Our House
On a bright January morning in the London suburbs, a family moves into the house they’ve just bought in Trinity Avenue. Nothing strange about that. Except it is your house. And you didn’t sell it. When Fiona Lawson comes home to find strangers moving into her house, she's sure there's been a mistake. She and her estranged husband, Bram, have a modern co-parenting arrangement: bird's nest custody, where each parent spends a few nights a week with their two sons at the prized family home to maintain stability for their children. But the system built to protect their family ends up putting them in terrible jeopardy. In a domino effect of crimes and misdemeanors, the nest comes tumbling down.Now Bram has disappeared and so have Fiona's children. As events spiral well beyond her control, Fiona will discover just how many lies her husband was weaving and how little they truly knew each other. But Bram's not the only one with things to hide, and some secrets are best kept to oneself, safe as houses.

Our House Details

TitleOur House
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 7th, 2018
PublisherBerkley
ISBN-139780451489111
Rating
GenreThriller, Mystery, Fiction, Mystery Thriller, Suspense, Contemporary, Psychological Thriller, Adult Fiction, Adult, Did Not Finish

Our House Review

  • Maureen
    January 1, 1970
    **4.5 STARS** Fiona ( Fi ) Lawson lives in a very desirable London suburb, and she always gets a warm tingly feeling when she enters her street. However, on this particular beautiful winter's day she spots a removal van outside her house - but it can't possibly be her house, the house a few doors down has been on the market, it must be that one. As she reaches her house, the realisation that someone is moving their furniture in, their personal possessions, hits her like a sledge hammer, but she' **4.5 STARS** Fiona ( Fi ) Lawson lives in a very desirable London suburb, and she always gets a warm tingly feeling when she enters her street. However, on this particular beautiful winter's day she spots a removal van outside her house - but it can't possibly be her house, the house a few doors down has been on the market, it must be that one. As she reaches her house, the realisation that someone is moving their furniture in, their personal possessions, hits her like a sledge hammer, but she'll sort it out ( won't she?) it's just a ridiculous mistake surely. Well actually no it isn't a mistake, and she desperately needs to contact her estranged husband Bram - problem is, Bram is nowhere to be found, and not only that, but their two boys Harry and Leo aren't where they should be either!Well goodness me, what a roller coaster ride of a story this is, and what avenues it takes us down as deceit becomes the major player. It isn't a thriller in the normal sense of the word, but it's gripping nevertheless. The characters speak to us through various mediums, ( Bram via Word document ) and in that respect we get to know much more about Bram's part in all this than Fi does. You know the old saying "Oh what a tangled web we weave, when first we set out to deceive"? Absorb that thought because this is deceit at its most profound. Add in numerous twists and turns and you've got a real winner. Thoroughly enjoyed it!* Thank you to Netgalley and Simon and Schuster for my ARC in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • Miriam Smith
    January 1, 1970
    FAB-U-LOUS!!! I absolutely LOVED "our house" by Louise Candlish - I couldn't put it down, couldn't stop thinking about it - it was truly addictive, compelling and hypnotic. It was by far the best psychological thriller I've read for quite a while and I expect it to do extremely well in the bestsellers chart. A family moves into the house they’ve just bought in Trinity Avenue. Nothing strange about that. Except it is your house. And you didn’t sell it. Fiona (Fi) arrives home to find a removals v FAB-U-LOUS!!! I absolutely LOVED "our house" by Louise Candlish - I couldn't put it down, couldn't stop thinking about it - it was truly addictive, compelling and hypnotic. It was by far the best psychological thriller I've read for quite a while and I expect it to do extremely well in the bestsellers chart. A family moves into the house they’ve just bought in Trinity Avenue. Nothing strange about that. Except it is your house. And you didn’t sell it. Fiona (Fi) arrives home to find a removals van outside her house. Trinity Avenue has been her family’s home for years. Where are all her belongings? How could this have happened? Desperately calling her ex-husband Bram, Fi discovers he has disappeared. The more Fi uncovers, the more she realises their lives have been turned upside by a nightmare of their own making. A devastating crime has been committed, but who exactly is the guilty party? What has Bram hidden from her – and what has she hidden from him?I enjoyed reading Fiona's recollection of the story through a podcast and Bram's through a letter/word document interspersed with the events as they happened. This was a unique way of story telling and very creative that was fun to follow and obviously very skilfully put together. Although Fi was perhaps a little too forgiving and nice towards her husband, it was believable considering her love for the children and the concern for their welfare. I personally haven't heard of the 'birds nest' set up before but can see how it could work by putting the child/children's needs first. Property fraud, murder, adultery, secrets, lies, betrayal, double crossing - this book has it all and much more, twists and turns along the way that keep the story exciting and entertaining. Many a time I was caught out at the sudden revelations.The premise of the story is such a frightening scenario, especially with the fraudsters being so close to home and it really did have my stomach in a flutter of nerves thinking about it happening to me! I will definitely be reading more by this brilliant author again, as far as I'm concerned Louise has reached the dizzy heights of exceptional psychological suspense with professionalism, creative imagination and tremendous storytelling. I was spellbound to the very last page and quite upset when it ended but wow! What an ending! With a beautiful cover too, this book just oozes to be read and it should come as no surprise that I highly recommend "our house" to psychological and thriller readers young and old, it's tantalisingly good and not to be missed!5 stars
    more
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    I'm going to keep this one short and sweet, because I've found I don't have much to say that hasn't been said already. This wasn't a bad read; the cover is inviting, the premise is brilliant, and there was even a nice twist thrown in, so I did enjoy this overall. My main issue was that the middle portion of the story felt bogged down. It could just be that I was in a funk when I picked this up and needed something a little more fast paced for the moment, but I felt the narrative was repetitive a I'm going to keep this one short and sweet, because I've found I don't have much to say that hasn't been said already. This wasn't a bad read; the cover is inviting, the premise is brilliant, and there was even a nice twist thrown in, so I did enjoy this overall. My main issue was that the middle portion of the story felt bogged down. It could just be that I was in a funk when I picked this up and needed something a little more fast paced for the moment, but I felt the narrative was repetitive and that we were reading the same scenes again and again, which caused me to struggle for a bit. Overall, the majority has raved about this one and I think it's worth picking up to decide if you enjoy it for yourself. And by golly, that cover is quite stunning.*I received a review copy via the publisher.
    more
  • Pouting Always
    January 1, 1970
    Fiona Lawson comes home to discover that there are other people moving into her home, taken aback she confronts the people moving in. When they insist that they have bought the house and now legally own it Fiona tries to get in contact with her husband Bram. Though Bram and Fiona are separated they have been maintaining a custody arrangement that allows one of them to stay with the children in the house on different days through out the week while the other stays at an apartment. Fiona begins to Fiona Lawson comes home to discover that there are other people moving into her home, taken aback she confronts the people moving in. When they insist that they have bought the house and now legally own it Fiona tries to get in contact with her husband Bram. Though Bram and Fiona are separated they have been maintaining a custody arrangement that allows one of them to stay with the children in the house on different days through out the week while the other stays at an apartment. Fiona begins to realize what a mistake she has made in suggesting this arrangement as the day progresses and she is unable to reach Bram or locate their children. Fiona struggles to find a solution as she faces the impending loss of her home and family. Spoilers ahead blah blah. This was really good, like there was maybe one whole complaint I had about this one and that was it. This was definitely 4.5 stars. I was so engrossed through out, and honestly it really roped me in the way things escalated. Like it was just driving violations and the next thing you know Bram is committing fraud and laundering money. It also felt pretty believable and I have to say even though Bram had his faults I felt so bad for him through out. The way he just kept getting more boxed into the situation, I know he has created the situation, but it was still quite depressing especially knowing that in the end he ends up killing himself.The whole plot was just amazing the way it unfolded and the twists and everything managed to stay believable at the same time. I also appreciate the sad but hopeful note at the end. Now the one thing that peeved me, the fact that it gets revealed that Merle is the one Bram slept with because it didn't feel foreshadowed. I'm mostly confused because I thought at one point in the book the women from HR comes to talk to him and tell him she's pregnant but now I'm thinking it clearly must have been Merle, unless he knocked them both up, and I just misread it. That just threw the whole thing off kilter because I wasn't even wondering who it had been and I had attributed the pregnancy as being with the women he slept with after the separation. I just felt taken aback and it was probably all my fault I just missed any foreshadowing. Anyway definitely one of the best things I've read so far this year, unfortunately the list of things I have read is small this year because I have to go be responsible and all that bullshit. I'll be back when I finally read a few more books to write reviews but definitely recommend this one to anyone looking for their next read.
    more
  • Linda
    January 1, 1970
    "Property is organized robbery." (George Bernard Shaw)Fiona Lawson eyes a moving van parked in the street in front of her upscale home. Shockingly, she watches a sofa being carried into her own house with many additional pieces being transported like a strange furniture caravan. This can't be happening. She enters into her once familiar surroundings only to find strangers staring back at her. Arguing with these people serves up no results. She madly calls her husband, Bram, but his cellphone is "Property is organized robbery." (George Bernard Shaw)Fiona Lawson eyes a moving van parked in the street in front of her upscale home. Shockingly, she watches a sofa being carried into her own house with many additional pieces being transported like a strange furniture caravan. This can't be happening. She enters into her once familiar surroundings only to find strangers staring back at her. Arguing with these people serves up no results. She madly calls her husband, Bram, but his cellphone is no longer in service. And from here on out, Fi's life will no longer be in service as well.Louise Candlish creates a mindboggling storyline that follows the lives of Fi and Bram Lawson who have separated after his infidelity. They have strategized a temporary custody module for their two young sons called "bird's nest" in which each parent takes turns living in an outside apartment and rotating residence in the family home so the boys will have stability. But life in the outside world will certainly have its trappings. Fi will be clueless as to what Bram has been up to. And Bram will be caught up in the quicksand of his own making.I would gauge this one honestly at 3.5* and I kicked it up to 4* for its originality. The format of the story is told in alternating pages of Bram's Word Document responses and Fi's Story. It's recanted in the aftermath on a website called The Victim, a crime podcast, with viewers tweeting their theories. Prepare yourself for certain sections that go on a bit longer than necessary. We, as readers, seem to sit on a nest of eggs that linger and linger in the hatching stage. But it does pick up some speed towards the climatic ending with no good deed goes unpunished. And the Universe tends to straighten crooked paths all in good time. Well, now......I received a copy of Our House through Berkley Publishers for an honest review. I would like to thank them and Louise Candlish for the opportunity.
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    3.75 Stars (rounded up)Imagine walking down your street to find someone else moving into your home. The problem? You haven’t put it on the market! Yeah, that has just happened to Fiona Lawson. Fiona’s terrifying discovery gets even worse when she tries and fails to get a hold of her estranged husband, Bram, only to find that his phone has been shut off and that he’s MIA. What on earth is going on here? Is any of this for real? Getting to the bottom of it will make your head spin, it did mine! “O 3.75 Stars (rounded up)Imagine walking down your street to find someone else moving into your home. The problem? You haven’t put it on the market! Yeah, that has just happened to Fiona Lawson. Fiona’s terrifying discovery gets even worse when she tries and fails to get a hold of her estranged husband, Bram, only to find that his phone has been shut off and that he’s MIA. What on earth is going on here? Is any of this for real? Getting to the bottom of it will make your head spin, it did mine! “Our House” is told in alternating timelines and POV’s. Though I felt that it stretched the realm of believability, I was intrigued enough to keep reading and boy was there a payoff! The ending was like shazam! A buddy read with Kaceey, so happy we read this together!Thank you to Edelweiss, Penguin Publishing Group and Louise Candlish for an ARC of this novel in exchange for an honest review. Published on Edelweiss and Goodreads on 7.8.18.
    more
  • Holly B
    January 1, 1970
    Man, I wanted to love this book more. I was hooked after the first chapter, and I could feel the tension jumping off the page.I thought it was a brilliant premise. Fiona pulls up to her house to find a moving van parked out front and strangers moving in! Just the thought of that is enough to make my heart race. Fiona will tell her story through a crime podcast and her husband, Bram tells his side through a typed word document. I really did enjoy both characters.A wonderful, detailed plot and a g Man, I wanted to love this book more. I was hooked after the first chapter, and I could feel the tension jumping off the page.I thought it was a brilliant premise. Fiona pulls up to her house to find a moving van parked out front and strangers moving in! Just the thought of that is enough to make my heart race. Fiona will tell her story through a crime podcast and her husband, Bram tells his side through a typed word document. I really did enjoy both characters.A wonderful, detailed plot and a good twist was not enough to keep the story from drowning in a repetitive narrative and somewhat tedious pace. I did figure out the twist, but I enjoyed being shocked as soon as I figured it out (if that makes any sense)! I was left underwhelmed, but still a good twisty read. Thanks to Berkley/Netgalley for my ARC. Check out my blog for all my reviews https://dressedtoread.com/
    more
  • Dorie
    January 1, 1970
    I had so many mixed feelings about this book and they changed as the book went on. Here’s how I felt:I loved the premise, coming home to find someone else already moved into your house! Not very believable but I was good with it. Speaking with the people who are moving in and then eventually realizing it wasn’t just a mix up. No spoilers here.This is at least the second book that I’ve read where parts were written as though they are on a podcast, the other being “Are You Sleeping” by Kathleen Ba I had so many mixed feelings about this book and they changed as the book went on. Here’s how I felt:I loved the premise, coming home to find someone else already moved into your house! Not very believable but I was good with it. Speaking with the people who are moving in and then eventually realizing it wasn’t just a mix up. No spoilers here.This is at least the second book that I’ve read where parts were written as though they are on a podcast, the other being “Are You Sleeping” by Kathleen Barber and did end up enjoying that book. I think by adding a second “social media” situation with the emails was a little annoying. Add to that the fact that you are going back and forth in time. I got irritated with the book at times.The main characters Fi and Bram Lawson are quite unlikable. Fi seems to have a very superior, selfish attitude about most things and Bram is just a loser and a cheater. I didn’t feel much emotion for either of them. Fi’s love interest seem too good to be true and their relationship is so insulated, no one even saw them together, or did they? I didn’t find that either parent had their kids best interests at heart, even though they verbally said that they did. Their actions didn’t display that love and concern.There is another very sad, very important story going on at the same time. A mother and her young daughter are in an auto accident, they were blindsided and slammed into a tree. Throughout most of the book we don’t know how this will all turn out, one of our main characters is involved, but which one?What I liked about the book ----- the up and down, in and out, twisty, turning nature of the plot. It was so well thought out and the reader is so “set up” that I had no idea that the novel would end the way that it did. That bumped the book up to a solid 4, just the last 25 pages were pretty amazing. All together I would recommend this book, this is a very intelligent read with lots to try and figure out. Many of you may be younger, or just enjoy reading a book with a more up to date vibe to it and this might be just perfect for you!I received an ARC of this novel from the publisher through Netgalley.
    more
  • Carrie
    January 1, 1970
    Our House by Louise Candlish is a novel of domestic suspense that is told in a rather creative way. The point of view in the story switches back and forth between the couple in question, Fiona and Abraham or Fi and Bram as they are more commonly known. This is done by Fi telling her side as a podcast complete with comments from the peanut gallery as I liked to refer to them or better known as the random internet viewers and then Bram's side is told through a letter he had written. The book begin Our House by Louise Candlish is a novel of domestic suspense that is told in a rather creative way. The point of view in the story switches back and forth between the couple in question, Fiona and Abraham or Fi and Bram as they are more commonly known. This is done by Fi telling her side as a podcast complete with comments from the peanut gallery as I liked to refer to them or better known as the random internet viewers and then Bram's side is told through a letter he had written. The book begins with giving readers a huge glimpse at where the backstory will lead with Fi returning to the family home after a few days away to find a random family moving into her home. What couple have possibly led to such a huge mistake being made with these people thinking they had a right to be in her personal space??So then readers are taken back to be given a better look into Fi and Bram's marriage or separation really. You see, they had not been happily together for quite a while but only doing as Fi had suggested and maintaining the family home together for the sake of the children. In a new trend a separating couple alternates times in the family home with the kids instead of a flat out divorce and uprooting the children's lifestyle completely. This may have worked well for the couple if only Bram didn't have so many secrets.Our House had such an interesting premise and started off rather well in gaining my attention rather quickly. I will admit the style took a little getting used to but it is a rather creative way of doing a book that definitely brings it into this century and it was done rather well. However, at about 30% or so of the story this one really seemed to stall out yet again which unfortunately carries on for the biggest portion of the book making it drag quite a bit. Then flipping my feelings back around the ending to this one was actually quite a good wrap up so while the pacing was a big feeling of meh I still actually liked this one in the end. I received an advance copy from the publisher via Edelweiss.For more reviews please visit https://carriesbookreviews.com/
    more
  • Kendall
    January 1, 1970
    I REALLY wanted to love this one because let's just talk about THAT cover. OH my goodness... in love with it!What a fantastic premise to this story... Fiona arrives home and finds a moving truck and strangers moving into her home?! YIKES... talk about anxiety attack 101 lol.So, unfortunately this thriller fell extremely flat for me. UGH.... man I thought I was drowning half way through towards the end... I had to skim.... and skim... I was pretty bored and the story just lost me. I was hoping an I REALLY wanted to love this one because let's just talk about THAT cover. OH my goodness... in love with it!What a fantastic premise to this story... Fiona arrives home and finds a moving truck and strangers moving into her home?! YIKES... talk about anxiety attack 101 lol.So, unfortunately this thriller fell extremely flat for me. UGH.... man I thought I was drowning half way through towards the end... I had to skim.... and skim... I was pretty bored and the story just lost me. I was hoping and praying SOMETHING would grab me back into the story... well let me tell you I was waiting a long time. What I did enjoy? The story was well written but it just didn't have enough juice to the smoothie. I can definitely see why readers may enjoy this one but I really like my dark, mysterious, on edge kind of thrillers with disturbing guts and characters. 2.5 stars. Thank you so much to Elisha, Berkley, and Netgalley for the opportunity to read this in exchange for my honest review.Published to GR: 7/13/18Publication date: 8/7/18
    more
  • Mackey St
    January 1, 1970
    There is nothing that I love more than a good noir read and Our House, by Louise Candlish, is domestic noir at its finest.Fiona “Fi,” arrives home from a trip to find her house is being occupied by a new couple and her kids are missing! Immediately one would think the worst – home invasion, kidnapping…. but no, this couple claims to have purchased Fi’s home from Fi and her husband, Bram. After this foundation is laid, the book continues the story of Fi and Bram told retrospectively: Fi tells her There is nothing that I love more than a good noir read and Our House, by Louise Candlish, is domestic noir at its finest.Fiona “Fi,” arrives home from a trip to find her house is being occupied by a new couple and her kids are missing! Immediately one would think the worst – home invasion, kidnapping…. but no, this couple claims to have purchased Fi’s home from Fi and her husband, Bram. After this foundation is laid, the book continues the story of Fi and Bram told retrospectively: Fi tells her woeful tale via a podcast and Bram tells his version of events via a suicide note. This method of storytelling actually works and is an interesting way of presenting both sides of story.Fi and Bram’s lives are so convoluted that, at times, it made it difficult to connect with the characters. On the other hand, Candlish created a character, in Bram, who was so well developed that I came to despise the man. It has been a while since I have felt so strongly about a book character. In the end, there is a twist – not one for the sake of twisting – but something we, as readers, should have figured out from the clues but I suspect most, like me, do not and will not see this coming. And then there is the ENDING. The last paragraphs of the book were brilliance. Nope, never ever would I have suspected that ending but, again, it was perfection.Yes, I am being somewhat vague regarding the plot and storyline. There are too many reviews out there with subtle spoilers and this book is better read blindly with no preconceived ideas of the storyline. I am not going to be the reviewer that ruins the noir element for you.  Our House is one fabulous book for readers of noir fiction, especially if you like a darker domestic tale.
    more
  • Katie B
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 starsAbsolutely loved the concept for this one, a woman arrives at her house to find all of her stuff gone and a couple has moved in. The story goes back and forth between the wife who has no idea what is going on and her estranged husband who might be keeping a secret or two.While I liked the idea of the book it was not an "edge of my seat, stay up until 2 am to finish" type of read. It was definitely a solid read but I wish it could have been something more. After finishing the book it sti 3.5 starsAbsolutely loved the concept for this one, a woman arrives at her house to find all of her stuff gone and a couple has moved in. The story goes back and forth between the wife who has no idea what is going on and her estranged husband who might be keeping a secret or two.While I liked the idea of the book it was not an "edge of my seat, stay up until 2 am to finish" type of read. It was definitely a solid read but I wish it could have been something more. After finishing the book it still feels like the character of Bram, the husband, was not fully developed. The ending was the best part of the book although I might be in the minority with that opinion. Overall, it was an enjoyable read despite a few flaws.Thank you to First to Read for the opportunity to read an advance digital copy! I was under no obligation to post a review and all views expressed are my honest opinion.
    more
  • Carolyn
    January 1, 1970
    Fiona (Fi) Lawson thought the worst thing to happen to her was her husband Bram's infidelity and their subsequent separation. But that's not the worst he will do to her as she discovers when she arrives home to find strangers in the process of moving into her house, the one she and Bram bought and then lovingly renovated all the while feeling smug about the rise in property prices in their exclusive suburb. Now Bram has disappeared and Fi is unable to find him just when she needs him t help unra Fiona (Fi) Lawson thought the worst thing to happen to her was her husband Bram's infidelity and their subsequent separation. But that's not the worst he will do to her as she discovers when she arrives home to find strangers in the process of moving into her house, the one she and Bram bought and then lovingly renovated all the while feeling smug about the rise in property prices in their exclusive suburb. Now Bram has disappeared and Fi is unable to find him just when she needs him t help unravel this mystery.Fiona's story told through a popular podcast called 'The Victim', is interspersed with notes from a document written by Bram filling in the gaps of how this nightmare came about. Bram's actions are truly cringe-worthy as he digs himself a bigger and bigger hole from which he can't seem to escape. The story is tense and gripping and overshadowed with menace resulting in an excellent psychological suspense that draws the reader in. And Oh, that sting in the tail made me gasp!With thanks to Netgalley and the publisher Simon and Schuster for a digital copy of the book
    more
  • Esil
    January 1, 1970
    It takes getting to the very end of Our House to understand its cleverness, but it is clever. Very clever. And creepy. But without any violence. Our House tells the alternating stories of Bram and Fiona. They are separated, but continue to share the house in which they parent their two sons. Until Fiona comes home one day when it is her turn to live in the house, and new owners are moving in. What follows are Bram and Fiona’s alternating versions of how they got to that point, and how they both It takes getting to the very end of Our House to understand its cleverness, but it is clever. Very clever. And creepy. But without any violence. Our House tells the alternating stories of Bram and Fiona. They are separated, but continue to share the house in which they parent their two sons. Until Fiona comes home one day when it is her turn to live in the house, and new owners are moving in. What follows are Bram and Fiona’s alternating versions of how they got to that point, and how they both sought to fix things. There are a couple of good twists, especially the one at the very end. You have to be prepared for a fairly long read but I thought Candlish did a good job of pulling me along and surprising me. Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for an opportunity to read an advance copy.
    more
  • j e w e l s [Books Bejeweled]
    January 1, 1970
    TWO STARSI would never (in a million years) call this book a thriller. Is there a genre that crosses chick-lit with light domestic suspense? That's the word I'm searching for here. If you enjoy a light read with a little mystery OUR HOUSE is the book for you. Also, I would point you to any of the Mary Kubica or B.A. Paris novels. But for me? I'm always looking for dark, dangerous and truly suspenseful plot lines. I love layered characters with personality disorders. I love mood. Setting. Atmosph TWO STARSI would never (in a million years) call this book a thriller. Is there a genre that crosses chick-lit with light domestic suspense? That's the word I'm searching for here. If you enjoy a light read with a little mystery OUR HOUSE is the book for you. Also, I would point you to any of the Mary Kubica or B.A. Paris novels. But for me? I'm always looking for dark, dangerous and truly suspenseful plot lines. I love layered characters with personality disorders. I love mood. Setting. Atmosphere. I'm weird like that. So, I don't like this book. Louise Candlish is a gifted writer and she did draw me into the book immediately. And then, the story never goes anywhere! So much talking, talking, talking. BORING. BORING. BORING.Ugh. Sorry to report this. The cover is beautiful and Candlish has many fans already. I realize my opinions are on the jaded side and I accept this book is not for me. It might be perfect for you, so don't pay attention to my ramblings....😉Many thanks to NetGalley, the author and Berkley Publishing for my very pretty galley. The book hits 🇺🇸 shelves on August 7, 2018. All opinions are obviously my own.
    more
  • Pauline
    January 1, 1970
    Our house by Louise Candlish was a dark disturbing story about secrets, lies, deception and fraud. Fi and her husband Bram are separated and have joint custody of their two young boys. After a trip away Fi comes home to see people moving into her house. Fi confronts these people and has been told that they are the new owners. Fi's nightmare is just beginning as she tries to track down Bram and find out what has happen to all their belongings. This thriller has quite a few twist and turns and kee Our house by Louise Candlish was a dark disturbing story about secrets, lies, deception and fraud. Fi and her husband Bram are separated and have joint custody of their two young boys. After a trip away Fi comes home to see people moving into her house. Fi confronts these people and has been told that they are the new owners. Fi's nightmare is just beginning as she tries to track down Bram and find out what has happen to all their belongings. This thriller has quite a few twist and turns and keeps you reading to find out what's going to happen next. I would like to thank NetGalley and Simon and Schuster UK Fiction for my e-copy in exchange for an honestly review. I also won a copy of this book in a Goodreads Giveaway.
    more
  • Ann Marie (Lit·Wit·Wine·Dine)
    January 1, 1970
    You can read this and all of my reviews at Lit·Wit·Wine·Dine.If you’ve been monitoring my tweets (and why wouldn’t you be?) you’ve seen that I started fangirling over Our House the moment I started it. I don’t really do the fangirl gushing thing very well or very often but I’ve found some difficulty in restraining myself with this book. I will do my best to maintain some level of coherency in an effort to convey to you, as best I can, why I loved it.The first thing that stood out is that we hear You can read this and all of my reviews at Lit·Wit·Wine·Dine.If you’ve been monitoring my tweets (and why wouldn’t you be?) you’ve seen that I started fangirling over Our House the moment I started it. I don’t really do the fangirl gushing thing very well or very often but I’ve found some difficulty in restraining myself with this book. I will do my best to maintain some level of coherency in an effort to convey to you, as best I can, why I loved it.The first thing that stood out is that we hear most of Fi’s side of the story via a crime podcast she has done called The Victim. It gave the whole book a bit of a modern epistolary-twisty feel.“Of course, once you hear my story you’ll think I have no one to blame but myself—just like the audience will. I know how it works. They’ll all be on Twitter saying how clueless I am. And I get it. I listened to the whole of season one and I did exactly that myself. There’s a thin line between being a victim and an idiot.”As far as the plot goes, it was absolutely engrossing. I almost choked when I read a comment from the police: “This could have happened to anyone, Mrs. Lawson.” I thought yeah, right, almost anyone could come home to find all of their belongings moved out and a new family moving in. But I’ll be damned. It really could happen. Learning how it could happen was fascinating. But it didn’t stop there. In fact, that was only the beginning.I don’t often love a book if I’m not particularly attached to any of the characters but Our House was an exception. Perhaps because they were simply so convincing. Louise Candlish did an excellent job of balancing them out. There were moments I hated myself, realizing I was starting to feel sympathy for the wrong ones…Right up until the ending, I was of the opinion that this was a page-turning, solid 4-4.5 star read. The ending made it a no-brainer 5 star read. I did not see it coming. At all. I can’t recall the last time I was so taken aback at the very last second.When I read the blurb for Our House I was intrigued but wasn’t sure what to expect. It turned out to be a far smarter, more sophisticated read than I ever expected. This is the first book I’ve read by Louise Candlish but it certainly won’t be the last.Do visit the Our House website where you can hear a bit of Fi’s podcast. It convinced me that this would be an excellent audiobook as well.Many thanks to Berkley Publishers for providing me with a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Sherri Thacker
    January 1, 1970
    This is definite 5 stars but I need to get my thoughts together on what just happened at the end!!! Holy cow!!!!! UPDATE - This book was just the best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Everyone else at Goodreads has said what I was going to say and there really isn't anything else to add so I will leave it at that! It's unlike anything I have read before. From the beginning of the book, to the podcasts (with live tweets) and emails, to the ending. Its a great book and I highly recommend it to all!!!!!!!!!!!! This is definite 5 stars but I need to get my thoughts together on what just happened at the end!!! Holy cow!!!!! UPDATE - This book was just the best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Everyone else at Goodreads has said what I was going to say and there really isn't anything else to add so I will leave it at that! It's unlike anything I have read before. From the beginning of the book, to the podcasts (with live tweets) and emails, to the ending. Its a great book and I highly recommend it to all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    more
  • Abby (Crime by the Book)
    January 1, 1970
    4.5/5 stars for this fresh, addictive suspense novel! OUR HOUSE was exactly what I hoped it would be: an inventive take on domestic suspense with creative storytelling techniques and an all-around binge-worthy plot. Loved it, and highly recommend it for readers looking for a fun “popcorn read” this summer! Find my full review here: http://crimebythebook.com/blog/2018/6...
    more
  • Mandy
    January 1, 1970
    Seriously I couldn’t hardly put this book down and thank you to Penguin Random House for the ARC. Fiona Lawson returns home from a romantic weekend with her boyfriend to find people moving into her house. Once she enters and begins to discuss the situation she can hardly understand or comprehend what is happening or why.Fiona’s soon to be ex, Bram is missing and along with it the mystery of the house. Fiona is certain he has been kidnapped or murdered since no one can locate him. Meanwhile, anot Seriously I couldn’t hardly put this book down and thank you to Penguin Random House for the ARC. Fiona Lawson returns home from a romantic weekend with her boyfriend to find people moving into her house. Once she enters and begins to discuss the situation she can hardly understand or comprehend what is happening or why.Fiona’s soon to be ex, Bram is missing and along with it the mystery of the house. Fiona is certain he has been kidnapped or murdered since no one can locate him. Meanwhile, another mystery is taking place. A mother and little girl were run off the road by a driver and now in critical care. How does this tie in with the mysterious house sale or Fi and Bram? On top of it Fi speaks out as a victim on a podcast to shed some light to the readers as to what exactly happened and why and how this perfect storm of events between Bram and her and other instances brought her to this point.I loved the set up of the book.. back and forth and past and present and the ending! Holy pink popsicles! Didn’t see that coming and almost want to see a sequel to see what happens here! When this book comes out it is worth your time to read it. It was spine tingling in some aspects and there were parts I was reading so fast to get to the end that I had to reread them! Stayed up super late to finish but worth it even if I couldn’t go to sleep after! Seriously! That freaking ending was insane!!!!!!
    more
  • Tammie
    January 1, 1970
    Our House was a solid 4 star book for me. A unique story that centers around Fi and her estranged husband Bram. Fi comes home one day to find people moving into her beautiful home- being told that they bought it legally for 2 million dollars. Bram is missing, leaving Fi to figure out what exactly is going on. No spoilers here but this book is chock-full of surprises, including deceit and fraud. Highly recommend to readers that enjoy mystery thrillers.
    more
  • BIBLIOMANIAC MJ
    January 1, 1970
    You haven't sold your house... So why on earth has another family moved in? Surely your soon to be ex husband with whom you share the house and co-parent your two children using a 'birds-nest' arrangement might know what is going on, if only you could get a hold of him! Where is he and where has he taken your children?This is the predicament Fiona finds herself in, as we get to read from her perspective via a podcast for The Victim, where women share their stories of being hurt and betrayed and You haven't sold your house... So why on earth has another family moved in? Surely your soon to be ex husband with whom you share the house and co-parent your two children using a 'birds-nest' arrangement might know what is going on, if only you could get a hold of him! Where is he and where has he taken your children?This is the predicament Fiona finds herself in, as we get to read from her perspective via a podcast for The Victim, where women share their stories of being hurt and betrayed and listeners get to comment. Fi's husband Bram, tells us the details Fi doesn't know via a letter where he confesses all that has been tormenting him and of the great lengths he has gone to as a consequence of his poor judgment. The majority of the book focuses on the unfolding of events over the past six months, providing the reader with the full picture, with some events I had seen coming whilst other twists and turns shocking me to the point that I was compelled into needing to know the why's and the how's of it all. And just as I thought I had it all figured out, a brilliantly clever plot twist sucker punched me right in the stomach taking my breath away with its cherry on top twist.With exceptionally well developed characters that brought this story to life, this unique, modern and fresh offering to the domestic noir genre had me thoroughly enjoying my first read by Louise Candlish! I eagerly look forward to reading more of her work. Many thanks to Netgalley, Simon and Schuster and the author for the opportunity of reading an ARC in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
    more
  • Sue
    January 1, 1970
    OUR HOUSE by bestselling author, Louise Candlish, acclaimed author of eleven previous novels, including THE SWIMMING POOL and THE SUDDEN DEPARTURE OF THE FRASERS is an outstanding psychological thriller.“a disturbing and addictive novel of domestic suspense where secrets kept hidden from spouses cause shocking surprises that hit home...”When Fiona Lawson comes home to find strangers moving into her house, she's sure there's been a mistake. She and her estranged husband, Bram, have a modern co-pa OUR HOUSE by bestselling author, Louise Candlish, acclaimed author of eleven previous novels, including THE SWIMMING POOL and THE SUDDEN DEPARTURE OF THE FRASERS is an outstanding psychological thriller.“a disturbing and addictive novel of domestic suspense where secrets kept hidden from spouses cause shocking surprises that hit home...”When Fiona Lawson comes home to find strangers moving into her house, she's sure there's been a mistake. She and her estranged husband, Bram, have a modern co-parenting arrangement: bird's nest custody, where each parent spends a few nights a week with their two sons at the prized family home to maintain stability for their children. But the system built to protect their family ends up putting them in terrible jeopardy. In a domino effect of crimes and misdemeanors, the nest comes tumbling down.Lucy and David Vaughan tell Fiona that they bought the house, and Fiona’s stuff was moved out yesterday. The house had been stripped of all of Fiona’s belongs. What is going on? This must be a joke! And Fiona tells Lucy that it’s not possible for you to have bought a house that was never for sale.When Fiona reaches out desperately to her ex-husband, she discovered that Bram has disappeared and so have Fiona's children. What is going on and who is involved in this crime? What has Bram hidden from her? Her life is blowing up in front of her, for which she has no control. Fiona will discover the lies her husband was spinning and how little they truly knew each other. The story is told via a crime podcast, the website of The Victim, an episode that tells the true story of a crime in the words of the victim, in this case, Fiona and Bram’s word document outlining his recollection of events. The narrative switches back and forth between Fiona and Bram and the history that led up to this dilemma. I was totally gripped by this story. And you know the crazy thing is…This could happen to anyone!This novel has it all, an exciting plot covering topics that range from lies, secrets betrayal, property fraud, deceit, adultery, with twists around every corner, and vivid characters that make it believable. I can’t wait to read more from this author, as her writing is outstanding! What a storyteller! And the ending was WOW! I highly recommend "Our House" to psychological and thriller readers. It is a real gem.Many thanks to Berkley Publishing Group via NetGalley for my e-copy. I also won a copy of this book in a Goodreads Giveaway.
    more
  • Cindy Burnett
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsOur House is a standout in the heavily saturated genre of domestic suspense. The story was captivating and contained some fun, unexpected twists and turns. The story starts off strong and doesn’t slow down until the very last page. The ending deserves a special mention – it was fabulous and bumped my rating up to 4.5 stars.My biggest quibble with this genre is that to craft a story that works most of the characters involved are highly unlikable or overly gullible because sane, stable pe 4.5 starsOur House is a standout in the heavily saturated genre of domestic suspense. The story was captivating and contained some fun, unexpected twists and turns. The story starts off strong and doesn’t slow down until the very last page. The ending deserves a special mention – it was fabulous and bumped my rating up to 4.5 stars.My biggest quibble with this genre is that to craft a story that works most of the characters involved are highly unlikable or overly gullible because sane, stable people don’t generally make the necessary questionable or crazy decisions/choices. For the most part, Candlish avoids this and has created characters that are believable, and I was able to enjoy the story without constantly thinking that there is no way that a certain action or event would happen in real life. I highly recommend Our House. It is a well-written and highly-entertaining read. I received this book to read and review; all opinions are my own.
    more
  • Jayme
    January 1, 1970
    This was a CLEVER novel of domestic suspense!! Bram has cheated on Fiona. AGAIN. She cannot forgive him a second time, but she does want stability for her two young sons, so she proposes a bird’s nest custody agreement, where the boys stay in the family home, while Fiona and Bram, take turns living there with them. It seems to be working until Fiona arrives at the home one day, and sees another family moving in. How could this be happening? And, where are Bram and the boys?? The book opens on Fr This was a CLEVER novel of domestic suspense!! Bram has cheated on Fiona. AGAIN. She cannot forgive him a second time, but she does want stability for her two young sons, so she proposes a bird’s nest custody agreement, where the boys stay in the family home, while Fiona and Bram, take turns living there with them. It seems to be working until Fiona arrives at the home one day, and sees another family moving in. How could this be happening? And, where are Bram and the boys?? The book opens on Friday the 13th, of January, 2017 with Fiona confronting the unsuspecting new owners. The reader also learns in chapter one, that Bram is in Geneva, but we do not yet know why. Chapter Two jumps to March, 2017. Fiona has decided to share her story on the acclaimed website and crime podcast The Victim. “Brand-new episode “Fi’s story” is available now” “Don’t forget to tweet your theories as you listen using #VictimFi. (Tweets follow each episode) The book continues as if you are listening to each installment>00:00:00Bram’s version of events -excerpted from a Word document e-mailed from Lyon, France, March 2017-follows each Podcast.This slow burn story continues, alternating from Friday 13th, to the Podcast with tweets, to the Word document until all is revealed in the SHOCKING conclusion! All I can say is “Best Laid Plans”You will know what I mean after you read this. And, we can talk then!! I would like to thank Goodreads and Penguin Random House for the ARC that I won in a Goodreads giveaway! This book will be available on August 7th, 2018 so you can pre-order it now!
    more
  • Joanne Robertson
    January 1, 1970
    I’m a big fan of Louise Candlish! Her intricately detailed and well written family dramas are always breathtakingly dark and full of relatable domestic dilemmas. As soon as I read the blurb for this one I knew that I HAD TO READ IT! It’s such a fascinating and intriguing idea for a novel that one day you come home to find someone new moving into your house but you don’t know them and you certainly haven’t sold it to them!Our House has one of the most addictive starts I’ve read for ages. I was de I’m a big fan of Louise Candlish! Her intricately detailed and well written family dramas are always breathtakingly dark and full of relatable domestic dilemmas. As soon as I read the blurb for this one I knew that I HAD TO READ IT! It’s such a fascinating and intriguing idea for a novel that one day you come home to find someone new moving into your house but you don’t know them and you certainly haven’t sold it to them!Our House has one of the most addictive starts I’ve read for ages. I was desperate to know what had happened for Fi Lawson to have lost her house! Who is the woman in the house saying that her and her husband have just completed on their new home? They have moved all their furniture in so where are Fi’s belongings? But more importantly, where are her husband and children? Her fear was palpable as she started to panic, looking for possible reasons to explain the horrifying predicament she has found herself in. Has she lost her beautiful home forever?Having worked for a number of years as an estate agent I got ahead of myself trying to work out the possibilities here. Was it an illegal sale? How could that possibly work with all the checks that have to be made to prevent money laundering etc. Is Fi confused? She’s been having a difficult time in her marriage but they have both been handling things like the adults that they are. I was spinning in circles trying to work out the truth as the plot twisted and turned its way towards its dramatic conclusion.To begin with though I did find the way the plot unraveled a little confusing but as it progressed I got used to the way it jumped around and settled into the storyline. There is the discovery of the new couple in Fi and Brams home but there are also two other very different and very distinctive styles of narrative as both Fi and her husband Bram tell their side of the story. The use of social media gave Our House a contemporary vibe and overall the whole book felt incredibly current and relevant.If you like dark domestic dramas with a sting in the tail then you’re going to love this one!
    more
  • Laura
    January 1, 1970
    I had high expectations for this novel from the start and was hoping it would live up to them... and I needn't have worried because I hugely enjoyed this novel!Our House is actually less 'thriller' than I thought it would be, but this wasn't a negative; it concentrated more on excellent character development and interactions, plus it added in some great twists to keep things interesting! There wasn't actually a huge amount of mystery about the plot because you find out a significant amount from I had high expectations for this novel from the start and was hoping it would live up to them... and I needn't have worried because I hugely enjoyed this novel!Our House is actually less 'thriller' than I thought it would be, but this wasn't a negative; it concentrated more on excellent character development and interactions, plus it added in some great twists to keep things interesting! There wasn't actually a huge amount of mystery about the plot because you find out a significant amount from fairly near the start, but as the novel continues you realise that there's more and more which isn't quite what it seems...! It's definitely a fantastic example of the hugely popular 'Domestic Noir' genre.I'm not going to rehash the synopsis or the plot here, but I will say that the way the book is structured - partly showing Fi's experience, partly through excerpts of the real-life 'victim' podcast she is appearing on, and partly through excerpts from a word document her ex-husband is writing (but to whom, and why?) means the reader, at times, knows more than Fi does as we've heard directly from Bram, giving us an interesting edge over Fi herself, who is supposed to be recounting the story.  I enjoyed trying to work out exactly what had happened with her ex-husband, and how everything got to the state it's in when we first join Fi, on Friday 13 January 2017.Just when you think it's figured out, something else surprises you, and this made for riveting reading. I've really enjoyed other novels by Louise Candlish and this is no exception. Beautifully crafted - as the tension slowly builds, Our House will grab you tightly in its grip and not let you go until you've finished the last page!*Many thanks to Simon & Schuster for providing a copy of this novel on which I chose to write an honest and unbiased review. *
    more
  • Linda Strong
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 StarsFiona Lawson has found her husband, Bram, cheating ... again. With two small children in the home who idolize their Daddy, she and Bram come up with a way to separate without upsetting the kids. The kids will stay in their beautiful home ... Fiona will live there during the week and Bram will live there on the weekends.She goes to the house to take over the care of the kids and as she draws nearer, she sees a large moving van. Oh, she thinks, the house next door has been sold. But .. No 4.5 StarsFiona Lawson has found her husband, Bram, cheating ... again. With two small children in the home who idolize their Daddy, she and Bram come up with a way to separate without upsetting the kids. The kids will stay in their beautiful home ... Fiona will live there during the week and Bram will live there on the weekends.She goes to the house to take over the care of the kids and as she draws nearer, she sees a large moving van. Oh, she thinks, the house next door has been sold. But .. No ... the moving van is in HER driveway. Someone is moving into HER house ... and she hasn't sold it.Where is Bram? Where are the kids? Where are all their furniture, clothes? And who are these people? And how did these people take over her home?As events spiral well beyond her control, Fiona will discover just how many lies her husband was weaving and how little they truly knew each other. But Bram's not the only one with things to hide, and some secrets are best kept to oneself.This is a story of how human disaster works. It begins by trying to conceal a mistake and ends up being the perpetrator of a hundred further mistakes.The story is told in a unique way. Fiona and Bram each tell their story. She delivers her side by podcast.... with tweets by listeners expressing their opinions. Bram tells his story via an emailed Word Document. The tale switches from today to the events that led up to today. This is brilliantly written with twists and turns that will stun your senses. The main characters are finely drawn ... it's easy to see how their marriage died. Secrets are never a good thing between a married couple. There is also a surprise here and there that I didn't see coming.The only drawback was the ending ... it was rather abrupt and it didn't seem finished. Other than that, a very good read.Many thanks to the author / Berkley Publishing Group / Netgalley for the advanced digital copy of this Domestic Suspense. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
    more
  • Monica
    January 1, 1970
    Fantastic story of betrayal and suspense! The was a solid 5 ⭐book for me until the ending. Now the ending wasn’t bad, just very inconclusive! I realize some readers enjoy contemplating and then completing the story line themselves and that’s fine. But I was really invested in these characters and needed to know for certain the outcome. Of course any book that invokes such strong feelings is a winner!I strongly recommend Our House to all mystery and thriller lovers! Special thanks to NetGalley fo Fantastic story of betrayal and suspense! The was a solid 5 ⭐️book for me until the ending. Now the ending wasn’t bad, just very inconclusive! I realize some readers enjoy contemplating and then completing the story line themselves and that’s fine. But I was really invested in these characters and needed to know for certain the outcome. Of course any book that invokes such strong feelings is a winner!I strongly recommend Our House to all mystery and thriller lovers! Special thanks to NetGalley for an advanced reader’s copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Liz Barnsley
    January 1, 1970
    I adore the way Louise Candlish writes. She plots superbly with beautifully done twists of character and events and is one of the Queen's of domestic noir as far as I am concerned.Our House was slightly less of a hit for me than her previous novels have been hence the slightly lower personal rating but that shouldn't detract from the pure talent at work her - it is a comparative thing really - I just lost the usual believable edge that I normally have when it came to Bram's actions particularly I adore the way Louise Candlish writes. She plots superbly with beautifully done twists of character and events and is one of the Queen's of domestic noir as far as I am concerned.Our House was slightly less of a hit for me than her previous novels have been hence the slightly lower personal rating but that shouldn't detract from the pure talent at work her - it is a comparative thing really - I just lost the usual believable edge that I normally have when it came to Bram's actions particularly and in the fact that a house could change hands quite so easily.Having said that this is gripping gripping stuff here -Fi comes home to find strangers moving into her house. What follows is the history of her marriage and how it has ended up here. You'll be compelled ever onwards to find out what the heck is going on and for fans of twisty tales this hits a lot of sweet spots.
    more
Write a review