much, will she be able to trust again? And how can two spies find it to forgive deceptions and to trust when their lives have been all about misleading others?What a great thing it was to me to see the author forego the lengthy lists of her first book. Gone are the long vocabulary lists and lists of who's who that helped to get the first book of the series off to such a slow start. I did have to laugh; Kimberley Woodhouse just can't help getting as much historical detail in as she can, and she found a sneaky way at the end to include a document!I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher and NetGalley. This in no way affected my opinions, for which I am solely responsible.
    more
  • J. W. Garrett
    January 1, 1970
    “Every good citizen makes his country’s honor his own, and cherishes it not only as precious but as sacred. He is willing to risk his life in its defense and is conscious that he gains protection while he gives it.” –Andrew JacksonI missed the first book in the series; however, each book works as a stand-a-lone as we work our way through history with the descendants of the Mayflower voyage. Rating: clean, faith-based. Book blurb: “Join the adventure through history, romance, and family legacy as “Every good citizen makes his country’s honor his own, and cherishes it not only as precious but as sacred. He is willing to risk his life in its defense and is conscious that he gains protection while he gives it.” –Andrew JacksonI missed the first book in the series; however, each book works as a stand-a-lone as we work our way through history with the descendants of the Mayflower voyage. Rating: clean, faith-based. Book blurb: “Join the adventure through history, romance, and family legacy as the Daughters of the Mayflower continues with The Patriot Bride by Kimberley Woodhouse. Faith Jackson and Matthew Weber are both working covertly to aid the Patriot cause. But will they be willing to sacrifice all for their fledgling country?”Book 1: The Mayflower Bride: Kimberley Woodhouse: pub Feb 1, 2018Book 2: The Pirate Bride: Kathleen Y’Barbo: pub April 1, 2018Book 3: The Captured Bride: Michelle Griep: pub May 15, 2018Book 4: The Patriot Bride: Kimberley Woodhouse: expected pub July 15, 2018Book 5: The Cumberland Bride: Shannon McNear: expected pub Oct 1, 2018Book 6: The Liberty Bride: MaryLu Tyndall: expected pub Dec 1, 2018Our prologue [1752] introduces a precocious 10-year-old Faith Lytton. If you have read any of the other books you will recognize the name. She is friends with an older lad and neighbor by the name of George Washington. Yep, that is our George. They were fast friends and they adored and considered each other a sibling. “There are three classes of men; lovers of wisdom, lovers of honor, and lovers of gain.” –PlatoChapter 1 picked up in 1774 with Faith Lytton Jackson all grown up and a widow. This was her story in a changing country that was at odds with the restrictions and taxation from the home country Britain. This was during the time where history claimed that King George lll lost the thirteen colonies. It made the reader wonder if all the decisions were his alone or those of his advisors. It would be a bitter and costly loss. Faith Lytton Jackson was friends with Ben Franklin and George Washington. These guys were so cool in this story. It was a hoot spending time with them as they interacted with Faith and Matthew. She became a contact point for the patriot spy and would exchange messages with him. Their meetings became more dangerous as the British presence became more intolerable. It also gave them page time to get to know each other. We have our villain of course… Sir Anthony: “A politician will do anything to keep his job, even become a patriot.” –William Randolph Hearst What a slime… this guy was the worst. He decided he needed to play both sides of the conflict and said whatever would keep him in the good graces of either group. He was the epitome of crass and reigning president of the club that refuses to hear a woman when she says ‘no.’ How many times did Faith tell him no… only for him to approach her again? He reminded me a bit of Sir Walter Elliot from Jane Austen’s Persuasion as he preened in front of his mirror. He admired himself so much. Talk about your self-love. He was simply disgusting as he listed all his admiring attributes and glorious benefits that were his to bring to their marriage. She was so lucky. He was also looking forward to her wealth being added to his depleted coffers. Yes, they were a couple destined to be together and he would see to it that she married him. He would brook no argument. He would also tolerate no competition for Faith’s attentions. Yep… the scumbag caused problems for our Faith and Matthew. “All the great things are simple, and many can be expressed in a single word: freedom, justice, honor, duty, mercy, hope.” –Winston ChurchillMatthew Weber was a man between two worlds… loyalists and patriots. The loyalists wanted him to spy on the patriots. However, he was a patriot spy assigned to gather information from the loyalists and report back their plans and actions. His contact person … Mrs. Faith Jackson. This was so cute.I really enjoyed this clean, faith-based story. Our characters were people of faith and would pray for their struggles, for others and their own situations. They read their Bible… so there will be scriptures throughout the story. Our H/h would discuss their belief and faith in God and discuss His abiding grace and protection in times of trouble. There were explanations of where God was during hard times… yet, none of this was in a preachy manner. It was presented as comfort between characters who had experienced loss or was in grief. I enjoyed this story and look forward to the next in the series. At the end of the book there is a copy of the Declaration and blurbs from all the books within the series. At 96% there is a section of notes from the author that I found very interesting. I volunteered to read an unedited galley from Barbour Publishing via Netgalley. The views expressed are my own.
    more
  • Dana Michael
    January 1, 1970
    I have thoroughly enjoyed this historical series by Barbour Publishing. This book, The Patriot Bride is about a young widow spying during the Revolutinary War. She falls in love with a fellow spy during the course of the book. It is filled with historical facts. The author definitely did her home work. I give this book three and a half stars.*I was given a copy of this book by Barbour publishing and was not required to leave a review. This is my honest opinion.
    more
  • Jocelyn Green
    January 1, 1970
    As spirited and stirring as the era it represents. In The Patriot Bride, duty and love compete and compel, heaping tension onto every page as endearing characters navigate their changing world. This timeless tale is destined to be beloved by fans of the history and romance of the Revolutionary Era.
    more
  • Karen
    January 1, 1970
    History, romance and intrigue come together to create an engaging story in book four of the Daughters of the Mayflower series! A little bit more of a connection to book one given this is the same author, which made this interesting. Chock full of historical facts and figures, but with a lot of play on actual conversations and events, made the story feel plausible. The author includes a nice introduction and end notes to help sort fact from fiction. Seeing the conflict from the main character's History, romance and intrigue come together to create an engaging story in book four of the Daughters of the Mayflower series! A little bit more of a connection to book one given this is the same author, which made this interesting. Chock full of historical facts and figures, but with a lot of play on actual conversations and events, made the story feel plausible. The author includes a nice introduction and end notes to help sort fact from fiction. Seeing the conflict from the main character's perspective helped me imagine what the people of the time actually went through as their land was occupied by martial law, and freedom became a battle cry. It must have been terrifying, yet they courageously laid themselves on the line, hoping for future generations to experience the freedom they sought. It made me appreciate even more the sacrifice of many who serve in the military today to maintain our country's freedom. Freedom is indeed not free. There are some Christian themes and prayers for strength and direction. I liked the group of ladies who rallied around Faith to support her, and how they read through Psalms, memorizing verses for hope and inspiration.Historical romance fans who like an inspirational read will probably enjoy this book.(An e-book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley. All opinions expressed are completely my own.)
    more
  • Jodi
    January 1, 1970
    The Patriot Bride is the fourth book in the Daughters of the Mayflower Series. This is the only book in the series that is written by an author who has written a previous book of the series. Kimberley Woodhouse is responsible for the debut novel, The Mayflower Bride as well as The Patriot Bride. I was not overly impressed with The Mayflower Bride, but I am really enjoying reading this series so I gave The Patriot Bride a chance. If you haven't read any book in this series, they can all be read a The Patriot Bride is the fourth book in the Daughters of the Mayflower Series. This is the only book in the series that is written by an author who has written a previous book of the series. Kimberley Woodhouse is responsible for the debut novel, The Mayflower Bride as well as The Patriot Bride. I was not overly impressed with The Mayflower Bride, but I am really enjoying reading this series so I gave The Patriot Bride a chance. If you haven't read any book in this series, they can all be read as stand alone novels. The series is tied together by the Lytton family tree, American history, and spans the time period between 1620 - 1814.Overall, I can say that I enjoyed reading The Patriot Bride which is set in Philadelphia during 1774. The prologue was very well written. I was instantly drawn to Faith and George and I found myself thinking...this is going to be a great story. For the most part, it was an entertaining story with likable and diverse characters set during an unstable time in American History. However, I felt that the characters lacked depth and development and that portions of the plot, if expanded upon, would have added dimension and a deeper connection between the novel and the reader. I appreciated the liberal use of Scripture and the message that God is a trustworthy God who never leaves us and whose mercy will see us through to the end. I enjoyed The Patriot Bride more than The Mayflower Bride, but my favorite of the series is still The Captured Bride. The Patriot Bride will be available for purchase through your local or online book retailer August 1, 2018Thank you Barbour Books and Net Galley for the free copy of The Patriot Bride to read in exhange for my honest review.
    more
  • Cheryl Malandrinos
    January 1, 1970
    The Patriot Bride is my favorite of the series so far. Woodhouse brings her masterful storytelling back for the fourth book set between 1774 and 1775 when the First Continental Congress has already met but prior to the adoption of the Declaration of Independence. She brought her characters to life against the backdrop of a war that would change everything for the Colonies as the people tired of being ruled from across the pond. Next to the Civil War, this is my favorite time in American history, The Patriot Bride is my favorite of the series so far. Woodhouse brings her masterful storytelling back for the fourth book set between 1774 and 1775 when the First Continental Congress has already met but prior to the adoption of the Declaration of Independence. She brought her characters to life against the backdrop of a war that would change everything for the Colonies as the people tired of being ruled from across the pond. Next to the Civil War, this is my favorite time in American history, so it was a thrill to read this novel.As with the other books in The Daughters of the Mayflower series, the main character is a strong, independent woman who defies conventions in one way or another. The pace of the novel is closer to romantic suspense than the typical romance novel, which may entice different readers. It does, however, stay true to its romance genre as the reader watches Faith and Matthew's relationship unfold. I must applaud the author for creating such fascinating ties for her characters to two of America's Founding Fathers. It's really quite clever.With every book The Daughters of the Mayflower series gets better. History, faith, romance and adventure are the perfect combination. You can read only The Patriot Bride, but I encourage you to start at the beginning and go from there. You won't be disappointed.
    more
  • Sandra
    January 1, 1970
    I was so excited to read another of Daughters of the Mayflower Series. I knew The Patriot Bride would be exciting because Kimberley Woodhouse also wrote the first in this series, The Mayflower Bride. If you like a well written romantic, historical, fiction book, with lots of excitement and adventure, this is a must read. Faith Jackson, a very rich widow and Matthew Weber, a close friend of George Washington are both spies for the Patriot cause. If you have read the other books in this series, Fa I was so excited to read another of Daughters of the Mayflower Series. I knew The Patriot Bride would be exciting because Kimberley Woodhouse also wrote the first in this series, The Mayflower Bride. If you like a well written romantic, historical, fiction book, with lots of excitement and adventure, this is a must read. Faith Jackson, a very rich widow and Matthew Weber, a close friend of George Washington are both spies for the Patriot cause. If you have read the other books in this series, Faith's maiden name is Lytton. That is where she fits in the family tree that connects her to the Mayflower ancestors. Faith was best friends with George Washington growing up, even though he was several years older. Their farms were next to each other and their fathers were very close. When Faith was orphaned due to a fire in her home, she became the ward of George. He was only 20 at the time and his father too had passed.The story contains several other characters from history. Benjamin Franklin, William Franklin, and Paul Revere, to name a few. Whether parts were actual or written using artistic liberties, I found this story exciting and entertaining. I would recommend this book.I received this book from Barbour Publishing through NetGalleys. The opinions expressed in this book are my own
    more
  • Jeanne Alfveby crea
    January 1, 1970
    Don't miss the latest installment of the Mayflower Bride Series. All the books in this series are stand alone reads as well. I really enjoyed The Patriot Bride. It was a page turner of "Give me liberty or give me death", the loyalists (loyal to England), vs the patriots who fought for the freedom of our new country. The decision to fight for freedom was no easy one. "The cause before them had to be determined to be worth their their very lives because that would be what they would give up should Don't miss the latest installment of the Mayflower Bride Series. All the books in this series are stand alone reads as well. I really enjoyed The Patriot Bride. It was a page turner of "Give me liberty or give me death", the loyalists (loyal to England), vs the patriots who fought for the freedom of our new country. The decision to fight for freedom was no easy one. "The cause before them had to be determined to be worth their their very lives because that would be what they would give up should they fail". The fight for freedom and putting the Lord first are timeless lessons, with many similarities to today. I really enjoyed this story of Faith Jackson & Matthew Weber, with their friends George Washington and Ben Franklin making appearances throughout the book. I got a kick out of how Faith dealt with an unwanted suitor. Engaging lighter story of this time period. Perfect for YA readers. Loved reading the Declaration of Independence at the end.
    more
  • Ashley Nikole
    January 1, 1970
    I never want to downplay how much work goes into a novel, and in that vein of thought I don't like to give a novel such a low rating when there is nothing inherently "wrong" or "bad" about it, but The Patriot Bride just wasn't the right book for me. I felt like the characters had potential, but there weren't experiences that made them really come alive for me. The plot felt like it was a bit too much along the lines of a history lecture than a novel at times, and while I know it wasn't marketed I never want to downplay how much work goes into a novel, and in that vein of thought I don't like to give a novel such a low rating when there is nothing inherently "wrong" or "bad" about it, but The Patriot Bride just wasn't the right book for me. I felt like the characters had potential, but there weren't experiences that made them really come alive for me. The plot felt like it was a bit too much along the lines of a history lecture than a novel at times, and while I know it wasn't marketed as suspense, the plot pacing was just too slow for my tastes. Add to that characters that had potential but didn't "pop" to me, and you have a novel that just didn't hit it off with this reader. But to each their own.*all opinions expressed are my own--I received an e-copy through NetGalley in return for an honest review*
    more
  • Shonda
    January 1, 1970
    I loved this book! The characters were wonderful! I loved Faith and her butler Clayton. I got to read about about George Washington and Ben Franklin mixed with a romance. The author had historical information mixed in with the romance, it teaches the reader what all our for fathers went through to give us the freedom we enjoy today. This book will give you a sense of pride for your country. I would give this book 10 stars if I could. Will definitely read more books from Kimberley Woodhouse!I was I loved this book! The characters were wonderful! I loved Faith and her butler Clayton. I got to read about about George Washington and Ben Franklin mixed with a romance. The author had historical information mixed in with the romance, it teaches the reader what all our for fathers went through to give us the freedom we enjoy today. This book will give you a sense of pride for your country. I would give this book 10 stars if I could. Will definitely read more books from Kimberley Woodhouse!I was given a copy by NetGalley, review is of my own will and all opinions are of my own .
    more
  • Laura
    January 1, 1970
    The Patriot Bride by Kimberly Woodhouse, is the fourth in Barbour Books The Daughters of the Mayflowrr series, and the second this author has written for the series. As a lover of history, The Patriot Bride was such a fun and informative read. Faith Jackson is a young and wealthy widow, and as such has had to put off all suitors as she found they were not interested in her, but rather her wealth. Orphaned at a young age, Faith is a ward of the young George Washington, though there is little diff The Patriot Bride by Kimberly Woodhouse, is the fourth in Barbour Books The Daughters of the Mayflowrr series, and the second this author has written for the series. As a lover of history, The Patriot Bride was such a fun and informative read. Faith Jackson is a young and wealthy widow, and as such has had to put off all suitors as she found they were not interested in her, but rather her wealth. Orphaned at a young age, Faith is a ward of the young George Washington, though there is little difference in their ages, perhaps ten years or so. As an adult, she resides in. Boston and is a staunch Patriot. She, and a number of like-minded women, have formed a ladies society group in order to provide assistant in the war efforts; assistance such as sewing uniforms; knitting socks, and other similar activities. During a meeting, a stranger appears at the home of Faith Jackson; a stranger who has a very dangerous proposition. Would the group consider becoming a transporter of secret encoded messages for the Patriots? A spy. An offense punishable by death. This person would be responsible for learning the code in such messages and passing them to the next spy down the line. As the leader of the group, and the only widow, determines that it is she who can put in such as position, as all the other women have families to care for, Enter William Weber, spy and compatriot of none other than Benjamin Franklin. It is William Weber who is assigned as Faith’s connection. It is William that Faith begins to meet at night, in places not inhabited by people and often cold, dreary places. Meeting Faith in a dank, smelly barn, William finds her to be intelligent and trustworthy. He also finds her very attractive. As William and Faith develop a friendship with each meeting, they find themselves lingering which is quite dangerous. Friendship begins to turn into the first butterflies of love, yet each is not 100% sure if the other is trustworthy. One Anthony Jameson, a loyalist, is determined to marry Faith. He becomes quite the nuisance and increases the danger level for both William and Faith. Personally, I found his description to be rather creepy and he made my skin crawl. In today’s terms, he would be called a stalker. As the danger increases, Faith continues putting her life on the line, and when Matthew mysteriously disappears, her consternation knows no boundaries. Although the main storyline is subject to the author’s imagination, one can glean quite a bit of history and the daily lives of those in this time period. I highly recommend this book.I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher and NetGalley and am under no obligation to write a positive review. All thoughts, therein, are solely my own.
    more
  • Elizabeth
    January 1, 1970
    An adventurous story, that promises danger and intrigue. It's delivery has potential, but fell somewhat lacking in expectation.Our heroine of the story is presented right away as a determined strategist at a young age--the perfect future candidate for aiding the Patriot spy ring. Her early friendship with George Washington and scenes from his perspective are a really enjoyable bonus; a historical figure blended well into a fiction story. We don't meet our handsome spy hero until later in the sto An adventurous story, that promises danger and intrigue. It's delivery has potential, but fell somewhat lacking in expectation.Our heroine of the story is presented right away as a determined strategist at a young age--the perfect future candidate for aiding the Patriot spy ring. Her early friendship with George Washington and scenes from his perspective are a really enjoyable bonus; a historical figure blended well into a fiction story. We don't meet our handsome spy hero until later in the story.I would have liked to experience more of the spy ring and what Matthew actually did as a spy, as well as the women's involvement and how it actually worked (the danger and intrigue of the spy life is what makes a story like this exciting!), beyond the couple scenes that just gave the reader a tiny glimpse. The plot moves very quickly, jumping from month to month in anticipation of thickening danger, which is being set up through most of the book.The story is carried strongly by "telling" rather than "showing," which was a little disappointing. Backstory to the characters is told and feels repeated. I couldn't immerse myself in the story that I didn't get to experience for myself. I longed to connect with the characters and understand them, but being told about them was as far as I could get. I felt like I was looking at them from a distance. What makes them tick? What are their strengths; their weaknesses? What makes them sad; angry? What are their greatest struggles; their deepest longings? Character profiling 101, but these questions could not be answered for me. Instead, I kept asking myself, "Who are these people?"The development of the romance felt flat, as with the rest of the story--I was not truly experiencing its development. It was just...there. But there were moments now and then that slowed down enough to experience a moment of tenderness; bravery; goodness; hope.The style of writing would make it an ideal travel read, because everything happens very quickly. All-in-all, an average story, but not one I would encourage on a reader.I received an advance reader copy of this book from the publisher though NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Julissa
    January 1, 1970
    Faith Jackson has experienced a lot of loss in her life, she is widowed and living handsomely rich in Boston. She is also a supporter of the Patriots, which her long time friend George Washington is apart of. When she gets a message that the Patriots need a woman to pass notes to a spy who has infiltrated the high ranks of the loyalist, she agrees to it even though there is danger involved. When she meets Matthew, the man she will be working with they both feel a instant connection. But there is Faith Jackson has experienced a lot of loss in her life, she is widowed and living handsomely rich in Boston. She is also a supporter of the Patriots, which her long time friend George Washington is apart of. When she gets a message that the Patriots need a woman to pass notes to a spy who has infiltrated the high ranks of the loyalist, she agrees to it even though there is danger involved. When she meets Matthew, the man she will be working with they both feel a instant connection. But there is no time for romance during war and each time they meet they are putting there lives at risk. The Patriot Bride is such an incredible installment to the Daughters of the Mayflower series. I loved it so much I read it in one day. All the characters were wonderful especially Faith. She exuded confidence and courage, and she spoke her mind even though it was frowned upon in this time period. And Matthew was such a noble man, fighting and risking his life for a cause he believed in. The romance that grows between them was so sweet and dangerous. Each time they meet they are risking their lives, but they both believe in what they are fighting for; and lets face it, love makes us blind to danger. It was also really nice to read about George Washington and Benjamin Franklin. We were able to visualize George as a young man and see him grow into the commander he was. The writing was so good and it drew me in from the very first page, with Faith playing War with a bunch of boys. The author did a amazing job of weaving history with fiction, I definitely enjoyed this more than history class. This book is a must read for any historical romance fan, The Daughters of the Mayflower series is becoming one of my favorites in this genre.
    more
  • Mary
    January 1, 1970
    “War was upon them. The best they could do was pray and prepare.” The Daughters of the Mayflower series continues with a new book written by Kimberley Woodhouse. This story continues with another member of the lineage of the Lytton family whom we met in book one of the series. Philadelphia was undergoing a great deal of patriot activity in the year 1774. Faith Lytton Jackson, 32 years old and widowed, finds herself stretching her courage and bravery to new depths as she works with the local patr “War was upon them. The best they could do was pray and prepare.” The Daughters of the Mayflower series continues with a new book written by Kimberley Woodhouse. This story continues with another member of the lineage of the Lytton family whom we met in book one of the series. Philadelphia was undergoing a great deal of patriot activity in the year 1774. Faith Lytton Jackson, 32 years old and widowed, finds herself stretching her courage and bravery to new depths as she works with the local patriot ladies group to quietly aid in undercover activities. Her activities include meeting with her fellow undercover agent, Matthew Weber, a young man putting his life on the line for the cause. In the midst of undercover activities hardly seems the place for romance, but love does not always need an invitation to come calling. The story is sprinkled with references to well known historical figures and events such as George Washington and Ben Franklin and the Continental Congress. Keep in mind that it is a historical fiction novel with liberties taken with the characters. The plot twists and weaves its way through the tumultuous times of 1774 and into 1775, ending with an epilogue on July 4, 1776. I loved the story. The American Revolution is one of my favorite time periods and this book lets one’s imagination run with the story. A truly enjoyable read that kept my attention from start to finish. Great read for lovers of historical fiction!This ARC copy was received from Barbour Books and Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review. The above thoughts and opinions are wholly my own.
    more
  • Barb Klein
    January 1, 1970
    Daughters of the Mayflower book series consists of various book by various authors. I have read books one, three and four in the series. The first set the stage for subsequent books and was quite interesting, but the next books seem to hold my interest more. “The Patriot Bride” by Kimberley Woodhouse was especially interesting to me because Ms. Woodhouse included known patriots of that time period, such as George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, and others. Even though I knew that their parts in t Daughters of the Mayflower book series consists of various book by various authors. I have read books one, three and four in the series. The first set the stage for subsequent books and was quite interesting, but the next books seem to hold my interest more. “The Patriot Bride” by Kimberley Woodhouse was especially interesting to me because Ms. Woodhouse included known patriots of that time period, such as George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, and others. Even though I knew that their parts in the story were fictitious, their inclusion brought the story home. I was also glad to see some humor in this story.That time in our nation’s history, The Revolutionary War was rife with spies and counter-spies. Because communication was by mail of word of mouth only, the necessity of clandestine messengers was extremely important. I’m sure women took on these roles because they would not necessarily be suspect.Faith Jackson, a supposed ward of George Washington, is one of these messengers. She experienced dangers all around her and at times did not know whom to trust. It was difficult to know who was a Loyalist and who was a Patriot. I thought this book was very entertaining, possibly because of the interest that real Revolutionary characters provided. I intend to read more in the series. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.You can find this review on my blog at https://wp.me/p2pjIt-vF. Other reviews can be found at http://imhookedonbooks.wordpress.com.
    more
  • Kim
    January 1, 1970
    A historical family saga. Follow the Lytton family through time as they help to settle the New World and their struggle and thrive in the frontier of a burgeoning country. How the granddaughters and great granddaughters of Lytton family struggle to just survive and to find the love of their lives. The Mayflower Brides series follows these descendants as they help to shape the country. Faith Lytton grew up as the good friend and guardian of George Washington. She was married and widowed all with A historical family saga. Follow the Lytton family through time as they help to settle the New World and their struggle and thrive in the frontier of a burgeoning country. How the granddaughters and great granddaughters of Lytton family struggle to just survive and to find the love of their lives. The Mayflower Brides series follows these descendants as they help to shape the country. Faith Lytton grew up as the good friend and guardian of George Washington. She was married and widowed all with in a week. As the Revolutionary War is about to start she and her friends are helping the patriots with their cause. Faith has always been an independent, smart and resourceful woman. When a representative of her best friend George needs some one to carry messages from an undercover spy. Faith realizes that she's the best suited for the job. Matthew's mentor and friend is Benjamin Franklin. He is an undercover spy for the patriots and using Franklin's son as the way in. He's heard of Faith from his friend George but doesn't know what to expect when meeting her, especially the attraction they feel. As they exchange messages and stay to get to know each other they have serious feelings for each other. When Faith misses some meetings Matthew goes to Ben to find out why. Faith also has a suitor who is trying to play both sides. He's only interested in her because of her money. As the war becomes imminent they start meeting more. Matthew apologizes for putting Faith in danger after a close call. Faith enlists her friends and servants to keep her suitor at bay. Matthew confesses to Ben when Faith doesn't come for several meetings. They enlist his sister as a go between with Faith. A first kiss is exchanges. Faith must hide when a soldier shows up. her suitor shows up with an ultimatum. She stays calm and denies it all. He ambushes her when she's returning from a trip visiting her relatives. Faith is put under house arrest. but escapes with the people she's protecting. Faith finds out what her butler is up to.. Her admirer goes to George and threatens Faith and is arrested. Matthew is captured with other Loyalists but can't reveal his true mission. His condition keeps getting worse and he keeps thinking of God and Faith. Meanwhile Faith has arrived at her home in Virginia and send her butler searching for information on Matthew. Faith. her maid and butler come up with a plan to rescue Matthew only to be too late because Ben has already succeeded. Faith gets devastating news. On their way home they come across Matthew. A proposal is made and a wedding takes place. A year later they are visiting Martha Washington when she receives a letter from George with a copy of the Declaration of Independence and their addition to the family a George Benjamin has the same birthday as American Independence..A wonderful story of love adventure and how God will protect you. A woman who is unique in her time and survived to find the love of her life. A man who will make a sacrifice for his country and the people he cares about. And how God guides them through these situations of danger and intrigue to only enrich their lives.
    more
  • Nicole Normand
    January 1, 1970
    I received a copy from NetGalley; this is my honest review. #TheMayflowerBride #NetGalley-The author starts with an extravagant dedication to her son, lasting about 2 pages long. That kind of admiration could have been left to a more intimate setting, not in a book for all to see.-There was not enough interaction between Matthew & Faith for us to see the friendship to love feelings taking place.-Most of the actions were centered on the coming of the war, how they prepared for it and who was I received a copy from NetGalley; this is my honest review. #TheMayflowerBride #NetGalley-The author starts with an extravagant dedication to her son, lasting about 2 pages long. That kind of admiration could have been left to a more intimate setting, not in a book for all to see.-There was not enough interaction between Matthew & Faith for us to see the friendship to love feelings taking place.-Most of the actions were centered on the coming of the war, how they prepared for it and who was engaged to participate, the coded letters and the spies' responsibilities.-Here again, like her last book in this series, she wasted many, many pages writing whole passages from the Bible or whole prayers instead of just breathing them. I have my own Bible, I can check those portions myself. I calculated about a dozen pages or more lost to quotes, prayers, sermons and a detailed God's salvation plan.-Then another 8 pages wasted for the copy of the Declaration of Independence including the (56) signatures. Such a misuse of page count! Did you know? Google exists now. Or easily put on the series' website.-There were a few paragraph that came up, word-to-word, 2-3 times. For ex. "we are both mature adults who know our own minds", "the marriage lasted only a week", etc.-The book, deemed an historical romance, felt more like an historical literature & fiction.-I'm still not impressed with this author, but at least I gave her one star more than the last time because even though I don't think it was a romance I love a good history book.
    more
  • Kathryn at Book Ink Reivews
    January 1, 1970
    A copy of this review can be found at Book Ink Reviews.Thank you to NetGalley, Kimberley Woodhouse, and Barbour Publishing for this free ARC in exchange for honest reviews.I originally finished the first three books in this series within a week and was so bummed that I had to wait for the fourth book. BUT HERE IT IS! Continuing on down the ancestry line, we're now met with the looming Revolutionary War.I loved the firey, independent Faith. And I adored that she found Matthew, a man that was hono A copy of this review can be found at Book Ink Reviews.Thank you to NetGalley, Kimberley Woodhouse, and Barbour Publishing for this free ARC in exchange for honest reviews.I originally finished the first three books in this series within a week and was so bummed that I had to wait for the fourth book. BUT HERE IT IS! Continuing on down the ancestry line, we're now met with the looming Revolutionary War.I loved the firey, independent Faith. And I adored that she found Matthew, a man that was honorable and didn't want to pin her down. I loved how their relationship progressed and I appreciated that the novel clopped along at a brisk pace.But one of the things that drew me to this book was the promise of this point in history. While Matthew plays a spy for Washington, the war plays a backdrop to the love story. If I had understood that going in, this would have been a 5 star read.While this was only slightly disappointing, The Patriot Bride was still a wonderful summer read. And anyone that enjoys clean, Christian romances will adore laying out with this one at the beach this summer.
    more
  • Susan Snodgrass
    January 1, 1970
    Faith Jackson and Matthew Weber are both working covertly to aid the Patriot cause. But will they be willing to sacrifice all for their fledgling country?A brand new series for fans of all things related to history, romance, adventure, faith, and family trees.Spies Work Together for the Patriot CauseFaith Jackson is a wealthy widow, friend of George Washington, and staunch supporter of the Patriot cause. Matthew Weber is friends with both Ben Franklin and his son William, who increasingly differ Faith Jackson and Matthew Weber are both working covertly to aid the Patriot cause. But will they be willing to sacrifice all for their fledgling country?A brand new series for fans of all things related to history, romance, adventure, faith, and family trees.Spies Work Together for the Patriot CauseFaith Jackson is a wealthy widow, friend of George Washington, and staunch supporter of the Patriot cause. Matthew Weber is friends with both Ben Franklin and his son William, who increasingly differ in their political views; and Matthew finds himself privy to information on both sides of the conflict. When a message needs to get to a spy among the Loyalists, Faith bravely steps up and in turn meets Matthew Weber. Suddenly she believes she could love again. But someone else has his eye on the Faith she portrays in elite social circles. What will Matthew and Faith have to sacrifice for the sake of their fledgling country?If you love history, as I do, this series will bring you much joy. It brings back all the wonderful history I learned in school.*My thanks to Barbour Publishing for a copy of this book. A review was not required and all opinions are my own.
    more
  • Bess
    January 1, 1970
    I liked the twists and turns of this one! Although I'm not reading the series chronologically, I do believe they can be read as stand-alone books. I was on the edge of my seat a couple times. I did predict some of the events that took place, glad to see Mr. Jameson got his comeuppance! The hero was very likable and relatable. I loved that he was so caught up in his career, that when he finally met someone, he realized he was incomplete with the things that matter most in life. That is a fabulous I liked the twists and turns of this one! Although I'm not reading the series chronologically, I do believe they can be read as stand-alone books. I was on the edge of my seat a couple times. I did predict some of the events that took place, glad to see Mr. Jameson got his comeuppance! The hero was very likable and relatable. I loved that he was so caught up in his career, that when he finally met someone, he realized he was incomplete with the things that matter most in life. That is a fabulous epiphany! I think more men (and women) need this enlightenment! Faith was strong, spunky, lovable, and all around a great character. I love that she stood up for herself and was so brave and daring! I'm not sure how I really like fiction on the Revolutionary War but this one was okay. War in fiction is tough. It borders the line between escaping reality and living reality. I read fiction to escape, so, this one was interesting. I'll continue with the series because the authors are great and the stories sound intriguing amidst the wars.I received a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson through NetGalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.
    more
  • Angel Rose
    January 1, 1970
    The Patriot Bride was flat out AMAZING!!!! There was so much love and compassion for one another in this book that each character upheld with such grand morality! I love how Faith and Matthew connected! Jesus set them up from the start to find love in each other! It was such a grand adventure! Along with the added characters of George Washington and Benjamin Franklin😊😊😊😊 I found it to be amazing how George Washington cared for Faith from the very start and kept her always close to him and their The Patriot Bride was flat out AMAZING!!!! There was so much love and compassion for one another in this book that each character upheld with such grand morality! I love how Faith and Matthew connected! Jesus set them up from the start to find love in each other! It was such a grand adventure! Along with the added characters of George Washington and Benjamin Franklin😊😊😊😊 I found it to be amazing how George Washington cared for Faith from the very start and kept her always close to him and their cause. All in all this series made me tear up thus far, because to think that Faith's family came from such a long line of brave women and going back to the very start of the first book ,The Mayflower Bride , this all started because the Lord setup Faith's ancestors on the Mayflower!! This series truly represents what it means to be American; to honor your country and the hard work that was put into it and let the Lord be your foundation for all things in your daily life that will lead closer to him. All the authors did a fabulous job of the series and Kimberley Woodhouse did and unbelievably beautifully job well done with the fourth book of the series! God bless them all! I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review!
    more
  • Diane
    January 1, 1970
    The Patriot Bride (Daughters of the Mayflower) by author Kimberley Woodhouse is a wonderful Christian faith-based story of events leading into the Revolutionary War. Even as a child Faith has enjoyed the strategy of battle and winning games against her fellow playmates which earns her the admiration of her young friend George Washington. Later young widow Faith Jackson fills the call for a messenger during the tense days leading up to the war in 1775. Because of her status in the town she has th The Patriot Bride (Daughters of the Mayflower) by author Kimberley Woodhouse is a wonderful Christian faith-based story of events leading into the Revolutionary War. Even as a child Faith has enjoyed the strategy of battle and winning games against her fellow playmates which earns her the admiration of her young friend George Washington. Later young widow Faith Jackson fills the call for a messenger during the tense days leading up to the war in 1775. Because of her status in the town she has the ability to attend and conduct meetings with other ladies of the community who are determined to help the cause of the Patriots. Faith meets Matthew Webber as her contact for late night clandestine meetings to exchange messages for Patriot leaders. Faith and Matthew have agreed to a dangerous mission for freedom. Faith's life becomes even more complicated when she draws the unwanted attention of a scheming man who is determined to control her life.Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for the opportunity to read and review this book.
    more
  • Nikki
    January 1, 1970
    THIS REVIEW & MORE → SYNOPSES BY SARGEI received this ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.This was an enjoyable, light, easy read that I finished so fast! The pace was constant and the banter enjoyable. While predictable, it was still an enjoyable experience.The Patriot Bride is set during the colonial era in the year of 1752. We start by following 10-year-old Faith Lytton, who happens to be friends with none other than George Washington himself. Fast forward to 1774, when Fa THIS REVIEW & MORE → SYNOPSES BY SARGEI received this ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.This was an enjoyable, light, easy read that I finished so fast! The pace was constant and the banter enjoyable. While predictable, it was still an enjoyable experience.The Patriot Bride is set during the colonial era in the year of 1752. We start by following 10-year-old Faith Lytton, who happens to be friends with none other than George Washington himself. Fast forward to 1774, when Faith Lytton Jackson is all grown up and a widow. Managing a ladies’ group, she is asked by her dear friend, George, to assist with a dangerous mission. While partaking in this task, Faith meets George Weber, a spy for the Patriots who has infiltrated the Loyalists. Faith has been tasked with coding letters and delivering them in the name of the Patriots.Anthony James is in hot pursuit of Faith and her inheritance. After stalking Faith and finding her with George, he is determined to get even with Faith. George Weber, mentee of Benjamin Franklin, is imprisoned by the Patriots for “working for the Loyalists”. Faith and two of her loyal employees, work to help George escape, but they are too late. What happened to George Weber? Is there something growing between George and Faith beyond a work relationship? What trouble lies ahead if they’re not too careful? What is Anthony Jameson really after in his pursuits of Faith?Expected publication date is August 1, 2018.
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    Faith Lytton Jackson and Matthew Weber are devoted to the Patriot cause. The each accept missions that could get them killed, but are willing to sacrifice for the sake of freedom. This was not my favorite of the series so far, in that it was covering so many months that it had to be a bit shallow. Due to this fact, (view spoiler)[it was hard to really get behind Matthew and Faith's relationship, because it seems like it hadn't been all that long and that they couldn't really know one another, wh Faith Lytton Jackson and Matthew Weber are devoted to the Patriot cause. The each accept missions that could get them killed, but are willing to sacrifice for the sake of freedom. This was not my favorite of the series so far, in that it was covering so many months that it had to be a bit shallow. Due to this fact, (view spoiler)[it was hard to really get behind Matthew and Faith's relationship, because it seems like it hadn't been all that long and that they couldn't really know one another, when really, it had been months that we just didn't read about (hide spoiler)]. I liked having a more personable way to read about George Washington and Benjamin Franklin. That was a neat aspect. Jameson I wanted to knock upside the head with my book. Good grief!!Thanks to NetGalley for an advanced copy, and for the publisher approving me automatically to read this book! All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Pernette
    January 1, 1970
    The Patriot Bride is an early/pre-revolutionary war historical fiction. Faith Jackson, a friend of George Washington and a young widow does her part to help the Patriots. She and some of her friends are doing what they can for the cause when they are asked for a volunteer to carry messages to a patriot spy. There are a few volunteers but Faith ultimately agrees to be the messenger. She does not want to risk the other ladies and since she has no husband or family she feels she has less to lose. W The Patriot Bride is an early/pre-revolutionary war historical fiction. Faith Jackson, a friend of George Washington and a young widow does her part to help the Patriots. She and some of her friends are doing what they can for the cause when they are asked for a volunteer to carry messages to a patriot spy. There are a few volunteers but Faith ultimately agrees to be the messenger. She does not want to risk the other ladies and since she has no husband or family she feels she has less to lose. War brings out the worst and best in people and this is evident in The Patriot Bride. Faith has a suitor that stalks her because he wants her money to increase his social standing and in the meantime, he puts her and the patriot spy in danger. But in the end love and the Patriot cause see them through. A fun read though a little slow at times.
    more
Write a review