The Pirate Bride (Daughters of the Mayflower #2)
A Former Privateer and a Desperate Heiress Join Forces to Find a Treasure Jump on board with a brand new series for fans of all things related to history, romance, adventure, faith, and family trees. One hundred years after her mother's family came to the New World on the Mayflower, Maribel Cordova has landed in New Orleans to seek the man who holds the key to finding her father’s lost treasure. Attorney Jean-Luc Valmot has buried his past life so deep that no living person will ever find it—or so he hopes as he accepts a position on the governor’s staff. But the daughter of an infamous pirate threatens all he holds dear. Can Maribel and Jean-Luc compromise so they both can hold onto what they most desire? Join the adventure as the Daughters of the Mayflower series continues with The Pirate Bride by Kathleen Y’Barbo. More to come in the Daughters of the Mayflower series:The Mayflower Bride by Kimberley Woodhouse – set 1620 Atlantic Ocean (coming February 2018)The Pirate Bride by Kathleen Y’Barbo – set 1725 New Orleans (coming April 2018)The Captured Bride by Michelle Griep – set 1760 during the French and Indian War (coming June 2018)The Patriot Bride by Kimberley Woodhouse – set 1774 Philadelphia (coming August 2018)​The Cumberland Bride by Shannon McNear – set 1794 on the Wilderness Road (coming October 2018)The Liberty Bride by MaryLu Tyndall – set 1814 Baltimore (coming December 2018)  

The Pirate Bride (Daughters of the Mayflower #2) Details

TitleThe Pirate Bride (Daughters of the Mayflower #2)
Author
ReleaseApr 1st, 2018
PublisherBarbour Books
ISBN-139781683224976
Rating
GenreHistorical, Historical Fiction, Romance, Christian Fiction, Christian

The Pirate Bride (Daughters of the Mayflower #2) Review

  • Julie Carpenter
    January 1, 1970
    It's been a little while since I've stayed up all night and read a book. Spring break was last week for my kids and with lots of projects and activities planned as a family, I hardly even sat down to read at all. Not even audiobooks. Well Saturday evening after all the kids were in bed, I told my hubby that I was disappearing in a book. Ha! I had just finished a collection of novellas that I read so piecemeal that I just wanted to sit and devour a book. Now, I hadn't intended to read the whole t It's been a little while since I've stayed up all night and read a book. Spring break was last week for my kids and with lots of projects and activities planned as a family, I hardly even sat down to read at all. Not even audiobooks. Well Saturday evening after all the kids were in bed, I told my hubby that I was disappearing in a book. Ha! I had just finished a collection of novellas that I read so piecemeal that I just wanted to sit and devour a book. Now, I hadn't intended to read the whole thing in one sitting. Nope. Just wanted to read a few hours and then bed. Well, that was one good intention that went out the window when I was hooked from the very beginning of this book and kept saying, "just one more chapter because I have to know what happens next." I honestly did not want to set it down and wait. And, what's more, I didn't want the book to end.Now, I will say that there were a couple things that I wanted more clarification for and something with her father didn't quite add up, or maybe I should say, it just needed a little more info/clarification. But other than a couple very minor things, this book was wonderful! Unputdownable! I enjoyed the first book well enough, but it didn't suck me in like this one did. The story line and setting, the characters and their personalities...just loved it! I actually want to go back it pick it up again right now.I think I might need to add a few more pirate books into my reading list in the near future. I love them. Captain Jack Sparrow, eat your heart out because captain Jean-Luc is here to save the day!Revenge, devious characters, pirate books, precocious children, loving parents and grandparent, ships galore, Havana, New Orleans, orphanage, Nuns, Islands, cannonballs, topmast, stars, friends, slaves, rag tag band of pirates (er um, excuse me privateers), French, Spanish, enemies, scheming thieves, money, beauty, time, adventure and love.Mirabela Cordova is pulled away from everything she knows and loves when her father tells her that her mother and grandfather are dead and she must relocate with him. Thus she finds herself crossing the ocean, caught up in a pirate attack, losing her father and joining said pirate crew. Captain Jean-Luc, leader of said pirate crew doesn't know what to do with this redhead precocious child who has his crew bowing to her every whim and willing to mutiny for her sake. Maribela was such a fun character. She begins the story at the age of 12 and is just a spitfire and a handful, but most importantly a good friend. She endears many hearts to her precocious ways and becomes in a way the heart of the ship. Many adventures abound until nefarious schemes are put into play and her life on the ship is turned topsy-turvy.Jean-Luc has many secrets and will work very hard to keep them all hidden. For his safety, his family's safety, the safety of the crew, but most especially for young Maribela. When schemes come against him and he loses Maribela, his life balances on the edge of death and defeat. Years later everything he's believed and known will change by a chance encounter. But he must work quickly to uncover the plots that have been building for years if he is to have a chance to fix what was wrong.I really enjoyed this one. Hence, me staying up all night...like ummmmmm, maybe I shouldn't tell you how late. *blushes* Ok, I stayed up until about 2:30. I just couldn't help myself. Well, actually, I read the book until 2:30 at which time I finished it. Then I laid in bed thinking over and over about it and wishing that there could be more. I wanted more, I had questions and I wanted answers. It ended in a way that worked but after growing to enjoy these characters, I wanted more. No, I didn't stomp my foot on the ground like a petulant child who didn't get their way. Although, I might have been tempted. Ha! Just kidding. I guess it's left to my imagination to decide what happens.Something that I didn't realize when I picked up this second book (they can be read as stand alone novels-at least the first two that I have read-we'll see about the others when they come out), is that the characters are related. Maribela is the great-grandaughter of the couple from the first book. So that was a fun connection. There's just a very minor mention of them. I am excited to see if that familial connection continues on in the third book, The Captured Bride. I have the third one waiting for me as I received an ARC of it. Can't wait to read it!Obviously I highly recommend this book for sure. A fun read that hooked me from the beginning. Some reviewers have said that they didn't get hooked until Maribela was finally in New Orleans, which is almost half way through the book. Nope, I was hooked right away. I loved her character. Innocent, naive and a spitfire that melted my heart. If you're looking at reading this series, or a couple of the books, I have to say read this one for sure! And probably the Captured Bride as well because Michelle Griep is a favorite author. This is my first full length novel by Kathleen Y'Barbo, although I think I might have read a novella by her (not positive though), but it won't be my last. I really enjoyed her writing style a lot. If you're a fan of hers then I think you'll be in for a treat with this one.Content: Clean. Religious aspects throughout but it was not preachy. I really enjoyed how it was woven into the story and fit perfectly for the characters and time period. Mostly just talking about allowing God to judge and for us to not hold onto our anger, that he will take care of everything. Some battles, on land and sea but nothing overly graphic. There is some death. No sexual content.I received a copy from the publisher, Barbour Publishing, via NetGalley. All thoughts and opinions in the review are my own.Happy Reading!!!
    more
  • Staci
    January 1, 1970
    Delightful! In book two of the Daughters of the Mayflower Series, the main character Maribel "Red" Cordoba is a spunky ten year old enamored with the lives of pirates and has her head stuck in a book. The banter she has with the captain of her ship is pure fun. Secondary characters added depth and enjoyment to the first part of the novel. Maribel is a young woman in the second half of the story. Her spunk and love for books is still pleasantly in place. I would have liked for the second half to Delightful! In book two of the Daughters of the Mayflower Series, the main character Maribel "Red" Cordoba is a spunky ten year old enamored with the lives of pirates and has her head stuck in a book. The banter she has with the captain of her ship is pure fun. Secondary characters added depth and enjoyment to the first part of the novel. Maribel is a young woman in the second half of the story. Her spunk and love for books is still pleasantly in place. I would have liked for the second half to been a bit more developed. I felt like a bit of it was rushed.Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this novel and am so pleased to have found a new author with a back list to investigate. If you enjoy humor with your historical romance, don't miss The Pirate Bride!My gratitude to publisher Barbour Books for a complimentary NetGalley copy of this novel. I was not required to post a review and the opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • Marlene
    January 1, 1970
    "We are privateers, not pirates… We operate legally under Letters of Marque, and we conduct ourselves with honor and in accordance with the laws of France."The Pirate Bride (2018, Barbour) by Kathleen Y'Barbo is second in the The Daughters of the Mayflower series. It is a Christian historical novel (with some romance) in multiple settings: "in the waters of the Caribbean Sea; April of 1724" and on the fictional "Isla de Santa Maria … and New Orleans, Louisiana; May of 1735." It is definitely "We are privateers, not pirates… We operate legally under Letters of Marque, and we conduct ourselves with honor and in accordance with the laws of France."The Pirate Bride (2018, Barbour) by Kathleen Y'Barbo is second in the The Daughters of the Mayflower series. It is a Christian historical novel (with some romance) in multiple settings: "in the waters of the Caribbean Sea; April of 1724" and on the fictional "Isla de Santa Maria … and New Orleans, Louisiana; May of 1735." It is definitely a standalone story, linked to the previous book only in that the heroine is a descendant of a character in book one. I requested The Pirate Bride from Netgalley because two of my favorite authors each have a book in this series.Rating: 4 starsThe heroine: Maribel Cordoba, 12, is the great-granddaughter of Mary Chapman, who was the heroine of The Mayflower Bride . This book opens with Mirabel mourning "that Mama and Abuelo were now with the angels" while enroute from Spain to the Caribbean with her father. Mirabel likes to keep her nose in a book - especially in high places - and her favorite book is The Notorious Seafaring Pyrates and Their Exploits. Soon after the book opens, she ends up on a privateer's ship… and spiritedly requests to become a crew member. She was "a wisp of a girl with flaming hair who was better at spotting and naming vessels than any man…" Mirabel is awesome. She's very loyal, a book nerd, and full of pluck. In the second half of the book, she is a 23-year-old adult, but I feel it's too spoiler-y to discuss that portion of the story at all.Mirabel: "...I feel like I ought to warn you about me. See, what I decide to do and what I turn out to do is not always the same thing. So if I don't follow orders very well right now, I would like you to know I will only get better at it the longer I keep trying. I'm working on it, but I've got a long way to go."Privateer: Miss Maribel, you and me both. You and me both.Christian elements: *There are a few Bible verses and some mentions of God throughout. There's one point where God's voice is audible to one of the main characters. Even with that, it did not feel as if God or the Bible were pervasive. I wouldn't say this was Christian Lite, but it didn't feel preachy either. *"Just as Mama had taught her [Mirabel], she turned her fear of this unknown place that would become her new home into prayer." Turning fear to prayer. I love that! *Regarding a former slave: "How was a man who was taken prisoner at the hands of his enemies and sold into slavery able not only to forgive those men but to rise above it all and still hold on to his faith in God? It made no sense."Is it clean/chaste? Yes!What I liked: *Part of the story is a seafaring one. I liked that about The Mayflower Bride as well. *The main and secondary characters are great. There's one character that confuses me a little bit, but everyone else is great. *There's a blind character in the story. *There's a character who I felt sure would end up being a bad egg, but that person turned out to be just the opposite. Kudos to the author for fooling me so completely!*There's a very nice section at the end with historical notes.What I didn’t like: *In my opinion, a person who says, "I will tell no lies" did so. *Instalove is very definitely present here. I checked back, and I felt that The Mayflower Bride also had instalove, which makes me wonder whether the entire series is going to be more adventure-driven than romance-driven. In general, I think it's still possible to have a romance occur more slowly and naturally, even when romance isn't the primary focus. However, I do acknowledge that it would have been extremely difficult to do that in this book since Mirabel is an adult only for the second half of the story, and the romance was in maybe the last quarter. *This is an issue of personal preference only: This book spans years, and the story skips ahead several times, sometimes once jumping by about a decade. It gives the story more of an epic feel, which is not my personal preference. However, it does makes sense for this particular story.***********The bottom line: The Pirate Bride is quite an adventure that held several surprises for me as a reader. I recommend this book to fans of historical Christian fiction and swashbuckler tales. I look forward to reading more books by this author, and plan to read Beloved Castaway. I also plan to read the next in the series, The Captured Bride by Michelle Griep.
    more
  • Deanne Patterson
    January 1, 1970
    This is the second book in the Daughters of the Mayflower series. A wonderfully enjoyable read . I enjoyed reading about this scrap of a girl, a fiery redhead. I don't read many books taking place mostly on a ship let alone a privateer ship in the warm Caribbean. I love following the family through American history. A bit of a mystery follows the family. Likable, for the most part characters , believable plot that wrapped up nicely. It was refreshing to see Maribel Cordoba is not one of those pr This is the second book in the Daughters of the Mayflower series. A wonderfully enjoyable read . I enjoyed reading about this scrap of a girl, a fiery redhead. I don't read many books taking place mostly on a ship let alone a privateer ship in the warm Caribbean. I love following the family through American history. A bit of a mystery follows the family. Likable, for the most part characters , believable plot that wrapped up nicely. It was refreshing to see Maribel Cordoba is not one of those prim and proper females simpering around males with her fan. She was her own person and stayed true to her beliefs even though her relatives tried to change her. Well done, Maribel. Looking forward to the next book in this series.Pub Date 01 Apr 2018I was given a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing, Inc. through NetGalley. All opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • Loraine
    January 1, 1970
    This book was not quite what I expected as I thought it would be about another woman who was on the Mayflower. Instead, it is about Maribel Cordoba, a descendent of Mary Chapman Lytton the heroine of Book 1. But it was a well written, high seas adventure with pirates, appealing characters, plot twists, and faith. Maribel is a sweet tomboy, fiercely independent, intelligent, determined, unforgettable, and a bookworm. Her favorite book is about pirates and she spends many an hour dreaming of being This book was not quite what I expected as I thought it would be about another woman who was on the Mayflower. Instead, it is about Maribel Cordoba, a descendent of Mary Chapman Lytton the heroine of Book 1. But it was a well written, high seas adventure with pirates, appealing characters, plot twists, and faith. Maribel is a sweet tomboy, fiercely independent, intelligent, determined, unforgettable, and a bookworm. Her favorite book is about pirates and she spends many an hour dreaming of being a member of a pirate ship crew. When her much absent father spirits her away and they are forced aboard Jean-Luc's privateer ship known as the Ghost Ship, her adventures begin. Life takes unpredictable twists and turns for Maribel just like the rolling ocean she learned to love. The romance thread was sweet with Marible dreaming often of the much older Jean-Luc; and, in turn, Jean-Luc fighting constant memories of the independent, outspoken, "I can do anything," Maribel. I felt the ending was rather rushed and somewhat predictable; but still, overall, this was a very enjoyable book.*I received a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson through NetGalley. Opinions are mine alone. I was not compensated for this review.
    more
  • Heidi Robbins (Heidi Reads...)
    January 1, 1970
    I loved the adventure in this book! I learned the important difference between a pirate and a privateer, and loved Maribel's enthusiasm for her adventure at sea. The story begins with a young Maribel being kidnapped by her absentee father who is being chased by the infamous privateer Captain Jean Beaumont. Her immediate allegiance to Jean was interesting, and he and his crew couldn't help but be won over by her bright and frank personality. There are politics, skirmishes, and intense battles tha I loved the adventure in this book! I learned the important difference between a pirate and a privateer, and loved Maribel's enthusiasm for her adventure at sea. The story begins with a young Maribel being kidnapped by her absentee father who is being chased by the infamous privateer Captain Jean Beaumont. Her immediate allegiance to Jean was interesting, and he and his crew couldn't help but be won over by her bright and frank personality. There are politics, skirmishes, and intense battles that led to unexpected plot twists. The pace was swift but felt a bit disjointed as the author took large jumps forward in time and switched perspectives unevenly. I enjoyed Maribel's spunky character immensely and felt that she was very well-written. Jean's motivations for privateering were murky until the very end of the book, and I felt like it was a bit harder to get to know him, that the depths of his characters weren't fully explored, although he is likeable enough. I appreciated that this story veered from the usual clichés and took me on an adventure that kept me turning the pages to see what would happen next.(I received a complimentary copy of the book; all opinions in this review are my own)
    more
  • Sarah Monzon
    January 1, 1970
    This is what I’d call my guilty pleasure type of book. The fast pace kept me engaged and entertained. A fun way to spend a few hours.
  • Susan
    January 1, 1970
    Though this is the second installment in the Daughters of the Mayflower series, it can easily be read as a stand-alone novel.This book offers the reader a fantastic adventure on the high seas. Pirates, political intrigue, family secrets and romance make this a fast-paced enjoyable read. I loved the feisty heroine, Mirabel. The hero, Jean-Luc inspires unfailing loyalty. Although this book appears to be a quick, entertaining read, don't miss the spiritual thread woven throughout. Some of my favor Though this is the second installment in the Daughters of the Mayflower series, it can easily be read as a stand-alone novel.This book offers the reader a fantastic adventure on the high seas. Pirates, political intrigue, family secrets and romance make this a fast-paced enjoyable read. I loved the feisty heroine, Mirabel. The hero, Jean-Luc inspires unfailing loyalty. Although this book appears to be a quick, entertaining read, don't miss the spiritual thread woven throughout. Some of my favorite quotes were insightful and held meaning for this reader. One of my favorite quotes by a young Mirabel, " What I decide to do and what I turn out to do is not always the same thing. So if I don't follow orders very well right now, I would like you to know I will only get better at it the longer I keep trying. I'm working on it but I've got a long way to go."Favorite quote spoken to Jean-Luc- " So when you ask me to take you down a path where you will very likely add more scars to the ones you've collected? I follow your lead because you are my friend and my captain, but I do not follow that lead willingly." I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the author/publisher. I was not required to write a review. All opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • J. W. Garrett
    January 1, 1970
    The Daughters of the Mayflower series:Book 1: The Mayflower BrideBook 2: The Pirate Bride The Pirate Bride worked as a stand-a-lone since each of the other books will feature different time periods. Future books in this series will be published throughout the rest of this year and will feature different authors. These books of faith present stories of love, historical settings, high adventure, and family trees.Jean-Luc Valmont first met Maribell Cordoba during the conflicts between Spain and Fra The Daughters of the Mayflower series:Book 1: The Mayflower BrideBook 2: The Pirate Bride The Pirate Bride worked as a stand-a-lone since each of the other books will feature different time periods. Future books in this series will be published throughout the rest of this year and will feature different authors. These books of faith present stories of love, historical settings, high adventure, and family trees.Jean-Luc Valmont first met Maribell Cordoba during the conflicts between Spain and France. Or was that France and Spain? They were always flipping back and forth between being at peace and at war. Maribell, 12-years-old, watched the notorious pirate/privateer, Captain Jean Beaumont and his ‘Ghost Ship,’ take their Spanish ship Venganza and its treasure. Her father, whom she barely knew, was lost in the struggle. She then spent time on the Ghost Ship along with its Captain and crew. I loved these guys. As supporting characters, they made the story. It would have been dry toast without them. Those that were killed during the conflicts… I grieved their loss.But then Maribell’s adventure came to an end. France had a warrant for the capture of Captain Jean Beaumont and after a battle to take him, she was lost and presumed dead. Later, the unconscious child was rescued and taken to a convent to be raised by the nuns. Our story then jumps eleven years into the future where she was now a teacher at the convent, with vague memories of her adventures on the high seas. Little did she know that her past was about to come for her along with the secrets held these many years. This story was like a canoe riding on the surface of the water. It never went deeper with its emotions and feelings and was rather bland in the romance department. It was like ordering ice cream… I was expecting Rocky Road and got Vanilla instead. I just didn’t get this couple. I didn’t feel the romance between our two main characters. I realize this was a faith-based story… but even the Bible can curl your hair if you read the right chapters. It is possible to be romantic without being sleazy.A lot of the drama happened off the page and we were just told about it. All the elements were there, but just couldn’t seem to pull it together. It jumped about; I had trouble knowing who the bad guys were and who were the good. The ending was rushed and I’m still not clear what happened. Like I said… it happened off the page and someone came running to tell our main characters… hey, it’s OK now. Really???I volunteered to read an unedited galley from the publisher and NetGalley. The views expressed are my own. The projected publishing date is April 1, 2018.
    more
  • Missy
    January 1, 1970
    This book was such an enjoyable read. It followed Maribel Cordoba (Red) the young daughter of a Spanish ship captain and Jean-Luc a French ship captain. After taking over the ship of Maribel and her father, Jean-Luc forms a special place in his heart for Red, though he does not realize it for years later. Maribel is a reader of pirate books, knowing all ships, the duties of all aboard, and cannot help but irritate the French captain. After years of searching for the rebellious Red who has grown This book was such an enjoyable read. It followed Maribel Cordoba (Red) the young daughter of a Spanish ship captain and Jean-Luc a French ship captain. After taking over the ship of Maribel and her father, Jean-Luc forms a special place in his heart for Red, though he does not realize it for years later. Maribel is a reader of pirate books, knowing all ships, the duties of all aboard, and cannot help but irritate the French captain. After years of searching for the rebellious Red who has grown up in a convent on a Caribbean island, Maribel finds her family, and Jean-Luc finally finds her by pure chance. I liked this book for its story on the ocean, the life of a privateer, and of course the love it brought to Maribel and Jean-Luc. I have to admit it did take me a good bit to get into, but once Maribel made her way to New Orleans, the story really picked up and I enjoyed where it was going. I would recommend this book, especially if you enjoyed the Mayflower Bride. This is a great series and I cannot wait to read the next. I received this from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Jerry
    January 1, 1970
    Synopsis: As a child, Maribel was on the privateer Jean-Luc's ship. Years later, Jean-Luc has put his pirating days behind him...until a grown Maribel, who never forgot him, appears on his doorstep. Can he open his heart to someone from his former life?The Good: This was well-written and engaging.The Bad: Parts of it I had trouble following, but, the story was so sweeping, I didn't mind.
    more
  • Amy Leigh
    January 1, 1970
    I read this book immediately following The Mayflower Bride since it is a series but they can be read as standalones. Maribel is the great granddaughter of Mary but that's the only real mention from the first book. This is a Christian/Young Adult/Historical Fiction book and I really enjoyed it. In fact I flew through it and liked it more than the first of the series. Thank you for not having that preachy feel with this book. Maribel is 12 when she loses her mom and grandfather and is forced to cr I read this book immediately following The Mayflower Bride since it is a series but they can be read as standalones. Maribel is the great granddaughter of Mary but that's the only real mention from the first book. This is a Christian/Young Adult/Historical Fiction book and I really enjoyed it. In fact I flew through it and liked it more than the first of the series. Thank you for not having that preachy feel with this book. Maribel is 12 when she loses her mom and grandfather and is forced to cross the sea to join her father. When privateers attack and her father is also killed she is left joining the crew to survive. She is fierce and passionate while still being innocent. I admired her bravery and strength to stick to her beliefs. Jean-Luc is surprised with how quickly the little redheaded Maribel has captured the hearts of his crew and does his best to get them safely across the high seas. He in turn gets separated from Maribel and has to try to leave his past to get on with his life. Maribel travels to New Orleans trying to find the man who holds the location of her father's wealth and property surprised to be reunited with Jean-Luc and sharing another adventure together as an older young woman this time. I received this book from Barbour publishing and NetGalley in exchange for my fair and honest review.
    more
  • Brittany
    January 1, 1970
    The Pirate Bride was full of many interesting and dangerous situations. I feel that I learned a lot as I read the story.This book was divided into two sections. One setting took place around the time that the main character, Maribel, was a child and detailed the events that surrounded her capture by privateer Jean-Luc Valmont. The other setting took place in the time when Maribel was a grown young woman.I was very interested in seeing how things played out for these characters throughout the yea The Pirate Bride was full of many interesting and dangerous situations. I feel that I learned a lot as I read the story.This book was divided into two sections. One setting took place around the time that the main character, Maribel, was a child and detailed the events that surrounded her capture by privateer Jean-Luc Valmont. The other setting took place in the time when Maribel was a grown young woman.I was very interested in seeing how things played out for these characters throughout the years. The action and adventure of the time at sea with the privateers was exciting and I enjoyed reading about the things that went on with the characters on the ship. The second portion of the book did not capture my interest in the way that the first portion did. I was happy to see how things worked out for Maribel and Jean-Luc, but I did not feel the chemistry between the two of them that I was hoping for. An overall interesting story to read, but the romance wasn’t really there for me.(3.5 stars)I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.You can read this review on my blog:https://brittreadsfiction.wordpress.c...
    more
  • Anne
    January 1, 1970
    The Pirate Bride is a real treasure. It has been a long time since I read a novel featuring a pirate or rather privateer, as Captain Jean Beaumont continually reminds Maribel. The story and its characters engulfed me from the first page. Y’Barbo has crafted an exciting tale of adventure on the high seas and in exotic locales. Combining snappy dialogue and witty characters, my attention never wavered. I did not experience one moment of boredom aboard ship or on land. The descriptions are incredib The Pirate Bride is a real treasure. It has been a long time since I read a novel featuring a pirate or rather privateer, as Captain Jean Beaumont continually reminds Maribel. The story and its characters engulfed me from the first page. Y’Barbo has crafted an exciting tale of adventure on the high seas and in exotic locales. Combining snappy dialogue and witty characters, my attention never wavered. I did not experience one moment of boredom aboard ship or on land. The descriptions are incredibly vivid, creating pictorial images that made me long to spirit away on a ship to the islands. A hefty dose of danger and secrecy add paramount drama. And shiver me timbers, there is an unexpected twist to this story that made my jaw drop!The Pirate Bride is the second book in The Daughters of the Mayflower series which will be comprised of six novels. Yes. Six! I have not read the first book in the series but I did purchase it as soon as I finished this one. I was gifted a copy of The Pirate Bride from the publisher. I was not required to write a review. No compensation has been received.
    more
  • Jaime Jo Wright
    January 1, 1970
    In a captivating tale of the seas, Y’Barbo gives readers a unique story of history and romance. Not just your everyday pirate tale, readers will fall in love with the troubled soul of a ship captain, and an unclaimed waif destines to take ownership of his heart. A story of loss, of love, and of the budding foundations of a nation still in infant form. This is a don’t-miss on my list!
    more
  • Paula Shreckhise
    January 1, 1970
    The Pirate Bride by Kathleen Y’Barbo.This is second in the series The Daughters of the Mayflower and is set in 1724 to 1735 in the Caribbean and New Orleans. Building on the heritage of faith seen in the first book, this was an exciting tale of the times when the relations between Spain, France and England were constantly changing. Kathleen has done an admirable job incorporating her research into the story of a spunky heroine and a swoon worthy and upstanding hero.Maribel Cordoba and her father The Pirate Bride by Kathleen Y’Barbo.This is second in the series The Daughters of the Mayflower and is set in 1724 to 1735 in the Caribbean and New Orleans. Building on the heritage of faith seen in the first book, this was an exciting tale of the times when the relations between Spain, France and England were constantly changing. Kathleen has done an admirable job incorporating her research into the story of a spunky heroine and a swoon worthy and upstanding hero.Maribel Cordoba and her father, Antonio, are on a ship that attacks the Privateer captained by Jean-Luc Valmont in the Caribbean waters. However, the Spanish ship is the one that goes down and Maribel is rescued by Jean-Luc. This delightful story follows Maribel and Jean-Luc during the eleven years they are apart and culminates with their reunion. Maribel is raised by nuns on a small island not far from Jamaica and her faith grows strong but she does not lose her adventurous ways. Jean-Luc forgoes his Privateering life for a place as a lawyer in his father’s lucrative business in New Orleans. But he has never given up hope of finding Maribel who he fears was lost at sea. Many things are not what they first seem and that keeps the story very intriguing. Kathleen writes such interesting secondary characters. Among them are the blind Mother Superior in charge of the orphanage and Jean-Luc’s right hand man Israel Bennet, a freed slave. I enjoyed the interaction of the Valmont family. They are closeknit, caring and their faith means much to them. This faith is presented naturally throughout their lives. They recognize that their prayers are answered and that the outcome of situations can only be by the hand of God.*I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review. All opinions are my own.*
    more
  • Karen
    January 1, 1970
    An enjoyable read full of adventure! A descendant from the Lytton family tree from book one of the series, Maribel Cordoba finds herself having quite an adventure as a twelve year old when out at sea with her estranged father. The story fast forwards to eleven years later on as she begins a new life in New Orleans, in 1724. I enjoyed the character of Maribel, with her insatiable curiosity, friendly nature and intelligent bantering with the shipmates, especially Captain Jean. It was a fun story t An enjoyable read full of adventure! A descendant from the Lytton family tree from book one of the series, Maribel Cordoba finds herself having quite an adventure as a twelve year old when out at sea with her estranged father. The story fast forwards to eleven years later on as she begins a new life in New Orleans, in 1724. I enjoyed the character of Maribel, with her insatiable curiosity, friendly nature and intelligent bantering with the shipmates, especially Captain Jean. It was a fun story to read, and had me guessing how she would adjust to life later on as an adult. The twists and turns with the many characters popping in and out of her life, made it move along quickly. The ending felt a bit rushed and condensed, with the romance part a bit awkward, but it was a satisfying read overall.Recommend to fans of sea going tales, Christian historicals and clean romances. Reads fine as a standalone. 4.5 stars(An e-book was provided by NetGalley and the publisher. All opinions are my own.)
    more
  • Kara
    January 1, 1970
    When I saw the title, I knew I couldn't resist a good pirate story and it was my first time reading this author :) It starts off a little slow for me, but the as Maribel changes ships early in the story after what happens to her father, I was hooked to see what happened next to her. I was heartbroken and deeply touched when Evan Connor saves the captain's life and how well he pulled it off. Captain Beaumont somehow survives so much and I was amazed by what he endures.Truly loved the nuns and how When I saw the title, I knew I couldn't resist a good pirate story and it was my first time reading this author :) It starts off a little slow for me, but the as Maribel changes ships early in the story after what happens to her father, I was hooked to see what happened next to her. I was heartbroken and deeply touched when Evan Connor saves the captain's life and how well he pulled it off. Captain Beaumont somehow survives so much and I was amazed by what he endures.Truly loved the nuns and how Maribel is raised by them surrounded by promises and secrets. She is loved by these men and it was so endearing. I thought it was hilarious how she duped Mrs. McDonald. "I will write a very nice letter and be sure to tell her how wonderful her tea and cookies were and how very much I enjoyed getting to know her for the hour we spent together. How's that?"Loved Gaby, captain's sister and Will Spencer, Maribel's friend. Abigail is also a favorite in this story as well as Israel. My only complaint is that the story had very little romance at all. The captain and Maribel are separated for most of the story and we read how they fare during a long absence before being reunited again. Maribel's life is more detailed while his life is summed up. I would've preferred to read more about their life together.Overall I really enjoyed how things turn out and Maribel was a delight through it all! Her scarf never should've been taken from her and I hope her and Valmont will continue reading books up in a tall tree or watching stars from that view from here on out.I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.
    more
  • Scarlett
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to NetGalley and Barbour Publishing for an ARC of this book! I think this book is more like a 3.5 for me. It had a lot of good things going for it. The characters really were really likable and I found myself thinking about them even after I had stopped reading. The writing was good and several times I said I was only going to the end of the chapter and then I’d want to keep reading when I got to there. And I will admit that I thought this book was very straightforward, just going to be a Thanks to NetGalley and Barbour Publishing for an ARC of this book! I think this book is more like a 3.5 for me. It had a lot of good things going for it. The characters really were really likable and I found myself thinking about them even after I had stopped reading. The writing was good and several times I said I was only going to the end of the chapter and then I’d want to keep reading when I got to there. And I will admit that I thought this book was very straightforward, just going to be a coming of age/love story, and then there was something towards the end that took me by surprise that I truly was not expecting. However, I did get the feeling that this book was somewhat juvenile. Any slight bit of action or mention of violence was skipped over, which felt weird in a book about pirates. I also felt like there wasn’t a lot of depth to any characters besides Jean and Maribel. I would have liked to know more about Israel and his wife, Maribel’s mother and grandfather, Jean’s wife, and more. Things that would have added so much to the story happened and were over within a sentence or two. Overall though, it was entertaining and well written. I really liked the historical portrayal New Orleans and privateers. I might be interested in reading some of the others in the series when I’m in the mood for a quick light historical fiction.
    more
  • Kristin
    January 1, 1970
    Ahoy there, mateys! This book was a lot of fun. I loved Maribel—she reminded me of a swashbuckling Anne of Green Gables. I was intrigued from the very first page.While this book left me with a few unanswered questions and I felt that the pacing was a bit erratic, I still thought this book was quirky and enjoyable. Again, I can’t help but compare it to Anne.The story felt fairly juvenile to me but that wasn’t necessarily a bad thing. Not to be redundant but the quirk and humor are what sold this Ahoy there, mateys! This book was a lot of fun. I loved Maribel—she reminded me of a swashbuckling Anne of Green Gables. I was intrigued from the very first page.While this book left me with a few unanswered questions and I felt that the pacing was a bit erratic, I still thought this book was quirky and enjoyable. Again, I can’t help but compare it to Anne.The story felt fairly juvenile to me but that wasn’t necessarily a bad thing. Not to be redundant but the quirk and humor are what sold this book for me. I loved how spirited and free Maribel was. She was just crazy. Not bad crazy but crazy in an adorable Jack Sparrow kind of way.As I already stated, I did have a few issues with this book. For one, I couldn’t figure out Jean-Luc’s fascination with Maribel. I didn’t get weirded out that Maribel was 11 and he was 25ish or so when they met. He didn’t fall for her until she was an adult. I never once felt that inappropriate lines were crossed or anything like that.But, after so many years apart, their instant attraction upon meeting as adults felt like an insta-love story trope for me. Which I often have a hard time buying. Yes, they had a history together. However, you cannot take that into account without getting creepy.I just don’t know what the deal is here. I couldn’t buy such a strong love developing so fast. It felt rushed and I just needed more time to accept Jean Luc and Maribel together as a couple.I also felt that the ending was rushed. I needed more action. I just didn’t feel like my timbers adequately shivered. Savvy?Note: Kristin reads and reviews both Christian and secular fiction on A Simply Enchanted Life. Out of respect for my readers, I am including a content review. This content review will help you decide whether this book is suitable for you.Christian or Secular: ChristianASEL Rating: Mild Violence (see below for more)Content to be aware of: A girl falls in love with a man who is many years her senior. Having first met him at 11 years old, some readers (in other reviews) have found the relationship disturbing. Though she is 21 when they next meet.Suggested Age: 15+Want to see my reviews as they go live on the blog? You can follow A Simply Enchanted Life via Wordpress, bloglovin', social media or email!This review originally posted on A Simply Enchanted LifeThis book was provided to me by Barbour Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review, and have not been compensated for this. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Trisha Robertson (Joy of Reading)
    January 1, 1970
    My imagination and my heart were captured and swept out to sea on a Pirate (cough, clears throat, errr) Privateer ship! I enjoyed the action and the drama in the story. I was a greedy book dragon devouring every word! These fantastic characters will take captive of your heart.In the beginning, I felt sad for Maribel, orphaned at a young age. Yet I cheered for her as she quickly rose above the devastation and we got to see her fiery personality and spunk. She is such an endearing character and on My imagination and my heart were captured and swept out to sea on a Pirate (cough, clears throat, errr) Privateer ship! I enjoyed the action and the drama in the story. I was a greedy book dragon devouring every word! These fantastic characters will take captive of your heart.In the beginning, I felt sad for Maribel, orphaned at a young age. Yet I cheered for her as she quickly rose above the devastation and we got to see her fiery personality and spunk. She is such an endearing character and one that will stay with you long after you finish the story.Jean-Luc is a strong and dashing hero. Watch out ladies, he may just abscond with your heart!This delightful, fast-paced story is sure to entertain and delight. I highly recommend you find a copy of this energetic 5-star adventure to enjoy for yourself as soon as you are able.(I receive complimentary books for review from publishers, publicists, and/or authors, including Netgalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own.)
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    The premise and historical context of this story were fascinating but the execution missed the mark for me. There was a lot of telling, not enough showing, and the character and plot development just weren’t there. Quite a bit was going on plot wise, but the author glossed over the lot of it. I’m sorry I didn’t like this more. :(The message that God can be found in our messed up world was the best part of this story, and the ending was sweet as well. An epilogue would have been appreciated, but The premise and historical context of this story were fascinating but the execution missed the mark for me. There was a lot of telling, not enough showing, and the character and plot development just weren’t there. Quite a bit was going on plot wise, but the author glossed over the lot of it. I’m sorry I didn’t like this more. :(The message that God can be found in our messed up world was the best part of this story, and the ending was sweet as well. An epilogue would have been appreciated, but maybe there’s mention of these characters in the next book.
    more
  • Bhriv
    January 1, 1970
    The Pirate Bride: Daughters of the Mayflower, by Kathleen Y'Barbo is the first book I think I've read by this author. What a great read! Loved every page of this story!I didn't think it was full of romance but more the hope of it and very satisfying ending. My favorite character was Jean-Luc...daring, adventurous, and everything a mother wouldn't want for her daughter, but then again...everything she would! :) Can't wait to read other books by this author!I received a copy of this book from the The Pirate Bride: Daughters of the Mayflower, by Kathleen Y'Barbo is the first book I think I've read by this author. What a great read! Loved every page of this story!I didn't think it was full of romance but more the hope of it and very satisfying ending. My favorite character was Jean-Luc...daring, adventurous, and everything a mother wouldn't want for her daughter, but then again...everything she would! :) Can't wait to read other books by this author!I received a copy of this book from the publisher. All thoughts and comments are my own.
    more
  • Susan Snodgrass
    January 1, 1970
    "Pray the fear away. Pray the fear away." These are words that Maribel Cordoba's mother drilled into her as a child when she was afraid. Now she must use them.Kathleen Y'Barbo's book, The Pirate Bride, part of the Daughters of the Mayflower series that will continue through the end of the year, takes readers out onto the high seas for a wonderful adventure.I have long enjoyed Y'Barbo's books and own many of them. She is quite adept at switching genres and her historical research is impeccable. D "Pray the fear away. Pray the fear away." These are words that Maribel Cordoba's mother drilled into her as a child when she was afraid. Now she must use them.Kathleen Y'Barbo's book, The Pirate Bride, part of the Daughters of the Mayflower series that will continue through the end of the year, takes readers out onto the high seas for a wonderful adventure.I have long enjoyed Y'Barbo's books and own many of them. She is quite adept at switching genres and her historical research is impeccable. Don't miss this second in the series.*My thanks to the publisher and author for a copy of this book. The opinions stated her are entirely my own.
    more
  • Shantelle
    January 1, 1970
    The Pirate Bride was a book that I, personally, just didn't care for. It's a little disappointing for me, because I was quite excited about this multi-author series, DAUGHTERS OF THE MAYFLOWER. Now, being that the other books are by different authors, I will be continuing this series, even though The Pirate Bride is not one I'll be keeping on my bookshelf.So, what were my problems with this book? I can't exactly pinpoint everything. I just never really got invested in the story. There were a bun The Pirate Bride was a book that I, personally, just didn't care for. It's a little disappointing for me, because I was quite excited about this multi-author series, DAUGHTERS OF THE MAYFLOWER. Now, being that the other books are by different authors, I will be continuing this series, even though The Pirate Bride is not one I'll be keeping on my bookshelf.So, what were my problems with this book? I can't exactly pinpoint everything. I just never really got invested in the story. There were a bunch of characters I didn't care about. I was confused a lot - why is this happening? Why can't these characters encounter each other? Why is this certain character so important? ... we know nothing about his life and he doesn't seem to be adding anything much.And there was the situation of this rather interesting couple getting physical (non-detailed kissing) way too fast.By the end-ish of the book, I was more interested. And to be honest, I think this story line actually has a lot of potential! But my personal opinion is that it should have been fleshed out more - made into a longer book giving us more time to really get to know the characters and let the story unfold naturally with more clarity, detail, and emotion. And just time! I felt like things were rushed or unexplained, and I was rather confused.Anyway, those are simply my personal thoughts. You may love this story just as it is. With privateers, pirates, secrets, and sea-faring adventure, it does have some exciting scenes.I received a copy of The Pirate Bride from a giveaway hosted through Goodreads.
    more
  • Dana Michael
    January 1, 1970
    This book was a fun, sweet, mystery filled adventure. I felt as if I was swept away on a privateer ship in the Caribbean. With a little red headed girl who endeared herself to the crew as Red.The Captain, a handsome, feared, and brave man who had me swooning. I was captivated by this read. The talented author is new to me and I will most definitely be reading more from her. With that said, I would love to see these characters again with maybe William Spencer as the hero.😉*I was given a copy of t This book was a fun, sweet, mystery filled adventure. I felt as if I was swept away on a privateer ship in the Caribbean. With a little red headed girl who endeared herself to the crew as Red.The Captain, a handsome, feared, and brave man who had me swooning. I was captivated by this read. The talented author is new to me and I will most definitely be reading more from her. With that said, I would love to see these characters again with maybe William Spencer as the hero.😉*I was given a copy of this book by the publisher. This is my honest opinion.
    more
  • Nicole
    January 1, 1970
    The Pirate Bride (2018) by Kathleen Y’Barbo is the second book in The Daughters of the Mayflower series. This novel comes in all forms including eBook, and is 251 pages in length. With a full-time job, a precocious five-year old at home The Pirate Bride took me one day to read. I received a copy of this novel in paperback form from Barbour Publishing. In no way has this influenced my opinion of the story. All opinions expressed in this review are my own. I give The Pirate Bride 4 STARS. This nov The Pirate Bride (2018) by Kathleen Y’Barbo is the second book in The Daughters of the Mayflower series. This novel comes in all forms including eBook, and is 251 pages in length. With a full-time job, a precocious five-year old at home The Pirate Bride took me one day to read. I received a copy of this novel in paperback form from Barbour Publishing. In no way has this influenced my opinion of the story. All opinions expressed in this review are my own. I give The Pirate Bride 4 STARS. This novel is a Historical Christian Romance.If I had one word to describe The Pirate Bride by Kathleen Y’Barbo that word would be “fun”! This book is fast-paced and highly “un-put-downable.” The characters, especially Maribel, are well-written, and the action and adventure is non-stop. This is my first time to read a book by Y’Barbo, but it will not be my last. I enjoyed escaping into this story line and will miss Maribel’s fabulous antics.Maribel is my favorite part of this book. She is brave, witty, perceptive, and hilarious. I laughed out loud quite a few times. She gets on these talking jags and they are just so funny. Whether a 12-year old aboard a Pirate’s — er, I mean — a Privateer’s ship, or a beautiful 23-year old on an island that houses the orphanage she grew up in, Maribel is a force to be reckoned with. What I liked best about Maribel’s character is her ability to not give in to fear. In fact, whenever she feels fear rearing its ugly head, she repeats “Pray away the fear, pray away the fear.” Maribel puts her focus on talking to God, which naturally takes her brain away from her fear and then she is able to act.Jean-Luc, the Pirate hero, is an impressive character. He is handsome, intriguing, and kindhearted. But, he is also commanding and intense. He definitely needs Maribel in his life to help his lighter side come out every now and then. What is really fun about this book is the interesting and unusual ship that Jean-Luc captains. The men are all good. They have values and a moral compass. Not quite what one would expect when reading a Pirate story, so in that it is not quite historically accurate, but it does make for a very charming read. My favorite crew member is Israel Bennett. He loves God big time, defends those he cares for, and is so loyal. I love how protective he immediately feels towards Maribel — Israel becomes a stand-in father of sorts. It is sweet. In fact, I love how Jean-Luc’s entire crew immediately bonded to Maribel and took care of her in very considerate and tenderhearted ways.If you are looking for a great story to escape into, then I highly recommend The Pirate Bride. There is not a boring moment in this book. It has pirates, battles, deception, mystery, and a sweet romance. I guarantee you will enjoy this fun adventure!
    more
  • Nora St Laurent
    January 1, 1970
    I had a blast hanging out with Maribel Cordoba and Captain Beaumont. When Maribel splashed on the page and came to life with her fiercely independent thinking, her spunk, with a sense of high sea adventure, and her determination to become a crew member of a pirate ship. I had to smile and laugh out-loud at her passionate desire and confidence in dealing with these pirates.She knew all she needed to know by reading (almost three times now) , “The Notorious Seafaring Pirates and their Exploits by I had a blast hanging out with Maribel Cordoba and Captain Beaumont. When Maribel splashed on the page and came to life with her fiercely independent thinking, her spunk, with a sense of high sea adventure, and her determination to become a crew member of a pirate ship. I had to smile and laugh out-loud at her passionate desire and confidence in dealing with these pirates.She knew all she needed to know by reading (almost three times now) , “The Notorious Seafaring Pirates and their Exploits by Captain Ulysses Jones. When Jean-Lu Valmont meets Maribel for the first time a ship mate describes Maribel’s dilemma, “apparently the gag was deemed necessary due to the girl’s insistence on telling anyone who might listen about the books she’s read on pirating and how she knows their jobs well enough to do all of them.” Humor rose on the old man’s face as he looked at Jean…” She’s a spitfire, that one. Watch yourself near her.”Jean-Lu Valmont is strong, handsome, a pirate commissioned by the French. He operated his ship a little differently than most pirates. He was not cut throat and ruthless. But he would demand respect from everyone on his ship. Then he meets Maribel Cordoba in a vulnerable position and after they take the gag out of her mouth. He says, “I am the captain of this vessel.” He looked at Maribel “As such, I regret to inform you that a woman will never be fit to join my crew.”“And why not?” says eleven-year-old Maribel.“I’m responsible for protecting all of you.”“That’s ridiculous. I’ve done a fine job fending for myself.” Maribel blurts out. She’d show him and the other guys on this ship a thing or two; and she does! Grin! (I’m not going to spoil it)There is more fun in-store for Maribel when she gets to New Orleans. There are surprises for her, Jean-Luc and the reader. This is an entertaining action-packed adventure on land and at sea. It’s a great escape; with well-developed characters I liked hanging out with. I highly recommend this as a delightful read and one that would work well for your book club experience. There is so much to discuss.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher through Netgalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”Nora St. LaurentTBCN Where Book Fun Begins! www.bookfun.orgThe Book Club Network blog www.psalm516.blogspot.com Book Fun Magazine https://tinyurl.com/y9lwbfrs SVP Promotion
    more
  • Lynda Edwards
    January 1, 1970
    After reading the first book in Barbour’s new series, The Daughters of the Mayflower, I impatiently awaited the next book. Although the family tree in the front shows the relation between the stories, it appears each book will be a standalone. While I perhaps might have enjoyed something a bit more directly related, this book in no other way disappointed me—it is a fantastic story that I might not otherwise have picked up if it were not in this series.While I have nothing against pirate stories, After reading the first book in Barbour’s new series, The Daughters of the Mayflower, I impatiently awaited the next book. Although the family tree in the front shows the relation between the stories, it appears each book will be a standalone. While I perhaps might have enjoyed something a bit more directly related, this book in no other way disappointed me—it is a fantastic story that I might not otherwise have picked up if it were not in this series.While I have nothing against pirate stories, I have not read many of them; I can only remember one other that I really enjoyed. This book may be a turnaround for me in that respect! I thoroughly related to these characters and their adventures were exciting. Maybe I can appreciate it more because there is lots of action, several battles, but no real gore or graphic descriptions that have left me cold in the past.This novel has two separate parts, divided by an eleven year break in the action. While I was a bit concerned that the long time span would render the characters unrecognizable, that was not the case—they aged and matured a bit, but the author did a great job of keeping them consistent without it appearing as if no time had passed for the those involved.Y’Barbo incorporates several twists that I did not anticipate. I love it when a book is able to surprise me, and this one did in more than just unexpected events. There are several moments that had me chuckling, a few that created contented sighs, and even others that had me mad enough to throw the book (if I would ever consider such a thing!). She evoked varied emotions and I felt as if I had lived along with the characters for a time.I highly recommend this novel for anyone who loves historical fiction, even those who might be reluctant to give a book with “pirate” in the title a fair try. Because of the great action without a lot of bloodshed, this book is a fantastic choice for even younger teens who enjoy adventure. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel by Kathleen Y’Barbo, my first, and will be seeking out her back list as I wait for the next release in this series!I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing but was under no obligation to post a review.
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    Of Love and Pirates As the second book in the Daughters of the Mayflower series, “The Pirate Bride” proved to be even more engaging and intriguing than “The Mayflower Bride.” This series is interesting in that it chronicles pivotal points in history from a Christian perspective, with each installment written by a different author. This arrangement keeps the volumes fresh, avoiding the repetitious pattern that could otherwise easily result. “The Pirate Bride” goes a step further and adopts a perh Of Love and Pirates As the second book in the Daughters of the Mayflower series, “The Pirate Bride” proved to be even more engaging and intriguing than “The Mayflower Bride.” This series is interesting in that it chronicles pivotal points in history from a Christian perspective, with each installment written by a different author. This arrangement keeps the volumes fresh, avoiding the repetitious pattern that could otherwise easily result. “The Pirate Bride” goes a step further and adopts a perhaps unconventional approach to what is obviously a romance, introducing the heroine—Maribel Cordoba—when she is only eleven. Her story begins aboard a ship in the Caribbean in 1724, and her fateful encounter with the privateer Jean-Luc Valmont has implications that travel far beyond that time and place. Indeed, Maribel’s somewhat eccentric character—being rather unladylike for the time—continues into young womanhood as the narrative shifts to 1735 for the second half of the novel. Part of what drew me to Maribel’s character was her love of reading and books, which was not common during the eighteenth century, as well as her indomitable spirit. Her journey is a unique one, offering a glimpse of maritime, convent, and domestic life in and around the Caribbean. The story, as such, presents a distinctive narrative with gentle Christian undertones. How the characters’ lives connect and weave together demonstrates Kathleen Y’Barbo’s creative skill, with the romance itself playing out toward the novel’s closing. “The Pirate Bride” is a fascinating work of fiction with plenty of adventure and novelty sure to delight and entertain. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.
    more
Write a review