Wake
Only a broken thing can be reshaped. AnnaTomorrow, I will finally be free. Tomorrow, I turn twenty-one, which makes me an adult, and I will stop being a ward of the state. I have already packed most of my things and crammed them into my little red car. Tomorrow I will vanish into thin air for one last time, but I will take Sam with me.I was nine when my mother resurfaced and dragged me away from my grandparents and the life I knew to become a new member of my mother's egomaniac husband's Church of the Second Reckoning.I was fifteen when I was supposed to transcend into womanhood by said husband, Joshua. But his youngest son and eight years my senior, Sam, helped me escape the night before it could happen. He wasn't supposed to be left behind, while the men my grandparents dragged me away. He was supposed to be my first and my last, but instead his father shot him in front of me. I lost my grandparents only a year after, to a robbery gone wrong, that never was a robbery.I only leave death and destruction in my wake.SamaelSix years I have been waiting for this day. Six years I have spent planning every moment, every second she would live under my control. And now, now the day has finally come. She was nine, when she stepped out of that car and gave me a timid, trusting smile. I was a brother to her, a protector, a friend. I was seventeen. Anna was so much more to me back then. More than she should be.She was fifteen when she left me behind like a broken toy, shot, dying. And she never looked back. I have never stopped searching for her, looking for her, being punished for her, bleeding for her. When I was supposed to get her back it ended in disaster. I will not allow this to happen again. This time I will have my revenge, and she will have her punishment. She will return to my father's Church and finally wake. Disclaimer This book is a standalone DARK Erotic Thriller, exclusively available on Amazon including Kindle Unlimited.It contains scenes such as murder, torture, and rape/ forced sex, as well as hinting disturbing topics that not are described in the book, such as different forms of child abuse.

Wake Details

TitleWake
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 10th, 2017
PublisherDarkSigyn publishing
Rating
GenreDark, Sociology, Abuse, Suspense, Adult Fiction, Erotica, Bdsm

Wake Review

  • Am4u ❀ ~ AprilMarie4u ~ ❀
    January 1, 1970
    Edit on 08/06/2017: Last update! I was informed earlier today by the author that the book just went through edits again. I'm thinking the second edition will probably be uploaded to Amazon soon. If you don't already have automatic updates turned on, remember to update your version/edition. ~~~Edit on 07/27/2017:D.S. Wrights stated, "It was brought to my attention that some of you accidentally received the beta mobi, instead of the ARC.".My thoughts, well that explains it! ~~~Original review post Edit on 08/06/2017: Last update! I was informed earlier today by the author that the book just went through edits again. I'm thinking the second edition will probably be uploaded to Amazon soon. If you don't already have automatic updates turned on, remember to update your version/edition. ~~~Edit on 07/27/2017:D.S. Wrights stated, "It was brought to my attention that some of you accidentally received the beta mobi, instead of the ARC.".My thoughts, well that explains it! ~~~Original review posted on 07/26/2017:Warning! This review might be a little spoilery but I really don't think it is. Proceed at your own risk... Rating:3 stars Main Genres:MF, Contemporary, New Adult, Taboo, DarkStory Introduction:MFC Anna was abandoned by her mother as a baby and raised by her grandparents, then her mother takes her back when she's 9 yrs old. Anna then joins her mother at the commune where she lives. Her mother is one of the wives to the leader of this commune. Anna then bonds with one of her new stepbrothers that is 8 years older than her. MMC Sam (said stepbrother) knows little else other than the life he has lived on the commune where his father rules. Their so called religious way of life was quite disturbing. Which, as you can imagine, means Sam is not the most mentally stable of beings. Both MCs They are ripped apart when Anna is 16 years old, and this is where the story truly begins. Brief Facts:1) More inner monologue than dialogue (very little dialogue actually). 2) Some truly disgusting things occur... as in totally unhygienic & unsanitary. 3) Dual POV with the two main characters. I enjoy dual POVs, however I prefer them to be of different scenes and not the same ones rehashed. 4) Disturbing references to pedophilia acts. And as far as the dark list goes, that's not even the half of it. Honestly, don't read this if you can't handle the DARK stuff.The Bad:There is a good story here, however the ARC version I received had not been edited yet. It was extremely difficult to read because of the editing issues. I DO expect editing issues in ARCs, but I was mentally unprepared for this amount. The editing issues include redundancies, inconsistencies, inaccuracies, POV changes mid-sentence or mid-paragraph from 1st person to 3rd person, tense changes mid-sentence or mid-paragraph, etc... I do not know if all of these will be fixed or not by publication. However, I did deduct stars for these once it reached triple digits. I did not deduct any stars for the normal type of typos & grammar errors often found in ARCs. I considered these separate from the list in the paragraph above.The Good:I'll state it again, there is a good story here, it was just sadly buried underneath an avalanche of issues. Anyhow, this book did appease my dark side. Easily could have been a 4 or 5 star read for me, which I'm sure (hoping) the final & published version will be.Overall:Did my best to ignore the editing issues and give a fair rating based on the actual story being told. I'm assuming all the writing/editing issues will be resolved in the final publication edition. ARC copy received in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • D.S. Wrights
    January 1, 1970
    Disclaimer This book is a standalone DARK Erotic Thriller, exclusively available on Amazon including Kindle Unlimited.It contains scenes such as murder, torture, and rape/ forced sex, as well as hinting disturbing topics that not are described in the book, such as different forms of child abuse.
    more
  •  Charlie ✰ WLTB Blog ✰
    January 1, 1970
    This book was so good, from the start I was hooked, it is dark and I will have to say if I had limits then I think this would have pushed them.The story starts off with Anna and Sam trying to escape from the Church of the Second Reckoning. But Sam ends up left behind while Anne gets away... Six years later Sam is now ready to take Anne back to where is belongs he has had it all planned. He tried once and that didn’t end well, but he is going to try again. She left him broken and shot and never This book was so good, from the start I was hooked, it is dark and I will have to say if I had limits then I think this would have pushed them.The story starts off with Anna and Sam trying to escape from the Church of the Second Reckoning. But Sam ends up left behind while Anne gets away... Six years later Sam is now ready to take Anne back to where is belongs he has had it all planned. He tried once and that didn’t end well, but he is going to try again. She left him broken and shot and never looks behind her, he has never stopped looking for her now he is ready to take her back to his father’s church.Only a broken thing can be reshaped. This book is fast paced and very well written and flows perfectly, the story will have you on the edge of your seat wondering what is going to happen.The characters are well written you can’t help but like Sam and Anne, some characters I hated a lot, Sam I wasn’t sure of at first but he did grow on me.I have to say this author is fast becoming one of my favourite author's whos books I just have to read. If you read D S Wrights book you will love this one.WAKE is a standalone DARK Erotic Thriller, exclusively available on Amazon including Kindle Unlimited.It contains scenes such as murder, torture, and rape/ forced sex, as well as hinting disturbing topics that not are described in the book, such as different forms of child abuse.
    more
  • Aղցela W.
    January 1, 1970
  • EroticaAfterDark (Lilith)
    January 1, 1970
    regular price will be 4.99This book is a standalone DARK Erotic Thriller, exclusively available on Amazon including Kindle Unlimited. It contains scenes such as murder, torture, and rape/ forced sex, as well as hinting disturbing topics that not are described in the book, such as different forms of child abuse. Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2sHJ9Fq Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/2sIcuzn Amazon CA: http://amzn.to/2u0SbRX
    more
  • Kim BookJunkie
    January 1, 1970
    This book has SOOO much potential yet it's poorly executed, in desperate need of editing. There were grammatical errors, punctuation mistakes and at least one sentence that started with a word that was not capitalized. Extra words were often added to sentences and terms were used incorrectly (for example, "plumb lips" instead of, "plump lips"). There were a large amount of spelling errors that would not be caught by spellchecker, for example, "IS" instead of, "IT" and, "MY" where, "ME" should ha This book has SOOO much potential yet it's poorly executed, in desperate need of editing. There were grammatical errors, punctuation mistakes and at least one sentence that started with a word that was not capitalized. Extra words were often added to sentences and terms were used incorrectly (for example, "plumb lips" instead of, "plump lips"). There were a large amount of spelling errors that would not be caught by spellchecker, for example, "IS" instead of, "IT" and, "MY" where, "ME" should have been. On more than one occasion, Wright struggled with tenses, using both present and past tense in the same sentence. I even noticed problems with sequencing, the female main character thinking about being in the cellar yet she was still blindfolded with no clue of her location. Needless to say, I was extremely frustrated and disappointed to find so many errors, each of them detracting from my ability to fully immerse myself in the story. The beginning 50-60% of the story was drawn out and slow. I think a lot of this could've been alleviated had there not been so much repetition; Wright often told the same scene twice (through different character's POV's) which was unnecessary and redundant. I enjoyed the last 35% or so yet felt that the very ending was extremely rushed.
    more
  • *~* Susie
    January 1, 1970
    As far as a dark storyline goes, this was excellent. I loved everything about it and it grabbed me from the start. However, it would've been so much better with more dialogue. The running internal commentary got old and hard to follow toward the end.
    more
  • Gill Selling
    January 1, 1970
    This book took me on an emotional rollercoaster. . I occasionally get consumed by a book. This was one of them. D.S. Wrights is an author who writes from the heart. All of her characters have depth. As you read you will build up an image in your head. She gives you a complete mind picture. It's Technicolor in HD.She is amazing This story of Sam and Anna will grip you. Refusing to let you go till the end. You wont know which direction the story will go. So hold on tight. If you dare. Follow Anna This book took me on an emotional rollercoaster. . I occasionally get consumed by a book. This was one of them. D.S. Wrights is an author who writes from the heart. All of her characters have depth. As you read you will build up an image in your head. She gives you a complete mind picture. It's Technicolor in HD.She is amazing This story of Sam and Anna will grip you. Refusing to let you go till the end. You wont know which direction the story will go. So hold on tight. If you dare. Follow Anna and Sam in this deliciously twisted tale of torment, happiness sadness and despair
    more
  • Jodi - Alpha Loving Erotic Book Beauty Blogger
    January 1, 1970
    Wake will have you feeling guilty , needy, tensed up , ashamed , and needing more! How do I even begin to summarize Wake?I felt like Anna in a strange sense, should I be reading this? Knowing whats going on? Maybe liking Sam in an odd sense even throughout his messed up torture? Because when he does those other things , how can you not? You can't help but feel naughty as you continue reading as it only gets worse, and Holy HeII!! I've never read such creativity from Any author! The birdcage, for Wake will have you feeling guilty , needy, tensed up , ashamed , and needing more! How do I even begin to summarize Wake?I felt like Anna in a strange sense, should I be reading this? Knowing whats going on? Maybe liking Sam in an odd sense even throughout his messed up torture? Because when he does those other things , how can you not? You can't help but feel naughty as you continue reading as it only gets worse, and Holy HeII!! I've never read such creativity from Any author! The birdcage, for his little bird , an such Mind Blowing Brilliant Ideas for such a deranged Man like Samael the light bringer the commander of death. Anna, the innocent one, now considered pure filth, vermin. The man she left behind, is now scarred , hated, full of wrath. She had never lost hope. But now maybe the time, as those 6 years long gone , are going to be made up for, all at once.This book is Dark, if you can't help being held against your will, forced sex etc then this isn't for you, but if you like to journey into unknown territories, and drift into darkness, this will submerge you head first .There were very few typos but I was so absorbed, truly they didn't bother me, and there wasn't enough to make any difference.The ending , was another hair puller!! Please tell me there will be a part 2 coming? Because that just drove me beyond mad!“You know I am going to punish you for betraying me. And I am going to teach you how to be a proper, obedient, god-fearing believer. Just as you were supposed to be.” He leans in to me, his lips are brushing my ear, chasing goosebumps across my skin, as he speaks lowly: “And more.”This little outer-world tainted slut. But I still want her. It drives me insane, mad, rabid.- SamaelI tried to put myself into his position, but I can’t know what he really went through. I don’t know what turned him into this monster. No. Wait. I know. His father. He turned him into this… whatever this is. - AnnaI’m sick. But not as sick as he is. - AnnaI would never harm her. Hurt her? Yes. Violate her? Yes. Make her bleed for me? A hundred percent yes. Make her cry for me. A thousand times yes. - SamTwo hearts beat within my chest, and that is all I am. I am an angel. I am a monster. But she is still the center of it all. - SamMy Monster. My Samael. My Sam. - Anna
    more
  • Frisky Romantic
    January 1, 1970
    I have read books of D.S. Wrights before, and I loved them! With this book I found my hard limit, and I think other's will, too. This is the only reason why I stopped this book. And I didn't even get to the part which the official teasers showed!There is absolutely nothing wrong with this book! I think the writing is excellent and sucks you right into the minds of Samael and Anna.Samael's mind is twisted and disturbed, battling with the believes that were tortured into him and Anna, who feels gu I have read books of D.S. Wrights before, and I loved them! With this book I found my hard limit, and I think other's will, too. This is the only reason why I stopped this book. And I didn't even get to the part which the official teasers showed!There is absolutely nothing wrong with this book! I think the writing is excellent and sucks you right into the minds of Samael and Anna.Samael's mind is twisted and disturbed, battling with the believes that were tortured into him and Anna, who feels guilty for leaving her childhood friend and secret love behind. He's putting her through the ringer - and that's mildly put - and she tries to endure and make sense of it all.I didn't get past the first degradation/ punishment. Reading this, I'm simply scared of what comes next. Since I haven't finished the book, I can't rate it.There are so many things happening, which another reviewer kindly put together. I will hide these triggers behind the spoiler code, so you can check them out if you are worried the book is too much for you. These triggers, however spoil what happens in the book of course.(view spoiler)[abuseanal sexanal rapebareback (no condom)bdsmblindfoldsbondage/ restraintsbreathcontroldegradation/ humiliationdubious consentfacialsfrottage (dry humping)impact play (sexual spanking)masturbationmenagemultiple partnersnonconsensualpseudo incestrapereligious contenct/ sectrough sexsadismscarsself-harmstalkingstockholm syndrometabootortureunsanitary/ Unhygrenicvirgin femalevirgin malewatersports(hide spoiler)]WAKE by D.S. Wrights is now available for PREORDER!Get a digital copy for the special preorder price of $2.99 instead of 4.99!WAKE is a standalone DARK Erotic Thriller, exclusively available on Amazon including Kindle Unlimited.It contains scenes such as murder, torture, and rape/ forced sex, as well as hinting disturbing topics that not are described in the book, such as different forms of child abuse.Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2sHJ9FqAmazon UK: http://amzn.to/2sIcuznAmazon CA: http://amzn.to/2u0SbRX
    more
  • Paula D
    January 1, 1970
    Very intense page turner that even scares you to read what is gonna happen next. Anna and Sam are trying to escape Church of the Second Reckoning when Anna escapes and Sam gets left behind. 6 years go by and Sam decides it's time to get Anna back where she belongs, his. Shocking, very dark cringe worthy parts. If you love dark, crazy stories this is a must read. Sam I loved his darkness and craziness just something about him made me feel his character and understood why he is the way he is. Anna Very intense page turner that even scares you to read what is gonna happen next. Anna and Sam are trying to escape Church of the Second Reckoning when Anna escapes and Sam gets left behind. 6 years go by and Sam decides it's time to get Anna back where she belongs, his. Shocking, very dark cringe worthy parts. If you love dark, crazy stories this is a must read. Sam I loved his darkness and craziness just something about him made me feel his character and understood why he is the way he is. Anna is one strong girl through everything she never gave up and kept her head high. Now the ending has me confused a bit and has me wanting to read the book again to figure out what the author meant. Read between the lines and I think you will be blown away like I am! 5/5 Wake stars ****Reviewed for Sweet & Spicy Read provided for a voluntarily Advanced Reader Copy of this book ****
    more
  • Dark Erotic Books
    January 1, 1970
    preorder for $2.99 Price does up after release! Only a broken thing can be reshaped It was the cover what drew me in, but it was this line that turned me into a moth leaping into the flame.WAKE is a dark tale of abuse, destroyed hope, obsession, mania, desilusion, and consuming love.I don't know if I have ever read a book this intense, it sucked me in, and annihilated me. I became Anna and Samael, who are light and darkness, dooming each other in a mesmerizing dance until they both become a dark preorder for $2.99 Price does up after release! Only a broken thing can be reshaped It was the cover what drew me in, but it was this line that turned me into a moth leaping into the flame.WAKE is a dark tale of abuse, destroyed hope, obsession, mania, desilusion, and consuming love.I don't know if I have ever read a book this intense, it sucked me in, and annihilated me. I became Anna and Samael, who are light and darkness, dooming each other in a mesmerizing dance until they both become a darker shade of grey.This book is disturbing, at a few points disgusting, but also sweet, intense, and arousing. It is, shortly put, a rollercoaser ride at its finest. I don't know what else to say without giving too much away.Our hero is a brainwashed, abused, obsessed, and self-harming villain, a victim drawing power from his abuse. Our heroine is first a girl consumed by her own illusions and self-inflicted guilt, who is stripped down and destroyed to rise from her own ashes like a dark phoenix.And there is an HEA, but perfectly twisted.If I could, I'd give this one SIX stars. I'm going to read it again, right now, and so should you.
    more
  • Amber
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 - 4 STARS! The first thought that popped into my head as I finished this story is that this book was definitely weird but not in a bad way if that makes sense. I love a dark read, that’s filled with taboo topics and subject matter that offends most people and this story had all of these things. I was surprised that this story was based around a sort of church / cult as the blurb didn’t hint to that fact. This is a story about an older boy Sam and a much younger girl Anna that form a bond, ce 3.5 - 4 STARS! The first thought that popped into my head as I finished this story is that this book was definitely weird but not in a bad way if that makes sense. I love a dark read, that’s filled with taboo topics and subject matter that offends most people and this story had all of these things. I was surprised that this story was based around a sort of church / cult as the blurb didn’t hint to that fact. This is a story about an older boy Sam and a much younger girl Anna that form a bond, certain events take place and they are separated for six years. During their time apart, the church really does a number Sam and not in a good way and unfortunately when they finally reconnect Anna learns the hard way just how sick and twisted the church really is. This book was good and with a bit more finessing it could actually be a great dark read, it just needs a bit of tweaking and editing here and there. Definitely dark and disturbing so if you’re into that sort of thing then this story just may be right up your alley.
    more
  • Brandy
    January 1, 1970
    "Six years I have been waiting for this day. Six years I have spent planning every moment, every second she would live under my control. And now, now the day has finally come." Anna has spent years with guilt of thinking that her beloved step brother was most likely dead. Guilt of knowing she left him behind. Guilt of hoping he was still alive, because that would mean he was still living in hell and she wasn't. Samael always knew he felt something for Anna he shouldn't. So much older than she w "Six years I have been waiting for this day. Six years I have spent planning every moment, every second she would live under my control. And now, now the day has finally come." Anna has spent years with guilt of thinking that her beloved step brother was most likely dead. Guilt of knowing she left him behind. Guilt of hoping he was still alive, because that would mean he was still living in hell and she wasn't. Samael always knew he felt something for Anna he shouldn't. So much older than she was yet she meant so much to him. That changed when he was shot and left for dead while Anna ran away never to return. Samael wants his revenge, Anna wants her Sam. A dark and forbidden story unfolds when their inner demons start to be tested. This was one of the darkest depth books I've ever read. And I truly can say I loved it. It will push your limits. It contains abuse, rape, torture, murder, and mentioning of child abuse among other things. I cringed more times then I can count. I wanted to cry for Anna, yet found myself wanting to cry for Samael as well. I felt their pain and misery with them. Wake barely left anything to the imagination, it was so vividly written. This was the first book I've read by D.S. Wrights and it won't be my last. If you enjoy dark reads that push limits, I would strongly suggest reading this one.
    more
  • Karen - Kazza's Books Blog and Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    I'm really struggling with how to rate this book. 3.5 or 4 stars.I am a lover of dark reads so the darker the better and that is why this book appealed to me in the first place. The warnings are justified and it is because of them, I read this book. There were just a few thing that annoyed me:1. Sam constantly flip flopped between doing the right thing as in, does he give Anna to his father or keep her for himself. I just felt this went on and on and on. 2. I would have liked more interaction be I'm really struggling with how to rate this book. 3.5 or 4 stars.I am a lover of dark reads so the darker the better and that is why this book appealed to me in the first place. The warnings are justified and it is because of them, I read this book. There were just a few thing that annoyed me:1. Sam constantly flip flopped between doing the right thing as in, does he give Anna to his father or keep her for himself. I just felt this went on and on and on. 2. I would have liked more interaction between Sam and Anna and not just their inner dialogue.3. This book needed a proofread or beta read before being let loose into the masses as there are many errors within the story eg, Rowena had just finished knitting a shawl and then in another paragraph it was a scarf. How was this not picked up?Normally a few errors don't annoy me but this time they did. That being said I really enjoyed the content of the story, it is good but with a bit more refinement it can be GREAT.I will definitely be checking out more of D. S. Wrights books.
    more
  • ₸hea™
    January 1, 1970
    Wooow.... what a f*cked up family!! I really, really enjoyed this book; beautiful in all its ugliness and depravity. This story grabbed me from the very beginning! However... the first 50/60% of the book, the story was a bit too slow for me! For instance: we read a scene from Anna's POV, then we read pretty much the same scene from Sam's POV. I loved to read about both Anna's and Sam's thought and feelings (I always love double POV!) but the way it was done in this book was too repetitive. Somet Wooow.... what a f*cked up family!! I really, really enjoyed this book; beautiful in all its ugliness and depravity. This story grabbed me from the very beginning! However... the first 50/60% of the book, the story was a bit too slow for me! For instance: we read a scene from Anna's POV, then we read pretty much the same scene from Sam's POV. I loved to read about both Anna's and Sam's thought and feelings (I always love double POV!) but the way it was done in this book was too repetitive. Sometimes it was hard to stay focused.I noticed some editing issues, however, as always, they didn't really bothered me. Besides that I didn't understand how Anna could get aroused after the horrible things Sam did to her (the switch was too abrupt to be believable), I had a feeling what happened to Anna and especially to Sam (being brainwashed and 'conditioned' like he was) could really have happened.... well, most of it. The thought that religious sects, like the one described in this book, might really exist, makes my skin crawl! However… I absolutely love to read about it! This book contains scenes such as murder, torture, rape/forced sex, as well as hinting disturbing topics that not are described in the book, such as different forms of child abuse. Actually, almost every known trigger gets addressed in this book. Joshua, his sons and Rowena (and probably some others in their flock) are sick pedophiles, depraved human beings and certifiable insane! Luckily, in the end, they all got what they deserved!I’ve just read a book that Amazon took down because of its content (love affair between a 17 year old girl with an 38 year old preacher). If Amazon thinks *that* is 'disturbing'… I absolutely don’t understand why this book isn’t banned. 😲 LOL! This book addresses such horrors and disturbing and despicable situations that it’s absolutely not for the ‘faint of heart’. But hey, it’s fiction and apparently a lot of people like to read dark stuff like that. I sure do!The Erogenous Zone; BotM August 2017.Dark Erotica; BotM August 2017. (https://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/...)
    more
  • Tre Talbot
    January 1, 1970
    Let me start out by saying you need to have an open mind while reading this book. We're dealing with a dark & twisted story I personally loved every second of it. Sam is just unpredictable at times and Anna, I give this woman so much credit for staying as strong as she has been. I was engaged the entire time with the story line, I will say that times Samuel had me furious with his actions but then I would understand why he is that way. I don't think I'd be able to stay in Anna's place but I Let me start out by saying you need to have an open mind while reading this book. We're dealing with a dark & twisted story I personally loved every second of it. Sam is just unpredictable at times and Anna, I give this woman so much credit for staying as strong as she has been. I was engaged the entire time with the story line, I will say that times Samuel had me furious with his actions but then I would understand why he is that way. I don't think I'd be able to stay in Anna's place but I just wanted to keep reading and see where the story took us. I love the dark twists and turns as we get deeper and deeper into the Church and their views. This is my unbiased and voluntary review.
    more
  • Expresso
    January 1, 1970
    Great story! Dark. Very dark! My only complaint is the dual POV relaying the same information resulted in a lot of skimming. More action less redundant thoughts would have been lovely!Story is definitely dark and a great story if you're into taboo/kidnap scenarios. I would not suggest this story to any vanilla/gray readers. You would be unnaturally traumatized. Trust!Definitely a five star book without the pesky redundancy. However since it is present in the story.....continuously.......3.5 star Great story! Dark. Very dark! My only complaint is the dual POV relaying the same information resulted in a lot of skimming. More action less redundant thoughts would have been lovely!Story is definitely dark and a great story if you're into taboo/kidnap scenarios. I would not suggest this story to any vanilla/gray readers. You would be unnaturally traumatized. Trust!Definitely a five star book without the pesky redundancy. However since it is present in the story.....continuously.......3.5 stars!
    more
  •  Charlie ✰ WLTB Blog ✰
    January 1, 1970
    This book was so good, from the start I was hooked, it is dark and I will have to say if I had limits then I think this would have pushed them.The story starts off with Anna and Sam trying to escape from the Church of the Second Reckoning. But Sam ends up left behind while Anne gets away...Six years later Sam is now ready to take Anne back to where it belongs he has had it all planned. He tried once and that didn’t end well, but he is going to try again. She left him broken and shot and never lo This book was so good, from the start I was hooked, it is dark and I will have to say if I had limits then I think this would have pushed them.The story starts off with Anna and Sam trying to escape from the Church of the Second Reckoning. But Sam ends up left behind while Anne gets away...Six years later Sam is now ready to take Anne back to where it belongs he has had it all planned. He tried once and that didn’t end well, but he is going to try again. She left him broken and shot and never looks behind her, he has never stopped looking for her now he is ready to take her back to his father’s church.Only a broken thing can be reshaped.This book is fast paced and very well written and flows perfectly, the story will have you on the edge of your seat wondering what is going to happen.The characters are well written you can’t help but like Sam and Anne, some characters I hated a lot, Sam I wasn’t sure of at first but he did grow on me.I have to say this author is fast becoming one of my favourite author's books I just have to read. If you read D S Wrights book you will love this one.
    more
  • Dark Erotic Books
    January 1, 1970
    It was the cover what drew me in, but it was this line that turned me into a moth leaping into the flame.WAKE is a dark tale of abuse, destroyed hope, obsession, mania, desilusion, and consuming love.I don't know if I have ever read a book this intense, it sucked me in, and annihilated me. I became Anna and Samael, who are light and darkness, dooming each other in a mesmerizing dance until they both become a darker shade of grey.This book is disturbing, at a few points disgusting, but also sweet It was the cover what drew me in, but it was this line that turned me into a moth leaping into the flame.WAKE is a dark tale of abuse, destroyed hope, obsession, mania, desilusion, and consuming love.I don't know if I have ever read a book this intense, it sucked me in, and annihilated me. I became Anna and Samael, who are light and darkness, dooming each other in a mesmerizing dance until they both become a darker shade of grey.This book is disturbing, at a few points disgusting, but also sweet, intense, and arousing. It is, shortly put, a rollercoaser ride at its finest. I don't know what else to say without giving too much away.Our hero is a brainwashed, abused, obsessed, and self-harming villain, a victim drawing power from his abuse. Our heroine is first a girl consumed by her own illusions and self-inflicted guilt, who is stripped down and destroyed to rise from her own ashes like a dark phoenix.And there is an HEA, but perfectly twisted.If I could, I'd give this one SIX stars. I'm going to read it again, right now, and so should you.
    more
  • Chrissy
    January 1, 1970
    Dark....twisted.....gripping.......AWESOME!! I could not put this book down. I read it in less than 8 hours. It grabbed me and dragged me in, or should I say under!! I don't know how someone can imagine a story like this, the torture poor Anna endured...UGGHH!! And then I get a glimpse into Samael's life, and I think....why did I think Anna had it bad? Sam could never have turned out any different. I wanted to hate him like I did the other leaders of the so called "church", but I couldn't. I lov Dark....twisted.....gripping.......AWESOME!! I could not put this book down. I read it in less than 8 hours. It grabbed me and dragged me in, or should I say under!! I don't know how someone can imagine a story like this, the torture poor Anna endured...UGGHH!! And then I get a glimpse into Samael's life, and I think....why did I think Anna had it bad? Sam could never have turned out any different. I wanted to hate him like I did the other leaders of the so called "church", but I couldn't. I love every horrible, scary and twisted part of him. And then I get to the end and the last paragraph just has me on a whole other plane...I had to laugh, and that just felt wrong, but so right!!!
    more
  • Liz
    January 1, 1970
    This story is dark and disturbing to say the least. This book includes some very dark topics including rape, torture, and implied pedophilia. I first heard about DS Wrights when I read The Beast and Me. She had me hooked from the first book until the end of that series.When she posted about WAKE on her Tumblr, I HAD to read it. The blurb alone peaked my interest. Anna left Sam behind six years ago, even though she didn't want to. Samael doesn't know that she didn't have a choice in the matter an This story is dark and disturbing to say the least. This book includes some very dark topics including rape, torture, and implied pedophilia. I first heard about DS Wrights when I read The Beast and Me. She had me hooked from the first book until the end of that series.When she posted about WAKE on her Tumblr, I HAD to read it. The blurb alone peaked my interest. Anna left Sam behind six years ago, even though she didn't want to. Samael doesn't know that she didn't have a choice in the matter and now he wants her to know how it felt. He wants to break her.I could not put this book down because I had to know what happened next! Would he break her? Would she get through to him? *Possible spoiler alert*The ending was great, and I know it's a standalone story, but I would most DEFINITELY read a sequel to this story. Just saying, Ms. Wrights ;)
    more
  • NC Reader
    January 1, 1970
    3.5-4 stars! LOVED the story/plot BUT felt like I spent more time reading the repeated thoughts of the characters than I did anything. Sam is a confusing man. One minute he wants to do what is right, the next he wants to do what he knows his father would want out of gaining his approval and acceptance. It was almost like he was brainwashed but still had a small hold on reality even though he'd try to deny it. The book was dark and had scenes of rape, physical/mental/sexual abuse. My only complai 3.5-4 stars! LOVED the story/plot BUT felt like I spent more time reading the repeated thoughts of the characters than I did anything. Sam is a confusing man. One minute he wants to do what is right, the next he wants to do what he knows his father would want out of gaining his approval and acceptance. It was almost like he was brainwashed but still had a small hold on reality even though he'd try to deny it. The book was dark and had scenes of rape, physical/mental/sexual abuse. My only complaint is "little less talk (in this case, thoughts) and a lot more action".
    more
  • 2OCC Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    The sound it this book was different and it intrigued me. I've always been a fan of dark books and this book seemed dark with something different that I couldn't put my finger on. Sam was broken. Even with that I loved him. Yes he did some bad things but you could feel the struggle that he had with his feeling he had for Anna though out the whole book.Anna was something else. Everything she goes through and she was still so tough and was able to get through true dark and dirty things that happen The sound it this book was different and it intrigued me. I've always been a fan of dark books and this book seemed dark with something different that I couldn't put my finger on. Sam was broken. Even with that I loved him. Yes he did some bad things but you could feel the struggle that he had with his feeling he had for Anna though out the whole book.Anna was something else. Everything she goes through and she was still so tough and was able to get through true dark and dirty things that happened. I loved her character. I liked the whole Cult plot line. It had me flipping the pages because I had to know what was going to happen. There was a captive plot line where Sam tried to break Anna but she was so strong though it all. This book is not for the faint of heart. There is a lot of disturbing things that happen but I loved it. So through out the whole story, there were 3 things I wanted more of. 1) I wanted more character interaction. I understand why there wasn't a ton of it, but I love seeing characters interact so this was a lot of inner dialogue in this book. 2) was I wanted to see more of the "Church". That's all I can say about that with out spoiling it. 3) I wanted to see more of Sam's past and what he had to go through. I was able to connect with him but I think if I had seen what he went through, I would have had more of a connection. Overall; the whole story kept me glued to my reader. I enjoyed the descriptions that the author used for the most part and the flow of the story was perfect. Even with the small things that I wanted more of, I still enjoyed the book and can't wait to read more from the author. 4 stars #2OCCJD
    more
  • Janee_dark&eroticreads4me
    January 1, 1970
    TWISTED, DARK AND DEMENTEDI give this book 4 stars with a heavy heart. I am completely torn with this read..? Firstly, take note of the warning. It contains heavy content with mentions of child abuse. Although I did find it dark and disturbing I didn't have a problem reading it, I have read much worse.Secondly, I didn't really get any enjoyment from this read. It had absolutely NOTHING that appealed to me. The only reason I finished it was bc the GR group I'm in chose this as our book of the mon TWISTED, DARK AND DEMENTEDI give this book 4 stars with a heavy heart. I am completely torn with this read..? Firstly, take note of the warning. It contains heavy content with mentions of child abuse. Although I did find it dark and disturbing I didn't have a problem reading it, I have read much worse.Secondly, I didn't really get any enjoyment from this read. It had absolutely NOTHING that appealed to me. The only reason I finished it was bc the GR group I'm in chose this as our book of the month, otherwise believe me, it would have gone straight to my DNF collection after around 20%.Thirdly, I hated the topic. It was based around one of those religious sects, which just makes me sick, and I wonder how these things even exist in real-life? It contained content on raping children, incest and physical abuse and how their members are brainwashed. I would have rated this 2 - 3 stars, but thought the writing deserved 4. There were quite a few typos which annoy me to no end. The ending is left somewhat open. If the author does do a continuation I will NOT be reading it.Other than the above i have nothing else to really say about it. It's 2 days of reading and my life I won't get back.Sorry but I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone.
    more
  • Kaila
    January 1, 1970
    Holy bloody hell I wasn't prepared for this.. I wasn't prepared at all.. how could you do this to me D.S. how.. lol... How do I review this.. this... was... amazing.. OMG it was amazing. yall have NO idea.. if you enjoy a good, dark story with a lot of issues and trauma and anger.. I totally recommend this story to you.. it was freakin amazing.. It was dark though.. so very very dark.. it was horrifying in so many ways.. it was NO love story.. not in the least bit.. there are parts that make you Holy bloody hell I wasn't prepared for this.. I wasn't prepared at all.. how could you do this to me D.S. how.. lol... How do I review this.. this... was... amazing.. OMG it was amazing. yall have NO idea.. if you enjoy a good, dark story with a lot of issues and trauma and anger.. I totally recommend this story to you.. it was freakin amazing.. It was dark though.. so very very dark.. it was horrifying in so many ways.. it was NO love story.. not in the least bit.. there are parts that make you think.. well... it might be.. maybe. NO.. just NO.. lol it was 100% a messed up amazing story that I truly enjoyed reading and at times wished I could stop reading because there are some seriously messed up spots.. This story will make you think.. and I seriously thought it was going somewhere at the end...that it didn't go lol. I am so glad I borrowed it on KU (I borrow a lot because well I can't afford to buy as many books as I read haha). I totally recommend you go out and borrow or buy this book asap if you like dark stories!
    more
  • Antoinette
    January 1, 1970
    Good dark readI truly enjoyed the story of Sam and Anna. The story for me had me hooked from the beginning. I seem to have this love/hate feelings toward Sam, and Anna just broke my heart. Please read the warring for this book, as its not for the faint of heart. if you are like me and love dark reads this is right up your ally.
    more
  • H.Q. Frost
    January 1, 1970
    I don't understand why this book was banned. It is a dark read, but nothing too intense. The author did a good job keeping me interested in reading to find out more about "The Church" and just how far the members would go.
  • Alphena
    January 1, 1970
    Brilliant read Never read a book quite like this before, yes it was dark, but I couldn't put it down, my son told me the time as I would normally be asleep. But wow it was brilliant. I liked the little twists and turns you provided. I don't have one bad word to say about this.with love Alphena.
    more
  • Janneke Wolbers
    January 1, 1970
    D.S. Has pushed her limits with this one.She went beyond anything we all expected!Absolutly love this book and cant wait to read more dark stuff from her!
Write a review