Apache Strike Force (Spotless, #4.5)
He’s death from the sky, ready to strike. He never compromises, never lets go, never settles for second best when it comes to his offspring. He’s the… Apache. With his nose-mounted sensor, night vision system and 30 mm chain gun, Simon Halder isn’t your average helicopter dad, and when Island, the daughter he thought he had lost, reappears after eight months of captivity, someone’s gonna have to pay. But since pretty much everyone involved has paid already, there’s only one target left in sight for this attack helicopter… Island’s new boyfriend: the man people just call March. A companion to book 4 of the Spotless series—Butterfly in Amber—this novella is 24,000 words of gripping hitman versus helicopter dad action, including family reunions, hardcore hovering, veganism, housekeeping, and fatherly love. For your safety, please read the books in order. Because otherwise you’ll get spoiled. Hard.

Apache Strike Force (Spotless, #4.5) Details

TitleApache Strike Force (Spotless, #4.5)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
ReleaseJul 13th, 2017
Number of pages110 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Suspense, Contemporary, Humor

Apache Strike Force (Spotless, #4.5) Review

  • Camilla Monk
    June 16, 2017
    Regrettably, Camilla Monk strikes again, with an insightful analysis of patriarchal dialectics, which some would say, define America's subcapitalist consciousness. Throughout the nine chapters of Apache Helicopter Strike, Bataille's coining of the term ‘precultural Marxism’ to denote a patriarchialist paradox frequently comes to mind.It could be also be argued that the primary theme of the work is the role of the reader as poet, however the premise of Debordist situation implies that the purpose Regrettably, Camilla Monk strikes again, with an insightful analysis of patriarchal dialectics, which some would say, define America's subcapitalist consciousness. Throughout the nine chapters of Apache Helicopter Strike, Bataille's coining of the term ‘precultural Marxism’ to denote a patriarchialist paradox frequently comes to mind.It could be also be argued that the primary theme of the work is the role of the reader as poet, however the premise of Debordist situation implies that the purpose of the writer is deconstruction, something made evident by the absence of plot, which functions as a mirror for Island's father rapid and irremediable mental unraveling, until he makes the unconscious yet deliberate choice to embrace a postdeconstructivist gender identity as an Apache helicopter. In this regard, several narratives concerning a self-justifying reality may be discovered within the work, as well as a bold social comment filtering through Simon's repeated claims that March is unemployed, and as a result a non-essential economic agent as defined by Reicher in the context of neomaterial theory.
    more
  • Stacey is Sassy
    July 18, 2017
    Crazy and funny....just the usualI'm currently listening to the audio for Spotless and thoroughly enjoying it. I didn't plan to be "reading" two Camilla Monk books at the same time but I'm glad it happened this way. Laughing my head off at their first meeting in the morning and then seeing them happy together in the evening. It made both experiences better.Apache Strike Force has definitely given me my crazy and funny fix. March and Island together, learning to deal with each other and their qui Crazy and funny....just the usualI'm currently listening to the audio for Spotless and thoroughly enjoying it. I didn't plan to be "reading" two Camilla Monk books at the same time but I'm glad it happened this way. Laughing my head off at their first meeting in the morning and then seeing them happy together in the evening. It made both experiences better.Apache Strike Force has definitely given me my crazy and funny fix. March and Island together, learning to deal with each other and their quirks, was very entertaining. I love March but even I know there is no way I would survive (or he would survive) living with the clean freak. His house rules are hilarious.Loved catching up with the gang and seeing where they are all at. If Island can learn to follow a few of March's rules and March learns to deal with some of his rules getting broken, then I can definitely see them happy together forever. That is, if Island's dad doesn't kill him.
    more
  • Sharon
    July 13, 2017
    I literally started tearing up a few pages in because these characters hit me right in the feels.I love this wacky series, these adorable characters, this heartmelting romance, this on-point humor – My only real complaint is wow, I just want more. Like this epilogue novella is supposed to make me feel complete and satisfied, but I think it just makes me want more of Island and March. Also, I would have loved to find out if Island returns to her old job, gets a new job, or follows March on his jo I literally started tearing up a few pages in because these characters hit me right in the feels.I love this wacky series, these adorable characters, this heartmelting romance, this on-point humor – My only real complaint is wow, I just want more. Like this epilogue novella is supposed to make me feel complete and satisfied, but I think it just makes me want more of Island and March. Also, I would have loved to find out if Island returns to her old job, gets a new job, or follows March on his job (if he lets her… if she cares if he lets her or not). Anyway, I adore seeing Island reunite with her dad and with old friends. It was immensely touching and sweet.I JUST NEED TO SEE MORE OF MARCH AND ISLAND. THEY ARE SO ADORABLE AGH. They're honestly one of my favorite couples that I have read.4 stars.Things that you might want to know (WARNING: Spoilers below)Is there a happy/satisfying ending? (view spoiler)[Yes. Cute. (hide spoiler)]Love triangle? Cheating? Angst level? (view spoiler)[No, no, low. (hide spoiler)]Tears-worthy? (view spoiler)[I got a little teary (not in a depressing way, but because it got emotional and heartfelt). (hide spoiler)]Humor? (view spoiler)[YES. (hide spoiler)]--------------FLUFFY EPILOGUE NOVELLA=BEST THING EVERRRR. Ready to reunite with my OTP~~💕
    more
  • Celestine
    July 24, 2017
    Epilogue-erful. Now I just want more. Thanks to Raptor Jesus that there appears to be at least one more snippet in the works with Island and March. It is a credit to Camilla Monk's boundless imagination and writing ability that after 4.5 books, I am far from tired of fantasizing about running my fingers through a certain springy chestnut mat.Book source: Purchased
    more
  • Jaya
    July 23, 2017
    ... and this not the end, there's one more to comeI bloody well can't wait!!!
  • Ivy Deluca
    July 2, 2017
    Full review to come. Here's a hint though - I loved it.
  • Hilda
    June 12, 2017
    ...because, why not. You will all understand once you read the story. =)Camilla Monk does it again. I love her books. I love Island and March and I'm so happy we got this small glimpse into their lives after Butterfly in Amber. I love their alone time because that's when March is the sweetest, possibly the only time. That's when he smiles the most and I love those smiles, the ones with two dimples. He also loses control in the best of ways. It was about time Island got some! I love that we got t ...because, why not. You will all understand once you read the story. =)Camilla Monk does it again. I love her books. I love Island and March and I'm so happy we got this small glimpse into their lives after Butterfly in Amber. I love their alone time because that's when March is the sweetest, possibly the only time. That's when he smiles the most and I love those smiles, the ones with two dimples. He also loses control in the best of ways. It was about time Island got some! I love that we got to see Joy again and meet new family members. I loved Island's grandmother. My grandma received oral and written complaints every year, stressing the ambiguity of the message this particular display conveyed, and insisting that it made some of her neighbors uncomfortable. But she was eighty-three, she liked her inflatable Jesus, and she didn't give a damn.Said inflatable Jesus is huge with sausage fingers, holding a bloated lamb, wearing a rainbow colored toga!!! I want one so bad. My mother has a huge inflatable Santa wearing surfing shorts and sunglasses. She loves him and puts him outside every year. I think he needs a companion. The grandfather was just as awesome!!It's Christmas, and I can see him standing on my goddamn lawn. He's not working!Poor March never had a chance! He was destined to be stuck with Island and her family. I love that they loved him and made him stay. I love that March is willing to step out of his comfort zone to please Island and vice versa. I love that Island is so careful with March. They take care of each other and you can see it. I'm so glad we get one more book. I can't wait for book 5! I love these two!
    more
  • SamJ ★Needs a HEA★
    July 30, 2017
    Look whose story is continuing!As awesomely freakin' brilliantly genius as ever.I will never ever ever EVER tire of March and Island, but mainly March! Obvs.
  • Sandy
    July 19, 2017
    I can't get enough of these characters and i don't want to let go! Love love love! Great series, can't stop smiling throughout!
  • Bookgyrl
    June 24, 2017
    The Spotless-series was a 4 book rollercoaster ride and after it ended I was in a real bookslump. Letting go of Island and March was harder than I thought! Fortunately, the author has decided to give them a last blaze of glory and in between she wrote this novella! After the ending of Butterfly in Amber I had questions and wished to know what happened next. And this is the answer to some of these questions: what happens when Island returns home and sees her family (and best friend Joy) again? Ho The Spotless-series was a 4 book rollercoaster ride and after it ended I was in a real bookslump. Letting go of Island and March was harder than I thought! Fortunately, the author has decided to give them a last blaze of glory and in between she wrote this novella! After the ending of Butterfly in Amber I had questions and wished to know what happened next. And this is the answer to some of these questions: what happens when Island returns home and sees her family (and best friend Joy) again? How will they react to her new boyfriend? I loved the commitment shown by Island and March. Both are willing to give in the relationship (not easy to live together as OCD and slob are not actually compatible). It is just a short novella, but gave so much insight. It was a great start to my Saturday morning. Now I have to wait for the big finale!
    more
  • Chansiri Sirimongkhoune
    June 24, 2017
    I'm always amazed at the humor Ms Monk imbues in her novels ( well this time novella)! Whether she's talking about March and Island (who knew they both like reading labels of products while in the shower?) or describing an inanimate object ( Gerald the psychopathic orange tree) with such humanistic traits, it's always amazes me. This time we get to see Island's Dad too and he is Hilarious with a capital H..,, Weed anyone ????? Lol My only gripe Ms Monk is that it's always too short!!! Even with I'm always amazed at the humor Ms Monk imbues in her novels ( well this time novella)! Whether she's talking about March and Island (who knew they both like reading labels of products while in the shower?) or describing an inanimate object ( Gerald the psychopathic orange tree) with such humanistic traits, it's always amazes me. This time we get to see Island's Dad too and he is Hilarious with a capital H..,, Weed anyone ????? Lol My only gripe Ms Monk is that it's always too short!!! Even with your full length novels. I want more of the preciousssssss....
    more
  • Amyrose2102
    June 29, 2017
    This bonus novella is the perfect glimpse into what awaits Island and March when they return to the states. Watching them navigate cohabitation and the 'real' world as a couple was so satisfying. I was so happy to see more of March's sweet and romantic side, and to see them 'in action' as a couple. Wait, that came out wrong --I meant see them interacting together as a couple (although I also enjoyed their sexy times, too). Seeing Island, her father, and Joy reunite and adjust to new realities (a This bonus novella is the perfect glimpse into what awaits Island and March when they return to the states. Watching them navigate cohabitation and the 'real' world as a couple was so satisfying. I was so happy to see more of March's sweet and romantic side, and to see them 'in action' as a couple. Wait, that came out wrong --I meant see them interacting together as a couple (although I also enjoyed their sexy times, too). Seeing Island, her father, and Joy reunite and adjust to new realities (and sometimes lies) brought some needed closure, but their stories doesn't feel "closed", and that's a good thing. It feels good to know they are still somewhere living and learning. And through it all, the more I learn and see of March, the more remarkable he becomes in my mind. Camilla has a way of weaving inside jokes, contemporary culture, and abstract off-the-wall references in a way that gives the reader so many "wink-wink, nudge-nudge" moments. I think that's one of her strongest gifts as a writer. She brings the reader along, and with these little gems involve us in the process. I know that makes no sense, but I'm not sure how to explain it any better. I just feel more engaged with the characters as opposed to some other novels. Her ego isn't involved in the story-telling...like she knows how this all ends and she's only revealing what bits she wants us to see (while twisting her handlebar mustache). Of course she's sort-of doing that, but her writing lets the reader feel as if they are experiencing the action in real-time with the characters, and the future isn't decided until the reader flips the virtual kindle page to see what's next. THAT is a rare gift. Read the series. Read the novella. And keep an eye on Camilla Monk because she only gets better with each book.
    more
  • Cher
    July 16, 2017
    Camilla Monk, I love you... Today in my e-mail is a copy of Apache Strike Force and I couldn't wait to get started. What a great book. I usually don't enjoy short stories but I ate this up. You know why? Because I can't get enough of Island and Mr. November. The story continues from the previous book and we get to look what happened once the dust settled. I enjoyed seeing Island and March moving on with the lives together. I laughed so hard at Island's father and Gerald attitude. I adore this s Camilla Monk, I love you... Today in my e-mail is a copy of Apache Strike Force and I couldn't wait to get started. What a great book. I usually don't enjoy short stories but I ate this up. You know why? Because I can't get enough of Island and Mr. November. The story continues from the previous book and we get to look what happened once the dust settled. I enjoyed seeing Island and March moving on with the lives together. I laughed so hard at Island's father and Gerald attitude. I adore this series and I recommend it to everyone. It was worth 340, 000 pages and 2 Tim Hortons coffee to finally see them bang! Thank you Camilla monk for another great book
    more
  • Hemet Neter
    June 24, 2017
    "Pointless fluff" accepted! Knocked it out as soon as I got the ARC email. Fun to read, as always (Simon was delightfully dad-like); and, I love intermediate books to hold readers over until the next official one (I totally knew that was Sun Tzu!). Good transition featuring mainstream life decisions. There are some surprises for & reflections by the characters in ASF as we approach the final book in the series. Looking forward to the finale! We really did need one last book; there was so muc "Pointless fluff" accepted! Knocked it out as soon as I got the ARC email. Fun to read, as always (Simon was delightfully dad-like); and, I love intermediate books to hold readers over until the next official one (I totally knew that was Sun Tzu!). Good transition featuring mainstream life decisions. There are some surprises for & reflections by the characters in ASF as we approach the final book in the series. Looking forward to the finale! We really did need one last book; there was so much upheaval in #4 and so many questions to answer! Will our couple continue to have dangerous adventures? (Clean website, btw) Will they chill and try to be normal? Will March & grandpa go...uh...squirrel hunting? Will Gerald try to trip Island as she walks out onto the balcony? Can Rica handle Ricardo's machete? I know! --- all critical stuff!!Hmmm...and I wonder exactly what March said to Simon in the bedroom...but, we may never know.
    more
  • Christine Hill
    July 13, 2017
    I received this book for free because I’m on Camilla Monk’s newsletter list. While you’ve missed your chance at this special gift, you should sign up for her newsletter for future news and surprises. This novella is NOT a standalone and needs to be read in order. To read my review of books 1-4 in this series, you can go here: http://wp.me/p6mg4N-v0This review is also posted on my blog: www.loveserially.wordpress.comOverall Rating: 4 (sXe)Quick & Dirty summary: Island and March are trying to I received this book for free because I’m on Camilla Monk’s newsletter list. While you’ve missed your chance at this special gift, you should sign up for her newsletter for future news and surprises. This novella is NOT a standalone and needs to be read in order. To read my review of books 1-4 in this series, you can go here: http://wp.me/p6mg4N-v0This review is also posted on my blog: www.loveserially.wordpress.comOverall Rating: 4 (sXe)Quick & Dirty summary: Island and March are trying to settle into their relationship without the threat of death looming over them. Well, at least they were until Island’s dad shows up. There’s nothing quite like an overprotective father to kill any romance. This little novella is a piece of heaven. Sure, book 4 ended happily, or at least, alive-ly for March and Island. But the ending was rather abrupt, making this novella necessary to my world. March is still March, and Island is still Island, but who they are together gets stronger and clearer throughout this short story.One of the best things about this book is that we finally, FINALLY, get a better picture of Island’s dad. He is always there in the background, this amazingly flawed guy who anyone would just love as a dad, but we don’t really get a full sense of his personality until now. And it’s worth the wait folks! I laughed, I giggled, I rolled my eyes, and I sighed in commiseration with Island. This is a feel-good gem after all of the highs and lows of the series.And here’s the #1 best thing about this novella. We are told that there’s a book 5! Yes, a book 5! So get your tinfoil hats on folks, because I’ll be reading Island Chaptal and the Ancient Aliens’ Treasure when it’s released on Dec. 12, 2017.Is it worth buying? (Kindle $0.99)If you’ve read all of the books in this series so far, then this book is a MUST! Something else you might enjoy:There isn’t anything like this book because it’s a novella attached to the end(ish) of a great series. So obviously, the only thing left to do is read book 5 of the Spotless Series, once it’s out.
    more
  • Regina
    July 2, 2017
    Disclaimer: I usually don't go the ARC route because I want to leave those to folks who take the time to write good and helpful (often quite extensive) reviews. So when ASF was announced, I thought I would just wait until the official release date, like I normally do. Yeah. Right. Scratch that. This novella is "fan service" in its nicest form: Set after Butterfly In Amber - what was supposed to be the finale to the Spotless-series - we get a little something to tide us over until the (this time Disclaimer: I usually don't go the ARC route because I want to leave those to folks who take the time to write good and helpful (often quite extensive) reviews. So when ASF was announced, I thought I would just wait until the official release date, like I normally do. Yeah. Right. Scratch that. This novella is "fan service" in its nicest form: Set after Butterfly In Amber - what was supposed to be the finale to the Spotless-series - we get a little something to tide us over until the (this time reallyreally final?) 5th instalment of the series is due. As such, ASF does not work as a standalone, you'd need to at least read Spotless #1 and meet the main characters to appreciate this story. But for those of us who have read "the story so far", and have fallen in love with Island and March, this is a must read. Duh. :)While it lacks the at times frantic pacing and action of the full-length novels, ASF gives us a glimpse of what life after all that excitement might have in store for our favourite couple. And Gerald. Meeting the family for the first time is never easy, usually awkward, sometimes hilarious - in this case all of the above, since we are talking about retired hit man March meeting the formidable Simon Halder. And grandma and grandpa. <3 Island on the other hand needs to find a way to adapt to House Rules (yep, those capitals are intentional) and make peace with hostile and judgmental orange tree Gerald. Despite a blatant lack of Roomba cats and tweeting bazookas, I enjoyed this story a lot and am very much looking forward to reading whatever story Camilla Monk is going to publish next (Acies? Aliens?). In the meantime, thank you for this "pointless fluff". It is much appreciated. :)
    more
  • Llaph | No Frill | No Shill
    July 24, 2017
    This was such a good little novella and gave me the hankering to read the entire series over again. I loved how we were given a better insight on Island’s dad and how he works as a parent. Monk has a gift for using unique words to describe something whether it be an emotion or a physical description. She used that gift well when it came to showing just how the term helicopter parent applied to Island’s dad.Just like the characters in the previous books the ones introduced in this novella were aw This was such a good little novella and gave me the hankering to read the entire series over again. I loved how we were given a better insight on Island’s dad and how he works as a parent. Monk has a gift for using unique words to describe something whether it be an emotion or a physical description. She used that gift well when it came to showing just how the term helicopter parent applied to Island’s dad.Just like the characters in the previous books the ones introduced in this novella were awesome. I can’t wait to read more about her grandparents and little Sam. Oh, I also want to see how well Gerald is taking all of this new hub-bub. Another thing that I really liked in the other books was her descriptions of the locales. It gives them a new flavor for someone who has read the same old and tired descriptions of foreign places. I love the authenticity she brings to the table when she does that. It so makes me enjoy her writing even more.I’m totally interested to see where Island and March’s story goes next….
    more
  • Diksha Choudhary
    July 10, 2017
    ** Author shared the ARC in exchange for an honest Feedback**This book is a straightaway gift from the author for all Spotless fans. It is like a big epilogue which is happy, light and gives you that peace which was kind of missing in Butterfly in Amber’s ending. This novella completes the full circle, and gives you warm fuzzies as Island and March are trying to find their normalcy. Mr. November continues to be my shining star and my love. However, I found Simon Halder to be a real, crotchety, a ** Author shared the ARC in exchange for an honest Feedback**This book is a straightaway gift from the author for all Spotless fans. It is like a big epilogue which is happy, light and gives you that peace which was kind of missing in Butterfly in Amber’s ending. This novella completes the full circle, and gives you warm fuzzies as Island and March are trying to find their normalcy. Mr. November continues to be my shining star and my love. However, I found Simon Halder to be a real, crotchety, adorable dad. In BIA, it felt like Island has lost everything but with Simon’s return, Voilà! It is just like old times… okay not quite but we are happy with their current situations. Read this one to feel happy for our very own heroine, Island Chaptal who totally deserves to get as much “action” as she can as the floodgates are opened now and who finally has a happy ending (for now). Ms. Monk, if you read this, let this series never end! Also, let Gerald accept Island. I mean, he needs to learn to share!PS. Oh the lovely Helicopter Parents. This one is a tribute to you! ;)
    more
  • Nicole Mcclain
    July 23, 2017
    Let me start off by saying thank you to Camilla for giving this book away for free in her newsletter! Just adorable...anything March and Island do or act is adorable. They could be sitting on the couch, sipping on tea while talking about the weather and I would still think it is adorable. And to think it all started with him tying her up on her bed...look how the relationship has grown! Love little novellas that keep us up to date on our favorite characters while we patiently wait for another bo Let me start off by saying thank you to Camilla for giving this book away for free in her newsletter! Just adorable...anything March and Island do or act is adorable. They could be sitting on the couch, sipping on tea while talking about the weather and I would still think it is adorable. And to think it all started with him tying her up on her bed...look how the relationship has grown! Love little novellas that keep us up to date on our favorite characters while we patiently wait for another book! Nice job!
    more
  • Pandora
    July 15, 2017
    Even though its a novellaI have such a good time reading Ms. Monk's Spotless series. Even though the main character is naïve, she becomes a realist. She deals with the ugliness of greed, pride, envy and lust and remains true to herself and the people she loves. For any reader who is tired of the romantic b.s. they try to shove down our throats, this writer doesn't do this. Enjoy!
    more
  • Nocks
    July 31, 2017
    10 Stars!When words fail, gifs will do the talkingI loved it. Island and March are my ultimate fictional #Relationship goals. Camilla Monk is one awesome lady and this novella was gift send from raptor Jesus himself.Thank you. That's all.
  • Laura Rennie
    June 26, 2017
    I received this ARC for a honest review by the author . Island and March are probably my favourite couple to read without doubt . I loved this book from start to finish , but the only thing missing was some action with that said it did answer questions from the last book . Please Camilla write more of March please from the heart of my bottom I implore you !!!!
    more
  • Erica
    July 6, 2017
    After finishing BIA and if you're anything like me, I needed a little more March! Put away the guns, spaceships and sloths! This novella has none of that. Well, except it does have Jesus. It's about March and Island moving forward and doing all of the awkward stuff that comes with being in a new relationship. This was a nice break to all the action. Don't get me wrong, I love the action! But at some point Island and March need a break too. I love the Spotless series and jump at the chance for mo After finishing BIA and if you're anything like me, I needed a little more March! Put away the guns, spaceships and sloths! This novella has none of that. Well, except it does have Jesus. It's about March and Island moving forward and doing all of the awkward stuff that comes with being in a new relationship. This was a nice break to all the action. Don't get me wrong, I love the action! But at some point Island and March need a break too. I love the Spotless series and jump at the chance for more story! This is a fun, quick novella that I recommend for filling those 20 minute breaks that come every now and then.
    more
  • Sabine
    July 12, 2017
    Finally, we know what Island and March's HEA looks like. And, also, whether you can still have clean shirts with a baby in the house, when you should draw the line if your father-in-law gives you errands (tip: never), and who will have the ugliest Christmas sweater of them all.
    more
  • Arissa
    July 14, 2017
    4.5 stars
  • Denise
    July 12, 2017
    I just loved reading more about Island's family. They maybe a little scary (Dad!), but the love they have for her shows. Two thumbs up!
  • Charlene
    July 14, 2017
    Hard to believe but each book in this series gets better and better! Love this series so much! Camilla Monk you are the best!
  • Lily Marlene
    July 14, 2017
    great story!
  • Jiyoung
    July 14, 2017
    I was so waiting for this one!And it wasn't disappointing!So thrilled for the next one!
  • Rachael A
    July 13, 2017
    A quick, fun read. It's nice to catch up with March and Island and to see them attempt to settle into domestic bliss.
Write a review