Wake
Only a broken thing can be reshaped. AnnaTomorrow, I will finally be free. Tomorrow, I turn twenty-one, which makes me an adult, and I will stop being a ward of the state. I have already packed most of my things and crammed them into my little red car. Tomorrow I will vanish into thin air for one last time, but I will take Sam with me.I was nine when my mother resurfaced ans dragged me away from my grandparents and the life I knew to become a new member of my mother's egomaniac husband's Church of the Second Reckoning.I was fifteen when I was supposed to transcend into womanhood by said husband, Joshua. But his youngest son and eight years my senior, Sam, helped me escape the night before it could happen. He wasn't supposed to be left behind, while the men my grandparents dragged me away. He was supposed to be my first and my last, but instead his father shot him in front of me. I lost my grandparents only a year after, to a robbery gone wrong, that never was a robbery.I only leave death and destruction in my wake.SamaelSix years I have been waiting for this day. Six years I have spent planning every moment, every second she would live under my control. And now, now the day has finally come. She was nine, when she stepped out of that car and gave me a timid, trusting smile. I was a brother to her, a protector, a friend. I was seventeen. Anna was so much more to me back then. More than she should be.She was fifteen when she left me behind like a broken toy, shot, dying. And she never looked back. I have never stopped searching for her, looking for her, being punished for her, bleeding for her. When I was supposed to get her back it ended in disaster. I will not allow this to happen again. This time I will have my revenge, and she will have her punishment. She will return to my father's Church and finally wake. Disclaimer This book is a standalone DARK Erotic Thriller, exclusively available on Amazon including Kindle Unlimited.It contains scenes such as murder, torture, and rape/ forced sex, as well as hinting disturbing topics that not are described in the book, such as different forms of child abuse.

Wake Details

TitleWake
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 31st, 2017
PublisherDarkSigyn Publishing
Number of pages350 pages
Rating
GenreDark, Adult Fiction, Erotica, Suspense, Sociology, Abuse, Menage

Wake Review

  • Am4u ❀ ~ AprilMarie4u ~ ❀
    July 26, 2017
    Edit on 07/27/2017:D.S. Wrights stated, "It was brought to my attention that some of you accidentally received the beta mobi, instead of the ARC.".My thoughts, well that explains it! ~~~~Original review posted on 07/26/2017:Warning! This review might be a little spoilery but I really don't think it is. Proceed at your own risk... Rating:3 stars Main Genres:MF, Contemporary, New Adult, Taboo, DarkStory Introduction:MFC Anna was abandoned by her mother as a baby and raised by her grandparents, the Edit on 07/27/2017:D.S. Wrights stated, "It was brought to my attention that some of you accidentally received the beta mobi, instead of the ARC.".My thoughts, well that explains it! ~~~~Original review posted on 07/26/2017:Warning! This review might be a little spoilery but I really don't think it is. Proceed at your own risk... Rating:3 stars Main Genres:MF, Contemporary, New Adult, Taboo, DarkStory Introduction:MFC Anna was abandoned by her mother as a baby and raised by her grandparents, then her mother takes her back when she's 9 yrs old. Anna then joins her mother at the commune where she lives. Her mother is one of the wives to the leader of this commune. Anna then bonds with one of her new stepbrothers that is 8 years older than her. MMC Sam (said stepbrother) knows little else other than the life he has lived on the commune where his father rules. Their so called religious way of life was quite disturbing. Which, as you can imagine, means Sam is not the most mentally stable of beings. Both MCs They are ripped apart when Anna is 16 years old, and this is where the story truly begins. Brief Facts:1) More inner monologue than dialogue (very little dialogue actually). 2) Some truly disgusting things occur... as in totally unhygienic & unsanitary. 3) Dual POV with the two main characters. I enjoy dual POVs, however I prefer them to be of different scenes and not the same ones rehashed. 4) Disturbing references to pedophilia acts. And as far as the dark list goes, that's not even the half of it. Honestly, don't read this if you can't handle the DARK stuff.The Bad:There is a good story here, however the ARC version I received had not been edited yet. It was extremely difficult to read because of the editing issues. I DO expect editing issues in ARCs, but I was mentally unprepared for this amount. The editing issues include redundancies, inconsistencies, inaccuracies, POV changes mid-sentence or mid-paragraph from 1st person to 3rd person, tense changes mid-sentence or mid-paragraph, etc... I do not know if all of these will be fixed or not by publication. However, I did deduct stars for these once it reached triple digits. I did not deduct any stars for the normal type of typos & grammar errors often found in ARCs. I considered these separate from the list in the paragraph above.The Good:I'll state it again, there is a good story here, it was just sadly buried underneath an avalanche of issues. Anyhow, this book did appease my dark side. Easily could have been a 4 or 5 star read for me, which I'm sure (hoping) the final & published version will be.Overall:Did my best to ignore the editing issues and give a fair rating based on the actual story being told. I'm assuming all the writing/editing issues will be resolved in the final publication edition. ARC copy received in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • D.S. Wrights
    March 27, 2016
    WAKE by D.S. Wrights is now available for PREORDER!Get a digital copy for the special preorder price of $2.99 instead of 4.99!WAKE is a standalone DARK Erotic Thriller, exclusively available on Amazon including Kindle Unlimited.It contains scenes such as murder, torture, and rape/ forced sex, as well as hinting disturbing topics that not are described in the book, such as different forms of child abuse.Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2sHJ9FqAmazon UK: http://amzn.to/2sIcuznAmazon CA: http://amzn.to/2u WAKE by D.S. Wrights is now available for PREORDER!Get a digital copy for the special preorder price of $2.99 instead of 4.99!WAKE is a standalone DARK Erotic Thriller, exclusively available on Amazon including Kindle Unlimited.It contains scenes such as murder, torture, and rape/ forced sex, as well as hinting disturbing topics that not are described in the book, such as different forms of child abuse.Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2sHJ9FqAmazon UK: http://amzn.to/2sIcuznAmazon CA: http://amzn.to/2u0SbRXBlurb (hidden to shorten the length>(view spoiler)[Only a broken thing can be reshaped.AnnaTomorrow, I will finally be free. Tomorrow, I turn twenty-one, which makes me an adult, and I will stop being a ward of the state. I have already packed most of my things and crammed them into my little red car. Tomorrow I will vanish into thin air for one last time, but I will take Sam with me.I was nine when my mother resurfaced and dragged me away from my grandparents and the life I knew to become a new member of my mother's egomaniac husband's Church of the Second Reckoning.I was fifteen when I was supposed to transcend into womanhood by said husband, Joshua. But his youngest son and eight years my senior, Sam, helped me escape the night before it could happen. He wasn't supposed to be left behind, while the men my grandparents hired dragged me away. He was supposed to be my first and my last, but instead his father shot him in front of me. I lost my grandparents only a year after, to a robbery gone wrong, that never was a robbery.I only leave death and destruction in my wake.SamaelSix years I have been waiting for this day. Six years I have spent planning every moment, every second she would live under my control. And now, now the day has finally come. She was nine, when she stepped out of that car and gave me a timid, trusting smile. I was a brother to her, a protector, a friend. I was seventeen. Anna was so much more to me back then. More than she should be.She was fifteen when she left me behind like a broken toy, shot, dying. And she never looked back. I have never stopped searching for her, looking for her, being punished for her, bleeding for her. When I was supposed to get her back it ended in disaster. I will not allow this to happen again. This time I will have my revenge, and she will have her punishment. She will return to my father's Church and finally wake. (hide spoiler)]Disclaimer This book is a standalone DARK Erotic Thriller, exclusively available on Amazon including Kindle Unlimited.It contains scenes such as murder, torture, and rape/ forced sex, as well as hinting disturbing topics that not are described in the book, such as different forms of child abuse. About the Author: D.S. Wrights was born and raised mostly in Germany. She speaks three languages: English, German and Dutch.Her name is a pen name and she describes writing as her passion and calling.D.S. has worked at a publishing house where she earned insight into the work, process and production of publishing books.In the last few years she has published several fan fictions to which the feedback was overwhelmingly positive.Stalk Dee: Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dswrightsTwitter: https://twitter.com/DSWrightsGoodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/DSWrightsBookBub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/d-s-wrightsTumblr: http://dswrights.tumblr.com/Amazon: http://amzn.to/1K7LIRO Share and win one of three amazing prizes!
    more
  • Aղցela W.
    July 13, 2017
  •  Charlie ✰ WLTB Blog ✰
    July 22, 2017
    This book was so good, from the start I was hooked, it is dark and I will have to say if I had limits then I think this would have pushed them.The story starts off with Anna and Sam trying to escape from the Church of the Second Reckoning. But Sam ends up left behind while Anne gets away... Six years later Sam is now ready to take Anne back to where is belongs he has had it all planned. He tried once and that didn’t end well, but he is going to try again. She left him broken and shot and never This book was so good, from the start I was hooked, it is dark and I will have to say if I had limits then I think this would have pushed them.The story starts off with Anna and Sam trying to escape from the Church of the Second Reckoning. But Sam ends up left behind while Anne gets away... Six years later Sam is now ready to take Anne back to where is belongs he has had it all planned. He tried once and that didn’t end well, but he is going to try again. She left him broken and shot and never looks behind her, he has never stopped looking for her now he is ready to take her back to his father’s church.Only a broken thing can be reshaped. This book is fast paced and very well written and flows perfectly, the story will have you on the edge of your seat wondering what is going to happen.The characters are well written you can’t help but like Sam and Anne, some characters I hated a lot, Sam I wasn’t sure of at first but he did grow on me.I have to say this author is fast becoming one of my favourite author's whos books I just have to read. If you read D S Wrights book you will love this one.WAKE is a standalone DARK Erotic Thriller, exclusively available on Amazon including Kindle Unlimited.It contains scenes such as murder, torture, and rape/ forced sex, as well as hinting disturbing topics that not are described in the book, such as different forms of child abuse.
    more
  • EroticaAfterDark (Lilith)
    July 12, 2017
    regular price will be 4.99This book is a standalone DARK Erotic Thriller, exclusively available on Amazon including Kindle Unlimited. It contains scenes such as murder, torture, and rape/ forced sex, as well as hinting disturbing topics that not are described in the book, such as different forms of child abuse. Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2sHJ9Fq Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/2sIcuzn Amazon CA: http://amzn.to/2u0SbRX
    more
  • Frisky Romantic
    July 21, 2017
    I have read books of D.S. Wrights before, and I loved them! With this book I found my hard limit, and I think other's will, too. This is the only reason why I stopped this book. And I didn't even get to the part which the official teasers showed!There is absolutely nothing wrong with this book! I think the writing is excellent and sucks you right into the minds of Samael and Anna.Samael's mind is twisted and disturbed, battling with the believes that were tortured into him and Anna, who feels gu I have read books of D.S. Wrights before, and I loved them! With this book I found my hard limit, and I think other's will, too. This is the only reason why I stopped this book. And I didn't even get to the part which the official teasers showed!There is absolutely nothing wrong with this book! I think the writing is excellent and sucks you right into the minds of Samael and Anna.Samael's mind is twisted and disturbed, battling with the believes that were tortured into him and Anna, who feels guilty for leaving her childhood friend and secret love behind. He's putting her through the ringer - and that's mildly put - and she tries to endure and make sense of it all.I didn't get past the first degradation/ punishment. Reading this, I'm simply scared of what comes next. Since I haven't finished the book, I can't rate it.There are so many things happening, which another reviewer kindly put together. I will hide these triggers behind the spoiler code, so you can check them out if you are worried the book is too much for you. These triggers, however spoil what happens in the book of course.(view spoiler)[abuseanal sexanal rapebareback (no condom)bdsmblindfoldsbondage/ restraintsbreathcontroldegradation/ humiliationdubious consentfacialsfrottage (dry humping)impact play (sexual spanking)masturbationmenagemultiple partnersnonconsensualpseudo incestrapereligious contenct/ sectrough sexsadismscarsself-harmstalkingstockholm syndrometabootortureunsanitary/ Unhygrenicvirgin femalevirgin malewatersports(hide spoiler)]WAKE by D.S. Wrights is now available for PREORDER!Get a digital copy for the special preorder price of $2.99 instead of 4.99!WAKE is a standalone DARK Erotic Thriller, exclusively available on Amazon including Kindle Unlimited.It contains scenes such as murder, torture, and rape/ forced sex, as well as hinting disturbing topics that not are described in the book, such as different forms of child abuse.Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2sHJ9FqAmazon UK: http://amzn.to/2sIcuznAmazon CA: http://amzn.to/2u0SbRX
    more
  • Dark Erotic Books
    July 19, 2017
    preorder for $2.99 Price does up after release! Only a broken thing can be reshaped It was the cover what drew me in, but it was this line that turned me into a moth leaping into the flame.WAKE is a dark tale of abuse, destroyed hope, obsession, mania, desilusion, and consuming love.I don't know if I have ever read a book this intense, it sucked me in, and annihilated me. I became Anna and Samael, who are light and darkness, dooming each other in a mesmerizing dance until they both become a dark preorder for $2.99 Price does up after release! Only a broken thing can be reshaped It was the cover what drew me in, but it was this line that turned me into a moth leaping into the flame.WAKE is a dark tale of abuse, destroyed hope, obsession, mania, desilusion, and consuming love.I don't know if I have ever read a book this intense, it sucked me in, and annihilated me. I became Anna and Samael, who are light and darkness, dooming each other in a mesmerizing dance until they both become a darker shade of grey.This book is disturbing, at a few points disgusting, but also sweet, intense, and arousing. It is, shortly put, a rollercoaser ride at its finest. I don't know what else to say without giving too much away.Our hero is a brainwashed, abused, obsessed, and self-harming villain, a victim drawing power from his abuse. Our heroine is first a girl consumed by her own illusions and self-inflicted guilt, who is stripped down and destroyed to rise from her own ashes like a dark phoenix.And there is an HEA, but perfectly twisted.If I could, I'd give this one SIX stars. I'm going to read it again, right now, and so should you.
    more
  • Paula D
    July 28, 2017
    Very intense page turner that even scares you to read what is gonna happen next. Anna and Sam are trying to escape Church of the Second Reckoning when Anna escapes and Sam gets left behind. 6 years go by and Sam decides it's time to get Anna back where she belongs, his. Shocking, very dark cringe worthy parts. If you love dark, crazy stories this is a must read. Sam I loved his darkness and craziness just something about him made me feel his character and understood why he is the way he is. Anna Very intense page turner that even scares you to read what is gonna happen next. Anna and Sam are trying to escape Church of the Second Reckoning when Anna escapes and Sam gets left behind. 6 years go by and Sam decides it's time to get Anna back where she belongs, his. Shocking, very dark cringe worthy parts. If you love dark, crazy stories this is a must read. Sam I loved his darkness and craziness just something about him made me feel his character and understood why he is the way he is. Anna is one strong girl through everything she never gave up and kept her head high. Now the ending has me confused a bit and has me wanting to read the book again to figure out what the author meant. Read between the lines and I think you will be blown away like I am! 5/5 Wake stars ****Reviewed for Sweet & Spicy Read provided for a voluntarily Advanced Reader Copy of this book ****
    more
  • Gill Selling
    July 22, 2017
    This book took me on an emotional [. I occasionally get consumed by a book. This was one of them. D.S. Wrights is an author who writes from the heart. All of her characters have depth. As you read you will build up an image in your head. She gives you a complete mind picture. It's Technicolor in HD.She is amazing This story of Sam and Anna will grip you. Refusing to let you go till the end. You wont know which direction the story will go. So hold on tight. If you dare. Follow Anna and Sam in thi This book took me on an emotional [. I occasionally get consumed by a book. This was one of them. D.S. Wrights is an author who writes from the heart. All of her characters have depth. As you read you will build up an image in your head. She gives you a complete mind picture. It's Technicolor in HD.She is amazing This story of Sam and Anna will grip you. Refusing to let you go till the end. You wont know which direction the story will go. So hold on tight. If you dare. Follow Anna and Sam in this deliciously twisted tale of torment, happiness sadness and despair
    more
  • 2OCC Reviews
    July 28, 2017
    The sound it this book was different and it intrigued me. I've always been a fan of dark books and this book seemed dark with something different that I couldn't put my finger on. Sam was broken. Even with that I loved him. Yes he did some bad things but you could feel the struggle that he had with his feeling he had for Anna though out the whole book.Anna was something else. Everything she goes through and she was still so tough and was able to get through true dark and dirty things that happen The sound it this book was different and it intrigued me. I've always been a fan of dark books and this book seemed dark with something different that I couldn't put my finger on. Sam was broken. Even with that I loved him. Yes he did some bad things but you could feel the struggle that he had with his feeling he had for Anna though out the whole book.Anna was something else. Everything she goes through and she was still so tough and was able to get through true dark and dirty things that happened. I loved her character. I liked the whole Cult plot line. It had me flipping the pages because I had to know what was going to happen. There was a captive plot line where Sam tried to break Anna but she was so strong though it all. This book is not for the faint of heart. There is a lot of disturbing things that happen but I loved it. So through out the whole story, there were 3 things I wanted more of. 1) I wanted more character interaction. I understand why there wasn't a ton of it, but I love seeing characters interact so this was a lot of inner dialogue in this book. 2) was I wanted to see more of the "Church". That's all I can say about that with out spoiling it. 3) I wanted to see more of Sam's past and what he had to go through. I was able to connect with him but I think if I had seen what he went through, I would have had more of a connection. Overall; the whole story kept me glued to my reader. I enjoyed the descriptions that the author used for the most part and the flow of the story was perfect. Even with the small things that I wanted more of, I still enjoyed the book and can't wait to read more from the author. 4 stars #2OCCJD
    more
  • Indie Editor Nancy
    August 1, 2017
    This book's content is very dark and disturbing and did push my limits as a reader. The author is really making a name for herself as the Queen of Dark Erotica; her Beasts in Me series was also dark and disturbing at times.I am not going to regurgitate the storyline, but let me say that the cult/church aspect of the story was an intriguing one. It makes you wonder how real people can get sucked in and stuck in situations like those described in the story.There is a tender love story hidden betwe This book's content is very dark and disturbing and did push my limits as a reader. The author is really making a name for herself as the Queen of Dark Erotica; her Beasts in Me series was also dark and disturbing at times.I am not going to regurgitate the storyline, but let me say that the cult/church aspect of the story was an intriguing one. It makes you wonder how real people can get sucked in and stuck in situations like those described in the story.There is a tender love story hidden between the pages of Wake. Anna and Sam have taken care and protected each other for years before their escape attempt. Now 6 years later, Anna is certain she can find Sam and be with him. She just doesn't realize what it will cost her...Excellent writing and creative license; the author describes for the reader an inside glimpse of the main character's thoughts and feelings, as well as their hopes and dreams. Anna is so strong and convinced of their love. Giving up is not an option."Physical exercise always helps me clear my mind and soul of depravities that try to tempt me into sin.""I am certain young Anna stands before me, angel-like, and the sun seems to create a halo around her honey colored hair.""With every heartbeat I become more anxious, and more worried, because I can't accept the idea of me dying in here slowly..." "Electricity sizzles through my veins as I'm scared and excited about his return."
    more
  • Laura Metz
    July 31, 2017
    WTF did I just read. OMG this book was insane. D.S Wrights girl you made me say wtf the whole time I was reading this. If you're looking for a twisted, sexual and all out are you serious kinda book. Then this is the book for you. This will make you fall in love with sam and also want to kill the asshole. This was a very interesting read. Loved it.
    more
  • Teri Ditchman
    July 31, 2017
    A very well written book. It will make you feel love...and feel hate. But you will want more once you finish the book!
  • Janneke Wolbers
    July 31, 2017
    D.S. Has pushed her limits with this one.She went beyond anything we all expected!Absolutly love this book and cant wait to read more dark stuff from her!
  • Heidi
    August 1, 2017
    Story 5 stars editing issues 1 starI have been waiting for this book and expected it to be good. The story is dark and the characters easy to love. The editing is atrocious! Though in 2 person POV, the story was repeated over and over! Remove the redundancy and clean up the editing , this is a 5 star book!b t
    more
  • Natalie Bennett
    August 1, 2017
    Definitely a page turner! The same day it hit my Kindle I finished it in one sitting.It had the perfect amount of f'd up ish that I love.
  • ₸hea™
    July 29, 2017
    OPSNORKELEN!! Release date: 31 July '17. The Erogenous Zone; BotM August 2017.Dark Erotica; BotM August 2017.
  • Amanda Perrie
    July 22, 2017
    There is nothing better than a dark read that pushes boundaries and WAKE is certainly dark & will definitely push. I loved it.The storyline is deep & gripping with characters you will love, hate & cry genuine tears for.Anna had managed to escape the cult, Sam tasked with capturing her and returning her to his father. Unfortunately the best laid plans never run smoothly. Will Samuel be who his father conditioned him to be or will Anna be able to remind him who he was before that fatef There is nothing better than a dark read that pushes boundaries and WAKE is certainly dark & will definitely push. I loved it.The storyline is deep & gripping with characters you will love, hate & cry genuine tears for.Anna had managed to escape the cult, Sam tasked with capturing her and returning her to his father. Unfortunately the best laid plans never run smoothly. Will Samuel be who his father conditioned him to be or will Anna be able to remind him who he was before that fateful night they both tried to escape.
    more
Write a review