Due Diligence (Adventures in the Liaden Universe, #24)
When Clan Korval knows your name. . . Abandoned on a strange port by a scam gone bad, his license to pilot rescinded, and his pockets very much to let, Fer Gun pen'Uldra was teetering between trouble, more trouble, and bad trouble. Cornered in a cheap bar by a too-knowledgeable stranger with an unlikely offer, Fer Gun realized having no money and no license might be the least of his troubles. Clan Korval knew his name and that proposal was hard to refuse. . .

Due Diligence (Adventures in the Liaden Universe, #24) Details

TitleDue Diligence (Adventures in the Liaden Universe, #24)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 10th, 2017
PublisherPinbeam Books
Number of pages85 pages
Rating
GenreScience Fiction, Fiction, Novella

Due Diligence (Adventures in the Liaden Universe, #24) Review

  • Dan
    July 12, 2017
    Superb! So enjoyable!
  • Teresa Carrigan
    July 11, 2017
    Excellent story! This takes place during the time that Chi yos'Phelium was Delm Korval (Delm before Daav I think). It is not a full novel, but rather chapbook length. I finished it the same evening I started it, without staying up past bedtime.I don't think the main character has appeared in other stories yet. You do not need to have read other Liaden books. I highly recommend the entire series as being intelligent space opera and well worth rereading.
    more
  • Steve
    July 11, 2017
    This is a wonderful addition to the series, and it fills in a hole I didn't realize needed filling. It's a good story with a surprise kicker at the end when a beloved character appears.
  • Debrac2014
    July 12, 2017
    Wonderful story about Chi meeting the man who would be Daav's father!
  • Lis Carey
    July 13, 2017
    Fer Gun pen'Uldra is a young Liaden pilot, stranded without his license because he was carrying something for his Terlune cousins. He's got a two-cantra fine to pay, and no prospect of paying it with his license suspended.Abandoned by his cousins, with barely enough money in his pockets to by for a meal and a bed that night, it seems like a good prospect when an older but still attractive pilot approaches him. It turns out, though, that she's not looking for a night's pleasure, but a contract ma Fer Gun pen'Uldra is a young Liaden pilot, stranded without his license because he was carrying something for his Terlune cousins. He's got a two-cantra fine to pay, and no prospect of paying it with his license suspended.Abandoned by his cousins, with barely enough money in his pockets to by for a meal and a bed that night, it seems like a good prospect when an older but still attractive pilot approaches him. It turns out, though, that she's not looking for a night's pleasure, but a contract marriage likely to produce a pilot child.This woman is of Clan Korval, of the yos'Phelium line, and looking to have a child who can one day be Delm, as her daughter Kareen is excellent in all ways except having the speed and reflexes to be a pilot. Fer Gun's life is about to change completely; he has no idea how much.This story is a look back into the past of Clan Korval, of a time when the Clan was reduced to dangerously few members, and heirs were needed for both yos'Phelium and yos'Galen. It showcases both the scheming and the honor that characterize the Korval clan members exiting fans know better from the novels, and offers a quick introduction to Clan Korval and the Liaden universe for those just discovering it. There's intrigue, adventure, scheming, and a bit of romance here. At novella length it's a quick taste for new readers, and a quick visit for older readers. The Liaden series is one of my favorite comfort reads.Recommended.
    more
  • Deb F
    July 20, 2017
    An origin story! This is the story of how Daav's father gets involved with Chi yos'Phelium. It starts with a pilot, Fer Gun pen'Uldra, who has been abandoned by his family (his evil cousins), and had his pilot's license suspended; and ends under the tree at Jelaza Kazone with Daav and Er Thom as children, playing underfoot (or under-branch). In between, you see how Korval's influence - although the clan is small - can completely change the trajectory of a life. Well worth a read, especially for An origin story! This is the story of how Daav's father gets involved with Chi yos'Phelium. It starts with a pilot, Fer Gun pen'Uldra, who has been abandoned by his family (his evil cousins), and had his pilot's license suspended; and ends under the tree at Jelaza Kazone with Daav and Er Thom as children, playing underfoot (or under-branch). In between, you see how Korval's influence - although the clan is small - can completely change the trajectory of a life. Well worth a read, especially for those who enjoy an understanding of the backstory associated with major characters. Also interesting seeing Kareen in the background, after the clan have realised she is not a pilot, and seeing the beginnings of her interest in influencing the Code. The moral of the story is ALWAYS read a contract before signing it.Note that this is NOT a full novel, it's a chapbook, which is about ten chapters of story. I bought my copy for $3.99 USD from www DOT baen DOT com (forward-slash) due-diligence.html
    more
  • Kathleen
    July 13, 2017
    For readers who follow Clan Korval, this one is a treat!I enjoyed this glimpse into Chi and Petrella, and the protocols for clan leadership and intermarriage between Line yos'Phelium and Line yos'Galan. I enjoyed seeing Chi's best friend yo'Lanni and her brother, ter'Meulen. We also get a glimpse of the dea'Gauss, one of my favorite secondary characters. Plus....a benjali good scene with Tree! 😋The plot wasn't anything new, since Clan Korval has long been offering hope to the desperate, collecti For readers who follow Clan Korval, this one is a treat!I enjoyed this glimpse into Chi and Petrella, and the protocols for clan leadership and intermarriage between Line yos'Phelium and Line yos'Galan. I enjoyed seeing Chi's best friend yo'Lanni and her brother, ter'Meulen. We also get a glimpse of the dea'Gauss, one of my favorite secondary characters. Plus....a benjali good scene with Tree! 😋The plot wasn't anything new, since Clan Korval has long been offering hope to the desperate, collecting strays, orphans, and the otherwise oppressed.I felt mixed about the ending. Happy, but bittersweet. A solid story but for the typos (more than a few) and some confusing formatting for dialogue (it wasn't always clear when the speaking wand moved from Chi to Petrella, because gestures were given a separately indented paragraph from the associated speech).(view spoiler)[Ever wonder about Daav's father? A younger Kareen spitefully sneered at his low-house clan, but Daav silenced her with one cut, "But a pilot to behold." (Local Custom, I think). (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Kathy Martin
    July 16, 2017
    Long-time readers of the Liaden Universe have a question answered in this novella. Who is Daav yos'Phelium's biological father? This novella tells the story of Fer Gun pen'Uldra and how he came to meet Chi yos'Phelium Delm Korval and how that meeting changes his life. Though a pilot of great skill, his talents aren't valued in Clan Telrune. In fact, his older cousins have made him the patsy in their schemes and he is stranded on Liad with no job and no pilot's license and facing a big fine. Ente Long-time readers of the Liaden Universe have a question answered in this novella. Who is Daav yos'Phelium's biological father? This novella tells the story of Fer Gun pen'Uldra and how he came to meet Chi yos'Phelium Delm Korval and how that meeting changes his life. Though a pilot of great skill, his talents aren't valued in Clan Telrune. In fact, his older cousins have made him the patsy in their schemes and he is stranded on Liad with no job and no pilot's license and facing a big fine. Enter Chi who has a proposition for him. She needs a child who inherits piloting skills to be the next delm. In return, she'll set him up with a ship, crew, and trade route. She'll pay his fine. It's a deal too good to refuse despite knowing that he'll be in over his head with high class Liadens. This was a nice story that filled in some blanks in the larger Liaden Universe.
    more
  • Molly Mcginn
    July 11, 2017
    This is the kind of meaty appetizer that appeals to me most... stands on its own merits as a fun story with a nice ending, and also illuminates a corner of the huge wonderful Liaden Universe. In fact, I think it's a perfect gateway morsel for space opera fans who have unaccountably missed getting to know Clan Korval and all their associated mischief-makers. I personally am a long time and enthusiastic Fan of Liad, so I can say with confidence that fans will find this novella shines an elegant pe This is the kind of meaty appetizer that appeals to me most... stands on its own merits as a fun story with a nice ending, and also illuminates a corner of the huge wonderful Liaden Universe. In fact, I think it's a perfect gateway morsel for space opera fans who have unaccountably missed getting to know Clan Korval and all their associated mischief-makers. I personally am a long time and enthusiastic Fan of Liad, so I can say with confidence that fans will find this novella shines an elegant pen light on something *I* always wondered about. But don't hold back if you've never read anything by Sharon Lee & Steve Miller. Go ahead and take a bite - I think you'll be intrigued, and entertained, and very likely at least curious about the more formal meals.
    more
  • Jo (Mixed Book Bag)
    July 14, 2017
    Due Diligence provides back story for the Liaden series. Here we learn how Chi choose the pilot to give her a child. And the child - Dav. For me this was a sweet story with two interesting characters. For Gun, the pilot, is a new character to the series while Chi has been seen in previous stories that provide a background to the who and how of Clan Korval. This is a must read for fans of the series and it would provide an entertaining read for others.
    more
  • Sandie Anderson
    July 24, 2017
    This is another great addition to the Laiden Universe! I think my favorite feature of the Laiden culture is the way elders mentor youngers in practical aspects of life in a way that gives wisdom without shaming the actions of their mentee. Honor is preserved and lesson is taught in a life situation that could have gone very badly. We can all learn life lessons from the pages of a Lee and Miller adventure!
    more
  • Delia Turner
    July 15, 2017
    This short chapbook is a satisfying read, like all the Liaden stories, and has appealing characters, even though at its heart it is a story about the importance of reading the paperwork when you sign a contract. It has been a while since I read one, and was an afternoon's distraction, but now I'm hungering to go back and read all the rest.
    more
  • Carolyn Hill
    July 15, 2017
    Whenever I feel down, reading Lee and Miller's writing picks me up. In this story, as in so many of their works, the characters act with honor and love and respect for each other, building ties of family and clan that I find reassuring. The tale of how Daav's father and mother met will entertain and satisfy readers, whether those readers are new to to Liaden universe or longtime fans.
    more
  • Becky
    July 13, 2017
    Great backstory on a favorite character It was a nice surprise to see this new Liaden story, with the story of the parentage of a favorite character. As always, an addition to the Liaden universe that will be treasured.
  • Marti
    July 12, 2017
    Fabulous, awesome, and completely can't put it downable! A wonderful stand-alone novella that tells the story of a beloved character's beginnings. Which character, you ask? Don't expect ME to spoil your fun. Buy the book!
  • Laura
    July 12, 2017
    I enjoyed that very much, I'm glad the authors felt that they had to write that. There's a few typos here and there, and one logical inconsistency that I want to ask the authors about. But it was good. Lady yo'Lanna's reaction when he was about to sign the contract - that was awesome.
    more
  • Rita C
    July 13, 2017
    I really enjoy these stories that are most directly connected to Korval. This story had the extra benefit of being a feel-good tale of someone who had been victimized being raised up and finding a happy ever after.
  • Kalima
    July 23, 2017
    This book works as either a delightful addition to family history of clan Korval for readers in the Liaden Universe, or as an engaging glimpse of the social structure of the clans in that Universe. A good story, well told, and an indication of how Kareen got the way she is. :-)
    more
  • Kirsten Mccann
    July 23, 2017
    More BackstoryFills in some back story on Korval. Rich details and consistent storytelling make the Liaden universe more than a setting, it feels more real than reality.
  • Gus
    July 17, 2017
    Another great sidelight of Korval. Wonderful insight into a slight hole in the tapestry that is the Liaden universe. A wonderful place to visit, every chance I get.
  • Bob
    July 20, 2017
    Great story!
  • Helen Bassett
    July 12, 2017
    A very good story. I did like it very much.
  • Barbara
    July 15, 2017
    Another Liaden fun story I loved this story. I hope that we see more of Fer Gun. And more of his partner and master trader.
  • Mary B. Grove
    July 18, 2017
    a welcome tale of Daav's originsGlad to see this, beautifully written as always, and a closer look into Liaden contract marriage customs than we've had before.
  • Felicear
    July 15, 2017
    I love the Liaden Universe. I enjoyed this short story.
  • Frances G. Smith
    July 12, 2017
    Fills in a small holeWonderful, wonderful. I have wanted to know this part of Daav's story and here it is in a delightful surprise of a story.
  • CatBookMom
    July 12, 2017
    A very nice little story in about Daav's mother, Chi, and the man she chose to be his father. And she gives a talented pilot a big hand, rescuing him from his nefarious cousins.
Write a review