Sagitta (Star Guardians, #3)
Dr. Tala Matapang thought the most challenging part about getting kidnapped by slavers from another planet would be escaping, not butting heads with the obstinate Star Guardian captain who rescued her. She’s been working in his sickbay, and it's refreshing not having to deal with the politics and bureaucracy she faced as a surgeon back home, but Captain Sagitta is as infuriating as he is handsome. He's got this crazy plan to take her and the other women home against his government's wishes, and he didn't even consult them about it first. Captain Sagitta "Sage" of Dethocoles believes in doing the right thing. That's why he's defying his government to take Tala and the other Earth women home. Unfortunately, he has a couple of problems. First, his government is sending a surprisingly aggressive pursuit after them. Second, he’s having a hard time imagining dropping Tala off and never seeing her again. She’s a capable doctor and is doing an excellent job heading up his sickbay. More than that, he’s attracted to her and is starting to care about her. Too bad he’s better at barking orders than sharing feelings, and he seems to argue with her every time they speak. With trouble stalking the ship from behind and obstacles blocking the route ahead, Sage and Tala will have to form a bond and learn to work together, or neither of them will see their home worlds again. The Star Guardians Series Book 1: Orion Book 2: Treyjon Book 3: Sagitta Book 4: Hierax (August) Book 5: Zakota (fall)

Sagitta (Star Guardians, #3) Details

TitleSagitta (Star Guardians, #3)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
ReleaseJul 5th, 2017
Number of pages250 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Science Fiction, Science Fiction Romance

Sagitta (Star Guardians, #3) Review

  • Celestine
    July 11, 2017
    I admit to being a little let down by this book. I've read the others in the series, and leading up to this point, Capt. Sagitta (Sage) and Dr. Tala were my favorite characters. Their romance was the one I was waiting for. Seeing the starch leech out of their shirts was going to be serious fun. Unfortunately, the romance was flat, and the sexual tension was limp. This book folded in the heart department, but excelled in the fight scene department.I was really looking forward to how the push-pull I admit to being a little let down by this book. I've read the others in the series, and leading up to this point, Capt. Sagitta (Sage) and Dr. Tala were my favorite characters. Their romance was the one I was waiting for. Seeing the starch leech out of their shirts was going to be serious fun. Unfortunately, the romance was flat, and the sexual tension was limp. This book folded in the heart department, but excelled in the fight scene department.I was really looking forward to how the push-pull between two dedicated-to-their-work, mature adults would shake out in an outer space atmosphere. To this point, the level headed ones in the room have been Sage and Tala. I couldn't wait to see how Lionsdrake was going to shake up their world. First off, I was disappointed that their attraction didn't unfold in little moments and big moments, flirts and insults. Instead, we spend so much time in Internal-Monologue-Land, replaying a few incidents from the last books, that I was BORED. And a little insulted out how lazily the romance angle was being handled. Then, 58% into the book, RL saves it with the tension of a Zi'i assault. Suddenly I am absorbed in the story. Sage and Tala save the day in dramatic ways very worth reading. Sage saves the day with both his strategic battle skills and his one-on-four hand-to-hand combat that kind of reminds me of a guy in an MMA octagon cage with four crazed creatures. It was awesome. Plus, Tala's brains and intuition are much to admire. The story has twisted in an unexpected way, and there are a few more romances I want to see. However, I won't be so forgiving with another lazy romance. I want as much tension and excitement in the romance as with the laser fire and en-bolts and animal claws.Book source: Kindle Unlimited subscription
    more
  • Chanel Carter
    July 9, 2017
    Highly anticipated this book and was not disappointed! The story continues with Sagitta (Sage) disobeying orders from his High Command and escaping Dethocles with the women where High Command decided they wanted the women to stay. Sage ends up having to navigate Falcon 8 through the Cronos Nebula that alters everyone's regular personalities. He entrusts Tala with keeping everyone mostly sane and safe, including himself because she's come up with a way to reverse some of the effects. From there t Highly anticipated this book and was not disappointed! The story continues with Sagitta (Sage) disobeying orders from his High Command and escaping Dethocles with the women where High Command decided they wanted the women to stay. Sage ends up having to navigate Falcon 8 through the Cronos Nebula that alters everyone's regular personalities. He entrusts Tala with keeping everyone mostly sane and safe, including himself because she's come up with a way to reverse some of the effects. From there there are more Zi'i encounters as Sage tries everything in his power to honor his promise.I think this is definitely my favorite book. There was a great balance between the plot and the romance. Sage and Tala have had this sort of slow burn chemistry since Book Orion. Sage is the tough, no nonsense workaholic and Tala, who's past life was a surgeon, sees a lot of who she used to be in Sage. It's one of those attractions that I felt Ruby executed beautifully. I hope we get a revisit between these two in a later book and I can't wait for the next one considering the people of Falcon 8 are not out of the woods quite yet. I received an advanced reader copy in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Kelly
    July 7, 2017
    Uptight (according to this brother, at least) Captain Sagitta is on deck this time around and he's got his eye on the focused doc. No worries, she's got some eyes on him, too. Sexy, sexy eyes, if you know what I mean.But before they get to the sexy times, Sagitta and Tala have to get through the danger they're facing. When we last left them, Sage had made the decision to defy orders and take the earth women back to their planet no matter what the ruling council says. As if that's not enough to w Uptight (according to this brother, at least) Captain Sagitta is on deck this time around and he's got his eye on the focused doc. No worries, she's got some eyes on him, too. Sexy, sexy eyes, if you know what I mean.But before they get to the sexy times, Sagitta and Tala have to get through the danger they're facing. When we last left them, Sage had made the decision to defy orders and take the earth women back to their planet no matter what the ruling council says. As if that's not enough to worry about, they also run into an unexpected (and supremely unpleasant) surprise as they take a roundabout way back to the Gaia gate.Despite all that, they find a few stolen minutes for romance. Sort of. It takes a while for both Sage and Tala to admit they like verbally sparring with one another and there *might* have been an inadvertent peep show to help move things along. Which just goes to show you should lock your doors if you need some alone time. Heh.Tala's scientific know-how is put to the test, Sage gets to show his badass side when they come up against humanity's worst enemy, and the crew and ship and left in a very precarious position after all is said and done. I'm not worried, though, because Sage has a solid crew under him and the drive to get things done. Plus, those earth ladies aren't ones to give up easily. Just you wait and see.-Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal
    more
  • Lili
    July 9, 2017
    This series keeps getting better and better! Amazing, isn't it?Here comes the problem: honorable to his core, Sagitta must choose between loyalty to his superiors and protecting the innocent. Must have been a very tough, heart-rending decision to renounce his position and life-long commitment to his career and his beliefs in order to do what's right...Go on, pick up this story of how the universe plays with fate and his heart becomes involved in this tale of heroism, sacrifice, honor and emotion This series keeps getting better and better! Amazing, isn't it?Here comes the problem: honorable to his core, Sagitta must choose between loyalty to his superiors and protecting the innocent. Must have been a very tough, heart-rending decision to renounce his position and life-long commitment to his career and his beliefs in order to do what's right...Go on, pick up this story of how the universe plays with fate and his heart becomes involved in this tale of heroism, sacrifice, honor and emotions - you'll love it!Warning: while Orion and Treyjon have a satisfactory conclusion, the end of Sagitta will surprise you with a bit of a twist at the end. Ha! I can't wait for the next book!
    more
  • ARo
    July 7, 2017
    The best about this series is the actual sci -fi story that is the main thread. Of course having a new erotic love story for each new book is also very enjoyable, especially since although the sex scenes are hot these are not the main point of the book. I like to be surprised by where the book takes me and I like it to be believable, this book check all of these points and more. The fact that the 2 couples for the 2 previous book are also part of the adventures and contribute a little is good to The best about this series is the actual sci -fi story that is the main thread. Of course having a new erotic love story for each new book is also very enjoyable, especially since although the sex scenes are hot these are not the main point of the book. I like to be surprised by where the book takes me and I like it to be believable, this book check all of these points and more. The fact that the 2 couples for the 2 previous book are also part of the adventures and contribute a little is good too.Now am looking forward to book 4 as I really want to know what is going to happen to that ship and crew + women...
    more
  • LuDena Radford
    July 8, 2017
    These are the voyages Of the Falcon 8. Who 3 week mission is to return the women of Earth home and return for punishment. However like all good books the mission doesn't go as planned and becomes an adventure of a life time.
  • Cc
    July 10, 2017
    Tala and Sage SagittaThis Series gets better with each book!Sage is the Captain of the Star Guardian Ship the Falcon 8. Stern and single minded doesn't begin to described this decorated Star Guardian. Tala was a Surgeon on Earth but quit because the powers that be didn't let her give common sense orders to her patients rather than just writing them a prescription or three. These two worked together like oil and water, always arguing but to them this was foreplay. They're interested in each other Tala and Sage SagittaThis Series gets better with each book!Sage is the Captain of the Star Guardian Ship the Falcon 8. Stern and single minded doesn't begin to described this decorated Star Guardian. Tala was a Surgeon on Earth but quit because the powers that be didn't let her give common sense orders to her patients rather than just writing them a prescription or three. These two worked together like oil and water, always arguing but to them this was foreplay. They're interested in each other but first they have to escape to take the women back to earth. Making it through the first Worm hole they discover an enemy that threatens them and all human kind.I can't wait to see what happens next!
    more
  • Claire
    July 15, 2017
    A bit more measured romance this time around, as we're dealing with more mature characters who have larger responsibilities - ship's captain and erstwhile doctor. Several more wrenches get thrown into the mission to take the kidnapped women back to Earth, and we're left with a cliffhanger in terms of their situation - Tala and Sage do get a HFN! It's a bit late in coming, but their banter and actions build over the course of the story. We're also introduced to some new members of the Falcon 8's A bit more measured romance this time around, as we're dealing with more mature characters who have larger responsibilities - ship's captain and erstwhile doctor. Several more wrenches get thrown into the mission to take the kidnapped women back to Earth, and we're left with a cliffhanger in terms of their situation - Tala and Sage do get a HFN! It's a bit late in coming, but their banter and actions build over the course of the story. We're also introduced to some new members of the Falcon 8's crew, and a few of the captured women get more character development. Now I'm trying to guess who will get paired up with who!
    more
  • Aizzia
    July 9, 2017
    Ms Lionsdrake has totally hit her stride in the Star Guardians series with Sagitta. It is absolutely the best one yet with Dr Tala Matagang and Captain Sagitta making sparks fly from the get go! The pacing was solid, the romance good, the action scenes are well thought out and executed - plus we get to see what a total badass Sage is in a fight!! A really enjoyable romp through space and I’m looking forward to seeing where we end up with this series. Bring on number 4!
    more
  • Lyn Taylor
    July 13, 2017
    I was looking forward as to how these two were going to be thrown together. Unfortunately there was very little build up of chemistry between the two. Despite the lack of romance I still thoroughly enjoyed the book and look forward to how they're going to get themselves out of their latest mess!
    more
  • Navdha
    July 16, 2017
    Oooh this one had so much more action than the rest! I'm intrigued to see how the Star Guardians and the kidnapped women find a way out of the mess they're now landed in. I would definitely be coming back to read Hierax's arc.
  • Caroline
    July 9, 2017
    Fun.
  • Noodle TheNaughtyNightOwl
    July 14, 2017
    10/10This one just hit the right spot on so many levels. I always knew I'd love Tala & Sage together. The action was bang on, the romance perfect, the storyline engaging.Well done!
Write a review