Summer's Lease
He’s a Hollywood heart-throbShe’s hit rock bottom.Can their scorching fling survive reality?Cesca Shakespeare has hit an all time low. After her prize-winning play ended in disaster, writer’s block turned up, moved in and made itself at home. Six years later, she’s lost her dead-end job and is about to lose her apartment. So when a friend offers her a free summer vacation in a beautiful Italian villa, she grudgingly agrees to try writing a new play. That’s before she finds out the house belongs to the man who ruined her career, the gorgeous Sam Carlton.Having just hit the headlines for all the wrong reasons – again – Hollywood heart-throb Sam Carlton needs a place to hide out. Where better than his family’s secluded empty villa on Lake Como? Except when he arrives, it isn’t as empty as he’d hoped.One thing’s for sure – this is going to be a red-hot, scorching summer. . .

Summer's Lease Details

TitleSummer's Lease
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 1st, 1970
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance, Fiction, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Contemporary

Summer's Lease Review

  • Claire Robinson
    July 12, 2017
    4.5 - The rich movie star and the impoverished writer... It would make a good story. Stars!ITs Live!Amazon US -http://amzn.to/2u8VbLSAmazon UK - http://fal.cn/tuECIt’s no secret that I am a huge fan of Carrie Elks’ writing, so learning that there was a whole new sparkly series on the way, it's safe to say I was beyond excited. Summers Lease is the first book in the The Shakespeare Sisters series, and the author delivered the all-round enjoyable read that I have come to expect from her writing. 4.5 - The rich movie star and the impoverished writer... It would make a good story. Stars!ITs Live!Amazon US -http://amzn.to/2u8VbLSAmazon UK - http://fal.cn/tuECIt’s no secret that I am a huge fan of Carrie Elks’ writing, so learning that there was a whole new sparkly series on the way, it's safe to say I was beyond excited. Summers Lease is the first book in the The Shakespeare Sisters series, and the author delivered the all-round enjoyable read that I have come to expect from her writing. The Shakespeare sisters were like flowers scattered in the wind... None more so than Cesca, while her sisters Kitty and Juliet are living their lives in the US and her other sibling Lucy in Scotland, she is drifting from dead end job, to unemployment, to new digs with unerring regularity. Six years roving from one dead-end opportunity to the next. She believes due to the actions of one man; Sam Carlton, now a Hollywood A-list actor."You have the theater in your blood, yet you have been running away from it for six years..."After her fist theatrical production bombs, mainly due to the loss of its lead Actor (Carlton) Cesca has lost the inspiration for writing. Pretty much forced to travel to Lake Como to house sit for some friends of her Uncle; Cesca settles in to try and recover the creativity that has lain dormant for so long in the picturesque Italian surroundings. Little does she know that the owner of Villa Palladino is the mother of her arch nemesis. So you can guess how well their reintroduction goes when he unexpectedly turns up with his own ideas of spending some time under-the-radar at the Villa, especially when its obvious that initially he has no idea who she is. Had he done this..? Been the one to steal away her happiness, her hopes, and her big dream? The thought was like a black cloud in his mind. No wonder she hated him so much. Enemies-to-lovers, is one of my favorite tropes, and the author handled the animosity from Cesca towards Sam really well, there were a few moments where I really wanted to just shake the pair of them, especially with a few added hurdles along the way, making their path towards love and happiness less than smooth sailing."I can’t go back and make up for what I did, but I can fight for you... I’ll do whatever it takes."This book was like a bag of cinema popcorn, salty in parts, sweet in others, and then at points the perfect mix of the two. Carrie set up the series well with this opener, in that you are introduced to all the Shakespeare family, but not enough that you aren’t left guessing, as to where their stories may take them. With a Richard Curtis worthy ending and a really great epilogue, I cannot recommend this read highly enough to add to your summer reading list.ARC generously provided via Netgalley, in exchange for the above honest review.**This review will also appear on Straight Shootin' Book Reviews -https://straightshootinbookreviews.com
    more
  • Nicola
    July 11, 2017
    Carrie Elks brings us an enemies-to-lovers romance for the first in her Shakespeare Sisters series, introducing us to Cesca Shakespeare; a playwright trying to quash a bad bout of writers block by exchanging London for Lake Como. "...your parents have employed me to look after this house, and that’s exactly what I intend to do. So in the morning you need to leave." Having enjoyed many of Carrie's previous books I'd have happily dived in blind and admittedly I had high hopes. Don't get me wrong Carrie Elks brings us an enemies-to-lovers romance for the first in her Shakespeare Sisters series, introducing us to Cesca Shakespeare; a playwright trying to quash a bad bout of writers block by exchanging London for Lake Como. "...your parents have employed me to look after this house, and that’s exactly what I intend to do. So in the morning you need to leave." Having enjoyed many of Carrie's previous books I'd have happily dived in blind and admittedly I had high hopes. Don't get me wrong, Summer's Lease wasn't a difficult read but it felt as if it was unsure of where it belonged on the shelf—whether it should sit in with the chicklit/women's fiction or amongst the NA. "Every time she saw him she acted like a child." Up until the 60% mark, I struggled to become invested in our couple although it was Cesca who was the main sticking point for me: I love a heroine with an independent, feisty streak and there's no taking that away from her, but on the flip side I'm not a particular fan of immaturity and when she meets Sam, she ventures into that territory a tad too often for my liking. Sam however balanced things out being more endearing and, although I wouldn't say he swept me off my feet, I appreciated his gentle, strong yet vulnerable nature and how unaffected he was by his Hollywood status, simply craving peace, quiet and anonymity whilst harbouring his own secrets. "A juicy little scandal is box office magic." This was a book that grew on me as the story developed, as did the chemistry and heat between Sam and Cesca. But for all the story elements that worked for me such as the lovely ambience Carrie has created with descriptive Italian surroundings, there were those that did less so: I would have liked to have seen more of Varenna through the eyes of this couple as a story can be set indoors anywhere in the world, and developments involving a particular secondary character, who seemed inserted for no other reason than to cause romantic conflict and be walked over. "Tell me they have a happily-ever-after." What upped the anti was the injection of some angst and drama heading into the final stretch bringing with it that emotional angle I needed, but all the positives just came too late on in the day for me to rate this any higher. Nevertheless, I am interested to see what lies in store for the three remaining Shakespeare sisters—you can already see the strong bond they have despite the miles separating them—and irrespective of my thoughts, the foundations have been well laid, so definitely worth checking out for yourself. Copy provided by Little, Brown Book Group via NetGalley for an honest and unbiased opinion.
    more
  • Alison
    July 6, 2017
    5 Stars!!!I was given this book in turn for an honest review. Looking after her Uncle's, friend's, Villa for the summer is an easy task. What could possibly go wrong? Or could everything possibly go, right? Summer's Lease swelled my heart and filled it full of love. It's a beautiful story that I found unable to put down. From start to finish Carrie Elk's kept me captivated and enthralled in Cesca and Sam's story. Her story felt as real as watching it play out before my very eyes, as if I was liv 5 Stars!!!I was given this book in turn for an honest review. Looking after her Uncle's, friend's, Villa for the summer is an easy task. What could possibly go wrong? Or could everything possibly go, right? Summer's Lease swelled my heart and filled it full of love. It's a beautiful story that I found unable to put down. From start to finish Carrie Elk's kept me captivated and enthralled in Cesca and Sam's story. Her story felt as real as watching it play out before my very eyes, as if I was living their story with them. I could feel the summer sun of Italy, taste the delights of Italian food, and feel the connection that Cesca and Sam shared. I loved Cesca with her witty charm and outspoken personality. She was down on her luck and from start to finish I willed for her to finally catch a break, a break she long deserved. Her soul had taken a beating, and she needed someone to open her eyes, once again, to the dream she had long forgotten. Sam Calton is the character you are lead to think is one you'll hate, then slowly fall for; surprisingly I fell for him the moment he was introduced. He was another troubled soul with a story to tell, and although charming in an arrogant way, the real Sam was a considerate and caring man, a characteristic that he tried to hide. Cesca and Sam's story is one I won't forget, it's a story about true love, self-discovery and living your dream, not allowing the world to define who you are; however, this romance is not without its heartache and pain. This story is for ALL romance readers out there. You won't regret buying Summer's Lease by Carrie Elk.
    more
  • A Book Lover's Emporium Book Blog
    July 3, 2017
    This an easy read, with great characters and set in a beautiful country; it has it all. I really loved the characters, loved the angst and the conflicts, the hope and the romance. Just loved it! It is a light Summer read by Carrie Elks, perfect for lying on the beach or sitting in the sun in the garden. I have to confess I love stories set in Italy; I happen to also love a good romance and as this hits both of those criteria then this book was the perfect read for me.I thought Cesca’s character This an easy read, with great characters and set in a beautiful country; it has it all. I really loved the characters, loved the angst and the conflicts, the hope and the romance. Just loved it! It is a light Summer read by Carrie Elks, perfect for lying on the beach or sitting in the sun in the garden. I have to confess I love stories set in Italy; I happen to also love a good romance and as this hits both of those criteria then this book was the perfect read for me.I thought Cesca’s character was really well written; she is a failed play writer and since her one stunning failure she has jumped from one job to the next. She is really believable and now at her wits end and no money in the bank she goes to Italy to find inspiration; as Sam does to find solitude, when his Hollywood life goes public in the worst way. I did love the way Carrie wrote the conflict between these two; I wanted to slap Cesca occasionally but their characters have been really well crafted in this story.This is obviously the first of a series of books about the Shakespeare sisters and I am looking forward to reading their stories too and maybe keeping up with Cesca’s life too. If you are looking for an amusing, entertaining summer romance then one click this one; you won’t be disappointed.
    more
  • Malene_D *BadAndDirtyBooks*
    July 8, 2017
    3.5 StarsSummer's Lease is a great summer read which is how I spent my time reading Cesca's story. Relaxing in the sun. I had a good time in Cesca's company and most definitely also in Sam Carlton's. What I really enjoyed about Summer's Lease was the funny and easy bantering between Cesca and Sam. Their first meeting in Italy after six years was terrific. The animosity that continued was equally as funny and when alcohol and flirting entered the equation all bets were off and that's when I reall 3.5 StarsSummer's Lease is a great summer read which is how I spent my time reading Cesca's story. Relaxing in the sun. I had a good time in Cesca's company and most definitely also in Sam Carlton's. What I really enjoyed about Summer's Lease was the funny and easy bantering between Cesca and Sam. Their first meeting in Italy after six years was terrific. The animosity that continued was equally as funny and when alcohol and flirting entered the equation all bets were off and that's when I really enjoyed myself.The change that Cesca went through during her time in Italy showed how much she needed to get away and find herself, cause that exactly what she did. She acknowledged her own faults and saw Sam with new and different eyes.Yes, Cesca and Sam had chemistry but I would have love some more intensity cause at time it felt a little flat. I definitely felt like I was in Italy. The descriptions were fabulous but at times it took away the attention from Sam and Cesca.Overall I enjoyed Summer's Lease. It was a sweet, funny and light read. Cesca's three sisters Lucy, Juliet and Kitty were introduced and their close friendship and relationship were also a highlight of mine. Kitty's story is next and I'm interested to found out if she's as lucky as Cesca.3.5 BadAssDirtyJackhammerStarsARC generously provided for an honest review
    more
  • Eliza
    July 13, 2017
    ★3.5 STARS★Writer Cesca Shakespeare's star is prematurely snuffed out even before the curtain rises for Act I. When the productions leading man goes AWOL, he takes with him any chance of the play she has written being a success. She's never recovered from the disaster that was once her fledgling career in theatre, and has for the last six year worked (and been fired from) a variety of dead end jobs. When she finds herself at another loose end, her uncle and confident who can no longer bear to ★3.5 STARS★Writer Cesca Shakespeare's star is prematurely snuffed out even before the curtain rises for Act I. When the productions leading man goes AWOL, he takes with him any chance of the play she has written being a success. She's never recovered from the disaster that was once her fledgling career in theatre, and has for the last six year worked (and been fired from) a variety of dead end jobs. When she finds herself at another loose end, her uncle and confident who can no longer bear to see her throw her talents away insists she take some time to become inspired once again. The theatre runs through her blood and as scared as she is, she agrees she owes it to herself to reconnect with her love of writing. In the years that her career had stalled, the man she attributes her failures to has much success in Hollywood. Never would be too soon for Cesca were to hear the name Sam Carlton again, so you can imagine her horror when she comes face to face with him instead.Set in the gorgeous background of Italy, this enemies to lovers romance has all the right ingredients for a delightful pool side read. It's humorous and light, with a generous helping of swoons. 
    more
  • Whispering Stories
    July 12, 2017
    Cesca Shakespeare had always dreamed of being a script writer, so when her play took centre stage, she was ecstatic, that was until the leading man Sam Carlton disappeared, and her play became a disaster overnight, leading her into a dark place and consequently, writers’ block.After six years, Cesca still hadn’t written another play. She had gone from job to job, never lasting more than a few weeks, while Sam had become a big Hollywood superstar. When her latest employment came to an abrupt end, Cesca Shakespeare had always dreamed of being a script writer, so when her play took centre stage, she was ecstatic, that was until the leading man Sam Carlton disappeared, and her play became a disaster overnight, leading her into a dark place and consequently, writers’ block.After six years, Cesca still hadn’t written another play. She had gone from job to job, never lasting more than a few weeks, while Sam had become a big Hollywood superstar. When her latest employment came to an abrupt end, her godfather offered her a lifeline. House sitting in Italy.Not long after arriving Cesca discovered that the property belonged to Sam’s parents, but with the assurance that none of the family would arrive at the house, she agreed to stay. Unfortunately, Sam Carlton needed somewhere to lay low after he made the front page of the tabloids, and not for the right reasons.How would the pair survive living together, when they couldn’t even stand to be in the same room as one another?Summer’s Lease is a tantalising story of two people having to learn to put their differences to one side and at least try be civil to one other, if only for their own sanity. Cesca and Sam are both fiery characters who are not afraid to speak their minds.The relationship between the two main characters was thrilling to read, and for the first half of the book you do wonder whether they will ever manage to find a truce, but when the truce does arrive, it comes in spectacular fashion.The setting of the story, Lake Como, Italy, is beautifully described. I could feel the sun warming my whole body, whilst the scent of the delicious array of Italian food caressed the senses.I would have to say that this book is high up on my best read’s of 2017. I was mesmerised the whole way through, and looked forward to spending time with Cesca and Sam each time I picked the book up. I was sad to see them go when I reached the final page.The book is witty, fun, poignant, and heartwarming, all rolled into one. The plot is superb, and the subplots are elegantly, and effortlessly weaved into the main, to make for an irresistible read.If you’re after a book to get lost in, to step inside a world of gorgeous blue sky, artisan food, fine wines, and of course characters you will adore, then this is the book for you.Reviewed by Stacey on www.whisperingstories.com
    more
  • Jacqueline
    June 16, 2017
    If I hadn't read the fab Fix You by this author previously then I wouldn't have picked this up. Those watercolour granny covers have me skipping to the next book pretty sharpish. Strangely though, this was an odd marriage of strait -laced romance and explicit smut which surprised me a bit really. In a good way, obviously 😘Cesca is a playwright who gets to housesit an empty mansion next to an Italian lake. She's had a rough few years after her first and only play didn't get off the ground and she If I hadn't read the fab Fix You by this author previously then I wouldn't have picked this up. Those watercolour granny covers have me skipping to the next book pretty sharpish. Strangely though, this was an odd marriage of strait -laced romance and explicit smut which surprised me a bit really. In a good way, obviously 😘Cesca is a playwright who gets to housesit an empty mansion next to an Italian lake. She's had a rough few years after her first and only play didn't get off the ground and she's been stuck in a succession of crappy jobs since as her writer's block descended in full force.But then Sam, a film star who Cesca holds responsible for her play tanking turns up to stay at his parents' mansion to get away from some Hollywood scandal. Sparks fly, then things get interesting.It was cute, an enemies to lovers story, but it needed a little more pace, a little more chemistry for me. The smut was good, but they were So formal and aloof with each other up until that point, I wasn't really all in with them. I'd love to have seen Cesca spend more time with her sisters, it's hard to get to know someone when you only really see then with one person.It would be a decent beach read, it's easy enough to read and escape into some gorgeous Italian sunshine, but I much preferred the pace and feels in Fix You to this one.Thanks to the publisher via netgalley for the arc.
    more
  • C.J. Fallowfield
    June 24, 2017
    This is only my second read by Elks, the first book being some time ago, but I remember being impressed at the standard of her writing and ability to paint a scene in that book, and that certainly hasn’t diminished, if anything it’s improved even more. Sharing the tale of Cesca, one of four sisters, who seems to have an unending run of back luck, Elks has managed to kick off the Shakespeare Sisters series in fine form. A fabulous contemporary, and at times, steamy romance, flitting from London t This is only my second read by Elks, the first book being some time ago, but I remember being impressed at the standard of her writing and ability to paint a scene in that book, and that certainly hasn’t diminished, if anything it’s improved even more. Sharing the tale of Cesca, one of four sisters, who seems to have an unending run of back luck, Elks has managed to kick off the Shakespeare Sisters series in fine form. A fabulous contemporary, and at times, steamy romance, flitting from London to the romance and beauty of Lake Como in Italy. The descriptives were wonderful, from the beautiful scenery, the delicious food, and even capturing the laid back atmosphere of the country, and warmth of its people perfectly. My father owned a villa in Italy and I was immediately transported back there reading this book - it’s clear that plenty of research went into this to capture the essence and mood perfectly.I don’t summarise books with a “this happened, then that happened”, as you need to experience that for yourselves. For me it takes away the magic of a read when someone lays it all out in a review. What I will say is that what you’ll find here is the perfect summer romance, with flawed characters running to escape their pasts, while realising that until they accept them and let go, they can never fully embrace their futures. There was palpable tension and chemistry, sweet anticipation, witty banter, a slow burn, romance, steam, and some poignant moments too. This was a real feel-good read, one I’m giving a solid five stars to. Some may say that the recent mini heatwave we’ve had in the U.K. has gone to my head, as I can’t remember when I last gave two five stars out in the space of a few months, I’m notoriously selective with them, and I’ve just given two five stars in a row, for two books read on the same day. By far my best reading day in a very long time. I can’t wait to read A Winter’s Tale, the next in the series, when it comes out. Now I’m off to see what other books of Elks I have on my huge TBR list, as I’m sure there’s another one lurking in there somewhere that I can lose myself in tomorrow!**I received an ARC from the author in exchange for my honest & unbiased review.**
    more
  • Rachel Gilbey
    June 17, 2017
    4.5 StarsFor six years, Cesca Shakespeare's life has been a complete mess, shes been flittering from job to job with not much success, not admitting to her family she needs help and barely able to put pen to paper and write despite being a promising playwright. All of this is thanks to Sam Carlton and what happened 6 years ago. Hugh her godfather suggests getting out of London for the summer and she is gifted a house sitting job in Lake Como. Not long into her stay in Italy, she discovers that i 4.5 StarsFor six years, Cesca Shakespeare's life has been a complete mess, shes been flittering from job to job with not much success, not admitting to her family she needs help and barely able to put pen to paper and write despite being a promising playwright. All of this is thanks to Sam Carlton and what happened 6 years ago. Hugh her godfather suggests getting out of London for the summer and she is gifted a house sitting job in Lake Como. Not long into her stay in Italy, she discovers that is is the Carlton's house she is staying in, and then Sam appears! From that moment on there is crackling chemistry between the two of them even if not obvious to them at first. I loved the initial dialogue between Sam and Cesca, and generally found myself enjoying all of their interactions. Set over a summer in a stunning Italian villa, with a potential Italian love interest too, its a sizzling story, of romance but also of Cesca rediscovering herself, and Sam finally facing some family demons. But whether it is just a summer romance is for you to read yourself to find out! Cesca is just one of the four Shakespeare sisters who I believe will be featuring in the next books of the series. From what I have seen of them, I am looking forward to meeting them all in a more up close and personal way! This is the first book that I have read by Carrie Elks, and I thoroughly enjoyed her writing. The story moved along a good pace, and I found the book to be a fast and incredibly entertaining read. Having read this I will definitely try to get around to her past books a lot quicker! Summer;s Lease is s summer scorcher of a book that is great for reading on a hot summers day when you want to imagine you are house sitting in Italy, but also would be a great winter read, to try to warm you up! Thank you to Netgalley and Piatkus for this copy which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.
    more
  • Simona
    July 15, 2017
    *Book provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*Cesca Shakespeare is at a really low point at the start of this story. It’s been six years, since her play has fallen through, but she is still not over it. She has problems writing new things and paying her rent. Her three sisters live in another part of the world, so she is alone. Her godfather has the solution though: Looking after an Italian villa for the summer.The villa is located by Lake Como and close to the city of Varenna *Book provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*Cesca Shakespeare is at a really low point at the start of this story. It’s been six years, since her play has fallen through, but she is still not over it. She has problems writing new things and paying her rent. Her three sisters live in another part of the world, so she is alone. Her godfather has the solution though: Looking after an Italian villa for the summer.The villa is located by Lake Como and close to the city of Varenna. One night someone arrives and that someone turns out to be famous actor Sam Carlton, who left her play six years ago. The house belongs to his family.The two of them hate each other and start fighting immediately. Sam Carlton needs some time away from his Hollywood fame and the rumours. His parents villa is the only possibility, but he is stuck at the house.Well, somehow Cesca and Sam have to live with each other in this house and the more time they spend with each other, the more sparks fly between them. Cesca is writing again and seems happy. Sam can be himself and really enjoys it. There is the neighbour Cristiano though and then Sam’s family turns up.I really liked the way Cesca’s and Sam’s relationship developed. They got to know each other, learned more about the other’s past and shared some pretty unique moments. I truly think that Carrie Elks captured this beautifully. I always felt really close to the characters and loved reading the story from both Cesca’s and Sam’s perspective.The setting is absolutely stunning, I felt at home immediately and that’s also thanks to Carrie Elks’s descriptive, sweet and passionate writing. I was hooked from the start and never wanted to leave the story. I’m so glad this is a series, can’t wait for the next book!I adore how this story touches different topics. Love obviously, but also family, self discovery, dealing with your job and dealing with failure. Both Cesca and Sam had to learn and grow in this story, which was always part of the smooth storyline.A very thrilling, fascinating and sweet story, I loved every second of it!
    more
  • Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤
    July 4, 2017
        
  • JG ~ Jezabell Girl & Friends
    June 13, 2017
    With the scene set for a good old "enemies to lovers" romance set on Lake Como in Italy, this story had everything going for it from the outset. Add two, very different, characters into the mix and readers are drawn into a love affair filled with uncertainty and tension.With dreams of being a playwright dashed at the outset of her young career, Cesca has limped from one dead-end job to another. When her last disastrous job ends, she turns to her Uncle for advice and before she knows it she’s agr With the scene set for a good old "enemies to lovers" romance set on Lake Como in Italy, this story had everything going for it from the outset. Add two, very different, characters into the mix and readers are drawn into a love affair filled with uncertainty and tension.With dreams of being a playwright dashed at the outset of her young career, Cesca has limped from one dead-end job to another. When her last disastrous job ends, she turns to her Uncle for advice and before she knows it she’s agreed to house sit in Italy. Arriving in Italy, Cesca is still uncertain in her decision but hopes to find peace and tranquillity but when she realises that the family home belongs to the person who ruined her fledgeling writing career, Sam Carlton, she knows that she has to return home, and soon. Despite her reservations though, Cesca agrees to stay on knowing that she will be at the lake house alone. That is until Sam unexpectedly turns up!Sam, a successful actor and Hollywood heart-throb, has no idea who Cesca is, at first, and wonders why this beautiful woman is so vehemently against his staying at his house whilst she is still there. A tentative truce is agreed with the proviso that neither crosses the other’s path but when Sam stumbles across Cesca’s next play on his father’s computer, he can’t help but offer his advice. Sparks fly until Cesca realises that Sam’s ideas are going to make her already good play great but it takes all that she is to swallow her resentment of Sam and to accept his help. Eventually, the two form an easy friendship. With Sam hiding out from the press at the house though, the location of this story is quite limited, sadly. I was hoping to be taken on a journey of exploration around Lake Como and it’s surrounding towns and villages but this didn’t occur, unfortunately. This for me made the story somewhat too grounded in both its location and scene setting. Whilst I did enjoy the book and the characters, I was left wanting more: more excitement, more drama, more emotional hurdles, and generally more depth. This was a safe story when it could have been a great story but it is still a nice summer’s read. This ebook was kindly provided by the author, publisher and Netgalley prior to release date in return for an honest and unbiased review. We are proud to provide honest and unbiased reviews written from the heart. Email: [email protected]: http://jezabellgirlandfriends.com Facebook: http://facebook.com/jezabellgirlandfr... Twitter: http://twitter.com/Jezabell_girl Tumblr: https://www.tumblr.com/blog/jezabellg... Google+: http://google.com/+JezabellGirl Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/JezabellGirl Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jezabell_girl
    more
  • Isha Coleman
    July 4, 2017
    Falling in love means never having to say sorry. How great that would be if true. Carrie Elks does something we all wish we could, but are afraid to try. Have characters admit they were wrong. Cesca and Sam have a history that may have seemed promising but ended in rivalry. When scandal and disappointment lead them to the same place, can these feuding enemies began to give peace a chance? Summer's Lease is my first Carrie Elks novel. Whether confronted with frenemies or seduced by lovers, this a Falling in love means never having to say sorry. How great that would be if true. Carrie Elks does something we all wish we could, but are afraid to try. Have characters admit they were wrong. Cesca and Sam have a history that may have seemed promising but ended in rivalry. When scandal and disappointment lead them to the same place, can these feuding enemies began to give peace a chance? Summer's Lease is my first Carrie Elks novel. Whether confronted with frenemies or seduced by lovers, this author can make an impression that was joyful to discover.
    more
  • Chanpreet
    June 18, 2017
    4.5 stars!I really loved this summer romance set mostly in beautiful Italy and also in London and Hollywood. It almost felt like an second chance love story. I mean Cesca and Sam have a history, but it's not quit what I was thinking. Sam has played a huge role in Cesca's life, while he is none the wiser as to how and why this woman can't stand him. Cesca and Sam started off as adversaries and it was fun watching that slowly change into friendship before becoming something else. It was a slow bui 4.5 stars!I really loved this summer romance set mostly in beautiful Italy and also in London and Hollywood. It almost felt like an second chance love story. I mean Cesca and Sam have a history, but it's not quit what I was thinking. Sam has played a huge role in Cesca's life, while he is none the wiser as to how and why this woman can't stand him. Cesca and Sam started off as adversaries and it was fun watching that slowly change into friendship before becoming something else. It was a slow build and I really enjoyed the increase in tension as both realized they were attracted to one another regardless of what they had thought of each other previously. I loved seeing Cesca realize there was more to Sam than a Hollywood heartthrob and seeing Sam encourage Cesca to write again. I've already mentioned how much I loved the setting, but this book made my mouth water with its descriptions of delicious food and drinks, and my eyes yearn to see the beautiful sights. Hopefully one day soon I will be able to experience what was described in the book. Family played a very important role in this book. I mean Cesca is one of four sisters, who are very close. I can't wait to read more about them! And Sam is close to his sisters too, although there is something not quite right with the relationship he has with his father. I will say, that I wish some parts of this story arc had been handled differently. I feel like in the end the truth came out, not just all of it. Another person I'm looking forward to reading more about is Mr. Shakespeare, Cesca's father.Carrie Elks has done a wonderful job at setting the stage for a brand new series. It's romantic and heartfelt. It's a wonderful read for the summer and a great escape to parts unknown. I am really looking forward to reading the rest of the books in this series! And you will totally be charmed by the chapter titles and quotes, they're all plays on Shakespeare's works, pun intended! ;)
    more
  • Ammie *Ammie's Book Obsession*
    July 14, 2017
    Summer’s Lease by Carrie ElksRelease Date: July 13thGenre: New Adult RomanceSummer’s Lease an all-new romance by Carrie Elks is LIVE!Meet the Shakespeare family: four sisters, four stories . . . four ways to find true loveCesca Shakespeare has hit rock bottom. Six years after the play she wrote bombed at the box office, she's unable to hold down a job, keep an apartment, and worst of all her family have no idea how far she's fallen. So when her fairy Godfather offers her the use of his friend's Summer’s Lease by Carrie ElksRelease Date: July 13thGenre: New Adult RomanceSummer’s Lease an all-new romance by Carrie Elks is LIVE!Meet the Shakespeare family: four sisters, four stories . . . four ways to find true loveCesca Shakespeare has hit rock bottom. Six years after the play she wrote bombed at the box office, she's unable to hold down a job, keep an apartment, and worst of all her family have no idea how far she's fallen. So when her fairy Godfather offers her the use of his friend's Italian villa for the summer, she grudgingly agrees to try writing a new play. That's before she finds out the house belongs to her arch-nemesis, Sam Carlton.When Hollywood heart-throb Sam Carlton sees his name splashed across a gossip rag, all he wants to do is hide. That's how he finds himself traveling to Italy, deciding to spend the summer in his family's empty villa on Lake Como. Except when he arrives it isn't as empty as he'd hoped.Over the course of the hot Italian summer, Cesca and Sam have to come to terms with their pasts. What begins as a tentative friendship quickly grows into an intense attraction - and then a scorching fling. But they can't hide from reality forever . . . as their different worlds collide, Sam and Cesca face a choice: is this just a summer romance, or could their love weather even the coldest winds?A brand new series from the bestselling author of Fix You and the Love in London series. Read Today! Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2tMAMK6Amazon UK: https://goo.gl/zDDcTWiBooks: https://goo.gl/KjmgMfNook: https://goo.gl/dz9H7zKobo: https://goo.gl/Wy6nkuGoogle Play: https://goo.gl/scGWuWAdd to GoodReads: https://goo.gl/6dky78
    more
  • Cyndi
    July 11, 2017
    Cesca Shakespeare is stuck. Just plain stuck. She just can't seem to move past disappointment, failure from what she deems a gross misconduct of professionalism performed by one Sam Carlton. At 18 she was set to be the biggest new play write in all of London. And now, 6 years later, she can't keep a job, any job. So begins Carrie Elks latest novel Summer's Lease.This is the second book by Carrie Elks that I've had the pleasure of reading. Her writing is smart, the characters are complex and her Cesca Shakespeare is stuck. Just plain stuck. She just can't seem to move past disappointment, failure from what she deems a gross misconduct of professionalism performed by one Sam Carlton. At 18 she was set to be the biggest new play write in all of London. And now, 6 years later, she can't keep a job, any job. So begins Carrie Elks latest novel Summer's Lease.This is the second book by Carrie Elks that I've had the pleasure of reading. Her writing is smart, the characters are complex and her exploration on human emotion is heartrending. Cesca's journey begins with an opportunity to get away from her normal life and to try to do the one thing she loves but has too long denied herself, writing screenplays. Initially being in Cesca's head is disheartening. Her life is so depressing which lays the groundwork for what I'll call her recovery. It really felt like a cloud was being lifted as she works through the emotional blocks she's established. Just how Sam and Cesca end up back in each others lives is heart of this story. Sam too has some baggage, a life he is hiding away from and family issues that slowly come to light. The well paced plot is a story of enemies becoming lovers, second chances and forgiveness. Summers Lease made me feel as though I were vacationing in Italy and witnessing a young woman's rebirth. It's a a witty and charming read with witty and charming main characters. I really look forward to reading more stories about the Shakespeare sisters and maybe getting a bit more Sam and Cesca. 5 Stars and recommendation!*I was gifted a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • Peggy M
    June 26, 2017
    I received an ARC of this book and this is my voluntarily, honest review of it.This isn’t the first book that I read from Carrie Elks but being it the first book in a new series, I was very curious about it. And after reading it I can say that I really liked it and it made me wish that I was going on a holiday to Italy this summer!! Once upon a time Cesca Shakespeare had big dreams. She dreamed of writing a play that would be loved by everyone and when she was 18 years old she thought that her d I received an ARC of this book and this is my voluntarily, honest review of it.This isn’t the first book that I read from Carrie Elks but being it the first book in a new series, I was very curious about it. And after reading it I can say that I really liked it and it made me wish that I was going on a holiday to Italy this summer!! Once upon a time Cesca Shakespeare had big dreams. She dreamed of writing a play that would be loved by everyone and when she was 18 years old she thought that her dream would become true but then it all exploded in her face. That hurt her so much that it nearly destroyed her. Now, six years later she’s going from one job to another. No matter what she does she can’t seem to hold on to a job long enough to make life easier for her. So when she hits rock bottom, she finally accepts help from her godfather Hugh. He knows friends who are looking for someone to look after their villa in Italy this summer. So Cesca goes to Italy and everything is going really well until the son of the owners makes his appearance in the villa. Sam Carlton left England in the hope of becoming a famous actor in Hollywood and after six years he has made it in the famous city. But fame has a price and he just discovered that you can’t trust nobody there, not even your agent or your lover. Everyone in Hollywood is prepared to do everything to become famous, they would even share your secrets to world. So Sam flees to his parents villa in Italy knowing that he will have privacy there. But he didn’t count on meeting a person there that really hates him and wants nothing to do with him. Cesca can’t believe her bad fortune when Sam Carlton shows up in the villa in Italy. The person that she blames for everything that happened six years ago. Because neither of them want to leave the villa, they both quickly understand that to ‘survive’ their time in the villa, they have to make a truce with each other.But neither one of them expected that with each passing day and week that they would become closer and closer. First there’s friendship and later on they become lovers. And everything is going just great but what happens when the outside world comes knocking on the door? Is their connection strong enough to survive outside their hidden place, in the real world? Or was it just a summer fling?This story was definitely a slow burner. The writer Carrie Elks really took her time to tell the story and I really appreciated that because if your characters really dislike each other (or one of them do) then you can’t change their mind about it in one second. No, something like that has to grow and blossom and Carrie Elks did just that. First there was friendship and later on it became something more. The story is told from both POV’s. I was very happy that there was an epilogue in there. I always love seeing a glimpse into the future of the couple. Both Sam and Cesca were very lovable characters. Although Sam was a famous movie star, he had also something sweet about him. The problems with his father made that this story was more than just a fun, sweet story. ‘Summer’s lease’ is definitely a story to read this summer!
    more
  • M.B.
    July 5, 2017
    I ADORE Carrie Elks' books. They're feel good, easy reads that make you care about the characters. Her writing style is very fluid and whisks you away into the lives of imaginary people.Summer's Lease is no different. I honestly felt so much pity and sorrow for Cesca in the beginning, I wanted her to succeed, to get a happy ever after.When she goes to Italy, through the descriptions, I felt as if I was there beside her, breathing in the fresh air of Lake Como and soaking in the rays of the sun.C I ADORE Carrie Elks' books. They're feel good, easy reads that make you care about the characters. Her writing style is very fluid and whisks you away into the lives of imaginary people.Summer's Lease is no different. I honestly felt so much pity and sorrow for Cesca in the beginning, I wanted her to succeed, to get a happy ever after.When she goes to Italy, through the descriptions, I felt as if I was there beside her, breathing in the fresh air of Lake Como and soaking in the rays of the sun.Cesca is stuck in a rut. She bounces from job to job, and can barely afford to pay her rent. All because of one person - that's how she sees it anyway. She goes to Italy to not only make some money without having to worry about all her other bills, but also to remind herself who she is and what she wants out of life.It's all going well until Sam Carlton turns up, hiding from the trappings of fame, fortune, and Hollywood.As enemies to lovers books go, this is one of the best I have read. A mixture of soft scenes, steamy scenes, and angsty drama, it's got everything.I can't wait to read the rest in the series.
    more
  • Clare
    June 10, 2017
    Summer's Lease is my first encounter with Carrie Elks's writing even though I had heard of her books before and I have even been fortunate enough to have met once at a local author book signing I just haven't had the chance to read her books before now. I was totally drawn to this book by it's beautiful cover and the blurb which got me all intrigued about the story, it made me not want to miss out on the opportunity to read it. The story itself is based around Cesca Shakespeare who as a young gi Summer's Lease is my first encounter with Carrie Elks's writing even though I had heard of her books before and I have even been fortunate enough to have met once at a local author book signing I just haven't had the chance to read her books before now. I was totally drawn to this book by it's beautiful cover and the blurb which got me all intrigued about the story, it made me not want to miss out on the opportunity to read it. The story itself is based around Cesca Shakespeare who as a young girl wrote a play that would have wowed the audience but on opening night the lead actor Sam Calton ditched the play for the call of the bright lights of Hollywood which caused the play to close within a week of opening. Cesca never recovered from it and put all her pain and hurt into blaming Sam for ruining her life, she thinks she has lost her will to write again all because of him so she eventually takes on all kinds of crappy jobs but finds she has trouble managing to keep one and gets fired a lot, she has hit rock bottom when Cesca ends up after six years of misery getting a job house sitting a villa on Lake Como near the town of Varenna in Italy, everything is looking up for her until her arch nemesis turns up to ruin her peace and calm she has found there.This is an enemies to lovers kind of story which is one of my favorite tropes to read. It has an amazing setting that is described in great detail by the author that had me wishing I was there with the characters getting sunkissed from the heat of the sun at the edge of the lake whilst eating great food and drinking good wine. Sam and Cesca are both amazing lead characters that had a lot of depth and personality to them that made them seem very real to me. They start out by having a nasty clash of wills based on what they think they know about each other but once they both realise things aren't really what they seem and get to know one another a little deeper they start to ignite a powder keg of emotions that eventually explodes into a deep and fiery passion between them.I can tell by the descriptions of the town and the area of Italy that this story is set in that a lot of thought and research has gone into the writing of this book, for the author to able to have such a great eye for detail and knowledge of the cultural and culinary way of life of the country is very commendable and made the story so much more believable. This is a brilliant first book of the Shakespeare's Sisters series, it's so full of emotion that it had me almost in tears a few times but it also has some very funny moments that balance out the sad ones. Carrie Elks has written an amazing story that will captive your imagination and warm your heart. A brilliant 5 Stars!
    more
  • Mrs
    June 13, 2017
    Summers lease is a wonderful romantic story. Cesca's life could not get any worse, continually losing employment, writers block and no money she has hit rock bottom. This has all come about when play she had written 6 years previously had bombed on its opening night due to the lead actor Sam Carlton walking away the day before without a word.Sam is now a major Hollywood star and Cesca blames him for all her troubles. Her godfather persuades her to go to Italy to help out at a villa there, he fee Summers lease is a wonderful romantic story. Cesca's life could not get any worse, continually losing employment, writers block and no money she has hit rock bottom. This has all come about when play she had written 6 years previously had bombed on its opening night due to the lead actor Sam Carlton walking away the day before without a word.Sam is now a major Hollywood star and Cesca blames him for all her troubles. Her godfather persuades her to go to Italy to help out at a villa there, he feels she needs a complete change and to start writing again. Not knowing that Sam's parents own the Villa she agrees to go.Sam unexpectedly turns up, having his own problems, he too needs to get away from it all. And so starts a beautiful, funny trip of discovery for these two lovely people. With a cast of great characters this makes for a lovely well written absorbing read.Thanks to net galley and publisher for opportunity to review this book honestly.
    more
  • Maureen
    July 13, 2017
    After reading a lot of three star reads lately, I was really in the mood for a book that would blow my mind and I wouldn’t be able to put down. And ever since I saw the beautiful cover of ‘Summer’s Lease’ by Carrie Elks, I knew this was a book I wanted to read. It looked so pretty, and the book description sounded so good. In ‘Summer’s Lease’ we meet Cesca Shakespeare. Cesca is a twenty year old who is trying to get by on her own in London. Ever since Cesca’s dream ended horribly 6 years ago, Ce After reading a lot of three star reads lately, I was really in the mood for a book that would blow my mind and I wouldn’t be able to put down. And ever since I saw the beautiful cover of ‘Summer’s Lease’ by Carrie Elks, I knew this was a book I wanted to read. It looked so pretty, and the book description sounded so good. In ‘Summer’s Lease’ we meet Cesca Shakespeare. Cesca is a twenty year old who is trying to get by on her own in London. Ever since Cesca’s dream ended horribly 6 years ago, Cesca is trying to stay strong and move on. But when she losses yet another job, she starts to think things will never get better. So when her godfather offers Cesca the chance to go to Italy for the summer, to stay in a rich guys house, the choice is easily made. Hoping Cesca will be able to start writing again, Cesca goes into her new adventure with her hopes high. But when the rich guy’s son suddenly decides to get away for the summer too, things get heated very fast.Well, I can’t say anything else before I tell you guys how much I loved this book! I loooooved it. Not only is ‘Summer’s Lease’ a nice, sweet and very romantic read, I also loved the main characters and their stories. From the moment I started reading this book, I couldn’t put it down, and it was exactly what I needed.The two main characters Cesca and Sam are really great and totally different. Cesca is poor, and trying to get by one meal after another. Sam is a famous Hollywood actor who is followed by paparazzi everywhere. But despite all their differences, they have one thing in common: they both want to get away from their life for a while. This book was definitely very romantic, but also very funny at times. It really put a smile on my face, and I really felt like I personally knew these characters. I love everything about this book. I loved the story, I loved the characters, I loved the scene in Italy and I loved the chemistry between Cesca and Sam. It was just such a great novel I didn’t want it to end.Although I’ve only been to Milan, Italy ones for work last year, and I didn’t get to see a lot of the country, I always wanted to visit more of this beautiful land. I’ve heard some great things about the beautiful lakes and landscapes in Italy. And this book definitely made me want to grab a bag and go there. It really was that good.The author did a great job on developing the characters and the scenery. And since Cesca is one out of four sisters, I’m really hoping there will be more books about the Shakespeare sisters. I for one can’t wait to read more!
    more
  • Carrie Elks
    July 10, 2017
    Coming July 13th! He’s a Hollywood heart-throbShe’s hit rock bottom.Can their scorching fling survive reality?Cesca Shakespeare has hit an all time low. After her prize-winning play ended in disaster, writer’s block turned up, moved in and got a Netflix subscription. Six years later, she’s lost her dead-end job and is about to lose her apartment. Worse still, her sisters have no idea how far she’s fallen. So when her fairy Godfather offers her a free summer vacation in a beautiful Italian vil Coming July 13th! He’s a Hollywood heart-throbShe’s hit rock bottom.Can their scorching fling survive reality?Cesca Shakespeare has hit an all time low. After her prize-winning play ended in disaster, writer’s block turned up, moved in and got a Netflix subscription. Six years later, she’s lost her dead-end job and is about to lose her apartment. Worse still, her sisters have no idea how far she’s fallen. So when her fairy Godfather offers her a free summer vacation in a beautiful Italian villa, she grudgingly agrees to try writing a new play. That’s before she finds out the house belongs to the man who ruined her career, the gorgeous Sam Carlton.Having just hit the headlines for all the wrong reasons – again – Hollywood heart-throb Sam Carlton needs a place to hide out. Where better than his family’s secluded empty villa on Lake Como? Except when he arrives, it isn’t as empty as he’d hoped.One thing’s for sure – this is going to be a red-hot, scorching summer. . .
    more
  • Linda Hill
    July 14, 2017
    Goodness I loved Summer’s Lease. It is the perfect escapist summer read. I can honestly say I didn’t want it to end and am so glad that there will be other books about the Shakespeare sisters.I thought Summer’s Lease epitomised an intelligent example of women’s fiction. The Shakespearean quotations at the start of each chapter were perfect hooks and transported me back to so much pleasure from reading, studying and teaching Shakespeare in the past. Indeed, Summer’s Lease put me in mind of The Ta Goodness I loved Summer’s Lease. It is the perfect escapist summer read. I can honestly say I didn’t want it to end and am so glad that there will be other books about the Shakespeare sisters.I thought Summer’s Lease epitomised an intelligent example of women’s fiction. The Shakespearean quotations at the start of each chapter were perfect hooks and transported me back to so much pleasure from reading, studying and teaching Shakespeare in the past. Indeed, Summer’s Lease put me in mind of The Taming of the Shrew in many ways. However, a reader doesn’t need to know anything about Shakespeare to thoroughly enjoy the quotations and to have fun seeing how the chapters reflect the selections.There’s a glorious sense of place so that I felt I was in Italy too with Cesca and Sam. The smatterings of food description and language really bring the text alive. I also loved the conceit of Cesca being a writer so that as a result of reading this story I felt I understood the challenges writers can face and the plot felt totally credible. There’s humour and lightness of touch too so that Summer’s Lease feels silky smooth to read.The sensual parts were so well written. I was surprised by the level of detail and the effectiveness of the writing. It felt perfectly done and made such a refreshing change from the coy euphemisms of some romances or the deliberately explicit texts designed merely to shock. Summer’s Lease felt like grown up romance that all could relate to.The characterisation is spot on. Of course Sam and Cesca are physically attractive but they have a depth, with issues from the past that affect their present so that I invested myself into the story wholeheartedly even though it is a lighter read. The dialogue between them adds humour and Carrie Elks is able to convey heightened sexual tension so brilliantly.Summer’s Lease is witty, sexy, romantic and entertaining. What more could a reader ask for? Pack it in your suitcase now!
    more
  • Rebecca
    July 7, 2017
    3.5 starsThis is a book I was excited to read because it sounded like the perfect easy summer read. Woman with writers block escapes to Lake Como to housesit for a family and ends up trapped in a villa with a man she loathes. Who doesn't love hate to love romance set in Italy with a celebrity romantic lead? Ok, it does sound like a bit if a busy story but it still sounds funFun it was. I enjoyed myself reading. I felt a strong urge to sit in the sun and drink wine and do something spontaneous. I 3.5 starsThis is a book I was excited to read because it sounded like the perfect easy summer read. Woman with writers block escapes to Lake Como to housesit for a family and ends up trapped in a villa with a man she loathes. Who doesn't love hate to love romance set in Italy with a celebrity romantic lead? Ok, it does sound like a bit if a busy story but it still sounds funFun it was. I enjoyed myself reading. I felt a strong urge to sit in the sun and drink wine and do something spontaneous. I wanted to travel Europe and have fun and also had a strong urge to go to the theatre and all the best summer reads make you want to do something fun.Cesca is in a bit of rut with writers block and no job and little hope in her life until she escapes to Italy where she gets her reading mojo back. It's going great until Sam Carlton, famous actor and man who ditched her theatre debut, shows up and ruins things. The two argue and I enjoyed the spark between them. Seeing the banter progress from hateful jibes to cheeky flirtation was awesome. I love a good hate to love and Sam and Cesca's path to romance was difficult.I did find myself rolling my eyes at a couple of things though. Cesca had a sexy Italian neighbour up on the lake and he was obviously a potential love interest for her. He was such a non characters and he felt very forced and two dimensional. So much so I can't even remember his name. He felt unnecessary and purely there to push the plot along. My other grumble is that Sam and Cesca's relationship obstacles seemed a bit ridiculous. Like they had issues bit they both really needed to just use their damn words. It wasn't the end of the world but it was a little frustrating.If you're look for a fun romance set somewhere different then check this out. It is a really enjoyable read.
    more
  • Nerdy Dirty & Flirty
    July 15, 2017
    ☆☆☆☆~ CassieSummer’s Lease is the first book about the Shakespeare sisters. If you enjoy the enemies to lover’s stories than you will enjoy this book.Summer’s Lease is Cesca and Sam’s story. Cesca is lost in life and wandering from job to job because she is afraid to try the one thing that she loves in life and that is writing. I like how independent she is, probably to a fault. She refuses to ask for help or let anyone know how far down she has fallen. This leads her godfather to step in and ge ☆☆☆☆~ CassieSummer’s Lease is the first book about the Shakespeare sisters. If you enjoy the enemies to lover’s stories than you will enjoy this book.Summer’s Lease is Cesca and Sam’s story. Cesca is lost in life and wandering from job to job because she is afraid to try the one thing that she loves in life and that is writing. I like how independent she is, probably to a fault. She refuses to ask for help or let anyone know how far down she has fallen. This leads her godfather to step in and get her a dream job in Italy. It is also a chance for her to try and write again. One slight problem the house belongs to the family of Sam, the person who she blames for her ruining her life. Sam is an actor who needs to escape Hollywood and goes to his family home. I liked Sam and though he comes off a little arrogant at first once you get to know him more you can see that he is broken on the inside. I liked that once Cesca and Sam start to let their guards down with each other you can see that there is more to each of them than just the antagonism and the misunderstandings that had led to have a strong dislike of each other.I really enjoyed how their intense dislike gradually grew into a friendship and then more. Once they started to let down their walls and get to know each other is when you could see the attraction start to grow. This is not an instalove or attraction and I liked that because Cesca really hated Sam and was not afraid to let him know that. This book is a slow build, but with a lot of heart and heat.This is my first Carrie Elk’s book and it will not be my last. Elk’s does a fantastic job of building the story and with each page I became more and more invested in this love story. I cannot wait to read the rest of the Shakespeare sisters stories!
    more
  • Samantha Kilford
    July 11, 2017
    Thank you to Little, Brown UK/Piatkus Books for sending me a copy. This review was a part of the blog tour for the novel. See the other stops here.Summer's Lease really has set the bar high for my summer reading. I didn't go in expecting much, just an easy, breezy summer romance novel. Yet, by chapter three I was hooked and unable to put it down.I rarely say this, but I believe that Elks' new novel is sheer perfection. After finishing the entirety of Summer's Lease in just two days, I'm taken ab Thank you to Little, Brown UK/Piatkus Books for sending me a copy. This review was a part of the blog tour for the novel. See the other stops here.Summer's Lease really has set the bar high for my summer reading. I didn't go in expecting much, just an easy, breezy summer romance novel. Yet, by chapter three I was hooked and unable to put it down.I rarely say this, but I believe that Elks' new novel is sheer perfection. After finishing the entirety of Summer's Lease in just two days, I'm taken aback by just how deeply I came to care and fall in love with these characters. With Elks' effortless way of weaving in comedy, romance and a whole lot of heart, there's never a dull moment in Summer's Lease.You'll start by disliking Sam Carlton - and rightly so, he is partly responsible for Cesca's downward spiral after her play bombs. But as Cesca and Sam work out their differences, with a good mix of fighting and flirting, we learn more about both of their tragic pasts. There were times when I was swooning along with Cesca, but there were also times when I was sobbing with tears. Trust me when I say that by the end of the book, you'll be wishing you had a Sam Carlton. Thinking about that first date and the scene at Cereal has me giddy all over again!As a Shakespeare nerd, I was already intrigued by the leading lady, Cesca, and her wonderful surname.  However, I died and went to Shakespeare heaven when I saw that Elks had included little quotes from his works at the beginning of each chapter. It's a very lovely touch and what makes it even better was that each quote relates exactly to the action happening in the chapter itself. I thought it was complete and utter genius!I have nothing but high praise for Elks' novel. Of course, the romance between Cesca and Sam could be considered far-fetched, but that's the way romance novels are and I think their blossoming love is what makes it so easy to lose yourself in this book. What amazed me was that Elks didn't shy away from admitting her characters were flawed and we see this as they confront their pasts. It's so well thought out and it was so engrossing as a reader to follow both their journey together and their own personal journeys from start to finish.My understanding is that this is the first in Elks' upcoming Shakespeare Sisters Series. If Summer's Lease is anything to go by, then I'm eagerly awaiting to learn more about Cesca's sisters. In the meantime, I'm making it my mission to read more by Elks and I suggest that you do to!
    more
  • Karen
    July 17, 2017
    How delightful.The settings and characters were charming in this story of a poor girl who takes over house sitting in Italy to find time to write a play. Not sure if Shakespeare as a family name meant a play writer but still cute. Cesca was a bit too hard on herself causing her to blame others for her failure to take off career wise. She was a handful with Sam initially and that was rude of her. How was he to know after 6 years what he did. But they had enough time to work through and it was a b How delightful.The settings and characters were charming in this story of a poor girl who takes over house sitting in Italy to find time to write a play. Not sure if Shakespeare as a family name meant a play writer but still cute. Cesca was a bit too hard on herself causing her to blame others for her failure to take off career wise. She was a handful with Sam initially and that was rude of her. How was he to know after 6 years what he did. But they had enough time to work through and it was a beautiful summer read!!!
    more
  • Rose David
    June 26, 2017
    Carrie has a unique writing style that I love. There is something absolutely enchanting about how she puts her stories together. And Summer's Lease didn't miss the mark that Carrie always delivers. The story is about Cesca and Sam. They have a past. An unhappy past. One that absolutely ruined Cesca but caused Sam to flourish. After being reunited, their past collides with the present bringing you an amazing story of love and hate. Of pain and happiness. Absolutely loved this tale. I hope we see Carrie has a unique writing style that I love. There is something absolutely enchanting about how she puts her stories together. And Summer's Lease didn't miss the mark that Carrie always delivers. The story is about Cesca and Sam. They have a past. An unhappy past. One that absolutely ruined Cesca but caused Sam to flourish. After being reunited, their past collides with the present bringing you an amazing story of love and hate. Of pain and happiness. Absolutely loved this tale. I hope we see more of Sam and Cesca in the next novel in this series.
    more
  • Donna Jones
    June 13, 2017
    I adore Carrie's writing it has a wonderful flow, and her characters always are well rounded and developed. There is an emotion but not an emotional read where you sob your heart out. This book would make an excellent holiday read especially with it set in Italy. Summers lease is the first of four books about the Shakespeare sisters. The leading lady is Cesca Shakespeare. Cesca is living hand to mouth trying to hold down a job, this time the job is at a cat cafe. Cesca is fired and upon visiting I adore Carrie's writing it has a wonderful flow, and her characters always are well rounded and developed. There is an emotion but not an emotional read where you sob your heart out. This book would make an excellent holiday read especially with it set in Italy. Summers lease is the first of four books about the Shakespeare sisters. The leading lady is Cesca Shakespeare. Cesca is living hand to mouth trying to hold down a job, this time the job is at a cat cafe. Cesca is fired and upon visiting her uncle has to reevaluate her life. Six years ago Cesca had written a Broadway wich wasn't surprising given her family history, her mother was a successful Broadway actress. Cesca was full of ambition she was well on her way to success until just before the play opened the leading man pulled out and the play flopped. Feeling a failure, she sulked her way into a series of dead-end jobs Until that day she visited her uncle, and he comes up with an idea to help.
    more
Write a review