Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances
Escape to Devon for blustery walks along the beach, hot chocolate with extra marshmallows and proof that miracles really do happen, especially at Christmas. A year after she separated from her husband, Gianni, on Christmas Day, Chloe’s heart is still in pieces as she unpacks the decorations for her first ever festive holiday alone. That is, until the phone rings… It seems Gianni’s new seaside restaurant is in trouble and Chloe must go to Appledore to save the business – and him. Equally famous for his experimental culinary extravaganzas and his explosive temper, Gianni has been really stirring up a sensation with the locals – and not in a good way! As pans fly and the temperature in the kitchen rises, Chloe’s calming influence and magic touch might just get critics back on side in time to save the restaurant from sinking like a sad soufflé. But will it be enough to save their marriage? Chloe came to Appledore in search of her Christmas sparkle, but when the snow clears, will she finally find the way back to her husband’s heart? A laugh-out-loud festive treat that will give you the tingle of freshly-hung tinsel. Perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan, Abby Clements and Debbie Johnson. What readers are saying about Sue Watson: ‘I can't express how satisfying and enjoyable I found every second of this wonderfully entertaining story.’ Rachel’s Random Reads, 5 stars ‘This is such a truly wonderful book. Thank you Sue Watson for creating such larger than life characters who never fail to give us hope whilst giving us an utterly enjoyable reading experience.’ By The Letter Book Reviews, 5 stars ‘If you're looking for a 'getaway' read, you can never go wrong with Sue Watson! Another win!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars ‘After having read and thoroughly enjoyed Ella's Ice Cream Summer recently, I just knew that I had to read the second instalment. Overall it was a truly great inspirational read, really makes you think about certain things. Thoroughly enjoyable and highly recommended.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars ‘This was a fantastic read, one that kept a huge smile on my face and had me laughing right the way through it… Overall this was a super summer read one I think a lot of people can relate too and be inspired by the character Dani.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars ‘Fun, summer feel-good book! Many funny, laugh out loud moments as well as some more sober ones. Great beach read!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 4 stars ‘This book came at the perfect time for me. It made me a little emotional, it made me smile, it made me laugh and if offered me the escape I needed. I'm looking forward to the second book in this series!’ Novel Deelights ‘I really enjoyed reading this book! This beautifully told story really explored families and their relationships in a feel-good way. A delicious book, a must read.

Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances Details

TitleSnowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseOct 12th, 2017
PublisherBookouture
Rating
GenreHoliday, Christmas, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Romance

Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances Review

  • Deanne Patterson
    January 1, 1970
    Such a feel good book. This one genuinely made me happy! Don't take for granted the ones you love, tell them every day how wonderful they are . Don't just assume they know and really make time for your loved one's . Second chances don't always come around!Pub Date 12 Oct 2017 Thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for a review copy in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Jules
    January 1, 1970
    This is the first book I’ve read by this author. I’ve seen a few of her other books, but as someone who can’t eat wheat, gluten or cow's milk (amongst other things), the cake and ice cream themed titles torment rather than tempt me. However, I’m obsessed with Christmas books and films, so I just had to give Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances a go. Having enjoyed this book, I’ve now added Snow Angels, Secrets and Christmas Cake to my wish list.This story is based in Devon and focuses on a This is the first book I’ve read by this author. I’ve seen a few of her other books, but as someone who can’t eat wheat, gluten or cow's milk (amongst other things), the cake and ice cream themed titles torment rather than tempt me. However, I’m obsessed with Christmas books and films, so I just had to give Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances a go. Having enjoyed this book, I’ve now added Snow Angels, Secrets and Christmas Cake to my wish list.This story is based in Devon and focuses on a married couple who are recently separated, but thrown back together for work. Chloe is a strong and independent professional woman and Gianni is a talented, quirky and very grumpy chef. Will they be able to put their personal issues aside and stay professional? How will the tensions and hurt about the past impact on them now?Gianni is so rude and annoying, although the way he speaks did make me giggle a few times. I had no idea why Chloe put up with his behaviour. She clearly had more patience than me. Mind you, I did eventually warm to him very slightly nearer the end of the story.This is both a fun and satisfying story. I love reading stories about people starting out in a new community and seeing if they are able to integrate with the locals and make a success of things. I loved the character of Sue, who doesn’t have much luck with men, and seventy nine year old Roberta and her entertaining interactions with celebrities on Twitter.I actually coped with the mention of food in this story too, phew! I wasn’t even tempted by the Christmas puddings, as they had garlic added to them. Yuck! Considering last week’s encounter with some garlic and onion resulting in my insides waging war against each other for a day and attempting to kill me off in the process, I’m more than happy to leave the garlic Christmas puddings for someone else. The one thing on Gianni’s menu I could have eaten would have been the chicken feet. Ooh, yummy chicken feet! Bleurgh! I’m not even going to go there. *Goes off to nibble on a rice cake…*
    more
  • Anniek
    January 1, 1970
    Chloe always loved Christmas. She and her husband Gianni used to spend these days together, no matter how busy their individual schedules would be. The first time they skipped their unspoken agreement was the beginning of the end of their relationship. Chloe and Gianni drifted apart and were no longer as connected as they once were. A year ago Chloe had enough. She felt neglected and trying to talk to Gianni didn't get her anywhere. She packed her bags and left her husband, their beautiful white Chloe always loved Christmas. She and her husband Gianni used to spend these days together, no matter how busy their individual schedules would be. The first time they skipped their unspoken agreement was the beginning of the end of their relationship. Chloe and Gianni drifted apart and were no longer as connected as they once were. A year ago Chloe had enough. She felt neglected and trying to talk to Gianni didn't get her anywhere. She packed her bags and left her husband, their beautiful white cat and her lovely home. Chloe has been working hard ever since and she has decided to take time off for the holidays. An unexpected phone call makes her reconsider, since it's Gianni who needs her badly. Will Chloe go to Appledore to rescue her estranged husband and help his restaurant succeed?Chloe and Gianni met at Harrods. Gianni always had a bad temper and it turned out that Chloe was one of the few people who could work with him. Gianni is a proud Italian man and he wants things to go his way. Chloe has always managed to stand up to him and is feisty in her own calming way. Because of how he is as a person Gianni often offends people, but he makes them happy with his food, he's a brilliant chef. Gianni just needs guidance in how to deal with people. Chloe knows how to do just that, which is also why she is a very successful events manager. I loved to read about how she could turn the most difficult situations around. Gianni has a sweet side too and I liked him the most during those times. He cares deeply for Chloe and he shows her that in his own special way. I couldn't wait to find out if the festive sparkles of Christmas would be enough to show them the path to a happy marriage once more.Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances is a beautiful love story about the magic of Christmas and true love. Chloe and Gianni have been through so much together and I was hoping for them to find that special love again. It isn't easy to keep your mind on the important things when you're going through a tough time and Chloe and Gianni both dealt with their struggles in different ways. Sue Watson combines the problems they faced with a fabulous Christmas story. I love to read stories about Christmas, since this is my favorite holiday. Gianni's native language isn't English and because of that he often doesn't pronounce his words in the correct way. The words he uses instead made me laugh out loud, since I could easily picture the misunderstandings that would come from this. Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances is a wonderful book filled with mouthwatering descriptions of food and heartwarming love.
    more
  • Amy
    January 1, 1970
    This is the third book in a series, I absolutely adored the first two, Ella’s Ice Cream Summer and Curves, Kisses and Chocolate Ice Cream and it felt so good to be back in Appledore! You definitely can read each book as a standalone, however there are reoccurring characters that are so fantastically funny you really should read each book. This is told solely from Chloe’s point of view and what a sweetheart she was. It’s been a year since her marriage broke up and she’s lonely and heartbroken but This is the third book in a series, I absolutely adored the first two, Ella’s Ice Cream Summer and Curves, Kisses and Chocolate Ice Cream and it felt so good to be back in Appledore! You definitely can read each book as a standalone, however there are reoccurring characters that are so fantastically funny you really should read each book. This is told solely from Chloe’s point of view and what a sweetheart she was. It’s been a year since her marriage broke up and she’s lonely and heartbroken but she’s really trying to move on. As she slowly revealed parts of her history with Gianni you find out they’ve dealt with some heartbreaking issues, I truly felt for her. While this still had Watson’s signature brand of wickedly fun humor there was a more melancholy feel to it, it was more emotional than her other books. I loved that Chloe crossed paths with some of my old favorites, especially Sue who was back with her inappropriately hilarious advice and god awful malapropisms. Gianni is from Italy and the way he mangled certain common expressions had me rolling with laughter. He’s very sweary and ass is one of his favorite words but he uses it in unusual ways, clown ass, holy ass for a few examples hahaha. He always pronounces beach like bitch leading to some very funny encounters.This is full of Christmas magic and sparkly moments, all about second chances and starting fresh. Watson’s books never fail to leave me with a smile on my face and are the best way to spend a delightful afternoon. I do hope this isn’t the end of the series, I’ve come to love and adore Appledore and it’s residents.All of my reviews can be found on www.novelgossip.com
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    In the run up to Christmas I always get excited waiting for certain authors books to come out as I know they will always get me in the festive mood. Sue Watson is one of my favourite authors so to be honest she could bring a Christmas themed book out any time of the year and I would happily snuggle up in a chair and switch off to the outside world and lose myself into her novel.There is a lot of humour in this book which is brought by Gianni. He is Italian and even though he has lived in England In the run up to Christmas I always get excited waiting for certain authors books to come out as I know they will always get me in the festive mood. Sue Watson is one of my favourite authors so to be honest she could bring a Christmas themed book out any time of the year and I would happily snuggle up in a chair and switch off to the outside world and lose myself into her novel.There is a lot of humour in this book which is brought by Gianni. He is Italian and even though he has lived in England for some considerable time, his accent and knowledge of the English language makes for some fabulously funny moments. He actually comes across as quite a bit of a dragon and I have to admit if I were to meet him in person, he would probably have me in tears in no time. Think of an Italian Gordon Ramsay and you won’t be far wrong. Not in looks though I should say, though I do find myself quite attracted to both but enough about me.Chloe is lovely and as with all the leading ladies in the authors novels, I took to her straight away. I loved finding out the history between both characters and why their marriage broke down as I wanted to know everything. There are some very bitter sweet parts in their past which make for some emotional reading. Being a newly fledged cat lover, my heart especially melted at the mention of Snowflake the cat.The story certainly raises some questions to do with relationships and as with all the authors books, there are some serious parts to the story line. I think any one who has gone through what Chloe has will find her easy to relate to and the author does it all in a wonderful way that she makes it a very much light hearted read, which with the times that we currently live in, it is very much welcomed.Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances is a heart melting and laugh out loud read that you do not want to miss. A story that will have you hooked from start to end whilst gearing you up to that wonderful festive feeling you only usually get around Christmas time. Go on, get snuggled up in that comfy chair with a big mug of hot chocolate and a copy of this book. You won’t regret it, I promise.My thanks to Bookouture and Netgalley for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.
    more
  • Rachel Gilbey
    January 1, 1970
    I'm impressed this has all the fun of Sue Watson book, but it also has a lot of heart to it, and its a lovely story of second chances, and the book predominately focuses on two characters, from one point of view, which means you get to know Chloe and Gianni incredibly well. It is the story of Christmases' past and present, for Chloe and her soon to be ex-husband, with a moveable timeline taking in how they got together, the early years they had as a couple, all manner of highs and lows in their I'm impressed this has all the fun of Sue Watson book, but it also has a lot of heart to it, and its a lovely story of second chances, and the book predominately focuses on two characters, from one point of view, which means you get to know Chloe and Gianni incredibly well. It is the story of Christmases' past and present, for Chloe and her soon to be ex-husband, with a moveable timeline taking in how they got together, the early years they had as a couple, all manner of highs and lows in their lives bringing us up to date with the previous Christmas where they separated, and now onto this year. Gianni is fantastic, he is an explosive Italian Chef with a god complex, who is magnificently good at alienating staff, customers, critics and anyone else that gets in his way. He it trying to set up a new restaurant in Appledore, Devon and is going about it the wrong way. Cue Chloe being brought in to try and help out her husband's ailing business. When I say Gianni has a god complex I mean his previous restaurant had no name, as he expected people to just know they wanted to come because he was the chef, and this new one he is wanting there to be no menu and he reckons people will eat what he tells them to! Add in some rather creative language especially when swearing (no real swear words as such), and most of what he says could be reminiscent of Gordon Ramsey with an Italian accent! I felt incredibly sorry for Chloe throughout the book, she has not had the easiest of times being married to Gianni, but yet she doesn't want to see him fail either. It is Chloe that tries to get the locals on side starting in a rather familiar ice-cream shop. For this is the third book set in Appledore and like the others can be read completely as a standalone, especially as the main focus of this book is Italian food and not Ice-cream! Speaking of food, yet another book by Sue Watson that has had my stomach rumbling throughout, apart from when offal is mentioned! I love the various descriptions of both Gianni's Italian cooking roots, and also his rather more modern pretentious cooking style! I am really hoping this isn't the last book in Appledore, as I love the setting, and this particular book was superb. It was a fabulous mix of food, Christmas, Italian temperament, second chances, heartache, an obsessive "Trekkie" and some hilarious conversational exchanges. I found I really got to know our main characters, and was rooting for them continually. Thank you so much to Netgalley and Bookouture for this copy which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.
    more
  • Eva
    January 1, 1970
    Some of you may know, this isn’t really my normal sort of read. I tend to shy away from romance things and pretty much anything to do with Christmas. Just call me Scrooge. But this is Sue Watson and her Ice-Cream Café series holds a special place in my heart so the decision to read and review this one was a lot easier than you’d think.Sue Watson takes us back to the lovely town of Appledore but this time, Winter is coming. (Sorry!) Gianni, a fiery Italian, has opened a restaurant there but thing Some of you may know, this isn’t really my normal sort of read. I tend to shy away from romance things and pretty much anything to do with Christmas. Just call me Scrooge. But this is Sue Watson and her Ice-Cream Café series holds a special place in my heart so the decision to read and review this one was a lot easier than you’d think.Sue Watson takes us back to the lovely town of Appledore but this time, Winter is coming. (Sorry!) Gianni, a fiery Italian, has opened a restaurant there but things aren’t going very well. Gianni isn’t exactly a people person and has an incredible temper which results in staff leaving, altercations with food critics and grumpy customers. He calls in the help of his estranged wife, Chloe, though he won’t admit the idea was his as he’s far too stubborn for that.Chloe and Gianni started out having a wonderful relationship and marriage but after the sadness of three miscarriages, each tried to deal with their grief by throwing themselves into their work. A lack of communication, misunderstandings and too much time apart eventually leads Chloe to leave the marriage behind. Forced to spend time together in Appledore and make Gianni’s latest venture a success, could their marriage possibly get a second chance?I thoroughly enjoyed my time in Appledore with Chloe and Gianni. Although I must admit to frequently feeling my temper rise at Gianni’s attitude and if I’d had a pan handy, it probably would have found its way to his head. Despite his character also delivering quite a few chuckle-worthy moments, he’s also utterly infuriating and Chloe, quite frankly, has the patience of a saint most of the time.Throw in the delightful residents of Appledore we’ve all come to love, snow and the impending arrival of the holidays, and this does exactly what you’d expect. Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances is a feel-good Christmas romance that will definitely get you into the spirit and is as warm and comforting as a cosy fire or a blanket. Yes, there is a level of predictability but really, I couldn’t care less because this author always manages to come up with realistic characters you care about and root for. And she makes me laugh. It’s that simple, really!If you’ve read any of this author’s previous books, you will absolutely adore this! If you haven’t, maybe now is the time to give them a go and kick-start the festive period (too soon?) with a giggle or two.
    more
  • Elaine
    January 1, 1970
    Looking for a story of Christmas miracles? Look no further than this adorable second chance romance by the highly talented author, Sue Watson.Told in the first person by Chloe, memories of how she first met Gianni, married him and then left him are emotively shared. Now he needs her help to save his restaurant business which necessitates her travelling to the cottage they once shared so happily in Appledore. Can she keep their arrangement a business one? Can she bring their marriage to a close b Looking for a story of Christmas miracles? Look no further than this adorable second chance romance by the highly talented author, Sue Watson.Told in the first person by Chloe, memories of how she first met Gianni, married him and then left him are emotively shared. Now he needs her help to save his restaurant business which necessitates her travelling to the cottage they once shared so happily in Appledore. Can she keep their arrangement a business one? Can she bring their marriage to a close but still remain friends with him whilst also helping to save his business? You’ll have to read it yourself to find out what happens!This is a very moving story, looking back on happy memories, sharing the trauma of sad ones and the hopes and dreams for the future. As Chloe and her passionate, Italian, chef and restauranteur husband meet again in the beautiful seaside resort, they start to reevaluate their past and explore their feelings for each other again.  There are some superb interactions that will have you laughing out loud, some tasty food (including ice cream) that’ll have you drooling and a community that is brought to life in vivid detail. This is a heartwarming and mouth-watering romance, a story of not appreciating what you have till you lose it, of the importance of communication to keep love and relationships alive. It is a delightful festive read and I thought the Snowflakes also sounded gorgeous, too!I requested and received a copy of this novel, via NetGalley, with no obligation. This is my honest review after choosing to read it.
    more
  • Kaisha (The Writing Garnet)
    January 1, 1970
    All reviews can be found on my blog at https://thewritinggarnet.wordpress.comWe are back in Appledore, ready to meet some new faces! As a lover of Christmas, Chloe has always spent the festive season morphing into a Christmas tree decoration, or becoming Mariah Carey’s unofficial backing singer when the Christmas tunes come on. This year however, Chloe has a higher chance of putting on her Bridget Jones underwear, caking her face in a coal face mask whilst singing Elvis’, ‘It’ll Be Lonely This C All reviews can be found on my blog at https://thewritinggarnet.wordpress.comWe are back in Appledore, ready to meet some new faces! As a lover of Christmas, Chloe has always spent the festive season morphing into a Christmas tree decoration, or becoming Mariah Carey’s unofficial backing singer when the Christmas tunes come on. This year however, Chloe has a higher chance of putting on her Bridget Jones underwear, caking her face in a coal face mask whilst singing Elvis’, ‘It’ll Be Lonely This Christmas’, than relishing in the Christmas spirit like previous years.Until the storyline chooses to divulge its secrets, us readers are none the wiser as to why Chloe’s festive plans have changed. All we know is that there was a man and now there isn’t. I don’t mean to knock a person when they’re down, but it’s pretty clear from the onset that Chloe is in a terrible state. It’s as though she’s missing her je ne sais quoi. Although to be fair, if I was in Chloe’s shoes I’d be making my way to the nearest Gregg’s and stocking up on mince pies! Priorities, obviously!As the storyline progresses, the author allows us an insight into Chloe’s past and how she met the man who is no longer in reaching distance. Whilst some parts are obviously sad if you’re the romantic sort, other parts are highly hilarious. I mean, that Chloe is proper feisty when it comes to moving her puddings!! There were multiple occasions whilst I was reading this book, where I found myself proper belly laughing and laughing out loud. Needless to say, my four year old gave me MY look in response. Spoilsport. Did it stop me snorting? Did it heck. Fast forward several pages and I’m doing it again. Sue Watson just tickles me every single time. I love it!I reckon some readers may find Gianni to be a bit of a turkey. I however, found him to be a bit of a Christmas pudding; palatable and intense, with room for growth. I couldn’t stomach Gianni Christmas pudding in huge doses, I’ll admit, but there was just something about that man who made me think ‘hmmmmm, let me pull your cracker’. Mind out of the gutter….I think.It’s safe to say that I loved every single part of Sue Watson’s latest treat. From start to finish my attention was piqued, my taste buds were teased – ready to lose myself in Sue Watson’s delectable words. What I loved most about this book was how I was able to watch Chloe grow. At the start of the book she seemed quite low, yet the more I read, the more I saw her blossom into such a fantastic character. Chloe ended her story a completely different person to the one I met at the beginning. Personally, the way that Sue Watson was able to make a character grow and blossom before my very eyes – takes extreme talent and dedication to her characters. It’s very clear that Sue Watson wrote this novel from the heart, whilst also spending time carefully crafting her main character to appear realistic, relatable, but more importantly; loveable.For me, the author has ticked every single box and then some. Hell, she even ticked some I didn’t even know existed! Yes this book had me in hysterics, but the storyline also made me stop and think about the choices we make in life. Just like Chloe we often find ourselves in a predicament with no light at the end of the tunnel, where choices made during this time are ones we are more likely to regret. Sometimes there is only one solution for a situation at that given time. And yes, sometimes you have to take that solution even though it might end up being the wrong one for you long-term. The message that resonated with me the most was the one about taking chances even through the fear. Fear makes us second guess everything, yet fear also makes us strive for that certain thing even more – even if we are unaware of it at the time. I have gone away and thought long and hard about several things within this storyline. Let’s just say that inspiration can come from the most unlikeliest of places.Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances is a laugh out loud, mouth-watering and highly addictive read from the exceptional, Sue Watson. Full of giggles, food to tickle your taste buds, and situation to keep your mind busy; Sue Watson’s latest novel is one of my most favourite books this author has written. I realise I say this every.single.time, BUT, I really have no idea how Sue Watson manages to knock the holly off the ivy with every new book she writes.Outstanding, magical and one of the cosiest books I’ve read this year; Sue Watson has done it once again. Absolutely brilliant. If I could give this book more than 5 stars I would, it’s worthy of millions more.Huge thanks to Bookouture.
    more
  • Susan Hampson
    January 1, 1970
    There is something pretty magical about reading a book that makes you snort tea and choke, well be warned because I have been a victim of it while reading this outrageously hilarious Christmas romance.Now I do have to admit to being partial to a little Italian now and again and Sue Watson definitely got my taste buds going with the wonderful descriptions of some of the food on offer, but add a real life Italian Chef and my knees get a little tremble. Meet Gianni who is passionate in every possib There is something pretty magical about reading a book that makes you snort tea and choke, well be warned because I have been a victim of it while reading this outrageously hilarious Christmas romance.Now I do have to admit to being partial to a little Italian now and again and Sue Watson definitely got my taste buds going with the wonderful descriptions of some of the food on offer, but add a real life Italian Chef and my knees get a little tremble. Meet Gianni who is passionate in every possible way. He made my mouth water, my pupils dilate and my brain go into melt down, all besides being incredibly funny with his mispronunciation of certain words.When Gianni’s explosive temperamental temper costs him all of his staff at his up and coming new restaurant just before Christmas, there is only one person that could possibly bring him back into line and the restaurant back on track, his estranged 45-year-old wife, Chloe. What a super character she is. Business focused, a people person and a passion that still rages in her for what she once had with Gianni but so much had happened that drove them apart.As well as all the laughing I had tears too as the story of Chloe and Gianni unfolds it is fraught with enough emotion to render Frosty the Snowman into one big puddle. Sue Watson has that special ability to bring readers and characters together and make them care about what happens. Relationships and recipes are not very different really, the more complicated you make it the more can go wrong.This is a really good feel factor Christmas romance, perfect for tissues, tinsel and taking chances. Just wonderful!
    more
  • Alison
    January 1, 1970
    I do like the way you can just slip back into a Sue Watson book and know exactly what you are going to get. If you are after distinctive characters, some romance and plenty of fun then look no further. Just to add to the joy throw in some festivities and enjoy.We go back in Appledore the seaside town in Devon with a magical feel. Chloe has been adapting to life after her relationship breakdown with Gianni but then gets called to help him with the marketing for his new restaurant. Chloe is down t I do like the way you can just slip back into a Sue Watson book and know exactly what you are going to get. If you are after distinctive characters, some romance and plenty of fun then look no further. Just to add to the joy throw in some festivities and enjoy.We go back in Appledore the seaside town in Devon with a magical feel. Chloe has been adapting to life after her relationship breakdown with Gianni but then gets called to help him with the marketing for his new restaurant. Chloe is down to earth, lovable and determined to be professional. Gianni is a red hot Italian never afraid to say what he thinks and create havoc. I was torn between finding him overly obnoxious or quite cute with his accent and mannerisms.Anyone who has read previous books will know food plays a huge part, usually mouthwatering goodies galore. There are a few ‘novel’ delights on the menu which may not be quite so appetising!There is still a distinct spark between Chloe and Gianni, so will working alongside each other surrounded by the locals amid the Christmas spirit re-ignite their passion?Once they begin talking properly about previous events perhaps there is hope but can Chloe tolerate the over-sized ego of Gianni!A lovely easy to read book to get you into the spirit of the season .. check out Sue’s delightful style of writing, Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances will be sure to keep you entertained.Thanks to the author, publisher and Netgalley for my copy which I read and reviewed voluntarily.
    more
  • Agi
    January 1, 1970
    2.5 stars.Each time I see a new Sue Watson's book I'm getting really giddy with excitement - yes, it never dies, this feeling of seeing a new book by the author you adore, no matter how old you are. I really like Sue's down - to - earth stories with brilliant leading heroines who have experienced a lot in their lives and they really know what they're talking about. And "Snowflakes, Christmas Cakes and Second Chances" looked and sounded so inviting and so Christmassy, and I thought, well, what ca 2.5 stars.Each time I see a new Sue Watson's book I'm getting really giddy with excitement - yes, it never dies, this feeling of seeing a new book by the author you adore, no matter how old you are. I really like Sue's down - to - earth stories with brilliant leading heroines who have experienced a lot in their lives and they really know what they're talking about. And "Snowflakes, Christmas Cakes and Second Chances" looked and sounded so inviting and so Christmassy, and I thought, well, what can go wrong?Unfortunately, and I'm really not saying this easily, almost everything went wrong for me. I started reading the book with such great hopes and with every page turned you could see my hope and enthusiasm going downhill. The main character, Chloe, was also the narrator, everything was told from her point of view. It felt like reading someone's memoirs, that were also very repetitive, as I had a feeling we are reading about old same, old same all the time. Chloe seemed to me as if she didn't know what she really wants from her life and I was soon tired with all this what I want/what I don't want - she was too old and too experienced for this blowing cold and hot all the time. I felt sorry for her, and that was all actually, but for me it was just the case of you make your bed, you lie in it...And let's start on Gianni. Oh my God. I'm not sure if he was supposed to be cute with his temper and va - va - voom, funny with the things he said to his customers and critics, if I should appreciate his "honesty" but he so didn't work for me. There was not a drop of charm in him for me, he was a whiney, spoiled, arrogant piece of work and no matter what you're going to say it won't change my mind about him.This is a third instalment in the Appledore series, however you of course can read this book as a stand - alone. The characters from the previous books do enter the scenes here but the story focuses on brand new characters, Chloe and Gianni. I love the setting of Appledore and this is why I am really sorry and upset that this book didn't work for me, and even Sue Watson's writing style didn't help this time. I love books with the idea of second chances and for people coming back to each other but this one didn't deliver. However, I can see it already has tons of fans so don't let my review to put you off reading this story.Copy provided by the publisher in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Donna Maguire
    January 1, 1970
    https://donnasbookblog.wordpress.com/...This is the third Christmas book that I have read now by Sue Watson and for me they just get better and better!! I love her writing style, the stories are funny and light-hearted and they have genuine characters that I love.  The only downside for me - her food descriptions are so good it makes me hungry!!! I really enjoyed this story and the characters of Gianni and Chloe were great and worked so well together - this was definitely a treat for me to read https://donnasbookblog.wordpress.com/...This is the third Christmas book that I have read now by Sue Watson and for me they just get better and better!! I love her writing style, the stories are funny and light-hearted and they have genuine characters that I love.  The only downside for me - her food descriptions are so good it makes me hungry!!! I really enjoyed this story and the characters of Gianni and Chloe were great and worked so well together - this was definitely a treat for me to read and I loved it - would recommend it to anyone looking for a feel good festive read this winter - excellent - 5 stars!!! 
    more
  • Dawn
    January 1, 1970
    Review to come - absolutely delightful - such a gorgeous hunk of a book / Italian Stallion to get you in the mood for Christmas - loved every single page
  • Amanda
    January 1, 1970
    This is the second book by Sue Watson that I have had the pleasure of reading and reviewing.  It certainly won’t be the last of her books that I read.  I absolutely loved reading this book but more about that later.I don’t want to type too much about the storylines as I have an unintentional but still nasty habit of giving away far too many spoilers about books that I have enjoyed.  Chloe and Gianni were married to each other but their marriage broke down following personal tragedies and their r This is the second book by Sue Watson that I have had the pleasure of reading and reviewing.  It certainly won’t be the last of her books that I read.  I absolutely loved reading this book but more about that later.I don’t want to type too much about the storylines as I have an unintentional but still nasty habit of giving away far too many spoilers about books that I have enjoyed.  Chloe and Gianni were married to each other but their marriage broke down following personal tragedies and their reluctance to confide in each other.  A year on from their split, Chloe is well on the way to mending her heart and she works in the PR industry.  However, Chloe then receives an S.O.S call from the manager of her ex-husband Gianni’s latest restaurant.  The manager is about at the end of her tether with Gianni and his wacky food choices and his explosive temper.  Gianni has also been causing a stir with the local villagers but not in a good way.  Chloe is about the only one who can work with Gianni, cope with his moods and put a spin on even the most disappointing & calamitous situation.  Chloe agrees to take the role and it isn’t too long before pans are flying in the kitchen and the temperature in the kitchen is about at boiling point.  Can Chloe & Gianni charm the critics and make the restaurant a success?  Will Chloe and Gianni work together?  Will Chloe and Gianni have a second chance at romance?  Well for the answers to those questions and more you are just going to have to read the book to find out because I am not going to tell you.I really did take to the character of Chloe from the start.  Chloe and Gianni were desperate to start a family but for one reason and another, it sadly never happened for them.  Chloe (& Gianni) suffered recurring miscarriages and Chloe feels like it is her fault.  She feels as though she has let Gianni down and apologises to him for the fact that her body has let him down.  Chloe’s feelings are entirely natural but in no way is she to blame.  Chloe seems as though she is beginning to cope a bit better with her losses and she has thrown herself into her career.  Chloe is feisty and isn’t afraid to pull Gianni up on his behaviour.  Chloe is friendly and she makes an effort to get to know people, whereas Gianni manages to alienate people without really trying.  She almost acts as a buffer zone between Gianni and those he upsets.  Chloe knows what you have to do to entice people into a restaurant and potentially increase the amount of diners that swing through the doors.  I don’t think that Chloe and Gianni ever had a heart to heart where they told each other exactly how they are feeling and how they were affected by things.  As for the character of Gianni, well he could have done with a few dozen slaps around the chops with a wet flip flop before being poked between the eyes with a sharp stick.  The man is totally infuriating!!!  If I worked with him I would only last 5 minutes before hitting him with one of his saucepans.  Gianni is rude, arrogant, he has very strange ideas about what diners like to eat, Gianni sulks, he mopes and he throws more temper tantrums than I drink cups of tea in a day.  I did think that some of his less desirable character traits were the result of how his experiences had affected him.  I also think that he puts a barrier up between himself and others because he doesn’t want to let anybody get too close in case he gets hurt.  It has obviously taken him a long time to come to terms with everything that has happened.In my opinion, ‘Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances’ is superbly written.  Sue Watson is not afraid to tackle difficult subjects but she writes about them with such compassion and sensitivity that you cannot help but be affected by what you have read.  On more than one occasion during this book, I actually welled up because I had become so involved in the story and I felt that I really knew Chloe and Gianni.  The way Chloe felt and Gianni’s typical male reaction of not wanting to talk really struck a chord with me.  I haven’t been through such an experience but I know someone who has.  For me, this book was seriously addictive and I found that I just could not put the book down.  I simply had to read on to find out how the story ended.  The pages were turning that fast that it was almost as if they were turning themselves and before I knew it I had finished the book which I had mixed feelings about.  I was pleased to have finished the book because I knew how the story ended but I wasn’t pleased because I wanted the story to continue as I was enjoying the story and writing style so very much.  After I closed the book, I did feel as though I had been through the emotional wringer.  From laughter to tears, from happiness to sadness, from hope to despair and well you get the picture.  Certain parts of the story were very amusing but I had to be careful not to laugh too hard because I was in agony with severe back pain and laughing made it worse!!In short, I totally, utterly and wholeheartedly adored this book and I would recommend it to anybody.  Sue Watson has firmly cemented her position on my list of favourite and must read authors.  I can’t wait to read what comes next.  I award this book a very well deserved 5* out of 5*.
    more
  • Gaele
    January 1, 1970
    Returning to the world of Ella’s Ice Cream Summer and Curves, Kisses and Chocolate Ice Cream we get to meet Chloe, separated and in transition after her marriage to Gianni, an Italian chef. Chloe and Gianni had a tumultuous relationship that was full of love, but lacking in communication. Through the ups and downs of their life together their dynamic was fixed: Gianni acting like a spoilt 3 year old in tantrum mode with an odd combination of swears, laughable missed words and a reputation for ir Returning to the world of Ella’s Ice Cream Summer and Curves, Kisses and Chocolate Ice Cream we get to meet Chloe, separated and in transition after her marriage to Gianni, an Italian chef. Chloe and Gianni had a tumultuous relationship that was full of love, but lacking in communication. Through the ups and downs of their life together their dynamic was fixed: Gianni acting like a spoilt 3 year old in tantrum mode with an odd combination of swears, laughable missed words and a reputation for irascibility. But, London foodies love the ‘show’ and he was the next big thing, spending less time with Chloe and more at the restaurant, glomming onto the ego rush as the ‘Italian Bad Boy’. While Gianni was off with the restaurant, Chloe was dealing with her own depression and feelings of inadequacy – convinced Gianni deserved more and she wasn’t worthy of his love. Oh these two – because Gianni found it hard to speak about his own emotions, and hid them behind bravado, Chloe didn’t push for answers she needed, or ask for the reassurance and attention she needed. But she shut him out – something she slowly came to realize as the two are thrown together again as she was hired to do the PR for his new restaurant, his own last chance effort to make a success of his life. Told from Chloe’s point of view, it’s easy to feel her frustrations and sorrows, but when she starts to see Gianni’s tells – his nerves, his frustrations, and starts to wonder if there is a chance for them to make another start of their marriage. Sue Watson takes us through the rebuilding of a relationship through Chloe’s eyes, as she rediscovers what she wants (Gianni), who she loves (Gianni) and her ability to soften his rough edges and understand the whys of what he does, rather than just the horror at the actual events. Seriously, who attacks a critic with a sausage? Oh there’s so much more here – from the reintroduction to Sue and her malapropisms with Delilah the dressed Pomeranian, Elle, Roberta and Gina. A clever aside with Chloe’s half-hearted attempt to move on with a Sci-Fi geek and deli owner who doesn’t understand the word no, and the wonder of Appledore and Gull cottage, even in the midst of a blustery winter. This was a devour in one sitting story, with plenty of emotion, hope and lots of laughter to go around. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review, all conclusions are my own responsibility. Review first appeared at I am, Indeed
    more
  • Jessica
    January 1, 1970
    There is something warm and inviting about picking up the latest Sue Watson book and what makes even more special is that its a christmas book! As in previous books by Sue, this book is based on a strong woman character, her name is Chloe. Chloe is very easy to love, shes been through a lot and its made her incredibly strong. That is until she takes the opportunity to work in her Ex husband's latest restaurant in Devon. After not seeing someone for so long especially after all their history toge There is something warm and inviting about picking up the latest Sue Watson book and what makes even more special is that its a christmas book! As in previous books by Sue, this book is based on a strong woman character, her name is Chloe. Chloe is very easy to love, shes been through a lot and its made her incredibly strong. That is until she takes the opportunity to work in her Ex husband's latest restaurant in Devon. After not seeing someone for so long especially after all their history together it is clear that there is chemistry together and a bit of sexual tension between the two and as a reader it makes you think are we going to see Chloe and Gianni get back together again and finally get their happy ever after. It could go either way, seeing him and working with him again could cause tension and make things worse between them and we could see Chloe flee back to London again. I loved guessing the whole way through the book what would happen between them.I loved the character Gianni. I thought he was brilliant, a real feisty Italian stallion you just can't help but have a soft spot for.This book is set in Appledore, which is the location for 2 of Sue's previous books and has returning characters from them that we know and love. I love this touch as it makes it familiar for us as a reader to imagine and makes it so easy to read. This is a really magical read, absolutely perfect for this festive season.* This review was originally posted on jessicasbookbiz.blogspot.com *
    more
  • Darcie Boleyn
    January 1, 1970
    Now I’m ready for Christmas!This book is wonderfully funny, romantic and festive and I loved every page! Reading it was like snuggling in front of a log fire in a fluffy dressing gown while sipping a hot chocolate topped with marshmallows and whipped cream. It’s that good!I loved Chloe and Gianni, as well as the rest of the colourful characters. Chloe was so sweet, real and believable and I shared her joy in simple pleasures and identified with her pain. She has suffered a loss that will resonat Now I’m ready for Christmas!This book is wonderfully funny, romantic and festive and I loved every page! Reading it was like snuggling in front of a log fire in a fluffy dressing gown while sipping a hot chocolate topped with marshmallows and whipped cream. It’s that good!I loved Chloe and Gianni, as well as the rest of the colourful characters. Chloe was so sweet, real and believable and I shared her joy in simple pleasures and identified with her pain. She has suffered a loss that will resonate with many readers, but despite this, she is strong and she knows she has to accept that her life will not be how she’d thought it would be and make the most of what she has. As Chloe and the passionate, fiery Gianni are thrown back together in the beautiful seaside village, they start to rethink their past decisions and behaviour and rediscover feelings they thought they had lost long ago. The setting was absolutely magical, especially with the festive details. I wish I could walk on the beach at Appledore before sampling one of the amazing sundaes at the local ice cream parlour. Along with the romance comes another delightful sensual journey, and that is linked to good food and wine. My mouth was literally watering at the vivid descriptions.This is a story about love and loss, about wanting things from life then being disappointed and taking for granted what you actually have or failing to communicate with the person you love so that a rift develops between you. If you’re looking for a gorgeous Christmas read, then I highly recommend Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances.(Thank you to Sue Watson, Netgalley and Bookouture for the ARC.)
    more
  • Kathleen Gray
    January 1, 1970
    A delightful second chance romance with some serious issues but a light engaging heart. If you haven't read Watson before, this is a nice place to start because Chloe and Gianni are such terrific characters and the town of Appledore on the coast- well, I want to visit. Gianni can be a real dork sometimes which is a problem when you're trying to run a restaurant; Chloe has the touch for marketing and making people feel good. That she's willing to go help him with his struggling place is a measure A delightful second chance romance with some serious issues but a light engaging heart. If you haven't read Watson before, this is a nice place to start because Chloe and Gianni are such terrific characters and the town of Appledore on the coast- well, I want to visit. Gianni can be a real dork sometimes which is a problem when you're trying to run a restaurant; Chloe has the touch for marketing and making people feel good. That she's willing to go help him with his struggling place is a measure of her continuing love for him, despite their problems. This could have been set at any time of the year but it was extra special for being Christmas themed. Thanks to Netgalley for the ARC- you'll like this if you enjoy this genre AND if you like yummy and outrageous food descriptions.
    more
  • Liina
    January 1, 1970
    The story follows Chloe, who broke up with her husband last year and now she’s spending Christmas alone. Unexpectedly she receives a phone call just before the holidays and she is offered a job in Appledore, where her ex husbands is opening a new restaurant. Chloe’s husband Gianni has a bad temper and often says things that offend other people and even though he doesn’t really want to admit it, he needs Chloe to make things better again. Chloe is hesitant about the offer, but decides to go. Will The story follows Chloe, who broke up with her husband last year and now she’s spending Christmas alone. Unexpectedly she receives a phone call just before the holidays and she is offered a job in Appledore, where her ex husbands is opening a new restaurant. Chloe’s husband Gianni has a bad temper and often says things that offend other people and even though he doesn’t really want to admit it, he needs Chloe to make things better again. Chloe is hesitant about the offer, but decides to go. Will Chloe and Gianni find a way back to each other?It was a book that surely makes you laugh out loud as well as feel sorry for Chloe. There were a lot of funny parts, but Chloe’s husband was such a difficult person to get along with that I really felt bad for Chloe. I liked the fact that the story went back and forth in a way that you learnt how and when something happened and why things are like they are in the present. As much as I didn’t exactly like Gianni, the ending was really sweet and put a smile on my face. A well written novel with strong characters, a really enjoyable festive story.
    more
  • Meg Dean
    January 1, 1970
    OK...it's not that I didn't like the story...however...some of the political references ruined it a bit for me! I live in the US...I am aware how horrible Trump is...I just don't need to be reminded of it when I am trying to read and escape all of the insanity for a bit. Sorry!
    more
  • Suze Lavender
    January 1, 1970
    Chloe used to love Christmas, but this year she doesn't have any plans. She's living alone and there's no special person in her life at the moment. She and her husband Gianni split up a year ago and went their separate ways. They grew apart and Chloe couldn't take feeling neglected anymore. She left and he let her go. When she gets a call with a job offer she's surprised when she finds out it's for Gianni's new restaurant in Appledore. Chloe is an events manager and Gianni needs her help. Chloe Chloe used to love Christmas, but this year she doesn't have any plans. She's living alone and there's no special person in her life at the moment. She and her husband Gianni split up a year ago and went their separate ways. They grew apart and Chloe couldn't take feeling neglected anymore. She left and he let her go. When she gets a call with a job offer she's surprised when she finds out it's for Gianni's new restaurant in Appledore. Chloe is an events manager and Gianni needs her help. Chloe isn't particularly happy with the job, but maybe it will bring them some much needed closure?Gianni hasn't exactly made friends in Appledore, He lets his temper rule his actions and that keeps getting him into trouble. Will Chloe manage to get him out of it again? While trying to make Gianni see the error of his ways, good memories of the past come to the surface. Gianni shows Chloe he still has a kinder side as well and their shared love for food gives them a chance to reconnect. Is their marriage truly over or will the magic of Christmas bring them back together?Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances is a wonderful festive story. Chloe is practical, sweet and romantic. She loves the holidays and likes to make people happy. Gianni is a difficult man. He's temperamental, fierce and incredibly proud. He's passionate about food in a fantastic artistic way. He can cook really well, but he doesn't have good people skills. He offends, shouts, scolds and sulks, but combines this with a cute sense of humor, which is absolutely adorable. It's clear from the start that he and Chloe have a complicated bond. They went through a lot and my heart ached for their losses. They don't handle it well and there's fire and ice in their relationship in abundance, which is an interesting combination and I couldn't wait to find out where that would lead. It's clear from the start that they are each other's soul mates and I was anxious to discover if love would be enough in this case.Sue Watson has a lovely warm writing style that always manages to put me in a good mood. She has a great sense of humor and knows how to work with tension in her stories. This combination makes them a real treat. I enjoyed the intensity of Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances and admired its spirited dialogue. The story is fascinating, merry and strong. I'm a big fan of books about true love and the possibility of second chances and this is such an amazing one. Sue Watson combines this with mouthwatering descriptions of food and it's obvious she knows what she's writing about. The result is a fabulous story that often made me smile. I highly recommend this dazzling, delicious and energetic Christmas book.
    more
  • Lesley
    January 1, 1970
    I expected nothing less than to love this, and I did!I got a long way through it before laughing out loud, and then I hit the scene that tickled my funny bone, and woke hubby up yet again!I am just loving Sue Watson's books, and won't be happy till I've read them all!
    more
  • Sharon
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to Netgalley and the publishers, Bookouture for this review copy, given in exchange for an honest review. Also thank you to Kim from Bookouture for organising the blog tour and allowing me to be part of it.I have to admit I haven’t read many Sue Watson books, even though there are plenty! This is part of the Appledore series, but you don’t need to have read any of the other books to enjoy this one. The cover of the book is beautiful, so Christmassy with such a lovely vibrant bold colou Thank you to Netgalley and the publishers, Bookouture for this review copy, given in exchange for an honest review. Also thank you to Kim from Bookouture for organising the blog tour and allowing me to be part of it.I have to admit I haven’t read many Sue Watson books, even though there are plenty! This is part of the Appledore series, but you don’t need to have read any of the other books to enjoy this one. The cover of the book is beautiful, so Christmassy with such a lovely vibrant bold colour – you wouldn’t be able to resist this one if you saw it on the shelf.Chloe separated from her Italian chef husband, Gianni, a year ago. This Christmas looks to be her first Christmas alone for a very long time until she gets an unexpected offer from Gianni to come and help with his new seaside restaurant which isn’t doing so well. His famous fiery Italian temper is still rubbing people up the wrong way and his ‘menu’ leaves a lot to be desired (considering there isn’t even a menu – you get what you are given!). Chloe agrees to go and help, but just over the Christmas period. Can she calm Gianni’s temper and smooth things over with the locals and will she manage to finally get the restaurant up and running?I enjoyed this book. I loved the characters, and I really loved the setting. It was such a Christmassy book also with visions of snow covered beaches and Chloe’s warm cosy cottage with its log fire roaring away. Even the London scenes brought back memories of going to Harrods at Christmas time and being amazed at their Christmas displays! I loved Chloe’s character. All she really wanted was the man she loved and a family. After several years and lots of heartache, poor Chloe had neither of them. I loved the way she was the only one who was able to control Gianni, even after being apart for so long. I also loved Gianni! Yeah, I know he was bad tempered, insulting and after all these years of living in the UK he still couldn’t say ‘beach’, but when he was being kind and considerate it made my heart melt! All the way through the book I had an image that he looked like Gino D’Acampo (the celebrity chef!) – In fact, I think the part definitely could have been made for him! Be warned, there are descriptions of food aplenty in this book – do not read this book on an empty stomach! My personal favourite is the Plum Crumble, which the recipe is given for at the back of the book!It has everything you could want from a Christmas book. Grab a blanket, turn the heating up full and settle into this perfect seasonal read!Five stars!
    more
  • Sylvia
    January 1, 1970
    So sorry I just could not get into this book which is a shame because I love Sue Watson's books
  • Best Crime Books & More
    January 1, 1970
    I am as many of you know a huge Sue Watson fan, but that's not to say I adore every one of her books...but this one I ABSOLUTELY do! This book is Christmas wrapped up in a toe tinglingly festive read, that needs to be accompanied preferably with an open fire and a mug of hot chocolate. Sue has written a few books set in Appledore, and although they are all standalone books they all feature some recurring characters. Appledore is a quaint little place near the sea and it's where Chloe's estrange I am as many of you know a huge Sue Watson fan, but that's not to say I adore every one of her books...but this one I ABSOLUTELY do! This book is Christmas wrapped up in a toe tinglingly festive read, that needs to be accompanied preferably with an open fire and a mug of hot chocolate. Sue has written a few books set in Appledore, and although they are all standalone books they all feature some recurring characters. Appledore is a quaint little place near the sea and it's where Chloe's estranged husband Gianni has gone to open his latest restaurant. Chloe and Gianni are separated and as the story begins we take a walk down memory ane with Chloe and she describes their past and how they have reached the place they are both at now. With Gianni retreating to Appledore to open a restaurant after turning his back on the glitz and almost celebrity status he had in London, his fiery italian temper has got him in to hot water. With signs of his restaurant dying before it's even begun Gianni's Manager asks for Chloe's help. Chloe who has spent a year building her career in events decides that rather than spend Christmas alone she will help Gianni try and salvage his restaurant (and reputation) and maybe they will become friends..I instantly loved both these lead characters and they are extremely funny. Gianni with his ridiculous interpretation of the English language leads to some funny moments when he is explaining his thoughts on the beach! I can't say that this is the most original storyline but it's positively packed to the brim with Christmas spirit and a good old-fashioned romance. What made the story so enjoyable for me was the characters and the place itself. Having read all the other books set in Appledore I was thrilled to see the return (albeit fleetingly) of some familiar places such as Roberta, Dani and Sue.We see Chloe and Gianni battle both on a personal front as well as a business one. Although the majority of the storyline is constantly peppered with humour there are more serious issues meaning both characters have their own chinks in their armour and makes them all the more likeable The character Marco (who again featured in previous books) was a perfect fit into this story too! I read this in one sitting and loved every single page. If you are looking for a festive read that will make you smile then this here is the answer. One word of warning though, don't read it if yu are hungry as you may find yourself reaching for food! This would be the perfect stocking filler and is highly recommended!
    more
  • Emma Crowley
    January 1, 1970
    If there was an award for the best Christmas titles for books Sue Watson would certainly win it hands down as her titles are always so ingenious and full of laugh out loud humour. Combined with such brilliant, witty chapter headings I always know I am guaranteed a fun, festive read full or frolics, mayhem and mishaps. This new book Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances I would have said before I started reading that is would be no different but I feel now I have finished it that it is slight If there was an award for the best Christmas titles for books Sue Watson would certainly win it hands down as her titles are always so ingenious and full of laugh out loud humour. Combined with such brilliant, witty chapter headings I always know I am guaranteed a fun, festive read full or frolics, mayhem and mishaps. This new book Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances I would have said before I started reading that is would be no different but I feel now I have finished it that it is slightly different. Yes we have the brilliant anecdotes that have you laughing and cringing in equal measure but at the same time I felt there was a far more serious tone to the story as our main female protagonist Chloe is going through major changes in her life. This time will either make or break Chloe and her marriage. She is not sure of the outcome she wants but returning to Appledore a place which holds so many cherished memories but also devastating blows for her will stir up an entire myriad of emotions that will cause unrest and uncertainty but hopefully may eventually give her the clarification and reaffirmation she is so desperately searching for.When I discovered this was the third visit to Appledore, I'll admit I was slightly apprehensive about reading this book as I really don't like starting series several books in. Now after finishing this story, I can say it can easily be read as a standalone book. Yes I could gather which previously introduced characters made a reappearance but it wasn't in a dominant way as to make you feel god I can't follow the plot of this book or I've missed out on heaps. They were there more as a supportive system to Chloe as she develops a friendship with the people who run the local ice cream parlour. If there were more books to come in the Appledore series I would read them but I don't necessarily feel I need to go back and read the previous two to enhance my reading and understanding as there was plenty of info here to bring me bang up to date.The entire story of Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances is told in the first person from Chloe's point of view and to be honest it did tend to wear on me ever so slightly after awhile. I would have loved to have heard from fiery Italian Gianni's viewpoint as to his whole take on the situation. It's very difficult to pull off a book entirely in the first person, it worked for some of the time here but just past the halfway point I felt it needed a change just to freshen things up a bit. Chloe is a character who certainly evokes both sympathy and frustration in the reader. The story moves back and forth between the past and the present as told by Chloe. We are given an insight as to how she met and eventually married chef Gianni. In the present Chloe is dreading Christmas. She feels that she has nothing to look forward to, that her life has ended and that things will never be the same again. She recalls the first time she met Gianni in the Harrods food hall as she was trying to promote his unusual range of Christmas delicacies. There was a spark between the pair but it seriously threatened to turn into a huge fire and not of the good kind.Over the course of the story Chloe tells us how they met, fell in love, fell out of love, distance grew between them and now they have reached the point of divorce. But is this what Chloe really wants? Or is it just an attempt to push things to one side? To paper over the cracks without working things through and openly expressing feelings and emotions. A chance phone call just before Christmas that presents her with a job opportunity sees Chloe torn in two over whether to accept. This will see her having to confront the emotions, issues and reasons behind the deep resentment and hurt existing between herself and Gianni. Returning to Appledore, to the cottage she shared with Gianni during their marriage, and now trying to help turn around the fortunes of his restaurant is a huge undertaking and will set in motion a chain of events that will either make or break her.Gianni was a character who I did not like at all. Yes I understood the way he was meant to be portrayed but honestly I couldn't see what Chloe saw in him. He was ever so stubborn, always demanding his own way creating fancy concoctions that would be best suited to a Heston Blumenthal restaurant. He came across as a Gordon Ramsey or Marco Pierre White type full of fire and ambition but with scant regard to the people around him. Constantly throwing insults around and creating a new restaurant in Appledore that was so stark and sterile which did little to enamour him to the local residents. He was full of so much bravado that I wondered how did Chloe ever crack his exterior to see was there a different more hospitable Gianni underneath?Chloe on the one hand was brave to take on Gianni again and help promote the restaurant and try and make it a success. She has to come up with creative ways which could make the restaurant more welcoming and attractive for costumers. Out goes the snail semolina and in comes more traditional, authentic Italian dishes. As she was dreading Christmas, was going back to Appledore the best thing for her? Would the entire situation drag her backwards when she was so desperately trying to move forwards? Maybe fate had a different plan in store for the pair. As Gianni begins to soften and produce dishes that are welcomed with open arms the reader wondered whether the same could be said for his and Chloe's relationship?This book wasn't full on Christmas, more it was lingering in the background as a secondary character as Chloe faces the biggest challenge in her life both personally and professionally. There was a real sense of the main characters coming back together, attempting to whether the storm against the background of Christmas and the snow covering the ground in Appledore. What was brilliant as ever in Sue Watson's Christmas books was the mouthwatering descriptions of food. Whilst reading you would certainly want some nice treats to hand to indulge in. Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances was a good read. It had the humour yet Chloe was a character who had been through a lot and Sue portrayed this very well. Will you be rooting for Chloe and Gianni? Well I was, it's up to you to read to discover the eventual outcome. Enjoy this book for what it is a fun, festive read that really will get you in the Christmas frame of mind.
    more
  • Karen Whittard
    January 1, 1970
    Sue Watson is always a fabulous author and her Christmas books never fail to spread the Christmas spirit. This year we are in Devon. A year ago precisely Chloe separated from her husband Gianni. On Christmas Day itself to be exact. Chloe's heart is still broken and she is still trying to put all the pieces of her life back together again. That is until Giannis new restaurant comes into trouble and is is up to Chloe to go to Appledore to save the business. Gianni has a hot temper and the he criti Sue Watson is always a fabulous author and her Christmas books never fail to spread the Christmas spirit. This year we are in Devon. A year ago precisely Chloe separated from her husband Gianni. On Christmas Day itself to be exact. Chloe's heart is still broken and she is still trying to put all the pieces of her life back together again. That is until Giannis new restaurant comes into trouble and is is up to Chloe to go to Appledore to save the business. Gianni has a hot temper and the he critics, customers and employees have all had enough. It is up to Chloe's easy and calming temperament to save the day. This is a fun and fabulous Christmas book. That will leave chicklit and romance fans smiling from ear to ear, and leave you feeling the Christmas spirit long after you have turned to last page.
    more
  • Sammm
    January 1, 1970
    A digitized ARC of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.Mini review WIP.
  • Jen
    January 1, 1970
    If you are looking for a book which contains a magical blend of humour, romance and feel-good story telling, then look no further. With Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances, Sue Watson takes all of the above ingredients, mixes in a little Christmas spice, adds a side order of somewhat unusual gastronomic delicacies and decadent ice-cream sundaes, delivering to the reader a truly scrumptious festive treat all wrapped in a dazzling gilt edged bow. The weather in downtown Appledore may well be If you are looking for a book which contains a magical blend of humour, romance and feel-good story telling, then look no further. With Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances, Sue Watson takes all of the above ingredients, mixes in a little Christmas spice, adds a side order of somewhat unusual gastronomic delicacies and decadent ice-cream sundaes, delivering to the reader a truly scrumptious festive treat all wrapped in a dazzling gilt edged bow. The weather in downtown Appledore may well be frightful, but never fear. This tale will leave you feeling as warm and cosy as a grand log fire.Having been separated from Gianni for a year, Chloe has her mind set on only one thing - finding her new start. The last thing she needs or expects is the call from Gianni's assistant, asking her to help with the marketing of his new restaurant in the village which is the location of their dream home, Appledore. Chloe realises this may give her closure, prove to herself once and for all that she is over Gianni, give her the chance to escape from a pretty disastrous attempt at dating again, while earning herself some money that she can't really afford to refuse. What she doesn't count on is the feelings that being near to Gianni again will stir up. He is as passionate and unreasonable as the first day they met, and yet something about him is still irresistible. Chloe wants to keep things professional but whether this is even possible, remains to be seen.What I love about Sue Watson's writing is the way she manages to capture the many facets of human nature and package them up a completely humourous and yet thoroughly compelling way. Gianni is a very hot-blooded, hot-headed character, a man who has become almost a caricature of himself, his ego inflated by untold media praise and yet ultimately bruised by the way in which he was a quickly ignored. Chloe is his exact opposite - down to earth and level headed but more than a match for his posturing and bluster. Much of his character is an act, designed to fit his enfant terrible moniker, and Chloe had always been able to see through and counter him in every way. They are polar opposites and so beautifully crafted on the page that you can;t help smiling at their interactions. The chemistry is clear and yet the history is undeniable.In amongst all of the bravado and hot-headedness there is also an element of vulnerability in both Gianni and Chloe. They have been through unimaginable tragedy and you can't help but feel for the couple as Chloe recounts their past in some of the books most poignant moments. It is no wonder that they grew apart, struggling to recover from personal tragedy, and yet you can't help but hope that working together, perhaps finally communicating openly about what they have endured, that they can work through the differences as they do make a wonderfully funny and perfectly matched couple.If you have read any of Sue Watson's most recent books, then you will recognise the setting of Appledore. Some of the characters from the town do make an appearance, all adding more colour to the start and clinical setting of Gianni's new restaurant. I have to be honest - some of the initial restaurant menu had me feeling a little nauseous and I would advise those of a delicate constitution to toughen up before reading. I can only hope no-one ever serves up such a - how shall I put this - controversial menu as the one described here. Slug semolina? It is absolutely no wonder Gianni's last restaurant had failed. Although his 'passionate' Italian persona probably had a little to do with it too, Gianni being somewhat prone to comedic levels of overreaction. Beware the sausage!Told from Chloe's point of view, it is just as well she is around to translate some of Gianni's conversation. His unique pronunciation is used to perfect comic effect here. The way in which he says 'beaches' has the ability to both offend and amuse in equal measure. And it is those little touches, the quiet observation of such human characteristics that Sue Watson excels at. She can make the everyday funny, turn the little tics into a chucklesome moment, and still make you go awww with a trembly bottom lip with a simple turn of phrase.As sweet as Gianni's iced chocolate cake, and as scrumptious as an sundae from the Ice-Cream Cafe, fans of Sue Watson are just going to eat this up. A brilliantly warm and funny festive read.
    more
Write a review